# Brief for the United States — Lemonakis v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1559%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 415 U.S. 989

## Text

tak
BERS eos
a 2
, 5 :
+e
y aa
~ ,

AR Ne RS ig ai ie

oN PETITION ror’ 4 vai on catmntiter 70 orm tren, nS
STATES -COURT..OF | Frakes de POR HH: ;
OLUMBIA CIRCUIT.

Or”

Sur fou THE UOTE ATS omen

Rn cBinn as e'enwnks acaadeindndichweck ° 1
PE Siivcncvkineecekcdaamrutiacecce.t 1
Se OG inne eSieceneaceeecn 2
I ak bind ededcnachinceyainwcalihiwiewccark hese 2
arta decccnsovacwans cuwerdaade educa 8
NT in nd nat cemanauencdeceeise eeu ads 15
CITATIONS
Cases:

f Brown v. United States, 411 U.S. 223________ 13
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284_______ 9, 10
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18_________ 13

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74._.-__________ 12
Harrington v. California, 395 U.S. 250__.____ 14
Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293_________ 14, 15
Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S. 682_...._.________ 14
Milton v. Wainwright, 407 U.S. 371_________ 15
United States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300__________ 14
United States v. Thomas, 474 F. 2d 110,

certiorari denied, 412 U.S. 932____________ 15
Wallace v. United States, 412 F. 2d 1097,
certiorari denied, 402 U.S. 943____________ 14
Statutes:
United States Constitution:
Sixth Amendment. --_----...--...____- 12, 14
Fourteenth Amendment__.____________
SNE oi einnudmuw ane caueieakans

Gu the Supreme Gourt of the United States

QOcroBeR TERM, 1973

No. 73-779

MICHAEL LEMONAKIS, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A)
is reported at 485 F. 2d 941.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on June 29, 1973. A petition for rehearing was denied
on October 15, 1973 (Pet. App. C). The petition for
a writ of certiorari was filed on November 14, 1973.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the exclusion from evidence as hearsay

of a suicide note, written by petitioner’s alleged ac-
complice, deprived petitioner of his constitutional
rights to a fair trial under the circumstances of this
case.
2. Whether the trial court erred in admitting into
evidence recordings of two conversations between the
accomplice and petitioner which were made after peti-
tioner had retained counsel.

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the District of Columbia, petitioner was
convicted on five counts of burglary (22 D.C. Code
1801); five counts of grand larceny (22 D.C. Code
2201); three counts of interstate transportation of
stolen property (18 U.S.C. 2314); and one count of
conspiracy to commit the above described offenses (18
U.S.C. 371).* He was sentenced to five to fifteen years’
imprisonment and a $10,000 fine. The court of appeals
affirmed in a lengthy opinion (Pet. App. A).

1The text of the lengthy indictment is set out in the trial
transcript (Tr. 3791-3817). Also charged in the indictment were
co-defendants Paul. Enten, Alfred Dolder and Harry Schmidt.
Dolder entered pleas of guilty to certain counts and testified
at trial as a government witness. Schmidt remained a fugitive
until his death in 1971 (Pet. App. 2a, n. 1). Enten was con-
victed with petitioner. He has also filed a certiorari petition,
No, 73-926, which presents one issue unrelated to the issues pre-
sented by this petition, and also objects to the recording of
Scouloukas’ conversations with him knowing he was represented
by counsel. We do not believe that the issues raised in the two
petitions are so similar that they must be considered together,

3

1. The facts are detailed in the opinion below (Pet.
App. 3a-7a). During police investigation into a series
of burglaries which had been committed in the George-
town section of Washington, D.C. in 1969, suspicion
began to turn toward James Scouloukas, a member of
the Metropolitan Police Department, who resigned
from the Department in December 1969 (Tr. 1956-
1957; Pet. App. 4a). During the next six months, the
investigation disclosed information implicating peti-
tioner’s co-defendant, Paul Enten, in the burglaries,
and the matter was presented to a grand jury on
June 3, 1970 (Tr. 1724; Pet. App. 4a). As the investi-
gation into the burglaries continued, Scouloukas pre-
sented himself at the United States Attorney’s office
seeking immunity from prosecution; he was promised
that his statements and their fruits would not be used
against him in any prosecution (Tr. 1436-1437; Pet.
App. 5a). Skouloukas died, apparently by suicide, one
week before the trial started (Pet. App. 7a).’

Although the statements that Scouloukas made to
the investigators were not admissible at trial and were
not offered, there was ample evidence before the jury
that Scouloukas was a principal participant in the
burglaries; some of it showed or suggested that he
had implicated petitioner in the crimes in his state-
ments to the police (Tr. 3596-3597). The evidence
included recordings of several telephone conversations
between Scouloukas and petitioner (Tr. 1727-1728,
1741-1779, 1789-1833; Pet. App. 6a-7a) ; these record-

® At the time of trial, an investigation of the possibility that
his death was a homicide was evidently being conducted (Tr. 7).

+

ings were made in an attempt to gather evidence to
corroborate or refute the statements which Scouloukas
had given the investigators conce>ning petitioner (Tr.
1727-1728; Pet. App. 6a). A total of five telephone
conversations between petitioner and Scouloukas were
recorded without petitioner’s knowledge (Tr. 1727-
1728; 1741-1779; 1789-1833). Petitioner cites the fol-
lowing conversations as demonstrating the prejudicial
effect of the tapes (Pet. 7):
ScovutouKas. Now this is the story he tells me
that he told them—well, he got another piece
resembles the piece that he took down there and

that’s his cover the stuff that come out of the
big yellow house. Remember the big yellow

house up the hill.
Lemonakis. I don’t know, but anyhow go
ahead.
> = 7 7 *

ScovLoukas. Remember the first load of stuff
that we took out—me, you, and Dolder [unin-
telligible].

Operator. 3 minutes [unintelligible].

ScovutovKas. O.K. Operator. Remember the
first load of stuff we took out?

Lemonakis. What the hell do I know.’
Scouloukas purportedly left a suicide note which pe-
titioner attempted to introduce as exculpatory evi-
dence (Tr. 1440; Pet. App. 26a). The relevant portion
of the note read as follows (Pet. App. 26a) :

As far as [the U.S. Attorneys prosecuting the
ease] go—Mike Lemonakis had nothing to do

* Both of these conversations took place on August 20, 1970.

5

with any robberies that I know of. I lied to
them about Mike because even he hurt me with
my family. But he is innocent.
The trial court ruled that the note was hearsay and
unreliable, and excluded it from evidence (Tr. 2309-
2311; 1440-1476).

2. Other sources at trial implicating petitioner in
the crimes were as follows: co-conspirator Alfred
Dolder (who had pleaded guilty) testified that he met
Scouloukas and defendant Schmidt in February 1969,
and discussed a proposed burglary in Pittsburgh,
Pennsylvania (Tr. 284-D). The three men went to
Pittsburgh, where they met petitioner and enlisted
him in the proposed burglary (Tr. 295). Although
this burglary was not committed, Scouloukas subse-
quently informed Schmidt and Dolder that he had
obtained the “police list’? from the Precinct, which
contained the names of Georgetown residents whose
homes would be vacant for specified periods of time.
Schmidt called this list their “license to steal’? (Tr.
298).

In late March 1969, Dolder met with Schmidt,
Scouloukas, and petitioner at Scouloukas’ home. The
police list was discussed, and the home of Esther Lewis
was chosen as a target for burglary (Tr. 299-300).
Dolder related in detail the participation of the four
in the burglary of this home on March 26, 1969 (Tr.
301-303). Following the burglary, the four men trans-
ported the stolen goods to Scouloukas’ home in Mary-
land, where petitioner took a diamond engagement
ring that had been stolen as his “compensation” for

- ; —_—

his evening’s work (Tr. 303-305). Mrs. Lewis testified
that a diamond engagement ring was among the items
of property stolen from her home (Tr. 16).

By August of 1969, the base of operations of the
conspiracy was Schmidt’s apartment in Maryland. A
former girl friend of petitioner, Carole Corey, testified
that petitioner was in the Washington area for about
ten days prior to August 5, 1969. She joined him on
that day and stayed with him at the Schmidt apart-
ment for several days (Tr. 880, 934). After returning
to Pennsylvania, she frequently spoke with him by
telephone at the Schmidt apartment (Tr. 906-909).*
During the several days that she stayed at Schmidt’s,
she saw Scouloukas there on a regular basis (Tr. 895-
896).

Other persons observed the co-conspirators together
in the Schmidt apartment and elsewhere. Giovanni
Perelli saw Scouloukas and petitioner together in
Washington in the summer of 1969 as they examined
a list of addresses and talked about proposed bur-

gilaries (Tr. 1593). Perelli also saw them in the
Schmidt apartment when they had silverware and
items of jewelry on the floor of the bedroom (Tr.
1596). Jack Maynard, an associate of Schmidt, also
saw a bedroom in the apartment cluttered with clocks,
statuettes and silver (Tr. 999-1000). Another Schmidt
associate, Herbert Knight, identified photographs of
property stolen in the Georgetown burglaries which he

*The records of petitioner's employer, the McGraw-Edison

Company in Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, showed that petitioner
was not at work from July 25 through September 5, 1969 (Tr.

7

had seen at the Schmidt apartment in 1969 (Tr.
1020-1029).

About August 9, 1969, the Georgetown residence of
Thomas Blake was burglarized and $18,000 worth of
his possessions were stolen. Mr. Blake had personally
informed Scouloukas that his home would be vacant
(Tr. 75). One of the stolen articles was an elaborate
“Geisha Doll” in a glass case (Tr. 76-77). A doll
exactly fitting the description of the Blake doll was
given by petitioner to Carole Corey before she re-
turned to Pennsylvania from Washington on August 9.

The home of Lady Norma Lewis was also burglar-
ized in late August, after she had informed the
Seventh Precinct that she would be away from her
home (Tr. 127). During the trial, petitioner’s co-
defendant, Paul Enten, returned a large amount of
Lady Lewis’ stolen property, including a painting
which bore petitioner’s fingerprint (Tr. 3452-3458,
3476). Emten testified that he obtained the painting
in a transaction at the Schmidt apartment in Mary-
land (Tr. 2764-2766).

Jack Maynard testified that Scouloukas, in the pres-
ence of petitioner, gave him two pieces of antique
poreelain which had been stolen from the Charles
home in late August 1969 (Tr. 1001).

In the fall of 1969, petitioner, together with
Seouloukas and Perelli, went to the antique store of
Harold Schreiber in New York, where they offered
to sell him a collection of framed documents, including
a framed picture signed by George Washington (Tr.
1490-1496). Schreiber suspected that the items had

530-898—74——-2

8

been stolen (Tr. 1506), and they had in fact been
stolen on September 6, 1969, from the home of the
late George Marshall (Tr. 169-170, 3465).

3. Petitioner’s defense consisted of evidence tending
to show Scouloukas’ animosity to him, and suggesting

that, as a result, Scouloukas had falsely accused him
(Tr. 3096, 3114-3115).
To refute the direct testimony of Dolder regarding f

his participaticn in the Esther Lewis burglary on
March 26, 1969, petitioner introduced the stipulated
testimony of one of Mrs. Lewis’ neighbors, who looked
at the back porch of Mrs. Lewis’ home each morning
as she walked her dog along the canal and did not
notice any damage or break-in until March 26 (Tr.
2402-2403). It was also shown through representatives
of petitioner’s employer that petitioner was at work
in Pennsylvania on March 25 and 26 (Tr. 663).

To meet the evidence on the tape recordings, peti-
tioner’s counsel tried to show on cross-examination

' (Tr. 2009-2010) and in his final argument (Tr. 3657-
3660) that nothing incriminating was said by peti-
tioner.
ARGUMENT

1. The court below held that ‘‘once [the recordings
of conversations between petitioner and Scouloukas]
were introduced in support of the Government’s case, |
we believe it error for the trial judge to have con- ;
sidered only the technical hearsay grounds in deter-
mining the admissibility of the suicide note” (Pet.
App. 28a). The court was of the opinion that, in these
unique circumstances, ‘“‘fairness to both sides’’ re-

9

quired that the note should have been presented to
the jury (Pet. App. 28a). Having said that, however,
the court concluded that exclusion of the note was
harmless error because ‘‘(1) the probative value of
the recordings was of a limited nature, their effect on
the jury thereby capable of being offset by (2)
Lemonakis’ impeachment, without use of the note, of
whatever part of Scouloukas’ recorded statements
were taken by the jury as true and implicating him,
both reasons to be considered in light of (3) the sub-
stantial independent evidence of Lemonakis’ guilt in-
troduced by the Government” (Pet. App. 28a-29a).
Although we agree with the court that any error was
clearly harmless, we submit that no error was in fact
committed and that the suicide note was properly
excluded from evidence.

a. As the court below recognized, the note did not
have indicia of trustworthiness and reliability justify-
ing its admission (see Pet. App. 26a-27a, n. 24). It
was hardly comparable to the hearsay deemed admissi-
ble in Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284.° As the
Court there pointed out, 410 U.S. at 300-302:

The hearsay statements involved in this case
were originally made and subsequently offered
at trial under circumstances that provided con-

5In Chambers, this Court was faced with the issue whether
the defendant in a state trial was deprived of due process
under the Fourteenth Amendment by the exclusion of exculpa-
tory hearsay evidence (as well as by state rules of evidence
which prevented a party from impeaching the testimony of his
own witness). The defendant, Chambers, who was being tried
for the murder of a policeman, attempted to elicit the testi-
mony of witnesses that a person named McDonald had told
them that he, not Chambers, shot the policeman. The trial court
had excluded the testimony on the grounds that it was hearsay.

10

siderable assurance of their reliability. First,
each of McDonald’s confessions was made
aeeey to a close acquaintance shortl
r the murder had occurred. Second, eac
one was corroborated by some other evidence in
the case * * *. The sheer number of independent
confessions provided additional corroboration
for each. Third * * * each confession here was
in a very real sense self-incriminating and un-
questionably against interest. * * * Finally, if
there was any question about the truthfulness
of the extrajudicial statements, McDonald was
present in the courtroom and had been under
oath. He could have been cross-examined by the
State, and his demeanor and responses weighed
by the jury. * * * The availability of McDonald
significantly distinguishes this case from * * *
[similar cases where] the declarant was un-
available at the time of trial. [Emphasis added. ]
* * * * *

The testimony rejected by the trial court here
bore persuasive assurances of trustworthiness
and thus was well within the basic rationale of
the exception for declarations against interest.
That testimony also was critical to Chambers’
defense. In these circumstances, where constitu-
tional rights directly affecting the ascertain-
-ment of guilt are implicated, the hearsay rule
may not be applied mechanistically to defeat
the ends of justice.
The factors which this Court felt in Chambers ‘‘pro-
vided considerable assurance’”’ of the reliability of the
hearsay evidence are not present in this case. First,
Scouloukas’ declaration of Lemonakis’ innocence in
the suicide note did not occur until almost a year
after Scouloukas had commenced cooperating with the
investigators (Pet. App. 5a, 7a). Second, corroborat-
ing evidence of petitioner’s innocence was, to say the

puascestng emer SS

IL

least, very weak, while many witnesses testified at
trial concerning petitioner’s involvement in the bur-
glary ring, and much of “their testimony was uncon-
troverted. Third, there were several theories pro-
pounded to explain why Scouloukas might have
retracted his prior accusations against petitioner, all
of which raised serious questions as to the reliability
of the retraction (Tr. 1449-1450, 1463, 1465-1466,
1471). Finally, and most important, the declarant,
Scouloukas, was dead, and hence unavailable for cross-
examination.

b. Nor do we accept the proposition below that
‘fairness to both sides” (Pet. App. 28a) dictated the
admissibility of the suicide note. This conclusion stems
from the fact that since the recordings submitted by
the government were introduced, it became appropri-
ate, the court thought, that ‘‘the jury * * * be pre
sented with information favorable to the defense the
reliability of which, like that favorable to the Govern-
ment, had to be established without access to the source
of the information” (Pet. App. 28a). But this rationale
assumes that the recordings had a material impact in
the case; ° it also overlooks the basis of the admission
of the recordings, which turned, not on general con-
cepts of fairness, but on settled rules of evidence.

Petitioner challenged the admissibility of the tape
recordings in the court below on the ground that their
admission deprived him of his right to confront a

* That assumption is inconsistent with the court’s express find-
ing that the probative value of the recordings was limited and

“capable of being offset by [petitioner’s] impeachment, without
use of the note * * *” (Pet. App. 28a-29a).

. —_—

12

witness (Scouloukas) against him (Pet. App. 8a-13a).
The court below held that admission of the tapes did
not deprive petitioner of his Sixth Amendment right
for the following reason (Pet. App. 10a—1la) :

Scouloukas’ statements would accompany those
of Lemonakis not as evidence of the truth of
the former’s contents but, to the extent to which
the appellant’s responses constituted incriminat-
ing admissions of his own, to make those re-
sponses intelligible to the jury and recognizable
as admissions. That the statements were made
is all that is important, and the recordings
themselves suffice to establish that. The right to
cross-examine the absent informant under oath,
to test his recollection, prove his motives, and
permit the jury to consider his demeanor is
therefore inapplicable, and hearsay considera-
tions do not operate as a bar to admissibility.
United States v. Castro, 438 F. 2d 468, 473
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 977 (1971).
[Emphasis added. ]

Thus, the portion of the recordings containing Scou-
loukas’ remarks were not admitted for the truth of
their content but to explain petitioner’s responses.
In Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 89, this Court
stated:

The decisions of this Court make it clear that
the mission of the Confrontation Clause is to
advance a practical concern for the accuracy
of the truth-determining process in criminal
trials by assuring that ‘‘the trier of fact [has]
a satisfactory basis for evaluating the truth
of the prior statement.” California v. Green,
399 U.S., at 161. * * *

13

Here, “the truth of the prior statement’”’—Scouloukas’
statements on the recording—was not at issue; there-
fore, the mission of the confrontation clause could
scarcely be advanced by admitting conceded hear-
say '—the suicide note—to refute an issue not before
the jury. In short, there is no reason to treat the two
items as comparable evidence, the admission of one
requiring the admission of the other. Moreover, even
if the jury may have improperly considered Scou-
loukas’ statements in the recordings on the issue of
petitioner’s guilt, a case is still not made out for ad-
mission of the note. The recordings themselves had
only marginal evidentiary value. Petitioner presented
evidence to show that Scouloukas had vowed to ‘‘get”’
him for intervening in Scouloukas’ domestic affairs
(Tr. 3100, 3114-3115); he was therefore sufficiently
enabled to impeach Scouloukas’ motive and intent in
implicating him in the crimes without reliance upon
the unreliable and hearsay suicide note (Pet. App.
28a-29a).

ce. At all events, even assuming arguendo that ‘‘fair-
ness to both sides’’ suggests that the note should have
been admitted, the opinion of the court below is suf-
ficient to withstand petitioner’s attack upon it as a
“substantial erosion” of the constitutional harmless
error rule (Pet. 12-13). The court below reviewed the
record summarized in the statement, supra, pp. 3-8,
and manifestly concluded ‘‘beyond a reasonable doubt
that the error complained of did not contribute to the
verdict obtained.”” Chapman v. California, 386 U.S.
18, 24; Brown v. United States, 411 U.S. 223, 230-

7 See Pet. App. 26a, n. 24.

14

232; Harrington v. California, 395 U.S. 250. It there-
fore found the error harmless. The court’s failure to
cite the relevant cases in this Court is not significant,
since it properly applied their teaching.

2. After having been served with a subpoena to
testify before the grand jury investigating the crimes,
petitioner consulted with counsel, who met with the
investigators on August 18, 1970. Petitioner’s coun-
sel was informed that his client was a suspect in possi-
ble offenses connected with the Georgetown burglaries,
whereupon he advised the government attorneys that
petitioner would refuse to testify before the grand
jury and would make no statement to the government
(Pet. App. 7a). It should be noted that three of the
five taped conversations introduced at trial had al-
ready been made, before petitioner’s counsel met with
the government attorneys; the fourth was recorded on
the day of that meeting and the last one two days
later, on August 20, 1970 (Pet. App. 7a). At no time
during the period was petitioner in custody, and he
~ was not formally indicted until five months later (Pet.
App. 2a, n. 1).

In these circumstances, no Sixth Amendment right
to counsel was violated. See Kirby v. Illinois, 406 U.S.
682; United States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300; Hoffa v.
United States, 385 U.S. 298, 309-310; Wallace v.
United States, 412 F. 2d 1097 (C.A.D.C.), certiorari
denied, 402 U.S. 943. Petitioner argues, however, that
the admission of the recordings violated “constitu-
tional principles of Due Process and fair trial,’’ be-
cause the recordings were obtained in violation of “a

15

prosecutor’s professional ethics” (Pet. 13-14). As the
court below held (Pet. App. 23a-25a), there was no
violation of prosecutorial ethics which deprived peti-
tioner of his constitutional rights when Scouloukas
tried to elicit incriminating statements from him at a
time when his status was that of a suspect who had
not been indicted and was not in custody. Hoffa v.
United States, supra, 385 U.S. at 309-310; United
States v. Thomas, 474 F. 2d 110 (C.A. 10), certiorari
denied, 412 U.S. 932.

Furthermore, in light of the other overwhelming
evidence of petitioner’s guilt, as well as the limited
value of the tapes to the government’s case—peti-
tioner said little, if anything, on the tapes that was
incriminating (Pet. App. 28a-29a)—any error in ad-
mitting the two tapes was harmless beyond a reason-
able doubt. Milton v. Wainwright, 407 U.S. 371.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

Rosert H. Bork,

Solicitor General.
Henry E. PETERSEN,
Assistant Attorney General.
JEROME M. Fert,
RevBEN H. WALLACE, JR.,

Attorneys.
January 1974.

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1974

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1559%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
