# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ditter v. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1881%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 419 U.S. 1096

## Text

a

wo eet

LON LANL a ILE EIR pet

EAD, 2

~

oaldlal ia. Wy an Pad a

PAD LION PIER - TRA RUNDE eta eaten clog eat
MU:

LIBRARY ss
DEC 1 1 1974 SUPREME COURT, U. B
IN THE :
- Supreme Court of the United States |

OctToBER TERM, 1974

\

No. 74-546

THE Honoras_e J. WiLL1AM DitTer, JR.,
Petitioner,
v.,

PHILADELPHIA NEwspaPErs, Inc. and Susan Q.'
STRANAHAN, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
FREDERICK SCHIAVO,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

MOTION OF AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS AS-
SOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS
_CURIAE AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE AMER-
ICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS seeeeceemtaiieeel

ARTHUR B. Hanson

W. FRANK STICKLE, JR.
888 Seventeenth Street, N:W.
Washington, D. C. 20006

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
The American Newspaper
Publishers Association

Press or Byron S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D. C.

SBMA OIRIN 8S TELE PE RE TE 8 MITTS BE BY Oe

a we we LS Det ANOS eel aire

%

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States:

OcToBER TERM, 1974

No. 74-546

THE HonorasB_e J. WiLLiam Ditter, JR.,
yet itioner,
Vv.

PHILADELPHIA Newspapers, INc. and Susan Q.
STRANAHAN, UNITED STaTesS OF AMERICA,
FREDERICK SCHIAVO,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certidcrari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

MOTION OF AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS AS-
SOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS
CURIAE

The American Newspaper Publishers Association
(hereinafter ‘‘AN PA’’) respectfully moves this Court
for leave to file the accompanying Brief Amicus Curiae
in opposition to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
filed herein. The consents of the attorney for the
Petitioner and of the attorneys for Respondents Phila-
delphia Newspapers, Inc., Susan Q. Stranahan, and the
United States of America have been obtained, but the
attorney for Respondent Frederick Schiavo has failed
to respond to the ANPA’s request for consent to the
filing of a brief amicus curiae by the ANPA.

ADP wen Ue re

rains nlifind trae hit olne bh iia

to Pt

2

The American Newspaper Publishers Association
is a non-projit membership corporation organized and
existing under the laws of the Commonwealth of Vir-
ginia. Its membership consists of approximately 1,140
daily newspapers and represents more than ninety
pereent of the total daily and Sunday newspaper cir-
culation in the United States. The Philadelphia
Inguirer and seventy-nine other newspapers located
throughout Pennsylvania hold membership in the
ANPA.

The Association concerns itself with matters of gen-
eral significance to the daily newspaper publishing
business and to the profession of journalism. In that
regard, the ANPA acts as a clearinghouse of infor-
mation for its members by disseminating bulletins and
research reports on all significant phases and develop-
ments of the newspaper business. Frequently, ANPA
has taken positions on publie matters which affect the
interests of its members.

The Association’s member newspapers, individually
and through the ANPA, are ever vigilant to protect
the publie’s right under the First Amendment to in-
formation concerning the activities of government and
matters of publie interest. The increasing frequency
with which trial courts throughout the nation have
been issuing orders aimed at restricting the content of
news reports concerning criminal trials ' has been, and
continues to be, of great concern to the ANPA and its
membership.

Through a brief amicus curiae submitted in support
of the appeal and petition of Philadelphia Newspapers,

1 Sve Graham, Gagging the Press in the Courtroom, The Wash-
ingten Post, Nov. 17, 1974, at C3.

——

a.

-

3

Inc. and Susan Q. Stranahan below, the ANPA urged
the Court of Appeals to vacate the order of the Dis-
trict Court. The Association argued that the District
Court’s order constituted an invalid prior restraint on
publication which resulted from a misconception of the
teaching of Sheppard vy. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1964 }.
Although the Court of Appeals, sitting en bane, dic
reverse the trial court’s order, it did so on procedural
grounds. In his Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, the
peticioner not only attacks the decision of the Court
of Appeals; he also asserts that the Court substantially
decided an important question of federal law which
has not been settled by this Court, namely the ap-
propriate balance which must be struck between the
free press guarantee of the First Amendment and the
fair trial guarantee of the Sixtft Amendment.

As a representative of over ninety percent of the
daily and Sunday hewspapers published in the nation,
and because of its interest in assuring an unfettered
press, the ANPA wishes to brietly set forth its views
on this latter issue.

WHeEkEFoRE, the American Newspaper Publishers
Association respectfully requests this Court to grant
this motion and permit it to file the Brief Amicus Cur-

lae submitted herewith.
Respectfully submitted,

ARTHUR B. Hanson

W. Frank Sticke, Jr.
888 Seventeenth Street, NW.
Washington, D. C. 20006

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
The American News paper
Publishers Association °

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1974

No. 74-546

THe Honoras_e J. WiLLiaAM Ditter, JR.,
Petitioner,
v.
PHILADELPHIA NEWSPAPERS, Inc. and Susan Q.
STRANAHAN, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

FREDERICK SCHIAVO,
Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE AMERICAN
NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT
The American Newspaper Publishers Association
(hereinafter ‘‘ANPA*’) submits this-brief as amicus
Curiae in support of the Brief of Respondents Phila-
delphia Newspapers, Inc. and Susan Q. Stranahan in
Opposition to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

As set forth in its motion for leave to file this brief,
the ANPA and its member newspapers have a signi-

2

fieant concern for insuring that the First Amendment’s
guarantee of a free press shall not be abridged. The
order of the District Court from which the present
controversy stems was a serious breach of the limits
set forth in the First Amendment to prevent the gov-
ernment from interfering with the free flow of infor-
mation guaranteed by that Amendment. Beeause of
the importance of this issue as it relates to the question
sought to be placed before this Court by the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari, the AN JAA desires to present
to this Court, for its assistance, the Association’s views
in regard to the important issues involved in this pro-
ceeding.

ARGUMENT

At the outset it must be pointed out that the ANPA
strongly supports and adopts the position of Respond-
ents Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. and Susan Q.
Stranahan. We believe that their brief persuasively
and accurately indicates the jurisdictional inability of
Petitioner to seek review in this Court and the sensible
poliey determinations which make consideration of the
Petition inappropriate. Further, the cases cited in

Respondent's brief fully substantiate the exercise by-

the Court of Appeals of its supervisory powers in
establishing procedural guidelines.

The Association wishes to emphasize that the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Cirenit did not substantially decide the im-
portant federal question coneerning the ‘‘ Free Press—
Fair Trial”? dichotomy. If this Court, however, is of
the opinion that the free press—fair trial issue so
pervaded the proceedings below as to require its eon-
sideration, your amicus wishes to set forth the ANP A’s

te 255 eet hee oe

i
;
:
x
4
|
2
3
3

i

EL ARE LAP

3

views as to the constitutional invalidity of the trial
court’s silence order.

The Plurality and Concurring Opinions Below Did Not Decide
the Important Constitutional Question as to the Validity
of the Silence Order.

Neither the plurality opinion nor the concurring
opinion in the Court of Appea!s was based on a decision
resolving the conflict arising from a confrontation be-
tween the fundamental constitutional guarantees of
freedom of the press and the right of au accused to a
fair trial. The plurality, in the exercise of the Court’s
supervisory powers, found the oral silence order to be
procedurally deficient. The concurring judges found
the order invalid inasiauch as the trial judge had failed
to comply with the procedural requirements necessi-
tated whenever First Amendment rights are involved.*

In both opinions it is clear that the question as to the
proper balance to be struck between the guarantees of
the First and Sixth Amendments was ‘one which the
judges purposefully avoided. The plurality flatly
stated: ‘‘Our conelusion that this case showld be re-
versed on procedural grounds makes resolution of the
constitutional issue unnecessary.”’ (Slip opinion at 9;
citation omitted). Although the coneurring opinion
would have based the decision on Tirst Amendment
considerations, it also avoided tne free press—fair
trial question:

Also, we should hold, in my judgment, without
intimating any view as to the constitutionality of

2 The plurality opinion notes that the procedures which it im-
posed were especially necessary when First Amendment rights
were at stake (Slip opinion at 12), but it was not that issue which
compelled the plurality’s decision.

eg CRD Fee ae |

Se ed Sedan ie matinee ,

4

a limited silence order issued after a hearing em-
bodying the procedural safeguards indicated, that
the order here must fall in any event because its
issuance was not preceded by the type of hearing
compelled by the First Amendment values at
stake. (Slip opinion at 27; emphasis supplied).

Petitioner asserts that, by establishing procedural
guidelines to be applied to orders such as that entered
by the trial court, the Court of Appeals has ‘‘created
new obstacles’’ and ‘‘denied tria! judges an essential
element”’ of the *‘power to comply with the dictates of
Sheppard v. Marwell,’”’ 384 U.S. 333 (1964). So con-
struing the effect of the decision, petitioner contends
that the Court gave preference to the First Amend-
ment’s guarantee of a free press over the Sixth Amend-
ment’s guarantee of fair trial, and thus did render a
decision on the constitutional questioa as to the balanc-
ing of the two rights.

If the Petitioner’s characterization of the effect of
the decision of the Court of Appeals were accepted, it
might appear that the constitutional question had been
decided. However, Petitioner’s characterizations are
unwarranted. By no stretch of the imagination can
it be said that the procedural rules imposed by the
Court of Appeals deny to trial judges the power to
issue silence orders. Those rules may create ‘‘obsta-
cles’’ to the issuance of such orders, but such ‘‘obsta-
cles’’ have long been recognized as essential when First
Amendment considerations are involved. See, e.g.,
Carroll v. Commissioners of Princess Anne, 393 U.S.
175 (1968) ; Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965).

In light of the expressed intent of the Court of Ap-
peals to avoid consideration of the constitutional issue
and the obvious necessity for its imposition of proce-

dural safeguards, there can be no question that the
Court’s decision was not based on the resolution of an
important federal question.

Review of the Decision of the Court of Appeals Would Re-

— quire a Finding That the Trial Court's Order Was An

Unconstitutional Prior Restraint on the Press.

Although, as your amicus has indicated above, the
ANPA does not bélieve that the decision of the Court
of Appeals resolved the important free press — fair
trial question, the ANPA is concerned that the deci-
sion may be misapplied by other courts in the future.
For this reason, your amicus respectfully suggests that,
if this Court should grant the petition for certiorari,
review should be had of the fundamental constitutional
issue as to whether a trial court may ever issue a silence
order which restricts the freedom of the press. If such
a review were to be granted, the ANPA believes that
the anSwer to this question would have to be in the
negative.

Despite the clear statements by the Court of Appeals
that it was avoiding resolution of the free press — fair
trial issue, the fact that it was concern over that is-
sue which prompted the trial court to enter the silence
order will not be ignored by courts and attorneys in
the future. The argument will surely be made that the
Court of Appeals, by imposing the procedural safe-
guards which it did, implicitly recognized the ability of
a trial judge to restrict the coverage and/or the content
of news reports by the press. An order such as that
issued by the trial court in this case, however, is clearly
an unwarranted intrusion on what the press may pub-
lish about an ongoing criminal trial, representing a
flagrant prior restraint on the publication of matters
of public record and concern.

ee aan eh ABEL TOR ES IDLE EEF SUERTE eo |

rons

a 'G

i pSEah: Stal ee Bae i Bi Sia Ps le ae

6

Previous restraints on the publication of informa-
tion come before the courts with a heavy presumption
of invalidity. New York Times Co. v. United States,
403 U.S. 718 (1971). That presumption attaches to
any order such as that issued by the trial court below.
Petitioner asserts that: ‘‘Unlike prior restraints

against the media’s eriticism of government, tor ex-.

ampie, there is simply no discernible vindication of the
First Amendment to be found in respondents’ con-
duct.”’ (Petitioner’s Brief at 14}. This statement
flies in the face of the long Jine of decisions emanating
from this Court regarding efforts to restrict and pun-
ish press comment in regard to judicial proceedings.
E.g., Craig v. Harney, 331 U.S. 367 (1947); Penne-
kamp v. Florida, 328 U.S. 331 (1946); Bridges v. Cali-
fornia, 314 U.S. 252 (1941). In Sheppard v. Marwell,
supra, this Court recognized that publicity can have a
prejudicial effect in the context of a criminal trial;
nevertheless, recognizing the important role which the
press plays, the Court refused to consider restrictions
on the freedom of the press as a legitimate means of
preventing prejudice:

A responsible press has always been regarded
as the handmaiden of effective judicial adminis-
tration, especally in the criminal field.- Its fune-
tion in this regard is documented by an impressive
record of service over several centuries. The press
does not simply publish information about trials
but guards against the miscarriage of justice by
subjecting the police, prosecutors, and judicial
processes to extensive public scrutiny and criti-
cism. This Court has, therefore, been unwilling
to place any direct limitations on the freedom
traditionally exercised by the news media .. . 384
U.S. at 350.

ay

aaa

ie te

ot

ee a AS ene eC I

7

If the trial court believed that publication of infor-
mation concerning indictn ents pending against Mr.
Schiavo elsewhere possibly jeopardized the defendant’s
right to a fair trial, there were alternative remedies
available other than the drastic censorship order which
the court issued. The court could have sequestered the
jury or further cautioned the jury. Such measures
were suggested by this Court in Sheppard, and the
Committee on the Operation of the Jury System has
stressed that such techniques should be more liberally
utilized by the courts. Report of the Committee on
the Operation of the Jury System on the ‘Free Press
_— Fair Trial” Issue, 45 F.R.D. 391, 412-13 (1969).
That Committee also expressly condemned the use of
court orders to silence the press. 45 F.R.D. at 401-02.

Freedom of the press as guaranteed by the First
Amendment and fair trials as guaranteed by the Sixth
Amendment are fundamental rights in our constitu-
tional system; neither may be allowed to take prece-
dence over the other. For that reason, fear of the pos-
sible prejudicial effects of news coverage of a criminal
proceeding must never be allowed to lead to suppression
of the press in the exercise of that institution’s right
and duty to transmit information to the public. If
this Court should grait a review of the decision of the
Court of Appeals, the ANPA would earnestly suggest
that this Court strongly affirm that basie tenet of con-
stitutional jurisprudence.

CONCLUSION
It is respectfully urged that this Court deny the
petition for certiorari for the reasons previously stated.
Should this Court, however, decide to review the opin-

5
.
TEAR RA

CFR iS IO RCP AIL PEE BOA IO EL EOD AGEL LM NK Sih ee ie Tt EM Soa ge RAMEN LPG HOLLIE GE ORENEL GMT

8

ion below, your amicus suggests that primary consid-
eration should be given to the Free Press — Fair Trial
issue. :

Respectfully submitted,

ARTHUR B. HANSON

W. Frank STICKLE, JR. ;
888 Seventeenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
(202) 298-6161

Aitorneys for Amicus Curiae,

The American Newspaper
Publishers Association

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1881%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
