# Amicus Curiae Brief — Acanfora v. Board of Education

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1995%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 836

## Text

, Supreme Court, U. S.
* | d " 1
148 RARY, FILED
1 0 97 . — * ‘me
Ws PREM — COUR 1 J. .
JUN 17 1974
MICHAEL RODAK, JR CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973
No. %3=1843

JOSEPH ACANFORA III,

Petitioner,
V.

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, et al.,

_ Respondents,

U

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF LAMBDA

LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATION

FUND, INC., IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

E. CARRINGTON BOGGAN
Lambda Legal Defense and
Education Fund, Inc.
Attorney for Amicus Curiae
30 Grove Street
New York, New York

(4183)

— a

r

*

— — —

— PPP

PPP CC

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of Amicus ...
Opinions Below......
Jurige@iction. -..cecccce

Statement of the Case .

Questions Presented ..

Reasons for Granting the

Writ

RII 6 6 ie als hd

24

ii
TABLE OF CASES

Page

Bates v. Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516
0 ˙ X Rawk 15

Bryson v. Unit ed States, 396 U. S.
r oo Oe * 17

Burs ey v. Unit ed States, 466 F. 2d
1959 (th Cis. ... . . 1, 21

DeGregory v. Attorney General,
383 U.S. S25 (1966)... ceces 21

Dennis v. U.S., 384 U.S. 855 (1966) 17

Elfbrandt v. Russell, 384 U.S. 1118
Cy. ˙m . 19

Gay Students Org. of U. of New
Hampshire v. Bonner, 367 F.
Supp. 1088 (D. N. H. 1974 10

Gayer v. Laird, 332 F. Supp. 169
(D. D. C. „ Susie's 22

Gibson v. Florida Legislative Inves-
tigation Comm., 372 U.S. 539,
c ocho o See x 14

Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169(1972) 41

Hobbs v. Thompson, 448 F.2d 456
, 19

— ee

iii

TABLE OF CASES (Continued)

Page

James v. Bd. of Ed. of Central Dist.
No. 1, et al., 461 F.2d 566 (2nd
Cir. 1972), cert. denied 409 U.S.
1042 (1972), reh. denied, 410
A 21

Kay v. United States, 303 U.S. 1
en,? be oo wow 17

Kimball, In re, 33 N. T. 2d 586, 347
N. T. 8. 2d 453 (1973). 23

Labady, In re, 326 F. Supp. 924
(S. D. N. Y. „. 23

Louisiana ex rel. Gremillion v.
N. A. A. C. P., et al., 366 U.S.
r ee ote 14

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390
rc ˙(ç + oe 66 68 ee 6 0 9

Morrison v. State Bd. of Ed., 1 Cal.
3d 214, 461 P.2d 375, 82 Cal.
Rptr. 175 (1969) ee o's © © 6 2-8 Oe „ 23, 24

N. A. A. c. P. v. Button, 371 U.S.
415 (1963) = „„ * W „„ „* E W D „ „ „* 9

N. A. A. C. P. v. State of Alabama,
357 U.S. 449 (1958) “efter eeee 9, 13,
14

iv
TABLE OF CASES (Continued)

Page

Nat'l Student Assoc. v. Hershey.
412 F.2d 1103 (D.C. Cir.
PE cao 6 c AA eee * 19

Norton v. Macy, 417 F.2d 1161
i ae ¾ ͤ ne ae 22

Owles v. Lomenzo, 31 N. v. 2d
965, 341 N. Y. S. 2d 108 (1973). 11

Ricks v. District of Columbia,
414 F. 2d 1097 (5th Cir. 1969). 19

Rodriguez v. Seamans, 463 F. 2d
837 (D.C. Cir. 1972), petition
for cert, dismissed, 409 U.S.
1 ws a ewe eee 8 ee 18

Scott v. Macy, 402 F.2d 644 (D.C.
Cir. o 22

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U. S. 479
„ iad ear 00000 6
1

Society for Individual Rights v.
Hampton. F. Supp. ___
(N. D. Cal. 1973, No.
C73-O339 ) 22

Thom, In re, 53 N.Y. 2d 609, 347
N. T. 8. 2d S71 (1973) 12

ey ere

thi SOAP Md VAAN A> stone

neee.

TABLE OF CASES (Continued)

Page
United States v. Kapp, 302 U.S. .
214 (1937) 18
Wentworth v. Schlesinger, 490 F.2d
740 (D.C. Cir. 1973) 22
Williams v. United States, 434 F. 2d
1346 (Ct. Cl. 1970) 18

Woods v. Davison, 351 F. Supp. 543 -
(N.D. Ga. 1972) 10

ere

. en ntl

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1973

No.

JOSEPH ACANFORA II,
Petitioner,
v.

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF
MONTGOMERY COUNTY, et al.,

Respondents.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF LAMBDA
LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATION

FUND, INC., IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

. — —
1 25 3 P ee EM
—— sole NN Pe nm Sa

————

as

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE*

Lambda Legal Defense and Educa-
tion Fund, Inc., is a New York corporation
organized to seek, through the legal process,
to insure the legal rights of homosexuals.

It is similar in scope and purpose to the
NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund,
Inc., and seeks to function for homosexuals
in the same way the NAACP Legal Defense
and Educational Fund, Inc., has functioned
for black citizens, Lambda Legal Defense
and Education Fund, Inc., (hereinafter
Lambda“) is authorized to practice law by

the courts of New York.

In accordance with its purpose to

*This brief is filed with the con-
sent of the parties. The letters of consent
are filed with the Clerk of the Court.

seek to insure, through the legal process,
the legal rights of homosexuals, Lambda is
interested in and concerned by the decision
of the court below which denied any relief
to the petitioner, Joseph Acanfora III, a
homosexual teacher who was transferred
from his classroom teaching duties to ad-
ministrative duties and whose contract with
respondent was not renewed because of his
homosexuality.

Lambda urges that the aforesaid
action of respondent was a denial of equal
protection of the law and of petitioner's
constitutional right to freedom of speech
and association and his constitutional right
of privacy.

Lambda has taken this *

nary step of filing a brief amicus curiae

BSD sire WF o>

certiorari because of the devastating effect
the refusal of the court below to grant peti-
tioner any relief will have on the exercise
of the constitutional rights of freedom of
association and speech by homosexuals and
because of the encouragement and sanction
the decision of the court below will give to
the invasion of the right of privacy of homo-
sexuals and the denial of equal protection

of the law to them if the court below's

denial of relief is allowed to stand.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit is
reported at 491 F. 2d 498 and is set forth
in the Appendix to the Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari. The opinion of the United

„ ² ÄP

*

States District Court for the District of
Maryland is reported at 359 F. Supp. 843
and is set forth in the Appendix to the

Petition for Certiora ri.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked pursuant to 28 U. S. C. 81254(1).
The judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit was entered
on February 7, 1974. An order granting an
extension of the period of time in which to
file the Petition for Certiorari to June 7,
1974, was issued by Chief Justice Burger
on April 30, 1974. e in the
Unit ed States District Court was g round ed
on 42 U. S. C. 61983 and 28 U.S.C. 88 1331,

1343(3), and 1343 (4).

Tee

wry, we ek

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pursuant to Rule 42(5) of this Court,
the statement of the case is omitted in this

brief amicus curiae, and the Court is referred

to the statement of the case in the Petition

for Certiora ri.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the refusal of the Court of Appeals
to grant petitioner any relief because
of his failure to list his membership
in the homophile student organization
violate petitioner's right to freedom of

association and right of privacy?

2. Was the requirement, read into respond-
ent's teaching application form by the

Court of Appeals, that petitioner list all

organizations to which he belonged, in-
cluding the homophile student organiza-
tion, unconstitutionally broad as an
infringement on petitioner's freedom

of association?

3. Is the decision of the Court of Appeals
in conflict with the decision of this

Court in Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S,

479 (1960)?

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit has decided an important question of
federal law in a manner which denies homo-
sexuals the right to be free from unwarranted
and impermissible governmental discrimina-
tion as a result of the exercise of their con-

stitutional right of freedom of association

and for seeking to protect their constitutional
right of privacy in their associations. The

court below decided the question adverse to

OS, APTI 1

petitioner, denying him any relief. The ques-
tion of the constitutional protection due homo-
sexuals in their associations has not been
settled by this Court, and it should be, for it

affects the right to life and liberty free from

ae: Cee

governmental discrimination in violation of
the constitutional guarantee of equal protec-
tion of the law of several million homosexuals,
Further, the decision of the Court of Appeals
is in conflict with the decision of this Court in

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960).

I. The Refusal of the Court of
Appeals to Grant Petitioner
Any Relief Because of His
Failure to List His Member-
ship in the Homophile Stud-
ent Organization Violates
Petitioner's Right to Free-
dom of Association and
Right of Privacy.

1 r 8 ü IY e ee eee
. r neee ue *

3

P

The right to freedom of association,
in no matter how unorthodox or unconven-
tional a manner, is a fundamental guarantee

under the Constitution. N. A. A, C. P. v.

Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963). The range of
this interest shields the individual from un-
reasonable governmental interference because
it is "essential to the orderly pursuit of

happiness by free men“, Meyer v. Nebraska,

262 U.S. 390, at 399 (1923). "It is beyond
debate that freedom to engage in association
.. is an inseparable aspect of the liberty“
assured by the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment . . . [and] it is
immaterial whether the beliefs sought to be
advanced by association pertain to political,
economic, religious or cultural matters.

N. A. A. C. P. v. State of Alabama, 357 U.S.

449, at 460 (1958).

AREA AE Nei,

:
.
8
8

eee CCC r

10

The critical importance of free
association for homosexuals, either for
their social or political benefit, has begun
to be recognized by some lower courts,
but has not been ruled upon by this Court.
In view of the decision of the court below
which in effect sanctions discrimination
against petitioner for exercising his right
to freedom of association, it is imperative
that this Court declare the right to freedom
of association free from governmental re-
prisals for the homosexual minority.

The District Court for the Northern

District of Georgia, in Woods v. Davison,

351 F. Supp. 543 (N. D. Ga. 1972), and the
District Court for the District of New Hamp-

shire, in Gay Students Org. of U. of New

Hampshire v. Bonner, 367 F. Supp. 1088

(D. N. H. 1974), held that the homosexual

r

11

stud ent groups on these campus es mere en-
titled to access to university facilities and
all other rights attendent to official recog-
nition of any other student group. Follow-

ing Healy v. James, 408 U.S. 169 (1972),

which stated that, absent a lawful justifica-
tion, students groups could not have their
associational rights abridged by denial of
recognition, both courts asserted the im-
portance of organizing for these students
to further their common interests.

In Owles v. Lomenzo, 31 N.Y. 2d

965, 341 N. Y. S. 2d 108 (1973), the New
York Court of Appeals approved incorpora-
tion for the Gay Activists Alliance, Inc.
The group was organized to allow assem-
blage of homosexuals to foster the repeal
of laws which discriminate against them as

a class and the passage of laws which

12

guarantee equal treatment for all persons

regardless of sexual orientation. The New
York Court of Appeals also approved the
application of Lambda Legal Defense and
Education Fund, Inc., as a legal assistance

corporation in In re Thom, 53 N.Y. 2d 609,

347 N. Y. S. 2d 571 (1973). In his concurring
: opinion, Judge Burke acknowledged that
: Lambda's organizing to legally “insure
equal protection of the laws and the pro-
tection of civil rights of homosexuals", Id.
at 611, 347 N. Y. S. 2d at 572, was an essen-
tial part of its First Amendment rights to
further its goals, particularly as homosexuals
were a minority subjected to varied discrim-
inations. The decision of the court below
in the instant case, if allowed to stand,
would vitiate these earlier gains in judicial

recognition of the freedom of association of

13

homosexuals, and would have a devastating
and chilling effect on the exercise of those

rights.

II. The Right to Privacy in Asso-
ciations is Crucial to the Via-
bility of the Freedom of Homo-
sexuals to Associate.

When the N. A. A. C. P. refused to
dis close its membership lists to state offi-
cials, the Supreme Court stated that invio-
lability of privacy in group associations may
in many circumstances be indispensible to
preservation of freedom of association, par-
ticularly where a group espouses dissident

beliefs. N. A. A. C. P. v. State of Alabama,

357 U. S. 449, at 462 (1958). The circum-
stances in which the N. A. A. C. P. was func-
tioning were found to have expos ect
members to economic reprisal, loss of em-

ployment, threat of physical coercion, and

Doe ee

7

eee

14

other manifestations of public hostility", Id.
at 462, if their membership was revealed.
For homosexuals, hidden in their closets“,
these circumstances are everyday realities;
for petitioner, it was explicitly stated at
trial that if he had revealed his membership
in a homosexual group, he would never have
been hired.

The Supreme Court held in N.A.A.C.P.

v. State of Alabama that the organization

could not be compelied to disclose its mem-
bership list because, by dissuading others
from joining or members to quit, these cir-
cumstances adversely affected the effective
pursuit of N. A. A. C. P. is and its members
rights to advocate their beliefs. See also

Gibson v. Florida Legislative Investigation

Comm., 372 U.S. 539, 555-557 (1963);

Louisiana ex rel. Gremillion v. N. A, A. C. P.,

15

et al., 366 U.S. 293, 296 (1961); Bates v.

Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516, 523-524 (1960);

Bursey v. United States, 466 F. 2d 1059,

1083-1086 (9th Cir. 1972). The effect of
compulsory disclosure by petitioner of his
organizational ties is to Sandie, just as
pervasively, the legitimate functioning of
homosexual rights groups. The clear mes-
sage is that, i< individuals are interested
in belonging to one of these organizations,
which is their constitutional right, they will
be compelled to disclose that membership
and expose themselves to serious reprisals,
Therefore, millions of homosexuals will be
dissuaded from exercising their right to
associate, and thus the effectiveness of
these organizations in combating the dis-
crimination visited upon homosexuals will

be destroyed.

16

"It is hardly a novel perception that
compelled disclosure of affiliation
with groups engaged in advocacy
may constitute. . lan] effective

. restraint on freedom of asso-
ciation . . . This Court has recog-
nized the vital relationship between
freedom to associate and privacy
in one's associations. N. A. A. C. E.
v. State of Alabama, supra at 1171
1172.

III. Requiring Petitioner to List All
Organizations and Extracurricu-
lar Activities is Unconstitutionally
Broad

The application form for a teaching
position in the Montgomery County school
system asks for information about one's
professional, service and fraternal organiza-
tions. Petitioner answered this by listing
his student membership in the Pennsylvania
State Education Association, His member-
ship in the Homophiles of Penn State, how-
ever, does not fit into any of the three

above categories. The application also

17

requests information about one's extracur-
ricular activities. Here petitioner listed
swimming, bowling, student council, maga-
zine and newspaper staffs, honor society,
and Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps.
Although he could have included his Homo-
phile membership in this answer. and even
admits that he consciously omitted it from
the application, there is no indication that
this information was required. The oath
which he signed merely stated that the in-
formation included was accurate“, not that
it was complete. In the cases relied on
by the Court of Appeals, in holding that this
omission was prejudicial to his case, all of
the parties being charged had given false

answers to direct questions. Bryson v.

United States, 396 U.S. 64 (1969); Dennis

v. U. S., 384 U.S. 855 (1966); Kay v. United

ees ee

I I SE OR RR PR / EEO ey PE a

OIE FS

PEE te

18

States, 303 U.S. 1 (1938); United States v.

Kapp, 302 U.S. 214 (1937); Rodriguez v.

Seamans, 463 F. 2d 837 (D.C. Cir. 1972),

petition for cert. dismissed, 409 U.S. 1094

(1973); Williams v. United States, 434 F. 2d

1346 (Ct. Cl. 1970). That is not the case

here.

In Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479

(1960), an Arkansas statute required public
school teachers to submit an affidavit listing
all organizational memberships during the
preceding five years. The Court noted that
the teachers worked under the "absolute will
of those to whom disclosure must be made”,
Id. at 486, and the lack of confidentiality
concerning the lists allowed for public pres-
sure to be brought on school officials to dis-
charge those "who belong to unpopular or

minority organizations". Id. at 486-487.

PP SF oye a are

19

''Such unwarranted inhibition upon
the free spirit of teachers. .

has an unmistakable tendency to
chill that free play of the spirit
which all teachers ought especially
to cultivate and practice.
Wieman v. Updegraff, supra, at
195 as cited in Shelton, supra, at
487.

The Court held that compulsory disclosure
of every associational affiliation was a

"comprehensive interference with associa-
tional freedom [which] goes far beyond

what might be justified in the exercise of
the State's legitimate inquiry into the fit-
ness and competency of its teachers. Id.

at 490. Cf., Elfbrandt v. Russell, 384 U.S.

11, 18 (1966); Hobbs v. Thompson, 448 F.

2d 456, 460 (5th Cir. 1971); Ricks v. Dis-

trict of Columbia, 414 F. 2d 1097 (5th Cir.

1969); Nat'l Student Assoc. xv. Hershey,

412 F. 2d 1103 (D.C. Cir. 1969). Under

this Court's decision in Shelton, respondent

20

herein could not constitutionally be compelled
to list his membership in the Homophiles of
Denn State. Thus, even aside from the fail-
ure of the application form to specifically
request that information, the question as to

extracurricular activities must, in light of

Shelton, be read as not requesting the listing

of that information. The decision of the
court below is, therefore, in conflict with
this Court's decision in Shelton, and creates
the same unconstitutionally broad requirement
that petitioner list all of his associational
ties as this Court condemned in Shelton.
IV. The Montgomery County Public
School Board Does Not Have a
Sufficient Interest to Compel

Disclosure of All Petitioner's
Associational Ties.

Although the right of association is
not absolute and may be superceded by a

compelling state interest, the state must

ail iat ; LEP IE LEAT DRONA Pe ap NN ALTE AG = EA IE RE SB BD BA Ty Oa a ERE

PF RIESE eee eee

21

show that there is a compelling reason for
disclosure in order to be able to interfere
with petitioner's right of association.

DeGregory v. Attorney General, 383 U.S.

825 (1966); Shelton, supra; Bursey v. United

States, supra; James v. Bd. of Ed. of Central

Dist. No. I, et al., 461 F. 2d 566 (2nd Cir.

1972), petition for cert. denied 409 U.S.

1042 (1972), reh. denied 410 U.S. 947 (1973).

In the instant case, there is not even a rea-
sonable relationship between petitioner's
membership in the Homophiles of Penn State
and his ability to teach. There were find-
ings to show that his performance both as

a student teacher and as a teacher was
satisfactory; that he did not discuss or even
intend to discuss homosexuality in the class-
room; that there was no disruption or even
a possibility of disruption of the school; and

+ AGE OTERO PD EROSION

PPP

r

= a

22

that many of the students and teachers offered

petitioner their support.
The issue of the relationship between
one's homosexuality and one's ability to func-

tion effectively has recently been seriously

considered in many different areas. The

almost unanimous opinion has been that homo-

sexuality per se does not adversely affect
such ability and the party seeking to show
that it does must sustain the burden of proof.

Wentworth v. Schlesinger, 490 F. 2d 740

(D. C. Cir. 1973) (security clearance);

Norton v. Macy, 417 F. 2d 1161 (D.C. Cir.

1969) (federal civil service employee); Scott

v. Macy, Il, 402 F. 2d 644 (D.C. Cir. 1968)

(federal civil service applicant); Society for

Individual Rights v. Hampton, F. Supp.

(N. D. Cal. 1973, No, C-73-0139 AJZ):

Gayer v. Laird, 332 F. Supp. 169 (D. D. C.

mura eee e

23

1971) (security clearance); In re Labady,

326 F. Supp. 924 (S.D.N.Y. 1971) (natural-

ization); In re Kimball, 33 N.Y. 2d 586,

347 N. Y. S. 2d 453 (1973) (State Bar appli-

cant); Morrison x. State Bd. of Ed,, 1 Cal.

3d 214, 461 P. 2d 375, 82 Cal. Rptr. 175
(1969) (teacher), Petitioner's own success-
ful teacher certification in Pennsylvania
indicates that he is a fit person to teach
and his homosexuality does not adversely
affect his fitness. The District of Columbia
Board of Education adopted a resolution on
May 23, 1972, of non-discrimination in its

school system on the basis, inter alia, of

"personal sexual orientation". And in
California, the Court of Appeals held that
homosexuality per se could not be grounds
for a teacher's discharge but the school

board must show a reasonable connection

E GTA e Ra A BNI NINES HONS ORR RRA, PEPE

24

between the homosexuality and unfitness to

teach. Morrison, supra. Thus, since homo-

sexuality alone cannot sustain the burden of
proof of unfitness, there is no reasonable
reason for the respondent to compel disclo-
sure of petitioner's membership in homo-

sexual organizations.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above,

the petition for certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

E. CARRINGTON BOGGAN

Lambda Legal Defense and
Education Fund, Inc.

30 Grove Street

New York, New York

Attorney for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1995%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
