# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Young v. Clear Lake Yacht Basin, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0583%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 856

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

o 78°63

ROBERT B. YOUNG, Petitioner
v.

CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC., ET AL,
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS

Brock & WILLIAMS
Warner F. Brock

250 The Main Building
Houston, Texas 77002
224-6433

Alpha Law Brief Co., One Main Plaza, No. 1 Main St., Houston, Texas 77002

; BS iS be. bg “3 :
Settee:
an

oid

I .
as aN at a . sate te RE ane TE 29 TAN pees ASO RU se Me a

EE. Sincarheduipinenhncnseayweeensesanhiacssiat
Questions Presented for Review .....................00-

oO 2 ERR Cite RG RI2 aS a CA Ran aE RU Rie Se mea

Appendix A (Memorandum and Order of District Court)...
Appendix B (Order of Fifth Circuit) ...................

Appendix C (Fifth Circuit’s Order Denying Petitioner’s Mo-
a wa eee ecké dine baa nkoe cdc wc

LIST OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Austerberry v. United States, 169 F.2d 583 (6th C.A. 1948)
Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Duberstein, 363 U-S.
ST

Senko v. LaCrosse Dredging Corp., 352 U.S. 370 (1957)...
Strakos v. Gehring, 360 S.W.2d 787 (Tex. Sup. 1962).....
The New Berne (4th C.A.) 80 F.2d 244 ................
Tropical Mauve Products, Inc. v. Birmingham Fire Ins. Co.,
247 F.2d 116 (Sth C.A. 1956) Cert. den. 355 US. 903
RRS EER EEE AD Loca

UNITED STATES STATUTES
pipe, a RT Se HO

"ete

thes ar, te fs .
Gene tes eS pace cata Eee a GEE SRL LE BTL LIS BED I OMENS Nl SOM eae Se a RS eeS St eet ee

Page

ao a

NINA ANNAN

&

3,2

a,

BAS ce a

Supreme Court of the United States

NO.

ROBERT B. YOUNG, Petitioner
v.

CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC., ET AL,
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS

To The Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices
Of The Supreme Court Of The United States:

Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to re-
view the Judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
entered in the above case on March 7, 1973, affirming
the opinion of the District Court entered on January 19,
1972.

CITATIONS TO OPINIONS BELOW

The Memorandum and Order entered by the District
Court can be found at Young v. Clear Lake Yacht Basin,

RAO MONEE LEME ADE SINE SAB eh IA AE lt i hi AES BODE A Ne

2

Inc., 337 F.Supp. 1305 (S.D. Tex. 1972). A copy is
attached hereto as Appendix “A”. A copy of the Order
of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals’ affirmance of the
District Court is attached hereto as Appendix “B”,
(R. II-3,4) The Order denying Petitioner’s Motion for
Rehearing on April £6, 1973. is attached as Appendix
_". (Rh. BS)

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether this is to be the only reported case where
one cannot recover damages for injuries sustained on
navigable waters while on board a yacht when it caught
fire as a result of gas in the bilge from a leaking gasoline
tank, a patently unseaworthy condition, against:

(a) The marine surveyor who certified that the vacht
was seaworthy, or;

(b) The insurance company who issued their policy
on the yacht only after the survey of reasonable fitness
had been made, or;

(c) The marine repairman who warranted that the ves-
sel was reasonably fit after the repairs were made and
was negligent in failing to test the gasoline tank, or;

(d) The owner of the vessel?

2. Whether, under the facts, the Petitioner can rely upon
breach of the maritime warranty of seaworthiness as
well as the common law warranty of reasonable fitness?

LA IE LOCO PORTE V0 9

3

3. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in affirm-
ing the District Court’s holding that Plaintiff not only
had the burden of proving the source of the fire and ex-
plosion aboard the Yacht Topaz, but also had the burden
of disproving alternate sources suggested by the defend-
ants.

4. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s holding that the Defendant
marine repairman could not owe the warranty of sea-
worthiness to plaintiff after making extensive repairs on
the Yacht Topaz.

5. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s holding that Petitioner did not
have the status of a “seaman” at the time of his injuries;
to whom was owed the warranty of seaworthiness.

6. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s holding that Plaintiff was
not only contributorily negligent but also that such negli-
gence would bar his recovery under any theory.

7. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s holding that the Texas
“accepted work” doctrine prohibited recovery against the
marine repairman.

8. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s clearly erroneous holding that
Surveyor Roberts was not an agent of the insurance
carrier and that any negligence by Roberts was not a
proximate cause of Plaintiff’s injuries.

9. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals erred in af-
firming the District Court’s clearly erroneous holding that
Plaintiff had compromised his claim against the insur-
ance carrier.

STATEMENT

Petitioner filed his lawsuit before the Federal District
Court for the Southern District of Texas alleging that _
a repairman, marine surveyor, marine insurance carrier
and a yacht owner had in varying degrees breached a
duty of seaworthiness and common law warranties in
regard to the condition of the Yacht Topaz as well as
committing various acts of negligence. The Yacht Topaz
was owned by the Young Manufacturing Co., Inc., of
which Petitioner and his brother were the principal offi-
cers. Shortly after the Yacht was purchased their marine
insurance carrier required the company to submit the
yacht to an inspection by a marine surveyor who in turn
required it to be submitted to a repairman for certain
repairs. A month after the repairs Petitioner was aboard
the yacht when there was a fire and explosion which
Petitioner alleged resulted from a leaking gasoline tank
which condition should have been patently obvious to
the inspector and the repairman.

The trial court found that none of the Defendants
had made warranties to the Plaintiff and furthermore,
that none of them, including the yacht owner owed a duty
H of seaworthiness to the Plaintiff. The trial court dwelled
on its finding that Petitioner had failed to prove up
the source of the leaking fuel or the source of the igniting
spark.

From a reading of the trial court's opinion it is obvious
that the Court made an initial determination of who was
to prevail in the lawsuit and then attempted to reconcile
Petitioner's three theories of negligence, common law war-
ranty and seaworthiness against each of the four de-
fendants, into a common factor of no recovery. Such an

;
.
,
a
=
3
3
4
¢
3
a
3
3
j
*
A 4
3
a
*
:

933i vw
—
STS SERS y.

5

approach has led the Court into inconsistencies of law
and required it to ignore the great weight of the evidence
to the injustice of the severely injured Plaintiff-Petitioner.

For example, the Court holds that the repairman Clear
Lake Yacht Basin made no common law warranties. Assum-
ing they did, the Court says: the deteriorated twenty (20)
year old gas tank shown in numerous photographic ex-
hibits was not in that condition while in the possession
of Clear Lake Yacht Basin several months prior to the
taking of the pictures; careful observation would not
have revealed that a defect was likely to occur in the
future (R.I-Appendix p. 151); there was no negligence
because Plaintiff failed to prove proximate cause; even
if he did prove proximate causation he was barred by his
contributory negligence; there was no duty of seaworthi-
ness because that can only run from the Yacht owner;
however, the Yacht owner is not liable because Plaintiff
is not a “seaman.”

This tightly woven path through the forest by the
trial court has caused it to miss seeing the trees. The law
is not a neat and orderly chess game but must concern
itself with such messy details as evidence. The explosion
and fire on board the Topaz was per se evidence of its
unseaworthiness. No one contended that the Plaintiff
walked up to the boat, poured gasoline in the bilge and
struck a match to it. Furthermore, the only serious evi-
dence as to the source of the fuel was a deteriorated fuel
tank inspected and handled by a marine inspector and
marine repairman. Even the trial court felt called upon
to question the propriety of the Defendart surveyor’s in-
spection which only took an hour and a half. (R. 1-A.
161-162). Was this intended to sweeten the quality of
Justice dealt to the Petitioner.

Pe retcirircinin wr Piel PEM rads Arena D BRAGA REILLY oN ae

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Court of Appeals’ affirmance of the finding that
a repairman cannot owe the duty of seaworthiness is in
direct conflict with this Court’s holdings in Reed v. The
Yaka, 373 U.S. 410 (1963) and Ryan Stevedoring Co.
v. Pan Atlantic S.S. Corp., 350 U.S. 124 (1956). While it
is clear that the duty of seaworthiness is a “nondelegable”
of the ship owner it is also clear that this duty can run
concurrently from a repairman to perform his duties in
a workmanlike manner.

2. The Court of Appeals’ affirmance of the finding that
Petitioner did not have the status of a “seaman” to whom
the duty of seaworthiness is owed is in direct conflict
with this Court’s decisions in Desper v. Starved Rock Ferry
Co., 342 U.S. 187 (1952); Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki.
328 U.S. 85 (1946) and Senko v. LaCrosse Dredging
Corp., 352 U.S. 370 (1957). The non-maritime nature
of the so-called regular work or duties is completely irrele-
vant. Flowers v. Travelers Ins. Co., 258 F.2d 220, 221,
(Sth C.A. 1958), cert. den. 359 U.S. 920 (1959).
Whether or not compensation is received is not controlling
on the issue of whether Petitioner was a member of a
“crew” at the time of his injury. In Re Read, 224 F.
Supp. 241 (S.D. Fla. 1963).

3. The burden of proof placed on the Petitioner in
proving negligence and unseaworthiness exceeds ele-
mentary principles of law requiring a preponderance of
the evidence rather than beyond a reasonable doubt.
Evidence that presence of gas fumes emanated from a
gasoline tank may be based on circumstantiai evidence
alone. Austerberry v. United States, 169 F.2d 583 (6th
C.A. 1948); cf. The New Berne (4th C.A. 80 F.2d

ae ee TE RIOT Bilt Sh Peet CO Re Tee ee
5 Sis

7

244. Defects even though latent can be presumed to
establish per se evidence of unseaworthiness. Tropical
Mauve Products, Inc. v. Birmingham Fire Ins. Co., 247
F.2d 116 (5th C.A. 1956) cert. den. 355 U.S. 903
(1959).

4. The trial court’s finding that Petitioner was con-
tributorily negligent and that such negligence was a com-
plete bar to recovery under any theory was patently
erroneous in regard to Petitioner’s claim the Yacht was
unseaworthy. Petitioner’s negligence must be found in
terms of degree which reduces his recovery pro rata.
Mason v. Lynch Bros. Co., 228 F.2d 709 (4th C.A.
1956); Mevin v. Wilner, 424 F.2d 1058 (Sth C.A. 1970).
The burden of proof on the issue of contributory negli-
gence is on the defendant. Garrett v. Moore-McCormack
Co., Inc., 317 U.S. 239 (1942). Petitioner can only re-
fer this Court to the voluminous record and exhibits in
this case to show that the trial court’s finding on this
important issue was based on evidence in the realm of
conjecture and rank speculation.

5. The trial court’s finding that Petitioner’s recovery
against the marine repairman Clear Lake Yacht Basin,
Inc., was barred by the so-called Texas “accepted work”
doctrine is in direct conflict with the State Law of Texas.
The Texas Supreme Court in Strakos v. Gehring, 360
§.W.2d 787 (Tex. Sup. 1962) has held that acceptance
of defective work should not be a legal excuse for the
negligent performance of that work.

6. The trial court’s finding affirmed by the appeals court
that (1) the marine surveyor was not an agent of the
insurance carrier; (2) that any negligence by the surveyor
could not have been a proximate cause of Plaintiff's in-

tikes, ™
fo eae

eee SS

tid ORES Are ace REIN? Whit AAA CAG ]
:

prttisitresintiicsisinsesconusasiice, caethesin abd Sa bd ina BS:

juries; and (3) that Plaintiff had compromised his claims
were not supported by substantial evidence and clearly
erroneous. This Court can only be left with the “definite
and firm conviction that a mistake has been committed”
if it reviews the transcript and the numerous exhibits in
this case. United States v. U. S. Gypsum Co., 333 US.
364, 395 (1945); Commissioner of Internal Revenue v.
Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278, 291 (1960).

7. The questions presented are one of general public
importance to the field of maritime law and to the in-
creasing numbers of pleasure boat owners in the general
public who are inexperienced mariners. Commenting on
the Defendant Roberts cursory inspection of the Yacht
Topaz the trial court noted:

“A marine surveyor, particularly one who engages
in the burgeoning pleasure boat field where the ma-
jority of boat owners are not educated and experi-
enced mariners, performs an indispensable service,
often a life-saving service, to his clientele. Whether
the survey be conducted for insurance purposes or
for the purchase or sale of a vessel, this examination
may be, in all likelihood, the only one made by an
experienced hand. The landlocked public perhaps
can rely on workmen to inspect and repair most
major household appliances and not be placed in
jeopardy of serious injury or death, at least in the
majority of instances, in the event that the repair-
man inspects in a cursory manner or performs sub-
standard work. But reliance by laymen on such skilled
professionals as marine surveyors to inspect and ad-
vise as to pleasure boats with their sophisticated ma-
chinery, high powered engines and other gear must
be of a different caliber, one of which the law must
take cognizance in a proper case. “There are few
other uses of petroleum fuels by the public in which

9

the fire and explosion hazards parallel those possible
in motor craft.”

Petitioner submits that this is the “proper case.”

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons Petitioner respectfully re-
quests that this Petition for Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Brock & WILLIAMS

Warner F. Brock
250 The Main Building
Houston, Texas 77002

224-6433

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 4 day of July 1973, a
true copy of the foregoing Petifion For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Fifth Circuit Court Of Appeals, was placed in
the United States mail, postage prepaid, to the following
counsels: Mr. James E. Ross, Ross, Griggs & Harrison, At-
torneys At Law, Chamber of Commerce Building, Hous-
ton, Texas 77002; Mr. L. Glen Kratochvil, Attorney At
Law, One Shell Plaza, Houston, Texas 77002; Mr.
William E. Hall, Jr., Attorney At Law, Houston First
Savings Building, Houston, Texas 77002; Mr. Eugene A.
Cook, Butler, Binion, Rice, Cook & Knapp, Attorneys
At Law, Esperson Building, Houston, Texas 77002; Mr.
John Lee Watkins & Hamilton, Attorneys At Law, The
Main Building, Houston, Texas 77002.

ULenasn~F. bok

WARNER F. Brock

aes

11

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

Civil Action No. 68-H-489
(January 21, 1972)

ROBERT B. YOUNG, Plaintiff,
v.
CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC., SECURITY
INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW HAVEN, CAP-
TAIN JACK ROBERTS, JACK YOUNG and YOUNG
FURNITURE MANUFACTURING COMPANY, INC.,
Defendants,

UTICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY, ALL

RISK INSURANCE AGENCY and MICHIGAN MILL-
ERS INSURANCE COMPANY, Intervenors.

WARNER F. BROCK, Brock & Williams for the Plain-
tiff.

L. GLEN KRATOCHVIL, Schirmeyer & Kratochvil for
Defendant Clear Lake Yacht Basin.

JAMES E. ROSS, Ross, Griggs & Harrison, for Defend-
ants Security Insurance Co. of New Haven, Cap-
tain Jack Roberts and Jack Young.

WILLIAM E. HALL, JR,. and EVERETT L. AN-
SCHUTZ, Jr., for Defendant Young Furniture
Manufacturing Company, Inc.

JONATHAN DAY, Butler, Binion, Rice, Cook & Knapp
for Intervenors Michigan Millers Mutual Insurance
Co. and All Risk Insurance Agency.

Sentient ieee

3
%
3
P|
bn
=
4
x

12

A. J. WATKINS and JOHN LEE, Watkins & Hamilton
for Intervenor Utica Mutual Insurance Company.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Early in 1966, a single engine, twenty-six foot Chris-
Craft Sedan Cruiser, model 1948, was purchased with
funds supplied by Young Furniture Manufacturing Com-
pany, Inc. [hereinafter the Company], and title was taken
in the name of Jack Young, an executive officer of the
Company and brother of the plaintiff. The actual owner-
ship of the vessel is disputed. On April 16 of that year
a Houston independent marine surveyor, Captain Jack
Roberts, made a survey of the yacht TOPAZ, and shortly
thereafter Clear Lake Yacht Basin, Inc. [hereinafter
Clear Lake] was engaged to make certain repairs on the
vessel, some of which were upon the recommendation of
Surveyor Roberts. Prior to and contemporaneously with
the execution of the commissioned work by Clear Lake,
certain officers and employees of the Company, including
the Young brothers, engaged in repair work aboard the
TOPAZ, a major portion of which work was painting,
replacing brightwork, upholstering and other cosmetic
repairs. After Clear Lake completed its repairs on or
about May 7, 1966, Surveyor Roberts certified that the
repairs had been performed satisfactorily on the eighteen
year old pleasure craft. Security Insurance Co. thereupon
issued its policy Y 118 126 to Jack Young on the TO-
PAZ, providing protection and idemnity insurance for
bodily injury for one person in the amount of $50,000.
The Young brothers and Young Furniture Company paid
for the repairs, and all work done on the vessel was
accepted. The TOPAZ was then used for pleasure and
business purposes on several occasions by the Young

ene i ne na EPRI O EE SERA ligt
Fa.

a—__ EAE IN 5 L2LI Y Aeban LES

13

brothers over a period of approximately one month prior
to the casualty.

One June 9, 1966, an explosion and fire occurred on
the TOPAZ, seriously injuring the plaintiff, Robert
Young, who was the only person aboard at the time. It
is this event which culminated in the suit now before
the Court. Plaintiff has alleged numerous derelictions of
the defendants including counts of negligence and
breaches of warranty to furnish a seaworthy vessel. These
breaches and the potential liabilities therefor will neces-
sarily be explored in depth, infra, as will the alleged
contributory negligence of plaintiff. The Court’s initial
inquiries, however, must be directed toward the explosion’
itself, its nature, intensity, and proximate cause.

1.

CIRCUMSTANCES LEADING UP TO THE
EXPLOSION

After Surveyor Roberts completed his condition and
valuation survey of the yacht TOPAZ and made certain
written recommendations as to repairs necessary for the
obtaining of insurance coverage,” the Youngs engaged

1. Throughout this opinion, the occurrence will be variously re-
ferred to as an explosion and/or fire. The use of one term or the
other is not intended as a specific finding that both actually occurred.
While this Court does find that a fire occurred, the evidence does not
clearly support an additional finding of an actual explosion, and,
inasmuch as this is not critical to a resolution of the case, no such
finding is made.

2. See plaintiff's exhibit 1, report of survey by Surveyor Jack
— On page 3 of the report, the following recommendations are
made:

(A) Toilet be secured in place, through hull fitting for intake
be reseated and hose clamp be replaced; (B) Fire extinguisher
be located at wheel and at afterdeck while refinishing vessel;

abet di ahha Aa LAS SASS ais
:

EOS SERMON Died Oran ie Lor) WM Pelee Le ea

tints

14

Clear Lake to accomplish this work on the yacht. The
TOPAZ was hauled out at the Clear Lake yard for about
two weeks commencing in late April and terminating
approximately May 7, 1966. Clear Lake’s employees
completed the recommended repairs which were subse-
quently approved by Surveyor Roberts, and in addition,
they performed separate repairs to the hull which were
requested by the Youngs. As indicated, the TOPAZ was
put back into the water at Clear Lake repair yard in
early May, and subsequently it was operated by either
Jack or Robert Young on a number of pleasure and
business entertainment excursions.* In fact, a total of
almost 150 gallons of gasoline were purchased on several
occasions for the operation of the TOPAZ during this
period of approximately one month.* Also during this
time it is undisputed that no gasoline leakage from any

(C) Broken frame knee on starboard side be replaced or sis-
tered; (D) Deck drain flanges on transom be reseated and
missing screws be replaced; (E) Battery be secured in place and
frayed cable be replaced; (F) Tachometer cable be replaced
and water pump be overhauled; (G) Fuel and vent line be se
cured in place and broken band on tank be replaced with chaf-
fing pad between tank and band; (H) Keel be scarphed in where
split and keel bolts be replaced where bent and damaged; (I)
Shaft bearing be replaced, shaft straightened and propeller be
reconditioned. Rudder is fractured and should be replaced.

3. Also subsequent to the completion of Clear Lake’s work, from
May 7, 1966, to the date of the fire on June 9, 1966, Jack and
Robert Young performed various miscellaneous repairs on the TO-
PAZ.

4. See plaintiff's exhibit 32, receipts for the purchase of gas at
Boat Town on several occasions totaling 147.5 gallons, and testimony
of Robert Young (cross-examination by Mr. Kratochvil), that fuel
consumption of the vessel’s single engine was believed to be approx-
imately six gallons per hour. Assuming the accuracy of such estimate,
this indicates some 25 hours of operation of the TOPAZ, less the
time necessary to consume the disputed quantity remaining in the
tank after such operations.

—————————— ROR SB AK DMARD Caen

15

source was noted on the craft by either Jack or Robert
Young. No test was ever made by plaintiff or any of the
defendants herein for leakage in the gas tank, and, indeed,
no need tor such a test was ever evidenced prior to June
9, 1966.”

On June 9, while the TOPAZ was berthed at Boat
Town Marina in Seabrook, Texas, plaintiff who was alone
had parked his automobile within a few feet of the
covered slip where the vessel was moored and prepared
to go aboard. He immediately smelled strong gasoline
fumes coming from the TOPAZ. He boarded the vessel,
and shortly thereafter the explosion occurred. It is the
sequence of events which took place between the time
plaintiff went aboard and the time of the explosion that
constitutes one of several major areas of sharp dispute
in this lawsuit.

A.
SOURCE OF THE SPARK

There is considerable testimony that plaintiff opened
the engine hatch, determined that the fumes were coming
from the TOPAZ, and then went forward into the cabin
and switched on the electric blower and the electric bilge
pump, with the explosion and fire immediately following.
This is the plaintiff's story. Additionally, after he initially
smelled gas fumes and actually heard gasoline leaking, it
is his version that he reached down into the engine com-
partment and felt gasoline dripping from the gas tank.
Then, either unaware or unmindful of the possible conse-
quences, he proceeded to turn on both the blower and the
bilge pump in an effort to clear the TOPAZ of the com-

5. Testimony of Robert Young.

WAP OERTY

PRT Gea Bhi Sel OSCR ES =~
My

ae Se BESS aE ere

REE Ret SEE KOLA

ay et Te ae ee

16

bustible fumes which permeated the vicinity. A likely
conclusion suggested by this account would be that the
explosion or fire was caused by gasoline dripping from
the tank which was ignited by an electrical spark from
the energizing of either the blower or the bilge pump.
There is, however, only the most speculative testimony
in this case concerning the condition of the pump and
blower, that is, whether or not they were operational,
whether they were explosion proof, and whether the wires
connecting this gear to their respective starter switches
were in good condition.

A second theory as to the source of the spark was
advanced and developed at the trial. There is evidence
that plaintiff had planned to install a new voltage regula-
tor in the engine compartment on the TOPAZ.° Plaintiff
testified that the voltage regulator had been malfunction-
ing when he had used the boat on one or more occasions,
that he had removed the cover from the voltage regulator
on May 30, when he was last aboard the vessel prior to
the date of the explosion and that the cover had never
been replaced. He also testified that on June 9 he had
brought a new voltage regulator with him in order to
replace the faulty one. There is further evidence in the
record from other witnesses to the effect that a voltage
regulator was seen on the deck near the port side of the
engine hatch on June 9, and that it was still there the
following day.’ However, plaintiff denied actually working
on the voltage regulator on the day of the casualty and
asserted that the voltage regulator was never taken from
his car.

6. Deposition of Robert Young at 42.

7. Deposition of Williams at 22-23; testimony of Surveyor Rob-
erts.

aT
We

Lar Bi as oe? Pte reiatie ire a ee

17

To lend credence to the theory that plaintiff set off
the explosion by causing a spark while replacing the
voltage regulator in the engine compartment, there is
evidence in the record as to the nature of plaintiff's ex-
tensive injuries as well as evidence of probable location
of the greatest concentration of flames on the boat. The
most severe burns which plaintiff received were on his
face, arms, shoulders, thighs and knees; that is, on the
front portion of his body extending from his head to his
knees.”

Testimony and exhibits further establish that the great-
est concentration of flames emanated from the engine
space which is located below the deck and reached
through a hatch immediately aft of the cabin door. Mr.
Cliff Williams, one of the persons who assisted in ex-
tinguishing the fire, testified that the main source of
flames was from the engine hatch.’ The plaintiff likewise
indicated this to be a major source of fire, testifying that
he tried to leave the cabin after starting the pump and
blower and hearing the explosion, but was blocked by
a “wall of flame” immediately outside the door.’® In line
with such testimony, plaintiff's expert, Mr. Lynn Mc-
Waters, a consulting chemical engineer and certified
marine chemist, testified that the area most severely
damaged by the fire was the starboard side of the engine
compartment. There is further proof to the effect that,
considering the relatively minor amount of burn damage

8. Testimony of Robert Young on cross-examination by Mr. Ross;
deposition of Williams at 28-29.

9. Deposition of Williams at 30.

‘ 10. Testimony of Robert Young on cross-examination by Mr.
Oss,

Retisitiiiceinte rere cict atest

18

shown to have occurred aboard the TOPAZ, although
the initial burst of flame was of great intensity, the dura-
tion of the fire was very short.’' The suggested conclusion
which the defense urges should be reached from an analy-
sis of this evidence is that the plaintiff was not in the
cabin when the fire or explosion occurred, bu* was stand-
ing or squatting over the open engine hatch changing a
voltage regulator and, while so occupied, he struck a
spark in some manner which ignited the gasoline.”*

B.

SOURCE OF THE FUEL

It is the plaintiff's thesis in this lawsuit that the source
of gasoline which fueled the fire causing his injuries was
the leaking gas tank on the TOPAZ which Surveyor
Roberts and personnel at Clear Lake should have de-
tected and corrected. The plaintiff's testimony that he
felt gasoline dripping from the bottom of the gas tank
shortly before the fire has been vigorously challenged
by Surveyor Roberts who related that it is physically
impossible for a person to reach or feel the bottom of
the gas tank from a position on the deck. According to
Roberts the only way such an examination of the tank
could be made without removing the tank would be to
lie prone in the bilges.

There is further testimony contradictory of plaintiff's
version. Surveyor Roberts testified that his original survey
of the TOPAZ including visual inspection of the gas tank
and all attachments, during which he crawled into the

11. Testimony of Dr. Gary Fisher.
12. Deposition of Williams at 27-31.

2008 OOO RNB: ——

EEA LM EN DTI TED, Ben) Ure i NE BT td nate Ona Te « ANSI

19

bilges of the vessel and examined the bottom of the tank.
He found no significant corrosion or damage to the tank
which would evidence a leak, and, indeed, he found no
leak. Both Surveyor Roberts and Mr. Gerald Holderby
employed by Clear Lake testified that on or about June
13, some three or four days subsequent to the fire, they
conducted a hydrostatic test of the gas tank in its cradle
and still found no leakage. In order to make the test,
they had to fill the remaining space in the tank with
water which took approximately a half hour. A full tank
of mixed gas and water remained after the test was per-
formed.

The plaintiff's expert, Marine Surveyor Lynn McWa-
ters also looked into this aspect, and his testimony casts
the record into a state of irreconcilable confusion. Al-
though the written report of his findings was not offered
into evidence, McWaters related that he examined the
gas tank on board the TOPAZ on July 26, over six weeks
after the casualty, and physically removed the tank from
the vessel on August 2. He thereupon drained the tank
which was approximately two-thirds full of gasoline, and
transported it by truck to his testing laboratory in Hous-
ton where he filled it with water. Rust was then scraped
from the outer surface of the tank, and a small leak
appeared, indicating to McWaters that the interior of the
tank had rusted or corroded.

If Mr. McWaters is to be believed, then other testimony
at the trial is necessarily cast in jeopardy. The reverse
is also true. Either no hydrostatic testing was done by
Mr. Holderby and Surveyor Roberts on June 13, or at
some time between June 13 and July 26, a quantity of
gasoline found its way into the tank. Otherwise, it could
not be two-thirds full of fuel when examined by Mr.

Y aaa ESE

rE ~

20

McWaters. It is equally evident that plaintiff's own ex-
amination of the tank on June 9, the day of the fire, can
only have been less than conclusive, if it is in truth physi-
cally impossible to touch the bottom of the tank from
any position on the deck of the TOPAZ as indicated by
the testimony of Surveyor Roberts. The Court is thus
left with unchallenged evidence only that the tank did
leak some six weeks after the explosion and fire, after
it was removed from the TOPAZ, after it was hauled
some miles in a pickup truck from LaPorte to the testing
laboratory on Harrisburg Boulevard in Houston, and after
it was filled with water and scraped.

Were it necessary to dissect each and every facet of
asserted causation in order to resolve the issue of liability
in this case, the multiple problems on credibility would
be virtually insurmountable. Fortunately, when all of the
proof is fairly assessed, it becomes evident that it is un-
necessary to resolve the hotly disputed issue as to whether
or not the gas tank leaked on June 9, 1966, the date
of the fire. This is so because there is a significant inter-
vening period of time after the Young brothers took
delivery and assumed custody and control of the vessel
from Clear Lake and the date of the casualty. By that
date Robert and Jack Young had already been using the
TOPAZ for over a month on business and pleasure
cruises and had burned almost 150 gallons of gasoline
in operating its single engine without any semblance of
a leak in the gasoline tank or any where else on board.
The critical point in time as concerns the liability of the
various defendants thus becomes May 7, 1966, the date
that the repair work of Clear Lake was accepted and
possession and control of the TOPAZ returned to the
plaintiff and his brother. Similarly, the tests and surveys

21

conducted on the vessel at various times subsequent to
the explosion and fire are also non-determinative, inas-
much as they fail to relate back to May 7 or even to
June 9, 1966, the date of the fire.

As for other testimony at the trial, there is a dearth
of persuasive evidence supportive of the size and nature
of the leakage allegedly found by the plaintiff. From
July 26 to August 2, six or seven weeks after the fire,
there was little or no leakage from the gas tank. The
small amount of change (one inch) in the level of gaso-
line in the tank was no more than that normally expected
from evaporation or from a discrepancy in measuring
or “sticking” the tank.’* Surveyor Roberts, Mr. Holderby
and Mr. Williams all testified that they smelled no gaso-
lines fumes after the explosion and fire. On the other
hand, Mr. Solomon testified that he could smell gas in
the bilge of the TOPAZ some time subsequent to the
explosion when he cleaned and washed the bilges, and
Jack Young, the plaintiff's brother, testified that there
were strong gas fumes present on the Saturday following
the fire. Obviously, these versions cannot be reconciled,
and the Court must look elsewhere in the proof.

Other factors militate in favor of little or no leakage
from the gas tank which can be causally related to the
casualty. The great weight of the evidence indicates a
fire of short duration, a flash fire accompanied by a dull
“thud” or “whoosh” rather than an actual explosion.*
This account is supported by the fact that the TOPAZ
was only slightly damaged by the fire."° The wooden

13. Deposition of McLaughlin at 52-54.
14. Testimony of Robert Young.
15. Photographs, Plaintiff’s exhibits 78 and 79.

torso

- . iredgien .

| RS
ae

Praeeiséornn: Ac ichte

22

cradle upon which the starboard side of the gas tank
rested, and which lay directly under the section of the
tank allegedly leaking, was virtually undamaged, as was
the padding between the tank and cradle. Little scorching
or blistering occurred on the painted surfaces of the vessel
in the vicinity of the gas tank. The tank did not explode
and showed no fire damage.’* The cumulative effect of
this proof weighs heavily against the existence of a leak
in the gas tank on June 9 or at any time prior thereto,
particularly the existence of a leak of such size that gaso-
line could be heard or felt dripping beneath the tank.

Speculation as to the source of the fuel which was
ignited is plentiful in the record of this case. Gasoline
could have been deposited in the bilge of the TOPAZ
as a consequence of spillage during refueling or perhaps
by leakage or overflow from the dual carburetors, the
latter being a common problem in the design and make
of the particular engine installed on the TOPAZ." AI-
though leakage or overflow from the dual carburetors
would provide only a very limited fuel source, perhaps
a teacup full of gasoline, the presence of this small
amount in a vaporous state and enclosed beneath the
deck of the vessel is viewed as entirely consistent with
the type of fire that occurred.**

A further complicating factor in determining the source
of the fuel is created by testimony that the TOPAZ,

16. Testimony of McWaters and Holderby.
17. Testimony of Mr. Holderby.

18. But see plaintiff’s exhibit 87, a speed memo from John Barnes
of Wm. H. McGee & Co., dated June 10, 1966, reporting on Sur-
veyor Roberts’ post-explosion examination of the TOPAZ:

Surveyor viewed boat today and reported all gasoline connec-
tions|,] fill lines and vents proper[;] however there was about
2” of gasoline in bilge.

23

similar to most Chris-Craft vessels of like design, nor-
mally lies afloat somewhat down by the head, that is,
with the bow section of the vessel lower in the water
than the stern.’ Thus, assuming that there was gasoline
floating on the water in the bilge, it is suggested that
such water and gasoline could have passed through the
limberholes in both the longitudinal frame the (keelson)
and the transverse frames (the ribs), and thence toward
the bow. The argument is made that this accounts for
the presence of flames coming through the deck of the
cabin and the amount of fire damage which resulted in
the cabin. However, in all fairness this situation might
also be urged to account for the presence of minimal
damage in the vicinity of the gas tank, well astern of
the cabin, even if the tank were thought to be leaking.

This Court finds itself confounded in its efforts to
forge solid links in a chain of credible, consistent and
conclusory proof as to how this casualty occurred.*® How-
ever, it is not alone in this respect. Captain Eugene

20. The record is replete with antithesis of which these are ex-
amples: The plaintiff testified that he leaned down from the deck to
feel gasoline dripping from the tank; Surveyor Roberts stated that
such an act is physically impossible. Three witnesses were sure they
smelled no gasoline after the fire; two others did smell fumes around
the same time. Cliff Williams could recall some five years later a
voltage regulator and Delco-Remy box aboard the TOPAZ on June
9, 1966; Robert Young could recall never having taken the purchased
voltage regulator on the TOPAZ. A hydrostatic test was performed
on the gas tank by Surveyor Roberts and Mr. Holderby, about June
12, 1966, by filling the remaining space in the tank with water in
an abortive effort to force gasoline out through the vent line; a full
tank remained after the test; yet on August 2, 1966, Mr. McWaters
again drained the same 45 gallon tank of 25 to 30 gallons of gasoline
before performing a similar hydrostatic test which revealed a damp
area on the tank.

19. Testimony of Surveyor Roberts.

Papaee oY) ]

Preicdverxs Pad

24

McLaughlin, a yacht broker and marine surveyor, testi-
fied that he could not determine the cause of the fire.*'
Surveyor Roberts testified similarly. Mr. Bill Jones, a
yacht man of some 35 years experience and also a marine
surveyor, testified that he could venture no opinion as to
the cause of the fire. Mr. Gerald Holderby, president and
past general manager of Clear Lake Yacht Basin, ven-
tured an opinion as to gasoline leakage or spillage from
the dual carburetors of the TOPAZ, but he equivocated
later in his testimony, stating that gasoline could have
come from a number of places. Surveyor Lynn McWaters
ventured an opinion that the spark could have emanated
from the fathometer cable, which was heavily burned,
but he agreed that other sources were also present.

When all is said and done including the careful weigh-
ing of the credibility of the witnesses in this case, the
conclusion to be reached is that the plaintiff simply has
not met his burden of proof. He has failed to demonstrate
by a preponderance of the evidence that the alleged dere-
lictions of one or more defendants contributed to cause
the fire and explosion; instead, a record has emerged
from this trial which is replete with confusion and con-
tradiction. Under these circumstances, this Court, there-
fore, does not feel warranted in selecting any one of the
various theories of causation brought out in the testimony, ©
as none fairly stands up under scrutiny. To the contrary,
certain other evidentiary matters are clear and can be
reliably used in reaching a result.

The Court does find that the explosion and fire were
proximately caused by some act, event or condition
initiated by the plaintiff while the vessel was in his ex-

21. Deposition of McLaughlin at 68.

eee ————e

25

clusive control and possession.** The Court does find that
the gasoline tank did not leak on or before May 7, 1966,
at which time the plaintiff and/or Company inspected and
accepted the repair work performed by Clear Lake, and
took possession of the TOPAZ. On the basis of the testi-
mony of the plaintiff himself and his brother, the Court
does find that the gasoline tank did not leak while in
their possession and under their control after May 7 and
before June 9, 1966. However, this Court does not make
a finding as to whether the gasoline tank leaked on the
date of the fire, June 9, 1966, and, indeed, it is unneces-
sary to do so in order to resolve this case. The absence
of further findings of fact as to the source of the fuel
is not determinative of this suit, inasmuch as recovery
against all defendants must necessarily be denied, even
assuming, arguendo, that all facts occurring on the date
of the casualty and thereafter were found exactly as
alleged by plaintiff.

Il.
THE NEGLIGENCE OF THE PLAINTIFF

If, it is assumed, arguendo, that the plaintiff, in fact,
did no work on the voltage regulator or any other wiring
on the TOPAZ, and it is further assumed, as plaintiff
alleges, that the spark was caused by some defect in the

22. Plaintiff has repeatedly tried to establish some legal connec-
tion between Clear Lake Yacht Basin and Boat Town Marina, to
support his contention (1) that Boat Town conducted or should have
conducted periodic checks on all vessels berthed at that facility and
(2) that Clear Lake is responsible for the failure of the Boat Town
attendant to discover gasoline fumes on June 9, 1966. The Court
finds, on the evidence presented, that the two were separate business
entities (testimony of Mr. Holderby), and that in any event the
TOPAZ was in the possession and control of the Youngs, rather than
the Boat Town personnel.

Peinates icons: siiitd aialeboanisierved 3

DA SORE EP NEP TES TDS

26

wiring or switches of the bilge pump or blower, plaintiff's
actions were so patently wrong that this Court must con-
clude his own negligence proximately caused the explo-
sion and fire. No reasonably prudent man acting under
the same or similar circumstances, that is, a man board-
ing a vessel absolutely reeking with the odor of gasoline,
and then hearing and feeling gasoline drip from the gas
tank, would proceed to activate any electrical apparatus.
This is so, even if the electrical gear was in perfect work-
ing order, given the attendant and foreseeable risk of
generating a spark from such equipment which could
ignite the heavy concentration of gas fumes, cf. In re
Reading, 169 F.Supp. 165 (N.D.N.Y. 1958), aff'd, 271
F.2d 959, 1960 A.M.C. 214 (2d Cir. 1959). Plaintiff's
own testimony reflects beyond question that he knew and
fully appreciated the danger of explosion or fire before
he pulled the switches to activate the electric blower and
the electric bilge pump.

Ill.

THE REASONS FOR NON-LIABILITY OF THE
DEFENDANTS

Notwithstanding plaintiff's failure to prove by a pre-
ponderance the causative facts of the explosion and fire,
and irrespective of this Court’s conclusion that plaintiff's
negligence was the proximate cause of the occurrence,
there are other strong factors which preclude the directing
of a recovery in favor of plaintiff against any of the de-
fendants in this case. Normally, under such circumstances,
the Court would go no further in making its findings.
However, since the opinions and conclusions arrived at
are the composite result of plaintiff's inability to meet his

a a nace

27

burden of persuasion as well as the result of affirmative
findings distilled from the other evidence including the
making of credibility choices, where necessary, this Court
feels obligated to rule as well on the specific theories of
liability advanced by the plaintiff against the various
defendants.

A.
CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC.

Plaintiff alleges that, in making repairs to the TOPAZ,
Clear Lake warranted that the TOPAZ, including the
gas tank, was reasonably fit for the purpose for which it
was intended, that it was free of defects and that this war-
ranty was breached.

This Court cannot find that Clear Lake made any
general warranty of fitness or freedom from defect, either.
express or implied. First, Clear Lake was not hired to
survey the vessel and make all repairs necessary to place
such vessel in a seaworthy condition. Clear Lake was
hired to make certain specific repairs on the TOPAZ, as
listed in the survey report of Surveyor Roberts and as
supplemented by independent requests for certain hull
repairs by the Company or the Young brothers, cited
supra. Not included in the specific work order and not
authorized or ordered separately were testing, repair or
replacement of the gas tank. Even assuming, arguendo,
that some duty developed upon the repairman to advise
the owner of the TOPAZ that the gas tank was leaking
or would probably leak, the evidence established, and this
Court so finds, that the gas tank was not leaking while
in the possession and control of Clear Lake. Nor was
the tank in such a deteriorated condition that normally

Mere?
wyage

Etnitietle Hh Ds te CRER Bie ae mn

StS i aac vr met 4
Pittitcetsricsiire. APES Laas sos Wed Bia Rede OLE

SES Se CENTER DE aa? Si

28

careful observation would indicate a defect likely to occur
in the future. Plaintiffs’ own testimony is that he never
requested or authorized any work to be done on the gas
tank, nor did he ever have any reason to suspect that
such work should be done prior to the date of the explo-
sion. No witness testified to the presence of gasoline
fumes or leaks prior to June 9, more than thirty days
after the TOPAZ left Clear Lake’s facilities on May 7.
The fire occurred approximately a month after the second
examination of the vessel by Surveyor Roberts, after
acceptance by the Young Brothers and the Company of
all repairs done by Clear Lake and after repeated use
of the vessel by one or both of them for various pleasure
and business excursions. The vessel was and had been
for sometime under the exclusive control and possession
of the Company and the Young brothers. Under the evi-
dence presented at the trial of this case, there is no
legally sound way for this Court to find that any defect
in the TOPAZ or her appurtenances that might have
existed on or after June 9, 1966, also existed on or before
May 7, 1966, or that any such defect should have been
discovered by Clear Lake. Cf. The Wheeler-Shipyard Hull
No. 304, 1 F.Supp. 402 (E.D.N.Y. 1932).

If it is assumed, as this Court believes it must, that no
traceable defect in the TOPAZ existed for Clear Lake
to discover and repair, then it must necessarily follow
that Clear Lake cannot be held liable to the plaintiff.
However, it is also a general rule that an independent
Contractor such as Clear Lake cannot be held liable for
injuries resulting from defects traceable to such contrac-
tor’s failure to satisfactorily complete his repairs, once
the owner of the vessel has accepted the work and taken
possession and the defect is observable to the owner

29

upon a reasonable inspection. See Hartford v. Coolidge-
Locher Co., 314 S.W.2d 445 (Tex.Civ.App.—San An-
tonio 1958, no writ), 27 Am. Jur. 2d, Independent Con-
tractors § 49 (1968). Although this theoretical alternative
is not factually relevant here, the legal result is the same.
Clear Lake can have no liability to the plaintiff on a
warranty or a negligence theory.

Lastly, the claims alleged by plaintiff against Clear
Lake based upon the warranty of seaworthiness are legally
invalid, inasmuch as the warranty is (1) a nondelegable
duty of the shipowner, and is (2) extended only to sea-
men and those shore-based workers who perform work
traditionally done by seamen, Seas Shipping Co. v.
Sieracki, 327 U.S. 85 (1946); Mahnich v. Southern S.S.
Co., 321 U.S. 96 (1944). Clear Lake is not the vessel
owner and does not stand in the position of any other
who owes the warranty such as an owner pro hac vice;
the plaintiff is not a seaman and, upon the evidence before
this Court, cannot be said to be engaged in work tradi-
tionally performed by seamen. The TOPAZ was a pri-
vate pleasure craft. It was used in such a manner at
all times material to this suit, and it did not have a
crew. Although it was manned by either Robert or Jack
Young or both, whenever it was operated, their “sporadic
contacts for brief periods of time” aboard the TOPAZ
fall far short of meeting the criteria established to place
them in a position to enjoy the status of seamen, Labit
v. Carey Salt Co., 421 F.2d 1333 (Sth Cir. 1970);
Offshore Co. v. Robison, 266 F.2d 769 (Sth Cir. 1959)
and cases cited therein.

These findings by the Court resolve the question of
whether the warranty of seaworthiness is owed by any
defendant to the plaintiff herein, since the plaintiff simply

RADE eR =a

t PRR RAKE ice

30

cannot qualify to be characterized as falling within the
class of persons protected by such a warranty. That being
so, it is unnecessary to resolve the question of owner-
ship of the yacht TOPAZ as it relates to the issue of
seaworthiness.

B.

SECURITY INSURANCE COMPANY
OF NEW HAVEN

A policy of insurance was issued to Jack A. Young by
Wm. H. McGee & Co. which is the general agent and
marine manager in Texas for Security Insurance Co. of
New Haven. Under the provisions of this policy written
on a Security Pleasure Purpose Yacht Form, the hull
of the TOPAZ was insured for $2,600 and the Protec-
tion and Indemnity Insurance coverage insured Jack
Young against liability for loss of life and bodily injury,
with coverage as to any one person limited to $50,000.

Plaintiff contends that the issuance by McGee of
Security’s insurance policy constituted an express or im-
plied warranty by Security that the TOPAZ was reason-
ably fit as a yacht and was therefore seaworthy for all
purposes. This contention is overly broad and obscures
the true legal relationship. An underwriter, by request-
ing and receiving a condition and valuation survey as
well as a report that survey recommendations had been
met, and by issuing a policy on the vessel predicated upon
such survey information, can be said to have admitted
seaworthiness of the yacht for insurance purposes. In
short, the vessel is found to be insurable by the insuror
vis-a-vis the insured pursuant to policy conditions. How-
ever, these acts of the underwriter do not constitute any

2 Lie ARI LIBEL OTR AY TS

31

warranty of seaworthiness analogous to that owed by a
shipowner to seamen or any other category of person
including the plaintiff who may see fit to fashion such a
remedy.

Inasmuch as Security can therefore only be liable
under the policy to the extent that its assured, Jack
Young, is liable, his status requires examination. For rea-
sons discussed in detail in section C, infra, this Court
finds that Jack Young is not liable to the plaintiff under
any theory advanced in this lawsuit. Accordingly, Se-
curity has no liability to plaintiff under the policy in
question as a consequence of the activities or status of
Jack Young.

No contention has been made that Security committed
any tort, either negligent or intentional, whether by mis-
feasance or nonfeasance. It has been urged, however,
that Surveyor Roberts, in performing his survey, acted as
an agent of Security, that he was negligent and that his
negligence should be imputed to Security. This Court
finds from the evidence, however, that Surveyor Roberts
was not an agent of Security and that he was, instead, an
independent contractor, engaged either by Jack Young
or Robert Young to perform a condition and valuation
survey for insurance and appraisal purposes. Robert
Young testified that Surveyor Roberts was recommended
by Mr. Ralph Zinnecker, Assistant Manager of Clear
Lake, to make the survey. Jack Young testified that Billy
Gilbert, then employed by Wm. H. McGee & Co., rec-
ommended Surveyor Roberts.** Assuming, arguendo, that
Mr. Gilbert of Wm. H. McGee & Co. did recommend
Roberts from an approved list of marine surveyors, this

23. See also deposition of Billy Gilbert at 18.

Beiset cr ccns ne

32

Court can only conclude that Surveyor Roberts was actual-
ly hired by the insured, Jack Young,”* and was not in any
legal sense an agent of Security.

One of the prime elements necessary to establish an
agency relationship is “the existence of some degree of
control by the principal over the conduct and activities
of the agent.” 3 Am. Jur. 2d, Agency, § 2 (1962). Courts
have construed this rule to mean that, even though a
principal employs another to achieve a certain result, if
the principal has no right of control over the manner
and method by which that result is reached, then the
negligence of the actor is not imputed to the principal,
Walter Irvin, Inc. v. Vogel, 158 S.W.2d 93 (Tex. Civ.
App.—Amarillo 1942, writ ref'd w.o.m.); Restatement of
the Law Second; Agency § 250 at 549 (1958). Cf. News-
papers, Inc, v. Love, 380 S.W.2d 582 (Tex. Sup. 1964).
In the instant case, there was merely a recommendation
made by an employee of Wm. H. McGee & Co. that
Surveyor Roberts would be a competent marine sur-
veyor. Security Insurance Co. did not hire Surveyor
Roberts and did not pay his fee;*° it had no right to, and,
in fact did not, exercise any control over the manner
and mode of Roberts’ performance of the survey. Simi-
larly, Wm. H. McGee & Co., through which Security
acted, is an independent contractor over which Security
exercises no control. This is particularly so in connec-
tion with marine insurance matters in which McGee acts
as insurance manager, rather than agent for Security.

24. Testimony of Surveyor Roberts; see deposition of Billy Gil-
bert at 67-68.

25. It was agreed that McGee would pay Surveyor Roberts’ fee
if McGee wrote insurance coverage on the TOPAZ.

2 DS he NP RON PE A DAR ACIS al AOE TS .
a
hie

33

Security, therefore, is not chargeable with the liability for
any of McGee’s actions.

Contrary to another of plaintiff's contentions, and irre-
spective of the actual ownership of the yacht TOPAZ,
Security is not liable under its policy issued to Jack
Young for any duties owed to the plaintiff by Young
Furniture Mfg. Co. It is Jack Young, individually, and
not the Company that is the assured. There is testi-
mony to the effect that Wm. H. McGee would not have
written insurance for a corporation on a Yacht Form in
return for a pleasure purpose premium rate, since the
potential liabilities of the corporation were much greater
than those in situations where an individual is concerned.*°
In short, a larger premium would have been charged to
the corporate client. This Court cannot find any basis
in the record justifying reformation of the policy so as
to obligate Security to insure the Company, absent a
showing that the named assured was so designated as
a matter of mutual mistake, particularly since reforma-
tion in this case would extend the risks covered by the
insurer without any consideration for such an extension,
J. Appleman, 4A Insurance Law & Practice § 2914 at
649 (1969). See also, J. Appleman, 13 Insurance Law
& Practice § 7618 at 390-91 (1943).

Finally, this Court finds that Robert Young compro-
mised and settled his claim for personal injuries result-
ing from the explosion and fire aboard the TOPAZ
by his endorsement of Wm. H. McGee & Co.’s settle-
ment draft in the amount of one thousand dollars, which
draft reads:

26. Testimony of John Barnes.

Bee

Pee ABET a 5 EE a a. Biren ea te 3 ‘ ehas. L
= GEESE

34

being in full payment and satisfaction of all claims
and demands for loss, damage or expense for: All
losses and/or personal injuries sustained from fire
and/or explosion of subject vessel.

His acceptance of the same in a case such as this where
liability is disputed, notwithstanding the attempt to vary
the terms of the draft by unilaterally marking through
certain portions of the material quoted, supra,”" operates
as a bar to further claims on the assured or his insurer,
Groves v. Sawyer, 384 S.W.2d 193 (Tex. Civ. App.—
Eastland 1964, writ ref'd n.r.e.).

C.

JACK A. YOUNG AND YOUNG FURNITURE
MANUFACTURING CO.

Plaintiff alleges that either Jack Young or the Con-
pany is the owner of the TOPAZ, and that the party found
to be the owner by the Court is liable to plaintiff for
breach of the warranty to furnish a seaworthy vessel.
Plaintiff further contends that if Jack Young is found
to own the TOPAZ, then the Company should be con-
strued to occupy the position of bareboat charterer or
owner pro hac vice. This Court has already discussed
and ruled on the question of the doctrine of seaworthiness
and its inapplicability to this plaintiff for reasons inde-
pendent of any ownership question, section A, supra.
Such discussion and ruling are dispositive of the issue.

No allegations have been made that Jack Young was
negligent, and no evidence has been presented which
could support such an allegation. This Court therefore

27. See defendant Security’s exhibit 1.

35

finds that Jack Young has breached no duties owed to
the plaintiff, nor has he in any manner contributed to
plaintiff's injuries.

It is contended that Young Furniture Mfg. Co., Inc.
owed a duty to the plaintiff to furnish him a safe place
to work as he cleaned and serviced the TOPAZ in prepa-
ration for the entertaining of clients of the Company.
If any such legal duties are theoretically owed to sea-
men or land-based marine workers by the Company under
the facts of this case, they are clearly inapplicable to
the plaintiff who does not qualify under either category.
The only possible relationship between the Company
and the plaintiff, a company executive officer, which is
conceivably productive of such a duty is that of employer-
employee, breach of which is compensable under the
Texas Workmen’s Compensation Act. The pre-trial order
and the final judgment of the State Court** filed in this
case establish that plaintiff made a claim in state court
against the compensation carrier for Young Furniture
Mfg. Co., his employer, which claim was settled during
the trial thereof, but before the issue had gone to. the
jury.” This recovery, accepted as a full and final settle-
ment, precludes any further recovery by the plaintiff from
the Company, Huckabay v. Hughes Tool Co., 122 S.W.2d
233 (Tex. Civ. App.—Galveston 1938, writ dism’d); see
Lotspeich v. Chance Vought Aircraft, 369 S.W.2d 705

28. Defendant Clear Lake’s exhibit 4.

29. Plaintiff recovered in settlement the total sum of $32,500 less
attorney’s fees, of which Utica Mutual Insurance Company paid
$16,500, and J. R. Martin, Jr., Robinson & Company, and All Risk
Insurance Agency, jointly and severally, paid $16,000. Intervenors in
this lawsuit are subrogated insurors, and have intervened in an effort

+ recover such payments out of any judgment awarded to the plain-
tll.

Rate oes pei Diesireriz’s

Si a i a ee ee a

36

(Tex. Civ. App.—Dallas 1963, writ ref'd n.r.e.). Further-
more, this Court finds that the Company was not negli-
gent and that it in no way contributed to the plaintiff's
injuries.
D.
SURVEYOR JACK ROBERTS

Although this Court has already treated and dismissed
the contention of plaintiff that an agency relationship
exists between Security and Surveyor Roberts out of which
the liability of either party to plaintiff ensues, there re-
mains for consideration plaintiff's alleged cause of action
against Roberts individually. Specifically, plaintiff con-
tends that both the initial marine survey of the TOPAZ
and the re-examination and report prepared subsequent
to the completion of vessel repairs by Clear Lake con-
stituted an express or implied warranty by Roberts that
the TOPAZ would be reasonably fit for the purpose for
which it was intended when all recommended repairs
had been completed.

As was the situation in the case of Clear Lake, it is
impossible from the record of the trial of this case to
find that Surveyor Roberts’ actions were a proximate
cause of plaintiff's injuries. The negligence of the plain-
tiff, the intervening period of time subsequent to the
completion of repairs and relinquishment of custody by
Clear Lake, the use for pleasure to which the vessel was
put by the Young brothers during such time plus a total
lack of proof in a confused record as to causal facts link-
ing this marine surveyor to the casualty compel this
Court to find no liability against this defendant.

Although liability cannot be affixed against Surveyor
Roberts under the facts of this case, the relationship of

37

a marine surveyor to the growing number of people own-
ing pleasure boats is worthy of note. As in any profession
calling for the exercise of judgment and expertise, there
are no rigid guidelines for marine surveyors covering all
situations. Yet common sense as well as the law dictate
that there is a level of performance below which a sur-
veyor cannot go and escape exposure to liability where,
contrary to the present case, such performance can be
proven to be causally related to the casualty.

Surveyor Roberts is a marine surveyor of some eighteen
years experience, much of his work being in the pleasure
craft field. His testimony in this case reflects that the
type of marine survey which is performed in a given
instance varies greatly with the situation. For example,
a vessel which was being purchased would normally be
given a thorough examination, and a survey report setting
out in detail all defects and potential hazards would be
issued. On the other hand, a survey for insurance purposes
on a vessel already purchased by the person requesting
the survey would be, by comparison, rather limited in
scope and duration.*° The survey conducted on the TO-
PAZ was of the latter variety, taking some three hours
from start to finish including travel time which was esti-
mated to be 1% to 2 hours. Recognizing that this Court
has found no casual relationship between Surveyor Rob-
erts’ actions and this plaintiff's accident, the question
might well be asked by a layman as to whether a thorough
survey could be made upon a vessel of the size, age and
condition of the TOPAZ in the space of an hour to an
hour and a half.

30. Direct testimony of Surveyor Roberts when called as a wit-
ness for defendants.

38

Surveyor Roberts further testified that of the three to
five marine surveyors in this area who specialize in a
yacht practice, most conform to the same standards which
he himself seeks to apply to his surveys, namely the
National Fire Protection Association release No. 302
(1966).** Although no specific provisions contained in
this manual were alluded to at the trial, it is obvious
from a review of this exhibit that the Fire Protection
Standard for Motor Craft is a high one:

The purpose of this Standard is to provide guidance
for the prevention of fuel leakage, the elimination
of possible sources of vapor ignition from particu-
larly dangerous locations, the provision of adequate
means for keeping vital areas ventilated at all times,
the avoidance of unnecessary use of combustible
materials in exposed locations and the provision of
proper fire extinguishing equipment.

(Introduction, plaintiff's Exhibit 123).

A marine surveyor, particularly one who engages in
the burgeoning pleasure boat field where the majority of
boat owners are not educated and experienced mariners,
performs an indispensable service, often a life-saving serv-
ice, to his clientele. Whether the survey be conducted for
insurance purposes or for the purchase or sale of a vessel,
this examination may be, in all likelihood, the only one
made by an experienced hand. The landlocked public
perhaps can rely on workmen to inspect and repair most
major household appliances and not be placed in jeopardy of
serious injury or death, at least in the majority of in-
stances, in the event that the repairman inspects in a
cursory manner or performs substandard work. But reli-

31. Plaintiff’s exhibit 123.

39

ance by laymen on such skilled professionals as marine
surveyors to inspect and advise as to pleasure boats with
their sophisticated machinery, high powered engines and
other gear must be said to be of a different caliber, one
of which the law must take cognizance in a proper case.
“There are few other uses of petroleum fuels by the
public in which the fire and explosion hazards parallel
those possible in motor craft.”*”

IV.

The Court having found against the plaintiff and for
the defendants on the liability issues, it becomes unneces-
sary to explore and pass upon the issues of damages and
intervention. The above constitute this Court’s Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law. Counsel will submit
within twenty (20) days a proposed Order consistent
with this Memorandum. Clerk will notify counsel.

Done at Houston, Texas, this 19th day of January,
1972.
Signed:

CARL O. BUE

United States District Judge
True Copy I Certify

By: MILDRED THOMAS,
Deputy Clerk

32. Introduction, plaintiff’s exhibit 123.

De eT th

40

APPENDIX B

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

October Term, 1972

No. 72-2967
Summary Calendar

D. C. Docket No. CA 68-H-489

ROBERT B. YOUNG,
Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross Appellee,

versus

CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC., et al,
Defendants-Appellees,

UTICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,
ALL RISK INSURANCE AGENCY and
MICHIGAN MILLERS MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Intervenors-Appellees-Cross Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas

Before BELL, GODBOLD and INGRAHAM, Circuit
Judges.

Skea
SE

41
JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of
the record from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, and was taken under sub-
mission by the Court upon the record and briefs on file,
pursuant to Rule 18;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of said District Court in this cause be, and the same is
hereby, affirmed;

It is further ordered that plaintiff-appellant-cross appel-
lee pay to defendants-appellees the costs on appeal to be
taxed by the Clerk of this Court.

March 7, 1973

Issued as Mandate:

42

APPENDIX C

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 72-2967
Summary Calendar

(Filed April 6, 1973)

ROBERT B. YOUNG,
Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross Appellee,

versus

CLEAR LAKE YACHT BASIN, INC., et al,
Defendants-Appellees,

UTICA MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY,
ALL RISK INSURANCE AGENCY and
MICHIGAN MILLERS MUTUAL
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Intervenors-Appellees-Cross Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(April 6, 1973)

43

Before BELL, GODBOLD and INGRAHAM, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed
in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the
same is hereby denied.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0583%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
