# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ortega v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0093%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 411 U.S. 948

## Text

+ Ore eee Tt

S) ene te |B!
FEB 8 197

MICRAEL RODAK, nop

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1972
No. 9 Q-1 0 9 S

LUIS GOMEZ ORTEGA,

Petitioner,
a e . Vs.
we THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.
ce PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
ir: UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
a FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Heratp Price Faurincer, Esq.,
Attorney for Petitioner,

One Niagara Square,

Buffalo, New York 14202,
(716) 856-8490.

Lipsitz, GREEN, FAHRINGER,
Rott, ScHULLER & JAMES,
of Counsel.

February, 1973.

BATAVIA TIMES, LAW PRINTERS, ap
BATAVIA, &. Y.

F

PAGE
Opinions Below .............-eeee eee e cece reer tenes 1
Gets tcceaetsuaealakbenneebaakesnven 2
Questions Presented ............-..seeeeeeeeeeeees 2
rr ey os a cace cenbabnwebenenes 3
I SEER ete le Ba Oy RP 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................... 7

I. The petitioner’s Constitutional right of Confron-
tation was violated by the government’s refusal
to disclose the identity of an informer who par-
ticipated in the event to the extent that he ac-
quired, transported and actually delivered the
narcotics to other defendants ................. 7 :

Il. Where the police for three days had known
of the narcotics in the car and had ample time
to secure a search warrant, there were no exigent
circumstances justifying the warrantless search 3
of the car. :

The search of the apartment in New Jersey :
was unlawful because no facts were set forth in :
the supporting affidavit connecting those prem- j
a Co eda gia eae 15 3

a

Appendix “A”—Opinion of Court of Appeals........

TI.

TABLE oF CASES.

PAGE
Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. | rrr rs te 20
Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160 (1949) ........ 18
Carroll v. U. S., 267 U.S. 132 (1925) .........-----.. 18, 19
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970) ........-. 18, 19
Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969) ........... 16, 18
Clingan v. U. S., 400 F.2d 849 (5th es ae 10
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) . .16, 19, 21
Ferrara v. State of Florida, 101 So.2d 797 (1958)...... 10
Gilmore v. United States, 256 F.2d 565 (5th Cir. 1958).. 10
Johnson v. U. S., 333 U.S. 10 (1948), .........-.---05. 18
Jones v. U. S., 362 U.S. 247, 272 (1960) .............. 7
Katz v. U. S., 389 U.S. 347 (1967) .......--- 2 eee eee 19
Lopez-Hernandez v. U.S., 394 F.2d 820 (9th Cir. 1968). 10
McCray v. Illinois, 386 U.S. 300 (1967) .....-..-.---- 7
Morss v. Forbes, 24 N.J. 341, 132 A.2d 1 (1957)...... 10
Peters v. Hobby, 349 U.S. 331, 352 (1955) .......... 7

People v. Castro, 29 N.Y.2¢ 324, 277 N.B.2d 654 (1971). 10
People v. Cerrato, 24 N.Y.21, 246 N.E.2d 501 (1961).. 10
People v. Clifton, 42 Tl.2d 526, 250. N.B.2d 649 (1969)... 10
People v. Garcia, 67 Cal.2d 830, 64 Cai, Rptr. 110, 434

Bead BOS (IDGT) ..w. cc cccccccccccccccccccccccaces 10
People v. Hunt, 4 Cal.3d 231, 93 Cal.Rptr. 197, 481 P.2d
SE GIIIED ov cok cack dae ccctcnsccceccenaceessess 10

People v. Mack, 12 Ill.2d 151, 145 N.B.2d 609 (1957).... 10
People v. MeShann, 50 Cal.2d 802, 330 P.2d 33 (1958).. 10
People v. Pena, 18 N.Y.2d 837, 222 N.E.2d 604 (1966).. 10
People v. Strong, 21 II].2d 320, 172 N .2d 765 (1961)... 12

Portomene v. U.S., 221 F.2d 582 (5th Cir. 1955)....... 10
Preston v. U. S., 376 U.S. 364 (1964) ............... 16, 21
Price v. Superior Court, 83 Cal.Rptr. 369, 463 P.2d 721
SUE sarc ccbku rer nbe see nin sicsseneese naw ndens 10, 11
Rivera v. Superior Court, 6 Ariz. App. 117, 4380 P.2d
eo aaePeererrrrrrere ree eee 10

Roviaro v. U. S., 353 U.S. 53 (1957) ...........06 9, 10, 14

—

TI.

PAGE
Sherman v. U.S., 356 U.S. 369 (1958) ................ 12
Sorrentino v. U. S., 163 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1947)...... 10

State v. Godwin, 106 Ariz. 252, 475 P.2d 236 (1970).... 10
State v. Martinez, 15 Ariz. App. 430, 489 P.2d 277

SORE cissnytcovensu ein. meee Ge. 10
U.S. v. Andolschek, 142 F.2d 503 (2d Cir. 1944)....... 10
U.S. v. Anthony, 444 F.2d 484 (9th Cir. 1971) ........ 9
U.S. v. Bailey, 458 F.2d 408 (9th Cir. 1972)........... 21
U.S. v. Barnett, 418 F.2d 309 (6th Cir. 1969) ......... 10
U.S. v. Bueno, 447 F.2d 903 (5th Cir. 1971) .......... 12
U.S. v. Chisum, 312 F.Supp. 1307 (C.D.Cal. 1970)..... 12
U.S. v. Coke, 339 F.2d 183 (2d Cir. 1964) ............ )
U.S. v. Collins, 439 F.2d 610 (D.C.Cir. 1971).......... 16
U.S. v. Conforti, 200 F.2d 365 (7th Cir. 1952)......... 10
U.S. v. Coplon, 185 F.2d 629 (2d Cir. 1950) .......... 10
U.S. v. D’Angiolillo, 340 F.2d 453 (2d Cir. 1965) ...... 10
U.S. v. Kelly, 449 F.2d 329 (9th Cir. 1971) ........... 9
U.S. v. Li Fat Tong, 152 F.2d 650 (2d Cir. 1945) ...... 9
U.S. v. Nugent, 346 U.S. 1, 14 (1953) ................ 7
U.S. v. Payne, 429 F.2d 169 (9th Cir. 1970) .......... 16
U.S. v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1950) .............. 16
U.S. v. Roberts, 388 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1968) ......... 10
U.S. v. Russ, 362 F.2d 843 (2d Cir. 1966) ............ 9
U.S. v. Russell, 459 F.2d 671, 11 Cr.L. 2108 (9th Cir.

ee ._, SRE Pe Sa eh Ne Eee a 12, 13
U.S. v. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249 (1970) .......... 16, 17

U.S. ea rel. Knauff vy. Shaughnessy, 338 U.S. 537

(1950)
Velarde-Villarreal v. U. S., 354 F.2d 9 (9th Cir. 1965).. 10
Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967) ............. 19

PWT HEP P RMRESEE BME IESE NTS RE aT

Vay

A PN 4 ALP OAS NN POE RZ SET

IV.

Sta ’
PAGE
American Law Institute Model Penal Code, § 2.13[1]
[6]; Proposed Official Draft, 1962 ................ 13
Title 21, United States Code:
§§ 812, 841, 952, 957 and 960 ..........----e ee eens 9
, pis ToS)! ' |) errr eee eee 2

ConSTITUTION.
United States Constitution:

Os dt ee aa eae 3
aa bebcd (bees ud hue vawe 14

MISCELLANEOUS.
Anno. 76 A.L.R.2d 262 (19G1) ......cccccccccccseces 10
Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Judicial Con-
aes OO. a errr eer rere ll

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1972
UI -ShasdoshoiatSiaccchaactvin

LUIS GOMEZ ORTEGA,
Petitioner,

V8.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner Luis Gomez Ortega prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in this
case on December 11, 1972.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals dated December
11, 1972 is not yet reported. It is reprinted in the Appen-
dix at page A-1, infra. The District Court of the Southern
District of New York did not write an opinion.

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

2

Jurisdiction
Following a jury trial, the petitioner was found guilty
of conspiracy to import, distribute and possess heroin and
the substantive offense of possessing with intent to distri-
bute a dangerous drug in violation of §§ 812, 841, 952, 957,
and 960 of Title 21 of the United States Code.

On April 14, 1972 the petitioner Ortega was sentenced
to ten years and fined $10,000 on count one, and to fifteen
years and $25,000 on count two, the prison terms to run
consecutively.

On December 11, 1972 the United State Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit affirmed the petitioner’s judgment
of conviction. This petition for writ of certiorari is filed
in a timely fashion, an extension of time having been
granted by Mr. Justice Marshall by an order dated Decem-
ber 29, 1972.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Whether the government in a drug case can refuse
to disclose the name of an informant who actually partici-
pated in the offense to the extent that he acquired, trans-
ported and actually delivered the narcotics to other de-
fendants.

2. Whether the seizure of the drugs in the automobile
without a search warrant, three days after its entry into the
United States while the car was under constant surveil-
lance, violated the petitioner's rights under the Fourth
Amendment.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

REA oe

3

3. Whether the search of the apartment in New Jersey
violated the petitioner’s Fourth Amendment rights because
no facts were set forth in the supporting affidavit connect-
ing those premises with the sale of narcotics.

Constitutional Provisions
AMENDMENT IV

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall
issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or
affirmation, and particularly describing the place to he
searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or other-
wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indict-
ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land
or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall he compelled in any criminal case
to he a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

Statement of Facts

This case is the latest fallout to reach this Court from
the government’s continued misuse of secret informers.
The facets relevant to the informer issue can be introduced
to the Court in a summary fashion.

eee Peter

ERR REISER PUIG, PAT

hav BBP:

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

4

Sometime before August of 1971 a government informer,
code named “Festus”, purchased a Jaguar car in France
and, with the knowledge of the FBI, loaded it with 93 kilo-
grams of heroin which he concealed within the car’s body-
work (S-34, 164, 511, 927). On August 3, 1971 the car was
registered in the informer’s name and on September 10 it
was shipped to New York City under the name of the
informer, accompanied by him and FBI agents (274-276,
339, 927).

On September 16, 1971 the car was subjected to two
searches upon its arrival at Pier 92 in New York City.
One was conducted in the hold of the ship and the other
while the car was on the pier (S-117). One package of
heroin was seized while the car was at the pier, but the rest
of the drugs were allowed to remain in the automobile
(S-79, 270).

The informer then drove the car to the Playboy Club in
Manhattan and left it downstairs in the General Motors
Building (332, 333). While the automobile was in the base-
ment parking area of the General Motors Building, the
FBI dismantled it and removed 178 bags of heroin, but left
one bag, half of a kilogram, in the car? The confiscated
hags were replaced with replica bags containing milk sugar
and quinine (S-73, 164, 333, 375, 376, 496, 504, 934). That
same day the informer took the Jaguar to the Madison
Square Garden Garage twice and then to the Hotel Pierre.

The next day he drove the car to a garage across the
street from Madison Square Garden and left it there (339).

1 Numbers in parentheses refer to the pages of the original trial
transcript and, where preceded by “S”, to the suppression hearing.

2 The informer executed a written consent authorizing the search
and was never tried.

wa

5

He then went into Madison Square Garden and, by pre-
arrangement, met Etienne Gunther, to whom he delivered
the parking ticket for the car (85).

On September 18 Gunther met Jean Orsini at the Abbey-
Victoria Hotel and passed the parking ticket on to him
(95-97). Orsini said that he could not have the money
until Monday or Tuesday (99). Gunther never had any
contact with Ortega or Perez. That evening, George
Warren Perez was seen driving the petitioner Ortega and
Jean Orsini away from the Alrae Hotel in Manhattan in
a Ford stationwagon which was located three days later
at 608 82nd Street in North Bergen, New Jersey (559-560).

In the early morning hours of September 19, Luis Ortega
gave the parking ticket for the Jaguar to Winston Dyer, :
who was employed as an attendant by the New Garden
Garage in Manhattan. Another attendant went to get the 7
car but returned, stating the car would not start (61, 614).
The attendant and petitioner Ortega went upstairs and
coasted the car down the ramp to the main floor (614).
Eventually the car was started and Ortega drove it down
West 31st Street, while Perez and Orsini followed in a
Chevrolet. When it reached 8th Avenue it stalled (763).

Thirty FBI agents were swarming all over the area,
keeping the car under surveillance, and Agent Devine asked
if he could assist the petitioner Ortega in starting the car ;
(S-197, 763). Devine was unable to start the car ( 763).

Fifteen to twenty minutes after the car’s breakdown, the j
petitioner Orsini and Perez were arrested and the narcotics
were seized from the car without a search warrant (328).

%On December 14, 1971 Gunther, defecting to the government,
plead guilty and testified at the petitioner’s trial. His wife Raymonde, 3
who was originally charged with narcotics violations, received amnesty :
of the Jaguar (Gov’t Ex. 4). :

oe

Federal agents, armed with search warrants, then searched
Room 6-J in the Alrae Hotel, and the premises known as
608 82nd Street, North Bergen, New Jersey. In the North
Bergen apartment the authorities seized a scale. Petitioner
Ortega’s address was 597 Riverside Drive (529, 558, 594.
595). No incriminating evidence was found on his person
or in his home.

No conversations were ever overheard among Ortega,
Orsini or Perez (S-40). Nothing was ever exchanged
among any of these defendants (S-40). The only contaet
among Luis Ortega, George Warren Perez and Jean Orsini
was when they were in each other’s company outside the
Alrae Hotel on the 19th of September (404).

Appellant Orsini stated in an affidavit filed with the
trial court that he entered this country for the purpose of
picking up a 1971 Jaguar sedan but that he did not have
a driver’s license permitting him to operate the vehicle
in this country.* Orsini swore that he contacted appellant
Ortega for social purposes and, since he could not operate
the car, he asked him to assist in driving the vehicle from
the New Madison Square Garden Garage.

Orsini forthrightly stated that petitioner Ortega had
absolutely no knowledge that the Jaguar contained heroin
concealed in its bodywork. The only reason Ortega
was with Jean Orsini on the night of September 19 was
to assist him in driving the car to its ultimate destination.

As previously stated, petitioner Ortega was convicted
on March 7 as charged and sentenced on April 14, to 2%
years imprisonment. The judgment of conviction was
affirmed December 11, 1972 by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit.

4 These facts, and those that follow, are found in the supporting
affidavits for Ortega’s motion requesting a severance.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

The petitioner’s Constitutional right of Confrontation
was violated by the government’s refusal to disclose the
identity of an informer who participated in the event to
the extent that he acquired, transported and actually de-
livered the narcotics to other defendants.

7

The judgment below, denying to the defense disclosure
of the government informer’s identity, raises the gravest
constitutional doubts. The awful spectre of the misuse
of secret informers has stalked across the pages of this
Court’s decisions for more than a deeade.® The melancholy
forecast in the comments of members of this Court,
noted below, has all too soon been fulfilled. This case, more
than any other confirms the Court’s worst suspicions of
how the use of informers can he treacherously abused.

5A few illustrative instances where members of this Court have
revealed their misgivings about the use of secret informers are:

“It is not unknown for the arresting officer to misrepresent his
connection with the informant, his knowledge of the informer’s
reliability, or the information allegedly obtained from the in-
formant.” Mr. Justice Douglas’ dissent in McCray v. Illinois,
386 U.S. 300, 316, n. 2 (1967).

“The plea that evidence of guilt must be secret is abhorrent to
free men because it provides a cloak for the malevolent, the misin-
formed, the meddlesome, and the corrupt to play the role of in-
formant undetected and uncorrected.” United States ex rel.
Knauff v. Shaughnessy, 338 U.S. 537, 551 (1950).

“When we relax our standards to accommodate the faceless in-
former, we violate our basic constitutional guarantees and ape
the tactics of those we despise.” Peters v. Hobby, 349 U.S. 331,
352 (1955).

“The prejudicies, the credibility, the passions, the perjury of the
informer are never known. If they were exposed, the whole
charge might wither under the cross-examination.” United States
v. Nugent, 346 U.S. 1, 14 (1953).

“This is an age where faceless informers have been introduced in-
to our society in alarming ways.” Jones vy. United States, 362
U.S, 257, 272 (1960).

RRL ATT PEPE IN 8, 7:

ssi da

WW OTILGA TEN MY FIMO We he

SN Tk Lt al a

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

8

The mishandling of secret informers in law enforcement
today is reaching epidemic proportions. Consequently, no
case deserves review by this Court more than the one at
bar.

The informant’s involvement in this prosecution is
staggering and goes far beyond any other previously re-
viewed by this Court. Here the informer purchased the
Jaguar in his own name, loaded it with heroin, and shipped
it under his name to the United States (34, 164, 339, 927).
He brought the drugs through customs and drove the car
around New York for three days (30, 79, 270). A consent
form for the search of the car was executed by him, which
the government claimed authorized the dismantling of the
automobile at the General Motors garage, where 178 bags
of heroin were seized (73, 174, 333, 339). He then delivered
the car with one bag of heroin still concealed in it to the
defendant Gunther (85). In the application for the search
warrant this informant was referred to as a co-defendant
(488). The informer was also named as one of the co-
defendants in the original complaint filed before the United
States Commissioner (486-487).

When the trial and circuit courts stood by the govern-
ment’s refusal to divulge the informer, this case was im-
mediately destined to reach this Court.

® Stunned by the magnitude of the informant’s participation in
this offense, Judge Pierce invited the government to revea! the in-
former’s name by declaring: “On the question of the disclosure of
the informant’s name, doesn’t it appear to you, Mr. Walker, that the in-
volvement of the informer in this case at various important stages is
so significant as to require disclosure of that name in order to insure
or assure the defendants a fair trial?” (306) However, the govern-
ment made a drastic choice when it declined the court's invitation
and refused disclosure (415). This unfortunate decision turned out
to be the government’s worst miscalcluation during the course of the

trial.

Daina Doe Bi nioatae tet hie

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

9

In 1957, this Court concluded in Roviaro v. United States,
353 U. S. 53 (1957), that due process required the govern-
ment to disclose an informant’s identity who had played
a part in bringing about the possession of certain drugs
by the accused and may have been a material witness on
the issue of the defendant’s knowledge.’

Here defense counsel could easily have developed sig-
nificant facts relating to the defense of entrapment, per-
haps could have shown that both Ortega and Perez had ab-
solutely no knowledge of the narcotics concealed in the
car and, more importantly, were unknown to the importer-
informant.

The informer undoubtedly would have testified about the
very minor role played by Ortega as a delivery man. In
any event, defense counsel certainly was entitled to ex-
amine the informant to determine for themselves what
helpful testimony he could have supplied in their defense.

Regrettably, cireuit courts, by denying disclosure, are
beginning to drift away from the original moorings fixed
by this Court in Roviaro.* This case, better than any other,

"More particularly, the Court pointed out in language directly
applicable to this case :

“Doe had helped to set up the criminal occurrence and had played
a prominent part in it. His testimony might have disclosed an
entrapment. He might have thrown doubt upon petitioner’s
identity or on the identity of the package. He was the only
witness who might have testified to petitioner’s possible lack of
knowledge of the contents of the package that he ‘transported’
from the tree to John Doe’s car. The desirability of calling John
Doe as a witness, or at least interviewing him in preparation for
trial, was a matter for the accused rather than the Government
to decide.” (353 U.S. at 64; emphasis added.)

*United States vy. Kelly, 449 F.2d 329 (9th Cir. 1971); United
States v. Anthony, 444 F.2d 484 (9th Cir. 1971); United States v.
Russ, 362 F.2d 843 (2d Cir. 1966) ; United States v. Coke, 339 F.2d
183 (2d Cir. 1964) ; United States v. Li Fat Tong, 152 F.2d 650 (2d
Cir. 1945).

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

10

marks the extent of that drift. On the other hand, other
cireuit courts, obeying Roviaro’s mandate, have required °
disclosure where the informant was an active participant
in the offense or was present at the scene of the crime.’

Clearly the circuit courts of this nation are dramatically
divided over this critical issue. Consequently, a restate-
ment of the informer disclosure rule is desperately needed
to bring order to this area of the law. The despair and dis.
order of these decisions has reached an intolerable state.”

It bears repeating that here the informant launched the
whole importation scheme and delivered the narcotics to

® United States v. Barnett, 418 F.2d 309 (6th Cir. 1969) ; Clingan
vy. United States, 400 F.2d 849 (5th Cir. 1968) ; Lopez-H ernandez v.
United States, 394 F.2d at 820 (9th Cir. 1968) ; United States v.
Roberts, 388 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1968) ; Velarde-Villarreal vy. United
States, 354 F.2d 9 (9th Cir. 1965) ; United States v. D’ Angiolillo, 340
F.2d 453 (2d Cir. 1965); Gilmore v. United States, 256 F.2d 565
(5th Cir. 1958) ; Portomene v. United States, 221 F.2d 582 (5th Cir.
1955); United States v. Conforti, 200 F.2d 365 (7th Cir. 1952);
United States v. Coplon, 185 F.2d 629 (2d Cir. 1950) ; Sorrentino v.
United States, 163 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1947); United States v.
Andolschek, 142 F.2d 503 (2d Cir. 1944).

10 The rule of informer disclosure has fared no better in the States,
for there the law is in an equally confused state. ‘The following courts
have required disclosure :

State v. Godwin, 106 Ariz. 252, 475 P.2d 236 (1970); State v.
Martinez, 15 Ariz. App. 430, 489 P.2d 277 (1971); Rivera v.
Superior Court, 6 Ariz. App. 117, 430 P.2d 696 (1967) ; People
vy. Hunt, 4 Cal.3d 231, 93 Cal. Rptr. 197, 481 P.2d 205 (1971);
People v. Garcia, 67 Cal.2d 830, 64 Cal, Rptr. 110, 434 P.2d 366
(1967) ; Price v. Superior Court, 83 Cal. Rptr. 369, 463 P.2d 721
(1970) ; People v. Clifton, 42 Il.2d 526, 250 N.E.2d 649 (1969).
Whereas these courts have denied informer disclosure :

People v. McShann, 50 Cal.2d 802, 330 P.2d 33 (1958) ; Ferrara
v. State of Florida, 101 So.2d 797 (1958) ; People v. Mack, 12
[ll.2d 151, 145 N.E.2d 609 (1957); Morss v. Forbes, 24 Nd.
341, 132 A2d 1 (1957). See Anno. 76 A.L.R.2d 262 (1961);
People v. Castro, 29 N LY.2d 324, 277 N.E.2d 654 (1971) ; People
v. Cerrato, 24 N.Y.2d 1, 246 N.E.2d 501 (1961); People v. Pena,
18 N.Y.2d 837, 222 N.E.2d 604 (1966).

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

ll

the defendants by leaving the car in the New Garden
garage. Although the informant had no direct contact
with the petitioner, that makes no difference. What is
important is the fact that the informant’s activities here
were revealed to the jury, as a participant in the offense.
Consequently, it should have been left to defense counsel,
as advocates, what use may have been made of the inform-
ant’s testimony. Surely it was highly improper for the
Second Circuit to preempt that function and to decide that
disclosure would not have been advantageous." For, as
in the Jencks Act cases, what use may be made of this
form of evidence must, of constitutional necessity, be left
to the single-mindedness of defense counsel.!”

Certainly no one could successfully argue to this Court
that there was not a reasonable probability that the in-

t

former here could have given testimony in some way helpful

"The Second Circuit attempted to shore up the validity of its de-
cision by suggesting that disclosure of the informant would not have 2
been helpful to the defense. Appellate Judges should resist the tempta- 4
tion of beoming trial strategists, a role for which they are ill-suited. ¢
These judgments should be left to defense counsel who are better :
equipped to act as advocates. :

2 In discussing this very issue, the Supreme Court of California, E
a court of great vision, in Price v. Superior Court, 83 Cal. Rptr. 369, :
463 P. 2d 721 (1970), held that the defendant need not prove that f
the informer would give testimony favorable to the defense in order é
to compel disclosure, nor need he prove that the informer was a partici- ;
pant in the offense. The court there determined that the defendant &
need only show that the informer would be a material witness on the 4
issue of guilt and that nondisclosure would deprive him of a fair trial. i

Certainly that has been amply demonstrated here.
Rule 19(c)(2) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the
Judicial Conference has some bearing on this issue, for it provides:
“If an election is made not to disclose the identity of an informer
and the circumstances indicate a reasonable probability that the in-
former can give testimony . . . necessary to a fair determina-
tion of a material issue in the case, the judge shall . . . dismiss
the proceedings.” (51 F.R.D. 378)

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

SLPS SIER IIE” OME

—

12

to the defense, either on the critical entrapment issue or
on the petitioner’s lack of knowledge of the narcotics in
the car.

The use of the informant in confirming the defense of
entrapment was of critical importance, for the magnitude
of that defense cannot be underestimated. A vigorous
examination of the informant would have most likely de-
veloped facts showing the government’s participation in the
drug smuggling scheme beyond what they would like us to
believe. These facts would have borne critically on the
defense of entrapment.”

Entrapment occurs when the criminal conduct is “the
product of the creative activity” of law enforcement offi
cials. Sherman v. United States, 356 U.S. 369 (1958).
Clearly the creative activity in this case was the govern-
ment’s virtually underwriting of the importation of these
narcotics and its insuring their safe passage through cus-
toms to their ultimate destination. Their feeble efforts to

18 The past few years have seen a considerable change in the posture
of legal institutions toward the defense of entrapment. Enlightened
courts are beginning to reject prosecutors’ invitations to become accom-
plices in their distasteful criminal conduct designed to catch offenders.
United States y. Russell, 459 F.2d 671, (9th Cir. 1972) ; United States
v. Bueno, 447 F.2d 903 (5th Cir. 1971) ; United States v. Chisum, 312
F, Supp. 1307 (C.D. Cal. 1970) ; People v. Strong, 21 I1l.2d 320, 172
N.E.2d 765 (1961).

Even Judge Pierce was astonished by the government’s participation
in this drug offense. He voiced his distress by stating: ‘This may
be the key point in this matter, to take up the question of the heavy
involvement of the informant. There is a question from the record 80
far that he is heavily involved, and I need not tell you that this in-
volvement is so great, in fact, as to seriously raise questions as to
whether or not, but for the participation and cooperation of the goven-
ment agents and the informant, the crime might never have occurred”
(291-292).

13

disclaim this responsibility could easily have been repudi-
ated by the informer had he been called to the stand."

On October 16, 1972, this Court granted certiorari in
United States v. Russell, Docket No. 71-1585, opinion below,
459 F.2d 691 (9th Cir. 1972). In Russell, the Ninth Circuit
held that the defendant could not be convicted for manufac-
turing and possessing a drug where a necessary ingredient
for its manufacture was supplied by an agent of the govern-
ment. Since the issue in Russell is directly related to the
one at bar, this Court may wish to consider this case at
the same time it judges Russell.

No member of this Court can be other than unhappy
about the government’s participation and overreaching in
this serious drug offense. It is frightening that in order
to obtain evidence of the distribution of narcotics, our
government must actually inspire and participate in the
arrangement for the importation of dangerous drugs into
this country. The spectacle of federal agents secretly
mated with the underworld and using gangsters to gain
its ends is indeed unwholesome. Use of these unbecoming
tactics should rightly influence this Court’s grant of this
petition. For if the Court ever gives in to the government
here, there will be no end to the misuse of informers, who
actually participate in the crime, but whose identity is con-
cealed, thus, depriving the defense of information critical 1
to their cause. 4

Sonia at PY SH IO eer ¥

The American Law Institute Model Penal Code provides that
entrapment may be established if it can be shown that a police officer
encouraged another person to engage in the criminal offense by:
“Employing methods of persuasion or inducement which create a
substantial risk that such an offense will be committed by persons
other than those who are ready to commit it.” (Model Penal Code,
§ 2.13[1][6]; Proposed Official Draft, 1962) Here the importa-
tion of narcotics into this country by the government surely created
a risk that others might become involved in its delivery who were not
originally contemplated in the plan’s implementation.

SEERA RIN pase tte NST

ee ee ae ee ae. ee er eS TU

14

The Second Cireuit’s decision is in direct defiance of
this Court’s mandate in Roviaro. In fact, the rule of in.
former disclosure is being driven out of existence by such
decisions and if this trend is not halted, Roviaro risks
bankruptcy. This Court simply cannot afford to abandon a
position it has maintained for over a decade.

And finally it must be said that because of the horror
surrounding heroin prosecutions courts are often tempted
to relax constitutional standards and let the prosecution
take shortcuts not ordinarily sanctioned by law. Such
practices tend to lower the standards of criminal justice.
If only the fate of drug pushers were involved in cases such
as this, one might be indifferent to the way in which their
convictions are obtained. But it is precisely because the
appeal to the Fourth and Sixth Amendments is so often
made by persons who are claimed to be unworthy that its
infringements call for strenuous resistance. No court can
give legal sanction to what was done in this case without
accepting the full responsibility for the far-reaching conse-
quences of such a precedent.

For all these reasons, the petition for certiorari should
be granted.

15

Where the police for three days had known of the
narcotics in the car and had ample time to secure a search
warrant, there were no exigent circumstances justifying
the warrantless search of the car.

The search of the apartment in New Jersey was un-
lawful because no facts were set forth in the supporting
affidavit connecting those premises with narcotics.

The elusive search and seizure question presented here,
involving the appropriation of the narcotics concealed in
the Jaguar car, deserves this Court’s most careful atten-
tion. For the narcotics seized while the car was in the
possession of the defendants were introduced against the
defendants over their objection that it had been uncon-
stitutionally acquired.

The searches of the car at the port of entry and in the
(ieneral Motors Building were presumably authorized
under appropriate customs regulations governing border
searches. In any event, during those times the Jaguar
car was in the possession of the informant and he apparent-
ly consented to its search. However, when the car was
ultimately transferred to Orsini by the delivery of the park-
ing ticket, the authority to further search it under the
customs law expired.

It bears repeating that the government knew of the con-
cealment of the narcotics in the Jaguar car from the time
the car left France until its ultimate seizure on September
19. They could have easily obtained a search warrant for
the automobile on the 16th, 17th or 18th of September.
Consequently the last search was unconstitutional because
it was without a warrant; it was not incident to an arrest:
it was without consent; there was no emergency; and the

ae ee ee ee Se ee ed oe 4 he ok oh = |

i
,
%
Ki
"
t
*
.
y
f
a

16

contraband was not in immediate danger of destruction.
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) ; Chimel vy,
California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969); Preston v. United States,
376 U.S. 364 (1964); and United States v. Rabinowitz, 339
U.S. 56 (1950). Accordingly, there was no good reason why
the police should not have secured a warrant for the search
of the car.

The decisions governing car searches are in a terrible
state of turmoil. In sailing across this ocean of the law,
the lawyer often finds himself steered by stars that are
disturbingly in motion. Consequently, the colonization of
the cases located in this legal environment is badly needed,
warranting a review in this case.

In Coolidge this Court, using passages of harsh strength,
was careful to remind prosecutors and Circuit Jndges that:

“The Warrant requirement has been a valued part of
our constitutional law for decades, and it has deter-
mined the result in scores and scores of cases in courts
all over the country. It is not an inconvenience to be
somehow ‘weighed’ against the claims of police eff.
ciency. It is, or should be, an important working part
of our machinery of government, operating as a matter
of course to check the ‘well-intentioned but mistakenly
overzealous executive officers’ who are a part of any
system of law enforcement. If it is to be a true guide
to constitutional police action, rather than just a pious
phrase, then ‘[t]he exceptions cannot he enthroned into
the rule.” (403 U.S. at 481)”

15In keeping with the Supreme Court’s admonitions in Coolidge,
circuit courts have insisted that warrant procedures be followed in cases
less severe than our own. United States v. Collins, 439 F.2d 610
(D. C. Cir. 1971) ; United States v. Payne, 429 F.2d 169 (9th Cir.
1970).

United States v. Van Leeuwen, 39% U.S. 249 (1970), deserves
discussion because it has some bearing on the issues presented here.
There a package sent through the mail, which was suspected of con-

(Footnote continued on following page)

17

We repeat that the FBI had known about the role of
the Jaguar in this importation scheme since its very incep-
tion. The car had been kept under surveillance and was
always subject to immediate capture. There was no oppor-
tunity for the defendants to destroy the evidence concealed
in the car’s body, nor was there time to do so. However,
there was ample time for the FBI to secure a warrant
authorizing the search and seizure of the automobile. There
was no real danger of the automobile being removed from
the jurisdiction, for on the night of the petitioner’s arrest,
there was an army of over 30 FBI agents in the immediate
vicinity of the automobile who ultimately stormed the ear.
Thus, there was not the slightest excuse for what occurred
in the zeal of the chase here. This police action represents
a clear and untenable abuse of the limited authority con-
ferred upon them by law. nn ee, ee, | | he || hl

>

A-17
Opinion of Court of Appeals

over, it is clear beyond peradventure of doubt, as demon-
strated by what each of these appellants did to effectuate
the purposes of the conspiracy, as outlined in our state-
ment of the evidence, that each of these appellants was
ready, willing and able and had a prior propensity to en-
gage in a heroin importation and distribution venture. So,
we shall say no more of that phase of the entrapment claim.

The more serious phase of the so-called entrapment “de-
fense” was the endeavor to bring this case within the
ambit of those decisions that hold that where the govern-
ment provides not only the occasion for committing the
offense but also the contraband necessary for its consum-
mation there is entrapment as a matter of law, irrespective
of the propensity of the accused to commit the crime, be-
cause this is the only way to prevent such reprehensible
and unworthy conduct on the part of the police. Thus in
United States v. Chisum, 312 F.Supp. 1307 (C.D. Cal. 1970),
the government informer received the counterfeit bills
from the government, gave them to Chisum and then had
him arrested for receiving counterfeit money with intent
to pass the hills as genuine. In People v. Strong, 21 Tll.2d
320, 172 N.E.2d 765 (1961), the government supplied the
very narcoties that gave rise to the alleged offense.

Without the slightest seintilla of proof, and without any
offer of proof, and despite the fanciful nature of the hy-
pothesis in the context of the facts disclosed in this record.
counsel for the defendants made repeated statements that
the million dollars worth of pure, uncut heroin had been
purchased hy the government, that the government had
caused it to he placed in the Jaguar that had in turn heen

:
:
z

oY REOW MM OTT

A-18
Opinion of Court of Appeals

purchased with government funds, all for purposes of en.
trapment. It was at first in vain that the prosecutor in.
sisted there could be no issue in the case without some
proof to back up these statements of counsel; that the
record was bare of proof that the informant ever saw any
heroin, that he ever put any heroin in the Jaguar, or any
proof that this extensive international scheme of bringing
heroin into the United States originated with either the
informer or the government. Finally, as already indicate
in our summary of the evidence, a stipulation was entered
into between the prosecutor and counsel for all defendants
that the government did not furnish any money to buy
the Jaguar or give any instructions to the informer to buy
it. One might have supposed that this would dispose of
the matter. But no, counsel kept repeating their claims
that the government had manufactured the crime and that
they could prove it if only they could put their hands on
the informer and get him into court as a witness. This
led to almost interminable argument and discussion. Exer-
cising meticulous care in seeing to it that appellants’ rights
should not be infringed, the judge listened and listened,
and read and analyzed numerous cases cited to him. With
this and the numerous suppression hearings during the
trial, the members of the jury were sitting in the jury
room twiddling their thumbs far more time than they spent
in the courtroom listening to the evidence. While such
interruptions of a trial are regrettable, the judge’s patience
had the salutary result of avoidance of error.

The informer issue was brought to a head by an intima-
tion or suggestion by Mr. Fisher, counsel for Orsini, that
perhaps progress could he made if, in the words of the

awe = -_ wwe ——— +s

'- — | hh - —-— & ®

A-19
Opinion of Court of Appeals

trial judge, “the government may choose to share with me
in camera information which has bearing” on the role of
the informer and the questions that had been raised by
counsel for appellants. This met with general approval by
counsel for all defendants, except that Mr. Fisher main-
tained that in the im camera proceeding, in the absence of
counsel for appellants, the trial judge should be afforded
an opportunity to question the informant. This led to a
statement by the prosecutor that he could not produce the
informant and that the Second Circuit decisions? made it
perfectly plain that the government was not under any
circumstances required to produce the informant. After
everyone seemed to agree on this, the prosecutor said he
objected to the in camera proceeding but would go ahead
with it if the court so ruled, and the prosecutor requested
aruling, which was granted, to the effect that what occurred
in the in camera proceeding should not be revealed to de-
fense counsel. So, it was ordered that the transcript of the
in camera proceeding by the court reporter be sealed and
only unsealed upon proper showing to the court.

After all these preliminaries, and over the government’s
objection, the in camera proceeding took place, after it had
heen brought about at appellants’ request. The prosecutor

? The rule in this Circuit was articulated in United States v. D’Angi-
olillo, 340 F.2d 453, 455 (2d Cir.), cert. denied 380 U.S. 955 (1965),
where this Court wrote: “where the informer’s testimony may be rele-
vant to the defense, the defendant is entitled to his name, to such infor-
mation as the government may have concerning his whereabouts, and
to reasonable cooperation in securing his appearance.” The government
is not required to actually produce the informer. See also, United
States v. Roberts, 388 F.2d 646, 649 (2d Cir. 1968) ; United States v.
Russ, 362 F.2d 843 (2d Cir. 1966) ; United States v. Jones, 360 F.2d
92 (2d Cir. 1966); United States vy. Coke, 339 F.2d 183 (2d Cir.
1964).

*

7
E
=
a
a
»
3
4
&
5.
é
z
E
:
e
J
5
&
‘4
ye
a
&
§
:

TNE LAS

A-20

Opinion of Court of Appeals

with his files of documents went into the trial judge’s cham.
bers with the court reporter. After this was over, Judge
Pierce returned to the courtroom and said:

The Court: Gentlemen, Mr. Walker has made avail.
able to me, in camera, material which causes me to be
familiar with the role of the informant in this case.

On the basis of that familiarization, I can find no
ground for supporting your requests for either reveal.
ing his identity or asking the government’s cooperation
in producing him here.

I have had in mind, as I reviewed this material,
the specific matters which you have called to my atten-
tion, your specific concerns, your specific assertions,
and I nevertheless find none of these to be supported
in any way by the material I have reviewed.

In fact, I find that the situation is quite to the con-
trary.

On the basis of this in camera proceeding, with the
cooperation of the government having made this pos-
sible, | rule on your motions at this time and deny
them with respect to the informant.

We cannot consider as an objection Mr. Fisher's remark,
subsequent to this ruling, that informers are generally
unreliable and that one cannot pay much attention to what
they say. There were no motions and no further rulings.

The position taken by the prosecutor from the beginning
was correct. The record is completely bare of anything to
show that the informer could give testimony relevant to
or essential to a fair determination of any of the issues in

)
)

A-21
Opinion of Court of Appeals

the ease. Thus the teaching of Roviaro has no application
and all of the motions of defense counsel concerning the
identification, the disclosure of the whereabouts or the pro-
duction of the informer should have been denied without
any in camera proceeding.

The references to the trial and in the briefs to United
States v. Jones, 360 F.2d 92 (2d Cir. 1966) and United
States v. D’ Angiolillo, 340 F.2d 453 (2d Cir.), cert. denied
380 U.S. 955 (1965), show nothing contrary to what we
have above stated. What is meant by “may” or “might” as
the same thing as saying that if it does appear in the
record that the testimony of the informer is shown by rea-
sonable probability to be relevant or essential to a fair
determination of any of the issues in the case, the govern-
ment’s privilege against disclosure is not available.

This we think disposes of the question of identifying,
disclosing the whereabouts of and producing the informer.

III

The Trial Judge Properly Refused to Suppress

Any of the Objects Found on the Persons of Ortega,

Orsini and Perez at the Time of the Arrest or at

the Vacant Premises Stated by Perez to be his

Ilome or in Orsini’s Room at the Hotel Alrae or the
Heroin left in the Jaguar

When one is once familiar with the interrelation of the
separate bits of evidence in this complicated case, as
sketched in our summary, it is difficult to imagine how
there could have been any lack of probable cause for the
arrests or any insufficiency in the affidavits upon the basis

SE IRE OTL NS LOLLY LIMIT SOIL RO, — |

A-22

Opinion of Court of Appeals

of which the search warrants were issued or of the proofs
of probable cause adduced at the trial. But the pattem
of scraps and phrases culled from the mass of dicta and
wide ranging observations found in the hundreds of court
opinions in search and seizure cases gives an appearance
of substance to what are mostly frivolous claims. They
merit no more than brief discussion.

A
The Jaguar and Its Contents

The search by a Customs Agent and others helping him,
in the hold of the Elizabeth II while still in midstream,
was clearly proper as a border search. So was the cursory
examination on the pier and the removal of a one-half
kilogram bag of heroin from the car after the vessel was
made fast. Under the circumstances of this case the search
without a warrant in the midnight dismantling and re-
assembling of the Jaguar in the garage opposite the Play-
boy Club was a mere continuation of the border search.
At this time the shipment of heroin was removed and placed
in government custody, except for one-half kilogram bag
that was left concealed under the driver’s seat in such
fashion that it could be disclosed and secured only by the
use of tools. Surely the government was entitled to make
it impossible for this large importation of dangerous drugs
to slip through the fingers of its agents by some mischanee.
And it was equally proper to leave some of the heroin in
the car for purposes of proof of the violations of the nar- _
cotics laws by those who might be expected to drive off

3 See United States y. Canieso, Slip Op. Docket No. 72-1789, 2d
Cir., November 22, 1972, and cases cited.

Laie PE a Waar, A et

A-23
Opimon of Court of Appeals

the Jaguar in consummation of their illegal purposes,
believing that still hidden in the inner recesses of the frame-
work of the car was the entire 9314 kilograms of heroin.

Appellants make much of the fact that, for some period
after the one bag of heroin was left concealed in the car,
there was ample time to get a search warrant. They stress
the fact that this search was conducted some two hours
after Ortega, Orsini and Perez were arrested. There are
several answers to this. We prefer to support the final
search at the Headquarters of the Narcotics Squad, after
the arrests of appellants, by the ruling of the Supreme
Court in Cooper v. California, 386 U.S. 58 (1967) relative
to the search of an automobile that is liable to forfeiture.’
Here the Jaguar was clearly subject to forfeiture, pursuant
to the provisions of 21 U.S.C., Section 881, applicable to
the search of vehicles “which are used, or are intended for
use, to transport or in any manner facilitate the transporta-
tion” of a narcotic drug.

It would seem that the search could also be sustained
under the principle of Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42
(1970), applicable to automobiles, when there is probable
cause to search the car as distinguished from mere probable
cause to arrest the defendants. Chambers seemingly sup-
ports the proposition that where the police may stop and
search an automobile under the doctrine of Carroll v.
United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925), they may also seize it
and conduct the search at a later time.®

*The continued validity of Cooper was reaffirmed by the Supreme
Court in Collidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 482 (1971). See
also United States v. Francolino, 367% F.2d 1013 (2d Cir. 1966), cert.
denied 386 U.S. 960 (1967).

® See Collidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U. S. 443, 463 (1971).

ET SCERE ERNIE —

A-24
Opinion of Court of Appeals

B

The Search of Orsini’s Room 6J at the
Hotel Alrae Pursuant to a Warrant

The claim that the affidavit in support of the issuance
of the search warrant of Orsini’s room was insufficient js
frivolous. So is the claim that it was error to refuse to
conduct a hearing to ascertain whether the warrant was
“tainted” by the alleged unlawful eavesdropping by one
of the agents who oceupied Room 61, adjoining Orsini’s
Room 6J, who might have heard come conversations through
the wall with his naked ear, or might have seen some.
thing by peeping through the keyhole of the door between
the two rooms. It was discovered that an agent had heen
in this room when the prosecutor handed over to defense
counsel the mass of what is called 3500 material.

Of all the speculations of counsel with which the briefs
of the appellants are replete this one is the most farfetched
and fanciful. How any information obtained in the adjoin-
ing room could be “related to the allegations establishing
probable cause in the warrant” is far from clear to us. The
almost compelling inference is that there was more than
enough probable cause to be found: in Gunther's testimony
that he gave the parking ticket to Orsini and arranged to
receive the money from him at the Sports Bar the follow-
ing Monday; the sketch of the places where the heroin was
concealed in the framework of the car, the directions con-
cerning how to get the heroin out of the car and the method
to he followed in identifying and meeting Gunther, all of
which documents were found in Orsini’s possession at the
time of his arrest: his riding around with Ortega and

A-25

Opinion of Court of Appeals

Perez, and the final joint possession of the Jaguar and its
one bag of heroin; all this convinces us that the so-called
“taint” hearing was properly denied. It would have been
error to rule that any such hearing should be had, under
the circumstances of this case.

'
)
PRL PEP ON LIC POW HIN TAPP * ai a —_

Besides, there had already been one suppression hearing
on the subject of the search of Orsini’s room before the
trial commenced. The affidavit supporting the warrant,
which made no reference to anything observed by the agent
in the room next to Orsini’s, had been found constitu-
tionally sufficient; and no evidence of anything seen or
heard by this agent was offered at the trial.

See dl be i od aati al a

a

Moreover, what is supposed to be illegal about the con-
duct of this agent in the next room? It is conceded that
no electronic surveillance was in any way involved. What
ean be heard by the naked ear is not protected by the
Fourth Amendment, United States v. Llanes, 398 F.2d 880
(2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied 393 U.S. 1032 (1969). The
Supreme Court had already noted that “The risk of being
overheard hy an eavesdropper * * * is probably inherent
in the conditions of human society. Tt is the kind of risk
we necessarily assume whenever we speak.” Hoffa v. United
States, 385 U.S. 293, 303 (1966), quoting with approval
from Justice Brennan's dissent in Lopez v. United States,
373 U.S. 427, 465 (1963). We would suppose that the same
rule applied to what can he seen by the naked eve, even
through a keyhole.

‘
SRR IER KONE PR SES a

A-26
Opinion of Court of Appeals

Cc
The Search at 608-82nd Street, North Bergen, N.J.

We find the affidavit supporting the warrant to search
these premises, and the evidence adduced at the trial, made
a more than sufficient showing of probable cause. The mere
fact that no money or narcotics were found is of no mo.
ment. The claim of insufficiency is just as frivolous as
the one made in connection with the search of Orsini’s
Room 6J at the Hotel Alrae.

Iv

The False Statements by Orsini in his brief In-
terrogation before His Arraignment Were Prop-
erly Received

The arrests took place at about 2:20 A.M. of Sunday,
September 19. There was a brief questioning at Narcoties
Headquarters after the Miranda warnings had heen given.
Neither then nor at any time was Orsini subjected to any
prolonged interrogation, nor was he asked any other than
the most perfunctory questions. But, as these events oe-
eurred early in the morning of a Sunday, when no Con-
missioner was available, and the following Monday was a
Jewish Holiday and the office of the United States Attor-
ney was understaffed, Orsini was not brought down to the
Courthouse until about 1:30 P.M. although a Commis
sioner was in attendance from 10:00 A.M. on. There was
a brief interrogation by an Assistant United States Attor-
ney prior to arraignment. What this amounted to, with
the assistance of a French interpreter, was the submission
to Orsini of a series of written questions. [le was told to

A-27

Opinion of Court of Appeals

answer the ones he wished to answer and not to answer
the others. This was after the Miranda warnings had been
repeated to him. The answers he gave were false in that
he gave a false name, denied he had been in an automobile
with other people on the preceding Saturday night, and

he denied he had ever heen in the Abbey Victoria Hotel. :
The trial judge overruled the objection to these admissions ;
on the ground that they were clearly voluntary and that
the Miranda warnings had heen properly given.

Sy.) CRN HORTON! SOARS GRC (OMS ~

We are now asked to hold that the answers should have
been excluded and the judgment of conviction against
Orsini reversed, not because the statements were not vol-
untarily made but solely because the lapse of time between
the early morning of Sunday when the arrest was made
and the arraignment hefore the Commissioner in the mid
afternoon of Monday was more than 6 hours in excess of
the time required for transportation. We agree with the
holding of this Court in the similar case of United States
v. Marrero, 450 F.2d 373 (2d Cir. 1971) to the effect that
no violation of the principles of McNabb v. United States,
318 U.S. 332 (1943) and Mallory v. United States, 354 US.
449 (1957) is shown, nor any failure to comply with the
requirements of Title TT of the Omnibus Crime Control
and Safe Streets Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C... Section 3501. We
also refuse to accept the invitation by Orsini’s counsel to
reexamine the holding of this Court in Marrero or to hold
18 U.S.C., Section 3501 unconstitutional.

The writer of this opinion also wishes to state that he
disagrees with the suggestion or intimation or whatever
it may be ealled, in Chief Judge Friendly’s concurring
opinion in Marrero at page 379 that there is something

é
FST Rt or er he eg

A-28

Opinion of Court of Appeals

improper, after overnight custody, in the traditional ens.
tom of a “detour” for brief questioning in the office of the
United States Attorney, as a person who has been arrested
is being taken before a magistrate for arraignment.

Vv

The Bizarre Motion for a Severance and for a
Mistrial on Behalf of Ortega

After both sides had rested and the summations were
about to begin, a new lawyer appeared on Ortega’s behalf
and made a motion “for a mistrial as to Mr. Ortega and
for a severance of his case from the trial of Mr. Orsini.”
This turn of events is supposed to have heen caused by a
desire on the part of Orsini “to exculpate” Ortega, “but
he is not prepared to do it hefore the jury that will decide
the question of his (Orsini’s) guilt or innocence.” No
credible explanation of how Orsini is to do this exculpat-
ing is proffered. The trial judge denied the motion, but
with leave to renew it on written papers after the jury
had rendered its verdict. So, the motion was renewed later
on written papers and we are asked to give serious con-
sideration to Orsini’s generous proposal that if his case
is or had heen severed, he would have taken the witness
stand and his exoneration of Ortega would he so convine-
ing and persuasive that Ortega would he acquitted. Just
what explanations Orsini was prepared to give for all the
things he and Ortega had done together in furtherance of
the conspiracy is left to conjecture. This is reminiscent
of the statement by Orsini’s counsel during the trial that
if the government informer was produced Orsini might
recognize him as the man who solicited him to come from

A-29

Opinion of Court of Appeals

abroad but had concealed from him the fact that heroin
was involved, and that Orsini would testify to this as a
witness in his own defense. Of Course, Orsini did not
testify to this or anything else.

SAL ORLEANS RGN MIS Bet

We are solemnly told that Ortega was going to call
upon Orsini as his witness in defense but failed to do so f
as he anticipated that Orsini would assert his Fifth Amend-
ment privilege. We are also solemnly told that “Orsini
forthrightly stated that Luis Ortega and George Perez
had absolutely no knowledge that the Jaguar contained
| heroin.”

Vole DAMM BTW D ERIE Sot 9082 *b at

We hold that there is no merit in this extraordinary and
) tardy maneuver. The trial judge properly denied the mo-
: tion, and this ruling furnishes no basis for a reversal of
any of the judgments appealed from.

VI

There Was No Impropriety on the Part of the

Prosecutor in Making Reference During His Sum-

mation to the Dates in the Passport Carried hy
Orsini

There was testimony by Gunther that Orsini had told
him he had visited the United States on other occasions
7 on similar illicit business. This is to some extent corrob-
) orated hy other testimony. The brief and incidental ref-
erence in the prosecutor’s summation to the dates in the
7 passport was of no consequence. The passport had been
: received in evidence without objection and without limita-
)

tion. The jury could if they chose examine any and all of
the entries in the passport. However, in the light of the

‘
RO bapa MSDE Mt Lettre Sty Taner earperengg

A-30

< Opinion of Court of Appeals

evidence taken as a whole, it is highly improbable tha
the jury took any interest in the passport or in Orsini’:
other trips to the United States, except perhaps to take
note of the fact that Orsini was using a passport issued
to someone else, that he was masquerading under this
other person’s name, and that he or some other person
at his request had done an especially clever piece of forgery
by substituting Orsini’s photograph for the photograph of
the real Jean Pierre Andre Huguen.

The prosecutor denied that he had orally agreed to make
reference in his summation to the entries in the passport.
As held by the trial judge, it would have heen a simple
matter for counsel to insert this limitation in the written
stipulation. The passport was received in evidence for
all purposes; and the trial judge properly held that it must
be presumed “that the stipulation embodies the full and
complete agreement of counsel.” It would have been error
to grant counsel’s request to instruct the jury that the
passport was no proof of prior trips by Orsini to this
eountry.

We cannot conclude this opinion without a word of com.
ment on the wholly admirable way in which the prosecu-
tion of this complicated and difficult case was conducted by
Assistant United States Attorney John M. Walker, Jr.

Affirmed.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385607_0093%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
