# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United States v. William Green Construction Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0861%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 417 U.S. 909

## Text

FEB 25 1974

JR.,CLE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrToBER TERM, 1973

No 73-1314

WILLIAM GREEN CoNnstTrRucTION Co., INc.
and

Unirep States FIDELITY AND GUARANTY CoMPANY,

Petitioners,
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

MICHAEL J. MALLEY
1250 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Of Counsel:

Stantey C. Morris, JR.

JaMEs V. DoLAN

Vireinta M. Donpy
Srepror & JoHNSON
1250 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Parss or Byron S. ApaMs Parrrina, Inc., Wasumrerom, D. C.

>

INDEX i
Page
2
DUCT STITT LTTE TTT TLC ELC CE TTT Ee 2
ING 5s sive ws tected ees eedawesennene 2
cde cae ws ce Cadena eee ieeeiena as 3
Se ee oe is ow ee ewaes 4
Reasons for granting the writ ..................005- 13
L Tae Lower Covurt’s Hotpine THat THERE Js aN
ApEQUATE ADMINISTRATIVE REMEDY Is ConrTRARY
ae is cog awa Geee ae ee ele 13
IL ApequaTe ADMINISTRATIVE REMEDIES WERE Not
AVAILABLE TO THE CONTRACTOR, SO THAT THE CouRT
or Ctamms SHovuLpD Have Treatep Tuts CasE AS A
1 BREACH OF CONTRACT CASE ...........ecececeee 14
™ VL Tae Government’s ANNOUNCEMENT THAT IT
Woutp Rervuse To Make Procress PayMENTs Was
an ANTICIPATORY BREACH OF CONTRACT .......... 16
IV. Tae Measure or Damaces ror Breacu or Con-
Tract SHOULD INCLUDE COMPENSATION FOR PRov-
ABLE, F'ORESEEABLE CONSEQUENTIAL DamacEs, Con-
TRARY TO THE Court or Ciarms’ HoLpine ........ 17
ee eae oe eee cea ea Nn 19
hock cwihiaercuunidecenenen de edek nen en la
SEE Wis Sivas dag eewanees ews ound bimeyeeneaks 17a
ESAS ie Rene yr ae er aE aye 3la
CITATIONS
Cases :
Brooklyn d& Queens Mfg. Co. v. United States, 97 Ct.Cl.
EEE cae oadavcubiaweanabacdeondwdeawn 14
Canal Co. v. Gordon, 73 Wall. 561 (1867) ............ 14

li Index Continued

Page
Myerle v. United States, 33 Ct.Cl. 1 (1897) .......... 18
Nager Electric Co. v. United States, 184 Ct.Cl. 390, 396
EE EE ob haa ie kha eRe tebe keenkes 13
Overstreet v. United States, 55 Ci.Cl. 154 (1920) .... 17
Pilcher, Livingston & Wallace, Inc., 70-1 BCA {8331
NE ND oi 4 ye iues de xuin VA 664 ds ¥opede 14
Pigeon v. United States, 27 Ct.Cl. 167 (1892) .......... 14
Ramsey v. United States, 121 Ct.Cl. 426 (1951)...... 18
Roehm v. Horst, 178 U.S. 1 (1900) ................. 17
SG&E Contr. Inc. v. United States, 406 U.S. 1 (1972) .. 13
Sanders Assoc. Inc. v. United States, 191 Ct.Cl. 157, 423
EE SPE valécacucbeedecsseecsbenseeecens 14
United States v. Anthony Grace & Sons, Inc., 384 US.
Ec cdn cue sVnn teense inh ss beeesheneuses 14
United States v. Purcell Envelope Co., 249 U.S. 313
I ihes seid cuhunkesd as Nwenbadseievesndanes 17
United States v. Utah Constr. & Mining Co., 384 US.
SEE Sircd cagua bebe tek wees sae eeweaseumeed 9,14
Universal Ecsco Corp. v. U.S., 181 Ct.Cl. 10, 385 F.2d
os rr rrr eee are 15
Valley Constr., 64 BCA 7 4071 (ASBCA 1964) ...... 14
Whitbeck v. United States, 77 Ct.Cl. 309 (1933) ...... 17
William Green Constr. Co., 68-1 BCA { 6883 (GSBCA

BE 55s. douches cdbesdeaaaus encewiacedenees 9, 12, 14
William Green Constr. Co., 71-2 BCA J 9116 (GSBCA
BEE dic akeusee Kucesionscubanesvesrs su nbenerst
MISCELLANEOUS:
4 Covbin, Conbracta, § S60 .....0.cccccccscccscccccess 17
Wunderlich Act, 68 Stat. 81, 41 U.S.C. §§ 321-322..... 3

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1973

No.

WILLIAM GREEN ConstruUCTION Co., INC.
and

Untrep States FIDELITY AND GUARANTY COMPANY,
Petitioners,
v.

UnITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

William Green Construction Company, Inc., (here-
after referred to as ‘“‘Green’’) and United States
Fidelity and Guaranty Company (hereafter referred
to as “USF&G’’) cross-petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Claims in this case. This cross-petition is
conditional upon the granting of the petition for writ
of certiorari filed by the Government in this case on
January 26, 1974 (No. 73-1153). Green and USF&G

2

have filed a brief in opposition to that petition, and
in the event that petition is denied, they shall seek
dismissal of this petition.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Claims is reported at
477 ¥'.2d 930. The Court of Claims’ Order denying
the motions of the parties for reconsideration is un-
reported. For convenient reference, petitioners’ com-
plaint is attached to this cross-petition (App. I,
infra, pp. 1a-16a).

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Claims was entered
on May 11, 1973, and the respective motions for re-
consideration were denied on September 28, 1973. On
January 3, 1974, the Chief Justice extended the time
within which to file a cross-petition for a writ of
certiorari to February 25, 1974. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1255.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
The questions presented are:

1. Whether, in view of Green’s administrative
appeal from the termination of the Howard University
contract and the Board of Contract Appeals’ dismissal
of the breach of contract portion of that appeal, the
Court of Claims erred in requiring Green to return to
the Board of Contract Appeals for exhaustion of ad-
ministrative remedies.

2. Whether a breach of the payments clause by
the Government is cognizable under the disputes
clause of the contract thereby requiring all issues of

3

{ability and damage to be determined administra-
tively ?

3. Whether a termination for convenience clause
or concept can be employed to exculpate the Govern-
ment from the full extent of the damages it has
wrongly imposed where the contractor (1) was not
in default and (2) where the Government desires or
needs completion of the contracted-for facilities ?

(4) Whether the damages alleged in the Peti-
tion are, as a matter of law, nonrecoverable, notwith-
sanding that such damages are provable and not-
withstanding that the Government had actual knowl-
edge that such damages would be the inevitable result
of its wrongful acts and, in spite of that knowledge,
arbitrarily proceeded with such wrongful action?

(5) Whether the Government’s general right of
set-off entitles the Government to set-off nonmeri-
torious claims arising out of the Government’s own
wrongful conduct, without responsibility for the con-
sequences of the unjustified set-off?

STATUTE INVOLVED

The Wunderlich Act, 68 Stat. 81, 41 U.S.C. §§ 321-
322, provides as follows:

§ 321. Limitation on pleading contract-provisions
relating to finality; standards of review.

No provision of any contract entered into by the
United States, ries | to the finality or conclusive-
ness of any decision of the head of any department
or agency or his duly authorized representative or
board in a dispute involving a question arising
under such contract, shall be pleaded in any suit
now filed or to be filed as limiting judicial review

4

of any such decision to cases where fraud by such
official or his said representative or board is 4l-
leged: Provided, however, That any such decision
shall be final and conclusive unless the same js
fradulent [sic] or capricious or arbitrary or so
grossly erroneous as necessarily to imply bad faith,
or is not supported by substantial evidence.

§ 322. Contract-provisions making decisions final
on questions of law.

No Government contract shall contain a pro-
vision making final on a question of law the decision
any administrative official, representative, or

oard.

STATEMENT

Petitioners in this action seek damages for losses
directly caused by the Government’s breach of con-
tracts entered into with Green. USF&G was the
surety on the performance and payment bonds on
two of these contracts.

The facts pertinent to the issues are set forth in
the petition initiating this action and, of course,
those facts must be accepted as true for purposes of
a motion to dismiss which the Government filed in
the Court of Claims and on which that Court ren-
dered its opinion in this case. Briefly stated, the facts
are: In November 1964, the Government and Green
entered into a contract in the amount of $1,899,138
for the construction of a women’s residence hall at
Howard University in Washington, D. C. (hereafter
referred to as the ‘‘Howard contract’’). At approxi-
mately the same time, these parties also entered into
a contract in the amount of $2,340,583 for the con-
struction of a United States Post Office and Federal

5

Office Building in Portsmouth, New Hampshire
(hereafter the ‘‘FOB contract’’). Subsequently, these

ies signed a third contract in the amount of
$8,556,150 for the construction of the National Train-
ing School for Boys in Morgantown, West Virginia
(hereafter the ‘‘Training School contract’). USF&G
was the surety on the Howard University and FOB
contracts.

After award of the contract and for 16 months
thereafter, Green attempted to perform the Howard
contract but was unable to make substantial progress
because the plans and specifications for the cast-in-
place architectural concrete (CPAC) work, which
was critical to performance of the contract, were
defective and impossible to perform. Green made
repeated requests of the Government during this time
for changes in the plans and specifications to permit
the work to proceed, but these requests were rejected
even though the Government had a duty under law
to make the changes necessary to permit the work
to proceed if they were defective. The Government
disagreed that its plans and specifications were de-
fective, and by letter of April 14, 1966, its contracting
dficer advised Green that its right to proceed with
the Howard University contract was thereby termi-
nated for default on the ground that Green had failed
to proceed in accordance with that contract. Green
had been able to complete only 13.5% of the contract
work during the preceeding 16 months. Green filed
a timely appeal from the default termination with
the General Services Board of Contract Appeals
(@SBCA).

The Government almost immediately advised
Green that it was going to set-off all of its contin-

6

gent claims for damages, liquidated and unliquidated,
arising from the Howard termination, against prog-
ress payments earned by petitioner Green on the
FOB and Training School contracts. This was a sut-
prising position for the Government to take and ob-
viously one with far reaching implications because:

1. The Government was already secure from any
potential loss on Howard. It was holding contract
balances of about $1,640,000 and a performance bond
of $1,899,138 with USF&G as surety, providing total
security of $3,539,138 to assure completion of the
Howard contract, if it could be performed at all in
accordance with the plans and specifications.

2. Green did not have the capital resources to
continue performing contracts of the magnitude of
FOB ($2,340,583) and Training School ($8,556,150)
without the benefit of unimpaired progress payments.
It already had contracted for all the materials, equip-
ment and labor necessary to perform the $12,795,871
in work represented by the Howard, FOB and Train-
ing School contracts, and those obligations which
were in the millions of dollars had to be satisfied
regardless of whether the Government paid Green.
Moreover, the major part of Green’s business was
involved with these three contracts and the lack of
progress payments on FOB and Training School con-
tracts meant the destruction of Green’s business be-
cause of the very large contractual commitments that
it had made with materialmen and subcontractors for
the performance of work required by the contracts
with the Government.

3. The FOB and Training School contracts were
being satisfactorily performed by Green and it was

7

inconceivable that the Government (i) would know-
ingly commit an act damaging to its own interest by
causing an unnecessary default of the FOB and
Training School contracts with their attendant de-
lays and added costs, and (ii) would knowingly com-
mit an act that meant the destruction of Green’s
business.

Urgent meetings were held with the Government
in an attempt to resolve the matter. During these
meetings Green and USF&G advised the Government
that the default termination had been improper; and
that if the Government pursued its indicated inten-
tion to set off the excess completion costs and liqui-
dated damages under the Howard University con-
tract against Green’s FOB and Training School con-
tracts, this action would make it financially impos-
sible for Green to proceed with completion of these
other contracts. Green and USF&G specifically stated
to the Government that the inevitable result of any
such set-off would be the forced abandonment of the
FOB and Training School contracts and the destruc-
tion of Green’s entire business.

In light of the above facts, Green and USF&G
requested the Government to isolate the Howard
University dispute and agree not to set off its con-
tingent damage claims, liquidated and unliquidated,
or excess completion costs against Green’s other
federal contracts. Green advised the Government that
as long as there were no set-offs of Howard Univer-
sity claims against proceeds earned under the other
contracts, it was willing and able to complete satis-
factorily those contracts.

Although an agreement to isolate the Howard Uni-
versity dispute would not have prejudiced the Gov-

8

ernment because of the security afforded by the
Howard contract balances and USF&G’s perform-
ance bond, and despite the Government’s full knowl-
edge of the inevitable consequences of a decision to
set off the Howard University claims, the Govern-
ment nevertheless refused to agree not to set-off the
disputed claims. The Government likewise refused
petitioners’ request to withdraw the Howard Uni-
versity termination notice and to modify the How-
ard University contract specifications, or interpreta-
tion thereof, in order to eliminate the elements of
impossibility and the underlying dispute. As a result
of the Government’s action, Green was compelled to
abandon the FOB and Training School contracts and
was forced out of business.

Green promptly amended its Howard default
termination appeal pending before the GSBCA to
include claims for damages incurred for breach of
the FOB contract and for those arising from the
destruction of its business. The Government subse-
quently filed with the GSBCA a motion to dismiss
the amended appeal for lack of jurisdiction on the
ground that it was a claim for “‘breach of contract”
and ‘‘unliquidated damages’’ and, as such, was “not
redressable under any clause of the contract.” By
decision dated February 20, 1968, the Board of Con-
tract Appeals granted the Government’s Motion in
part by dismissing that part of Green’s claim for
the damages which are the subject of the petition
before this Court. The Board held that ‘‘we have no
jurisdiction over that part of the appellants’ claim
which is for unliquidated damages for breach of con-
tract as that is a so-called ‘pure’ breach of contract
claim, ie. a claim not reuzessable under a specific

9

contract provision. See U.S. v. Utah Construction and
Mining Company, 384 U.S. 394; Dean Construction
Co., Inc., GSBCA-1050, 65-2 BCA para. 4888.’’ Wm.
Green Constr. Co., 68-1 BCA 16883.

The Howard, FOB and Training School contracts
were eventually completed by others than Green. The
assuming contractor on Howard also found the struc-
ture impossible to build in accordance with the speci-
fications and the Government then made the changes
necessary to allow completion, which it should have
done as a matter of law years before. Confronted
with evidence of the most compelling kind, the Gov-
ernment on October 8, 1971, entered into a stipula-
tion in which it admitted:

‘1, That the contractor was not in default at
the time it received notice of the termination
and the Government concedes the termination
for default was erroneously made by the Con-
tracting Officer. The appeal, therefore, should be
granted as defined by the prior decisions of the
Board in this ease.”’

On the basis of the Government’s admission of
liability, the Board granted the appeal on October
13, 1971, and set aside the wrongful default termina-
tion of the Howard University contract. Wm. Green
Constr. Co., 71-2 BCA 19117. The Board’s order
stated in part:

“The Board treats the Stipulation, in part, as
the Government’s admission that the contractor
was not in default, within the meaning of the
Default clause of the contract, at the time the
contract was terminated for default. Accordingly,
the Board finds that the appellant’s right to pro-
ceed under the contract was improperly termi-
nated for default.’’

10

Accordingly, the Board remanded the appeal to
the contracting officer to determine Green’s entitle-
ment (i.e., equitable adjustment) for unreimbursed
costs incurred in performing the Howard University
contract. Recognizing the Board’s earlier dismissal
of Green’s claim for damages which are the subject
of the present petition, both the Government’s stipv-
lation and the Board’s order provided:

‘“‘That any equitable adjustment under the con-
tract shall not be prejudicial to appellant’s right
to proceed in the Court of Claims for additional
— not the subject of such equitable adjust-
ment.

At issue here is the question of the Government’s
responsibility for direct, natural, and foreseeable
damages which the GSBCA held to be nonredressable
under any specific contract clause, but which, none-
theless, are the direct and proximate result of the
Government’s breach of the Howard University con-
tract and its anticipatory breach of the FOB and
Training School contracts. This case is unique in that
the result of the Government’s wrongful termination
of the Howard University contract coupled with its
intransigence on the set-off question, was precisely
as forewarned by Green and USF&G when they ex-
pressly advised the Government that the impending
set-offs would render completion by Green of the
FOB and Training School contracts financially im-
possible and that, therefore, Green would have no
choice but to abandon work on those projects and
cease business.

The direct, natural and foreseeable result of the

Government’s wrongful actions was to cause Green
substantial losses. First, as a result of Green’s forced

11

abandonment of the FOB contract the Government
required USF'&G, as surety for that contract, to com-
plete performance and pay all valid and outstanding
daims for labor and materials under that contract.
The costs and losses thus incurred by USF &G totaled
$870,969.59, for which Green, under its indemnity
agreement, is liable to USF&G in the full amount.
Second, by reason of the forced abandonment of the
FOB and Training School contracts and the wrong-
ful termination of the Howard University contract,
which contracts represented more than one half of
Green’s total business, Green was deprived of the
cash flow necessary to continue its business, its capi-
tal and credit were destroyed and it was forced to
discontinue its business as a general contractor. This
resulted in rendering Green unable to complete three
other contracts which it was then in the process of
performing. USF&G, as surety for those contracts,
was required to complete performance and to pay all
valid and outstanding claims for labor and materials
under those contracts. The costs and losses incurred
by USF&G on those contracts amounted to $948,-
153.44, for which Green under its indemnity agree-
ment is liable to USF &G in the full amount. Finally,
as a direct and provable result of the Government’s
breaches of contract, Green lost the full value of its
business, which had a net worth of $890,334.26."

As a result of the foregoing events, Green and
USF&G filed their action in this case alleging breach
of the Howard University contract (Count I) and
anticipatory breach of the FOB contract (Count II).

Saaeieniaeemeel

*The petitioners made no claim for anticipatory profits, and the
Court of Claims erred on that fact in its opinion.

12

The Government filed a motion to dismiss in the
Court of Claims, alleging among others, a failure by
Green to exhaust its administrative remedies. This is
a direct contradiction of the position the Govern-
ment took on the same issues before the GSBCA,
where it moved to dismiss these same issues because
they involved a breach of contract and were not cog-
nizable administratively under any provision of the
contract. Thus, this case is in the posture of the
Government’s taking contradictory positions in differ-
ent forums for its own advantage to the prejudice
of the petitioners and being permitted to succeed
with it. Before the Administrative Board, which has
no jurisdiction over breach of contract issues, the
Government said the issues are breach of contract
claims not cognizable under the contract and the
Board has no jurisdiction of the issues.’ The GSBCA
agreed and dismissed petitioners’ claims which are
the subject of the present action. Wm. Green Constr.
Co., 68-1 BCA 16883. In the Court of Claims, which
has no de novo jurisdiction of claims cognizable un-
der the contract, the Government contended the issues
were cognizable administratively under the contract
and that Green was required to exhaust administra-
tive remedies. In its opinion, the Court of Claims
agreed and remanded the case back to the GSBCA.

2The Government was most specific in its motion to dismiss
before the GSBCA:

‘¢ ##* (T]he Board does not have jurisdiction over all factual
disputes, but only over those that have some reasonable bear-
ing on a claim which is redressable under a specific contract
provision * * *. [W]e submit that Appellant’s claim is not
redressable under any clause of the contract.’’ (Emphasis
added.)

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Government has filed a petition for a writ of
certiorari, No. 73-1153, to review the decision of the
Court of Claims in this case. Green and USF&G have
fled an opposition to the Government’s position.
However, this petition is filed to request review of
the entire decision, including those issues decided
adversely to Green and USF&G, in the event this
Court should grant the Government’s petition.

L The Lower Court’s Holding That There Is An Adequate
Administrative Remedy Is Contrary To Established Law.

In S&E Contractors, Inc. v. United States, 406
U.S. 1 (1972), this Court held that ‘‘a citizen has
the right to expect fair dealing from his Government
** * and this entails in the present context treating
the Government as a unit rather than separate enti-
ties.’? 406 U.S. at 10. The question of whether Green
had exhausted its administrative remedies is one that
the Government could have raised at the administra-
tive level. Since it chose not to do so, but chose in-
stead to take the position before the administrative
tribunal that the claims were breaches of contract
not redressable administratively, the Government
should not be allowed to raise an exhaustion of ad-
ministrative remedies issue in the Court of Claims
and the Court of Claims should not have remanded
the case to the GSBCA. In doing so, the Court of
Claims not only ignored the teaching of S&E Con-
tractors, Inc., supra, but struck across its own hold-
ing in Nager Electric Company v. United States, 184
Ct.Cl. 390, 396 F.2d 977 (1968), which estopped the
Government from claiming a failure to exhaust ad-
ministrative remedies because the parties had char-
acterized the claim before the Administrative Board

14

as a ‘“‘breach’”’ claim. This is exactly what occurred
before the GSBCA in the present case. Wm. Green
Constr. Co., 68-1 BCA 16883. The unavailability and
inadequacy of any administrative remedy was estab-
lished by the GSBCA’s decision and that satisfies
the holding of this Court in United States v. An-
thony Grace and Sons, 384 U.S. 424 (1966).

In treating the Howard and FOB contracts as tied
together for purposes of set-off, and thus inextricably
tying the wrongfulness of the Howard termination
to the refusal to make progress payments under
FOB, the Government should not be allowed now to
change its position under any view of the case.

IL Adequate Administrative Remedies Were Not Available To
The Contractor, So That The Court Of Claims Should Have
Treated This Case As A Breach Of Contract Case.

When the Government breaches the payments
clause of the contract, the contractor’s traditional
and judicially recognized remedy has been to abandon
the contract and sue for damages.* This is exactly
what Green did. Moreover, it is well understood law
that the ‘‘disputes clause’’ does not extend to breach
of contract claims ‘‘not redressable under other spe-
cific contract provisions.’”’ United States v. Utah
Constr. & Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394 (1966). There is
no contract provision providing a remedy for the
Government’s repudiation of its payment obligation.
This was specifically recognized by the Court of
Claims in Sanders Assoc. v. United States, 191 Ct.Cl.

3 Canal Company v. Gordon, 73 Wall. 561 (1867); Pigeon v.
United States, 27 Ct.Cl. 167 (1892) ; Brooklyn & Queens Mfg. Co.
v. United States, 97 Ct.Cl. 532 (1942); Valley Contractors, 4
BCA 7 4071 (ASBCA 1964) ; Pilcher, Livingston & Wallace, Inc.,
70-1 BCA J 8331 (ASBCA 1970).

15

7, 423 F.2d 291 (1970), where it held that a breach
‘the payments clause fell within the Utah excep-
pn as not redressable under other provisions of the
ntract. Furthermore, that Court in Universal Ecsco
orp. V. United States, 181 Ct.Cl. 10, 385 F.2d 421
967) allowed a contractor to prosecute a claim for
each of the progress payment clause and rejected
e Government’s contention that the claim was bar-
d by failure to exhaust administrative remedies.

By remanding the case to the GSBCA, the Court
' Claims for the first time subordinated a breach of
e payments clause to the disputes clause of the
mtract. That result creates an open invitation for
@ economic ruin of contractors and exposes them
duress of the utmost kind, for the common law
ght of contractors to abandon the work is now lost
id there is no other meaningful restraint upon an
use of bureaucratic power. This arises because the
sputes clause provides that ‘‘Pending final decision
a dispute hereunder, the contractor shall proceed
ligently with the performance of the contract and
accordance with the contracting officer’s decision.”
wus, if the Government arbitrarily refuses to pay a
ntractor, the contractor is obligated under the dis-
tes clause to proceed with the work regardless of
lat the Government has done, receiving only the
bious right to resort to administrative procedures
collect his money, which usually takes years. To
bject a breach of the payments provision to the
ministrative procedures of the disputes clause will
destructive not only of contractors but of the Gov-
ment’s procurement processes, because few con-
ctors have the resources to perform work without
y or only partial pay and the endurance to engage

16

in a prolonged contest with the Government to collect
it, and those which do would avoid doing business with
the Government under such conditions or would con-
tract with it only at exorbitant prices.

In an effort to provide some adjustment for the
injustices sustained by the petitioners, the Court of
Claims applied a termination for convenience con-
cept to this case, and remanded it to the GSBCA
for a convenience termination. But Green plainly
was not in default and just as plainly the Govern-
ment needed the completion of the contracted-for fa-
cilities. This raises for serious consideration by this
Court the applicability for a termination for con-
venience clause in situations where (i) a contractor
is not in default and (ii) the Government desires
and needs the completion of the contracted for fa-
cilities. It would open the door to great mischief, if
the Government can, under the guise of a termina-
tion for convenience clause, breach at will contracts
that are not in default for facilities that it needs and
which are completed subsequently by others.

IIL The Government's Announcement That It Would Refuse To
Make Progress Payments Was An Anticipatory Breach Of
Contract.

The Court of Claims rejected Count II (App.
15a) which is based upon anticipatory breach of
the FOB contract, as ‘‘a choice of phrasing to
camouflage the irrefutable fact that the only detri-
ment which came, or could come, to plaintiffs would
be through a wrongful default-termination.’’ The fact
is that Green abandoned the FOB contract thereby
terminating it as a viable agreement. The Court of
Claims disregards the established law to achieve its

| —
17
holding. The rule regarding anticipatory breaches of
contract is firmly established and ‘‘a definite and
unconditional repudiation of the contract by a party
thereto, communicated to the others, is a breach of
contract, creating an immediate right of action and
other legal effects, even though it takes place long
before the time prescribed for the promised perform-
ance and before conditions specified in performance
have occurred.”’ 4 Corbin, Contracts §959 at 852-53.
In United States v. Purcell Envelope Co., 249 U.S.
313, 320 (1919) this Court held that this doctrine
applies fully to anticipatory repudiation of a con-
tract by the Government. In that case, the Court,
iting Roehm v. Horst, 178 U.S. 1 (1900), stated: ‘It
s there decided that the positive refusal to perform
s contract is a breach of it, though the time for per-
formance has not yet arrived, and that liability for
he breach at once occurs.’’ Jd at 320. Moreover, the
Jourt of Claims has held that a Government refusal
o make further progress payments constitutes an
nticipatory breach creating an immediate cause of
ction. Overstreet v. United States, 55 Ct.Cl. 154
1920); Whitback v. United States, 77 Ct.Cl. 309
1933). The Court of Claims erred, therefore, in fail-

ng to apply the applicable law of anticipatory
reach of contract.

¥. The Measure Of Damages For Breach Of Contract Should
Include Compensation for Provable, Foreseeable Conse-
quential Damages, Contrary To The Court of Claims’ Holding

The Court of Claims summarily dismissed all
laims for consequential damages of Count I, holding
lat they were ‘‘too remote and consequential.’’ This
ding contravenes the established common law as

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0861%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
