# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lemar Towing Co. v. Fireman's Fund Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0809%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 976

## Text

' = |
| &upreme Ceurt, U. $.°

| FILED J
LIBRARY
SUPREME COURT, U.S. ) AUG 7 1873 |
IN THE | wiOmast neta oem ee

Supreme Court of the United States _
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

wo 73-258

LEMAR TOWING CO., INC.,

Petitioner
versus
FIREMAN'S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JOAQUIN CAMPOY

WILLIAM S. STONE

Suite 901

225 Baronne Street

New Orleans, La. 70112
Attorneys for Petitioner

ELDON T. HARVEY,III

LAWRENCE E. ABBOTT

CAMPOY, STONE & HARVEY
Of Counsel

SEEMS NT GAEG bic Kee

CONTENTS
PAGE NO.

Opinions Below and Jurisdiction---- 1

Question Presented------------------ 1
Statute Involved------- -- ek.
Statement of the Case-------------- 3
Argumen t--------------------------- 8
Conclusion------------------------- 15 .
Appendix:

Opinion of the District Court--- 17
Judgment of the District
Per Curiam Opinion of the

Court of Appeals-------------- 45
Judgment of the Court of
Order of the Court of Appeals

Denying Rehearing and Rehearing
En Banc----~------------------ 47

eo PPR oy
7 ex

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE NO.
STATUTES :

Louisiana Revised Statutes,
Title 22, Section 628 (Acts 1948,
No. 195, Section 14.18, re-
enacted without change, Acts
1958, No. 125) ------------------- 3

CASES:

Aguirre vs Citizens Casualty Company
of New York, 441 F2d 141 (CA 5-
1971), cert. den., 404 US 829
(1971) --------------------------- 8

Askew vs American Waterways Operators
Inc., 93 §.Ct. 1590, 41 L.W.
4507 (April 18, 1973)------------ 3,12,13

Carnes, C.E. & Co. vs Employers'
Liability Assur. Corp., 101
F2d 739 (CA 5-1939) -------------- 12

Cobb vs Unity Industrial Life Ins.
Co., 19 La. App. 539, 140 So.
877 (Orl.-1932) ------------------ BI

Claribel, The (Coleman vs Jahncke
Service, Inc.), 341 F2d 956 (CA 5-
1965), reh. den., 348 F2d 868,
cert. den. and dism., 382 US
967 (1966) ----------------------- 10

Gulfstream Cargo, Ltd. vs Reliance
Insurance Company, 409 F2d 974
(CA 5-1969) ---------------------- 9

Kelly vs Washington, 302 US l
(1937) --------------------------- 12

. cee |

AUTHORITIES (Page 2)

PAGE NO.
Laurent vs Unity Industrial Life
Ins. Co., 189 La. 426, 179
So. 586 (1938) -----------~-~---~- 11

Lion Oil Co. vs Gulf Oil Corporation,
181 F2d 731 (CA 5-1950)------... 12

Miller vs Kellerman, 228 F. Supp.
446 (WD La.-1964), aff'd and reh.
den., 354 F2d 46 (CA 5-1964),
cert. den., 384 US 951 (1966)--- 1l

Sea Pak, The (Tropical Marine Pro-
ducts vs Birmingham Fire Ins.
Co. of Pa.), 247 F2d 116 (cA 5-
1957), cert. den., 355 uS 903
(1957) --------------------~-- 9

Spot Pack, The (Saskatchewan Govern-
ment Insurance Office vs Spot
Pack), 242 F2d 385 (CA 5-1957) --- 9

Texaco, Inc. vs Vermilion Parish
School Board, 244 La. 408, 152
So2d $41 (1963) ----...........-—.— 11:

Union Insurance Co. of Philadelphia
vs Smith, 124 uS 405 (1888)------ 9,14

Wilburn Boat Co. vs Fireman's Fund
Insurance Co., 348 us 310 (1954)- 2,8,12,
15

Wisconsin Barge Line, Inc. vs Coastal
Marine Transport, Inc., 414
F2d 872 (CA 5-1969) --------.....- 10

Rees DMV IT

AUTHORITIES (Page 3)

PAGE NO.
OTHER:

The Symposium on the Hull Policy,
41 Tulane Law Review,
page 253 (1967) ---------------- 10,15

43 Am. Jur. 2d, Insurance,
Section 1043, p.968 (1969) ----- 15

hE 4

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

%, NO
s
~ 3
LEMAR TOWING CO., INC.,
Petitioner
versus

FIREMAN'S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondent

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner seeks certiorari to review
the judgment of the Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit in this case, and, in sup-
port of its petition, respectfully shows:

OPINION BELOW and JURISDICTION

The District Court's opinion is reported
at 352 F. Supp. 652. The judgment of the
District Court is dated July 19, 1972. The
Court of Appeals affirmed, per curiam, at
471 F2d 609, the District Court's opinion.
The judgment of the Court of Appeals is dated
January 12, 1973. Rehearing and rehearing
en banc were denied on June 11, 1973. Juris-
diction of this Court lies under 28 USC
1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether, in a suit by an assured against

a marine underwriter to recover for the loss
of a sunken inland tug under a marine time

2

hull policy issued in Louisiana, the under-
writer may validly assert as a defense to the
suit an alleged breach of an implied warranty
of continuing seaworthiness, including a
warranty that the crew of the vessel will be
qualified in compass navigation, even though
the policy as written contains no express
warranty of any kind; when Wilburn Boat Co.
vs Fireman's Fund Insurance Co., 348 US 310
(1954), requires that state law control
policy warranties; and when R.S. 22:628 of
the Louisiana Insurance Code, which code ap-

plies to marine policies under settled de-
cisions, provides that:

7” one

"No agreement in conflict with,
modifying, or extending the coverage
of any contract of insurance shall
be valid unless in writing and made
a part of the policy."

Re oe ey

The decision has nationwide importance,
_ since the holding

(1) affects every American time hull
policy written without warranties of sea-
worthiness; and enables insurers, notwith-
standing coverage of crew negligence under
the Inchmaree clauses of such policies, to
avoid such coverage on the theory below that

incompetence of the master or crew affords a
secret defense;

wars nis cahAA all AMA Aha ie

| (2) effectually deprives States in the
Fifth Circuit of the right to require, by
‘salutary legislation, that insurers doing
business in those States reduce their entire
“agreement with the assured to writing, to
javoid fraud and secret defenses; and

ene} tye a

(3) unduly militates against the powers
of States to enact legislation in the maritime

: FP PAPER FE ne —

3

field. Askew vs American Waterways Operators,
Inc., 93 S.Ct. 1590, 41 L.W. 4507 (April 18,

1973).
STATUTE INVOLVED

Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 22,
Section 628:

DASE TONAL A ROY

“No agreement in conflict with,
modifying or extending the coverage
of any contract of insurance shall
be valid unless in writing and made
a part of the policy."

(Acts 1948, No.195, Section 14.18,
reenacted without change, Acts 1958,
No. 125).

PPT NE Sa 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SONOMA YER ORI LS YO ARIE A

ed

This action was filed in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District |
of Louisiana to recover on a policy of marine ©
insurance. Admiralty and diversity juris- z
diction were invoked. Petitioner owned the
Tug TRUDY B, a small inland vessel insured
by Respondent which issued a marine hull
policy containing no requirement that the
vesse) be maintained in a seaworthy condition,
and no provisions as to the qualifications or ©
competence of the crew. ‘

The vessel was, however, seaworthy in
her hull and machinery at all times and her
good physical condition was proved beyond
dispute at trial, and was accepted by the
Court.

Shortly after leaving a shipyard where
she had received routine hull repair and
maintenance, the TRUDY B was dispatched by
Petitioner on an inland canal and river

SE eee oe mE K SOY OUR ES EES ILS A

PRP Se MPSA! ALP

a

voyage from the Inner Harbor Navigation
Canal, New Orleans, eastward in the Gulf
Intracoastal Waterway to the Rigolets (an
inland pass running north-northwest from
Lake Borne into Lake Pontchartrain), thence
up the West Pearl River, to return via the
same route. Inland use of this type was

the vessel's usual employment. The master,
Ronald Bearb, who had been recommended to
Petitioner as being qualified to act as cap-
tain of the TRUDY B, turned out to be un-
skilled in the use of a compass, but this
was unknown to Petitioner at the time he was
hired or at the time of the commencement of
; the voyage in question.

En route up the West Pearl River the
TRUDY B grounded, an event covered by the
perils clause of Respondent's policy, which
grounding caused a hole in the vessel's
hull and damage to her screws and propeller
. shafts which caused her to make water through
_ her stuffing boxes. After telephone dis-

_ cussions with Petitioner's president, Bearb
effected emergency repairs, borrowed a pump
to supplement the vessel's two pumps, and
began the return voyage to New Orleans for
_ shipyard repairs.

Arriving in the Rigolets around midnight,
Bearb encountered fog and moored at a rail-
way bridge. The fog began to clear after about
half an hour, and he set forth in a westerly
direction across the approximately one-mile-
wide Rigolets pass, bound for the entrance
to the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway. However,
the entrance to the Gulf Intracoastal Water-

* way required rounding Catfish Point, in an

' area where the channels are winding and mud
- shoals abound, so when Bearb encountered fog
- again he attempted to turn about and return
+ to the bridge. Unfortunately, he lost his

apy cia MAN GBA ade icR

Gewese DUTY

5

way in the fog and darkness, and ran into
Lake Borgne, thence into Mississippi Sound
where he proceeded in an easterly direction
throughout the night.

At dawn the fog cleared and Bearb found
that he had traveled as far east as Gulfport,
Mississippi. There the TRUDY B encountered
an oyster boat which gave Bearb a course
heading to New Orleans via the Gulfport Ship
Channel. A great quantity of water had
leaked into the hull of the TRUDY B during
the night, and she was down heavily by the
stern. When she entered the choppy waters
of the Gulfport Ship Channel she capsized
and sank.

The insurer declined liability initially
on the sole basis that the vessel had breach- ©
ed the limits of her navigation warranty,
which defense the District Court rejected
and characterized as lacking in common
sense. However, at trial Respondent raised
another defense on which, notwithstanding
Petitioner's plea of estoppel, Respondent
prevailed, namely, that the assured had
breached an implied warranty of seaworthi-
ness because the master was unskilled in the
use of the compass.

eae ¥

ASAE SIGNS BS oe bOI NS FA 7

The District Court was of the opinion
that because Bearb was not skilled in the use
of the compass at the time of the commence-
ment of the proposed inland voyage, Petition-
er had failed to make the vessel seaworthy
crew-wise; and that seaworthiness of that
species was required by an implied warranty
in the time hull policy. The Court con-
sidered that Bearb, with the use of the com-
pass, should have been able to make it safe-
ly through the fog and to New Orleans and a
safe berth before sinking. :

ak et ued

2 BP DWERI

6

For purposes of this petition, Petition-
er assumes that Bearb was unable to chart a
compass course in the Gulf of Mexico. But
the question here reduces to the effect, on
vessel owners in every State, of the Dis-
trict Court's holding (Addendum A) which
was subsequently affirmed per curiam:

"We conclude that the crew of the
TRUDY B, and particularly its cap-
tain, was incompetent at the com-
mencement of the voyage, thus render-
ing the vessel unseaworthy at that
and subsequent times and that such
unseaworthiness proximately resulted
from the owner's neglect in failing
to determine the qualification and
competence of the crew to man the
vessel for the intended voyage before
its commencement. We further con-
clude that such unseaworthiness was
the proximate cause of the loss of
the TRUDY B. And since the unsea-
worthiness was caused by the incom-
petence of the crew, and not by the
negligence of the master or crew, the
Inchmaree Clause is thus inappli-
cable."

"Having so breached the implied
warranty of seaworthiness, plaintiff
is not entitled to recover."

The courts below declined to consider

the effect that Louisiana law might have on
the case, because in their view, as stated

in the District Court's opinion, the doctrine
of implied warranty of seaworthiness is so
entrenched in federal law that it cannot be
modified by state law. The District Court
said (page 21):

SEE BR omaP gia SR

7

“Before reaching the merits of this
defense, we must first determine
whether the issues raised herein are
to be governed by the law of Louisi-
ana or by that of the sea. In Wilburn
Boat Co. v. Fireman's Fund Ins. Co.,
348 U.S. 310, 75 S.Ct. 368, 99 L.Ed.
337 (1955), the United States Supreme
Court held that the regulation of
marine insurance should be left to
the states. Justice Harlan, ina
later case, remarked that '[t]he ap-
plication of state law in [Wilburn]
was justified by the Court on the
basis of a lack of any provision of
maritime law governing the matter
there presented.’ Kossick v. United
Fruit Co., 365 U.S. 731, 742, 81 S.Ct.
886, 894, 6 L.Ed. 2d 56 (1961), cf.
Irwin v. Egal Star Ins. Co., Ltd.,

455 F.2d 827 (5th Cir. 1972). The
rule to be followed in the Fifth
Circuit is that State law should be
applied in the field of marine in-
surance where there is no controlling
federal authority with respect to

the specific issue before the court.
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. v. Wilburn
Boat Co.,300 F.2d 631 (5th Cir. 1962)
(on remand), cert. den. 370 U.S. 925,
82 S.Ct. 1562, 8 L.Ed. 2d 505. Since ‘
the standard of seaworthiness is :
solidly entrenched in federal mari-

time jurisprudence, Aguirre v.

Citizens Casualty Company of New York,

441 F.2d 141, 146 (5th Cir. 1971),

we must apply the federal maritime

law."

Cb RY BIST a aN IR

SR” oO

0. ISD

PR ee OPE Meee My

sca ile i Aan Rea aA :

,
§
7

8
ARGUMENT

a - As to the Non-Existent
“Implied Warranty"

In Wilburn Boat Co. vs. Fireman's Fund
Insurance Co., 348 US 310 (1954), this Court
established the right of the State to enact
legislation governing the effect to be ac-
corded warranties in marine insurance poli-

cies in the absence of a controlling Federal
standard.

When the policy in suit was issued on
March 23, 1969, no Federal standard implying
a warranty of seaworthiness in a time hull
policy was entrenched in the Fifth Circuit,
nor would there be any such standard now
unless its entrenchment by the instant case
is allowed to stand. Both Courts below fell
into error in assuming that the earlier case
of Aguirre vs Citizens Casualty Company of
New York, 441 F2d 141 (CA 5-1971), cert.
den., 404 U.S. 829 (1971), stands for the
proposition that there is an implied warranty
of seaworthiness in every marine policy, for
in Aguirre the policy contained "an express
warranty of seaworthiness .. . that at the
inception of this policy the vessel shall
be in a seaworthy condition and, thereafter,
during the currency of this policy, the as-
sured shall exercise due diligence to keep
the vessel seaworthy, and in all respects
fit, tight, and properly manned. equipped
and supplied." Aguirre, supra at 143.

Thus, the Aguirre decision cannot sustain
the implication of such a warranty.

It was erroneous, also, for the District
Court below to hold that "the Fifth Circuit
recognizes that there exists in a time
policy, such as the one sued on herein, an

9

implied warranty of seaworthiness," citing
The Spot Pack (Saskatchewan Government In-
surance Office vs Spot Pack), 242 F2d 385
(CA 5-1957); The Sea Pak (Tropical Marine
Products vs Birmingham Fire Insurance Co.
of Pa-), 247 F2d 116 (CA 5-1957), cert. den.,
355 US 903 (1957); and Gulfstream Cargo,
Ltd. vs Reliance Insurance Company, 409
F2d 974 (CA 5-1969). Sea Pak certainly does
not support this proposition. And in Spot
Pack, the Fifth Circuit questioned the so-
called "negative" warranty that the vessel
should not knowingly be permitted to “break
ground in an unseaworthy condition," and
inquired "[h} ow this came to be the rule

of general acceptance for all Time policies," |
as it is traceable to Union Insurance Co.
of Philadelphia vs Smith, 124 us 405 (1888),
which, aS pointed out in Spot Pack, "“contain- =
ed not alone an express warranty of sea- :
worthiness, but an express exclusion of
losses caused by unseaworthiness or by in-
competence of Master and Mariners;" but the
Court in Spot Pack decided that it "need
not determine whether, and to what extent,
the rule should be different for a Time
Policy," The Spot Pack, supra, at 388, 389.

The Gulfstream Cargo case, supra, was
handed down five days after the policy hee in |
suit was issued. While it moots the "Ameri- §
can rule" as to implied warranties in a :
footnote, 409 F2d at 983, referring to the ;
Fifth Circuit's decision in Spot Pack, Gulf- —
stream turned on the fact that fraud was
sought to be perpetrated by the assured, who ~
concealed "spectacular unseaworthiness" ex-
isting prior to the inception of the risk
which vitiated the coverage under both state
and federal law. Gulfstream Cargo, supra,
at 983. But fraud is not involved in the
instant case. The question here is whether _

10

standards of seaworthiness may be implied in
an insurance contract between a vessel owner
and an insurer (not between a vessel owner
and innocent third parties such as a seaman),
or whether the Louisiana statute, R.S. 22:628,
which would not have recognized any warranty
unstated in the policy, should be given af-
fect.

The question was and is squarely pregented
at all levels, and Petitioner stands on its
position in both Courts below, that in a time
hull policy the correct rule is as stated in
> The Symposium on The Hull Policy, 41 Tulane
> Law Review, p. 253 (1967): "The true American
+ rule applicable to time hull policies seems
to be that there is no implied warranty of
seaworthiness."

The "American Rule" now adopted by the
Fifth Circuit, sub silentio and per curiam,
if it is to be indeed an "American Rule,"
should be established by this Court, since
its effect involves policyholders in every
littoral state. This Court has not establish-
ed such a rule; nor, if one is now to be
fashioned, should the secret defense of breach
of implied warranty be allowed to function to
the detriment of state police power.

ST Fe eee RL a OE ee oer

F b — The Denial of State Police Power

5 Both Courts below acted in derogation of
public policy expressed by the Louisiana In-
surance Code and the State's highest Court.

It is settled in the Fifth Circuit that the
Louisiana Insurance Code applies to all marine
policies issued in that state. The Claribel
(Coleman vs Jahncke Service, Inc.), 341 F2d
956 (CA 5-1965), reh. den., 348 F2d 868, cert.
den. and dism., 382 US 967, 974 (1966); Wis-
consin Barge Line, Inc. vs. Coastal Marine

MN sta 0H ORG Ss BA Pe ing ln Me

Ree as OEMS TENE SPAMS LI Te RE Mh PATON

11
Transport, Inc., 414 F2d 872 (CA 5-1969).

"The plain intendment of the law [of
Louisiana] is that the respective obligations
of both parties to the contract of insurance
be determined by the policy itself," as it
is the fixed public policy of this state that
every policy of insurance 'shall contain the
entire contract between the parties." Laurent

vs Unity Industrial Life Ins. Co., 189 La.
426, 179 So. 586, 588 (1938) , quoting Cobb vs.
Unity Industrial Life Ins. Co., 19 La. App.
539, 140 So. 877, 878-9 (Orl.-1932).

It should be added that the injection, in-
to a contract between insurer and assured, of
the dictum in Union Insurance Co. of Phila-
delphia vs. Smith, 124 uS 405 (1888), that there
is an implied warranty at the beginning of the
risk, is plainly not authority for denying
coverage of a stranding and sinking occurring
months after the policy was issued, concededly
from causes which did not exist at the time
the policy issued. However, the implication
of such a warranty effectually rewrites the
policy for the insurer's benefit to create
a defensive agreement never agreed to by the i
parties, in derogation of all accepted canons
of construction of contracts, including insur-
ance policies.

Pas a Oe b

a al Lae eh

SB eg PE PORE I BLS i FIT OLIN HEIL REE ELROD IO LT * eeeeenerenere

22
(1) above. _

I. ESTOPPEL

The plea of estoppel urged by plaintiff is
based on the ground that defendant initially
denied coverage under the policy for breach of
the navigation limits and merely added other
defenses at its convenience. In support of
this plea plaintiff relies on the following rule
of law; "When a party to a contract refuses to
perform and bases its refusal on one ground it
will be held to have waived all other grounds
and to be estopped when suit is brought from
setting up other grounds for its refusal."

We need not determine the propriety of apply-
ing such rule to the case at bar since plain-
tiff is in error as to its major premise. On
October 20, 1969, only three days after the
sinking of the TRUDY B, defendant sent plain-
tiff a telegram? in which it not only denied
liability for the reason that the sinking oc-
curred outside of the policy navigation limits
but also specifically reserved all of its
rights and defenses under the policy.®

Plaintiff also contends that defendant
should not be allowed to defend on any basis
because of its failure to tender a return of
the premium.’ As authority for this proposition
plaintiff cites Cass Bank & Trust Co. v.National
Indemnity Co., 326 F.2d 308 (8th Cir. 1964) and
Phoenix Assurance Co. of New York v. City of
Buckner, 305 F.2d 54 (8th Cir. 1962). Both
cases, which involve the application of Missouri
law, are inapposite for they hold that a tender
or return of premium is a prerequisite for de-
fending on the ground that a policy is void ab
initio. We do not construe the defenses raised
by the underwriter as contending that the policy
sued on was void ab initio. on the contrary,

' said defenses are based on the policy, its terms
_ and conditions.

BE teres raga cern ee ON A DS EEE

23

We note with considerable interest, how-
ever, the language of the policy with respect
to the management warranty clause:

"Tt is agreed that if, during the j
currency of this Policy, the Assured's
interest in the vessel hereby insured
shall change or there shall be any
change in the management of the Vessel,
this Policy shall become null and :
void from the date of such change unless e
such change shall have been assented F
to in writing by the Underwriters. In ‘
event of such termination a pro rata
daily return of net premium shall be
made." ;

Defendant argues that a change in management

of the vessel occurred prior to the time of

its sinking and that the policy terminated as

of the date of said change; yet defendant has
neither tendered nor made any: pro rata daily
return of the net premium. Defendant's reten-
tion of the entire premium, in view of the
policy language, seems inconsistent with its
contention that the policy had been terminated
prior to the sinking of the vessel. Understand-
ably such conduct on the part of defendant, if
allowed, would work to the detriment of the :
plaintiff in that plaintiff would have neither

a proportionate return of the premium nor the
protection of the policy which said premium was
to secure. Both Federal and Louisiana decisions
require that a defendant be held estopped from
asserting a breach of warranty in its defense
where its actions are inconsistent with a denial
of liability. Reliance Ins. Co. v. The Escapade,
280 F.2d 482 (5th Cir. 1960); Kahmann & McMurry
v. Aetna Ins. Co. of Hartford, Conn.,242 F. 20
(5th Cir. 1917); Sholes v. Continental Casualty
Company, 196 So. 2d 680 (La. App. 4th Cir. 1967).

24

A holding on this issue would be in accord
with the decisions which recognize that an in-
surer may be estopped by its conduct from in-
sisting upon a forfeiture provision of the
policy, but that coverage or restrictions on
coverage may not be extended by the application
of the doctrine or waiver or estoppel. Reisman
v. New Hampshire Fire Insurance Company, 312 F.
2d 17 (5th Cir. 1963); Reliance Insurance Com-
pany v. The Escapade, supra. See also Cc. E.
Carner & Co. v. Employers' Liability Assur.
Corp., 101 F. 2d 739 (5th Cir. 1939) (applying
Louisiana law). However, a holding on the
issue of estoppel with respect to the management
warranty clause is not required, for we are con-
vinced that the warranty was not breached.

II. THE MANAGEMENT WARRANTY CLAUSE

Defendant points to several factors which
indicate that prior to her sinking the TRUDY B
_ was managed and operated by M. & L. Boat Rental,
_ Inc. (hereafter M. & L.), an entity separate
and apart from the assured, Lemar. The evidence
further revealed that M. & L., in business as a
boat rental brokerage company, was solely owned
by Leroy Buras and Marcus Smith who also served
as its officers. Primarily M. & L. handled the
chartering of Lemar's vessel, arranged for her
repairs and furnished her crew. It was estab-
lished that Buras and Smith together owned 50%
of the stock of Lemar and at the time of the
voyage and sinking in question they were its
managing officers; Buras served as president
and Smith was secretary-treasurer.

Micah ANLL Blit SAA TR PE

We find that Leroy Buras and Marcus Smith,
whether acting on behalf of Lemar or M. & L.,
retained direction and control of the vessel.
We, therefore, conclude that here there was no
change in the management of the vessel as
opposed to the change found in Whiteman v. Rhode

(MAR aS nat Ries EOE A ee Rh Reo

~~ ae as bali a a a a ord

Ee a ee

eS ele RS

25

Island Insurance Co., 78 F.Supp. 624 (E.D. La.
1948), the decision relied on by defendant

herein.

III. NOTICE OF CASUALTY

Underwriter next contends that the policy
was voided by the assured's failure to give
prompt notice of the grounding and the damage
resulting therefrom, and that underwriter was
thereby denied its right to survey the vessel
after every accident.

Apparently the underwriter is contending
that when the assured received notice, on
October 16, of the grounding which occurred on
the prior night, that information should have
been immediately conveyed to the underwriter
by the assured. The policy requires prompt
notice of any casualty so that underwriter will
have reasonable opportunity to be represented
at a survey of the damage. However, under-
writer offered nothing to show that such a
survey would have been required or whether one
would have been conducted on the West Pearl.

The assured first learned that the TRUDY
B was having trouble on the morning of the
16th when it received a call from the Jahncke
people and was advised that a pump had been
taken to the tug. Captain Bearb later called
and informed the assured that the tug had been
holed and was taking water but that the pumps
could control the flow. Bearb was instructed
to secure the leak in the best possible manner
and to proceed immediately to a yard on the
Harvey Canal where the necessary repairs could
be effected. Leroy Buras, president of the
assured corporation, admitted that he did not
consider having temporary repairs made on the
West Pearl nor did he consider contacting the
underwriter to have a survey made.

2 es PII ROSS SPs tp PSANTR INR BAO ER Sa et a RON

ne a ae MO ASIAN >.

26

Both the captain and the assured believed
that it would be entirely safe for the TRUDY B
to make the return voyage to the Harvey Canal.
Under the circumstances then known, it can be
said that the assured acted in an ordinarily
prudent manner in directing the immediate re-
turn of the vessel. While the assured has a
duty under the policy to promptly report any
casualty, it has been held that every seemingly
trivial accident which occurs need not be re-
ported. Utah Home Fire Ins. Co. v. Mechanical
Equipment Co., 242 F. 2d 513 (5th Cir. 1957).
In Utah Home Fire Ins. Co., supra, the TUNA
FISH grounded and, while being towed to its
home yard in Houma, flooded and sank. There
the assured was not held to have breached a
similar notice clause in failing to notify the
underwriter of the grounding. There it was
also significant that the libellant felt that
he had no claim under the policy since the
oP pgaanan damage did not exceed the deduc-
tible.

4
4
5
5
3
5
4
oe
é
a

; Nothing in this record indicates that

_ the assured considered whether he had a claim

' under the policy; however, our attention is

directed to the policy provision which contains

a $2,000.00 deductible resulting from any one

casualty. It is likely that the extent of the

damage, then known to the assured, was within

the $2,000.00 deductible. On the authority

of Utah Home Fire Ins. Co. v. Mechanical Equip-

ment Co., supra, we hold that the warranty of

_ prompt notice was not breached. What has just

_ been said relates only to the grounding of the

_ vessel on October 15, for it has been stipulated
that underwriter was timely notified of the
vessel's sinking.

IV. NAVIGATION LIMITS

It is also stipulated that "the vessel

Siren spss renee eset a eT REO HEEL ELT IIT LTE LLB IN CAI MIE III TEL YEH IEE SLE PETES

27

sank . . - within the territorial waters of the
State of Mississippi, but less than 50 miles
from the shore of Louisiana." The navigation
limits of the policy are contained in the
clause which reads:

Warranted by the Assured limited to
the use and navigation of the inland
and coastal waters of Louisiana in-
cluding the Mississippi River not north
of Baton Rouge and not exceeding fifty
(50) miles offshore.

Underwriter interprets this clause as limiting
coverage to an area within the Louisiana State
boundary lines extended 50 miles offshore.
Thus, underwriter would place the casualty sued
on herein outside of such an area since the
sinking occurred on the Mississippi side of
the extended Louisiana-Mississippi State line.
Plaintiff, on the other hand, insists that the
clause clearly covers a loss occurring in any
water, Louisiana or Mississippi, within 50
miles of the shore or coast of Louisiana.

The issue in dispute, as we see it,
hinges on the interpretation of the phrase
"coastal waters of Louisiana." In the recent
case of Simon v. Switzerland General Insurance
Co., 238 So.2d 257 (La. App. 3rd Cir.) writ
refused, 256 La. 897, 240 So.2d 232 (1970), a
Louisiana Appellate Court was faced with the
interpretation of a policy restriction: "Navi-
gation Limits: Inland and Coastal Waters of
Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi." But there
the issue was whether the phrase “coastal
waters" of Louisiana extended only three miles
from land or extended to distances of 30 to 50
miles from the Louisiana coastline. In arriv-
ing at the conclusion that an accident which
occurred approximately 35 miles south of the
Louisiana shoreline was within the coverage of

Re eT ae ia Lae yee ees sere 3, - ” .
SRE ey NRRL URE TINA LAE TRIS EH PPR RENIN ME ELAM EAL I LAIN LE IRENE

\
‘)

cette te! DEES

Susi» +

‘v

28

the policy, that Court reasoned:

", . « Common sense would seem to
dictate that a three mile limitation
from land would be as unreasonable, if
not an absurd, limit where one is al-
lowed to travel from Louisiana to
Mississippi or Texas or even from Texas
to Mississippi along the coast.

We feel, in the case at bar, that it would be
equally unreasonable if one were allowed to
travel 50 miles off shore from a given point
on the Louisiana coast and be withir. coverage,
but be denied coverage for venturing into
Mississippi waters considerably less than 50
miles from that same point on the Louisiana
coast. Common sense would, therefore, dictate
that the interpretation of the navigation
limits proposed by the underwriter is unaccept-
able.

A realistic look at the Louisiana coast-
line, particularly in the area of the Mississ-
ippi Sound and the Chandeleur Sound,’ supports
this conclusion. The Chandeleur Islands,
within the territorial limits of Louisiana,
are approximately 10 miles south, or seaward,
of the area in which the TRUDY B went down.
Her farthest penetration into Mississippi
waters in the Mississippi Sound area was less
than 50 miles if measured from the easternmost
mainland coast of Louisiana or from the
Chandeleur Islands to either point, east or
west of the Gulfport channel where (on Exhibit
Bearb #1) Bearb marked the locations, at which
he said, at various times, he met the oyster
boat on the morning of October 17, 1969. The
waters of the Mississippi Sound lie within the
Louisiana boundary east of Lake Borgne and
south of the coast of the State of Mississippi,
thus forming the coastal waters of both

a + vse ~~ Oe ee :

29
Louisiana and Mississippi in that area.

We have given what we consider a reasonable
construction to the language of the policy,
one which is contrary to the contentions of
the underwriter. Such a result would have been
reached in any event for when the terms of a
policy are not clear and are subject to dif-
ferent construction, as is the language here,
said terms are construed against the underwriter
who has included them in its policy. Simon v.
Switzerland General Insurance Co., supra.

We conclude that the vessel had not ven-
tured outside the navigation limits provided
in the policy. Having so concluded, we need
not consider defendant's contention that the
vessel returned in an unseaworthy condition.
The grounding of the tug, which allegedly
caused the loss, occurred in the inland waters
of Louisiana. Its sinking and its travel prior
thereto occurred within the navigation limits
of the policy.

V. THE ALLEGED UNSEAWORTHINESS

Underwriter, in its final attempt to
avoid liability, contends that the TRUDY B was
unseaworthy and that her owners knowingly sent
her to sea in said unseaworthy condition.
Underwriter further adds that the loss of the
vessel was caused by the same unseaworthy con-
dition which, it is contended, is not an in-
sured peril and for which there is no coverage.
Such contentions resemble the "double-bottomed
defense of avoidance of the whole policy and a
negation of damage from an insured peril"
raised in cases where the policies in question
"contained an express warranty of continuing
seaworthiness which was patently breached."
Saskatchewan Government Insurance Office v. Spot

pO EEE OE EEE ——————e

SP EUS TIEIN ILS

Katt cence Lind ah Sete S

wap

oe SNE EM PA LOTTIE RPO TNT OF
or or ed

eB: Bae PT ALL

30

Pack, 242 F.2d 385, at 388 (5th Cir. 1957).

Before reaching the merits. of this defense,
we must first determine whether the issues
raised herein are to be governed by the law
of Louisiana or by that of the sea. In Wilburn
Boat Co. v. Fireman's Fund Ins. Co., 348 U.S.
310, 75 S.Ct. 368, 99 L.Ed. 337 (1955), the
United States Supreme Court held that the regu-
lation of marine insurance should be left to
the states. Justice Harlan, in a later case,
remarked that "[t]he application of state law
in [Wilburn] was justified by the Court on the
basis of a lack of any provision of maritime
law governing the matter there presented."
Kossick v. United Fruit Co., 365 U.S. 731, 742,
81 S.Ct. 886, 894, 6 L.Ed. 2d 56 (1961), cf.
Irwin v. Egal Star Ins. Co., Ltd, 455 F.2d 827
(Sth Cir. 1972). The rule to be followed in
the Fifth Circuit is that State law should be
applied in the field of marine insurance
where there is no controlling federal authority
with respect to the specific issue before the
court. Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. v. Wilburn
Boat Co., 300 F.2d 631 (5th Cir. 1962) (on re-
mand), cert. den. 370 U.S. 925, 82 S.Ct. 1562,
8 L.Ed. 2d 505. Since the standard of sea-
worthiness is solidly entrenched in federal
maritime jurisprudence, Aguirre v. Citizens
Casualty Company of New York, 441 F.2d 141,

146 (Sth Cir. 1971), cert. den. 404 u.sS. 829,
we must apply the federal maritime law.

Though the insurance contract on the
TRUDY B contains no express warranty of sea-
worthiness, the Fifth Circuit recognizes that
there exists in a time policy, such as the one
sued on herein, an implied warranty of sea-
worthiness. Saskatchewan Government Insurance

Office v. Spot Pack, supra; Tropical Marine
Products, Inc. v. Birmingham Fire Insurance Co.

31

247 F.2d 116 (5th Cir. 1957), cert. denied,
355 U.S. 903, 78 S.Ct. 331, 2 L.Ed. 2d 260;
Gulfstream Cargo, Ltd. v. Reliance Insurance
Co. ,409 F.2d 974 (5th Cir. 1969). It is
impliedly warranted that the vessel is sea-
worthy as of the very moment of the attach-
ment of the insurance; and if the vessel is
in fact unseaworthy at the time the insurance
were to attach, the breach avoids the policy.
Gulfstream Cargo, Ltd. v. Reliance Insurance
co., supra.

yet the implied warranty does not end
there; it is a continuing obligation that
the vessel “[o]wner, from bad faith or
neglect, will not knowingly permit the vessel ~
to break ground in an unseaworthy condition." —
Saskatchewan Government Insurance Office v.
Spot Pack, supra at 388. However, @ breach
of the implied negative warranty after the
policy has attached does not avoid the policy |
altogether and only exonerates the under-
writer for loss or damage proximately caused
by the unseaworthy condition. Saskatchewan
Government Insurance Office v. Spot Pack,
supra.

;
%
.
x
.
4

o
v
B4

The tug, running at a speed of nine
miles per hour, should have reached the
channel of the Intracoastal with the lights
in full view after only 10 minutes, or at

11:40 p.m., if the fog did not set in until
' midnight.

I TRO eepenes: PRE NORE BIE Repay

as

39

Bearb testified that after running in
the fog for a few minutes he became nervous
and then executed a 90° turn which he ex-
pected would bring him back to the railroad
bridge. We infer, considering that the
vessel was later determined to be in the
waters of the Mississippi Sound off the
Gulfport --Biloxi area, that the 90° turn was
to port and that if it was executed in the
proximity of the point indicated by Bearb
on the chart where the fog was to have set 4
in, Beard would have run the tug aground
shortly thereafter at some point opposite
and to the east-northeast of Catfish Point.

c
¢
s,
4

APY

Beard testified that during the night
he ran his engines at idle speed or about
two miles per hour. At such rate of speed
there would have been no way he could have
traveled over 30 miles between midnight and
4:00 a.m. What is even more incredible is
that Bearb could have reached a point off the |
Gulfport-Biloxi area without having grounded ~
at some point previously considering the
shallow waters en route to that area from
Catfish Point, the fog claimed to be present
and Beard's complete lack of knowledge of
the waters he traversed.

2 LETTE RRS

Nevertheless, the TRUDY B proceeded in
excess of 30 miles in an easterly direction
to the point where she encountered the oyster
boat off the Mississippi Coast.

Bearb's testimony concerning the location

where he encountered the oyster boat, which
he previously said was a shrimp boat, and

his testimony with respect to the course he
followed to where the vessel sank near bouy
#25 in the Gulfport Channel is hopelessly

confused. On deposition Bearb stated that
he encountered the oyster boat west of the

MIELE HLTA TT EN SE LL NTL TIE LIL I NE I a |

40

Gulfport Channel. From there, a 210° course
which Bearb said he was given by the oyster
boat crew would not have taken him to the
Gulfport Channel but would have headed him in
the direction of the Intracoastal. On trial
Bearb testified that he located the oyster
boat east of the Gulfport Channel and had he
steered the 210° course from there it would
have brought him into the Gulfport Channel at
some point north of its intersection with the
Intracoastal. At all events, when the TRUDY
B sank she was in the Gulfport Channel about
six miles south of the point where the
Intracoastal intersects with the Gulfport
Channel.

About seven hours after the TRUDY B
encountered the fog as Bearb claimed, she
sank as previously mentioned above. Had she
_ found Catfish Point and the Intracoastal
+ Waterway between 11:30 p.m. and midnight on
» the night of October 16th, she probably
would have reached New Orleans and a safe
harbour long before 7:00 a.m. on the 17th.
Beard testified that on the voyage from New
Orleans the tug, with barges in tow, was
averaging about seven miles per hour and that
the distance from the Industrial Canal where
the voyage began to the point where the tug
left the Intracoastal Waterway to proceed
past the railroad bridge to the mouth of the
' West Pearl was approximately 20 miles. Using
_ the tug's estimated speed of seven miles

per hour with barges in tow, the return trip
to New Orleans from that point would have
required approximately three hours. Using
an estimated speed of nine miles per hour,
which Bearb claims he was maintaining after
leaving the railroad bridge on the return
voyage, the tug, without her tow, could

have reached New Orleans from that point
sometime between two and three hours.

SRRreente er reste caper EROS LILO A LEY PH BULLI Rs LNB BS

pS a erga

41

However, the TRUDY B did not reach New
Orleans. During the seven hours from the
time of departure from the railroad bridge
she took on a quantity of water which con-
tributed to her sinking.

Fred Perrin, a marine surveyor who
examined the vessel on March 11, 1970, after
she had been raised, testified that the
grounding of the TRUDY B not only caused her
to be holed but also caused damage to the
vessel's propeller shaft struts. It was
Perrin’'s opinion that the damage to the
struts caused the propeller shaft to whip
which in turn caused the packing glands in
the stuffing boxes to become disarranged so
as to eventually allow the influx of an
amount of water sufficient to cause the
sinking. It was also his opinion that the
crack opened by the grounding would not have
permitted the entry of such a quantity of
water which could have overcome the vessel's
pumps and caused her to sink. Perrin's
testimony was substantiated by the survey
report made at the time of his examination.

We conclude that the crew of the TRUDY
B, and particularly its captain, was incom-
petent at the commencement of the voyage,

SME PEt

PORE IESE FE

thus rendering the vessel unseaworthy at that

and subsequent times and that such unsea-
worthiness proximately resulted from the
owner's neglect in failing to determine the
qualification and competence of the crew to
man the vessel for the intended voyage be-
fore its commencement. We further conclude
that such unseaworthiness was the proximate
cause of the loss of the TRUDY B. And since
the unseaworthiness was caused by the in-
competence of the crew, and not by the
negligence of the master or crew, the
Inchinaree clause is thus inapplicable.

Py ity opt At aL a ce Tua LLU tal tai ann ana) Sa ea ea

eee! il end lbted

42

Having so breached the implied warranty
of seaworthiness, plaintiff is not entitled
to recover. Accordingly, judgment shall be
entered for the defendant dismissing plain-
tiff's suit at its cost.

This opinion shall serve as our
findings of fact and conclusions of law.

New Orleans, Louisiana, July 17,1972.

(Signed) Edw. J. Boyle, Sr.
United States District Judge

——
FOOTNOTES

1 The tug TRUDY B (ex-MANDY LEE), official
number 270811, was built in 1955; she was of
38 gross and 26 net tons, 48'3" long,

16'6" in beam, and 6'6" in draft; she had
twin screws powered by two v8-71 GM diesel
engines, developing a total of approxima-
tely 600 horsepower.

2 captain Bearb described the crack as
being about 8' in length and about 1/4 of
an inch wide. Marine Surveyor Fred Perrin,
who examined the vessel, testified that the
total crack was 8" but that only 3 or 4
inches of the crack were open and then only
about 1/32 of an inch wide.

Defendant, at page 1 of its pre-trial
memorandum conceded that the TRUDY B, after
sinking on October 17, 1969, was a total
constructive loss.

rw 8 I TF OEE LOE EL PIE AE ALI LE EET ORS pn me ey re

43

4 This "rule" is contained in a footnote to
an annotation in 18 ALR 2d 491 §31 which
treats with the insurer's inability to raise
the defense of the insured's failure to

give written notice of a claim where the
insurer has previously denied coverage on
some other ground.

Joint Exhibit #1.
6 Fireman's Fund Exhibit #2 and Plaintiff's

Exhibit #9. :

7 Fireman s Fund Exhibit #1.

8 plaintiff's Exhibit #5.

9 plaintiff's Exhibit #6.

:
10 The distance from Catfish Point to :
Gulfport is about 35 miles and to Biloxi is
about 42 miles. 4

See Plaintiff's Exhibit #10.

a i Oe ee ee |

44

ADDENDUM B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT CouRT
EASTL.Gt DISTRICT OF I'miiSTACA

No. 70-1054

CIVIL ACTION
FIREMAN'S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY SECTION D

This cause came on for trial before the Court om September 13,
1971 and September 14, 1971, and after hearing the evidence the Court took
the matter under submission.

he Laat enh atti Aight Ge Pl
~
Ic
is
Io
ix
it]
i=
jew

Now, therefore, for the written reasons on [ile he: cin;

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDCED AND DECREED thet there be judgment in
: favor of the defendant, Fireman's Fudd Insurance Company, an. »gainet the
plaintiff, Lemar Towing Company, Inc., diemissing said plaintiff's suit
at ite cost.

Seb ie

Rew Orleans. Louisiana. thin PP des af tate 107

BENJAMIN W. REISCh, CLERK

SE ma

Joaquin Campoy, Esq.
Willias S$. Stone, Esq.

Trancis Emmett, Esq.
Bruce W. Dinwiddie, Esq.

sat 25 er2

t

PRE...

Jt i; ‘

CH: i ar
cal Peace sg
= "ey
wu Lh a

De ee ee ee ee i ee Saher

-45
ADDENDUM C
IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

z
o

“i
N
'

w
°
°
«1

PE IN TERT ee

LEMAR TOWING COMPANY,

FIREMAN’S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellee. ;

Ch mek Ma

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana

(January 12, 1973)

Before THORNBERRY, COLEMAN and INGRAHAM,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM: The opinion of the District Court
is reported, Lemar Towing Company v. Fireman’s
Fund Insurance Company, F.Supp. ___. On the
basis of that opinion we affirm the judgment below.

AFFIRMED.

*Rule 18, 5 Cir.; see Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty
Company of New York, et al, 5 Cir., 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part I.

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—Scofields’ Quality Printers, Inc., N. O., La.
SS OR TES ae nt ee eR ne

ee ee

piraldteind @ how

=

"a6
ADDENDUM D

United States Court of Appeals

For THE FirtH Circuit

October Term, 1972

No. 72-3007
Summary Calendar

D. C. Docket No. 70-1054 "D"

LEMAR TOWING COMPANY,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
FIREMAN'S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellee.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana

Before THORNBERRY, COLEMAN and INGRAHAM, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT
This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Louisiana, and was taken under submission by the
Court upon the record and briefs on file, pursuant to Rule 18;
ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered and adjudged

by this Court that the judgment of the said District Court in this
oause be, and the same is hereby, affirmed;

It is further ordered that plaintiff-appellant pay to
defend

t-appellee the costs on appeal to be taxed by the Clerk
of this Court,

January 12, 1973

47
ADDENDUM E
IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 72-3007

AR GO REST OD SN

LEMAR TOWING COMPANY,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus

FIREMAN’S FUND INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the '
Eastern District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND PETITION
FOR REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion Jan. 12, 1973, 5 Cir., 1973, ___ F.2d __).

(June 11, 1973)

Before THORNBERRY, COLEMAN and INGRAHAM, -
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM: The Petition for Rehearing is DE-

NIED and no member of this panel nor J udge in regu-
lar active service on the Court having requested that

ESET E RL IELTS GEE PLE IE LINO EES EG I Ne EE YR

48.
2 LEMAR TOWING CO. v. FIREMAN’S FUND INS. Co.

the Court be polled on rehearing en banc, (Rule 35
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Local Fifth Cir-
cuit Rule 12) the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is
DENIED.

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—Scofields’ Quality Printers, Inc., N. O., La.

ees ae »

iL BU SERRE HSE AI NTN ORS PS DA Vale PEE aes fee o . ; é

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0809%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
