# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allegheny Airlines, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1839%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 410 U.S. 943

## Text

al .
Sie

url 11 197?

JR..CLERK

Supreme Court of the Unit

October Term, 1972

No 72-855

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES, INC., Petitioner
v.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION, and
its Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM, and WILLIAM
F. OHARA, JAMES McGIRR KELLY, DANIEL
HUYETT III, and LOUIS J. SPARVERO, Members
of the Commission, Respondents

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

ROBERT H. YOUNG
EDWIN I. COLODNY
THOMAS M. KITTREDGE ;

Attorneys for Petitioner
Of Counsel:

MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKIUS
2107 The Fidelity Building
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

THE LEGAL INTELLIGENCER, 66 NORTH JUNIPER STREET, PHILA., PA. 19107

PS PT SNR TI OF NRT ERRNO Se oe: , Fees a |
oe RR TINLIN ‘ a

INDEX TO PETITION

Page
CN o.oo Oban eur vin scree hecscevavenes 1
CE Chats civ cnuhcnc desde ever ves nue 2
i dnd sedan v4 hide dnnesnhs ss 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 2
ee ee 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 5

1. The decisions of the courts below conflict with
the decisions of this Court in abstention-
I OE ce nen edecccsccnsess 7

2. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit herein conflicts with the holding
of the Second Circuit that abstention is “pecu-
liarly inappropriate” in preemption cases ... 10

3. Abstention by the federal courts in preemption
cases will not avoid federal-state conflicts, but

rather will prolong and exacerbate them .... 12
IE rn icaath ned onde cua ede see kk 0 c+ «'s 14
INDEX TO APPENDIX

Page

Opinion and Order of the United States District Court la
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals ...... 13a
Order of the United States Court of Appeals as 29a
Sur Petition for Rehearing ....................... 3la

Pertinent provisions of the Federal Aviation Act of 1958
and the Pennsylvania Public Utility Law ....... 33a

SRO beens

aRpeaety

Sa OMS IY USAR SORE

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases:
Alabama Public Service Commission v. Southern Rail- —__
way Company, 341 U.S. 341(1951) ............. 8
Burford v. Sun Oil Company, 319 U.S. 315 (1943) ..... 8
Capital Service, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board,
ee CD ios oe a ed oe ed ens baw 13
Chemical Specialties Manufacturers Association, Inc.
v. Lowery, 452 F.2d 431 (2d Cir. 1971) ........... 10
City of Chicago v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway
Company, 357 U.S. 77 (1958) ................. 7
Colorado v. United States, 271 U.S. 153 (1926) ....... 6

Northern States Power Company v. The State of Minne-
sota, 447 F.2d 1143 (8th Cir. 1971), aff’d 405 USS.

EEE re ao chek want aes ten eee eee bak 12
Public Utilities Commission of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas

Company, 317 U.S. 456 (1943) ................ 7
Reetz v. Bozanich, 397 U.S. 82(1970) ............... 13
Wisconsin v. Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433 (1971) ..... 1]
Statutes:

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §1301letseq.... 3

Federal Hazardous Substances Act, 15 U.S.C. §1261
SP Ch.o's oa 04 bea ee ab ae ne ss nneh tensa eeeeen 11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1972
No.

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES, INC., Petitioner
v.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION, and its
Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM and WILLIAM F.
O'HARA, JAMES McGIRR KELLY, DANIEL HUYETT
III and LOUIS J. SPARVERO, Members of the Com-
mission, Respondents

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

Allegheny Airlines, Inc. petitions for a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit entered in the above case on
July 21, 1972.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. 13a) is re-
ported at 465 F.2d 237. The opinion of the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania
(App. 1a), entered November 10, 1970, is reported at 319
F.Supp. 407.

]

2
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (App. 29a) was
entered on July 21, 1972. A timely petition for rehearing
was denied on September 13, 1972. (App. 31a) The jurisdic.
tion of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1),

QUESTION PRESENTED

May a federal district court abstain from hearing a
case, admittedly within its jurisdiction, where the only
question presented is whether the Congress of the United
States, by the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, has preempted
the power of the states to regulate the schedules and
patterns of service of federally certificated and subsidized
interstate air carriers?

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The United States Constitution, Article VI, provides,
in pertinent part:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United
States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and
all Treaties made, or which shall be made, under the
Authority of the United States, shall be the supreme
Law of the Land; and the Judges in every State shall
be bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or
Laws of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.

The pertinent provisions of the Federal Aviation Act
of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §1301 et seq. (App. 33a), and the Public
Utility Law of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Act of
May 28, 1937, P.L. 1053, art. I, §1 et seq. (App. 34a), are
set forth in the Appendix.

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Allegheny Airlines, Inc.' brought this action against
the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, on September
12, 1969, secking a judgment declaring that certain of the
Commission’s orders and rules to show cause, relating to
schedules and patterns of service between Pennsylvania
cities on Allegheny’s federally certificated interstate routes,
constituted an unlawful intrusion upon an area of exclusive
federal jurisdiction.

The jurisdiction of the district court was invoked pur-
suant to (a) 28 U.S.C. §1337, in that the action arose under
an Act of Congress regulating commerce, namely, the
Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §1301 et seq., and
(b) 28 U.S.C. §1331, in that the matter in controversy arose
under the Constitution and laws of the United States,
specifically Article VI, Clause 2 of the Constitution of the
United States and the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49
U.S.C. §1301 et seq. Additionally, it was averred that peti-
tioner and the respondents were citizens of diverse states
and that the amount in controversy exceeded the sum or
value of $10,000 exclusive of interest and costs.

The offending orders and rules to show cause issued
by the Pennsylvania Commission require Allegheny to
maintain direct service between each pair of Pennsyl-
vania cities on Allegheny’s routes t:n'ees, authorized by the
Pennsylvania Commission to abandon such service.? It

1. Allegheny is the largest local service carrier in the United
States, having carried over 4.5 million passengers in 1968. Alle-
gheny’s route structure as certificated by the CAB, in 1969, covered
17 states, the District of Columbia and Canada, with air service
being provided to some 88 cities through a total of 67 airports, only
13 of which were within Pennsylvania. Allegheny has Pennsylvania
Commission certificates of convenience to carry passengers between
Pennsylvania cities named in its CAB route structure.

2. The context in which Pennsylvania regulation of Allegheny
exists is indicated by the fact that the 1968 revenues from intra-
Pennsylvania passengers amounted to only 2.32% of Allegheny’s
total revenue; and of the 4.5 million passengers carried by Allegheny
in the same year, only 2.7% were intra-Pennsylvania passengers.

LE ne

LIT AN. gt 8 OA IE CN LIE H

4

is uncontested that the Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB), the
instrumentality of the United States charged with the
regulation of routes and patterns of service provided by
federally certificated air carriers, does not require such
direct service.

The Congress of the United States, by the Federal Avia.
tion Act of 1958, has directed the CAB to promote the
development of an air-transportation system properly
adapted to the present and future needs of the foreign and
domestic commerce of the United States. (App. 33a) Besides
the regulation of rates and service by these carriers, the
Board is also charged with determining the amount of
federal subsidy paid annually to each air carrier. The
amount of the subsidy paid to Allegheny in the years 1959
through 1968, inclusive, totaled more than $85,000,000.

The CAB, by its counsel, appeared before the district
court and advised the court that the Board in certificating
service between points within a state, considers the needs
of both interstate traffic and local traffic between those
points. The Board took the position that Allegheny’s inter-
state operations under its CAB certificate and its operations
between points in Pennsylvania under the Commission’s
certificate were so inextricably intertwined as to preclude
any practical or legal separation, and that the Federal Avia-
tion Act had left no room for the type of regulation imposed
by the Pennsylvania Commission.

On November 10, 1970 the district court denied Alle-
gheny’s motion for summary judgment and granted the
Commission’s motion to the extent that it requested a dis-
missal of the action. Despite the district court’s recognition
(App. 4a) of the nationwide impact of the outcome of this
suit on the federal-state roles in the regulation of air com-
merce, the district court decided to abstain from the exer-
cise of its admitted jurisdiction.

The district court predicated its conclusion that
abstention was proper on grounds of federal-state comity
and the existence of an unclear question of state law, i.e.,
whether the Pennsylvania Commission actually had the

—

5

authority under state law to issue the orders and rules to
show cause involved.*

Upon appeal by Allegheny, the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit held that the district court
had properly abstained for the purpose of avoiding federal-
state friction. In so doing the Court found that Allegheny’s

sition created “a serious possibility of disturbing the
orderly state system of agency regulation of transportation
within Pennsylvania.” (App. 23a)

The Court of Appeals found it unnecessary to decide
whether the district court had correctly concluded that
there existed an unclear question of state law. It noted,
however, that “the PUC’s authority to take the measures
described above seems clear. 66 P.S. §1122.” (App. 22a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The district court and the Court of Appeals below have
in this case worked a radical extension of the abstention
doctrine. In effect, the courts below have abandoned to
state courts the power to decide the issue of federal pre- q
emption in a regulatory field; i.e., whether the Congress :
intended by legislation to so occupy a field of regulation

as to preclude concurrent state regulation. Such a result ;
conflicts with the prior decisions of this Court; and con- ‘
flicts with a decision of the United States Court of Appeals f
for the Second Circuit, which has held that abstention is ‘

“peculiarly inappropriate” in preemption cases. If permitted
to stand, the decision of the courts below will inevitably
result in an exacerbation of federal-state conflicts relating
to regulatory jurisdiction.

The Circuit Court was apparently led to this astonish-
ing result by an unwarranted deference to state procedures
to the exclusion of the federal regulatory system established

LIOR ae

ea ar

3. This authority was never questioned by the parties.

Si Re i Aaa oe

6

by Congress. Thus, in response to Allegheny's arguments
that PUC jurisdiction over schedules had been preempted,
the Court says (App. 24a):

“The issue, thus, is not, at this stage, whether
the airline may or may not discontinue the service in
question because federal legislation has preempted the
field. The issue is whether a state certificated public
utility may arbitrarily ignore the procedural rules of
the Commission which require that issues, including
jurisdictional issues, be raised before discontinuance
of service.”

It is respectfully submitted that if Congress has pre-
empted state regulation of scheduling by a federally certifi-
cated interstate carrier, the state has no jurisdiction, by
procedural rules or otherwise, to restrict Allegheny’s sched-
uling changes. Moreover, the issue is not affected by the
fact that the state directs its orders only to Allegheny’s state
certificated routes, where as here they are inextricably
entwined with the federally certificated routes. It is the
impossible burden of contending with regulation by many
states over service inextricably intertwined with interstate
service that brought Allegheny to the federal courts. See
Colorado v. United States, 271 U.S. 153 (1926).4

For the purpose of judging the propriety of abstention
in this case, it must be assumed that Congress intended
to preempt state regulation of scheduling by a federally
certificated air carrier. Under such an assumption, the
decisions of the courts below create a dangerous precedent

4. The Circuit Court decision includes five itemized bases for
its decision, each of which reflects this same concern for local regula-
tion of Allegheny's limited Pennsylvania business to the exclusion
of the federal regulatory system and the potential injury to Alle
gheny s interstate passengers and business which is inseparable from
the treatment of its local business.

COPY PRINT!

7

SS oe Oe ee ee
neorl

The decisions of the courts below conflict with the
decisions of this Court in abstention-preemption
cases.

i

The courts below either ignored or denied the applica-
bility of two controlling decisions by this Court; namely,
Public Utilities Commission of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas
Company, 317 U.S. 456 (1943) and City of Chicago v.
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company, 357 US.
77 (1958).°

In P.U.C. of Ohio, United, an interstate gas pipeline
company, brought. an action to restrain enforcement of the
Ohio Commission's order assuming jurisdiction over its
rates. United argued that the Federal Power Commission
had exclusive jurisdiction over its rates by virtue of the
Natural Gas Act of 1938. This Court held that abstention
was unwarranted, even though there existed a doubtful
question of state law, since the federal question of preemp-
tion would still remain after resolution of the state law issue
and reference to the state court would only further delay
a final determination of the controversy.

City of Chicago involved the validity of an ordinance
requiring a certificate of public convenience and necessity

for the operation of interterminal vehicle services. The rail-

road brought an action in the district court alleging that

the ordinance, if it applied to their transfer service, was
inconsistent with the provisions of the Interstate Com-

merce Act as well as the Commerce Clause of the Constitu-

tion. The district court dismissed the complaint, but the <.<+=
Court affirmed, holding that the case was not a properone *™
for abstention.

5. Although petitioner urged that they were controlling, the
Court of Appeals did not cite or discuss either of these cases.

NTED CLOSE TO EDGE

The district court. in the instant case. distinguished
P.U.C. of Ohio on the theory that the holding in that case
was ascribable to the inordinate delay there involved. (App.
10a) This Court's discussion of the delay, however, was
presented in the context of explaining why. even despite
the presence of an uncertain question of state law, absten.
tion was improper. There is nothing in that decision to
suggest that this Court would even have mentioned the
possibility of abstention had not such an unsettled state
law question existed.

The district court distinguished City of Chicago
on the ground that the state courts in the instant case have
not as yet determined the extent of the Pennsylvania Com
mission's authority to regulate air carriers. (App. 11a). Pre
sumably the district court below believed that there had
been such a determination by the state courts in City of

tatively ruled that the inter-terminal transfer vehicles came

that argument (357 U.S. at 84): “We see no ambiguity in the
section which calls for interpretation by the state courts.

. . . Remission to those courts would involve substantial
delay and expense, and the chance of a result different from
that reached below, on the issue of applicability, would

appear to be slight.”

Both courts below predicated their decisions that
abstention was proper in this case on two cases: Burford
v. Sun Oil Company, 319 U.S. 315 (1943) and Alabama
Public Service Commission v. Southern Railway Company.
341 US. 341 (1951). Neither case is in point.

Burford was a federal action by Sun Oil attacking the
validity of an order by the Texas Railroad Commission
granting Burford a permit to drill four oil wells. Sun Oi
contended that the order denied it due process of law. This
Court noted that. duc to geologic facts, an oil field had to

be regulated as a unit for conservation purposes and that
the federal government had chosen to leave “the principal
responsibility” to the states. (at 319) This Court

out that the State of Texas had a vital interest in

the proper regulation and conservation of Texas oil fields
and that its Commission had acquired a specialized knowl-
edge regarding such regulation. The Court also stated that
the case “raised a number of problems of no general signifi-

prorationing

of Texas policy that equitable discretion should
be exercised to give the Texas courts the first opportunity
to consider them.” (at 332)

Alabama Public Service Commission v. Southern Rail-
way Company involved an application by the railroad to
the Alabama Commission for permission to discontinuc
two intrastate trains on economic grounds. After hearing.
the Commission denied permission. The railroad then
brought an action in the federal court, alleging that the
order denying permission constituted a deprivation of prop-
erty without due process of law. This Court held that
abstention was proper since the problem of balancing
public necessity and any loss to the railroad on the two
trains was essentially a local problem.

It is readily apparent that Burford and Alabama Public
Service Commission, where abstention was found proper.
have common characteristics which distinguish them from
P.U.C. of Ohio and City of Chicago. First, no conflict of fed-
eral and state regulatory authority was presented in Bur-
ford and Alabama P.S.C.; a clear conflict existed in P.U.C.
of Ohio and City of Chicago. Secondly, the only federal
question presented in the first two cases was the relatively
amorphous due process claim; in the latter two a federal
issue of congressional preemption was involved. Thirdly,
the first two cases involved situations where the federal
government's interest in the subject matter (two trains

10

between points within Alabama, and Texas oil fields) was
remote and minimal in comparison with the

and importance of the states’ interest; whereas, in the
second two cases the federal interest in protecting the integ.
rity and coherence of federal regulatory plans for interstate
commerce from unwarranted interference by the states was
vital and paramount.

The controversy here presented, between Allegheny
Airlines and the Pennsylvania Commission, fits the P.U.C.
of Ohio and City of Chicago mold precisely. First, there is
a direct conflict in federal and state regulatory authority.
Second, a federal preemption question is involved.
namely, whether Congress intended to vest principal
responsibility for the regulation of air commerce in the Civil
Acronautics Board. Finally, the federal interest here is the
protection of the regulatory scheme embodied in the Fed-
eral Aviation Act from interference by the Pennsylvania
Commission. In addition, the federal government has a
pecuniary interest in preventing the drain on the United
States Treasury which will be caused by Allegheny’s
increased subsidy needs arising from the Commission's
interference. It is also fair to say that the CAB has had far
more experience with the effect of local schedules on inter-
state air travel than has the Pennsylvania Commission.
Moreover, Pennsylvania has no unique or special interest
in air travel between Pennsylvania cities on Allegheny's
interstate routes which would override the CAB’s interest
on behalf of interstate passengers. There is therefore no

courte basis in Federal-STre conity For

AbsTenTiow sf Thiet care,

Il. The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit herein conflicts with the holding of the Second
Circuit that abstention is “peculiarly inappropriate”
in preemption cases.

The propriety of abstention in a preemption situation
was examined in Chemical Specialties Manufacturers Asso-

1]

ciation. Inc. v. Lowery, 452 F.2d 431 (2d Cir. 1971). In that
case the plaintiff organization of manufacturers brought
an action for declaratory and injunctive relicf against New
York City and its Fire Commissioner contending that city
regulations relating to the packaging of hazardous sub-
stances constituted an impermissible invasion of a regula-
tory area preempted by the Federal Hazardous Substances
Act. 15 U.S.C. §1261 ct seq. The district court concluded
that it should abstain from exercising jurisdiction and
leave the plaintiff and its members to the appropriate and
competent state courts, in which they might assert all legal
defenses available to them.

Judge Friendly, for the court of appeals, reversed (at
433):

We cannot accept the district court’s suggestion
that this is an appropriate case for invoking the doc-
trine of abstention. The Supreme Court has recently
observed that the “abstention cases have dealt with
unresolved questions of state law which only a state
tribunal could authoritatively construc.” Wisconsin v.
Constantineau, 400 U.S. 433, 438, 91 S.Ct. 507, 511,
97 L.Ed. 2d 515 (1971) (citation omitted). Here there
is no uncertainty with respect to the City Regulations
that would call for construction by the state courts
in the first instance. As will be seen, such difficulties
in statutory construction as exist pertain rather to the
relevant federal laws, and a federal court is better
equipped to deal with these. Indeed, abstention is
peculiarly inappropriate when the federal claim is that
the state has been ousted from jurisdiction .. .
(Emphasis supplied)

Judge Oakes, who dissented from the court of appeals’
result in Chemical Specialties, agreed with Judge Friendly
on the abstention issue (at 440): “Nor, in view of the claim
of federal preemption, is this a case where abstention might
be proper . . .”.

12

In this case there is no uncertainty about the Pennsyl-
vania Commission's statutory authority to regulate intra-
state air carriage. The only possible issue is whether that
jurisdiction has been preempted by the Federal Aviation
Act. A federal court should not abstain from deciding that
issuc.*

The conflict between the decision of the Third Circuit
in this case and the decision of the Second Circuit in
Chemical Specialties should be resolved by this Court.
Failure to do so will add to the difficulty and com-
plexity attendant on the resolution of federal-state contro.
versics and will cause unnecessary delay in their resolution.

III. Abstention by the federal courts in preemption cases
will not avoid federal-state conflicts, but rather will
prolong and exacerbate them.

The essence of the abstention doctrine is clear: federal
courts, for reasons of federal-state comity, should avoid
needless conflict with state agencies. But in a preemption
situation there is no question of avoiding the federal-state
conflict. That conflict already exists by virtue of the con-
flicting federal and state regulation.

The only question presented in a preemption situation
is where and when the federal-state conflict will be re-
solved. The choice is between an early resolution in the

6. See Northern States Power Company v. The State of Minne-
sota, 447 F.2d 1143 (Sth Cir. 1971), aff'd 405 U.S. 1035 (1972)
wherein an electric utility company brought an action against the
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency for a judgment declaring that
the Atomic Energy Commission's authority to regulate radioactive
releases by nuclear power plants was exclusive so as to preclude state
regulation. The district court entered the declaratory judgment for
the plaintiff, and the Eighth Circuit and this Court affirmed. The
abstention issue was not discussed. Apparently it did not occur to
either the parties or the courts that the question of federal pre-
emption should be left, in the first instance, to the Minnesota state
courts.

13

federal court and a delayed resolution in the state court.
Since the issue relates to the interpretation of a federal
statute and the intent of Congress in enacting it, the federal
court is certainly the logical forum.

Precisely this rationale was adopted by this Court in
Capital Service, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board,
347 U.S. 501 (1954). There the Board sought to restrain the
enforcement by a union of a state court injunction on the
grounds that the Board had been vested with exclusive
jurisdiction over the subject matter of the dispute there
involved. The Court held (at 504-05):

In absence of a command of the Congress to the
contrary, the power of the District Court to issue the
injunction is clear. Federal courts seek to avoid need-
less conflict with state agencies and withhold relief
by way of injunction where state remedies are avail-
able and adequate. See Alabama Commission uv.
Southern R. Co., 341 U.S. 341. But where Congress,
acting within its constitutional authority, has vested
a federal agency with exclusive jurisdiction over a
subject matter and the intrusion of a state would result
in conflict of functions, the federal court may enjoin
the state proceeding in order to preserve the federal
right. See Public Utilities Commission v. Gas Co., 317
U.S. 456, 468-470; Bowles v. Willingham, 321 U.S. 503,
510-511.

The fact that the plaintiff in Capital Service was a
federal agency is not a significant distinction, as is clearly
evidenced by this Court's citation of Public Utilities Com-
mission of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas Co., 317 U.S. 456
(1943) wherein the plaintiff was a private party.

The price of abstention, as Professor Wright has noted,
is not cheap. Wright, Federal Courts §52 (2d ed. 1970).
“Abstention certainly involves duplication of effort and
expense and an attendant delay.” Reetz v. Bozanich, 397
U.S. 82, 86 (1970).

NTE TT EN PRR EE ETN AC ORISA IE

14

Allegheny Airlines does not question the wisdom of
requiring federal courts to refrain from injecting federal
power into a dispute between a state and a private party,
where the federal government otherwise has no interest
in the dispute. But where, as here, the federal interest in
the controversy is not only real, but acute, and the conflict
between federal and state power already exists, abstention
is not only wholly unwarranted but will actually exacerbate
fedcral-state relations by postponing resolution of the exist-
ing federal-state conflict.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, this petition should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT H. YOUNG
EDWIN I. COLODNY
THOMAS M. KITTREDGE
Attorneys for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKIUS

2107 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

la
ALLEGHENY AIRLINES. INC.
Vv.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,
and its Chairman, George |. Bloom, and William F.
O'Hara, James McGirr Kelly, Daniel Huyett, III, and
Louis J. Sparvero, Members of the Commission,
Defendants.

Civ. A. No. 69-2148

United States District Court,
E. D. Pennsylvania.

Nov. 10, 1970.

As Amended Nov. 18, 1970.

OPINION
LUONGO, District Judge.

This is a suit by Allegheny Airlines, Inc. (Allegheny)
to have declared null and void certain actions against it by
the Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission (PUC), and
to enjoin permanently the PUC and its individual members
from proceeding further against Allegheny or its employees
for violations of the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania.

The matter is before the court on cross motions for
summary judgment filed by Allegheny and PUC. All the
facts have been stipulated. They will be adverted to in the
course of this opinion only to the extent deemed necessary
to an understanding of the discussion of the legal issues.

prone

van

SSE aneiantD aie

2a
I. Factual Background

Allegheny was originally certificated by the PUC in
1941 to transport property by air in intrastate commerce
within Pennsylvania pursuant to the Pennsylvania “Pub-
lic Utilities Law,” 66 P.S. §1101, et seq. In January,
1949 Allegheny received a certificate from the Civil Aero-
nautics Board (CAB), the federal regulatory agency estab-
lished under the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C. §1301 et
seq., to provide interstate passenger service over a route
structure covering the District of Columbia and seven
states, including Pennsylvania. In March, 1949 the PUC
approved Allegheny’s application to transport persons and
property by air in intrastate commerce within Pennsyl-
vania. The intrastate routes authorized by the PUC paral-
leled Allegheny’s interstate routes within the boundaries
of Pennsylvania.

Under its CAB certificate, Allegheny is a “local ser-
vice” carrier, i. e., one which provides service between
smaller cities, linking them with larger ones where con-
nections can be made with the “trunk line” carriers (e. g.,
American Airlines, United Air Lines) which primarily pro-
vide long haul service between larger cities. Allegheny is
now the largest “local service” carrier in the United States,
with an interstate route structure covering seventeen
states, the District of Columbia and parts of Canada. Alle-
gheny has intrastate rights in nine of those states, includ-
ing Pennsylvania. For the fiscal year ending September 30,
1969 its gross revenues aggregated almost $113,000,000,
including a federal subsidy! of approximately $3,000,000.
A little more than 2% of Allegheny’s 1969 revenues were
generated by intrastate traffic within Pennsylvania.

1. The federal subsidy received by a local service carrier is
determined by the need of a carrier for funds to make up operating
deficits from unprofitable local, short-haul routes. In order for a car-
rier to be eligible for a federal subsidy, it must prove to the satisfac-
tion of the CAB that the expenditures were those that any efficient
and honest management would make. 49 U.S.C. $1376.

_—

3a

For the efficient operation of its interstate routes,
Allegheny makes frequent changes in its patterns of service
and schedules. Under federal law, Allegheny is permitted
to make such changes without interference from the CAB
so long as it provides adequate service. 49 U.S.C. §§1371(e)
(4), 1374(a). See Capital Airlines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics
Bd., 108 U.S.App.D.C. 215, 281 F.2d 48 (1960). The CAB
does not require Allegheny to maintain direct plane service
between intermediate points on its interstate routes, it
being sufficient if Allegheny services each intermediate

int on such routes by two round trips in each direction
each day, regardless of point of origin or destination.

In 1963 Allegheny discontinued single plane direct
service on the 71-mile Williamsport-Harrisburg segment
of its PUC intrastate route No. 5. Since that time it has
discontinued furnishing single plane direct service between
some other pairs of points on its six intrastate routes?
authorized by the PUC. It has also been furnishing service
between some intrastate points not specified in its PUC cer-
tificate. The PUC has taken the position that its certificate
requires Allegheny to maintain single plane direct service
between all pairs of points on authorized intrastate routes
in Pennsylvania, and that Allegheny may not provide intra-
state service between points within Pennsylvania not speci-
fied in the PUC certificate.

After attempts to resolve the matter amicably the PUC

CE LI «OTRO YO OTST

POOR Re PPE to 8 a niet

ae

2. Allegheny’s present intrastate route structure is as follows:

(1) Between Pittsburgh and Bradford.

(2) Between Pittsburgh and Philadelphia via Johnstown,
Altoona, Harrisburg, Lancaster, and Reading.

(3) Between Pittsburgh and Stroudsburg/East Strouds-
burg via Johnstown, Altoona, Bellefonte/State College, Lock :
Haven, Williamsport and Scranton/Wilkes-Barre. 5

(4) Between Harrisburg and Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.

(5) Between Erie and Harrisburg via Bradford and Wil-
liamsport.

(6) Between Pittsburgh and Allentown/Bethlehem/Easton,
via Johnstown, Altoona, Bellefonte/State College, Williamsport,
Harrisburg and Scranton/Wilkes-Barre.

4a

issued rules (at different times) on Allegheny to show cause
why its state certificate should not be cancelled or other
penalties imposed (a) for abandoning direct plane service
between Williamsport and Harrisburg; (b) for abandoning
direct plane service between other pairs of points on its
intrastate routes; and (c) for furnishing intrastate service
not authorized by the PUC. At the hearing on the rule to
show cause on the abandonment of Williamsport-Harris.
burg direct service Allegheny declined to present evidence
and answered only that the PUC lacked jurisdiction over
routes, flight frequency and schedules of intrastate carriage
of persons and property where that service is part of a fed-
erally certificated route operated by a federally certificated
interstate carrier operating under the rules and regulations
of the CAB.

On June 23, 1969 the PUC entered an order making
the rule absolute, imposing a fine of $5000 on Allegheny
and directing Allegheny to reinstitute direct service be-
tween Williamsport and Harrisburg within thirty days or
file a petition with the PUC to abandon such service. After
the time for filing an appeal from the PUC order to the
state courts had passed, Allegheny instituted the instant
suit to enjoin the PUC and the individual members thereof
from taking any actions. against Allegheny or its officers
based upon changes in patterns of service or frequency or
scheduling of service.

Because of the nationwide impact of the outcome of
this suit on the federal-state roles in the economic regula-
tion of air commerce, both the CAB and the National Asso-
ciation of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)
sought, and were granted, leave to file briefs amicus curiae.
The CAB also participated in oral argument. The CAB
supported Allegheny’s contentions on the merits but took
“no position with respect to procedural issues or questions
of judicial jurisdiction.” (CAB’s brief, page 6). NARUC’s

3. The rule to show cause on items (b) and (c) has been stayed
by the PUC pending the outcome of these proceedings.

LS AERA MALATE 9 8 AE NI REE MR NEE

—

5a

brief supports the PUC both on the merits and, in partic-
ular, in attacking the propriety of federal intervention in
the absence of exhaustion of state processes.

II. Jurisdiction

It is Allegheny’s position in the instant suit that the
PUC’s attempt to exercise control over it is invalid as a mat-
ter of federal law because (a) the field of economic regu-
lation of interstate air carriers, at least insofar as patterns
of service and scheduling are concerned, has been pre-
empted by the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C.
§1301 et seq., particularly §§1302* and 1371(eX4)§
of the Act; (b) the PUC orders conflict with Allegheny’s
rights and obligations under its CAB certificate of public

3

APO

peri

TORE Nae EP

4. 49 U.S.C. §1302 reads, in pertinent part, as follows:

“In the exercise and performance of its powers and duties
* * * the Board shall consider the following * * * as being
in the public interest, and in accordance with the public con-
venience and necessity:

(a) The encouragement and development of an air-trans-
portation system properly adapted to the present and future
needs of the foreign and domestic commerce of the United
States, of the Postal Service, and of the national defense;

(b) The regulation of air transportation in such manner
as to recognize and preserve the inherent advantages of, assure
the highest degree of safety in, such transportation, and to
improve the relations between, and coordinate transportation
by, air carriers;

(c) The promotion of adequate economical, and efficient

service by air carriers at reasonable charges * * *;
* a” * * te

Sp

(f) The promotion, encouragement, and development of
civil aeronautics.”

5. 49 U.S.C. §1371(e) (4) reads, in pertinent part, as follows:

“No term, condition, or limitation of a certificate shall
restrict the right of an air carrier to add to or change sched-
ules, equipment, accommodations, and facilities for perform-
ing the authorized transportation and service as the develop-
ment of the business and the demands of the public shall re-
ee Seer

i Pci isa le alt 8 Nila {PI INROR LD ER IAM WINE BR IRS ot NE IM MIN Pre Ue. |

6a
convenience and necessity; and, (c) the PUC orders at.

have authority to control certain economic aspects* of
intrastate air commerce, they contend that such authority
does not extend to a federally certificated air carrier servic-
ing an interstate-intrastate route. Accordingly, Allegheny
asserts that its dispute with the PUC presents a controversy
arising under the Constitution and laws of the United States
and that this court's jurisdiction’ is properly invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1331(a).* It asserts further that the fed-
eral courts should decide the federal questions rather than
leave them for determination by state tribunals. I disagree.

In suits in the federal courts arising out of proceed-
ings pending or threatened in state tribunals, the federal
court's jurisdiction may not be predicated upon federal
— defenses to the state proceedings.* See Public

S.Ct. 258, 15 L.Ed.2d 194] (1965); Pennsylvania Public Utility
Comm. v. Pennsylvania R.R. Co., 382 U.S. 281, 86 S.Ct. 423, 15
L.Ed. 2d 324 (1965).
8. 28 U.S.C. $1331(a) reads as follows:
“(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction
of all civil actions wherein the matter of controversy exceeds
the sum or value of $10,000, exclusive of interest and costs,

9. There are exceptions to this principle, notably in suits aris-
ing under the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. $1981 et seg., 28 USC.
$1443. See Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479, 85 S.Ct. 1116, 14
L.Ed. 2d 22 (1965).

7a

Serv. Comm. of Utah v. Wycoff, 344 U.S. 237, 73 S.Ct. 236,
97 L.Ed. 291 (1952); Public Utilities Comm. of California
y. United Air Lines, Inc., 346 U.S. 402, 74 S.Ct. 151, 98
LEd. 140 (1953); rev'g 109 F. Supp. 13 (N.D.Cal. 1952);
California v. Oroville-Wyandotte Irrigation Dist., 409 F.2d
532 (9th Cir. 1969); Bonanza Air Lines, Inc. v. Public Serv.
Comm. of Nevada, 186 F.Supp. 674 (D. Nev. 1960). It is
only if the state complaint raises federal questions that the
federal court's jurisdiction may be based on federal
question grounds. Public Serv. Comm. of Utah v. Wycoff,

" . in the instant suit, seeks a declaration
that since it is an interstate carrier, it is immune, as a mat-
ter of federal law, from the exercise of control by the PUC.
The proceedings instituted by the PUC against Allegheny,
however, raise only questions of state law, i. e., the extent

§1101 et seq. The PUC’s complaints raise no federal ques-
tions. The federal questions do not enter the picture until
they are injected by Allegheny as a matter of defense to the
state . Under such circumstances, to quote from
Wycoff, supra, 344 U.S. at p. 248, 73 S.Ct. at p. 243:

state courts merely because one, normally a defendant,
goes to federal court to begin his federal-law defense
before the state court begins the case under state law.”

Although this is not properly a federal question
matter, there is nevertheless jurisdiction in this court on
the grounds of diversity of citizenship. 28 U.S.C. §1332(a).'*

10. 28 U.S.C. $1332(a) reads as follows:

“(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction
of all civil actions where the matter in controversy exceeds the
sum or value of $10,000, exclusive of interest and costs, and
is between—

8a

It affirmatively appears from Allegheny’s complaint that
it is a Delaware with its principal place of
business in the District of Columbia; that the PUC is

the substantive issues raised by the parties and exercise its
power to grant the relief requested. The relief which Alle
gheny seeks is (1) a declaration that it is not subject to con-
trol by the PUC because it is an interstate carrier, and (2)

Allegheny’ b

brought under the Declaratory Judgment Act, 28 U.S.C.
$2201, the first portion of its prayer for relief is
in nature. The Declaratory Judgment Act provides that in
a case of actual controversy a competent federal court may
declare the rights and other legal relations of any interested
party whether or not further relief is or could be
sought.” But whether to grant declaratory relief in a par-
ticular case is a matter committed to the court's sound dis-
cretion. See A. L. Mechling Barge Lines, Inc. v. United
States, 368 U.S. 324, 82 S.Ct. 337, 7 L.Ed.2d 317 (1961),
Brillhart v. Excess Ins. Co., 316 U.S. 491, 62 S.Ct. 1173,
86 L.Ed. 1620 (1942); California v. Oroville-Wyandotte
Irrigation Dist., supra.
Note 10—Continued

(1) citizens of different States;

(2) citizens of a State, and foreign states or citizens or

subjects thereof, and
(3) citizens of different States and in which foreign states
or citizens or subjects thereof are additional! parties.~

court's sound discretion. Alabama Public Serv. Comm. v.
Southern Ry. Co., 341 U.S. 341, 71 S.Ct. 762, 95 L_Ed. 1002

their powers in the interest of federal-state comity. Public

Supreme Court stating, 344 US. at p. 247, 73 S.Ct. at p.
242:

It is the state courts which have the first and
last word as to the meaning of state statutes and
whether a particular order is within the legislative
terms of reference so as to make it the action of the
State.”

Whenever, therefore, the dispute between a private party
and a state administrative agency concerns an unsettled
question of state law, the federal courts should abstain
Inc. v. Public Serv. Comm. of Nevada, supra.

The doctrine of “equitable abstention” has only
recently developed in the federal court system. See Wright,
Federal Courts §52; Note, Judicial Abstention From the
Exercise of Federal Jurisdiction, 59 Colum. L. Rev. 749
(1958). As it applies to disputes between private parties
and state administrative agencies, the primary thrust of the

Rf.

VO PHSB NTT DY Lh eID,

Td ee

RET RS Peron

10a

doctrine is that where an order of the state agency predom.
inantly affects local matters, if there is available to the
aggrieved party adequate state judicial review, the federal
courts should refuse to exercise their equity powers to re-
strain enforcement of the administrative order, thus avoid-
ing unnecessary federal-state conflict. See Alabama Public
Serv. Comm. v. Southern Ry. Co., supra; Burford v. Sun Oi]
Co., 319 U.S. 315, 63 S.Ct. 1098, 87 L.Ed. 1424 (1943),
Railroad Comm. of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co., 310
U.S. 573, 60 S.Ct. 1021, 84 L.Ed. 1368 (1940), as amended,
311 U.S. 570, 61 S.Ct. 343, 85 L.Ed. 358 (1941). Cf. Sayers
v. Forsyth Bldg. Corp., 417 F.2d 65 (5th Cir. 1969); Lerner
v. Town of Islip, 272 F.Supp. 664 (E.D.N.Y.1967); Atlantic
Freight Lines, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Comm.,
109 F.Supp. 385 (W.D. Pa. 1952). But see Public Utilities
Comm. of Ohio v. United Fuel Gas Co., 317 U.S. 456, 63
S.Ct. 369, 87 L.Ed. 396 (1943) (where the exercise of fed-
eral court's equity powers was approved because of an in-
ordinate delay in disposing of the matter in dispute). They
should exercise such powers only when they are convinced
that asserted federal rights cannot be preserved except by
the granf of the extraordinary relief of an injunction. Ala-
bama Public Serv. Comm. v. Southern Ry. Co., supra. See
also, Railroad Comm. of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 US.
496, 61 S.Ct. 643, 85 L.Ed. 971 (1941).

The instant case is clearly one for the application
of the doctrine of federal abstention.

First, the dispute between the PUC and Allegheny pre-
dominantly affects local matters, i. e., intrastate air service
and the scope of authority and procedures of the state
administrative agency.

Second, the dispute involves an unsettled question of
state !aw, i. e., the extent of the PUC’s authority to regulate
intrastate air rights granted to an interstate air carrier. The
parties have cited no Pennsylvania authorities defining the
limits of the PUC’s authority over rights granted to such

_——

lla

carriers.'' Until the state courts speak to the question
we cannot know whether they will interpret the PUC's
authority under the state act narrowly or broadly. In mak-
ing their determination as to the scope of the PUC's au-
thority, the state courts are bound, just as the federal courts
are, to interpret and apply the federal Constitution and
laws, and all of the arguments which Allegheny has sought
to raise here under the interstate commerce and supremacy
clauses of the federal Constitution must be given full con-
sideration by the state courts. See Bonanza Air Lines, Inc.
y. Public Serv. Comm. of Nevada, supra.

Finally, Pennsylvania law provides adequate judicial
review of the actions of the PUC. At the time the PUC’s
order was entered Allegheny could have obtained review
by seeking a preliminary injunction in the Court of Com- 4
mon Pleas of Dauphin County,'? with a full hearing on :
the merits (66 P.S. §1441) and right of appeal to the Su- E
perior and Supreme Courts of Pennsylvania; or it might
have appealed directly to the Superior Court to have the
order of the PUC declared null and void (66 P.S. §1431).
Under either procedure, there was available to Allegheny
process for obtaining a writ of supersedeas to stay enforce-
ment of the order pending judicial disposition. (66 P-S.
§1433). Federal questions raised in any of the state court
proceedings would be reserved for final review, by certio-
rari, to the Supreme Court of the United States, Public
Serv. Comm. of Utah v. Wycoff, supra.

The foregoing are the state procedures which
were available to Allegheny at the time the PUC’s orders

+ SO BOR MO ER PIE sn

11. Since the state courts have not as yet determined the ex-
tent of PUC authority in this field, this decision does not conflict
with City of Chicago v. Atchison, T. & S. F. Ry. Co., 357 U.S. 77, 78
S.Ct. 1063, 2 L.Ed. 2d 1174 (1958).

12. Jurisdiction is now vested in the Commonwealth Court of
Pennsylvania by “The Commonwealth Court Act”, 17 P.S. $211.1
et seq.; 17 P.S. §211.14(a) (55).

PC

OPO MCN WT OR ERC NEMEC Ae

28 1,

12a

were entered. The time for appeal to the state courts has
long since passed. It appears that Allegheny may have de.
liberately permitted the appeal time to pass in order to
obtain a ruling from the federal court as to the extent of the
state administrative agency's authority over it. If

exercising its jurisdiction to consider the substantive issues
sought to be raised by the parties. Allegheny’s motion for
summary judgment will be denied. PUC’s motion for sum-
mary judgment, to the extent that it seeks dismissal of
these proceedings, will be granted.

13a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE Tuirp Circuit

No. 71-1057

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES INC., Appellant
v.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,
and its Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM and WILLIAM
F. O'HARA, JAMES McGIRR KELLY, DANIEL
HUYETT III and LOUIS J. SPARVERO, Members
of The Commission

(D.C. Civil Action No. 69-2148)

APPEAL From THE UNiTED States District Court
For THE EASTERN DistRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Argued January 4, 1972

Before Hastie and Rosenn, Circuit Judges
and McCune, District Judge

OPINION OF THE COURT
(Filed July 21, 1972)
Rosenn, Circuit Judge.

Allegheny Airlines, Inc. (Allegheny) brought suit in
the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania seeking a declaratory judgment holding
that certain of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commis-
sion’s (PUC) orders and rules, pertaining to air service

14a

between Pennsylvania cities, constituted an unlawful
intrusion upon an area occupied exclusively by federal
legislation. Allegheny also sought to perpetually enjoin
the PUC from further actions against it.! The district
court decided that the case presented a situation in which it
was compelled to abstain. It therefore dismissed the com-
plaint. Allegheny Airlines, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Pub. Util.
Comm’n., 319 F. Supp. 407 (E.D. Pa. 1970). From this
decision, Allegheny appeals.

I. BACKGROUND

Allegheny received from the PUC an intrastate freight
certificate in 1940, and a passenger certificate in 1949,
Until 1963, one of the services provided by Allegheny, and
for which it was and is certificated by the PUC, was non-
stop service between Williamsport and Harrisburg, a
distance of some 71 miles. ‘

The flight between Harrisburg and Williamsport was
part of a longer flight route designated by the PUC “intra-
state route No. 5.” It appears that intrastate route No. 5
was a segment of a still larger route, certified by the Civil
Aeronautics Board (CAB), which is interstate in nature.
That is to say, planes coming from outside of Pennsylvania
fly through the state, landing along the route designated
intrastate route No. 5.

In 1963, Allegheny unilaterally discontinued the
segment of intrastate route No. 5 which directly connected
Williamsport and Harrisburg. Allegheny did not entirely
eliminate either Harrisburg or Williamsport from all
Allegheny plane service. It was still possible to travel by air
on Allegheny airplanes between Williamsport and Harris-
burg, although such a journey might require flying to
numerous distant points, on a variety of planes, before
eventually reaching the desired destination.

‘1. The Air Transport Association, National Association of
Regulatory Utility Commissioners, and Civil Aeronautics Board
have joined this case as Amicus Curiae.

15a

After Allegheny discontinued the Williamsport-
Harrisburg segment of route No. 5, the PUC and Allegheny
entered into negotiations. In the meantime, Allegheny
discontinued furnishing single plane direct service between
at least six other pairs of points within Pennsylvania. All
these discontinuances were on intrastate routes authorized
and certificated by the PUC. Subsequently, the negotiations
between the airline and the PUC broke down.

The PUC then took official agency action to compel
Allegheny—not to furnish the discontinued plane service—
but to apply to the PUC, in the manner prescribed by the
applicable Pennsylvania law and the regulations of the
PUC, whenever it wished to discontinue single plane direct
service between intra-Pennsylvania points on routes
authorized by the PUC. In the alternative, the PUC sought
restoration of the deleted air service.

On June 10, 1968, the PUC issued a “Rule to Show
Cause,” which noted that Allegheny had abandoned the
air service between Harrisburg and Williamsport without
seeking approval of the Commission. The rule directed
Allegheny to show cause why its certificate of public
convenience should not be canceled, and other appro-
priate penalties imposed, for its discontinuance of service.

Allegheny answered this rule by arguing that under
federal law and the CAB regulations and practice, it was
permitted to make such changes at will. Further, it con-
tended that “both as a practical matter and a matter of
law, its Pennsylvania certificate of public convenience
should be interpreted in a manner which is consistent
with its federal certificate.” It is clear that the thrust of the
airline's answer was that federal law and practice had
preempted the state regulation asserted by the PUC. A
hearing on the Commission's rule was held on September
19, 1968. At this hearing, Allegheny offered no testimony
or other evidence concerning the need to discontinue the
service in question. Again, it was clear that the thrust of the
airline’s position was that federal law had preempted the

‘asserted state action.

— —_—_e eC RN RRRITE AY etry rt oor gy

=
;
5
Pg
i
z
©
g

——

16a

On June 23, 1969, the PUC entered an order making
absolute its rule of June 10, 1968, and directed Allegheny
to pay a penalty of $5,000 for its failure to seek approval of
its abandonment of service between Harrisburg and
Williamsport. The PUC also directed Allegheny to rein-
stitute the service within thirty days or, in lieu thereof,
file with the PUC nunc pro tunc an appropriate petition
or application seeking approval for the abandonment of
service.

The June 23rd order was accompanied by an ex.
tensive written opinion, which defined the PUC’s concerns,
and which laid clear the legal foundation for their
decision. The Pennsylvania authority for controlling the
deletion of direct air service between Harrisburg and
Williamsport was 66 P.S. §1122:

Upon the application of any public utility and the
approval of such application by the commission,
evidenced by its certificate of public convenience
first had and obtained, and upon compliance with
existing laws, and not otherwise, it shall be lawful:

* * e

(b) For any public utility to abandon or surrender,
in whole or in part, any service. . . .

And 66 PS. §1171:

—Every public utility shall furnish and maintain
adequate . . . reasonable service. . . . Such service
also shall be reasonably continuous and without un-
reasonable interruptions or delay.

(emphasis supplied.)

The PUC also called attention to its own rule 8(b):

(b) Abandonment of Service—Unless upon ter-
mination of certificate or order of the Commission,
no common carrier shall abandon, in whole or in
part, any operation without first making application
to the Commission for permission to do so. . . .
(emphasis supplied. )

17a

The PUC felt that Allegheny’s discontinuance of service
between Williamsport and Harrisburg clearly came within
these laws and regulations because:

. even if facts had been established to indicate
that air service between Harrisburg and Williamsport
is available via Pittsburgh and or Scranton, this
would not establish substantial compliance with
respondent’s obligation. To reach a point 71 miles
distant by use of several planes, several transfers
and the traveling of several hundred miles during a
period of several hours is not adequate air service
by any standard.

(emphasis supplied.)

However, the PUC made clear that it was making no
finding as to whether or not Allegheny, after a full and
fair hearing, at which evidence was presented, should
or should not be able to discontinue the service:

. we are not attempting to determine whether or
not respondent upon proper application . . . should
be allowed to abandon the segment. . . . We do not
expressly or impliedly, suggest that we may...
require respondent to render unnecessary, unpa-
tronized, unprofitable service. . . .

(emphasis in text.)

Two primary considerations were defined as the
principal motivations for the agency’s action. First, the
agency advanced what was essentially an equitable argu-
ment: Allegheny itself had approached the Commission,
requested certification to fly the delineated intrastate
route. In receiving this state benefit, it had accepted a
corresponding duty to abide by the state regulations. The
Commission thus sought to distinguish this case from one
in which an airline had never sought state certification
and the state agency was itself trying to bring the airline
under its regulation:

:
|
;
f
*
;

ey

a

18a

While . . . prior to its Pennsylvania certifications
for its intrastate services, [Allegheny] was under
no obligation to render intrastate service, once it
sought, and was granted, and accepted state certifi.
cation to render intrastate service between specific
points within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, it
accepted the corresponding obligation to do so
under the laws of this state and the Rules and Regu-
lations of this Commission.

(emphasis supplied.)

The second consideration, interrelated with the
first, was the practical effect Allegheny’s refusal to come
before the Commission, with evidence, might have on the
regulatory structure of the PUC. The Commission was
obviously concerned because Allegheny, since it first
sought state certification in 1940, has become entwined
within the state framework for regulating the state’s
various transportation facilities. As the PUC noted:

The thrust of these proceedings is that existing
certificated service has been found, after applica-
tion by the carrier and after opportunity to affected
parties to be heard, to be necessary to the public
interest.

(emphasis supplied.)

The initial state proceeding—that which found that the
service which Allegheny sought to provide was in the
public interest—might have affected numerous other
facets of the state transportation system, aside from its
obvious potential effect upon the plans and patterns of
service of other airlines. Certification of public trans-
portation, under the terms of the state act, can only be
had if in the public interest. The fact that Allegheny had
sought and been granted the route between Harrisburg
and Williamsport might have deterred other service be-
tween these cities from developing. For example, bus
service might have been decreased as a result of the air
service which Allegheny offered to, and did, supply.

19a

Moreover, a decision to abandon the air service might
mean that the state would need to develop alternative
services between these two cities. In any event, the con-
cern of the PUC was that these problems could only be
resolved, highlighted and defined through the normal
regulatory structure, which provided for public hearings
and the presentation of evidence concerning the specific
service in question. Unilateral action on the part of
public utilities—in total disregard of any procedural
requirements—could produce confusion and disruption
throughout the state.

Allegheny did not comply with the order of the PUC,
nor challenge it before any state court. The airline, how-
ever, instituted suit in the district court for the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania requesting a declaratory judgment
against the PUC and a permanent injunction restraining
the PUC from any further action. The district court, on
cross motions for summary judgment dismissed the suit.
The district court did not reach the merits, but predicated
its decision on the abstention doctrine.

II. JURISDICTION

Allegheny pleaded jurisdiction both in terms of
diversity, and 28 U.S.C. §1331(a), which gives jurisdic-
tion over matters arising under the “Constitution, laws, or
treaties of the United States.” The district court did not
believe that jurisdiction could properly be based on
§1331 because:

[iJn suits in the federal courts arising out of
proceedings pending or threatened in state tri-
bunals, the federal court’s jurisdiction may not be
predicated upon federal question defenses to the
state proceedings....It is only if the state
complaint raises federal questions that the federal
court’s jurisdiction may be based on federal question
grounds.

(emphasis in text; citations omitted) Allegheny
Airlines Inc. v. PUC, supra., at 411.

FESS Oe

iii Hal Hil lit if

I aes
i] aif Ale iF

2
se

.- = Fes

public :
(citations omitted; emphasis
Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 317-8 (1943).

“eo rei” ee“ eaereweens & FS

gadis

ays
ht

hl

system as
in federal
the presence
entered judgment
enjoining the Com.
or any penalty provisions
On appeal the Supreme Court reversed. The crux of

its holding was that:

judge court

|

seeking
diversity
question. A
holding the Commission order void and
mission from enforcing its order

of the applicable law.

i
|

i

+H

ety Ae ey

.

{3

nae

H

|S

E
ahi

S2Es022¢

ate

LE
|

é

than

comity must gov-
equitable jurisdiction by the

the usual rule of
case

State policies

ey op

:

District Court in this

(emphasis supplied

Citations omitted) Id., at 349-50.

to
law
take

however, that in our view, the PUC’s authority to
measures described above seems clear 66 PS $1122.

ig fi7Ff i
| it ieetanll it
pletely i
H ri p
ie :
HIBHT ‘ant
tt SHE iF elite

question for which there is no one

into
—
+7
v. Oil
294 US.
aaiyies, tien canted damaattantaen ans eatened

a = Sam bean ene ER ne

rent Appraisal, 49 Texas L. Rev. 247 (1971), Abstention and Certi-
fication in Diversity Suits, 73 Yale L_J. 85 (1964), Consequences of

Federal Abstention, 73 Har. L. Rev. (1960).

Allegheny has contended here that it was not required
re 5 Mee age pate emt peg ma

SS ee
sion for discontinuance of service mnt tem on

presents just such a threat: a serious possibility of disturb
ing the orderly state system of agency regulation of trans-

portation within Pennsylvania.

clearly defined rules, as has the traditional and more com-
dedly pooceduses and rules of state regulatory bodies. See,
eg., Alabama, supra, Burford, supra. The instant case

interstate air carrier. fp ane mae

é

r

*
ie |

24a

corresponding obligation to settle disputes as provided
under state law and the rules and regulations of the Com.
mission. Its primary position is that a certificated carrier

tempt on the part of the PUC to extend its

powers over it, made a written application to the PUC for
a certificate of public convenience as an intrastate carrier
to transport passengers between certain cities in

vania, including Harrisburg and Williamsport. The service
it offered to provide was found by that Commission, after
a hearing and an opportunity for affected parties to be
heard, to be necessary to the public interest. A certificate
of public convenience was granted and it is now held by
Allegheny. Under the rules of the Commission, all or part
of this service may be discontinued upon application by the
carrier to the PUC and that agency's approval. Addition-
ally, matters such as this which go to the jurisdiction of
the PUC may be tested in special proceedings before the
Pennsylvania Commonwealth court. 66 P.S. 1441. The
thrust of these Pennsylvania rules and laws is that, once
certified, a carrier must test these issues before service is
discontinued.

The issue, thus, is not, at this stage, whether the air-
line may or may not discontinue the service in question be-
cause federal legislation has preempted the field. The issue
is whether a state certificated public utility may arbitrarily
ignore the procedural rules of the Commission which re-
quire that issues, including jurisdictional issues, be raised
before discontinuance of service. We note that Allegheny
might have sought federal declaratory relief before discon-
tinuing the air service. In the alternative, of course,

5. This might, perhaps, have been action substantially equiva-
lent to bringing the preemption issue before the Commission or
before the Commonwealth Court under 66 P.S. 1441.

proves otherwise. Hostetter v. PUC, 49 A.2d 862 (Super.
Ct., Pa. 1946).

Secondly, Allegheny has presented no evidence which
suggests that it would have been harmed had it had to

THES eo Ty eae ey

TAS LONE AEE ST SENT ATE RR te

ee ra

26a
resort to the state agency forum, or Commonwealth courts,

appears that all the airline's requests have been granted‘
In any case, Allegheny may be able to raise its preemption
arguments, should the PUC proceed to state court to en.
force the order of June 23. Cf. Jones Motor Co. v.

vania Public Utility Comm’n., 149 A.2d 491 (Super. Ct. Pa.)
reversed on other grounds, 361 U.S. 11 (1959).

Thirdly, if local communities have come to rely upon
the services provided by Allegheny, such reliance would
be reasonable in light of the affirmative action of the air
line itself. Approximately thirty years ago, the airline
sought and was granted, rights to transport property on

ania routes; twenty years
ago, it sought, and was granted the right by the PUC to
transport persons as well as property between points in
Pennsylvania. From that date, until the action delineated
here, the airline has complied with the procedural require.
ments of Pennsylvania law. Thus, this case is significantly
different—and poses a greater danger of
federal state relations—than the case of an airline which
has never approached a state commission, and finds that
a state commission is attempting to regulate it for the first
time on the supposition that it is engaging in intrastate
operations. See e.g., Pub. Util. Comm'n. v. United Air Lines,
346 U.S. 402 (1953).

6. The stipulated statement of facts makes clear that Alleghe-
ny has worked within the framework of the PUC’s regulations for
many years. On many occasions when it wished to eliminate ser-
vice to a Pennsylvania city, it has sought the PUC’s prior approval.
To cite but one example, on May 22, 1968, it petitioned the PUC to
allow it to eliminate Hazleton as a point serviced by Allegheny air-
planes. It also appears from the various changes in Allegheny's
certificate of public convenience that it has approached the PUC
when it wanted to add a stop flight between points which were
being serviced by non-stop direct service. Thus, for example, it re-
quested, on September 12, 1960, to service Reading as an inter-
mediate point on its intrastate route No. 2 between Pittsburgh and

———

27a

Fourthly, the danger of creating federal-state friction

is intensified because of the peculiar nature of the relief re-
quested by the airline. At oral argument, the district court
pointed out that Allegheny was seeking the best of all pos-
sible worlds. It wished to retain its state rights and, at the
same time, to be relieved by federal injunction of its state
duties.? This is precisely what the airline desires. It asks
for a perpetual injunction which would enjoin the PUC
from “any action or proceeding for any violation of the
laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania based upon
action by Allegheny in changing its patterns of service.”
Yet, if this relief be granted, the PUC would be unable to ’
terminate the airline’s state certificates of public con- ;
venience. The airline, while not being subject to state
regulation, would maintain whatever benefits accrue to 7
holders of state public utility certificates. The case there- :
fore is different from that of an interstate carrier whose
routes contain several short intrastate segments, and who
wishes to surrender its state certificate and remove itself ;
totally from the state jurisdiction. |
Finally, we do not believe that there are significant
federal concerns which would override the other factors :
mentioned above. Even if it should be ultimately deter- ;
Philadelphia. Finally, it also appears from the changes in Alleghe- }
ny's certificate of public convenience that it has received PUC ap- i
E

proval to eliminate non-stop air service between Pennsylvania

cities. Thus, for example, in April of 1953, it sought approval to

eliminate the flight between Johnstown and Dubois, which had

been designated intrastate route No. 5. ;
7. The district court noted: é
. . . you [Allegheny] are at somewhat of a disadvantage in "
that you come before me, having sought and obtained certain A
local rights, having had those local authorities who granted f
you those rights determine that you are not complying, and in é
your having failed to either pay the fine or keep the rights be- :
cause you are dissatisfied with the interpretation, and instead
you are asking me to enjoin them from enforcing their inter-
pretation, of the rights they have granted you and yet at
the same time permit you to retain those rights.
(emphasis supplied).

28a

mined that the state does not have power to regulate the
actions which precipitated this suit, a temporary coex.
istence of federal-state regulation will not frustrate any
immediate goals or policies of the Federal Aviation Act.
At least a residual power to regulate air transportation lies
with the states. The scheme of federal control has not been
hampered, even though some areas exist over which the
states exercise sole or concurrent control.* See, eg,
Colorado Anti-Discrimination Comm'n. v. Continental Air
Lines, Inc., 372 U.S. 714 (1962); Pub. Util. Comm'n. ».
United Air Lines, 346 U.S. 402 (1953); Loma Portal Civic
Club v. American Airlines, Inc., 394 P.2d 548 (Sup. Ct.
Calif. 1964); People v. Western Air Lines, 268 P.2d 723
(Sup. Ct., Cal. 1954).

For the reasons outlined above, we conclude that the
district court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to
exercise its power to intervene.

The judgment will be affirmed.

8. All parties to this suit, including the amicus Civil Aeronau-
tics Board, agree that under current CAB regulations, Allegheny
may, Or may not, at its option, connect Harrisburg and Wiliiams-
port by non-stop flights. Additionally, the CAB has declined to take
a position with respect to the district court's jurisdiction or the
appropriateness of its exercise.

A True Copy:

Teste :

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit.

29a

United States Court of Appeals

For THE HIRD CircuIT

No. 71-1057

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES, INC., Appellant

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,
and its Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM and WILLIAM
F. O'HARA, JAMES McGIRR KELLY, DANIEL
HUYETT III and LOUIS J. SPARVERO, Members
of The Commission

(D. C. Civil Action No. 69-2148)

On AppeEAL From THE Unitep States District Court
For THE EasTerRN District OF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: Hastie and Rosenn, Circuit Judges,
and McCune, District Judge

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania and was argued by counsel.

bea

Toren

SI INE LOA EGS PANN

“Yee faye

30a

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said
District Court, filed November 10, 1979, be, and the same
is hereby affirmed, with costs taxed against the appellant.

ATTEST:

Chief Deputy Clerk
July 21, 1972

Certified as a true copy and issued
in lieu of a formal mandate on
September 21, 1972.

Test: FRANCES R. MATYSIK
Deputy Clerk, United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit

3la

United States Court of Appeals
For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 71-1057

ALLEGHENY AIRLINES, INC.,
Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION, and
its Chairman, GEORGE I. BLOOM and WILLIAM
F. O'HARA, JAMES McGIRR KELLY, DANIEL
HUYETT III and LOUIS J. SPARVERO, Members of
The Commission

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: Seitz, Chief Judge, Hastie, VAN DuseN, ALDISERT,

Gippons, ROSENN, Rusen and Hunter, Circuit Judges
and McCune, District Judge

The petition for rehearing filed by
Allegheny Airlines, Inc.

in the above entitled case having been submitted to the
judges who participated in the decision of this court and
to all the other available circuit judges of the circuit in
regular active service, and no judge who concurred in the
decision having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the
circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service not
having voted for rehearing by the court in banc, the peti-
tion for rehearing is denied. Judge Van Dusen concurs in

32a

this order because he concurs in the result reached by the
opinion of July 21, 1972 as stated in these words: ”. . . we
conclude that the district court did not abuse its discretion
in refusing to exercise its power to intervene.” (p. 16, slip
opinion)

By the Court,
Dated: September 13, 1972 Circuit Judge

Judge Gibbons dissents from the denial of the petition
for rehearing, on the ground that this is an inappropriate
case for abstention.

33a

FEDERAL AVIATION ACT oF 1958:

§1302. Consideration of matters in public interest by
Board

In the exercise and performance of its powers and
duties under this chapter, the Board shall consider the
following, among other things, as being in the public
interest, and in accordance with the public convenience
and necessity:

(a) The encouragement and development of an
air-transportation system properly adapted to the
present and future needs of the foreign and domestic
commerce of the United States, of the Postal Service,
and of the national defense;

(b) The regulation of air transportation in such
manner as to recognize and preserve the inherent
advantages of, assure the highest degree of safety in,
and foster sound economic conditions in, such trans-
portation, and to improve the relations between, and
coordinate transportation by, air carriers;

(c) The promotion of adequate, economical, and
efficient service by air carriers at reasonable charges,
without unjust discriminations, undue preferences or
advantages, or unfair or destructive competitive
practices;

(d) Competition to the extent necessary to as-
sure the sound development of an air-transportation
system properly adapted to the needs of the foreign
and domestic commerce of the United States, of the
Postal Service, and of the national defense;

(e) The promotion of safety in air commerce;
and

(f) The promotion, encouragement and develop-
ment of civil aeronautics. Pub.L. 85-726, Title I, §102,
Aug. 23, 1958, 72 Stat. 740.

SS ROTTER NS cheep ee es NRE LAN NTRS TIRE IEEE II IE IT SOE IGE BE SSE TERE EE A TR

Public Utility Law:
$1102. Definitions

The following words, terms and phrases shall have the
meanings ascribed to them in this section, unless the con.
text clearly indicates otherwise.

(5) ‘Common Carrier” means any and all persons or
corporations holding out, offering, or u directly
or indirectly, service for compensation to the public for the
transportation of passengers or property, or both, or any
class of passengers or property, between points within this
Commonwealth by, through, over, above, or under land,
water, or air, and shall include forwarders, but shall not
include contract carriers by motor vehicles, or brokers, or
any bona fide cooperative association transporting property
exclusively for the members of such association on a
nonprofit basis.

(17) Public Utility” means persons or
now or hereafter owning or operating in this Common-
wealth equipment, or facilities for:

(c) Transportaing passengers or property as a com-
mon Carrier;

§1122. Enumeration of acts requiring certificate

Upon the application of any public utility and the
approval of such application by the commission, evidenced
by its certificate of public convenience first had and ob
tained, and upon compliance with existing laws, and not
otherwise, it shall be lawful:

(a) For any public utility to begin to offer, render,
furnish or supply within this Commonwealth service of a
different nature or to a different territory than that av-
thorized by—

_—

35a

(1) A certificate of public convenience heretofore or
hereafter granted under this act or under The Public
Service Company Law, July 26, 1913 (P.L. 1374), or

(2) A registration certificate granted by the commis-
sion under section 1401 of this act, or

(3) An unregistered right, power or privilege pre-
served by section 1401 of this act.

(b) For any public utility to abandon or surrender, in
whole or in part, any service: Provided, That the provisions
of this paragraph shall not apply to discontinuance of ser-
vice to a patron for nonpayment of a bill, or upon request
of a patron.

(c) As a condition of its approval of any transaction
covered by this section and involving those railroad carriers

OO RO Lr yt OP ey

1
[rt
+t

clude in its order of approval the terms and conditions it
deems fair and equitable for the protection of the employes.

(d) The terms and conditions which the commission |
prescribes shall provide that, during the period of four ;
years from the effective date of the order, the employes of ;

—

prior to the effective date of the order. Notwithstanding any
other provision of this section, the commission may accept
as fair and equitable an agreement pertaining to the pro-
tection of the interests of the employes entered into by the
railroad carrier and the duly authorized representatives of
the employes.

(e) For any public utility, except a common carrier
by railroad subject to the Interstate Commerce Act, to

:
— _—e ETE TY IS NT ENN OE

or Proper-
ty of such public utility; or (4) if the property to be trans.
ferred by such public utility is obsolete, worn out or other-
wise unserviceable.

But exceptions (1), (2), (3), and (4) shall not be appii-
cable, and approval of the commission evidenced by a cer-
tificate of public convenience shall be required, if any such
acquisition or transfer of property involves a transfer of

(f) For any public utility to acquire five per centum
or more of the voting capital stock of any corporation.

(g) For any municipal corporation to acquire, con-
struct, or begin to operate, any plant, equipment, or other
facilities for the rendering or furnishing to the public of
any public utility service beyond its corporate limits.

As amended 1963, Aug. 24, P.L. 1225, §2; 1971, July 14,
P.L. — , No. 44, §1.

$1183. Proper service and facilities established on
complaint

Whenever the commission, after reasonable notice
and hearing, upon its own motion or upon complaint, finds
that the service or facilities of any public utility are unrea-

a

observed, furnished, enforced, or em-

;

order, the
or facilities to be

it

CcueRBAéA BReEABwBBBRPeeeBwede tees 6B é-sBef & BRS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1839%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
