# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mayhue's Super Liquor Stores, Inc. v. Hodgson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1576%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 1108

## Text

in the Tres:
T 26 1977
Supreme Court”

Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1972
No. Z 2-642

MAYHUE’S SUPER LIQUOR STORES, INC., a Florida
corporation, and CARL L. MAYHUE, d/b/a MAYHUE’S
SUPER LIQUOR STORES, INC.

Petitioners,
v8.

JAMES D. HODGSON, Secretary of Labor, United States
Department of Labor,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JAMES v. JOHNSTONE, ESQUIRE
Counsel for the Petitioners

420 Lincoln Road, Suite 244

Miami Beach, Florida 33139

MIAMI REVIEW — 371-4853 — 377-3721

INDEX TO PETITION

Page
Opinion Below 2
Jurisdiction 2
Statutory Provisions and Regulations Involved 2
Statement of the Case 3
Proceedings Below 5
Reasons For Granting the Writ 7
Argument 8
Conclusion sue 21

Certificate of Service 22

II
TABLE OF CASES

Page

Brooklyn Bank vs. O'Neil, .
324 U.S. 697 (1945) 8,14

V
vs. Howell,
401 Fed. Reporter 2nd 752 (10th Circuit Court

of Appeals 1968) , 20
Coppage vs. Kansas,

35 Sup. Ct., 240, 236 U.S. 1 (1915) 7,10
Lavender vs. Kurn,

327 U.S. 645 (1946) 17
Lochner vs. New York,

198 U.S. 45; 49 L.Ed. 985, 25 Sup. Ct., 589 (1906) 7,9
Mugler vs. Kansas, 3 f

128 U.S. 628, 31 L. Ed., 205, 8 S. Ct., 288 (1887). y
Shultz vs. Hinojosa,

482 F.2d 259 (5th Circuit 1970) 8, 14, 15
State Ex rel Fulton vs. Ives,

167 So. 894 (Fla. 1986) 10

in. the
Supreme Court
of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No.

MAYHUE’S SUPER LIQUOR STORES, INC., a Florida
corporation, and CARL L. MAYHUE, d/b/a MAYHUE’S
11 SUPER LIQUOR STORES, INC.

Petitioners,
vs.

JAMES D. HODGSON, Secretary of Labor, United States

Department of Labor,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

THE PETITIONERS, MAYHUE’S SUPER LIQUOR
STORES, INC., a Florida corporation, and CARL L.
MAYHUE, d/b/a MAYHUE’S SUPER LIQUOR
STORES, INC., respectfully request that a Writ of Cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this

proceeding on September 5, 1972.

2

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals not yet reported
appears in the Appendix hereto, Page 1. The opinion was
rendered on August 2, 1972.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit was entered on August 2, 1972, and the Petition
for Re-Hearing was denied on September 5, 1972, and
appears in the Appendix hereto, Page 8. This Court’s
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 USC, 81254 (1). QUES-
TIONS PRESENTED:

1. Whether the District Court properly ruled in
favor of the Petitioner in granting declaratory relief and
holding that Plaintiffs’ proposed agreement with em-
ployees in no way violates the provisions of the Fair Labor
Standards Act.

2. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-
cuit erred when it reversed the District Court and held
that the proposed agreement with employees is invalid and
violates the Fair Labor Standards Act and remanding to
the District Court for further proceedings in connection
with all matters in which the agreement for repayment of
shortages was involved.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND
REGULATIONS INVOLVED

1. Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938; Public Law
#718; Chapter 676; Third Section Statute #2457.

2. 29 Code of Federal Regulations 778.

3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner is an individual doing business as MAY-
HUE’S SUPER LIQUOR STORES, INC., a Florida cor-
poration and is a retail liquor dealer in Broward County,
Florida, who had, at the time of the trial, in the Federal
District Court in and for Miami, Florida, five retail liquor
stores. During investigation of Petitioner by Agents of
the Secretary, the Petitioner made a request of the Agents
of the Secretary that the Petitioner be allowed to enter
into an agreement with employees of the Petitioner where-
by in the event of a cash register shortage the employees
would voluntarily repay missing funds to the Petitioner
within a reasonable period of time so long as the repay-
ment was not deducted from the payroll. The Agents of
the Secretary of Labor refused to allow the Petitioner to
enter into such an agreement and informed the Petitioner
that such an agreement would be in violation of the Fair
Labor Standards Act of 1938 as Amended. Counsel for
the Petitioner wrote, on October 17, 1969, to the Admin-
istrator of the Wage and Hour Division (A.9) and re-
quested a ruling on this Agreement, to-wit:

“The employee agrees to voluntarily repay said
missing funds to the employer within a reason-
able period of time. The employer shall not de-
duct said shortages from the pay check of the
employee. It is understood that said shortages
are considered to be a valid debt owed to the

employer.”

The Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division
answered in a letter dated October 23, 1969 (A.9) and

4

stated that this agreement would be illegal and regardless
of the fact the Attorneys for the Petitioner stated such
repayments would not be involved in payroll deductions,
the Administrator referred to such payment as “deduc-
tions.”

Investigation by the Secretary led the Agents of the
Secretary to believe that there were violations of the Fair
Labor Standards Act being committed by the Petitioner,
particularly in the record keeping provisions and failure
to pay for all time worked. On December 9, 1969, the Pe-
titioner filed a Petition for Declaratory Judgment under
the Fair Labor Standards Act (A. 14) stating that the See-
retary was incorrect in that the Fair Labor Standards Act
(A. 22) stating that the Secretary was incorrect in that
the Fair Lebor Standards Act was inapplicable to the
Petitioner’s right to enter into the agreement with its
employees with regard to repayment of cash shortages.
The Petition also requested that the Secretary be re-
strained and enjoined from interfering with the right of
the Petitionér to carry on its business and to have such an
agreement with its employees. IT WAS NOT ALLEGED
AND NOWHERE DOES IT APPEAR IN THE REC-
ORD THAT THE PETITIONER MADE ANY DEDUC-
TIONS OR RECEIVED ANY REPAYMENTS OF
SHORTAGES PURSUANT TO THE AGREEMENT
PROPOSED TO THE SECRETARY IN TH LETTER
OF OCTOBER 17, 1969 (A. 9).

Following the filing of the Petition, the Secretary
filed an answer denying the right of the Petitioner to
enter into such an agreement. The Secretary also filed a
counterclaim for injunction against the Petitioner alleging

‘

5

that the Petitioner had violated the provisions of §6 and
15A (2) of the Act by paying less than the minimum wage,
by failing to pay overtime for work in excess of 40 hours,
by failing to keep accurate records for wages and hours,
and that Petitioner had repeatedly and willfully violated
and was willfully violating the Act.

It was and is the contention of the Petitioner that
the Declaratory Judgment action and the proposed agree-
ment to be entered into between Petitioner and Peti-
tioner’s employees were and are separate and apart from
any of the allegations and evidence contained in the coun-
terclaim in behalf of the Secretary.

PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The Petitioner brought this action for declaratory
relief under §28: 1331, U.S.C.A.; 28: 2201, U.S. C. A.;
28: 1343, U.S. C. A.; and 29: 201, U.S.C.A., and Rules 23A
and 57 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for the pur-
pose of determining a question of actual controversy be-
tween the parties concerning the interpretation of Title 29
Part 778 of the Code of Federal Regulations under the
Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 as Amended. The case in
chief on the Petition for Declaratory Judgment had vir-
tually stipulated facts, and that was that the Petitioner
proposed entering into the suggested contract. No evidence
was put on during the case in chief of the Petitioner that
any shortages had been repaid by either direct payment or
indirect payment by the employee or by payroll deduction
pursuant to the suggested agreement (A.9). During the
case on the counterclaim of the Secretary, certain allega-
tions were made and evidence was brought forth that
shortages had been repaid by employees but they had been .

repaid pursuant to another agreement that was in no way
similar to the suggested agreement in the Declaratory
Judgment action. The other agreement, which is found on

Page 341 of the Appendix (A. 14) provided as follows:

It is fully understood that I am responsible for
shortages which occur in the cash register of

which I am in charge, with the understanding
that I am the sole operator of the particular cash

register.

“These are the terms and conditions of my em-
ployment, which are acceptable to me.

“This will authorize you to deduct from any

monies due me the amount of shortages which
may occur.”

Signed

(Signature)

Throughout the trial on the counterclaim the Peti-
tioner maintained that it did not make payroll deductions
for repayment of shortages under this agreement. The
Secretary, through its witnesses, alleged that certain short-
ages were deducted pursuant to this agreement. The Lower
Court ruled that the first proposed agreement as set forth
in Counsel for Petitioner's letter of October 17, 1969
(A.9) in no way violates the provisions of the Act.

7

IT IS UNCONTRADICTED IN THE RECORD,
HOWEVER, THAT THE COUNTERCLAIMS OF THE
SECRETARY CONTAINED NO TESTIMONY CON-
CERNING SHORTGAES OR DEDUCTIONS PUR-
SUANT TO THE AGREEMENT PROPOSED IN THE
ORIGINAL PETITION FOR DECLARATORY RELIEF.
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS CON-
FUSED THIS ISSUE AND ASSUMED THAT EVI-
DENCE HAD BEEN HEARD CONCERNING THE
FIRST PROPOSED AGREEMENT. IN FACT, THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS WENT AS
FAR AS REMANDING THE CASE TO THE DISTRICT
COURT FOR FURTHER PROCEEDINGS IN CONNEC-
TION WITH ALL MATTERS IN WHICH THE AGREE-
MENT FOR REPAYMENT OF SHORTAGES WAS IN-
VOLVED. THERE IS NOTHING IN THE RECORD IN
THE COURT BELOW SHOWING REPAYMENT FOR
SHORTAGES UNDER THE AGREEMENT THAT THE
PETITIONER SUGGESTED IN ITS PETITION FOR
DECLARATORY JUDGMENT.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1988 makes no ref-
erence to the suggested agreement that is the subject of
the Petition for Declaratory Relief. Counsel for the Peti-
tioner relied upon the constitutionally protected right to
contract or liberty of contract as set forth in Lechner vs.
New York, 198 U.S. 45; 49 L.Ed. 935, 25 Sup. Ct., 539
(1905) and Coppage vs. Kansas, 35 Sup. Ct., 240, 236 U.S.
1 (1915).

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals confused the
counterclaims and the allegations concerning payroll de-

PETITIONER’S LETTER OF OCTOBER 17, 1969 (A. 9).

The Court erroneously relied upon Shultz vs. Hino
Jona, 482 F.2d 258 (5th Circuit 1970) and Brooklyn Bank
vs. O'Neil, 824 U.S. % (1945).

If the decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
is allowed to stand, there will be case law settling a
crucial issue where the Court making the law has totally
misinterpreted the evidence in the record in the trial
court below. It is for these reasons that the Writ should

be granted.
ARGUMENT

The Petitioner is not quarreling with the portion of
the decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals which
affirmed that portion of the Final Judgment of the Fed-
eral District Court that held that the Petitioner had
willfully violated the Act. However, in the trial on the
counterclaim the Petitioner steadfastly maintained that
it had the right to enter into a “proposed” agreement with
its employees. The Petitioner never stated nor did the
Secretary ever state or even allege that the Petitioner had
violated the Act with the use of the proposed agreement.
In fact, the counterclaim for unpaid overtime and for
repayment of shortages through payroll deductions was
clearly separate and apart from the original request for
approval of the Petitioner’s proposed agreement.

The “liberty to contract” is considered both a free-

dom and a property right and is protected against arbi-
trary or unreasonable restraint.

“The right to make legal contracts of all kinds

Law, § 575.

Neither the State nor Federal Government may im-
pose restraint upon this basic freedom and liberty. As
far back as 1887 the Supreme Court of the United States
warned of legislative or governmental limitations of this
freedom. In Mugler vs. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623, 31 L.Ed. 205,
8 S. Ct., 283 (1887), Justice Harlan stated:

“It does not follow that every statute enacted
ostensibly for the promotion of these ends (police
powers), is to be accepted as a legitimate exer-
tion of the police powers of the state . . If,
therefore, a statute purporting to have been
enacted to protect the public health, the public
morals or the safety, has no real or substantial
relations to those objects or is a palpable in-
vasion of rights secured by the fundamental law,
it is the duty of the courts to so adjudge and
thereby to give effect to the Constitution.”

The reasonableness of the legislation in these areas
was tested in Lochner vs. New York, 198 US. 45; 49

10

L.Ed. 935; 25 Sup. Ct. 589 (1905). Here a New York
statute prohibiting employment in a bakery for more
than sixty (60) hours in one week or ten (10) hours in
one day was upheld on the rationale that it protected the
health and welfare of citizens and of labor people. In the
majority opinion of the Court Mr. Justice Peckham
stated:

“The statute necessarily interferes with the
right of contracts between the employer and the
employees concerning the number of hours in
which the latter may labor in the bakery of the
employer. The general right to make a contract
in relation to his business is part of the liberty
of the individual protected by the Fourteenth
Amendment of the Federal Constitution . . The
right to purchase or sell labor is part of the
liberty protected by this amendment unless there
are circumstances which preclude the right . . .”

The Florida Supreme Court has held that the citi-
zen’s right to pursue lawful business is property and the
right to contract for personal service as a means for
the acquisition of property is one of the privileges of a
citizen of the United States of which he cannot be de-
prived without invading his right to liberty. State Ex rel
Fulton vs. Ives, 167 So. 394 (Fla. 1936).

The classic case of Coppage vs. Kansas, 35 Sup.Ct.,
240, 236 U.S. 1 (1915) still stands for the immovable
concept that the right to contract cannot be taken from
an employer without due process of law and without rea-
son. This landmark case held that a Kansas statute of
1908, which would punish an employer for prescribing as

11

a condition of employment that the employee shall agree
not to become a member of a labor organization, was re-
pugnant to the due process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment and was to be void. Certainly, the law today
precludes such “yellow-dog” contracts, but the verbiage
in the opinion of Justice Pitney and of the dissenting
opinion of Justice Holmes puts great weight at the im-
portance of applying reason and care when depriving one
of the property right to enter into a contract:

“The principle is fundamental and vital. Included
in the right of personal liberty and the right of
private property-partaking of the nature of each
—is the right to make contracts for the acquisi-
tion of property. Chief among such contracts is
that of personal employment, by which labor and
other services are exchanged for money or other
forms of property. If this right be struck down
or arbitrarily interfered with, there is a substan-
tial impairment of liberty in the long established
constitutional sense. The right is as essential to
the laborer as to the capitalist, to the poor as to
the rich; for the vast majority of persons have
no other honest way to begin to acquire property,
save by working for money. An interference
with this liberty so serious as that now under
consideration, and so disturbing of equality of
right, must be deemed to be arbitrary, unless it
be supportable as a reasonable exercise of the
police power of the state.”

“In order to satisfy the constitutional require-
ment of due process, a state or federal statute, or
municipal ordinance creating and defining an of-

12

fense and fixing the punishment therefor must
be a reasonable exercise of power possessed

There is a great void of case law dealing with this
concept of repaying cash shortages voluntarily. Counsel
for the Secretary throughout the trial and in anticipation
of his brief cites cases allegedly on point which deal with
actual payroll deduction fact situations. There is no simi-
larity because, as Judge Fay stated, the reason for his
granting a declaratory judgment is that this is not a pay-
roll deduction, but that this is a voluntary repayment of
a cash shortage and, although the Secretary and hia agents
refuse to recognize the logie of this fact pattern, it is ever
present.

Our American history has seen a great change in
labor-management relations beginning in the 18508 when
trade unionism began its move to better employees’ work-
ing conditions. Indeed the need for such reform was evi-
dent and the culmination of the reforms arrived in the
3078 with the Social Security Act in 1933, the Wagner Act
in 1987 and the Fair Labor Standards Act in 1938.

Throughout the history management reluctantly ac-
quiesced to the fact that the government and the em-
ployees, through their unions, were infringing more and
more upon the rights of management to manage.

18

A new philosophy and concept of democracy, which
added a new dimension to labor-management relations,
brought forth the phenomenon of government's interfer-
ence with management’s right to run its business. Con-
sistent with this social change certain “ground rules”
arose. It became mandatory for employers to closely fol-
low the “ground rules” as interpreted by field investiga-
tors called “compliance officers”, who freely interpret
the law with the help of interpretative bulletins and
without the help of a judge, a jury, or the Congress. Such
an interpretation was requested by Counsel for the Pe-
titioner in his letter to the Wage-and-Hour Division Ad-
ministrator on October 17, 1969, (A.9). The answer to
the letter (A.12) speaks for itself. Judge Fay did no
more than what the Administrator should have done in
October of 1969. Now the blinders have been removed
from the Commissioner and, in accordance with Judge
Fay’s Declaratory Judgment in favor of the Petitioner,
the Commissioner must heed the warnings of the tax pay-
ing entrepreneur.

Throughout the trial of this cause compliance officer
Reid stated the Secretary’s position to be that the Secre-
tary was not objecting to the concept of taking back
moneys from employees at all, but he was applying a
mathematical formula and labeling this act a payroll
deduction and stating that the monies may not be repaid
by the employees in this fashion if it is one day, one week
or one year after the shortage has been discovered.

Judge Fay’s words in Paragraph 7 on Page 8 of the
Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law (A. 30) leave

no question as to the justice of the position taken by the
Petitioner. Anything less than this position invites these
employees to steal money from the Petitioner.

14

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in its opinion of
August 2, 1972, seemed to hold that Brooklyn Bank vs.
O'Neil, 324, U.S. 697 (1945) and Shultz vs, Hinojosa, 432
F.2d 259 (5th Circuit 1970), are controlling and deal with
the question at bar. This is error. In the Brooklyn Bank
case, an employee named O’Neil had overtime pay due
him from the Bank. The Bank tendered him a check
which did not include liquidated damages and the Bank
also had O’Neil sign a release and waiver in consideration
of having received the check. This is the “waiver” that
the Secretary argued and that the Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals held is analogous to the so-called “waiver” in the
case at bar. O’Neil waived his right to liquidated damages
without advice of Counsel. In the fact pattern set forth
in the Petition for Declaratory Judgment and the letter
of the Petitioner of October 17, 1969 (A.9) the employee
waives nothing but is simply agreeing to repay cash
shortages to the Petitioner voluntarily within a reason-
able time. The verbiage in the Brooklyn Bank case is also
of interest. The Court says on Page 24:

“The statute was a recognition of the fact that
due to the unequal bargaining power as between
employer and employee certain segments of the
population required federal compulsory legisla-
tion to prevent private contracts on their part
which endangered national health and efficiency
and as a result the free movement of goods in
interstate commerce. To accomplish this purpose
standards of minimum wages and maximum
hours were provided...”

Indeed there is unequal bargaining power but it goes
the other way in the case at bar. The Labor Department

15

provides free legal services for the employees who al-
legedly complained about the Petitioner. Not only does
the Labor Department oppose the Petition for Declara-
tory Relief but through its counterclaims and its parad-
ing of witnesses throughout the trial, the Government
succeeds in confusing the Appellate Court into believing
that the alleged shortage deductions are directly con-
nected with the proposed agreement in the Petition for
Declaratory Relief. There is indeed unequal bargaining
power here and that is that the Secretary has, at its
disposal, free legal talent that it provides for the em-
ployees.

The Court in the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals holds
that Shultz vs. Hinojosa, 432 F.2d 259 (5th Circuit 1970)
is controlling. The case is far afield and very distinguish-
able from the case at bar. The Hinojosa case deals with
the question of deducting from minimum wages the cost
of furnishing butcher knives and honing steel and speci-
fied articles of clothing as a condition of employment.
Interestingly enough Hinojosa deals with direct deduc-
tions from payroll for these items. The Petitioner’s case
in the Declaratory Judgment action does not deal with
payroll deductions but specifically precludes using the
payroll deduction method. In Judge Fay’s Judgment
(A. 30):

“With regard to plaintiffs’ petition for a declara-
tory judgment against the Secretary, the court
declares and concludes, as a matter of law, that
the plaintiffs’ agreement with its employees en-
trusted with money as set forth in paragraph 9
of the Findings of Fact, in no way violates the
provisions of the Act. To hold otherwise would

16

amount to a “judicial invitation” to such em-
ployees to steal. Certainly the Act is not in-
tended to prevent an employer from protecting
his property, including assets in the form of
cash. Such losses, however, should not be de-
ducted from the employees pay whether wages
are being paid in cash or by check. The agree-
ment being approved by the court contem-

Act.”

The Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals has usurped the
fact finding right of the trial court. On Page 6 of the
Decision of August 2, 1972, (A.5) the Court states the
following:

—

“The ‘judicial invitation’ to steal argument is

not persuasive. There is no evidence that MAY-

HUE’S shortages were the result of theft on
the part of the cashiers or were in any way
different from the usual losses which are to be
expected where cashier-employees handle a large
number of transactions. The agreement re-
quired repayment regardless of the reason for
the shortages. If the agreement required only
repayment of money that the employee himself
took or misappropriated it obviously would not
collide with the Act. As a matter of law the
employee would owe such amounts to the em-
ployer, and as a matter of fact, the repayment
of monies taken in excess of the money paid to
the employee in wages would not reduce the

17

amount of his wages. This case is distinguishable

from the situation where an employee has taken
some money, has had the use of it, and is re-
quired to return it. In such a case there would
be no violation of the Act because the employee
has taken more than the amount of his wage
and the return could in no way reduce his wage
below the minimum.”

Why does the Court assume that shortages are a
necessary part of cashier operations? What facts in the
record show this to be the case? This is clearly an as-
sumption on the part of the Appellate Court which it
has no right to make. Why would it be correct if the
agreement required only repayment of money that the
employee himself took or misappropriated? Why is this
more correct than the agreement set forth by the Peti-
tioner in its letter of October 17, 1969 (A.9)? There is
no answer for these questions.

The court has gone beyond the powers of the Appellate
Court. In Lavender vs Kurn, 327 U.S. 645 (1946), this
Court held that:

“Only when there is a complete absence of pro-
bative facts to support the conclusion reached
does a reversible error appear. But where, as
here, there is an evidentiary basis for the jury’s
verdict, the jury is free to discard or disbelieve
whatever facts are inconsistent with its conclu-
sion. In the Appellate Court’s function as ex-
hausted when that evidentiary basis becomes
apparent, it being immaterial that the court
might draw a contrary inference or feel that an-
other conclusion is more reasonable.”

18

In the case at bar, the lower court had a non-jury
trial. Therefore, Judge Fay was the Trier of facts as well
as law. In the opinion of Judge Fay the agreement of the
Petitioner as proposed to the Secretary did not violate
the Fair Labor Standards Act. The Fifth Circuit Court
of Appeals has taken it upon themselves to assume facts
not in evidence and that is that the shortage repayments
would include monies that were taken out of the register
by someone other than the employee involved. There is
nothing at all in the record concerning this presumption.

Farther the Court imposes its reasoning and fact-
finding on the Trial Court on page 6 of the Decision of
August 2, 1972 (A. 6), when it says the following:

“The voluntary-involuntary dichotomy is mean-
ingless for two reasons. First, if the intent of
the parties were to make repayment purely vol-
untary on the part of the employee, an agree-
ment would not be necessary. The agreement
would be pointless. Yet the employer requires
the execution of the agreement as a condition of
employment. Second, the provision in the agree-
ment that the shortages are considered to be a
valid debt owed to the employer obviously con-
trols the matter and expresses the intent of the
party. It overrides any argument that the re-
payment is voluntary on the part of the em-

ployee.”

This is an invasion of the facts and of the reasoning
of the trial court. The Appellate Court is here saying
that there can be no such thing as a voluntary agreement
between an employer and an employee! Perhaps if the

19

facts in the record showed that the Petitioner was an
employer applying the standards of employee relation-
ships applied in the 1850’s and in the sweatshops of those
years, there could be reason for this application of arbi-
trary appellate fact finding. There is none in this record
and the Court is compelled to reverse the Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeals.

Finally, the Appellate Court argues on Page 7 of the
Decision of August 2, 1972 (A.6):

“With the employees’ financial picture burdened
with the valid debt of the shortages, he is re-
ceiving less for his services than the wage that
is paid to him. Whether he pays the valid debt
out of his wages or other resources, his effec-
tive rate of pay is reduced by the amount of such
debt, When it is reduced below the required
minimum wage the law is violated.”

There is no logic in this argument as there is no
answer to the question why is the effective rate of pay
reduced? It has been made quite clear since the initial
letter to the Secretary of October 17, 1969, (A. 10) that
the Petitioner has no intention of deducting the shortages
from payroll checks. It was made clear in the record that
there would be, under the proposed agreement, no re-
percussions to the employee if he refused to pay this
“valid debt”. And yet the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
arbitrarily says that there can be no voluntary agreement,
that this is a payroll deduction even though the amount
is not deducted from the pay check, and that the actual
monies received by the employee are below the Federal
minimum wage and in violation of the Fair Labor Stand-
ards Act of 1938 as amended.

20
In Chicago Rock Island and Pacific Railway Company

JAMES V. JOHNSTONE, ESQUIRE

Counsel for the Petitioners
420 Lincoln Road; Suite 244
Miami Beach, Florida 33189

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1576%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
