# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Peel v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2225%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 420 U.S. 945

## Text

SUPREME COURT: Ora
- MICBAEL ROBAK,

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
OF AMERICA

_ OCTOBER TERM, 1974

ve__74-598

RICHARD NEIL MYERS, PETITIONER

Vv.

: UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT

PETITION OF RICHARD NEIL MYERS
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
OF AMERICA
OCTOBER TERM, 1974

No:

RICHARD NEIL MYERS, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES GF AMERICA, RESPONDENT
PETITION OF RICHARD NEIL MYERS
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Buddy W. Gregory
Attorney for Petitioner
Richard Neil Myers

508 Central Nat'l. Bank Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002

(aR NRO PORES ARS Be

Fee ee ee ees

£
%
|
4
i
2
a
H
4
3
4
=
4

Page

United States v. Wiltherger, 5 Wheat 76, 96

(U.S. Supreme Court, 1920)... ccccecess 6.9. 10
Bennett v. United States, 285, F 567

ee I, SUED o och pod eu Peananeeess 6
United States v. Hudson and Goodwin,

7 CE BP ce cnn, NO Cer OP 9, 10
United States v. Chase, 135 U.S. 225 ...... 9. 10. 11
EO; I a a os on a eens bee ens 9
Fasulo v. United States, 272, U.S. 620..... 9,10, 11
United States v. Resnick, 299 U.S. 207..... 9. 10
Labnor v. United States, 358 U.S. 169, 178. 10
Caulder v. Ball, 3 Dall, 386 .......0520.5: 10
Constitution:

Pe IE cg oc vc cake ans cicnaws 4,8
Fitth Amendment of the United States

Se eat chcakaedaceena os cas 4.8
Statutes:
ee are cdr hk se ueedeeaeeee ene 7
ee I a. ci a Gh cnn SOR aR OSes 4,7
Pe css cas ae eas nase ae
NS ONE Vos che ceawe cee dara ewees 3

Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1973, U.S.
Code Congressional and Administrative
News, 5354, March 26, 1973 «05.005 csecces: 4

Miscellaneous:
House Report No. 1593 73rd Congress 2nd

MNES cr xa Goals aectes kee’ bs ieee eee 7, A-20
Senate Report No. 535 73rd Congress 2nd
MG SEEN i hd chkc cha ckee ean sans is 6, A-17

Memorandum Opinion of Judge Bonsal in
Hasimer dated May 25, 1970 ............. A-22

uw

en ewe ~s

) Senn cnneemetinammene on

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGES OF SAID COURT:

COMES NOW Richard Neil Myers, Petitioner, and prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the Judgment of The
United States Court of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit revers-
ing the judgment of the United States District Court, South-
ern District of Texas, Houston Division and denying _ his,
petition tor rehearing and petition for rehearing en banc in
said Court.

REPORTS OF THE OPINIONS BELOW:

The order of the United States District Court, Southern
District of Texas in cause number 73-H-376 dated and entered
the 4th day of January, 1974, is reported in 369 F. Supp.
594. The opinion of The United States Court of Appeals Fifth
Circuit in caus > number 74-1265 Summary Calendar reversing
the trial Court, dated and entered August 5, 1974, is reported
in 497 F2d 1369. The opinion of The United States Court of
Appeals Fifth Circuit in cause number 74-1265 denying the
petition of Richard Neil Myers for rehearing and his petition
for rehearing en banc, dated and entered October 17, 1974, is
not yet reported. A copy of the Memorandum and Order and
the Order of the United States District Court For the South-
ern District of Texas, Houston Division is found in the
Appendix hereto pages_A:l_ through__A-5_

A copy of the opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals, Fifth Circuit dated August 5, 1974, reversing the
trial Court is found in the Appendix hereto, pages_A-6 _
through_A-14 _.

A copy of the Judgment of the Fifth Circuit dated Au-
gust 5, 1974 is found in Appendix page A-15.

A copy of the letter from the Clerk of the United States
Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit indicating the petition of
Richard Neil Myers for rehearing and the petition for rehear-
ing en bane was denied is found in the Appendix hereto
page__A-!6_

STATEMENT OF GROUNDS ON WHICH
JURISDICTION IS INVOKED

Jurisdiction is confered on this court by Rule 19 of the
Supreme Court Rules wherein it is stated that if a lower Fed-
eral Court has decided a Federal question in a way in conflict
with applicable decisions of this Court; further, the jurisdic-
tion is confered when an important question of Federal Law

l

which has not been but should be settled by this court comes
before it. The Fifth Circuit held contrary to previous decisions
of the Supreme Court when they, by construction, applied
Criminal Sanctions to an Administrative and Civil Statute
and this has been held strictly beyond the jurisdiction of courts
by the Supreme Court. Further the Supreme Court should
pass upon this question and settle once and for all whether
the saving statute 5 U.S.C. 907(a) confers upon the suceeding
department or agency criminal protection as well as civil au-
thority that the previous department or agency enjoyed.

The Federal Court, Southern District of Texas, Houston
Division on January 4, 1974, dismissed the Criminal Indict-
ment against the defendant Richard Neil Myers. The United
States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit in Cause No. 74-1265
Summary Calendar in an Order dated and entered August 5,
1974, reversed the ruling of the Federal Court in Houston. The
United States Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit in cause no. 74-
1265 in an order dated and entered October 17, 1974, de-
nied the petition for rehearing and petition for en banc of Rich-
ard Neil Myers with respect to its judgment of August 5, 1974.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A. Can an indictment stand, charging assault on “A
SPECIAL AGENT OF THE DRUG ENFORCE-
MENT ADMINISTRATION, UNITED STATES
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE” when the applicable
United States Statute clearly states that it is an
offense to assault “anv officer or employee of the
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.”’?

B. Would Article 907(a) of Title 5 of the United States
Code and language set forth in a regulation of the
Acting Administrator of the Drug Enforcement
Administration found in 38 Fed. Reg. 1838 permit
such an indictment to stand?

C. Would the failure of a Court to dismiss such an
indictment constitute deprivation of the rights of
Richard Neil Myers without due process of law
prohibited by the Fifth Amendment of the Con-
stitution of the United States of America?

D. Would permitting the indictment set out above to
stand be contrary to the provisions of Article 1,
Section 9 of the Constitution of The United States
of America which stands in part that: “No Bill of

Attainder or ex post facto Law shall be passed.”’?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES, AND
REGULATION THE CASE INVOLVES

Title 18 U.S.C. Section 111 provides in full as follows:

“Assaulting, resisting or impeding certain officers or
employees

Whoever forcibly assaults, resists, opposes, impedes,
intimidates, or interferes with any person designated in
Section 1114 of this title while engaged in or account of
the performance of his official duties shall be fined not more
than $5,000 or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.

Whoever in the commission of any such acts uses a
deadly or dangerous weapon shall be fined not more than
$10,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both.”

Titie 18 U.S.C. Section 1114 provides in full as follows:

“Whoever kills any judge of the United States, any
United States Attorney, any Assistant United States Attorney,
or any United States marshal or deputy marshal or person
employed to assist such marshal or deputy marshal, any
officer or employee of the Federal Bureau of Investigation
of the Department of Justice, any officer or employee of the
Postal Service, any officer or employee of the secret service
or of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, any
officer or enlisted man of the Coast Guard, any officer or
employee of any United States penal or correctional institu-
tion, any officer, employee or agent of the customs or of
the internal revenue or any person assisting him in the execu-
tion of his duties, any immigration officer, any officer or
employee of the Department of Agriculture or of the Depart-
ment of the Interior designated by the Secretary of Agricul-
ture or of the Department of the Interior to enforce any Act
of Congress for the protection, preservation, or restoration
of game and other wild birds and animals any employee of
the Department of Agriculture designated by the Secretary of
Agriculture to carry out any law or regulation, or to perform
airy function in connection with any Federal or State pro-
gram of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands of the United
States, or the District of Columbia for the control or eradica-
tion or prevention of the introduction or dissemination of
animal diseases, any officer or employee of the National Park
Service, any officer or employee of, or assigned to duty in,

PRRAA RASS

Bi Sh a sn BP ot ae a

‘

the tield service of the Bureau of Land Management, anv
emplovee of the Bureau of Animal Industry of the Depart-
ment of Agriculture, or any ofticer or employee ot the Indian
field service of the United States, or any officer or employee
of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration direct-
ed to guard and protect property of the United States under
the administration ‘and control of the National Acronautics
and Space Administration, any security officer of the Depart-
ment of State or the F oreign Service, or any officer or em-
plovee of the Department of Health, Education and Welfare
or of the Department of Labor assigned to perform investi-
gative, inspection, or law enforcement functions, while engag-
ed in the pertormance of his official duties, or on account of
the pertormance of his official duties, shall be punished as
provided under sections 1111 and 1112 of this title.”

litle 5, Section 907(a), United States Code provides in
part as follows:

“A statute enacted, and a regulation or other action
made, prescribed, issued, granted, or pertormed in respect of
or by an agency or function affected by a reorganization
under’ this chapter, before the effective date of the reorgani-

zation, has, except to the extent rescinded, moditied, super-

~-seded, or made inapplicable by or under authority of law or

by the abolition of a function, the same effect as if the re-
organization had not been made. However, if the statute,
regulation, or other action has vested the functions in the
agency trom which it is removed under the reorganization
plan, the function insofar as it is to be exercised after the
plan becomes etféctive, shall be deemed as vested in the
agency under which the function is placed by the plan.”

Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1973, 1973 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News 3554 provides in part as follows:
“Sec. 3. Abolition. The Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs, including the Office of Director thereof is hereby
abolished, and Section 3(a) of Reorganization Plan No. 1 of
1968 is: hereby repealed. The Attorney General shall make
such provision as he may deem necessary with respect to

‘terminating those attairs of the Bureau of Narcotics and

Dangerous Drugs not otherwise provided for in this Reorgani-
zation Plan.”’

Article 1, Section 9, of the U.S. Constitution
Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

Richard Neil Myers. one of the Defendants in this cause
was charged by indictment with assaulting, “Robert Surovec
a Special Agent of the Drug Endorcement Administration,
United States Department of Justice... “, on or about the 27th
day of August, 1973. Tne indictment alleges a violation of 18
U.S.C. L11. The defendant, Richard Nei! Mycrs moved to dis-
miss the indictment for failure to charge an offense on the
grounds that agents of the Drug Enforcement Administra-
tion are encompassed in I8 U.S.C. 111, because Section I11
refers to assaults against any person designated in Section 1114
and Section 1114 does not mention Special Agents of the
Drug Enforcement Administration. On January 4, 1974,
Judge James Nole of the Southern District of Texas, Houston
Division, granted the motion of the defendants and dismis-
sed the indictments against each defendant including the in-
dictment against Defendant Richard Neil Myers. The United
States has brought this Appeal from the Order of Dismissal.

The jurisdiction of the Federal District Court in Houston
is based upon the fact that the offense charged is against a
United States Official for which Sanctions have been inacted
if binding on this defendant that would confer jurisdiction up-
on the court.

On November 6, 1973, Richard Neil Myers filed his MO-
TION TO QUASH THE INDICTMENT FOR FAILURE TO
CHARGE AN OFFENSE.

By order dated and filed January 4, 1974, the indict-
ment involving Richard Neil Myers and the three other defen-
dants therein charged, was dismissed by the Honorable James
Noel, Judge of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, Houston Division.

From this ruling the United States of America appealed
to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.
By judgment dated and entered August 5, 1974, The United
States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit reversed the order of
the Honorable Judge James Noel dated January 4, 1974. On
the 27th day of August, 1974, Richard Neil Myers filed his
Petition For Rehearing and Petition For Rehearing En Banc
in the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit. On
October 17, 1974, the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth
Circuit entered its order denying the Petition for Rehearing
and the Petition for Rehearing En Banc filed by Richard
Neil Myers.

prec pire) eons PRIN DRE T PAO TST OS OM OO NRT Ee

Becax pbiced

On October 24, 1974, Richa 4 Neil Myers filed his Peti-
tion of Richard Neil Myers For Stay Of the Mandate of The
Un ted States Court of Appeals For the rifth Circuit in cause
number 74-1265.

On October 30, 1974, by order dated and filed on that
date The United States Court of Appeals For the Fifth Cir-
cuit ordered the issuance of the mandate of said Court stayed
to and including the l6th day cf November, 1974.

ARGUMENT:

The issue in this case is whether, by construction, the sta-
tute may be read to cover the facts in the instant case. Shou!d
there be judicial creation of crimes by construction or inter-
pretation of a statute? We think not. The dangers are too
grave and those very dangers are basis of the ancient maxim
that criminal statutes should be strictly construed. In the
words of Chief Justice Marshall:

“The intention of the legislature is to be collected from

the words they employed. Where there is no ambiguity in

the words, there is no room for construction, “United

States vs. Wiltherger, 5 Wheat 76, 95.

Some indication of the importance of the precise langu-
age of the statute to decision tn a case like this can be gleaned
trom “Bennett v. United States, 285 F. 567, Fitth Circuit 1961.”
There, the question was whether officers of the Border Patrol
were to be included within the statute. Section 1114 makes
no explicit reference to the border patrol. It does, however,
contain the language, “Any immigration officer.” language
ampiy sufficient to described Border Patro! Officers without
ambiguity. Accordingly tue statute applied. We point out there
is no language in the statute reading “any narcotics officer”.
If Congress had intended such a broad protection to be in-
cluded in the statute we can certainly presume it knew how to
say So.

In fact. the Department of Justice has repeatedly told
the Congress precisely how to say so, the statute was first en-
acted in the 73rd Congress, 1934; it indicated in report num-
ber 535, Senate reports on public biils, 73 Congress 2nd Ses-
sion, containing the letter of the Honorable Homer Cummings,

emetic okt ee ae

Attorney General of the United States, to the chairman of the
Senate Committee on the Judiciary recommending the enact-
ment of a “broad, general statute”, covering assaults, etc.
upon “any officer or employee of the United States.” The
senate voted its approval of just such legislation, but the House
did not, supporting instead more restrictive statutes specific-
aily designating the officers to whom it applied. The Confer-
ence committee report, report number 1593, 73rd Congress,
2nd session, indicates the acquisence of the Senate in the
House version. The broad statute suggested and supported by
Attorney General Cummings was never enacted. The specific
and narrowly drawn act, which with subsequent amendments,
survives as 18 U.S.C. 1114, was enacted instead. What the
government now seeks, is the transmutation by this court of
that statute into just such an act as was rejected by the Con-
gress.

The point of the foregoing discussion is to signify that
even if the language of the act would be considered ambigu-
ous, the legislative history of the act eliminates whatsoever any
ambiguity. The statute is clear, precise and unambiguous. It
does not encompass the instant case.

The government attempts to find some comfort in the
provisions of 5 U.S.C. 907(a) governing the functional con-
tinuity of federal agencies reorganized without specific con-
gressional authority under reorganization plans pursuant to
5 U.S.C. 906. Section 907(a) nowhere provides punishment
for any individual who trangresses its mandate. In order to
determine the scope of a Criminal Statute we must look to
the Cr.minal Statute, not to an administrative housekeeping
provision which was never intended to define crime. It is en-
tirely accurate to refer to sccticn 907(a) as a saving statute,
but the government would have it save something that was
never there to be saved. The history or Section 1114 again
demonstrates that is not what the Congress had in mind at all.
When the name of the United States Post Office Department
was changed to the United States Postal Service, Section il i4
was altered by explicit amendment, not by reliance on some
saving statute. And, when the Bureau of Narcotics and Dan-
gerous Drugs was created in the Department of Justice to as-
sume the functions of the former Bureau of Narcotics in the
Treasury Department, Section 1114 was amended explicity;

_inaiaiae an: eaeianeanatinnieneearen

Biskasatiacin USM IE My as

no such amendment has been made as the result of the crea-
tion of the Drug Enforcement Administration. It is in this con-
nection that a review of United States vy. Hasimar, Opinion
set out in the appendix, is pertinent, in Judge Bonsal’s mem-
orandum opinion. That opinion released on May 23, 1970,
held that agents of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs were not covered under the statute in its then existing
form which designated agents of the Treasury Bureau of Nar-
cotics. Indictment was dismissed and the defendants in that
case were freed subject to the provisions of state law. The gov-
ernment in that case promptly took appeal to the Court of Ap-
peals for the 2nd Circuit. While the appeal was pending. Con-
gress amended the statute and explicitly listed agents of the
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs. The government,
however, did not pursue, the particular defendants involved
or the particular crime it had attempted to describe in that in-
dictment. Instead, on the government’s motion, its appeal
was dismissed as moot. In actuality the appeal was not moot.
If Judge Bonsal’s decision had been reversed by the Second
Circuit, defendants would have been called upon to answer at
the bar of the District Court for the charges against them. One
does not judge mootness ty the condition of general law, but
rather by the impact of intervening circumstances on the par-
ties of a particular law suit. What emerges is the recognition
even by the Department of Justice that there was no benefit to
be gained in the appeal of Hasimar. The Department of Jus-
tice itself recognized the view of the law for which we contend
here.

Congress has demonstrated its ability in instance after
instance to speedily correct any defect in a statute as this one
and it is up to Congress to afford the specific Federal protec-
tion the government believes is necessary.

There is a principal at stake in this case which is of para-
mount importance. The principal, whether it be expressed in
terms of statutory construction of the ex post facto clause of
Article |. Sec. 8 of the Constitution of the United States. or in
terms of the due process clause of the Fifth Amendment of
the same document, holds it contrary to the entire constitu-
tional history of the republic to punish for crimes which have
not been specifically designated by the Congress prior to their
commission. The import of that principal has been recognized

in the uniform force of Supreme Court decision beginning with
the case for criminal liable of newspaper editor because he
said nasty things about Thomas Jefferson, United States v.
Hudson and Goodwin, 7 Cranch 32, to more recent decisions
involving lunch counter sit-ins, Bouie v Columbia, 378 U.S.
347 and Travel to Cuba without a validated passport, United
States v. Laub, 385 U.S. 475. Setting his face against the defi-
nition of crime by judicial fiat Chief Justice Marshall held in,
Hudson and Goodwin, that the courts in the United States are
without jurisdiction over common law crimes. He said:

“The legislative authority of the Union must first make
an act a crime, fix a punishment to it, and declare the
court that shall have jurisdiction of the offense.” The
United States v. Hudson and Goodwin, 37 Cranch 32, 34.

The great Chief Justice carried his logic further in the United
States v. Wiltberger 5, Wheat 76-96:

“To determine that a case is within the intention of a
statute, its language niust authorize us to say so. It would
be dangerous, indeed, to carry the principal, that a case
which is within the reason or mischief of a statute, is
within its provisions, so far as to punish a crime not enu-
merated in the statute, because it is of equal atrocity, or
of like character, with those which are enumeratd.”
In 1819, the Supreme Court, United States v. Chase 135 U.S.
255, confined a criminal obsenity statute within its letter quot-
ing Ashurst, J. in Jones v. Smart, 1 T.R. 51:
“It is safer to adopt what the legislatures have said than
to suppose what they meant to say.”
In Fasulo v. United States 272 U.S. 620 the Court states the
principal this way:
“There are no constructive offenses, before one can be
punished, it must be shown that it is a case plainly within
the statue”, 272 U.S. 620, 629.
In the United States v. Resnick, 299 U.S. 207, Federal Regu-
lations enforceable by criminal sanctions regarding the status
for specific sized tin cans used to contain fruits and vegetables
can not be extended to tin cans of different size. In a case par-
ticularly applicable to this court, the court held in Pierce v.
United States, 314 U.S. 366, that a statute prescribing the false

|
|

Bremner

rrr

impersonation of government officials did not criminalize
the impersonation of an official of the Tennessee Valley Au-
thority because TVA was a government corporation and the
statute did not prescribe impersonation of an official of a gov-
ernment corporation. The defendants conduct, while it may be
reprehensible, it is not defined in the statute.

In the United States v. Laub, 87 Supreme Court 574,
1967, an attempt was made to prosecute persons traveling in
restricted areas without proper passport authorization. The
Supreme Court of the United States in affirming the District
Court’s Dismissal of the Indictment held:

“We agree with the District Court that the indictment

herein does not allege a crime. If there is a gap on law,

the right and the duty, if any to fill it did not fall upon
the courts . . . Crimes are not to be created by inference.

They may not be constructed nunc pro tunc.” Opinion at

page 581.

And in Bouie v. Columbia 384 U.S. 347, even a state as
opposed to federal, prosecution was struck down for the same
reason. The state statute whose meaning had been expanded
by the supreme court of the state could not support prosecu-
tion upon the expanded theory

All of these cases indicate the care with which the courts
of our land must resist easy blandisments of the prosecutors
to punish reprehensible conduct in the absence of unequevo-
cable and precise language of the Congress to finding such
conduct as a crime. As we have noted, this cause, this elemen-
tal notion in our jurisprudence is sometimes phrased in terms
of the rule of Congress, courts will choose the alternative of
leniency. Ladner v. Urited States, 358, U.N. 169, 178. More
frequently, it is viewed as an element of due process. Some-
times, as in Laub and Bouie, with its citation to Calder v. Bull,
3 Dall, 386, there is a gloss of ex post facto clause operative in
the decisional process. Whatever the rationale we think that
the principal clearly emerges and is worthy of appication by
this court in the instant case.

The Supreme Court has dealt with things like manslaugh-
ter, (Wiltberger) extortion (Fasulo) obsenity (Chase) impure
fcods (Resnick) a politically inspired lying (Hudson and Good-
win). If public opinion in the era of the Alien and Sedition
laws could be expected to react strongly against sexual lies

10

about Thomas Jefferson the era of Comstock could be ex-
pected to produce an equal reaction against the obsenity in-
volved in the Chase case, the era of prohibition against the ex-
tortion involved in Fasulo, and the era of cold war and missile
crimes against the charges involved in Laub. Preserving the
principles of the constitution is of paramount importance.
For the reasons set forth above we respectfully pray that this
court uphold the judgment of the District Court in Houston
dismissing the indictment and reverse that of the Fifth Circuit.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set herein the petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari should be in all things granted and a Writ of Certiorari
should issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

f F By —_—
p< _ Buddy W. Gregory
Attorney for Petitioner
508 Cen. Nat'l. Bk. Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Buddy W. Gregory, Attorney for the Petitioner Rich-
ard Neil Myers, certify that all parties required to be served
have been served and I hereby certify that I have served the
foregoing petition for Writ of Certiorari for the petitioner
Richard Neil Myers upon the respondent by mailing three
copies each postage prepaid and air mail where addyessed to
Washington, D.C. this the ‘Wak day fe) ar my 1974
to counsel for the various parties listed below, and to counsel
for the Respondent listed below as follows in appliance with
Title 28, United States Code, Rule 33, Paragraphs I and II of
the Supreme Court in the United States of America:

11

RRP tet NET MRT ieee
Tindall, & Foster
1030 Houston Bar Center Bldg.
Houston, Texas 77002

Edward L. Lasof
420 Houston Bar Center
Houston, Texas 77002

Nie DEA ae

Phillips S. Greene, Esq
1717 South Shepherd
Houston, Texas 77019

‘

4 William L. Patton

4 Assistant to the Solicitory Gen.
‘ Department ot Justice

¥ Washington, D.C. 20530

Mr. F. Witcher McCullough, II
Assistant United States Attorney
$15 Rusk Avenue

Houston, Texas 77002

Mr. Robert Bark
i Solicitor General
H United States of America
: Depar*ment of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

ra S Wy -_

Buddy W. Gregory ?

bes 08

The Clerk will enter my appearance as counsel for the peti-
tion Richard Neil Myers.

MEO OPT SG ere ce nen een

By
Buddy W. Gregory

4
&
=
=
s

The Clerk is requested to notify counsel of action of the court
by means of air mail letter.

APPENDIX
IN THE UNITED STATES PISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DiSTP}CT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVIS. IN

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ]

v. ] Criminal No. 73-H-376

KEITH STANFORD IRICK ]

DAVID PAUL KAY ]

RICHiARD NEIL MYERS ]

JOSEPH EDWIN PEEL ]
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

In this criminal prosecution under 18 U.S.C. §111, each
defendant moves to dismiss the indictment for failure to
charge an offense. FED. R. CRIM. P. 12(a). The indictment
charges defendants “‘did forcibly assault, resist, Oppose, im-
pede, intimidate, and interfere with . . . a Special Agent
of the Drug Enforcement Administration, United States De-
partment of Justice.” Section 111 of Title 18 prohibits such
conduct when directed toward any person designated in 18
U.S.C. §1114. Section 1114 lists numerous groups of federal
employees and officers including “‘any officer or employee . .
. . of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.” Section
1114 does not name special agents of the Drug Enforcement
Administration.

Defendants contend the indictment must be dismissed
because it does not charge a crime proscribed by Sections
.11 and 1114. Because defendants’ position is valid, the
niotion to dismiss must be granted. Defendants also contend
that any such statutory construction and application in this
cas? would be unconstitutional. Having disposed of the case
on the defendants’ first ground of attack, it is not necessary
to reach the constitutional question.

The Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs was abolish-
ed and the Drug Enforcement Administration was established
by Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1973. 1973 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News 912 (March 28, 1973). It became ef-
fective July 1, 1973 without Congressional action, 5 U.S.C.
§ 906. On July 10, 1973, pursuant to Executive Order 11727,
July 6, 1973, the Attorney General transferred the function
of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs to the Drug

A-1

Bettie ite Boe

OUNCE, CE EP EO RLS A RAIS Mal Toman

Enforcement Administration by amending the Code of Fed-
eral Regulations. 28 Fed. Reg. 18380 (1973). Thus, the
Drug Enforcement Administration, its officers and em-
ployees, are the successors to the Bureau of Narcotics and
Dangerous Drugs, its officers and employees in function and
authority.

Nevertheless, the Congress has not yet amended § 1114 of
Title 18 to reflect this change. Consequently on August 27,
1973 when the incident made the basis of this indictment
took place, Sections 111 and 1114 proscribed assaults against
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs agents but not
against Drug Enforcement Administration agents. The ques-
tion posed by this case is whether 18 U.S.C. § §111, 1114
may be constitutionally construed to apply to employees of
a new federal agency which replaces an enumerated agency.
The alternative to such construction is the requirement of
congressional action before this inclusion can occur.

Both statutory history and a plain reading of Section 1114
demonstrate congressional intent to enact a limited, specific
statute. The Senate version of the original bill covered “ . .
. . any official or employee of the United States.” S.R. 535,
73rd Cong., 2nd Sess. (1934). The final statute, however,
specifically named the officials and employees covered. H.R.
1593, 73rd Cong., 2nd Sess. (1934). By subsequent amend-
ment, other groups of federal employees were added.

The statute remains very specific and explicit. The parti-
cular groups of federal officials and employees to be covered
are enumerated. In some cases, the statute includes all em-
ployees of a particular agency, e.g., the secret service. In
other cases all federal officials performing a particular func-
tion are covered, e.g., any immigration officer, Bennett v.
United States, 285 F.2d 567 (Sth Cir. 1960). In many in-
stances, only those employees of named de, artments who
perform particular functions are mentioned, e.g., any officer
or employee of the National Aeronautics and Space Admin-
istration directed to guard and protect property of the United
States under the administration and control of the National
Aeronautics and Space Administration.

The obvious purpose of the statute is to provide the pro-
tection of the federal courts to those certain officers. United

States v. Langione, 445 F.2d 636, 637 (Ist Cir. 1971).

Nevertheless, it is clearly not meant to sweep in every inter-

A-2

ete”

ference with any federal official. United States v. Johnson,
462 F.2d 423, 428 (3rd Cir. 1972).

More importantly in this instance, the statute does not
purport to cover successor agencies to those enumerated.
Instead, the Congress has regularly amended the statute to
reflect changes in agency organization and nomenciature. In
1970, for example, the statute was altered to reflect changes
from the Bureau of Narcotics to the Bu-eau of Narcotics and
Dangerous Drugs. This regular amendmc. , rather than in-
clusion in the statute of the words, “successor agencies or
officials” or words of like effect, evidence a congressional
intention that legislative amendment rather than judicial con-
struction is meant to be the proper means of updating the
statute. See Pierce v. United States, 314 U.S. 306 (1941).

A narrow, literal reading of the statute is consistent with
general principles of criminal law. See CLARK & MAR-
SHALL, LAW OF CRIMES §1.07 (7th ed. 1967); 21
AM. JUR. 2nd, Criminal Law §17 (1965); 22 C.Jj.S.,
Criminal Law §17 (1961). The maxim, expressio unius est
exclusio alterius (expression of one thing implies exclusion
of another) is appropriate here. A court should not depart
from the plain meaning of the statutory language. United
States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 76, 96 (1820). Also
relevant is the principle that penal sanctions are to be strictly
construed. United States v. Standard Oil Company, 384 U.S.
224, 255 (1966). The definition of criminal conduct is a
legislative rather than judicial function, and the Courts should
be reticent to broadly read criminal statutes. United States
v. Kehoe, Crim. No. 73—H—213 (S.D. Texas Nov. 8, 1973).

The judicial construction and application of Section 1114
urged by the government raises serious constitutional ques-
tions which are not required to be answered.' Statutes are
to be construed so as to avoid a danger of unconstitutionality.
United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612, 619 (1954).

The Court concludes that Section 1114 of Title 18 applies
only to those departments, agencies, and bureaus specifically
named therein. It cannot be construed to apply to empluyees
not named by the statute. This is true even if the group in
question is successor to employees named by the statute.
Accordingly, the Court holds that 18 U.S.C. § §111, 1114
do not prohibit the conduct alleged in the indictment. Unless
and until the Congress acts, the government must rely on the

A-3

ae Le ee an ett

state penal system to protect special agents of the Drug En-
forcement Administration.

In the instant case, the defendants’ Motions must be
GRANTED, and the indictment dismissed.

The Clerk shall file this Memorandum and Order and send
copies to all counsel.

DONE at Houston, Texas, this_4th_day of January, 1974.

y ————
:

SIGNED: James Noel
Judge

1. The same result may be constitutionally required. The common

law requirement of statutory definiteness and specificity is so fun-
damental as to be required by due process. Conally v. General Con-
struction Co,, 269 U.S, 285 (1926). Judicial construction enlarging
: a plainly written statute to include conduct not obviously described
; by ihe statute is constitutionally impermissible. Pierce v. United
States, 3:4 U.S. 306 (1941), Furthermore, application of new judi-
cial interpretations to pending criminal cases challenges the prohibi-
tion of ex post facto law. U.S. Const. art. 1, §10; Bouie v. City of

Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964); Talavera v. Wainwright, 468 F.2d
1013 (Sth Cir. 1972).

ji EE AIA SFE ENN

(ae

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA |
Vv

j ]
KEITH STANFORD IRICK ]
DAVID PAUL KAY ]
]
]

fr

riminal No. 73-H-376

RICHARD NEIL MYERS
JOSEPH EDWIN PEEL

ORDER

On this day came on to be heard the Motions of each
defendant to Dismiss the Indictment for Failure to Charge an
Offense; and the Court, having considered each motion along
with the government’s response in opposition thereto, has
concluded, for reasons expressed in the Memorandum and
Order of even date, that each motion must be GRANTED;
accordingly,

It is hereby ORDERED and ADJUDGED that this in-
dictment and cause be DISMISSED in all respects as to
each and every defendant.

The Clerk shall file this Order and send a copy to each
defendant and to counsel for the government.

DONE at Houston, Texas, this_4th day of January, 1974.

Signed: James Noel
Judge

A-5

ie Tet

{SAREE EE 8 iF

. om ROO. &

UNITED STATES of America, Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.
Keith Stanford IRICK et al., Defendants-Appellees.

No. 74-1265
Summary Calendar.*

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

Aug. 5, 1974.

Accused filed motions to dismiss indictment charging
them with assault of an officer of the Drug Enforcement
Administration. The United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, James L. Noel, Jr., J., 369 F.Supp.
594, granted the motions and the Government appealed. The
Court of Appeals, Ainsworth, Circuit Judge, held that under
statute providing for continuity of status, and function in
connection with executive reorganization., pecial agents of
Drug Enforcement Administration were witnin ambit of stat-
utes prohibiting assaults against officers of Bureau of Narcot-
ics and Dangerous Drugs,

Reversed.

1. Assualt and Battery 48
Obstructing Justice 7

Under statute providing for continuity of status and
function in connection with executive reorganizations, of-
ficers of Drug Enforcement Administration, which was suc-
cessor to Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, were
within ambit of statutes prohibiting assaults against officers
of the Bureau, even though statutes did not specifically refer
to the Drug Enforcement Administration. 5 U.S.C.A. §§
906(a), 907(a); 18 U.S.C.A. §§ 111, 1114.

A-6

PARON ren verse

Oe ns eet a er

2. Drugs and Narcotics 45

Fact that Congress had previously amended statute per-
taining to protection of federal officers and employees to
reflect changes caused by reorganization and had substituted
therein the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs for its
predecessor did not establish that amendment was ne :essary
to coverage of agents of the Bureau or that the statute was
inapplicable to officers of Drug Enforcement Administration,
which was the successor to the Bureau, due to absence of
specific reference to the Drug Enforcement Administration.
5 US.C.A. §§ 906(a), 907(a); 18 U.S.C.A. §5 111, 1114;
Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of
1970, § § 506, 508, 509, 21 U.S.C.A. § § 876, 878, 879.

3. Drugs and Narcotics 43

There was no constitutional impediment to inclusion of
officers and agents of Drug Enforcement Administration
within coverage of statute which pertained to protection of
certain federal officers and employees and which referred to
the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, which was the
Drug Enforcement Administration’s predecessor, even though
the statute did not specifically refer to the Drug Enforcement
Administration. 5 U.S.C.A. § § 906(a), 907(a); 18 U.S.C.A.
§§ 111, 1114.

4. Assault and Battery <= 48
Obstructing, Justice 7

It is not an element of offense of assaulting, resisting or
impeding certain federal officers or employees that person
who commits one of the proscribed acts does so with knowl-
edge that his victim is a federal officer or that he knows the
specific name of the agency by which victim is employed. 18
U.S.C.A. 66 111, 1114.

5. Criminal Law o13.1(1)

Persons accused of a crime must be afforded fair warning
of prohibited conduct by statute which they are accused of
violating.

6. Criminal Law © 13(1)
Statute providing tor continuity of status and function in

A-7

connection with executive reorganizations is applicable to
criminal as well as to civil statutes. 5 U.S.C.A. § 907(a).

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.

Before BROWN, Chief Judge, and THORNBERRY and
AINSWORTH, Circuit Judges.

AINSWORTH, Circuit Judge:

The question presented for decision is whether an in-
dictment charging assault of an officer of the Drug Enforce-
ment Administration is fatally defective because the pertinent
statutes, though they encompass assaults on “any officer or
employee of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs,”’
do not specifically refer to the Drug Fnforcement Administra-
tion, the successor in the Department of Justice to the Bureau
of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

Defendants Keith Stanford Irick, David Paul Kay,
Richard Neil Myers, and Joseph Edwin Peel were named in
an indictment which charged that on or about August 27,
1973, they “wilfully and by use of a deadly and dangerous
weapon, that is, a bayonet, did forcibly assault, resist, op-
pose, impede, intimidate, and interfere with . . . a Special
Agent of the Drug Enforcement Administration, United
States Department of Justice while [he] was engaged in the
performance of his official duties.”” The indictment charged
violation of 18 U.S.C. § § 111 and 2.!

Section 111 of Title 18, United States Code, prohibits,
inter alia, the forcible assault, intimidation, or interference
with “‘any person designated in [18 U.S.C. 5 1114] while
engaged in or on account of the performance of his official
duties . . .”* Section 1114 designates several categories
of federal officers and employees. Among the categories
designated is the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs,
the predecessor in the Department of Justice of the Drug
Enforcement Administration.’

The Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs was es-
tablished by Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1973. 1973 US.
Code Cong. & Admin.News 3554. The plan became effec-

A-8

tive Without congressional action on July 1, 1973, as provided
by 3 USC. § 906(a); and on July 10, 1973, pursuant to
Executive Order 11727, dated July 6, 1973, the Attorney
General transferred the functions of the Bureau of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs to the Drug Enforcement Administra-
tion by amending the Code of Federal R Regulations, 38 Fed.
Reg. 18380.* Thus, as the district court found, “the Drug
Entorcement Administration, its officers and employees, are
the successors to the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs, its otficers and emplovees in function and authority.”
Section 1114, however, was not amended to reflect this
changeover from the Bureau ot Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs to the Drug Enforcement Administration.

In the court below, each of the defendants moved to
dismiss the indictment for failure to charge an offense on the
ground that agents of the Drug Enforcement Administration
are not within the categories designated under 18 U.S.C. §
1114 and, thus, assaults on such agents are not encompassed
by 18 US.C. § 111. Notwithstanding its finding that the
Drug Enforcement Administration is the successor to the
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, the district court
held that section 111 does not apply to assaults on Drug En-
forcement Administration agents because Congress failed to
amend section 1114 to substitute the Drug Enforcement Ad-
ministration for the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs. Concluding tat section 1114 “applies only to those
departments, agencies, and bureaus specifically named there-
in,” tie court granted defendants’ motions and ordered the
indictment dismissed. The Government appeals pursuant to
18 U.S.C. § 3731.9

{1} The district court’s memorandum and order con-
cluding that the indictment should be dismissed omits re-
ference to 5 U.S.C. § 907(a), enacted September 6, 1966.°
Section 907(a), which provides for continuity of status and
function in connection with executive reorganizations, con-
trols the issues presented. It reads in full:

§907. Lftect on other laws, pending legal proceedings,

and unexpended appropriations. .

(a) A statute enacted, and a regulation or other action

made, prescribed, issued, granted, or performed in re-

spect of or by an agency or function affected by a

A-9

ROM PES WP

reorganization under this chapter, before the effective
date of the reorganization, has except to the extent
rescended, modified, superceded, or made inapplicable
by or under authority of law or by the abolition of a
function, the same effect as if the reorganizztion bad
not been made. However, if the statute. regulation, or
other action has vested the functions i the agency from
which it is removed under the reviganization plan, the
function insofar as it is to be exercised after the plan
becomes effective, shal! be deemed as vested in the
agency under which the function is placed by the plan.

(Emphasis added.)

The section’s legislative history reflects the clear mean-
ing of the statutory language, that is, the desire of Congress
not to leave a hiatus in existing law when a reorganization has
taken place. A House Report on the 1949 Reorganization
Act, the predecessor of the 1966 reorganization statute, ex-
plains that section 907 “contains saving provisions with re-
spect to the status, after a reorganization, of statutory pro-
visions, regulations, and other actions, and suits and other
proceedings, having a relation to any agency or function af-
fected by such reorganization.” H.R.Rep. No. 23, 82st Cong.,
Ist Sess., 1949 U.S.Code Cong.Serv. 1391. In addition, a
House Report commenting on a similar saving clause in the
original Reorganization Act of 1939 noted that the saving
clause “‘provides for the survival of . . . laws in connection
with reorganization.” H.P.Rep. No. 120, 76th Cong., 1st
Sess., 6 (1939).

Basically, when a reorganization takes place, section
907(a) continues in effect laws existing prior to the reor-
ganization. Any statute relating to an agency and enacted
before the effective date of the reorganization of that agency
has the same effect as if there had been no reorganization.
Thus, special agents of the Drug Enforcement Administration
fall within the ambit of section 111, by virtue of the provis-
ions of section 1114, in the same manner as did the special
agents of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

[2] On appeal, defendants pose four basic arguments as
militating against the application of section 907(a) to their
situation. First, they assert that Congress has at times a-
mended 18 U.S.C. § 1114 to reflect changes caused by re-

A-10

Le ne ns anaes

organizations. They refer specifically to the amendment by
Congress, as part of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Preven-
tion and Control Act of 1970, of section 1114 to substitute
the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs in the Depart-
ment of Justice for its predecessor, the Bureau of Narcotics
in the Treasury Department. 1970 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.
News 1492, § 701(i)(1), Pub.L. 91-513, 84 Stat.1236.
We do not view this as evidence of congressional intent that
an amendment of 18 U.S.C. § 1114 was a precondition to
the coverage of agents of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dan-
gerous Drugs, to the disregard of 5 U.S.C. § 907(a). No
such implication can be garnered from the legislative history
of the Act.’ The provision amending section 1114 was merely
one provision of a general statutory program designed to deal
with drug abuse; and the amendment came almost two years
after the creation of the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs, see Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1968, 1968 U.S.Code
Cong. & Admin. News 4734. The hearings on the creation of
the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, moreover, in-
dicate that amendment of section 1114 was not deemed nec-
essary to the continued coverage of that Bureau’s officers.
See Hearings Before a House Subcomm. on Government
Operations, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., at 64 (1968).8 Indeed, it
would ignore the impact of 5 U.S.C. § 907(a) to hold that
because Congress has on previous occasions made a conform-
ing amendment to section 1114 it must do so to protect
federal agents in reorganization situations.

[3,4] Defendants also assert, in a vague way, that there
iS a constitutional impediment to the inclusion of Drug
Enforcement officers and agents within the coverage of
section 1114. We perceive no such problem. We note, more-
over, that it is not an element of a section 111 offense that
the person who commits one of the proscribed acts does so
with the knowledge that his victim is a federal officer, see
e. g., United States v. Davis, 5 Cir., 1970, 423 F.2d 974,
975 n. 1, cert. denied, 400 U.S. 836, 91 S.Ct. 74, 27 L.Ed.
2d 69; United States v. Marcello, 5 Cir., 1970, 423 F.2d
993, 1010, cert. denied, 398 U.S. 959, 90 S.Ct. 2172, 26
L..Ed.2d 543; Burke v. United States, 5 Cir., 1968, 400
F.2d 866, 868, cert. denied, 395 U.S. 919, 89 S.Ct. 1771,
23 L.Ed.2d 237 (1969); United States v. Langone, 1 Cir.,
1971, 445 F.2d 636, cert. denied, 404 U.S. 915, 92 S.Ct.

A-11

ATER HAD Dae 4

226, 30 L.Ed.2d 189; United States v. Goodwin, 3 Cir.,
1971, 440 F.2d 1152, 1155; United States v. James, 9 Cir.,
1972, 464 F.2d 1228, 1230, cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1086,
93 S.Ct. 697, 34 L.Ed.2d 123,? and it is certainly not an
element of a section 111 offense that the defendant know
the specific name of the agency by which his victim is em-
ployed. “([W] hat little legislative history does exist indicates
only that Congress intended to create a federal forum for the
enumerated offenses instead of having to rely upon state and
local courts for the protection of federal officers.” United
States v. Goodwir, supra, 440 F.2d at 1155; see Ladner v.
United States, 358 U.S. 169, 174 n. 3, 79 S.Ct. 209, 212
n. 3, 3 L.Ed.2d 199 (1958) (Letter of January 3, 1934,
from Homer Cummings, Attorney General, to Senator Ash-
urst, Chairman of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary).
See also United States v. Langone, supra, 445 F.2d at 637.
Given the existence of 5 U.S.C. § 907(a) at the time of the
occurrence of the assault in this case, as well as the fact that
for conviction under section 111 a defendant need not have
knowledge of the official status of his victim, no constitu-
tional impediment can be claimed in the reorganization
statute’s application to these defendants.

[5] Defendants also place reliance on the doctrine that
penal statues must be construed strictly and contend that a
strict reading of section 1114 requires that it apply only to
those agencies specifically named therein. The strict con-
struction concept does not, however, require that other perti-
nent statutes, in this case section 907(a), be disregarded.
Furthermore, the doctrine is grounded in the principle that
persons accused of a crime must be afforded fair warning of
the prohibited conduct. See, e. g., United States v. Harriss,
347 US. 612, 617, 74 S.Ct. 808, 812, 98 L.Ed. 989
(1954); W. La Fave & A. Scott, Jr., Criminal Law 72 (1972).
It cannot be validly argued that defendants were not given
adequate notice of the prohibited conduct, that is, the as-
sault of a federal officer. Section 907(a) in no way changes
the nature of this conduct.

[6] Finally, defendants argue that section 907(a) was
intended to apply to civil statutes—not criminal statutes—and
to the functions of governmental agencies in reorganizations.
We can discern no such restriction of intent, either from the

A-12

A Ni MT OAR Ra OO it

plain meaning of the statute or from its legislative history.

We have considered all of defendants’ assertions and

find them to be without merit. We conclude that section 1114
includes the Drug Enforcement Administration in the same
manner that it encompassed the Bureau of Narcotics and
Dangerous Drugs. The indictment, therciore, as it charges
an ottense under section 111, is not defective.

*

Reversed.
FOOTNOTES

Rule 18, 5 Cuir.; see Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty
Company of New York et al., 5 Cir., 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part L.

. 18US.C. § 2 provides:

§ 2. Principals

(a) Whoever commits an offense against the United States or
aids, abets, counsels, commands, induces or procures its commis-
sion, is punishable as a principal.

. 18 U.S.C. § 111 reads in full:

S111. Assaultang, resisting, or impeding certain officers or em-
plovees
Whoever forcibiy assaults, resists, opposes, impedes, intimidates
or interferes with any person designated in section 1114 of this
title while engaged in or on account of the performance of his
official duties, shall be tined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned
not more than ten years, or both.

. The pertinent text of 18 U.S.C. § 1114 provides:

§ 1114. Protection of officers and employees of the United States

Whoever kills . . . any officer or employee .. . of the Bureau
of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs . . . while engaged in the per-
tormance of his official duties . . . shall be punished as provided

under sections 1111] and 1112 of this utle.

\ regulation promulgated on July 1, 1973 by the Acting Admin-
istrator of the Drug Entoreement Administration used language
similar to that of 5 U.S.C. § 907(a):

All regulations or other action made, prescribed, issued, granted

or performed in respect of or by the agencies or functions af-

fected by section 1 of Reorganization Plan No. 2 of 1973 shall,
until rescinded, modified, superseded, or made inapplicable, have
the same effect as if the reorganization had not been made.

A-13

| MRSA NMG WA aia +

9.

The directive further provides:
Sec. 3. Enforcement officers
(a) All criminal investigators . . . are authorized to exercise all
of the powers of enforcement personnel granted by 21 U.S.C.
876, 878,879 ....
38 Fed.Reg. 18381.
The special agent who the indictment charges defendants with as-
saulting is a criminal investigator within the purview of the regula-
tions.

- 18 U.S.C. § 3731 provides in relevant part:

In a criminal case an appeal by the United States shall lie to a
court of appeals from a decision, judgment, or order of a district
court dismissing an indictment or information as to any one or
more counts, except that no appeal shall lie where the double
jeopardy clause of the United States Constitution prohibits further
prosecution.

The only other decision treating the question presented in this
case is United States v. Hasimar, 69 Cr. 58 (S.D.N.Y. May 25, 1970)
(unreported), which involved the establishment of the Bureau of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs. The court in Hasimar disposed of
the case in the same manner as the court below; and, like the court
below, failed to mention 5 U.S.C. § 907(a).

The legislative history is silent on the purpose of the amendment.
See 1970 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News 4566 ff.

In response to questions from Congressman Edwards, Phillip S.
Hughes, Deputy Director, Bureau of the Budget, and John H. Finla-
tor, Director, Bureau of Drug Abuse Control, Food and Drug Admin-
istration, Department of Health, Education and Welfare, testified
that reorganization would not affect the coverage of employees of
the Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs under 18 U.S.C.
§ 1114.

Defendants do not challenge this principal of law.

A-14

e | ie

EI RRR ok ee TAG Sa Aa FREE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Fifth Circuit

October Term, 1973

No. 74-1265
Summary Calendar

D. C. Docket No. CR-73-H-376

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff - Appellant,
versus
KFITH STANFORD IRICK, et al.,
Detendants - Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas
Before BROWN, Chief Judge, and
THORNBERRY and AINSWORTH, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Texas. and was taken under submission by the
Court upon the record and briefs on file, pursuant to Rule 18:

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here or-
dered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the
suid District Court in this cause be. and the same is hereby,
reversed.

August 5, 1974

A-15

A AS As ee.

esa a a entity 10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT
OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Edward W. Wadsworth 600 Camp Street
Clerk New Orleans, La. 70130

October 17, 1974
TO ALL COUNSEL OF RECORD
No. 74—1265 U.S.A. V. IRICK, ET AL

Dear Counsel:

This is to advise that an order has this day been entered
denying the petition(s)* for rehearing, and no member of
the panel nor Judge in regular active service on the Court
having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en
banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure;
Local Fifth Circuit Rule 12) the petition(s) for rehearing en
banc has also been denied.

See Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for is-
st.2nce and stay of the mandate.

Very truly yours,

EDWARD W. WADSWORTH
CLERK

Signed: By___Anne G. Parent
Deputy Clerk

ce: Mr. F. Witcher McCullough, III
Mr. William L. Patton
Mr. James R. Gough
Mr. Philip S. Greene
Mr. Harry L. Tindall
Mr. Buddy W. Gregory
Mr. Edward L. Lasof

*As to Richard Neil Myers and Joseph Edwin Peel

A-16

RPM term

CALENDAR NO. 568
73 CONGRESS seed REPORT
2d Session SENATE No. 535

PROVIDE PUNISHMENT FOR KILLING OR
ASSAULTING FEDERAL OFFICERS

Mar. 20 (calendar day, Mar. 22),1934.-Ordered to be printed

Mr. Stephens, trom the Committee on the Judiciary,
submitted the following

REPORT
[To accompany S. 2080]

The Committee on the Judiciary, having had under con-
sideration the bill (S: 2080) to provide punishment for killing
or assaulting Federal officers, reports the same favorably to
the Senate and recommends that the bill do pass, with the
following amendment:

On page 1, line 3, strike ous the word “‘assassinate”’ and
the commas preceding and following said word.

The purpose and need of this legislation are set out in the
following letter trom the Attorney General to the chairman
of this committec.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Washington, D.C., January 3, 1934.
Hon. HENRY F. ASHURST,
Chairman Committee on the Judiciary,
United States Senate, Washington, D.C.

MY DEAR SENATOR: I wish again to renew the re-
commendation of this Department that legislation be enacted
making it a Federal offense forcibly to resist, impede, or
interfere with, or to assault or kill, any official or employee
ot the United States while engaged in, or on account of, the
performance of his official duties. Congress has already made

A-17

eh bee

ee ar Se

| eee cui

—_" * ae POO ee Ry LONE NOM NTO VOM Ow ha MANA ea Bey Ie

it a Federal offense to assault, resist, etc., officers or em-
ployees of the Bureau of Animal Industry of the Department
of Agriculture while engaged in or on account of the execu-
tion of their duties (sec. 62, C.C.; sec. 118, title 18, U.S.C.);
to assault, resist, etc., officers and others of the Customs and
Internal Revenue, while engaged in the execution of their
duties (sec. 65, C.C.; sec. 121, title 18, U.S.C.); to assault, re-
sist, beat, wound, etc., any officer of the United States, or
other person duly authorized, while serving or attempting to
serve the process of any court of the United States (sec. 140,
C.C.; sec. 245, title 18, U.S.C.); and to assault, resist, etc.,
immigration officials or employees while engaged in the per-
formance of their duties (sec. 16, Immigration Act of Feb.
5, 1917, c. 29, 39 Stat. 885; sec. 152, title S. U.S.C.). Three
of the statutes just cited impose an increased penalty when a
deadly or dangerous weapon is used in resisting the officer or
employee.

The need for general legislation of the same character, for
the protection of Federal officers and employees other than
those specifically embraced in the statutes above cited, be-
comes increasingly apparent every day. The Federal Govern-
ment should not be compelled to rely upon the courts of the
States, however respectable and well disposed, for the pro-
tection of its investigative and law-enforcement personnel; and
Congress has recognized this iact at least to the extent in-
dicated by the special acts above cited. This Department has
found need for similar legislation for the adequate protection
of the special agents of its division of investigation, several of
whom have been assaulted in the course of a year, while in
the performance of their official duties.

In these cases resort must usually be had to the local police
court, which affords but little relief to us, under the circum-
stances, in our effort to further the legitimate purposes of the
Federal Government. It would seem to be preferable, how-
ever, instead of further extending the piecemeal legislation
now on the statute books, to enact a broad general statute to
embrace all proper cases, both within and outside the scope
of existing legislation. Other cases in point are assaults on
letter carriers, to cover which the Post Office Department has
tor several years past sought legislation; and the scrious
wounding, a couple of years ago, of the warden of the Federal
Penitentiary at Leavenworth by escaped convicts outside the

A-18

ee At MMe sib Cal

rely Vein

Federal jurisdiction. In the latter case it was possible to punish
the escaped convicts under Federal law for their, escape; but
they could not be punished under any Federal law for the
shooting of the warden. |
| have the honor, therefore, to enciose herewith a copy of
S. 3184, which was introduced at the request of this Depart-
ment in the Seventy-second Congress and to urge its reintro-
duction in the present Congress; and to express the hope that
it may receive the prompt and serious consideration of your
committee.
Respectfully,
HOMER CUMMINGS,
Attorney General.

A-19

poe ees

ee

so het RS

oes ne seeds

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vv

FRANK HASIMAR AND

GENE HASIMAR, DEFENDANTS

69 CR. 58

MEMORANDUM
BONSAL, D. J.

A Grand Jury indictment charges that on or about Janu-
ary 10, 1969 the defendants assaulted three Special Agents of
the Bureau of Narcotics and: Dangerous. Drugs while they
were engaged in the performance of their official duties.
The indictment is based on Title 18, United States Code, § §
111 and, 1114. Section 111 makes it a crime to assault any

‘person. designated in § 1114 while engaged in the perfor-
mance of his official duties. Section 1114 designates various
officers and employees of the United States.

Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1968 (28 U.S.C.A. § 309),
which became effective on April 8, 1968, established in the
Department of Justice a new bureau, the Bureau of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs, and transferred to it the functions pre-
viously carried on by the Bureau of Narcotics in the Treasury
Department, and by the Bureau of Drug Abuse Control in the
Department of Health, Education and Welfare. Section 4 of
the Reorganization Plan abolished the Bureau of Narcotics
in the Department of the Treasury.

Defendants move to dismiss the indictment, on the pe
that on the date of the alleged assault Special Agents of the
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs were not desig-

nated officers or employees under § 1114 and therefore §

111 does not: apply. Defendants therefore take the position
that the alleged assault, even if it occurred, was not a crime ,
under $111.

The government conceded at argument that the Agents
named in the indictment had been Agents of the old Bureau
of Narcotics and not designees of the Secretary of H.E.W.
in the old Bureau of Drug Abuse Control. The government

A-22

contends, however, that the Reorganization Plan was merely
a merger within the Department of Justice of functions pre-
viously carried on in the Treasury Department and in H.E.W.,
and that it was the intention of Congress to afford the same
protection to the Agents of the new Bureau that they had
previously enjoyed.
Section 111, being a criminal statute, must be strictly
construed, United States v. Resnick, 299 U.S. 207 (1936).
Strictly construed, §111 applies only to Federal officers
designated in §1114. Turning to §11 14, the only applicable
provision is “any officer or employee . . . of the Bureau of
Narcotics.” At the time of the assault alleged in the indict-
ment, the Bureau of Narcotics had been abolished.
While the Congress undoubtedly intended to have the pro-
visions of $1114 apply to officers and employees of the
newly created Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, it
failed to do so. Therefore, at the time of the alleged assault,
the Agents were not designated employees under § 1114, and
the indictment does not state a crime under § 111.
Accordingly, the defendants’ motion to dismiss the indict-
ment is reluctantly granted. It is hoped that the government
will take a prompt appeal, and, perhaps more importantly,
that the Congress will take prompt action to amend § 1114 to
specifically designate officers and employees of the Bureau
of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.
Settle order.

SIGNED: | DUDLEY B. BONSAL
U.S.D.J.

DATED: New York, N.Y.
May 25, 1970

A-23

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2225%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
