# Appendices — Gonzalez v. Vincent

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0766%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendices
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 924

## Text

APPENDIX A

or

ae
pe dm alow oe CR

Pte

cea

PNP BA

App. 1

APPENDIX A
IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-1974
Summary Calendar*

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus

SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

(September 19, 1973)

Before GEWIN, COLEMAN and MORGAN,
Circuit Judges.

COLEMAN, Circuit Judge: In a Bench trial, Miss
Forbicetta was convicted of the knowing, intentional,
and unlawful importation of cocaine in violation of 21
U.S.C., $1952(a), and of the knowing, intentional, and

*Rule 18, 5 Cir.; see Isbell Enterprises, Inc. v. Citizens Casualty
Company of New York, et cl., 5 Cir. 1970, 431 F.2d 409, Part I.

App 2

2 U.S.A. v. SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA

unlawful possession with intent to distribute cocaine
in violation of 21 U.S.C., £84l(ai(1).

It could not have been denied that on November 21,
1972 the appellant arrived at Miami International Air-
port on a flight from Bogota, Colombia, carrying,
while concealed on her person, 2 1/2 pounds of cocaine.
An attack upon the validity of the search which dis-
covered the cocaine provided the only hope of avoid-
ing a conviction. The search was found valid, we agree,
and the convictions are affirmed.

This was a border search, accomplished at the very
time the appellant was entering the United States
from abroad. The evidence reflected that according to
the experience of customs officials at Miami, a high
percentage of the individuals discovered in the act
of attempting to smuggle cocaine at the Miami Inter-
national Airport arrived on flights from Bogota; the
American women discovered in this activity were us-
ually young, clean looking, and traveling alone; women
discovered carrying cocaine on their persons usually
wore loose-fitting dresses to conceal the bulkiness of
the packages hidden beneath their clothing; usually
when an official could not see the contours of a femi-
nine figure under loose-fitting dresses, even when the
subject was in a bending position, the wearer gener-
ally had something strapped to her waist; individuals
attempting to smuggle cocaine usually carried only
one suitcase and no items to declare so as to clear
customs quickly; it had been observed that it was very
unusual for young people to go on vacations to Colom-
bia if they had no relatives there; and the usual air-

App.3

U.S.A. v. SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA 3

line female traveler ordinarily wore tight-fitting cloth-
es.

In this context Miss Forbicetta arrived from Colom-
bia, traveling alone, with one suitcase, and no liquor
or other items requiring customs inspection. She was
young (age 21), thin, ciean looking, and attractive.
She was wearing a loose-fitting dress. When she bent
to pick up her suitcase, the dress revealed no con-
tours of her figure.

The customs official then questioned Miss Forbi-
cetta. Her passport revealed that she was from Brook-
lyn. She said that she had been a bank teller, was un-
employed, had gone to Colombia for a vacation, and
had no relatives in Colombia.

She was then referred to two female customs in-
spectors. They, in the presence of none others, in a
room which had no windows, asked the appellant to re-
move her dress and slip. The customs inspectors then
could easily see that something was concealed under
the remaining girdle. Upon removal of that garment,
there appeared seven large packets, containing the
2 1 2 pounds of cocaine.

Under an abundance of precedent, this was a lawful
border search, United States v. Thompson, 5 Cir., 1973,
475 F.2d 1359; United States v. Skipwith [No. 72-1932,
slip opinion dated June 14, 1973], 5 Cir., 1973, F.2d
____; United States v. Cyzewski [No. 72-3368, slip opin-
ion dated August 29, 1973], 5 Cir., 1973, _.. F.2d ___;
United States v. Maggard, 5 Cir., 1971, 451 F.2d 502;

App. 4

4 U.S.A. v. SUSAN JILL iP ORBICETTA

United States v. Briones, 5 Cir., 1970, 423 F.2d 742; Unit-
ed States v. Hill, 5 Cir., 1976, 430 F.2d 129; United States
v. Rodriquez, 5 Cir., 1961, 292 F.2d 709.

In United States v. Skipwith, supra, the defendant
fell within the F.A.A. anti-skyjack profile and stated
that he had no identification. A sky marshal detained
him and found that the name on his airline ticket was
false, took him to his office, and, fearing that a bulge
in the defendant’s pocket was a gun, had him to empty
his pockets, revealing a plastic bag of cocaine. The
search was held to be lawful.

In Miss Forbicetta’s case, her appearance, method
of travel, and response to questions met a “smuggling
profile” born of experience gained in coping with that
elusive activity. She was at the border, in the act of
entering the Country. She was examined by other
women in a dignified manner, in a place where there
could be no peeping eves, and there was no explora-
tion of body cavities. This search was entirely reason-
able.

The appellant complains of the alleged bias of the
trial judge. Counsel did file a motion, 28 U.S.C., £144,
that the Judge recuse himself, which was overruled.
Despite this unfavorable ruling, jury trial! was waived,
after the defendant had been very meticulously as-
sured of her right to trial by jurv. It is easily seen that
counsel adopted this course because the only hope for
his client was the asserte: illegality of the search.
That was a question of law. not a question for a jury.

App. 5

U.S.A. v. SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA 9)

As an issue of law, and upon undisputed facts, the Dis-
trict Court has decided it correctly.

Nothing remains but for the Judgment of the Dis-
trict Court to be

AFFIRMED.

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—Scofields’ Quality Printers, Inc., N. O., La.

APPENDIX B

dt (DAI Libis

4

ms

App. 8
APPENDIX B

: Pe aS aed Xo sernes| ez
United States Guurt of Avipeals
FOR THE FIFTH CiRCUIT

%-
——

October Term, 1972

No. 73-1974
Swumary Calendar

D. C. Docket No. 72-929-CR-EC

UNITED STATES OF AMEKICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus

SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

Before GEWIN, COLEMAN and MORGAN, Circuit Judges.
Pat) > GMEWNT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the Southern
District of Florida, and was taken under subnission by the Court
upon the record and briefs on file, pursuant to Rule 18;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered and adjudg
by this Court that the judgment of the said District Court in this

cause be, and the same is hereby, affirmed.

September 19, 1973

Issued as Mandate:

APPENDIX C

SOT ATP at YN er

oo

APPENDIX C

IN THE
UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-1974

SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA,

Appellant

versus
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Florida

PETITION FOR REHEARING
(EN BANC)

JACK FREED
1390 S. Venetian Way
Miami, Florida 33139

Attorney for Appellant

App. 12

INDEX

PETITION FOR REHEARING

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

App.13

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Page

Henderson v. United States
390 F.2d 805 (9th Cir. 1967)

Santabello v. New York
4O4 U.S. 257 (1971) a.

United States v. Gilda-Avila
468 Fed 184 (1972)

Un.ted States v. Gualdalupe-Garza
421 F.2d 876 (9th Cir 1970)
United States V. Johnson
425 F.2d 630 (1970)

United States v. Poindexter
429 F.2d 510 (1970)

United Stutes v. Shields
453 F.2d 1235 (1972)

ii

App. i¢

LN THE UNLTED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCULT

NO. 73-1974

SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA,
Appellant, !

versus
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District
Court for the Southern District of
Florida

PETITION FOR REHEARING

IN THE INTEREST OF JUSTICE and adherence to the law of

the United States of America, Appellant, SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA, by and
through her undersigned attorney, respectfully petions this Court for a

REHEARING IN BANC, of its decision in this cause and as grounds states:

l. That these proceedings involves questions of
-xceptional importance.

2. That consideration of the full Court is necessary
to maintain uniformity of decisions within this and other UNITED STATES
COURTS OF APPEALS and the UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT.

The questions presented in this cause are of exceptional

‘

aie

App.15

importunce not only because this defendant's Constitutional rights have
een openly disregarded in the sole interests otf a conviction, but due
srimurily to the tact that should this decision be permitted to stand
in its open conflict and disregard of the Constitution and supporting
cuse law, the Fourth Amendment has,in effect, been rendered null and
void,

The reviewing panel in this cause did not address them-
selves to the questions, the facts or the law in this cause. In their
opinion affirming this warrantless strip search the panel cites several
recent cases as "an abundance of precedent." These recent cases are of
an entirely different nature involving serious and immenent danger to
Life and property of air travelers by the skyjackers and/or potential
sky jackers. Such is not the case in this cause, as no danger, serious or
incidental, real or suspected, to life or property was imminent to justify
this warrantless strip search.Further, the decision rendered in this
cuuse is in clear and direct conflict with recent decisions on this

subject, United States v.Poindexter, 429 F.2d510(1970); United States v.

Johnson, 425 F.2d630 (1970); rehearing denied June 22,1970,Henderson v.

United States,390 F.2d 805,808 (1967); United States v.Guadalupe-Garza,

421 F.2d 876 (1970); United States v.Gilda Avila, 468 F.2d 184 (1972),

United States v. Shields 453 F.2d 1235 (1972), to cite but a few.

The reviewing panel further takes Little note of the tria
judges open bias to the Defendant and her counsel in denying this Defen-
dunt a fair and impartial trial before a fair and impartial judge. Defen-
dant was badgered and threatened by the trial judge during the hearing on

Defendant's Motion to Suppress.

ate

Arr. 16

Defense counse! exhibited the utmost respect to the court
und the judge at all times. The Judge, nonetheless continually badgered
cwunsel, assumed the role of the prosecutor, called counsel a liar, told
him he was unfit to practice law, held him in eontempt, fined him $100.00
and he was removed by the Marshall to the Marshall's holding area.

Cleurly unjustified bias which has no pluce in law or in the dignity of
wur judicial system,

Furthermore the panel, tor whatever reason, apparently
places yreut weight on the waiving of jury by Defendant. Defendant and
counsel had no choice but to waive jury trial, as a written stipulation
hud been entered into and signed by the government, Defendant and defense
cumsel. (Copy of which is available ty this Court) which was honored by
the Defendant, but dishonored by the Government. It was during defense
cumse! attempted proffer to the court of this written stipulation where
comsel was held in contempt, called a Liar, fined $100.00 and removed
by the Marshall. The United States Supreme Court in Santobello v.

New York 404 U.S. 257, has expressly held that plea bargaining must be
honored by both parties or require that the judgment be vacated.

It is respectfully submitted that the opinion and decision

in this cause is not only in direct conflict with the law for it is not
the Law, hasnever been the law and God forbid should it ever become the
Law of this great Republic.

Furthermore, for this court of appeals to permit a
Jistrict court to unjustly treat a citizen and an attorney, (who is an

otticer of the court) in the manner which they were subjected in this cause

aie

App.17
is beyond the law or legal reasoning in establishing that the end, (u
conviction), justifies the means, for an illegal warrantiess strip seurch.
(Appellants brief sets forth some of the legal authority concerning this

cause.)

WHEREFORE, the Court should reconsider its opinion and

decision, grant a rehearing En Bunc, and reverse the judyment beliw.

Respectfully submitted,

’ Venetian Way
\ Miami/ Florida 34149

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on the 2nd of October, 1973, two
true and correct copies of the foregoing Petition for Rehearing wus
hand delivered to the United States Attorney for the Southern District

of Florida, Ainsley Building, Miami, Florida 33132.

a

eer Peer

SI et ROE LEE TE IF TUNER TE ETT ET OT SR SERIE ARLES TERETE SOE SI

PPD AA IE IE NOE

APPENDIX D

0 NO EAN Oh 6 eb BA ANT gh we WS Taek: Biarlbnit Se lle LNT s. hh bade eh LDP EAR IO SIR NS eo deka 2 APA ORES ES PNT RN TER ETT WE TYY PHN OMS PRA TI

(2 tet veae ry

App. 21

APPENDIX D
IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-1974

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus

SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND PETITION
FOR REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion Sept. 19, 1973, 5 Cir., 1973, ___. F.2d ___).

(November 2, 1973)

Before GEWIN, COLEMAN and MORGAN,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM: The Petition for Rehearing is DE-
NIED and no member of this panel nor Judge in regu-
lar active service on the Court having requested that
the Court be polled on rehearing en banc, (Rule 35

App. 22

2 U.S.A. v. SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Local Fifth Cir-
cuit Rule 12) the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is
DENIED.

SATE BARE

APPENDIX E

APPENDIX E

. . pa 3 Sy

< Aen
wa TUN “a - we eset’
=—_ ———

App.

App. 26 3

. . ‘ . . “ ‘ ;
' .
° ‘ {
- —
ne : ae” tape
wk thecte SR RMRSCE Ros ede ky
P. eae | teeeese
. Hed
. = ,
ae eee We
. Nf SrtNe NS .

s- me . .
Milas 2 reese sees Luise

. - + -.
Rises n en eee woe oe teh +e

- * es oe -
ree a3 Cele
° ; rn . * : .
a? Seo7) =. -5 x caf A ie aS s
Gs ize SE CAS LOUPs Os HP Y~euL® Gn wi =e
> “—-* . on ap . ad em s =
stunt Cuore anVO.VeG u Desay) Sewell.
Wa 3
orauer.
j Sbwewes ae) we tat
s
rc “4 os bos cay “ ‘7s rae hears ‘ ie
“rcuit nus CLecaP.zy dau Po me IT cc Bec Rk niece eed Je =
% 2 _ sta, t 1} : » ° 2 ees. .
Likes eed we Mane mee Deka seb ~ a halve gy aee eek oe ee ee eee ‘

ova 46 we
Le Ue
wee es ~~ see

Care s

ee » & . s > - ots TEs or eS Reap os ee a :
al om‘ * \ -J . some er _ °
ow +0* a4 =) aoek LC.AD skis. © : . ‘ J tu °
~_ - * ~ eee “wee -* — x = . . Pon oa) . -* - ty “+e .
boc SEG ete) ap ae Oa chk, on TEs “ws Gees 2 seek
a. . ~es we son os - Jee Nate s Koes ‘ weew be “* - Me = ~+ Me - . . -
we - ee ° ands 1- ‘
. rr oe Nieuwe st DUC VE. . QO Was. Sica SUUebe > “eo . sees e+ oh
wen bene
Yue eV whee D west eve & cost mses ~~ We « \ e
- = - . — ret ° ~ = ~4
ree Veacius wVuul ed Va fA.7 sae errs) Mees ee tee ee - - . -> . oe
ny . .
= > . ba » ae “~» - °
UR Ceee M - weet Wkepve & LC bie we haemo - ~~ we -~* -> oe et, wt SDS Uw - . os
-emGuic se asi GWG (0 Pins o wek MeSeRNT BOmuU DesAUarg + Pa tr ore a
weet wae LK
. Le " Ue
fi @Ul, &

OEE LS TS) AEN FON ES

Skene . - 4 Ay oe ods : re
Vacs gl eNial Chen dban Pics e SESE +i
c > + Phase ht a swV® Sr.t Wa evan
.
dtd alede {DAIS os Ar ished? ac <4. 8) an
Ast Nbe ORL Ci VELENGane
wT aaa Set ie ae this. Mot Ree

i on te I" le . 4 . ae
DY Lae eNacee stutes Supre

Jy Court.

. ahr aee whee . -

. oo . . .
CUR eC eee tg’ Th
" “ ‘

- thee eter e ee gion bee o 00 @

WES vO Tews -)

. Ay ae
ae aN\ene - we eee
obe CIT tr.” ws
Td Denese
ebaicrts ey Sd & 90 46
> pie
Ssuss St sess

”

4, eo crue dhu correct CaOsgics .

> hen. delivered to the

a Neuetoy Bui lids
bLUPAGE, 2D acy UsLiuss

Soke wh ese Kins -
PSV aTig Snreatenn &
Set tl 5% ~
TCV were TSU

ofa uss

—
a ye
WTA IN bc Raee ed

APPENDIX F

US.Cl.°T OF AFFEALS
P'_ED
APPENDIX F ° wes
UNIYED STATES count oF apprats 4!) {3
Codes) U6 wASS WORTH
FOR THE FIFT! CINCUIL CLERK
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ;
Plaintiff-Appeliee, ;
versus )
) NO, 73-1974
)
SUSAN JILL FORBICETTA, ;
Defendant-Appellant. )
ON CONSIDERATION OF THE APPLICATION of the Appellant

in the above numbered and entitled cause for a stay of the mandate

of this Court therein, to enable Appellant to apply for

and to obtain a writ of certiorari from the Supreme Court of the
United Giaces. if i5 GADERED that toe issuance of the mendere of
this Court in said cause be, and the same is stayed to and including

December 2, 1973 , the stay to continue in force until the final

disposition of the case by the Supreme Court, provided that within
the period above mentioned there shall be filed with the Clerk of
this Court the certificate of the Clerk of the Supreme Court that
certiorari petition has been filed. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that

the Clerk shall issue the mandate upon the filing of a copy of an
order of the Supreme Court denying the writ, or upon the expiration
of the stay granted herein, unless the above mentioned certificate

shall be filed witn the Cierk of this Vourt within that time.

Qf
ee) oe ‘te

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0766%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
