# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Ruggiero v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2043%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 841

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1973

N. €3- 1920

ANGELO RucaiER0, Petitioner,
-
Vv.

UnNItTep STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

EUGENE GRESSMAN
1828 L Street, N. W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Roy M. Conn
MicHAEL Rosen
39 East 68th Street
New York, New York 10021

Counsel for Petitioner

2 =

June 21, 1974

Press or Byron S. Apams Printinc, Inc., WASHINGTON, D. C.

=>,

eer |

Page
EE ogee eee ee 1
EE a A ENC SP Aad eR Ea a
NG cnn cncamereumicancebuciee's ce

Three questions are presented on this appeal
from a conviction for stealing an interstate cargo
of freight:

(1) Whether the Third Cireuit violated due
process principles in ignoring the issues decided by

the trial court and affirming the conviction on a

ground rejected by the trial court;

(2) Whether the trial court effected an uncon- _

stitutional amendment of the indictment by resting
conviction on an element of the crime not alleged
by the grand jury;

(3) Whether the prosecution was barred under
the Fifth Amendment because of outrageous con-
duct by a government agent.

ConSsTITUTIONAL AND Statutory Provisions INVOLVED ..
STATEMENT OF THE CASB . 2... 2... ccc ccc ccc cece
‘A. The various shifts in the alleged crimes ......

B. The activities of the government’s informer ..
Reasons For GRANTING THE WRIT .................0-.

1. A constitutional due process problem is created
by the Third Circuit’s action in appraising and
affirming the conviction in disregard of the statu-
tory issues as determined by the District Court

2. Resting petitioner’s conviction on the proof that
he stole cargo from a ‘‘motortruck”’ is in direct
conflict with this Court’s decisions respecting
the constitutional invalidity of amending a grand
SE = 7 ee ayy pele

12

PE Got els Crane v

il Index Continued
Page

3. Important problems are here raised, in light of
this Court’s recent Russell decision, as to the
raising of due process claims respecting outrage-

ous conduct by governmental agents ..........

IN 9 ce ca Cadivanccovkaibvaveeddicekenaasens 21
APPENDIX:

Court of Appeals judgment and orders .......... la

District Court memorandum opinion and order .. 3a

CITATIONS

CaSEs:
Bie, Te ee, Te OL. BED odds tc ccksccecaeae 14
Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196 (1948) ........... 12, 13, 14
Hansford v. United States, 303 F.2d 219 (D.C. Cir.

BE cs cnkaiineiedasin is klk edna yaaa Rose oh 8 19
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) ............ 20
Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749 (1962) ........ 14
Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212 (1960) ..... 14, 15, 16
United States v. Allegrucci, 299 F.2d 811 (8rd Cir.

MG Lo ccet occa kee ena cauk sia bua s maces kee 15
United States v. Manuszak, 234 F.2d 421 (3rd Cir.

EE sa atiersy ae cance nue cunt aewenerecurs 16

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 (1973) ..11, 18, 19, 20

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTE:

Fifth Amendment, U.S. Constitution ............... 2
ey Ss NE OE 6b ceded ecb snc ceyswdencecs 3, 5, 16

RASA LSC NRE ARB EL OI TE

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1973

No.

ANGELO RuaaiEro, Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Angelo Ruggiero, respectfully re-
quests that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment order, entered on February 20, 1974, by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
in this proceeding.

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment order of the Third Circuit, reprinted
in the appendix hereto (p. 1a. infra), is reported at 492
F.2d 1239, sub nom. United States v. Farley.

The memorandum opinion and order of the United
States District Court for the Middle District of Penn-
sylvania, reprinted in the appendix hereto (p. 3a,
infra), has not yet been reported.

\

2

JURISDICTION

Following a non-jury trial, petitioner was found
guilty on December 17, 1972, by the District Court of
the theft of goods from a shipment of freight in inter-
state commerce, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 659 and § 2.
The District Court overruled certain post-trial motions
on May 15, 1973, issuing the memorandum opinion that
appears in the appendix hereto. The District Court’s
final judgment and commitment were entered on July
26, 1973.

On February 20, 1974, the Third Circuit issued its
judgment order affirming the conviction. On March
21, 1974, the Third Circuit granted leave to file a peti-
tion for rehearing out of time, allowing 20 additional
days from March 21 for such a filing. The petition for
rehearing was duly filed within the period specified by
the Third Cireuit. And on April 24, 1974, the Third
Circuit denied the petition for rehearing on its merits.
See p. 2a, infra.

On timely application, Mr. Justice Brennan on May
13, 1974, signed an order extending the time for filing
this petition to and including June 22, 1974.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a federal appellate court, consistently
with the principles of constitutional due process and of
proper administration of criminal justice, can review
a federal criminal conviction by ignoring the issues
determined in the trial court and by affirming the con-
viction on a ground rejected by the trial court, sitting
without a jury.

3

2. Whether an unconstitutional amendment of an in- «
dictment was effected by the action of a federal trial
court in (a) finding that the Government had failed to
prove that an interstate cargo had been stolen from a
‘‘station’’ in violation of 18 U.S.C. '§ 659, as alleged by
the grand jury, and (b) resting conviction on proof
that the cargo had been stolen from a ‘‘motortruck”’ in
violation of 18 U.S.C. § 659, which had not been alleged
by the grand jury.

3. Whether a federal prosecution should be barred
under the Fifth Amendment, or whether the defense of
entrapment should be allowed, where (a) a government
informer plays a more than passive role in the commis-
sion of the crime, directing, planning and helping exe-
cute the crime, (b) the defendant has denied his guilt,
and (c) the defendant has not been shown to have
played an active role with the other co-defendants par-
ticipating with the informer in the commission of the
offense.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment V:

‘*No person shall be held to answer for a capital,
or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a present-
ment or indictment of a Grand Jury, ... nor shall
any person... be deprived of life, liberty, or prop-
erty, without due process of law; one

United States Code, Title 18, § 659:

‘*Whoever embezzles, steals, or untawfully takes,
carries away, or conceals, or by fraud or deception
obtains from any railroad ear, wagon, motortruck,
or other vehicle, or from any station, station house,

seiomamard ]

‘ciftedt

RRR ERG NS BOIS oe

4

platform or depot or from any steamboat, vessel,
or wharf, or from any aircraft, air terminal, air-
port, aircraft terminal or air navigation facility
with intent to convert to his own use any goods or
chattels moving as or which are a part of or which
constitute an interstate or foreign shipment of
freight or express; ...

‘‘Shall in each ease be fined not more than $5,000
or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both; but
if the amount or value of such money, baggage,
goods or chattels does not exceed $100, he shall be
fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more
than one year, or both.”’ |

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Angelo Ruggiero, and three others—
Farley, Flammia and Rini—were indicted on a charge
of the theft of goods from a shipment of freight in inter-
state commerce, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 659 and § 2.
In pertinent part, the single-count indictment alleged:

‘‘That on or about the 21st day of June, 1971, at
North Lebanon Township, Lebanon County, Com-
monwealth of Pennsylvania, ... Angelo Ruggiero
did knowingly, wilfully and unlawfully and with
intent to convert to their own use, steal, take and
carry away from a station, station house and depot,
chattels of a value in excess of $100.00, that is 1426
cases of foodstuffs, which were moving as, and con-
stituted an interstate shipment of freight .. .”
[Emphasis added.]

On December 15, 1972, the District Court, sitting with-
out a jury, adjudged petitioner guilty of this charge,
and he was subsequently sentenced to five years im-
prisonment. The Third Circuit, on February 12, 1974,
— the District Court’s judgment and commit-
ment. :

5

A. The Various Shifts in the Alleged Crime

Section 659 of Title 18 makes it unlawful to steal or
carry away an interstate shipment of freight from,
inter alia, (1) ‘‘any railroad car, wagon, motortruck,
or other vehicle,’ or (2) ‘‘any station, station house,
platform or depot.’? In this case, the grand jury
charged only that the petitioner and his co-defendants
hed stolen the freight shipment ‘‘from a station, station
house and depot.’’? The indictment did not charge that
the shipment had been stolen from a ‘‘motortruck, or
other vehicle.”’

Petitioner’s trial and conviction by the District Court
were premised on the grand jury’s allegation that the
theft had been ‘‘from a station, station house and
depot.’’ But in the course of the District Court’s mem-
orandum opinion denying various post-trial motions
filed by petitioner, the District Court found that the
evidence produced by the Government had not estab-
lished that the theft occurred from a station, station
house or depot. See p. 6a, infra.

The District Court simultaneously found that the evi-
dence did show that ‘‘an unlawful taking from a ‘motor-
truck’ occurred.’’ See p. 8a, infra. There was thus
found a variance between the grand jury’s charge re-
specting a ‘‘station’’ and the Governments proof at
trial respecting a ‘‘motortruck.’’ The District Court,
however, labelled the variance a harmless error, and
denied petitioner’s claim that there had been an un-
constitutional constructive amendment to the indict-
ment.

The evidence giving rise to this variance showed that
an interstate shipment of spaghetti sauce had been con-

Rb Gat Sebi PP DA ee Grn bras

teh Ais Ble RIAN hell TAG hit ote br Cal, SBT

t. rv a Mins. 43 ee ee eee eer See aT ee nee Fe es eT

Se en a eel

6

tained within the trailer of a motortruck, en route from
Delaware to New York. The truck was left parked on a
private lot (owned by Lesher’s Mack Truck Sales and
Service Co.) for a weekend in Lebanon, Pennsylvania,
while the driver visited at his home near Lebanon. The
owner of the shipment and the employer of the driver,
Gioia Specialty Foods, Ine., was not shown to have
known that the truck would be parked on that par-
ticular private lot; nor had it authorized the driver to
park there. And there was no evidence that Gioia Spe-
cialty Foods had made any prior arrangement with the
private lot owner to utilize the lot to park its trucks.
The lot owner simpy permitted parking on the lot as
an accommodation to various truck drivers stopping
at Lebanon en route to other destinations.

The theft occurred on a Sunday evening on the week-
end in question. The trailer and its contents were re-
moved from the private lot by two of petitioner’s co-
defendants. Those two co-defendants had proceeded for
about two miles before they were stopped and arrested.
The goods were not removed from the truck at any
point. The petitioner played no role in removing the
truck from the private lot; his alleged relationship to
the crime was that of an aider and abettor.

These facts led the District Court to conclude that
the private parking lot was not a “‘station”’ or “‘station
house”’ as those terms are used in § 659. See pp. 7a-8a,
infra. The court accordingly rejected the Government’s
contention that a truck is ‘‘stationed’’ wherever it is
parked, and that any place that the driver might have
parked this truck during the weekend interlude consti-
tuted an interstate facility or “‘station.’’ To be such a
facility or station, said the court, the facility “‘at the

PP ERTIES FOE A Ry OS ER ERA

7

least must be owned, leased or authorized by the firm
engaged in transportation in interstate commerce and
used in the normal course of its business.”’ See p. 8a,
infra.

Petitioner’s conviction was thus reaffirmed by the
District Court on the new theory that the proof showed
that the theft occurred from a ‘‘motortruck’”’ rather
than from a “‘station,”’ the variance being deemed im-
material. But on the appeal, the Third Cireuit rejected
the District Court’s new theory of the crime. In foot-
note 3 of its judgment order, the Third Cireuit without
elaboration stated: ‘‘We believe that it is not an un-
reasonable construction to conclude, under the cireum-
stances here, that there was a theft from a ‘station.’ ”’
See p. 2a, infra. Petitioner’s conviction was accordingly
affirmed on the appeal on a basis rejected by the Dis-
trict Court, the trier of the facts.

B. The Activities of the Government's Informer

The Government’s chief witness was one Robert
Bush, a conceded informer and an alleged agent provoe-
atur. Bush regarded himself as working with the F.B.L.,
and because of the information that Bush fed to the
F.B.L, all of the actions surrounding the taking of the
trailer truck from the parking lot were under the sur-
veillance of F.B.I. agents and other law enforcement
men.

Petitioner’s alleged involvement in the scheme was at
most tangential and highly debatable, the District Court
calling it ‘‘the subject of a serious factual dispute.”
See p. 13a, infra. That dispute was resolved by the court
by disbelieving petitioner’s testimony and by crediting
the contrary testimony of Bush, the informer. At the

Sik atin Get P we

Pe SO nee tn men Lt oa

le iA hee LASS Iea RS ie a te A alicia Care Nh AB ies MEA hak BR adap eek

8

core of this factuai dispute was an alleged meeting be-
tween petitioner and Bush in a motel on the date of the
hijacking, in the midst of the co-defendants’ futile ef-
forts to start the parked truck. Bush, despite an initial
difficulty in identifying petitioner as the one with whom
he spoke, testified that petitioner had there offered him
extra money if he would help get the truck started.’
Petitioner denied that any such conversation took place.

Bush not only helped get the truck started but played
a key role in the development and execution of the entire
hijacking operation. Bush and the co-defendant Farley
had originally met each other in 1970 in New York, at
which time Bush agreed to deliver to Farley for hijack-
ing a truckload of Sears batteries consigned to Bush.
That theft, as to which Bush had pre-arranged F.B.I.
surveillance, did not come off, since Farley did not be-
lieve the batteries were marketable. Farley and Bush
remained in contact with each other through June of
1971. During that time, according to Bush, Farley re-
peatedly asked Bush to point out other truckloads of
commodities that could be stolen in transit.

At a meeting with the three co-defendants on June 19,
1971, petitioner not being present, Bush told the three
that he could point out a truckload of Bulova Aecutron
watches. On the following day, Bush came to a financial
agreement with the co-defendant Flammia. Bush re-
ported all these arrangements to the police, as well as
to the truck driver. As Bush knew, the truck contained
spaghetti sauce, not Acutron watches. He instructed

’ Bush testified that he had never seen or spoken to the peti-
tioner Ruggiero before this motel meeting on June 20, 1971, the
date of the hijacking. Bush did not know where petitioner fitted
into the hijacking operation.

4 RDCCGPRIEMED ATO A A te oe

9

the driver to leave the truck parked over the weekend
at the private lot in Lebanon and to stay away from
the truck during that time. The F.B.I. was made fully
aware of this plot and knew that Bush had lied to the
co-defendants about the contents of the truck.

At another meeting with the three co-defendants,
Bush was paid $2,000 by Flammia and was promised
more money after the goods were delivered in New
York. Bush also received $400 from the F.B.I. shortly
: after the events in question.

The three co-defendants were unable to start the
truck when they arrived at the parking lot, despite
Bush’s assistance. It was at this point that the con-
tested meeting occurred between Bush and the peti-
tioner. Bush thereupon secured the stealing of another
tractor and substituted it for the one which had been
attached to the trailer containing the spaghetti sauce.
The co-defendants thus were able to drive the truckload
away from the parking lot. The F.B.I. agents and local
police, who had the entire operation under surveillance,
brought the project to an end by stopping and arresting
the co-defendants after they had driven the truckload
several miles.

The co-defendant Farley testified that the whole
project came about at the instance of Bush, who invited
Farley to see him because he had something that would
take Farley out of his financial difficulties (536a).
Farley stated that Bush had offered to point out the
truckload of Acutron watches at the June 19 meeting

? The co-defendants Flammi and Rini chose not to testify at the
trial. The petitioner and Farley were the only defendants who
took the stand.

CA Dibes ev?

Sty AD RSME ONIN a ORs

Pe eS oe ee, ey en

2 EAN

10

for $5000 (538a), and that the final arrangement was
that Bush was to get $5,000 in advance and a later bal-
ance of $95,000 (572a). Each of the three co-defendants
(Farley, Rini and Flammia) was to receive $100,000
from the operation (572a). Arrangements were then
made to meet the next day at a diner near Lebanon,
from which the hijacking party would proceed to the
parking lot (541a).

The petitioner Ruggiero was not involved in any of
these meetings between Bush and the three co-defend-
ants. Indee1, Farley did not even know the petitioner.
Only Rini knew petitioner, and Rini cautioned Farley
not to mention anything in front of the petitioner
(580a). According to the petitioner, he had met Rini by
coincidence in a New York bar and told him that he
wanted to go to Pennsylvania to pick up his wife and
children, but had no driver’s license. Rini told peti-
tioner that he happened to be going to Pennsylvania
the next day on business and offered to drive petitioner
first to where Rini was going and then to petitioner’s
destination in the Poconos. (593a). It was petitioner’s
testimony that he had no knowledge of, or interest in,
the hijacking operation, and that his presence near the
operation was an innocent coincidence (602a, 608a).
Petitioner’s account of his presence in Lebanon was
found by the District Court to be unworthy of belief
(651la).

Based upon the foregoing facts, the claim of entrap-
ment was raised by the petitioner in seeking a judgment
of acquittal. That claim was denied by the District
Court in its post-trial memorandum opinion (see pp.
18a-24a, infra), and that denial was expressly affirmed
by the Third Circuit on the appeal. The District Court

Fe POI D SARE Ny 5 aso ee ORN OR.

11

premised its denial of the entrapment defense upon
the following considerations:

(1) Since petitioner had denied his guilt and his
involvement in the crime, it would be inconsistent for
him now to contend that he was involved in the criminai
enterprise but was impermissibly induced to participate
by the overreaching of a government agent. See pp.
18a-19a, infra.

(2) Petitioner was here found to face ‘‘another
serious hurdle”’ in that ‘‘[t]here is nothing in the rec-
ord indicating the circumstances under which [peti-
tioner] Ruggiero may have become involved in this
erime.”’ See p. 21a, infra. Nothing indicated that peti-
tioner had any direct contact with the informer Bush
before the date of the hijacking or that he was directly
induced by the acts or remarks of Bush.’ In such cir-
cumstances, said the court, ‘‘it is still unclear whether
Ruggiero can raise the defense of entrapment.’’ See
p. 22a, infra.

(3) But the District Court agreed that the entrap-
ment issue could be raised by petitioner on his motion
for judgment of acquittal if the Government’s evidence
established the existence of entrapment as a matter of
law. But on that basis, the District Court could find no
entrapment. In reliance on this Court’s decision in
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 (1973), the Dis-
trict Court concluded that none of petitioner’s co-
defendants had been entrapped since they had pre-
viously manifested an unsolicited predisposition to steal

* The court stated that it ‘‘would have to surmise that Farley,
Flammia or Rini conveyed Bush’s remarks to Ruggiero before we
could conclude that Ruggiero might have been indirectly induced
by the acts of Bush.’’ See pp. 21a-22a, infra.

cian aciadiionasonnaaeal

12

cargo. Said the court: ‘‘The testimony of Bush clearly
establishes that the criminal design originated with
Ruggiero’s co-defendants and not with Bush. . . they
were not innocent persons corrupted by the overreach-
ing of governmental agents.’’ See pp. 22a-23a, infra.
While Bush was found to have played more than a
passive role in the commission of the crime, the court
rejected any claim that his actions shocked ‘‘the uni-
versal sense of justice.”” See p. 24a, infra.

(4) Finally, ‘“‘under the present record it would be
incongruous to find that Ruggiero was entrapped with-
out first concluding that his co-defendants were en-
trapped. If the defense fails as to the latter [as the
court so held] it must fall as to the former.”’ See p. 22a,
infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. A constitutional due process problem is created by the Third
Circuit's action in appraising and affirming the conviction
in disregard of the statutory issues as determined by the
District Court.

An important ingredient of constitutional due proc-
ess is a defendant’s right to have his conviction ap-
praised on appeal ‘‘on consideration of the case as it
was tried and as the issues were determined in the trial
court.’’ Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196, 202 (1948). As
that principle was applied in Cole, a state supreme
court was held precluded from affirming convictions
as though the defendants had been tried and convicted
for having violated § 1 of a state statute, when in fact
the defendants had been charged, tried and convicted
only for violating § 2 of the same statute.

Here we have somewhat more bizarre fluctuations
among the charge, the trial, the conviction and the

Noy ED ee RE

13

affirmance. But the constitutional principle epitomized
by Cole v. Arkansas would seem no less. demanding,
particularly when translated into a rule of administra-
tion of criminal justice in the federal courts.

This petitioner was charged and tried in the District
Court on the grand jury’s allegation that he engaged in
the theft of an interstate cargo only from a ‘‘station”’’
or ‘‘station house,’’ in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 659. But
the District Court, sitting without a jury, found that
the Government had not proved that the facility from
which the cargo was stolen—which facility is an essen-
tial element of the offense—was a ‘‘station”’ or a ‘‘sta-
tion house.’’ Rather, the District Court concluded that
the Government’s proof showed that the theft occurred
from a ‘‘motortruck,’’ a facility not mentioned in the
indictment. The District Court, while denying that this
variance between the charge and the proof was material
or constituted an unconstitutional amendment of the
indictment, proceeded to rest the petitioner’s guilt on
the proof that he had stolen the cargo from a ‘‘motor-
truck.”’ In effect, the District Court acquitted the peti-
tioner, for lack of proof by the Government, of the
charge that he stole from a “station” or ‘station
house.”’

Yet the Third Circuit did not appraise the District
Court’s shift to the ‘‘motortruck”’ theory of guilt, with
all of its constitutional problems of variance as frankly
discussed by the District Court. The Third Circuit ig-
nored the issues as ‘‘determined in the trial court,”
Cole v. Arkansas, supra, and expressly rested its affirm-
ance on its own belief—contrary to the District Court’s
belief on which the conviction rested—‘that it is not an
unreasonable construction to conclude, under the cir-

Ae

i PPAR Cieza is DORA ARIAS the RGR GS ai Na Re Bat

fi apy ght

SARs SST Rai Rate 5 AEN

te.
ie ead

web dine’

rte Fe

14

cumstances here, that there was a theft from a ‘sta-
tion.’ ’’ See p. 2a, fn. 3, infra.

Was not petitioner thereby deprived of his constitu-
tional due process right to have his conviction appraised
on the appeal in terms of the critical fact issues as de-
termined by the District Court? Does not the Cole v.
Arkansas principle apply to federal appellate courts?
Does not the proper administration of federal criminal
justice demand that the Third Circuit’s action in this
regard be reviewed and reversed ?

To put one final question in this regard: For what
crime does petitioner now stand as convicted, stealing
from a ‘‘station”’ or stealing from a ‘‘motortruck’’?

2. Resting petitioner’s conviction on the proof that he stole
cargo from a “motortruck” is in direct conflict with this
Court’s decisions respecting the constitutional invalidity
of amending a grand jury indictment.

To the extent that the District Court’s determination
of guilt respecting the takin; from a ‘‘motortruck”’ can
survive the Third Circuit’s improper review and revi-
sion of the conviction, that determination comes
squarely into conflict with two controlling decisions of
this Court: Ex parte Bain, 121 U.S. 1 (1887), and
Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212 (1960). See also
Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749, 770-771 (1962).

Bain held that a trial court cannot, consistent with
the Fifth Amendment, formally and literally strike an
essential portion of the indictment as returned by the
grand jury.* Stirone held that a court can neither

*In Bain, the trial court had struck out the words ‘‘Comptroller
of the Currency and’’ from the language of the indictment charg- °
ing the making of false statements ‘‘with intent to deceive the
Comptroller of the Currency and the agent appointed to examine
the affairs of said association.’’

15

change nor add to the indictment by way of admission
of evidence of an alternative elemer:t of the crime that
the grand jury has not alleged.’ And Stirone further
made it clear, 361 U.S. at 217-218, that:

‘‘Although the trial court did not permit a for-
mal amendment of the indictment, the effect of
what it did was the same . . . While there was a
variance in the sense of a variation between plead-
ing and proof, that variation here destroyed the
defendant’s substantial right to be tried only on
charges presented in an indictment returned by
the grand jury. Deprivation of such a basic right
is far too serious to be treated as nothing more than
a variance and then dismissed as harmless error
... The very purpose of the requirement that a man
be indicted by a grand jury is to limit his jeopardy
to offenses charged by a group of his fellow citizens
acting independently of either prosecuting attorney
or judge.”’

In the instant case, the petitioner was charged by the
grand jury with a specilic kind of violation of 18 U.S.C.
§ 659. That section has been described as ‘‘a technical
one and requires the Government to prove the allega-
tion that the goods were, stolen from one of various
enumerated places.’’ United States v. Allegrucci 299
F.2d 811 (3rd Cir. 1962). The designation in the in-
dictment of one of the various facilities or places enum-

5In Stirone, the indictment only charged the defendant with
having caused the movement of sand in interstate commerce ‘‘from
outside the State of Pennsylvania into the State of Pennsylvania.’’
The trial court admitted evidence and charged the jury respecting
(1) the movement of sand into Pennsylvania from other States
and (2) the shipment of steel from Pennsylvania into Michigan and
Kentucky. Such an introduction of element (2) into the case
was held to create not only a variance but an unconstitutional
amendment of the indictment.

Ct. nr. er Te

16

erated in § 659 is considered to be an essential ingre-
dient of the crime. ‘‘Under this statute, it is not a fed-
eral crime to steal goods from an interstate shipment
of freight unless the goods are taken from one of the
specifically enumerated places or facilities. Other thefts,
although of goods which are part of an interstate ship-
ment, are not federal crimes.’’ United States v. Manu-
szak, 234 F.2d 421, 423 (3rd Cir. 1956).

And so it was of critical importance that the grand
jury carefully mentioned only the “station, station
house and depot”’ designations of § 659 in describing
the crime ascribed to petitioner. He was not charged
with the other federal crimes mentioned in § 659 of
stealing cargo from

(1) ‘‘any railroad car, wagon, motortruck, or other
vehicle,” or

(2) ‘any steamboat, vessel, or wharf,” or

(3) ‘‘any aircraft, air terminal, airport, aircraft
terminal or air navigation facility.”

So, when the District Court found that the Govern-
ment had failed to prove that a ‘‘station’”’ was here in-
volved but that petitioner’s guilt could rest on the Gov-
ernment’s proof that the theft was from a “‘motor-
truck,” did not the District Court in effect amend the
indictment in the Stirone sense? How can the grand
jury be said to have charged petitioner with having
stolen a cargo from a ‘‘motortruck,”’ any more than
from an ‘‘airplane’’? And was not petitioner constitu-
tionally entitled to have his guilt assessed solely in
terms of having stolen from a “‘station’’?

If this was truly an amendment of the indictment, the
Stirone decision invalidates the District Court’s effort

17

to brush the matter aside as a mere variance or harm-
less error. And in the context of a technical statute,
carefully defining various interstate facilities to iden-
tify the federal nature of the crimes, it would not ap-
pear decisive that the facts presented to the grand jury
may have embraced a theft both from a ‘‘station’”’ and a
‘“‘motortruck.’’ Indeed, the grand jury’s omission of a
‘“‘motortruck’”’ from the indictment may reflect the
grand jury’s careful conclusion that the facts did not
warrant charging a theft from a ‘‘motortruck.”’

Moreover, even if the petitioner had adequate notice
of the crime charged, even if he was not surprised or
put in double jeopardy by the evidence as to the two
different facilities, petitioner’s constitutional right
would not appear to be diluted. The essence of that right
is not a double jeopardy matter but a protection against
being tried and convicted on any allegation other than
what is precisely delineated in the grand jury’s indict-
ment.

The District Court exhibited great difficulty and con-
cern with this Stirone constitutional issue. Its opinion,
with which the Third Circuit exhibited no disagree-
ment, demonstrates the continuing problems faced by
lower courts in giving effect to the constitutional prin-
ciple at stake. Many criminal defendants in the federal
courts are faced with charges stemming from statutes
of a multi-segmented nature, where it is easy for a judge
or prosecutor to slide from one statutory clause or sec-
tion to another. But when the grand jury has been pre-
cise in its selection of a statutory clause or phrase, at
what point does an unconstitutional amendment arise ?
Both the lower courts and the countless criminal de-
fendants of the future need and deserve further guid-
ance from this Court.

18

3. Important problems are here raised, in light of this Court's
recent Russell decision, as to the raising of due process
claims respecting outrageous conduct by governmental

agents. — : .
In United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 436 (1973),
a majority of this Court reaffirmed the established doc-
trine that ‘‘It is only when the Government’s deception
actually implants the criminal design in the mind of
the defendant that the defense of entrapment comes
into play.’’ Any determination that the defendant had
a predisposition to commit the crime and thus was not
an ‘unwary innocent’’ is fatal to an entrapment claim.

The Third Circuit has here affirmed the District
Court’s articulated rejection of petitioner’s entrap-
ment claim, mainly on the authority of the Russell
decision. In so doing, however, the courts below have
either misinterpreted the thrust of Russell or exposed
new and important variations ‘on the Russell decision.
Review of such matters is most Sear To be
specific :

(1) The determination by the District Court that
the co-defendants were predisposed to commit this hi-
jacking effectively precludes the assertion of the en-
trapment defense within the contours of the Russell
decision, But Russell also indicated that even where
there is such a predisposition the conduct of law en-
forcement officers may be so outrageous, so shocking to

_ ‘| “the universal sense of justice,’ that the Due Process

Clause of the Fifth Amendment would bar prosecution.
411 U.S. at 431-432.

But Russell did not attempt to delineate the degree of
outrageousness that must be found to warrant condem-
nation of overzealous government agents. Perhaps that

19

can be done only on a case-to-case basis. But, without
the benefit of any guidelines from this Court, the Dis-
trict Court disposed of the due process claim by (1)
conceding that Bush, the informer, ‘‘played a more
than passive role in the commission of this crime’’ by
disclosing the location of the truck and providing aid
in removing the truck and its contents; and (2) con-
cluding that Bush’s actions involved no greater degree
of governmental involvement than in Russell and hence
did not shock the universal sense of justice. See p. 24a,
infra.®

That Bush played more than a passive role is an un-
derstatement. He actively planned, directed and organ-
ized the whole operation, and agreed to share in the
spoils. Does not Russell contemplate that such actions be
evaluated with more than a comparative glance at the
facts in Russell and by a conclusionary statement that
the reviewing court is not shocked? Should there not be
a more careful analysis of all the factors? What should
be the controlling due process factors? Those are the
questions that this case raises and that the courts below
have not answered.

(2) Does Russell contemplate that such a due proc-
ess claim cannot be raised by a defendant who had
pleaded not guilty? The District Court, viewing the
matter solely in terms of raising the entrapment de-
fense, questioned whether such a defense is consistent
with a denial of the acts constituting the offense
charged. See pp. 18a-19a, infra. Even as to the entrap-
ment defense, at least one Circuit has held that the de-

® While this Court did not assess the Russell facts in due process
terms, those facts arguably, if not clearly, show far less outrageous
conduct than Bush exhibited in this case.

eR rT DBP ow
oe er ad ‘as = -

he aan ae ty SA La

ee nee) ee eee Uwe mime Bs ee eta sie Te) En

20

fense is not inconsistent with a not guilty plea. Hans-
ford v. United States, 303 F.2d 219, 221 (D.C. Cir.
1962). But the totally unanswered problem is whether

a not guilty plea precludes the due process claim
referred to in Russell.

(3) Does Russell contemplate that the due process
claim is to be unavailable to a defendant who plays a
minor role, as an aider or abettor, in the commission
of the offense? Does the right of such a defendant to
raise the claim depend upon the viability of the claim
as respects those co-defendants who played major and
active roles in the execution of the crime? Here again,
the District Court provided affirmative answers to these
questions within the framework of the entrapment de-
fense. No answers were provided within the framework
of the due process claim.

It would appear that the due process problem men-
tioned by Russell, if it is found to exist in a particular
ease, would be such as to taint and preclude the entire
prosecution by the Government. Outrageous conduct
by government agents can go beyond what is commonly
known as entrapment and be so shocking as to ‘“abso-
lutely bar the government from invoking judicial proe-
esses to obtain a conviction.’’ Russell, 411 U.S. at 431-
432. Cf. Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952). If
that be true, then, the remoteness of a particular de-
fendant from the particular events constituting the
crime would not appear relevant to his right to protest
the invocation of any judicial processes to obtain his
conviction, whether as a principal or as an aider or
abettor.

These are critical and unanswered questions arising
from the Russell acknowledgement that due process

a EEO

21

claims may survive an unwarranted entrapment de-
fense. They deserve consideration and answer by this
Court.

CONCLUSION

For these various reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

EUGENE GRESSMAN
1828 I. Streei, N. W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Roy M. Coun
MicHaEL Rosen
39 East 68th Street
New York, New York 10021

Counsel for Petitioner
June 21, 1974

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_2043%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
