# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Hatton v. Brennan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0492%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 826

## Text

3u the Supreme Court of the Wnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1973

No. 72-1583

Jim HATTON INDIVIDUALLY AND D/B/A AIR CONTROL
ENGINEERING COMPANY, PETITIONER

V.

PETER J. BRENNAN, SECRETARY OF LABOR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-5)
is reported at 474 F.2d 9. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 5-13) is reported at 348 F.Supp. 895.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on February 27, 1973. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on May 25, 1973. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the definition of covered enterprise in
Sections 3(r) and 3(s) of the Fair Labor Standards Act
of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 203(r) and (s)) excludes from the cov-

(1)

2

erage of the Act employers who are engaged in only one
business.

2. Whether an employer who has “employees han-
dling * * * or otherwise working on goods that have
been moved in * * * [interstate] commerce” is exempt
from enterprise coverage under Section 3(s) by reason
of the fact that his employees are not engaged in inter-
state commerce or in the production of goods for inter-
state commerce.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the Fair Labor Standards
Act of 1938, 52 Stat. 1060, as amended, 29 U.S.C. 201
et seq., are set forth in the petition at pp. 3-5.

STATEMENT

The Secretary of Labor brought this action under Section
17 of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C.
217) to enjoin petitioner from violating the Act’s mini-
mum wage, overtime, and recordkeeping provisions,
and from continuing to withhold unpaid wages due to his
employees (A. 3-7).! The district court dismissed the
complaint without reaching the merits, on the ground
that the employees were not covered by the Act
(A. 16). The court of appeals reversed, upholding the
Secretary’s position that petitioner’s business is a cov-
ered enterprise within the definition of Section 3(s) of
the Act (Pet. App. 5).

Petitioner is engaged in Texas in the installation and
maintenance of air conditioning and heating systems,

“A.” references are to the appendix filed in the court of appeals.
We are lodging a copy of that appendix with the Clerk. “Pet. App.”
refers to the appendix to the petition for certiorari which petitioner
has filed under separate cover.

3

including duct work, in new and in occupied residen-
tial structures (Pet. App. 6).2 Most of the parts used
in these operations are manufactured outside of Texas
and have moved in interstate commerce before reaching
petitioner (Pet. App. 11).

ARGUMENT

1. The court of appeals correctly held that “[peti-
tioner] is not exempt from the Act’s requirements solely
because it is engaged in only one business” (Pet. App.
2). As the court noted, the legislative purpose in adding
enterprise coverage to the scope of the Act in 1961 was
“to eliminate fragmentation” of the Act’s application
by which some employees in a business or establishment
had the protection of the Act and others who worked
side by side with them did not. S. Rep. No. 145, 87th
Cong., Ist Sess., p. 31. There is no reason why Congress
would have wished to eliminate such fragmentation
only in the special case of employees who work for
employers engaged in two or more industries. If anything,
the contrary intention is stated in the Committee Reports
of both Houses: “The bill’s approach is to treat as sep-
arate enterprises those businesses which are unrelated
to each other” (H. Rep. No. 75 (Fair Labor Standards
Amendments of 1961), 87th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 7; S.
Rep. No. 145, supra, p. 41).

It is plain also from the text of Sections 3(r) and 3(s)
of the Act that the 1961 Amendments contemplated
that single businesses would be subject to enterprise

*As the district court noted (Pet. App. 6), the Secretary claims
coverage of petitioner’s air conditioning business on the ground
that such a business is itself a covered enterprise. It is therefore
unnecessary to consider petitioner's other activities discussed
in the district court’s opinion (Pet. App. 8-10).

4

coverage. For example, Section 3(s), in defining covered
enterprises, refers expressly to “an enterprise” which
“(1)* * * is a gasoline service establishment” or “(2)
is engaged in laundering * * *,” or “(3) is engaged in
the business of construction” or “(4) is engaged in the
operation of a hospital.”

Accordingly, the courts have in a large number of
cases held businesses to be covered enterprises with-
out reference to any second business operated by the
same employer. E.g., Wirtz v. Melos Construction
Corp., 408 F. 2d 626 (C.A. 2); Shultz v. W. R. Hartin
& Son, Inc., 428 F. 2d 186 (C.A. 4); Brennan v.
Greene’s Propane Gas Service, 21 WH Cases 57,
71 CCH Lab. Cas. par. 32,907 (C.A. 5, No. 71-2339,
May 16, 1973); National Automatic Laundry and
Cleaning Council v. Shultz, 433 F. 2d 689 (C.A. D.C.);
Wirtz v. Allen Green & Associates, 379 F. 2d 198
(C.A. 6). Prior to its reversal, the instant district court
decision stood alone in holding a second business to be
required for enterprise coverage under the Act.

2. In holding that the commerce requirement of
Section 3(s) is satisfied by the “handling” of goods orig-
inating outside the State (Pet. App. 5), the court below
is in accord with the other courts of appeals which
have ruled on the issue. See Wirtz v. Melos Construction
Corp., supra, 408 F. 2d at 627-628 (C.A. 2); Clifton D.
Mayhew Inc. v. Wirtz, 413 F. 2d 658, 662 (C.A. 4);
see also Shultz v. Kip’s Big Boy, Iric., 431 F. 2d 530,
532-533 (C.A. 5).

That holding is correct. Section 3(s) defines covered
enterprises as “including [those having] employees
handling * * * goods that have been moved died
commerce,” and the courts below here found that “most
of the parts used by [petitioner's] employees in their

5

work ‘were manufactured outside of and had moved in
commerce getting to Texas’” (Pet. App. 5). The leg-
islative history of the Act confirms the plain meaning
of this statutory language. See Melos, supra, 408
F. 2d at 628-629; Mayhew, supra, 413 F. 2d at 662.
It shows a specific intention to extend the Act’s cover-
age to enterprises using goods originating out of the
State in recognition of “(t]he obvious economic fact
that demand for a product causes its interstate move-
ment quite as surely as does production” (see 107
Cong. Rec. 6236). In the House, this extension was
attacked as a “far reaching” provision which would
“subject to Federal regulation any entire enterprise
which has one or more employees, who handle, sell,
or otherwise work on goods ‘that have been moved or
produced for commerce * * *’” (107 Cong. Rec. 4631),
“notwithstanding the fact that the employees may not
be engaged in commerce or in the production of goods
for commerce in the traditional sense” (H. Rep. No. 75,
87th Cong., Ist Sess., “Minority Views,” p. 63). The
House then substituted a more limited definition of
enterprise coverage (107 Cong. Rec. 4797, 4812-4813).
In the Senate, however, the Committee Report urged
adoption of the original text (S. Rep. No. 145, 87th
Cong., Ist Sess., p. 3), and motions to substitute
more limited definitions omitting the “handling” pro-
vision were rejected (107 Cong. Rec. 6088-6089, 6243).
The “far reaching” definition retained in the Senate
bill was accepted in conference (Conf. Rep. to Ac-
company H.R. 3935, H. Rep. No. 327, 87th Cong.,

6

Ist Sess., pp. 2, 14-16) and enacted. That definition
was correctly applied here.?

CONCLUSION

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition
for a writ of certiorari shouid be denied.

RosBERT H. Bork,
Solicitor General.

WILLIAM J. KILBERG,
Solicitor,

CARIN ANN CLAUSS,
Associate Solicitor,

JacosB I. KARRO,
Altorney,
Department of Labor.

Jury 1973.

3In Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 188, the Supreme
Court stated that “the effect of the 1961 change was * * * not
to enlarge the class of employers subject to the Act”. As the Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit has pointed out, however, that
statement was addressed only to the portion of the 1961 amend-
ment which extended the Act's coverage to all employees of enter-
prises that had some employees engaged in commerce or in the
production of goods for commerce. It was “not directed to the
impact of the words concerning employees working with goods
that ‘have been moved in* * * commerce ****” (Melos,
supra, 408 F. 2d at 628, n. 5).

Pend part tia

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0492%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
