# Memorandum — Winters v. Bohanon

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1297%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 415 U.S. 914

## Text

io RU RREME COURT. vee Whe: at _F L L ED
yee ae a * Wo nor oo A ane
S Apa tt ete uae oy RS

y = DP ORE ts: 2. ee

=

a the Soyo Gourt af the te nited States
yh Sop, ‘ - Ocronen Tem, 1973. ee sens

4 Ae as Sy

~ + ie ea £
. ¥ “hs z Con J j » ; be . od as
: ; x ees fe ~~ Pe ee
».. Leo Wisrtens.; rine eaatenase
¢ ‘5 : : ¢ 2 j ¥ * Ss es - 43 . F P ~ ‘ +
a ) #3 . . Lz z. Wyse are, |
48 BS : eae v. a ae : 4,

LUTHER Bonaion', JUDGE, Unrrep: ‘SrA Disiticr «

os

oces FOR THE Westen DistRict OF a et ET AL
: ON PETITION ae A WRIT OF CERTIORARI |
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF, APPEALS
‘ FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT” ef. a: a

'

y
suse?

"> MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION .

= ee _Ropert A Beee
3 ae \ Solicitor’ Genial,
oe) Department of Justice,
. Se a Washington, D.C. 20530.

~
: Ps
{ : : .
\ es
aS : ae i
‘ a*y ?
\ 7 . ‘
¥ . ;
> ° s* :
; j
. j ! ty 4 yf . oh
< x i s silentilaat Sea
F ac SEARLES
t ' —
x: “ ‘ 4

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 73-673
LEO WINTERS, PETITIONER
Vv.

LUTHER BOHANON, JUDGE, UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

The principal issue presented by this petition is
whether a district court judge can vacate an oral
order transferring venue, before there has been any
action by the parties thereon, in order to hear argument
and reconsider the necessity for such change of venue.

Petitioner and others are defendants in two cases
pending in the United States District Court for the
Western District of Oklahoma. In one of those cases,
petitioner and three co-defendants are accused of con-
spiring to violate 18 U.S.C. 1341 (mail fraud) and
18 U.S.C. 1951 (Hobbs Anti-Racketeering Act). In the
other case, petitioner and eleven co-defendants are
accused of conspiring to violate 18 U.S.C. 656 (mis-
application of bank funds).

(1)

2

On Friday, June 8, 1973, petitioner and fourteen
co-defendants were arraigned on the two cases. At that
time counsel for petitioner orally moved for a change
of venue due to pretrial publicity (Arraignment tran-
script 19-22).! The United States Attorney requested
five days’ time to respond to petitioner’s motion and
pointed out that the local rules of procedure required
such a motion to be in writing and supported by a
brief. Judge Bohanon “waived” the requirement for
filing a brief and immediately granted the motion.?
He indicated that he was transferring both cases and
all defendants to the Eastern District of Oklahoma,
that he would file an order to that effect the following
week, and that any and all motions should be filed in
the Eastern District of Oklahoma (Arraignment tran-
script 21-22).

The following Monday (June 11, 1973), Judge Boha-
non entered a written order in which he stated (Pet.
App. C.):

Upon reconsideration, the Court is of the opinion
that its oral Order of June 8, 1973, should be
vacated ** * and that the defendants should be
granted until June 18, 1973, in which to file a
written Motion as to venue, together with brief;

'None of petitioner’s co-defendants had moved for a change of
venue, nor did any of them at that time join in the motion
for change of venue.

*In waiving the requirement for filing a brief, Judge Bohanon
stated:

The Court is familiar with all of the newspaper stories. The
Court is familiar with all of the complications in this case,
and I am convinced that the Defendant cannot get a fair
and impartial trial in this District. [Arraignment transcript
21.)

3

the plaintiff is allowed until June 25, in which to
file written response and brief. The Court will
thereafter set the matter for hearing and dis-
position * * *.,

On June 13, 1973, petitioner, without objecting to
Judge Bohanon’s order of June 11, filed a written
‘ motion for change of venue in compliance with said
order. Subsequently, two other co-defendants also
filed motions for change of venue (docket sheet).

On July 2, Judge Brown of the United States District
Court for Kansas was assigned to the Western District
of Oklahoma. Judge Bohanon then transferred the
two cases here involved to him (Petitioner’s Exhibits
5 and 6 in record on appeal).

On July 19, 1973, Judge Brown set all pending
motions for hearing on July 26, 1973. On July 24,
petitioner asked the Court of Appeals for the Tenth
Circuit to rule that the oral order of June 8, 1973, had
divested the Western District of Oklahoma of juris-
diction and cast venue in the Eastern District. The
court of appeals dismissed petitioner’s claim as
“wholly without merit” (Pet. App. A1).3 Moreover,
“[iJn the alternative,” the court of appeals held that
if, in fact, the district court had lost jurisdiction to
vacate its order, it was exercising its supervisory powers
to reassign and transfer the case back to the Western
Distirct of Oklahoma. The court of appeals further
held (Pet. App. A2):

The denial of relief herein is without prejudice
to the right of the trial court to whom the cases

‘A hearing on the merits was held on October 24, 1973. At
that time Judge Brown denied the motion for a change of
venue, with leave to renew after voir dire.

a

4

are assigned to consider the motions for a change
of venue or any further motions for change of
venue which may be filed together with any and all
motions filed on behalf of the Defendants consistent
with the dispositions of the motions for change of
venue.

Petitioner contends that the trial court, having orally
granted a change of venue motion, cannot vacate that
order the next court day. Petitioner is, in effect,
asking this Court to hold that a trial judge, having
decided that a ruling he made was incorrect, cannot
vacate that ruling even though there has been no
detrimental reliance thereon—that, in the context of this
case, once the oral order was made, venue was
immediately and irrevocably taken from the Western
District of Oklahoma and deposited with the Eastern
District. There is no merit to this claim.

Judge Bohanon’s original ruling was clearly incorrect
for several reasons. First, it would have deprived peti-
tioner’s co-defendants of their constitutional right to a
trial in the “district wherein the crime [was] com-
mitted” (Amendment VI, U.S. Constitution). By ordering
a transfer as to the non-moving defendants, it also
would have violated Rule 21(a) of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure, which states that <{t]he court
upon motion of the defendant shall transfer the pro-
ceeding as to him to another district * * *” (em-
phasis added). Finally, the ruling was clearly contrary
to local Rule 13(e), which specifies that a motion
pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 21 shall be in writing and
supported by a brief.4

*Rule 13(e) of the Rules of the United States District Court for
the Western District of Oklahoma provides:

(e) Motions in Criminal Cases. Motions in criminal cases,
and particularly motions made pursuant to Rule 7(f), 12, 16,

5

Having realized his error, Judge Bohanon certainly had
the right to correct it, acting as he did before he had
even entered a formal order and before any party had
time to rely detrimentally thereon and before the case
was actually transferred to the Eastern District of
Oklahoma. As Judge Learned Hand stated in an analogous
situation: “The order [to transfer the action to
another district as the more convenient forum] did not
affect automatically to transfer the cause; the trans-
mittal of the papers was to be the symbolic act of
transfer; and the case was still in the district
court * * *” Magnetic Engineering and Mfg. Co. v.
Dings Mfg. Co., 178 F. 2d 866, 868 (C.A. 2). See also
In re Southwestern Mobile Homes, Inc., 317 F. 2d 65
(C.A. 5); Fischer v. United Airlines, Inc., 218 F.
Supp. 223 (S.D.N.Y.)°

21 and 41(e), Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, shall be
in writing and state with particularity the grounds therefor
and the relief or order sought. All such motions shall be
filed with the Clerk within ten days after arraignment, and a
copy served upon the United States Attorney unless a different
time is fixed by statute or the Federal Rules of Criminal
Procedure. All motions must be accompanied by a concise
brief citing all authorities upon which the movant relies.
The Court may, however, in its discretion, allow such motions
to be made at a time later than that fixed by this Rule.

SThere is no merit to petitioner’s claim (Pet. 7) that there is
a conflict among the courts of appeals. The case upon which peti-
tioner relies, United States v. Marcello, 280 F. Supp. 510 (E.D.La.),
affirmed, 423 F. 2d 993 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 398 U.S. 959,
is inapposite. That case does not hold, as petitioner intimates,
that a district court cannot vacate an order transferring venue
once a finding of prejudice is made. On the contrary, the district
court held that a request by the defendant to vacate an order
granting a change of venue (which he had requested) is a matter
within the court’s discretion. In affirming, the Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit reiterated that the trial court “clearly has the
power to vacate at Defendant’s request an order granting a
change of venue. Whether or not he should do so is left to
his sound discretion” (423 F. 2d at 1005).

6

Although authority on this rather obscure point is
slight, it is clear that a court generally has the
authority to correct an erroneous ruling before any
party has been prejudiced thereby. Cf. Bozza v.
United States, 330 U.S. 160. Here, petitioner has not
been prejudiced in any way by the judge’s action in
vacating his order on the next working day following
its issuance.

Moreover, even if the district court lacked the power
to vacate its original order, h¢re the court of appeals
expressly ordered in the alternative (to its denial of
the application for a writ of mandamus) that the case
be reassigned and transferred to the Western District
of Oklahoma, albeit without prejudice to consideration
of petitioner’s motion for a change of venue in the
orderly manner prescribed by the applicable procedural
rules. Such action was clearly within the supervisory
powers of the court of appeals (United States v.
Dooling, 406 F. 2d 192 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied
sub nom. Persico v. United States, 395 U.S. 911),
and petitioner does not argue to the contrary. His
argument is that it was improper for the court of
appeals to do so here in the face of the so-called
“finding” of the district court that petitioner could
not get a fair trial in the Western District of
Oklahoma. This claim ignores the facts (1) that there
is nothing in the record to support such a “finding”
and (2) that neither the district court (in vacating
the original order) nor the court of appeals purported
to rule on the merits of petitioner’s claim. The
holding of both courts was simply that the motion be
presented and decided in an orderly manner.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

RoBerT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

JANUARY 1974.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1297%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
