# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Preux v. Immigration & Naturalization Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1315%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 415 U.S. 916

## Text

SUP R:

LIBRARY, —

. r J
COURT, Rx: * ee wv 44 1973

Iu the = rite Oiitet —— JF, CLERK i

OF THE

Ruited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-1083

MONIQUE PREUX,
Petitioner,

Ve

IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE,
and JOHN L. TODD, DISTRICT DIRECTOR,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

LOA E. BLISS

JAMES R. BARASH

Pikes Peak Legal Services
104 South Tejon
Suite 300
Colorado Springs, Colorado

80902

Telephone: (303) 471-0380

Attorneys for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
1. Opinions Below . . . .« « « « « 1
2. Jurisdiction ...«.e-ereee 2
3. Question Presented . ...«.-s. 3
4. Statutes and Constitutional
Provisions Involved. ..... 3
5. Statement of the Case. .... 4
6. Argument . . . « © «© «© «© © © « 6
A. Section 241(f) is a remed-
ial statute and should be
construed liberally. ... 6

B. The deportation charge is
not controlling in deter-
Mining the applicability
of Section 241(f). .... 9

C. A liberal interpretation
of Section 241(f) is not
inconsistent with other
provisions of the Act and
does not create enforcement
problems . . . « «© 6 « « « 13

Fo GomeeenGe aos. «+ oe ee te ee 14

Appendix A Opinion of the Tenth
Circuit. . « © « «© « « 16

Appendix B Decision of Court of
Immigration Appeals. . 20

Appendix C Decision of Special
Inquiry Officer. ... 22

ii.

Appendix D Statutes. . . . « « « 32

Appendix E Original Order to
Show Cause. . . « « « 36

Appendix F Letter dropping deport-
ation proceedings . . 38

Appendix G Order to Show Cause . 39

Appendix H Cabuco-Flores v.
INS + e 2 e e 2 e ° * 4 1

Appendix I Milande v. Immigration

& Naturalization Ser-
vice. & + a e +. e + es 49

CITATIONS

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Article I, Section 8, Clause 4... 6
STATUTES :

The Immigration and Nationality

Act of 1952, 66 Stat. 163 ff.,

as amended:

§ 101 (a) (3), 8 USC 1101(a)(3) . 3

§ 101(a) (15) (B), 8 USC 1101 (a)
(15) (B) e e * . o e t e e e a e

§ 103, 8 UBC 1203 . 2 2 ot 8 6
§ 105(a) (2), 8 USC 1105(a) (2) . 6
§ 212(a) (19), 8 USC 1182(a) (19) 3, 4,

si aiitiaeien NONE NEL SORE LOIN ERLE SI MONTE IG

§ 212(a) (20), 8 USC 1182 (a) (20) 3

§ 221(a) (2), 8 USC 1201(a) (2) . 3

§ 241(a) (1), 8 USC 1251(a) (1) . 3, 4,
9

§ 24l1(a) (2), 8 USC 1251(a) (2) . 3
§ 241(£), 8 USC 1251(f) . . . « 3, SH14
§ 242(b), 8 USC 1252(b) . . «. « 3, 6
28 USC 19S4(2) 2. 2 we ee oe 8 8 2
CASES:
Cabuco-Flores v. INS,

“Docket No. Jo-1L303
een Cin. 2975) « « + « 8 6 oS 11

Ferrante v. INS,
F.
(6th Cir. 1968) . « « « © © « « 10

INS v. Errico,
ewe 4,
87 S.Ct. 473,
17 L.Ed.2d 318 (1966) * 7 © ee Te 10-14

Lee Fook Chuey v. INS,
739 F.2d oi

(9th Cir. 1970)
r'hg den. 2-11-71 eee ee @# @© @ 13, 14

Milande v. INS,
Docket No. 72-1529
(7th Cis. 1973) e e . ae a * e ae 10, 12

iv.

Muslemi v. INS,
is 96
(Sth Cir. 1969) . . « e

Ntovas v. Ahrens,
F.
(7th Cir. 1960)
cert. denied 364 U.S. 826

Tsaconas v. Immigration &
Naturalization Service,
20 946
(7am Cir. 1968) . « 2 « «

Vitales v. Immigration &
Naturalization Service,
F.
teem Cae. 3974) « 2 2 8

Page
oe 9
e 10
ee 10
ee il

FAW APTS ? PAR

Iu the Supreme Court

OF THE

Ruited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-1083

MONIQUE PREUX,
Petitioner,

Ve
IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE,

and JOHN L. TODD, DISTRICT DIRECTOR,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

The Petitioner, by and through her
attorneys, Loa E. Bliss and James R. Barash,
Pikes Peak Legal Services, pray that this
Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to review
an Order entered against Petitioner by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit.

1. Opinions Below

The Order and Opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

filed September 7, 1973, has not been offi-
cially published to date. It has been
marked for publication (Appendix A, infra,
Pp. 16).

The opinion of the United States
Department of Justice Board of Immigration
Appeals, now known as the Court of Immigra-
tion Appeals, was decided and filed on
January 22, 1973, attached hereto (Appendix
B, infra, p. 20), and is not officially
reported.

The decision of the Special Inquiry
Officer of the United States Department of
Justice, Immigration and Naturalization
Service, was entered and filed on October
30, 1972, and attached hereto (Appendix C,
infra, p. 22). It is not officially reported.

2. Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction of this Court is sought
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1) to review a
decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered Sep-
tember 7, 1973. Stay of Mandate was entered
September term, on October 5, 1973, to and
including October 31, 1973, and an extension
of Stay of Mandate was subsequently granted
to and including November 14, 1973. If on
or before that date the Clerk of the Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit should
receive a notice from the Clerk of the
Supreme Court of the United States that a
timely petition for Writ of Certiorari has
been filed in the Supreme Court, then the
Stay of Mandate will continue until final
disposition by the Supreme Court.

No order requesting a rehearing and
no order granting an extension of time in
which to file a petition for certiorari has

been entered by the Court below.
3. Question Presented

The question presented is whether
Section 241(f£) of the Immigration and Nat-
ionality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1251(f), applies to
aliens admitted on immigrant visas only or
whether it also applies to aliens who have
entered on visitors visas and overstayed
their time.

4. Statutes and Constitutional Provisions

The following statutory provisions
involved herein are set forth in Appendix
D, infra, p. 32).

Immigration and
Nationality Act

of 1952
8 USC 1101 (a) (3) § 191 (a) (3)
8 USC 1101l(a) (15) (B) § 10i {a) (15) (B)
8 USC 1182(a) (19) (20) § 212(a) (19) (20)
8 USC 1201 (a) (2) § 221 (a) (2)
8 USC 1251 (a) (1) § 241 (a) (1)
8 USC 1251 (a) (2) § 241 (a) (2)
8 USC 1251 (f) § 241(£)

The controlling statute, cited in
recent Circuit Court opinions, is 8 U.S.C.
1251(£), Immigration and Nationality Act
of 1952, § 241(f).

“(£) The provisions of this sec-
tion relating to the deportation
of aliens within the United States
on the ground that they were
excludable at the time of entry

as aliens who have sought to
procure, or have procured visas

or other documentation, or entry

a-*o +4 e-« _*

into the United States by fraud
or misrepresentation shall not
apply to an alien otherwise
admissible at the time of entry
who is the spouse, parent, or

a child of a United States

citizen or of an alien lawfully
admitted for permanent residence."

5. Statement of the Case

The essential facts are not in dispute.
The Petitioner is a Belgian National cur-
rently present in the United States. Peti-
tioner gave birth to a child in Colorado
Springs, Colorado, on September 5, 1970,
and said child, Amorette Teresa Ortiz, is
a citizen of the United States and Peti-
tioner is the mother of said child. After
the birth of the child, Petitioner left the
United States with her and then re-entered
the United States with her on June 25,
1971, with a nonimmigrant visitor's visa,
which visa expired on December 24, 1972.

Deportation proceedings were first
opened against Petitioner on October 27,
1971, long before the expiration of Peti-
tioner's visitor's visa, by an Order to
Show Cause (Appendix E, infra, p. 36) based
upon Petitioner's alleged entry into the
United States for the purpose of living
permanently with a man in Colorado Springs,
Colorado. Petitioner was alleged to be an
alien excludable at the time of entry
under 24l(a) (1), 8 U.S.C. 1251(a) (1), as
an immigrant not in possession of a valid
immigrant visa, thus falling under the
exclusionary provisions of Section 212 (a)
(19), 8 U.S.C. 1182(a) (19) (Appendix E,
infra, p. 36). That proceeding was found
to have been dropped erroneously by the

District Director in a decision rendered |

Oe ne) ee ee

by the Special Inquiry Officer and avail-
able to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit on review. (Appendix
C, infra, p. 22.) Had those proceedings
been allowed to continue, a defense under
Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952,

§ 241(f), 8 U.S.C. 1251(£), would have been
directly related to the charge involved.

Petitioner did not leave the United
States on December 24, 1971. On April 13,
1972, deportation proceedings were init-
iated against Petitioner on the grounds
that she had overstayed her temporary
visitor's visa which resulted in a finding
by the Special Inquiry Officer that Peti-
tioner was deportable and not entitled to
relief under § 241(f) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1251(f),
ruling that § 241(f) applies only to aliens
who have obtained immigrant visas by fraud.
Petitioner did, however, during the course
of the hearing, attempt to demonstrate that
under § 241(f£) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1251(f£), she
was saved from deportation because she had
procured her nonimmigrant visa by fraud,
she was “otherwise admissible at the time
of entry," and she possessed the familial
relationship required by the statute. On
January 22, 1973, the Board of Immigration
Appeals dismissed Petitioner's appeal and
ordered her deportation.

The record of the earlier deportation
action was received into evidence in the
instant action. The decision of the Court
of Immigration Appeals was subsequently
appealed to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, automatically
staying Petitioner's deportation.

2° 2 <«+- << eo-+-re+8 7. 2-6 “2 a

The Court of the first instance in
the case at bar was the Special Inquiry
Officer of the Immigration and Naturaliza-
tion Service, whose jurisdiction rests on
Article I, Section 8, Clause 4, of the
United States Constitution, which gives
Congress authority to establish a uniform
rule of naturalization. Statutorily,
such jurisdiction rests on Title 8 U.S.C.
Section 1252 which specifically grants
jurisdiction in such cases to a Special
Inquiry Officer. The Court of Immigration
Appeals obtained its jurisdiction by
virtue of Title 8 C.F.R. Section 3.1
pursuant to Title 8 U.S.C. Section 1103.
The jurisdiction of the United States
Court of Appeals rests on Title 8 U.S.C.
Section 1105 (a) (2).

6. Argument

Petitioner submits that the United
States Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit, in affirming the Court of Immi-
gration Appeals, has rendered a decision
in conflict with a prior applicable decision
of this Court interpreting Title 8 U.S.C.
1251(£), Immigration and Nationality Act
of cag Section 241(f) (Appendix C, infra,
Pp. 2

Petitioner further submits that if
the decision of the Circuit Court is not
in conflict with the prior applicable deci-
sion, it is because the prior applicable
case did not decide directly on the same
facts the question in issue, and that the
scope of a Congressional act is in question
and should be decided by this Court,

A. Section 241(f) is a remedial i
statute and should be construed liberally.

The government urges a narrow reading |

of Section 241(f) which would limit the
scope of its application solely to those
aliens entering the United States with a
fraudulently procured immigrant visa.
However, a narrow construction of the
statute is completely contrary to the
tenor of this Court's decision in Immi-
ration and Naturalization Service v.
Errico, 365 U.S. 214 (1966). There this
Gourt held that a literal application of
the statute would strip it of practically
all meaning, and thus contravene its broad
humanitarian purpose of preventing the
separation of family members. The Court
placed considerable stress upon the reme-
dial nature of the statute and emphasized
that if any doubt exists as to its proper
construction, such doubt should be resolved
in favor of the alien. And the Court
stated that,

",... the administrative author-
ities have consistently held
that Section 241(f) waives any
deportation charge that results
directly from the misrepresenta-
tion regardless of the section
of the statute under which the
charge was brought, provided
that the alien was ‘otherwise
admissible at the time of
entry'" (385 U.S. at 217).

Literally, 8 U.S.C. 1251(f£) applies
only when an alien is charged with entering
in violation of 8 U.S.C. 1182(a) (19), which
exludes from entry “any alien who *** has
procured a visa or other documentation ***
by fraud, or by willfully misrepresenting
a material fact ***," In Immigration and
Naturalization Service v. Errico, 355 U.S.

’ ’ e Court rejected such a literal
reading of 8 U.S.C. 1251(f). In Errico,

= : 7

“supra, the Court held that Section 1251(£)
sateen deportation of two aliens who had
fraudulently procured immigrant visas.

One had misrepresented his occupational
eligibility for first preference quota
status; the other had entered into a fraud-
ulent marriage in order to obtain nonquota
status as the spouse of an American citizen.
The Immigration and Naturalization service
brought deportation charges against the
former on the ground that he was excludable
at the time of entry as not of the proper
status under the quota specified in the
immigrant visa, and against the latter on
the ground that she was not a nonquota
immigrant as specified in her visa. The
Court expanded the interpretation of Section
241(f) for the benefit of the aliens in
holding that fraud in concealing or mis-
stating a material fact in gaining immi-

.grant visas to avoid quota restrictions
did not destroy the alien's status as being
otherwise admissible, and that therefore
it did not matter that the quotas for the
aliens' countries were over-subscribed at
the time of their entry.

No support can be found in the express
language of Section 241(f£) for the govern-
ment's contention that the benefits of this
statute should be limited to aliens who
have been admitted with fraudulently pro-
cured immigrant visas. Congress used the
broadest possible language in the statute
encompassing "aliens who have sought to
procure, or have procured visas or other
documentation, or entry into the United
States by fraud or misrepresentation."
Congress did not qualify the word "visas"
with the word "immigrant," nor did it spe-
cify any particular type of "documentation,"
nor did it define "alien" as immigrant
alien, nor for that matter, did it require

er SR aa an S58

ad 6 © e = . . ees - a] <2 . - - =

an alien to have sought to procure or have
procured any visa or other documentation
by fraud or misrepresentation. All that
is required by the terms of the statute

is that an alien has sought to procure or
has procured "entry" into the United
States by fraud. The language of the sta-
tute clearly indicates that Congress was
not concerned with the manner in which an
alien entered the United States. Rather,
Congress was concerned with excusing all
fraudulent entries provided the alien has
the requisite familial relationship and

is not excludable from the United States
on any of the qualitative grounds enumer-
ated in Section 212 of the Immigration and
Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1182.

B. The deportation charge is not
controlling in determining the applica-
bility of Section 241(f).

The government places reliance upon
the deportation charge as being determin-
ative of an alien's eligibility for a
waiver of deportability under Section
241(f). It is contended that the statute
does not apply to the Petitioner because
the government did not charge her with
deportability under Section 241(a) (1) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8
U.S.C. 1251(a) (1), as an alien who has
committed fraud in seeking entry or in
procuring entry documents within the ambit
of Section 212(a) (19) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1182(a) (19).
The Petitioner is, of course, amenable to
deportation under Section 241(a) (1) as
an alien who falls within the exclusionary
provisions of Section 212(a)(19). Under
identical circumstances, the alien was
charged with deportability under Section
241 (a) (1) in Muslemi_ v. Immigration and

7 -
e“@ en * i

Naturalization Service, 408 F.2d 1196 (9th
Cir. 1969). See, Milande v. Immigration
and Naturalization Service, Docket No.
72-1529 (?th Cir. 1973). (Appendix I,
infra, p. 49.)

In effect, the government says that
it may make the determination of who is to
receive benefits under the statute simply
by its selection of the deportation charge,
regardless of the operative facts of the
case. One who is deserving in the eyes of
the government could be charged with fraud
in obtaining entry in order to qualify
for the benefits of the statute, whereas
the supposedly undeserving alien could be
charged with overstaying as the Petitioner
was. As authority for this proposition,
the government will rely on Ntovas v.
Ahrens, 276 F.2d 483 (7th Cir. 1960),
certiorari denied, 364 U.S. 826. However,
that case was decided prior to this Court's
decision in Errico which rejected a formal-
istic approach to the interpretation of
Section 241(f). None of the principles
laid down by this Court in Errico were
considered in Ntovas.

The government will also rely upon
two cases decided subsequent to this Court's
decision in Errico, both of which involved
aliens whose deportation was ordered on
the charge of overstaying their authorized
period of temporary admission. Ferrante v.

Immigration and Naturalization Service, 399
F.2d 908 (oth Cir. 1968); Tsaconas v. Immi-

ration and Naturalization Service, 307
F.2d 946 (?th Cir. 1968). In both of these
cases, the aliens sought to invoke Section

241(f). However, they were unsuccessful ;
in both instances because there was no evi- F
dence that they had gained entry by fraud 4
or misrepresentation.

ll

_- -- 2. . .* . . --. ied _* - e7-@

In Vitales v. Immigration and Natu-
ralization Service, 443 F.2d 345 (9th Cir.
, tor which certiorari was granted
by this Court, the Ninth Circuit held that
Section 241(f£) relief was available to
aliens in possession of a nonimmigrant
visa. The subsequent Ninth Circuit deci-
sion, Cabuco-Flores v. Immigration and
Naturalization Service, Docket No. 72-1333
ir. ppendix H, infra, p. 41),
did not technically reverse Vitales, but
did reverse the position expressed therein
inasmuch as Vitales had become moot by
the alien's removal to the Philippines
before the Court decided the issue. Cabuco-
Flores, supra, sustained deportation on
the ground that,

"... the charge of remaining
after the expiration of the
period permitted by each peti-
tioner's visa was not waived
by Section 241(f) because it
did not depend directly or
indirectly upon the asserted
misrepresentation in obtaining
the visas." _— F.2d at.

The government in effect argues that
Petitioner is deportable because she has
overstayed her visitor's visa and she does
not have a valid immigrant visa.

The aliens in Errico did not have
valid immigrant visas. Their immigrant
visas were not properly issued, and they
were not eligible immigrants under the
provisions of the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act. A fraudulently procured immi-
grant visa is equivalent to no visa. It
makes little sense to argue that an alien
with an invalid visa (no visa) should
somehow be preferred to an alien without
any visa. Hence, there is no rational

« eo +27 « os @

basis for giving preferential treatment

to the alien who is admitted with a fraud-
ulently procured immigrant visa. An

alien who overstayed his time on a visitor's
visa is in effect being charged with failure
to have an immigrant visa. Petitioner in
this case was specifically so charged
(Appendix E, infra, p. 36). That charge

was later dropped (Appendix F, infra, p.

38) in favor of a charge of simple Overstay,

The Seventh Circuit decision, Milande
v. Immigration and Naturalization Service,
supra, feta open the issue of whether or
not the defense of fraud in the entry would
be available as an affirmative defense to
nonimmigrants when the charge is brought
on grounds of fraud rather than grounds of
overstay. It stretches credulity to envision _
a charge of fraud in the entry being made
with respect to a nonimmigrant when it has
been decided in a number of circuits that
a charge of overstay will accomplish certain
deportation. Thus even though the question
technically is still open to adjudication
it as a practical matter would seem to be
foreclosed. The real issue then is the
Status of the alien as immigrant or non-
immigrant and not the charge brought.

The Court below found that Petitioner

had a concealed intent to remain and that

this concealed intent to remain did not give
rise to a deportation charge that "results
directly from the misrepresentation." ;
Immigration Service v. Errico, supra, at
217. There is, however, on the facts of
the case, little if no difference in Peti-
tioner's position and that of one of the ;
aliens in Errico,

"The issue is whether the statute

saves from deportation an alien

a —

13

- - “oe; * . ad --

who misrepresents his status

for the purpose of evadin uota
Seatrictions, if he has the
necessary familial relationship
to a United States citizen or

a lawful permanent resident."
Immigration Service v. Errico,
supra, at 5 [Emphasis added].

Petitioner Scott, in Errico, entered
into a sham marriage for the purpose of
obtaining non-quota status. She had never
lived with her husband and never intended
to do so. Her concealed intent was to remain
separate and apart from her sham spouse.
In fact all species of fraud of necessity
must involve some concealed intent. Peti-
tioner Scott was charged with obtaining
entry documents by fraud and therefore
failure to have a valid immigrant visa.
The position of the Petitioner Scott and
Petitioner Preux is essentially the same.
The practical effects of excluding nonim-
migrants from protection is to circumvent
the humanitarian purpose of the statute.

C. A liberal interpretation of Sec-
tion 241(f) is not inconsistent with other
provisions of the Act and does not create
enforcement problems.

The government will urge that peti-
tioner's interpretation of Section 241(f)
conflicts with other provisions of the
Immigration and Nationality Act and would
create problems of enforcement of the immi-
gration laws by allowing aliens to bypass
a screening process. Both of these arguments
were advanced in the government's petition
for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing
in Lee Fook Chuey v. Immigration and Natu-
ralization Service, 439 F.20 244 (Oth Cir,

1971). in its order denying the government's

|

position, the Court found that the various
sections of the Immigration and Nationality
Act cited by the government did not evi-
dence a statutory scheme pointing toward
the limitation of Section 241(f) relief
only to those who submitted themselves to
the immigrant visa issuing procedure.

As the Court observed in Lee Fook
Chuey, supra:

"Almost invariably, by the time
that the relief provision of
241(f) is invoked, the integrity
of the immigrant visa system

has been long violated. Section
241(f) deals with the problem
after the breach has occurred,
When Congress enacted this
provision, it was reconciling
strong and conflicting policies.
Congress was dealing with prob-
lems arising from violations

of the visa system, and had to

do so in the context of ongoing
family ties and expectations
which had developed for many
years after the breach. Without
placing blame, we believe Section
241(f) as we have interpreted ;
it, is the result of the inef- 4
fective enforcement of the
Immigration laws, not the cause
of it. (439 F.2d at 250).

7. Conclusion ‘

Because of the humanitarian purpose
of Section 241(f), and because the language
of that statute is couched in the broadest
possible terms, a fair reading of Errico,
supra would mandate according Petitioner
relief under that section.

EFAS DAIS RIAA INRER " iAH RATA AIEEE ONL IIL MIME REID

15

tf in fact this Court believes*that —
the recent Circuit opinions are in conformity
with the Errico decision, then Petitioner
would urge this Court to reconsider the
intended scope of the statute in light of
the particular facts presented by this
case.

Respectfully submitted,

LOA E. BLISS

JAMES R. BARASH

Pikes Peak Legal Services
104 South Tejon
Suite 300
Colorado Springs, Colorado

80902

Telephone: (303) 471-0380

Attorneys for Petitioner

‘i —
16

“APPENDIX A:

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
TENTH CIRCUIT

TERM -- 1973

MONIQUE PREUX,

Petitioner,
IMMIGRATION AND NATURAL-
IZATION SERVICE, and

JOHN L. TODD, District
Director,

ee a ae ees eres oe

eee eee ee eee ee ee ee

Respondents.

Petition for Review of an Order of the
Immigration and Naturalization Service

James R. Barash (Loa E. Bliss, on the brief),
for Petitioner.

Bruce R. Heurlin, Attorney, Department of
Justice (John L. Murphy, Chief, Government
Regulations Section, Criminal Division,

on the brief), for Respondents.

Before BREITENSTEIN, MCWILLIAMS and BARRETT,
Circuit Judges.

MCWILLIAMS, Circuit Judge.

Monique Preux, a Belgian national,
has filed in this court pursuant to 8 U.S.C.

SERRE SOMMER RED I IIP A RENAN ELIE IR ALE EISELE OPEL Br UMM IE SASTRY EIS

Bieta. orem —

17

§ 1105(a) a petition to review an order’ of ©
the Immigration and Naturalization Service
that she be deported. In our view the

order of deportation is proper and should

be affirmed.

Preux first entered the United States
on a visitor's visa on November 28, 1969,
and while in the United States gave birth
to a child. Preux thereafter returned with
the child to Belgium and later reentered
the United States with the child on June
25, 1971, on a six months nonimmigrant
visitor's visa. Accordingly, the visitor's
visa expired on December 24, 1971. Preux,
however, did not then leave the country
and has thereafter at all times resisted
efforts to deport her.

After deportation proceedings, an
order was entered that she be deported
ursuant to the provisions of 8 U.S.C. §
1251(a) (2). The precise grounds for deport=
ation, and this we deem to be of importance,
was simply that she had overstayed the time
limitation in her visitor's visa and was
accordingly no longer lawfully within the
United States.

Preux concedes that she has over=-
stayed her visitor's visa, but asserts
that because of the ameliorative provisions
of 8 U.S.C. § 1251(f) she cannot be de-
ported. Accordingly, 8 U.S.C. § 1251 (f)
is at the heart of the present controversy.
That statute reads as follows:

"The provisions of this sec-
tion relating to the deportation
of aliens within the United States
on the ground that they were
excludable at the time of entry
as aliens who have sought to

procure, or have procured visas
or other documentation, or entry
into the United States by fraud
or misrepresentation shall not
apply to an alien otherwise
admissible at the time of entry
who is the spouse, parent, or

a child of a United States
citizen * * *,"

It is Preux's theory of the case that
she obtained her six months visitor's visa :
as the result of fraud and misrepresentation, —
the fraud and misrepresentation being that
when she obtained the six months visitor's
visa she had a concealed intent not to leave
at the end of six months and, on the con-
trary, intended to stay permanently in the
United States, and that had she revealed
her true intent in this regard she would
have been denied a visitor's visa. Such,
according to Preux, brings into play the
humanitarian provisions of 8 U.S.C. § 1251
(£) and precludes her deportation.

This precise argument has been recently ©
considered, and in each instance rejected,
by the Ninth and Seventh Circuits. Lourdes
Cabuco-Flores v. Immigration and Naturali-
zation Service, Nos. 72-1333 and 72-1818
(9th Cir. April 13, 1973), and Milande v.
Immigration and Naturalization Service, No.
72-1529 (7th Cir, July 5, 1973).

In Cabuco-Flores, the Ninth Circuit
held that a deportation order based on over=
staying one's visitor's visa did not bring
into play the provisions of 8 U.S.C. §
1251(f) because the deportation order "did
not depend directly or indirectly upon the
asserted misrepresentation in obtaining
the visa."

Re AE EI SS = BE FEI EE LOE DONO CPD 5 CR IOI TINGE aL SERB IEE Sie aie oe _ i

as en Ses +a 7 : spi aid ani) SaaS iy
Pt Set TN STROM TUR tS? ROE toe RE ‘i

19

In Milande, the Seventh Circuit
"agreed" with the ruling in Cabuco-Flores
and in like fashion held that the provi-
sions of 8 U.S.C. § 1251(f£) are “available
only when the fraud is relevant to the
charge for which deportation is sought."

Accordingly, in both Cabuco-Flores
and Milande, it was held that one subject
to a deportation order on the grounds
that his visitor's visa had expired could
not invoke the provisions of 8 U.S.C. §
1251(f£) on the plea that when he obtained
his visitor's visa he did so with fraud
and misrepresentation in that he did not
intend to leave when his visitor's visa
expired and that he intended to stay
permanently in the United States. We
subscribe to both the reasoning and the
result in Cabuco-Flores and Milande.

We are not unaware of Immigration
and Naturalization Service v. Errico, 385
U.S. 214 (1966), which did not deal with
an overstayed visitor's visa, but concerned
two persons who had gained entry into the
United States as immigrants, as opposed
to visitor status, by fraud and misrepre-
sentation. However, as was deemed to be
true in both Cabuco-Flores and Milande,
we believe our disposition of the present
controversy to be in full accord with the
reasoning of Errico. Errico suggests to
us, too, that the provisions of 8 U.S.C.
§ 1251(£) may operate as a waiver of a
deportation charge if, and only if, the
deportation charge “results directly from
the misrepresentation." Such is not true
in the instant case.

Order affirmed.

APPENDIX B:

: a
3
3
3

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Board of Immigration Appeals

File: Al19 821 979 - Denver
In re: MONIQUE PREUX

IN DEPORTATION PROCEEDINGS
APPEAL

ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:
James R. Barash, Esq. &
Loa E. Bliss, Esq.
Legal Services of El Paso Co.
104 South Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80902

ON BEHALF OF I&N SERVICE:
William E. Weinert, Esq.
Trial Attorney

CHARGES:

Order: Section 24l(a) (2), Immigra-
tion and Nationality Act -
remained longer nonimmigrant
visitor

Lodged: None
APPLICATION: Termination of proceedings

This is an appeal from an order of
a special inquiry officer finding the
respondent deportable and directing her
deportation to Belgium. The appeal will
be dismissed.

Our review of the record and briefs
on appeal satisfies us that the hearing

, : POS MRI SEL ES

elit il oes

was fair, that deportability has been estab-
lished by clear, convincing and unequivocal

evidence, and that the special inquiry

officer properly applied the pertinent legal
principles. Section 241(f) of the Immigra~

21

tion and Nationality Act does not benefit

respondent, since she entered as a nonimmi-

grant, Matter of Mangabat, Interim Decision
2131 (BIA 1972). The District Director's

denial of an extension of stay is not review=-

able by a special inquiry officer or this

Board, Matter of Sourbis, 11 I&N Dec.
(BIA 1965).

ORDER: The appeal is dismissed.

Chairman

335

' APPENDIX C:

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Immigration and Naturalization Service

File: Al19 821 979 = Denver

In the Matter of §
MONIQUE PREUX § IN DEPORTATION
Respondent § PROCEEDINGS

CHARGE: I&N Act - Section 241l(a) (2),
remained longer nonimmigrant
visitor

APPLICATION: Termination under Section
241 (£)

IN BEHALF OF RESPONDENT:
James R. Barash, Esq. &
Loa E. Bliss, Esq.
Legal Services of El Paso Co.
104 South Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, Colo. 80902

IN BEHALF OF SERVICE:
William E. Weinert, Esq.
Trial Attorney
El Paso, Texas 79984

DECISION OF THE SPECIAL INQUIRY OFFICER

The respondent is a female alien, of uncer-

tain marital status, 22 years old, and a

native and citizen of Belgium who has con-
tested deportability. In pleading to the

order to show cause herein (Exhibit l),

the respondent admitted allegations one,

two, and three; she admitted allegation

four "with an explanation" and without
further elaboration as to the "explanation" ]
and hence she is regarded as having denied
allegation four in view of this allegation ib

RASS SENS Be ha Si

23

not being unequivocally admitted; she denied
allegation five; and she denied that she
was deportable as charged.

The Government introduced into evidence,
in support of the charge of deportability
and to prove the allegations which were
contested, a photo copy of pertinent por-
tions of the respondent's passport (Exhibit
2), an application to extend time of tem-
porary stay executed by the respondent
herein which was filed with the Denver Office
of the Immigration Service on December 8,
1971 (Exhibit 3), and a letter dated January
24, 1972, from the District Director at
Denver to the respondent advising her that
her application for extension of stay was
denied (Exhibit 4). Page 14 of the respond-
ent's passport shows that she was admitted
to the United States on June 25, 1971, at
the port of New York. Allegation three
of the order to show cause states this fact
and the respondent admitted this allegation.
Page 15 of the respondent's passport con-
tains a nonimmigrant visa issued to the
respondent at the United States Embassy
at Brussels on June 3, 1971, under classi-
fication "B-2" and this visa recites that
it is valid indefinitely for multiple
applications for admission into the United
States. I take administrative notice that
classification "B-2" means a nonimmigrant
visitor for pleasure as defined in section
101 (a) (15) (B) of the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act. In her application for extension
of time of temporary stay which the respond-
ent executed on December 7, 1971, and sub-
mitted to the Denver Office of the Immigra-
tion Service on December 8, 1971 (Exhibit
3), she stated that her nonimmigrant class-
ification was that of a tourist (B2), that
her authorized stay expires December 24,
1971, that the date and port of her last

arrival in the United States was June 25,
1971, at New York (items 5 §°6), and that
she desired an extension until June 24,
1971 (item 7). In this.application she
stated also that she was not married but
that she had a child Amorette Teresa Ortiz,
born September 5, 1970, in the United
States (item 16) and she stated that she,
in addition to using the name Monique Preux
also used another name "Ortiz" (items 1

& 2). A lengthy statement prepared by one
of the two attorneys presently representing
the respondent is attached to the aforesaid
application for extension of stay and

there is also attached to this application
a birth certificate of the child Amorette
Teresa Ortiz. In his letter of January

24, 1972 addressed to the respondent
(Exhibit 4), the District Director of
Denver advised her that her application

for extension of temporary stay was denied
and stated two reasons for the denial.

In addition, the respondent was informed
that she would have to depart from the
United States not later than February 3,
1972,

On her part, the respondent presented no
evidence to controvert the evidence above
submitted by the Government nor has she

made any claim that she was granted an
extension of stay or given any permission

to remain in the United States beyond
February 3, 1972. She has, however, con-
tended that she is immune from deportability
and this will be considered later below.

Section 214(a) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. 1184(a)] contains
the statutory authorization for the admis-
sion to the United States of nonimmigrant
aliens and for their stay in this country.
That section provides for the issuance of

OAT LEER TBA MDE ERS TS RED NEE LOSING BOE EIE SPIE EY APOE TON NTT RIS Pe nF ORT fi ~e ATR RE: eer,

i

R

:
2

BEG ancy

25

regulations in connection with the admis-
sion and stay in the United States by such
individuals. The regulations which have
been promulgated and which are pertinent

to the issue here with reference to the
admission and stay of this respondent in
the United States as a nonimmigrant visitor
for pleasure, Classification "B-2," are
found in 8 C.F.R. 214.1 and 214.2(b). The
admission of the respondent to this country
as a nonimmigrant visitor on June 25, .
1971, was governed by these regulations

and her further continuance in this country
and request for an extension of stay are
also governed by these regulations.

Within the purview of these regulations

the denial of the respondent's application
for extension of stay by the District
Director at Denver which has been referred
to above was an action that is not appeal-
able. The action of the District Director
was not arbitrary and he informed the
respondent of the two reasons why he —
denied her application for further exten-
sion of nonimmigrant visitor stay in

this country as is shown by reference

to his letter of January 24, 1972 (Exhibit
4). The validity of these reasons is
confirmed by the respondent's own testimony
in the course of the instant deportation
proceeding where she stated that she wished
to continue to remain in the United States
(R. 10) and that when she entered the
United States on June 25, 1971, she entered
intending to remain in this country and

she still wished to remain in this country
(R. 20 & 21). Further testimony on the
part of the respondent during the course
of the hearing shows that she had formed

a liaison with a man by the name of Maur-
‘nice Ortiz otherwise known as Jimmy Brown
of Colorado Springs, Colorado, and that

she has been living with this man, The
child Amorette Teresa Ortiz is the issue

|

of their relationship. Testimony by this
individual during the hearing confirmed
this fact. During the course of the hearing
the testimony of the respondent and Ortiz/
Brown was to the effect that they have
created a common-law marital relationship
between them in the State of Colorado.
However, reference to the application for
extension of stay made by this respondent
(Exhibit 3) shows that she stated therein
she was not married (item 16). All of
these facts show that the District Director
at Denver did not act in an arbitrary
fashion in denying the respondent's appli-
cation for extension of stay.

I find from the evidence adduced herein

that allegations four and five of the order
to show cause have been established by

Clear, convincing, and unequivocal evidence.
Allegations one, two, and three were admitted
by the respondent and have also been estab-
lished or corroborated by the evidence
herein. I conclude, therefore, that the =
respondent is now deportable under section
241 (a) (2) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act as an alien who, after admission as a
nonimmigrant under section 101l(a) (15) of

said Act, has remained in the United States
for a longer time than permitted, as charged
in the order to show cause.

Counsel for the respondent has moved for
termination of the proceedings under section
241(£) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act [8 U.S.C. 1251(£)] upon the ground that
the respondent as the mother of a United
States citizen, the child Amorette Teresa
Ortiz, is entitled to relief under this
section. The birthof this child in Colorado
is established by the evidence herein (Exhi-
bit 7) and the Government has conceded that q
the respondent is the mother of this child. ,

mneaiepitstererm at) . me
SIRE VR AP MR EM RAR IGEN a: LRM Ee REIT RON aD SB A PORE EEG NL mc BVI YE aR

PPE POLARS aE

27

The respondent testified that she entered
the United States with the intention of
remaining in this country and that she still
had the same intention, that she obtained
the nonimmigrant visitor's visa which she
used to enter this country because this was
the only visa available to her at the time,
that she did not request a different type
of visa than the visitor's visa because
she knew she would not be granted one (R.
20 & 21). Counsel for the respondent has
contended, also, that the Government had
instituted an earlier deportation proceeding
with reference to this respondent based on
the charge that the respondent at the time
of entry to the United States came into
this country for the purpose of resuming
residence with a man with whom she had
earlier resided in the United States and
that hence the respondent at the time of
entry was excludable as an alien who did
not have a valid immigrant visa. The record
of that earlier deportation proceeding,
which was before myself, has been received
into evidence in the instant proceeding
(Exhibit 6). After the hearing based on
that earlier order to show cause had been
opened and adjourned by me to a later date,
it had been "cancelled" by the District
Director at Denver under the authority of
8 C.F.R. 242.7 on November 23, 1971, and
some months later, on April 13, 1972, the
instant deportation proceedings were com-
menced by issuance of the present order to
show cause herein (Exhibit 1). The action
of the District Director in cancelling the
earlier order to show cause (Exhibit 6)
was erroneous on his part under the regu-
lation, 8 C.F.R. 242.7, for the reason that
the hearing thereunder had been opened by
me on October 27, 1971, and the proper
course of procedure would have been to
move that the case be dismissed for any

= — :
7

of the reasons shown in the regulation. The
error, however, was harmless for the Immigra-
tion Service could have lodged another
charge, such as the present charge of deport-
ability stated in the current order to show
cause (Exhibit 1), in a subsequent session
of the hearing had the hearing been resumed
at a later date as was contemplated when I
adjourned it after the session held on Octo-
ber 27, 1971. Reference to the transcript
of that session of the hearing shows that
the Trial Attorney announced the Government
intended to lodge another charge, albeit
under section 241l(a) (9) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act (see p. 8 of the trans-
cript, part of Exhibit 6). Also, in the
continued hearing, if one had been held,

the Government could have withdrawn and
abandoned the original charge of deporta-
bility stated in the order to show cause by
which the earlier deportation proceedings
had been commenced (Exhibit 6).

In support of his contention that the re-
spondent is immune from deportability under
section 241(f) of the Act, counsel for the
respondent has cited INS v. Errico, 385 U.S.
214 (1966) and Perkins v. Blg, 307 U.S. 325
(1939). The latter case is Stearly inapposite.
It is concerned only with the issue of whe-
ther or not Elg lost United States citizenship
by the action of her parents and by holding
that she had not lost United States citizen-
ship it was ruled that Elg was not under

the jurisdiction of the deportation statute.
The matter of the applicability of the

Errico decision needs to be considered,
however. The principle of the Errico deci-
sion is not applicable to aliens who are
deportable on a charge that they are non-
immigrants who overstayed temporary admission
in the United States and hence relief from \
deportability under section 241(f) of the 4

as PS ERIE RE NR CUE MOREA RE een Me RRL ORE PINAL AI LEE ARs PONTE
ERLE

29

Act will not be granted to a respondent
who is being charged with deportability
as an overstay visitor. Tsaconis v. INS,
397 F.2a 946 (7th Cir. 1968); Ferrante v.
INS, 399 F.2d 98 (6th Cir. 1968); Contra,
Vitales v. INS, 443 F.2d 343 (9th Cir.
. Subsequent to the decision in the
-Witales case the Board of Immigration
Appeals held that that decision is not
binding on a nationwide basis and that
the provisions of section 241(f) of the
Act do not benefit an alien who entered
the United States as a nonimmigrant.
Matter of Mangabat, Int. Dec. 2131 (1972).
Similarly, Matter of Koryzma, Int. Dec.
2033 (1970). With reference to the con-
tention of counsel for the respondent
during the hearing that the Government
originally instituted a deportation hearing
with reference to this respondent on a
charge based that she was deportable for
the reason that she was excludable at the
time of entry as an immigrant without a
visa (Exhibit 6), and then subsequently
dropped this charge in favor of the present
charge of deportability, the Government
may select the charge it wishes to proceed
with and an alien cannot complain that a
charge was not selected which would have
been more advantageous to him because he
could thereby benefit from certain provi-
sions of the statute providing for discre-
tionary relief if the charge desired by
the alien had been used. Ntovas v. Ahrens,
276 F.2d 383 (7th Cir. 1960), cert. den.
364 U.S. 826; Loos v. INS, 407 F.2d 651
(7th Cir. 1969), cert. den. 396 U.S. 877.

Although earlier in the hearing counsel
for the respondent indicated that the

respondent would seek relief as the spouse
of a United States citizen, counsel finally
elected not to proceed for such relief.

BRAINS eK

AHO WALTHER ET

Counsel indicated toward the close of the :
hearing that the respondent would not seek :
to adjust status under section 245 of the ;
Immigration and Nationality Act and relied
only upon relief under section 241(f) of

the Act. In view of this it will not be
necessary to comment on the lengthy testi-
mony which was adduced with reference to
whether or not this respondent was married

to Maurnice Ortiz, otherwise known as Jimmy
Brown and whether that individual was a
United States citizen. If Ortiz/Brown is

a United States citizen and if the respondent
is validly married to him, he may, if he
wishes, file a visa petition with the Dis-
trict Director of the Immigration Service

at Denver and thereby establish for the
respondent immediate relative status under
section 201(b) of the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act. Such status having been estab-
lished in that manner, the respondent may,

if she chooses, seek to reopen the instant
deportation proceedings to give her an
opportunity to file an application for
adjustment of status to that of resident
alien under section 245 of the Immigration
and Nationality Act. Up to the present

time she has not elected to seek an adjust-
ment of status thereby. She may, of course,
also seek to obtain an immigrant visa once
she has departed from the United States and
wishes to return to this country at a later
time.

The respondent has made no application for
voluntary departure. She relies entirely
upon the contention that she is not deport-
able under section 241(f) of the Act. As

I have already concluded that relief under
that section is not available to her she
will be ordered deported to Belgium, the
country that she designated.

31

ORDER: IT IS ORDERED that the respondent's
motion for termination of the deportation
proceedings pursuant to section 241(f) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act is
hereby denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the respondent
be deported from the United States to
Belgium on the charge contained in the
order to show cause.

B. S. Karmiol
Special Inquiry Officer

ee ee a. « SERRATE maa

|

32

’ APPENDIX D:

8 USC 1101(a) (3), Immigration and Nation-

ality Act of 1952 § 101(a) (3)

(a) As used in this chapter -

(3)

The term "alien" means any person
not a citizen or national of the
United States.

8 USC 1101 (a) (15) (B), Immigration and
Nationality Act of 1952 § 101(a) (15) (B)

(a)
(15)

(B)

As used in this chapter -

The term "immigrant" means every
alien except an alien who is within
one of the following classes of
nonimmigrant aliens -

an alien (other than one coming
for the purpose of study or of
performing skilled or unskilled
labor or as a representative of
foreign press, radio, film, or
other foreign information media
coming to engage in such vocation)
having a residence in a foreign
country which he has no intention
of abandoning and who is visiting
the United States temporarily

for business or temporarily for
pleasure;

8 USC 1182(a) (19), Immigration and Nation-
ality Act of 1952 § 212(a) (19)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in

this chapter, the following
classes of aliens shall be ineli-
gible to receive visas and shall
be excluded from admission into

eae

‘
{
4

ee BO ES

BUND AS ih SARC SNR SIS sla iS Dees BRD AE ER BAS a its Sen os ain

(19)

33

the United States:

Any alien who seeks to procure,
or has sought to procure, or has
procured a visa or other docu-
mentation, or seeks to enter the
United States, by fraud, or by
willfully misrepresenting a
material fact;

8 USC 1182(a) (20), Immigration and Nation-
ality Act of 1952 § 212(a) (20)

(a)

(20)

Except as otherwise provided in
this chapter, the following classes
of aliens shall be ineligible to
receive visas and shall be excluded
from admission into the United
States:

Except as otherwise specifically
provided in this chapter, any
immigrant who at the time of
application for admission is
not in possession of a valid
unexpired immigrant visa, re-
entry permit, border crossing
identification card, or other
valid entry document required
by this chapter, and a valid
unexpired passport, or other
suitable travel document, or
document of identity and nation-
ality, if such document is re-
quired under the regulations
issued by the Attorney General
pursuant to section 118l(a) of
this title;

8 USC 1201(a) (2), Immigration and Nation-
ality Act of 1952 § 221(a) (2)

(a) Under the conditions hereinafter

34

prescribed and subject to the

limitations prescribed in this
chapter or regulations issued

thereunder, a consular officer
may issue

#
2

(2) to a nonimmigrant who has made
proper application therefor, a
nonimmigrant visa, which shall
specify the classification under
section 110l(a) (15) of this title
of the nonimmigrant, the period
during which the nonimmigrant
visa shall be valid, and such
additional information as may
be required.

8 USC 1251(a) (1), Immigration and Nation-
ality Act of 1952 § 241(a) (1)

(a) Any alien in the United States
(including an alien crewman)
shall, upon order of the Attorney
General, be deported who -

(1) at the time of entry was within
one or more of the classes of
aliens excludable by law existing
at the time of such entry.

8 USC 1251l(a) (2), Immigration and Nation-
ality Act of 1952 § 241(a) (2)

(a) Any alien in the United States
(including an alien crewman)
shall, upon the order of the
Attorney General, be deported
who -

RS ME set asc aie sas an a Ss 2S eS a lala ele as aE ate ae ih CRN Laie a daha chica ede:

(2) entered the United States without
inspection orat any time or
place other than as designated
by the Attorney General or is
in the United States in violation

35

of this chapter or in violation
of any law of the United States.

8 USC 1251(f), Immigration and Nationality
Act of 1952 § 241(f£)

(f) The provisions of this section
relating to the deportation of
aliens within the United States
on the ground that they were
excludable at the time of entry
as aliens who have sought to
procure or who have procured
visas or other documentation,
or entry into the United States
by fraud or misrepresentation
shall not apply to an alien
otherwise admissible at the time
of entry who is the spouse,
parent, or a child of a United
States citizen or of an alien
lawfully admitted for permanent
residence.

36

‘ APPENDIX E:

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Immigration and Naturalization Service

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE and NOTICE OF HEARING
In Deportation Proceedings under
Section 242 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA:
In the Matter of

MONIQUE PREUX
Respondent.

——

To: Monique Preux File No. Al9 821 979
230 No. Wasatch Ave., Apt. 1, Colorado
Springs, Colorado 80903

UPON inquiry conducted by the Immi-
gration and Naturalization Service, it is
alleged that:

1. You are not a citizen or national
of the United States;

2. You are a native of Belgium
and a citizen of Belgium

3. You entered the United States at

New York, New York on or about June 25, 1971;

4. You were then admitted as a
visitor for pleasure and were authorized
to remain in the United States until Decem-
ber 24, 1971;

5. You had previously been admitted
as a visitor for pleasure November 28, 1969,
and had been authorized to remain in the
United States until September 1, 1971;

6. You had between November 28, 1969,
and May, 1971, resided in an illicit rela-
tionship with a man who was legally married
to another woman;

— - . — ett niet ad ii BLESS

oy
re]
4
2
2
=
BR
‘a
a
4
a
a
3
4
4
4

NADAL Ge hebsas ny sone the Lie SE

haa ees Mat aia

eh et SS MM SA

aN nee RN sah aaa att Hebe RRES

—

37

7. When you last entered June 25,
1971, you entered for the purpose of re-—
suming residence with that person in the
United States;

8. You were not in possession of
a valid immigrant visa.

AND on the basis of the foregoing
allegations, it is charged that you are
subject to deportation pursuant to the
following provision(s) of law:

Section 241(a) (1) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act, in that, at time of entry
you were within one or more of the classes
of aliens excludable by the law existing
at the time of such entry, to wit, aliens,
who are immigrants not in possession of a
valid unexpired immigrant visa, reentry
permit, border crossing card, or other
valid entry document and note exempted
from the possession thereof by said act
or regulations made thereunder.

WHEREFORE, YOU ARE ORDERED to appear
for hearing before a Special Inquiry
Officer of the Immigration and Naturali-
zation Service of the United States Depart-
ment of Justice at 17027 Federal Office
Building, 20th and Stout Streets, Denver,
Colorado 80202 on October 27, 1971 at 3:00
Pem., and show cause why you should not
be deported from the United States on the
charge(s) set forth above.

Dated: October 20, 1971
Issued: 2:50 p.m. IMMIGRATION AND NATURAL-
Form I-221 IZATION SERVICE
(Rev. 3-30-67)
/s/ Lloyd D. Prowell
Lloyd D. Prowell, Deputy
District Director
Denver, Colorado

' APPENDIX F:

A-19 821 979

17027 Federal Office Building
Denver, Colorado 80202
November 23, 1971

Miss Monique Preux
230 N. Wasatch Avenue, #1
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903

Dear Miss Preux:

The deportation proceedings lodged
against you have been terminated and the
Order to Show Cause has been cancelled.
Enclosed find your passport and Form I-94
given to you at time of entry. Please
note that your authorized period of admis-
sion expires on December 24, 1971

Very truly yours,

John L. Todd
District Director

Enclosure
cc: Loa Elaine Bliss
Suite 300
104 S. Tejon
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80902

CERTIFIED MAIL - Return Receipt Requested

39

APPENDIX G:

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Immigration and Naturalization Service

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE and NOTICE OF HEARING
In Deportation Proceedings under
Section 242 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA:

In the Matter of )
MONIQUE PREUX )
Respondent. )

To: Monique Preux File No. Al9 821 979
230 No. Wasatch Ave., Apt. 1, Colorado
Springs, Colorado 80903

UPON inquiry conducted by the Immi-
gration and Naturalization Service, it is
alleged that:

1. You are not a citizen of the
United States;

2. You are a native of Belgium
and a citizen of Belgium

3. You entered the United States
at New York,-New York on or about June 25,
1971; , .
4, You were then admitted as a
visitor for pleasure and were authorized £
to remain in the United States until
February 3, 1972;

5. You have remained in the United
States beyond February 3, 1972, without
authorization.

AND on the basis of the foregoing
allegations, it is charged that you are
subject to deportation pursuant to the

following provision(s) of law:

Section 24l(a) (2) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act, in that, after admis-
sion as a nonimmigrant under Section 101
(a) (15) of said act you have remained in
the United States for a longer time than
permitted.

WHEREFORE, YOU ARE ORDERED to appear
for hearing before a Special Inquiry Officer
of the Immigration and Naturalization Ser-
vice of the United States Department of
Justice at 17027 Federal Office Building,
20th and Stout Streets, Denver, Colorado
80202 on April 26, 1972 at 2:00 p.m., and
show cause why you should not be deported
from the United States on the charge(s) set
forth above.

Dated: April 13, 1972

Issued: 9:15 am IMMIGRATION AND NATURAL=

Form I-221 IZATION SERVICE

(Rev. 3-30-67)
Lloyd D. Prowell, Deputy
District Director
Denver, Colorado

RPE NTS UP an br pe rea . ae 4 a
ERRORS ORD CO OE BMC IRA ADSENSE ROT PRR ER To maa ara tcp a ieatenitatiaies
ECR ESTO TT IRN Et

So

lain hte

Peer sng

41
APPENDIX H:

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LOURDES CABUCO=-FLORES
Petitioner,

— ee we ee ee ee

IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION
SERVICE,
Respondent.

GENEVIEVE L. MANGABAT,
Petitioner,

Ne Ow we owes we we

IMMIGRATION & NATURALIZATION)
SERVICE, )

Respondent, )
)

(April 13, 1973]

On Petition to Review a Decision of the
United States
Immigration & Naturalization Service

Before: BROWNING, HUFSTEDLER and WALLACE,
Circuit Judges

BROWNING, Circuit Judge:

These petitions for review raise a
common question under section 241(f£) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act, 8
U.S.C. § 1251(f£), an ameliorative statute
Providing that in some circumstances fraud
or misrepresentation by an entering alien
who has close family ties with a citizen
Or lawfully admitted permanent resident

42

may be waived as a ground for deportation.+
The issue is whether section 241(f) applies
to deportation of a temporary visitor on
the ground that the visitor has overstayed
the period authorized. We hold that it
does not.

Both petitioners are aliens, citizens
of the Philippine Islands. Each entered
the United States as a nonimmigrant visitor
for a stipulated period. After entry,
each gave birth to a child, a United States
citizen by birth. Deportation proceedings
were commenced against each on the ground
that she had remained longer than permitted
by her visa, and was therefore deportable
under section 24l(a) (2) of the Act. 8 U.S.C.
§ 1251(a) (2). Each defended on the ground
that she was saved from deportation by
section 241(f) because when she applied
for her visitor's visa she fraudulently
concealed an intention to remain in the
United States permanently.

The Board of Immigration Appeals re-
jected the defense as to petitioner Mangabat
on the ground that section 241(f) applies

lsection 241(f) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. §

1251(f) reads:
The provisions of this section relating
to the deportation of aliens within the
United States on the ground that they
were excludable at the time of entry as
aliens who have sought to procure, or
have procured visas or other documenta-
tion, or entry into the United States
by fraud or misrepresentation shall not
apply to an alien otherwise admissible
at the time of entry who is the spouse,
parent, or a child of a United States
citizen or of an alien lawfully admitted
for permanent residence,

re we = hops
° hae A w

ee

43

only to persons who enter as immigrants

We sustain the deportation orders on
another ground, namely, that the charge of
remaining after the expiration of the per-
iod permitted by each petitioner's visitor's
visa was not waived by section 241(f) be-
cause it did not depend directly or indir~

ectly upon the asserted misrepresentation
in obtaining the visa,

Literally, section 241(f) waives
deportation of aliens only "on the ground
that they were excludable at the time of
entry as aliens who
or have procured visas or other documenta-
tion, or entry into
fraud or misrepresentation," in violation
of section 212(a) (19), 8 U.S.C. § 1182 (a)
(19). The Supreme Court rejected a literal
reading of section 241(f) in pen gration
Service v, Errico, 385 U.S. 2 °

s noting that by consistent admin-
istrative interpretation the section

Thus, while not limited to the single
ground for deportation found in section

2See Bong Youn Choy v. Barber, 279 F.2a

44

212 (a) (19), section 241(f) is properly
invoked only when the fraud is "germane
to the charge" upon which deportation is

sought, Muslemi v. Immigration & Natural-
ization Service, 408 F384 1156, 11598 (Sth
Cir. 1000) (see also Hames-Herrera v.
Rosenberg, 463 F.20 451, 454 (Sth Cir.
1972); Jolley v. Immigration & Naturali-
zation Service, 441 F.2d 1245, 1251-52,
1254 (5th Cir. 1971); Loos v. Immigration
& Naturalization Service, 407 F.2d 651,

cn Cal. ; Tsaconas v. Immigra-
tion & Naturalization Service, 397 F.
946 (7th Cir. 1968)),% and the charge
relates to entry. Hames-Herrera v. Rosen-

berg, supra; Khadjenouri v. Immigration
& Naturalization Service, 460 F 3a qé1l,

462 (9th Cir. 1972); Ferrante v. Immigra-
tion & Naturalization Service, 399 F.

58, 104 (6th Cir. 1968); Tsaconas v.
Immigration & Naturalization Service,
supra,.*

3"The statutory waiver excuses charges
which are incidental to the misrepresen-
tation, such as perjury, improper quota
charge, entry without inspection, and lack
of proper documents (when waiver can be
simultaneously granted). However, the
mere fact that the alien claims to have
Made a misrepresentation at the time of
entry does not excuse him from deportation
validly ordered on another charge, not
related to the misrepresentation" (foot-
notes omitted). Gordon & Rosenfield, Immi-
gration Law & Procedure § 4.7c, 4-41.

See also Ntovas v. Ahrens, 276 F.2d
483, 484 (7th Cir. 1960) (decided under
§ 7 of the 1957 Act). See note 5.
4See also Rutledge v. Esperdy, 200 F. Supp. |
231 (S.D.N.Y. 1961), affirmed on the basis

|
SPS Sey . SAPP ET RNS LEEW EY RIE LE BITRE NE CF OREN PS ACE ane

45

Section 241(f) applies only to that
fraud or misrepresentation which the gov-
ernment must prove to establish the ground
relied upon for deportation; in some cir-
cumstances it excuses such fraud. It does
not make the alien's fraud an affirmative
defense, independently exculpatory without
regard to the proof required to establish
the ground for deportability relied upon
by the government.

In those cases petitioners were
ordered deported because the period of
their authorized temporary stays had ex-
pired. The government's case was completed
upon proof that petitioners were admitted
as nonimmigrant visitors for a temporary
period, the period had elapsed, and peti-
tioners had not departed. The charge had
nothing to do with petitioners’ entry;
lawfulness of their entry was assumed,
Proof that petitioners' visas were procured
by fraud was irrelevant to the charge.
Giving full effect to the section 241(£)
waiver, the government's proof of the
ground relied upon for deportation was
unimpaired. Accordingly, the orders of
deportation are not barred by section
241(f).

This interpretation is consistent
with the section's language. It is also
in harmony with the section's purpose,
for Congress intended no more than to grant
relief to aliens "facing expulsion or de-
portation because they had gained entry
through misrepresentation." Immigration

of district court's opinion 297 F.2d 532
(2d Cir. 1961), decided under § 7 of the
1957 Act). See note 5,

a ; EGET ELITE LL —

. -
46

Service v. Errico, supra, 385 U.S. at 220-

° It avoias the anomalous consequence
that an alien may escape deportation simply
by “substitut[ing] for his own convenience
a ground not involved in the deportation
proceedings." Ntovas v. Ahrens, 276 F.2d
483, 484 (7th Cir. 1560). see also Tsaconas

v. Immigration & Naturalization Service,
supra, 359 F.20 046, 046. it avoids the
Constitutional question raised by petitioner
Cabuco-Flores, who points out that if sec-
tion 241(f) is held to apply, but the
factual determination of the Board in her
case is upheld, petitioner Mangabat will

be allowed to remain in this country, while
petitioner Cabuco-Flores, whose situation

is in all respects the same except that ;
she did not enter with a fraudulent intent, :
will be deported.

This construction averts the wholesale
frustration of statutory limitations on
immigration foreseen by the government, |
which suggests that a fraudulent intent ;
to remain cannot be detected at the time |
of entry, nor disproved during a deporta-
tion proceeding.

ee He ete ial tit a eM

Finally, this construction limits
the impact of the apparent inconsistency
between section 241(f)'s automatic waiver
where fraud is involved, and the severely
limited conditions under which aliens having

ers fo Eee nee te Sees Oe 76 En

SThe Court was referring to § 7 of the
1957 Act, Pub. Law 85-316, 71 Stat. 639.
"The present § 241(f) is essentially a
re-enactment of § 7 of the 1957 Act. The
legislative history leaves no doubt that
no substantive change in the section was
intended." Immigration Service v. Errico,
385 U.S. 214, 223 (1966).

47

close family ties in the United States can
be relieved of various other grounds of
deportation. See section 244 of the Act,
8 U.S.C. § 1254; section 212(e), 8 U.S.C.
§ 1182(e); section 212(h), 8 U.S.C. §

1182 (h).

The holding of Muslemi v. Immigration
& Naturalization Service, supra, is not
to the contrary, and, as suggested earlier,
its rationale supports the result we reach
here. Muslemi was not charged with over-
staying; indeed, he was notified that
deportation proceedings were to be insti-
tuted against him one day before his
temporary visa expired. 408 F.2d at 1198.
Deportation was sought on the ground that
he had entered without an immigrant visa
and was therefore excludable under section
212 (a) (20), 8 U.S.C. § 1182(a) (20), and
deportable under section 24l(a) (1), 8 U.S.C.
§ 1251(a) (1), 408 F.2d at 1197. To prove
its charge, the government was required to
establish that Muslemi entered the United
States as an immigrant, that is, as one
who intended to remain in this country
permanently. The government was required
to prove that Muslemi had obtained his tem-
porary visitor's visa by fraudulently mis-
representing his intentions. Thus, the
"misrepresentation was germane to the
deportation charge" (408 F.2d at 1199) --
waiver of the fraud barred proof essential
to that charge.

The rule we adopt is also consistent

with Lee Fook Chuey v. Immigration & Natur-
alization Service, 450 F.2d 244 (oth Cir.

I571). Lee Fook Chuey entered the United
States under a false claim of citizenship
derived from his father. He was ordered
deported on the charge that he was an alien,
who entered without inspection in violation

— -

of section 24l(a) (2), 8 U.S.C. § 1251 (a)
(2). Obviously, proof of this charge re-
quired the government to establish that
petitioner's claim of citizenship was false.
Section 241(f) was therefore determinative.

However, Vitales v. Immigration &
Naturalization Service, 443 Fa 343 (Sth
Cir. 1971), cannot be reconciled with our
present holding: Section 241(f) was held
to bar Vitales' deportation on the ground |
that she had overstayed the period permitted
by a nonimmigrant visitor's visa obtained
by fraudulently concealing an intention to fi
remain in this country permanently. fi

in Vitales, 404 U.S. 983 (1971). There-
after, petitioner left the country volun-
tarily. The Supreme Court vacated the

judgment of this court, and remanded with
instructions to dismiss the petition. 405
U.S. 983 (1972). This court's decision

in Vitales is therefore no longer binding

precedent. See United States v. Munsing-
wear, Inc., 340 ewe ’ _ 7 ;

The orders of the Board are affirmed,

The Supreme Court granted certiorari ~

6In view of the dictum to the contrary in
Chung Wook Myung v. Immigration & Natural-
ization Service, 468 F.2d 627, 628 n.1l
(9th Cir. 1972), this opinion has been
circulated to all the active members of
the @ourt. No judge has requested that
the case be heard in banc,

ARLENE

49

APPENDIX I:

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1972 JANUARY SESSION, 1973

No. 72-1529
FRANCISCO MILANDE,
Petitioner,) Petition for Review
of an Order of the
Immigration and
IMMIGRATION AND Naturalization Ser-
NATURALIZATION SERVICE,) vice.
Respondent. )

Vv.

— ee ee ee ee 8

ARGUED FEBRUARY 20, 1973 - DECIDED
JULY 5, 1973

Before SPRECHER, CIRCUIT JUDGE,
GRANT*, SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE, and GORDON**,
DISTRICT JUDGE.

GORDON, DISTRICT JUDGE. The peti-
tioner seeks review of a final deportation
order of the Board of Immigration Appeals.
That order was based on § 241(a) (2) of the
Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C,

*Senior District Judge Robart A. Grant
of the Northern District of Indiana is
sitting by designation.

**District Judce Myron L. Gordon of the
Eastern District of Wisconsin is sitting
by designation,

50

§ 125l1(a) (2), and upheld a determination
by a Special Inquiry Officer that the peti-
tioner, a nonimmigrant, had overstayed his
temporary visa. This court's jurisdiction
is found in § 106(a) of the Act, 8 U.S.C.

§ 1105a(a).

The principal issue presented is
whether a non-immigrant alien facing de-
portation for overstay is entitled to the
exemption provided by § 241(f) of the Act,
8 U.S.C. § 1251(£). We are also asked to
decide whether § 241(f) is available where,
as is alleged here, the true underlying
basis for the deportation attempt is fraud
and misrepresentation rather than overstay.

The petitioner, Francisco Milande,
is a native and citizen of the Philippines.
On August 14, 1969, he was issued a non-
immigrant visitor's visa; on August 21,
1969, he and his wife entered the United
States as visitors for pleasure, permitted
to remain until November 21, 1969. Before
expiration of this visa, an extension of
the temporary stay was granted to May 20,
1970. No further requests for extensions
were received.

On March 2, 1970, Mr. Milande filed

a third preference visa petition pursuant
to § 203 of the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1153, as

a first step in an attempt to adjust his
presence to immigrant status. He allegedly
was advised at that time that it was unnec~-
essary to request another extension of his
visitor's visa pending determination of

his application. A child was born to the
petitioner and his wife in South Bend,
Indiana, while the application was pending.

On November 23, 1970, the petition
was approved. Mr. Milande received notice

TRA SRA) Digs Vie ecw Banta Ay

of approval by means of the Immigration
and Naturalization Service's Form I-464A.
He remained passive with respect to extend-
ing his temporary visa because he believed
that Form I-461 would automatically be
issued allowing him to remain lawfully

in the United States until a new visa
number became available. This form, how-
ever, was never issued.

During an investigation initiated
prior to approval of the petition, the
Immigration and Naturalization Service
discovered evidence and obtained statements
indicating that the petitioner had obtained
his nonimmigrant visa by fraud. Deporta-
tion proceedings were contemplated on the
basis of this information. When deporta-
tion proceedings were commenced, however,
in April, 1971, they were based on over-
stay rather than fraud.

Mr. Milande moved to terminate the
proceedings pursuant to § 241(f) and, alter-
natively, requested voluntary departure.

On June 10, 1971, the Special Inquiry
Officer found him deportable for overstay.
On appeal, the Board of Immigration Appeals
affirmed the finding of deportability and
the denial of the motion to terminate,

but it reversed that portion of the Special
Inquiry Officer's order which denied vol-
untary departure.

The petitioner contends that the
board erred in refusing to allow him the
benefits of § 241(f). That section, as
interpreted in Immigration and Naturali-
zation Service v. Errico, °

e f
’

+ « e« waives any deportation charge
that results directly from the

misrepresentation regardless of the
section of the statute under which
the charge was brought, provided
that the alien was otherwise admis-
sable at the time of entry."

The petitioners in Errico were immigrants,
not temporary visitors. The respondent
urges, and the board held, that § 241(f)
is not available to nonimmigrants but only
to immigrants.

Section 241(f) has been held applic-
able in a deportation proceeding against a
nonimmigrant where the deportation charge
involves fraud. Muslemi v. Immigration
and Naturalization Service, 408 F. 96
ir. ° e court of appeals for
the ninth circuit had also held that § 241
(f) was available to a nonimmigrant charged
with overstay where it was shown that the
nonimmigrant visitor's visa had been ob-
tained by fraudulent concealment of an
intention to remain in this country per-
manently. Vitales v. Immigration and
Naturalization S n Service, 443 F. 2a 343 (9th
Cir. 1971). Because the petitioner in
Vitales left the country voluntarily after
the Supreme Court granted certiorari,

Immigration and Naturalization Service

Vv. oe 407 U.S. 583 (1971), the Sup-
reme Court vacated the judgment and directed
dismissal. Immigration and Naturalization

Service v. Vitales, 405 U.S. °

While not technically reversing
Vitales because it believed the dismissal
negated Vitales' precedential status, the
court of appeals reversed the position
expressed therein in the recent case of
Cabuco-Flores v. Immigration and Naturali-
zation Service, F.2d (9th Cir.,
Case No. 72-1333, decided April 13, 1973).

]

' $3

In Cabuco-Flores, the court did not con-
sider the immigrant-nonimmigrant distinction
controlling on the question of whether §
241(f£) is applicable in an overstay charge
against a nonimmigrant. Instead, it sus-
tained deportation orders, on facts very
similar to the ones at bar, on the ground
that

". « « the charge of remaining after
the expiration of the period permitted
by each petitioner's visitor's visa
was not waived by section 241(f) be-
cause it did not depend directly or
indirectly upon the asserted misrep-
resentation in obtaining the visa.

<a 2 °ee Ot,

We agree with the ruling in Cabuco-
Flores. To prove overstay, the respondent
need only show a nonimmigrant's admission
for a temporary period, that the period
has elapsed, and that the nonimmigrant has
not departed. Any fraud or misrepresenta-
tion at time of entry is irrelevant to the
charge of overstay; § 241(f) is available
only when the fraud is relevant to the
charge for which deportation is sought.

Muslemi v. pmigration and Naturalization
Service. 408 F, 6, 1198 (9 is
1565); Tsaconas v. Immigration and Natural-
ization Service, 397 F-2a 976, 948 (7th

Cir. 1968).

A clear showing of overstay was made
here. The petitioner's extended temporary
visa expired on May 20, 1970. Deportation
proceedings were begun on April 5, 1971,
at which time the petitioner had not de-
parted. We conclude, therefore, that the
waiver provisions of § 241(f) were properly
held inapplicable by the board in this case,
although we do not hold, as the board appar-

|

ently did, that § 241(f) is never avail-
able to nonimmigrants. Whether we would
agree with the court of appeals for the
ninth circuit that the benefits of § 241
(f) are available when a nonimmigrant is
sought to be deported for fraudulent entry
rather than overstay will not be decided
in the absence of a record directly pre-
senting that situation.

Mr. Milande also argues that the
true basis for the deportation proceedings
challenged here is fraud uncovered during
the pending of his petition for third pre-
ference. He urges that the overstay was
formally relied on in an attempt to cir-
cumvent the availability of § 241(f). It
is argued, therefore, that the proceedings
should be treated as though based on fraud
and the benefits of § 241(f) be made
available.

We disagree. Contrary to his alleged
expectations, Mr. Milande's temporary visa
had expired by the time the government
discovered the apparent fraud. We do not
believe that the subsequent discovery of
evidence indicating fraud precluded the
government from seeking deportation for
an overstay already effected. As the court
stated in Cabuco-Flores:

"Section 241(f) applies only to
that fraud or misrepresentation which
the government must prove to estab-
lish the ground relied upon for
deportation; in some circumstances
it excuses such fraud. It does not
make the alien's fraud an affirmative
defense, independently exculpatory
without regard to the proof required
to establish the ground for deport-
ability relied upon by the government."
___ F.2d at (emphasis supplied).

55

The petitioner also details a prior
practice of the Immigration and Naturali-
gation Service allowing nonimmigrants
relatively automatic extensions of tem-
porary visas pending determinations of
their petitions. It is conceded that
this practice is no longer operative. He
suggests, therefore, in somewhat conclu-
sory terms, that the position we have now
taken allows the government, once it has
uncovered fraud, to simply delay action
on the petition until the temporary visa
expires. It follows, he concludes, that
the government could circumvent § 241(f)
in all nonimmigrant cases by doing just
that and then charging only for overstay.
We recognize that there is some merit to
the petitioner's argument. We also per-
ceive the possibility of some valid coun-
terarguments, however. Consequently we
believe that consideration of this problem
should be deferred until such time as it
is properly before the court; the present
record does not squarely present the issue.

The order of the Board of Immigration
Appeals is affirmed.

A true Copy:
Testes

erk of the Unite tates
Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1315%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
