# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Chattanooga v. Cox

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1957%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 833

## Text

ts 3 cee: 4 iH Supreme Court.
u. &. FILE

IN THE MICHAEL RODAK, JR

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1973

nee 173 2

CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE,
Petitioner,

Vv.

RAYMOND COX,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
CCURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE,
EASTERN DIVISION

RANDALL L. NELSON
Special Counsel

400 Pioneer Building
Chattanooga. Tennessee 37402

EUGENE N. COLLINS

City Attorney

400 Pioneer Building
Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402

—————————————————
COURT INDEX PRESS, INC. — 809 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202 — (513) 241-1450

ee en ame

Ne NATH mo ni Foy rim

ae See eae ©

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eo a rie re 1
ee ars doe ans ct aoa eae k 2
Be ts: 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .. 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...... polis iggemetaaes 3

(A) Proceedings in the Chancery Court ........ 5

(B) Proceedings in the Court of Appeals ....... 6
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........ 6

Petitioner’s Action in Dismissing Respondent Did

Not Violate. Respondent's Fifth Amendment
Se RS Eee ry eee te 7
EEE. bch kbe> eaves chcadvee cence Fe 18
TABLE OF CITATIONS

Constitutional Provisions:
Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution .......... 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 18, 19

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution

il.
‘ Page
Statutes:
I I clas 2. shaw cg kgs sda thw a ee 2
Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 27-901, et seq. ........ 5
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1911, Chapter 10,
I ooh eee oo a arenes oa os va 8 4
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1955, Chapter 56,
I oe 3 fo CG cd eA pa Sait e vg Fa sek & 4
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1957, Chapter 73,
IE Gaon, SS ahora Selly ee UNS x ¢ Ase 4
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1839, Chapter 32,
Is ok pad hee utes Soars hes wish 4
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1901, Chapter 432,
NEE Se hor h a hios SON Rhee ec eee ee we ewe ens 4
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1911, Chapter 10,
I Pos ce diee new ig casas ae 4
Cases:
Beilan v. Board of Education of Philadelphia, 357
U.S. 399, 78 S.Ct. 1317, 2 L.Ed.2d 1414
ila a eRe Sane ce ee eee ere 7, 8,9
Brown v. Walker, 161 U.S. 591, 597, 40 L.Ed. 819,
IN vi ss kekainws Cs. wae 11
Broyles v. State, 207 Tenn. 571, 341 S.W.2d 724
CS ee eases sae sk us eee 17, 18
Gardner v. Broderick, 393 U.S. 278, 88 S.Ct. 1913, |
20 L.Ed.2d 1082 (1968) .......... 6:7, 1, 42s

illicit

Cases: Page
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493, 87 S.Ct. 616,
17 L.Ed.2d 562 (1967) ..... 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 18

Gerace v. County of Los Angeles, 100 Cal.Rptr. 917,
cert. denied —— U.S. ——, 93 S.Ct. 444, 34 L.Ed.
2d 306, reh. denied, —— U.S. ——, 93 S.Ct. 1353,

35 L.Ed.2d 615 (Feb. 20, 1973) .............. 15, 16
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694,
ee Is 2 Pree as OS ee eee 15

Murphy v. Waterfront Commission of New York,
378 U.S. 52, 100, 101, 84 S. Ct. 1594, 12 L.Ed.

OR I Re hs re ok ee rid Sa 10, i5
Quinn v. United States, 349 U.S. 155, 161, 162, 99

L.Ed. 954, 75 S.Ct. 668, 51 A.L.R.2d 1157 ........ 1]
Rogers v. United States, 340 U.S. 367, 371, 95 L.Ed.

5464, 71 Si SE, TA ere. =e se ee eee 11
Slochower v. Board of Higher Education, 350 U.S.

551, 100 L.Ed. 692, 76 S.Ct. 637 ................ 8
Ullman v. United States, 350 U.S. 422, 428, 100

L.Ed. 511, 76 S.Ct. 497, 53 A.L.R.2d 1008 ........ ll

Uniformed Sanitation Men’s Association v. Commis-
sioner of Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280, 88 S.Ct. 1917,
ee Se eae 7, 34,

Uniformed Sanitation Men’s Association v. Commis-
sioner of Sanitation, 406 U.S. 961, 32 L.Ed.2d
me eT eS . ) Be ee ee ee 14

Uniformed Sanitation Men’s Association, Inc. v.

Commissioner of Sanitation, 426 F.2d 619 (1970) .. 13

Miscellaneous:

eee ae ee
8 Wigmore, Evidence (Rev. Ed.) , Section 2250 .....
Levy Origins of the Fifth Amendment .............

APPENDIX

Chancellor’s Memorandum Opinion (Filed October
NN ta ig hak er gtk y agi gta eksn'a.p

Chancellor’s Memorandum Opinion (Filed Novem-
NM ie 5 aan aie aw. Wh 45-5 p+ SA

Chancellor’s Final Decree (Dated November 9,

ee by a

Opinion, Court of Appeals of Tennessee, Eastern
Section (Filed July 18, 1973) .................

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.

CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, TENNESSEE,
Petitioner,
v.

RAYMOND COX,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE,
EASTERN DIVISION

Petitioner, the City of Chattanooga, Tennessee, respect-
fully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the Tennessee Court of Appeals,
Eastern Division, entered in this proceeding on July 18,
1973, and the judgment of the Tennessee Supreme Court
denying a Petition for Certiorari entered on February 19,
1974.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the courts below in this case are not
yet reported. The original Memorandum Opinion of the
Chancellor of the Chancery Court of Hamilton County,

‘z

Tennessee, filed October 17, 1972, appears in the Appendix
at pages 21 through 23. The Chancellor’s Memoran-
dum Opinion on Motion to Recensider, filed November
15, 1972, appears on pages 24 through 25 of the Appendix
and the Final Decree of the Chancery Court of Hamilton
County is found on pages 26 and 27 of the Appendix.
‘The Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Tennessee, Eastern
Division, sitting at Knoxville, appears in the Appendix at
pages 28 through 34. The Supreme Court of Tennessee
denied certiorari on February 19, 1974, without opinion.

_ JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals. of Tennessee was
entered on July 18, 1973, and a timely Petition for Certi-
orari was filed with the Tennessee Supreme Court and was
denied by said court on February 19, 1974. This Petition
for Certiorari was filed within ninety (90) days of that
date. Jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

QUESTION PRESENTED ~

If a fire captain.is required, on threat of dismissal, to
answer questions pertinent to a murder investigation being
conducted by his superior, and refuses to do so despite not
being required to waive the “use immunity” acquired by the
threat, is the privilege against self-incrimination under the
Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution a bar
to his dismissal? |

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution.of the United
States as it is applied to the states through the Fourteenth
Amendment is involved in this matter.

7 enemas ‘a suaenenamneneremaeenneeneasteessemecmecnens | oa ee ak

i

8
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The relevant facts of this case are substantially without
dispute and are summarized as follows:

On March 11, 1972, one Leon Hicks was murdered in the
City of Chattanooga and the ensuing investigation eventu-
ally focused upon one Harry Brooks Daniels, an ex-convict
with a long record, as the prime suspect.

The suspect, Daniels, was arrested in Atlanta on another
charge and among his possessions at the time of his arrest
was an address book containing the name and telephone
number of Raymond Cox, a Captain in the Chattanooga
Fire Department. Also, both the listed and unlisted num-
bers of the Fire Hall at which Mr. Cox worked were enum-
erated in the address book. In an effort to place the suspect
in the City on the murder date, and to determine the re-
lationship between the City employee and the suspect, par-
ticularly in view of the fact that the address book contained
the number of the Fire Hall where Mr. Cox spent his
on-duty hours, Mr. Cox was picked up on April 4, 1972,
and taken to City Hall for questioning.

Upon arrival, he was informed of the nature of the in-
vestigation, advised of his Miranda rights, as are all Police
and Fire Department employees whenever questioned, and
asked to sign a waiver of rights form. He refused to sign
the form and then looking up at the ceiling refused to even
glance at the pictures of the suspect presented to him in
the hope that he could identify Daniels and place him in
Chattanooga on the murder date. Further he refused to
answer any questions about whether he knew the suspect
or if the suspect had been in town on the date in question
or to answer any questions at all.

Mr. Cox was given the opportunity to make not just
one, but seven or eight phone calls. Faced with his ab-
solute failure to cooperate, his superior, the Commissioner

~—

LIE Pe

4

of Fire and Police of the City of Chattanooga, was called
in and ordered him to cooperate, and told him that if he
did not he would be dismissed if legally permissible."
Mr. Cox's attorney thereupon called and Mr. Cox was not
asked anything further relative to the matter, in conformity
with his rights, until after his attorney arrived. Shortly
thereafter his attorney arrived and was fully informed of
the matter of the investigation and the reasons for the ques-
tioning and of what had transpired. He was then given
full opportunity to confer and consult with his client, Mr.
Cox. Thereafter, Mr. Cox was again given opportunity to
look at the pictures and answer the questions, but he again
refused. He was then permitted to leave. It was testified
that if he had answered the questions after his attorney ar-
rived, he would not have been dismissed.

At no time was it ever demanded that Mr. Cox sign
any waivers of immunity from prosecution. Further, after
Commissioner Roberts’ threatened him with loss of his
job, he was not again asked to sign the Miranda form, nor
was the failure to sign the form originally a consideration
in the discharge, nor did Commissioner Roberts ever bring
up the subject of Mr. Cox waiving his rights.

Mr. Cox’s attorney requested that no action be taken on
petitioner's jub status until he had opportunity to consult
with the Commissioner, which request was honored and it
wasn’t until the next day, after a telephone conversation

1 City government in the City of Chattanooga is divided into five
(5) departments, one of which is the Department of Fire and Police,
which department embraces all matters pertaining to fire and police
and which department is headed by one man, the Commissioner of
Fire and Police. Private Acts of Tennessee, 1911, Chapter 10, Sec-
tions 17-8; Private Acts of Tennessee, 1955, Chapter 56, Section 1;
Private Acts of Tennessee, 1957, Chapter 73, Section 2. Said com-
missioner must take an oath to faithful yg the duties of his
office. Private Acts of Tennessee, 1839, Chapter Section 9; Private
Acts of Tennessee, 1901, Chapter 432, Section 5; Private Acts
Tennessee, 1911. Chapter 10, Sections 13, 16.

a ee ea

EY BARTER tele rt et

5

between the Commissioner and the attorney that, Mr. Cox
was dismissed by letter for insubordination, conduct unbe-
coming a member of the Fire Department, and refusal to
cooperate in an official investigation of the department.

Mr. Cox then appealed his discharge to the Board of Com-
missioners, the governing body of the City of Chattanooga,
and the discharge was upheld by a 4 to 0 vote, Commissioner
Roberts recusing himself.

(A) Proceedings in the Chancery Court.

Thereafter Mr. Cox brought a Petition for Certiorari
pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 27-901, et seq., in
the Chancery Court of Hamilton County alleging his rights
under the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion had been violated and was awarded summary judgment
by said court which held that his discharge for the reasons
stated violated his Fifth Amendment rights. (Page 3, Mem-
orandum Opinion of October 17, 1972, of Chancellor, Ap-
pendix p. 23)

That Court, while stating its interpretation of the rule
to be that “if a public employee is asked pointed questions
which might incriminate him without at the same time
being required to waive his immunity from self-incrimina-
tion he may, if he refused to give requested information, be
discharged from his public employment”, held that the Mi-
randa warning presented to him at the commencement of in-
terrogation, before he was threatened with loss of his job,
constituted a demand for waiver of immunity from self-
incrimination so that the rule did not apply. Petitioners
herein contend this is error because it ignores the “use im-
munity” conferred on Mr. Cox by the Commissioner's
threat.

“a es a ie 2.
LON LE IEE TP TE ILI LE LOPE ELLE L EL NLT EEE ITS IP

6

(B) Proceedings in the Court of Appeals.

The case was then appealed by the City of Chattanooga to
the Court of Appeals of Tennessee, Eastern Division, as-
signing as error that Mr. Cox’s Fifth Amendment rights
had not been violated but that Court affirmed the decision
below, quoting extensively therefrom. In addition, said
Court held that Mr. Cox was under no duty to cooperate
with his superior in this matter, apparently relying upon the
quote from Gardner v. Broderick that officers of municipali-
ties need only answer “questions specifically, directly, and
narrowly relating to the performance of their official duties”,
and that therefore Mr. Cox’s Fifth Amendment rights were
violated. (Appendix pp. 33-34, Page 5 of Opinion of Court
of Appeals) Petitioners aver that this, too, was in error, it
being the duty of all officers of the Fire and Police De-
partment, which is a single department within the gov-
ernmental structure of the City of Chattanooga under the
supervision of Commissioner Roberts, to protect the public
safety and to assist its commissioner, their superior officer, in
the performance of his duties. Further the Court of Ap-
peals overlooked the fact that not only was the murder
being investigated, but that the Commissioner and those
within his department had the right to know if and why
the captain was using on-duty time at the fire hall to dis-
cuss or further his relationship with the murder suspect.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court has, on several occasions, addressed itself to
the issue of governmental employees’ rights, under the Fifth
Amendment, to remain silent and also to keep their jobs,
when their public duty would impel them to answer. It is
respectfully submitted that the state courts below have
herein decided the federal question under the Fifth Amend-

RE OL IEE EAE IEEE TENT SH te tine -
a" Tee ong RPL Dy? pur ane PCN IT TO, FEI UP ape eee EO 2 ores td

7

ment to the United States Constitution in, a way which is
not in accord with the applicable decisions of this Court
including Gardner v. Broderick, 393 U.S. 273, 88 S.Ct. 1913,
20 L.Ed.2d 1082 (1968) ; Uniformed Sanitation Men’s As-
sociation v. Commissioner of Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280, 88
S.Ct. 1917, 20 L.Ed.2d 1082 (1968) ; and Beilan v. Board
of Education of Philadelphia, 357 U.S. 399, 78 S.Ct. 1317,
2 L.Ed.2d 1414 (1958).

The whole history of the cases in this Court on gov-
ernmental employees’ Fifth Amendment rights to remain
silent make it plain that it is not improper to Aismiss such
employees where they have a duty to speak‘and fail to
do so despite the fact that they are not requirzd to waive
immunity from prosecution. :

PETITIONER’S ACTION IN DISMISSING RE-
SPONDENT DID NOT VIOLATE RESPON-
DENT’S FIFTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS.

Briefly and most succinctly put, it is the petitioner’s posi-
tion that Mr. Cox’s Fifth Amendment rights were in no
way prejudiced because, before he was questioned, he was
advised of his rights and then asked to give a voluntary
statement. This was altogether proper and in no way Vi-
olated his rights. At least to these petitioners’ knowledge,
it has never been held to be a violation of anyone’s rights
to be asked to give a voluntary statement after being given
the Miranda rights. Then, when Commissioner Roberts
ordered Mr. Cox to cooperate on pain of dismissal, said
warning, as a matter of law, constituted coercion and, as a
matter of law, nothing he said thereafter nor the fruits
thereof could be used against him in a criminal proceeding.
Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493, 87 S.Ct. 616, 17 L.Ed.
2d 562 (1967). Coupled with the fact that Mr. Cox was

8

informed of his right to counsel and actually had counsel
present with him, his rights were at all times fully protected.

Mr. Cox’s primary reliance has been on the assertion that
a municipality cannot dismiss an employee for failing to
answer questions when he relies on his Fifth Amendment
rights, and that such violates the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.
It is respectfully submitted that this assertion is unsound
in law, and contrary to the decisions of this Court.

This Court dealt with this subject in Beilan v. Board
of Education of Philadelphia, 357 U.S. 399, 78 S.Ct. 1317,
2 L.Ed.2d 1414 (1958). Therein, the petitioner, a public
school teacher, was discharged by the local school board
because of his refusal, continued after a warning that failure
to answer might lead to his dismissal, to answer a question
of his superintendent as to his membership in a Communist
political association. This Court said therein:

“By engaging in teaching in the public schools, pe-
titioner did not give up his right to freedom of belief,
speech or association. He did, however, undertake
obligations of frankness, candor and cooperation in
answering inquiries made of him by his employing
Board examining into his fitness to serve it as a public
school teacher.”

This Court further said:

“The board based its dismissal upon petitioner’s re-
fusal to answer any inquiry about his relevant activities

— not upon those activities themselves. .. . It found
him insubordinate and lacking in frankness and
candor.”

This Court then went on to distinguish Slochower v.
Board of Higher Education, 350 U.S. 551, 100 L.Ed. 692,
76 S.Ct. 637, cited by Mr. Cox, on the basis that that case

ERE RA MD ARE IE epee Seem
_ . x nv ~ See Nas HY. A ere ee ™
— SEE ONE SPOTL LE TE TOA ES RET I TTS NH ee Eee treme net
RRL ERE er OTR ONT SOREN ER,

9

did not involve an inquiry by city authorities themselves
as to a matter directed at “ ‘the property, affairs, or govern-
ment of the city, or . . . official conduct of city employees.’ ”
Here, as in Beilan, the inquiry was by city authorities as
to a matter concerning the “affairs” and “government of
the city”. Certainly, it is a proper function of city govern-
ment to investigate murders and apprehend the perpetra-
tors thereof. Similarly, it is proper for city authorities to
investigate the conduct of its employees while on duty
and to find out if and why communications between them
and known felons is necessary in the course of city business
and on city time. Thus, this case clearly falls within the
doctrine first enunciated in Beilan and is distinguishable
from the Slochower case.

Very important to the decision in the case at bar is the
decision of this Court in Garrity v. New Jersey, supra,
which dealt with the other side of the coin (i.e., whether
statements obtained from city employees under threat of
job loss could be used against them in a criminal proceed-
ing). In that case, as in the case at bar, during the course
of an official investigation, certain officers were called in
and, as a prelude to questioning, were advised that anything
they might say could be used against them in a criminal
proceeding; that they had the privilege to refuse to answer
if their answer would tend to incriminate them; and that
if they refused to answer, they would be subject to removal
from office. As a result of the latter, they answered the
questions. Thereafter, some of their answers were used
against them, over their objections, in a criminal proceed-
ing and they were convicted. On appeal to this Court, it
was held that having the choice of self-incrimination or job
forfeiture imposed upon them was tantamount to coercion,
thereby rendering their statement involuntary and their
convictions were reversed. This Court said:

Pte LARGO LET OY VRPT RIOT ee SO

10

“We now hold the protection of the individual un-
der the Fourteenth Amendment against coerced state-
ments prohibits use in subsequent criminal proceed-
ings of statements obtained under threat of removal
from office, and that it extends to all whether they are
policemen or other members of the body politic.”

The immunity thus conferred by threat of removal from
office, and as conferred by Garrity, has been termed ‘“‘use
immunity”.

Applying Garrity to the case at bar, it is plain that peti-
tioner was not deprived of his Fifth Amendment rights.

In both cases the officers were advised that anything
they said could be used against them in a criminal pro-
ceeding; in both cases they were advised that they had
the privilege to remain silent if their answers might tend
to incriminate them; and in both cases they were advised
that if they refused to answer they would be subject to
removal from office.

If Mr. Cox had chosen to speak, it is clear under Garrity,
that his answers could not have been used against him.
He, therefore, had no Fifth Amendment right to remain
silent because where the government is precluded from
using testimony or its fruits against a witness in a criminal
proceeding, he may be compelled to answer (Murphy v,
Waterfront Commission of New York, 378 U.S. 52, 100,
101, 84 S.Ct. 1594, 12 L.Ed.2d 678). Since there was,
then, no Fifth Amendment right to rem2ii silent, Mr.
Cox’s dismissal for remaining silent could not violate his
rights.

This case is directly analogous to a situation, such as
Murphy, where a witness chooses to remain silent after
being given immunity by a court. Therein, it was held
that he may be cited for contempt of court without vio-
lating his Fifth Amendment rights. Here, instead of being

*.
is TO cae ee

1]

cited for contempt, he was discharged and his discharge no
more violates his rights than did the contempt citation in
Murphy.

The privilege against self-incrimination was designed to
prohibit the government from using a man’s compelled
testimony against him and was not designed to allow a
witness to use the privilege to shield others or to relieve
himself from the central duty to give evidence. Ullman v.
United States, 350 U.S. 422, 428, 100 L.Ed. 511, 76 S.Ct.
497, 53 A.L.R.2d 1008; Brown v. Walker, 161 US. 591,
597, 40 L.Ed. 819, 16 S.Ct. 644; Quinn v. United States,
349 U.S. 155, 161, 162, 99 L.Ed. 954, 75 S.Ct. 668, 51
A.L.R.2d 1157; 34 Minn. Law Review 1; Levy Origins
of the Fifth Amendment; 8 Wigmore, Evidence (Rev. Ed.)
Section 2250; Rogers v. United States, 340 U.S. 367, 371,
95 L.Ed. 344, 71 S.Ct. 438, 19 A.L.R.2d 378.

Several other recent decisions of this Court are also
important in consideration of this case. In Gardner v.
Broderick, 393 U.S. 273, 88 S.Ct. 1913, 20 L.Ed.2d 1082
(1968) sand Uniformed Sanitation Men’s Association Vv.
Commissioner of Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280, 88 S.Ct. 1917,
20 L.Ed.2d 1089 (1968), a new element was injected.
There the.public authorities attempted both to coerce testi-
mony by threatening removal and to require a waiver of
immunity from prosecution, an element not found in the
case at bar. The net effect of this was to compel to re-
linquishment of Fifth Amendment rights because the
waiver of &nmunity from prosecution would operate to
destroy the “use immunity” and permit coerced testimony"
to be used in a criminal proceeding. This was obviously
unconstitutional and this Court so hela.

In Gardner, the police officer was dismissed pursuant to
a provision of the New York City Charter which provided
that the employment of a city employee would terminate

12

if he should refuse, before an appropriate tribunal, to
answer questions in relation to his duties on the ground
that his answers might tend to incriminate him, or if he
should refuse to waive immunity from prosecution on ac-
count of any such matter in relation to which might be
properly called upon to testify. The officer was dismissed
because as a witness before the Grand Jury he refused to
waive immunity from prosecution. This occurred prior
to the Garrity decision. In holding that the requirements
of a waiver of immunity voided the dismissal, this Court,
nevertheless, with approval announced the following prin-
cipals, 392 U.S. 273, 277, 88 S.Ct. 1913, 20 L.Ed.2d 1086:

“If appellant, a policeman, had refused to answer
questions specifically, directly, and narrowly relating
to the performance of his official duties, without being
required to waive his immunity with respect to the use
of his answers or the fruits thereof in a criminal prose-
cution of himself, Garrity v. New Jersey, supra, the
privilege against self-incrimination would not have
been a bar to his dismissal.”

This is precisely what happened in the case at bar. Mr.
Cox was never asked nor required to waive immunity from
prosecution nor to waive the “use immunity” conferred
upon him by Garrity. Thus, the privilege against self-
incrimination is not a bar to his dismissal.

These same principals were applied in the Uniformed
Sanitation Men’s Association case. There, as in Gardner,
the employees had been discharged because of their refusal
to sign waivers of immunity from prosecution in the
course of investigatory proceedings. The Court said in
Gardner:

“Petitioners as public employees are entitled, like
all other persons, to the benefit of the Constitution,
including the privilege against self-incrimination. At

sw bee

13

the same time, petitioners, being public employees,
subject themselves to dismissal if they refuse to account
for their performance of their public trust, after proper
proceedings, which do not involve an attempt to coerce
them to relinquish their constitutional rights.”

Thus, if Mr. Cox here was not required to waive im-
munity from prosecution as guaranteed by Garrity, his con-
stitutional rights were not infringed.

Adding further credence to this is, that upon reversal
of the dismissal of the employee by this Court in the Uni-
formed Sanitation Men’s Assocation case, the New York San-
itation Department again called the men in, advised them
of their constitutional rights, including the right to counsel
and to remain silent, but warned them that failure to an-
swer the questions would subject them to disciplinary ac-
tions. They were further advised that answers they gave
could not be used against them in a criminal prosecution.
The men again refused to answer on the ground of privilege
against self-incrimination. They were thereupon suspend-
ed and later were dismissed and again sought relief in the
federal courts. They were, as in the case at bar, granted
summary judgment and their reinstatement was directed
by the District Court, but the Court of Appeals reversed
with instructions to grant summary judgment for the de-
fendants. Uniformed Sanitation Men’s Association, Inc.
v. Commissioner of Sanitation, 426 F.2d 619 (1970).

Judge Friendly quoted from the above cases of this Court
and then held inter alia:

“These extracts make as clear as anything can be
that ‘use immunity’ suffices for the discharge of public
employees who ‘refuse to account for their per-
formance of their public trust.’ . . . To require a
public body to continue to keep an officer or employee
who refuses to answer pertinent questions concerning

14

his official conduct, although assured of protection
against use of his answers or their fruits in any criminal
prosecution, would push the constitutional protection
beyond its language, its history or any conceivable pur-
pose of the framers of the Bill of Rights.”

“If ‘use immunity’ thus suffices to permit the dis-
charge of a public employee who refuses to answer
questions about his conduct on the ground of self-
incrimination, we see no reason why there must be
a statute conferring it:’””

Finally, the Court observed:

“Justice Fortas stated in so many words that if a
public officer is asked about performance of his official
duties and is not required to waive immunity, the
privilege is not a bar to his dismissal for his refusal
to answer.”

The Court then held that public employees do not have
an absolute right to keep silent and keep their jobs, but
just the right to have neither what they say under com-
pulsion, nor its fruits, be held against them in a criminal
proceeding.

This Court thereafter denied review of the second Uni-
formed Sanitation Men’s Association case, 406 U.S. 961,
32 L.Ed.2d 349, 92 S.Ct. 2055 (1972).

The only material difference between that case and the
one at bar is that Mr. Cox here was not advised by the
police of the Garrity decision and “use immunity”. How-
ever, this was not necessary because he was given full op-
portunity to confer with counsel of his own choosing and
this was adequate provision for protection of his rights.
Further, counsel was permitted to go back to his law
office to consult the law if he chose, and it was not until
the next day, after a subsequent conversation between coun-
sel and the Commissioner, that Mr. Cox was dismissed.

PROTA INN HARARE LIONS

15

As this Court held in the landmark decision of Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694, 86 S.Ct. 1602:

“The denial of the defendant’s request for his attor-
ney does undermine his ability to exercise the privilege
— to remain silent if he chose or to speak ithowt any
intimidation, blatant or subtle. The presence of coun-
sel, in all the cases before us today, would be the
adequate protective device necessary to make the
process of police interrogation conform to the dictates
of the privilege.”

In the most recent case decided on the issue, Gerace v.
County of Los Angeles, 100 Cal.Rptr. 917, cert. denied ——
U.S. ——, 93 S.Ct. 444, 34 L.Ed.2d 306, reh. denied, ——
U.S. ——, 93 S.Ct. 1353, 35 L.Ed.2d 615 (Feb. 20, 1973),
the Court there held exactly in accord with the petitioner's
position herein. After discussing Garrity, Gardner, and
Murphy, it held:

“In brief, neither one of the appellants were re-
quired to give up immunity. In fact, they were
specifically granted one by the form of the investiga-
tion and indirectly but nonetheless effectively by the
compulsion of testimony. Such immunity removed
any constitutional objection to compelling their an-
swers.

When the department chose to invoke administra-
tive procedures to inquire into their fitness as police
officers and most particularly when they chose to com-
pel answers by invoking the Manual of Policy and
Ethics, the appellants became secure from prosecution
as surely as if a grant of immunity had been given to
them.”

Thus, it cannot be doubted that the rule that where
an employee is not required to waive immunity from
prosecution, he may be dismissed for failure to answer

16

questions after being advised that the refusal to do so
will lead: to disciplinary action.

Further, the Court in Gerace took up the issue of wheth-
er an employee may be dismissed for conduct not related
to assigned duties although related to official duties. In
that case, two sheriff's deputies, who were husband ‘and
wife, were discharged after being granted use in.munity
in an administrative investigation, for securing an unlawful
abortion for the wife and failing to arrest the abortionist.
Against their contention that the investigation in question-
ing was not specifically, directly and narrowly related to
the performance of their official duties, inasmuch as they
were not assigned to the vice squad and the matters in-
quired about were of a private and personal nature and
not related to official duties, the Court said:

“Nor is it of any aid to the Geraces that their as-
signed duties did not involve them in the active in-
vestigation of the crime of abortion, nor that the ques-
tioned activity occurred during off-duty hours.”

The Court then went on to hold that their duties were
not limited to a certain specialty which might happen to
be a major focus of their current departmentai assignment
and that good administration demanded that “personnel
adhere strictly to policies designed to prevent the erosion
of the competency and integrity of the law enforcement
service.” The thrust of Mrs. Gerace’s duties had been
toward transporting female prisoners and working with
_ juries. Mr. Gerace’s duties had been in doing background
investigations on those in the reserve force.

Perhaps most directly here in point is the concurring
opinion in Gerace, wherein it was, provided:

“The authority of the sheriff to command truth from
his peace officers during an official investigation should

17

be unquestioned; otherwise the age-old question who
watches the watchman will receive an unsatisfactory
answer.

The sheriff is entitled to require his deputies to
reveal the identities of felons he is charged with ap-
prehending . . . since the sheriff is charged with the
apprehension of such persons he may require his
deputies to assist him in the performance of that duty
to the fullest extent possible.

Thus, viewed in true prospective, the cause arose
from a complaint of extortion by deputy sheriffs, in
the investigation of which the sheriff became entitled
to demand truthful answers from his deputies, and
the deputies became obliged to give truthful answers
to the sheriff. When appellants failed to do this,
their discharge as peace officers became warranted.
Indeed, it is difficult to see how the sheriff could
have acted otherwise and still preserve the integrity
of his office.”

Similarly, under the situation in the case at bar, the
authority of the Commissioner of Fire and Police during
an official investigation over those under his command
should be unquestioned. Since the Commissioner is
charged with the apprehension of felons, he should be
able to require all of his employees to assist him in the
performance of that duty to the fullest extent possible.

Indeed, in a recent Tennessee case, Broyles v. State,
207 Tenn. 571, 341 S.W.2d 724 (1960), a police chief
was removed from office for failure to report a subordinate’s
illegal conduct to the chief's superior. The Tennessee
Supreme Court said therein:

“One whose duty it is to enforce the law should be
much more conscientious in seeing that he and those
under him comply with the law in its every detail so

18

that in trying to bring to bear the statutes as written
that he should have respect in administering the law.”

Thus, it is clear, that the Commissioner of Fire and
Police having the duty to enforce the law, he must see to
it that all of his subordinates are conscientious in order
that he might have respect in administering the law. Mr.
Cox having failed to cooperate, he is subject to dismissal.
It is further clear, from the Broyles case, that the miscon-
duct necessary for removal need not imply corruption or
criminal intention and may fall short of the commission
of a crime itself.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the Commis-
sioner of Fire and Police’s order to Mr. Cox was perfectly
in order and necessary to faithfully comply with the duties
of his office, and it was the duty of Mr. Cox to candidly
and frankly answer the questions put to him. Failing that,
he was properly discharged for insubordination and con-
duct unbecoming a member of the department.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that Mr. Cox’s Fifth Amend-
ment rights were at no time infringed. When he was
first questioned, it was with the idea of his making a volun-
tary statement after being informed of his rights. This
was certainly no infringement of the Fifth Amendment.
Then, when it became obvious that he would not answer,
and the Commissioner of Fire and Police ordered him to
do so on pain of dismissal, his Fifth Amendment rights
were protected by the use immunity made applicable by
Garrity v. New Jersey. There was no time when his rights
were in any way violated, and, if anything, they were more
than abundantly protected by letting him make so many

= 4 : ONE RT SA ye rene gence Kir een eect

19

phone calls, having the presence of counsel and waiting
until the next day to dismiss him, giving counsel and him-
self time to fully consider the matter.

As to the matter of the order Mr. Cox refused to obey
being related to his duties, if his superior, whose duty it is
to apprehend criminals and to administer the single de-
partment of Fire and Police, cannot call upon members of
the department, his subordinates, to help him fulfill the
duties of his office, then certainly the efficiency of the ©
department and the public’s respect for and trust in the
department are seriously jeopardized. Further, his su-
perior should have the unquestioned right to determine
if and why Mr. Cox apparently found it necessary to speak
with a known and convicted felon during his on-duty hours,
using the unlisted phone number of the fire hall at which
he worked. It is therefore submitted that the order of
Commissioner Roberts to cooperate on pain of dismissal
was perfectly in order and that the authority hereinabove
cited amply demonstrates that it was Mr. Cox’s duty to
cooperate or be subject to valid dismissal.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that this Court
should review the action of the courts below in holding
that Mr. Cox’s Fifth Amendment rights were violated.

Respectfully submitted,

EUGENE N. COLLINS
City Attorney

RANDALL L. NELSON
Special Counsel for the

City of Chattanooga, Tenessee
400 Pioneer Building
Chattanooga, Tennessee 37402

Re ai ee a

ae ete

ee Ee ee

21
APPENDIX

IN THE CHANCERY COURT, PART 1,
OF HAMILTON COUNTY, TENNESSEE

No. 45510

RAYMOND COX,
Plaintiff,
v.

CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, et al.,
Defendants.

CHANCELLOR'S MEMORANDUM OPINION
(Filed October 17, 1972)

This is a certiorari proceeding to review the action of the
City Commission of Chattanooga, after hearing, discharging
the petitioner, Raymond Cox, from his position in the
City Fire Department. The Cause has been submitted to
the Court upon motions for summary judgment filed both
by the plaintiff and defendants and upon briefs and argu-
ment. The City Police Department was investigating a
murder case when a suspect was arrested in Atlanta, Georgia
and was found in possession of an address book which con-
tained the name of the petitioner, Raymond Cox, and be-
side it a telephone number which was the number for the
fire hall where petitioner was employed. Another number
for the same fire hall was also found in said address book.
Following up this lead, detectives of the City of Chattanooga

Fo EP OEE —

—s ras a

22

went to the residence of the petitioner and asked him to
accompany them to police headquarters, which he did.
Upon arriving at police headquarters and before question-
ing the petitioner he was submitted a “Your Constitutional
Rights” form stating, among other things, “You have the
right to remain silent. Anything you say can be used
against you in court. . . .” and the pertinent part of said
form, which was as follows:

“WAIVER OF RIGHTS

I have read this statement of my rights and I under-
stand what my rights are. I am willing to make a
statement and answer questions. I do not want a
lawyer at this time. I understand and know what I
am doing. No promises or threats have been made
to me and no pressure, force or coercion of any kind
has been used against me.

RE Wtwe in caked bbeupauee<as a

The petitioner refused to sign said waiver and refused to
answer any questions asked him by the investigating of-
ficers, who thereupon called in the Commissioner of Fire
and Police who advised the petitioner that unless he “co-
operated” with the police in this investigation as requested
that he would discharge the petitioner if the city attorney
advised it was possible to do so. Nevertheless, the peti-
tioner, having consulted counsel, continued to remain silent.

The next day, the petitioner was discharged from his
position as a city fireman for “insubordination, for conduct
unbecoming a member of the firefighting service and for re-
fusing to cooperate to any extent in an official investigation
of the Chattanooga Police Department.”

The parties have filed excellent briefs detailing several
recent opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States

. pease PTR

23

dealing with the question here presented. Without dis-
cussing eack case separately, suffice it to say the Court
is of the opinion that the decision in Uniformed Sanitation
Men's Ass'n. v. Commissioner of Sanitation of the City of
New York, 88 S.Ct. 1917, is controlling and requires that
the action of the City Commission in discharging the pe-
titioner be zeversed. See also: Gardner v. Broderick, 88
S.Ct. 1913.

As the Court understands the cases, the long and short
of it is that if a public employee is asked pointed ques-
tions which might incriminate him without at the same
time being required to waive his immunity from self-incrim-
ination he may, if he refuses to give the requested informa-
tion, be discharged from his public employment, but, on the
other hand, he cannot be discharged from his public em-
ployment for failure to) waive his constitutional rights
against self-incrimination. See also: Garrity v. State of
New Jersey, 87 S.Ct. 616. The Court is satisfied that in
this case the petitioner was in fact discharged for his re-
fusal to waive his right against self-incrimination by sign-
ing the waiver of rights form presented to him at the be-
ginning of his interrogation and, therefore, that his dis-
charge for such a reason violates his rights under the Fifth
Amendment of the United States Constitution. Accord-
ingly, the motion for summary judgment filed by the pe-
titioner will be sustained.

October 17, 1972.

/s/ RAY L. BROCK, JR.
CHANCELLOR — Part |

OEE TN REI

24

IN THE CHANCERY COURT, PART I,
OF HAMILTON COUNTY, TENNESSEE

No. 45510

RAYMOND COX,
Plaintiff,
Vv.
CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, et al.,
Defendants.

CHANCELLOR’S MEMORANDUM OPINION
(Filed November 15, 1972)

In this case the Court filed a memorandum opinion
dated October 17, 1972, but since then the defendant has
filed a motion to reconsider which has been argued and
considered by the Court. The Court adheres to its previ-
ous opinion and is satisfied that under the peculiar facts of
this case the petitioner was discharged for refusal to waive
his right of immunity from self-incrimination. At no time
was he told that any evidence which he might give would
not be used against him in a criminal prosecution; but,
instead, the Commissioner of Fire and Police merely in-
sisted that the petitioner “cooperate” with the police in
their investigation of the crime in question. In view of
the fact that we are considering the valued constitutional
right against self-incrimination, the demand for “coopera-
tion” with the police investigation in the circumstances of
this case must be held to be a demand that the petitioner
waive his rights against self-incrimination under penalty of
losing his job if he refused. It must be iemembered that

TA FPO Sa Ar OTL Ie ena

in this instance the petitioner was not acting in his ca-
pacity as a fireman, but was being dealt with as any other
citizen or potential witness would be dealt with by the
police. Accordingly, the petition to reconsider is over-
ruled.

November 15, 1972.

/s/ RAY L)BROCK, JR.
CHANCELLOR -— Part 1

DSI FEN EP PUNE Se SSE SS Ee PR OE RA ae ay: wn

26

IN THE CHANCERY COURT OF
HAMILTON COUNTY, TENNESSEE

PART ONE

No. 45510

RAYMOND COX,

Plaintiff,
VS.
CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, et al.,
Defendants.
FINAL DECREE

This cause came on to be heard on the 15th day of Sep-
tember, 1972 on Motions for Summary Judgment filed
by both the plaintiff and defendants, the transcript of the
City Commission hearing held on June 25, 1972, before
the Chattanooga City Commission of the City of Chatta-
nooga, Tennessee, briefs of both the complainant and de-
fendant and oral argument by counsel, and for the reasons
set forth in its Memorandum Opinion, filed October 17,
1972, which is hereby incorporated by reference in this
Decree, and made a part hereof as fully as though copied
herein in order to be made a part of the record in this
cause the Court is of the opinion that the complainant’s
Motion for Summary Judgment is well taken and should
be sustained.

It is therefore, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-
CREED that the Motion for Summary Judgment filed by

ae eee GRIESE POE HP TRIE LEE BELT OT eS IIRL EE EET et US TT a a

—"

27

the complainant in this regard be, and hereby is, sustained.
It is further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the
decision of the Board of Commissioners, City of Chatta-
nooga, Tennessee, in firing the complainant be set aside
and that the complainant be reinstated to the Fire De-
partment, City of Chattanooga, Tennessee and that he be
paid all wages denied him during his period of termination
less any outside earnings or other sums he may have re-
ceived as compensation during the time he was excluded
from his position. It is further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the
defendants bear the costs of this cause for which execution
may issue.

To all of the above the defendants excepted and now
except and prayed an appeal to the next term of the Court
of Appeals sitting at Knoxville, which appeal is granted
upon executing an Appeal Bond conditioned as required
by law and ninety (90) days are allowed from the date of
this Order in which to file their Bill of Exceptions and
otherwise perfect said Appeal.

This the 9 day of November, 1972.

/s/ KAY L. BROCK, J.
Chancellor, Part I

APPROVED FOR ENTRY:

Counsel for Petitioner

/s/ RANDALL L. NELSON
Counsel for Defendants

[CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE OMITTED]

28

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE
EASTERN SECTION

FROM THE CHANCERY COURT FOR
HAMILTON COUNTY

HON. RAY L. BROCK, JR., CHANCELLOR
AFFIRMED
(Filed July 18, 1973)

RAYMOND COx,
Appellee,
vs.

CITY OF CHATTANOOGA, ET AL,
Appellants.

EUGENE N. COLLINS, City Attorney, and RANDALL
L. NELSON, Special Counsel, FOR APPELLANTS

JERRY H. SUMMERS OF CHATTANOOGA FOR
APPELLEE

OPINION

(Filed July 18, 1973)
Parrott, J.

The Board of Commissioners of the City of Chattanooga
has appealed from the chancellor's order reinstating fire
captain Raymond Cox whose dismissal for insubordination
and conduct unbecoming the fire-fighting service was unan-
imously affirmed by the Board.

The Chattanooga Police Department was conducting ani
investigation of a murder which occurred in that city on

29

March 11, 1972. Harry Brooks Daniels, a suspect of the
murder, was arrested in Atlanta, Georgia. On his person
was found an address book which containeci the name of
Raymond Cox, his home telephone number and the two
telephone numbers of the precinct station where Captain
Cox worked. Two city detectives went io the Cox home |
and requested he accompany them to the Chattanooga Po-
lice Department for questioning. Captain Cox voluntarily
rode to the headquarters where the police presented the
following form which Captain Cox refused to sign:

YOUR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

Before we ask you any questions, you must under-
stand your rights.

You have the right to remain silent.

Anything you say can be used against you in court.

You have the right to talk to a lawyer for advice
before we ask you any questions and to have him
with you during questioning.

If you cannot afford a lawyer, one will be appointed
for you before any questioning if you wish.

If you decide to answer questions now without a
lawyer present, you will still have the right to stop
answering questions at any time. You also have the
tight to stop answering questions at any time until
you talk to a lawyer.

WAIVER OF RIGHTS

I have read this statement of my rights and I under-
stand what my rights are. I am willing to make a
statement and answer questions. I do not want a law-
yer at this time. I understand and know what I am
doing. No promises or threats have been made to me
and no pressure, force or coercion of any kind has
been used against me.

WED. ew cn ume e een V4 re
(refused)

30

Commissioner of the Fire and Police Departments of
the City of Chattanooga, Gene Roberts, came into the
headquarters and informed Captain Cox that if he did not
cooperate, with the officers in this investigation, that if
the city attorney approved, he [Commissioner Roberts]

_ would fire him.

Captain Cox requested to see an attorney. Upon his
attorney’s arrival at the headquarters and after a private
discussion between Cox and his attorney, Cox again re-
fused to answer any questions or look at any of the pictures
offered by the investigating officers.

On the next day Commissioner Roberts sent a letter to
Captain Cox which stated the following:

“This is to advise you that effective at the end of your
working day this date your employment with the
Chattanooga Fire Department is terminated.

“You are being dismissed for insubordination, for
conduct unbecoming a member of the fire-fighting

_ service and for refusing to cooperate to any extent in
an official investigation of the Chattanooga Police De-
partment.”

Captain Cox asked for and was granted a hearing before
the full Board of Commissioners of the City of Chatta-
nooga. This hearing was held on June 25, 1972, and by
unanimous vote the Board affirmed, the dismissal of Cap-
tain Cox.

‘Thereafter Captain Cox, by petition for certiorari, asked
for a review of the Board's action by the chancery court.
‘In the chancery hearing, after hearing proof,on a motion
for summary judgment, the chancellor entered a decree
holding Captain Cox had a right to remain silent under
the Fifth Amendment and his discharge was a violation
of his constitutional rights. The chancellor’s decree or-
dered Captain Cox reinstated with full pay.

$1

From this decree the City has appealed asking for a
reversal of the chancellor's order.

There are numerous cases involving municipal and pub-
lic employees’ dismissals under the threat of loss of em-
ployment. Slochower v. Board of Higher Education of
the City of New York, 76 S.Ct. 637, 350 U.S. 551; Garrity
v. State of New Jersey, 87 S.Ct. 616, 385 U.S. 493; Gardner
v. Broderick, 88 S.Ct. 1913, 392 U.S. 273; Uniformed
Sanitation Men Assn. v. Commissioner of Sanitation of
the City of New York, 88 S.Ct. 1917; Kastigar v. United
States, 92 S.Ct. 1653; Zicarelli v. New Jersey State Com-
mission of Investigation, 92 S.Ct. 1670.

As we all know, the Fifth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides that no one shall be com-
pelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself
nor be deprived of life, liberty or property without the
due process of law.

Our United States Supreme Court has held this consti-
tutional right to be one of the most valuable prerogatives
of a citizen and there shall not be imputed any sinister
meaning by one’s exercise of the right. Brown \. Walker,
161 U.S. 591, 610 S.Ct. 644; 40 L.Ed. 819.

Also our Supreme Court has held that the free choice
to speak out or remain silent is extended to all. In Garrity
v. State of New Jersey, supra, the Court said:

“

. we conclude that policemen, like teachers and
lawyers, are not relegated to watered-down version
of constitutional rights .. . there are rights of consti-
tutional stature whose exercise a State may not condi-
tion by the exaction of a price . . . we now hold the
protection of an individual under the Fourteenth
Amendment against coerced statements prohibits use
in subsequent criminal proceedings of statements ob-
.tained under threat of removal..from office, that it

extends to all, whether they are policemen or other
members of our body politic.”

The chancellor in his order of reinstatement of Captain
Cox cited and heavily relied upon the decision by the
United States Supreme Court in Uniformed Sanitation
Men Assn. v. Commissioner of Sanitation of the City of
New York (1968) , 88 S.Ct. 1917, where it was said:

“Petitioners were not discharged merely for refusal to
account for their conduct as employees of the city.
They were dismissed for invoking and refusing to
waive their constitutional right against self-incrimina-
tion. They were discharged for refusal to expose
themselves to criminal prosecution based on testimony
which they would give under compulsion, despite their
constitutional privilege. Three were to sign
waivers of immunity before the grand jury. Twelve
were told that their answers to questions put to them
by the Commissioner of Investigation could be used
against them in subsequent proceedings, and were dis-
charged for refusal to answer the questions on this
basis. Garrity v. State of New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493,
87 S.Ct. 616, 17 L.Ed. 2d 562 (1967), in which we
held that testimony compelled by threat of dismissal
from employment could not be used in a criminal
prosecution of the witness, had not been decided when
these 12 petitioners were put to their hazardous choice.
In any event, we need not decide whether these peti-
tioners would have effectively waived this constitution-
al protection if they had testified following the warn-
ing that their testimony could be used against them.
They were entitled to remain silent because it was
clear that New York was seeking, not merely an ac-
counting of their use or abuse of their public trust,
but testimony from their own lips which, despite the
constitutional prohibition, could be used to prosecute
them criminally.

“As we stated in Gardner v. Broderick, supra, if New

Pa? SP ee

I es

$3

York had demanded that petitioners answer questions
specifically, directly, and narrowly relating to the per-
formance of their official duties on pain of dismissal
from public employment without requiring relinquish-
ment of the benefits of the constitutional privilege,
and if they had refused to do so, this case would be
entirely different. In such a case, the employee's right
to immunity as a result of his compelled testimony
would not be at stake. But here the precise and plain
impact of the proceedings against petitioners as well
as of § 1123 of the New York Charter was to present
them with a choice between surrendering their consti-
tutional rights or their jobs. Petitioners as public
employees are entitled, like all other persons, to the
benefit of the Constitution, including the privilege
against self-incrimination. Gardner v. Broderick, su-
pra; Garrity v. State of New Jersey, supra. Cf. Mur-
phy v. Waterfront Commission, 378 U.S. 52, at 79,
84 S.Ct. 1594, 1607, at 1609, 12 L.Ed.2d 678 (1964).
At the same time, petitioners, being public employees,
subject themselves to dismissal if they refuse to account
for their performance of their public trust, after prope
er proceedings, which do not involve an attempt to
coerce them to relinquish their constitutional rights.”

It is apparent from the above, a public employee may be
discharged for failing to give an account to his superiors
for matters directly relating to the performance of his offi-
cial duties but not to matters outside the scope of his
duties. See Slochower v. Board of Higher Education of the
City of New York, supra; Gardner v. Broderick, supra.

In this case there is no claim or contention the investi-
gation of the murder was in any way related to or within
the scope of duties of Captain Cox. Thus, as distasteful
as it may be to some, Captain Cox had the constitutional
right under the Fifth Amendment to remain silent. His
discharge from his employment, as found by the chancellor,
is illegal and in violation of his rights under the Consti-

34

tution. Accordingly, the decree is affirmed with costs
taxed to the appellant.

Teer cee es eer eect ee re Ree et eee ea «

JAMES W. PARROTT, J.
CONCUR:

rPeeveeeeaseeeseoeewseermseeooaeoeverssddés

Tere et eee eS oer eee ee eR eRe eae ee

CLIFFORD FE. SANDERS, J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1957%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
