# Petition for A Writ of Certiorari — New Orleans Steamship Ass'n v. General Longshore Workers, Local Union No. 1418

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0916%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for A Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 1022

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

NB = 46 | ‘

NEW ORLEANS STEAMSHIP ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner

Vv.

GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, LL.A.
LOCAL UNION #1418, an Unincorporated
Association, and GENERAL LONGSHORE
WORKERS, I.L.A. LOCAL UNION #1419,

an Unincorporated Association, AFL-CIO,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

MONROE & LEMANN
Andrew P. Carter
1424 Whitney Building
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER
June 30, 1973

OPINION BELOW
JURISDICTION
‘ QUESTIONS PRESENTED
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1.

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
EXPLICATING FEDERAL POLICY ON THE
ROLE OF VOLUNTARY ARBITRATION IN
LABOR-MANAGEMENT RELATIONS AND
RAISES SIGNIFICANT QUESTIONS REGARD-
ING THE PROPER ROLE OF A REVIEWING

COURT IN THE ARBITRAL PROCESS

THE COURT BELOW HAS AFFIRMED A DIS-
MISSAL ON GROUNDS OF “MOOTNESS”
WHICH DISMISSAL SO FAR DEPARTS FROM
THE ACCEPTED AND USUAL COURSE OF
JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS AS TO REQUIRE
EXERCISE OF THIS COURT’S SUPERVISORY
POWERS

11

16

18

BPOREE WR LEPBL ALS Sa» ERD EE RANE aE NAB IERIE I BO ALL oF Ms

TABLE OF CITATIONS
COURT CASES: Page

Boys Market, Inc. v. Retail Clerks Union, Local 770,
398 U.S. 285 (1970) 8, 10

Gianfala, et al v. Texas Company, 350 U.S. 879 (1955)_ 16

Minnesota Joint Board Clothing Workers v. United
Garment Mfg. Co., 338 F.2d 195 (8th Cir. 1964)... 10

New Orleans Steamship Association v. General Long-
shore Workers, I.L.A., Local Union +1418, et al,
306 F.Supp. 134 (E.D. La. 1969), rev’d 423 F.2d 38
(5th Cir. 1970) 6, 7, 13, 14

New Orleans Steamship Association v. General Long-
shore Workers, et al, 389 F.2d 36 (5th Cir. 1968)
cert. denied 393 U.S. 828 (1968) 5, 9,11

Owens-Illinois Glass Co, 43 Lab. Arb. 715 (1964) (H.
W. Dworkin) Lee ae

Piano Workers v. W. W. Kimball Co., 221 F.Supp. 461
(N.D. Ill. 1963) rev’d 333 F.2d 761 (7th Cir. 1964)
rev'd per curiam 379 U.S. 357 (1964) _....._.. 10, 12

United Steelworkers of America v. American Manufac-
turing Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960) 7

United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel &
Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) 8, 12

United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior and Gulf
Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) 8

II

TABLE OF CITATIONS (Continued)

COURT CASES: Page

US. v. W. T. Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629 (1952)__.____._ 15

John S. Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543
(1964) 10, 12

STATUTES:

28 U.S.C. §1254 (1) 2

28 U.S.C. §1337 5

29 U.S.C. §185

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No.

NEW ORLEANS STEAMSHIP ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner
v.

GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, I.L.A.
LOCAL UNION #1418, an Unincorporated
Association, and GENERAL LONGSHORE
WORKERS, I.L.A. LOCAL UNION #1419,

an Unincorporated Association, AFL-CIO,
Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, New Orleans Steamship Association, re-
spectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this proceeding on
April 4, 1973.

OPINION BELOW

The per curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals, not
yet reported, appears in the Appendix hereto. The order
of dismissal, with reasons, of the United States District
Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, in the form of a

Minute Entry dated October 18, 1972, appears in the
Appendix.

The Judgment of the United States District Court,
Eastern District of Louisiana, in Civil Action No. 69-2653
to which reference is made in the October 13, 1972 order
of dismissa], supra, also appears in the Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit was entered on April 4, 1973. This Petition for
Certiorari was filed within ninety days of that date. This
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the federal policy favoring settlement of
labor disputes by arbitration is furthered by a summary
refusal of a District Court to render a decision in a case
praying for judicial enforcement of an arbitration award.

2. Whether a finding of “mootness” based upon the
filing of subsequent litigation between the same parties
but upon different factual circumstances is not such a
deplorable departure from accepted and usual judicial
proceedings as to warrant exercise of this Court’s super-
visory powers.

STATEMENT.OF THE CASE

The New Orleans Steamship Association (hereinafter
“NOSA”) representing various employers engaged in ship-
ping in the Port of New Orleans, and the two I.L.A. local
unions representing the General Longshore Workers in

the Port, Local Unions #1418 and #1419 (hereinafter the
“Unions”) have engaged in collective bargaining for over
thirty-five years. The shipping industry is the largest in-
dustry in the City of New Orleans.

One of the contracts resulting from this bargaining re-
lationship had an effective date of October 1, 1964 and
an expiration date of September 30, 1968. This contract
contained a “no strike—no lockout” clause as well as a

comprehensive arbitration commitment by NOSA and the
Unions:

ARTICLE XVIII NO STRIKES, NO LOCKOUTS—
DISPUTES AND ARBITRATION

(a) NO STRIKES—NO LOCKOUTS

There shall be no strikes, work stoppages, nor
shall there be any lockouts.

(b) DISPUTES PROCEDURE AND ARBITRATION
The parties accept the principle that any dispute
involving the interpretation or application of the
terms of this agreement shall be resolved in an
orderly and expeditious manner. They commit
themselves to the procedure outlined below.

* * *

(c) Step 1. When a problem arises it shall be dis-
cussed immediately ....

Step 2. ... If the matter is not disposed of in

this Step 2... either party may take the dispute
to final and binding arbitration.

Step. 3. ... The decision of the arbitrator shall
be final and binding on both parties.

* *

*

SNE a RENAE OIE RN SE De ‘

(d) Either party to a dispute may by-pass the pro-
cedure leading up to arbitration and obtain arbi-
tration forthwith whenever a violation of section
(a) and/or (b) of this Article shall be alleged . . .
the arbitrator shall make findings of fact con-
cerning the alleged violation and shall prescribe
appropriate relief, including an order to desist
therefrom. .

Since the expiration of the 1964-68 Agreement, the
parties have negotiated and executed two collective bargain-
ing agreements: (1) covering the period October 1, 1968
through September 30, 1971 and (2) one that went into
effect on October 1, 1971 and will expire on September 30,
1974. All collective bargaining agreements between NOSA
and the Unions, subsequent in time to the 1964-1968
version, have incorporated, without alteration, the “no
strike—no lockout” clause found therein, as well as the
same commitment to arbitration of disputes.’

In the latter half of 1965, a series of short work
stoppages by members of the Unions occurred. NOSA pro-
cessed a grievance over these work stoppages to arbitra-
tion under the terms of the 1964-68 contract. The issue
as defined in the decision of Arbitrator Leonard Oppenheim
was:

Did the Unions engage in work stoppages in
violation of the current contract between the
Parties?

Arbitrator Oppenheim on December 13, 1965 found the
work stoppages or “quickie strikes” to be a violation of
the contract and ordered the Unions “. . . to cease and
desist from work stoppages ... .”

1 The arbitration clause has changed only by a variance in the identity
of the members of the arbitration panel.

$2 ¢ BCS TANTS.

5

The Unions did not so cease and desist and on March
16, 1966 NOSA sought a judicial sanction by filing suit
in the United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-
trict of Louisiana, praying for enforcement of the De-
cember 13, 1965 arbitration award. Jurisdiction was al-
leged to exist u..ver 29 U.S.C. §185 and 28 U.S.C. §1337.
The District Court, with H. W. Christenberry presiding,
dismissed the petition for lack of jurisdiction on February
28, 1967. This dismissal was reversed by the Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on January 26, 1968 find-
ing that the District Court had jurisdiction to enforce
the award of the arbitrator and remanding the case
“. . . for further proceedings not inconsistent herewith.”
New Orleans Steamship Association v. General Longshore
workers, et al, 389 F.2d 36 (5th Cir. 1968), cert. denied
393 U.S. 828 (1968).

A trial was held by the District Court in December of
1970 following remand from the Fifth Circuit. Briefs
were filed and there the matter rested for twenty-two
months. On October 13, 1972, the District Court filed a
Minute Entry sua sponte dismissing NOSA’s suit as “moot”
because a later, different suit between the parties had
been filed that allegedly involved the same issues as
found in the earlier action. The District Court in its
Minute Entry noted that the extraordinary lapse of time
following trial had been caused by “inadvertance” charge-
able to the Court.

NOSA, following the dismissal by the District Court on
October 13, 1972, filed a timely appeal with the Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. That Court refused to grant
NOSA the relief requested in a per curiam opinion dated
April 4, 1973. This petition for an extraordinary writ
has followed.

CLR PB LIN ILE OPS E LIBEL II SII PION TE

The later suit between the parties, to which the Dis-
trict Court had reference in its dismissal of the instant
case, is New Orleans Steamship Association v. General
Longshore Workers, 1.L.A., Local Union +1418, et al,
306 F.Supp. 134 (E.D. La. 1969), rev’d 423 F.2d 38 (5th
Cir. 1970). That dispute is commonly known as the “LASH
case,” involving as it did a refusal by the Unions in
October of 1969 to work on a vessel that utilized an in-
novative technique of handling and transporting cargo,
i.e., Lighter Aboard Ship, or “LASH”. This boycott was
appealed to arbitration by NOSA in November 1969. The
Unions protested that work on LASH vessels was not
covered by the collective bargaining agreement (1968-1971)
then in effect. This matter was coincidentally also heard
by Arbitrator Leonard Oppenheim and an award was
entered on November 5, 1969 directing that the Unions
“. . . cease and desist from refusing to work aboard or
in connection with the Motor Vessel Acadia Forest ... .”
As they had in the “quickie strikes” case in 1965-1966,
the Unions again refused to abide by the arbitrator’s
decision and accordingly NOSA was forced to seek a
judicial order enforcing the LASH dispute award from
the U. S. District Court. That Court, the Honorable James
A. Comiskey presiding, refused to enforce the arbitration
award finding that LASH work was not covered by the
collective bargaining agreement. See 306 F.Supp. 134 (E.D.
La. 1969) at 139. This decision was timely appealed and
on February 24, 1970, the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit reversed Judge Comiskey stating in part:

The question before the trial court, and now before
us, is whether the issues between the parties were
arbitrable or not.

* * *

3
:

The dispute between the
above, is whether the term ‘cargo’, as used in the
contract, could reasonably be found by an arbi-
trator to include the barges that were lying along

could be construed by an arbitrator as including
men whose duty it was to lift these barges aboard
the vessel. These questions are for the arbitrator,
not the court, to decide.

The judgment is REVERSED and the case is RE-
MANDED .. . 423 F.2d 38, 39, 41 (1970)

Accordingly, on July 8, 1970 a Judgment of Permanent
Injunction was signed by Judge James A. Comiskey en-
joining the Unions from disobeying the November 5, 1969
arbitration award or boycotting LASH vessels being
worked by employers party to the collective bargaining
agreement (Appendix).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH AP-
PLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT EXPLI-
CATING FEDERAL POLICY ON THE ROLE OF
VOLUNTARY ARBITRATION IN LABOR-MAN-
AGEMENT RELATIONS AND RAISES SIGNIFI-
CANT QUESTIONS REGARDING THE PROPER
ROLE OF A REVIEWING COURT IN THE AR-
BITRAL PROCESS.

This Court committed the Federal judiciary to a national
labor policy promoting industrial peace through arbitra-
tion of grievances in a trio of landmark decisions issued
on June 20, 1960: United Steelworkers of America v.

2 fies ngpartetnidienn nig sage te

American Manufacturing Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960) ; United
Steelworkers of America v. Warrior and Gulf Navigation
Co., 368 U.S. 574 (1960); and United Steelworkers of

America v, Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 368 U.S. 693

(1960). A decade later this court indicated clearly that it
had not wavered in its decision to endorse voluntary arbi-
tration in the decision styled Boys Market, Inc. v. Retail
Clerks Union, Local 770, 898 U.S. 285 (1970). The major
question presented in this case is whether the Court will
permit this commitment to be undermined by an apparent
practice of judicial inaction or whether it will once more
exercise its supervisory powers over the federal courts to
insure continued fidelity to that commitment.

The “Steelworkers Triology” defined the respective roles
of the private industrial arbitrator and the judiciary,
and in Enterprise, supra, the judicial standard to be used
in enforcing arbitration awards already rendered was
enunciated :

The refusal of courts to review the merits of an
arbitration award is the proper approach to arbi-
tration under collective bargaining agreements.
p. 596

The obligation and the responsibility of a reviewing court
to duly enforce arbitration awards was brought home
in this very case by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit when they reversed the District Court’s initial
order of dismissal:

The question presented now is the power of the
District Court to enforce the award of an arbitra-
tor in a setting where the arbitrator, in the ex-
ercise of undisputed contractual jurisdiction, has
ordered an end to work stoppages. The union has

refused to abide by his order and asserts that the
court is without jurisdiction to remedy the breach.
Practically, this is the ultimate or last step in the
arbitration process. p. 371

In this case the parties agreed to the remedy of
a desist order by the arbitrator. Such an order
was entered and breached. The court in enforc-
ing such order or award, although injunctive in —
nature, would be doing no more than enforcing the
agreement of the parties. .

Norris-LaGuardia is limited to labor disputes and
we consider the instant controversy to be out-
side the scope of a labor dispute as such... .

We think the logic of the arbitration policy com--
pels this result; otherwise one of the parties to
a collective bargaining agreement containing arbi-
tration and no strike or work stoppage clauses has
a hollow right indeed. (Emphasis added) New
Orleans Steamship Association v. General Long-
shore Workers, 1.L.A. Local Union +1418, et al.,
389 F.2d 369 (5th Cir. 1968), cert. denied 393
U.S. 828 (1968)

Following the foregoing 1968 remand, the District Court
duly conducted a full trial on NOSA’s petition for en-
forcement. It then “inadvertently” misplaced the record
for almost two years and on October 13, 1972 the District
Court, true to its reluctance of some seven years’ standing
to deal with the issue on its merits, entered an order
of dismissal sua sponte claiming the controversy had been
mooted by subsequent litigation.

While the initial thrust of this Court’s decisions in de-
fining the role of the judiciary in litigation arising from

16

private arbitration was to restrict the role of a reviewing
court, as illustrated by the “Steelworkers Trilogy” supra,
the proper balance cannot be struck without also defining
the extent of judicial authority and responsibility. Boys
Market, supra, was a contribution to the balance in the
latter regard and serves as legal precedent for both the
issuance of an injunction below and as a reminder of the
obligation of the reviewing court to act:

. . . the effectiveness of such agreements would
be greatly reduced if injunctive relief were with-
held. Indeed, the very purpose of arbitration pro-
cedures is to provide a mechanism for the ex-
peditious settlement of industrial disputes with-
out resort to strikes, lockouts, or other self-help
measures. This basic purpose is obviously largely
undercut if there is no immediate, effective rem-
edy for those very tactics that arbitration is de-
signed to obviate. p. 249

In the present case the relationship between labor and
management has been on-going, with an uninterrupted
sequence of collective bargaining agreements to prove it.
The two agreements that have been negotiated by the
parties since the arbitration award in question have all
reaffirmed the parties’ commitment to voluntary arbitra-
tion—a commitment that the District Court should not
be permitted to render meaningless. This Court and others
have recognized the continued viability of an arbitration
clause after the expiration of the source collective bargain-
ing agreement. Eg., Piano Workers v. W. W. Kimball Co.,
221 F.Supp. 461, (N.D. Ill. 1963), rev’d 333 F.2d 761
(7th Cir. 1964) rev’d per curiam, 379 U.S. 357 (1964) ;
John S. Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543
(1964); Minnesota Joint Board Clothing Workers v. United
Garment Mfg. Co., 338 F.2d 195 (8th Cir. 1964); see

»

ae wee DA OPTED

1

also Owens-Illinois Glass Co., 48 Lab. Arb. 715 (1964) (H.
W. Dworkin). A fortiori, where the arbitration commitment
continues to exist without lapse, as here, the need to insure
compliance with the obligation to arbitrate and, where ap-
propriate, to provide judicial sanctions to enforce arbitra-
tion awards duly rendered is of undeniable importance.

In denying the parties a decision on the merits and in
effect refusing the prayer for judicial enforcement of an
arbitration award, the District Court has both violated the
direction and spirit of this Court’s developing precedent
and created a new, significant problem regarding the judi-
cial role in the industrial arbitral process. Review of that
court’s action is warranted and necessary.

2. THE COURT BELOW HAS AFFIRMED A DIS-
MISSAL ON GROUNDS OF “MOOTNESS” WHICH
DISMISSAL SO FAR DEPARTS FROM THE AC-
CEPTED AND USUAL COURSE OF JUDICIAL
PROCEEDINGS AS TO REQUIRE EXERCISE OF
THIS COURT’S SUPERVISORY POWERS.

The trial court herein, as eventually affirmed by the
Court of Appeals, did three things to avoid having to
make a decision on NOSA’s petition for enforcement of
the “quickie strikes” arbitration award: (1) it first dis-
missed the petition claiming it lacked jurisdiction—but
this decision was reversed by the Fifth Circuit in 389 F.2d
369 (1968), cert. denied 393 U.S. 828 (1968), (2) it
“through inadvertance” overlooked the record of the case
following a full trial on the merits in December 1970
for twenty-two months, and (3) it finally dismissed the

4 eens egnonmne

12

case for “mootness” allegedly rising from the filing of
another action between the parties.’

It is difficult to imagine how the filing of a subse-
quent petition seeking enforcement of a later, different
arbitration award in the “LASH case” could render the
instant case “moot.” Citation of the “LASH case” for
purposes of res judicata or collateral estoppel would have
been more orthodox and understandable. Yet “mootness”
is the sole reason given by the District Court in its order
of dismissal dated October 13, 1972 (Appendix), and that
“mootness” is allegedly based upon the 1969-70 “LASH
case.” Except for the fact that both the “LASH case”
and the instant case involved violations of a “no strike”
clause, the facts and relief sought in the two controversies
are not the same.

The arbitration in the instant case was over a series
of work stoppages in 1965, NOSA complaining of a grow-
ing tendency on the part of the Unions to engage in
“quickie strikes” aimed at obtaining satisfaction of Union
grievances, circumventing thereby the contractual griev-
ance procedure. The Union in defense raised minor pro-
cedural points (ie. staleness) and also denied that the
work stoppages were anything but random occurrences,
for which they had no responsibility.

The positions of the parties in the 1969 “LASH case”
arbitration differed radically from those in the “quickie

2 The trial court did not adopt arguments made by the Unions below
to the effect that expiration of the 1964-68 collective bargaining agree-
ment vitated any arbitration award arising thereunder. Such arguments
are not supported by decisional law, see Piano Workers v. W. W. Kimball
Co., 221 F.Supp. 461 (N.D. 111.1963) rev'd 333 F.2d 761 (7th Cir. 1964),
rev'd, per curiam 379 U.S. 357 (1964); John S. Wiley & Sons, Inc. v.
Livingston, 376 U.S. 543 (1964); and United Steel v. Enterprise Wheel
& Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960).

_ 1B

strike” arbitration four years earlier. Issue in 1969 was
joined only on the question of arbitrability. Without much
risk of oversimplification, the Unions claimed there that
the arbitrator had no jurisdiction or authority to interpret
certain terms found in the collective bargaining Unions
to work on “LASH” vessels.

In the 1965 arbitration over the “quickie strikes” the
Unions did not raise,a question of substantive arbitrability
—such as they did in the “LASH case”. In like fashion in
the 1969 “LASH case” arbitration, the Unions did not
disavow responsibility for the action that was the subject
of complaint—such as they had in the arbitration on
“quickie strikes,”

The difference in issues described above was continued
and supplemented in the first District Court hearings upon
each of the two arbitrations. In the hearing on enforce-
ment of the arbitration award on “quickie strikes,” the
Court found that it was without jurisdiction under the
Norris-LaGuardia Act and denied the petition for an in-
junction, thus adding a new issue to the general denial
of responsibility pleaded by the Unions. In the first hear-
ing of the United States District Court on the “LASH
case” the Court heeded the Union’s argument on substan-
tive arbitrability and found that the arbitration award
had been issued on a subject beyond the jurisdiction of
the arbitrator. See 306 F.Supp. 134 (E.D. La. 1969).

The Fifth Circuit reversed both of the foregoing District
Court decisions.

The question of substantive arbitrability and the scope
of judicial review of an arbitrator’s decision, as found

2 tae ip a eT ee ae ian
nite SA ws) LP Re ee yey rg ee

oie

14

in the litigation under the “LASH case” has never been
raised in the instant case. Those questions and the answers
provided by the litigation reported in 806 F.Supp. 134
(E.D. La. 1964), rev’d 423 F.2d 38 (5th Cir. 1970) do not,
it is submitted, answer the unresolved questions left below
by the District Court’s order of dismissal, i.e., whether or
not the December 13, 1965 arbitration decision is enforce-
able by the Court under the rubric of Supreme Court de-
cisions in this area. The questions that remain, including
the fidelity of the arbitrator’s award to the contract and
the evidence, as well as the precedental value of a judicial
decision on the issue of “quickie strikes” under the sub-
sisting collective bargaining relationship existing in the
Port, are not answered by the 1969-70 litigation in the
“LASH dispute.”

Note that the Unions by disobeying the arbitration
award and forcing NOSA to seek judicial enforcement
have by their actions proven that there exist unresolved
questions—a continuing controversy—that is not settled
by the 1965 decision of Leonard Oppenheim or the de-
cisions in the “LASH case.” This continuing controversy,
or at least manifestation by “quickie strikes”, may have
been temporarily and partially abated by the fact that the
case was before one judicial tribunal or another for the
past seven years, but if the District Court’s current order
of dismissal is upheld no one can say with certainty when
the basic disagreement on the legality of “quickie strikes”
will again plague the Port of New Orleans, or be resolved.

The possibility of a resumption of illegal conduct was a
key in the refusal of this Court to find ‘“mootness” in
U.S. v. W. T. Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629 (1952).

Both sides agree to the abstract proposition that

15

voluntary cessation of allegedly illegal conduct
does not deprive the tribunal of power to hear and
determine the case, i.e., does not make the case
moot. ... A defendani is free to return to his

old ways. p. 632

The Court there also noted that “mootness” was not to be
lightly implied for:

. . . to say that the case has become moot means
that the defendant is entitled to dismissal as a
matter of right. p. 632

In addition to the unresolved controversy between the
parties herein consideration must be given to the public
interest in having the legality of certain practices (i.e.
“quickie strikes”) settled before a finding of “mootness”
will lie, see W. T. Grant, supra at 632. The ultimate public
interest in the resolution of this dispute is based in the
main in avoiding the disruption to commerce and attendant
expense that arise from work stoppages in the largest single
industry of a large metropolitan city.

In this regard the public interest is coincident with one
of the more obvious interests of the parties herein. The
cost to NOSA of abandoning seven years of litigation with-
out ever obtaining a henefit by judicial sanction of an
award in its favor will be inequitably piled on top of the
costs of beginning a whole new arbitration procedure when
the controversy flares anew. Should the Unions contest
a new arbitration award, further dilatory tactics in Federal
court could again prevent NOSA from ever benefiting
from its award.

For a court in these circumstances to avoid the basic
judicial responsibility of rendering a decision on the merits

we 6 eee cas

PATER PhO at eas iPOD a

16

not only keeps alive the continuing controversy between
the parties, but ironically it renders impotent the private
arbitral process, while at the same time denying to the
parties any relief in the public judicial system.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit; or
more appropriately, the writ should be granted on the face
of the papers and the lower court judgments reversed forth-
with, Gianfala, et al v. Texas Company, 350 U.S. 879 (1955).

Respectfully submitted,

MONROE & LEMANN
Andrew P. Carter
Eugene G. Taggart
David E. Walker

By
1424 Whitney Building
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130

June 30, 1973

A EO CN

a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 30th day of June, 1973 three
copies of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari were mailed,
postage prepaid to Alvin J. Liska, Esq., 7952 Chef Menteur
Highway, New Orleans, Louisiana 70126 and Victor H.
Hess, Esq., 1411 Decatur Street, New Orleans, Louisiana.

- we

PILOTS FRO TONS RT IR NEA oN

he is

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 72-3697
Summary Calendar*

NEW ORLEANS STEAMSHIP ASSOCIATION,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus

GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, LL.A. LOCAL
UNION +1418 and GENERAL LONGSHORE
WORKERS, L.L.A., LOCAL UNION +1419,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana

(April 4, 1973)

Before THORNBERRY, GOLDBERG and RONEY,
Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM: AFFIRMED. See Local Rule 21.'

*Rule 18, 5 Cir., Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens ney Com-
pany of New York. et al., 5 Cir., 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part I
iSee N.L.R.B. v. Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, 5 Cir.,
1970, 430 F.2d 966.

TD Tae et eA SE TS PE ae

ae

MINUTE ENTRY
OCTOBER 13, 1972
CHRISTENBERRY, J.

SECTION “A”
No. 16398
CIVIL ACTION

NEW ORLEANS STEAMSHIP ASSOCIATION
VS

GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, LL.A.
LOCAL UNION #1418, an Unincorporated
Association, and GENERAL LONGSHORE

WORKERS, I.L.A. LOCAL UNION #1419, an

Unincorporated Association, AFL-CIO

In this matter the court granted a motion of defendant
General Longshore Workers I.L.A. Local Union +1418
and +1419 to dismiss plaintiff New Orleans Steamship As-
sociation’s motion for a mandatory injunction to enforce
an arbitrator’s award ordering the Unions and their
members to cease and desist from work stoppages in vio-
lation of their contract with the Association, which was
effective October 1, 1964 and remained in effect until
twelve o’clock midnight, September 30, 1968.

Plaintiff appealed and the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Circuit reversed on January 26,
1968, and remanded for further proceedings.

PPE PR IE ERR IAB Mae AE oe

Thereafter there was a change in counsel for the plain-
tiff.

Without discussing motions filed in the interim it is
sufficient to say that the matter was ultimately set for
trial on December 17, 1970. Trial was had on that date
after which counsel were given time to file briefs.

The last brief was filed on January 18, 1971 and the
matter should have been under submission at that time.
However, this did not occur. Through inadvertence the
record went to the Clerk’s files instead of the submitted
drawer and was overlooked. The delay in disposing of the
matter is not chargeable to counsel. It was the court’s

responsibility.

The contract out of which the issues in this case arose
expired on September 30, 1968, but the parties continued to
operate under it until a new agreement effective February
25, 1969 and remaining in effect until midnight September
30, 1971 was entered into by the parties.

On November 6, 1969 New Orleans Steamship Associa-
tion brought suit, No. 69-2653 of the docket of this court,
against the Unions, defendants in this case, alleging vio-
lation of the 1969-71 contract and seeking an injunction
to enforce an arbitration award. The issues involved in
that case are the same ones involved in the instant case.
With the filing of that suit this suit became moot and
should have been dismissed at that time. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that this suit be and it is dismissed.
H.W.C.

ce:
All counsel of record

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
NEW ORLEANS DIVISION

| NEW ORLEANS STEAMSHIP ASSOCIATION,
. a Corporation

vs.

GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, I.L.A. LOCAL
UNION NO. 1418, an Unincorporated Association, and
GENERAL LONGSHORE WORKERS, I.L.A. LOCAL
UNION NO. 1419, an Unincorporated Association,
AFL-CIO

CIVIL ACTION
NO. 69-2653
SECTION “G”

JUDGMENT OF PERMANENT INJUNCTION

This cause came on to be heard on the verified complaint
of plaintiff and the affidavits submitted in support of and
in opposition thereto, and the court having heard oral evi-
dence in open court, and considering the opinion and
mandate of the United States Court of Appeal for the Fifth
Circuit, it appearing to the court that the defendants are
committing acts, and are about to commit acts as set forth
in plaintiff’s complaint, and will continue to do so unless
restrained by order of this court, and that immediate and
irreparable injury, loss or damage will result to plaintiff
and the parties that it represents; and that plaintiff, as :

a representative of the waterfront employers in the Port of
New Orleans, including Central Gulf Steamship Corpora-
tion, time charterer of the M/V ACADIA FOREST, a
vessel engaged in foreign shipping commerce, and T. Smith
& Son, Inc., its contract stevedore, entered into a valid and
existing Deep Sea Agreement with defendant Unions ef-
fective February 25, 1969, under the terms of which no
work stoppages were permitted and any arbitration of a
dispute arising under said contract permitted the arbitrator
to issue a cease and desist order final and binding on all
parties; and that the arbitrator, Leonard Oppenheim, hav-
ing found that a work stoppage existed, by the arbitrator’s
award issued November 5, 1969 ordered defendants to
cease and desist violating the “no work stoppage” provisions
of the contract and to perform stevedoring work on the
M/V ACADIA FOREST under the terms of the Deep Sea
Agreement; and it further appearing that defendants have
failed to obey the award of said arbitrator made pursuant
to said contract, and are violating the terms of said con-
tract, and that their refusal so to perform stevedoring work
on said vessel has prevented Central Gulf Steamship Corp-
oration from carrying on its shipping business under the
provisions of the Deep Sea Agreement to its considerable
immediate and continuing economic detriment, therefore

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that
General Longshore Workers, I.L.A. Local Union No. 1418,
AFL-CIO and General Longshore Workers, I.L.A. Local
Union No. 1419, AFL-CIO, their officers, agents, repre-
sentatives, employees, attorneys, and all persons in active
concert and participation with them, be and they hereby
are permanently enjoined and restrained from in any
manner refusing to obey the award of Arbitrator Leonard
Oppenheim issued pursuant to the Deep Sea Agreement

between plaintiff and defendants, by refusing to perform on
behalf of any employer-party to the Deep Sea Agreement
stevedoring work in the M/V ACADIA FOREST or like
vessel in accordance with said Deep Sea Agreement, and
said persons are hereby affirmatively directed to perform
upon request on behalf of any employer-party to the Deep
Sea Agreement such stevedoring work in accordance with
said award and are permanently enjoined and restrained
from in any manner interfering with or stopping the
loading, unloading or sailing of said vessel M/V ACADIA
FOREST or like vessel, where the said vessel was or is to
be loaded or unloaded by an employer-party to the Deep
Sea Agreement.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-
CREED that the said defendants, General Longshore
Workers, I.L.A. Local Union No. 1418, AFL-CIO and
General Longshore Workers, I.L.A. Local Union No. 1419,
AFL-CIO pay the costs of these proceedings to be taxed by
the clerk of this court, and that execution issue for the
same.

Issued at New Orleans, Louisiana, July 8th, 1970.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0916%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
