# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Terminal Cab, Inc. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0720%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 909

## Text

neeQeas eee ae

33 FILE copy | °F

MICHAEL ROR NN
.

‘-

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

wo 8-33

5 lee

AIR TERMINAL CAB, INC.,
Petitioner,

Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

AIRWAY TAX! COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,

v

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit

LASHLY, CARUTHERS, THIES, RAVA &
HAMEL
WILLIAM |. RUTHERFORD
WILLIAM E. BUCKLEY
818 Olive Street, Suite 1300
St. Louis, Missouri 63101
Attorneys for Petitioners

St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 812 Olive Street 63101 314-231-4477

a

a :

INDEX
Page
Ns ne ee ee oe ein aa ain iow wa ee Mace 1
Citations to opinions below .......................-. 1
ER ie ors ke CUE Gai ante se ala wemie dies 2
eee Ce eek ieede vena kee e ma dine 2

Statutes, regulations and revenue rulings involved... 3

SEE LLL LA LP EE 3
Reasons for granting the writ ...................... 3
I 9

Appendix A—Statutes, regulations and revenue rul-

re oe cea ada aman a ngian's kone Ks A-1
Appendix B—QOpinions in the Courts below .........2 A-11
Appendix C—Conflicting decision .................. A-37

Cases Cited
Keonomy Cab Company v. Fahs, 174 F.2d 321 (5 C.A.
ERR A CRAG REI Na A We ee en ee 6

New Deal Cab Company v. Fahs, 174 F.2d 318 (5 C.A.

ie an eal, eee kus cab etees ckienne ws 6
Party Cab Company v. United States, 172 F.2d 87 (7
eae Age ci tee en Gat co Ne. 3 4,5,6,8

United States v. Fleming, 293 F.2d 953 (5 CLA. 1961) 4,6

United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704, 67 S.Ct. 1463, 91
ee ee eee ee 7

United States v. Webb, 397 U.S. 179, 90 S.Ct. 850, 25
Ld. 2d 207 (1970)

Ae pn

& SE DRACAA EI 01 ea see

Statutes, Regulations and Revenue Rulings

Statutes:
We Mma MUNCIE ooo ko so coe ov nc cence ha. 3
IN, BO orcs wc Gi dod vedo eoc ae dec enc. 3
| 3
Treasury Regulations:
sss my RO OE REO Pa ARETE are 3
psi inh EEE OE TE On Pe 3
ss ss ARR EE ean 3

Revenue Rulings:
Rev. Rul. 66-267, 1966-2, Cum. Bull. 443 .......... 3, 6
Rev. Rul. 71-572, 1971-2, Cum. Bull. 347 ..... 0... 3, 6,8

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Re rcacteas

AIR TERMINAL CAB, INC.,
Petitioner,

V

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

AIRWAY TAX! COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,
V

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit

Petitioners Air Terminal Cab, Ine. and Airway Taxi,
Ine. pray that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Kighth Circuit entered in these consolidated cases on
May 22, 1973.

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW
These cases originated in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Missouri and were sub-
mitted to the Court on stipulated facets. The United States

Bez. CARPE iiss

Distriet Court Opinion is reported at 341 F.Supp. 1257
(E.D. Mo, 1972) and is ineluded in Appendix B attached
hereto, p. A-22. The Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Cireuit is as yet unreported and
is included in Appendix B attached hereto, p. A-11.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Cireuit was entered April 30, 1973 (R. II,
p. 12). Rehearing was denied May 22, 1973 (R. IT, p. 29).
Jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C., Section 1254(1).
The jurisdiction of the United States District Court for
the Fastern District of Missouri was originally invoked
because these cases arise under the Internal Revenue Code.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether taxicab companies which own twelve taxi-
cabs each, which maintain no telephones or telephone di-
rectory listings, no office, no garage, no radio dispatch
facilities, which do no media advertising and have no
supervisory personnel, and which share with the taxi driv-
ers on a percentage basis the fares received, have ‘‘con-
trol’? over the manner or means of the operation of the
taxicabs in such a fashion as to render the companies liable
for employment taxes on the portion of the fares retained
by the taxicab drivers.

2. Whether the employer-employee relationship between
taxicab companies and drivers operating company-owned
taxicabs on a fare sharing arrangement is to be determined
on the basis of the presence or absence of control by the
companies over the drivers while they are operating the
taxicabs or on the basis of general situational facts such
as operation of the cabs in an area restricted by licenses,
the driving of regular shifts, and the duty of the taxicab
drivers to list fares in order to divide them on a percentage
basis with the taxicab company.

STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND
REVENUE RULINGS INVOLVED

STATUTES
26 U.S.C. 8121(d) (2);
26 U.S.C. 3401(¢);
26 U.S.C. 3306(1).

TREASURY REGULATIONS
31.3121(d)-1;
31.3401(¢)-1;
31.3306(1)-1.

REVENUE RULINGS
Rey. Rul. 66-267, 1966-2, Cum. Bull. 443;
Rev. Rul. 71-572, 1971-2, Cum. Bull. 347.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The taxpayers, Air Terminal ¢ ‘ab, Inc. and Airway Taxi
Company, Ine., brought these cases, now consolidated,
the United States District Court for the Eastern wre
of Missouri for refund of Federal Withholding, FICA and
FUTA taxes, penalties and interest assessed against the
taxpayers by the Internal Revenue Service.

The taxpayers’ operations are essentially the same. Bach
is a taxieab company operated from the home of its re-
spective preside nt. Kach owns only twelve taxicabs and
each leases the taxieabs to taxi drivers under an arrange-
ment by means of which the driver records the fares re-
ceived, deducts the amount paid by him for gasoline during

<1

his operation of the taxieab and remits fifty per cent of
the balance to the taxicab company by leaving it in a metal
box located at an independent service station where taxis
are parked when not in use. Taxpayers maintain no offices,
no garage, no mechanics and no supervisory employees.
They maintain no radio or telephone dispatcher and the
taxis, although they are equipped with meters, are not
equipped with radios. The taxicab companies do not ad-
vertise and do not have telephone numbers listed in the
telephone directory. The drivers do not report regularly
to the presidents of the respective companies. The presi-
dents have other business interests and devote only part
time to the companies. The drivers are members of the
Teamsters Union. There is a Union contract. The drivers
work regular shifts and have certain fringe benefits. The
taxicabs are operated under licenses issued to the taxpay-
ers by St. Louis County, which licenses restrict operation
of the taxicabs to the unincorporated areas of St. Louis
County. The primary source of taxicab business in the un-
incorporated areas of St. Louis County for which radio
dispatch facilities are unnecessary is the pick-up of pas-
sengers from Lambert Air Field. That is the primary
source of business for the drivers of taxpayers’ cabs, al-
though they do, by agreement with passengers, pick them
up elsewhere, and although they do, from time to time, on
a negotiated basis, transport passengers to points as much
as one hundred fifty miles from the St. Louis area.

The taxpayers each paid Withholding, FICA and FUTA
taxes for a single quarter. The taxpayers brought suit for
refund of the taxes paid and the Government. counter-
claimed for the balance of the taxes assessed for the period
of time in question, 1965 through 1968. The District Court
held for the taxpayers on the authority of Party Cab Com.
pany v. United States, 172 F.2d 87 (7 (C.A. 1949) and
United States v. Fleming, 293 F.2d 953 (5 C.A. 1961), be-

eause the taxpayers did not have the requisite ‘‘contro!”’

cme aes
* under the
provisions of the Internal Revenue Code and applicable
regulations. The United States Court of Appeals for the
Kighth Circuit reversed and petitioners, plaintiffs in the
Distriet Court and Appellees in the United States Court
of Appeals for the Kighth Cireuit, bring this Petition for
Writ of Certiorari.

over the drivers to render them ‘‘employees’

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. Party Cab Company v. United States, supra, has been
until now, the lead case governing the status of taxicab
drivers for the purposes at hand, and succeeding cases,
Treasury Regulations and Internal Revenue Rulings have
been consistent with it. It turns upon the following hold-
ing:

“The matter of control which is material is that
which the plaintiff exercised over the drivers during
the period they were in possession of the cabs rather
than what the plaintiff might do either prior or subse-
quent to such period. Considered in this light, any con-
trol exercised by the plaintiff was quite meagre.”’

(le. 172 F.2d 92, Appendix C, p. A-48)

The United States Court of Appeals in the Fighth Cireuit
in the instant case based its decision that the drivers of
petitioners’ taxicabs were ‘employees’? upon the follow-
ing holding:

‘On the other hand, the drivers had regular work-
ing hours, were limited as to where they could pick up
customers, could not use cabs for their personal use,
were required to account for fares by submitting ‘trip
sheets,’ and were required to split (after deducting
amounts spent for gas and oil) their fares evenly with
appellees... Where a company has a general meas-
ure of control over the manner in which services of

a

their taxicab drivers are performed, such as cperation
in a restricted territory, control of hours worked, and
the governing of income to the drivers, the employer-
employee relationship exists for purposes of the federal
employment taxes. (Appendix B, pp. A-19-A-20).
The decision is in conflict with Party Cab Company v.
United States, supra.

2. The issues here presented are of importance to the ad-
ministration of the Federal Tax Laws as applied to the
taxicab industry throughout the nation. The history of
the Internal Revenue Department’s position on these is-
sues has been one of litigation and acquiescence in adverse
result (R. I, p. 113). It is believed that the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cireuit in
the instant case represents a substantial departure from
the principles announced in the Party Cab Company case,
supra, and followed in United States v. Fleming, 293 F.2d
953 (5 C_A. 1961); New Deal Cab Company v. Fahs, 174 F.
2d 318 (5 C.A. 1949); and Economy Cab Company v. Fahs,
174 F.2d 321 (5 C_A. 1949), as well as in the rulings of the
Internal Revenue Service (Rev. Rul. 66-267 [1966-2 Cum.
Bull. 443]; Rev. Rul. 71-572 [1971-2 Cum. Bull. 347], at-
tached hereto in Appendix A, pp. A-3 and A-7). It is
believed that if left undisturbed, the opinion in the court
below will quickly result in changes in both the published
and the unpublished positions of the Internal Revenue
Service with disastrous results to small business taxpayers
such as these petitioners.

3. The opinion and decision of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit is believed to be in error
for three reasons.

First, the court below predicates a finding of ‘‘control”’
by taxicab owners over taxicab drivers on regular shifts,
license restrictions, and the necessity for an accounting
where rental is on a percentage basis. The first two of these

indicia are necessary ingredients of the operation of any
company-owned taxicabs in a large metropolitan area, and
the latter is a necessary ingredient of any such operation
where the proceeds of the operation of the taxicab are di-
vided between the owner and the driver. Such a decision
is tantamount to a holding that virtually all taxicab driv-

ers are ‘‘employees.”*

Second, the court below was in error in drawing even
general indications of ‘control’? from the work schedule
provisions of the Teamster contract and the area restric-
tions of taxicab operation. The Teamster contract sets
maximum and minimum schedules which bind both driver
and owner, ‘‘requiring,’’ for example, not only that the
driver drive the taxicab a minimum of nine hours per day,
five days per week, but that the owner make the taxicab
available for operation nine hours per day, five days per
week (R. I p. 73). The area restrictions are quite clearly
restrictions imposed by the licenses issued by St. Louis
County, not restrictions imposed by the employers (R. I
p. 55). As indicated, the trip sheet is a necessary device
for computing the percentage division of the proceeds and
can in no sense be an indication of *‘control’’ by the taxi-
cab owners.

Third, this Court, in United States v. Silk, 331 U.S. 704,
67 S.Ct. 1463, 91 L.Ed. 1757 (1947), announced a rationale
for making the determination of ‘‘employee”’ status some-
what broader than the ‘‘common law’? test. The Treasury
Department quickly proposed a regulation broad in scope,
basing its position on this Court’s opinion in United States
v. Silk, supra. The Congress rejected that regulation by
amending the then Section 1101(a)(6) of the Social Se-
curity Act defining ‘‘employee*’ to exclude those who were
not employees under the common law rules. President Tru-
man vetoed the amendment expressly on the ground that
it would take certain classes of people, including ‘‘taxicab
drivers,’ out from under the coverage of the Social Se-

Bi AR i a i a Nan ie

PSTN

REY POLE LUTEAL, BEING YO

126 LAL RID ANY

ee is,

OUR Re wet

= ee

curity Act. The Congress passed the resolution over the
veto of the President (P.L. 642, 80th Congress, 2nd Ses-
sion). Shortly thereafter, the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Seventh Circuit reached its decision in Party
Cab Company v. United States, 172 F.2d 87 (7 C.A. 1949)
that cab drivers driving company-owned taxicabs, operat-
ing from a company-owned garage under company-owned
licenses and on regular shifts, were not ‘‘employees’’ un-
der the ‘‘usual common law rules’’ because of lack of con-
trol by the cab companies over the drivers during the
operation of the taxicabs. The decision rests in large part
upon a review of the above legislative history (l.c. 172 F.2d
89-90, 92). This Court has recently reviewed the same
legislative history in United States v. Webb, 397 U.S. 179,
90 S.Ct. 850, 25 L.Ed. 2d 207 (1970) and in so doing, has
included from Senate Report No. 1255, 80th Congress,
Second Session, pages 10 and 11, the express Congressional
objection to the earlier proposed Treasury Regulation to
the effect that the broad test of ‘‘economic reality’’ would
permit untrammeled administrative discretion as to who
was an ‘‘employee’’ and who was not (l.c. 397 U.S. 188).

Reduced to its essentials, the opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in the in-
stant case finds ‘‘control’’ of the taxicab drivers in the
situation of taxicab owner and taxicab driver as such. This
is the ‘‘economie reality’’ test without the name. One has
only to compare the letter ruling of the Internal Revenue
Service pertaining to Laclede and Red Top Cabs in St.
Louis (R. 1, pp. 110-114) and Rev. Rul. 71-572 (App. A.
p. A-7) with the Internal Revenue Service position in the
instant case to see untrammeled administrative discretion
in gross form. The Internal Revenue Service takes the
position that where rental taxicabs are media advertised
and the drivers regularly respond to a radio dispatcher,
the drivers are not ‘‘employees”’ if they pay a fixed rental,
while they are ‘‘employees”’ if they pay a percentage rental.

In the instant case, the Internal Revenue Service takes the
position, now affirmed by the court below, that taxicab
drivers who have virtually no contact with any super-
visory employee, garage or radio dispatcher are neverthe-
less employees because of the percentage rental arrange-
ment.

It is believed that the decision of the court below, in
permitting this kind of broad administrative discretion,
has erroneously exposed these taxpayers to ruinous assess-
ments which they could not rationally have foreseen and
will expose others to equally ruinous retroactive assess-
ments.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted

LASHLY CARUTHERS,
THIES, RAVA & HAMEL

WILLIAM I. RUTHERFORD

WILLIAM E. BUCKLEY
818 Olive Street, Suite 1300
St. Louis, Missouri 63101
Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0720%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
