# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shell Oil Co. v. Marinello

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1387%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 415 U.S. 920

## Text

UPREME COURT, U. 8. Supreme Court, U.
. I .

—

rane r : .
Kiyaece > e2 in

Mis
OCTOBER TERM, 1973 (~~~

IN THE EC 26 19
Supreme Court of the uit States

no. 73> JOO 1

SHELL OIL COMPANY,
‘ Petitioner,

FRANK MARINELLO, d/b/a GARDEN SHELL STATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

WILLIAM SIMON

JOHN BODNER, JR.

MICHAEL W. GRANEY

MICHAEL M. LEvy
Howrey, SIMON, BAKER &

MURCHISON

1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006

ANDREW S. POoLITo
MICHAEL D. LOPRETE
MATTSON, MADDEN, POLITo &
LOPRETE
Gateway I at Penn Station
Newark, New Jersey 01702

Attorneys for Petitioner
December 24, 1973.

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. INC. - RE 7-6OO02 - WASHINGTON. D. C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW ............---------:-::--eesesenereceereneetteree

JURISDICTION _ ......-.-.--------s--s----c-nseeeecesesseensnsneneseecesnsnsnnns

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........-----------------------

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SIONS INVOLVED ............---------------- - .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............-----------------2---->

New Jersey Franchise Practices Act ............----.-----
The Shell-Marinello Agreements ...........-----------------

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............-.-

POINT 1: THE DECISION BELOW CONSTITUTES
STATE REGULATION IN AN AREA CONSTI-
TUTIONALLY PREEMPTED BY CONGRESS
AND IS IN CONFLICT WITH RIGHTS ESTAB-
LISHED AND PROTECTED BY FEDERAL
TRADEMARK LAW ..........--.------------:--1rrnn

POINT II: THE DECISION BELOW IMPAIRS VAL-
UABLE CONTRACT RIGHTS IN VIOLATION OF
THE CONTRACT CLAUSE OF THE FEDERAL
CONSTITUTION ..........-----------:----c-c-nenseeseeseeetesnreteete

POINT III: THE DECISION BELOW IS REPUG-
NANT TO OTHER PROVISIONS OF THE FED-
ERAL CONSTITUTION ..........-.--------------------ereo

CONCLUSION .......--------0:---0-n-esesersseensesneseneceecerenennnnsennnnnes
APPENDIX

STS

Il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Inc. v. Schenley
Distillers, Inc., 198 F.Supp. 822 (D. Del. 1961) .. 14
Bibb v. Navajo Freight Lines, Inc., 359 U.S. 520

(1959) 22
Blackburn v. Alabama, 354 U.S. 393 (1957) .. aan 23
Burger King of Florida, Inc. v. Hoots, 403 F.2d

Oe i 17
Columbia Ry., Gas & Electric Co. v. South Caro-

en en dokabbiics 20

Consumers Oil Corp. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

App. No. 73-1597 (8d Cir., Nov. 12, 1978) ....18, 22, 23
Cross Lake Shooting and Fishing Club v. Louisi-

a Te is I I wrest ccecticcentencecsteesrerrerern 20
E. F. Prichard Co. v. Consumers Brewing Co.,

186 F.2d 512 (6th Cir. 1948), cert. denied, 321

U.S. 763 (1944) 15

Fornaris. v. Ridge Tool Co., 423 F.2d 563 (ist
Cir.), rev’d on other grounds, 400 U.S. 41

(Aire eee RENE A TERRE ek ae a een 18, 19
Franklin National Bank v. New York, 347 U.S.

A SER 16
Gibbons v. Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1 (1824) -................... 14
Globe Liquor Co. v. Four Roses Distillers Co., 281

A.2d 19 (Del. Sup. Ct.), cert. denied, 404 U.S.

i dciaiies 19
Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962) ......... 22
Long Sault Development Co. v. Call, 242 U.S. 272

a 20
McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 (1819) ......... 14
Miller-Becker Co. v. P. Ballantine & Sons, Inc.,

9 N.J. Super. 78 (App. Div. 1950) 17
Mister Donut of America, Inc. v. Mr. Donut, Inc.,

418 F.2d 888 (9th Cir. 1969) .............2--.... 14

Pacific Supply Coop. v. Farmers Union Central
Exch., Inc., 318 F.2d 894 (9th Cir. 1963), cert.
denied, 375 U.S. 965 (1964) -................--eeeeeeeeeeeeee 15, 16

Pennslyvania v. Nelson, 350 U.S. 497 (1956) ......... 14

Ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Pennsylvaia v. West Virginia, 262 U.S. 563
(1928) ....n-n-n-ce-nscescssesneseensenensensnssesecensnsensnseesesensoseees 22
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393
(1922) .n...na-a-ne-neascnecssnennenenserasensncnasnensnsensanensnssnsncenes 22
Phoenix Hardware Co. v. Paragon Paint & Varn-
ish Co., 122 N.J. Eq. 140 (E. & A. 1987) -.....-.---- 17
South Carolina State Highway Dept. v. Barnwell
Bros., 303 U.S. 177 (1938) ......-....-----------+e1--00 22
Southern Pacific Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761
(1945) -...-.n.c.c-enscesssecensnsenserenseasesnnseceneneensnsensesensnssoes 22
Superior Motors, Inc. v. Winnebago Industries,
Inc., 359 F.Supp. 773 (D.S.C. 1973) .....-----.--------- 20
Warner Lambert Co. v. Superior Court of Puerto
Rico, No. 0-72-106 (May 9, 1978) .......----------------- 19
United States Constitution:
Article I, Section 8, Clause $ ............---------------- 3, 18, 14
Article I, Section 10 ............-----.-.------+------ 3, 18, 19, 20
Article VI, Clause 2 ...........-..-.----:--------1-- 8, 12, 14, 15
Amendment V_ ......-.------------------------seeerseseeesecseseeeeentee 3,13
Amendment XIV, Section 1 ........-.....----.-:----s-ee--000" 3,13
Statutes:
Dealer’s Contract Law of Puerto Rico (Act No.
75)
10 L.P.R.A. §§ 278 et seq. .....----------+----e-e 18, 19
Delaware Franchise Security Law
6 Del.C. §§ 2551 et seq. .......-.-----.-------eeneeeeeees 19
Judiciary and Judicial Procedure
QB U.S.C. § 1257 (8) .....----------ecececeeeeeeeseesneceneteneess 2

IV
: TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
; Page
Lanham Trade-Mark Act
15 U.S.C. §§ 1051 et seq. ................ 2, 4-5, 8, 12, 18, 14,
15, 16-17
New Jersey Franchise Practices Act
N.J.S.A. 56:10-1 et seq. ............- 2, 5-6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 18,
17, 20-21, 22, 23
Bill:
New Jersey Assembly Bill 2063 (1971) ............ 6-7
Secondary Authorities:
17 Am. JuR. 2d Contracts §§ 495, 496 (1964).... 17
Cahill, Governor’s Veto Message, Assembly Bill
eee 6-7
GORDON’S MODERN ANNOTATED FORMS OF AGREE-
MENT (rev. 1970) 8
Hale, Unconstitutional Conditions and Constitu-
tional Rights, 35 Co. L. REv. 21 (1935) .......... 22
Note, Unconstitutional Conditions, 73 Harv. L.
REv. 1595 (1960) __... AE SS ae Oe a 22
PERMIT OPAL ENTER LLG II LR PEO OE OA | IG SELLS SELENE RDS TRANS BF GGL CR NSIS

TBR SHRM RS eR

SP EEN G3, BOLLE I BIER

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-

SHELL OIL COMPANY,
Petitioner,
V.

FRANK MARINELLO, d/b/a GARDEN SHELL STATION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

Petitioner Shell Oil Company respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opin-
ion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey entered in this
proceeding on July 11, 1973, or, in the alternative, that
this proceeding be remanded to the Supreme Court of
New Jersey for further consideration.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey
(A-1 to A-10) is reported at 63 N.J. 402. The opinion
of the Superior Court of New Jersey (A-12 to A-47)
is reported at 120 N.J. Super. 357.

2
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of New Jersey was
entered on July 11, 1973, and its further order denying
rehearing (A-11) was entered on August 30, 1973. The
time for filing this petition for a writ of certiorari was
extended to and including December 24, 1973 by order
of Mr. Justice Brennan dated November 19, 1973. This
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257
(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The basic question presented is whether the state court
decision below contravenes paramount provisions of the
Federal Constitution and statutory law. This question
in turn raises three subsidiary questions:

(1) Whether the Lanham Trade-Mark Act (15
U.S.C. §§ 1051 et seg.), which creates substantive
federal rights in trademark owners to the exclusive
use in commerce of registered trademarks and which
was enacted specifically “to protect registered marks
used in such commerce from interference by State,
or territorial legislation,” overrides state law creat-
ing independent rights in third parties to the use of
registered trademarks?

(2) Whether the state court below unconstitu-
tionally impaired valuable contract rights by retro-
actively applying the “good cause” termination re-
quirement of the New Jersey Franchise Practices
Act to preexisting agreements between Shell and
Marinello?

(3) Whether the holding of the state court below
(i.e., that a franchisor cannot terminate real estate
and supply agreements except for good cause) vio-
lated the requirements of due process and placed
unconstitutional conditions and burdens upon sellers

| 8

of trademarked products engaged in interstate com-
merce in New Jersey?

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States:
Article I, Section 8, Clause 3.

“The Congress shall have Power . . . [to] regulate
Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the sev-
eral States, and with the Indian Tribes... .”

Article I, Section 10.

“No State shall... pass any . . . Law impairing
the Obligation of Contracts... .”

Article VI, Clause 2.

“This Constitution, and the Laws of the United
States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof...
shall be the supreme Law of the Land... any Thing
in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the Con-
trary notwithstanding.”

Amendment V.

“No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without
just compensation.”

Amendment XIV, Section 1.

“(Nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law... .”

in MATS LEEDS IEEE ELIE NGI ROE MELO. TAT IPB! RRS,

|

Statutes:

Lanham Trade-Mark Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1051 et seq.:
15 U.S.C. § 1055.

“Where a registered mark or a mark sought to be
registered is or may be used legitimately by related
companies, such use shall inure to the benefit of the
registrant or applicant for registration, and such use
shall not affect the validity of such mark or of its
registration, provided such mark is not used in such
manner as to deceive the public.”

15 U.S.C. § 1064(a).

“A verified petition to cancel a registration of a
mark, stating the grounds relied upon, may, upon
payment of the prescribed fee, be filed by any person
who believes that he is or will be damaged by the
registration of a mark on the principal register es-
tablished by this chapter, or under the Act of March
3, 1881, or the Act of February 20, 1905 within five
years from the date of the registration of the mark
under this chapter... .”

15 U.S.C. § 1065.

“Except on a ground for which application to can-
cel may be filed at any time under subsections (ec)
and (e) of section 1064 of this title, and except to
the extent, if any, to which the use of a mark regis-
tered on the principal register infringes a valid
right acquired under the law of any State or Terri-
tory by use of a mark or trade name continuing
from a date prior to the date of the publication
under this chapter of such registered mark, the
right of the registrant to use such registered mark
in commerce for the goods or services on or in con-
nection with which such registered mark has been
in continuous use for five consecutive years subse-
quent to the date of such registration and is still in
use in commerce, shall be incontestable .. . .”

°
.
cecssnansnnannasenet ee OC LOED |

15 US.C. § 1127.

“In the construction of this chapter, unless the
contrary is plainly apparent from the context—

“The word ‘commerce’ means all commerce which
may lawfully be regulated by Congress.

“The term ‘related company’ means any person
who legitimately controls or is controlled by the reg-
istrant or applicant for registration in respect to
the nature and quality of the goods or services in
connection with which the mark is used.

“The intent of this chapter is to regulate com-
merce within the control of Congress by making ac-
tionable the deceptive and misleading use of marks
in such commerce; to protect registered marks used
in such commerce from interference by State, or
territorial legislation ... .”

New Jersey Franchise Practices Act, N.J.S.A. 56:10-1
et seq.:

N.J.S.A. 56:10-3(a).

“ ‘Franchise’ means a written arrangement for a
definite or indefinite period, in which a person grants
to another person a license to use a trade name,
trade mark, service mark, or related characteristics,
and in which there is a community of interest in
the marketing of goods or services at wholesale, re-
tail, by lease, agreement, or otherwise.”

N.JS.A. 56:10-5.

“Tt shall be a violation of this act for a franchisor
to terminate, cancel or fail to renew a franchise
without good cause. For the purposes of this act,
good cause for terminating, canceling, or failing to

ne. — .
Seen Se ais . STS Ue

renew a franchise shall be limited to failure by the
franchisee to substantially comply with those re-
quirements imposed upon him by the franchise.”

N.J.S.A. 56:10-8.

“This act shall not apply to a franchise granted
prior to the effective date of this act, provided, how-
ever, that a renewal of a franchise or an amendment
to an existing franchise shall not be excluded from
the application of this act.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

New Jersey Franchise Practices Act. In 1971, the
New Jersey Legislature passed Assembly Bill 2063, which
proposed for the first time to regulate in New Jersey the
conduct of parties to franchise agreements including the
conditions of termination. The Bill defined a “franchise”
as any agreement whereby “a person grants to another
person a license to use a trade name, trade mark, service
mark, or related characteristics . . . in the marketing of
goods or services.” The Bill further provided in Section
9 that the Act shall not apply to a franchise for a
“definite period of time” granted prior to the effective
date of the Act. Thus, from the outset, both houses of
the State Legislature intended that the new franchise
legislation should apply only prospectively and not retro-
actively to franchise agreements for a fixed term.

After the passage of Assembly Bill 2063, the Governor
carefully reviewed the new legislation and returned the
Bill, with his specific comments and objections, to the
Legislature for reconsideration. In his conditional veto
message, the Governor pointed out that this was a “far-
reaching bill” which made “substantial changes” in the
preexisting law of New Jersey (Veto Message, December
2, 1971, at 1). In this connection, the Governor referred
first to the provision of the franchise law prohibiting

Roe

;

2 I a LG LD EOE GPL IRD Ee GL OO GSI OEP OENC LE ERI NODE OY RY Ate ee eee . 7
BEEP IT OLLIE LEG ELE I ID LL EL IS OCIS

. es oe

the termination of franchise agreements except for “good
cause.” As is evident from the Governor’s message, the
“good cause” termination requirement was regarded as
a key provision of the legislation. In reviewing this
provision, the Governor noted certain ambiguities in it
and recommended “that this language be clarified to
positively state that it shall be a violation of the act for
a franchisor to terminate, cancel or fail to renew a fran-
chise without good cause” (Jd. at 3).

On the question of the retroactive application of the
new law, the Governor stated that, while the Bill provided
that the law shall not apply to a franchise for a “definite
period of time” which was granted prior to its effective
date, this language was ambiguous in that it “infers that
the act would apply to franchises for an ‘indefinite period
of time’ granted prior to the effective date” (Jd. at 4).
The Governor then added:

“Tf such were the case, it would have the effect of
impairing the obligation of existing contracts. This
is prohibited by both the United States and New
Jersey Constitution.” (Jd.)

Accordingly, the Governor recommended “that this lan-
guage be amended so that the act shall not apply to any
existing franchises” (Jd.; emphasis added).

The Legislature, on reconsideration, adopted the Gov-
ernor’s recommendations and specifically amended the
Act to provide that its prohibitions “shall not apply to
a franchise granted prior to the effective date” of the
Act (N.J.S.A. 56:10-8). The Bill was signed into law
by the Governor and became effective on December 21,
1971.

The Shell-Marinello Agreements. In 1969, two years
before the Franchise Practices Act became effective, Shell
Oil Company (“Shell”) renewed its sublease of a service
station in Fort Lee, New Jersey, to Frank Marinello

8 a eee

(“Marinello”) by entering into a three-year written agree-
ment ending May 31, 1972 (N.J. App. 82a-88a).' At
the same time, the parties entered into a written dealer
product agreement for the same period which, among
other things, authorized Marinello to use Shell’s trade-
marks registered under the Lanham Act “to identify and
advertise” the fact that he had Shell’s products for re-
sale (N.J. App. 93a-97a). The dealer product agreement
did not obligate Marinello to purchase any product from
Shell nor did it prohibit him from purchasing and resell-
ing competing products (/d.).

The lease and dealer product agreement with Marinello
were executed on standard contract forms used by Shell
in its business throughout the United States. The termi-
nation provisions in the two agreements are in all ma-
terial respects identical to those found in form books
and traditionally used in every type of business contract
including leases of realty and franchises (see, ¢.9., Gor-
DON’S MODERN ANNOTATED ForMS OF AGREEMENT at 731,
980, 982, 1017 (rev. 1970) ).

At the expiration date of these two agreements, Shell
elected not to renew or enter into new agreements with
Marinello (N.J. App. 89a). Marinello’s own business
records showed that he was not a successful dealer; in
fact, he had been losing money at the service station for
many months before the termination date of the lease and
the dealer product agreement (see record citations, Shell’s
brief below at 7). Shell offered to lease Marinello another
service station more in keeping with his capabilities, but
he rejected this offer, refused to surrender the premises,
and continued to use Shell’s trademark after the termina-
tion of the lease and dealer agreement (Jd. at 17-18).

Marinello brought suit against Shell in the Superior
Court of New Jersey, alleging, among other things, that

1“N.J. App.” refers to Shell’s printed appendix filed with the
New Jersey Supreme Court.

ROL Meh eR Sey ee eee ma —
Sg eee sopangeenotnenna a

EE

9

the nonrenewal of the lease and dealer product agreement
violated the New Jersey Franchise Practices Act (N.J.S.A.
56:10-1 et seqg.). The complaint prayed for declaratory
and other relief including reformation of the two agree-
ments to provide for a lifelong term (N.J. App. la-4a).
The case was then consolidated with a dispossess proceed-
ing which had been brought by Shell (A-19). Deciding
both cases, the Superior Court entered judgment for
Marinello on all claims and reformed both the lease and
the dealer product agreement to provide:

“Shell shall not refuse to renew this agreement so
long as Frank Marinello substantially performs his
obligations to Shell Oil Company under the terms of
the lease and the dealer agreement” (N.J. App. 77a).

Shell appealed to the Appellate Division of the Superior
Court, but before briefs were filed the Supreme Court
of New Jersey sua sponte certified the case to its own
docket (N.J. App. 79a-8la). In a brief opinion, the
Supreme Court affirmed the result reached by the Su-
perior Court, but in doing so changed the rationale of
the decision (A-1-10).

In its opinion, the Supreme Court stated that it was
“unnecessary” to order specific reformation of the lease
and dealer product agreement, since the same end re-
sult could be reached “from consideration of the instru-
ments themselves, the relationship between Shell and
Marinello created thereby, and the public policy of this
State affecting such relationship” (A-4).

The Supreme Court predicated its decision on a holding
that the two agreements (the 3-year lease and the 3-year
dealer product agreement) between Shell and Marinello
constituted a “franchise” arrangement and, therefore,
that the “public policy” of New Jersey required

“that there be read into the existing lease and dealer
agreement, and all future lease and dealer agree-

|

10

ments which may be negotiated in good faith be-
tween the parties, the restriction that Shell not have
the unilateral right to terminate, cancel or fail to
renew the franchise, including the lease, in absence
of a showing that Marinello has failed to substan-
tially perform his obligations under the lease and
dealer agreement, i.e., for good cause... .” (A-9)

In holding that Shell had no legal right to terminate
its sublease or product agreement except for good cause,
the Supreme Court stated that the Franchise Practices
Act did not “directly control” the Shell-Marinello agree-
ments since they antedated the effective date of the
statute, but it ruled that “the provisions of the Act merely
put into statutory form the extant public policy of this
State” (A-8).

In basing its decision on what the Court perceived
to be “the extant public policy’ of New Jersey, the
Supreme Court not only granted Marinello the right to
sublease the service station property and to sell Shell’s
trademarked products for an “indefinite period,” but it
indicated it was leaving undecided the question of whether
these rights were so personal that they would “survive
Marinello’s disability or death” (A-9).

In its opinion, the Supreme Court did not mention
or discuss any of the federal or state constitutional issues
raised by Shell on the appeal. Shell petitioned the Su-
preme Court of New Jersey for a rehearing, pointing
out in particular that by changing the rationale of the
ease and granting Marinello a lifetime (and perhaps
perpetual) right to use Shell’s federal trademarks, the
decision also conflicted with paramount provisions of the
United States Constitution and the federal trademark
law. The Supreme Court, however, denied the petition,
without comment, on August 30, 1973 (A-11).

SSL E ARE IESINEE LR PES OYE IB BREATHLESS SEERA x ne: Pers Wet,
ARS re . ts Tie oS a a 2 ee Pes SrErR ete 2 he, -«)
EASES FEISS SR AY TIES I

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As the basis for its unprecedented holding that an
oil supplier’s service station lease and product agreement
together constituted a franchise terminable only for good
cause, the state court below relied upon its own state-
ment of the general public policy of the State of New
Jersey. In determining what constituted “the extant pub-
lic policy” of New Jersey, the court below considered
the general notion of fairness involved where contracting
parties are in an unequal bargaining position, but then
it looked to the recently enacted Franchise Practices Act.
According to the state court:

“(T]he Act reflects the legislative concern over long-
standing abuses in the franchise relationship, par-
ticularly provisions giving the franchisor the right
to terminate, cancel or fail to renew the franchise.
To that extent the provisions of the Act merely put
into statutory form the extant public policy of this
State.” (A-8; emphasis added)

In basing its decision on its own conception of “the
extant public policy” of the State, the court below over-
looked the significant legislative history of the Franchise
Practices Act and the public pronouncements of the Gov-
ernor which establish that in enacting this new legisla-
tion regulating franchising, the two political branches of
the State government made an explicit determination
that the requirements of the Act (including the ban on
terminations without good cause) should not apply to any
franchise agreements entered into prior to the effective
date of the Act.

Both the Legislature and the Governor of New Jersey,
in considering the Franchise Practices Bill, recognized
that this new legislation would bring about “substantial
changes” in the established law and that it would be un-
fair to apply its provisions to any franchise agreements

entered into prior to the effective date of the statute.
Thus, the Governor wanted the legislation changed spe-
cifically to limit its application to future franchise agree-
ments in the belief that any retroactive application of
the statute would constitute an unconstitutional impair-
ment of the obligation of existing franchise contracts.
On the recommendation of the Governor, the Legislature
amended the originally passed Bill so that it contained
an absolute bar against the retroactive application of the
legislation to all preexisting franchise agreements.

Ignoring this specific State policy as declared by the
Governor and Legislature of New Jersey and embodied
in the Franchise Practices Act, the state court below
applied the “good cause” termination requirements of the
Act to the preexisting lease and dealer product agree-
ments between the parties to this action. In doing so, the
state court not only misconceived the specific public policy
of the State, but it announced a novel principle of law
violative of basic provisions of the Federal Constitution.

Review of the state action below is warranted for three
basic reasons:

First, the decision below, by integrating the service
station lease and the product supply agreement between
Shell and dealer Marinello and denominating the busi-
ness relationship between them as a “franchise,” directly
raises for the first time the question of whether the
State law affecting such a franchise conflicts with the
paramount federal trademark rights of Shell. In Point
I, we show that Congress, in passing the Lanham Trade-
Mark Act of 1946, expressly declared, in accordance with
the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,
that federal law preempts the field of trademark regula-
tion as against any state regulation.

Second, despite the feeble disclaimer to the contrary,
the state court below in substance and effect applied the

TCC ee TT ae te oe ee

“good cause” termination requirement of the Franchise
Practices Act to agreements antedating the passage of
that statute. In Point II, we show that such retroactive
application violates the Impairment of Contract Clause
of the Federal Constitution.

Finally, state law imposing a “good cause” require-
ment for the termination of business agreements between
firms engaged in interstate commerce presents other fed-
eral constitutional infirmities. As discussed in Point III,
the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,
in an opinion issued last month, concluded that the “good
cause” termination provision of New Jersey law raised
“substantial” federal constitutional questions under the
Commerce and Due Process clauses as well as under the
Unconstitutional Conditions doctrine. Consumers Oil
Corp. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., App. No. 73-1597 (3d
Cir., Nov. 12, 1973).

POINT I.

THE DECISION BELOW CONSTITUTES STATE
REGULATION IN AN AREA CONSTITUTIONALLY
PREEMPTED BY CONGRESS AND IS IN CON-
FLICT WITH RIGHTS ESTABLISHED AND PRO-
TECTED BY FEDERAL TRADEMARK LAW.

In 1946, Congress passed the Lanham Act (15 U.S.C.
§§ 1051 et seg.) to regulate fully the registration and
use of trademarks in interstate and foreign commerce.
In the Act, Congress expressed its intention “to protect
registered marks used in such commerce from interference
by State, or territorial legislation” (15 U.S.C. § 1127).
Congress also stated its intention to exhaust its Con-
stitutional powers in the regulation of trademarks when
it defined “commerce” for the purposes of the Act as
meaning “all commerce which may lawfully be regulated
by Congress” (/d.).

14

“ee _f.7*.2 3 & J es A Sd Sad i

Wherever Congress is granted atuhority under the
Constitution to legislate in an area and it has exercised
its power to the fullest in that area, the states have no
authority to legislate on the same subject matter. Mc-
Culloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 (1819) ; Gibbons V.
Ogden, 9 Wheat. 1 (1824) ; Pennsylvania v. Nelson, 350
U.S. 497 (1956). In this instance, where Congress has
manifested its clear intention to use its complete power
under the Commerce Clause to regulate trademarks and
has expressly prohibited any interference by state ac-
tion within that field, the states are thereby preempted
from the field under the Supremacy Clause of the United
States Constitution.

The preemption of the trademark field by Congress
has been recognized most recently in Mister Donut of
America, Inc. v. Mr. Donut, Inc., 418 F.2d 838 (9th Cir.
1969). In that case, the plaintiff tried to defeat a de-
fense to an infringement action provided under Section
33(b) (5) of the Lanham Act (15 U.S.C. § 1115(b) (5)),
interjecting California law to claim trademark rights
broader than those conferred by Congress. The Court
of Appeals held:

“What the effect of this California statutory pro-
vision might be if the Lanham Act had not been
passed by Congress, we need not decide. The Lan-
ham Act has pre-empted the field of trademark law
and controls. It follows that the defense provided
in Sec. 1115(b) (5) of the Act cannot be voided by
state statute.” (Jd. at 844; emphasis added)

Cf. A. Smith Bowman Distillery, Inc. v. Schenley Dis-
tillers, Inc., 198 F.Supp. 822, 825 (D. Del. 1961) (“...
Congress here intended to regulate all it constitutionally
could’).

The decision below, by interfering with Shell’s trade-
mark rights under its dealer agreement with Marinello,
constitutes state action in an area which has been spe-

15

cifically preempted by Congress. Since Congress has
manifested its intention to occupy the field of trademark
regulation, no state court is permitted to regulate trade-
mark owners’ rights or to enlarge the trademark rights
of a licensee.

Apart from federal preemption, the state court holding
below must give way under the Supremacy Clause be-
cause it directly conflicts with rights established and
protected under federal trademark law.

In enacting the Lanham Act, Congress did not merely
adopt or codify existing common law but created “new
substantive rights.” Pacific Supply Coop. V. Farmers
Union Central Exch., Inc., 318 F.2d 894, 905-06 (9th
Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 965 (1964). A trade-
mark owner who registers his trademark under the Lan-
ham Act is given the exclusive right to the use of his
trademark as well as the right to restrain all others
from using it without his permission (15 U.S.C. §§ 1114
(1), 1115(b)(7)). In consequence, a state is without
authority to create trademark rights in a third party in
derogation of the rights conferred by the Lanham Act.
Yet that is precisely what the court below did when it
granted dealer Marinello a lifetime (and perhaps perpet-
ual) right to use Shell’s trademarks.

It is also settled under federal trademark law, both
before and after the passage of the Lanham Act, that a
trademark registrant can license the use of his trademark
for a definite period of time and the licensee’s right to
continue to use the trademark ends upon the termination
or revocation of the license in accordance with its written
terms. E. F. Prichard Co. v. Consumers Brewing Co.,
136 F.2d 512 (6th Cir. 1943), cert. denied, 321 U.S. 763
(1944) ; cf. Pacific Supply Coop. v. Farmers Union Cen-
tral Exch. Inc., supra, 318 F.2d at 909.

— BALIN RON AAO AIL LD EE OEM ENT PNET
PORK TELE MA MPEP N UTIL EVIE Re

RAD i oe ee 4 re

16

Contrary to the holding below, a licensee of a registered
tradematk is entitled to no greater rights than those
conferred in the licensing agreement. Although courts
have recognized that upon termination of a licensing
agreement a licensee may incur financial loss, this fact
confers no equitable rights in the licensee. Considering
this point, the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
recently stated:

“Such a termination with its resultant loss of busi-
ness and profit does not create equitable rights in
the licensee upon which recovery for such losses can
be claimed or established; nor does it create any
form of estoppel against the original licensor. . . .”
Pacific Supply Coop. v. Farmers Union Central
Exch., Inc., supra, 318 F.2d at 909.

In this case, Shell’s rights created and protected by
the Lanham Act are defeated and obstructed by the deci-
sion below, for Shell can no longer grant a license of its
trademarks for a stated term without being subject to
a state action for damages and/or injunctive relief. No
state court can interfere with such federally created
rights, even if done in the name of state public policy.
This Court, in Franklin National Bank v. New York, 347
U.S. 373 (1954), stated the principles applicable to con-
flicts between state and federal law as follows:

ere aeaet

“There appears to be a clear conflict between the
law of New York and the law of the Federal Gov-
ernment. We cannot resolve conflicts of authority
by our judgment as to the wisdom or need of either
conflicting policy. The compact between the states
creating the Federal Government resolves them as a
matter of supremacy. However wise or needful New
York’s policy, a matter as to which we express no
judgment, it must give way to the contrary federal
policy.” Id. at 378-79 (footnote omitted).

These principles were discussed in a recent case in-
volving a conflict between state law and the Lanham

17

-@e%* © 28 @ @ “_@e + #8 @w@s

Act. In Burger King of Florida, Inc. v. Hoots, 403 F.2d
904 (7th Cir. 1968), the Court of Appeals pointed out
that even under the federal trademark statutes ante-
dating the Lanham Act, it was held that

“(T]he policy of the Acts, to provide protection of
federally registered marks used in interstate com-
merce, ‘may not be defeated or obstructed by State
law’ and that if state law conflicts with the policy
it ‘must yield to the superior federal law.’ .. .
[F Jederal-registration rendered all questions of use
and protection in interstate commerce questions of
federal law, not state law.” Id. at 907.

In summary, the state court decision below regu-
lates the federally created trademark rights of Shell
and, therefore, must yield to the superior federal law
which preempts this field and overrides inconsistent and
conflicting state action.

POINT II.

THE DECISION BELOW IMPAIRS VALUABLE
CONTRACT RIGHTS IN VIOLATION OF THE
CONTRACT CLAUSE OF THE FEDERAL CON-
STITUTION.

When the Franchise Practices Act was enacted in 1971,
both the Legislature and the Governor recognized that
the Act brought about major changes in established law
and that it would be unfair to apply its provisions to
franchise agreements entered into prior to the effective
date of the statute.? In particular, the Governor in his

2 New Jersey, like other jurisdictions, has always adhered to the
well settled principles of contract law that agreed-upon provisions
for the termination of a contract upon notice will be enforced and
that good cause is not required for termination. Miller-Becker Co. v.
P. Ballantine & Sons, Inc., 9 N.J. Super. 78 (App. Div. 1950);
Phoenix Hardware Co. v. Paragon Paint & Varnish Co., 122 N.J.
Eq. 140 (E. & A. 1937). See generally 17 Am. JuR.2d Contracts
§§ 495, 496 (1964).

ena ees SRM ALY WE ERR MOEN TE

Rah TR y ab aa ol Pi halle aa
“7

18

conditional veto message pointed out that the retroactive
application of the statute would impair the obligation of
existing contracts in violation of both the federal and
state constitutions. The Act was accordingly revised to
make it inapplicable to any pre-enactment franchise
agreements.

The concern expressed by the Governor and the Legis-
lature that the statute should not be applied retroactively
was well founded. In the first case to reach the review-
ing courts on this issue, the Court of Appeals for the
First Circuit in 1970 struck down a similar statute in
Puerto Rico on the ground that it was not constitutionally
permissible to retroactively alter pre-enactment agree-
ments. Fornaris v. Ridge Tool Co., 423 F.2d 563 (1st
Cir.), rev’d on other grounds, 400 U.S. 41 (1970). In
that case, a dealer who had been terminated in accord-
ance with the provisions of a franchise agreement which
provided for termination without cause brought an action
against his supplier under the Puerto Rican Dealer’s
Contract Law, which prohibited dealer terminations
without “just cause.” Since the statute by its terms ap-
plied retroactively, the Court then considered whether
the application of the statute would substantially impair
or change pre-enactment contract rights. In finding that
it would, the Court stated:

“No amount of research by parties or amici has
discovered a case suggesting that to convert a con-
tractual relationship terminable by either party with-
out cause into one which, short of breach by the other
party, can be terminated by one of the parties only
by making substantial payments and without pro-
tection for its economic interests, is not a change of
great magnitude.” Id. at 567-68 (footnote omitted).

On review, this Court, in a per curiam opinion, re-
versed and remanded the proceeding to give the Supreme
Court of Puerto Rico an opportunity to rule authorita-

BLE ROL IE LAR RIDE EDEL LEG LED CIALIS ESLER Na es OE a cxeengl

19

tively on the statute since it was “conceivable that ‘just
cause’ might be judicially confined to a more narrow am-
bit which would avoid all constitutional questions.” For-
naris V. Ridge Tool Co., 400 U.S. 41, 44 (1970).

Subsequently, in another case, the Supreme Court of
Puerto Rico did consider the effect of the application of
the Dealer’s Contract Law to pre-enactment agreements,
and in so doing, it held that the statute impaired pre-
existing contractual rights in violation of the Contract
Clause of the Puerto Rican Constitution, which is vir-
tually the same as the Contract Clause of the Federal
Constitution. Warner Lambert Co. v. Superior Court of
Puerto Rico, No. 0-72-106 (May 9, 1978). Relying main-
ly on decisions of this Court, the Puerto Rican Supreme
Court concluded that the statutory imposition of the “just
cause” termination requirement on preexisting contrac-
tual arrangements substantially modified contractual
rights and “destroyed” the “fundamental right” of a
party “to terminate the contract unilaterally” (Slip Op.
at 22-24).

Since then, two similar state statutes have been re-
viewed and held to be unconstitutional as applied to pre-
enactment agreements. In Globe Liquor Co. v. Four Roses
Distillers Co., 281 A.2d 19 (Del. Sup. Ct.), cert. de-
nied, 404 U.S. 873 (1971), the Delaware Supreme Court
held that the imposition by the Delaware Franchise Se-
curity Law of a termination requirement similar to the
“good cause” requirement was “not a minor change or
infringement permissible under the exercise of the police
power. It is therefore proscribed by the Contract Clause
of the Federal Constitution” (Jd. at 21). And earlier
this year, a United States District Court held that a
South Carolina statute imposing a termination require-
ment of “due cause” for franchise contracts existing
before the statute’s enactment was unconstitutional under
the Contract Clause of both the State and Federal Con-

|

20

stitutions. Superior Motors, Inc. v. Winnebago Industries,
Inc., 359 F.Supp. 773 (D.S.C. 1973). As the Court stated:

“(I]t is manifestly clear that this statute, if applied
to the instant contract between the parties, would
impose significant new duties and conditions and take
away previously existing rights. As such, the legis-
lation as applied to this contract would unconsti-
tutionally impair its obligations. .. .” Id. at 779.
Thus, within a brief four-year span, every reviewing
court which has passed on the issue has declared uncon-
stitutional the retroactive application of “good cause”
termination requirements, or their equivalents, to pre-
enactment contracts. Certainly the decision below has
the same constitutional infirmity.

While the New Jersey Supreme Court in its opinion
below stated that it was applying New Jersey public
policy rather than the provisions of the Franchise Prac-
tices Act, that assertion does not comport with what the
court in fact did. And, as this Court has said, in deter-
mining whether a judicial decision applies state legisla-
tion within the meaning of the Contract Clause, “this
court is not limited to the mere consideration of the lan-
guage of the opinion of the state court, but will consider
the substance and effect of the decision, and will for itself
determine what effect, if any, was given by it to the
[challenged statute].” Long Sault Development Co. Vv.
Call, 242 U.S. 272, 277 (1916).

The decision below cannot rest on state public policy.
The specific public policy of New Jersey, as declared by
both its Legislature and Governor, is that the rights and
remedies conferred upon franchisees under the Franchise

3 The Contract Clause applies only to state legislation, but that
requirement is satisfied where the substance and effect of a judicial
decision is to apply a state statute. Columbia Ry., Gas & Electric
Co. v. South Carolina, 261 U.S. 236, 247 (1923) ; Cross Lake Shoot-
ing and Fishing Club v. Louisiana, 224 U.S. 632, 639 (1912).

21

Practices Act shall apply only to franchise agreements
entered into after its effective date. In consequence, the
action of the court below in applying the “good cause”
termination requirement to the pre-enactment lease and
dealer product agreement of Shell and Marinello is in
conflict with the specific public policy of the state and
represents an improper retrospective application of that
provision of the Act.

That the substance and effect of the decision below was
to apply retroactively the provisions of the Franchise
Practices Act is evident from the opinion below. First,
the court integrated the lease and dealer agreement and
denominated them a “franchise” as defined in the Act
(compare A-7-8 with NJS.A. 56:10-3(a)); granted
dealer Marinello a lifetime interest in the sublease and
dealer agreement and imposed the same “good cause”
termination requirement ‘ as contained in the Act (com-
pare A-9 with N.J.S.A. 56:10-5); and finally approved
a decree giving Marinello the same equitable relief sug-
gested in the injunctive provisions of the Act (compare
A-9 with N.J.S.A. 56:10-10).

Although urged on the appeal below, the Supreme
Court of New Jersey failed to consider whether its ac-
tion substantially impaired the contractual rights of Shell.
This constitutional issue, we submit, should be reviewed
by this Court, particularly in light of the uniform rul-
ings of all other reviewing courts that the retroactive
application of the “good cause” termination requirement
unconstitutionally impairs valuable contract rights.

«The court below also defined “good cause” in precisely the same
terms as found in the Act (compare A-9 with N.J.S.A. 56:10-5).

|

22

POINT III.

a THE DECISION BELOW IS REPUGNANT TO OTHER
PROVISIONS OF THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION.

In Consumers Oil Corp. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,
supra, Judge Hastie, writing for a unanimous court,
identified three “substantial” constitutional issues raised
by the New Jersey Franchise Practices Act. These is-
sues are that the Act imposes an unreasonable burden
on interstate commerce, deprives franchisors of their
property without due process of law, and imposes un-
constitutional conditions upon engaging in commerce in
New Jersey.°

In that case, Consumers Oil Corp. attempted to invoke
the Franchise Practices Act to restrain Phillips from
terminating its supply contract without the “good cause”
required by the Act. The only agreement before the
Court was a contract for the supply of Phillips’ gasoline,
and it was in determining whether under the Act Phillips
could terminate that single agreement as part of a com-
pany decision to discontinue marketing gasoline in New
Jersey that the Court found these constitutional issues
raised.

5In support of its ruling, the Court of Appeals relied upon the
following leading constitutional decisions and authorities (Slip Op.
at 6 n.2):

“Burden on commerce: Compare South Carolina State High-
way Dept. v. Barnwell Bros., 1938, 303 U.S. 177, with, Pennsyl-
vania Vv. West Virginia, 1923, 262 U.S. 563, Southern Pacific
Co. v. Arizona, 1945, 325 U.S. 761, and Bibb v. Navajo Freight
Lines, Inc., 1959, 359 U.S. 520.

“Deprivation of property without due process: Compare,
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 1922, 260 U.S. 393, with,
Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 1962, 369 U.S. 590.

“Unconstitutional conditions: For discussion of this doctrine
and the cases in which it has been invoked, see Hale, Unconsti-
tutional Conditions and Constitutional Rights, 1935, 35 COoL.
L. REv. 321; Note, Unconstitutional Conditions, 1960, 73 HARV.
L. Rev. 1595.”

PAT EAT ES ATES BIE IGE LEE IE SLES LILA SPIE IO REY ETE

23

The Court of Appeals was quite properly concerned
with the effect of the New Jersey law on interstate com-
merce in that it converted fixed-term marketing arrange-
ments into arrangements terminable only for good cause.
Such a drastic change in the way that most interstate
marketers conduct their business directly presented not
only the question of an undue burden on interstate com-
merce, but also the question of whether franchisors would
be deprived of property without due process of law.

In two senses, the constitutional issues identified by the
Court of Appeals in Consumers Oil are raised with even
greater force in the instant case. Consumers Oil involved
an oil company’s supply agreement renewed after the
enactment of the New Jersey statute, whereas this case
involves two agreements entered into before the enact-
ment of the statute. Moreover, in this case, the court
below did not limit its action to converting the product
supply agreement into a non-terminable agreement except
for good cause, but it did the same thing with respect
to the sublease between Shell and Marinello. In thus
converting a 3-year ieal estate sublease into a lifetime
agreement (and suggesting that the sublessee’s interest
might extend beyond his lifetime), the court below directly
presented the question of whether such a change consti-
tuted a taking of property without compensation and with-
out due process of law.

The Third Circuit in Consumers Oil did not decide
the constitutional issues, but remanded the case with
direction to withhold further action to permit the state
courts to determine in the first instance whether the
New Jersey Franchise Practices Act applied to Phillips’
agreement. Since the court below in this case failed to
consider the constitutional issues raised by Shell on its
appeal and petition for rehearing, this Court may wish
to remand this case to afford the State Supreme Court
an opportunity to pass upon these important constitu-
tional questions, in accordance with the procedure set
forth in Blackburn v. Alabama, 354 U.S. 393 (1957).

24
CONCLUSION

The decision below radically alters the time-honored
and accepted method of conducting interstate marketing
operations in this country. It also raises fundamental
constitutional questions which have not been, but should
be, decided by this Court. Since none of these constitu-
tional questions was discussed by the court below either
on the appeal or the petition for rehearing, this Court
may deem it advisable to remand the case to the New
Jersey Supreme Court for an initial determination of
these issues. In either event, this Court should grant the
petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM SIMON

JOHN BODNER, JR.

MICHAEL W. GRANEY

MICHAEL M. LEvy
HOWREY, SIMON, BAKER &

MURCHISON

1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006

ANDREW S. POLITO
MICHAEL D. LOPRETE
MATTSON, MADDEN, POLITO &
LOPRETE
Gateway I at Penn Station
Newark, New Jersey 01702

Attorneys for Petitioner
Shell Oil Company

December 24, 1973.

|

ie: 2 terete

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1387%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
