# Amicus Curiae Brief — Allegheny Airlines, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1839%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 410 U.S. 943

## Text

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW .

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .

THE INTEREST OF THE NARUC AS

owt

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... ....... 3

S81 SRN HAS PR oT OER ORIN

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .......... a

|. THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
PROPERLY AFFIRMED, ON THE GROUNDS
OF EQUITABLE ABSTENTION, THE DISTRICT
COURT'S DISMISSAL OF ALLEGHENY’'S SUIT
TO ENJOIN THE PENNSYLVANIA PUC FROM
REQUIRING ALLEGHENY TO OBTAIN THE
PENNSYLVANIA PUC’S APPROVAL PRIOR
TO DISCONTINUING DIRECT SERVICE OVER
AN INTRASTATE ROUTE FOR WHICH AL-
LEGHENY HAD PREVIOUSLY OBTAINED
FROM THE PUC A CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC
Ds «+6 s © » & © & 6 17

Geer 4

ll. THE FEDERAL AVIATION ACT OF 1958
DOES NOT PREVENT PENNSYLVANIA FROM
ADMINISTERING A REASONABLE REGULA-
TORY PROGRAM TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC
INTEREST OF TRAVELERS USING INTRA-
STATE AIR TRANSPORTATION. ... . . 35

Te 6 « « «6 «6 6 6 6 6 + 6 © « 53

i i ttn ad : ee ed —- — ie |

(ii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Judicial Decisions:

Alabama Public Service Commission v. Southern
Railway Company, 341 US. 341 (1951)

Allen-Bradley Local No. 1111, etc. v. Wisconsin
Employment Relations Board,
315 US. 740 (1942) .

A. F. of L. Metal Traders Dept. v. Watson,
327 US. 582 (1946) . a

Atlas Life Ins. Co. v. W. I. Southern, Inc.,
306 US. 563 (1939) . _

Atchison, Topeka, & Santa Fe Railway Company

v. Railroad Commission of the State of California,

283 US. 380 (1931) .

Braniff Airways, Inc. v. Nebraska State Board of

Equalization & Assessment,
347 US. 590 (1954) .

Buck v. California,
343 US. 99

California v. Thompson,
313 US. 109 (1941) .

California v. Zook,
336 US. 725 (1949) .

Capital Service, Inc. v. NLRB,
347 US. 501 (1954) .

Central Kentucky Natural Gas Co. v. Railroad
Commission, 290 U.S. 264 (1933)

21

(iti)

Chemical Specialties Manufacturers Assoc., Inc.
y. Lowery, 452 F.2d 431 (2d Cir. 1971) .

Gtties Service Gas Company v. Peerless Oil &
Gas Company, 340 US. 179 (1950) .

Gty of Chicago v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe
Ry. Co., 357 US. 77 (1958) a

Gty of Chicago v. Fieldcrest Dairies,
316 US. 168 (1942) . ;

Colorado Anti-Discrimination Com v.
Continental Air Lines, Inc.,
372 US. 714 (1963) .

Di Giovanni v. Camden F..Ins. Asso.,
296 US. 64 (1935)

Dickinson v. Stiles,
246 US. 631 (1918) .

Endicott Johnson Corp. v. Perkins,
317 US. S01. , % 2 See re MA ne 36, 42
Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of + 1968,

a es ee sw tt 36
Pennsylvania Public Utility Law ....... 10, 28, 33

Miscellaneous:
78th Congress, S. 246, H.R. 1012, H.R. 3420,

H.R. 4845, H.R. 4848. . . . .. Fase ee > 37
79th Congress, S. 541, H.R. 674, H.R. 3383. . . . . 37
We Sa a. ee tt 37
8st Congress, S. 423, S. 445,8. 2435. . . . 2... 37

1944-1950 NARUC Annual Convention Proceedings . . 37

TINA ROOT KE AERO ADE CIGA Tee IT or VES SCM a

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 72-855

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES, INC.,
Petitioner,

Vv.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,
and its Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM, and
JAMES McGIRR KELLY, LOUIS J. SPARVERO,
and ROBERT K. BLOOM, members of the Commission,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF REGULATORY UTILITY
COMMISSIONERS AS AMICUS CURIAE

SLES IOLA NORE ENN TG RE AE RE

eres

The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commis- }

sioners (NARUC) submits, as provided by Rule 42 of the
Rules of this Court, the following brief amicus curiae in

this case in opposition to the Petition for a Writ of Certi-
orari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit filed by Allegheny Airlines, Inc. (Allegheny).

2

Counsel for Allegheny, Petitioner, and counsel for the
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (Pennsylvania PUC)
and its members, Respondents, have consented to the
NARUC’s filing this brief.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit is reported at 465 F.2d 237 and reprint.
ed in Appendix A, pp. 13a-28a of the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari. The opinion of the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania is reported at 319
F. Supp. 407 and is reprinted in Appendix A. pp. 1a-12a
of the Petition.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the United States Court of Appeals Prop-
erly Affirmed, on the Grounds of Equitable Abstention, the
District Court’s Dismissal of Allegheny’s Suit to Enjoin the
Pennsylvania PUC from Requiring Allegheny to Obtain the
Pennylvania PUC’s Approval Prior to Discontinuing Direct
Service Over an Intrastate Route for which Allegheny had
Previously Sought and Obtained from the PUC a Certifi-
cate of Public Convenience?

Il. Whether the Federal Aviation Act of 1958 Prevents
Pennsylvania from Administering a Reasonable Regulatory
Program to Protect the Public Interest of Travelers Using
Intrastate Air Transportation?

3

THE INTEREST OF THE NARUC AS AMICUS CURIAE

The NARUC is a quasi-governmental nonprofit organiza-
tion founded in 1889. Within its membership are the gov-
ernmental bodies of the fifty States and of the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands engaged in
the regulation of carriers and utilities. The mission of the
NARUC is to improve the quality and effectiveness of pub-
lic regulation in America. More specifically, the NARUC
contains State officiais, including the Commissioners of the
Pennsylvania PUC, Respondents herein, charged with the
duty of regulating air transportation within their respec-
tive States and, as such, they have the obligation to assure
the establishment and maintenance of such air transporta-
tion and facilities as may be required by the public con-
venience and necessity, and the furnishing of service at
rates and charges that are just and reasonable.

The NARUC has actively participated in the court of
appeals and district court below as an amicus curiae, sub-
mitting amicus curiae briefs with the court of appeals on
April 12, 1971 and September 6, 1972, and with the dis-
trict court on June 20, 1972.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Allegheny seeks review of the dismissal of its suit to en-
join the Respondents, the Pennsylvania PUC and its mem-
bers, from enforcing Pennsylvania law which requires Alle-
gheny to eitner: provide direct service over an intrastate
route between Harrisburg and Williamsport, pursuant to
the PUC certificate held by Allegheny; or seek the approv-
al of the PUC to discontinue such service. Allegheny also
seeks to avoid having to obtain PUC approval for any

TEAM eee re
ese

4

other intrastate service changes it may desire to make, ip.
respective of what public interest considerations may be
involved.

Allegheny is the largest local service airline carrier in the
Nation (319 F. Supp. at 409, Allegheny’s Petition, App,
p. 2a; Stip. 2). Its present route structure covers seventer,
States, the District of Columbia and Canada. Jd. The ams
served is roughly defined by St. Louis/Chicago on the West,
Toronto on the North, Boston on the East, and Memphis/
Norfolk on the South. More than 50% of the Nation’s
population is contained in this area (Stip. 4).

Of the seventeen States served by Allegheny, it only
vides intrastate service in the followi nine: Connecticut,
Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio,
vania, Tennessee, and West Virginia (319 F. Supp. at 409,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 2a; Stip. 10).

Pursuant to an application by Allegheny, the Pennsylvania
PUC first certificated it on August 19, 1941, to transport
Property by air in intrastate commerce within Pennsylvania
(319 F. Supp. at 409, Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 2a;
Stip. 11). On January 11, 1949, Allegheny received a cer-
tificate from Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB) to provide in-
terstate passenger service over a route structure, designated
as “Route 97,” covering the District of Columbia and seven
States, including Pennsylvania (/d.; Stip. 1). On March 21,
1949, the Pennsylvania PUC approved Allegheny’s applica-
tion to transport persons and property by air in intrastate
commerce within the State (/d.; Stip. 11).

In the years since 1949, or more explicitly from January
29, 1951 to November 24, 1969, the Pennsylvania PUC
has issued thirteen orders which have granted every applica-
tion of Allegheny to abandon, suspend, substitute or extend

COPY BOUND TOO

5

ervice (Stip. 12-14). The Stipulation entered into by the
sarties does not reveal one instance where the Pennsylvania
UC has denied an application of Allegheny.

The Pennsylvania PUC in a certificate issued on Septem-
yer 11, 1967, redefined Allegheny’s authority to provide
service over several routes, number (5) of which provides
‘or service “Between Erie and Harrisburg via Bradford and
Viliamsport” (Complaint, Exh. A).

The Pennsylvania PUC on June 10, 1968, issued a rule
0 show cause, reciting that it had received information in-
icating that Allegheny had abandoned direct service be-
ween Harrisburg and Williamsport without PUC approval,
nd ordering Allegheny to show cause why its certificate
hould not be cancelled or other penalties imposed for
bandonment of such service contrary to Pennsylvania law
465 F.2d at 239, Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 15a; Com-
aint, Exh. A).

Allegheny on August 1, 1968, responded to the rule to
how cause by answering: that direct, single-plane service
etween every city pair on a linear route served by a cer-
ificated air carrier is not required by the CAB and hence
hould not be required by the PUC; that such a require-
nent would “create a serious economic drain” on Allegheny
nd thereby “constitute an impermissible burden on inter-
tate commerce”; that Allegheny meets its basic certificate
bligation, both Federal and State, by providing service be-
ween Harrisburg and Williamsport via on-line connections
t Pittsburgh or Wilkes-Barre/Scranton; and that therefore
liegheny had not abandoned its Harrisburg-Williamsport
pute. Allegheny requested the PUC to vacate the rule to
how cause and to terminate the proceeding (/d. ; Complaint,
xh. B).

LL

LOSE IN CENTER

6

The Pennsylvania PUC on September 19, 1968, held a
hearing on its rule to show cause and Allegheny’s answer.
In this hearing, Allegheny chose to offer no testimony and
no exhibits, but relied on statements for the record by its
counsel (/d.; Complaint, Exh. C, pp. 3, 5).

The Pennsylvania PUC on June 23, 1969, issued an or-
der imposing on Allegheny a penalty of $5,000 for failure
to seek Pennsylvania PUC approval for the abandonment
of direct service between Harrisburg and Williamsport, and
directing Allegheny to reinstitute such service or in lieu
thereof to file with the PUC a nunc pro tunc application
to abandon such service (465 F.2d at 239, Allegheny’s Pe-
tition, App., p. 16a; 319 F. Supp. at 410, Allegheny’s Pe-
tition, App., p. 4a; Complaint, Exh. C, p. 11).

Meanwhile, the Pennsylvania PUC on May 26, 1969, is.
sued another rule to show cause reciting that Allegheny
had abandoned certain other intrastate service and instituted
new intrastate service within Pennsylvania without the ap-
proval of the PUC. Accordingly, the PUC ordered Alle-
gheny to show cause why its certificate should not be can-
celled or other penalties imposed for the abandonment and
institution of services contrary to Pennsylvania law.

In September, 1969, Allegheny filed its complaint insti-
tuting Civil Action No. 69-2148 in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania; to
void the PUC’s orders and rules to show cause, which are
placed in issue by the complaint, on the grounds that they
have been preempted by CAB regulation under the Federal
Aviation Act of 1958 and that they create an undue bur-
den on interstate commerce; and to enjoin the PUC from
seeking to regulate Allegheny’s intrastate service in the man-
ner challenged in the complaint.

_—

7

Allegheny made no effort to establish a factual record
before the PUC or to seek relief in State court or even to
exhaust its remedy before the Pennsylvania PUC with re-
spect to the order of May 26, 1969 (465 F.2d at 239,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 15a; 319 F. Supp. at 410,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 4a).

The Pennsylvania PUC answered the complaint and, there-
after, it and Allegheny signed a stipulation of facts and
each moved for summary judgment and filed supporting
briefs.

The CAB filed an amicus curiae brief supporting the is-
suance of an injunction against the PUC. However, it care-
fully avoided taking a “position with respect to procedural
issues or questions of judicial jurisdiction.” (CAB Brief,

p. 6).

The NARUC filed an amicus curiae brief supporting the
position of the Pennsylvania PUC.

Following oral argument, the District Court entered an
Order on November 10, 1970, dismissing the complaint
primarily on the ground that Allegheny had not attempted :
to exhaust adequate State remedies (319 F. Supp. 407,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 1a). 4

On July 21, 1972, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, in an opinion written by Judge Rosenn, ;
affirmed the Federal District Court’s refusal to exercise y
jurisdiction in this case on the grounds of equitable absten- E
tion (465 F.2d 237, Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 13a). :

In a Petition for Rehearing In Banc filed ca August 4,
1972, Allegheny challenged the Court’s application of the i
abstention doctrine in the instant case. The Petition for
Rehearing In Banc was denied on September 13, 1972,

a

in an 8 to 1 decision with Judge Gibbons dissenting (Alle
gheny’s Petition, App., p. 31a).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I.

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS PROPER.
LY AFFIRMED, ON THE GROUNDS OF EQUITABLE
ABSTENTION, THE DISTRICT COURT'S DISMISSAL
OF ALLEGHENY’S SUIT TO ENJOIN THE PENNSYL-
VANIA PUC FROM REQUIRING ALLEGHENY TO OB-
TAIN THE PENNSYLVANIA PUC’S APPROVAL PRIOR
TO DISCONTINUING DIRECT SERVICE OVER AN
INTRASTATE ROUTE FOR WHICH ALLEGHENY HAD
PREVIOUSLY OBTAINED FROM THE PUC A CERTI-
FICATE OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE.

In cases of this nature, there exists a well established
principle of our Federal-State system of government which
requires the exhaustion of State administrative and judicial
processes prior to the exercise of jurisdiction by the Fed-
eral courts.

One of the leading cases is Public Utilities Commission
of the State of California v. United Air Lines, Inc., 346
U.S. 402, 98 L. Ed. 140, 74 S. Ct. 151 (1953), which in-
volved the issue of whether the California PUC or the
CAB has jurisdiction over the rates which United charges
for transportation between California mainland points and
Catalina Island. Since Catalina Island is part of California,
the PUC claimed jurisdiction.

The then Civil Aeronautics Act gave the CAB authority
over rates “between places in the same State of the United
States through air space over any place outside thereof.”
United and the CAB both claimed that flights from the

9

mainland to Catalina (a distance of 30 miles) are over the
“high seas” and therefore under the exclusive jurisdiction
of the CAB.

A three judge Federal district court upheld the conten-
tions of United and the CAB. 109 F. Supp. 13.

| On appeal, this Court in a per curiam order “reversed
on authority of Public Service Commission v. Wycoff,”’
344 U.S. 237, 97 L. Ed. 291, 73 S. Ct. 236 (1952). The
Supreme Court in effect held that neither declaratory nor
injunctive relief should be granted to an air carrier in an
action seeking to prevent, on the ground that the CAB
has exclusive jurisdiction, a State PUC from exercising its
claimed jurisdiction over rates charged by the carrier for
transportation between points in the same State but over

the high seas.

The California PUC case presents the strongest possible
application of the exhaustion doctrine since it presented
for decision a clear cut legal issue unencumbered by any
unresolved question of fact. In contrast, the case sub ju-
dice should ultimately turn on a factual record being de-
veloped as to whether it is reasonable to require direct
air service between Harrisburg and Williamsport.

In the Wycoff case, which is the one the Supreme Court
placed sole reliance on in the California PUC case, a motor
carrier sought in a Federal district court a declaratory judg-
ment that its transportation of motion picture film and
newsreels between points in Utah constituted an integral
part of interstate commerce, and an injunction against the
Utah Public Service Commission to prevent interference
with such transportation over routes authorized by the
Interstate Commerce Commission. The district court up-

held the Utah Commission and the court of appeals reversed.

10

On appeal, this Court reversed on the basis that federal
courts should not interfere with proceedings before State
administrative agencies.

Pennsylvania law provides adequate remedies. The Penn-
sylvania PUC is empowered to adopt regulations and Orders
and “to rescind or modify any such regulations or Orders,”
Public Utility Law, Sec. 902. See also Sec. 1007.

Accordingly, Allegheny may apply to the Pennsylvania
PUC to have the penalty rescinded and its certificate amend-
ed to reflect only economically viable operations.

Judicial review of PUC orders is provided by Article XI
of the Public Utility Law. The granting of supersedeas is
authorized pending review. Sec. 1103.

The delay and expense, which will occur to Allegheny
in the exhaustion of its well-defined State remedies, are of
its own making. It chose to ignore these remedies in the
face of a long line of cases applying the doctrine of ab-
stention in Federal-State relations.

Moreover, the doctrine of abstention is more than a the-
oretical exercise in promoting comity between the Federal
and State governments. It has a growing practical applica-
tion today in conserving the time and energy-of the Fed-
eral judiciary in its efforts to handle a rapidly growing
case load. Why should the over-burdened Federal courts
be called upon to expend valuable time in deciding a case
of this nature which may easily be resolved by the PUC
or the State courts?

Allegheny’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, in substance,
contends that the abstention doctrine does not apply to a
case involving a Federal preemption question.

_—-_

11

The distinction Allegheny attempts to draw in applying
the abstention doctrine between a Federal preemption ques-
tion and other Federal constitutional questions is a distinc-
tion without difference. The Federal preemption question
involves construction of a Federal statute whereas a Fede-
ral constitutional question involves construction of a Fed-
eral constitutional provision. Both involve alleged conflicts
with State statutes.

In addition, Allegheny ignores the most recent United
States Supreme Court case applying the abstention doc-
trine. In Lake Carriers’ Assn. v. MacMullen, 406 U.S. 498,
32 L. Ed. 2d 257, 40 U.S. Law Week 4569 (May 30, 1972),
the United States Supreme Court held that abstention was
proper in a case challenging the validity of the Michigan
Watercraft Pollution Control Act. Lake Carriers’ Assn. v.
MacMullen, supra, 32 L. Ed. 2d at 264, 40 U.S. Law Week
at 4571 (May 30, 1972) did involve a claim “. . . that the
Michigan statute conflicts with or is pre-empted by federal
law, primarily the Federal Water Pollution Control Act as
amended by the Water Quality Improvement Act of 1970,
and is therefore invalid under the Supremacy Clause.”

Allegheny also ignores the case of Public Utilities Com-
mission of the State of California v. United Air Lines, Inc., 3
supra, This case also clearly involved a preemption claim.
The case is extensively discussed in this brief, supra.

The cases relied upon by Allegheny in its Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari did all hold “‘no abstention” in a given
fact situation, but the instant case is distinguishable from
these cases. The factors relied upon by Judge Rosenn
were not present in those cases.

aa Ce a st 1 ek

One of the principal factors relied upon by Judge Rosenn
was the fact that Allegheny had on its own initiative sought

FIRE LE LEAMTS LEL LAIN OF tr eaten

—

12

and obtained from the Pennsylvania PUC “. . . a certifi.
cate of public convenience as an intrastate carrier to trans.
port passengers between certain cities in Pennsylvania, jn-
cluding Harrisburg and Williamsport.” (465 F.2d at 243,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 24a.)

Clearly, a case such as the instant case, where the air-
line has sought and obtained a certificate of public con-
venience is distinguishable from cases where no such cer-
tificate was sought and obtained.

Additional factors relied upon by Judge Rosenn as re-
quiring abstention were:

(1) The State’s interests in local airline service are sig-
nificant. Airports, runways, and related facilities often re-
quire large expenditures at considerable community sacri-
fice and effort. In addition, the communities involved
may have come to depend on the direct air service, and
there is a presumption under Pennsylvania law that certif-
icated public utility service is needed and vital, until a
public utility proves otherwise (465 F.2d at 244, Allegheny’s
Petition, App., p. 25a).

(2) Allegheny presented no evidence suggesting that it
would have been harmed by having to resort to the Penn-
sylvania PUC or State courts before discontinuing the serv-
ice (/d.).

(3) Reliance by local communities upon the services
provided by Allegheny would be reasonable in light of
the airline’s action in obtaining from the Pennsylvania PUC
a certificate to transport persons and property between
points in Pennsylvania (465 F.2d at 244, 245, Allegheny’s
Petition, App., p. 26a).

13

(4) The danger of Federal-State friction is intensified
by Allegheny’s request for a perpetual injunction which
would enjoin the Pennsylvania PUC from “any action or
proceeding for any violation of the laws of . . . Pennsyl-
yania based upon action by Allegheny in changing its pat-
terns of service.” If this relief were granted, the airline,
while not being subject to State regulation, would main-
tain the benefits that accrue to holders of State public
utility certificates (465 F.2d at 245, Allegheny’s Petition,

App., p. 27a).

(5) There are no “. . . significant federal concerns
which would override the other factors mentioned above.
Even if it should be ultimately determined that the state
does not have power to regulate the actions which precip-
itated this suit, a temporary co-existence of federal-state
regulation will not frustrate any immediate goals or poli-
cies of the Federal Aviation Act.” (465 F.2d at 245,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 28a.)

In addition to the factors relied upon by this Court
there is another factor supporting equitable abstention.
This factor is that the State law is unsettled in this case,
and a determination by State courts may make a deter-
mination on the Federal preemption issue unnecessary.

THE FEDERAL AVIATION ACT OF 1958 DOES NOT
PREVENT PENNSYLVANIA FROM ADMINISTERING
A REASONABLE REGULATORY PROGRAM TO PRO-
TECT THE PUBLIC INTEREST OF TRAVELERS
USING INTRASTATE AIR TRANSPORTATION.

Congress, in enacting the Federal Aviation Act of 1958,
clearly did not intend to completely preempt the regulation

Soe eae sores eT Ree or aes teatre tees ;
a ee hk es a a LETTE FE NET OPT, OE .
. SIRE ee ee i a a :

RES SAAR eres

of air transportation. CAB domestic jurisdiction in the
economic sense is primarily couched in terms of “inter.
state air commerce” and “interstate air transportation,”

Obviously, this is not the language of total Federal pre-
emption.

14

The Congressional propensity to divide the interstate
and intrastate characteristics of a national industry, and
to assign the former to Federal regulation and to reserve
the latter for State regulation, is consistently reflected in
the programs governing electric, gas, motor Catrier, rail-
road and telephone companies.

The Federal Aviation Act is the latest offspring in this
family of legislation and bears unmistakably the genetic
qualities of Federal-State regulatory alliance.

We believe Congress was wise in permitting the forma-
tion of this Federal-State alliance because its proper func-
tioning affords the American people the maximum bene-
fits from air transportation. Obviously, a State agency,
such as the Pennsylvania PUC, is far more concerned with
the adequcy of air transportation among the smaller com-
munities in the State than is the CAB. In contrast, the
CAB is far more concerned with the adequacy of a national
air transportation system than is any single State. In short,
the two regulatory interests form a partnership, comple-
menting each other in advancing the public welfare.

Out of interpretations of the above Federal statutes,
and out of other incidents of our Federalism, has evolved
a line of decisions defining the interface between Federal
and State jurisdiction. California v. Thompson, 313 USS.
109, 85 L. Ed. 1219 (1941); Head v. New Mexico Roard
of Examiners in Optometry, 374 U.S. 424, 10 L. Ed. 2d
983, 83 S. Ct. 1759 (1963).

15

The test of whether both Federal and State regulations
may operate or the State regulation must give way, is
whether both regulations can be enforced without impaii-
ing the Federal superintendence of the field, not whether
they are aimed at similar or different objectives. Federal
regulation of a field of commerce should not be deemed
preemptive of State regulatory power in the absence of
persuasive reasons either that the nature of the regulated
subject matter permits no other conclusion or that the
Congress has unmistakably so ordained. Congressional reg-
ulation of one end of the stream of commerce does not,
ipso facto, oust all State regulation at the other end.

When a dispute arises over whether a given transaction
is within the scope of Federal or State regulatory author-
ity, the problem should not be approached negatively,
thus raising the possibility that a “no man’s land” will be
created. FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp.,
365 U.S. 1, 19, 5 L. Ed. 2d 377, 390, 81 S. Ct. 435
(1961).

In People v. Western Air Lines, Inc., 42 Cal. 2d 261,
268 P. 2d 723 (1954), the court upheld the authority of
the California Public Utilities Commission to regulate pas-
senger rates for air coach service between Los Angeles and
San Francisco. The court in construing the Civil Aero-
nautics Act of 1938, which is comparable to the Federal
Aviation Act of 1958, held that “it seems clear that Con-
gress has not sought to extend the economic regulation
of the board (CAB) to intrastate transportation of persons
or property other than mail; nor has it attempted to oust
the states of control over such rates.” 268 P. 2d 736
(26). An appeal from this decision was dismissed by the
United States Supreme Court “for want of a substantial ;
Federal question.” 348 U.S. 859, 99 L. Ed. 677, 75 S.
Ct. 87 (1954).

16

The Supreme Court has also upheld the power of the
States to tax the instrumentalities of airlines used in inte.
state commerce. Braniff Airways, Inc. v. Nebraska State
Board of Equalization & Assessment, 347 US. 590, 98
L. Ed. 967, 74 S. Ct. 757 (1954); Northwesi Airlines, Ing
v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292, 88 L. Ed. 1283, 64 S. Ct.
950, 153 ALR 245 (1944).

As the Nation grows in population, the role of the State
commissions in protecting the public interest in the iocal
aspects of air transportation grows in importance. Obviously
the State is far more concerned than the CAB in seeing
that local communities receive adequate intrastate air trans-
portation to the extent economically feasible.

We readily admit national supremacy in air transporta-
tion and that the State role must not interfere with the
accomplishment of national objectives as determined by
the Federal Aviation Act.

We admit that the final determination of public need
for air service must ultimately rest in its use by the trav-
eling public.

We admit that an airline should be authorized to elimi-
nate certain cities as intermediate points on a route where
the cost of serving such points would be too great in rela-
tion to the small volume of traffic.

We merely contend that State commissions should con-
tinue to be entrusted with the making of initial decisions
regarding matters of intrastate air transportation. The na-
ture of Allegheny’s Federal certificate in this case, which
permits great freedom in abandoning routes within Penn-
sylvania, indicates that the CAB is only secondarily inter-
ested in intrastate service. This is understandable when
we consider its immense duties involving interstate service.

17

If State regulation is ousted, public protection will be
diminished. In the absence of Pennsylvania PUC regula-
tion, Allegheny coul¢ easily decide to concentrate its equip-
ment in serving the most remunerative segments and aban-
don other segments showing a lower margin of profit.

ARGUMENT
I.

Q THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS PROPER-
LY AFFIRMED, ON THE GROUNDS OF EQUITABLE
ABSTENTION, THE DISTRICT COURT'S DISMISSAL
OF ALLBEGHENY’S SUIT TO ENJOIN THE PENNSYL-
VANIA PUC FROM REQUIRING ALLEGHENY TO OB-
TAIN THE PENNSYLVANIA PUC’S APPROVAL PRIOR
TO DISCONTINUING DIRECT SERVICE OVER AN IN- :
TRASTATE ROUTE FOK WHICH ALLEGHENY HAD i
PREVIOUSLY OBTAINED FROM THE PUC A CERTIFI- ;
CATE OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE.

In cases of this nature, there exists a well established
principle of our Federal-State system of government which
requires the exhaustion of State administrative and judi-
cial processes prior to the exercise of jurisdiction by the
Federal courts.

One of the leading cases is Public Utilities Commission
of the State of California v. United Air Lines, Inc., 346
U.S. 402, 98 L. Ed. 140, 74 S. Ct. 151 (1953), which
involved the issue of whether the California PUC or the
CAB has jurisdiction over the rates which United charges
for transportation between California mainland points and
Catalina Island. Since Catalina Island is part of California,
the PUC claimed jurisdiction.

The then Civil Aeronautics Act, 52 Stat. 973, gave the
CAB authority over rates “between places in the same

en :

PO EP ee Rt we 7

a

State of the United States through air space over any
place outside thereof.” United and the CAB both claimed
that flights from the mainland to Catalina (a distance of
30 miles) are over the “high seas” and therefore under
the exclusive jurisdiction of the CAB.

A three judge Federal district court upheld the conten.
tions of United and the CAB. 109 F. Supp. 13.

On appeal, this Court in a per curiam order “reversed
on authority of Public Service Commission vy. Wycoff,”
344 US. 237, 97 L. Ed. 291, 73 S. Ct. 236 (1952). The
Supreme Court in effect held that neither declaratory nor
injunctive relief should be granted to an air carrier in an
action seeking to prevent, on the ground that the CAB
has exclusive jurisdiction, a State PUC from exercising its
claimed jurisdiction over rates charged by the carrier for
transportation between points in the same State but over
the high seas.

The California PUC case presents the strongest possible
authority for application of the exhaustion doctrine since
it presented for decision a clear cut legal issue unencum-
bered by any unresolved question of fact. In contrast, the
case sub judice should ultimately tum on a factual record
being developed as to whether it is reasonable to require
direct air service between Harrisburg and Williamsport.

In the Wycoff case, which is the one this Court placed
sole reliance on in the California PUC case, a motor car-
rier sought in a Federal district court a declaratory judg-
ment that its transportation of motion picture film and
newsreels between points in Utah constituted an integral
part of interstate commerce, and an injunction against the
Utah Public Service Commission to prevent interference
with such transportation over routes authorized by the

_—

held the Utah Commission, the court of appeals reversed,
and this Court granted certiorari.

In its opinion, this Court quickly decided the inappro-

of injunctive relief and devoted the remainder
of its opinion in reaching the same conclusion as to de-
daratory relief. The Court stated in part that (344 US.
246, 97 L. Ed. 297 (11)):

Even when there is no incipient federal-state
conflict, the declaratory judgment procedure will
not be used to preempt and prejudge issues that
are committed for initial decision to an admin-
istrative body or special tribunal any more than
it will be used as a substitute for statutory
methods of review. It would not be tolerable,
for example, that declaratory judgments estab-
lish that an enterprise is not in interstate com-
merce in order to forestall proceedings by the
National Labor Relations Board, the Interstate
Commerce Commission or many agencies that
are authorized to try and decide such an issue
in the first instance. Cf. Myers v. Bethlehem
Shipbuilding Corp., 303 U.S. 41, 82 L. Ed. 638,
58 S. Ct. 459; Eccles v. Peoples Bank, 333 US.
426, 92 L. Ed. 784, 68 S. Ct. 641. See Cole-
grove v. Green, 328 US. 549, 90 L. Ed. 1432,
66 S. Ct. 1198. Responsibility for effective
functioning of the administrative process cannot
be thus transferred from the bodies in which
Congress has placed it to the courts.

But, as the declaratory proceeding is here in-
voked, it is even less appropriate because, in ad-
dition to foreclosing an administrative body, it

,
7
‘
aii

A i aed a Lk oi 1a ih i ee eh neh tas

OEE AONE LLL SAO GT EENGT LRA GF A Ay tt

a

is incompatible with a proper federal-state rela-
tionship. The carrier, being in some disagree-
ment with the State Commission, rushed into
federal court to get a declaration which either
is intended in ways not disclosed to tie the
Commission’s hands before it can act or it has
no purpose at all.

Declaratory proceedings in the federal courts
against state officials must be decided with re-
gard for the implications of our federal system.
State administrative bodies have the initial right
to reduce the general policies of state regulatory
statutes into concrete orders and the primary
right to take evidence and make findings of fact.
It is the state courts which have the first and
the last word as to the meaning of state statutes
and whether a particular order is within the leg-
islative terms of reference so as to make it the
action of the State. We have disapproved antic-
ipatory declarations as to state regulatory statutes,
even where the case originated in and was enter-
tained by courts of the State affected. Alsbama
State Federation of Labor v. McAdory, 325 US.
450, 89 L. Ed. 1725, 65 S. Ct. 1384. Anticipa-
tory judgment by a federal court to frustrate ac-
tion by a state agency is even less tolerable to
our federalism. Is the declaration contemplated
here to be res judicata, so that the Commission
cannot hear evidence and decide any matter for
itself? If so, the federal court has virtually lifted
the case out of the State Commission before it
could be heard. If not, the federal judgment
serves no useful purpose as a final determination

of rights.

20

-_

21

The procedures of review usually afford ample
protection to a carrier whose federal rights are
actually invaded, and there are remedies for
threatened irreparable injuries. State courts are
bound equally with the federal courts by the
Federal Constitution and laws. Ultimate recourse
may be had to this Court by certiorari if a state
court has allegedly denied a federal right.

In Alabama Public Service Commission v. Southern Rail-
way Company, 341 U.S. 341, 95 L. Ed. 1002, 71 S. Ct.
762 (1951), the railroad was denied authority by the Ala-
bama PSC to discontinue passenger train service on the
ground that there was a public need for the service although
it was being operated at a loss. Alleging that irreparable
loss would result from the continued operation of the serv-
ice, the railroad sought and obtained an injunction from
a three-judge Federal district court against the enforcement
of Alabama law.

On appeal, this Court held that, although there was a
basis for Federal jurisdiction, the exercise of such jurisdic-
tion should, on considerations of comity, be withheld on
the ground that the State law provided for review of the
PSC’s order in the State courts and for stay pending such
review. This Court reasoned that [341 U.S. 345, 95 L.

Ed. 1006(3)):

Appellee conducts an interstate business over
the same tracks and by means of the same trains
involved in this case, and such interstate activi-
ties are regulated by the Federal Interstate Com-
merce Commission. 49 U.S.C., Secs. 1, ef seq.
But, it has long been held that this interblend-
ing of the interstate and intrastate operations

ial Ds th oes

a RENIN Wat

Pee eetge pte

aren rem rime egy

22

does not deprive the states of their primary au-
thority over intrastate transportation in the ab-
sence of congressional action supplementing that
authority. Minnesota Rate Cases (Simpson vy.
Shepard), 230 U.S. 352, 57 L. Ed. 1511, 33 S.
Ct. 729, 48 LRA NS 1151, Ann Cas 1916A 18
(1913). And Congress has since provided:

“That nothing in (the Interstate Commerce
Act) shall impair or affect the right of a State,
in the exercise of its police power, to require
just and reasonable freight and passenger service
for intrastate business, except insofar as such
requirement is inconsistent with any lawful order
of the (Interstate Commerce Commission).” 49
U.S.C., Sec. 1(17)a).

This Court has held that regulation of intra-
State railroad service is “primarily the concern
of the state.” North Carolina v. United States,
325 U.S. 507, 511, 89 L. Ed. 1760, 1765, 65
S. Ct. 1260 (1945) (rates); Palmer v. Massachu-
setts, 308 U.S. 79, 84 L. Ed. 93, 60 S. Ct. 34
(1939) (discontinuance of local service).

State and federal regulatory agencies have ex-
pressed concern over the chronic deficit arising
out of passenger train operations as a threat to
the financial security of the American railroads
and have recommended drastic action to mini-
mize the deficit including the discontinuance of
unpatronized and unprofitable service. However,
our concern in this case is limited to the propri-
ety of a federal court injunction enjoining en-
forcement of a state regulatory order.

23

The court below justificd the exercise of its
jurisdiction with a finding that continued opera-
tion of trains Nos. 7 and 8 would result in con-
fiscation of appellee’s property in violation of
the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment. In pursuing the threshold inquiry whether
a federal court should exercise jurisdiction in
this case, we find it unnecessary to consider is-
sues relating to the merits of appellee’s case, is-
sues which appellants did not see fit to raise in
this Court either in their Statement of Jurisdic-
tion or in their briefs. We do note that in pass-
ing upon similar contentions in the past, this
Court has recognized that review of an order
requiring performance of a particular utility serv-
ice, even at a pecuniary loss, is subject to con-
siderations quite different from those involved
when the return on the entire intrastate opera-
tions of a utility is drawn into question. Atlan-
tic Coast Line R. Co. v. North Carolina Corp.
Com., 206 U.S. 1, 2427, 51 L. Ed. 933, 944,
945, 27 S. Ct. 585, 11 Ann Cas 398 (1907).
The problems raised by the discontinuance of
trains Nos. 7 and 8 cannot be resolved alone
by reference to appellee’s loss in their operation
but depend more upon the predominantly local
factor of public need for the service rendered.
Chesapeake & Ohio R. Co. v. Public Service
Comm. of West Virginia, 242 U.S. 603, 608,

61 L. Ed. 520, 523, 37 S. Ct. 234 (1917).

The Alabama Commission, after a hearing held
in the area served, found a public need for the
service. The court below, hearing evidence de
novo, found that no public necessity exists in

Pe:

Ham vs .
Ce od cel

——

24

view of the increased use and availability of mo-
tor transportation. We do not attempt to resolve
these inconsistent findings of fact. We take note,
however, of the fact that a federal court has been
asked to intervene in resolving the essentially local
problem of balancing the loss to the railroad from
continued operation of trains Nos. 7 and 8 with
the public need for that service in Tuscumbia,
Decatur, Huntsville, Scottsboro, and other Ala-
bama communities directly affected.

Not only has Alabama established its Public
Service Commission to pass upon a proposed dis-
continuance of intrastate transportation service,
but it has also provided for appeal from any final
order of the Commission to the circuit court of
Montgomery County as a matter of right. Ala.
Code, 1940, tit. 48, Sec. 79. That court, after
a hearing on the record certified by the Commis-
sion, is empowered to set aside any Commission
order found to be contrary to the substantial
weight of the evidence or erroneous as a matter
of law, id. Sec. 82, and ‘its decision may be ap-
pealed to the Alabama Supreme Court. /d., Sec.
90. Statutory appeal from an order of the Com-
mission is an integral part of the regulatory pro-
cess under the Alabama Code. Appeals, concen-
trated in one circuit court, are “supervisory in
character.” Avery Freight Lines, Inc. v. White,
245 Ala. 618, 622, 623, 18 So2d 394, 398,

154 ALR 732 (1944). The Supreme Court of
Alabama has held that it will review an order
of the Commission as if appealed directly to it,
Alabama Public Service Com. v. Nunis, 252 Ala.
30, 34, 39 So2d 409, 412 (1949), and that

25

judicial review calls for an independent judgment
as to both law and facts when a denial of due
process is asserted. Alabama Public Service Com.
y, Southern Bell Tel. & Tel. Co., 253 Ala. 1, 11,
12, 42 So2d 655, 662 (1949). ... Appellee
complains of irreparable injury resulting from
the Commission order pending judicial review,
but has not invoked the protective powers of
the Alabama courts to direct the stay or super-
sedeas of a Commission order pending appeal.
Ala. Code, 1940, tit. 48, Secs. 81, 84. Appel-
lee has not shown that the Alabama procedure
for review of Commission orders is in any way
inadequate to preserve for ultimate review in
this Court any federal questions arising out of
such orders.

As adequate state court review of an adminis-
trative order based upon predominantly local
factors is available to appellee, intervention of
a federal court is not necessary for the protec-
tion of federal rights. Equitable relief may be
granted only when the District Court, in its
sound discretion exercised with the “‘scrupulous
regard for the rightful independence of state
governments whic’ should at all times actuate
the federal courts,” is convinced that the as-
serted federal right cannot be preserved except
by granting the “extraordinary relief of an in-
junction in the federal courts.” Considering
that “(f)ew public interests have a higher claim
upon the discretion of a federal chancellor than
the avoidance of needless friction with State
policies,” the usual rule of comity must govern
the exercise of equitable jurisdiction by the

SDN AS ON RCT

SPAT

Ee ee eee I eI LT See Ee RIOR oe |

Ty

26

District Court in this case. Whatever rights appel-
lee may have are to be pursued through the state
courts. Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 87
L. Ed. 1424, 63 S. Ct. 1098 (1943); Railroad Com-
mission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co., 311
U.S. 570, 577, 85 L. Ed. 358, 362, 61 S. Ct. 343
(1941); Railroad Commission of Texas v. Rowan
& Nichols Oil Co., 310 U.S. 573, 84 L. Ed. 1368,
60 S. Ct. 1021, as amended, 311 U.S. 614, 615, 85
L. Ed. 390, 391, 61 S. Ct. 66 (1940)... ..

As this Court held in Great Lakes Dredge &
Dock Co. v. Huffman, 319 U.S. 293, 297, 298,
87 L. Ed. 1407, 1410, 1411, 63 S. Ct. 1070
(1943): ;

“This withholding of extraordinary relief by
courts having authority to give it is not a denial
of the jurisdiction which Congress has conferred
on the federal courts. ... On the contrary, it
is but a recognition . . . that a federal court of
equity . . . should stay its hand in the public
interest when it reasonably appears that private
interests will not suffer. . . .

“It is in the public interest that federal courts
of equity should exercise their discretionary
power to grant or withhold relief so as to avoid
needless obstruction of the domestic policy of
the states.”

The rationale of the California PUC, Wycoff and Ala-
bama PSC cases is also reflected in: Federal Power Com-
mission v. Arkansas Power & Light Co., 330 U.S. 802,
91 L. Ed. 1261, 67 S. Ct. 963; Endicott Johnson Corp.
v. Perkins, 317 U.S. 501, 87 L. Ed. 424, 63 S. Ct. 339;
Macauley v. Waterman S. S. Corp., 327 U.S. 540, 90 L.

es vn ae

27

Ed. 839, 66 S. Ct. 712; Rochester Tel. Corp. v. United
States, 307 U.S. 125, 83 L. Ed. 1147, 59 S. Ct. 754;
Matthews v. Rodgers, 284 U.S. 521, 525, 76 L. Ed. 447,
451, 52 S. Ct. 217 (1932); Pennsylvania v. Williams, 294
U.S. 176, 185, 79 L. Ed. 841, 847, 55 S. Ct. 380, 96
ALR 1166 (1935); Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pull-
man Co., 312 U.S. 496, 500, 85 L. Ed. 971, 974, 61 S.
Ct. 643 (1941); Natural Gas Pipeline Co. v. Slattery, 302
U.S. 300, 82 L. Ed. 276, 281 (4, 5), 58 S. Ct. 199 (1937);
Atlas Life Ins. Co. v. W. I. Southern, Inc., 306 U.S. 563,
83 L. Ed. 987, 59 S. Ct. 657; Shipman v. Du Pre, 339
U.S. 321, 94 L. Ed. 877, 70 S. Ct. 640; Watson v. Buck,
313 U.S. 387, 85 L. Ed. 1416, 61 S. Ct. 962, 136 ALR
1426 (1941); Chicago v. Fieldcrest Dairies, 316 U.S. 168,
86 L. Ed. 1355, 62 S. Ct. 986; A.F. of L. Metal Trades
Dept. v. Watson, 327 U.S. 582, 90 L. Ed. 873, 66 S. Ct.
761; Spector Motor Service v. McLaughlin, 323 U.S. 101,
89 L. Ed. 101, 65 S. Ct. 152; Illinois Commerce Commis-
sion v. Thomson, 318 U.S. 675, 686, 87 L. Ed. 1075,
1082(5) (1943); Gilchrist v. Interborough Rapid Transit
Co., 279 U.S. 159, 208, 209, 73 L. Ed. 652, 664, 665,
49 S. Ct. 282 (1929); Porter v. Investors Syndicate, 286
U.S. 461, 76 L. Ed. 1226, 52 S. Ct. 617, 287 U.S. 346,
717 L. Ed. 354, 53 S. Ct. 132 (1931); Central Kentucky
Natural Gas Co. v. Railroad Commission, 290 U.S. 264,
271, 78 L. Ed. 307, 312, 54 S. Ct. 154; Di Giovanni y.
Camden F. Ins. Asso., 296 U.S. 64, 80 L. Ed. 47, 56 S.
Ct. 1; Thompson v. Magnolia Petroleum Co., 309 U.S.
478, 84 L. Ed. 876, 60 S. Ct. 628; Henderson Water Com-
pany v. Corporation Commission of the State of North
Carolina, 269 U.S. 278, 70 L. Ed. 273, 46 S. Ct. 112
(1925); St. Louis-San Francisco Railway Company y. Ala-
bama Public Service Commission, 279 U.S. 560, 73 L. Ed.
843, 49 S. Ct. 383 (1929); Lawrence v. St. Louis-San

f
5
}

28

Francisco Railway Company, 274 U.S. 588, 71 L. Ed. 1219
(1927); Machine Company y. State Corporation Commis-
sion of Virginia, 236 U.S. 699, 59 L. Ed. 797 (1915);
Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada y. Michigan
Railroad Commission, 231 U.S. 457, 58 L. Ed. 310, 34
S. Ct. 152 (1913).

Pennsylvania law provides adequate remedies.

The Pennsylvania PUC is empowered to adopt regula-
tions and orders and “to#éscind or modify any sict = gu-
lations or orders.” Public Utility Law, Sec. 902. See
also Sec. 1007. :

Accordingly, Allegheny may seek to have the penalty
rescinded and its certificate amended to reflect only eco-
nomically viable operations by applying to the Pennsyl-
vania PUC.

Judicial review of PUC orders is provided by Article XI
of the Public Utility Law. The granting of supersedeas is
authorized pending’ review. Sec. 1103.

The delay and expense, which will occur to Allegheny
in the exhaustion of its well-defined State remedies, are
of its own making. It chose to ignore these remedies in
the face of a long line of cases applying the doctrine of
abstention in Federal-State relations.

Allegheny stands here in the awkward posture of the
proverbial child who, having murdered his mother and
father, begs the court for mercy on the ground that he
is an orphan.

Allegheny’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, in substance
contends that the abstention doctrine does not apply to
a case involving a Federal preemption question.

’

29

The distinction Allegheny attempts to draw in applying the
abstention doctrine between a Federal preemption question
and other Federal constitutional questions is a distinction with-
out a difference. The Federal preemption question involves
construction of a Federal statute whereas a Federal constitu-
tional question involves construction of a Federal constitution-
al provision. Both involve alleged conflicts with State statutes.

In addition, Allegheny ignores the most recent United
States Supreme Court case applying the abstention doctrine.
In Lake Carriers’ Assn. v. MacMullen, 406 U.S. 498, 32 L.
Ed. 2d 257, 40 U.S. Law Week 4569 (May 30, 1972), the
United States Supreme Court held that abstention was prop-
er in a case Challenging the validity of the Michigan Water-
craft Pollution Control Act. Lake Carriers’ Assn. v. MacMul-
len, supra, 32 L. Ed. 2d at 264, 40 U.S. Law Week at 4571
(May 30, 1972) did involve a claim“. . . that the Michigan
statute conflicts with or is pre-empted by federal law, prima-
rily the Federal Water Pollution Control Act as amended
by the Water Quality Improvement Act of 1970, and is
therefore invalid under the Supremacy Clause.”

Allegheny also ignores the case of Public Utilities Com-
mission of the State of California v. United Air Lines, Inc.,
supra, This case also clearly involved a preemption claim.
The case is extensively discussed in this brief, supra.

The cases relied upon by Allegheny in its Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari are: Capital Service, Inc. v. NLRB,
347 U.S. 501, 98 L. Ed. 888 (1954); Public Utilities Com-
mission v. Gas Co., 317 U.S. 456, 87 L. Ed. 396 (1943);
City of Chicago v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway
Co., 357 U.S. 77 (1958); Chemical Specialties Manufac-
turers Assoc., Inc. v. Lowery, 452 F.2d 431 (2d Cir. 1971).
These cases did all hold “tno abstention” in a given fact
situation, but the instant case is distinguishable from these
cases. The factors relied upon by Judge Rosenn were not
present in these cases.

30

ub dhtind Gen Ge Geena - & certifi.
cate of public convenience as an intrastate carrier to trans
port passengers between certain cities in Pennsylvania, in-

cluding Harrisburg and Williamsport.” (465 F.2d at 243,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., p. 24a.) Judge Rosenn stated:

Stripped of the efforts to drape this case with
federal questions, the facts show that Allegheny,
without any attempt on the part of the PUC to
extend its regulatory powers over it, made a
written application to the PUC for a certificate
of public convenience as an intrastate carrier to
transport passengers between certain cities in Penn-
sylvania, including Harrisburg and Williamsport.
The service it offered to provide was found by
that Commission, after a hearing and an oppor-
tunity for affected parties to be heard, to be
necessary to the public interest. A certificate
of public convenience was granted and it is now
held by Allegheny. Under the rules of the Com-
mission, all or part of this service may be dis-
continued upon application by the carrier to the
PUC and that agency’s approval. Additionally,
matters such as this which go to the jurisdiction
of the PUC may be tested in special proceedings
before the Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court.
66 P.S. 1441. The thrust of these Pennsylvania
rules and laws is that, once certified, a carrier
must test these issues before service is discon-
tinued. (465 F.2d at 243, Allegheny’s Petition,
App., p. 24a.)

Clearly, a case such as the instant case, where the airline
has sought and obtained a certificate of public convenience

ne

31

is distinguishable from cases where no such certificate was
sought and obtained.

Additional factors relied upon by Judge Rosenn as re-
quiring abstention were:

(1) The State’s interests in local airline service are sig-
nificant. Airports, runways, and related facilities often re-
quire large expenditures at considerable community sacri-
fice and effort. In addition, the communities involved
may have come to depend on the direct air service, and
there is a presumption under Pennsylvania law that certif-
icated public utility service is needed and vital, until a
public utility proves otherwise (465 F.2d at 244, Alle-

. gheny’s Petition, App., p. 25a).

(2) Allegheny presented no evidence suggesting that it
would have been harmed by having to resort to the Penn-

sylvania PUC or State courts before discontinuing the serv-
ice (/d.).

(3) Reliance by local communities upon the services
provided by Allegheny would be reasonable in light of the
airline’s action in obtaining from the Pennsylvania PUC a
certificate to transport persons and property between points
in Pennsylvania (465 F.2d at 244, 245, Allegheny’s Peti-
tion, App., p. 26a).

(4) The danger of Federal-State friction is intensified
by Allegheny’s request for a perpetual injunction which |
,

:

would enjoin the Pennsylvania PUC from “any action or
proceeding for any violation of the laws of . . . Pennsyl-
vania based upon action by Allegheny in changing its pat-
terns of service.” If this relief were granted, the airline,
while not being subject to State regulation, would main-
tain the benefits that accrue to holders of State public

'
'

32

utility certificates (465 F.2d at 245, Allegheny’s Petition,
App., p. 27a).

In addition to the factors relied upon by this Court
there is another factor supporting equitable abstention.
This factor is that the State law is unsettled in this case,
and a determination by State courts may make a deter-
mination on the Federal preemption issue unnecessary.
The NARUC is aware that the Court of Appeals in the

instant case stated:

In what was basically an alternative absten-
tion holding, the district court noted that “the
dispute involves an unsettled question of state
law, i.c., the extent of the PUC’s authority to
regulate intrastate air rights granted to an inter-
state air carrier.” Allegheny Airlines, Inc. y.
PUC, 319 F. Supp. 407, 413 (E.D. Pa. 1970).
Since we find that the district court was correct
in abstaining for the primary reasons it devel-
oped, we find it unnecessary to decide whether
it correctly concluded there existed unclear state
law. We note, however, that in our view, the
PUC’s authority to take the measures described
above seems clear. 66 P.S. Sec. 1122. (465
F.2d at 242, n. 3, Allegheny’s Petition, pp. 2la
& 22a, n. 3). (Emphasis supplied.)

33

The NARUC asserts that the State law is unsettled.
The Statute, 66 Pa. Code, Sec. 1122(b) provides:

Upon the application of any public utility
and the approval of such application by the
commission, evidenced by its certificate of pub-
lic convenience first had and obtained, and upon
compliance with existing laws, and not other-
wise, it shall be lawful:

(b) For any public utility to abandon or sur-
render, in whole or in part, any service: Provid-
ed, That the provisions of this paragraph shall
not apply to discontinuance of service to a pa-
tron for nonpayment of a bill, or upon request
of a patron.

The Pennsylvania courts have never passed upon the
construction of this Statute as it relates to intrastate air
transportation. As was stated by the District Court:

Second, the dispute involves an unsettled ques-
tion of state law, iLe., the extent of the PUC's
authority to regulate intrastate air rights granted
to an interstate air carrier. The parties have cited
no Pennsylvania authorities defining the limits of
the PUC’s authority over rights granted to such
carriers. Until the state courts speak to the ques-
tion we cannot know whether they will interpret
the PUC’s authority under the state act narrowly
or broadly. In making their determination as
to the scope of the PUC’s authority, the state
courts are bound, just as the federal courts are,
to interpret and apply the federal Constitution

Ree

34

and laws and all of the arguments which Alle-
gheny has sought to raise here under the inter-
state commerce and supremacy clauses of the
federal Constitution must be given full consider-
ation by the state courts... . (319 F. Supp.
at 413, Allegheny’s Petition, App. pp. 10a &
11a).

Certainly, the Pennsylvania courts should be permitted
to interpret the statute prior to a Federal court’s ruling
on the preemption question. This was made clear by this
Court in Lake Carriers’ Assn. y. MacMullen, supra, 32 1.
Ed. 2d at 270, 40 U.S. Law Week at 4573, as follows:

We do not know, of course, how far Michi-
gan courts will go in interpreting the require-
ments of the state Watercraft Pollution Control
Act in light of the federal Water Quality Im-
provement Act and the constraints of the United
States Constitution. But we are satisfied that
authoritative resolution of the ambiguities in the
Michigan law is sufficiently likely to avoid or
significantly modify the federal questions appel-
lants raise to warrant abstention, particularly in
view of the absence of countervailing considera-
tions that we have found compelling in prior
decisions. See, e.g, Harman y. Forssenius, supra,
at 537, 14 L. Ed. 2d at 56; Baggett vy. Bullitt,
377 U.S. 360, 378-379, 12 L. Ed. 2d 377, 389,
84 S. Ct. 1316 (1964).

Accordingly, the United States Court of Appeals proper-
ly affirmed, on the grounds of equitable abstention, the
Federal District Court’s dismissal of Allegheny’s suit.

35

THE FEDERAL AVIATION ACT OF 1958 DOES NOT
PREVENT PENNSYLVANIA FROM ADMINISTERING
A REASONABLE REGULATORY PROGRAM TO PRO-
TECT THE PUBLIC INTEREST OF TRAVELERS USING
INTRASTATE AIR TRANSPORTATION.

Allegheny asserts that, “For the purpose of judging the
propriety of abstention in this case, it must be assumed
that Congress intended to preempt state regulation of
scheduling by a federally certificated air carrier.” (Alle-
gheny’s Petition, p. 6.) No authority is cited for this as-
sertion and there is no authority for this assertion. Clear-
ly no such assumption can be made in the present case.

In addition, Allegheny asserts that “. . . there is a di-
rect conflict in federal and state regulatory authority.”
(Allegheny’s Petition, p. 10.) This assertion is contrary
to the findings of the Court of Appeals (465 F.2d at 245,
Allegheny’s Petition, App., pp. 27a and 28a) and is not
supported by the facts of this case.

Congress, in enacting the Federal Aviation Act of 1958
(49 U.S.C.A., Sec. 1301 et seg.), clearly did not intend
to completely preempt the regulation of air transportation.
CAB domestic jurisdiction in the economic sense is prima-
tily couched in terms of “interstate air commerce” and
“interstate air transportation.”! Moreover, the CAB is

149 US.C.A., Sec. 1301 (20), defining “interstate air commerce,”
and 49 US.C.A., Sec. 1301 (21), defining “interstate air transporta-
tion,” tie the definitions to the crossing of a State line. The defi-
nitions of “air transportation” [Sec. 1301(10)] and of “air com-
merce [Sec. 1301(4)] are both tied to interstate movement and the
transportation of mail, and the latter goes further to include opera-

tions “within the limits of any Federal airway” or “which directly ;
ge (Continued) ;
REET RY “ Serre meray

i ak

ee See oe

&
3

_ =a

expressly “empowered to confer with or to hold joint hear.
ings with any State aeronautical agency, or other State agen.
cy, in connection with any matter arising under this act
within its jurisdiction. .. .” 49 U.S.C.A., Sec. 1324(b)

Obviously, this is not the language of total Federal pre.
emption.

The Congressional Propensity to divide the interstate and
intrastate characteristics of a national industry, and to as.
sign the former to Federal regulation and to reserve the
latter for State regulation, is consistently reflected in many
other areas. More specifically, this regulatory dichotomy
is applied to electric companies under the Federal Power
Act, to gas companies under the Natural Gas Act, to
railroads and motor carriers under the Interstate Commence

commerce.” These definitions assume jurisdictional significance in

Sections 1302, 1371, 1373 and 1374 of 49 US.C.A., which concem
matters of “public interest,” certificates of public convenience and

necessity, tariffs, and rates, respectively.

216 US.CA., Sec. 791, et seq., with particular reference to Secs.
824(b\c), 824a(f), 8240(f), and 824h. In general, the Federal Power
ice, and the State commissions regulate retail rates and related facili
ties and service.

315 US.CA., Sec. 717, et seq., with particular reference to Secs.
717(bX(c), 717a(6,7), and 717p. In general, the Federal Power Com-
mission regulates “interstate” wholesale rates and related facilities
and service, and the State commissions regulate “intrastate” whole-
sale and all retail rates and related facilities and service. See also
Secs. 3, 4 and 5 of the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968
(49 US.CA., Secs. 1672-1674) which apply an analogous regulatory
split to the national gas safety program.

——

37

act,’ and to telephone and telegraph companies under the
Communications Act.

The Federal Aviation Act is the latest offspring in this
family of legislation and bears unmistakably the genetic
qualities of Federal-State regulatory alliance.

Legislative intent is further reflected by the failure of
Congress to enact bills proposing to extend Federal eco-
nomic regulation to include intrastate operations of air
carriers.

We believe Congress was wise in permitting the forma-
tion of this Federal-State alliance because its proper func-
tioning affords the American people the maximum benefits

449 US.C.A., Sec. 1, et seq., with particular reference to Secs.
1(2), 1(17Ma), 1(22), 13(23), 13a(2), 302(aXb), 303(10(20), and
305. In general, the State commissions regulate the intrastate busi-
ness of railroads and motor carriers. See also Secs. 205 and 206
of the Federal Railroad Safety Act of 1970 (Public Law 91-458)
which permits a State: to adopt more stringent safety regulations
than the Federal safety regulations “when necessary to eliminate or
reduce an essentially local safety hazard” created by interstate rail-
road operations; and to otherwise conduct a comprehensive safety
program covering substantially all interstate railroad operations with-
in the State.

547 US.C.A., Sec. 151 et seq., with particular reference to Secs.
152, 153(eMh), 214(aX{1-3), 221(b) and 410. The Federal Commun-
ications Commission regulates interstate message toll calls and local
exchange calls even in instances where the boundaries of the exchange
area overlap State lines.

o78th Congress, S. 246, H.R. 1012, H.R. 3420, H.R. 4845, H.R.
4848; 79th Congress, S. 541, H.R. 674, H.R. 3383; 80th Congress,
H.R. 2337; 8ist Congress, S. 423, S. 445, S. 2435. See also: 1944
NARUC Annual Convention Proceedings 221; 1945 id. 299; 1946
id. 210; 1947 id. 128; 1948 id. 69; 1949 id. 166; 1950 id. 106.

'
e
5
5
|
}

i an ee Bei

—

38

from air transportation. Obviously, a State agency, such
as the Pennsylvania PUC, is far more concerned with the
adequacy of air transportation among the smaller commun-
ities in the State than is the CAB. In contrast, the CAB
is far more concerned with the adequacy of a national air
transportation system than is any one State. In short, the
two regulatory interests form a partnership complementing
each other in advancing the public welfare.

Out of interpretations of the above Federal statutes,
and out of other incidents of our Federalism, has evolved
a line of decisions defining the interface between Federal
and State jurisdiction.

In California v. Thompson, 313 U.S. 109, 85 L. Ed.
1219 (1941), this Court held that a State license statute
regulating transportation agents engaged in negotiating for
the transportation of passengers in motor vehicles is not,
as applied to interstate passengers, a violation of the Com-
merce Clause where the Congress has not, either in the
Federal Motor Carrier Act or otherwise, undertaken to
exercise its power of regulation over such interstate activities,

A unanimous Court, speaking through Justice Harlan
Fiske Stone, outlined the broad limits of permissible State
action under the Commerce Clause in the following terms
(313 U.S. 113, 2d par., 85 L. Ed. 2d 1221 (2)):

As this Court has often had occasion to point
out, the Commerce Clause, in conferring on Con-
gress power to regulate commerce, did not whol-
ly withdraw from the states the power to regu-
late matters of local concern with respect to which
Congress has not exercised its power, even though
the regulation affects interstate commerce. Ever
since Wilson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co., 2 Pet

—

(US) 245, 7 L. Ed. 412, and Cooley v. Port
Wardens, 12 How (US) 299, 13 L. Ed. 996, it
has been recognized that there are matters of
local concern, the regulation of which unavoida-
bly involves some regulation of interstate com-
merce, but which because of their local charac-
ter and their number and diversity may never
be adequately dealt with by Congress. Because
of their local character, also, there is wide scope
of local regulation without impairing the uni-
formity of control of the national commerce in
matters of national concern and without mater- :
ially obstructing the free flow of commerce which
were the principal objects sought to be secured
by the Commerce Clause. Not withstanding the
Commerce Clause, such regulation in the absence
of Congressional action has, for the most part,
been left to the states by the decisions of this
Court, subject only to other applicable constitu-
tional restraints. See cases collected in Di Santo ;
v. Pennsylvania, supra (273 U.S. 40, 71 L. Ed. :
528, 47 S. Ct. 267). :

39

A state may license trainmen engaged in inter-
state commerce in order to insure their skill and
fitness. Smith v. Alabama, 124 U.S. 465, 31 L.
Ed. 508, 8 S. Ct. 564, 1 Inters. Com. Rep. 804;
Nashville, C. & St. L. R. Co. v. Alabama, 128
U.S. 96, 32 L. Ed. 352, 9 S. Ct. 28, 2 Inters.
Com. Rep. 238. It may define the size of crews
manning interstate trains. Chicago, R. I. & P.

R. Co. v. Arkansas, 219 U.S. 453, 55 L. Ed.
290, 31 S. Ct. 275; Missouri P. R. Co. v. Nor-
wood, 283 U.S. 249, 75 L. Ed. 1010, 51 S. Ct.
458, 30 NCCA 639, and prescribe regulations

—
a0

for payment of their wages. Erie R. Co. v. Wik
liams, 233 U.S. 685, 58 L. Ed. 1155, 34S. Ct.
761, 51 LRA (NS) 1097. It may require inter-
State passenger cars to be heated and guard posts
to be placed on bridges of an interstate railroad.
New York, N. H. & H. R. Co. v. New York,
165 U.S. 628, 41 L. Ed. 853, 16 S. Ct. 418.

It may limit the speed of interstate trains within
city limits. Erb v. Morasch, 177 US. 584, 44
L. Ed. 897, 20 S. Ct. 819. It may require an
interstate railroad to eliminate grade crossings.
Erie R. Co. v. Puilic Utility Comrs., 254 U.S.
394, 409, 412, 65 L. Ed. 322, 333, 334, 41 S.
Ct. 169, PURI921C 143. It may pass local
quarantine laws applicable to merchandise mov-
ing in interstate commerce as a means of pro-
tecting local health. Morgans L. & T. R. &S.
S. Co. v. Louisiana, 118 U.S. 455, 30 L. Ed.
237, 6 S. Ct. 1114; Compagnie Francaise de Na-
vigation a Vapeur v. State Bd. of Health, 186
U.S. 380, 46 L. Ed. 1209, 22 S. Ct. 811. It
may regulate and protect the safe and conven-
ient use of its harbors and navigable waterways
unless there is conflict with some act of Con-
gress. Wilson v. Black Bird Creek Marsh Co.,

2 Pet. (U.S.) 245, 7 L. Ed. 412, supra; see Clyde
Mallory Lines v. Alabama, 296 U.S. 261, 267,
80 L. Ed. 215, 219, 56 S. Ct. 194. It may reg-
ulate pilots and pilotage in its harbors. Cooley
v. Port Wardens, 12 How. (U.S.) 299, 13 L. Ed.
996, supra. Where, as here, Congress has not
entered the field, a state may pass inspection
laws and regulations applicable to articles of in-
terstate commerce designed to safeguard the

41

inhabitants of the state from fraud, provided
only that the regulation neither discriminates
against nor substantially obstructs the commerce.
Turner v. Maryland, 107 U.S. 38, 27 L. Ed. 370,
2 S. Ct. 44; Plumley v. Massachusetts, 155 U.S.
461, 39 L. Ed. 223, 15 S. Ct. 154, 5 Inters.
Com. Rep. 590; Patapsco Guano Co. v. Board
of Agriculture, 171 U.S. 345, 357, 358, 43 L.
Ed. 191, 195-6, 18 S. Ct. 862; Savage v. Jones,
225 U.S. 501, 56 L. Ed. 1182, 32 S. Ct. 715;
see also Minnesota Rate Cases (Simpson v. She-
pard), 230 U.S. 352, 398, 412, 57 L. Ed. 1511,
1540, 1547, 33 S. Ct. 729, 48 LRA (NS) 1151,
Ann. Cas. 1916A 18, and cases cited; South Car-
olina State Highway Dept. v. Barnwell Bros.,

303 U.S. 177, 185, 191, 82 L. Ed. 734, 738,
742, 58 S. Ct. 510, and cases cited. ...

.. . It has uniformly held that in the absence
of pertinent Congressional legislation there is
constitutional power in the states to regulate
interstate commerce by motor vehicle wherever
it affects the safety of the public or the safety
and convenient use of its highways, provided
only that the regulation does not in any other
respect unnecessarily obstruct interstate com-
merce. Continental Baking Co. v. Woodring,
286 U.S. 352, 371, 76 L. Ed. 1155, 1166, 52
S. Ct. 595, 81 ALR 1402; Bradley v. Public
Utilities Commission, 289 U.S. 92, 95, 77 L.
Ed. 1053, 1056, 53 S. Ct. 577, 85 ALR 1131;
see South Carolina State Highway Dept. v. Barn-
well Bros., 303 U.S. 177, 82 L. Ed. 734, 58
S. Ct. 510, supra, and cases cited; H. P. Welch
Co. v. New Hampshire, 306 U.S. 79, 83,

SIENA UES OE TRE ENGIN NE ne MRCS Bir gy Ur Sata

a

ae

83 L. Ed. 500, 504, 59 S. Ct. 438; Eichholz y.
Public Serv, Commission, 306 U.S. 268, 83 L.
Ed. 641, 59 S. Ct. 532; Maurer v. Hamilton,
309 U.S. 598, 603, 84 L. Ed. 969, 974, 60 §.
Ct. 726; and see Ziffrin, Inc. v. Reeves, 308
U.S. 132, 84 L. Ed. 128, 60 S. Ct. 163.

If there is authority in the state, in the exer-
cise of its police power, to adopt such regula-
tions affecting interstate transportation, it must
be deemed to possess the power to regulate the
negotiations for such transportation where they
affect matters of local concern which are in other
respects within state regulatory power, and where
the regulation does not infringe the national in-
terest in maintaining the free flow of commerce
and in preserving uniformity in the regulation
of the commerce in matters of national concern.
See Hartford Acci. & Indem. Co. v. Illinois, 298
U.S. 155, 80 L. Ed. 1099, 56 S. Ct. 685.

This Court held in Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Com-
pany v. Public Service Commission of Indiana, 332 US.
507, 92 L. Ed. 128, 68 S. Ct. 190, that neither the Natur.
al Gas Act, nor the Commerce Clause of its own force,
precluded State regulation of rates for natural gas sold by
an interstate pipeline to local consumers. See also: Penn-
sylvania Gas Co. v. Public Service Commission, 252 US.
23, 64 L. Ed. 434, 40 S. Ct. 279 (1920).

In Cities Service Gas Company v. Peerless Oil & Gas
Company, 340 U.S. 179, 95 L. Ed. 190 (1950), which
upheld an order of the Oklahoma State Corporation Com-
mission fixing the minimum well-head price on gas enter-
ing interstate commerce, a unanimous Court observed that:

43

The Commerce Clause gives to the Congress a
power over interstate commerce which is both
paramount and broad in scope. But due regard
for state legislative functions has long required
that this power be treated as not exclusive. Cooley
vy. Port Wardens (U.S.) 12 How. 299, 13 L. Ed.
996 (1851). It is now well settied that a state
may regulate matters of local concern over which
federal authority has not been exercised, even
though the regulation has some impact on inter-
state commerce. Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341,
87 L. Ed. 315, 63 S. Ct. 307 (1943); Milk Con-
trol Board v. Eisenberg Farm Products, 306 U.S.
346, 83 L. Ed. 752, 59 S. Ct. 528 (1939); South
Carolina Highway Dept. v. Barnwell Bros., 303
U.S. 177, 82 L. Ed. 734, 58 S. Ct. 510 (1938).
The only requirements consistently recognized
have been that the regulation does not discrimi-
nate against or place an embargo on interstate
commerce, that it safeguard an obvious state in-
terest, and that the local interest at stake out-
weigh whatever national interest there might be
in the prevention of state restrictions. Nor should
we lightly translate the quiescence of federal
power into an affirmation that the national in-
terest lies in complete freedom from regulation.

South Carolina Highway Dept. v. Barnwell Bros.,
(U.S.), supra. Compare Leisy v. Hardin, 135
U.S. 100, 34 L. Ed. 128 (1890), decided prior
to the Wilson Act (Aug. 8, 1890) 26 Stat. 313,
ch. 728, with Re Rahrer (Wilkerson v. Rahrer),
140 U.S. 545, 35 L. Ed. 572, 11 S. Ct. 865
(1891), decided thereafter.

FET Ue ee er en: LABEL RD ONTRR ee PROT soil

44

One of the leading cases in the field is Head ». New
Mexico Board of Examiners in Optometry (1963) 374 yg
424, 10 L. Ed. 24 983, 83 S. Ct. 1759. This case in-
volved a New Mexico statute which prohibits advertising
by the quotation of prices or terms for the sale of eye.
glasses. Acting under the statute, a trial court enjoined
@ newspaper and a radio station in Hobbs, New
serving an area much of which lies in Texas, from accept.
ing, publishing or broadcasting a Texas optometrist’s ad.
vertising which violated the New Mexico statute.

The New Mexico Supreme Court affirmed the lower
court's order on the grounds that the injunction did not
unlawfully burden interstate commerce and that the States
jurisdiction has not been ousted by Federal legislation.
70 NM 90, 370 P2d 811.

Justice Brennan wrote a concurring opinion reaching the
same conclusion as the majority. Justice Douglas concurred
in the result.

The radio station contended that the New Mexico stat-
ute constituted an undue burden on interstate commerce
and that the regulation of advertising by radio has been

45

preempted by the Communications Act of 1934. The ma-

jority opinion responded to these contentions by stating
that (374 U.S. 427, 10 L. Ed. 24 987):

Without doubt, the appellants’ radio station
and newspaper are engaged in interstate com-
merce, and the injunction in this case has u>-
questionably imposed some restraint upon that
commerce. But these facts alone do not add
up to an unconstitutional burden on interstate
commerce. As we said in Huron Portland Ce-
ment v. Detroit, 362 US 440, 4 L. Ed. 2d 852,
80 S. Ct. 813, 78 ALR2d 1294, upholding the
application of a Detroit smoke abatement ordi-
nance to ships engaged in interstate and inter-
national commerce: “In determining whether
the State has imposed an undue burden on in-
terstate commerce, it must be borne in mind
that the Constitution when ‘conferring upon
Congress the regulation of commerce, . . . never
intended to cut the States off from legislating
on all subjects relating to the health, life, and
safety of their citizens, though the legislation
might indirectly affect the commerce of the
country. Legislation, in a great variety of ways,
may affect commerce and persons engaged in
it without constituting a regulation of it, within
the meaning of the Constitution.’ Sheriock v.
Alling, 93 U.S. 99, 103; Austin v. Tennessee,
179 US. 343; Louisville & Nashville R. Co. ¥.
Kentucky, 183 U.S. 503; The Minnesota Rate
Cases, 230 U.S. 352; Boston & Maine R. Co. v.
Armburg, 285 U.S. 234; Collins v. American Bus
Lines, Inc., 350 U.S. 528.” 362 US., at 443, 444.

46

Like the smoke abatement ordinance in the
Huron case, the statute here involved is a meas-
ure directly addressed to protection of the pub-
lic health, and the statute thus falls within the
most traditional concept of what is compendi-
ously known as the police power. The legiti-
macy of State legislation in this precise area has
been expressly established. Williamson v. Lee
Optical of Okla, Inc., 348 US. 483, 99 L. Ea.
563, 75 S. Ct. 461. A State law may not be
struck down on the mere showing that its ad-
munistration affects interstate commerce in some
way. “State regulation, based on the police
power, which does not discriminate against inter-
state commerce or operate to disrupt its required
uniformity, may constitutionally stand.” Huron
Portland Cement Co y. Detroit, supra (362 US.
at 448).

It has not been suggested that the statute,
applicable alike to “any person” within the
State of New Mexico, discriminates against inter-
state commerce as such. Nor can we find that
the legislation impinges upon an area of inter-
state commerce which by its nature requires
uniformity of regulation. The appellants have
pointed to no regulations of other States impos
ing conflicting duties, nor can we readily imag-
ine any. Colorado Anti-Discrimination Com. y.
Continental Air Lines, Inc., 372 US. 714, 10
L. Ed. 2d 84, 83 S. Ct. 1022. We hold that the
New Mexico statutes as applied here to prevent
the publication in New Mexico of the proscribed
price advertising, does not impose a constitution-
ally prohibited burden upon interstate commerce.

In dealing with the contention that New Mex-
ico’s jurisdiction to regulate radio advertising has
been preempted by the Federal Communications
Act, we may begin by noting that the validity of
this claim cannot be judged by reference to broad
statements about the “comprehensive” nature of
Federal regulation under the Federal Communica-
tions Act. “The ‘question whether Congress and
its commissions acting under it have so far exer-
cised the exclusive jurisdiction that belongs to it
as to exclude the State, must be answered by a
judgment upon the particular case.” Statements
concerning the ‘exctusive jurisdiction’ of Congress
beg the only controversial question: whether Con-
gress intended to make its jurisdiction exclusive.”
California v. Zook, 336 US. 725, 93 L. Ed. 1005,
1010, 69 S. Ct. 841. Kelly v. Washington, 302
US. 1, 10-13, 82 L. Ed. 3, 10, 12, 58 S. Ct. 87.
In areas of the law not inherently requiring na-
tional uniformity, out decisions are clear im requir-
ing that State statutes, otherwise valid, must be
upheld unless there is found “such actual conflict
between the two schemes of regulation that both
cannot stand in the same area, (or) evidence of
a congressional design to preempt the field.”
Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,
373 US. 132, 141, 10 L. Ed. 24 248, 256, 83
S. Ct. 1210... .

Finally, there has been no showing of any con-
flict between this State law and the Federal regu-
latory system, or that the State law stands as an
obstacle to the full effectiveness of the Fe ral

ee

48

Statute. No specific Federal regulations even re-
motely in conflict with the New Mexico law
have been called to our attention. The Com-
mission itself has apparently viewed State regu-
lation of advertising as complementing its regu-
latory function, rather than in any way conflict.

Com. v. Continental Air Lines, Inc., 372 US.
714, at 724, 10 L. Ed. 24 84, 91, 83 S. Ct.
1022, we are satisfied that the State statute “at
least so long as any power the (Commission)
may have remains ‘dormant and unexercised,”
will not frustrate any part of the purpose of
the Federal legislation.”

The test of whether both Federal and State regulations
may operate or the State regulation must give way, is
whether both regulations can be enforced without impair
ing the Federal superintendence of the field, not whether
they are aimed at similar or different objectives. Federal
regulation of a field of commerce should not be deemed
preemptive of State regulatory power in the absence of
Persuasive reasons, either that the nature of the regulated
subject matter permits no other conclusion or that the
Congress has unmistakably so ordained. Congressional reg.

ipso facto, oust all State regulation at the other end.
Florida Lime and Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul (1963),
373 U.S. 132, 142, 24 par, 145, 10 L. Ed. 2d 248, 256,
r. col., last par., 258, r. col, 83 S. Ct. 1210, reh. den.
374 U.S. 858, 10 L. Ed. 24 1082, 83 S. Ct. 1861. See
also: The Colorado Anti-Discrimination Commission y.
Continental Air Lines, Inc. (1963) 372 U.S. 714, 10 L.
Ed. 2d 84, 83 S. Ct. 1022; Huron Portland Cement Com-
pany v. Detroit (1960), 362 U.S. 440, 4 L. Ed. 2d 852,

49

g0 S. Ct. 813; Schwartz v. Texas (1952), 344 U.S. 199, 97
L.Ed. 231, 73 S. Ct. 232; Cities Service Gas Company v. Peer-
jess Oil & Gas Co. (1950), 340 U.S. 179, 95 L. Ed. 190, 71
§. Ct. 215; California v. Zook (1949), 336 U.S. 725, 93 L. Ed.
1005, 69 S.Ct. 841, reh den. 337 U.S. 921, 93 L. Ed. 1729,
69 S.Ct. 1152; Southern Pacific Company v. Arizona (1945),
325 U.S. 761. 89 L. Ed. 1915, 65 S. Ct. 1515; Allen-
Bradley Local No. 1111, etc. v. Wisconsin Employment
Relations Board (1942), 315 U.S. 740, 86 L. Ed. 1154,
62 S. Ct. 820; Maurer v. Hamilton (1940), 309 U.S. 598,
84 L. Ed. 969, 60 S. Ct. 726, 135 ALR 1347; H. P. Welch
Company v. New Hampshire (1939), 83 L. Ed. 500, 59

S. Ct. 438; Kelly v. Washington (1937), 302 U.S. 1, 82
L. Ed. 3, 58 S. Ct. 87; Gilvary v. Cuyahoga Valley Rail-
way Company (1934), 292 U.S. 57, 78 L. Ed. 1123, 54
§. Ct. 573; Mintz v. Baldwin (1933), 289 U.S. 346, 77

L. Ed. 1245, 53 S. Ct. 611; Atchison, Topeka, & Santa
Fe Railway Company v. Railroad Commission of the State
of California (1931), 283 U.S. 380, 75 L. Ed. 1128, 51
S. Ct. 553; and Sinnot v. Davenport (1859), 22 How.
(US.) 227, 16 L. Ed. 243.

An act of Congress may occupy only a limited portion
of the field of regulation of a particular subject matter,
keaving unimpaired the right of the several States to enact |
regulations covering other aspects of the subject? or mere-
ly supplement the Federal legislation in respect to local
conditions. Congressional regulation of a business or

"Dickinson v. Stiles (1918), 246 US. 631, 62 L. Ed. 908, 38
S. Ct. 415; Savage v. Jones (1912), 225 US. 501, 56 L. Ed. 1182, 32
S.Ct. 715; Re Squires, 114 Vt. 285, 44 A 24 133, 161 ALR 349.

SHuron Portland Cement Company v. Detroit (1960), 362 US.
440, 4 L. Ed. 2d 852, 80 S. Ct. 813, 79 ALR 2d 1294.

}
acacia atte al

50

activity does not nullify State regulation of the same busi
ness or activity if the Federal act does not cover the sam
field or is consistent with the State legislation, or if Con.
gress has seen fit to only partially regulate the

sce Congress has undoubted power to define the distrib
tion of power over interstate commerce. Buck
%. California, 343 US. 99, 96 L. Ed. 775, 72 S. Ct. 502
reh. den. 343 U.S. 932, 96 L. Ed. 1341, 72 S. Ct. 756,
Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v. Illinois (193
298 U.S. 155, 80 L. Ed. 1099, 56 S. Ct. 685; Missouri

Pacific Railroad Company v. Norwood (1931), 283 U.S.

249, 75 L. Ed. 1010, 51 S. Ct. 458.

Where the subject matter upon which the power is to
be exercised is local and limited in its nature or sphere
of operations, the rule is well established that the seven!
States may prescribe regulations until Congress intervenes?
This is clearly the case where the regulations which should
govern may in many respects be different in different jo-
calities and for that reason better understood and more
wisely established by the local authorities. .

When a dispute arises over whether a given transaction
is within the scope of Federal or State regulatory author-
ity, the problem should not be approached negatively,
thus raising the possibility that a “no man’s land” will be
created. FPC y. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp.
(1961), 365 U.S. 1, at p. 19, 5 L. Ed. 24 377, at p. 390,
81 S. Ct. 435.

Halter y. Nebraska (1907) 205 US. 34, 51 L. Ed. 6%, 27S.
Ct. 419, aff 74 Neb. 757, 105 NW 298.

10sorgan’s Louisiana and Texas Railroad and Steamship Com-
pany v. Board of Health (1886), 118 US. 455, 30 L. Ed. 237, 6
S. Ct. 1114.

$1

In People v. Western Air Lines, Inc., 42 Cal. 2d 261,
268 P. 2d 723 (1954), the court upheld the authority of
the California Public Utilities Commission to regulate pas-
senger rates for air coach service between Los Angeles and
San Francisco. The court in construing the Civil Aero-
nautics Act of 1938, which is comparable to the Federal
Aviation Act of 1958, held that “it seems clear that Con-
gress has not sought to extend the economic regulation of
the board (CAB) to intrastate transportation of persons or
property other than mail; nor has it attempted to oust the
states of control over such rates.” 268 P. 2d 736 (26). An
appeal from this decision was dismissed by this Court “for :
the want of a substantial Federal question.” 348 U.S. 859,
99 L. Ed. 677, 75 S. Ct. 87 (1954). See also United Air
Lines, Inc. v. Public Utilities Commission of the State of Cal-
ifornia, 342 U.S. 908, 96 L. Ed. 679, 72 S. Ct. 304 (1952).

This Court has also upheld the power of the States to
tax the instrumentalities of airlines used in interstate com-
merce. Braniff Airways, Inc. v. Nebraska State Board of
Equalization & Assessment, 347 U.S. 590, 98 L. Ed. 967,
74 S. Ct. 757 (1954); Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minne-
sota, 322 U.S. 292, 88 L. Ed. 1283, 64 S. Ct. 950, 153
ALR 245 (1944).

As the Nation grows in population, the role of the
State commissions in protecting the public interest in the
local aspects of air transportation grows in importance.
Obviously, the State is far more concerned than the CAB
in seeing that local communities receive adequate intrastate
air transportation to the extent economically feasible.

RACE VLOG IN FEL TL LIE OP Oe IMR OD. tae OTOL PLONE OTS RO Ie . o

We readily admit national supremacy in air transporta-
tion and that the State role must not interfere with the 3
accomplishment of national objectives as determined by 5
the Federal Aviation Act. ;

——

$2

We admit that the final determination of public need
for air service must ultimately rest in its use by the tray.
eling public.

We admit that an airline should be authorized to elimi.
nate certain cities as intermediate points on a route wher
the cost of serving such points would be too great in rel
tion to the small volume of traffic.

We merely contend that State commissions should con-
tinue to be entrusted with the making of initial decisions
regarding matters of intrastate air transportation. The na
ture of Allegheny’s Federal certificate in this case, which
permits great freedom in abandoning routes within Penn-
sylvania, indicates that the CAB is only secondarily inter.
ested in intrastate service. This is understandable when
we consider its immense duties involving interstate service.

If State regulation is ousted, public protection will be
diminished. In the absence of PUC regulation, Allegheny
could easily decide to concentrate its equipment in sery-
ing the most remunerative segments and abandon other
segments showing a lower margin of profit.

Moreover, a similar argument to avoid loss of profits—
under the guise of the need for ubiquitous Federal regula-
tion of air transportation—was recently made by CAB cer-
tificated interstate airlines, serving intrastate segments in
Texas, in an effort to prevent competition from a Texas
certificated airline over the same intrastate segments. The
Texas Supreme Court affirmed the grant of the Texas cer-
tificate in Texas Aeronautics Commission v. Braniff Air-
ways, Inc., 454 S.W. 2d 199, and, on appeal, the United
States Supreme Court denied review. 27 L. Ed. 2d 247,
91 S. Ct. 244 (Dec. 7, 1970).

53

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the NARUC submits that
Allegheny’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit should be
denied since the decision is clearly in accord with prior
precedents of this Court.

Respectfully submitted,
PAUL RODGERS
General Counsel

RAY M. DRULEY
Deputy Assistant General Counsel
National Association of

Regulatory Utility Commissioners

1102 ICC Building

Post Office Box 684 E
Washington, D. C. 20044 f
(202) 628-7324 '

January 11, 1973.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1839%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
