# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Farrell Lines, Inc. v. Rivera

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0448%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 414 U.S. 822

## Text

ALE Cory | "T}

MAY 10 197,

MICHAEL RODAK, JR,

—

InN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No VPel1S15

FARRELL LINES INCORPORATED,
Petitioner,

against

WILLIAM RIVERA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT ON BEHALF OF FARRELL
LINES INCORPORATED

Rosert A. Linty
Counsel for the Petitioner
17 Battery Place
New York, New York 10004

Rosert A. Linty
and

Steven L. Barkan
On the Petition

TABLE OF CONTENTS

NE TO 6 ono nn cnccenccneaseccsceecenecess
DO Tian ceisgewagaatoecdeudes sekae aeee hur
Questions Presented ......2...ccccvccssccscecscess
Constitutional Provision Involved ................
i i OT cca abenek okae kab ee bees
Reasons for Granting the Writ ....................
EE Vac ca Newumer eaneknn saan Rea ke aude we aie

APPENDIX :
Opinion of United States Court of Appeals ....

Decision of United States District Judge,
SE EE ca uukwauelcressnaceboen es

Judgment of the United States District Court ..

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Atlantic and Gulf Stevedore, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines,
Ltd., 369 U.S. 355, 7 L. Ed. 2d 798, 82 8. Ct. 780 ..
Dennis v. Denver Rio Grande Western Railroad Co.,
375 U.S. 208, 11 L.Ed. 2d 256, 84S. Ct. 291 ......

Fleming v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc.,
Cae ©. Oe EP Ce Cae. TIE) wo ccc vccccs

Pe WwW bd

15
16

aS _

li TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Lavender v. Kurn, 327 U.S. 645, 90 L.Ed. 916, 66 S. Ct.
SP cei Sp Rb vaciesaennskeasseueaeaiasekisas ue 4
McBride v. Loffund Brothers Co., 422 F.2d 363 (5th
WG: GU Fhe he see vascco ce nduiea ola ees 4

Other Authority:
Constitution of the United States, Amendment VII... 9

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No.

+
vw

FarreELL Lines INCORPORATED,

Petitioner,
against

Wriuiam Rivera,
Respondent.

2
-

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT ON BEHALF OF FARRELL
LINES INCORPORATED

Petitioner, Farrell Lines Incorporated, respectfully re-
quests that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit, entered in this proceeding on February 15, 1973,
reversing the judgment of the United States District Court
for the Southern District of New York.

Opinions Below

The judgment of the United States District Court, South-
em District of New York, was entered on January 13,
1972 and the memorandum decision of United States Dis-
triet Judge, Harold R. Tyler, which was duly made on Jan-
uary 11, 1972 denying respondent’s motion for a new trial,

gia wees

2

are printed in the appendix hereto, infra pages 15 and 16,
respectively. The opinion of the United States Circuit
Court of Appeals is printed in the appendix hereto, infra
pages 7-14.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit was entered on February 15, 1973,
This petition for certiorari has been served and filed
within 90 days of that date. The court’s jurisdiction is jn.
voked under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1) and Rule 19 (1b)
of the Rules of this Court.

Questions Presented

1, Did the United States Court of Appeals for the See.
ond Circuit effectively deny petitioner its right to a trial
by jury?

2. Did the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, by reversing the jury’s determination
and the decision of the trial judge, substitute its findings
of facts for that of the jury?

Constitutional Provision Involved

The Constitution of the United States, Amendment VII
provides:

“In suits at common law, where the value in contro.
versy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial
by jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury,
shall be otherwise reexamined in any court of the
United States, than according to the rules of the com-
mon law.”

Statement of the Case

The respondent in this case was a merchant seaman em-
ployed by the petitioner as a messman aboard the re-
spondent’s vessel, SS Arrican Sun. During the course
of his employment aboard said vessel, respondent sus-
tained personal injuries when he slipped and fell. He
claims that his accident occurred due to the presence of
water on the deck’s surface of the ship’s pantry. He al-
leged that water backed out of the drains in the deck caus-
ing the area to become slippery.

At the end of the trial, counsel for the respondent moved
for a directed verdict on the issue of contributory negli-
gence, arguing that this defense should be dismissed be-
cause of a failure of proof. That motion was denied.

The Trial Judge charged the jury and directed them to
return a general verdict. He submitted the following four
interrogatories for the jury to answer:

“1. Was there an unseaworthy condition in the crew
pantry on the date of the alleged accident?

2. Was the defendant negligent?

3. If your answer to one or two above, or both, is
yes, did such unseaworthy condition and/or negligence
play a part in bringing about the injury of which plain-
tiff here complains?

4. Was plaintiff guilty of contributory negligence
at the time in question?”’

A general verdict was returned in favor of the plaintiff
in the amount of $15,000. All of the interrogatories were
answered by the jury in the affirmative.

Respondent’s counsel was permitted to, and did, make
post-trial motions relating to the verdict as provided for
by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedures. After hearing

4

arguments on the motions, the Trial Judge filed a memoran.
dum decision denying the plaintiff’s motion for new trial,

The $15,000 judgment rendered by the District Court in
respondent’s favor was reversed by the Circuit Court of
Appeals. It being that Court’s view that there was not
enough evidence of contributory negligence in the record
to create a question for the jury.

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. The evidentiary requirements, upon which the jury
was to base its decision, were set forth by the trial court
in its charge. It has been previously held that where there
is an evidentiary basis for a jury’s verdict, a jury is free
to discard or disbelieve whatever facts are inconsistent with
its conclusion. Dennis v. Denver Rio Grande Western
Railroad Co., 375 U.S. 208, 11 L.Ed. 2d 256, 84 S.Ct.
291; Lavender v. Kurn, 327 US 645, 90 L.Ed. 916, 66 S.Ct.
740. An Appellate Court must not reverse the conclusion
of the jury except in the instance where there is a complete
absence of probative facts to support the conclusion
reached by the jury. It is only when there is that complete
absence of fact, that reversible error appears. Lavender
v. Kurn, supra; Dennis vy. Denver Rio Grande Western Rail-
road Co., supra; Fleming v. American Export Isbrandtsen
Lines, Inc., 451 F.2d 1329 (2nd Cir. 1971).

The same standards of evidence apply to the defendant
in proving the affirmative defense of contributory negli-
gence, as apply to the plaintiff in proving his case. Flem-
ing v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., supra;
McBride v. Loffund Brothers Co., 422 F.2d 363 (5th Cir.
1970).

The Second Circuit, in reviewing the trial transcript, did
not find that there was a complete absence of evidence tend-
ing to prove that respondent was contributorily negligent,

Na adeeeraa™

5

but determined that there was not enough evidence of con-
tributory negligence to create a jury question. In so doing,
it reviewed theories of contributory negligence and consid-
ered that the evidence in the record, which tended to show
negligence on the part of the respondent, was at best in-
complete. The jury, after reviewing the same evidence,
and the Trial Judge, considered that there was sufficient
evidence on which to base a finding that respondent was
contributorily negligent. As Judge Tyler stated in his
memorandum denying plaintiff’s motion for a new trial:

““* * * Tt was not until about 1720 hours that plaintiff
testified that he slipped and fell in the pantry. In the
interim, he made no effort to report the condition or
mop it up. More important, the record fairly indicates
that plaintiff could have gone to the galley to pick up
the order of ice cream rather than proceed into the
pantry which, according to him, he knew to be in a
dangerous condition. On this record, the jury was
entitled to find contributory negligence.’’

The Cireuit Court did not find that there was a complete
absence of evidence. Consequently, the reversal was im-
proper. It deprived petitioner of its right to a jury trial.

2. The Second Cireuit Court of Appeals has, on prior
occasions, held that it would not set aside a jury verdict
if there was a scintilla evidence in the record. Flem ing V.
American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., supra. The only
difference between that appeal and the present one is that
in that the appellant was a corporate shipowner, whereas
here the appellant was a seaman. In this case, the Circuit
Court, after reviewing the evidence which related to con-
tributory negligence, determined that there should have
been more evidence produced relating to the plaintiff’s own
negligence. It thereby contradicted its own previous rul-
ings that the presence of some evidence on the point was
sufficient to sustain a jury’s verdict.

6

3. Finally, there is the danger that the Circuit Court of
Appeals can adopt the practice of remanding cases for re.
trial until a verdict more acceptable to it is obtained. In
effect, the Circuit Courts will become the substitute trier
of the facts in civil cases, which it is not permitted to do
under the Seventh Amendment. Atlantic and Gulf Steve.
dore, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, Ltd., 369 U.S. 355, 7 L.Ed. 2d
798, 82 S.Ct. 780.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully sub
mitted that this petition for a writ of certiorari be
granted.

Dated: New York, New York, May 7, 1973.
Respectfully submitted,

Rosert A. Lintty

Counsel for the Petitioner
17 Battery Place

New York, New York 10004

Rosert A. Litity
and
Steven L. Barkan
On the Petition

~]

APPENDIX
Opinion of United States Court of Appeals.
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Seconp Circuit

~~

No. 346—September Term, 1972.
(Argued January 17,1973 Decided February 15, 1973.)
Docket No. 72-1202

Wim Rivera,
Appellant,
v.

Farrevt Lines, Inc.,
Appellee.

a
-

Before:
Frienpiy, Chief Judge,
Oakes and Timsers, Circuit Judges.

a
v

Appeal from denial of a post-trial motion for a new
trial in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York, Harold R. Tyler, Jr., Judge, con-
tending there was insufficient evidence of contributory
negligence to create a jury issue.

Reversed and remanded for a new trial on all issues.

+
?-

Cuar.es Sovet, New York, New York (Abraham
Ek. Freedman, on the brief), for Appellant.

Rosert #. Linty, New York, New York (Lilly,
Sullivan & Purcell and Steven L. Barkan,
of counsel), for Appellee.

+
—

Oakes, Circuit Judge:

This appeal is from an order of the district court deny-
ing appellant’s post-trial motion for a new trial on the
issue of damages or, in the alternative, on all issues. We
agree that it was error for the district court to deny the
motion and we reverse and remand for a new trial on all
issues.

Appellant was employed as a mess man on the SS.
African Sun, an American flag merchant ship owned and
operated by appellee. His duties included serving meals
to the vessel’s crew. This work often took him to the crew
pantry, which was located on the main deck between the
crew mess hall and the ship’s main galley and in which
desserts and other items needed during the course of a
meal were stored.

From at least one previous voyage on the African Sun
appellant was aware of an ever present difficulty working
in the crew pantry. An inch or so of soapy water would
back up from the floor drains, making the floor wet and
slippery. The back-up resulted from water draining from
the officers’ pantry directly overhead and then filling the
drains in the pantry below. The condition had often been
reported to the ship’s officers but had gone uncorrected.

During the evening meal of September 9, 1969, one of
the crew members asked for ice cream for dessert, and
appellant went to the pantry to fetch it. As he returned
to the mess hall he slipped and fell on the wet pantry floor.
The fall resulted in injury to his back.

Appellant brought suit under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.
§ 688, to recover for his injury. The defense was that
appellant was injured as a result of his own contributory
negligence, principally consisting of his continued work in
the pantry despite his being well aware of the dangerous
condition of the floor. To appellant’s counsel this defense,
although named contributory negligence, sounded suspi-
ciously like the defense of assumption of risk, long elin-

9

inated from maritime injury iaw by statute... At the con-
dusion of the evidence he therefore moved to strike the
defense but his motion was denied.

The court then submitted the case to the jury which
returned a general verdict and answered four special inter-
rogatories. The interrogatories revealed that the jury
found that an unseaworthy condition existed in the ship’s
pantry; that appellee was negligent on the day of the
accident; that the unseaworthiness and negligence played
a part in bringing about appellant’s injury; and, most im-
portant for present purposes, that appellant was contribu-
torily negligent. Under the applicable comparative negli-
gence doctrine, see 35 Stat. 66 (1908), 45 U.S.C. § 53(1946),
incorporated by reference in 41 Stat. 1007 (1920), 46 U.S.C.
)688 (1946), the finding of contributory negligence went
to reduce appellant’s recovery. Since no specific finding
was made as to the total amount of damages that would
have been awarded appellant absent any contributory neg-
ligence on his part, it is impossible to know how much
appellant’s general verdict of $15,000 was affected by the
finding.

Following the verdict, appellant moved for a new trial
on the ground that there was no evidence of contributory
negligence and the issue was thus improperly submitted to
the jury. This appeal followed the denial of that motion.

The distinction between assumption of risk and contrib-
utory negligence is well established. In common law days
the knowledgeable acceptance by an employee of a dan-

2 35 Stat. 66 (1908), 45 U.S.C. § 54 (1946) (railroad em-
ployees), as amended 53 Stat. 1404 (1939), 45 U.S.C. §5
(1946), made applicable to seamen by 41 Stat. 1007 (1920),
46 U.S.C. § 688 (1946); cf. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co. v.
Smith, 305 U.S. 424 (1939); Carter v. Schooner Pilgrim,
Inc., 238 F.2d 702, 705 (1st Cir. 1956). In The Arizona v.
Anelich, 298 U.S. 110, 122 (1936), the Court pointed out
that assumption of risk had not been a defense in maritime
law even prior to the Jones Act. See G. Gilmore & C. Black,
The Law of Admiralty 299 (1957).

10

gerous condition when and if such acceptance was neces.
sary for the performance of his duties was assumption
of risk. 2 F. Harper & F. James, The Law of Torts § 214
(1956). Contributory negligence, on the other hand, con-
notes some careless act or omission on the part of the
employee over and above that knowledgeable acceptance,
Mumma v. Reading Co., 247 F. Supp. 252, 256-57 (E.D.
Pa. 1965). As the defense of assumption of risk has
been abolished by statute—indeed, “fevery vestige” of the
doctrine ‘‘obliterated,” Tiller v. Atlantic Coast Line Rail.
road Co., 318 U.S. 54, 58 (1943)—the first issue before_us
is whether the charge permitted assumption of risk to go
to the jury in the guise of contributory negligence.
The only theory of contributory negligence the record
reveals that was both argued by appellee’s counsel in sum.
mation® and charged to the jury by the court was the
argument that appellant was careless in moving in and
about the pantry, knowing the sloppy condition of the
floors. This theory, however, was really assumption of
risk masquerading under another name, because it allowed
a finding of contributory negligence on the strength of ap-
pellant’s knowledge that a dangerous condition in his line
of duty existed and his working in that line of duty. Evi-

* _ Although Mumma arose under the Federal Employers Lia-
bility Act, the provisions of the FELA abolishing defenses
formerly available to employers are applicable to seamen
by virtue of the Jones Act. See generally G. Gilmore & C.
Black, supra note 1, at 296-98. Thus, Mumma’s distinction
between contributory negligence and assumption of risk
is applicable to this ease.

* “If he knew the conditions which he claimed two inches of
water, an inch and a half of water on the deck, did he take
extra care?” (Emphasis supplied.)

* The court charged that if the jury accepted the appellee's
contentions the appellant “was guilty of carelessness in per-
sisting in moving in and out of this pantry without more
caution as to where he walked and how he walked and how
he handled himself.”

;
11
dence of an act of negligence other than appellant’s knowl-
edge of the dangerous condition in the pantry was not,
though it should have been, required by the court’s charge 4
in this ease. Dubose v. Matson Navigation Co., 403 F.2d é
875, 878 (9th Cir. 1968); Smith v. United States, 336 F.2d ;
165, 168 (4th Cir. 1964); Mumma v. Reading Co., supra.
See also Restatement (Second) of Torts § 496A, comments
d and e at 562-65 (1965). Thus the verdict must be set
aside since the finding of contributory negligence may well
have been based on this error in the charge.
The court also charged the jury that appellant might
have been contributorily negligent by not having “the com-
mon sense to go and say to somebody in charge, ‘Look, this
has got to be cleaned up; I won’t work there until it is
done.” There have been holdings that failure to warn a
superior officer of a dangerous condition can constitute
contributory negligence on the part of a seaman and dimin-
ish his recovery for injuries suffered. Mroz v. Dravo
Corp., 429 F.2d 1156, 1164 (3rd Cir. 1970) ; DuBose v. Mat-
son Navigation Co., supra, 403 F.2d at 879. But those
cases involved conditions which almost imperceptibly and
over a long period of time led to an illness suffered by a
single seaman. The danger they presented was not imme-
diately obvious to superiors. See Mroz v. Dravo Corp.,
supra, 429 F.2d at 1164 (gas and smoke gradually leading
to breathing defects); DuBose v. Matson Navigation Co.,
supra, 403 F.2d at 876-77 (light bumps on leg from kitchen
workers leading to a cyst). Here, the danger from the wet
and sloppy floor was open and obvious to anyone—includ-
ing officers—who cared to look. Furthermore, unrebutted
evidence presented at trial established that prior to the
accident numerous complaints about the situation in the
pantry had been made to no avail—though not necessarily
by appellant. See Mumma v. Reading Co., supra, 247 F.
Supp. at 254. It cannot be known whether further com-
plaint by appellant would have resulted in correction of
the drain defect in time to avoid the accident or might on

12

the other hand have provoked retributive treatment from
his superior officers. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co. v. Smith, 305
U.S. 424, 430 (1939). If this theory of contributory negli-
gence is submitted to the jury on retrial at all, it should
be done so only with a caveat that the appellant was not
duty bound to perform a futile act.

A third theory of contributory negligence was that ap-
pellant should have mopped up the wet pantry floor before
crossing it. This theory was, however, neither argued by
appellee in summation nor specifically mentioned in the
court’s charge. There was evidence that appellant or an.
other seaman cleaned up the pantry floor. But there was
also unrebutted evidence that even after the pantry floor
was mopped the back-up from the defective drain would
simply recreate slippery ooze. Appellee, who had the bur.
den of establishing appellant's contributory negligence,
made no showing that the floor in fact had not been mopped
by appellant on the day of the accident or that the wet,
sloppy condition would not quickly reoccur after it was
cleaned up. It is our view that there was not enough evi-
dence on this theory of contributory negligence to create
a jury question.

The final theory of contributory negligence urged by
appellee to support the jury’s verdict is that appellant un-
reasonably went to the pantry to get the requested ice
cream when he could have gone around the pantry and to
the galley and thereby avoided the accident. To support
this, there was evidence that ice cream was stored in the
galley as well as the pantry. But this alternate route
theory, while relied on by the trial judge in denying appel-
lant’s post-trial motion, was not argued by the appellee in
summation nor specifically charged to the jury. Had ap-
pellant been given some notice of this theory, he points out,
he would have presented evidence showing that mess men
were not allowed to go into the gallery during meals for
fear that they would interfere with the work of the cooks
and that this is the very reason desserts were stored in the

13

pantry. He might also have shown how difficult this would
have been in connection with the performance of his work
under the circumstances. To allow a finding of contribu-
tory negligence on the basis of evidence which was at best
incomplete and on a theory of which there was no real
notice to the appellant could substantially prejudice him.
On remand, doubtless the evidence of both sides of this
issue will be fully presented.

A question remains, however, whether the new trial
should cover all issues or be limited to the issues of con-
tributory negligence and damages. Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a)
permits a remand for a partial new trial. Cf. Mason v.
Mathiasen Tanker Industries, Inc., 298 F.2d 28, 32-33 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 828 (1962). Since we are left
in the dark as to what the total award would have been
absent the finding of contributory negligence and the extent
to which that finding affected the verdict, as well as to
whether there will be such a finding on a proper charge,
we remand for a new trial on all issues. Caskey v. Village
of Wayland, 375 F.2d 1004, 1009-10 (2d Cir. 1967); 3 W.
Barron & A. Holtzoff, Federal Practice and Procedure
$1307 at 386 (Wright ed. 1958).°

5 §pecial interrogatories that—properly explained—would
eliminate some of the confusion for a reviewing court or the
trial court determining post-trial motions might include:

1. Do you find that plaintiff has established his claim that
the defendant was negligent and that its negligence was
a proximate cause of plaintiff’s accident? (Answer yes
"St Se ee

2. Do you find that plaintiff has established his claim that
the ship African Sun was in an unseaworthy condition
and this unseaworthiness was a proximate cause of plain-
tiff’s accident? (Answer yes or nO.) ................060

3. If the answer to either Question 1 or 2 above is “yes,”
what is the total amount of damages to plaintiff? Answer
in dollars and cents. $...................

14

Reversed and remanded for a new trial on all issues.

4. If the answer to both Questions 1 and 2 is “no,” your
verdict is for the defendant, and you should put an “X”
here, and you need not answer any further ques-
I ccsemnininnens

5. In the event you have found above that the plaintiff is
entitled to recover, do you find that the defendant has
established its claim that plaintiff was himself negligent
and that negligence was a proximate cause of the accident.
(Answer Ye OF NO.) ......cceeseeeeeee

6. If the answer to Question 5 is “yes,” what percentage
did plaintiff's fault so contribute? ............0 (If the
answer to Question 5 is “no,” do not answer this question.
If you entered a percentage on this question, fill in its
equivalent dollar amount here: §............:0+0 )

7. Subtract the dollar amount stated in Question 6 from
the total amount of damages stated in Question 3 and
enter here the difference, which will be the net amount of
damages you find plaintiff is entitled to recover.

Question 3 total — $.........: eee
—Question 6 amount §...........:00+
Net Recovery OIE

15

Decision of United States District Judge,
Harold R. Tyler.

Re: William ‘Rivera v. Farrell Lines, Inc.,
70 Civ. 1340 HRT

This Jones Act suit for damages was tried to a jury on
November 17, 18 and 19, 1971. At the conclusion of the trial,
plaintiff was awarded a verdict of $15,000.00 Plaintiff
thereafter timely moved for a new trial on essentially two
grounds. First, plaintiff contends that a letter from the
foreman of the jury indicates that there was improper con-
duct by the jury during deliberations. Second, plaintiff
maintains that this court erred by instructing the jury on
the issue of contributory negligence, a findng of which was
ruled by the jury in response to a special question posed by
the court.

At an earlier hearing on the record, this court rejected
the first branch of the motion for the reasons indicated at
that time.

There remains for consideration the second branch of
plaintiff’s motion. After having consulted my trial notes
and reviewed those portions of the testimony which were
available on transcript, I conclude that it was not an error
to submit the question of contributory negligence to the
jury. Both plaintiff and his witness, Mr. Texidor, admitted
that when they went to work at about 1600 hours on the
afternoon of the accident, there was water present on the
floor of the pantry. It was not until about 1720 hours that
plaintiff testified that he slipped and fell in the pantry. In
the interim, he made no effort to report the condition or
mop it up. More important, the record fairly indicates that
plaintiff could have gone to the galley to pick up the order
of ice cream rather than proceed into the pantry which,
according to him, he knew to be in a dangerous condition.
On this record, the jury was entitled to find contributory

negligence.
Motion denied in all respects. It is so ordered.
Dated: January 11, 1972.
H. R. Tyrer, JR.

U.S.D.J.

OE Be

852s FAERIE ERI NE PNM

Toa TM

16

Judgment of the United States District Court.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,
SouTHERN District or New YorK.
70 Civil 1340 (HRT)
JUDGMENT #72,153

+
i

WituiaM Rivera,

Plaintiff,
—against—

Farrewu Lines Inc.,
Defendant.

The issues in the above entitled action having been
brought on regularly for trial before the Honorable Harold
R. Tyler, Jr., United States District Judge and a jury of six
(6) persons, by stipulation, on November 17, 18 and 19,
1971, and the Court having submitted the attached ques-
tions to the jury, and the jury having answered the said
questions as indicated thereon, and the jury having re-
turned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff, and the jury hav-
ing further found that the plaintiff contributed to the negli-
gence, and the Court thereafter on January 11, 1972, having
handed down its memorandum endorsed denying all mo-
tions, it is,

OrpereD, ApsupGep AND Decreep: That the plaintiff, Wu-
LIAM Rivera, have judgment against the defendant, FarreLy
Layes Inc., in the amount of $15,000.

Dated: New York, N. Y., January 13, 1972.

Joun R. Livinston
Clerk
APPROVED:

H. R. Tyzer, Jr.
U.S.D.J.

(An Extract oF THE MINUTES)

RESPONDENTS.
BRIEF

PATIL LTE NR OSE eS oe

(53807)

iy

New ‘York, New York 10011.

4

.

Counsel jor Respondent

—_— ws S < ees “ ee ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions of the Courts Below ..............--.-..
ei aia erika pi nin ven amen
Questions Presented .............-..0-0-2es eee
i EEE ae PE Pre
Counter Statement of the Case .................-.

Reasons Why a Writ Should be Denied—I. The deci-
sion below involves only a proper application of
the well established distinction between contribu-
tory negligence and assumption of risk, and is
supported by numerous decisions of the Supreme
Court, including Schlemmer vs. Buffalo, R.&P.
R. Co., 205 U.S. 1 (1907), Gila Valley, G.EN. R. Co.
vs. Hall, 232 U.S. 94 (1914), Seaboard A.L.R. Co.
vs. Horton, 233 U.S. 492 (1914), The Arizona vs.
Anelich, 298 U.S. 110 (1936), Tiller vs. Atlantic
Coastline Railroad Company, 318 U.S. 54 (1943),
and by numerous decisions of the lower federal
PC COL Gatiibehw aes aebaie dahbennehn ee vies

Ne aulenwinid

Cases Cited
Arizona, The, v. Anelich, 298 U.S. 110 (1936) ......

Carter v. Schooner Pilgrim, Inc. 238 F.2d 702 (1st
ot heen crisecevaeneearedabewwn

Gila Valley, G.&N. R. Co. v. Hall, 232 U.S. 94 (1914)

ql

12

9,11

SP ROS EASE RS Mi net MORMON ATA GAS

See oa 2

il
PAGE

Mumma v. Redding Company, 247 F. Supp. 252 (E.
MD inna Sou C8 ec aehacenstects.-csude 10, 11

Schlemmer v. Buffalo, R.&D. R. Co. 205 U.S.1 (1907) 911
Seaboard A.L.R. Co v. Horton, 233 U.S. 492 (1914).. 911

Socony-Vaccum Oil Co. v. Smith, 305 U.S. 424 ( 1939) 10

Tiller v. Atlantic Coastline Railroad Company, 318
U.S. 54 (1943)

pik Nhe wom ek Misea lalate oles ona a eee ee )
Statutes Cited
Federal Employers’ Liability Act:
Geotsem 3, 45 UBC. $58 2... 2... cc ccc cc cn cues 3, 10n
Section 4, 45 U.S.C. §54 .................... 4, 10, 10n
Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688 ......0...0...0. 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10n

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1972
No. 1515

FarRRELL Lines INCORPORATED,

Petitioner,
against

WriuiaM Rivera,
Respondent.

On Petition ror a Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
Court or APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Di.
Vw

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and Associate Justices
of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Respondent, William Rivera, respectfully prays that
Petitioner’s application for a Writ of Certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit, entered on February 15, 1973, be
denied.

Opinions of the Courts Below

The opinion of the District Court for the Southern
District of New York is not yet reported, but is set forth
in the Petition, page 15. The opinion of the Court of
Appeals also is not yet reported, but is set forth in the
Petition, pages 7-14.

Jurisdiction

The jurisdictional requisites are adequately set forth in
the Petition at page 2.

Questions Presented

1. Where, in an action by a merchant seaman under the
general maritime law as modified by the Jones Act, 46
U.S.C. § 688, the evidence showed that the seaman was
injured in the course of his employment aboard a vessel;
that this injury occurred in the vessel’s crew pantry; that
the seaman fell while working in the crew pantry as a result
of the slippery condition of the deck caused by water back.
ing up from drains in the deck; that the condition of the
backing up of the drains had been one of long standing, and
frequently had been reported to the vessel’s officers, without
any corrective action being taken by them; and there being
no evidence that the seaman could have performed his
required duties without going into the crew pantry ; was it
not error for the trial court to permit a finding of con-
tributory negligence based solely on the seaman having
gone into the crew pantry when he had no alternative but
to work there, and was not the Court of Appeals correct in
reversing such finding on the basis that the repeal of the
defense of assumption of risk precluded’a finding of con-
tributory negligence under the circumstances presented?

2. Where the defense of contributory negligence was
improperly submitted to the jury, and where, post trial,
petitioner argued new theories of contributory negligence
which had not been raised at trial and of which respond-
ent had no notice, was not the Court of Appeals correet in
ordering a new trial?

Statutes Involved
The Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688:

‘‘Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury
in the course of his employment may, at his election,
maintain an action for damages at law, with the right
of trial by jury, and in such action all statutes of the
United States modifying or extending the common-
law right or remedy in eases of personal injury to
railway employees shall apply; and in case of the
death of any seaman as a result of any such per-
sonal injury the personal representative of such sea-
man may maintain an action for damages at law
with the right of trial by jury, and in such action all
statutes of the United States conferring or regulat-
ing the right of action for death in the case of rail-
way employees shall be applicable. Jurisdiction in
such actions shall be under the court of the district
in which the defendant employer resides or in which
his principal office is located. Mar. 4, 1915, ¢. 153,
§ 20, 38 Stat. 1185; June 5, 1920, ¢. 250, § 33, 41 Stat.
1007.”’

Federal Employers’ Liability Act,

Section 3, 45 U.S.C. § 53:

‘‘In all actions on and after April 22, 1908
brought against any such common carrier by rail-
road under or by virtue of any of the provisions of
this chapter to recover damages for personal in-
juries to an employee, or where such injuries have
resulted in his death, the fact that the employee may
have been guilty of contributory negligence shall not
har a recovery, but the damages shall he diminished
hy the jury in proportion to the amount of negli-
gence attributable to such employee: Provided, That
no such employee who may be injured or killed shall
he held to have been guilty of contributory negli-
gence in any case where the violation by sueh eom-
mon carricr of any statute enacted for the safety of
employees contributed to the injury or death of such
employee.’’

4

Section 4, 45 U.S.C. § 54:

“In any action brought against any common car-
rier under or by virtue of any of the provisions of
this chapter to recover damages for injuries to, or
the death of, any of its employees, such employee
shall not be held to have assumed the risks of his
employment in any case where such injury or death
resulted in whole or in part from the negligence of
any of the officers, agents, or employees of such
carrier; and no employee shall be held to have
assumed the risks of his employment in any case
where the violation by such common carrier of any
statute enacted for the safety of employees con-
tributed to the injury or death of such employee.”’

Counter Statement of the Case

The instant action is a suit by an American merchant
seaman under the general maritime law as modified by
the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, to recover damages for
personal injuries suffered in the course of his employment
aboard ship.

Respondent, William Rivera, had been employed as a
crew messman aboard the S.S. Arrican Sun, an American
flag merchant vessel owned and operated by petitioner,
Farrell Lines Inc. As a messman, his duties were to serve
meals to the vessel’s crew. These duties were performed
in the crew messhall and the crew pantry (6a).* In the
course of performing his duties in the crew pantry, re-
spondent slipped and fell, severely injuring his back. He
subsequently underwent surgery for removal of a herniated
dise but was left with substantial disability which ultimately
resulted in his being declared permanently not fit for duty.

The cause of respondent’s fall was the slippery condi-
tion of the deck in the crew pantry resulting from water
backing up from a drain located in the deck (12a). This
condition had been of longstanding aboard the vessel and
frequently had been reported to the vessel’s officers. How-
ever, no corrective action had been taken (62a).

Respondent sued on theories of unseaworthiness and
negligence. In the course of the trial petitioner contended
that respondent had been contributorily negligent in con-
tinuing to work in the crew pantry when he knew of the
slippery condition of the deck in that area (19a). Re-
spondent countered that his continuing to work in this area
did not constitute contributory negligence but rather fell
under the doctrine of assumption of risk which was not a

* All page references are to the Joint Appendix on Appeal to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit unless
otherwise indicated.

6

defense under the Jones Act or the general maritime law
(64a-65a). Since petitioner presented no other evidence
or theory of contributory negligence during the trial, at
the conclusion of the evidence counsel for respondent moved
to strike the defense of contributory negligence on the
specific ground that what petitioner was claiming to be
contributory negligence was, in reality, assumption of risk

(64a-65a).

The trial judge denied this motion (65a) and submitted
the case to the jury under a charge which permitted the
jury to find contributory negligence and to reduce any
verdict it might award to respondent in accordance with
the comparative negligence doctrine. The jury returned
a general verdict for respondent in the amount of $15,000,
and answered four interrogatories, one of which indicated
that they had, indeed, made a finding of contributory neglli-
gence.’ There was no finding as to respondent’s total dam-
ages absent contributory negligence, nor was there any
finding as to the percentage amount of contributory negli-
gence. As a result, it was impossible to determine the
extent to which the finding of contributory negligence af-
fected the amount of the verdict, although it clearly must
have had a substantial affect as otherwise the award of
$15,000 for permanent disability to a 36 year old man
would have been grossly inadequate.

1 The four interrogatories, each of which were answered “yes”
by the jury, were:

(1) Was there an unseaworthy condition in the crew pantry
on the date of the alleged accident ?

(2) Was the defendant-shipowner negligent on the day of
the accident ?

(3) If your answer to 1 or 2 above, or both, is “ves” did
such unseaworthy condition and/or negligence play a part in
bringing about the injury of which plaintiff here complains?

(4) Was plaintiff guilty of contributory negligence at the
time in question ?

Following the jury’s verdict, respondent filed a post-
trial motion for a new trial, again contending that the
defense of contributory negligence had been improperly
submitted to the jury. The trial judge denied this motion
(3a-4a). In so doing he stated that he was relying on his
trial notes (3a), which were not available to counsel, and
that these trial notes indicated that there had been evi-
dence that respondent could have performed his duties
without going into the crew pantry, and, therefore, the
jury could have based a finding of contributory negligence
on respondent’s decision to go into the crew pantry when
he could have performed his duties without doing so (4a).
Counsel for respondent disagreed with the trial judge’s
statement that there had been evidence that respondent
could have performed his duties without going into the
crew pantry. Accordingly, in connection with the appeal,
ihe entire transcript of the trial testimony was obtained.
Review of the entire transcript disclosed that the trial
judge had been mistaken in his recollection of the testimony
as there was no evidence that respondent could have per-
formed his duties without going into the crew pantry.”

With the benefit of the full transcript before it, and the
proven absence of any testimony that respondent need not
have gone into the crew pantry to perform his duties, the
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit reversed, holding
that the trial judge had erred in permitting the jury to
make a finding of contributory negligence on evidence

2 Counsel for petitioner has contended that there had been testi-
mony by the vessel's Chief Steward, Mr. Overton, that respondent
could have obtained ice cream from a refrigerator located in the crew
galley and did not have to go to the refrigerator located in the crew
pantry. However, the transcript of Mr. Overton’s testimony disclosed
that there had been no such testimony by him and that there was no
other evidence that respondent could have performed his duties with-
out going into the erew pantry where, adinittedly, the deck frequently
was slippery because of the backing up of the drains.

8

which in reality related only to assumption of risk (Peti.
tion, pages 10-11). The Court of Appeals also reviewed the
evidence in light of other theories of contributory negli-
gence which petitioner argued on appeal, even though these
theories had not been argued at trial. The Court found that
the evidence simply did not sustain any finding of contribu.
tory negligence as distinguished from assumption of risk,
Accordingly, a new trial was directed on all issues (Peti-
tion, pages 13-14).

Reasons Why a Writ Should be Denied

I. The decision below involves only a proper application
of the well established distinction between contributory negli-
gence and assumption of risk, and is supported by numerous
decisions of the Supreme Court, including Schlemmer vs. Buf-
falo, R.&P. R. Co., 205 U.S. 1 (1907), Gila Valley, G.&N. R.
Co. vs. Hall, 232 U.S, 94 (1914), Seaboard A.L.R. Co. vs.
Horton, 233 U.S. 492 (1914), The Arizona vs. Anelich, 298
U.S. 110 (1936), Tiller vs, Atlantic Coastline Railroad Com-
pany, 318 U.S. 54 (1943), and by numerous decisions of the
lower federal courts.

In ordering a new trial, the Court of Appeals merely
found that the trial court had failed to apply the well es-
tablished distinction between contributory negligence and
assumption of risk when it permitted the jury to make a
finding that respondent was contributorily negligent in con-
tinuing to work in a dangerous area, when, in fact, there
was no evidence that respondent had any alternative other
than to work there (Petition, pages 10-11). In actuality,
there was no dispute between the parties as to the appli-
cable legal principles; rather, the trial judge simply had
made a mistake in believing that there had been evidence
that respondent had available to him an alternative means
of performing his work when, in fact, there was no such
evidence. The full trial transcript revealed this mistake
and, accordingly, the Court of Appeals properly directed a
new trial so that the case could be submitted to the jury
under proper instructions of law. Under no circumstances
could this possibly be considered as a case where the peti-
tioner hasbeen denied a right to a jury trial. On the con-
trary, the Court of Appeals merely was performing its
proper supervisory function on appeal of reviewing the
evidence as shown by the trial transcript and correcting a
mistake made by the trial judge in his recollection of that
evidence and his application of settled principles of law
thereto.

eo)

10

At issue was whether there was evidence of contributory
negligence as distinguished from assumption of risk. It js
well established that both under the general maritime law
and the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, assumption of risk is
not a defense, e.g., Carter vs. Schooner Pilgrim, Inc., 238
F.2d 702 (1st Cir. 1957), 45 U.S.C. § 54. Indeed, ‘‘every
vestige’’ of the defense of assumption of risk has been
‘‘obliterated’’, Tiller vs. Atlantic Coastline Railroad Com-
pany, 318 U.S. 54, 58 (1943). In addition, the doctrine of
comparative rather than contributory negligence prevails,
e.g., Socony-Vaccum Oil Co. vs. Smith, 305 U.S. 424 (1939),

While both assumption of risk and contributory negli-
gence relate to conduct of a plaintiff, the distinction between
the two concepts is well established. The risks which are
not assumed by a seaman are those which arise out of the
shipowner’s negligence or the unseaworthiness of the vessel,
Since the shipowner is under a non-delegable duty to use
reasonable care and to provide a seaworthy vessel, a claim
that a seaman was contributorily negligent cannot be predi-
cated on the argument that the seaman should not have
worked in an unsafe area, unless the circumstances were
such that the seaman had a reasonable choice to do other-
wise, e.g., Socony-Vacuum Oil Co. vs. Smith, supra. It
follows that a finding of contributory negligence can only
be predicated on some careless act or omission on the part
of the seaman over and above the knowledgeable acceptance
of the unsafe working conditions furnished by the employer.
Mumma vs. Redding Company, 247 F. Supp. 252, 256-257
(E.D. Pa. 1965). Thus, the key to the distinction between
assumption of risk and contributory negligence lies in
whether the seaman had a reasonable alternative course of

* Since the Jones Act incorporates into the maritime law the pro-
visions of the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, decisions under the
FELA are fully applicable to maritime actions.

11

conduct available ot him, short of quitting work or refus-
ing an order. Mumma vs. Redding Company, supra; see
Schlemmer vs. Buffalo, R&P R. Co., 205 U.S. 1 (1907);
Gila Valley, G.N.R. Co. vs. Hall, 232 U.S. 94 (1914); and
Seaboard A.L.R. Co. vs. Horton, 233 U.S. 492 (1914).

At trial the only argument advanced by counsel for peti-
tioner to support the claim that respondent was contribu-
torily negligent was that respondent had been careless in
continuing to work in the crew pantry when he knew of
the slippery condition of the deck. However, as the Court
below correctly found, this argument really was assumption
of risk masquerading under another name (Petition, page
10) because it allowed a finding of contributory negligence
solely on the strength of respondent’s continuing to work
in the crew pantry when he had knowledge that a danger-
ous condition existed there. Since the charge of the trial
court had permitted a finding of contributory negligence
based on this argument, error had been committed which
could be corrected only by the granting of a new trial
(Petition, page 11). To not have ordered a new trial under
these circumstances would be to allow assumption of risk
to creep back into the maritime law as contributory negli-
gence.

In opposing respondent’s post-trial motion and the
appeal, petitioner argued other theories of contributory
negligence in an effort to sustain the verdict. The Court
of Appeals considered these theories and found that the
evidence did not support them. Moreover, as the Court of
Appeals recognized, none of these theories had been argued
to the jury, and, under the circumstances, it would be a
denial of justice to permit a finding of contributory negli-
vence on a theory which was not argued at trial and of
which counsel for respondent had no notice and no oppor-
tunity to rebut.

ee Se ee

12

Petitioner’s claim that the Court below did not find that
there was ‘‘a complete absence’’ of evidence of contributory
negligence and that it had violated the rule that a jury
verdict would not be set aside if there was a ‘‘scintilla”
of evidence to support simply is not correct. The Court
below found only that the defense of contributory negli-
gence had been improperly submitted to the jury in that
the claimed evidence of contributory negligence was, in
reality, assumption of risk, and that the theories of con.
tributory negligence which petitioner argued after the trial
in an effort to sustain a jury verdict which had been ini-
tially obtained on an improper theory of contributory
negligence were not supported by the evidence. This case
presents no unusual or unique principle of law which
warrants review by this Court. Rather, it involves only
a proper exercise of judicial review by a Court of Appeals
in reversing a trial court’s erroneous application of settled
law to a particular set of facts.

Conclusion

For the above foregoing reasons, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ApraHaM E, FreepMan
CuarLes SoveL
36 Seventh Avenue
New York, New York 10011
Counsel for Respondent

CERTIORARI
DENIED

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0448%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
