# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gateway Center Corp. v. Merriam

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0744%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 911

## Text

eCrArig Paton RN

SUPREME COURT, U, 6.

eee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

NO.73- TU 3

JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR..,

Petitioner,

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Jack P. Attias, Of Counsel
BRETAN, MARKS, ATTIAS & RASKIN
7200 Bird Rd., P. O. Box 7602
Miami, Florida 33155

(305) 264-7200

PEE EDI AE RAAT LOSE

—~ SEAT aD.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF CASES ---------------------- i
STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES ------------- iii
RELIEF REQUESTED -------------------- 1
JURISDICTION ------------------------ 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ----------------- 2
HISTORY OF CASE AND TIME WHEN QUES-

TIONS PRESENTED ----------------- ---- 3
COMPELLING REASONS RELIED UiON FOR
ALLOWANCE OF WRIT ------------------- 3
CONCLUSION -=------------------------ 2
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE -------------- 6
APPENDIX ------------- ponccannannawen 7

AS IS eS FTA eR

3

TABLE OF CASES - Page l

Page
Cale v. Volatile, 465 Fed. 2d 1110
(3 Cir. 1972) ------------------------ 4
Clay v. United States, 403 U.S. 698
(June 28, 1971) ---------------------- 3

Ehlert v. United States, 402 U.S. 99 - 4,5
Mulloy v. United States, 398 U.S. 410 S

Musser v. United States, 42 LW 3082
(9 C.A. 1972) ------------------------ 5

United States v. Alioto, 469 Fed.2d
721 (1 Cir. 1972) -------------------- 5

United States v. Auger, 5 SSLR 3193
(N.D. Cal. 1972) 2 2 OE OOPDOIOOBOOSO® wae eer 4

United States ex rel Bent v. Laird,
453 Fed. 2d 625 (3 Cir. 1972) -------- 4

United States v. Chalker, 337 F. Supp
920 (M.D. Fla. 1972) -----------------

United States v. Kovarovic, 6 SSLR
3039 (E.D. N.Y. Dec., 1972) ---------- 5

United States v. Shomack, 462 Fed.2d
330 (3 Cir. 1972) -------------------- 5

United States v. Siskowski, 465 Fed.
2a 330 (3 Cir. 1972) ----------------- 5

United States v. Stetter, 445 Fed. 2d
472 (5 Cir. 1971) -------------------- 2,3

ii

TABLE OF CASES - Page 2

United States v. Strandquist, 5 SSLR
3721 (D. Minn. 1972) -----------------

United States v. Usdin, 6 SSLR 3039
(B.D. N.Y. Dec., 1972) -q-eannanecacoa

.

iii

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

A.

WHETHER OR NOT THE DOCTRINE AS AN-
NOUNCED IN THE UNITED STATES v.
STETTER, 445 Fed. 2d 472 (5 Cir.
1971), REQUIRING A LOCAL BOARD TO
STATE THE REASONS FOR THE DENIAL

OF A PRIMA FACIE C.0O. CLAIM SHOULD
BE APPLIED TO THE DENIAL OF APPEL-
LANT'S CLAIM FOR OCCUPATIONAL CLASSI-
FICATION (2-A or 2-C) DATED 12-27-67
AND HARDSHIP CLASSIFICATION (3-A)
DATED 4-26-68.

B.

WHETHER OR NOT APPELLANT'S LOCAL
BOARD ACTED WITHOUT THEIR JURISDIC-
TION UPON HIS REQUEST FOR CONSCIEN-
TIOUS OBJECTOR CLASSIFICATION RE-
QUIRING CANCELLATION OF THE SUBJECT
INDUCTION ORDER AND REVERSAL OF THE
LOWER COURT'S CONVICTION.

1
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1973

MISC. NO.

JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR.,
Petitioner,
-v-
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

RELIEF REQUESTED

Petitioner, JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR.,
requests that a Writ of Certiorari issue to
review the Judgment of the United States Court
Of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (No. 73-2137)
affirming Petitioner's criminal conviction
for failure to report for and submit to induc-
tion into the Armed Forces of the United States
(50 U.S.C. Sec. 462(a)).

2

JURISDICTION

This Honorable Court has jurisdiction
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1). Additionally,
the order of the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Fifth Circuit affirming the
decision of the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Florida causes a
split among the Circuit Courts upon two essen-
tial issues, which are designated "A" and "B"
below.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Appellant-Defendant, JOHN OLIVER CHALKER,
JR., will argue to this Honorable Court the
following issues:

A. WHETHER OR NOT THE DOCTRINE AS
ANNOUNCED IN THE UNITED STATES v.
STETTER, 445 Fed. 2d 472 (5 Cir.
1971) , REQUIRING A LOCAL BOARD
TO STATE THE REASONS FOR THE
DENIAL OF A PRIMA FACIE C. 0.
CLAIM SHOULD BE APPLIED TO THE
DENIAL OF APPELLANT'S CLAIM FOR
OCCUPATIONAL CLASSIFICATION
(2-A or 2-C) DATED 12-27-67
AND HARDSHIP CLASSIFICATION
(3-A) DATED 4-26-68.

B. WHETHER OR NOT APPELLANT'S
LOCAL BOARD ACTED WITHOUT THEIR
JURISDICTION UPON HIS REQUEST
FOR CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTOR
CLASSIFICATION REQUIRING CAN-
CELLATION OF THE SUBJECT INDUC-
TION ORDER AND REVERSAL OF THE
LOWER COURT'S CONVICTION.

3

HISTORY OF CASE AND TIME WHEN
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Following a plea of not guilty, JOHN
OLIVER CHALKER, JR., Appellant-Defendant,
was tried and convicted upon a One Count
Indictment for failure to report for and sub-
mit to induction into the United States Armed
Forces (50 U.S. Code Sec. 462(a)). The United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-
cuit Case NO. 73-2137, on October 23, 1973,
affirmed PER CURIAM, the decision of the lower
Court without further opinion upon authority
of local rule 21. [U.S. v. Chalker, 337 F.
Supp 920 (M.D. Fla, 1972)]. The issues as
above stated were initially raised before the
Honorable Judge Ben Krentzman, United States
District Court for the Middle District of
Florida, and again urged in oral argument as
well as in Appellant's brief before the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals.

COMPELLING REASONS RELIED UPON
FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT

A. The lower Court's holding, which
permits a Selective Service local board to
deny a requested classification without a
statement of the reasons upon which the denial
is based, is a deprivation of administrative
procedural due process within contemplation
of the Fifth Amendment of the United States
Constitution. Said procedure prevents mean-
ingful administrative review and requires the
judiciary, should judicial review be sought,
to guess the basis in fact for the adverse
decision and that the Selective Service local
board relied upon that basis in fact (See
Clay v. U.S., 403 U.S. 698 (June 28, 1971)).
The United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit in U.S. v. Stetter, supra,
considered precisely this issue, holding

[tt Ae Bp TRAST PRS ELIOT LES ted + cn er eee ee ere er '

}
i

4

that a Selective Service local board is re-
quired to state the reasons for the denial of
a prima facie claim for Conscientious Objector
Classification. The Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals in the case at bar, refused to extend
this doctrine to prima facie request for oc-
cupational and hardship classifications. The
Third Circuit Court of Appeals in Cale v.
volatile, 465 Fed. 2d 1110 (3 Cir. 1972);

U.S. ex rel Bent v. Laird, 453 Fed. 2d 625

(3 Cir. 1971) considered the application of
said rule to occupational and hardship classi-
fications, concluding that administrative pro-
cedural due process and the facilitation of
judicial review mandatorily require a local
board state the reasons for a decision ad-
verse to a registrant's claim for occupation-
al and hardship classifications. (See also
U.S. v. Strandquist, 5 SSLR 3721 (D. Minn.
1972); U.S. v. Auger, 5 SSLR 3193 (N.D. Cal.
1972)).

B. Appellant-Defendant's claim for Con-
scientious Objector classification was first
submitted after the issuance of an induction
order. The lower Court construed this Honor-
able Court's decision of Ehlert v. U.S., 402
U.S. 99 to exclude said claim from considera-
tion by Appellant-Defendant's Selective Ser-
vice local board. The critical facts how-
ever, demonstrate that Appellant-—Defendant's
Selective Service local board accepted juris-
diction of said claim, considered said claim
upon the merits, denied said claim upon the
merits, refused to cancel Appellant-Defend-
ant's outstanding induction order (the one
upon which he was convicted) and afford him
the only limited administrative procedures
available to a Selective Service registrant
upon the determination of the merits of any
claimed classification. The lower Court con-
cluded that even in this light Ehlert, supra,

precluded local board consideration and would
not prejudice Appellant-Defendant upon his
claim for Conscientious Objector status with-
in the military.

This issue was presented and rejected by
both the First and Third Circuits as well as
the United States District Courts for the
Districts of New york. U.S. v. Alioto, 469
Fed. 2d 721, (1 Cir. 1972); U.S. v. Shomack,
462 Fed. 2d 330 (3 Cir. 1972); U.S. v. as
kowski, 465 Fed. 2d 48 (3 Cir. 1972);

v. KOvarovic, 6 SSLR 3159 (S.D. N.Y. 13 sy,
U.S. Ve Usdin, 6 SSLR 3039 (E.D. N.Y. Dec.,
1972).

The case of Musser v. U.S. (9 C.A., 1972)
at 42 LW 3082 has been docketed for review to
this Honorable Court, which case considers
the application of Ehlert, supra, to post in-
duction order C.O. claims where the Selective
Service local board acted in an ambiguous
nature or considered said claim upon the
merits without affording the limited admini-
strative procedural due process available as
addressed in Mulloy v. U.S. 398 U.S. 410.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth hereinabove,
Appellant-Defendant urges that this Court
accept jurisdiction of this quse and grant
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari to re-
view the judgment of the United States Court
Of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in United

Re OT I OEE OT TOTO, ee to te - ee ake ee ey 4 rn [

States of America, Plaintiff-Appellee, v.
John Oliver Chalker, Jr., Defendant-Appellant,
NO. 73-2137.

Respectfully submitted,

BRETAN, MARKS, ATTIAS & RASKIN
7200 Bird Rd., P.O.Box 7602
Miami, Florida 33155

(305) 264-7200

BY
JACK P. ATTIAS, Of Counsel

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that three copies of
the foregoing were furnished by air mail,
postage prepaid, to the Solicitor General,
Justice Department, Washington, D.C., 20530,
this day of November, 1973, pursuant
to Rule 33, Paragraph 3, of the Rules of the
United States Supreme Court.

JACK P. ATTIAS

(ARRIE Saaetre Oise ek Pe canes x 3 Woe STS eae EE

APPENDIX

IN THE

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 73-2137

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Florida

(October 23, 1973)

Before BROWN, Chief Judge, RONEY and GEE,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM: AFFIRMED. See Local Rule 21.!

‘See N.L.R.B. v. Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, §
Cir. 1970, 430 F.2d 966.

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—Scofields’ Quality Printers, Inc. N. O., La

Phin EATS ORT PRETEEN ee “ rae PR RE LD RE SEBO ELLE Oe EE SS ok

8

i IN. THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE MIDOLE DISTRICT
i OF FLORIDA TAMPA DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, * :
' Plaintiff, *
vs. * Mo. 71-152 Cr. T.
| JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR., *
Defendant *

MEMORANDUM OPINION and ORDER

This is a Selective Service case. The defendant, John
Oliver Chalker, is charged in a one count indictment with fail-
ure to report to his local board for induction in violation of
Title 50, Appendix, U.S.C. § 462 (a). Before the Court is the
defendant's “motion raising defenses" filed pursuant to Rule 12
(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. The Court has
considered the motion and the memoranda submitted relative thereto.
The facts as evidenced by the defendant's Selective Service
file are uncontested. The defendant registered with his local
draft board in Lakeland, Plorida, in 1962. For some sien these
after he held a series of I-A and II-S (student deferment) classi-
fications. While at school at Chipola Junior College the defendant
‘also worked as a part time spray pilot for S & S Air Service located
in Marianna, Florida. In the summer of 1966, the defendant began
full time work as a spray pilot and shortly thereafter he received
a II-A (occupational deferment) from his local board at the request
of S & S Air Service. For some time the defendant's occupation
alternated from spray pilot to student and he received deferments.
in both capacities. In January of 1968 the defendant was class-
“ified I-A. The S & S Air Service again requested that the defendant
receive an occupational deferment. The local board denied this’

request and the defendant requested a personal appearance before

» RG tee 5
Loo

9
the local board. This request was granted. The defendant's

classification was re-opened, but on March ll, 1968, the de-
fendant was again classified I-A.

On March 28, 1968, the defendant requested a hardship
deferment on the grounds that his father was in poor health and
needed his care and support. The defendant's classification was
re-opened and the defendant was reclassified I-A. On April 15,
the S & S Air Service again requested that the defendant be
deferred. The defendant's file was again reopened and the de-
fendant was again classified I-A. The defendant then appealed
and the local board's decision was affirmed unanimously.

On October 1, 1968, the defendant requested a hardship
deferment on the grounds that “I have married a widow with two
children and all three are completely dependent upon me.” At
the request of the local board, the defendant sent the board add-
itional information which indicated that the wife had independent
tax free income of $525 per month.

At this point the National Selective Service Headquarters
entered the picture, apparently as a result of an inquiry by
United States Congressman Robert Sikes of Florida. After securing
some of the information in the defendant's file (but not the
information relating to the wife's independent income) the National
Headquarters notified the State Director that the defendant might
be entitled to a III-A (hardship) deferment. On December 2, 1968,
the defendant's request for III-A classification was reviewed and
the local board found that the information received did not warrant
a re-opening of the defendant's classification. The registrant's

file was forwarded to State Headquarters at the latter's request.

-2-

ee ae . a - Ao So ASN eS ——

10
WHETHER THE LOCAL AND STATE APPSAL BOARDS LOST

JURISDICTION OF THE DEFEMDANT BY FAILING TO STATS

THE REASONS FOR DENYING DEFENDANT'S REQUESTS FOR

II-A, II-C AND III-A CLASSIFICATIONS

The defendant sets forth the broad proposition that
draft boards are required to state specific reasens for the denial
of a requested classification. A myriad of cases are cited in
support of this proposition. It is apparent from a review of those
cases that the defendant has construed a rule applying enly to qn-
scientious objector cases to be a rule of general applicatica.

Correctly stated, the rule is that whenever a registrant
has asserted a prima facie cass of conscientious objection, the
board must state the grounds upon which the rejection of the claim
is based and the reasons in support thereof. The rule was first
enunciated in its present form in Ynited states v, Broyles, 423 F.2d
1299 (4 Cir.1970) and it has been adopted by the Pifth Cirewit in

United States v. Stetter, 445 P.2d 472 (5 Cir.1971). There are,

of course, many reasons for the rule. The scope ef judicial review
in Selective Service cases is limited to the determination ef whether
or not there was a “basis in fact" for the beard's classification
of a registrant. 50 U.S.C. App. § 460(b)(3). Because of the inherently
subjective nature of conscientious objection, it is virtually impossible
in most of those cases to determine whether there was a basis in fact
for the board's determination unless the board precisely states its
reasons for the denial of the classification.

On the other hand, a determination of whether a registrant
is entitled to an occupational or hardship deferment is generally
objective in nature. In most cases, courts can readily ascertain
the reason for the denial of such a claim (if such reason exists)
by an inquiry into the file of the registrant. In such a case, the

Broyles rule does not apply and the draft board ig set requized to

-3-

11

state the precise reasons for its rejection of a registrant's
clain. °

That is not to say that a draft board can reject a prima
facie entitlement to reclassification without reason. There must
be ascertainable reasons for the board's rejection ofa prima
facie claim in order for there to be a “basis in fact" for its
determination. Dickinson v. United States., 346 U.S. 389 (1953).
However, the defendant does not assert that there were no reasons’
for the denial of the claims, but only that those reasons were not
stated by the board. The’mere fact that the local and appeal
boards did not give precise reasons for the deniai of the + efendant's
requests for occupational and hardship deferments does not, of itself,
divest them of jurisdiction,

THE DEFENDANT'S HARDSHIP CLAIM

A. WHETHER THE LOCAL BOARD LOST JURISDICTION OF

THE DEFENDANT BY ITS REFUSAL TO REOPEN THE DEFENDANT'S

CLASSIFICATION. ,

A registrant's classification is to be reopened when the
request for reopening is accompanied by facts which, if true, would
justify a change in the registrant's classification. 32 C.F.R.

§ 1625.2. Thus, the board makes the decision of whether or not
to reopen. If they reopen, then the board must decide whether the
defendant should be reclassified. .

Where a registrant presents a prima facie case for reopen-
ing of his classification which is based upon factual allegations
which are not conclusively refuted by other information in the
registrant's file, the refusal of the draft board to reopen the
classification constitutes an abuse of the discretion vested in
the board. Mulloy v. United States, 398 U.S.410 (1970). Of course,
the failure of a draft board to wmply with the regulations by which
it is governed, will result in its loss of jurisdiction over the
registrant and render its orders to that registrant void. Estep v.

ote

a ET ey AT BT RON Oe : |

12
United States, 327 J.S. 114 (1946).

The defendant contends that the local board improperly
refused to reopen defendant's classificatien when he requested
a hardship deferment after his marriage. The threshold question
is whether the defendant presented the beard with a prima facie
case for reopening his classification. The éefendaat contends
that his allegation that he had “married a widow with two children
and all three are completely dependent on (him),” stated a prima
facie case for reopening. The defendant's allegation did net state
@ prima facie claim. It did not assert facts, but merely asserted
@ conclusion unsupported by facts. Based upon the mere allegation,
the board could have made neither a positive or negative decision
as to whether to reopen the defendant's classification. Therefore,
the board properly requested that the defendant supply it with some
facts in support of his claim so that it could make a decision under
32 C.P.R. § 1625.2. When the facts were supplied they revealed that
the defendant's wife and children had considerable independent tax
free income even if the defendant's wife did not engage in gainful
enptemann. There is no evidence in the file which indicates that
the wife could not work. The defendant's claim was based solely upon
financial hardship. The facts before the board indicated that the
defendant and his wife were actually doing quite well financially
and would continue to do so even it he were drafted. Clearly, the
defendant's request for reclassification was not accompanied by
facts which, if true, would have justified a change in his classificatien.
32 C.FP.R. § 1625.2, Mulloy, supra. Accordingly, the board's refusal
to reopen the defendant's classification was entirely preper.

B. WHETHER THERE WAS A DE-FACTO REOPENING OF

THE DEFENDANT'S CLASSIFICATION UPCM MIS RBQUEST

POR HARDSHIP DEFERMENT.

The defendant contends that the local beard did, in fact,

13

re-open his classification for a consideration on the merits
upon his request for a hardship deferment mentioned above.

When a draft board makes an evaluative determination of the
registrant's claim on the merits without formally re-opening

the registrant's classification, the draft board improperly
deprives the registrant of his right to appeal the decision
under 32 C.F.R. 1625.13. Mulloy, Supra. However, it is obvious
from the language of the regulations themselves that some facts
must be considered before a board can determine whether it will

re-open the classification. 32 C.F.R. 1625.2. Therefore, the

rule in Mulloy only applies where the registrant has made &
“prima facie case for reclassification." Mulloy, 396 U.S. at
416. Here, as previously held, the facts presented to the board
did not constitute a prima facie case for reclassification. More-
over, the board's consideration of those facts did not constitute
a “de facto" re-opening of the defendant's classification, but
constituted the mere initial determination of whether a prima
facie case for re-opening had been stated. That determination
was both proper and mandatory under 32 C.F.R. 1625.2.

C. WHETHER THE LOCAL BOARD IMPROPERLY FAILED TO

ADVISE THE DEFENDANT OF THE APPELLATE PROCEDURE

AUTHORIZED UNDER 32 C.F.R. § 1627.1 WHEN THE APPEAL

BOARD AFFIRMED THE LOCAL BOARD'S DECISION WITHOUT A

DISSENTING VOTE. ;

The defendant was classified I-A on May 6, 1968 by his
local board. He appealed to the Appeal Board which unanimously
affirmed the local board's decision on August 28, 1968. The
defendant concedes that he had no personal right to appeal the
unanimous decision on August 26 under 32 C.P.R. § 1627.3.
However, the defendant contends that it was error for the board

not to inform him of the possibility of appeal under 32 C.F.R.

Ln A I I Ee eg tae ey

Buen

14
1627.1. That section provides:

“(a) When either the State Directer of
Selective Service or the Directer of
Selective Service deems it to be in the
national interest or necessary te eveid
an injustice, he may appeal te the
President from any determination of an
appeal board. He may take such an appeal
at any time.*

It is thus apparent that the right to appeal under § 1627.1
belongs to the Director and not to the registrant. It is enly
necessary that a registrant be informed of his own rights, net
those of others.

After the preceding series of requests fer defermeats
was denied, John Oliver Chalker's odyssey threugh the Selective
Service System continued with a notice to report for inductien
on January 27, 1969. Whereupon, the defendant reqvested and was
granted a transfer of induction from his lecal board in Lakeland
to Marianna, Florida, where the defendant was then residing.
Consequently, the date for reporting fer inductiea was pes tponed
by the transfer to February 25, 1969. On February 20, the lecal
board was informed by the State Headquarters that the defendant's
wife had written a letter to the President of the United States,
The Gsfentent’s indestion ete ves again postponed. The letter set
= many facts which had previously been before the board and also
stated that Mrs. Chalker’s previous husband had been killed in a
plane crash while in the military. On March 11, 1969, the board
found that this information did not warrant a reopening of the
defendant's classification. These findinge were fecwarded to the
State Headquarters and the defendant was ordered te repert for
induction on March 18, 1969.

The defendant failed to report on March 18. Oa April 17,
the defendant was reported as a delinquent and the file was there
after turned over to the United States Attorney's effice. On
September 24, 1969, the United States Attecney declined proseeutien

~ Ps

15

for further administrative handling.

The defendant was ordered to report to his local board ~
for induction on November 10, 1969. On November 7, the local
board received a letter from the defendant stating that he would
not report and requesting a conscientious objector classification.
On November 10, 969, the defendant was sent a Selective Service
System form 150 entitled “Special Form for Conscientious Objector,”
which the defendant completed and returned. On March 30, 1970, the
local board informed defendant that the information received did
not warrant a reopening of his classification because the board
felt the defendant was not sincere in his claim, The defendant's
file was forwarded to the State Headquarters at their request. In
its letter accompanying defendant's file to State Headquarters, the
local board stated: “The board feels that the registrant has
effectively evaded the draft by his concerted efforts to avoid
induction during his draft age years." Shortly thereafter, the
case was again referred to the United States Attorney's office and
this prosecution was instituted.

THE CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTOR CLAIM

The defendant contends that the local board committed
nunesess errors in its handling of the defendant's conscientious
objector claim which consequently deprived the board of jurisdiction
and rendered its order to report for induction void.

The defendant sets forth three contentions the merit of which
all depend upon whether the defendang'n reques* for reclassification
stated a prima facie case. These contentions are: 1) That the local
board improperly refused to reopen the defendant's classification;
2) That the local board in fact did reopen the defendant's classi-
fication in a de facto manner, — improperly denying defendant
his right to appeal; and 3) That the local board failed to give any
valid reasons for its refusal to reopen the defendant's classifica-

tion.

Ditaies

ae ee ov

16

The defendant did not request reclassification as a
conscientious ebjector until after he had received his aotiee
to report for induction. 32 C.F.R. 1625.2 (b) peovides in part:

". . . the classification of a registrant

shall not be reopened after the local board

has mailed to such registrant an Order te ~

Report for Induction. . .unless the lecal

board first specifically finds that there

has been a change in the registrant's status

resulting from circumstances ever which the

registrant had no ceatrol.”

The scope of what constitutes a prime facie case for
reclassification after the registrant has received his ecder to
report for induction is limited. ‘In order fee there te be 8 prima
facie case at such a late date, the status of the registrant mest
have been changed by circumstances beyond his coatrel.

It is clear from facts suamitted by the defendant himself
that whatever conscientious abjections he may have possessed
crystallized some time prior to the issuance ef his draft notices.
The defendant's statements indicate that his conscientious ebjections
had crystallized while he was in college as a result ef his aasocia-
tion with several of his professors. The defendaat had aot been
in college for almost two years when he received his asoties to
report. In such a case the registrant's status was net changed by
“circumstances beyond his control.” Ubi ta 449
P.2d 122 (5 Cir.1971). Accordingly, the defendant established no
prima facie entitlement te conscientious objector status. Censequently,
the defendant's argument asserting procedural errercs in the handling

of his request for reclassification is totally witheut merit under
the doctrines enunciated in Mulloy, supra and Stetter, supga.*

* It should be noted that the local board did, nevertheless, give
a “reason” for the denial of the defendant's claim, i.e., in-
sincerity. That reason would be sufficient under the
and Stetter rules in light of the abundance ef evidenee in the
defendant's file which tends to support that finding.

-9-

17

Moreover, the decision of the Supreme Court in
Ehlert v. United States, 402 U.S. 99 (1971), indicates that
the local board need not have considered the defendant's re-
quest for a conscientious objector classification even if his
beliefs had crystallized after his induction order was issued.
See also, United States v. Adams, supra. |

The order issued by the local board on October 31,

1969, directing the defendant to report for induction on November
10, (1969, was valid.

ACCORDINGLY, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED:

i. The foregoing shall constitute findings of fact
and conclusions of law.

2. ‘The defendant's “motion raising defenses” filled
pursuant to Rule 12 (b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,
is hereby DENIED.

3. The Clerk of the court is directed to set tmis case

for trial.

2M
DONE and ORDERED this _“/ day of Jenuery,] 1972.

BEN KRENTZMAN
Aer CT JUDGE

-10-

ea eee ee ea

i8
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT
OF PLORIDA TAMPA DIVISION
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, °
Plaintiff, bd

vs. e wo. 71-152 ce. ?.

ORDER
This came before the Court upon defendant's motion for
&@ rehearing of the defendant's motion raising defenses. The
Court denied the defeidant's motion raising defenses by its
order of February 4, 1972. The crux of the defendant's motion
for rehearing involves the issue of whether the “reasons for

decision" rule of the case of United States v. Broyles, 423 F.
24 1299 (4 Cir. 1970), which has been adopted ia this circuit

in United States v, Stetter, 445 ¥.24 472 (5 Cir. 1971) is one
of general or limited application.

It is the defendant's contention that the Beoyjes rule
is one of general application. That may well be true under the
new Selective Service Regulations §§ 1623.4(c), 1624.6 and
1626.24(i). ilowever, under the regulations in effect at the
time the defendant was classified, a statement of reasons for
the denial of a requested classification was required only where
the registrant had assegsted a prima facie case of conscientious
objection, |

Defendant cites in support of his position the case of
United States v. Reesg, 331 F. Supp.1068 (N.D.Ga.1971), which
interpreted Gigy v, United States, 403 U.S.696 (1971) te require
that a local board must give a statement of reasons in denying
@ conscientious objector classification even where the registrant
had not set out a prima facie claim, Whether that is a correct

Gi > er ermrenrreme -

iS

statement of the law in light of Clay is irrelevant here.
Both Clay and Reese were limited to cases of conscientious
objection. those cases do not gupport the defendant's position
that a statement of reasons was required when his draft board
denied his requests for II-A, II-C and III-A classificatigns.
As to the defendant's conscientious objector claims, even if
it is assumed that the holding in Reese is correct and that
the reasons given the defendant for the denjal of his conscien-
tious objector claim were inadequate, Ehlert v. United States,
402 U.S.99 (1971) would still control the case at bar. That
case indicates that the local board need not have considered
the defendant's request for a conscientious objector classi-
fication even if his beliefs had crystallized after his
induction order was issued. Accordingly, it is

ORDERED:

Defendantjs motion for rehearing and oral argument is
hereby DENIED.

DONE and ORDERED at Tampa, Plorida, this JO _ day of
March, 1972.

LEN KRESITZMAN
BEN KRENTZMAN
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

ro

om

)
=

20

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT POR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT
OF FPLORIDA TAMPA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, e

Plaintiff, e
vs. * No. 71-152 Cr. T. K
JOHN OLIVER CHALKER, JR., e

Defendant *

e
QRDER
Once again this Court is requested to reconsider its

previous order denying the defendant's motion raising defenses.
It should be noted that upon each occasion that such request
has been made, the Court has, in fact, reviewed the file in
this case, reviewed its prior orders and opinions and reviewed
the memoranda and cases cited by the parties herein. Therefore,
each time the defendant hasmoved for “re-hearing", that motion
has, as a practical matter, been granted. But on each occasion
the Court has determined, upon a full review of this case as
mentioned above, that the Court's order of February 4, 1972,
should not be changed.

pon this occasion, the defendant cites the cases of

Cale v. Volitile, 5 S.S.L.R. 3717 (3rd Cir.1972) and United States

v, Strandguist, 5 S.6.L.R. 3721 (D.Minn.1972) in support of his
continuing argment that the “reasons for decision" rule of
United States v. Broyles, 423 F.2d 1299 (4 Cir.1970) which has
been adopted in this circuit in United States v. Stetter, 445 P.2d
472 (5 Cir.1971) is a rule of general application.

The defendant contends that a statement of reasons should
have been given for the denial of his requests for a classifica-
tion of II-A or II-C dated December 27, 1967, and request for

III-A classification dated March 28, 1968. The defendant has

rene

21

cited several cases which have applied the “reasons for
decision" rule on a general basis. As mentioned in the
Court's Pebruary 4, 1972 opinion, this Circuit has not extended
the rule beyond those cases where a registrant asserts a prima
facie case of conscientious objection. Stetter, supra. On the
other hand, this Circuit has not precluded such an extension.
This Court in its Pebruary 4 opinion indicated why the
“reasons for decision rule" should not be one of general
application. After considering the cases cited by the defendant,
the Court is not persuaded that it should change its opinion.
Accordingly, defendant's motion raising defenses is again
denied.
DONE and ORDERED at Tampa, Florida, this — day of

December, 1972.

Slee OX ocr bermaue
BEN KRENTZMAN
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0744%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
