# Opposition Brief — Anchor Motor Freight, Inc. v. Scott

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2127%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 868

## Text

;
I
;
;
i
i
;
;

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ......... ever eo i
STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES PRESENTED

RNG Ws ee eG ler eee ae 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............. Sue

ARGUMENT:

A. THERE WAS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN
THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT AND |
See RULE OF THE Baw oa ee 6

B. PLAINTIFF MADE A REASONABLE AT-
TEMPT TO INVOKE THE GRIEVANCE
PRA oie a oe eee ee 9

C. THIS APPEAL FROM A JURY VERDICT
IS INAPPROPRIATE FOR CERTIORARI .. 13

CETTE sere i Pe ia Se aes 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Associated Transport, Inc., 32 L.A. 152 (Campbell,
SI ee Nh hut eee aa ewe a 7

DeArroyo v. Sindicato de Trabajordes Packinghouse,
425 F.2d 281 (CA 1), cert. denied 400 U.S. 877

NG eee ia Mec Na A IRE a finan Weges 2 1]
Expert Dairy Service, Inc., 45 L.A. 217 (1965) |... 7
Fontaine Truck Equipment Co., 38 L.A. 829 :

Crunree, Armeeenen, Tomer 6 ee. 7

Glover v. St. Louis-S.F. Ry., 393 U.S. 324 (1969) .. 12, 15
Ideal Cement Co., 20 L.A. 480 (Merrill, Arbitrator,

Te a ee ips Ee ne mene bay op 7
Instant Milk, 24 L.A. 756 Aaeeida, Arbitrator,

rice x gah aie Skee aN Ohare sy oo Se ET 8 4 7
International Auto Sales v. eee 270, 313 F. eae

Pa, Se By ROOD ek Say ee
Miller v. ICX, 358 F. Supp. 1378 (D.C. In, 1972) er
Retana v. Apt. Motel and Elevator Operators Union

Local 14, 453 F.2d 1018 (CA 9, 1972) .... rer
Republic Steel v. Maddox, 392 U.S. 652

See panier ae .. 56, 10, 15
Schum v. South Buffalo Reilway C o., 73 L.C. 14,492,

ee Ae. | eee 11
Smith v. Pittsburgh Gage & Supply Co., 464 F204

Gre SUAe; fered 66k 6
Spector Freight System, Inc., 34 LA. 149 (1960) 7
Texas Lime, 49 L.A. 408 (Emery, Arbitrator, 1967) .. 7
Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) .... 9, 10, 18, 14, 15

Williams v. Dana Corp., 442 F.2d 412 (CA 6, 1971) 1]

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 74-6 |

ANCHOR MOTOR FREIGHT, INC.,
: Petitioner,

vs.

~WILLIAM SCOTT,
_ Respondent.

/
/

On Petition for 5 Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF OF WILLIAM SCOTT IN OPPOSITION

‘

a

/

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW

1. When an employer, acting in bad faith in order to
ierminate an employee it dislikes, coerces a company
doctor to change his professional opinion and er-
roneously declare, contrary to medical knowledge, that
the employee is not qualified to drive, may the court
sustain a jury verdict holding the employer to have
acted unjustly in breach of a labor agreement which
forbids wrongful discharge? .

' 2

2. Where the union controls the grievance procedure and
where the jury found that the employee complied with
the procedure by filing his grievance with the union by
certified mail and ,that the union was guilty of unfair
representation, was there sufficient evidence of a reas-
onable attempt to exhaust remedies as to permit suit
against the employer for breach of contract under the
doctrine of Vaca v. Sipes?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This was an action for wrongful discharge in breach of a
labor agreement. }

Plaintiff William Scott had thirteen years seniority as a
truck driver for Defendant Anchor at the time of his dis-
charge in July, 1966. Through diet, oral medication and an
understanding of his condition, Scott had been able to
control his mild diabetes, which had never interfered with

‘his driving (203):.'| Each and every year since the onset
of diabetes in 1959, he' had met ICC standards and was
certified as a qualified driver (200) and his condition was
well known by the company (204). ~

On _ May 6, 1966 and again on June 21, 1966, he was
examined by the company doctor, Louis Ralston, and
found to be qualified under ICC rules and was given an
ICC cettificate (220, 602, 603). On july 6, 1966, Dr.
Ralston wrote:

“He is qualified as a driver under normal ICC require-
ments.”” (604).

_ The company was angry at Scott because he had recently
filed ten pay claims and other miscellaneous complaints

_ ' References are to the pages of the trial transcript reproduced in the
joint appendix in the Court of Appeals.

‘ \

rower

8

with the company (222-229, 619). His disputes with the
company reached a climax on June 17, 1966, when he was
reprimanded for alleged “insubordination” (491).

Company officials were anxious to get rid of Scott. They
were not satisfied with the doctor's admonition that if the
company wanted to fire Scott, it would have to impose
“more rigid requirements than the minimum ICC re-
quires.” (604). Company Safety Director Thomas then
suggested to his assistant that “he contact Ralston to see
if he would change his doctor's statement” (483-484) .

Thomas wrote:

“I suggested to Bob (DeLeo) that he contact Dr.
Ralston to see if he would want to change his statement
concerning the driver’s qualifications . . . it is niyv
opinion that Dr. Ralston will want to change his
opinion .. .” (634).

Thomas's insistence that the doctor change his opinion
was not based on any medical wisdom possessed by Anchor
officials, who admitted they knew nothing about diabetes
or the details of Scott’s condition (509, 482, 489, 515). The
jury could reasonably infer that the motive for pressuring
the doctor was the company’s dislike of Scott.

In any event, Dr. Ralston succumbed to the pressure
from Anchor and wrote a letter alleging that Scott’s oral
medication could cause adverse effects which would make
him a safety hazard. This opinion was contrary to medical
knowledge and ICC practice and was promulgated without
any new examination or new facts or investigation and was
at odds with his previous report. Within a few hours after
receipt of the new report, the company fired Scott, without
any further background inquiries or investigation or op-
portunity for Scott to explain his condition or “warning
notice of the complaint” as required by Article 32 (608) .

4

At the time of the discharge, there was a “sweetheart”
collusive relationship between the company and union
(Local $77 Teamsters) (58). The union was providing
virtually no representation. There was no steward or
grievance committee operating, even though sanctioned by
contract (209, 399, 471, 543). The Court of Appeals
noted that at the time “Local 377 did not have the requi-
site machinery to process a grievance.” Neither the com-
pany nor union had distributed copies of the labor agree-
ment to the drivers and none were available (471, 543).
Union representatives Angelo and Schwartz, who subse-
quently were convicted of federal crimes (139), had re-
ceived personal favors from the Anchor terminal manager
(62, 63, 114, 115). Angelo had shown personal hostility to
Scott and the Anchor drivers from Ohio and Kentucky,
whom he called “hillbillies” (233, 542).

Immediately after his discharge, Scott went to the com-
pany premises to protest the discharge, left his name, and
was denied access (234). During the two weeks following
his discharge, the company terminal was shut down because
of vacation (89) .

In accordance with normal practice, Scott filed several
copies of his grievance with the union and requested a
hearing (621, 528, 532). He understood that the union
would file a copy of the grievance with the company, and
the union assured him he would get a hearing (238, 313,
155). The «union received the grievance by certified mail,
within a sudicient time to file a timely grievance with the
company (624). During the weeks and months after his
discharge, Scott made inquiries concerning his grievance
(212, 238, 313, 152, 320, 541.) In 1967, Scott wrote to the
company and union requesting information regarding the
status of the grievance (617). Neither company nor union
replied. The union, during all this time, had failed to file

5

the grievance with the company or request a hearing and
had totally failed to provide any help or representation for
Scott.

Suit for breach of contract and unfair representation was
filed April 4, 1958. Trial was held in August, 1972.

At the trial, two expert diabetes specialists testified that
Dr. Ralston’s opinion was one hunderd percent contrary
to medical knowledge and that Scott’s oral medication did
not pose any real danger for a driver (333, 334, 350-53, 390-
93) and that Scott was qualified under the standards which
the ICC was using. Those practices appear in the current
ICC regulations:

“If mild diabetes is noted at the time of the exami-
nation and is stabilized by use of a hypoglycemic drug
and a diet that can be obtained while a driver is on
duty, it should not be considered disqualifying (Sec-
tion 391.43 (c) , Title 49, Chapter I, Part 391, Subpart
E).”

The company did not offer any expert medical opinion to
refute plaintiff's experts.

At trial, Mr. Baccei, the ex-ICC man, admitted telling
Dr. Ralston that oral medication should not be considered
disqualifying (462). He also admitted that the ICC made
no ruling in Scott's case (463). At trial, it was shown that
another driver, Jones, who had more severe diabetes than
Scott, was temporarily disqualified for a few days by Dr.
Ralston but was not fired and was subsequently qualified
(93-95, 220-221, 615).

Thus, there was powerful evidence of a pretextual dis-
criminatory discharge. The jury could have found that
Scott was fired because he was a “trouble maker” and not
because of diabetes.

Plaintiff argued that, as a matter of law, he had satisfied
the requirements of the Republic Steel v. Maddox, 392 U.S.

it serene

6

652 (1969) , since Scott had clearly made a good faith “at-
tempt to use the contract grievance procedure” and he
afforded the union every “opportunity to act on his behalf.”
Dctendants disagreed, arguing that Scott had not foiiowed
the contract procedures in a timely manner. The Court
submitted the timeliness and exhaustion issues to the jury.”
The jury agreed with plaintiff's version of the facts. and
also found that the union had breached its duty of fair
representation.

The jury found the company discharged plaintiff with-
out just cause and returned a verdict of $12,500.00 from
which judgment defendant Anchor now appeals.*

ARGUMENT

A. THERE WAS NO CONFLICT BETWEEN THE
JUDGMENT OF THE COURT AND THE RULES
OF THE L.C.C.

Scott claimed that he was unjustly discharged in breach
of the labor agreement which provides that the employer
shall not discharge an employee “without just cause” and
that if there is an “injustice’’ the employee shall be rein-
stated (Aracie 32, 608).

2 For another case where the exhaustion issue was submitted, to the
jury see: Smith v. Pittsburgh Gage & Supply Co., 464 F.2d 870 (CA 3,
1972).

3 The trial consolidated plaintiffs separate claim against the union
for unfair representation. The jury returned a verdict for $12,500.00
against the union. The Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of lia-
bility but ordered a new trial on the issue of damages and attorney
fees. The union has indicated an intent to petition this Court concerning
the damage issue. (Case No. A-1348)

7

Any question of i:nedical fitness for work is subject to
the grievance and arbitration procedures (Article 34; 609,
117-118). Arbitrators, as a matter of course, review ques-
tions of medical fitness in cases where truck drivers subject
to ICC regulations have been discharged, Texas Lime, 49
L.A. 403 (Emery, Arbitrator, 1967) , Expert Dai-y Service,
Inc., 45 L.A. 217 (1965), Spector Freight Syscem, Inc., 34
L.A. 149 (1960) , Fontaine Truck Equipment Co., 38 L.A.
829 (Petree, Arbitrator, 1962) , Associated Transport, Inc.,
32 L.A. 152 (Campbell, Arbitrator, 1959) . In a Section 301
breach of contract case, the court and jury perform the
functions normally performed by the arbitrator.

Defendant's position, that the unilateral and clearly er-
roneous determination of a company controlled doctor shall
govern the issues im this case as a matter of law, is com-
pletely at odds with well settled principles of labor relations
subjecting such decisions to legal review under the contract
grievance machinery. See, for example, Ideal Cement Co.,
20 L.A. 480 (Merrill, Arbitrator, 1953) (an employee can-
not be summarily discharged simply on the basis of a letter
from a company physician), Instant Milk, 24 L.A. 756
(Anderson, Arbitrator, 1955) (“management must accept
the responsibility” where “a medical examination given by
the company’s physician is proved to be mistaken.”’)

The employer argued to the jury and now to this Court
that it was “compelled” by the ICC to discharge Scott and
forever deprive him of this seniority and pension rights.
The jury rejected the employer's version of the facts and
agreed with plaintiff that the “ICC” defense was pre-
textual and plain nonsense. Scott wes fired, not because of
diabetes or ICC rules, but because of Anchor's desire to rid
itself of a fighter who stood up for his contractual rights.
There was a mountain of evidence that Dr. Ralston’s
opinion was coerced and was fraudulent, and that Anchor

of

R

never really believed that Scott was unfit under ICC rules.
Furthermore, the uncontradicted medical testimony showed
that the taking of oral medication does not create a safety
problem, and that a mild diabetic, like Scott, who is weil
controlled, did, in fact, meet ICC criteria. Thus, there
was no conflict between contractual and ICC obligations.

A case directly in point is International Auto Sales v.
Local 270, 313 F. Supp. 313 (E.D. of La., 1970). The arbi-
trator found that a discharged employee was medically fit
under ICC rules and that the employer's purpose in requir-
ing a physical examination was “a subterfuge to rid them-
selves of an employee who they decided they could do best
without.” As in the case at bar, company officials wrong-
fully instructed the doctor to find the employee not quali-
fied. The court refused to vacate the arbitration award, in
spite of the company’s argument that the arbitrator's order
of reinstatement would cause the company to violate ICC
safety regulations.

The case of Miller v. ICX, 358 F. Supp. 1378 (D.C. IIL,
1972) cited by defendant actually helps plaintiff's position.
In Miller, plaintiff had a history of diabetes ‘“‘which required
insulin for control.” Insulin using diabetics are disquali-
fied under ICC rules (461). Scott, unlike Miller, never
used insulin and he was therefore not subject to insulin
shock or convulsions. Scott, as a mild, non-insulin using
diabetic, was qualified by under ICC rules (333-353, 391-
393). In additioni, there was no evidence in the Miller
case of a pretextual discharge or improper attempts to coerce
a doctor in order to get rid of an employee disliked and un-
wanted for reasons unrelated to medical fitness.

Furthermore, the issues under ICC rules as to driving and
the issues under the labor agreement are not identical.
Anchor’s arguments overlook the obvious fact that ICC
rules do not require or even discuss discharge or loss of

9

seniority rights. “The normal employer dispositior of a
health problem would be a temporary suspension or leave
of absence in order for the employee to become rehabili-
tated, as was done in the case of diabetic Jones (93-95,
615). However, Anchor summarily discharged Scott with-
out such consideration or any attempt to find him tem-
porary light work or a non-driving position as a yard or
dock man while receiving treatment. Furthermore, the
ICC never made any ruling or issued any order concerning
Scott, and in fact his ICC certificate has never been re-
voked.

The decision of the court and jury is tocally in harmony
with ICC regulations and there is no cenflict of any kind
presented by this record. ,

B. PLAINTIFF MADE A REASONABLE ATTEMPT
TO INVOKE THE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE.

Defendant concedes on page 23 of its brief that “where
the union has sole and exclusive control over access to
steps of the grievance machinery and where-unfair repre-
sentation is proven, an employee is entitled to some pro-
tection.” Such concession of course, is required by the
language of this court in Vaca:

“We think that another situation where the employee
may seek judicial enforcement of his contractual rights
arises if, as is true here, the union has sole power
under the contract to invoke the higher stages of the
grievance procedure and if as is alleged here, the em-
ployee plaintiff has been prevented from exhausting
his contractual remedies by the union’s wrongful re-
fusal to process the grievance.

“For these reasons we think the wrongfully discharged

10

employee may bring an action against his employer
in the face of a defense based upon the failure to
exhaust contract remedies, provided the employee can
prove that the union as bargaining agent breached
its duty of fair representation in its handling of the
employee's grievance.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. at 171.

In the case at bar, the “union” (not the employee) had
the sole and exclusive right to request a “hearing” as to
an employee’s discharge (Article 32, 608). The contract
speaks of the “employee’s right (not on his own, but)
through the union to challenge a penalty through the regu-
lar grievance procedure” (611). Article 34 gives the union
(not the employee) the right to obtain a medical examina-
tion if the union (not the employee) believes there is an
injustice (609). Thus, the union (not the employee) con-
trolled all the steps of the grievance procedure by which
Scott could protest a wrongful discharge because of alleged
medical unfitness.

The jury correctly concluded that Scott, by mailing
several copies of his grievance by certified mail, well within
the ten day period, had substantially satisfied the contract's
requirements concerning the taking of an appeal under
Article 32. At the time of his discharge, there was no
steward and no union committee available to help Scott.
In addition, the terminal was shut down and the other
union members were on vacation. By filing copies of his
grievance with the union, Scott followed normal practice
and took the most logical and reasonable step to ensure
that his grievance would wceive a hearing. Since the
union controlled the employee's ability to protest the dis-
charge penalty, obtain a hearing and obtain an impartial
medical examination, Scott's efforts directed toward the
union constituted a reasonable attempt to comply with the
contract under the Maddox-Vaca doctrine.

1]

It is true that the Vaca doctrine may result in the em-
ployer being faced with a lawsuit, without prior notice in
the grievance procedure. The reason for the exception to
the exhaustion doctrine was stated by this court in Vaca:

“Nor do we think that Congress intended to shield
employers from the natural consequences of their
breaches of bargaining agreements by wrongful union
conduct in enforcement of such agreements.” 386
U.S. 186.

Post-Vaca cases have excused employees from rigid compli-
ance with the technicalities of grievance procedures, where,
as here, there is a breach of fair representation, Retana v.
Apt., Motel and Elevator Operators Union Local 14, 453
F.2d 1018, (CA 9, 1972) , DeArroyo v. Sindicato de Traba-
jordes Packinghouse, 425 F.2d 28h (CA 1), cert. denied
400 U.S. 877 (1970), Williams v. Dana Corp., 442 F.2d
412 (CA 6, 1971), Schum v. South’ Buffalo Railway Co.,
73 L.C. 14,492 (CA 2, April, 1974). In all of the above
cases, the employee filed his grievance with the union,
but not the employer and the court nevertheless found
standing to sue the’employer because of the unfair repre-
sentation. © The rationale stated in Schum applies with
equal force in the Scott case:

“Here Schum properly invoked the union’s power,
aid and prestige to obtain the benefits of union repre-
sentation in his protest against the wrongful discharge.
Reassured on several occasions by union officials that
his grievance would be processed administratively,
Schum understandably left the matter in the hands of
the union. He did not learn of the union’s lack of
diligence until months after he had lost the right to
resort to the contractually-prescribed procedures on
his own. Under these circumstances, Schum cannot
be denied his day in court against his employer be-

12

cause his union failed to provide his fair representa-
tion. As stated by the Supreme Court in Vaca:

‘It is true that the employer in such a situation
may have done nothing to prevent exhaustion of
the exclusive contractual remedies to which he
agreed in the collective bargaining agreement.
But the employer has committed a wrongful dis-
charge in breach of that agreement, a breach
which could be remedied through the grievance
process to the employee-plaintiff’s benefit were it
not for the union’s breach of its statutory duty of
fair representation to the employee. To leave
the employee remediless in such circumstances
would, in our opinion, be a great injustice.’ . . .
386 U.S. 185-186.”

The employer cannot seriously complain of prejudice in
the case at bar. Anchor was verbally notified of Scott's
protest on the day after his discharge when he visited the
company premises (234), and again when the union in-
quired concerning his case in August, 1966 and finally in
1967 when Scott wrote the company (617). Anchor made
no inquiries or efforts to contact Scott. In addition, the
employer, which (1) maintained a “sweetheart”, collusive
relationship with the union, (2) violated the procedures
of the labor agreement by failing to issue a pre-discharge
warning notice (Article 32, 608), and (3) acted fraudu-
lently with respect to the discharge, is estopped from com-
plaining concerning any technical deficiencies. In addi-
tion, the bad faith posture of both employer and union
during this period when the grievance machinery was in-
operative, brings into play the “futility” doctrine set forth
in Glover v. St. Louis-S.F. Ry., 393 U.S. 324 (1969)
(“where the effort to proceed formally with the contractual
or administrative remedies would be wholly futile.’’)
Scott is a third party beneficiary of the employer's prom-

13

ise to treat its employees with justice. It is only because
of the union-sponsored grievance machinery that the “ex-
haustion” requirement was developed. Where the machin-
ery breaks down, where the union fails to provide fair
representation or where collusion and employer bad faith
renders utilization of the procedure futile, the reason and
purpose behind the necessity for the exhaustion rule vanish.
So it was in the Scott case. The aggravated fact pattern —
showing hostility and bad faith on the part of both the
employer and the union — provides a classic example of
why an employee should be allowed to sue on the contract
under the Vaca doctrine.

C. THIS APPEAL FROM A JURY VERDICT IS IN-
APPROPRIATE FOR CERTIORARI.

The basic issues in this case were factual, not legal.
Defendant says there was a conflict between the ICC and
the court. Yet the ICC made no determination of any kind
as to Scott’s fitness. In addition, there was no medical
testimony refuting plaintiff's two experts who testified that
Scott’s condition did not present safety problems or violate
ICC standards. Furthermore, there was evidence that
Scott’s discharge was prete~tual and completely unrelated
to health or ICC regulations. Thus, the purported conflict
between ICC law and the law of labor agreements, which
defendant claims might be of interest to this Court, is
not even present in the case at bar.

Similarly, no important issue concerning exhaustion of
remedies doctrine is posed in this case. Exhaustion is not
required where, as here, union unfair representation pre-
vents the employee from obtaining relief under a union-
controlled grievance procedure. In any event, the jury

14

found that Scott complied with the contract’s provisions
concerning timeliness of appeal. Thus, the jury, in effect
found that Scott did exhaust grievance remedies. In view
of the jury finding of unfair representation and the cases
allowing suit for breach of contract under these circum-
stances, this appeal presents no new, unusual or important
issues for this Court.* Furthermore, the decision of the
court below is not in conflict with any decision of this
Court, and there is no conflict of law between the Circuits
on the rules of law governing this case.

‘CONCLUSION

This record displays one of the most flagrant cases of
wrongful discharge and unfair representation in the annals
of post-Vaca reported cases. Evidence of collusion and
subjective bad faith on the part of both company and
union officials permeate the transcript.

The jury could have found a pretextual bad faith dis-
charge in which the company deliberately pressured its
doctor to alter his professional opinion to produce a result
one hundred percent at odds with medical knowledge.
There was no conflict between ICC rules under which
Scott as a mild, non-insulin using diabetic, had been qual-
ified for years, and the labor agreement, which requires
an employer to treat his employee justice. Under both
ICC and contract rules, Scott was a qualified driver and
was treated unjustly by Anchor.

Scott, by filing his grievance with the union, followed
normal practice. Since the union had control of his ability

4The questions defendant seeks to present in its third and fourth
arguments were not raised in the court below and are so obviously in-
appropriate for certiorari and so obviously frivolous as to not deserve

reply.

15

to obtain relief under the contract, filing with the union
constituted a reasonable attempt to exhaust remedies. The
jury's findings of (1) unfair representation and (2) timely
compliance with the grievance procedure allows plaintiff
to sue for breach of contract under the principles set forth
by this Court in Vaca, Maddox and Glover.

No important legal issues are raised by this appeal from
a jury verdict involving questions of fact.

For all these reasons, the petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

PAUL H. TOBIAS

911 First National Bank Building
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
Telephone: 513/241-8137

Of Counsel:

GOLDMAN, COLE AND PUTNICK
911 First National Bank Bldg.
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

NIKI K. SCHWARTZ, ESQ.
1100 Investment Plaza
Cleveland, Ohio 44114

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2127%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
