# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Alexander v. Alton Ochsner Medical Foundation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1066%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 1068

## Text

__guRREME COURT. ye CLE
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
ma 73-523

ALTON OCHSNER MEDICAL FOUNDATION, OCHSNER
CLINIC, Dk. KENNETH MEYER, Dr. Hurst B.
HATCH, JR. AND DR. JOSEPH K. BRADFORD,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF LOUISIANA IN No. 53,656 OF
THE DOCKET OF SAID COURT,
ENTITLED AS ABOVE

GEORGE M. LEPPERT,
408 Security Homestead Bldg.,
New Orleans, La.

Attorney for Petitioner.

«accent atime

INDEX :
PAGE
OPINIONS BELOW 1
JURISDICTION
QUESTIONS PRESENTED 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-
VISIONS INVOLVED 3
STATEMENT OF THE: FACTS ........................-.-- 4°
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 10
ic sicemriincinnibion 14
APPENDIX A—Memorandum decision by Lou-
NN I niecseeneceeceennonceencoenennvne 15
APPENDIX B—Opinion by Louisiana Court of
SA EA Oe eo 16
Authorities
STATUTES:
Seventh Amendment, U.S. Constitution .......... 3
Fifth Amendment, U.S. Constitution ............ 3
Article 2164 Louisiana Code Civil Procedure .. 3
Cases
Denver Rockets v. All Pro Management Inc. 325
REE SNE See oe Oe 11
Marsha B. Healy et al v. Hon Edwin Edwards, Gov.
et al, Fifth Cir. No. Civil Action 73-688 ............ 12
Ross v. Bernhard, 90 S. Ct. 733, 396 U.S. 531, 24
L. Ed 2d 729 (1970) ......... isis emecsenavumeais 10

Webster v. Offshore Food Service, 434 F. 2d 1191,
cert. den. 92 S.Ct. 44, 404 U.S. 823 -....0....... 11

In the :
Supreme Court of the United States
No.

OCTOBER TERM, 1973

WARNER MAX ALEXANDER,
Petitioner, |

V.

ALTON OCHSNER MEDICAL FOUNDATION, OCHSNER
CLINIC, DR. KENNETH MEYER, Dr. Hurst B.
HATCH, JR. AND Dr. JOSEPH K. BRADFORD,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF LOUISIANA IN No. 53,656 OF
THE DOCKET OF SAID COURT,
ENTITLED AS ABOVE

Petitioner, Warner Max Alexander, prays that a
writ of certiorari issue vo the Supreme Court of Lou-
isiana to review the judgment, opinion and decree
of that Court rendered on June 29, 1973 in the above
entitled cause.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Louisiana,
a memorandum decision, was reported in 279 So.2d
695. Said decision was in connection with denial of
certiorari to the Louisiana Court of Appeals for the

Lh
Py
Ves
;
:
|
I

2

Fourth Circuit, in proceedings entitled as above and
reported in 276 So.2d 794. The memorandum decision
by the Supreme Court in denying writs of certiorari
is set forth in Appendix A, while the opinion of the
Court of Appeal is set forth in Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The order or judgment of the Louisiana Supreme
Court was entered on June 29, 1973. (See Appendix
A) This petition for certiorari was filed within 90
days from said date. Jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1257 (3)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. WHETHER OR NOT, IN A SUIT FOR DAM-
AGES FOR BREACH OF IMPLIED WARRANTY
AND MEDICAL MALPRACTICE, THE INSTRUC-
TION BY THE JUDGE THAT THE JURY MUST
RELY SOLELY UPON THE TESTIMONY OF
MEDICAL EXPERTS IS A VIOLATION OF
PLAINTIFF’S SEVENTH AMENDMENT RIGHT
TO TRIAL BY JURY.

2. WHETHER OR NOT THE LOUISIANA
SYSTEM OF JURY TRIAL IN CIVIL CASES IN
WHICH THE APPELLATE COURT CAN RE-
EXAMINE FACT ISSUES RESOLVED BY THE
JURY, IS A DENIAL OF THE RIGHTS TO A JURY
TRIAL UNDER THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT
OF THE FEDRAL CONSTITUTION.

3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Seventh Amendment to the Constitution :

AMENDMENT [VIL]

In Suits at common law, where the value in
controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right
of trial by jury, shall be preserved, and no fact
tried by a jury, shall be otherwise reexamined in
any Court of the United States, than according
to the rules of the common law.

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution:

AMENDMENT [V.]

No person shall be held to answer for a capi-
tal, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a pre-
sentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the
Militia, when in actual service in time of War or
public danger; nor shall any person be subject for
the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any crimi-
nal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor shall private property be
taken for public use, without just compensation.

Article 2164 of the Louisiana Code of Civil Pro-
cedure:

Art. 2164. Scope of appeal and action to be
taken; costs

The appellate court shall render any judg-
ment which is just, legal, and proper upon the

4

record on appeal. The court may award damages
for frivolous appeal; and may tax the costs of
the lower or appellate court, or any part thereof,
against any party to the suit, as in its judgment
may be considered equitable.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

As will be noted below, it is our contention that
the jury instruction given by the trial Judge here
amounted to a denial of trial by jury as well as denial
of due process of law. In order to appreciate the full
thrust of a certain phase of those instructions, it is
necessary to delve rather deeply into the medical prob-
lem involved. We therefore quote from the Court of
Appeal opinion the medical history of the case: (as set
forth in that opinion at page 766, Col. 1 of 276 So. 2d) :

On April 20, 1967, plaintiff was admitted
to the defendant hospital by defendant, Dr. Hatch,
who had found that the plaintiff was suffering
from a spontaneous pneumothorax, a condition in
which air has escaped from the lung into the
space between the lung and the chest wall as a
result of the rupture of a blister on the surface
of the lung. This condition had first manifested
itself on April 13, 1967, when plaintiff com-
plained to Dr. Hatch that two days prior thereto
he had an onset of stabbing pain in the mid sternal
region, aggravated by breathing and by changing
his position from lying prone. The doctor, on the
basis of X-ray studies, diagnosed a 10% pneu-
mothorax and prescribed bed rest and medication.
Plaintiff was told to return in a week or sooner
if his condition worsened. When he returned on

5

April 20, 1967, and X-ray studies revealed that
the condition had worsened Dr. Hatch consulted
with defendant, Dr. Kenneth Meyer, of the Sur-
gery Department of Ochsner, whereupon the two
physicians concurred that it was necessary to con-
duct a surgical procedure known as a thoracot-
omy. }

This procedure performed by Dr. Meyer con-
sists of the insertion of a catheter through the
wall of the chest and into the space between the
lung and the interior chest wall so that air can
be aspirated from that pleural space. As the air is
removed the lung re-expands and becomes sealed
with the result that the leakage of air from the
lung is gradually eliminated. The insertion of the
tube is accomplished by means of a local anes-
thesia being administered, followed by an incision
in the chest, the slant of which controls the direc-
tion to be followed by the catheter. A steel trocar
or needle tube containing the catheter itself is then
used to penetrate the chest muscle and chest
wall. When the desired position is reached the
trocar is removed leaving the catheter in place
with the outside end of the catheter then con-
nected to a suction apparatus.

This procedure was carried out at 4:30 PM
on April 20, 1967. The nursing notes show that
on April 21 at 12:45 PM plaintiff was complain-
ing of severe pain above the site of the insertion
in the chest and “cannot move legs, arms or head
without pain.” Dr. Meyer testified that when this
report came to his attention he examined the
plaintiff, finding that he was able to turn and
move with ease as he was requested to do in

order for him to carry out his examination. A
chest X-ray was taken and thereafter the posi-
tion of the catheter was changed. The doctor ex-
plained that by this time most of the air in the
pleural space had been removed but there was still
fluid on the periphery of the space. The tube had
to be repositioned in order to place one of the
holes in the tube in the particular space where
the fluid was located. He explained that in addi-
tion to the hole on the end of the catheter addi-
tional holes were placed in the catheter so as to
make the removal of the air more effective. Plain-
tiff was seen by Dr. Hatch daily while in the
hospital until May 1. By April 30 he felt that
there was no more leakage from the lung so that
the catheter could be removed, but on consultation
with Dr. Meyer it was decided to leave the catheter
in place for a short while longer. On May 1 Dr.
Hatch’s responsibility for the plaintiff was as-
sumed by defendant, Dr. Bradford, to whom it
was apparent by May 2 that plaintiff’s lung had
re-expanded completely, so that it was time for
the catheter to be removed from his chest, and this
was confirmed by X-ray examination.

Inasmuch as we are seeking a writ of certiorari on
a matter of national interest, we shall not pursue the
Louisiana Court of Appeals as it meanders down the
labyrynthine ways of confusion, half truth and down-
right mistatement of facts, except insofar as may be
necessary to mount our main attack, i.e. upon:

; (a) The denial of petitioner’s right to trial by
: jury as guaranteed by the Seventh Amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States;

4

(b) The unique Louisiana jury system whereby,
as a cold reality, the jury does not have the
traditional role of judges of the facts, but
are merely permitted to “play” with the facts
as a child would with a toy, ever subject to
having its toys taken away by the appellate
court.

The focal point of our attack in the trial Court, the
Court of Appeal and in the State Supreme Court, was
the failure of the battery of treating doctors at Ochsner
Clinic to take proper lateral X-rays in positioning the
catheter. As stated in our application for rehearing in
the Court of Appeal:

“Dr. William Leon, a witness called by the

Plaintiff, examining the X-rays showing the tube

inserted in Mr. Alexander’s chest on April 20, and

maintained there until May 3, 1967, in his testi-

mony (Tr. 64-66) stated that (Tr. 66),

“Unless we had a view which had shown the
chest in a lateral position, we can’t tell where
this is. It may be in the front or back. There
is no way to tell.

Dr. Leon was testifying in answer to a question,
about why the tube was inserted in the position shown
in the X-ray he was examining, instead of in a higher
position as it had at first been inserted, according to
testimony given.

The record in the Alexander case presently dis-
cusssed before this court, reveals no such lateral X-ray
had been taken, nor had any other techniques in aid
of following, locating and positioning the tube inserted

8

through the trocar in the procedure of reducing the
spontaneous pneumo-thorax.

Dr. Bradford, discussing the insertion of the cath-
eter in the procedure such as was performed (Tr.
204-5) testified that the tube is inserted “blindly.”

The Plaintiff-Appellant contends in this case that
if the additional techniques had been appplied while
the procedure was performed, the defendants would
have been able to watch just where the tube was going
and thereby exercise more effective control of it in its
placement to carry out the procedure of reducing the
pneumo-thorax.”

The Court of Appeal indulged in some semantic
ballet dancing reminiscent of Nijinsky, suggesting that
plaintiff was suing on a theory of an implied contract
whereby it was claimed that the doctors employed had
GUARANTEED SUCCESS. These diversions, how-
ever, are beside the main issue here and we shall not
pursue them because they will not stand inspection..
Such clumsy maneuvers are not calculated to deceive
a reasonably bright mongoloid idiot. But the following
double entrechat by the Court of Appeal must fall flat
on its face when the Court declares: (at page 798 of
276 So.2d, col. 2)

Plaintiff attempts to contradict this testi-
mony by suggesting that X-ray photographs taken
by Drs. Hatch and Meyer were inadequate in that
they did not reveal the depth into the chest cavity
which the catheter reached. He speculates that this
caused his suffering. Dr. Leon thoroughly dis-
credited this theory as a cause for plaintiff’s prob-

9
lem. Plaintiff’s argument that additional X-ray
photographs should have been taken and that addi-
tional procedures, such as fluoroscoping and other
tests, should have been implemented is not sup-
ported by any testimony, medical or lay. The real
nub of the plaintiff’s position seems to be that he
was in pain at the beginning and continued to be
in pain at the time of the trial; therefore, a breach
of contract was committed by defendants who had
undertaken to treat him, but the law does not exact .

upon the physician a guarantee to cure anyone: ©

From the passage above quoted from our petition
for rehearing in the Court of Appeal it is clear that the
Court is dead wrong in saying that Dr. Leon did not
support our theory.

It is indeed true that a distinguished battery of
medical experts, ranging from a neurosurgeon to an
internist and some psychiatrists rallied round the
Ochsner Clinic defense with an enthusiasm reminiscent
of Davey Crockett at the Alamo. In this case, however,
Davey Crockett and his mates won, thanks to the fire-
power of the “charge” which the trial Judge gave the
jury. Thus, the trial Judge told the jury:

“I charge you that in matters such as this,
you must be guided by the views and opinions of
experts as members of the medical profession as
to whether or not the defendants, Alton Ochsner
Medical Foundation or Ochsner Clinic, Dr. Ken-
neth Meyer, Dr. Hurst B. Hatch, Jr. and Dr.
Joseph K. Bradford did all that they were required
to do, * * * ete.”

“I further charge you that whether or not

10

the defendants treated Mr. Alexander within the
standard of care of the New Orleans community
is a matter that must be proven by expert medical
testimony. If all experts testify that they did
follow the standards of care in the New Orleans
community, then you must render a verdict for
the defendants, Alton Ochsner Medical Founda-
tion, Ochsner Clinic, Dr. Kenneth Meyer, Dr.
Hurst Hatch and Dr. Joseph Bradford.”

By the foregoing emphasized language the trial
Judge clearly told the jury that, in judging the faci
issue of proper medical care, they could not decide this
fact for themselves, despite the existence of substantial
evidence which caused the common sense issue of prop-
er care. He flatly told them that they must be bound
by the conclusions of the experts. It is our contention
that the above, along with the peculiar control over
jury trials in Louisiana exercised by appellate courts,
is a denial of Seventh Amendment rights to trial by
jury, as well as a violation of other constitutional
guarantees, such as due process and equal protection
of the laws.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

There is a growing body of law relative to impair-
ment by the States of the right to trial by jury. In
Ross v. Bernhard, 90 S.Ct. 733, 396 U.S. 531, 24 L. Ed
2d 729 (1970) this Court held that where equitable
and legal claims are joined in the same action a jury
trial could not be denied on the legal claims.

The following recent cases, involving summary
judgment, held that the granting of same did not

11

amount to a denial of the constitutional guarantee of
a jury trial:
Webster v. Offshore Food Service, 434 F2d
1191, cert. denied 92 S.Ct. 44, 404 U.S. 823;

Denver Rockets v. All Pro Management, Inc.
325 F.S. 1049.

Of course, the posture of the parties when a case
is dismissed via summary judgment is radically differ-
ent than here, for, when the Court grants a summary
judgment the basis for same is laid out in the record
for all the world to see and the appellate court can
rule, on the face of the papers, whether or not the
summary judgment was properly granted.

But when, as here, the trial Judge by means of a
mandatory instruction covertly takes from the jury
their traditional role as the finder of facts, the whole
package “goes upstairs” disguised as a jury verdict
case despite the fact that the jury had nothing to do
with the fact finding but meekly submitted to the clob-
bering by the trial Judge when he told them they had
to decide the fault issue on the testimony of medical
expert testimony alone. By a process of reductio ab-
surdum, therefore, if what was done here could be car-
ried to its logical extension a hospital patient could have
his throat slit by a surgeon in an argument over dalli-
ance with the doctor’s wife, a battery of medical ex-
perts could swear in unison that slitting of the throat
was standard procedure for lowering blood pressure,
and the patient’s heirs would not get a dime in damages
because the trial court would have told the jury that,

12

in matters of due care etc. in medical matters, they
must take the word of the experts.

The situation is made even worse in Louisiana
in that here the appellate court, either the Supreme
Court or the intermediate appellate court, has a full
review of the facts. Thus, even if it were obvious to
all common sense minds that there had been some dirty
work at the cross roads in the trial court, the appellate
court, whether Supreme or intermediate, could brush
the entire mess under the rug by simply finding, as a
matter of fact that what was done at the hospital was
good medical practice anyway.

Thus, we say, Louisianans are certainly in a pre-
carious position quo ad their supposed right to a real
trial by jury. Moreover, this technique of virtually
denying a trial by jury by means of a mandatory
charge as vicious as the one here, is a matter of na-
tional interest. In malpractice cases it is difficult
enough to secure the services of a medical expert to
testify to the faults of his professional brethren. If this
sort of heavy handed instruction as to how the jurors
must decide the key fact issues is allowed to stand then
it will not be long before we see a bumper crop of such
maneuvers pop up throughout the land.

The jury system of Louisiana is already under na-
tional attack. In an unreported Fifth Circuit case’ it
has been held that the Louisiana jury system is consti-
tutionally defective in that women are not selected for

1 Marsha B. Healy et al. v Hon. Edwin Edwards, Governor
et al., CA 73-688.

18

jury service unless they volunteer. The Attorney Gen-
eral of Louisiana has obtained from this Court a
stay order but it does seem that a writ issued now
would clean up the entire jury problem in lovely Lou-
isiana where Evangeline waited so long and so fruit-
lessly for her lover Gabriel, and where her modern day
citizens are still waiting patiently for a real jury trial.

For the foregoing reasons we respectfully submit
that a writ of certiorari should issue to the Supreme
Court of Louisiana, that the judgments below be re-
versed and that a new trial be ordered.

GEORGE M. LEPPERT,
408 Security Homestead Bldg.,
New Orleans, La.
Attorney for Petitioner.

14
CERTIFICATE

I, George M. Leppert, hereby certify that I am a
member in good standing of the bar of the Supreme
Court of the United States that all of the statements
of fact in the foregoing petition are true and correct
and that copies of same have been served upon all oppos-
ing parties and upon the Clerk of the Supreme Court
of Louisiana, properly addressed and postage prepaid

on Sept. 1973.

George. M Leppert

15
Appendix A
Supreme Court of Lonisiana

NEW ORLEANS, 70112

WARNER MAX ALEXANDER : June 29, 1973
V.
ALTON OCHSNER MEDICAL ; No. 53,656

FOUNDATION, ET AL

In re: Warner Max Alexander applying for certiorari
or writ of review to the Court of Appeal, Fourth
Circuit, Parish of Orleans

Writ denied. On the facts found by the Court of Appeal,
there is no error of law.

/s/ PFC
/s/ JWS
/s/ FWS
/s/ AT dr.

MARCUS, J., recussd.

A TRUE COPY

Clerk’s Office

Supreme Court of Louisiana
New Orleans, June 29, 1973

/s/ PHIL TRICE
Deputy Clerk

16

Appendix B
WARNER MAX ALEXANDER : No. 5363

Vv. : COURT OF APPEAL
ALTON OCHSNER MEDICAL : FOURTH CIRCUIT
FOUNDATION, ET AL =. gTATEOF LOUISIANA

APPEAL FROM THE CIVIL DISTRICT COURT FOR
THE PARISH OF ORLEANS, STATE OF
LOUISIANA, No. 507-100,
HONORABLE WALTER F. MARCUS, JR., JUDGE

PATRICK M. SCHOTT

(Court composed of Judges William V. Redmann,
James C. Gulotta and Patrick M. Schott)

A. S. CAIN, JR., CHARLES J. LANGE, and DEAN A.
ANDREWS, JR.
Attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellant

ADAMS AND REESE (Henry B. Alsobrook, Jr.)
Attorneys for Defendants-Appellees

April 3, 1973 AFFIRMED

The plaintiff appeals from a judgment dismissing
his suit against Alton Ochsner Medical Foundation,
Ochsner Clinic and three physicians associated with
those entities, Dr. Kenneth Meyer, Dr. Hurst B. Hatch,
Jr. and Dr. Joseph K. Bradford. The case was tried
to a jury resulting in a unanimous verdict for the
defendants.

17

In his petition, plaintiff alleged alternatively that
the defendants, including the three physicians named,
as well as other physicians associated with them, in
the period between April 20, 1967, and May 5, 1967,
violated an agreement made with him in that the treat-
ment afforded him was not performed in accordance
with the standard of professional skills and care pre-
vailing in the community and were negligent in that they
failed to exercise ordinary care and skill required of
them. In this Court, plaintiff contends that the defend-
ants failed to use various processes and facilities to
minimize his pain during the course of their treatment,
thereby failing to render to him treatment which the
community has a right to expect and thereby violating
an implied warranty existing between plaintiff as a
patient and defendants.

In addition, plaintiff complains that the trial
judge’s instructions to the jury were defective as a
matter of law, because of, 1) the judge’s failure to
give certain special charges submitted by plaintiff’s
counsel and, 2) the inclusion of one particular para-
graph in the general charge.

Plaintiff’s counsel did not object to the general
charge in the trial court so that he is precluded from
that assignment of error in this Court under the pro-
visions of LSA-C.C.P. Art. 1793. As to the trial
judge’s failure to give the special charges submitted
by plaintiff, about which timely objection was made,
a review of the general charge satisfies us that the
jury was correctly and adequately instructed on the
law in the context that the trial judge has the respon-

18

sibility to avoid confusing the jury and the right to
use whatever semantics may be appropriate and neces-
sary for this purpose. Lauro v Travelers Insurance
Company, 261 So.2d 261, 4th Cir. 1972.

On April 20, 1967, plaintiff was admitted to the
defendant hospital by defendant, Dr. Hatch, who had
found that the plaintiff was suffering from a spon-
taneous pneumothorax, a condition in which air has
escaped from the lung into the space between the lung
and the chest wall as a result of the rupture of a
blister on the surface of the lung. This condition had
first manifested itself on April 13, 1967, when plain-
tiff complained to Dr. Hatch that two days prior
thereto he had an onset of stabbing pain in the mid
sternal region, aggravated by breathing and by chang-
ing his position from lying prone. The doctor, on the
basis of X-ray studies, diagnosed a 10% pneumothorax
and prescribed bed rest and medication. Plaintiff was
told to return in a week or sooner if his condition
worsened. When he returned on April 20, 1967, and
X-ray studies revealed that the condition had worsened
Dr. Hatch consulted with defendant, Dr. Kenneth
Meyer, of the Surgery Department of Ochsner, where-
upon the two physicians concurred that it was neces-
sary to conduct a surgical procedure known as thor-
acotomy.

This procedure performed by Dr. Meyer consists
of the insertion of a catheter through the wall of the
chest and into the space between the lung and the in-
terior chest wall so that air can be aspirated from

SERGE ASTLNNIYI IAS PO NHC MN TY AERC ERT 9 NINH WF TT

hae hciaiinaiaatid “ To atee caldiieaiadiies

19

that pleural space. As the air is removed the lung re-
expands and becomes sealed with the result that the
leakage of air from the lung is gradually eliminated.
The insertion of the tube is accomplished by means of
a local anesthesia being administered, followed by an
incision in the chest, the slant of which controls the di-
rection to be followed by the catheter. A steel trocar
or needle tube containing the catheter itself is then
used to penetrate the chest muscle and chest wall. When
the desired position is reached the trocar is removed
leaving the catheter in place with the outside end of
the catheter then connected to a suction apparatus.

This procedure was carried out at 4:30 PM on
April 20, 1967. The nursing notes show that on April
21 at 12:45 PM plaintiif was complaining of severe
pain above the site of the insertion in the chest and
“cannot move legs, arms or head without pain.” Dr.
Meyer testified that when this report came to his atten-
tion he examined the plaintiff, finding that he was able
to turn and move with ease as he was requested to do in
order for him to carry out his examination. A chest
X-ray was taken and thereafter the position of the
catheter was changed. The doctor explained that by this
time most of the air in the pleural space had been re-
moved but there was still fluid on the periphery of the
space. The tube had to be repositioned in order to place
one of the holes in the tube in the particular space
where the fluid was located. He explained that in addi-
tion to the hole on the end of the catheter additional
holes were placed in the catheter so as to make the

RAGE INE OFT TNE Pt ee et:

Sie SEAS IT A

PERE

i
:
j

20

removal of the air more effective. Plaintiff was seen
by Dr. Hatch daily while in the hospital until May 1.
By April 30 he felt that there was no more leakage from
the lung so that the catheter could be removed, but on
consultation with Dr. Meyer it was decided to leave
the catheter in place for a short while longer. On May
1 Dr. Hatch’s responsibility for the plaintiff was as-
sumed by defendant, Dr. Bradford, to whom it was
apparent by May 2 that plaintiff's lung had re-
expanded completely, so that it was time for the
catheter to be removed from his chest, and this was
confirmed by X-ray examination. The catheter was re-
moved on May 4 and plaintiff was discharged from the
hospital on May 5 with no problems of mobility. Dr.
Meyer and Dr. Bradford both testified that the proce-
dure followed, and the treatment administered, was in
accordance with standard medical practice in the City
of New Orleans. Dr. Bradford further testified that
Drs. Hatch and Meyer both have the necessary training
and skill to have treated plaintiff.

In his petition, plaintiff alleged that it was during
this period of hospitalization that the defendants failed
him in some contractual obligation and were negligent
in their treatment of him. He contends that he suffered
severe pain and discomfort during this period; that
somehow the defendants were derelict in their duty to
alleviate his suffering; that this suffering continued
after his discharge from the hospital and eventually
caused him to lose his employment and to continue to
suffer all the way up until the time of the trial.

Plaintiff did not testify at the trial except to

21

identify his doctor and hospital bills, and the only evi-
dence of his suffering is contained in the testimony of
the doctors as they recited from their records the com-
plaints made to them by plaintiff.

i The jury heard the testimony of ten different phy-
sicians who testified at the trial of the case. Dr. Hatch
who had been treating plaintiff since April, 1962, for
various illnesses including tuberculosis, continued to
treat the plaintiff after the thoracotomy until March
of 1969. Because of continued complaints throughout
this period he prescribed medication, had him examined
by and consulted with other physicians, including Dr.
Merrill Hines, and became convinced that plaintiff's
pains were psychogenic and suggested that he see a
psychiatrist for treatment. This view was shared by
Dr. Meyer on the basis of plaintiff’s behavior in the
hospital.

Dr. Hines had treated plaintiff over a period of
10 or 15 years as his family physician and also felt that
plaintiff had emotional problems and recommended
psychiatric treatment.

Plaintiff was examined by Dr. Charles L. Brown,
Jr., on May 19, 1969, and upon initial examination of
plaintiff followed by complete tests in the Baptist
Hospital in July, 1969, and consultation with a neurol-
ogist, an orthopedic surgeon and a lung specialist,
could find no explanation for the complaints and con-
cluded that plaintiff’s problems were emotional re-
quiring psychiatric treatment. Dr. Brown reviewed the
records of the Ochsner Clinic and the work done by Drs.

a

Hatch, Bradford and Meyer, and concluded that noth-
ing they had done indicated any deviation from the
proper medical care.

Plaintiff was treated by Dr. William Leon from
December 2, 1969, until February 26, 1971. Plaintiff
was given tests at Touro Infirmary, Dr. Leon con-
sulted with an internist, Dr. Joseph Schenthal, and a
neurosurgeon, Dr. Raeburn Llewellyn, but could find
no objective findings to explain plaintiff's subjective
complaints of chest pains, which plaintiff told him had
been occurring for two and a half years since his pneu-
mothorax. Dr. Leon, too, felt that plaintiff should get
psychiatric care, and he testified that based upon the
history that plaintiff had given to him, as well as the
review he made of the medical records, he could find
no dereliction of duty or breach of the standard of care
or of medical practice on behalf of defendants.

Dr. Schenthal who examined plaintiff on January
5, 1970, and in October, 1971, testified that he could
find no physical reason to account for the pain about
which plaintiff complained. In his opinion the pain was
involved with emotional components requiring the at-
tention of a psychiatrist. In his opinion, Drs. Hatch and
Bradford were “topnotch” in their fields, as well as
Dr. Brown and others at the Ochsner Clinic who had
examined plaintiff.

Dr. Llewellyn, who examined plaintiff on January
6, 1970, testified that the exposing of the nerves in the
chest wall by the procedures followed during the
thoracotomy were not the basis of plaintiff’s com-

ert AO ae Mit ts

23

plaints. He could not find what was causing plaintiff’s
pain.

Plaintiff did see Dr. Millard Jensen, a psy-
chiatrist, on March 23 and April 4, 1971, who testified
that plaintiff was suffering from a great deal of anx-
iety, he was under stress, and he had paranoid ten-
dencies. He felt that the pain he described was psycho-
genic in origin, especially since the other physicians
could not find any physical reason for the pain. He |
recommended further psychiatric help but plaintiff
stated that he didn’t need any help in that area, and his
attitude was that he knew what his problem was and
that surgical correction was the only answer for the
problem.

Finally, Dr. George Welch, a specialist in internal
medicine, examined the plaintiff on August 6, 1971,
and expressed the opinion that the pain about which
plaintiff was complaining was not related to the treat-
ment he got at Ochsner Clinic and was psychogenic or
emotional in origin.

With respect to plaintiff’s position that the defen-
dants committed a breach of contract, we are guided
by the following principles enunciated in Phelps v
Donaldson, 243 La. 1118, 150 So.2d 35:

“We think the general rule universally obtaining
on the subject matter is that: ‘When a physician
undertakes the treatment of a case he does not
guarantee a cure, nor is any promise to effect a
cure or even a partial healing to be implied, nor
does the law raise from the fact of employment

24

an implied undertaking to cure, but only an under-
taking to use ordinary skill and care. For this
reason a physician cannot be held up to a standard
of civil responsibility similar to that of engineers,
mechanics, and shipbuilders. Of course a physi-
cian might contract specifically to cure and he
would be liable on his contract for failure, but,
in the absence of such a special and peculiar con-
tract, the fact that treatment has resulted un-
favorably does not even raise a presumption of
want of proper care, skill, or diligence. * * *’

21 R.C.L. Sec. 36, p. 391. Also, see 70 C.J.S. Physi-

cians and Surgeons § 57, pp. 981, 982 ‘A dentist,

like a physician or surgeon, is not an insurer or
guarantor of results, in the absence of express
agreement.’ 41 Am. Jur., Physicians and Sur-

geons, Sec. 104, p. 219.”

There is no evidence of any expressed contract to
cure. The testimony of defendant physicians standing
alone is sufficient in this case with respect to implied
warranty to show that they did use ordinary skill and
care and their testimony is corroborated by the testi-
mony of every other physician who reviewed their proce-
dures and approved of same. Plaintiff attempts to
contradict this testimony by suggesting that X-ray
photographs taken by Drs. Hatch and Meyer were
inadequate in that they did not reveal the depth into
the chest cavity which the catheter reached. He specu-
lates that this caused his suffering. But Dr. Leon
thoroughly discredited this theory as a cause for plain-
tiff’s problem. Plaintiff’s argument that additional
X-ray photographs should have been taken and that
additional procedures, such as fluoroscoping and other

Y ~"y PEE 26 8 On ORES REPEAT LE IC RMI OTE SOT

25

tests, should have been implemented is not supported
| by any testimony, medical or lay. The real nub of the
plaintiff’s position seems to be that he was in pain at
the beginning and continued to be in pain at the time
of the trial; therefore, a breach of contract was com-
mitted by defendants who had undertaken to treat
him, but the law does not exact upon the physician a
guarantee to cure anyone. Furthermore, the pain and
discomfort described in the nursing note of April 21
are fully explained by Dr. Meyer who testified that a
thoracotomy necessarily causes a patient to be un-
comfortable as long as the catheter remains inserted
and discomfort continues even after the patient is dis-
charged from the hospital because of the incision and
irritation to the lining of the lung and chest wall.
Finally, the testimony of almost every physician who
appeared at the trial, as well as numerous consultants
to whom reference was made by those physicians, com- ;
pels a conclusion that plaintiff’s pain was not the result
of defendants’ actions but was psychogenic or emo-
tional requiring psychiatric treatment for a cure.

As to the allegations of negligence on the part of
defendants, their conduct must be judged on the basis
of whether they exercised that degree of skill and care
which is usually possessed and exercised by practi-
tioners of the profession in the same community, it
being their duty to use reasonable care and diligence
along with their best judgment in the application of
their skill to the case before them. Uter v Bone and
Joint Clinic, 249 La. 851, 192 So.2d 100, and Meyer
v St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Company, 225 La. 618

cnrenacel ote noe waconenee ener ecg na Calon “RAEN NS PRN A RO

26

73 So.2d 781. When this test is applied to the conduct
of defendants, the evidence is overwhelming to the
effect that all of the physicians who are named de-
fendants, as well as those personnel of Ochsner Clinic
and the other entities who treated plaintiff, discharged
their duty to him.

B-4340, 9-73

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1066%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
