# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Rose Ann Coates Trust v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1008%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 1045

## Text

BR AE gi aA TAR SEITE SE

i
SUBJECT INDEX

Page

I. Opinions Below 1
II. Jurisdiction 1
2

2

2

3

7

III. Questions Presented .....
IV. Statutes Involved
V. Statement of the Case
VI. Reasons for Granting Writ
VII. Conclusion

TABLES OF AUTHORITY
Table of Cases

Commissioner v. Stickney, 399 F.2d 828 (1968), affg
sub nom., Henry McK. Haserot, 46 T.C. 864

eet tana er 3, 4,5,6
H McK. Haserot, 41 T.C. 562 (1964), remanded,
355 F.2d 200 (6th Cir. 1965) 22. ceeeeeceeeeee 4,5,6
Henry McK. Haserot, 46 T.C. 864 (1966) ................ 3, 4, 5,6
Statutes
i emnanoionasnans 1
Other Authority
Internal Revenue Code of 1954:
inal 2,5

Sec. 301(c)(1) 4,7
Sec. 302 2
Sec. 302(b) (1) 5
Sec. 302(d) 4,5, 6,7
Sec. 304 2, 4, 5, 6,7
Sec. 304(a) (1) 3,4
Sec. 351 2, 4,5, 6,7
SI ee he 4

Sec. 368

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1973

Rose ANN Coates Trust, RosBert N. Coates, Trustee;
Trust Under Will of SypNey N. Coates, Rosert N. Coates,
Trustee; PETER M. Coates; CHARLES N. CoATEs;
PAMELA L. Coates; Catuy A. CoATEs,

Petitioners,
Vv.

ComMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit entered on June 5, 1973.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. A, infra, pp.
A-1 to A-8) is not yet reported. The opinion of the United
States Tax Court (App. B, infra, pp. A-9 to A-27) is re-
ported at 55 T.C. 501.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

sa a ec

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Whether Section 304 or Section 351 of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1954 prevails in a transaction where both
sections are applicable.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of Sections 301, 302, 304, and
351 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 are set forth in
Appendix C, infra, pp. A-28 to A-31.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1948, Sydney Coates incorporated his sole proprietor-
ship as Coates Electric Manufacturing Company; the name
of this corporation was subsequently changed to CAM In-
dustries, Inc. CAM manufactured a line of commercial and
industrial electrical equipment.

Sydney Coates, together with his son, Robert Coates,
and Sydney Coates’ two sons-in-law, Arthur Heinen and
Morgan Boyd, incorporated Washington Industrial Prod-
ucts, Inc. (hereinafter called “WIP”) to take over the as-
sets and contracts of a corporation in the related business
of manufacturing ovens for the food industry. The incor-
porators of WIP each received one-fourth of the corpora-
tion’s capital stock.

CAM and WIP operated as separate corporate entities
until 1965. Robert N. Coates managed CAM and succeeded
his father as president in 1963. Although Robert Coates
was generally familiar with the operations of WIP, the
company was managed by Arthur Heinen from 1955 until
1965. In 1965, the management of WIP and CAM, having
determined that substantial economies could be realized
by combining the personnel, inventories, purchasing and

OTHE oe laid The AGT agi

eemeennemeteiinen, vite PAROS STIL alee RO ee CLADE IRAE PARRA

3
machinery of both corporations, decided to combine WIP
and CAM.

Before his death in 1963, Sydney Coates gave most of

the CAM stock he owned to members of his family. Robert
Coates received control of over two-thirds of the voting
stock and 51% of the total stock of CAM. In combining
CAM and WIP, Robert Coates required that he have the &
same ownership interest in the resulting entity as he had in &
CAM. Since a reorganization under Section 368 was not
feasible, the shareholders of WIP, on May 20, 1965, ex- }
changed their shares in WIP for agreements from CAM to —
pay $1,000 per share of stock over a ten-year period with &
interest thereon. (App. A, pp. A-2 to A-3).

In his deficiency notices, the Commissioner of Internal
Revenue treated the transactions as a redemption by a §
related corporation under Section 304(a)(1) taxable as a &
dividend at the face value of the agreements. The United
States Tax Court sustained the Commissioner's position
with the exception that the fair market value of the agree- |
ments was determined to be 60% of their face value and
the court of appeals affirmed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The court below erroneously decided an important '
question involving the application of two sections of the =
Internai Revenue Code providing for radically different
tax treatment of the same transaction. The decision of the
court below is directly in conflict with the decision of the |
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Commissioner v.
Stickney, 399 F.2d 828 (1968), aff'g sub nom., Henry McK.
Haserot, 46 T.C. 864 (1966). The existence of this direct ,
conflict was noted by the Ninth Circuit in its opinion in |

RDN RA atiie

a

Appendix A, infra, p. A-6. The Ninth Circuit based its deci-
sion on the separate opinion of Judge Tannenwald of the
United States Tax Court in Henry McK. Haserot, 46 T.C.
864, a decision of the full Tax Court.

The question is one of statutory interpretation and has
previously been decided in only one reported case, i.e.,
Commisioner v. Stickney, supra. Since the decision in
Stickney is the result of years of litigation requiring four
separate opinions before final resolution, it may be helpful
to clarify the history of the case.

The taxpayer, Henry McK. Haserot, controlled three
corporations, Northport Cherry Factory, Inc., Gypsum Can-
ning Co. and Haserot Co. Haserot Co. purchased the en-
tire production of Northport and Gypsum and furnished
the management and financing for those corporations. In
February 1958, the taxpayer, having decided to place
Northport and Gypsum under the direct control of Haserot
Co., transferred to Haserot Co. his shareholdings in these
corporations in exchange for $64,850 in cash and 2,432
shares of Haserot Co. A deficiency was determined by the
* Commissioner after the taxpayer failed to report income
’ from this transaction. The only issue before the Tax Court
+ was whether the cash received by the taxpayer was taxable
at capital gains rates as Section 351(b) “boot” or as divi-
- dend income under Section 301(c)(1) by virtue of Sec-
5 tions 304(a)(1) and 302(d). Since Section 304 is not
: _ self-executing, dividend treatment results only if both Sec-
1 tion 302(d) and Section 301(c)(1) are also applicable.

Ia Henry McK. Haserot, 41 T.C. 562 (1964), remanded,
355 F.2d 200 (6th Cir. 1965), the Tax Court held that Sec-
tion 351 prevailed over Section 304. on the ground that the

x

5 :
“Except as otherwise provided” limitations of Sections
301(a) and 302(d) indicated that Section 301 dividend
treatment can result only if no other provision in chapter 1
and subchapter C, respectively, requires other treatment.

The Sixth Circuit remanded the first Haserot decision
for findings on the issue of dividend equivalency without
deciding whether Section 304 or Section 351 took prece-
dence in the transaction. In the second Haserot decision
the majority of the Tax Court limited its decision to a
finding that the distribution of cash to the taxpayer by
Haserot Co. was essentially equivalent to a dividend with-
in Section 302(b)(1). Judge Tannenwald, however, in a
separate opinion in which Judge Simpson concurred, ex-
pressed the opinion that Section 304 should take prece-
dence over Section 351 where a transaction comes within
the literal language of both sections. On appeal, the Sixth
Circuit affirmed the first Tax Court decision in Haserot that
Section 351 takes precedence over Section 304 thus reject-
ing Judge Tannenwald’s reasoning.

As for the merits, little can be added to the above refer-
enced opinions which delineate the difficult question of
statutory interpretation presented herein. Ultimate resolu-
tion of this issue will depend primarily on the interpreta-
tion accorded the “Except as otherwise provided” limita-
tions in Sections 301(a) and 302(d). The Sixth Circuit
found the only reasonable explanation of the limiting clause
in Section 301(a) was that, when another section of the
chapter has application, the Section 301 treatment is to be
excluded. Petitioners submit the Stickney decision, which
gives effect to the limiting clauses of Sections 301(a) and

6
302(d), is correct. This question of statutory interpreta-
tion, having created a clear conflict in the circuit courts,
can only be resolved by this Court.

II. Resolution of the question presented is necessary to
provide for certainty in transactions by shareholders of
related corporations. The present conflict of decisions mag-
nifies the problems and uncertainties faced by shareholders
of related corporations who seek to restructure their own-
ership interests in such corporations. As stated in the find-
ings of fact set forth in the decision of the United States
Tax Court in the instant case, the purpose of the transac-
tion in question was to combine two family owned corpora-
tions which, because of the requirements of the majority
shareholder of CAM Industries, Inc., could not be accom-
plished by a reorganization under Section 368.

The transaction adopted to effect this combination, as-
suming the legal consequences were determined in accord-
ance with the Stickney decision, would have resulted in
no adverse tax consequences to the petitioners. This trans-
action, essentially a transfer of WIP shares for long-term
installment obligations of CAM which the Ninth Circuit
assumed for purposes of argument to be “securities”, would
have been governed by the provisions of Section 351. Since
no “boot” i.e., cash or other property, was received in this
transaction, the owners of shares in WIP would have
carried over their basis in such shares to the installment
obligations without immediate tax consequences.

Notwithstanding the decisions of the Tax Court in both
Haserot cases and the affirming opinion of the Sixth Cir-
cuit, holding that Section 351 takes precedence over Sec-
tion 304, the court below reached a contrary conclusion.

ye, SO

7

Rather than considering the transaction to be within the
non-recognition provision of Section 351, the Ninth Cir-
cuit requires that the transaction be considered a redemp-
tion under Section 304 with dividend treatment resulting
by application of Sections 302(d) and 301(c) (1). The con-
flict created by the Ninth Circuit decision leaves the Com-
missioner and all taxpayers uncertain of the statute to be
applied in ‘similar transactions. .

Until this Court provides a definitive solution, private
counsel will, as a practical matter, be unable to advise their
clients to resolve problems such as those raised here, short
of litigation. Unless the Court resolves the present conflict
in the circuits, taxpayers in control of related corporations
in different parts of the nation will be taxed differently
even though they consummate virtually identical trans-
actions concerning their shareholdings in related corpora-
tions.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Josern H. TRETHEWEY
GERALD R. HERGERT of
TRETHEWEY & BRINK
Attorneys for Petitioners
August 1973

EEE PEF IRAE I TE EIS EMER LIS ON a RA POE DON Se ena PA es i

LRT PEO HENNY

ah ee gets 2

A-1
APPENDIX A
UNITED STATES COURT OF

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Rose Ann. Coates Trust, Rosert N.
Coates, Trustee; Trust UNpER WiLL
OF Sypney N. Coates, Ropert N.
Coates, Trustee; PETER M. CoaTEs;
Cuarves N. Coates; PAMELA L.
Coates; Catuy A. Coates,

APPEALS

Nos.
71-1968
71-1969
> 71-1970
71-1971
71-1972
71-1973

Appellants-Petitioners,
v.
CoMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Appellee-Respondent.
[June 5, 1973]

Appeal from the Tax Court of the United States

Before: CHAMBERS, WRIGHT, and KILKENNY ;

Circuit Judges.
WRIGHT, Circuit Judge:

Sydney and Rose Ann Coates, together with their chil-
dren, children’s spouses, and grandchildren, owned all of
the shares of two corporations, CAM Industries, Inc. (here-
inafter called CAM) and Washington Industrial Products,
Inc. (hereinafter called WIP). After the death of Sydney
Coates, the family group agreed to combine the two cor-
porations by having CAM “purchase” the shares of WIP.

When the transaction was complete, CAM and WIP
shares were held by members of the family as follows:

A-2

Estate of Sydney Coates 75 664
Robert N. Coates 51 ~——- 11,640 2,250
Peter Coates 6 205
Cathy Coates 6 205
Pamela Coates 6 205
Charles N. Coates 6 205
Marjorie Coates (Mrs. Robt. ) 290

R. Morgan Boyd 63 10 422
Robert M. Boyd, Jr. 6 391
James Boyd 6 391
Ruby Boyd (Mrs. R. M.) 390 372

A. C. Heinen 57 10 375
Barbara Heinen 6 340

* Gary Heinen 6 340
= Richard Heinen 6 340
-~ Molly Heinen (Mrs. A. C.) 390 325
Totals 300 2,440 7,320

| The “purchase” was effected on May 20, 1965 when
CAM and the shareholders of WIP entered into agreements
in this form:

AGREEMENT FOR SALE OF STOCK

Agreement made this 20th day of May, 1965, by and

between the undersigned “Seller” and CAM INDUS-
TRIES, INC., a corporation, hereinafter called the
“Buyer.”
; Seller hereby sells to Buyer, and Buyer hereby pur-
3 chases from Seller. Ce eee shares of the common stock
of Washington Industrial Products, Inc., a Washington
corporation, at the price and on the terms and condi-
tions herein set forth.

1. Purchase Price. The price to be paid by Buyer to

Seller for said shares of common stock shall be $1,000.00
per share or an aggregate purchase price of ...................

2. Delivery of Stock and Payment of Purchase Price.

(a) The certificate or certificates for the shares of com-
mon stock sold hereunder by Seller are herewith
delivered to Buyer, duly endorsed for transfer to Buyer,

Pit ht ttn ble Diba sonds CesMN IE

Fe 2 Ti, She eet we wey ey duh! Hera ks lp ene? Anon awd dale

ee Ty NE ES EE a et peer Me NRE

A-3
and Buyer hereby wledges receipt of said certif-

icate or certificates.

May of each year thereafter until the 31st day of
May, 1975, at which time the entire unpaid ea |
the purchase price shall be due payable, Buyer

pay interest on the diminishing balance of said purchase

3
5
=
§
S.
§
3
:
8
s
3
a

ment shall inure to the b ; of and bind the successors
and assigns of Buyer and t. executors, administrators,
heirs, successors and assigns of Seller.

Subsequently, by order of the Superior Court of Wash-
ington for King County on September 23, 1965, Robert N.
Coates as Trustee of the Trust Under Will of Sydney
Coates received an undivided one-third interest in the
May 20 contract for the sale of 75 shares of WIP held by
the Sydney Coates Estate. By the same order Robert N.
Coates as Trustee for the Rose Ann Coates Trust! received
an undivided two-thirds interest in the May 20 contract for
the sale of the 75 shares held by the Estate?

1. Sydney and Rose Ann Coates had executed mutual wills. His will
gave the house, auto, bank accounts and personal effects to Rose Ann
Coates, with the residue of his estate going to the Trust Under Will of
Sydney Coates. Her will provided that, in the event Sydney Coates
predeceased her, she would convey by separate instrument her interest
in any community property “to the Trustee or Trustees as named under
the terms of the Trust created by the Will of Sydney N. Coates.” Pur-
suant to this agreement, the Rose Ann Coates Trust was created by
instrument dated August 21, 1965, executed by Rose Ann Coates,
trustor, and Robert N. Coates, trustee.

2. The court below determined that the WIP stock was held by
Sydney and Rose Ann Coates as community property. 37% shares be-
longing to each spouse. The odd apportionment is explained by the
Order Approving Final Account, Report and Decree of Distribution of
the Superior Court, which provided that in dividing the community
property “any disproportionate allocation necessary shall be made in the
respective ownership of the contract receivable for the sale of the Wash-
ington Industrial Products stock.”

Te eA Tee Re

dienes

ore)

aN NA RN aca ie Laban eb Rhea &

PBRverttencs: ee tateri oo:

A-4

In their 1965 income tax returns, all parties reported the
1965 transaction as a sale of their WIP stock entitling them
to capital gain treatment. In his notice of deficiences the
Commissioner treated the “sale” as a redemption by a re-
lated corporation under §304(a)(1) of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1954,’ taxable as a dividend at the face value
($1,000) of the agreements. The Tax Court upheld the
Commissioner's §304(a)(1) and dividend treatment,‘ but
found the fair market value of the agreements to be 60%
of their face value rather than 100% as determined by the
Commissioner. It is from this decision that the taxpayers

appeal.®
I.

Initially, petitioners contend that since the two trusts
were not in existence at the time of the transfer of the
WIP shares to CAM they are not taxpayers within the
meaning of §7701(a) (14), and that, accordingly, the Com-
missioner determined deficiencies against the wrong par-
ties. They would have us hold that since the WIP shares
were community property, the proper parties for taxation
are the Estate of Sydney Coates and Rose Ann Coates. We
decline to do so and affirm the Tax Court.

The Trust Under Will of Sydney Coates, under §§661
and 662, was a proper party to the proceedings below.
While the question raised as to the Rose Ann Coates Trust
is more difficult. we have concluded it also was a proper
party below. Upon the death of her husband, Mrs. Coates
held her community property interest in the WIP shares
subject to a restriction on their use, by virtue of the mutual

3. All section references hereafter are to the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954, as amended.

4. On October 24, 1969, the Tax Court entered decisions of no de-
ficiency in the following listed cases on the basis that the redemption of
their stock in WIP by CAM was substantially disproportionate pursuant
to §302(b)(2): Arthur C. Heinen and Molly M. Heinen; Estate of
Ruby M. Boyd, deceased, R. Morgan Boyd, executor; R. Morgan Boyd;
Robert W. Boyd and Judith K. Boyd; Gary A. Heinen; Richard CG.
Heinen; Barbara Gaye Heinen; James E. Boyd. Robert and Marjorie are
not parties in this case because of other matters with respect to their
1965 return which had not been resolved by the Service at the time this
suit was instituted.

5. The decision of the Tax Court is reported at 55 T.C. 501 (1970).

a

2 + Da RA WAN ORR RS

A-5

wills (see footnote 1 supra). Under Washington law her
~greement to transfer her half of the community property
into trust was specifically enforceable by the beneficiaries
roar In " Young's Estate, 40 Wash.2d 582, 244 P.Qd
1165 (1952).

Thus on May 20, 1965 when the WIP shares held by the
Estate were “sold,” Mrs. Coates held her half of the com-
munity property in constructive trust for the beneficiaries
of her agreement.® Cf. Healy v. Commissioner, 345 US.
278 (1953). We conclude, therefore, that the beneficial

the Rose Ann Coates Trust, and as such it was subject to
the tax on the transfer thereof. 2 Mertens, Law of Federal
Income Taxation, §17.08 (1967 Revision ).

Il.

Petitioners next contend that the agreements entered into
n May 20 between CAM and the WIP shareholders are
“securities” as that term is used in §351’ and that, since
after the May 20 transaction the WIP shareholders con-
trolled over 80% of the stock of CAM, §351 operates to
grant them either no tax liability or capital gain treatment.®
The Tax Court concluded that the agreements were not
securities, citing Warren H. Brown, 27 T.C. 27 (1956).

Petitioners argue that the Brown decision creates an
invalid distinction between an installment sales contract
and other long term corporate obligations. See Bittker &

6. It is noteworthy that at no time after the death of her husband did
Mrs. Coates obtain control over the WIP shares or the purchase agree-
ments. Also, the agreements did not pass through Mrs. Coates, but rather
were transferred directly from the Estate of Sydney Coates to the Rose
Ann Coates Trust.

7. Section 351(a) provides that:

No gain or loss shall be recognized if property is transferred to a
corporation . . . by one or more persons in exchange for stock or
securities in such corporation and immediately after the exchange
such person or persons are in control . . . of the corporation.

8. The taxpayers argue two alternative positions: (1) that all of the
agreements are securities, that §351 in [sic] applicable and, no “other
property” having been received, that the taxpayers did not incur any tax
liability on the transfer; or (2) that certain of these agreements are
“securities” but that some of them could be treated as “other property”
under §351, thus making the transaction taxable at capital gains rates
to the extent of the value of this other property.

TE TN Oe Oe ee eT ey

ee oe
figs
« : a

WEE RTE AN

A-6

Eustice, Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and
Shareholders 3-55 (3rd Ed. 1971); Comment, Section 351
Transfers to Controlled Corporations: The Forgotten
Term—“Securities,” 114 U.Pa. L. Rev. 314 (1965). We
do not reach that issue, however, for even assuming ar-
guendo that these ae are “securities” under §351,
we are convinced that the provisions of §351 are over-
ridden by those of §304 and that, accordingly, §304 and
not §351 applies to this transaction. See Henry McK.
Haserot, 46 T.C. 864, 872 (1966) (Tannenwald, J.) (sep-
arate opinion ).

In Commissioner v. Stickney, 399 F.2d 828 (6th Cir.
1968), affg Henry McK. Haserot, supra, the Sixth Circuit
reached a contrary result. While the statutory language
and legislative history reveal that Congress did not pro-
vide for or contemplate the possible conflict between the

tmissive policy of §351 and the preventive policy of
$304, we are convinced that our decision “best achieves the
underlying legislative intent and policy and . . . more
nearly reflects the manner in which Congress would have
‘straightened this ruck out if they had come across it.’”
Haserot, supra at 878 (Tannenwald, J.). Accordingly, we
decline to follow the Sixth Curcuit for the reasons so co-
gently set forth by Judge Tannenwald.®

III.

Petitioners next argue that the Tax Court erred in
holding that the transaction was a redemption through
the use of a related corporation under §304(a)(1). They
would have us hold that the “one or more persons” of
§304(a)(1)(A) refers to one person plus those persons

9. Our case reveals the ultimate inconsistency that would result if we
followed Stickney and held that the “except as otherwise provided” pro-
visos of §§302(d) and 301(a) precluded §304 applicability to these
taxpayers. Other parties to this transaction were taxed at the capital
gains rate by virtue of §§304(a) and 302(b) (2). See footnote 4, supra).
That result would not be altered were we to follow Stickney’s interpreta-
tion of the provisos. Thus Stickney’s rationale would lead us to hold that
those specifically excluded by Congress from dividend treatment ( by
virtue of §302(b)(2)) would be taxed at the capital gains rate, while

___ those Congress intended to be taxed at ordinary income rates (by virtue

* of §§304(a), 302(d), and 301(a)) would escape taxation altogether by

» §351. Such a result does not comport with our reading of the legislative
intent behind §§304 and 351.

a
x
4
g
8
4
»
s
4
4

BAe MARAT Nc 2 BSI

Emme pe POEL EERIE ETAT ELEN BT EE PENS SS SI,

— AAD AE SARS SORT ARUN

A-7

whose shares are attributed to him under §318, and that
the concept of a ate control as prescribed by Reg.
§1.304-2(b *° and applied by the Tax Court departs from
the specific language and intent of the statute.

Petitioners misconceive the operation and effect of §304.
That section was not } these to be so narrowly con-
fined as to relate only to “family” transactions. To the
contrary, it was designed to apply to any closely held
corporations whether or not the parties were related by
blood. The phrase “or more persons” is not i agra.
as petitioners ultimately must contend, but er indi-
cates an attempt to expand the scope of §304(a)(1)
beyond the family relationship to include unrelated per-
sons who act in concert. See Radnitz v. Commissioner,
187 F. Supp. 952 (S.D.N.Y. 1960), aff'd per curiam, 294
F.2d 577 (2d Cir. 1961).

Since in the instant case the same group of persons
controlled both WIP and CAM, §304(a) (1) applies to
this transaction, and the property received by the WIP
shareholders must be treated as a distribution in redemp-
tion of the stock of CAM.”

IV.

To determine the tax consequences of a §304(a)(1)
redemption, it is necessary to refer to §302. Unless the
redemption qualifies as an exchange under one of the
categories of §302(b), it is to be treated under §301.”

sales and immediately subsequent to the last of such sales) shall be dis-
regarded, provided the other facts and circumstances indicate related
transactions.

11. Section 304(a)(1)(B).

12. It is undisputed that §301 treatment results in the distribution
being taxed to each of the taxpayers as a dividend under §§316 and
301(c) (1).

a

aa

SR Ra CE NT Se

i; Pe SERRE NG a VR GAS ot alm i

PLE LETS OPE Se

A-8

The only portion of §302(b) relevant here is §302(b)(1),
ore at 6 arr a age lt adh tee

The instant transaction resulted in no reduction in any
of the taxpayers’ proportionate interests in WIP. That
rg Sow case, the Tax Court correctly concluded that
the distribution did not qualify for the preferred treat-
ment under §302(b)(1).

Taxpayers attempt to distinguish Davis on the grounds
that that opinion applies only to 100% shareholders. The
rationale of Davis a not support such a distinction,
and we reject it without further » scorn

V.

Petitioners finally contend that the Tax Court erred in
determining .the fair market value“ of the agreements
te be $600 per $1,000 face value. We have carefully
examined the record and conclude that there was ample

support for the court's finding. It certainly was not
clearly erroneous.

The decision of the Tax Court is affirmed.

13. The relevant inquiry concerns the taxpayers’ respective interests
in WIP. Section 304(b) (1).

14. The amount of the distribution is the fair market value of the
property received. Section 301(b) (1).

A-9
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES TAX COURT

a.

RosE ANN Coates Trust, Roperr N. Coates, TRUSTEE,
ET AL.,’ PETITIONERS v. CoMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REvVE-
NUE, RESPONDENT

Docket Nos. 5810-68, 5813-68, 5834-68, 5870-68, 5872-68,
Filed December 15, 1970,

The Coates family owned all of the shares of CAM
corporation and WIP corporation, CAM “purchased”
the shares of WIP. Held:

1. The Rose Ann Coates Trust, not Rose Ann Coates,
was the proper taxpayer where Rose Ann Coates had
agreed by mutual will to place her community shares

in trust, and the transaction occurred after the death
of her husband.

cuted by the Estate of Sydney Coates was passed
through to the trust-beneficiary.

3. The transaction was a redemption by a related
corporation under sec. 304. Sec. 351 not applicable.

4. The redemption was essentially equivalent to a

dividend. Business purpose is irrelevant. United States
v. Davis, 397 U.S. 301 (1970).

Joseph H. Trethewey, for the petitioners,
Millard D. Lesch, for the respondent.

1. Proceedings of the following petitioners are consolidated here-
with: Trust Under Will of Sydney N. Coates, Robert N. Coates,
Trustee, docket No. 5813-68; Peter M. Coates, docket No. 5834-68;
Charles N. Coates, docket No. 5870-68; Pamela L. Coates, docket No.
5871-68; and Cathy A. Coates, docket No. 5872-68.

LE

;
:
a

eS

RNB A PLE REEL EPL DOR GLEE PLE

|

PP MATE AGATA EAST i

A-10

Dawson, Judge: In these consolidated cases respondent
determined the following deficiencies in petitioners’ Fed-

eral income taxes for the year 1965:
Petitioner Docket No. Deficiency
Rose Ann Coates Trust, Robert N. Coates,

CC Lehi cds Wend Gu Anes tc ié.00004.66 00.0 5810-68 $12,936.62
Trust Under Will of Sydney N. Coates,

Robert N. Coates, Trustee ............. 5813-68 5,313.41
oaks nach p undue seas eas 5834-68 654.42
GEN Oe: MINED coc ccnccccvsvvstveres 5870-68 427.00
PT III oda vances civics vevsvces 5871-68 427.00
I 65nd dnc vecddcensocenas 5872-68 602.87

By amendment to his answer, respondent has claimed the
following additional deficiencies:

Petitioner Docket No. Deficiency
Rose Ann Coates Trust, Robert N. Coates,

MEE DSSS eAUN er aah ener heb Raieoee 5810-68 $11,495.89
Trust Under Will of Sydney N. Coates,

Robert N. Coates, Trustee ............. 5813-68 4,966.42
NE I ee hac Gansvckcsccavecete 5834-68 511.06
SR MD occ ats oiwe cess wees 5870-68 419.20
it Oh so oho kv han dae dea aeens 5871-68 419.20
FE ner Rae 5872-68 470.03

The key issues presented for decision are: (1) Whether
the sale by petitioners of all of their stock in Washington
Industrial Products, Inc., to CAM Industries, Inc., on May
20, 1965, was a redemption through the use of a related
corporation under section 304(a)(1), IR.C. 1954;? (2)
whether the redemption of all of the stock in Washington
Industrial Products, Inc., by CAM Industries, Inc., was
essentially equivalent to a dividend to petitioners under
section 302(b)(1) so that the amounts received by them
are taxable as ordinary income; and (3) the fair market
value of the contracts received by petitioners from CAM
Industries, Inc., on May 20, 1965. There is a preliminary
oo as to whether the Rose Ann Coates Trust and

e Trust Under Will of Sidney N. Coates are proper parties
in these proceedings.

2. All statutory references are to the Internal Revenwe Code of
1954, as amended, unless otherwise indicated.

. =— -
weet a MA Meld TOR OAR Laces

A-11

FINDINGS OF FACT

Some of the facts have been stipulated. The stipulation
of facts, supplemental stipulation of facts, together with
the ne attached thereto, are incorporated herein by

reference,

Petitioners Peter M. Coates, Charles N. Coates, Pamela
L. Coates, and Cathy A. Coates are brothers and sisters
who filed their individual income tax returns for 1965 with
the district director at Tacoma, Wash. They were residents
= Bellevue, Wash., at the time they filed their petitions

erein.

Petitioner Rose Ann Coates Trust, Robert N. Coates, trus-
tee, is a trust created under the laws of the State of Wash-
ington. Robert N. Coates, trustee, caused the trust to file its
Federal fiduciary income tax return for 1965 with the dis-
trict director at Tacoma. Wash. Robert N. Coates, trustee,
resided in Bellevue, Wash., at the time the trust filed its
petition herein.

Petitioner Trust Under Will of Sydney N. Coates, Robert
N. Coates, trustee, is a trust existing under the laws of the
State of Washington. Robert N. ates, trustee, caused the

trust filed its petition herein.

Sydney N. Coates and Rose Ann Coates were husband
and wife. Sydney N. Coates died on January 31, 1963. Rose
Ann Coates is stil] living. Robert N. Coates, Ruby Boyd,
and Molly Heinen are the children of Sydney N. Coates and
Rose Ann Coates,

Ruby Boyd is the wife of Morgan Boyd. Robert M.
Boyd, Jr., and James Boyd are their children.

Molly Heinen is the wife of A. C. Heinen. Barbara
— Gary Heinen, and Richard Heinen are their chil-
en,

3
3
3
é
2

Oo et er

Ge ee SIE GIO LT EOS RCE TN

PRE PER 5 eA oT «

A-12

CAM Industries, Inc. (hereinafter sometimes call
CAM), began its existence as the sole proprietorship. of
Sydney Coates, doing business as the Coates Electric Man

Co. Coates Electric manufactured a line of com-
mercial and industrial electric equipment including
ovens and water-heating equipment for government and
private customers. The company was incorporated on June 1,
1948, and on May 18, 1965, changed its name to CAM
Industries, Inc.

At the time of Coates Electric’s incorporation in 1948
Sydney Coates received 696 shares of stock and Robert N.
Coates, R. Morgan Boyd, Arthur C. Heinen, and Zena M.
Gilbert received 1 share each. Subsequently the number of
shares issued to Sydney Coates was reduced from 696 to
426 since the original allotment should have been 426
shares.

On May 31, 1960, Coates Electric amended its articles of
incorporation as follows:

The capital stock of the corporation shall be 2,500 shares
of Class A voting common stock at a par value of $30.00
per share and 7,500 shares of Class B non-voting common
stock at a par value of $30.00 per share. Class A and Class
B shareholders shall have identical and equal rights to divi-
dends or to any other incidents arising from the ownership
of said stock except that only Class A voting common stock
shareholders shall be entitled to vote.

Shareholders were required to surrender their old shares:

For each ten shares delivered to the corporation each
shareholder shall receive twenty-five shares of non-voting
stocks together with 844 shares of voting common stock.

On October 13, 1960, the shares of Coates Electric were
held as follows:

Class A Class B Class A Class B
Sydney N. Coates. 1,610 4,830/ ArthurC. Heinen. 10 30
Robert N. Coates. 710 2,130 | Molly Heinen... 50 150
R. Morgan Boyd... 10 30/| Treasury shares.. 10 30
Ruby Boyd ...... 50 150 Total...... 2450 7,350

2 , sen Foy

A-13

tari nnd dz ch

rt p on August .
shares held by the children of and
spouses were received by them as gi from Sydney and
Rose Ann Coates. Sydney and Rose Ann Coates made
additional gifts of stock on October 13, 1960, January 2,
1961, and January 10, 1962, so that by May 20, 1965, prior
the acquisition by CAM of all the stock of ee
Industrial Products, Inc. (herei r sometimes
WIP), the stock of CAM was held as follows:

Class A Class B Class A Class B
Estate of Sydney ames Boyd ........... 391
| aS, 664 Rube Boyd ..... 372
Robert N. Coates. 1,640 2,250|4.C Heinen..... 10 «375
Peter Coates .......... 205 | Barbara Heinen ....... 340
Cathy Coates ......... 205 RRS RRR ARS 340
Pamela Coates ........ 205 | Molly Heinen 390 325
Charles N. Coates..... 205 | Richard Heinen .......
Marjorie Coates ....... 290 | Treasury shares 10 30
R. M Boyd. 10 422 Total 2 450 7,350
Robert M. Boyd, Jr. 391; —- Total... 4

WIP was incorporated on August 2, 1951, for the purpose

chase a large piece of machinery from the Campbell Co.
Finding the Campbell Co. in financial difficulty and near
default on its government contracts, the officers of Coates
Electric organized WIP to take over the assets and con-
tracts of Campbell. At that time Campbell manufactured
ovens for the food industry (dissimilar to Coates Electric
ovens ) and an industrial oven.

WIP, from which each deducted amounts sufficient to pay
off the bank note covering the purchase of the Campbell

assets.

On May 20, 1965 prior to the acquisition by CAM of
all the stock of WIP all the stock of WIP and all the stock

— RL PCR SES

taeda fe

B. Gy TOO... .. ce cccces 57 10

Barbara Heinen ........... De iccosckeses

Gary Heinen ............. _ 2) ORR

Richard Heinen ........... _ | SE

Molly Heinen (Mrs. A +) Es eee 390
ae 300 2,440 7,320

In 1951 the premises of WIP and Coates Electric were
located a half mile apart. Soon WIP was moved to the
Coates Electric plant, but operations remained physically
distinct except for the sharing of some heavy equipment.
In 1955 Coates Electric required more room, so WIP was
relocated 6 miles away.

Under the management of Arthur Heinen, WIP began
to compete with Coates Electric, particularly in the indus-
trial oven area. The two corporations also began subcon-
tracting work to one another. Coates Electric sold some
products to WIP for resale.

i ae LE LE ES DEO ee SSG A eR A RO a . 3

i Bertone ce canreaes anne a ee a

A-15
During this period Robert N. Coates enerally famil-
iar with the operations of WIP, and made himself nd the
resources of Coates Electric available to WIP. He did not
preside over day-to-day operations of WIP.

combining their businesses. They determined that by com-
bining office personnel, salesmen, inventories, purchasi
and machinery, they would realize substantial economies.

Before his death, Sydney Coates had transferred most
of the stock of CAM from his estate, and, in the process,
left his only son, Robert N. Coates, in complete control of
CAM. It was the wish of Sydney Coates to give Robert N.
Coates control of two-thirds of the voting stock and 51
percent of the total stock of CAM. At his death Sydney
Coates had accomplished his purpose.

only manner in which this could be accomplished was by
having CAM purcase WIP. A merger would have reduced
Robert N. Coates’ interests below the amounts he insisted
upon.

On May 20, 1965, CAM and the shareholders of WIP
entered into agreements of the following form:

AGREEMENT For SALE OF Stock

Agreement made this 20th day of May, 1965, by and be-
tween the undersigned “Seller” and CAM INDUSTRIES,
INC., a corporation, hereinafter called the “Buyer.”

Seller hereby sells to Buyer, and Buyer hereby purchases
from Seller, shares of the common stock of Wash-
ington Industrial Products, Inc., a Washington corporation.
at ~ price and on the terms and conditions herein set
forth.

1. Purchase Price. The price to be paid by Buyer to
Seller for said shares of common stock shall be $1,000.00
per share or an aggregate purchase eR

2. Delivery of Stock and Payment of Purchase Price.

bh hie Nime es eek tT

al a miata

a cep

da hainsenic bai ok a

eg Atte 8 AEA a a OT Ales Liv pte

Po haertin ys

oak lle ta

De CR ee ae

A-16

a) The certificate or certificates for the shares of com-
mon stock sold hereunder by Seller are herewith delivered
to Buyer, duly endorsed for transfer ye ne and Buyer
hereby acknowledges receipt of said ificate or certif-
icates.

(b) The purchase price shall be paid ................ , Or more
at Buyer's option, on or before May 31, 1966, and a like
sum, or more at Buyer's option, on the 3lst day of May of
each year thereafter until the 3lst day of May, 1975, at
which time the entire unpaid balance of the purchase
price shall be due and payable. Buyer shall pay interest
on the diminishing balance of said purchase price at the
rate of four percent per annum from the Ist day of June,
1965, which interest shall be deducted from each install-
ment payment and the balance of each payment applied
in reduction of principal.

3. Successors and Assigns. The provisions of this agree-
ment shall inure to the benefit of and bind the successors
and assigns of Buyer and the executors, administrators,
heirs, successors and assigns of Seller.

In Witness WHEREOF, the parties hereto have executed
this agreement the day and year first above written.

CAM liquidated WIP on May 31, 1965. On May 30,
1965, the accumulated earnings and profits of CAM were
$183,000.

The fair market value of the contracts between CAM
and the shareholders of WIP as of May 20, 1965, were
$600 per $1,000 face value.

Sydney N. Coates and Rose Ann Coates executed mu-
tual wills. Sydney Coates’ will gave the house, automobile,
bank accounts, and personal effects to Rose Ann Coates,
and the residue of his estate went to the Trust Under Will
of Sydney N. Coates. Rose Ann Coates’ will provided that,
in the event Sydney N. Coates predeceased her, she agreed
to convey by separate instrument her interest in any com-
munity property “to the Trustee or Trustees as named
under the terms of the Trust created by the Will of Sydney
N. Coates.”

A-17

The Trust Under Will of Sydney Coates provided, in
part, that:

The Trustee or successor Trustee or Trustees shall pay a
sum of not less than $500.00 a month to the said ROSE

ited thereto, said monthly income to come out of the in-
come of the property in Trust, or from the principal there-
of, provided that the said ROSE ANN COATES may, by
an instrument in writing, waive said monthly payments or
take a lesser sum during business depressions or emer-
gencies.

It further provided:

NINTH: In the event of the death of the said ROSE
ANN COATES, then the Trustee or successor Trustee or
Trustees is directed to distribute the remaining corpus of
the estate as follows:

A. To ROBERT N. COATES, a percentage of the estate
interest of the partnership assets of COATES & COATES,
equivalent to the percentage needed to give the said ROB-
ERT N. COATES fifty per cent (50% ) of said partnership
assets.

B. The remainder of the corpus shall be distributed to
the children of SYDNEY N. COATES and ROSE ANN
COATES, to-wit: ROBERT N. COATES, RUBY N. BOYD
and MOLLY M. HEINEN, share and share alike.

By order of the Superior Court of the State of Washing-
ton for King County dated September 23, 1965, Robert
N. Coates as trustee of the Trust Under Will of Sydney
N. Coates received:

4. 332 shares common stock in CAM Industries, Inc.

8. An undivided one-third interest in the contract dated
May 20, 1965, for the sale of 75 shares of Washington In-
dustrial Products common stock.

The Rose Ann Coates Trust, established by an agree-
ment dated August 21, 1965, provided:

A-18
ARTICLE II
DisTRIBUTION FROM THE TRUsT EsTATE

In that certain trust established under the Will of Syd-
ney N. Coates, it is provided that:

“The Trustee or successor Trustee or Trustees shall pay
a sum of not less than $500.00 a month to the said ROSE
ANN COATES to keep her and maintain her in the man-
ner to which she is accustomed, and to raise said amount
as the Trustee in his discretion may see fit, for any reason
whatsoever, such as for sickness or for travel, but not lim-
ited thereto, said monthly income to come out of the in-
come of the property in Trust, or from the principal there-
of, provided that said ROSE ANN COATES may, by an
instrument in writing, waive said monthly payments or take
a lesser sum during business depressions or emergencies;”

To the extent that the payments provided for Rose Ann
Coates in the trust established under the Will of Sydney N.
Coates are not made as provided therein, payment shall be
made from the trust herein established, provided, however,
that said payments hereunder shall in no event exceed
$250.00 per month.

ARTICLE V
ULTIMATE DISTRIBUTION

Upon the death of Trustor, the Trustee or successor
Trustee or Trustees are directed to distribute the remain-
ing ‘corpus of the trust to the children of SYDNEY N.
COATES and ROSE ANN COATES, to-wit: ROBERT N.
COATES, RUBY N. BOYD and MOLLY M. HEINEN,
share and share alike.

On March 25, 1966, Robert N. Coates, as trustee of the
Rose Ann Coates Trust, received by order of the Superior
Court of the State of Washington for King County:

4. 332 shares common stock in CAM Industries, Inc.

8. An undivided two-thirds interest in the contract
dated May 20, 1965, for the sale of 75 shares of Washington
Industrial Products common stock.

ee eee

A-19 7
In his notice of deficiencies the respondent treated the
“sale” of the WIP shares as a redemption by a related cor-
poration within the scope of section 304.

On October 24, 1969, the Tax Court of the United States
entered decisions of no deficiency in the following listed
cases. With res to the following listed ders of
Washington Industrial Products, Inc., the respondent de-
termined that the redemption of their stock in Washington
Industrial Products, Inc., by Cam Industries, Inc., was sub-
stantially disproportionate pursuant to section 302(b) (2),
LR.C. 1954:

Name Docket No.

Arthur C. Heinen & Molly M. Heinen.............. 5873-68
Estate of Ruby M. Boyd, deceased, R. Morgan Boyd,

executor Boyd LieRaN ine heaniirsnie eke cekiewties —-
EE EEE Ae 12-68
Robert M. Boyd & Judith K. Boyd................. 5842-68
ll RIES aig Rael 5861-68
EE EE er ey 5867-68
MEIN. |. os. caw concvneceecucceos 5868-68
RS IP Oe 5869-68

OPINION

This case arises out of a transaction between the members
of a family group and two corporations controlled by them.
Sydney and Rose Ann Coates, together with their children,
children’s spouses, and grandchildren, owned all the shares
of two corporations conducting related businesses. After
the death of Sydney Coates, the family group agreed to
combine the two corporations by having CAM “purchase”
the shares of WIP.

Respondent's position is that the transaction was a re-
demption Seeceh the use of a related corporation, within
the scope of section 304(a)(1).2 Under sections 302(d)
and 301 (a) and (c),° respondent would treat the amount

3. SEC. 304. REDEMPTION THROUGH USE OF RELATED
CORPORATIONS.

(a) TREATMENT oF CERTAIN Stock PURCHASES.—
(1) AcQuIsITION BY RELATED CORPORATION (OTHER THAN sUBSID-
1aRY).—For purposes of sections 302 and 303, if—
(A) one or more persons are in control of each of two cor-
porations, and
(B) in return for property, one of the corporations acquires

|

- en ce alan cna

A-20
of the distribution to the petitioners herein as dividends.
Some members of the adie have escaped dividend
treatment under section 302(b)(2). The case of Robert
N. Coates and Marjorie Coates was not joined herein with
these petitioners.

The trial of these related cases took place before the
decision of the Supreme Court in United States v. Davis,
397 U.S. 301 (1970). Much of the proof, therefore, was
directed at the issue of whether the transaction between
the stockholders and their two corporations had a “busi-
ness ” which might bring it within the scope of
section 302(b) (1). Respondent’s opening brief is devoted
largely to this issue. However, because of several exten-
sions of time for filing their brief, petitioners’ opening
brief was filed after the Davis case was decided. Conse-

uently, the petitioners have shifted their primary position

om the “business purpose” issue to another | ee
namely, the question of proper parties. Respondent, in
turn, was caught off balance in framing his reply. As a
result, we are faced with briefs reflecting the turmoil of
events. Moreover, both the parties and the Court are
handicapped by the vagaries of a record created primarily
for an issue which is now of uncertain status.

1. Proper Parties—Petitioners’ initial argument is that
“the Rose Ann Coates Trust and the Trust Under Will of

|
|

stock in the other corporation from the person (or persons) so in

control.
then (unless paragraph (2) applies) such property shall be treated
as-a distribution in redemption of the stock of the corporation acquir-
ing such stock. In any such case, the stock so acquired shall be
treated as having been transferred by the person from whom
acquired, and as having been received by the corporation acquiring
it, as a contribution to the capital of such corporation.
4. SEC. 302. DISTRIBUTIONS IN REDEMPTION OF STOCK.
: (d) ReDEMPTIONS TREATED AS DISTRIBUTIONS OF Property.—Except
: as otherwise provided in this subchapter, if a corporation redeems its
stock (within the meaning of section 317(b), and if subsection (a)
j of this section does not apply, such redemption shall be treated as a
distribution of property to which section 301 applies.

5. SEC. 301. DISTRIBUTIONS OF PROPERTY.
(a) In GeneraL.—Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, a
distribution of property (as defined in section 317(a)) made by a

EIEN SS IIS BH HE 2.

x
3
MBs tesco rman soon apo Ams
RON

a en

La SAN NO eh ARR OE

A-21

Sydney Coates did not transfer shares in W.
Industrial Products, Inc., to CAM Industries, Inc., and
consequently are not chargeable with a dividend.” Peti-
tioners point out that the Rose Ann Coates Trust was
created after the agreement to transfer the WIP shares.
They argue that the agreement was made by the Estate
of Sydney Coates, administering community property,
and that the proper taxpayers are Rose Ann Coates and
the Estate of Sydney Coates.

In its reply brief, respondent “agrees with petitioners
that, if the [75 shares of WIP] stock of Sydney Coates was
the community property of S$ dney and Rose Ann Coates,
then the transaction would c taxable one-half to Rose
Ann Coates and one-half to the Estate of Sydney Coates.
Rose Ann Coates is not a party to this action.” Respond-
ent's position with respect to the Estate of Sydney Coates
is that the contract distributed to the testamen trust
would be deductible by the estate, and reported by the
trust. However, respondent contends that “The argument
that the stock of Sydney Coates was community property
was never raised in the pleadings or in petitioners’ opening
statement.”

corporation to a shareholder with respect to its stock shall be treated
in the manner provided in subsection (c).

(c) AmMounT TaxaBLe.—In the case of a distribution to which sub-
section (a) applies—

(1) AMOUNT CONSTITUTING DIVIDEND.—That portion of the dis-
tribution which is a dividend (as defined in section 316) shall be
included in gross income.

(2) AMOUNT APPLIED AGAINST BASIS.—That Portion of the distri-
bution which is not a dividend shall be applied against and reduce
the adjusted basis of the stock.

(3) Amount In Excess or Basis.—

(A) In GeneraL.—Except as provided in subparagraph (B),
that portion of the distribution which is not a dividend, to the
extent that it exceeds the adjusted basis of the stock, shall be
treated as gain from the sale or exchange of property.

(B) DisTRipuTIONS OUT OF INCREASE IN VALUE ACCRUED BEFORE
MarcH 1, 1913.—That portion of the distribution which is not a
dividend, to the extent that it exceeds the adjusted basis of the
stock and to the extent that it is out of increase in value before
March 1, 1913, shall be exempt from tax.

REREAD EEN det

A-22

Paragraph 5(f) of the petition alleges:

Washington Industrial Products, Inc., is a Washing-
ton n incorporated on August 2, 1951. As
of M 19, 1953, its shares were held by the follow-
ing families—75 shares each:

Mr. and Mrs. Robert N. Coates

Mr. and Mrs. Sydney N. Coates

Mr. and Mrs. R. Morgan Boyd

Mr. and Mrs. Arthur C. Heinen

The assets for which said shares were issued were
transferred from a pre-existing company, J. A. Camp-
bell Co., which was not related to anyone in either
company here. These assets were paid for by funds
earned by each of the four males above. ,

In his answer respondent admitted only that WIP was a
Washington corporation incorporated August 2, 1951, and
denied the remaining allegations of paragraph 5(f).

We think the statement that the shares were held by
husband and wife (“Mr. and Mrs.”) in a community
property State, the statement that the assets which bought
the shares were paid for with the husband's earnings, to-
gether with respondent’s denial, clearly place in issue the
status of the shares as community property.

The evidence presented indicates that the 75 shares of
WIP were held by Sydney and Rose Ann Coates as com-
munity property. The correspondence concerning their
estate planning shows that virtually all of their property
was held as community property. In particular, the WIP
: shares were paid for from Sydney's earnings. Usually,
property “acquired after marriage by either husband or
wife or both, is community property” in Washington. Wash.
: Rev. Code sec. 26.16.030. We note that by their mutual
: wills it was agreed that Rose Ann Coates would place her

so! tha a Leet ee ee

aye

share of the community property into the Rose Ann Coates
‘ Trust. The contract for sale of the 75 shares of WIP was
eventually distributed two-thirds to the Rose Ann Coates
Trust and one-third to the Trust Under Will of Sydney N.
Coates. The odd apportionment is explained by the Order
Approving Final Account, Report and Decree of Distribu-
tion of the Superior Court, which provided that in dividing

ferences eee ens ennoneneraeenteneteneenenmneeneen

ee

A-23

the community property “any disproportionate allocation
necessary s Of made in the respective ownership of the
contract receivable for the sale of the Washington Indus-
trial Products stock, as hereinafter set forth.”

Having determined that the 75 shares of WIP were held
as community property, we must examine respondent's
position that the transaction is therefore taxable one-half
to Rose Ann Coates, who is not a party. This concession in
respondent's reply brief would compel us to the conclusion
that Rose Ann.Coates, and not the Rose Ann Coates Trust
is the proper party as to half of the shares.¢ However, it
appears to us that this concession is based upon an errone-
ous interpretation of law. The stipulation of a conclusion
of law is not controlling. Davis v. Commissioner, 241 F.2d
701 (C.A. 7, 1957); Ohio Clover Leaf Dairy Co., 8 B.T.A.
1249 (1927), aff'd. 34 F.2d 1022 (C.A. 6, 1929); ef. Forbes
v. Commissioner, 82 F.2d 204 (C.A. 1, 1936). A fortiori,
we may disregard respondent’s concession on this point
of law.

In offering his concession, respondent has assumed that
if the shares were community property, then Rose Ann
Coates owned one half of them at the time of the trans-
action. But respondent has overlooked the existence of
the mutual wills. Rose Ann Coates had agreed that upon
Sydney’s death she would transfer her half of the communi-
ty property into trust. In the State of Washington this agree-
ment was specifically enforceable by the beneficiaries of
the agreement (who were Rose Ann and her children). In
re Young's Estate, 40 Wash.2d 582, 244 P.2d 1165 (1952);
Cummings v. Sherman, 16 Wash.2d 88, 132 P.2d 998
(1943); Allen v. Dillard, 15 Wash.2d 35, 129 P.2d 813
(1942). Therefore, upon Sydney's death and at the time
of the transaction, the equitable owner of the 37% shares
was the Rose Ann Coates Trust.

Since the Rose Ann Coates Trust was the owner of 374%
shares at the time of the transaction, it is a proper party
to this proceeding. In addition, the Rose Ann Coates Trust
reported the income as capital gain on the installment
basis on its tax return for 1965.

6. Nevertheless, the trust might be liable as a transferee.

A-24

We also conclude that the Trust Under Will of Sydne
N. Coates is a proper party to this proceeding. Al won
the Estate of Sydney N. Coates sold the shares to produce
the income, such income, when distributed, was deductible
by the estate and taxable to the beneficiary. See secs. 661
and 662. The Trust Under Will of Sydney N. Coates rec-
ognized the pass-through character of the income distribu-
tion from the Estate of Sydney Coates and reported such
income as capital gain on the installment basis on its tax
return for 1965.

2. Section 351.—Petitioners contend that the sale of their
WIP shares to CAM falls within the scope of section 351 as
well as within section 304. Relying on Commissioner v.
Stickney, 399 F.2d 828 (C.A. 6, 1968), affirming sub nom.
Henry McK. Haserot, 46 T.C. 864 (1966), they argue that
section 351 takes precedent over section 304, and that any
recognized gain is taxable at capital gains rates,

We agree with respondent that section 351 is inapplica-
; ble to this trarsaction. Section 351 applies where “property
‘a is transferred to a corporation ° ° * by one or more per-
4 sons solely in exchange for stock or securities in such cor-
poration.” Petitioners transferred their shares to a corpora-
__ tion for an agreement to pay an amount of cash plus in-
; terest in installments over a 10-year period. Petitioners do
not contend that the agreement is a “security,” and we
think it is not. See Warren H. Brown, 27 T.C. 27 (1956).
For the same reason, we think that petitioners did not do
“exactly what Mr. Haserot did” in Stickney. In combining
his businesses, Haserot received for his shares a cash credit
plus stock. Thus, without considering whether section 351]
or section 304 takes precedence when both apply, it is

plain here that section 351 does not apply.

3. Section 304.—Petitioners next contend that section
304 does not apply to this situation. They refer to the
language of section 304(a)(1)(A), which requires that
“one or more persons are in control of each of two corpora-
tions.” They argue that “one or more persons” refers to
control by one person plus the attribution persons de-
scribed in section 318.

This construction by the petitioners is contrary to section

4
Reo mn ‘ ’ LMS SORE HORSE RNGCO MSIE SAINTE RESIN IHS CUNT neneeneeeansrorcemest

2 eG

Se aN Ry,

A-25
1.304—2(b) and (c), Income Tax Regs., which refers

to ‘two or more Persons, in the aggregate” and gives ex-
amples of control by unrelated persons. Petitioners cite no
authority for their inte retation. We are persuaded that
e regulations present the Proper construction of the sta-
tute. Section 304(c) (2) makes the attribution rules of
section 318 expressly applicable for purposes of determin-
ing control. That being the case, the reference to “or more
persons” in section 304(a)(1)(A) would, by petitioners’
interpretation, become entirely superfluous.

Even if petitioners’ interpretation of section 304(a)(1) E

(A) were correct, Rose Ann Coates, or Rose Ann Coates E
together with persons whose shares are attributable to her, :
ad “control” of s ares in excess of the 50 percent of the ;

voting shares of each corporation. The shares of the estate
and the shares of her children and grandchildr
attributable to her. Sec. 318(a)(1) <) and (a)(2). It
is of no consequence that the shares of children can-
not be attributed to one another. Section 304 requires con-
trol by “one or more persons,” not control by each and
every person.

Accordingly, we hold that the sale of their stock by all
the sharehokie rs of WIP to CAM on May 20, 1965, was a
redemption through the use of a related corporation under
section 304(a) (1),

ments of section 302(b)(1). To the contrary, respondent
argues that the redemption of all the stock in WIP by CAM
was essentially equivalent to a dividend to petitioners.

We might agree with the petitioners that there was a
business purpose for combining WIP and CAM. Their

tion for the particular manner by which they achieved this
combination. We know that Sydney N. Coates and Robert
N. Coates wanted Robert N. Coates to maintain a two-

irds voting interest and a 50-percent ownership in the

‘ciate a SND SPER OY Se Ric ei
LAINE EYRE LES POOLEY TIE IY RINE NEMS! BNN A TEP NERSENS. SOIT RE RRREN
y NA eestoe sons POE LESAN MLA ST SEIS ANNE ET ’
re 4 SEAT earn EPRI:

A-26

tax consequences.

It is not necessary in this case for us “to dissect the dif-
ferences between corporate and shareholder business pur-
which have so often troubled the courts.” Perry S.
Lewis, 47 T.C. 129, 135 (1966); Estate of Moses L. Parsh-
elsky, 34 T.C. 946 (1960), revd. 303 F.2d 14 (CA. 2,
1962). We are relieved of that burden by the recent de-
cision of the Supreme Court of the United States that “ ‘the
business of a transaction is irrelevant in determin-
ing dividend equivalence’ under § 302(b)(1).” United
States v. Davis, 397 U.S. 301, 312 (1970). We do not un-
derstand petitioners to contend that a nonprorata redemp-
tion would by itself preclude dividend equivalence. Clear-
ly section 302 reaches nonprorata redemptions. See sec.
1.302-2(b), Income Tax Regs.; cf. United States v. Davis,
supra at 312.

Accordingly, we conclude that the distribution in re-
demption of petitioners’ stock was essentially equivalent to
a dividend.

5. Fair Market Value of Contracts—In return for their
stock in WIP, each shareholder received a contract from
CAM obligating CAM to pay $1,000 per share of stock. This
amount, plus interest of 4 percent on the unpaid balance,
was payable in annual installments over 10 years. It is
necessary to determine the fair market value a these con-
tracts because under section 301(b)(1)(A) the amount
of a distribution other than money is the “fair market value
= the other property received.” This question of value is

At trial the parties called expert witnesses who offered
their various opinions as to the value of the contracts. Their
conclusions were:

Per $1,000 face value

Mr. Morforde (1,000x.875x.65x.50)........-.---- $284.38

Mr. O'Farrell Teed cenbakasenaeed a
. e contract—15 percent....... .
Mr. Kleinberg small contract—18 percent....... 554.10

pe EES OAR,

nee eee a

Oe Nant! NT bin aE

ident of a discount corporation, impressed us as

who was most familiar with this type of contract, ha i

dealt with “similar” unsecured contracts, both —_
su

con-

Taking into account the testimony of the witnesses, and
the financial information made available to us concerning
CAM's ability to pay, we conclude that the fair market
value of the contracts was $600 per $1,000 face value.

To reflect the conclusions reached herein,
Decisions will be entered under Rule 50.

ee sosialsbabehiiadediiaaatiaiteeatomsbentts <caisecunmeamiil

A-28

APPENDIX C
Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.):

Sec. 301—DISTRIBUTIONS OF PROPERTY. (a) IN
GENERAL.—Except as otherwise provided in this chapter,
a distribution of property (as defined in section 317(a))
made by a corporation to a shareholder with respect to its
noy shall be treated in the manner provided in subsection

c).

(c) Amount TaxaBLe.—In the case of a distribution to
which subsection (a) applies—
(1) AMOUNT CONSTITUTING DIVIDEND.—That portion
of the distribution which is a dividend (as defined in
section 316) shall be included in gross income.

Sec. 302—DISTRIBUTIONS IN REDEMPTION OF
STOCK. Ln re

(d) Repemptions TREATED AS DisTRIBUTIONS OF Prop-
enTy.—Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, if
a corporation redeems its stock (within the — of
section 317(b), and if subsection (a) of this section does
not apply, such redemption shall be treated as a distribu-
tion of property to which section 301 applies.

Sec. 304—REDEMPTION THROUGH USE OF RE-
LATED CORPORATIONS. (a) TREATMENT OF CERTAIN
’ Stock PURCHASES.—

(1) ACQUISITION BY RELATED CORPORATION (OTHER
| ee seer) purposes of sections 302 and
303, if—
| (A) one or more persons are in control of each of
‘ two corporations, and
(B) in return for property, one of the corporations
acquires stock in the other corporation from the per-
son (or persons) so in control,
then (unless paragraph (2) applies) such property shall
be treated as a distribution in redemption of the stock
of the corporation acquiring such stock. In any such case,

Sseienniaiaeiiiiataatatiata i

Oo tte ee ae” |

having been received by the corporation uiring it, as
a contribution to the capital of such corporation

(2) AceuisiTion By SUBSIDIARY. — For purposes of

(A) In return for property, one corporation acquires
from a shareholder of another corporation stock iy

such other corporation, and

(B) the issuing corporation controls the acquiring
corporation, then such pro shall be treated as a
distribution in redemption of stock of the issuing
corporation.

(b) Spectan Ruues ror APPLICATION OF SUBSECTION

(a).—

(1) RULE For DETERMINATION UNDER SECTION 302(b).
—In the case of any acquisition of stock to which sub-
section (a) of this section applies, determinations as to
whether the acquisition is, by reason of section 302(b),
to be treated as a distribution in part or full payment
in ex e for the stock shall be made by reference
to the stock of the issuing corporation. In applying sec-
tion 318(a) (relating to constructive ownership of
stock) with respect to section 302(b) for p of
this paragraph, sections 318(a)(2)(C) and 318(a)
(3)(C) shall be applied without regard to the 50
percent limitation contained therein.

(2) AMOUNT CONSTITUTING DIVIDEND.—

(A) WHERE suBSECTION (a) (1) aPPLiEs.—In the
case of any acquisition of stock to which paragraph
(1) (and not paragraph ( gf subsection (a) of
this section applies, the termination of the
amount which is a dividend shall be made solely by
reference to the earnings and profits of the acquir-
ing corporation.

(B) Were suBsEcTION (a)(2) aPPLies.—In the
case of any acquisition of stock to which subsection
(a)(2) of this section applies, the determination of
the amount which is a dividend shall be made as
if the property were distributed by the acquiring

zl
:
|
3
3
i

Prk Deeb 100%,

Seam

MM RE

A-30

corporation and immediately thereafter distributed
by the issuing corporation.
(c) ControL.—
1) In GeneraL.—For purposes of this section, con-
means the ownership of stock possessing at least
50 percent of the total combined voting power of all
classes of stock entitled to vote, or at least 50 percent
of the total value of shares of all classes of stock. If a
person (or persons) is in control (within the meaning
of the preceding sentence) of a corporation which in
turn owns at least 50 percent of the total combined
voting power of all stock entitled to vote of another
corporation, or owns at least 50 percent of the total
value of the shares of all classes of stock of another
corporation, then such person (or persons) shall be
treated as in control of such other corporation.

(2) ConsTRUCTIVE OWNERSHIP. — Section 318(a)
(relating to the constructive ownership of stock) shall
apply for purposes of determining control under para-
graph (1). For purposes of the preceding sentence,
sections 318(a)(2)(C) and 318(a)(3)(C) shall be
applied without regard to the 50 percent limitation
contained therein.

Sec. 351— TRANSFER TO CORPORATION CON-
TROLLED BY TRANSFEROR. (a) GENERAL RuLE.—No

ain or loss shall be recognized im property is trans-
erred to a corporation (including, in the case of transfers
made on or betore June 30, 1967, an investment company )
by one or more persons solely in exchange for stock or
securities in such corporation and immediately after the
exchange such person or persons are in control (as defined
in section 368 (c)) of the corporation. For purposes of
this section, stock or securities issued for services shall not
be considered as issued in return for property.

(b) Recewt or Property.—If subsection (a) would
apply to an exchange but for the fact that there is received,
in addition to the stock or securities permitted to be re-
ceived under subsection (a), other property or money,
then—

(1) gain (if any) to such recipient shall be recog-
but not in excess of—

oll

A-31

(A) the amount of money received, plus
(B) the fair market value of such other property

received; and
(2) no loss to su

ch recipient shall be recognized.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_1008%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
