# Opposition Brief — Habig v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0157%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 411 U.S. 972

## Text

=

.

‘In the Supreme Court of the United States

4 OcTosBer TERM, 1972

No. 72-1159

ARNOLD F. HABIG AND JEROME M. SCHROERING,
PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

3 : ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
_ STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

- The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A)
| is not yet officially reported. The suppression order of the
_ district. court (Pet. App. B) is not reported. The decision
_ of the court of appeals on a prior appeal by the United
' States from a suppression order (Pet. App. C) is reported
© at 413 F. 2d 1108, certiorari denied, 396 U.S. 1014.!

JURISDICTION

» The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. E)
" was entered on January 24, 1973. The petition for a writ
' of certiorari was filed on February 22, 1973. The juris-
_ diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

: ‘In an earlier case involving this prosecution, United States
§ v. Habig, 3% U.S. 222, this Court reversed the judgment of
» the district court dismissing certain counts of the indictment
> as barred by the statute of limitations.

(1)

2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in a tax fraud investigation conducted
jointly by a revenue agent and a special agent of the
Internal Revenue Service, corporate officers who are not
in custody or subject to any restraint are entitled to
receive Miranda warnings before being requested to furnish
corporate records relevant to the tax liabilities of the
corporations whose tax returns are being investigated.

2. Whether the prior concession by the government -
that petitioners, as corporate officers, had standing to
raise a motion to suppress evidence obtained in the course
of a search of corporate records estops the government
from contending that the searches were in fact reasonable
and lawful.

‘STATEMENT

1. In 1966, petitioners were indicted in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Indiana for
attempting to evade taxes of corporations of which they
were officers, in violation of 26 U.S.C. 7201, and for aiding
in the preparation of false corporate tax returns, in violation
of 26 U.S.C. 7206(2). The district court dismissed two
counts of the indictment and, on direct appeal by the
government, this Court reversed. United States v. Habig,
390 U.S. 222.

Petitioners then filed a motion for the suppression and
return of all photocopies of corporate records made by
investigating Internal Revenue Service agents (IR. 13-
14).2 The basis of the motion was that no search warrant,
subpoena, or summons had been served upon either peti-
tioner for such records and that neither petitioner had
been warned by any agent that he was being investigated
for criminal tax violations. The government conceded

“I R.” refers to the appendix filed in the court of appeals
in connection with the first appeal from the district court's
suppression order. “Il R.” refers to the appendix filed in
the court of appeals in the instant proceedings.

3:

that petitioners would be aggrieved Persons if the corporate
records had been illegally seized but denied that the search
and seizure were unlawful (I R. 73, 75). The district court
found that in December 1963 the investigation had been
referred to the Intelligence Division of the Internal Revenue
Service and at that point had become focused on the
possibility of criminal tax violations (I R. 27-30). The court
thereupon suppressed all the corporate records examined
and copied after 1963.

On appeal by the government from the suppression
order, the case was heard and decided by the court
of appeals together with United States v. Dickerson,
413 F. 2d III (C.A. 7) (Pet. App. D), which in-
volved a government appeal from an order of the District
Court for the Northern District of Illinois holding that
Miranda warnings must be given to any individual
taxpayer who is interviewed by revenue agents after
his case has been referred to the Intelligence Division
of the Internal Revenue Service. The government,
without distinguishing between demands on corporate
officers for corporate records and requests to individuals
for personal statements or records, took the position
that a decision by the court of appeals would be
applicable to both cases. The court of appeals,
accepting this view of the cases, affirmed in Dickerson
and remanded the present case for further findings and
an application of the Principle stated in Dickerson,
ie., that Miranda warnings are required to be given
at the outset of non-custodial, pre-arrest interrogations
of suspects in criminal tax investigations.

2. On remand, the district court, after evidentiary
hearings, found that the case had been referred to the
Intelligence Division in February 1964 and that the
criminal investigation by the Intelligence Division
first began on March 27. 1964 (11 R. 12). The court
further found that various records were inspected and
copied after that date and that the consent of petitioner

4

Schroering to the inspection had been obtained without
his being warned of the true nature of the investigation
(11 R. 12-14).

On September 21, 1964, the investigating agents
had met with petitioner Schroering and the corporations’
independent accountant, and the special agent
announced that his role was to determine if any criminal
violation had been committed (11 R. 21). Thereafter,
the agents obtained various other records from the
corporations with petitioners’ consent, but the district
court found that such records would not have been
voluntarily furnished had the corporations and petition-
ers known of the “deceit” practiced prior to September
21, 1964 (II R, 27-28). The district court found that the
leads acquired by the revenue agent prior to the
referral of the case to the Intelligence Division were
not duplicative of records examined thereafter because,
although the revenue agent testified that he had memo-

randa of the invoice numbers, he could not recall from
memory the detailed contents of the records which
he had re-examined during his joint investigation with
the special agent (II R. 28).

The district court concluded that the failure of the
agents to advise petitioners of their constitutional
rights after the case was referred to the Intelligence
Division vitiated petitioners’ further consent to the in-
spection and copying of the corporate records (Il R.
28-30). The district court therefore suppressed all
corporate records and information obtained after
the referral to the Intelligence Division and all state-
ments obtained by interviews with petitioner Schroering.

3. The government appealed this order insofar as it
applied to corporate records, but, in view of the
holding in Dickerson, no appeal was taken from the
order suppressing personal statements made by peti-
tioner Schroering. The court of appeals reversed, hold-

5

ing (1) that the government was not precluded from
contesting the suppression order as to corporate records
by reason of its improvidently broad concession, in the
prior appeal, that the facts of this case were in-
distinguishable from those in Dickerson, and (2) that its
earlier decision in Dickerson did not require that a
corporate officer be given advisory warnings before
being requested to produce corporate records in a
criminal tax investigation of the corporation.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioners now contend (Pet. 10-15), apparently
for the ‘first time, that the corporate records photo-
copied by the investigating agents were obtained as a
consequence of interviews conducted with petitioners
in their individual capacities and as such should be
suppressed as “fruit of the poisonous tree.” This
contention fails for two separate reasons.

First, the record does not support petitioners’ asser-
tion that leads to corporate documents resulted from
Statements made by petitioners acting in their indivi-
dual capacities. To the contrary, all leads to corporate
records provided by petitioners stemmed from state-
ments made in their capacities as corporate officers
(Pet. App. A, A6). As the court of appeals correctly
held, petitioners, as corporate officers, had no right to
refuse production of corporate records because they
personally might be incriminated by the records.
Wilson v. United States, 221 U.S. 361. Since peti-
tioners had no Fifth Amendment rights to assert in
their capacities as corporate officers, Miranda warnings
were unnecessary even assuming arguendo the cor-
rectness of the Seventh Circuit’s decision in Dickerson.
Therefore the statements made by petitioners as cor-
porate officers, and the information subsequently ob-
tained on the basis of those statements, are properly

6

admissible against them and should not have been
suppressed by the district court.3

Second, the non-custodial, pre-arrest interviews of
petitioners did not have to be accompanied by Miranda
warnings, and any leads provided during such inter-
views would in any event not have been obtained in
violation of petitioners’ rights. The Seventh Circuit's
rule, stated in Dickerson, that such non-custodial inter-
views must be preceded by full warnings has been cor-
rectly rejected in the other circuits. The Miranda rule
applies only where the interviewed Suspect is in physi-
cal custody or subjected to some restraint which cir-
cumscribes his freedom. Petitioners, by contrast, were
never in custody or subjected to restraints.

2. Petitioners also contend (Pet. 15-21) that the
court below erroneously ignored the government’s prior
stipulation that they had standing to raise the motion

As the court below noted (Pet. App. A, A9), the corporations
themselves had no basis for claiming an unreasonable search
and seizure of their records.

“Every other court of appeals that has considered the question
has held that, since the taxpayer is not in custody or deprived
of his freedom in any significant way, the requirements of
Miranda do not apply. Morgan v. United States, 377 F. 2d
507, 508 (C.A. 1); United States v. White, 417 F. 2d 89
(C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 397 US. 912; United States v.
Jaskiewicz, 433 F. 2d 415, 417-420 (C.A. 3); United
States v. Mancuso, 378 F. 2d 612, 619 (C.A. 4), certiorari
denied, 390 U.S. 955; Agoranus v. United States, 409 F. 2d
833, 835 (C.A. 5), certiorari denied, 396 US. 824; United States
v. Miriani, 422 F. 2d 150, 153-154 (C.A. 6), certiorari denied,
399 U.S. 910; Cohen v. United States, 405 F. 2d 34 (C.A. 8),
certiorari denied, 394 U.S. 943; Feichtmeir v. United States,
389 F. 2d 498 (C.A. 9); Hensley v. United States, 406 F.
2d 481 (C.A. 10). The government has consistently opposed
certiorari in such cases, notwithstanding the conflict, on the
ground that since the Internal Revenue Service now provides
full Miranda warnings upon the initiation of the criminal investi-
gation the Seventh Circuit rule is rarely of significance.

7

to suppress, i.e., that they would be aggrieved persons
if the corporate records had been illegally seized.
See pp. 2-3, supra. But this stipulation did not estop the
government from contending, as it did below, that the
corporate records were validly obtained. The stipulation
provided only that if the corporate records had been
illegally seized, petitioners as corporate officers would
have standing to seek suppression of the records. See
Mancusi v. De Forte, 392 U.S. 364. This concession may
have been broader than was necessary, but it did not
prevent the court of appeals from holding that the
records were obtained legally and reversing the district
court’s suppression order on that ground.‘

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,
Solicitor General.

Scott P. CRAMPTON,
Assistant Attorney General.

JOHN P. BuRKE,

ROBERT E. LINDSAY,
Attorneys.

_ APRIL 1973.

‘Petitioners apparently confuse the government’s stipulation
as to standing with its position, at the time of the first
appeal to the court of appeals, that the same principles
would apply to the facts of both this case and Dickerson.
Of course, the government still takes that position and urges
that Dickerson was wrongly decided. See p. 6, supra. However,
the position taken by the government at that time should
not bar it from now distinguishing Dickerson. On this aspect
of this case we rely on the opinion below. See Pet. App. A,
AS.

DOJ 1973 04

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0157%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
