# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Art Neon Co. v. City & County of Denver

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1424%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 417 U.S. 932

## Text

Supreme Court, U
FILE
LIBRARY ~*
BUPRE i= COURT, U. 8. we 1S i
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
October Term, 1973
No #87 15939

ArT NEON Co., et al.,
Petitioners,
vs.

Tue City AND CounTY OF DENVER, et al.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Alan A. Armour

HOFFMAN, GOLDSTEIN, ARMOUR
& LoNNQUIST, P.C.

1234 Bannock Street

Attorneys for Petitioners

Page
EID Sd ccccseve ceCieeereateenneeses 1
PEPE eT rrr re rT ere rrr ere Tere 2
SE PUNE cab ccdcnodccesceesnseseeess 2
I OE ONE os ov sce cencasacnesseesssseve 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ

I. An Important Question of Federal Law Which
Has Not Been But Should Be Decided by This
Court Is Present in This Case .............. 7

II. The Court of Appeals Has Decided a Federal
Question in Conflict with Applicable Decisions of
po PPPOE TTT Tree rere 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Almota Farmers Elevators Warehouse Co. v. United
Se EE EE cu GG ec ce cc kaeaeee dee vewe 11
Baltimore v. Mano Swartz, 299 A.2d 828 .......... 8
Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 74 (1917)........ 9
City of Akron v. Chapman, 116 N.E.2d 697 ........ 8
City of Corpus Christi v. Allen, 254 S.W.2d 759 ..... 8
City of Los Angeles v. Gage, 274 P.2d 34 .......... 8
E. B. Elliott Adv. Co. v. Metropolitan Dade County,
ee Bi oR e Fo. ) errr 10
Grant v. City of Baltimore, 129 A.2d 363 .......... 8

Page
Hoffman v. Kinealey, 389 S.W.2d 745 ............ 9
Jones v. City of Los Angeles, 294 P.14............ 8
Livingston Rock and Gravel Co. v. County of Los

SE, BE ES ob bv oc cccceccdseevecdves 8
Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571 ............ 9
National Advertising Co. v. County of Monterey,

She as 6G Adee ae SUNS ROe Shs ees 8
National Board of YMCA v. United States,

Pe es Os PERM he nec de sckbcdccessceee 9
O’Connor v. City of Moscow, 202 P. 2d 401 ........ 8
Olson v. United States of America, 292 U.S. 246 ..... 12
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 ...... 12
State ex. rel. Dema Realty Co. v. McDonald,

PEE 5b 60460556 4K as E NECN SOOOS 64S 8
United States v. Dickinson, 331 U.S. 745 .......... 12
United States v. Miller, 317 U.S. 369 .............. 12
Federal Statutes
kf err rrerrrr rrr iy Terr rer rrr re 10
ee REED Aes ceakcteobeneuneeceswes 2
Pe ME UUPREEE 60 ssi chew nsdeds seed sucess 3
ey EE choc hvcctccduceesveteuseenes 9
Other Authorities
Revised Municipal Code of the City and County of

PE, SURI ESD eves vacceseecsewsseeesss 2-3

IN THE

Hupreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1973

No.

ART NEON Co., et al.,
Petitioners,

vs.

THE CiTy AND COUNTY OF DENVER, et al.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue
to review the judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered in this
matter on November 29, 1973, and to which a Petition For
Rehearing was denied January 17, 1974.

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment of the Court of Appeals of November 29,
1973 which is herein sought to be reviewed is reported at
488 F.2d 118 and is reprinted in separate appendix to
this Petition, p. 15. The opinion of the United States

ee ae TFOLDE

—

District Court for the District of Colorado entered on
April 4, 1973, is reported at 357 F.Supp. 466 and is also
reproduced in the appendix at p. 27.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
November 29, 1973. Petition For Rehearing was timely
filed and was denied on January 17, 1974. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

When the lawful use, enjoyment, and ownership of pri-
vate property is made unlawful and nonconforming by
amendment of zoning ordinances, may the zoning authority
also require the destruction of such property without pay-
ment of just compensation to the owner?

CONSTITUTIONAL AND ORDINANCE
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves that portion of the Fifth Amendment
to the Constitution of the United States which provides as
follows:

“...nor shall private property be taken for public

use without just compensation.”
This case further involves §613.5-5(4) Revised Municipal
Code of the City and County of Denver, which is reduced
verbatim at p. 17 of the appendix as it is contained
in the opinion of the United States District Court at 357
F.Supp. 466, 469, 470.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The jurisdiction of the United States District Court was

sai aes

originally invoked in this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§1331(a). This was a suit brought by four Denver area
electric sign companies and four businessmen attacking,
among other things, the validity of §613.5-5(4) of the Re-
vised Municipal Code of the City and County of Denver.
An additional business entity intervened in this suit during
its pendency. Disputed sections of the ordinance will be re-
ferred to herein as the “sign code,” and in essence, said
ordinances require destruction of all nonconforming sign
uses within the City and County of Denver. A “noncon-
forming use” is a use which is not a permitted use by any
after-enacted ordinance. What was lawful and conforming
becomes unlawful and nonconforming upon passage of such
ordinances by the municipal legislative body.

The “sign code” was enacted on March 19, 1971 and
requires that all sign uses made nonconforming by the
passage of the ordinance be terminated. This ordinance
made in excess of 70 percent of all Denver signs noncon-
forming. The crux of the controversy involved the require-
ment of destruction of nonconforming uses by a theory
known as “amortization.” The theory of “amortization” is
simply that the owner of the “nonconformance” is given a
certain amount of time in which to continue to maintain
the nonconformance. At the expiration of the designated
time, he must destroy his use and give up his property
without compensation. The municipality takes the position
that the time period allowed to continue the nonconform-
ance is not the equivalent to compensation to the owner
for the destruction of his property. The taking and destruc-
tion of nonconformances is decreed in accordance with a
schedule based on replacement cost of the use in question
under the Denver ordinance scheme. Any use which costs

outtens

the following amount to replace was terminated in the
following time:

Replacement Cost Time Before Destruction
$ 0-$ 3,000.00 2 Years
$ 3,001 -$ 6,000.00 3 Years
$ 6,001 - $15,000.00 4 Years
$15,001 or over 5 Years

In addition, the ordinance terminated all uses with chang-
ing light effects, revolving, or rotating features within
thirty (30) days after the passage of the ordinance on
March 19, 1971!

The Evidence

Petitioners produced evidence that proved that the signs
which they had built, owned, and serviced prior to
the passage of the ordinance on March 19, 1971, were all
erected pursuant to a permit issued by the City and County
of Denver, for which a fee was paid (Vol. I-A, pp. 17-18).
Each of the uses in question were lawful, permitted uses
at the time of passage of the Denver sign ordinance; and
Petitioners had, in reliance on prior ordinances, invested
large sums of money. Most signs in Denver are leased for
periods of time varying from 3 to 10 years, although many
were owned by individual businessmen (Vol. I-A, p. 19).
Most of the owners of signs were not yet touched by the
provisions of the ordinance at the time of trial and appeal.
The lessor sign companies ordinarily made a small profit
during the initial lease period (usually 5 years), but the
real profit was derived from renewal (Vol. I-A, p. 21).
The lessee gets a better lease rate during the renewal period,
thus giving him an incentive to renew, and raising some

/ ey — 9

a ye

proprietary interest in the original lease term (Vol. I-A
pp. 21-22). The trial court found as a fact that these non-
conforming signs were not adaptable for use elsewhere,
that salvage value does not equate removal costs, thus the
“sign code” destroyed property without any possible usage
thereafter.

Signs were not detrimental to public safety and the trial
court so found. The City produced expert opinion evidence
to justify the “sign code” on an environmental basis. This
expert, Stuart L. Udall, former Secretary of the Interior,
testified that the City of Denver could eliminate signs
immediately by paying just compensation or in a period
of time by allowing a sufficient period of “amortization”!
(Vol. III-B, pp. 16, 17, 18.) Evidence further showed
that Petitioners lawfully invested substantial sums of money
in the manufacture and erection of signs and in the leasing
of signs, and the trial court so found. The court also found
that market value of the lessees’ businesses would be
diminished if the signs were removed; and as to most of the
signs involved, the ordinances prohibited any use, rather
than merely restricting the type or extent of use of the signs.
The evidence further showed that there was no relationship
between replacement costs and unexpired leasehold terms
and further showed that the remaining life of the signs in
question extended far beyond the allowable time for “amor-
tization” (Vol. I-B, pp. 9, 10). It was undisputed that
“amortization” deprived Petitioners of valuable years of
future use of income-producing property (Vol. II, pp. 113-
117). The evidence also showed that Petitioner sign com-
panies and the business entity Petitioners who leased their
signs had established contractual relationships exceeding
the term of the time allowed by the ordinance for termina-
tion; thus as an adjunct to the issues, the ordinance in

— vo

question impaired the obligation of thousands of contracts
(Vol. I-B, pp. 121, 122). Petitioners established that the
economic loss vested upon them by the application of the
ordinance exceeded $1,450,000.00 (Vol. II, p. 126). In
the City and County of Denver alone there are thousands
of nonconforming uses involving many different kinds of
property. Signs are but one small segment of nonconform-
ing use property. The evidence showed generally that the
“sign code” was enacted to promote aesthetic considera-
tions and had no relationship to the public health, safety,
morality, or general welfare.

The Rulings Below

The United States District Court ruled (357 F.Supp.
466; appendix p. 15) that the ordinances in question
were violative of the protections of the Fifth Amend-
ment of the Constitution of the United States and were
unconstitutional. The trial court found that the Denver
ordinances attempted to accomplish a taking of property
without payment of just compensation and further con-
cluded that the scheme for termination for nonconforming
uses involving different time periods based on replacement
costs was likewise invalid, but generally concluded that the
theory of “amortization” was proper in principle. The court
held that Denver could terminate nonconformances by
“amortization” and that if the “amortization” period was
reasonable in length, it was a form of payment of just
compensation. The court then proceeded to determine as a
fact based on the evidence that the City’s scheme for sign
destruction did not justly compensate Petitioners in this
case, or in other words, the periods of time involved were
not sufficient just compensation.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

DOR rote Coe ee te ee y Se aD Pe Oe ME wy eNOS

RY

=

reversed. This court agreed with the trial judge that the
varying periods of time allowed keyed to replacement costs
were improper. This court held, however, contrary to the
trial court’s finding of fact, that the five year amortization
was reasonable and did not rule on whether or not the amor-
tization was a taking of Petitioner’s property without just
compensation. The Court of Appeals further expressly held
that the thirty (30) day destruction of the revolving, rotat-
ing, and changing light effect uses was valid and overturned
the trial court’s express finding of fact that there was no
relationship of these signs to traffic safety.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW
WHICH HAS NOT BEEN BUT SHOULD BE DECIDED
BY THIS COURT IS PRESENT IN THIS CASE.

The validity of the radical new theory of “amortization”
as the equivalent of the “just compensation” provided by
the Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution
should be reviewed by this Court. The elimination of non-
conformances has long been a cherished goal of zoners and
planners throughout the United States. As municipal gov-
ernmental structures proliferate, the pressure to cause the
citizenry to conform to what is deemed proper and good
and wise by the municipal legislative body and their profes-
sional staff is vastly increased. The zoning and planning
zealots have long searched for a methodology to impose
their aesthetic views upon the inhabitants of the munici-
pality, but, due to cost and priorities of allocation of public
tax funds, have been unable to give practical effect to their
desires. The amortization scheme has recently come to the
forefront of the municipal horizon, and promises to be a

Vee ee en eee CSS el ga ai

se on

total panacea for the problems of the zoners and planners.
The beauty of “amortization” in their view is that it will
eliminate the nonconformance without cost. The economic
loss under this scheme must be borne wholly by the owner
of the nonconformance.

The approval of “amortization” by the courts has to date
been mostly in the area of noxious nuisance oriented uses
such as junkyards, rendering plants, and concrete plants.
City of Los Angeles vs. Gage, 274 P.2d 34; Livingston
Rock and Gravel Co. vs. County of Los Angeles, 272 P.2d
4; State ex. rel. Dema Realty Co. vs. McDonald, 121 So.
613. There are also numerous contrary decisions holding
termination of nonconformances invalid. City of Akron vs.
Chapman, 116 N.E.2d 697 (junkyard); City of Corpus
Christi vs. Allen, 254 S.W.2d 759 (auto wrecking yard);
Jones vs. City of Los Angeles, 294 P. 14 (nursing home);
and O’Connor vs. City of Moscow, 202 P.2d 401 (pool
hall). The most recent applications of amortization :have
been in the area of signs.

Signs do not find a great deal of favor among environ-
mentalists, but only the business community seems to favor
their use. The vast majority of court decisions involve
billboards or so-called third party advertising. Grant v.
City of Baltimore, 129 A.2d 363; National Advertising
Co. v. County of Monterey, 464 P.2d 33. The present case
involves on-premise electric business identification signs.
This is one of the few cases involving such ordinances,
although a few have been heard. Baltimore v. Mano Swartz,
299 A.2d 828.

As one might expect in the evolution of a new theory,
the cases have proceeded from elimination of noxious uses,
to elimination of near-nuisances, to elimination of bill-

shane ace sey

—_ yn

boards, to elimination of on-premises business identification
signs, to the result in this case, to-wit: A municipality may
eliminate any nonconforming use without payment of com-
pensation! The right of citizens to use a specific noncon-
formance, whatever it may be, is taken by the sign code,
and the continued use of their property in a certain fashion
is prohibited.

The right to use property as a constitutionally protected
right has been repeatedly affirmed by this Court. Buchanan
vs. Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 74 (1917); National Board of
YMCA vs. United States, 395 U.S. 85, 92 (1969). The
acquisition, enjoyment and alienation of property are basic
rights under 42 U.S.C. 1983 (Civil Rights Act). Valid
contracts are property which is protected by the Fifth
Amendment. Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571.

The justification for amortization is allegedly based in
the police power; however, it seems difficult to reconcile
the destruction of property only after varying periods of
time, from two to five years on this theory. If police power
permits destruction of private property without just com-
pensation, then surely it may be done immediately. The
leading case to date on the subject expressed this philosophy
in voiding an amortization ordinance. Hoffman v. Kinealey,
389 S.W.2d 745. This case contains a collection of most of
the existing authority on the subject of amortization. The
court there reasoned that implicit in the amortization
technique itself is the proposition that by the expedient of
postponing the taking, objectionable unconstitutionality
is overcome. This court adopted the stance that it would be
a strange and novel doctrine indeed which would approve
a municipality taking private property for public use with-
out compensation so long as it was not too valuable and
the taking not too soon.

POAT RS PG TE Oe ae

— we

The trial judge treated this case as a Fifth Amendment
case and determined that there was an uncompensated tak-
ing. The Court of Appeals completely ignored the Fifth
Amendment problems and said the ordinance was reason-
able. The opinion is merely a social treatise showing the
court’s view of signs. The opinion is wrong and is a tragedy
for the owners of private property everywhere.

The federal courts have not really considered the subject
of amortization prior to this case. It was briefly mentioned
in the case of E. B. Elliott Adv. Co. v. Metropolitan Dade
County, 425 F.2d 1141 (Sth Circ. 1970), but the instant
case is the only head-on decision on the subject in the
federal courts. The Congress of the United States considered
this general subject before passage of 23 U.S.C. §131
(Highway Beautification Act), but concluded that just
compensation for billboard removal was a necessity. A plan
for such payment is included in the Act. Petitioners submit
that if this court waits for a conflict in circuits or delays
decision of this controversy, then hundreds of millions of
dollars in value of private property will be destroyed and
the rights of the owners of that property will be terminated
forever. Future decision of this controversy will not help
these property owners.

There are now in excess of seven hundred municipalities
which have virtually copied the Denver Sign Code. This is
not a state-by-state problem, but is national in scope; it
involves all nonconforming property. We submit that this
court should determine whether or not amortization is or is
not a taking of private property for a public use without
just compensation.

PO POIORS ER

a J] —

Il.

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS DECIDED A FED-
ERAL QUESTION IN CONFLICT WITH APPLI-
CABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

The decision of the Court of Appeals, that amortization
of any nonconforming use is reasonable and does not re-
quire compensation, ignores all previous decisions of this
Court. The Court of Appeals observed that the case of
Almota Farmers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United
States, 409 U.S. 470, was not helpful because it related to
eminent domain. This case was one of the keystones of the
decision of the trial judge who is an eminent scholar on this
subject. This shows the great disparity in approach to this
case by the judges who considered the issues here. Under
the opinion of the Court of Appeals, it will be necessary for
each new municipal legislative effort to eliminate some
supposedly undesirable use without cost to be brought
before the Circuit Court for its approval or disapproval as
to “reasonableness.” Will “reasonableness” depend upon
whether or not the object to be eliminated is environ-
mentally acceptable or whether it appeals to the court? The
“reasonableness” test imposed by the Court of Appeals has
no standards. It will not assist the municipal legislative
body to know to what lengths they may go in legislating
away citizens’ rights, nor will it help those whose property is
eliminated. The observations of the Circuit Court, that the
amortization is part of an over-all zoning plan thus it is
reasonable, are not helpful. How is decision of the question
of whether or not an ordinance takes property without
just compensation or is a lawful exercise of the police power
aided by statements that the ordinance is part of an over-all
zoning plan? Would an ordinance prohibiting free speech
be made valid if it was included in a zoning plan?

a= 12 —

The sign code destroys signs based on “replacement
cost.” It does not consider market value or future useful
life. The property of Petitioners here was useful and had
substantial useful life beyond the periods allowed. If the
reasoning of the Court of Appeals is permitted to stand,
then one may erect a sign with a valid permit for which one
paid a fee and have that sign destroyed 30 days later. One
may erect a sign which can be made nonconforming at the
next meeting of the municipal legislative body. The deci-
sions of this court do not approve the decision of the Court
of Appeals here. United States vs. Dickinson, 331 W. 745;
Olson vs. United States of America, 292 U.S. 246; United
States vs. Miller, 317 U.S. 369.

Justice Holmes, in Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,
260 U.S. 393, observed:

“.. . The protection of private property in the
Fifth Amendment . . . provides that it shall not
be taken for [public] use without compensation
. ... When this seemingly absolute protection is
found to be qualified by the police power, the
naturai tendency of nature is to extend the quali-
fication more and more until at last private prop-
erty disappears. But that cannot be accomplished
in this way under the Constitution of the United
States....

“We are in danger of forgetting that a strong
public desire to improve the public condition is
not enough to warrant achieving the desire by a
shorter cut than the constitutional way of paying
for the change.” (Emphasis supplied. )

On either ground hereinbefore stated, the Court of Ap-

—_ 13—

peals’ decision is wrong and should be reviewed by this
Court because of the national implications involved.

CONCLUSION
WHEREFORE, Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ
of certiorari be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

Alan A. Armour

HOFFMAN, GOLDSTEIN, ARMOUR
& LONNQUIST, P.C.

1234 Bannock Street

Denver, Colorado 80204

Attorneys for Petitioners

PLT SIO FH OR te a i

Oe ee gees

niga

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-1404 — NOVEMBER 1973 TERM

ArT NEon Co., ADVANCE NEON CoO.,)
Epcon, INc., GORDON NEON Co., MLG
Corp., d/b/a Mini-Rates Rent-A-Car,
MICHAEL T. THomase, d/b/a Colonial
Manor Motel, RiTE-Lite Suppty Co., and
Super Druc Co., Appeal From The

United States
Appellees, wad

vs. . For The District
of Colorado

THE CiTy AND COUNTY OF DENVER, a mu-| (DC. # C-3427)
nicipal corporation, and ANTHONY H.
JANSEN,

Appellants,
Gump GLiass Co.,

Intervenor-Appellee. |

Earl T. Thrasher, Denver, Colorado (Max P. Zall, and
Robert M. Kelly, Denver, Colorado, with him on the Brief),
for Appellants.

Alan A. Armour, of Hoffman, Goldstein, Armour &
Lonnquist, P.C., Denver, Colorado, for Appellees.

Davis, Graham & Stubbs, Denver, Colorado, and Gibson,
Dunn & Crutcher, Los Angeles, California, on the Brief
for Amicus Curiae, Combined Communications Corpora-
tion.

on than

Before SETH and Doy Le, Circuit Judges, and TALBOT
SmiTH, District Judge*.

SETH, Circuit Judge.

The City and County of Denver, Colorado, and Anthony
H. Jansen, the defendants, appeal from the judgment of the
United States District Court for the District of Colorado,
which held that portions of the Denver Municipal Code re-
lating to zoning, and more particularly to nonconforming
signs, violate the Fifth Amendment of the United States
Constitution. Enforcement of the provisions was enjoined.
The action was commenced by Art Neon Co., other sign
companies, and retail businesses seeking to have portions of
the zoning ordinance declared invalid.

Denver is a municipal corporation organized as a “home
rule” city, and defendant, Anthony H. Jansen, is the City
Zoning Administrator charged with the enforcement of the
zoning ordinances, of which Denver Rev. Mun. Code
§ 613 (1971), the “Permitted Signs” section with which we
are here concerned, is a part.

Plaintiffs-appellees, Art Neon Co., Advance Neon Co.,
Gordon Neon Co., and Epcon, Inc. are engaged in fabri-
cating, installing, repairing, leasing, and selling neon, steel,
and plastic signs and other advertising displays in Denver.
Other appellees are owners or operators of businesses in
Denver which lease and have had installed on their premises
outdoor advertising signs from appellee sign companies
and others. Two appellees own their own signs.

It is apparent from the foregoing that the appellees are
connected in a variety of ways with “outdoor advertising,”

*Of the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

ow 17 —

and direct their attack on provisions for termination of non-
conforming signs in the “Permitted Signs” section of Den-
ver’s Zoning Ordinance, Rev. Mun. Code § 613 (1971),
and particularly sections 613.5-.5(4) and .5(4) (a) thereof,
which provide:
“.5-4. Termination of Non-Conforming Signs.
* * * * *
“,.5-5(4). By Amortization. The right to
maintain a non-conforming sign shall terminate
in accordance with the following schedule:

Any sign which on
the date the sign Shall be terminated
became non-conform- within the following
ing would cost the period after the sign
following amount became non-conform-
to replace: ing:
Oe NE hve cu dsdascecees 2 years
See OD cc ccsccsavreda 3 years
Ge OO BID 6 icc ccescusse 4 years
ESIOOE OF MAUD 2. ccc ccaces 5 years

“.5-5(4)(a). The right to maintain a flash-
ing, blinking, fluctuating, animated or portable
sign shall terminate within 30 days after such
sign became non-conforming.”

It appears that the effective date of the “Permitted Signs”
section of Denver’s Zoning Ordinance was March 19, 1971,
and that thereafter the appellees’ outdoor advertising signs
became, in varying respects, “nonconforming.” They com-
menced this suit asserting that the “Permitted Signs” sec-
tion was in violation of various provisions of the United
States Constitution, including Article I, § 10 (impairment

—

of the obligation of contracts), Amendment V (deprivation
of property without due process of law and taking of pri-
vate property for public use without compensation),
Amendment I (restriction on freedom of expression), and
Amendment XIV, § 1 (deprivation of equal protection of
the laws and of property without due process of law).

After considering whether to abstain from hearing the
case, and instead to allow the courts of the state of Colo-
rado to first pass on the claims presented, the district
court decided to hear only one issue. This was:

“Whether the requirement that certain exist-
ing signs owned by plaintiffs be terminated over
the periods prescribed by the ordinance is a valid
exercise of the municipal police power or an un-
constitutional taking of private property without
compensation having been made therefor; or is
an unconstitutional impairment of the obligation
of certain contracts relating to the leasing of
signs owned by plaintiffs.” 357 F.Supp. at 467.

The district court, relying on United Mine Workers v.
Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, and Reetz v. Bozanich, 397 U.S. 82,
declined to exercise pendent jurisdiction over the state law
claims and held that these “myriad problems should be left
for state court determination.” 357 F.Supp. at 467. As to
the issue above stated, the trial court held “. . . that the
present Denver ordinance does not provide for the payment
of just compensation.” The court further ruled that the pro-
visions relating to nonconforming signs were in violation of
the Fifth Amendment and enjoined enforcement.

The zoning control sought to be exercised by Denver
over signs is through a classification according to types
which may be displayed in various zoning districts. Signs

a

are not prohibited, but a close limitation is placed on the
types permitted. The provision of the ordinance which
is in issue is a part of a city wide zoning plan under which
the typical property use controls are established. There is
no doubt that a general zoning ordinance may be enacted
by the City of Denver. Such ordinances are a proper exer-
cise of the police power. Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty
Co., 272 U.S. 365; Gorieb v. Fox, 274 U.S. 603: Green v.
Castle Concrete Co., 509 P.2d 588 ( Colo.).

As to the scope of police power generally, the Court in
Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, said:

“, .. An attempt to define [the police power’s]
reach or trace its outer limits is fruitless, for each
case must turn on its own facts...

“Public safety, public health, morality, peace
and quiet, law and order — these are some of the
more conspicuous examples of the traditional ap-
plication of the police power to municipal affairs.
Yet they merely illustrate the scope of the power
and do not delimit it.”

Zoning ordinances, including provisions relating to signs,
are basically prospective in their application, and this as-
pect presents no serious problems today. However, there
are usually nonconforming uses which present substantial
problems. These uses are necessarily inconsistent with the
purposes of zoning, Wasinger v. Miller, 388 P.2d 250
(Colo.), and are not intended to be perpetual. Thus there
usually comes a time when such exceptions are sought to
be ended. These terminations are in further exercise of the
police power, and are sought to be accomplished in several
ways. See City of Los Angeles v. Gage, 274 P.2d 34 (Cal.).

=

The ordinance here requires that nonconforming signs
must be removed or brought into conformance within a
specified period of time after they become nonconforming.
This is referred to as “amortization,” but in reality it is no
more than notice to the owner and user of the sign that
they have a period of time to make whatever adjustments
or other arrangements they can. This is probably not a
proper use of the word “amortization,” and so used it
contains no connotation of compensation or a requirement
therefor. This method is generally regarded as a proper
exercise of the police power, although there are strong
opinions to the contrary. Some of the more recent cases
which have considered the issue include E. B. Elliott Ad-
vertising Co. v. Metropolitan Dade County, 425 F.2d 1141
(5th Cir.); Markham Advertising Co. v. Washington, 439
P.2d 248 (Wash.).

The decision to terminate nonconforming uses, and the
method to be used, is made by the appropriate legislative
body. It is reached by a comparison or balancing of the
burden or loss which will be placed on the individual by
the ordinance with the public good sought to be achieved.
See Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394; Board of Super-
visors v. Miller, 170 N.W.2d 358 (Iowa). Such a legis-
lative decision under the police power is prima facie a valid
factual determination. The parties attacking such an ordi-
nance have to meet a heavy burden. See Green v. Castle
Concrete Co., 509 P.2d 588, and Board of County Comm’rs
v. Simmons, 494 P.2d 85 (Colo.).

It is obvious that in the balancing process some loss or
burden will fall on a sign owner or user. It is not required
that the nonconforming property concerned have no value
at the termination date. The plan need not be so con-
structed. The many and varied valid exercises of police

—

power in other areas so demonstrate the impact on the in-
dividual. See Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590; United
States v. Central Eureka Mining Co., 357 U.S. 155; Hada-
check v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394; Mugler v. Kansas, 123
U.S. 623. The legislative determination must only meet the
test of “reasonableness,” that is, the plan for termination
must be “reasonable.” Standard Oil Co. v. Marysville, 279
U.S. 582; National Advertising Co. v. Monterey, 464 P.2d
33 (Cal.). This is not a test of concept of “just compensa-
tion.” The Court in United States v. Central Eureka Mining
Co., 357 U.S. 155, said: “[T]he mere fact that the regula-
tion deprives the property owner of the most profitable use
of his property is not necessarily enough to establish the
owner’s right to compensation.” And further in Miller v.
Schoene, 276 U.S. 272: “[W]here the public interest is
involved preferment of that interest over the property in-
terest of the individual, to the extent of its destruction, is
one of the distinguishing characteristics of every exercise
of the police power which affects property.”

In the application of the reasonableness test to the leg-
islative determination, the courts have used a variety of
factors, and combinations thereof. These include the nature
of the nonconforming use, the character of the structure,
the location, what part of the individual’s total business is
concerned, the time periods, salvage, depreciation for in-
come tax purposes, and depreciation for other purposes,
and the monopoly or advantage, if any, resulting from the
fact that similar new structures are prohibited in the same
area. Where signs are concerned, the courts usually also
mention the fact that the use is also of public streets since
the message is directed to the passerby.

When these factors are applied to the portion of the Den-
ver ordinance here concerned, we must conclude that it is

ons 92 xe

basically reasonable. The “amortization” method has been
established by the authorities as a proper method to termi-
nate nonconforming uses. It is clearly applicable to signs
and is an aspect of the balancing of the public good against
individual harm as part of the city’s overall zoning plan
and ordinance.

In this connection, the opinion in St. Louis Poster Ad-
vertising Co. v. St. Louis, 249 U.S. 269, is very significant.
The ordinance there concerned regulated the size and loca-
tion of billboards. Reliance was therein placed on Cusack
Co. v. Chicago, 242 U.S. 526, which dealt with an outright
prohibition of billboards “in residence districts of a city,”
242 U.S. at 530, rather than a city wide regulation as in
the case at bar. But the St. Louis case in permitting the full
scope of the ordinance leads us to also hold that the Den-
ver “Permitted Signs” ordinance, City and County of
Denver, Rev. Mun. Code §§ 613.5-5(4) and 5(4)(a)
(1971), is a valid, reasonable, nonarbitrary, and nondis-
criminatory enactment under that city’s police powers. It
does not deprive the users of advertising signs, whether
they be lessees or owners, of such use. It does not force the
concerns which manufacture and supply such signs to termi-
nate their businesses. It does, however, closely regulate the
types of signs which may be used and, as we have held, this

is proper.

There is, however, a portion of the ordinance which we
cannot hold to be reasonable. This is the provision for
different periods of amortization for signs having different
“replacement” costs measured at the date they become non-
conforming. The plaintiffs have attacked the validity of
these categories. The replacement cost of the signs is not
related to any of the relevant factors in the reasonableness
tests, and presents no valid basis for different treatment of

heir perce

a, eae

different signs ranging from three to five years. It has no
bearing on the landowner’s problem, nor on the sign own-
ers’ situation nor on the city’s position. The most that can
be said for replacement cost is that it could indicate, as of
the date used, the size or complexity of a sign, but this is
no real help. When the categories so constructed are re-
moved, we are left with the five-year maximum period for
removal of all nonconforming signs in the ordinance, and
this period, as we have stated, is a valid one. The ordinance
with the remaining five-year time limit is thus valid.

The ordinance contains a special category (.5-5(4) (a) )
which states in part: “The right to maintain a flashing,
blinking, fluctuating, animated, or portable sign shall termi-
nate within 30 days after such sign became non-conform-
ing.” This we hold to also be a reasonable regulation. The
balancing relates to such signs in a somewhat different way
in that the apparent movement created by the sign can be
stopped and the signs brought into conformity without de-
stroying entirely the usefulness of the sign. Certainly its
effectiveness is much diminished, and its value reduced, but
when this is compared to the extreme character of these
signs, with the demonstrated relationship to safety, we must
hold the method and the time to be reasonable.

The matter of preemption by the Federal Highway Beau-
tification Act, 23 U.S.C. § 131, or by the Colorado High-
way Sign Act, Colo. Rev. Stat. § 120-5-28, has been argued
by the parties, but we find no such preemption. Nor do

we find therein any example or standard binding in any
way on the city.

The parties have also discussed the case of Almota Farm-
ers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United States, 409 U.S.
470, as it relates to improvements on leaseholds. The Court

a

in its opinion states the issue therein decided concerns
valuations in eminent domain proceedings. The case is very
significant in that field, but in our view of the legal concepts
here involved, it is not helpful.

On the impairment of contracts issue urged by the plain-
tiffs, the question is addressed to a legitimate end and the
measures taken are reasonable and appropriate to that end.
Home Building & Loan Ass’n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398.
As the opinion of the Court pointed out in the same case:

“... [Where the protective power of the State
is exercised in a manner otherwise appropriate in
the regulation of a business it is no objection that
the performance of existing contracts may be frus-
trated by the prohibition of injurious practices.

* * %+« %&£

“In all such cases the question becomes, there-
fore, one of reasonableness, and of that the leg-
islature is primarily the judge.”

We have already held that the ordinance is a reasonable
one in other aspects, and it does not, under Article I, §
10(1) of the United States Constitution, impair the obliga-
tion of contracts.

Much has been written about the distinctions between
governmental acts which are within the police power and
those which are within just compensation requirements un-
der eminent domain. It will not serve any useful purpose to
add to the literature on the subject. Like so many subjects,
it makes some difference where you start into the problem
or where you get hold of it initially. The section here chal-
lenged is part of the city’s zoning ordinance, and is part of
the aim or purpose of zoning. It is not much different from

a on

the provisions prohibiting changes in nonconforming struc-
tures, or prohibitions against use if once discontinued, and
similar limitations on the use of property. These prohibi-
tions are also an established part of zoning and generally
upheld. Zoning from its inception has been grounded as a
legislative function on the police power, and has been so
sustained by the courts. The particular issue before us of
elimination of nonconforming uses is well within an overall
zoning plan which is not challenged, and the legislative body
has decided it is an essential part thereof. It is of general
application under a plan adjusted to different conditions in
each zone, and not directed to particular tracts or signs. It
is a bona fide use restriction. The challenged provision does
not prohibit the use of signs, but requires conformance to
specified types in specified places. Further in view of the
traditional place where such regulations are found, the fact
this subject is an integral part of zoning to accomplish its
legitimate purposes, and the broad nature of its application
leads us to place the issue in the police power category and
not in eminent domain as the trial court apparently did.

The judgment of the trial court is REVERSED, and the
case is REMANDED for further proceedings in accordance
with this opinion.

a ee

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Art NEON Co., ADVANCE NEON Co.,
Epcon, INc., GORDON NEON Co., MLG
Corp., d/b/a Mini-Rates Rent-A-Car,
MICHAEL T. THOMASE, d/b/a Colonial
Manor Motel, RiTe-Lite Suppiy Co., and
Super Druc Co.,

Plaintiffs,

7 CIVIL ACTION

NO. C-3427
TuHeE City AND COUNTY OF DENVER, a mu-

nicipal corporation, and ANTHONY H.

JANSEN,
Defendants,
and
Gump Giass Co.,
Intervenor-. |

Hoffman, Goldstein & Armour, by Alan A. Armour,
Attorney at law, Denver, Colorado, for Plaintiffs and In-
tervenor; Max P. Zall, City Attorney, and Earl T. Thrasher,
Assistant City Attorney, Denver, Colorado, for Defendants;
Lawrence A. Wright, Jr., Richard F. Mauro, and Howard
B. Gelt, Attorneys at law, Denver, Colorado, for Amici
Curiae Consumers; and Davis, Graham & Stubbs, by Rich-
ard P. Holme, Attorney at law, Denver, Colorado, and
Gibson, Dunn and Crutcher, by Theodore B. Olson, At-
torney at law, Los Angeles, California, for Amicus Curiae
Combined Communications Corporation.

_— oe

MEMORANDUM OPINION
WINNER, Judge

Following submission of comprehensive pretrial briefs,
this case was tried to the Court. Thereafter, long post trial
briefs were filed, and the case is ready for determination
by this opinion which contains the findings and conclusions
required by Rule 52.

Plaintiffs’ complaint makes a hydra-headed attack on the
validity and constitutionality of the sign code of the City
and County of Denver. [Revised Municipal Code, Sec. 613,
and, more particularly, Sec. 613.5 of the Code.] Some of
plaintiffs’ claims raise questions we deem to arise only
under the Constitution of the United States; some argue
provisions of both state and federal constitutions, while
others are directed at case law and the Constitution of the
State of Colorado. By order of March 24, 1973, the Court
limited the issues it would try to those arising only under
the Constitution of the United States, and, although plain-
tiffs urged that there is pendent jurisdiction to try other
claims, we ruled that under the principles of United Mine
Workers v. Gibbs (1966) 383 U.S. 715, and Reetz v. Bo-
zanich (1970) 397 U.S. 82, myriad problems should be
left for state court determination. We accepted the follow-
ing phraseology by the city of the question the Court should
determine:

“Whether the requirement that certain existing
signs owned by plaintiffs be terminated over the
periods prescribed by the ordinance is a valid
exercise of the municipal police power or an un-
constitutional taking of private property without
compensation having been made therefore; or is
an unconstitutional impairment of the obligation

—

of certain contracts relating to the leasing of
signs owned by plaintiffs.”

By supplementary order of July 18, 1972, it was ex-
plained that included within the issues which might be
determined was “the question of equal protection as that
question applies to the differing amortization periods [con-
tained in the ordinance].”

Thus, the constitutional question we today decide is im-
portant, but the question decided is narrow, and many of
plaintiff's challenges of the ordinance are not resolved.’
Perhaps we should mention a few of the many things we do
not decide.

(1) The city says that some of the signs exist
under revocable permit to use city-owned
property. We decide nothing having to do
with this contention of the city nor do we
decide anything arising under plaintiffs’
claim that the city is estopped to enforce
revocability of any permits. This is a prob-
lem for the state courts.

(2) The city says that a sign of Michael T.
Thomase, d/b/a Colonial Motel exists un-
der a special dispensation and that it is not
affected. We make no determination con-
cerning this.

(3) The right of the city to prohibit the erection
of any or all future advertising signs is not
before us, and we make no decision as to
the validity or invalidity of any such ordi-

1These matters are left for state court determination.

_~_

nance which may or may not be enacted in
the future, although we recognize that there
is much authority for upholding such pro-
hibitions.

(4) We decide no questions concerning the rea-
sonableness of the regulations as they relate
to the type of business involved, the zone in
which the sign is located, the comparable
heights of signs in various zones, differen-
tiations between free standing and attached
signs and various other types of claimed in-
equality between signs.

(5) We make no decision as to the validity of the
sign code under state law.

(6) We make no determination as to whether
the code draws arbitrary distinction between
various signs.

Moreover, we do not quarrel with nine of the ten “legal
principles” argued by the city. We accept as truisms these
“legal principles” stressed in the city’s brief: —

1. Denver’s charter permits the city to enact
zoning ordinances.

2. In adopting zoning ordinances, Council
may divide the city into districts.

3. Classification within various zone districts
is permitted, and outdoor advertising is a type of
business subject to separate classification and
regulation.

4. Zoning ordinances are to be construed as a
whole.

PMS

au 3]

5. Ordinances are presumptively constitu-
tional.

6. If constitutionality is debatable, the ordi-
nance should be upheld.

7. If there is a reasonable factual basis on
which the ordinance can be found valid, a court
should assume that the legislative body acted on
the basis of those facts [unless the record affirma-
tively shows that another factual basis was re-
lied upon].

8. Many cases hold, and the Colorado Su-
preme Court has held that under Colorado law
non-conforming uses may be terminated if a
reasonable amortization period is allowed. [The
underlying reasoning of these cases is that con-
stitutionally just compensation may be provided
by amortization.]

9. Non-conforming uses should be made con-
forming as rapidly as is reasonably possible.

We do not agree with the city’s tenth “legal principle”
that a plan of amortization is the only way in which just
compensation can be paid for required termination of non-
conforming uses. Lamm v. Volpe (1971) 10 Cir. 449 F.2d
1202, infra, 23 U.S.C. §131 and 1963 C.R.S. 120-5-28 (2),
all dispose of this “legal principle.” The Colorado stat-
ute provides:

“The division of highways may remove any non-
conforming advertising device and may acquire
all real and personal property rights pertaining to
the nonconforming advertising device by gift, pur-
chase agreement, exchange, or eminent domain.

—

All proceedings in eminent domain shall be con-
ducted as may be provided by law. The division
of highways may adopt appraisal concepts and
acquisition procedures which are appropriate to
the evaluation and removal of nonconforming ad-
vertising devices.”

If the city wishes to adopt an ordinance similar to the
Colorado statute or similar to the federal Highway Beauti-
fication Act, no Fifth Amendment question can arise under
such an ordinance. The case is before us only because the
city wants to force destruction of the signs without cash
outlay on its part and because it insists on paying the com-
pensation it admits is due only by way of an amortization
scheme instead of paying compensation the way the state
and federal governments do. As we shall see before this
opinion is concluded, the only real question is, “Who is to
pick up the tab for beautification of the city resulting from
the tearing down of the advertising signs?” The state and
the federal government think that the taxpayers must pay
the piper. The city says that the sign companies have to
bear the loss.

Before entering upon a discussion of this fundamental
question, it is necessary that we dispose of a preliminary
argument advanced by the city. The city says that three of
the plaintiffs and an intervenor have failed to establish
jurisdictional amount. In effect the city argues that proof
by these parties at time of trial would not justify an eminent
domain award in excess of $10,000.00, but this isn’t the
test of amount in controversy. St. Paul Mercury Indemnity
Co. v. Red Cab Co. (1938) 303 U.S. 283. The evidence
established that these parties made a good faith claim that
they will be damaged by more than $10,000 in a given year
as a result of the enforcement of the ordinance, and that is

—_—

all that is required. The evidence abundantly meets the test
of Ronzio vy Denver & R.G.W.R. Co. (1940) 10th Cir.
116 F.2d 604:

“In determining the matter in controversy, we
may look to the object sought to be accomplished
by the plaintiffs’ complaint; the test for determin-
ing the amount in controversy is the pecuniary
result to either party which the judgment would
directly produce.”

In support of its jurisdictional amount argument, the
city almost concedes that the evidence at the time of the
preliminary injunction hearing was sufficient to establish
jurisdictional amount, but then counsel say, “We know of
no rule of law whereby the evidence offered by these parties
in an application for preliminary injunction carries forward
to a hearing on the merits of the case.” Rule 65 (a) (2)
enunciates such a rule:

“.. . any evidence received upon an application
for a preliminary injunction which would be ad-
missible upon the trial on the merits becomes a
part of the record on the trial and need not be
repeated upon the trial.”
Jurisdictional amount was proven as to all parties, and
with the question of jurisdictional amount out of the way,

we come to the merits of the case. The important parts of
the challenged ordinance are:

“Sec. 613-5. Nonconforming Signs.

“ 5-1. Declaration of Public Policy.

It is reasonable that a time limit be placed upon
the continuance of existing nonconforming signs.
An amortization program permits the owner to

SS ee

— oa

plan during a period when he is allowed to con-
tinue the nonconforming signs while at the same
time assuring that the District in which the non-
conforming signs exist will eventually benefit
from a substantial uniformity of permanent signs.
“,5-2. Definition of Nonconforming Signs.

A nonconforming sign shall be any sign which:

“5-2(1). On the effective date of this ordinance
was lawfully maintained and had been lawfully
erected in accordance with the provisions of any
prior zoning ordinance but which sign does not
conform to the limitations established by this ordi-
nance in the District in which the sign is located;
or

“5-2(2). On or after the effective date of this
ordinance was lawfully maintained and erected in
accordance with the provisions of this ordinance
but which sign, by reason of amendment to this
ordinance after the effective date thereof, does
not conform to the limitations established by the
amendment to this ordinance in the District in
which the sign is located.

“5-3. Continuance of Nonconforming Signs.

Subject to the termination hereinafter provided,
any nonconforming sign may be continued in
operation and maintained after the effective date
of this ordinance; provided, however, that no such
sign shall be changed in any manner that in-
creases the non-compliance of such sign with the
provisions of this ordinance established for signs
in the District in which the sign is located; and,
provided, further, that the burden of establishing

a

a sign to be nonconforming under this Section
rests entirely upon the person or persons, firm or
corporation claiming a nonconforming status for
a sign.

“5-4. Termination of Nonconforming Signs.

“.5-4(1). By Abandonment. Abandonment of a
nonconforming sign shall terminate immediately
the right to maintain such sign.

“'5-4(2). By Violation of the Ordinance. Any
violation of this ordinance shall terminate imme-
diately the right to maintain a nonconform-
ing sign.

“.5-4(3). By Destruction, Damage or Obsoles-
cence. The right to maintain any nonconforming
sign shall terminate and shall cease to exist when-
ever the sign is damaged or destroyed, from any
cause whatsoever, or becomes obsolete or sub-
standard under any applicable ordinance of the
municipality to the extent that the sign becomes
a hazard or a danger.

“ 5-5(4). By Amortization. The right to main-
tain a nonconforming sign shall terminate in
accordance with the following schedule:

“Any sign which on the

date the sign became = Shall be terminated
nonconforming would within the following
cost the following period after the sign
amount to replace: became nonconforming:

o 7 y | Seeererrerre errs
— @ 5 fae
§ 3! ere
Re OE UD oc tiv cc tos ceeses

—

“.5-5(4) (a). The right to maintain a flashing,
blinking, fluctuating, animated or portable sign
shall terminate within 30 days after such sign
becomes nonconforming.”

Whether this ordinance amounts to a permissible use of
the police power or amounts to a taking requiring the pay-
ment of just compensation under the Fifth Amendment is
not a question of easy determination. As was said in United
States v. Central Eureka Mining Co. (1958) 357 US. 155.

“Traditionally, we have treated the issue as to
whether a particular governmental restriction
amounted to a constitutional taking as being a
question properly turning upon the particular
circumstances of each case. See, Pennsylvania
Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393. In doing so,
we have recognized that action in the form of
regulation can so diminish the value of property
as to constitute a taking. E.g., United States v.
Kansas City Ins. Co., 339 U.S. 799; United States
v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256. However, the mere fact
that the regulation deprives the property owner of
the most profitable use of his property is not nec-
essarily enough to establish the owner’s right to
compensation.”

The difference between a permissible exercise of the po-
lice power and a taking requiring compensation was dis-
cussed by Judge Barrett in Lamm v. Volpe (1971) 10 Cir.
449 F. 2d 1202. It was there contended that the Tenth
Amendment prohibited Congress from enacting the High-
way Beautification Act [23 U.S.C. §131]. The Court held
that Lamm had no standing and that the question was
moot because the State of Colorado had adopted legisla-

—

tion meeting the requirements of the Highway Beautifica-
tion Act. However, in the course of the opinion it was said:

“Lamm has introduced several bills in the Colo-
rado Legislature which he believes would provide
effective control of outdoor advertising through
exercise of the state police power in lieu of just
compensation. Although he does not specifically
identify to the police power relied upon, we as-
sume here that his bills declared outdoor adver-
tising adjacent to certain highways a public
nuisance, subject to destruction or abatement as
injurious to public safety. We recognize that
police power is a matter of legislative prerogative.
In this field the legislature has wide discretionary
powers. It includes everything essential to public
safety, health, and morals. Cottrell Clothing
Company v. Teets, 139 Colo. 558, 342 P. 2d
1016 (1959). Police power should not be con-
fused with eminent domain, in that the former
controls the use of property by the owner for the
public good, authorizing its regulation and de-
struction without compensation, whereas the
latter takes property for public use and compen-
sation is given for property taken, damaged or
destroyed. Chicago B. & Q. Railway v. State of
Illinois ex rel. Drainage Comm’rs., 200 U.S.
561, 26 S. Ct. 341, 50 L. Ed. 596 (1906);
Appeal of White, 287 Pa. 259, 134 A. 409
(1926); Annot., 53 A.L.R. 1215 (1928).

“Here the power of regulation has not been pre-
empted by the Congress. But that begs the point.
The Congress has clearly determined that the
‘taking’ of outdoor advertisements adjacent to

—

federal-aid highways required ‘just compensa-
tion.’ The Tenth Amendment has been construed
‘as not depriving the national government of
authority to resort to all means for the exercise
of a granted power which are appropriate and
plainly adapted to the permitted end.’ United
States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100, 124, 61 S. Ct.
451, 462, 85 L. Ed. 609 (1941)... .”

Lamm v. Volpe does not pass on the question before us —
the question of whether advertising signs can be eliminated
without payment of compensation except as amortization
may represent just compensation. The case simply points
up that Lamm wanted to adopt the approach used here by
the City rather than the method used by the federal govern-
ment in the Highway Beautification Act and the method
subsequently adopted by the State of Colorado. Although at
time of trial the City made a half-hearted attempt to show
that the ordinance was passed in the interest of public
safety, the unsupported conclusions of its witness were
totally destroyed by the testimony of plaintiffs’ expert,
and there was no believable testimony that the ordinance is
in any way related to public safety. In fact, the City fell
back on an environmental approach and it relied on its
expert, Stuart L. Udall, former Secretary of the Interior, and
a lawyer who is “presently involved in environmental plan-
ning,” Mr. Udall testified:

“.. The visual environment obviously is a very
important component, and the environment of
course as we understand it now is the science of
inter-relating all this bundle of things that we
used to consider separately, and obviously the
visual part of the environment, the appearance of
a city, for example, whether we’re talking about

a= 39

the natural beauty of a city or the inter-relation-
ship between the natural beauty and those activi-
ties of man which alter that environment. This is
obviously a very important component of the en-
vironment... .

“_. . The visual aspect of a community of a region
is obviously a very important element of the en-
vironmental planning that indeed encompasses
the total environment. It has to involve itself
in policy with regard to signs, with regard to
graphics, with regard to the mix between the
natural world and the man activities that are
involved. So, of course, when you narrow this to
the subject of signs as an element of the environ-
ment, the question of uses becomes a critical
question.”

Although Mr. Udall suggested that city beautification is
a public concern of quite recent origin, it was recognized
by the Supreme Court almost twenty years ago in Berman
v. Parker (1954) 348 U.S. 26. Justice Douglas there said:

“If those who govern the District of Columbia
decide that the Nation’s Capital should be beauti-
ful as well as sanitary, there is nothing in the
Fifth Amendment that stands in the way.”

But Justice Douglas added:

“The rights of these property owners are satisfied
when they receive that just compensation which
the Fifth Amendment exacts as the price of the
taking.”

Justice Douglas and Mr. Udall see eye to eye on the sub-
ject, because Mr. Udall’s testimony continued:

—40 —

[He testified that he was familiar with the High-
way Beautification Act and that he participated
in its formulation.]

“I think in the beginning, within the administra-
tion, once it was decided that this should be
added as a major amendment to the entire State
Highway Act of 1956, the question of how this
could be accomplished was widely discussed and
there really were two alternatives that you have
if a government desires to eliminate undesirable
signs, and one is immediate condemnation and
payment — full payment for the value of what is
taken. The other is some kind of a scheme of
amortization, and these two were discussed and
considered initially, and the plan that Congress
finally adopted was a taking, and outright pay-
ment.

“THE COURT: Let me interrupt a minute, Mr.
Udall, and see if I follow you. Do you feel as an
expert in the field that signs can be taken under
either of two alternative methods; first a method
of immediate condemnation with the payment of
just compensation? Or, in the alternative, a de-
layed taking which permits an amortization of the
investment? ”

“THE WITNESS: I think these clearly are the
two alternatives, yes.

“THE COURT: So, that if a community, if a
government elects to follow the second alterna-

2As will be discussed later, the impromptu use of the word “investment”
was inartful. The phrase “fair market value” should have been used in-
stead of “investment.”

—_—

tive, the validity of that election is dependent
upon the sufficiency of the amortization pro-
vided, isn’t that true?

“THE WITNESS: Where [whether] it’s reason-
able, yes.” *

In Rabinoff v. District Court (1961) 145 Colo. 225,
360 P. 2d 114, Judge Doyle [with Judge McWilliams con-
curring] quoted with approval some of the same language
we have quoted from Berman v. Parker, and in Rabinoff
mention is made of the fact that the Colorado Constitution
differs in its language from the Fifth Amendment and this
is one of the reasons we did not abstain on the Fifth Amend-
ment claim.

Accordingly, we have no difficulty in concluding that if
the citizens of the City and County of Denver wish to elim-
inate some or all signs, they may do so if they are willing
to follow the procedures required of the federal govern-
ment under the Highway Beautification Act, the procedures
adopted by the State of Colorado, and procedures said by
their own special counsel-expert witness to be necessary.
In other words, a legislative determination that the elim-
ination of signs is in furtherance of an aesthetic public pur-
pose is entirely proper, and the only question which re-
mains is whether the Denver ordinance provides for the
payment of whatever just compensation the Fifth Amend-
ment demands. As a corollary to this question is the de-
termination of whether the ordinance is a regulation en-

3Admittedly, Mr. Udall was testifying as an expert on the law at this point,
but it came out during his direct examination as an expert for the city,
and we regard his statement of position as being in effect a statement of
position made by “special counsel”—especially when his contract of em-
ployment by the city is studied.

a. vo

acted under the city’s police power, thereby eliminating
necessity for the payment of any compensation.

Volumes have been written on the subject, and the courts
have been unable to formulate or agree upon any precise
rule to distinguish between a permissible regulation and an
impermissible taking. We follow the mandate of United
States v. Central Eureka Mining Co., supra, to ascertain the
particular facts of our case.

We reiterate that the Denver ordinance by its terms pretty
much contradicts the City’s argument that no compensation
is required, because the ordinance does not attempt to im-
pose an immediate prohibition on any signs. It sets up an
amortization schedule keyed to cost of replacement, and,
under the decided cases, this is a recognition that some com-
pensation is owed. Under Denver’s ordinance, a sign which
would cost $3,000 to replace must be torn down in two
years, while a sign which would cost $15,001 to replace can
remain standing five years. The ordinance ignores the actual
investment of the owner, it ignores the market value of the
sign, and it ignores the extent to which a particular owner
has recaptured either his investment or the sign’s market
value, just as it disregards the length of the unexpired lease-
hold term. It fails in these respects in the face of the follow-
ing facts which were proven at trial:

1. There is no correlation between signs and public safety
or accidents, nor was there any proof that signs cause acci-
dents. The proof was to the contrary.

2. Most signs are leased for five year terms, and approx-
imately three-fourths of the leases are renewed for an addi-
tional term or terms. Although the lessor sign companies
attempt to make a small profit during the initial leasehold
term, the real profit is derived from the renewals, and, addi-

= yoo

tionally, the lessee gets a better deal during the renewal
term. Thus, both parties have a business incentive to renew.

3. There is a market for the sale of sign leases, and sales
prices of sign leases include an increment of the probability
of renewal of the lease.

4. All signs, over varying periods of time, become ob-
solete, and when they do, they are removed.

5. Almost without exception, the signs are not adaptable
for use elsewhere, and typically, the salvage value of a
sign which must be removed does not equal removal cost.

6. Physical depreciation of signs is minimal. This is
evidenced by the fact that the Assessor of the City and
County of Denver does not permit depreciation of signs for
property tax purposes. [The City offered no evidence that
the Assessor will change his position even as to signs which
must be destroyed under the ordinance.]

7. Every sign in Denver was erected under a permit
charged for and issued by the City.

8. In the opinion of most people, many signs and their
proliferation are garish eyesores, but due to oddities in the
ordinance, some of the most aesthetically offensive signs
remain perfectly legal under the ordinance.

9. Flashing, blinking, fluctuating or animated signs are
typically the most expensive, but, except for aesthetic con-
siderations, the evidence failed to establish any reason they
should be removed sooner than other signs. Additionally,
the evidence established the fact that because of the design
of such signs, their utility is greatly diminished or destroyed
if the movable characteristics of such signs are eliminated.
If the blinking, flashing or animation is shut off, the func-
tion of the signs would be severely impaired, and the

cul ainn

leases between the parties would be effectively terminated,
because the lessee would not be receiving that which he
bargained for.

10. Plaintiffs lawfully invested substantial sums of
money in the manufacture and erection of signs or in the
leasing of signs erected on their premises.

11. In many instances, the market value of the lessees’
businesses will be diminished if the signs are removed.

12. As to most of the signs, the ordinance prohibits any
use rather than merely restricting the type or extent of use
of the signs.

13. Because they are custom made, there is no other
location within or without the City and County of Denver
at which the signs can be used.

14. There is no relationship between replacement cost
and unexpired leasehold term, and there is but limited re-
lationship between replacement cost and either market
value or useable life. There is a relationship between in-
vestment and replacement cost, but they are a far cry from
being identical.

Defendants initially urge that because of the presump-
tive constitutionality of any legislative act we must search
for some rationale which will support constitutionality and
they stress that we cannot substitute our judgment for that
of City Council. They cite cases such as Baum v. Denver,
147 Colo. 104, 363 P. 2d 688, Bird v. City of Colorado
Springs, ___Colo.___., 489 P. 2d 324, Standard Oil Com-
pany v. City of Marysville, 279 U.S. 582, and Goldblatt v.
Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590. These cases support and
we agree with these broadly stated legal principles. Here, de-
fendants elected to try to support the constitutionality of the

>

ordinance on their environmental theory, and their own
expert testified that just compensation in one form or an-
other is required. Moreover, we say again that the ordinance
itself demonstrates Council’s determination that compen-
sation by way of amortization is necessary. As stated in de-
fendants’ brief, the case “involves no more and no less than
a determination, within the scope of permissible judicial
review, of whether the amortization periods provided by the
ordinance are reasonable.” No presumption of constitution-
ality and no deference to legislative wisdom will bail out the
ordinance if it in fact effects a taking without the payment
of just compensation.

Starting from defendants’ simplified statement of the
case; i.e., the statement that the case involves the single
question of whether the amortization periods are reason-
able, we refer at once to an annotation in 22 A.L.R. 3rd
1134, entitled “Validity of Provisions for Amortization
of Nonconforming Uses.” A review of the cases there dis-
cussed demonstrates that with only a few exceptions, reas-
onable amortization periods have been held to eliminate
need for the payment of just compensation. This seems to
be the rule in Colorado. Service Oil Co. v. Rhodus (1972)
____Colo , 500 P. 2d 807. Probably no case has been
more frequently cited in support of the constitutionality of
required amortization of non-conforming uses than Naegele
Outdoor Advertising Co. v. Village of Minnetonka (1968)
(Minn.) 162 N. W. 2d 206. There, the village required the
removal of all non-conforming billboards within three years.
Naegele limited its attack to a contention that the ordinance
was unconstitutional on its face, and the question of whether
it was unconstitutional in its application, which is included
in our case, was not there presented. The ordinance was
upheld, and the Minnesota Court said:

—

“Plaintiff cannot successfully challenge this ordi-
nance as unconstitutional on its face unless it
would be unconstitutional as applied to the prop-
erty interests of every billboard owner. The un-
derlying issue in making this determination must
therefore be whether the amortization period pro-
vided by the statute is reasonable. If the value of
plaintiff's property interest was extinguished be-
fore the running of the 3-year period, there would
be no taking, or if the value of freedom from new
competition for the statutory period equalled the
value of the property interest remaining at the
end of the period, there would be just compensa-
tion for the taking. In either case, the length of
the amortization period is reasonable and the or-
dinance therefore is constitutional. Moreover,
since several conceivable applications of the ordi-
mance are reasonable, it is not unconstitutional
by its terms. The question then becomes one of
the unconstitutional application of the ordinance
in a given case, and the burden is on plaintiff to
establish that the ordinance, as applied, is uncon-
stitutional. Plaintiff, however, has based its chal-
lenge on the argument that the ordinance is un-
constitutional on its face and has introduced little
or no evidence that the 3-year amortization
period is unreasonable as applied.

“Finally, plaintiff claims that it was deprived
of its property interest in the leases themselves.
If a property right is taken for a public use,
compensation by payinent of its fair market value
is required. In the case of a taking of a lease-

——

hold interest, this amount ‘is the fair rental
value of the premises less the amount of the rent
for the remainder of the term.’ In re Assessment
for Widening Third Street in St. Paul, 176 Minn.
389, 390, 223 N.W. 458.

“Ten of the leases in question are oral and
amount to no more than month-to-month ten-
ancies. The value of such a leasehold is limited
to the rental value of the premises for 30 days
less the rent payment for that period. Riebs v.
Milwaukee County Park Comm., 252 Wis. 144,
31 N.W. 2d 190. The other 8 leases are written
and vary in length from 1 to 10 years. However,
plaintiff has offered no evidence on the fair
market value of any of these leases at the end of
the statutory amortization period. Thus, it is im-
possible for us to say that there has been such a
taking of a valuable property interest from plain-
tiff as to render this application of the ordinance
unconstitutional.”

Here, of course, plaintiffs have presented evidence on the
subjects not decided by Naegele, and, as we shall discuss
later, the Minnesota Court’s definition of market value of
a leasehold does not square with present Fifth Amendment
law. Moreover, in Naegele, all billboards were treated alike,
' while here amortization periods vary with cost of replace-
ment. The uncontradicted expert testimony in this case
was to the effect, and we find, that there is no conceivable
economic or accounting theory which lengthens or shortens
the amortization period on the basis of replacement cost of
a sign. The Internal Revenue Service would give short shrift
to any such contention, and so do we. Carried to its inev-
itable illogical conclusion, owners of small homes would

— poe

have to get out without payment for their houses at the end
of two years, but owners of more expensive homes couldn’t
be thrown out for five years. Highways could be built
through residential areas, and the smaller homeowners
could be thrown out in two years, but owners of luxury
homes could stay put for five years, albeit none of the
owners would ever be paid a dime for their homes.

Amortization is but a function of depreciation, and a
smaller house of equivalent construction doesn’t depreciate
more rapidly than does a larger one, and neither does a
smaller sign built from the same materials as a larger one
depreciate in 2/5ths of the time it takes a more expensive
one to wear out. These comments we make not in
support of any equal protection determination, but, rather
we make them as illustrative of the manifest unreasonable-
ness of the amortization schedules in the Denver ordinance,
even if amortization be held to be a type of payment of just
compensation.

With this caveat to the ordinance’s varying allowable
amortization periods tied to replacement costs, we mention
that without extended discussion by the Court, a five year
amortization period for all nonconforming signs was upheld
in E. B. Elliott Advertising Co. v. Metropolitan Dade
County (1970) 5 Cir. 425 F. 2d 1141. The Court held
that elimination of signs was in furtherance of a permissible
legislative determination of public purpose [a determination
we have already made in this case], and in addressing itself
to the Fifth Amendment question, the court said:

“The final issue presented by this appeal is
whether Ordinance No. 63-26 deprives the appel-
lants and others of their class of their property
without just compensation contrary to the due

a S

process requirements of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. See Panhandle E. Pipe Line Co. v. State
Highway Comm., 294 U.S. 613, 55 S. Ct. 563,
79 L. Ed. 1090 (1935).

“Ordinance No. 63-26 was enacted on July 2,
1963, and provides that nonconforming signs may
continue to be maintained until March 1, 1968,
thus providing an amortization period of five
years. In Standard Oil Co. v. City of Tallahassee,
N.D. Fla. 1949, 87 F. Supp. 145, aff’d. 5 Cir.
1950, 183 F. 2d 410, cert. den. 340 U.S. 892,
71 S. Ct. 208, 95 L. Ed. 647, it was held a zoning
ordinance requiring the discontinuance of a non-
conforming use after the expiration of a five-year
amortization period did not constitute a depriva-
tion of property without due process of law.
Accord, Naegele Outdoor Adv. Co. v. Village of
Minnetonka, Minn. 1968, 162 N.W. 2d 206; City
of Seattle v. Martin, 1959, 65 Wash. 2d. 541,
342 P. 2d 602; Grant v. Mayor and City Coun-
cil of Baltimore, 212 Md. 301, 129 A. 2d 363
(1957); City of Los Angeles v. Gage, 1954, 127
Cal. App. 2d 442, 274 P. 2d 34. Therefore, the
requirement contained in the ordinance that all
nonconforming signs be removed by March 1,
1968, does not constitute a taking of property for
which compensation must be given under the
Fourteenth Amendment.”

At time of trial, we thought that E. B. Elliott Advertising
Co., supra, Was persuasive authority for upholding an or-
dinance which would require removal of all non-conforming
signs at the end of a five year period, but E. B. Elliott Ad-
vertising Co., supra, was decided and our trial was held

—

before January 16, 1973, the date on which Almota Farmers
Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United States,___U.S
was decided.‘ Our trial date thinking stemmed from the
evidence that almost all sign leases were for a five year
period and from a belief that the leasehold term fixed
the measure of compensation. Colloquy in the record
shows that we so understood United States v. Petty Motor
Co. (1945) 327 U.S. 372. We understood Petty
Motor Co. as did the four dissenting Justices in Almota
Farmers Elevator and Warehouse Company, where, speak-
ing for the dissent, Justice Rehnquist said:

“In United States v. Petty Motor Co., supra, the
Government acquired by condemnation the use
of a structure occupied by tenants in possession
under leases for various unexpired terms. The
Court held that the measure of damages for con-
demnation of a leasehold is the value of the ten-
ant’s use of the leasehold for the remainder of the
agreed term, less the agreed rent. The Court con-
sidered the argument, essentially the same raised
by petitioner here, that a history of past renewal
of the leases to existing tenants creates a com-
pensable expectancy, but held that the right to
compensation should be measured solely on the
basis of the remainder of the tenant’s term under
the lease itself. 327 U.S., at

380. In so deciding, the Court stated:

‘The fact that some tenants had occu-
pied their leaseholds by mutual con-

4Both also antedated Shulter v. United States (1973) 10 Cir. 470 F. 2d
1143.

—_ oe

sent for long periods of years does not
add to their rights. Emery v. Boston
Terminal Co., 178 Mass. 172, 185, 59
N.E. 763 [per Holmes, C. J.]:

‘ “Tt appeared that the owners had been
in the habit of renewing the petitioners’
lease from time to time. . . . Change-
able intentions are not an interest in
land, and although no doubt such in-
tentions may have added practically to
the value of the petitioners’ holding,
they could not be taken into account in
determining what the respondent
should pay. They added nothing to the
tenants’ legal rights, and legal rights
are all that must be paid for. Even if
such intentions added to the saleable
value of the lease, the addition would
represent a speculation on a chance,
not a legal right.”’ 327 U.S., at 390
n. 9.

“The holding in Petty was consistent with a long
line of cases to the effect that the Fifth Amend-
ment does not require, in a taking of a property
interest, compensation for mere expectancies of
profit, or for the frustration of licenses or con-
tractual rights which pertain to the land, but
which are not specifically taken and which are
not vested property interests. Omnia Commer-
cial Co. v. United States, 261 U.S. 502, 510
(1923); Sinclair Pipe Line Co. v. United States,
287 F. 2d 175, 178 (Ct. Cl. 1961); Chicago, M.,
St. P. & P. R. Co. v. Chicago, R. I. & P. R. Co.,

—

138 F. 2d 268, 270-271 (CA8 1943), cert. de-
nied, 320 U.S. 804 (1944).”

Because of our misunderstanding of Petty Motor Co., it
was with reluctance that we permitted testimony concerning
the probability of renewal; that such probability is traded
in the marketplace and is subject to market value determi-
nation. It is fortunate that we did permit the testimony, be-
cause the majority in Almota Farmers Elevator and Ware-
house Company held:

“In view of this conflict in the circuits, we granted
certiorari, 405 U.S. 1039, to decide an important
question of eminent domain law: ‘Whether, upon
condemnation of a leasehold, a lessee with no
right of renewal is entitled to receive as com-
pensation the market value of its improvements
without regard to the remaining term of its lease
because of the expectancy that the lease would
have been renewed.

SC EDSCSEEEOBVWAPOASI COD Cee ee reef O24 22 68 8S

“The Fifth Amendment provides that private
property shall not be taken for public use with-
out ‘just compensation.’ ‘And “just compensa-
tion” means the full monetary equivalent of the
property taken. The owner is to be put in the
same position monetarily as he would have occu-
pied if his property had not been taken.’ United
States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14, 16 (footnotes
omitted). See also United States v. Miller, 317
U.S. 369, 373. To determine such monetary
equivalence, the Court early established the con-
cept of ‘market value’: the owner is entitled to the
fair market value of his property at the time of

— =

the taking. New York v. Sage, 239 U.S. 57, 61.
See also United States v. Reynolds, supra, at 16;
United States v. Miller, supra, at 374. And this
value is normally to be ascertained from ‘what
a willing buyer would pay in cash to a willing
seller.’ United States v. Miller, supra, at 374. See
United States v. Virginia Electric and Power
Co., 365 U.S. 624, 633.

“By failing to value the improvements in place
over their useful life — taking into account the
possibility that the lease would be renewed as well
as the possibility that it might not — the Court of
Appeals in this case failed to recognize what a
willing buyer would have paid for the improve-
ments. If there had been no condemnation, Al-
mota would have continued to use the improve-
ments during the renewed lease term, or if it sold
the improvements to the fee owner or to a new
lessee at the end of the lease term, it would have
been compensated for the buyer’s ability to use
the improvements in place over their useful life.

“United States v. Petty Motor Co., 327 U.S. 372,
upon which the Government primarily relies,
does not lead to a contrary result. The Court did
indicate that the measure of damages for the con-
demnation of a leasehold is to be measured in
terms of the value of its use and occupancy for
the remainder of the lease term, and the Court
refused to elevate an expectation of renewal into a
compensable legal interest. But the Court was not
dealing there with the fair market value of im-
provements. Unlike Petty Motor, there is no ques-

—

tion here of creating a legally cognizable value
where none existed, or of compensating a mere in-
corporeal expectation. The petitioner here has
constructed the improvements and seeks only
their fair market value. Petty Motor should not
be read to allow the Government to escape pay-
ing what a willing buyer would pay for the same

eoeeeeeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeevreeeeeeeeeeeeeene

“At the time of the taking in this case, there was
an expectancy that the improvements would be
used beyond the lease term. But the Government
has sought to pay compensation on the theory
that at that time there was no possibility that the
lease would be renewed and the improvements
used beyond the lease term. It has asked that
the improvements be valued as though there were
no possibility of continued use. That is not how
the market would have valued such improve-
ments; it is not what a private buyer would have
paid Almota.

“*The constitutional requirement of just com-
pensation derives as much content from the basic
equitable principles of fairness, United States v.
Commodities Trading Corp., 339 U.S. 121, 124
(1950), as it does from technical concepts of
property law.’”

Almota emphatically holds that market value’ over the
useful life of the improvements is the test. Almota rejects
the unexpired leasehold term as the measure of value, and

™Market value” is the established test in the law, and the court’s reference
at time of trial to an owner’s “investment” was inadvertent.

—

it demands that the provable value of a probability of re-
newal must be paid for. Read in the way most favorable
to upholding its constitutionality, the Denver ordinance
by its terms uses “replacement cost” as the measure of value,
and, based on the record made, it may vaguely relate the
amortization period to unexpired leasehold term, but it cer-
tainly does not permit amortization over useful life. If
Almota means what we think it says, even the longest amor-
tization permitted under the Denver ordinance does not
approach compensating the owners for the value of the
signs over their useful life, even if amortization is said to
be permissible compensation. Therefore, whatever may
have been the law before 1973, after Almota, it must be
held that the amortization provided by the Denver ordi-
nance does not meet the Fifth Amendment’s requirement
for the payment of just compensation.’ Legislative rough
approximations of just compensation won’t do.

Almota effectively disposes of this case,’ but additional
comments are in order. The hairline distinction between
permissible regulation and compensable taking is fully dis-
cussed in the majority and dissenting opinions in City of St.
Paul v. Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis and Omaha Railway
Company (1969 8 Cir.) 413 F. 2d 762. The majority held
that a height restriction on future buildings which could be
erected on the railroad’s lands was permissible. The major-
ity said, inter alia:
®Just what overall effect Almota has on the constitutionality of amortiza-

tion of non-conforming uses we leave for another day and, we hope,
another court.

‘Amicus Consumers for Better Signs and Plan Metro Denver distinguishes
Almota on the ground that it was an eminent domain case, and, says
Amicus, Almota is therefore inapplicable. We do not subscribe to the
theory that the applicability of the Fifth Amendment is governed by the
nomenclature or form of the action.

—= 56 —

“Neither constitutional provision interposes a
barrier to the imposition of restrictions on the use
of private property if a zoning ordinance is en-
acted pursuant to a valid exercise of the police
power. Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, 369
ie

“The test is whether the enactment falls within
that power is one of reasonableness.

“The zoning ordinance will be sustained unless
its ‘* * * provisions are clearly arbitrary and
unreasonable, having no substantial relation to
the public health, safety, morals, or general
welfare.

2-96 6 S08. 62.8 O19 SO 2S. 6 2A 6 S.6 6S OOOH 66 4 8:4. 2 SE SO

“The mere fact that the ordinance seriously
depreciates the value of the complainants’ prop-
erty is not enough to establish its invalidity.
Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, supra at 594,
82 S. Ct. at 990, American Wood Products Co.
v. City of Minneapolis, 21 F. 2d 440, 444 (D.
Minn. 1927) (J. Sanborn), aff'd, 35 F. 2d 657
(8th Cir. 1929); Kiges v. City of St. Paul, 62
N.W. 2d at 369. Nor can it be invalidated on the
grounds that aesthetic considerations will be fur-
thered if it is permitted to stand. Berman v.
Parker, 348 U.S. 6,....

“No evidence was offered at trial to show: that
the ordinance was designed to restrict competi-
tion, compare, Pearce v. Village of Edina, 263
Minn. 553, 118 N.W. 2d 659, 671, n. 1 (1962);
or that the railroads acquired the property with
the expectation that it would be used in the man-

—

ner they now seek, compare, Alexander v. City
of Minneapolis, 267 Minn. 155, 125 N.W. 2d
583, 585 (1963); or that the railroads cannot
continue to use their property as they have in
the past.”

Judge Mehaffey filed a vigorous dissent. He said:
“The majority opinion is erroneously based first
on the mistaken assumption that there is no ‘tak-
ing’ of appellees’ property, and hence no viola-
tion of the mandate of the Fifth Amendment that
‘* * * nor shall private property be taken for
public use, without just compensation,’ and
Artical 1, § 13 of the Minnesota Constitution
which provides that ‘private property shall not
be taken, destroyed or damaged for public use
without just compensation therefor, first paid or
secured.’ The Supreme Court has long and con-
sistently held that governmental restrictions can
so diminish the value of property as to constitute
a taking. In United States v. Central Eureka
Mining Co., 357 U.S. 155, 168, 78 S. Ct. 1097,
1104, 2 L. Ed. 2d 1228 (1958), the Court said:

‘Traditionally, we have treated the
issue as to whether a particular govern-
mental restriction amounted to a con-
stitutional taking as being a question
properly turning upon the particular
circumstances of each case. * * * Jn
doing so, we have recognized that ac-
tion in the form of regulation can so
diminish the value of property as to
constitute a taking.’ ” [Emphasis by
the Court]

=

The dissenting opinion then distinguishes the cases on
which the majority relied [and in large part they are the
cases urged by the City here] and Judge Mehaffey expressed
the strong view that the St. Paul ordinance effected a taking.
On rehearing, to consider the effect, if any, of Indiana Toll
Road Commission v. Jankovich, 379 U.S. 487, the judges
adhered to their earlier views. We do not think that even the
views of the majority in City of St. Paul are particularly
supportive of the City’s contentions here. A reading of the
opinions in that case convinces that the ordinance was up-
held because reasonable uses of the property by the rail-
road company remained, and the St. Paul ordinance re-
stricted only the type of use instead of prohibiting all use
as does the Denver sign ordinance. In Jankovich, the Su-
preme Court held that the writ of certiorari had been
improvidently granted for the reason that the decision of
the Indiana Supreme Court was based upon state rather
than federal constitutional grounds. The Indiana Court
held that an ordinance of the City of Gary limiting the
height of improvements in airway approach lanes to 18
feet was a taking which required the payment of compen-
sation, and in dismissing the writ of certiorari, Justice
White said:

“The Indiana Supreme Court had before it a
case in which the effect of the ordinance was to
establish a maximum height of 18 feet for struc-
tures on respondent’s land. Although it recognized
that zoning regulations may be upheld as a rea-
sonable exercise of the police power ‘where the
owner of property is merely restricted in the use
and enjoyment of his property’ 244 Ind. at 581,
193 N.E. 2d at 240-241, the court held that a
taking requiring compensation—rather than

—

mere regulation— was effected here because
‘the City of Gary has attempted, by the passage
of the ordinance under consideration, to take and
appropriate to its own use the ordinary usable
air space of property adjacent to the Gary
Airport.’ ”

Justice White said that no opinion was expressed as to
the constitutionality of the ordinance under the Fifth
Amendment, and we do not quote the case as an expression
of any such view. However, his opinion does make the
distinction we deem applicable — the distinction between
a restriction on type of use and a prohibition against any
reasonable use [and in our case a prohibition against any
use at all.] Where the ordinance does no more than to
reasonably restrict uses, leaving available other uses, it
properly can be said to be within the police power and
payment of compensation is not required. Where the ordi-
nance prohibits any use or where it prohibits all reasonable
uses, there is a taking, and the Fifth Amendment comes into
play and demands the payment of just compensation. The
Denver ordinance is in the second category, and, unless
payment of just compensation is provided for, the ordinance
must fall.

An illustration of the distinction between restrictions on
the use of property and orders for the destruction of prop-
erty can be drawn from the current public debate over the
environmental problem of air pollution caused by automo-
biles. There is much grumbling over threatened gasoline
rationing which would curtail the use of automobiles, but,
assuming, arguendo, that such a regulation would be a
valid exercise of the police power permitting reasonable
restrictions on the use of automobiles, the same cleanliness
of the air could be more expeditiously obtained by ordering

— =

the destruction of fifty percent of the automobiles in the
country." The general public would immediately cry out
that such a command was unconstitutional under the Fifth
Amendment as an uncompensated taking. The Denver ordi-
nance is no less unconstitutional just because it is aimed
at sign companies instead of drawing bead on the public
at large.

The headon collision between claims of police power
and constitutional protections is as old as is our country.
Just so long as their own property is not the object of attack,
zealots are eager to bring about their ends through police
power claims, but the limitations on the accomplishment of
such righteous desires has never been better expressed than
in the words of Justice Holmes in Pennsylvania Coal Co.
v. Mahon (1922) 260 U.S. 393:

“. . . The protection of private property in the
Fifth Amendment . . . provides that it shall not be
taken for [public] use without compensation. .. .
When this seemingly absolute protection is found
to be qualified by the police power, the natural
tendency of nature is to extend the qualification
more and more until at last private property dis-
appears. But that cannot be accomplished in this
way under the Constitution of the United
States. ...

“We are in danger of forgetting that a strong pub-
lic desire to improve the public condition is not
enough to warrant achieving the desire by a
shorter cut than the constitutional way of paying
for the change.” [emphasis supplied. ]

8Under the theory of Denver’s ordinance, Vegas would have to be de-

stroyed in two years, Impalas in three years, Oldsmobiles in four years
and Cadillacs in five years.

— je

Perhaps [and we do not pass on the question] if City
Council wishes, or if a majority of the people of the City
wish, all or any part of the signs in Denver can be eliminated.
But, if so, they can be eliminated only in accordance with
the requirements of the Fifth Amendment, and the pro-
hibitions against shortcuts mentioned by Justice Holmes
are still enjoined by the Constitution. At best, if City Coun-
cil wishes, or if a majority of the people of the City wish,
all or any part of the signs in Denver can be eliminated by
an ordinance which provides for the payment of “the full
monetary equivalent of the property taken (which includes)
what a willing buyer would have paid . . . for the buyer’s
ability to use the improvements over their useful life.”
Almota Farmers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United States
(1973) U.S. ___.. Denver’s signs can be eliminated
if Denver is willing to provide for such elimination in the
way the federal government and the state has so provided.
Whether Denver wants to incur this expense is a decision
City Council and the taxpayers must make.

We do not hold that immediate full payment in cash is
necessarily the only possible solution. We hold only that
the present Denver ordinance does not provide for the pay-
ment of just compensation. Whether a constitutional ordi-
nance which does not require a cash payment of just com-
pensation can be devised, we leave to the ingenuity of the
City. Our decision today is limited to the existing ordinance
which is all that is before us. Sec. 613.5-5(4) and Sec.
613-5-5(4)(a) are violative of the protections of the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution of the United States, and
they are unconstitutional.

With this determination, we do not reach the other con-
stitutional questions presented, because we should not re-
solve “constitutional questions unless their answers are in-

== 62 —

dispensable to the disposition of the cause before us.”
Stefanelli v. Minard, 342 U.S. 117. See, also, Peters v.
Hobby, 349 U.S. 331, United States v. Spector, 343 U.S.
169, and Toomer v. Witseil, 334 U.S. 385.

Plaintiffs seek injunctive relief against the enforcement
of Sec. 613.5-5(4)(a) of Denver’s Revised Municipal
Code. A preliminary injunction against the enforcement of
that section was granted on December 9, 1971, and that
preliminary injunction is made permanent. As to the
remaining portions of Sec. 613.5-5(4), of the Revised Mu-
nicipal Code of the City and County of Denver, plaintiffs
ask only declaratory relief, and this memorandum opinion
sets forth the findings and conclusions supportive of the
declaratory judgment requested. Plaintiffs are directed to
submit an appropriate form of declaratory judgment within
10 days of the date of this opinion, which judgment shall
include a declaration that Denver’s Revised Municipal
Code, Sec. 613.5-5(4) and Sec. 613.5-5(4)(a) are viola-
tive of the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States because they attempt to accomplish a taking
of property without the payment of just compensation.
Plaintiffs and Intervenor shall be awarded their costs.
Amicus shall bear their own costs.

Dated at Denver, Colorado, this 4th day of April, 1973.

FRED M. WINNER,
United States District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1424%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
