# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — LaTurner v. Burlington Northern, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2182%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1975
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 1109

## Text

= COURT, OE

No_€ 4-600

IN THE

SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

November Term, 1974

CARL LATURNER, et al,
Petitioner,

Vv.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC.,
and BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE

ENGINEERS,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM J. POWELL

BRYAN P. HARNETIAUX, Associate
1016 Washington Trust Bank Bldg.
Spokane, Washington 99204

No

IN THE

SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

November Term, 1974

CARL LATURNER, et al,
Petitioner,

Vv.

BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC.,
and BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE

ENGINEERS,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM J. POWELL

BRYAN P. HARNETIAUX, Associate
1016 Washington Trust Bank Bldg.
Spokane, Washington 99204

>:

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
IN: NR Si aS ae ae 1
EE AERA STBGIE ACEI IRE CE: Slee ol ON REO 1-2
RN I icc a eu 2
Statutory Provisions Involved .....................--..---++- 3-6
8 Ae Ae ENRON 6-14
Reasons for Granting the Writ .............................. 15-24
Conclusion TO EET ee RR RR OOO 24
Appendix “A”
District Court Findings of Fact and
Cometemiome G6 La .nnn..n.ceccccecseciceencss A-1—A-16
Appendix “B”
District Court Judgment .................--...----.- B-1—B-2
Appendix “C”
Opinion of the Circuit Court .................. C-1—C-32
Appendix “)”

Circuit Court Order Denying
Petition for Rehearing

TABLE OF CASES
Page

Bazarte v. United Transportation Union,

429 F. 2d 868 (3rd Cir. 1970) .................. 19
Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way

Employees v. United States,

ee ee 15
Cole v. Seaboard Coastline R. Co., 6 C.C.H.

Lab. Cases, para. 11,567 (E.D. Va. 1970),

aff'd. 64 C.C.H. Lab. Cases, para. 11,499

es See ee ee 2, 23
DeArroyo v. Sindicato de Trabajatores Packing

House, 425 F. 2d 281 (1st Cir. 1970) ...... 19
Dill v. Greyhound Corp., 435 F. 2d 231

I a ek. 19
Griffin v. United Automobile Workers, 81

LRRM 2485 (4th Cir. 1972) 0. 19
Norfolk and Western R. Co., v. Nemitz, 404

eae tees 2, 15, 16, 17, 18
Price v. Seaboard Coastline Railroad Co., 332

F. Supp. 1093 (N.D. Ala. 1979), aff'd per

curiam, 449 F. 2d 1371 (Sth Cir. 1971)... 2, 23

Railway Labor Executives’ Association v.
United States, 339 U.S. 142 (1950) ..........

Retana v. Apartment, Hotel & El. Op. Union
Local 14., 453 F. 2d 1018 (9th Cir. 1972)

Schick v. NLRB, 409 F. 2d 395
OT, ETA TOMES US ROI

St. Joe Paper Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co.,
347 U.S. 298 (1954) ......

United States v. Interstate Commerce Com-
mission, (Northern Lines Merger Cases)
396 U.S. 491 (1970) ...

United States v. United States, 286 F. Supp.
FSO CHI. TOY iveceiesevescasees

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) ............

Witherspoon v. Grand International Bro. of
Locomotive Engineers, 194 S.E. 2d 399
(Se. Gaz. 20735) .......

Page

15

19

19

15

2, 18

23

OTHER
Page
28 USC. 1254(1) aie 2
28 USC, 1331 ..... “ 1
28 U.S.C. 1337 | 1
45 U.S.C. 151 et seq 1, 3, 12
45 U.S.C. 151 FIRST 3,4
45 U.S.C. 151 SECOND 4
45 U.S.C. 151 FIFTH ete 4,4
45 U.S.C. 151 SIXTH 2 5
45 USC. 151(a) 5,6
45 US.C. 152 FIRST NOI 6
49 U.S.C. 1 ........... le ele 1, 3, 12
49 U.S.C. 5(2) .. : 7
49 U.S.C. 5(2)(f) ni, £3, 4, 13,
! | 14, 15, 17, 18
328 I.C.C. 460 (1960) besa 7
331 LC.C. 228 (1967) . ££
ant

1

The petitioners, Carl LaTurner and 212 other locomotive
engineers presently employed by respondent, Burlington
Northern, Inc., pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review
the opinion and judgement of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, rendered in these proceed-
ings July 17 and August 21, 1974.

OPINICNS BELOW

The “Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law” and
“Judgment” of William N. Goodw.i, District Judge for
the United States District Court, Eastern District of Wash-
ington, entered March 10, 1972, appear at Appendix “A”,
and Appendix “B”, post, App. pp. A-1—A-16, B-1—B2.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit, reversing judgment for the petitioners
herein, rendered July 17, 1974, appears at Appendix “C”,
post, App. pp C-1—C-32.

The Order of United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit denying Petition for Rehearing, entered Au-
gust 21, 1974 appears at Appendix “D”, post, App. p D-1.
(official National Reporter citations unavailable at this
time)

JURISDICTION

Subject matter jurisdiction for the court of first instance
is based upon the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. 1,
5(2)(£), and related provisions, the Railway Labor Act,
45 U.S.C. 151 et seg, 28 U.S.C. 1331 and 1337.

The Order of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit, denying the Petition for Rehearing of its

2

Opinion was entered August 21, 1974. Appendix “D”,
post, App. p D-1. This Petition for Certiorari was filed less
than 90 days from the date aforesaid. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Were the 213 petitioners, as the District Court found,
denied their statutory rights guaranteed by Section 5(2) (f)
of the Interstate Commerce Act, as interpreted by this
Court in Norfolk and Western R. Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U.S.
37 (1971), in that as a result of merger they were denied
a “fair and equitable arrangment” and placed “in a worse
position with respect to their employment?”

2. Did the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers violate
its statutory duty of fair representation to petitioners, as
most recently defined by this Court in Vaca v. Sipes, 386
U.S. 171 (1967)?

3. Did he Respondents violate the Constitution aad By-
Laws of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers in con-
solidating engineers seniortiy rosters in the newly formed
Pacific Seniority District on the basis of date of hire as a
fireman?

4. Can the decision of the Ninth Circuit in this case be
reconciled with the decision of the Fourth Circuit in Cole
v. Seaboard Coastline R. Co., 65 C.C.H. Lab. Cases,
911,567 (E.D. Va. 1970), aff'd, 64 C.C.H. Lab. Cases
g11,499 (4th Cir. 1971) and the fifth Circuit's decision
in Price v. Seaboard Coastline Railroad Co., 332 F.Supp.
1093 (N.D. Ala. 1970), aff'd per curiam, 449 F.2d. 1371
(Sth Cir. 1971)?

EELS TEI EPI TENE, RET = —_ «tilt
N Tee u EOE ES

3

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The following section of the Interstate Commerce Act,
49 U.S.C. 1 et seq. is relevant to this petition:

49 U.S.C. 5(2)(f) provides:

“As a condition of its approval, under this para-
graph, of any transaction involving a carrier or car-
riers by railroad subject to the provisions of this chap-
ter, the Commission shall require a fair and equitable
arrangement to protect the interests of the railroad
employees affected. In its order of approval the Com-
mission shall include terms and conditions providing
that during the period of four years from the effective
date of such order such transaction will not result in
employees of the carrier or carriers by railroad affect-
ed by such order being in a worse position with res-
pect to their employment, except that the protection
afforded to any employee pursuant to this sentence
shall not be required to continue for a longer period,
following the effective date of such order, than the
period during which such employee was in the em-
ploy of such carrier or carriers prior to the effective
date of such order. Notwithstanding any other pro-
visions of this chapter and chapters 8 and 12 of this
title, an agreement pertaining to the protection of the
interests of said employees may hereafter be entered
into by any carrier or carriers by railroad and the
duly authorized representatives of its or their employ-
ees.”

The following sections of the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. 151 et seq. are relevant to this petition:

45 U.S.C. 151 FIRST provides:

“When used in this chapter and section 225 of Title
28 and for the purposes of said chapter and section—
First. The term “carrier” includes any express com-
pany, sleeping-car company, carrier by railroad, sub-
ject to the Interstate Commerce Act, and any company
which is directly or indirectly owned or controlled by

FO EL ETE LE LITT SE BELL IIE ERO EIT OR OS AO sere ee

4

or under common control with any carrier by railroad
and which operates any equipment or facilities or per-
forms any service (other than trucking service) in
connection with the transportation, receipt, delivery,
elevation, transfer in transit, refrigeration or icing,
storage, and handling of property transported by rail-
road, and any receiver, trustee, or other individual or
body, judicial or otherwise, when in the possession of
the business of any such “carrier”: Provided, however,
That the term “carrier” shall not include any street,
interurban, or suburban electric railway, unless such
railway is operating as a part of a general steam-rail-
road system of transportation but shall not exclude
any part of the general steam-railroad system of trans-
portation now or hereafter operated by any other
motive power. The Interstate Commerce Commission
is authorized and directed upon request of the Medi-
ation Board or upon complaint of any party interested
to determine after hearing whether any line operated
by electric power falls within the terms of this proviso.
The term “carrier” shall not include any company by
reason of its being engaged in the mining of coal, the
supplying of coal to a carrier where delivery is not
beyond the mine tipple, and the operation of equip-
ment or facilities therefor, or in any of such activities.”

45 U.S.C. 151 SECOND provides:

“Second. The term “Adjustment Board” means the
National Railroad Adjustment Board created by this
chapter.”

45 U.S.C. 151 FIFTH provides:

“Fifth. The term “employee” as used herein includes
every person in the service of a carrier (subject to its
continuing authority to supervise and direct the man-
ner of rendition of his service) who performs any work
defined as that of an employee or subordinate official
in the orders of the Interstate Commerce Commission
now in effect, and as the same may be amended or in-
terpreted by orders hereafter entered by the Commis-
sion pursuant to the authority which is conferred upon

Pe er 062 pre eo ere ——
ee eens =<

5

it to enter orders amending or interpreting such exist-
ing orders: Provided, however, That no occupational
classification made by order of the Interstate Com-
merce Commission shall be construed to define the
crafts according to which railway employees may be
organized by their voluntary action, nor shall the juris-
diction or powers of such employee organizations be
regarded as in any way limited or defined by the pro-
visions of this chapter or by the orders of the Com-
mission.

The term “employee” shall not include any indi-
vidual while such individual is engaged in the physical
operations consisting of the mining of coal, the prepa-
ration of coal, the handling (other than movement by
rail with standard railroad locomotives) of coal not
beyond the mine tipple, or the loading of coal at the
tipple.”

45 U.S.C. 151 SIXTH provides:

“Sixth. The term “representative” means any person
or persons, labor union, organization, or corporation
designated either by a carrier or group of carriers or by
its or their employees, to act for it or them.”

The following section of the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. 151(a) is relevant to this petition:

45 U.S.C. 151(a) provides:

The purposes of the chapter are: (1) To avoid
any interruption to commerce or to the operation of
any carrier engaged therein; (2) to forbid any limi-
tation upon freedom of association among employees
or any denial, as a condition of employment or other-
wise, of the right of employees to join a labor organ-
ization; (3) to provide for the complete independence
of carriers and of employees in the matter of self-
organization to carry out the purposes of this chapter;
(4) to provide for the prompt and orderly settle-
ment of all disputes concerning rates of pay, rules,
or working conditions; (5) to provide for the prompt

ne

SEE IL OLLIE LI SER EAS

6

and orderly settlement of all disputes growing out of
grievances or out of the interpretation or application
of agreements covering rates of pay, rules, or work-
ing conditions.
The following section of the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. 152 FIRST is relevant to this petition:

45 U.S.C. 152 FIRST provides:

First. It shall be the duty of all carriers, their of-
ficers, agents, and employees to exert every reasonable
effort to make and maintain agreements concerning
rates of pay, rules, and working conditions, and to
settle all disputes, whether arising out of the applica-
tion of such agreements or otherwise, in order to avoid
any interruption to commerce or to the operation of
any carrier growing out of any dispute between the
carrier and the employees thereof.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This Petition has as its genesis the 1970 merger of the
Great Northern Railway Company (GN), the Northern
Pacific Railway Company (NP) and three of their subsid-
iaries — the Pacific Coast Railroad Company, the Chicago,
Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company and the Spokane,
Portland & Seattle Railroad Company (SP&S). It evolves
from an action instituted by a group of 213 dissatisfied
employees who charged that the surviving carrier, Burling-
ton Northern, Inc., (BN), and the Brotherhood of Loco-
motive Engineers (BLE), as the authorized bargaining rep-
resentative for the craft of locomotive engineers, had dis-
criminated against them arbitrarily, and invidiously in the
negotiation and implementation of an agreement which
established, inter alia, the method for consolidating certain
of the predecesssor carriers’ seniority rosters.

7

In early 1961, the above-mentioned rail carriers filed
joint applications with the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion, I.C.C. Finance Docket Nos. 21478-80, for authority
pursuant to Section 5(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act,
24 Stat. 380, as amended, 49 U.S.C. Sec. 5(2), to merge
the GN, NP. Pacific Coast and Burlington lines, and for
the surviving carrier to lease the SP&S’. After extensive
hearings on the application, and in spite of a favorable
recommendation by the hearing examiner, the Commission
initially refused to approve the merger, 328 I.C.C. 460
(1966). However, on January 4, 1967, the carriers’ petition
for reconsideration was granted, and shortly thereafter a
second set of hearings were held. On November 30, 1967,
the Commission reversed its earlier position and issued an
order giving its authorization for the merger, 331 I.C.C.
228 (1967). There ensued numerous third-party requests
for further reconsideration, and the Commission issued a
series of orders, not pertinent here, in conjunction with
those requests. In addition, several court actions were com-
menced in an attempt to overturn the agency’s authoriz-
ation. See, e.g., United States v. United States, 296 F.Supp.
853 (D.C.D.C. 1968). On March 3, 1970, the merger fin-
ally became effective by order of this Court. United States
v. Interstate Commerce Commission, (Northern Lines Mer-
ger Cases), 396 U.S. 491 (1970).

After the issuance of the hearing examiner’s recommend-
ed report and order, but while the merger proposal was still

1 For an historical analysis of the merger proceedings in this case,
and a discussion of certain allied transactions not directly relevant
here, see United States v. Interstate Commerce Commission (North-
ern Lines Merger Case) 396 U.S. 491 (1970).

RP here ene ae PRN a ee

—— bai ea

pending before the Commission, the rail carriers entered
into an agreement with the BLE to establish the job pro-
tections which would be accorded the union membership
following the merger. This agreement, denominated the
Merger Protective Agreement of June 29, 1965, guaran-
teed, inter alia, normal attrition and pre-merger wages
for all locomotive engineers who had been employed on
the predecessor lines. It also provided for subsequent ne-
gotiation by the carriers and the union of implementing
agreements relating to the use of employees, rearrangement
and changes in seniority districts, integration of seniority
rosters in the consolidated seniority districts and other ad-
justments necessary to effect the merger.

This merger agreement contained the following state-
ment of intent in Section 2(b):

“This agreement is intended to provide a fair and
equitable arrangement for the protection of the inter-
ests of the carriers’ employees represented by the
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers as provided in
Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act, as
amended.” (Joint Exhibit 1)

The merger agreement also contained its own “worse posi-
tion” clause, setting forth guarantees in excess of those
provided in Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce
Act. Section 2(c) of the Merger Agreement provided:

“The new company will take into its employment all
locomotive engineer employees (including all employ-
ees having seniority and equities as such) of Great
Northern, Northern Pacific, Chicago, Burlington,
Quincy and Spokane, Portland and Seattle as of the
date of this agreement or subsequent thereto up to and
including the final effective date of the commission
order, and none of these protected employees of the

9

said Carriers shall be deprived of their employment
status or placed in a worse position with respect to
compensation, rules governing working conditions,
fringe benefits or rights and privileges pertaining there-
to at anytime during such employment.” (Joint Ex-
hibit 1) (emphasis added).

In January, of 1966, the rail carriers and the BLE enter-
ed into.a second agreement, known as Implementing Agree-
ment No. 1, which contained, in pertinent part, certain pro-
visions for the consolidation of seniority districts through-
out the merged railroad system. The Implementing Agree-
ment established five consolidated seniority districts. At is-
sue in this case is the newly-formed Pacific Seniority Dis-
trict. It also provided that the consolidated seniority rosters
for each of the five new districts were to be prepared on a
percentage allocation basis — viz. on the basis of a ratio
which contrasted the total engine hours and car miles within
the newly consolidated district with the total engine hours
and car miles in each of the former seniority districts so
combined. This formula is that mandated by Standing Rule
35 of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, 1966 edition (Joint Ex. 4).

The Merger Protective Agreement and Implementing
Agreement No. 1 were canceled by the BLE, pursuant to
their terms, following the Commission’s initial decision to
withhold its approval of the merger. However, in anticipa-
tion of receiving a more favorable ruling from the Com-
mission on their petition for reconsideration the carriers en-
tered into a third aggreement with ihe BLE on September
13, 1966. Under this third agreement, the two prior agree-
ments were reiistated with several amendments, only one
of which has particular relevance here. The pertinent

10

amendment to Implementing Agreement No. | reads in
full as follows:

Section 3 of Attachment B of Implementing Agree-
ment No. 1 is amended to provide that in the event
the interested General Committees agree on a different
arrangement for an equitable consolidation of rosters
for any of the new districts as outlined therein, and
the New Company [BN] has no objection to such ar-
rangement, then agreement will be entered into to
cover such consolidation of rosters.

As amended, the September 13, 1966 Agreement express-
ly provided that the interested General Committees of the
BLE could agree to establish a different method for equit-
ably consolidating the seniority rosters in their respective
districts. Absent objection by the various carriers, the meth-
od so chosen would then be incorporated into the post
merger colicctive bargaining agreement executed by BN

and the BLE.

During the interval in which the BN merger was tempor-
arily inactive — between the initially adverse decision of
the Commission and the execution of the September 13,
1966 Agreement — the delegates to the BLE convention
had convened and extensively revised, effective July 19,
1966, that portion of the BLE Constitution which dealt
with mergers and other related transactions. Standing Rule
35, as amended, provides:

Seniority Districts

Should it be, in the judgment of the officer assigned
and the General Chairmen in the best interest of the
members affected as a result of a merger, etc., to con-
solidate and/or merge a Seniority District or Districts,

the General Chairmen shall consult with the Local
Chairmen to work out a merger of the Districts and

11

seniority rosters which shall be made on an equitable
basis, as follows:

In the preparation of seniority rosters to cover the
Seniority Districts on an equitable basis, the General
Chairman shall request the carrier to furnish promptly
to him all statisitical information such as, but not lim-
ited to, number of trains, car miles, train miles, and
yard engine hours and/or inbound car count for use in
determining a proper ratio to govern the parties.

Should the General Chairman and affected Local
Chairmen fail to agree, the matter shall be referred to
the Grand Chief Engineer who shall make an investi-
gation within thirty (30) days after which the Execu-
tive Committee of the G.I.D. [Grand International
Division] shall make a determination which shall be
final and binding. (emphasis added)

The previous Standing Rule 35, in effect from 1962 through
1966, was before the District Court as joint exhibit No. 3.
In conjunction with certain of these standing rule changes,
the Grand Chief Engineer of the BLE assigned one of the
union’s officers to coordinate the intra-union activities asso-
ciated with the proposed BN merger. Among his duties, the
officer was to assist the General and Local Chairmen in
reaching a decision, pursuant to Standing Rule 35 and the
September 13, 1966 Agreement, as to the method by which
seniority rosters would be consolidated in the newly-formed
districts.

In August of 1967, following numerous meetings among
all interested parties, four proposals were offered to the
Local Chairmen for their consideration; and. after further
debate, a fifth and sixth proposal were added. On October
17, 1968, the General Chairmen of the NP, GN and SP&S
sent a joint letter to the Local Chairmen requesting that
each indicate his preference as to the consolidation method

12

which would be adopted in his district. Additional meetings
were held, and the BLE’s Executive Committee was con-
sulted on a number of occasions regarding the various pro-
posals. When the process was finally completed, a majority
of the Local Chairmen in the Pacific District had voted to
recommend the implementation of a date of hire method
in their district. It was this recommendation which was ulti-
mately incorporated into the BN-BLE post-merger collec-
tive bargaining agreement, dated February 19, 1970.

The present action, charging a violation of the Railway
Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. Sec. 151 et seq., and the Interstate
Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. Sec. 1 et seq., was instituted by
a group of locomotive engineers employed on the merged
BN. In their prayer for relief, the Petitioners sought a dec-
laratory judgment that the consolidated seniority roster for
the Pacific District and the February 19, 1970 collective
bargaining agreement between BN and the BLE were il-
legal, null and void. In addition, injunctive relief was re-
quested to prohibit BN and the BLE from implementing the
agreement and thereby utilizing a date of hire consolidated
roster.

Following a trial on the merits, the district court held that
the BN-BLE agreement of February 19, 1970, and in par-
ticular those provisions specifying that the seniority rosters
in the Pacific Seniority Districts were to be consolidated
using the engineers’ date of hire as firemen, was contrary
to the “clear and unambiguous” language of Standing Rule
35 of the BLE Constitution and therefore void. The court
also held that by interpreting its constitution to permit a
date of hire consolidation the BLE had breached its statu-
tory duty of fair representation under the Railway Labor

13

Act, thus rendering the agreement and resulting seniority
roster illegal and unenforceable. Finally, it held that in
implementing the agreement the union had placed the Peti-
tioners in a “worse position with regard to work opportun-
ity” in violation of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Com-
merce Act, 49 U.S.C. Sec. 5(2) (f), the intent of the I.C.C.
order approving the merger, 331 I.C.C. 228 (1967), and
the Merger Protective Agreement and Implementing Agree-
ment No. 1. In ruling that the Respondents had violated
Sec. 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act, the District
Court made the following Findings of Fact:

“32. The resulting seniority roster which has been
placed in use in the Pacific Seniority District was com-
piled by combining all of the names from the prior
seven rosters in an order based strictly upon each indi-
viduals date of hire as a fireman. The testimony and
the exhibits show that plaintiffs have lost seniority by
adoption of this consolidated roster based upon a
strict date of hire as firemen, and that engineers for-
merly employed by Northern Pacific and the SP&S
have gained seniority. The Plaintiffs have not suffered
any loss of wages or fringe benefits, due to the guaran-
teed wage provisions of the protective agreements be-
tween the B of LE and the carriers.

33. The Plaintiffs have, by loss of seniority, been
required since the merger to work on less desirable
jobs, that is, switch engineers instead of through runs
on the mainline freights, and similar difficulties. Some
Plaintiffs who formerly held daytime working assign-
ments are no longer able to hold them are are (sic)
obliged to work on night shifts due to their drop in
seniority after the: merger.

34. By reason of the adoption and implementa-
tion of the seniority roster based strictly on date of
hiring as a fireman, the plaintiffs engineers in this case
are not in the same relative standing or position with

14

regatd to work opportunity as they were prior to the
merger.”

As a result of the following Findings of Fact, the trial judge
entered inter alia, the following Conclusion of Law:

“2. As a result of the agreement dated February
19, 1970 (Joint Exhibit 7) and the resulting engineer’
seniority roster for the Pacific Seniority District based
upon a strict date of hire method as firemen, the plain-
tiffs have been placed in a worse position with regard
to work opportunity than they were in prior to the
merger, in violation of the provisions of Section 5(2)

' (f) of the Interstate Commerce Act, and of the intent
of the ICC order approving the nierger, the Merger
Protective Agreement and Implementing Agreement
No. 1 enacted, for the protection of plainiffs in con-
junction with the merger.”

A declaratory judgment was entered, and an injunction is-
sued which prohibited BN and the BLE from giving effect
to the February 19, 1970 agreement or utilizing a date of
hire consolidated roster in the Pacific District. Upon appeal
by respondents, the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
stayed the injunction issued by the District Court pending
review and ultimately reversed the trial court.

15

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. “WoRSE POSITION”

Once again this court has before it a case concerning
the intent and scope of the “worse position” clause of Sec-
tion 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act. Earlier de-
cisions by this court regarding this issue, spanning three
decades, are Railway Labor Executives’ Association v.
United States, 339 U.S. 142 (1950); St. Joe Paper Co. v.
Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., 347 U.S. 298 (1954); Bro-
therhood of Maintenance of Way Employees v. United
States, 366 U.S. 169 (1961) and Norfolk and Western R.
Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U.S. 37 (1971).

This particular case involves a claim by 213 locomotive
engineers that as a result of the implementation of a spe-
cific method for consolidating engineer’s seniority rosters
on the former lines, to effect the merger, the Petitioners
were placed in a “worse position with regard to work op-
portunity.” The District Court made specific findings to
this effect. (App. “A”, p A-10). The Petitioners in this case
have not sought a determination that “job freeze” is the
intendment of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce
Act. That question was clearly settled in Brotherhood of
Maintenance of Way Employees, supra. Rather, Petitioners
have urged that under Section 5(2)(f) and the applicable
merger agreement provisions they are entitled to placement
on the post-merger consolidated seniority roster in the same
relative position as that enjoyed on the respective pre-merg-
er rosters, It is problematical as to whether Section 5(2)
(f), standing alone, provides a sufficient basis for this
claim, since the Merger Protective Agreement (Joint Ex.
1) governing the parties herein provided in pertinent part:

‘one ponies me = tcl (Sec. 2

(c) Joint Ex. 1).
Under the rule enunciated in Nemitz the above quoted
clause became a condition of the Commision’s approval of
the consolidation, and its provisions are deemed to consti-
tute a fair and equitable arrangement. 404 U.S. at 39.
Thus the “worse position” test, enhanced by Section 2(c)
of the Merger Agreement, involves more than monetary
compensation — it pertains to employment status and work
opportunity which translates into seniority.

This bargained-for agreement reflected the workers con-
cern for protections in addition to monetary security. The
District Court found that these protections were abrogated
by the method ultimately used to consolidate rosters. The

Circuit Court found these protections were not cognizable ;

in this case yet recognized that in some instances protec-
tions of this nature “which do not speak directly to com-
pensation may nevertheless be so intimately related to the
compensatory protections guaranteed employees as to re-
quire their inclusion in a post-merger collective bargain-
ing agreement.” (Slip Opinion p. 25).

The ultimate method selected by the Respondents was
found by the District Court to be at odds with the merger
agreement before the Interstate Commerce Commission.
The record in this case clearly reflects the inequities with
respect to work opportunity visited upon these petitioners.
This court should determine the extent to which the parties

RS FO ae,

17

to a merger collective bargaining agreement are bound by
the assurances contained therein concerning the laborer’s
non-compensatory rights. Petitioners suggest this case is the
logical result of the doctrine announced in Norfolk and
Western R. Co. v. Nemitz, supra.

A second closely related problem present in this case
with respect to Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Com-
merce Act is the question of whether the Respondents “ab-
rogated” prior specific agreements before the ICC. The
Court of Appeals decision directly confronts this inquiry.
The problem arises out of the fact that in addition to the
“worse position” clause contained in the merger protective
agreement’, the Respondents entered into “Implementing
Agreement No. 1” (Joint Ex. 2) which provided for inte-
gration of pre-merger seniority rosters in all seniority dis-
tricts on the basis of “proration of work.* After initial
denial of the merger this agreement was cancelled and later
reinstated by the Respondents, the later act being accomp-
lished by the Agreement of September 13, 1966. (Joint Ex.
6). The September 13, 1966 agreement reinstated Imple-
menting Agreement No. 1 except that instead of being re-
quired to consolidate rosters on the basis of percentage of
work done, the various seniority districts were now at lib-
erty to use any other method the particular General Com-

*Section 1(b) of the Merger Protective Agreement required the
Carrier to supply statistics on work performed on the various lines.
This data is that required by Standing Rule 35.

*As will be seen it is this method of consolidation which Petition-
ers contend and the District Court found is mandated by Standing
Rule 35 of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers.

18

a

mittees agreed on for the equitable consolidation of rosters
so long as the Carrier’s approval was obtained.

It is questionable as to exactly what agreements were
before the ICC. The record indicates affirmatively that the
Merger Protective Agreement was but it is unclear whether
the remaining two agreements were considered. See, 331
L.C.C. 228 (1967); (Tr. 231-32). In Nemitz this Court
held:

“An agreement made pursuant to the last sentence
of Sec. 5(2)(f) may vary the protections afforded by
the I.C.C. order, but it may not substantially abrogate
employees’ rights grounded in an I.C.C. order. 404
U.S. 42-43.

This Court should determine whether the protections af-
forded petitioners were substantially abrogated in that the
ultimate method of consolidation implemented in the
Pacific Seniority District was inequitable or one other than
that contemplated by the Interstate Commerce Commission.
II., TII., 1V. “Farr REPRESENTATION”; STANDING RULE 35

In this Court’s most recent pronouncement on the duty
of fair representation the doctrine was etched in the follow-
ing terms:

The Ninth Circuit, in an unrelated opinion, has viewed
Vaca v. Sipes, as reflecting a “calculated broadening of
the fair representation standard” in comparison with earlier
opinions from this court holding the graveman of the action
is hostile discrimination or bad faith. See, Retana v. A part-

Stroke ER er, = EEE ae OEE ROTTS EO BN 8 ee araeesger ntibens. t

19

ment, Motel, Hotel & El. Op. Union, Local 14, 453 F. 2d
1018, 1053 fn. 8 (1972). Other circuits have maintained
the rigid pre-Vaca standards. Schick v. NLRB, 409 F. 2d
395 (7th Cir. 1969). There exists yet a third body of
cases which appear to dichotomize the fair representation
duty, applying more stringent standards (arbitrary and
capricious) in the grievance and arbitration context while
applying the more traditional approach in collective bar-
gaining situations. See, DeArroyo v. Sindicato de Traba-
jatores Packing House, 425 F. 2d 281 (lst. Cir. 1970);
Bazarte v. United Transportation Union, 429 F. 2d 868
(3rd. Cir. 1970); Griffin v. United Automobile Workers,
81 LRRM 2485 (4th. Cir. 1972); Dill v. Greyhound Corp.,
435 F. 2d 231 (6th Cir. 1970).

This variance alone provides a sufficient basis for con-

sideration of Petitioners’ writ.

In this particular case the Petitioners claimed the duty

of fair representation was violated in that:

1.) the method of consolidating seniority rosters in this
case was clearly inequitable;

2.) a violation of the “worse position” clause applicable
in this case consituted a denial of fair representation;
and

3.) the Respondents violated the organic law‘ of the
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers in consoli-
dating the seniority rosters in the new'v formed Pa-
cific Seniority Districts on a basis other than pro-
ration of work.

‘Standing Rule 35, Constitution and By-Laws of the BLE.

SE LUI TET No 8 SOD ¥ a a

20

Petioners’ position with respect to items 1 and 2 listed
above has been previously set forth. The critical error of the
Circuit Court pertains to the third claim. The district court
found that Standing Rule 35 was plain and unambiguous
in requiring that:

“[iJn the preparation of seniority rosters to cover
the Seniority Districts on an equitable basis, the Gen-
eral Chairmen shall request the carrier to furnsh
promptly to him all statistical information such as,
but not limited to, number of trains, car miles, train
miles, and yard engine hours and/or inbound car count
for use in determining a proper ratio to govern the
parties.” (emphasis added).

Standing Rule 35 presupposes the use of a ratio in consol-
idating rosters and it is beyond dispute that this was not
done. The Respondents simply combined men, not rosters.
It is this distinction that makes the Circuit Court’s reliance
upon the fact that date of hire is a generally acceptable
formula immaterial. The point that eluded the Circuit
Court is that Standing Rule 35 governs (and mandates) con-
solidation of rosters, and leaves the question of how men
are dovetailed into the newly formed roster to the various
lines involved in the merger. Under Standing Rule 35 the
roster is established by determination of the work done
on each former line. The requirement that a ratio be estab-
lished arises out of the plain language of the rule. That
some type of ratio is contemplated is further evidenced by
the “Convention Proceedings” of the BLE (Joint Ex. 5),
and the reference to how Standing Ru'e 35 read prior to
its revision at the 1966 convention. The prior rule simply
left the method of consolidation up to a referendum vote
of the membership.

“ tS we

21

Again, the distinction that exists in Standing Rule 35
is the difference between combining seniority rosters and
the process of actually inserting the men into the consoli-
dated rosters. These are two separate and distinct processes.
Standing Rule 35 establishes the procedure for combining
existing rosters (on the former divisions). This is done on
the basis of the work performed in the past by each division.
Standing Rule 35 does not compel the individual (former)
divisions to arrange their roster, for purposes of dove-
tailing into the consolidated roster, in any particular way.
Thus, once the ratio is established by use of the statistical
information, each (former) division is at liberty to arrange
its men, for the purpose of dovetailing into the consolidated
roster, by any method it chooses. This second step may then
be accomplished by the different divisions in different man-
ners. One division may use date of hire as a fireman, an-
other date of hire as an engineer, and yet another accord-
ing to the relative height of its members. The point is that
Standing Rule 35 does not mandate that the intramural
hierarchy of the (former) divisions be established by any
particular process. Rather, Standing Rule 35 requires that
a ratio be established for determining how the rosters of the
(former) divisions should be combined.

What the Respondents did in this case was omit the pro-
cess of establishing the ratio mandated by Standing Rule 35
and simply decided to consolidate men, thereby ignoring
the separate process clearly required with respect to rosters.
There is a vital difference here. Petitioners do not contend
that Standing Rule 35 prohibits date of hire as a method
of determining how each (former) divisions roster is to

2 |
be arranged for purposes of dovetailing into the new con-
solidated roster.

To demonstrate the distinction the following oversimpli-

fied illustration is offered:

A.) As a result of the ratio formula it is determined
that the rosters of three former divisions will be
consolidated as follows: Division A did twice as
much work as Divisions B and C so for every one
man from Division B and C dovetailed into the
consolidated roster two men from A will be inserted
—thus as the division slots are dovetailed in the
consolidated roster will look like this:*

CONSOLIDATED ROSTER

Slot #1 A
Slot #2 A
Slot #3 B
Slot #4 C |
Slot #5 A
Slot #6 A
Slot #7 B
Slot #8 C

et cetera

The use of this ratio then fulfills the requirements
of Standing Rule 35

B.) As to the names to be plugged into each divisions
slots it matters little, insofar as Rule 35 is concern-
ed, on what basis the rosters of Divisions A, B and
C are established. A may use date of hire, B may

- ~— qeeepnreenm - exewerveee ee

‘Each slot to be filled by one employee of that division.

ae DRA AEN Ng eR eg os ——e — ;
" EE TEETER IO DE EE OI Be Bee, RES ——

23

use work hours performed and C may compose
their roster on the basis of the relative deportment
of each member.

The point is that two independent processes are involved
and that in this case one process was completely ignored.

This Court should review the Court of Appeals decision
in this case because the effect of the ruling is to re-write
Standing Rule 35. Petitioners’ urge that the Court’s error
is compounded by the fact that in finding as it did a con-
flict has been created in various circuits as to the intent and
meaning of Standing Rule 35. In Price v. Seaboard Coast-
line Railroad Co., 332 F. Supp. 1093 (N.D. Ala. 1970),
affd per curiam 449 F. 2d 1371 (Sth Cir. 1971) and
Cole v. Seaboard Coastline Railroad Co., 65 C.C.H. Lab.
Cases, para. 11,567 (E.D. Va. 1970), affd 64 C.C.H.
Lab. Cases, para. 11,499 (4th Cir. 1971)* both circuits
held Standing Rule 35 provided for the “exclusive method”
for consolidating rosters and required the use of the statis-
tical information contained therein.’ These cases, like this
one, involved the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers.
Price and Cole are at odds with the Circuit Court’s opin-
ion and it is necessary for this court to resolve decisively
the issue of what are the requirements of Standing Rule 35.

The bedrock of an organized laborer’s rights is the or-
ganic law of his union. If the Union representatives are at

*See also, Witherspoon v. Grand International Bro. of Locomotive
Engineers, 194 S.E. 2d 399 (S. Car. 1973).

"It is worthy of note that both Cole and Price also dealt with
claims of enginemen being in a worse position with respect to work
opportunity.

~

~

NS trae 22 eegne 29 o8, Re PO ERDEI RP Bho Foes EL 5 EOE, EOSIN A EOD EY EES PO i sae

a i

24

liberty to ignore the requirements of the Union Constitu-
tion then the membership’s rights are illusory. The two
lower courts have disagreed on the meaning of Standing
Rule 35. The fourth and fifth circuits’ decisions appear to
conflict with that of the Ninth Circuit. If Standing Rule
35 was in fact violated, as Petitioners urge, then the Re-
spondent BLE violated its duty of fair representation.

CONCLUSION

This case presents this Court with an opportunity to
clarify the law with respect to two critical aspects of fed-
eral labor law — the “worse position” doctrine arising out
of mergers governed by the Interstate Commerce Act, and
the doctrine of fair representation. The importance of clear-
ly delineating these two areas is evident in light of the prev-
alence of mergers today in railroad, airline and other close-
ly regulated industries.

On the basis of the foregoing it is respectfully requested
that this Court issue a Writ of Certiorari in this case.

Respectfully submitted:

WILLIAM J. POWELL
BRYAN P. HARNETIAUX, Associate

1016 Washington Trust Bank Bldg.
Spokane, Washington 99204
Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON
NORTHERN "VISION

CaRL LATURNER, et al.,

Plantiff, No. 3379

FINDINGS OF
Vv.

FACT AND
BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC., and CONCLUSIONS

BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE OF LAW
ENGINEERS, (R. 132-142)

Defendants.

Tuts ACTION having been tried before the Court and the
Court having duly considered the evidence and having
filed its Memorandum Opinion herein and being fully
advised in the premises, now makes the following Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Defendant Burlington Northern, Inc., is a Deleware
corporation and is a common carrier by rail, operating
interstate. It is the successor since March 3, 1970 of five
predecessor carriers, namely Great Northern, Northern Pa-
cific, Pacific Coast, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy, and
Spokane, Portland & Seattle.

2. Defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers is
an unincorporated association and labor organization, na-
tional in scope, certified under the Railway Labor Act as
the collective bargaining representative for all locomotive

Sheer cormmapeecomse a

A-2

engineers employed by Defendant Burlington Northern
and its predecessor lines.

3. There are 213 plaintiffs in this action, all of whom
are employed by Defendant Burlington Northern, Inc., as
locomotive engineers. Of said 213 plaintiffs, 168 were for-
merly employed by the Great Northern, Spokane Tenth
Division, and the remaining 45 plaintiffs were formerly
employed by the Northern Pacific, Idaho West Division,
with home terminal at Pasco, Washington.

4. Both of the Defendants do business within the East-
ern District of Washington, and all of the plaintiffs reside
within the Eastern District of Washington.

5. Some of the Plaintiffs are members of Defendant
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and other plaintiffs
are members of the Firemen’s organization, a division of
the United Transportation Union. For purposes of collec-
tive bargaining however all of the plaintiffs are repre-
sented by the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers as
the exclusive bargaining representative for rates of pay,
rules and working conditions for the craft of locomotive
engineers on the Defendant railroad and its predecessor
lines.

6. Prior to the merger, the predecessor railroads were

each divided into a considerable number of operating divi-
sions, each of which had separate seniority rosters for em-
ployees. In conjunction with the merger, the merged rail-
road was divided into five new seniority districts, of which
we are here concerned with the Pacific Seniority District
which extends from terminals at Troy, Montana and Para-
dise, Montana on the East to the Pacific Ocean in Wash-

A-3

ington and Oregon on the West. The formation of the
new Pacific Seniority District involved the merging or
combining of seven separate seniority rosters, as follows:
(1) Great Northern Spokane Tenth Division

(home terminal, Spokane) 174 men;

(2) Great Northern Eleventh Division (home
terminal, Seattle) 189 men;

(3) Northern Pacific Tacoma East Division (home
terminal, Auburn, Wn.) 130 men;

(4) Northern Pacific Tacoma West Division (home
terminal, Tacoma 80 men;

(5) Northern Pacific Idaho East Division (home
terminal, Spokane) 108 men; |

(6) Northern Pacific Idaho West Division (home
terminal, Pasco) 114 men;

(7) Spokane, Portland & Seattle System (various
terminals) 188 men.

7. To become a locomotive engineer, an individual must
first have been employed on a railroad as a fireman. Two
prerequisites are necessary to promotion from firemen to
engineer, namely work as a fireman for a specified mini-
mum period of time, and successful completion of a stand-
ard examination for locomotive engineers. Upon fulfillment
of these prerequisites, a man is then “set up” on the loco-
motive engineers seniority roster. An employee “set up”
on the engineer’s roster does not lose his status on the |
firemen’s roster. Once an employee is “set up” he earns

- the right to work as a locomotive engineer; how soon or

how often he works in that capacity is dependent upon
his rank on the engineer’s roster and on the needs of the
particular railroad carrier. Until the individual attains some
sufficient seniority status on the engineer’s roster to claim

A-4

fulltime work as an engineer, he may be subject to “ebb
and flow”, namely being “cut back”, from engineer’s work
to firemen’s work due to inability to claim any available
engineer’s job. “Cut backs” can also occur during periods of
reduction of service, and the reverse also occurs. As a con-
sequence, all locomotive engineers are also carried on the
firemen’s roster, and there are a total of 1099 names avail-
able to be placed on both engineer’s and firemen’s rosters in
the new Pacific Seniority District of the Burlington North-
ern. ; '

8. The merger proceeding commenced in February
1961, when the Great Northern, Northern Pacific, Pacific
Coast, Chicago, Burlington & Quincy and Spokane, Port-
land and Seattle filed joint applications with the Interstate
Commerce Commission in Finance Docket Nos. 21478-80,
asking the Commission for authority under Section 5(2)
of the Interstate Commerce Act (49 USC, Sec. 5(2)) to
merge the first four railroads above mentioned and for the
resulting company to lease the Spokane, Portland & Seat-
tle, to control subsidiaries, to issue common stock, to as-
sume obligations and liabilities, to abandon and construct
certain lines and to do other things related to and neces-
sary for the effectuations of the mergers and lease. Section
5(2)(a) prohibited consummation. of the transaction with-
out approval of the Interstate Commerce Commission. Sec-
tion 5(2)(b) of the statute provided for Commission ap-
proval of the transaction if the Commission found it to be
just and reasonable and consistent with the public inter-
est, subject to such terms and conditions and modifications
as the Commission should find to be just and reasonable.

9. Section 5(2)(f) of the Statute required as a condi-

A-5

tion of approval of the transaction that the Commission
should require a fair and equitable arrangement to protect
the interests of the railroad employees affected. Section
5(2)(f) of the Statute reads as follows:

“As a condition of its approval, under this paragraph,
of any transaction involving a carrier or carriers by
railroad subject to the provisions of this chapter, the
Commission shall require a fair and equitable ar-
rangement to protect the interests of the railroad em-
ployees affected. In its order of approval, the Com-
mission shall include terms and conditions providing
that during the period of four years from the effec-
tive date of such order such transaction will not result
in employees of the carrier or carriers by railroad
affected by such order being in a worse position with
respect to their employment except that the protec-
tion afforded to any employee pursuant to this sen-
tence shall not be required to continue for a longer
period, following the effective date of such order,
than the period during which such employee was in
the employ of such carrier or carriers prior to the
effective date of such order. Notwithstanding any
other provisions of this chapter and chapters 8 and
12 of this title, an agreement pertaining to the pro-
tection of the interests of said employees may here-
after be entered into by any carrier or carriers by
railroad and the duly authorized representative or
representatives of its or their employees.” (Emphasis
supplied).

10. On August 24, 1964, Hearing Examiner Murphy, in
his recommended report and order, recommended the ap-
proval of the merger to create defendant Burlington North-
ern. On March 31, 1966, the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission denied the application for the merger. On June
27, 1966, the applicants filed a petition for reconsideration
of the order dated March 31, 1966. On January 4, 1967,
the Interstate Commerce Commission granted the petition

A-6

for reconsideration and held additional hearings. On No-
vember 30, 1967, the Interstate Commerce Commission
granted authority for the merger. Following this date, there
were many requests for reconsideration and many addi-
tional orders issued by the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion. On May 2, 6 and 9, 1968, court actions were filed
to challenge the merger. On March 3, 1970, by order
of the United States Supreme Court, the merger became
effective. March 3, 1970, is commonly referred to as
“M-Day”.

11. Following the recommended report and order of
the hearing examiner, but while the merger proposal was
still pending before the Interstate Commerce Commission,
and in anticipation of ICC approval of the proposed mer-
ger, the five rail carriers entered into an agreement with
defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers on June
29, 1965, denominated Merger Protective Agreement.
(Joint Exhibit 1)

12. The Merger Protective Agreement of June 29, 1965,
provided among other things, for guaranteed earnings and
employment for all locomotive engineers on the predeces-
sor companies and also provided for subsequent negotia-
tion cf implementing agreements between the rail carriers
and the defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers
relating to the use of employees, the allocation and rear-
rangement of forces, rearrangement and changes in senior-
ity districts, merger of engineer seniority rosters in the
consolidated seniority districts, and other adjustments nec-
essary for the proper functioning of the merged system.

13. Subsequently, on January 21, 1966, the five rail car-

A-7

riers and defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers
entered into a second agreement denominated “Imple-
menting Agreement No. 1.” (Joint Exhibit 2)

14. Implementing Agreement No. 1 contained, among
other things, provisions for the consolidation of the former
seniority districts throughout the merged railroad system,
except those seniority districts on the former Chicago,
Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company, into five newly
established seniority districts, which were denominated
“Lake Superior District,” “Minnesota District,” “Montana
Dakota District,” “Rocky Mountain District,” and “Pacific
District.”

15. Implementing Agreement No. 1 further provided in
Article I, Section 3 thereof, that the new seniority rosters
for the proposed new seniority districts should be pre-
pared on a basis of the relationship of total engine hours
and car miles in the consolidated districts to the total
engine hours and car miles of each former seniority dist-
rict thereby producing a seniority rearrangement equitable
to the employees involved.

16. On March 31, 1966, the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission disapproved the appplication for merger by the rail
carriers.

17. The effective date of the Merger Protective Agree-
ment and the Implementing Agreement had been mutually
extended to June 1, 1966, and on or about that date de-
fendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, through
its general chairman, notified the various rail carriers that
sinc the Interstate Commerce Commission had failed to
approve the proposed merger the Brotherhood of Locomo-

A-8

tive Engineers was cancelling the Merger Protective Agree-
ment and Implementing Agreement No. 1, in accordance
with the provisions of those agreements.

18. In anticipation of a more favorable determination
by the Interstate Commerce Commission of the merger
application on the petition for reconsideration, the five rail-
carriers and defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive En-
gineers entered into an agreement on September 13, 1966,
hereafter denominated “Reinstatment and Amendatory
Agreement.” (Joint Exhibit 6).

19. Reinstatement and Amendatory Agreement (Joint
Exhibit 6) provided that the Merger Protective Agreement
and Implementing Agreement No. 1 would again be in full
force and effect except that Section 3 of Attachment B of
Implementing Agreement No. 1 was amended to provide
that in the event the interested General Committees agree
on a different arrangement for an equitable consolidation
of rosters for any of the new seniority districts, and the
new company had no objections to such arrangements,
then agreement would be entered into to cover such con-
solidation of rosters.

20. On February 19, 1970, the new company defendant
Burlington Northern, Inc., and defendant Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, through its General Chairmen, en-
tered into a further Implementing Agreement (Joint Ex-
hibit 7), providing for the consolidation of the Engineers’
Seniority Rosters in the merged seniority districts. The

lidated seniority districts and engi > aaalieitincem,
ters, therefore, were placed into effect on the effective
date of the merger, March 3, 1970.

A-9

21. The merger Seniority Agreement provided that
three of the five new seniority districts, namely, Lake Su-
perior, Minnesota and Montana-Dakota would morge for-
mer engineer seniority rosters on the basis of “Consolidated
Senivrity Equities Per Attachment B of Implementing
Agreement No. 1.” It further provided that in the remain-
ing two new seniority districts, Rocky Mountain and Pa-
cific, that engineers’ seniority rosters would be “dove-tailed
on a basis of hiring date.” The hiring date referred to in the
February 19, 1970 agreement was the hiring date of the
employee as a fireman on the former line.

22. Officers of Division 576 of the BLE filed in writing
with defendent BLE certain purported appeals to the
Grand Chief Engineer of the BLE under the Constiution
and By-Laws of said defendant relative to the merging
of the seniority rosters, and such officers of Division 576
were informed that the consolidation of seniority rosters
had been carried out to finality in accordance with the
terms of the merger agreements and the internal laws of
the Brotherhood, and from which there is no provision
for appeal under the Constitution and By-Laws of the
BLE.

23. On July 19, 1966, in convention duly assembled,
defendant Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers amended
the organization’s Standing Rule 35(d) to its present lan-
guage, which reads as follows:

“Should it be, in the judgment of the officer

assigned
and the General Chairman in the best interest of the
members affected as a result of a merger, etc., |

A-10

the Districts and seniority rosters which shall be made
on an equitable basis, as follows:

In the preparation of seniority rosters to cover the
Seniority Districts on an equitable basis, the General
Chairman shall request the carrier to furnish promptly
to him all statistical information such as, but not lim-
ited to, number of trains, car miles, train miles, and
yard engine hours and/or inbound car count for use
in determining a proper ratio to govern the parties.

Should the General Chairman and affected Local
Chairmen fail to agree, the matter shall be referred
to the Grand Chief Engineer who will make an in-
vestigation within thirty (30) days after which the
Executive Cormmittee of the G.I.D. shall make a de-
termination which shall be final and binding.”

24. Prior to the Burlington Northern merger, each of the
predecessor lines had a local organization of the Brother-
hood of Locomotive Engineers which generally, but not al-
ways, coincided with the operating divisions of the various
railroads. Each local organization elected a local commit-
tee of adjustment, headed by a man denominated “local
chairman” whose duty it was to negotiate local matters
with the carrier involved. On each former railroad in turn,
the local committees of adjustment elected a general com-
mittee of adjustment represented by a “general chairman”,
whose duty it was to negotiate system wide matters with
the carrier. The Burlington Northern merger involved for
the BL of E, four general chairmen, namely, Mr. Kempf
(later Mr. Spangler) for the Great Northern; Mr. Bichsel
for the Northern Pacific; Mr. Dunnigan for the SP&S and
Mr. Salee for the CB&Q.

25. In what was to become the Pacific Seniority Dis-
trict, there were seven local divisions on three carriers
involved, represented by ten local chairmen, namely, two

A-11

Gicai Northern Divisions, represented by two local chair-
men, four Northern Pacific divisions represented by five
local chairmen and one SP&S Division represented by three
local chairmen.

26. To assist the general chairmen and local chairmen
in obtaining agreement for protective conditions for the
employees incident to the merger, and in obtaining intra-
union agreement concerning the consolidation of seniority
rosters, the Grand Chief Engineer of the BLofE assigned
an Assistant Grand Chief Engineer, Mr. L. S. Loomis, to
work with the general chairmen and to facilitate the
negotiations.

27. Originally, the general chairmen and the assistant
grand chief engineer submitted four proposals to the iccal
chairmen representing the seven seniority districts in the
Pacific Division. These proposals presented a percentage
block plan, a date of hire with prior rights plan, and a
plan that included matching engineers according to their
seniority on their respective rosters.

28. The general chairtaen and the assistant grand chief
engineer held meetings with local chairmen in Seattle,
Spokane and Pasco. Subsequent to these meetings and the
presentation of these four proposals, one or more local
chairmen from the Northern Pacific and one from the Se-
attle Division of the Great Northern sent an inquiry to the
General Chairmen and the Assistant Grand Chief Engineer
asking if a strict date of hire method could be used to
consolidate rosters.

29. Section 7(b) of the Constitution of the Brotherhood
of Locomotive Engineers empowers the Grand Chief En-

L

A-12

gineer with the authority to “render interpretations of the
law of the B of LE”.

30. The Grand Chief Engineer was asked for an inter-
pretation, and he responded to the General Chairmen that
the Constitution and By-Laws prohibited the use of a
strict date of hire as firemen, method for consolidating
engineers seniority rosters. At a later date, the Grand Chief
Engineer reversed himself and sent a communication to
the general chairmen in which he approved the use of a
strict date of hire method to consolidate engineers seniority
rosters. No approval or no vote had been solicited from
the local chairmen with respect to the first four plans.

31. Now a new plan was proposed to the ten local chair-
men representing the seven seniority rosters. This strict
date of hire plan was approved by a majority of the local
chairmen and made a part of the implementing agreement
between the merged railroads and the Brotherhood of Lo-
comotive Engineers. The date of hire plan adopted was
more favorable to the engineer employees of the SP&S
and Northern Pacific railway than any of the other pro-

posals.

32. The resulting seniority roster which has been placed
in use in the Pacific Seniority District was compiled by
combining all of the names from the prior seven rosters
in an order based strictly upon each individuals date of
hire as a fireman. The testimony and the exhibits show
that plaintiffs have lost seniority by adoptior of this con-
solidated roster based upon a strict date of hire as fire-
man, and that engineers formerly employed by Northern
Pacific and the SP&S have gained seniority. The plaintiffs

eer. % = a "
eee sneeeteceemrnencs

Sa Ee a

ERC ERR SRS “EEE NSE ERE NEE

A-13

have not suffered any loss of wages or fringe benefits, due
to the guaranteed wage provisions of the protective agree-
ments between the B of LE and the carriers. -

33. The Plaintiffs have, by loss of seniority, been re-
quired since the merger to work on less desirable jobs,
that is, switch engineers instead of through runs on the
mainline freights, and similar difficulties. Some Plaintiffs
who foimerly held daytime working assignments are no
longer able to hold them and are obliged to work on night
shifts due to their drop in seniority after the merger.

34. By reason of the adoption and implementation of
the seniority roster based strictly on date of hiring as a
same relative standing or position with regard to work
fireman, the plaintiffs engineers in this case are not in the
opportunity as they were prior to the merger.

35. The Court finds that there is no ambiguity in the
language of Standing Rule 35D of the Constitution of the
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. The Court further
finds from examining the proceedings at the Convention
which adopted Standing Rule 35D, that it was the intent
of the delegates to approve a rule change to expedite
mergers but to require the use of certain stated facts and
Statistical data in the preparation of a formula that would
do equity to the members involved in the formulation of
consolidated seniority rosters.

36. The Court finds that the action of the Grand Chief
Engineer and the General Chairmen in implementing the.
basic agreement by incorporating the strict date of hire
method for merging the Pacific Seniority District Engi-
neers Seniority Rosters on a strict date of hire method as

VET AReS PS EP ORS SETI T

A-14

firemen was arbitrary and capricious and contrary to the
plain and unambiguous terms of the Brotherhood’s Stand-
ing Rule D.

From the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Court makes
the following

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court has jurisdiction of the parties and of the
subject matter of this action under the provisions of the
Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C., Sec. 1 et seq., the
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C., Sec. 151 et seq., 28 U.S.C.
Secs. 1331 and 1337, and the doctrine of pendent juris-
diction.

2. As a result of the agreement dated February 19, 1970
(Joint Exhibit 7) and the resulting engineers’ seniority
roster for the Pacific Seniority District based upon a strict
date of hire method as firemen, the plaintiffs have been
placed in a worse position with regard to work opportunity
than they were in prior to the merger, in violation of the
provisions of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce
Act, and of the intent of the ICC order approving the
merger, the Merger Protective Agreement and Implement-
ing Agreement No. 1 enacted for the protection of plaintiffs
in conjunction with the merger.

3. The agreement of February 19, 1970 and the result-
ing consolidated seniority roster for engineers in the Pa-
cific Seniority District, based strictly upon date of hire as
a fireman is contrary to the clear and unambiguous provi-
sions of Standing Rule 35D of the Constitution of the
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, and as such is be-

A-15

yond the power of said Brotherhood of Locomotive Engi-
neers to enter into or to contract for, and is therefore void.

4. The arbitrary interpretation of Standing Rule 35D
by the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers violates the
Brotherhood’s statutory duty of fair representation under
the provisions of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C., Sec.
151 et seq., and the agreement of February 19, 1970 (Joint
Exhibit 7) and the resulting hiring date seniority roster for
Pacific Seniority District No. 5 formulated thereby are
therefore illegal, void and unenforceable.

5. Plaintiffs are therefore entitled to a declaratory judg-
ment finding that the agreement of February 19, 1970 and
the resulting “Hiring Date” Engineers’ Seniority Roster in
the Pacific Seniority District of Burlington Northern, Inc.,
are illegal and null and void.

6. Plaintiffs are further entitled to an injunction prohib-
iting defendants from carrying out the terms of said agree-
ment of February 19, 1970 in Pacific Seniority District
No. 5, and further prohibiting the use of a consolidated
engineers seniority roster in said seniority district which
is solely based upon the employees’ date of hire as a fire-
man. The implementation of the foregoing injunction shall
be stayed for a period of sixty days from this date to enable
defendants, if they choose, to apply for relief before the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

7. Plaintiffs shall further be entitled to their taxable
costs and disbursements herein.

A-16

Done by the Court at Tacoma, in said District, this 10th
day of March, 1972.

s / WILLIAM N. Goopwin
United States District Judge

Presented by:
s / WILLIAM J. POWELL
Attorney for Plaintiffs

Copy Received:
Attorney for Defendant Burlington Northern

s / Wn. F. NIELSEN
Attorney for Defendant Brotherhood

B-1
APPENDIX B
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON
NORTHERN DIVISION

~* CARL LaTURNER, et al.

: Plaintiff, No. 3379

BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC., and : JUDGEMENT
BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE

ENGINEERS, '
Defendants.

THIS MATTER having been tried before the Court and
the Court having filed herein its Written memorandum
decision, and having further filed its Finding of Fact and
Conclusions of Law, directing the entry of judgement in
favor of Plaintiffs, and against the Defendants, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

_ 1. It is adjudged that the Agreement of February 19,
1970 and the resulting hiring date as firemen’ engineers’
seniority roster in Pacific Seniority District No. 5 are il-
legal and null and void.

_2. Defendants Burlington Northern, Inc., and Brother-
hood of Locomotive Engineers are hereby permanently en-
joined and restrained from carrying out the terms of the
illegal agreement of February 19, 1970 in Pacific Seniority
District No. 5, and are further enjoined and restrained from
the use of a consolidated engineers’ rr roster in said

| B2 -
seniority district which is based upon the employees date
of hire as a fireman.

3. The implementation of the foregoing injunction shall
be stayed for a period of sixty days from this date to enable
defendants, if they choose, to apply for relief before the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

4. Plaintiffs shall be awarded their taxable costs and
disbursements herein. _

Done by the Court at: Spokane, in said District, this
10th day of March, 1972. |

. United States District Judge

| Presented by:

WILLIAM J. POWELL
Atttorney for Plaintiffs

Approved, Copy Received:

Attorney for Defendant Burlington Northern

Attorney for Defendant
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers

3
‘
q
I
:
:

C1
APPENDIX C
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CaRL LATURNER, et al.,
Appellee,

‘ No. 72-1576
BURLINGTON NORTHERN, INC., and
BROTHERHOOD OF LOCOMOTIVE OPINION

ENGINEERS,
Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Washington,
Northern Division

Before: CHAMBERS and SNEED, Circuit Judges,
BURNS, District Judge.

SNEED, Circuit Judge:

This appeal has as its genesis the 1970 merger of the
Great Northern Railway Company (GN), the Northern
Pacific. Railway Company (NP) and three of their oper-
ating subsidiaries — the Pacific Coast Railroad Company,
the Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company and
the Spokane, Portland & Seattle Railroad Company (SP
&S). It evolves from an action instituted by a group of dis-
satisfied employees who charged that the surviving car-
rier, Burlingon Northern, Inc. (BN), and the Brotherhood

*Honorable James M. Burns, District Judge, Western District
of Oregon, sitting by designation.

C2

of Locomotive Engineers (BLE), as the authorized bar-
gaining representative for the craft of locomotive engi-
neers, had discriminated against them for hostile and in-
vidious purposes in the negotiation and implementation of
an agreement which established, inter alia, the method for
consolidating certain of the predecessor carriers’ seniority
rosters.

FACTS

In early 1961, the above-mentioned rail carriers filed
joint applications with the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion, I.C.C. Finance Docket Nos. 21478-80, for authority
pursuant to Section 5(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act,
24 Stat. 380, as amended, 49 U.S.C. §5(2), to merge the
GN, NP, Pacific Coast and Burlington lines, and for the
surviving carrier to lease the SP&S.’ After extensive hear-

"Section 5(2) of the Interstate Commerce Act establishes certain
requirements which control the merger of common carriers. Under
Section 5(2) (a), the consummation of a merger and its related trans-

atndiastioen, 396 U.S. 491 (1970).

C-3

ings on the application, and in spite of a favorable recom-
mendation by the hearing examiner, the Commission init-
ially refused to approve the merger, 328 I.C.C. 460
(1966).*? However, on January 4, 1967, the carriers’ peti-
tion for reconsideration was granted, and shortly there-
after a second set of hearings were held. On November 30,
1967, the Commission reversed its earlier position and is-
sued an order giving its authorization for the merger, 331
I.C.C. 228 (1967). There ensued numerous third-party
requests for further reconsideration, and the Commission
issued a series of orders, not pertinent here, in conjunction
with those requests. In addition, several court actions were
commenced in an attempt to overturn the agency’s author-
ization. See, e.g., United States v. United States, 296 F.
Supp. 853 (D. D.C. 1968). On March 3, 1970, the merger
finally became effective by order of the Supreme Court.
United States v. Interstate Commerce Commission, (North-
ern Lines Merger Cases), 396 U.S. 491 (1970).

After the issuance of the hearing examiner’s recommend-
ed report and order, but while the merger proposal was still
pending before the Commission, the rail carriers entered in-
to an agreement with the BLE to establish the job protec-
tions which would be accorded the union membership fol-

*In the Commisison’s report denying the application, 328 LC.C.
460 (1966), “it was found that the merger would result in a net loss
of about 5,200 jobs on the applicant railroads, and that through the
so-called bumping process, the number of employees affected would
exceed that number.” 331 LC.C. 239, 276 (1967). For a general
discussion of the “bumping process,” which refers to seniority dis-
pac dt taping = ae eg hanya y—

see Broth. Loc. Firemen & Eng. v. Southern Pa-
= Co. (T. & L.L.), 447 F.2d 1127, 1129-30 (Sth Cir., 1971).

C4

lowing the merger. This agreement, denominated the Mer-
ger Protective Agreement of Jun 29, 1965, guaranteed,
inter alia, normal attrition and pre-merger wages for all
locomotive engineers who had been employed on the pred-
ecessor lines. It also provided for subsequent negotiation
by the carriers and the union of implementing agreements
relating to the use of employees, rearrangement and changes
in seniority districts, integration of seniority rosters in the
consolidated seniority districts and other adjustments nec-
essary to effect the merger.*

In January of 1966, the rail carriers and the BLE en-
tered into a second agreement, known as Implementing
Agreement No. 1, which contained, in pertinent part, cer-
tain lias Gi iin dation of seniority distri
throughout the merged railroad system. The Implementing
Agreement established five consolidated seniority districts.
At issue in this case is the newly-formed Pacific Seniority

*The Merger Protective Agreement provided, in pertinent part, for
the presevation of employment and guaranteed monthly earnings
based on test period earnings; for limitations on the obligation of an
employee to take a position requiring a change in residence, without
loss of earnings guarantees; and for increased moving expenses and
other monetary benefits for an involuntary change in work location.
In addition, all protected employees were automatically certified as
being adversely affected by the merger without the necessity of having
to prove direct adversity. The monthly monetary guarantee was to be
automatically adjusted upward to compensate for general wage in-
creases, and was to be independent of any outside earnings. Because
the guarantee was based on a formula of average monthly earnings
and average monthly hours worked, it would thus be possible for an
employee to receive compensatory payments even though his actual
wages exceeded the amount of his guarantee.

C-5

District.* It also provided that the consolidated seniority
rosters for each of the five new districts were to be prepared
on a percentage allocation basis — viz. on the basis of a
ratio which contrasted the total engine hours and car miles
within the newly consolidated district with the total engine
hours and car miles in each of the former seniority districts
so combined.

The Merger Protective Agreement and Implementing
Agreement No. 1 were cancelled by the BLE, pursuant to
their terms, following the Commission’s initial decision to
withhold its approval of the merger. However, in anticipa-

“Prior to the merger, the individual predecessor lines had been
divided into a number of operating divisions, each of which had a
separate seniority roster for its employees. In conjunction with the
merger, the BN was divided into five new seniority districts — Lake
Mountain District, and Pacific District — only the latter of which
we are concerned with here.

Troy, Montana and Paradise, Montana on the East to the Pacific
Ocean in Washington and Oregon on the West, involved the merging
of seven former seniority rosters:
(1) Great Northern Spokane Tenth Division (home terminal,
Spokane) 174 men;

(2) Great Northern Eleventh Division (home terminal, Seattle)
189 men;

(3) Northern Pacific Tacoma East Division (home terminal,
Auburn) 130 men;

(4) Northern Pacific Tacoma West Division (home terminal,
Tacoma) 80 men;

(5) Northern Pacific Idaho East Division (home terminal,

Spokane) 108 men;

(6) Northern Pacific Idaho West Division (home terminal,
Pasco) 114 men;

(7) Spokane, Portland & Seattle System (various terminals)
188 men.

C-6

tion of receiving a more favorable ruling from the Commis-
sion on their petition for reconsideration, the carriers en-
tered into a third agreement with the BLE on September
13, 1966. Under this third agreement, the two prior agree-
ments were reinstated with several amendments, only one
of which has particular relevance here.’ As amended, the
September 13, 1966 Agreement expressly provided that
the interested General Committees of the BLE could agree
to reject a percentage block allocation and establish a dif-
ferent method for consolidating the seniority rosters in their
respective districts.* Absent objection by the various car-
riers, the method so chosen would then be incorporated into

the post-merger collective bargaining agreement executed
by BN and the BLE.

During the interval in which the BN merger was tem-
porarily inactive — between the initially adverse decision

*The pertinent amendment to Implementing Agreement No. 1
reads in full as follows:
Section 3 of Attachment B of Implementing Aggreement No.
1 io cauunsiad to geen teas to tee cous tae ged eee

agvin ca © Gilmett cisungunent for on Cuts
consolidation of rosters for any of the new districts as outlined

therein, and the New Company [BN] has no objection to such
arangement, tin agreement will be eaerd into to cover such

"Prior to the BN merger, each of the predecessor lines had a local
organization of the BLE which generally, but not always, coincided
with the operating divisions of the various railroads. Each such or-
ganization elected a Local Adjustment Committee, headed by a Local
Chairman whose duties were primarily the negotiation of local mat-
a General Committee of Adjustment represented by a General Chair-
the carrier.

We ha oe ed Eatin Brant elma Oy tteateled ste. cay

KS ep tL, Bs 8P wee Bibs hte en

C7

of the Commission and the execution of the September 13,
1966 Agreement — the delegates to the BLE convention
had convened and extensively revised, effective July 19,
1966, that portion of the BLE Constitution which dealt
with mergers and other related transactions.’ In conjunc-
tion with certain of these changes, the Grand Chief En-
gineer of the BLE assigned one of the union’s officers to
coordinate the intra-union activities associated with the
proposed BN merger. Among his duties the officer was to .
assist the General and Local Chairmen in reaching a deci-
sion, pursuant to Standing Rule 35 and the September 13,

members involved. [sic],” Section 35(a)(1)(D) of the Standing
Rules was amended to read in full as follows:
D. Seniority Districts

Should it be, in the judgment of the officer
the General Chairmen in the best interest of t

of the Districts and seniority rosters which shall be made
an equitable basis, as follows:

C-8

1966 Agreement, as to the method by which seniority ros-
ters would be consolidated in the newly-formed districts.

In August of 1967, following numerous meetings among
all interested parties, four proposals were offered to the
Local Chairmen* for their consideration; and, after further
debate, a fifth and sixth proposal were added.’ On October
17, 1968, the General Chairmen of the NP, GN and SP&S
sent a joint letter to the Local Chairmen requesting that
each indicate his preference as to the consolidation method
which would be adopted in his district. Additional meetings
were held, and the BLE’s Executive Committee was con-
sulted on a number of occasions regarding the various pro-
posals. When the process was finally completed, the Local
Chairmen in the Pacific District had voted to recommend
the implementation of a date of hire method in their dis-
trict.*° It was this recommendation which was ultimately

*In what was to become the Pacific Seniority District, there were
seven local divisions of the three carriers involved. See supra at n. 4.
These seven divisions were in turn represented by ten Local Chair-
men — two GN Divisions reperesented by two Local Chairmen, four
NP Divisions represented by five Local Chairmen, and one SP&S
Divis. represented by three Local Chairmen.

*Although there appears to be some confusion as to the exact
them as a percentage block pian, a date of hire with a prior rights
plan and a plan that included matching engineers according to their
seniority ranking on the former rosters — and no express findings
were made as to the fifth and sixth proposals, for present purposes
the only relevant distinction is between a percentage block allocation
and a date of hire method, however modified.

10Of the ten local chairmen, seven voted to recommend consolida-
tion based on the engineer’s date of hire as a fireman with a two-
year restriction on the exercise of seniority rights unless, if a road
engineer, the employee could not hold a similar job to that held prior

c-9

incorporated into the BN-BLE post-merger collective bar-
gaining agreement, dated February 19, 1970.

The present action, charging a violation of the Railway
Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §151 et seg., and the Interstate Com-
merce Act, 49 U.S.C. §1 et seq., was instituted by a group
of locomotive engineers employed on the merged BN.” In
their prayer for relief, the plaintiffs sought a declaratory
judgment that the consolidated seniority roster for the
Pacific District and the February 19, 1970 collective bar-
gaining agreement between BN and the BLE were illegal,
null and void. In addition, injunctive relief was requested to
prohibit BN and the BLE from implementing the agree-
ment and thereby utilizing a date of hire consolidated roster.

Following a trial on the merits, the district court held that
the BN-BLE agreement of February 19, 1970, and in
particular those provisions specifying that the seniority
rosters in the Pacific Seniority District were to be consol-
idated using the engineers’ date of hire, was contrary to the
“clear and unambiguous” language of Standing Rule 35 of
the BLE Constitution and therefore void. The court also

1©(continued )
to the merger, or, if a yard engineer, he could not hold an assignment
in the same starting bracket. Two local chairmen voted to recom-
ment that the rosters be merged on a percentage basis, the percent
allocated to each former district determined by the number of men
on its roster. Only one local chairman tavored integration of rosters
under a percentage block allocation method utilizing train miles and
engine hours.

“The action was initially brought by seven named plaintiffs, all
formerly in the GN Spokane Tenth Division, who were subsequently
joined by 161 engineers in the GN Eleventh Division and 45 en-
gineers from the NP Idaho West Division.

C-10

held that by interpreting its constitution to permit a date of
hire consolidation the BLE had breached its statutory duty
of fair representation under the Railway Labor Act, thus
rendering the agreement and resulting seniority roster il-
legal and unenforceable. Finally, it held that in implement-
ing the agreement the union had placed the plaintiffs in a
“worse position with regard to work opportunity” in viola-
tion of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act.
49 U.S.C. §5(2) (f), the intent of the I.C.C. order approv-
ing the merger, 331 ICC 228 (1967), and the Merger
Protective Agreement and Implementing Agreement No. 1

A declaratory judgment was entered, and an injunction is-
sued which prohibited BN and the BLE from giving effect
to the February 19, 1970 agreement or utilizing a date of
hire consolidated roster in the Pacific District. For the rea-
sons which follow, we reverse with directions that the in-
junction be dissolved and judgement entered for the de-
fendants.

BREACH OF DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION

- Our analysis of whether the BLE has breached its stat-
utory duty of fair representation under the Railway Labor
Act, 45 U.S.C. 151,et seq.” begins, and in this instance
ends, with our determination that the union’s decision to
implement a date of hire metho. for consolidating seniority
rosters on the merged carriers was neither inequitable nor
in violation of the “clear and unambiguous” language of
the BLE Constitution.

12The statutory duty of fair representation for bargaining repre-
sentatives of railroad employees has been implied by the Supreme
Court from Sections 1 and 2 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
$§151-52. See Steele v. Louisville & N.R. Co., 323 U.S. 192 (1944).

ee ee Te PR, ee, ee eS, pee a eee ee ee ae

C-11

Although the district court made no express findings on
whether a date of hire consolidation was equitable under
the facts of this case, we believe the record before us is
more than adequate to support this conclusion.” It has
long been recognized that the use of such a method to inte-
grate seniority rosters is an equitable arrangement for re-
solving the inevitable conflicts which arise whenever a mer-
ger occurs. Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335, 347 (1964)
and cases cited therein.* Provided that the use of this
method was not foreclosed by Standing Rule 35 of the
BLE Constitution, we thus view the implementation of a
date of hire consolidation to be well within the “wide range
of reasonableness [which] must be allowed a statutory
bargaining representative in serving the unit it represents

..” Id. at 349

%8The various equities involved in the implementation of either a
percentage block allocation or a date of hire consolidation have been
extensively argued and fully briefed by the parties to this ap-
peal. Given that the record has fully developed this issue, we feel
that a remand would serve no function but to further delay the res-
olution of a dispute which has remained too long unsettled.

In Humphrey, the Court held that a union’s decision “to inte-
grate lists upon the basis of length of service at either company [is]
neither unique or arbitrary. On the contrary, it is a familiar and
frequently equitable solution to the inevitably conflicting interests
which arise in the wake of a merger . . . .” 375 U.S. at 347. The
Court also quoted with approval the following statement:

‘Integration of seniority lists should ordinarily be with BE ong.
on the basis of each Facet length of service with his

inal employer .
375 U.S. at 348, n. 10, quoting from Kahn, Seniority Problems in
Business Mergers, 8 Ind. & Lab. Rel. Rev. 361, 378 (1955).

C-12

The pertinent portion of Standing Rule 35(a)(I)(D),
which has been set forth in full in the margin,” reads as
follows:

In the preparation of seniority rosters to cover the
Seniority Districts on an equitable basis, the General
Chairman shall request the carrier to furnish promptly
to him all statistical information such as, but not limit-
ed to, number of trains, car miles, train miles, and yard
engine hours and/or inbound car count for use in de-
termining a proper ratio to govern the parties. (em-
phasis added).

In determining that the above-quoted language empowers
the BLE to adopt a date of hire consolidation for integrat-
ing seniority rosters, we begin by recognizing the general
proposition that:
Trade union constitutions should be read in their liv-
ing context. The interpretation or construction of the

constitution and laws of a union is for the union,
through its appropriate board or officers; and the

courts will accept such interpretation, as long as there |

is no claim of fraud, and as long as the officer or body
on which this power of interpretation has been confer-
red does not substitute legislation or amendment for
construction, does not transgress the bounds of reason,
common sense, or fairness, or act arbitrarily, or con-
travene public policy or the law of the land, or destroy
the property or contractual rights of the members.

Wirtz v. Local Union No. 125, International Hod Carriers
B. & C.L.U., 270 F.Supp. 12, 16 (N.D. Ohio 1966),
quoting from 51 C.J.S. Labor Relations §58 p. 686-87.
Thus, in the present context, the central issue which must
be resolved is whether the Rule is sufficiently broad so that
the officers of the BLE could properly construe it as allow-

15See supra at n. 6.

ee a ee ee eee a, | or

C-13

ing the General, Chairman, once having considered the

Statistical information they receive from the carriers, to
utilize a method of consolidation which yields an equitable

result but which, in so doing, may either de-emphasize or
entirely disregard certain of the expressly enumerated cri-
teria.

Viewing the literal language of Standing Rule 35(a)
(I)(D), we cannot say that it provides for an exclusive
method of consolidation based upon a mandatory appli-
cation of specific factors. As we see it, there are only two
mandatory provisions in the Rule. First, there is the require-
ment that the General Chairmen, in determining the meth-
od which is to be implemented in a particular instance, must
consider all relevant statistical data before rendering their
decision. Second, there is the overriding requirement that
the integration of seniority rosters must be accomplished in
an equitable manner. Thus, under our construction of the
Rule, the union has been given a wide range of flexibility
which permits it to adopt a variety of different consolida-
tion methods depending upon the varying situations with

which it may be confronted and the peculiar interests of the

an

employees who will be affected. In reaching its decisions,
the union may emphasize certain criteria — such as date of
hire — over others and it may also reject any of the data,
whether it be expressly enumerated or not, provided that the
consolidation methed which is ultimately chosen proves to
be an equitable one. ;

A review of the legislative history underlying the passage
of Standing Rule 35 further bolsters our, conclusion that
the BLE was not — in” to a single method of consoli-

C-14

dation. The discussion surrounding the adoption of the
Rule does include statements which, if read in isolation,
might indicate that some form of percentage block allo-
cation was envisioned by the delegates to the BLE Con-
vention.’* However, these statements must be considered in
the context of the entire floor debates.’’ When viewed as a
whole, the legislative history clearly suggests that the pri-
mary purpose of the Rule was to give the union officers
great flexibility in formulating methods to integrate senior-
ity rosters; that no single method was intended to be pre-
scribed; and that an employee’s date of hire was one of the
elements which was properly to be considered in determin-
ing which method would be equitable in any given case.”

16For example, during the course of the proceedings Assistant

Grand Chief Engineer Birrell stated that:

"|. . When you consolidate a roster in the mergers we are
making today, you have to use the work that is available to that
particular seniority district. In other words, you take the me-
chanics here that are in this particular section, get all of your
data from the railroad and the seniority rosters are then based
on the work that is there.

* $ aa r i
Now, in order to get guaranteed earnings and/or employ-
ment, you have to make certain changes, and the only way you
can consolidate a seniority roster with four or five railroads or
' ten railroads is by doing it on the basis of proration of work
that was there on that particular track. (emphasis added).
II Grand International Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers First
Quadrennial Convention Proceedings 1234-35 (1966) (hereinafter

“Convention Proceedings”)
17For the entire floor debates surrounding the passage of Standing
' Rule 35(a)(I)(D), see If Convention Proceedings at 1229-36.

18Thus, the Chairman of the BLE’s Constitution and By-laws
Committee, which submitted the resolution that was to become
Stauding Rule 35, stated in reference to, a query concerning the
enumerated criteria:

: C-15:

Nor does the precedent which deals with Standing Rule
35 undercut or in any way limit our belief that the Rule
should be broadly construed. For example, in Price v. Sea-
board Coastline Railroad Co., 332 F.Supp. 1093 (N.D.
] Ala., 1970), aff'd per curiam, 449 F.2d 1371 (5th Cir.,
1971), a case in which, inter alia, the BLE was charged
with having breached its duty of fair representation be-
; cause of certain limitations imposed on the post-merger
i exercise of seniority rights the agreement then before the
! court had provided for seniority dovetailing on two inde-
pendent bases. Prior to the merger, one of the lines had
; maintained separate seniority rosters for its yard and road
engineers. In order to consolidate these -intra-line rosters, -
the agreement between the union and the surviving carrier
provided for a modified date of hire dovetailing.” The re-
: sulting consolidated roster was then integrated with the

18 (continued )

Now, these are some of the factors. We say not limited to
that. There can be many other factors that nobody would be
able to forsee, at this minute, which would be confronting you.
(emphasis added).

II Convention Proceedings at 1231. And in response to the colloquy
which ensued following Assistant Grand Chief Engineer Birrell’s
Statement, quoted supra at n. 14, the Chairman stated that:

| . . . What we are talking about here is the consolidation of
: rosters, and in that consolidation of rosters I am told that the
: date you hire on the railroad will count on these railroads when
rosters are consolidated. (emphasis added).

Id. at 1235.

This portion of the agreement provided that the two seniority
rosters were to be consolidated on the basis of the individual’s. date
of hire as a fireman, except where that date would “permit the in-
dividual to ‘run around’ and engineer having a higher existing rank
on the engineer seniority roster.” 332 F.Supp. at 1097. af

C16

seniority rosters in effect on each of the other merged car-
riers pursuant to a modified percentage block allocation
formula utilizing four specific statistical elements.”
In its findings of fact, the district court first determined
that:
As to each former seniority district, its equity in the
work of the new consolidated seniority district was
determined on the basis of its percentage of the total
work performed in the former districts, as established

by prescri

tion 35 of the Standing Rules of the BLE Constitution,
which section sets forth the exclusive procedures gov-
erning the handling of merger related problems, in-
cluding seniority, provides for the use of these f
elements in determing the proper ratio for consolidat-
ing seniority rosters on an equitable basis in the event
of merger. (emphasis added).

The four elements which were used in the overall consolidation
were: (1) Job starts of all engineers within each former seniority
district; (2) Miles paid for, including enginee hours for all engineers
within each former seniority district; (3) Earnings for all engineers
within each seniority district; and (4) Number of men on the Janu-
ary 1, 1966, and July 1, 1966, seniority rosters of each former
was effected in the following manner:

Ge ee ee

Deitintierpitadatadt oo

ed be pte ht aie ihn

4q
3
a
:
4
4

C-17

332 F.Supp. at 1097. The court then went on to hold that
there had been no breach by the union of its duty of fair
representation, primarily on the ground that each engineer
had been placed in “the same relative standing or position
in regard to work opportunity as he was in prior to the mer-
ger.” Id. at 1097. See also, Cole v. Seaboard Coastline
Railroad Co., 65 C.C.H. Lab. Cases, 911,567 (E.D. Va.
1970), affd, 64 C.C.H. Lab. Cases, q11,499 (4th Cir.,
1971).”

In Witherspoon v. Grand International Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, 194 S.E.2d 399 (S. Car. 1973) the
Supreme Court of South Carolina dealt with another at-
tack upon the same merger agreement which had been liti-
gated in Price. The appellants in Witherspoon, however,

As to each former seni district, its equity in the
its in
1 etal by consideration of te four de

65 C.C.H. Lab. Cases at 20,811.

C-18

contended that the agreement was invalid on the ground
that the union could show no rational basis for its adoption
of a percentage block allocation. They further contended
that the only equitable method for consolidating the senior-
ity rosters would have been one based solely upon the en-
gineers’ date of hire. In resolving the issue then before it,
the court first noted that:

Section 35 of the standing rules of the BLE Constitu-
tion, which sets forth the procedures governing the
handling of merger-related problems, including sen-
iority, contemplates elements other than date of hire in
determining the method and proper ratio for consoli-
dating seniority rosters on an equitable basis in the
event of merger. (emphasis added).

194 S.E.2d at 402. The court then went on to hold that:

The record fairly indicates that the BLE and Sea-
board entered into the agreements with the good faith
and honest belief that, considering all members, dove-
tail percentage blocking was the most equitable meth-
od to consolidate seniority rosters; and that the dove-
tail percentage blocking method was one of a number
of rd and reasonable methods available. (emphasis
added).

Id. at 403.

Contrary to the assertions of appellees, we do not read
these opinions as establishing that Rule 35 mandates a per-
centage block allocation in the consolidation of seniority
rosters. In both cases, the courts’ overriding concern was
with whether the method of consolidation actually imple-
mented by the union had resulted in an equitable solution
to what often proves to be an extremely difficult type of

donk i at tb Naat. Maw Witham on

C-19

problem.” In each instance, the court resorted to the lan-
guage of the Rule primarily as an aid in determining the
central issue of whether the consolidation had been equit-
able; and in both the court was careful to avoid becoming
enmeshed in the question of whether, and to what extent,
the BLE was limited in the ‘actors it could apply.** The
references to Standing Rule 35 having been made in the
context of demonstrating the equity of a particular method,
we are not willing to accept the argument that these cases
foreclosed other methods of consolidation which might have
proven equally equitable but which were not as clearly with-
in the express language of the Rule.

Having determined, contrary to the court below, that

**The very multiplicity of conflicting contentions raised in Price,
Cole and Witherspoon only highlight the virmal impossibility tha
any solution to the consolidation problem will be acceptable to all
the parties affected. As has been noted by the Supreme Court:

Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 338 (1953).

**For example, the court in Witherspoon expressly refused to rule
on the issue of whether the BLE had violated Standing Rule 35 in
implementing the consolidation. Having found that the consolidation
was within the “wide range of reasonableness granted bargaining
agents,” 194 S.E.2d at 403, and thus not a breach of the union’s

C-20

Standing Rule 35 does not require the BLE to utilize a per-
centage block allocation in consolidating its seniority ros-
ters, we are thus not prepared to say that the union has
breached its statutory duty of fair representation. See, e.g.,
Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967); Humphrey v. Moore,
375 U.S. 335 (1964); Ford Motor Company v. Huffman,
345 U.S. 336 (1953). While it may be that another meth-
od for consolidating the rosters at issue here would have
satisfied a larger number of engineers affected by the mer-
ger, without more this Court should not substitute its views
for those of officials elected by the employees to represent
them in such matters.

INTERSTATE COMMERCE ACT VIOLATION

In its conclusions of law, the district court held that:

As a result of the Agreement dated February 19,

1970 (Joint Exhibit 7) and the resulting engineers’

seniority roster . . . the plaintiffs have been placed

in a worse position with regard to work opportunity

. .. in violation of . . . Section 5(2)(f) . . . and of

the intent of the I.C.C. order approving the merger,

the Merger Protective Agreement and Implementing
Agreement No. 1... . (emphasis added).

Although supported neither in its findings of fact nor by

anything this Court has managed to glean from the record,

the only possible ground for such a holding would be if

the Commission considered the two above-mentioned agree-

ments, but not the September 13, 1966 Agreement, in the

discharge of its statutory duty under Section 5(2) (f) of the

Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §5(2)(f).* While

25Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C.
§5(2)(f), reads in full as follows:

(f)As a condition of its approval, under this paragraph, of

adi eee ee See © Ore Ti

wae ee

C-21

logic and the record would both seem to indicate that such
a construction of the facts may have been erroneous—i.e.
that the Commission had before it either all three of the
pre-merger agreements or solely the initial Merger Protec-
tive Agreement** — it is our view that even if the situation

25(continued)

itle, an agreement pertaining to the protection of the interests
of eal algieter tar kale te deat eee
or carriers by railroad and the duly authorized representative
or representatives of its or their employees.
°° Our examination of the record indicates that the only agree-
ment actually before the Commission was the Merger Protective
Agreement. For example, in its Report and Order the Commission
referred to the “agreement” and noted as follows:

The agreement recognizes the right of [BN] to transfer work

331 LC.C. at 278. The terms of the implementing agreements
themselves are neither mentioned nor discussed during the course
of the Commission’s analysis of employee protections. See 331 I.C.C.
at 276-79.

However, assuming that the Commission did consider the parties’
subsequent agreements, it would seem highly improbable that it did

i

C-22

was as the district court seems implicitly to have held the
plaintiffs below would be entitled to no relief under the
Act.”

If either of the alternative factual contexts actually per-
tained, as the present record would lead us to believe, then
the issue before us would be capable of ready disposition
and we would be forced to overrule the district court.”

26(continued)
not have the September 13, 1966 Agreement before it. The carriers’
petition for reconsideration was not granted until January 4, 1967
and hearings did not commence until March of that year, 331 LC.C. ;
at 234. The Commission’s order and report, which approved the :
merger, was not issued until November 30, 1967. In addition, at the 3
time the petition was granted the Merger Protective Agreement and §
Implementing Agreement No. 1 had vitality only through, and to :
the extent not amended by, the later agreement. Thus, it would |
appear unlikely that the Commission would consider the first imple-
menting agreement without also considering the second.

2™While normally our reaction in a situation such as this would
be to remand the case for further findings of fact, we do not feel
that such a course of action is necessary here. In our view, regard-
less of the circumstances which obtained, the plaintiffs would not
be entitled to relief under Section 5(2)(f).

28]f the Commission considered solely the Merger Protective
then a date of hire consolidation would have violated

neither the Act, the intent of the Commission’s order, nor the Agree- ;
ment itself. In addition to establishing wage and attrition guar- 3
antees, this agreement provided no more than that seniority consol- :
idation would be affected on an “equitable basis.” As we have al- :
ready held that the use of an employee’s date of hire was an equitable :
method for integrating the seniority rosters in the Pacific District,
the only issue would be whether the uses of an equitable method
could nevertheless violate Section 5(2)(f) by placing some employ-
ees in a “worse position with respect to their employment.” Given
the type of protections with which that Section is concerned, see
infra at 00, we would find such an argument to be devoid of merit.

Sani Satie sr ee nc a

Cro Mle ag Ming.

C-23

However, if the Commission did consider Implementing
Agreement No. 1., but not the September 13, 1966 Agree-
ment, then the issue becomes more complex. The union’s
integration of seniority rosters based on an employee’s date
of hire would not have directly violated the intent of the
Commission’s order — the consolidation being equitable

28(continued )

If the Commission considered both of the subsequent agreements,
then there couuld similarly have been no violation of the Act, the
Commission’s order, or Implementing Agreement No. 1. The Sep-
tember 13, 1966 Agreement did not require a specific method of
consolidation but provided, contrary to the earlier agreement, that
the union could adopt whatever method its General Chairmen
should choose. In addition, the Commission’s approval would have
Consituted a determination that both the percentage block and the
machinery for implementing a different method were “fair and
equitable.” Thus the issue would again become whether the use of
an equitable method when coupled with wage and attrition guar-
antees, could be in violation of the “worse position” clause of Sec-
tion 5(2)(f). As we have indicated, we would not accept such a
contention.

In attempting to frame their argument on the issue of a violation
of the Commisison’s order, appellees attempt to make much of the

language requiring that:
. - - NO employee is to be deprived of his employment status
or placed in a worse position with respect to compensation,
rules governing working conditions, fringe benefits or rights
and privileges pertaining thereto at any time during such em-
ployment.
331 LC.C. at 277-78. They would have us read “employment
status” as a requirement that every employee maintain the identical
seniority rights as he had enjoyed prior to the merger. However,
such a reading would necessarily require a “job freeze” and as a
practical matter render any consolidation a violation of the Com-
mission’s intent. As we read the language, it refers merely to the
status of being employed and the attrition guarantees contained in
the Merger Protective Agreement. Any broader reading would take
such a requirement beyond the intendment of the Act. See infra at 00.

SS ee Sime

C-24

and the Commission not having expressly mandated that
a particular method be used” — however it would violate
the terms of Implementing Agreement No. 1. Thus, the
issue before us would be the extent to which BN and the
BLE would be bound by the terms of their pre-merger
agreements where the Commission has reviewed those
agreements prior to its approval of a merger. In particular,
we must determine the extent to which a merged carrier and
its employees’ collective bargaining representative will be
bound by those provisions in their pre-merger agreements
which deal with matters not directly related to the compen-
sation of discharged or displaced employees — here, the
relative post-merger seniority rights of retained employees
— in those situations where the Commission has adopted
the agreements in discharge of its statutory duty under Sec-
tion 5(2) (f).

For purposes of this analysis, the first case to clarify the
scope and effect of Section 5(2)(f) was Railway Labor
Executives’ Assn. v. United States, 339 U.S. 142 (1950).
In RLEA, the Court was confronted with the issue of
whether the for -year period contained in the second sen-
tence of Sec:ti a 5(2)(f) had established a ceiling on the
Commissior . authority to require protections for employ-

2°It is also arguable that use of a date of hire method could not
have violated the intent of the Commission’s order because at that
time the Commission’s view of the “notwithstanding” proviso of
Section 5(2)(f) was such that the existence of the agreements re-
moved the duty to provide any protection for employees covered by
those agremeents, 331 LC.C. at 278. See Norfolk & Western Ry.
Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U.S, 37 (1971); Div. No. 14, Order of Rail-
road Tel. v. Leighty 298 F.2d 17, 18 (4th Cir., 1962). cert. denied
369 U.S. 885 (1962).

C-25

ees affected by a consolidation or merger. In holding that
the Commission’s powers were not so limited, the Court be-
gan by examining the legislative history surrounding the en-
actment of the statute.” After a review of history from
which the initial sentence of the Section evolved, Mir. Jus-
tice Burton first concluded that:

If this provision which later became the first sen-
tence of §5(2)(f), now stood alone as it did then,
the Commission unquestionably would have the power
to grant at least as much relief to employees as it had
under §5(4)(b).

339 U.S. at 150." He then went on to reject the argument
that:
. . . the second sentence of §5(2)(f), which was in-
serted soon thereafter, amount[ed] not only to an
additional provision for the protection of labor, but

also to a limitation upon the discretion vested in the
Commission by the first sentence.

Id.” In so doing, Mr. Justice Burton placed heavy reliance

*°For a general synopsis of the legislative history of Section 5(2)
(f), see the Appendix to the Court’s opinion in St. Joe Paper Co. v.
Atlantic Coast Line R. R., 347 U.S. 298, 315 (1953).

81Prior to the passage of the Transportation Act of 1940, which
incorporated Section 5(2)(f) into the Interstate Commerce Act,
there had been no statutory provision specifically requiring that
protections be accorded employees adversely affected by railroad
consolidations and mergers. The precurser of this provision, which
is referred to in the Court’s opinion, was Section 5(4)(b) which
authorized the Commission to approve such transactions “upon the
terms and conditions . . . found to be just and reasonable.” 48 Stat.
217, See generally Railway Labor Executives’ Assn. v. United States,
supra at 146-48.

%2In its opinion, the Court expressly held:
. . . that the time limit in the second sentence now applies to

C-26

not only on the literal language of the statute, but also on
an analysis of the introduction and subsequent modification |
of a legislative proposal known as the Harrington amend-
ment.”

However, it was not until some eleven years later that the
Court in Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees
v. United States, 366 U.S. 169 (1961) finally established
the type of protections which were encompassed by Section
5(2)(f).™ Squarely faced with the issue of whether mone-
tary compensation for discharged or displaced employees

82(continued)
it and to it alone. As thus limited, that sentence adds a new
guaranty of protection for the interests of employees, without
restricting the Commission’s power to require greater protec-
tion as a part of a fair and equitable arrangement. This serves
the purpose of the sentence to increase, rather than to decrease,
the protective effect of the paragraph. (emphasis added).
339 U.S. at 153-54. A

*8The Harrington amendment, which was to be incorporated into
Section 5(2)(f) immediately following the first sentence, read in
full:

Provided, however, thet no such transaction shall be approved
by the Commission if such transaction will result in unemploy-
ment or displacement of employees of the carrier or carriers,
or in the impairment of existing employment rights of said
employees.
84, Cong. Rec. 99,882 (1939). For a discussion of the introduction
and subsequent rejection of this proviso, which would clearly have
required a “job freeze,” see Railway Labor Executives’ Assn. v.
United States, supra at 150-53; Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way
Employees v. United States, 366 U.S. 169, 174-77, (1961).

*%In distinguishing its prior opinion in RLEA, supra, the Court
stated that:

The RLEA case was not concerned with the types of protection
to be afforded employees for the first four years following the
merger; ie only question was whether compensatory benefits

C-27

satisfied the congressional mandate embodied in the Act,

| _ the Court rejected the: contention that the Section con-
templated a “job freeze” for employees on the predeces-
sor lines. As the Court saw it, Section 5(2)(f) was not
concerned with maintaining employment status, per se, but
rather with insuring that those employees affected by a
merger would not be placed in 4 “worse position” with re-
spect to their compensation for, at a minimum, the statutory
four-year period.”

%4(continuéd)
could be extended beyond four years, and the Court held they
could. (emphasis added). ; !

U.S. at 178-79.

85In reaching this result, Mr. Chief Justice Warren thoroughly re-
viewed the evolution of the Section, with particular emphasis on the
Harrington amendment. —

First, it is clear that there were two alterations made in the
substance of the original Harrington amendment: Not only
was a four-year limitation imposed, but also general language
of imprecise import was used in substitution for | age
clearly requiring ‘job freeze’ such as appeared in the original
amendment and the 1933 Act.' Secondly, the representatives
whose floor statements are entitled to the greatest weight are
those House members who had the last word on the bill —
the House conferees who explained the final version of the
statute to the House at large immediately, prior to passage —
rather than those Congressmen whose voices were heard in the
early skirmishing but who did not participate in the final com-
promise. Finally, although it might be an overstatement to claim
that their remarks are dispositive, the statements the House
conferees gave in explanation of the final version. clearly re-
veal an understanding that compensation, not ‘job freeze’, was
contemplated. (emphasis added).

366 U.S. at 175-76. He then went on to cite a series of contem-
poraneous interpretations of the Statute which supported the Court’s
holding. Thus, for example, the fact that the Commission had
adopted an identical construction in its next annual report, L.C.C.
Sth Ann. Rep. 60-61, and had subsequently imposed “. . . coim-
pensatory conditions, and only compensatory conditions, in proceec\-

oe

C-28

The final Supreme Court case which we must consider
is Norfolk & Western Railroad Co. v. Nemitz, 404 U.S. 37
(1971). In Nemitz, the Court dealt with the validity of a
post-consolidation collective bargaining agreement that had
‘substantially abrogated certain compensation/attrition pro-
tections guaranteed employees ‘under a prior agreement
which had been adopted by the Commission'in discharge of
its Section 5(2) (f) duty.** The Court, in an opinion by Mr.

5 (continued )
ings involving #5 transactions . . .”, Id. at 177, added great weight
to the Court’s view.
*°The facts surrounding the initial agreement in Nemitz were as
follows:

In anticipation of the 1964 consolidation, , petitioner entered
into an agreement with 19 labor organizations for protection of
the employees of the several railroads coming into the consol-
idation . . . Petitioner agreed to employ ‘all employees of the
lines involved with the guarantee that they wil not be adversely
affected in their employment as a result of the proposed trans-
actions or for any reason other than furloughs due to seasonal

uirements or a decline in the volume of traffic or revenue.
324 L.C.C. 1, 89 (emphasis added).

Each employee was to receive a monthly supplement to his
post-consolidation monthly earnings equal to. the excess, if any,
of his average monthly compensation for the 12 months prior
to the consolidation in which he had performed services.

404 U.S. at 39. Later in the opinion, Mr. Justice Douglas described
the effect of the subsequent agreement on junior employees in the
following terms:

The 1965 agreement obviously ‘placed these junior employees
“in a worse position with respect to compensation,” as those
words are used, in the pre-consolidation agreement. For they
no longer could work on any part of the former Toledo Division

t the Sandusky Line and their a re-
flocting ia. part the work on other parts of the Toledo Division,
was no longer a measure of the ‘compensation’ to which they
were entitled under the pre-consolidation agreement. For those
whose historical average monthly earnings were so slight that
they were now on unemploymient insutance, the result would be

C-29

Justice Douglas, refused to accept the argument that the
final sentence of Section 5(2)(f) — the “notwithstanding”
proviso — had relieved the Commission of any duty to re-
view the adequacy of protective provisions contained in the
post-consolidation collective bargaining agreement. As Mr.
Justice Douglas analyzed the problem:

We reviewed the history of §5(2)(f) in Railway
Executives’ Assn. v. United States, 339 U.S. 142, and
said that ‘one of its principal purposes was to provide
mandatory protection for the interests of employees
affected by railroad consolidations.’ Jd., at 148. That
‘mandatory protection’ can be accorded by terms pro-
vided by the Commission, or, as is more likely, by
provisions of a collective agreement which the Com-
mission adopts or approves as adequate for a minimum
of four years (as required by the second sentence) or
longer (as allowed by the first sentence) if the Com-
mission so provides, /d., at 154. The purpose of §5(2)
(f) was not to freeze jobs but to provide compensatory
conditions. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Em-
ployees v. United States, 366 U.S. 169, 175-176. In
that case we noted that the Commission has consist-
ently followed that practice ‘in over 80 cases, with the
full support of the intervening brotherhoods.’ /d., at
177. And the Commission over and over again has
adopted the set of labor conditions contained in col-
lective agreements in discharge of its duty under §5(2)
(f). See Gulf, M. & O.R. Co. Purchase, 261 L.C.C.
405, 434; Erie R. Co. Trackage Rights, 295 I.C.C.
303, 305; Deleware, L. & W. R. Co. Trackage Rights,
295 I.C.C. 743, 755-756.

When there is a collective agreement and the Com-

86(continued)
much more drastic than ‘normal attrition,’ which the Com-
mission said was the only way under the protective conditions
by which jobs could be eliminated.

Id. at 44,

becomes a ‘condition’ of the Commission’s ‘approval’
of the consolidation under the first sentence of §5(2)
(f) and its provisions are deemed by the Commission
to be ‘a fair and equitable arrangement to protect the

404 U.S. at 42-43. He then went on to approve the hold-
ing of the Court of Appeals that:

404 USS. at 44, quoting from 436, F.2d at 848.

In the instant case, all locomotive engineers who would
be affected by the BN merger were guaranteed normal at-
trition and pre-merger wage levels. Nor can it be argued that
these protections have been abrogated by the BN-BLE post-
merger collective bargaining agreement. Thus, the issue be-
for us it whether the broad language of Nemitz, delineating
the effect that Commission approval of pre-merger agree-
ments will have upon subsequent collective bargaining, is to
be held applicable to all terms in the pre-merger agreement
or, as was the case then before the Court, only to those terms ~
dealing directly with compensatory protection for displaced

C-31

or discharged employees.” It is our belief that the language
in Nemitz should »roperly be limited to the context which
engendered it — viz. to those matters which have a direct
bearing on insuring that employees who may be adversely
affected as a result of a merger or consolidation are com-
pensated in a “fair and equitable” manner. We thus hold
that, even assuming the Commission had before it the Mer-
ger Protective Agreement and Implementing Agr

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2182%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
