# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Becker v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1583%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 1109

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States
Octosrr Tzrm, 1972

2-664

DAVID CALVIN BECKER,

Petitioner,
vB.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES A. BELLOWS,
Ten South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Llinois 60603
Attorney for Petitioner
JASON E. BELLOWS

RONALD N. HEFTMAN
on the Brief

UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

Opinions Below
Jurisdiction
Questions Presented for Review
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved
Statement of the Case
Evidence at Trial

The Motion for a New Trial Based Upon Newly
Discovered Evidence

The Government’s Knowing Use of False Testi-
mony on Appeal ,
Reasons for Granting the Writ
Conclusion

Appendix A (Opinion of the Court Below)
Appendix B (Opinion of the Trial Court)

Appendix C (Judgment of the Court Below)

Appendix D (Order Denying Petition for Re-
hearing)
Appendix E (Title 18, United States Code, Section
659)

ii

CITATIONS
Cases
PAGE
Jones v. Kentucky, 97 F.2d 335 (6th Cir. 1938) ............ 14

Larrison v. United States, 24 F.2d 82 (7th Cir. 1928) 13, 14
Mesarosh.v. United States, 351 U.S. 1 (1956) ........11, 13
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 736 (1959) 15
Townsend v. Burke, 334 U.S. 736 (1948) 15
United States v. Higgins, 412 F.2d 789 (7th Cir. 1969) 13
United States v. Rutkin, 206 F.2d 647 (3d Cir. 1953) .. 13

United States v. Tucker, —— U.S. ——, 92 S.Ct. 589
(1972) 15

United States v. Young, 426 F.2d 93 (6th Cir. 1970) 13

Other Authority
Moore, Federal Practice (2d ed. 1970) 12

’

Z

In the
Supreme Comt of the United States

Ocroper Term, 1972

No.
DAVID CALVIN BECKER,
Petitioner,
vs.
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

Petition For Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals For the Seventh Circuit

Petitioner, David Galvin Becker, prays that a writ of
certiorari be issued to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, entered
in this cause on July 13, 1972.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is as yet unre-
ported. It is reprinted as Appendix A, infra. The opinion
of the district court, denying the Petitioner’s motion for
a new trial based upon newly discovered evidence, is unre-
ported. It is reprinted as Appendix B, infra.

2

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals, (Appendix C,
infra.) was entered on July 13, 1972. A timely Petition
for Rehearing was filed, but was denied on October 4, 1972,
(Appendix D, infra.) The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

Questions Presented for Review

1. Whether a federal criminal conviction may stand,
where on a motion for a new trial based upon newly dis-
covered evidence, the defendant proved that a government
‘witness testified falsely as to a matter crucial to his
defense?

2, Whether a sentence may stand, where the severity of
that sentence was influenced by false testimony that the
~ defendant had fabricated evidence at his trial?

3. Whether the government’s knowing assertion of
false testimony on appeal violates due process of law?

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States provides, in pertinent part:
“‘No person shall * * * be deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law * * *,”?

Title 18, United States Code, Section 659 is reprinted
as Appendix E, infra.

Statement of the case

Petitioner David Galvin Becker, the President of World
‘Wide Warehouses, Inc., was indicted by a Grand Jury of
the United States District Court for the Northern District
of Illinois, and charged with a single violation of Title 18,

3

United States Code, Section 659. Specifically, the indictment
charged Becker with the knowing and willful possession
of 142 television sets, which had been stolen from an in-
terstate shipment. Becker was tried before the Honor-
able Bernard Decker, and a jury. He was found guilty,
and sentenced to a term of five years in the custody of
the Attorney General of the United States. Subsequently
he filed a motion for a new trial based upon the newly dis-
covered evidence that a material prosecution witness had
testified falsely at his trial. The motion was denied, and
an appeal from that ruling was consolidated with Peti-
tioner’s appeal of his conviction.

Evidence at Trial

Prior to trial, a stipulation was entered into between
the prosecution and the Petitioner, which left for trial
the sole issue of whether Petitioner, the president of a
warehousing firm, maintained possession of the sets in his
warehouse knowing that they had been stolen.

To this end the government introduced evidence of
the retail value of the sets, and testimony that Becker
sold a small number of sets for cash at well below the mar-
ket value. The government also attempted to show that
documents prepared in connection with the receipt of
the television sets were irregular.

Pursuant to a subpoena duces tecum Muriel Osten, an
employee of World Wide Warehouse, produced certain
documents relating to the receipt of the television sets.
Among them was a non-negotiable warehouse receipt is-
sued to Standard Distributing Company for the tele-
vision sets, dated September 12, 1969 and subsequently
designated Government’s Exhibit 15. Mrs. Osten testi-
fied that she prepared the receipt on or about September

4

12, 1969. (Tr. 199-206) She subsequently stated that she
could not recall the exact date of preparation, but that she
prepared the receipt as soon as possible after the sets were
received, (Tr. 381-2)

After Muriel Osten had testified that she prepared Gov-
ernment’s Exhibit 15 on or about September 12, 1969,
the government called one Robert Burns, the president of
the firm which printed warehouse receipts for Petitioner.
He testified that Petitioner had ordered two printings of
warehouse receipts from his firm, one on September 19,
1968, and another in October, 1969. He identified a
warehouse receipt designated Government’s Exhibit 45 as
a sample of the earlier printing of receipts taken from
his own files He was not shown a sample receipt from
the later printing.

Burns stated that by comparing Government’s Exhibit
15, the receipt for the television sets dated September 12,
1969, with Government’s Exhibit 45, the sample receipt
from the September, 1968 order of forms, he could tell that
Government’s Exhibit 15 had not come from that first order
of forms. Burns stated that Government’s Exhibit 15
had come from the second order of forms, printed in Oc-
tober, 1969, and was therefore not in existence on the date
it was alleged to have been prepared by Mrs. Osten.

The trial judge himself was later to term the origin of
Government’s Exhibit 15 a ‘‘crucial’’ and ‘‘integral’’ as-
pect of the defendant’s case. (Memorandum opinion, App.
12)

During the conference on instructions the trial judge
stated, in reference to Burns’ testimony as to the origin
of Government’s Exhibit 15, ‘‘* * * I can say that it pre-
sents some very serious questions for me; it will present
some serious questions for me relating to the witness, and,
possibly, relating to someone else.’’ (Tr. 390)

After the return of the verdict the trial judge ordered
an investigation of Petitioner’s attorneys, Martin Ashman
and Bernard Brody. He stated, ‘‘I am going to direct
the United States Attorney in this case to make a com-
plete investigation dealing not only with the defendant,
but also with the defendant’s attorneys to determine the
circumstances under which Exhibits 11 through 17 were
prepared * * *’’, (Tr. 477)

Immediately prior to sentencing, the Assistant United
States Attorney, speaking in aggravation, made the follow-
ing statement to the trial judge:

‘“‘T might also add * * * certain documents were pro-
duced that were ultimately proven to be absolutely
phony documents used to further confuse the situation
and cover up, that really shows the intent of this par-
ticular man to do this and on the motion to suppress,

while it is not relevant to the trial, or in the trial, he
said that these documents were made in the regular
and ordinary course of his business. Again, this was
totally false.’* (Tr. 482)

The Motion for A New Trial Based Upon Newly
Discovered Evidence.

In September, 1971, while an appeal from his conviction
was pending before the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit, the defendant filed in the district
court a motion for a new trial based upon newly discovered

? Although the trial judge ordered an investigation of all the
documents prepared in connection with Petitioner’s receipt of
the stolen television sets, and although the prosecutor argued
that “certain documents” were proven to be “ phoney”, the only
evidence of fabrication was the false testimony of Burns con-
cerning a single document, Government’s Exhibit 15.

6

evidence, pursuant to Rule 33 of the Federal Rules of
Criminal Procedure. The motion, supported by sworn afi-
davits, showed that Burns had testified falsely that Gov-
ernment’s Exhibit 15, the warehouse receipt issued for the
television sets and dated September 12, 1969, had come
from an order of forms which did not come into existence
until October, 1969.

Attached to the motion were samples of the October,
1969 printing of warehouse receipts by Burns’ firm. These
receipts, no sample of which was produced at the trial,
contained a three line heading. The receipts from the
first order of printing of September, 1968, as evidenced by
Government’s Exhibit 45, contained a four line heading.
Government’s Exhibit 15, the questioned warehouse re-
ceipt dated September 12, 1969, also had a four line head-
ing. Thus, the defendant showed by irrefutable physical
evidence that Government’s Exhibit 15 could not have
come from the second printing of warehouse receipts as
Burns had testified.

Petitioner also proved that Government’s Exhibit 15
had in fact come from the first printing of receipts on
September 19, 1968. The affidavit of Donald Doud, an
expert examiner of questioned documents, was filed in
support of the motion and stated,

“*Through careful examination of the evidence, in-
cluding microscopic inspection and measurement of
the printed characters on questioned and known docu-
ments, affiant was able to reach a positive opinion re-
garding the crash printing on Government Exhibit 15,
as follows:

A. It is affiant’s opinion that the crash printing on
Government Exhibit 15, the questioned warehouse
receipt of 9/12/69, was prepared by the same printing
plate used for those exemplar documents described un-

7

der the caption ‘‘Format 1’’.? Included among these
documents are dated transactions of the World Wide
Warehouse Company purportedly covering a period
from 8/1/69 to 10/27/69. In short, insofar as the
printing is concerned, this examination failed to dis-
close any anachronisms between Government Exhibit
15 and the exemplar specimens covering the same gen-
eral span of time.

B. The crash printing design in the documents de-
scribed under the caption ‘‘Format 2’" is patently
different from that shown on Government Exhibit 15,
being composed of only three lines of printing rather
than four and manifesting other differences indicative
of the use of a different printing plate. Included in
this group of documents are purported transactions
of World Wide Warehouse dated between 12/24/69 and
9 /17, fi 9

The government presented no evidence rebutting Doud’s
conclusion that Government’s Exhibit 15 came from the
first printing of warehouse receipts. However the govern-
ment theorized that the receipt could have come from a
third printing, despite Burns’ testimony that his firm
printed only two orders of receipts for Petitioner, and his
further testimony that his firm printed Government's Ex-
hibit 15.

? The “Format 1” documents which Doud compared with Govern-
ment’s Exhibit 15 included Government's Exhibit 45, the ware-
house receipt which Burns identified as coming from the first order
of printing, as well as several other receipts from that printing
dated during a period from August 1, 1969 to October 27, 1969.

*The “Format 2” documents included warehouse receipts dated
during a period from December 4, 1969 to November 17, 1970, and
originating from the second printing ordered by World Wide Ware-
house on October 28, 1969.

The Government's Knowing Use of False
Testimony On Appeal

As a result of the trial court’s direction to the Assistant
United States Attorney to investigate the defendant, his
attorneys Martin Ashman and Bernard Brody, and
the exhibits designated Government’s Exhibits 11
through 17, (Tr. 477) an indictment was returned
on September 24, 1970 charging Muriel Osten with perjury.
The first count charged that at Becker’s trial she testi-
fied that she had prepared Government’s Exhibit 15 on
or about September 12, 1969, when in reality Government's
Exhibit 15 was not in existence until October, 1969.

On October 27, 1970, subsequent to the return of that
indictment, and prior to the filing of Petitioner’s motion
for a new trial based upon newly discovered evidence,
attorneys for Muriel Osten had a conference with the As-
sistant United States Attorney who prosecuted Becker,
and who was also responsible for the prosecution of Muriel
Osten. (Becker Aff. 9)* Also present were Burns, the
witness who had testified at Becker’s trial that Government
Exhibit 15 was fabricated, and an F.B.1. agent. The de-
fense attorneys showed Burns and Sprague a sample of
the second printing of warehouse receipts ordered by
World Wide Warehouse in October, 1969, which contained
a four line heading, and a copy of Government’s Exhibit
15 with its three line heading. Burns then stated that he
could have made a ‘‘ghastly’’ mistake when he testified
that Government’s Exhibit 15 had come from the second
printing of receipts. (Becker Aff., p. 9-10)

*“Becker Aff.” refers to the affidavit of Petitioner Becker sub-
mitted in support of his motion for a new trial, which was certified
as a supplement to the record on appeal.

9
As a result of this conference, a superseding indict-

hibit 15 was false because the exhibit was not in existence at
the time it was alleged to have been prepared. During the
course of the Muriel Osten trial, which commenced on

1969. Yet in a brief filed on August 23, 1971 seeking af-
firmance of Becker’s conviction, the government not only
failed to make mention of this fact, but argued that Gov-

Osten subsequently entered a plea of nolo contendere to the charges
of perjury, and was fined $1,000.00 on each of the three counts
charged in the superseding indictment.

10

ernment’s Exhibit 15 had come from the second printing

of receipts. The government’s brief stated:
“*We contend that Robert Burns was qualified as an
expert to compare and give his opinion as to the
printings of various warehouse forms in question, and
also to the fact that Government Exhibit 15 was not
from the first printing in 1968, but by the process of
elimination had to be from the second printing in Oc-
tober, 1969.’’ (Brief for Appellee, p. 35)

Only after Petitioner filed his motion for a new trial
did the government acknowledge the false testimony. In
a brief filed in support of the district court’s denial of
Petitioner’s motion for a new trial the government sub-

sequently said,

‘*We admit that the defendant has shown that Mr.
Burns was in error when he said that Government’s
Exhibit 15 was from a second printing in October,

1969, because a true copy of the October 1969 second
printing is a three line heading and not a four line
heading like Government’s Exhibit 15.” (Answer of
Appellee to Supplemental Brief, p. 4)

“*In this case, the small amount of false testimony was
inadvertent and unknown to the government at the
time of trial.” (Second Answer of Appellee to Supple-
mental Brief, p. 6)

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

L

Petitioner’s conviction is the product of false prosecution
testimony, and cannot be sustained.

This case presents a question of significance to the ad-
ministration of criminal justice: May a conviction stand
upon proof, submitted on a motion for a new trial based
upon newly discovered evidence, that a prosecution wit-
ness testified falsely as to an issue crucial to the defense?

Petitioner, the president of a warehousing firm, was
charged with the possession of goods which had been stolen
from an interstate shipment. His defense to the charge
was that he had received the goods in good faith, and in
the ordinary course of his business. The warehouse receipt
which he had issued for the goods was, in the words of the
trial court, ‘‘crucial’’ and ‘‘integral’’ to this defense. (Ap-
pendix B, infra, App. 12). A prosecution witness testified
falsely that this receipt was not in existence as of the date
it was alleged to have been prepared. In a motion for a
new trial based upon newly discovered evidence, Petitioner
demonstrated that this witness had testified falsely in
this respect.

Petitioner’s conviction was therefore tainted by false
testimony. This Court has previously indicated that such
a conviction may not stand. In Mesarosh v. United States,
352 U.S. 1 (1956), a government witness had testified
falsely as to a matter vital to the defense. The government
conceded that the witness had testified falsely in other pro-
ceedings, and moved to remand the case from the Supreme

Court for a hearing on the truthfulness of his testimony
against the defendant. This Court denied the motion, re-
versed the conviction, and remanded for a new trial. The
Court said:

“‘The dignity of the United States Government will
not permit the conviction of any person on tainted
be no other just result than to accord petitioners
new trial.’’ 352 U.S. 1 at 9.

“*This is a federal criminal case and this Court has
supervisory jurisdiction over the proceedings of the
Federal Courts. If it has any duty to perform in this
regard it has to see that the waters of justice are not
polluted. Pollution having taken place here, the con-
viction should be remedied at the earliest oppor-
tunity.’ 352 U.S. 1 at 14.

Other authorities have similarly recognized that a federal
criminal conviction tainted by false testimony is intolerable.
Thus Moore has said:

but it should have none where the court acts under
Rule 33 or in the exercise of its supervisory powers,
as in the Mesarosh case. It must be remembered that
the power conferred upon the court to grant a new
trial for newly discovered evidence is simply a means
to protect the integrity of the fact-finding process and
to insure a fair trial for the accused, and its exercise
is in no way predicated upon finding a violation of
constitutional dimension.’’ Moore, Federal Practice,
33.06 (2d ed. 1970)

PAGES MISSING

15

manufactured evidence, by ordering an investigation of
Petitioner’s attorneys, Martin Ashman and Bernard Brody.
The Judge said,

“I am going to direct the United States Attorney in
this case to make a complete investigation dealing not
only with the defendant but also with the defendant’s
attorneys to determine the circumstances under which
* * * Exhibits 11 through 17 were prepared, and I
wish to have you present that request to Mr. Foran
as a personal request from the Court to make a com-
plete and thorough investigation and I would like that
matter reported back home.’ (Tr. 477)

The effect of the false testimony on Petitioner’s sentence
is further illustrated by the statement of the Assistant
United States Attorney, made in aggravation immediately
prior to the imposition of sentence:

“IT might also add * * * certain documents were pro-
duced that were ultimately proven to be absolutely
phony documents used to further confuse the situation
and cover up, that really shows the intent of this par-
ticular man to do this and on the motion to suppress,
while it is not relevant to the trial, or in the trial, he
said that these documents were made in the regular
and ordinary course of his business. Again, this was
totally false.’’ (Tr. 482)

In Townsend v. Burke, 334 U.S. 736 (1948), the Court
held that where a sentence was imposed upon an inaccurate
presentence investigation report, the defendant had been
denied due process of law. In United States v. Tucker, 92
S.Ct. 589 (1972), the Court held that the possibility that a
court would have imposed a less stringent sentence, had it
been aware that two of three prior felony convictions of
the defendant were invalid, required a remand for re-
sentencing. We ask this Court to consider whether, con-

16

sonant with these prior decisions, a sentence may stand
where false testimony that the defendant had manufactured
evidenced influenced the severity of that sentence.

I.

The government’s knowing use of false testimony on ap-
peal denied Petitioner due process of law.

At trial, the government was unaware that Robert Burns
testified falsely that Government’s Exhibit 15 was from a
printing of warehouse receipts which was not in existence
when Petitioner received the television sets. While Peti-
tioner’s appeal from that conviction was pending however,
the government was advised that Burns had testified false-
ly, and shown proof that Government’s Exhibit 15 had not
come from the second printing of warehouse receipts as
he had testified. During the course of the perjury trial
of Muriel Osten, the government admitted that Burns was
mistaken in this regard. (Osten Tr. 25). Subsequent
to this admission, however, in a brief filed in the Court of
Appeals seeking affirmance of the Petitioner’s conviction,
the government stated:

‘*We contend that Robert Burns was qualified as an
expert to compare and give his opinion as to the
printings of various warehouse forms in question, and
also to the fact that Government Exhibit 15 was not
from the first printing in 1968, but by the process of
elimination had to be from the second printing in Oc-
tober, 1969.’ (Brief for Appellee, United States v.
Becker, p. 35)

After the Petitioner had filed his motion for a new trial
the government did admit, in briefs filed in opposition, that
Burns was wrong in testifying that Government’s Exhibit
15 had come from the October, 1969 printing of warehouse

17

forms. Yet prior to the filing of a brief asserting the cor-
rectness of that testimony, the government was shown,
and in fact did acknowledge, proof of its falsity. We sub-
mit that this conduct falls squarely within the rule of
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner respectfully sub-
mits that the petition for certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Cuaries A. BeLLows,
Attorney for Petitioner
Jason E. BetLows
Ronatp N. Herrman
On the Brief

App. 3
had been consigned to him by a Standard Distributing

_ Company, and that he had been given authority to sell the
_ TV sets with net proceeds to be sent to Standard.

There was ample testimony from which the jury could
infer that Becker had not previously stored new TV sets
in his warehouse; that he was not an authorized Sears
dealer; that he received and warehoused the stolen TV
sets on or about September 12, 1969; that he did not send
a copy of the warehouse receipt of the TV sets to Standard,
although it was customary to send copies to shippers; that
shortly after receiving the stolen TV sets he was selling
them at prices suspiciously below cost; and that he sold
the stolen TV sets COD-cash only, and gave no receipt to
the buyer although it was normal to do so.

Mrs. Osten, Becker’s secretary for eleven years, testified?
that the shipment of the new Sears TV sets from which
Becker made subsequent sales arrived at the warehouse on
or about September 12, 1969, and that the shipment was
from the Standard Distributing Company. She also testi-
fied that although she made out a warehouse receipt to
Standard dated September 12, 1969 (Exhibit 15), she sent
to Standard neither a receipt for the shipment nor the net
proceeds of the sales, although it was normal practice to
do so. Mrs. Osten said that the reason for this was that
she knew neither the name of the person who arranged for
the warehousing of the TV sets nor the address of Standard
to which she could send a receipt for the goods.

Mrs. Osten’s testimony generally was vague, confused
and confusing. The jury could well consider incredible
her testimony that she did not know where to send the pro-

* Mrs. Osten first testified as a witness for the government, and
later testified in defense of Becker.

App. 4

ceeds from or the receipts for the TV sets — especially
in view of the aggregate value of the shipment, approxi-
mating $40,000. And her testimony with respect to a
bill of lading dated September 16, 1969, covering sales from
the stolen shipment, is virtually incomprehensible. Clearly
she equivocated in her testimony that bore upon Becker's
scienter, especially with respect to the shipment from
Standard, and as to when she typed the warehouse receipt
for the stolen sets.

The government, to offset Mrs. Osten’s testimony that
she had typed a receipt for the TV sets dated September
12, 1969 (Exhibit 15), called as its witness Burns, a printer
of warehouse receipt forms and expert on the subject.
Burns testified that upon order from Becker he had twice
printed forms for World Wide Warehouse, Inc — once in
1968 and again in the fall of 1969. He also testified that
the receipt form (Exhibit 15) typed by Mrs. Osten and
dated September 12, 1969 could not have existed* on Sep
tember 12, 1969, since it was from the second printing
order, which had not been delivered to Becker’s warehonse
until October of 1969.

We think that the foregoing testimony was sufficient
prima facie for an inference that Standard was a fictional
company, that Becker did not receive the shipment of the
TV sets in the regular course of business, and that he
knew that the TV sets which he received and sold were
stolen.

Becker’s defense consisted of testimony of two cus-
tomers that in their dealing with World Wide Warehouse,

* Burns examined and compared Exhibit 15 (receipt dated Septem-
ber 12, 1969) with Exhibit 45 (receipt of the first printing order).
He testified that Exhibit 15 could not have been from the first
printing order since it failed to “align” completely with Exhibit 45.

— eal _— =

. aw

App. 5

the merchandise they stored would be sold, with their con-
sent, and that the net proceeds of the sales would be sent
to them. Mrs. Osten testified in defense also. Her testi-
mony was of the same vague and confusing character that
marked her testimony for the government on direct and
on cross-examination.*‘ The jury was justified in believing
beyond a reasonable doubt that Standard Distributing Com-
pany was fictional, was not in existence at the time Becker
received the sets, and that Mrs. Osten was equivocating
to protect Becker. The inference of Becker’s scienter
could reasonably follow. We conclude that there is no
merit in Becker’s contention that his guilty knowledge
was not proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

We see no merit in Becker’s contention that the testi-
mony of Pearlstein, the buyer of Sears TV sets from
Becker, was not connected to the stolen Sears shipment.

Pearlstein testified that the sets he purchased from Becker
on September 16 and 17 were new, and that he had never
seen a new Sears TV set, or a Sears TV carton, at Becker’s
before. Moreover, he testified that the TV sets which he
purchased were in the same type boxes as those shown in
the stipulation. Clearly his testimony made the connection.

Next Becker claims that witness Burns was not qualified
as an expert to testify that the incriminating warehouse
receipt (Exhibit 15), supposedly typed by Mrs. Osten on
September 12, 1969, had to be from the second printing

*The district court judge suspected the testimony of Mrs. Osten.
He characterized her as, inter alia, a “very equivocal witness with a
convenient memory.” At the trial he directed the district attorney to
the hearing of the new trial motion, Mrs. Osten was indicted for
perjury in her testimony at the trial. She was found guilty on three
counts at a bench trial after entering a plea of nolo contendere, and
fined $1,000.00 on each count.

App. 6

of warehouse forms which were only delivered to Becker’s
warehouse in October, 1969.

The claim is frivolous. Burns had been in the business
of printing warehouse forms for 24 years. His firm was
official printer for two leading warehousemen associations
in the country. His testimony showed that he was fully
qualified to identify the pertinent receipt as he did.

We have read the portions of the transcript relied upon
by Becker in his contention that the trial judge, by inter-
rogation of witnesses and comments to defense counsel,
prejudiced the trial. We cannot agree that any prejudice
to Becker was likely to result from the interrogation or
comments or both.

Finally, we see no basis for reversal of the conviction
because of any claimed errors in the conduct of the dis-
trict attorney, or in the instructions to the jury, as to
which there was no objection at the trial.

PART IL.

Becker based his motion for new trial on ‘‘newly dis-
covered evidence’’ and supported the motion with his own
affidavit as well as that of document expert Doud. Together
the affidavits effectually claimed 1) that the ‘‘fabrication”
of Exhibit 15 was a ‘‘crucial’’ issue at the trial; 2) that
Becker was surprised and unable to meet the Burns testi-
mony on that issue; 3) that after the trial Burns admitted
he might have been mistaken whether Exhibit 15 came
from the second printing of warehouse forms; that it was
Doud’s expert opinion that Exhibit 15 did not belong to
the second printing; 4) that Becker had shown diligence
in discovering the new evidence; and 5) that a new trial
would most likely result in an acquittal of Becker. After
a hearing, the judge who presided at the Becker trial
denied the new trial motion and filed a written opinion.

App. 7
The opinion recites the trial testimony of Burns that
Exhibit 15 was from a second printing of forms. The
opinion also notes the affidavit of Doud which tended to
corroborate the statement of Burns that he may have mis-
taken as to when the warehouse receipt dated September
12 was printed.

The judge applied this court’s decision in Larrison v.

surprised by, and unable to meet, at the trial, the Burns
testimony; and did not show that without that testimony
the jury ‘‘might’’ have reached a different conclusion. The
judge thought it unnecessary to consider the third require-
ment of Larrison, t.e., whether the testimony of Burns was
shown to be false.

It is conceded by Becker that the judge properly applied
Larrison. He argues that the judge erred in concluding
that Becker failed to meet two of the three Larrison re-
quirements.

We find no merit in Becker’s contention. Fis affidavit,
proffered to show the element of surprise and inability
to meet the Burns testimony, did not compel the district
judge to decide either that Becker was surprised or un-
able to meet the testimony of Burns at the trial. The
testimony of Mrs. Osten was material at the trial since
she was the only witness who gave testimony which could
have precluded a finding of scienter in Becker’s posses-
sion of the stolen TV sets. Her testimony that the TV

* See also United States v. Higgins, 412 F.2d 789, 790 (7th Cir.
1969).

App. 8

sets were received in the ordinary course of business was
critical for Becker. The Burns testimony effectually over.
came Mrs. Osten’s testimony. Becker’s attorney cross-
examined Burns, but did not touch upon Burns’ testimony
with respect to identifying Exhibit 15. Despite argument
in Becker’s supplemental brief to the contrary, the record
shows that Becker’s attorney did not ask for a continuance
for the purpose of meeting the testimony of Burns.

It is true that before cross-examining Burns the defense
attorney stated that he needed ‘‘some time to study some-
thing here’”’ and that he could not cross-examine without
time to ‘‘study this.’’ The court said the attorney could
‘‘look at them right now.’’ The attorney said ‘‘ All right,”
and asked for the ‘‘exhibits.’’ He then proceeded to cross-
examine.

At the end of the testimony, the day before the court
instructed the jury, the court inquired of Becker’s attorney
whether he had any defense witnesses other than the three
who testified. The atterney made no mention of any witness
to controvert the testimony of Burns. The judge at the
new trial hearing could well have decided that the ‘*newly
discovered’? evidence did not show diligence because Becker
did not seek time to find an expert like Doud to give an
opinion contrary to Burns — as Doud does in his affidavit.

Becker argues that it is ‘‘incomprehensible’? how any-
one could be anything but surprised at the Burns “false”
testimony. This argument implies knowledge of falsity at
the trial and is additional support for the judge’s view
that no showing is made of diligence in challenging effec-
tively that ‘‘false’’ testimony.

The judge determined that another jury would come to
the same conclusion at a second trial ‘‘regardless’’ of the

* We note also that Becker waited more than 15 months after the
trial before filing his motion of “newly discovered” evidence.

App. 9

truth or falsity of the Burns testimony. The record sup-
ports the finding of the judge that the evidence, putting
aside Mrs. Osten’s testimony, is ‘*overwhelming’’ and that
at the second trial Becker would be “‘deprived’’ of her
testimony. We take ‘‘deprived”’ to mean that it was quite
unlikely, in view of her conviction of perjury with respect
to her testimony at the Becker trial, that she would be
ealled, since, in the circumstances, her testimony would be
of little effect in aid of Becker. Furthermore, Doud’s
affidavit does not ‘‘show[s] conclusively’’ that Exhibit 15
came from the first printing of warehouse receipt forms
in 1968. His affidavit merely expresses his opinion, and
Burns admittedly adheres to his contrary opinion. And the
transcript of evidence of the Osten perjury proceedings
shows the availability of government testimony to corrobo-
rate the Burns’ opinion.

Finally, we see no merit in Becker’s claim that his right
to due process was violated by the government’s knowing
use of false testimony at the trial. We shall assume, but
not decide, that the Burns’ testimony was mistaken. The
claim nevertheless has no merit. The record is devoid of
anything to show that the government had knowledge,
before calling Burns to testify, that he would make the
mistake he made in his testimony at the trial.

For the reasons given, we conclude that the district court
judge did not abuse his discretion in denying Becker’s
motion for a new trial.

The judgment of conviction is AFFIRMED.
A true Copy:
Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

App. 10
APPENDIX B
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

Untrep Srares or America,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
-Va.-
Davip Gatvis Becxzr,
Defendant-A ppellant.

No. 70- CR -46

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This is a motion for a new trial based upon newly
discovered evidence made by David Becker pursuant to
Rule 33 F.R.Crim.P. It is based upon the following facts.

Becker was convicted of knowingly possessing goods
which were stolen from interstate commerce in violation
of 18 U.S.C. §659. At the jury trial on this cause, the
defendant did not dispute the fact that the television sets
which were stored in his warehouse were stolen. Rather,
his plea of not guilty was designed ta compel the govern-
ment to sustain its burden of proof with regard to the
issue of whether the defendant knew that the goods were
stolen.

The government sought to carry mis burden by pre
senting two lines of proof. The first consisted of evidence
that the defendant had sold two of the stolen television sets
to one Howard Pearlstein. This transaction was a cash
sale at a price well below the current market value of the
sets. The other line of proof was designed to refute the

‘App. 11

defendant’s story that the sets in question were received
by him in the normal course of his business from a man
who he had never even heard of before and who left the
$40,000 worth of goods without signing his name or getting
his receipt. The main basis for this story was the testimony
of one Muriel Osten. She testified to the effect that she had
talked to a man from Standard Distributing Company
about the goods in question and had later prepared a ware-
house receipt purporting to show receipt of the stolen sets
by World Wide Warehouse, Inc., a corporation owned and
operated by the defendant. Miss Osten was subsequently
convicted of perjury on the basis of this testimony. Aside
from its cross-examination of Miss Osten, the government
also placed a Mr. Robert Burns, a manufacturer of ware-
house receipts, on the stand, in an effort to refute the
Osten testimony. Defendant bases his present motion upon
that testimony.

Mr. Burns testified to the effect that the warehouse
receipt which represented the stolen sets was not printed
until after it was alleged by the defendant to have been
prepared. Subsequent to Mr. Becker’s trial, during the
preparation for the Osten perjury trial, Mr. Burns stated
that he may have been mistaken about exactly when the
document in question was printed. In addition, the defen-
vant has produced a printing expert whose affidavit tends
to show that Mr. Burns was mistaken. It should be pointed
out, however, that neither side can prove whether the ware-
house receipt in question was printed before or after it
was allegedly prepared. It is on this slender thread that
the defendant rests his motion for a new trial.

It is well established that motions for a new trial are
not favored by the courts and are viewed with great cau-
tion. See e.g.. U. S. v. Gleason, 411 F.2d 1091 (10th Cir.

App. 12

1969). Further, it is clear that in order for a motion for
a new trial on the basis of newly discovered evidence to
be granted, the movant must show (1) that the evidence
is newly discovered and was unknown to the defendant at
the time of trial, (2) that the evidence is material, not
merely cumulative or impeaching, (3) that it will probably
produce an acquittal, and (4) that failure to learn of the
evidence was due to no lack of diligence on the part of the
defendant. Barron, Federal Practice and Procedure, Vol.
4, §2282, at p. 284, and the numerous cases cited therein.
However, it is the rule in this Circuit that even if the
evidence at issue is merely impeaching, as it was in this
case, a new trial should be granted if the movant reason-
ably satisfies the court (1) that the testimony given by a
material witness is false, (2) that the party seeking the
new trial was taken by surprise when the false testimony
was given and was unable to meet it, or did not know of
its falsity until after trial, and (3) that without it, the
jury might have reached a different conclusion. Larrison
v. U. S., 24 F.2d 82 (7th Cir. 1928), and U. S. v. Higgins,
412 F.2d 789 (7th Cir. 1969).

In the case at bar, the defendant cannot meet the require-
ments of the Larrison rule because, leaving aside the seri-
ous problem of whether the testimony of Mr. Burns has
been shown to be false, it is plain that the other two re-
quirements have not been met. Since proving the existence
of the warehouse receipt was a crucial aspect of his case,
the defendant could not argue that he realized the alleged
falsity of the statement after the time of trial. Further,
since it was such an integral facet of his case, it is difficult
to believe that the defendant was taken by surprise when
the testimony was given or that he was unable to meet it.
Finally, it should be noted that most of the defendant’s

App. 13

arguments in this regard go toward showing that the testi-
mony was false and there is little but a few self-serving
conclusory statements to show that the defendant was ac-
tually ‘‘surprised’’. Accordingly, the defendant has not
met his burden in this respect.

In addition, I am of the opinion that another jury would
come to the same conclusion regardless of the truth or
falsity of the Burn’s testimony. It is beyond belief that a
jury which had before it the evidence of the cash sale of
such stolen goods at bargain prices could believe that
Becker received the $40,000 worth of goods from an un-
known man who did not sign his name or get a receipt
even though that was Becker’s business practice. Further,
at any new trial, the defendant would be deprived of some
or all of the testimony of Muriel Osten. Finally, it is
clear now, just as it was clear at the time of the trial, that

the evidence presented by the prosecution overwhelmingly
proves beyond any doubt whatsoever that the defendant
was guilty as charged.

In light of the foregoing, the defendant’s motion for a
new trial based upon newly discovered evidence is hereby
denied.

ENTER:

/8/ Bernard Decker
United States District Judge.

DATED: October 8, 1971.

App. 14
APPENDIX ©

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604

July 13, 1972

Before
How. Luruer M. Swyczrr, Chief Judge
Hon, Joun S. Hastines, Senior Circuit Judge
Hon. Roczr J. Kuzy, Circuit Judge

Unirep States or AmEnica,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
No. 18659 vs.
Davi Gatvin Becker,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the North-
ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division, and was argued
by counsel,

On consideration whereof, it is ordered and adjudged by
this court that the judgment of conviction of the said Dis-
trict Court in this cause appealed from be, and the same is
hereby, AFFIRMED, in accordance with the opinion of
this Court filed this day.

App. 15
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit
Chicago, Illinois 60604

October 4, 1972

Before
Hon. Roczr J. Krzy, Circuit Judge

Unirep States or AMERica,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
No. 18659
Davi Gavin Brecker,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 70- CR - 46

On consideration of the petition for rehearing filed in the
above-entitled cause,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition for re-
hearing in the above-entitled appeal be and the same is
hereby DENIED.

App. 16
APPENDIX E

EMBEZZLEMENT AND THEFT

§ 659. Interstate or foreign baggage, express or freight;
State prosecutions

Whoever embezzles, steals, or unlawfully takes, carries
away, or conceals, or by fraud or deception obtains from
any railroad car, wagon, motortruck, or other vehicle, or
from any station, station house, platform or depot or from
any steamboat, vessel, or wharf, or from any aircraft, air
terminal, airport, aircraft terminal or air navigation fa-
cility with intent to convert to his own use any goods or
chattels moving as or which are a part of or which consti-
tute an interstate or foreign shipment of freight or ex-
press; or

Whoever buys or receives or has in his possession any
such goods or chattels, knowing the same to have been
embezzled or stolen; or

Whoever embezzles, steals, or unlawfully takes, carries
away, or by fraud or deception obtains with intent to con-
vert to his own use any baggage which shall have come
into the possession of any common carrier for transporta-
tion in interstate or foreign commerce or breaks into, steals,
takes, carries away, or conceals any of the contents of
such baggage, or buys, receives, or has in his possession
any such baggage or any article therefrom of whatever
nature, knowing the same to have been embezzled or stolen;
or

Whoever embezzles, steals, or unlawfully takes by any
fraudulent device, scheme, or game, from any railroad car,
bus, vehicle, steamboat, vessel, or aircraft operated by
any common carrier moving in interstate or foreign con-
merce or from any passenger thereon any money, baggage,

App. 17

goods, or chattels, or whoever buys, receives, or has in his
possession any such money, baggage, goods, or chattels,
knowing the same to have been embezzled or stolen —

Shall in each case be fined not more than $5,000 or im-
prisoned not more than ten years, or both; but if the
amount or value of such money, baggage, goods or chattels
does not exceed $100, he shall be fined not more than $1,000
or imprisoned not more than one year, or both.

The offense shall be deemed to have been committed not
only in the district where the violation first occurred, but
also in any district in which the defendant may have taken
or been in possession of the said money, baggage, goods,

The carrying or transporting of any such money, freight,
express, baggage, goods, or chattels in interstate or foreign
commerce, knowing the same to have been stolen, shall con-
stitute a separate offense and subject the offender to the

penalties under this section for unlawful taking, and the
offense shall be deemed to have been committed in any dis-
trict into which such money, freight, express, baggage,
goods, or chattels shall have been removed or into which
the same shall have been brought by such offender.

To establish the interstate or foreign commerce character
of any shipment in any prosecution under this section the
waybill or other shipping document of such shipment shall
be prima facie evidence of the place from which and to
which such shipment was made.

A judgment of conviction or acquittal on the merits
under the laws of any State shall be a bar to any prosecu-
tion under this section for the same act or acts. June 25,
1948, c. 645, 62 Stat. 729; May 24, 1949, c. 139, § 13, 63
Stat. 91.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1583%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
