# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Spears v. Mississippi

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1556%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1973
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 1106

## Text

V1- 1528

LE COPY

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

Te: seaerenenes

LEA SPEARS,
Petitioner,
VS

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the Supreme Court of Mississippi

W. S. MOORE
514 Barnett Building
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
ROLAND C. LEWIS
218 South President Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Counsel for Petitioner

3 Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 411-15 N. Eighth St. 63101 814-281-4477

Page
Intvedmotory statement ..........cccccccccccccccces 1
Jurisdictional statement ................e cece ee eees 2
Questions presented for review ................e00 2
EE ticdcunicccducsteedevestwsinnn 4
Reasons for granting the writ .................0005: 6
Dt ctittinebeiicdiiinkkinnwnntaseuanceeods 6

Question One: Did petitioner’s conviction deprive
her of the rights guaranteed to her by the Sixth
Amendment to be confronted with the witnesses
DE chiiestididdbvctiinidbneiiebendenee

Question Two: Is Mississippi’s abortion statute un-
constitutionally vague and overbroad? .........

Question Three: Does Mississippi’s abortion law
constitute an arbitrary invasion of the right of a
woman to determine when to beer offspring, and
doee it violate the fundamental right of a woman
to personal and marital privacy? ...............

eens Cases Cited
Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719, 725, 88 S.Ct. 1318, 20

ce ce ceb beeen aeeakeasene 7
Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616 (1886) ........ 14
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S. Ct. 1620,

EP A I Dk oN 6 ck wines bndecdcacesuces 8
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 90 S.Ct. 1930, 26

ee FC ree ener nnne 7
Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415, 85 S.Ct. 1074, 13

CED. ccchddkucéenvadbadesessanees 7
Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 91 S.Ct. 210, 27 L.Ed.

I I. WRF iad Less oda Nia cheiei ckccces 7
Farrington v. Tokushige, 273 U.S. 284 (1927) ...... 15
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ..15, 17,18
Katz v. United States, 389 U. S. 347 (1967) ........ 14
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) .............. 15
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) ............ 15
Nelson v. O’Neil, 402 U.S. 622, 91 S. Ct. 1723, 29 L.Ed.

et ee SEE i ci ben awrun didbeaadeeenheeeerssses 8
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928) ...... 14
Parker v. Gladden, 385 U.S. 363, 87 S.Ct. 468, 17 L.Ed.

SEE ine ncdnevewdskuawibenesdaedastiens 7
People v. Belous, 458 P. 2d 194, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354

SEE -cekcunesveanewkerddeentsdesasencied 15, 18, 19, 20

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 368 U.S. 510 (1925) .... 15

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 85 S.Ct. 1065, 13 L.
EERE, ES

iii

Schneble v. Florida, 92 S.Ct. 1056 A aa 7
Selinoes v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337, 90 S. Ct. 1057, 25 L.Ed.
RN IE kcal Lo de 8
Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (oer 15
Spears v. State, 241 So.2d 148 ...........0.0....0... 2
Spears v. State, 257 So.2d 876 ................000. 1
Turner v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 466, 85 S. Ct. 546, 13
Ld 2d 424 (1965) ..... ccc cece cece ccc cnccecece 7
Statutes Cited
SS SE cas hekludl paras dalle Gan deed conchwniice 2
Mississippi Code of 1941, § 2223 .................... 3
Mississippi Code of 1942, 4 2358 .................... 12
Mississippi Code of 1942, § 2359 ................... 13

United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment ... .2, 6, 8

Texts Cited
ae 9
Black’s Law Dictionary .................ccceceece 9
Kenneth W. Graham, Jr., Criminal Law Bulletin, Vol.

SEE aivukcdatuieuds caleous wiadek cehccuauca co 8
Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary ......... ‘ented 9

Webster’s New International Dictionary of the Eng-
SE ED. SULbcckkendcubebaecvedsaokiecceus 9

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

PE ienceees

LEA SPEARS,
Petitioner,

VS.

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the Supreme Court of Mississippi

INTRODUCTORY STATEMENT

The petitioner, Lea Spears, respectfully petitions for
a writ of certiorari to review a judgment and order made
by the Supreme Court of Mississippi, unofficially reported
as Spears v. State, 257 So.2d 876. The opinion is ‘‘PER
CURIAM AFFIRMED.’’

Rehearing was denied February 28, 1972.

The Supreme Court of Mississippi affirmed a judgment
against the petitioner entered by the Circuit Court of
Warren County, Mississippi, on July 21, 1971. The peti-
tioner was convicted of the crime of abortion and sen-

_— om

tenced to serve five years in the Mississippi State Peni-
tentiary.

The decision of the Mississippi Supreme Court was
handed down on January 24, 1972. A copy of the judg-
ment is attached and marked Appendix A.

Petition for rehearing was denied, without opinion, on
February 28, 1972. A copy of the judgment denying the
petition for rehearing is appended and marked Appen-
dix B.

A copy of an order permitting the petitioner to remain

at large on bail pending a determination of this petition
is attached and marked Appendix C.

A former opinion involving petitioner’s first conviction
on the same charge is unofficially reported as Spears v.
State, 241 So.2d 148, decided November 9, 1970, by the
Supreme Court of Mississippi, a copy of which is ap-
pended, bound with this petition and marked Appendix
D. A coy of the November 9, 1970 judgment is marked
Appendix E.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Petitioner believes this Court has jurisdiction to review
the decision by writ of certiorari by virtue of 28 USC
§ 1257 (3). Petitioner also believes this Court has juris-
diction to review the decision by appeal by virtue of 28
USC § 1257 (1), (2).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Did petitioner’s conviction deprive her of the rights
guaranteed to her by the Sixth Amendment to be con-
fronted with the witnesses against her?

2. Is Mississippi’s abortion statute unconstitutionally
vague and overbroad?

O—————

3. Does Mississippi’s abortion law constitute an arbi-
trary invasion of the right of a woman to determine when
to bear offspring, and does it violate the fundamental
right of a woman to personal and marital privacy?

=<

Mississippi’s Abortion Statute

§ 2223, Mississippi Code of 1941, as amended, provides
as follows:

Any person wilfully and knowingly causing, by
means of any instrument, medicine, drug or other
means whatever, any woman pregnant with child to
abort or miscarry, or attempts to procure or produce
an abortion or misvarriage shall be guilty of a felony
unless the same were done by a duly licensed, prac-
ticing physician:

(a) where necessary for the preservation of the
mother’s life;

(b) where pregnancy was caused by rape.

Said person shall, upon conviction, be imprisoned
in the State Penitentiary not less than one ( 1) year
nor more than ten (10) years; provided, hewever, if
the death of the mother results therefrom, the per-
son procuring, causing or attempting to procure or
cause the illegal abortion or miscarriage shall be
guilty of murder.

2. No act prohibited in paragraph 1 hereof shall
be considered exempt under the provisions of sub-
paragraph (a) thereof unless performed upon the

prior advice in writing, of two (2) reputable licensed
physicians.

3. The license of any physician or nurse a be
automatically revoked upon conviction under the pro-
visions of this act.

—

Cynthia Ivy, suspecting that she was pregnant, went to
a medical laboratory in Jackson, Mississippi, seeking to
verify her suspicion. She gave a urine specimen to a re-
ceptionist, who did ‘not testify. Miss Ivy did not put her
name on the specimen and the receptionist did not write
on the specimen or ask her name. She left the laboratory
after requesting that the results be telephoned to a physi-
cian. She does not know what happened to the specimen
after she left it with the receptionist.

Six days later, she telephoned Dr. Calvin Hull, a physi-
cian at the University Medical Center in Jackson. As a
resuli of the telephone conversation, she decided to seek
an abortion.

She and her roommate drove to Vicksburg in Warren

County, Mississippi, and contacted the appellant on May
21, 1969.

Miss Ivy testified that the appellant exposed her vaginal
orifice with a set of surgical clamps. A rubber tube, ap-
proximately eight inches long was inserted into the va-
gina and secured by cotton packing. The entire procedure
lasted ten or fifteen minutes.

Miss Ivy lost the tube, packing and uterine lining by
vaginal discharge about 6:00 am. on the following morn-
ing, May 22, 1969. She did not go to a physician until
the following Monday. A surgical team drained and
scraped the uterus; however, the technique proved inef-
fectual and a complete hysterectomy was required.

All of the evidence in the case tending to prove that
Miss Ivy was pregnant, other than the fact that she had
missed two periods, was the testimony of Dr. Hull, and
the pathologist who operated the laboratory, that a urine

=

specimen alleged to have been given by Cynthia Ivy indi-
cated that Cynthia Ivy was pregnant.

A medical technologist employed at the laboratory in
Jackson stated that on May 5, 1969, she performed a
Gravindix pregnancy test, which was positive, but she
could not identify the urine specimen upon which she
based her test to have been the urine specimen given by
Cynthia Ivy. She said she performed approximately sev-
enty pregnancy tests per month.

Doctor William P. Featherstone, a pathologist, testified
that in his opinion, the person who gave that urine speci-
men examined by the medical technologist was pregnant;
however, he could not identify the urine specimen on which
the test was based to be that of Cynthia Ivy. Doctor Cal-
vin Travis Hull, Cynthia Ivy’s physician, testified that he
received a telephone message that a test was positive.
Neither physician examined Miss Ivy prior to the alleged
abortion.

The appellant was convicted of the crime of abortion
and an appeal was taken to the Supreme Court of Missis-
sippi, raising the same federal questions sought to be re-
viewed here, by assignment of error and brief. Only one
of the questions was passed upon by the Supreme Court
of Mississippi. The case was reversed and remanded for
another trial on the ground that the appellant was denied
“the basic and fundamental right to be confronted by the
witnesses against her as well as the right of cross-exami-
nation’’ (241 So.2d at 149).

The appellant was again convicted in the Circuit Court
of Warren County and sentenced to serve a term of five
years in the Mississippi State Penitentiary. Another ap-
peal was perfected and the Supreme Court of Mississippi
afirmed, without opinion, on January 24, 1972. The peti-
tioner has exhausted her state remedies.

The Mississippi Supreme Court in this case had decided
a federal question of substance not theretofore determined
by this court and has decided another federal question in
a way probably not in accord with applicable decisions of
this court.

Question One: Did Petitioner's Conviction Deprive Her of
the Rights Guaranteed to Her by the Sixth Amend-
ment to Be Confronted With the Witnesses Against
Her?

This Court held in Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 85 8.
Ct. 1065, 13 L.Ed.2d 923 (1965) that the confrontation
clause of the Sixth Amendment was applicable to the
states through the Fourteenth Amendment.

The petitioner was denied her right to be confronted
with the receptionist who allegedly took the urine speci-
men from Cynthia Ivy. The receptionist’s testimony was
crucial on the issue of petitioner’s guilt.

Unless Cynthia Ivy was pregnant, no crime was com-
mitted. A laboratory technician made an analysis of
someone’s urine and the pathologist testified that the some-
one who gave the urine samples was pregnant. The re
ceptionist was a “witness against” petitioner, but never

Dr. Calvin Hull testified from a report prepared by «
technician based on tests following the alleged abortion.
That technician was also a “witness against” petitioner,
but never confronted her.

—

—7—

The “testimony” of both these absent witnesses was
crucial as to the question of Cynthia Ivy’s pregnancy, and
thus petitioner’s guilt. The error was not harmless.
Schneble v. Florida, 92 S.Ct. 1056 (1972).

It is sometimes impossible to separate the confronta-
tion requirement and the hearsay rule, although they are
not identical. Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 91 S. Ct. 210,
27 L.Ed.2d 213 (1970). Both physicians in this case testi-
fied from reports not prepared by them from physical evi-
dence not procured by them. Neither report was trust-
worthy. Neither report would be described by Professor
Wigmore as “reliable”. Both were witnesses against peti-
tioner. The testimony of both physicians was based on
hearsay on the very question they were called to answer—
was Cynthia Ivy pregnant?

California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149, 90 S. Ct. 1930, 26 L.
Ed2d 489 (1970) restates that a physical or literal con-
frontation is necessary.
This Court held in Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719, 725, 88
8. Ct. 1318, 1322, 20 L.Ed.2d 255 (1968):
“The right to confrontation is basically a trial right.
It includes both the opportunity to cross-examine and
the occasion for the jury to weigh the demeanor of
the witness.”
The jury cannot weigh the demeanor of witnesses the
jury never sees, and an accused cannot cross-examine a
witness who doesn’t take the stand.

Other cases heretofore decided by this Court on the
confrontation clause are Douglas v. Alabama, 280 US.
415, 85 S.Ct. 1074, 13 L.Ed.2d 934 (1965); Parker v. Glad.
dem, 385 U.S. 363, 87 S.Ct. 468, 17 LEd 2d 420 (1966);
Turner v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 466, 85 S. Ct. 546, 13 L.Ed

2d 424 (1965); Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88
S. Ct. 1620, 20 L.Ed.2d 476 (1968); Selinoces v. Allen, 397
US. 337, 90 S. Ct. 1057, 25 L.Ed.2d 353 (1970); and Nelson
vy. O'Neil, 402 U.S. 622, 91 S. Ct. 1723, 29 L.Ed2d 222
(1971).

This Court added by note in Bruton v. United States,
391 U. S. 123, 136, n. 12, ‘‘The reason for excluding this
evidence as an evidentiary matter also requires its ex-
clusion as a constitutional matter.’’

Whether the SIXTH AMENDMENT is waived from
the historical, functional or conceptional viewpoints, or
whether it is more or less than a collection of separate
rights, it is certainly more than Professor Wigmore’s
view of what the hearsay rule ought to be. If the found-
ing parents of our country had any purpose in mind by
the confrontation clause, other than the ratification of
the constitution, that purpose had to be to set minimum
standards for the quality of evidence that will suffice
to carry the constitutional burden of the prosecution to
prove the accused guilty beyond a reasonable doubt and
to a moral certainty. Those minimum standards were
not met here. Kenneth W. Graham, Jr., Criminal Law
Bulletin, Vol. 8, No. 2, p. 99.

There are no waiver questions here; no attempt was
made by the State to justify the absence of the witnesses
against petitioner; the absent witnesses against peti-
tioner were not co-conspirators; no evidence was offered
by the State of any good faith effort to obtain the pres-
ence of the witnesses against petitioner; and there was
no attempt to produce the best evidence available.

Petitioner’s conviction deprived her of the rights guar-
anteed to her by the Sixth Amendment to be confronted
by the witnesses against her,

Question Two: Is Mississippi’s Abortion Statute Uncon-
stitutionally Vague and Overbroad?

Mississippi’s abortion statute places no restrictions on,
nor qualifications for, and in no way attempts to explain
what is meant by a ‘‘duly licensed, practicing physician.’’
The statute does not answer whether an eye, ear, nose
and throat specialist, or a dentist, could perform an
abortion. In Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary, copy-
right 1960, at page 636, we find the following definition
of a physician:

**(1) A person skilled in physic or the art of heal-
ing; a doctor of medicine; often distinguished from a
surgeon.

‘“*(2) A healer or restorer; as, a physician of the
soul.”*

In the Webster’s New International Dictionary of the
English Language, page 1629, a physician is defined as:

**(1) A natural philosopher, an experimentalist in
physics; a person skilled in physic or the art of
healing; one duly authorized to treat diseases, espe-
cially by medicines; a doctor of medicine; often
distinguished from a surgeon.

“*(2) Hence, one who heals moral or spiritual disease
or infirmities, or the like; as, a physician of the
soul.

“*(3) A student of natural philosophy or physic.”

Black’s Law Dictionary, page 1304, defines physician as:
“‘A practitioner of medicine; a person duly author-
ized or licensed to treat disease; one legally engaged
in the practice of medicine, without reference to any
particular school.’’

Am. Jur. 41, Section 2, defines ‘‘Physicians and Sur-
geons”’ as:

anlliiue

‘*. . . The word ‘physician’ in its narrow sense means
one who is proficient in the art of healing by means
of application of physic or medicine to the patient.
In its broader sense it means any one who practices
the art of healing disease and preserving health, a
prescriber of remedies for sickness and disease .. .
Surgery, as a specialized branch of the art of healing,
is defined as being limited to manual operations, usu-
ally performed by surgical instruments or appliances
by a physician legally qualified and engaged therein.
The special or limited systems or schools of healing
and the practitioners of such systems or schools are
usually defined, both generally and by the statutes,
in terms descriptive of their methods, media or in-
strumentalities used by them to accomplish relief or
to cure the patient. To illustrate, osteopathy has been
defined in rather widely varying terms, but all of the
definitions agree in substance that it is the system of
treatment of certain parts and tissues of the body by
manipulation with the hands, without the use of medi-
cine, drugs, or surgery. The same rule applies to
chiropractic and optometry. A chiropodist is one who
treats disease or malformations of the hands or feet,
especially a surgeon for the feet, hands, or nails; a
cutter or extractor of corns and callouses. Naprapathy
is a drugless system of treating human ailments
by manipulations and is based on an underlying the-
ory that human ailments are due to a tightened or
shrunken condition of a ligament. A Christian Sci-
ence healer treats a disease solely by prayer. Electro-
therapy is defined as the use of different forms of elec-
tric machines for therapeutic purposes. A dentist is
one whose profession is to clean and extract teeth,
repair them when diseased, and replace them when
necessary by artificial ones . . . The question some-
times arises whether a dentist is a physician or sur-

=

geon, as these latter words are used in a statute. The
Courts are not in accord as to this answer .. .”

Petitioner submits that what a physician is, is most un-
clear. The statute fails to establish whether a chiroprac-
tor, Christian Scientist, or a veterinarian are physicians.

Paragraph 2 of the statute is unconstitutionally vague:

‘“‘No acts prohibited by Paragraph 1 hereof shall be
considered exempt under the provision of Sub-para-
graph (a) unless performed upon the prior advice in
writing of two (2) reputable, licensed physicians.”’

Petitioner submits that it is possible that an abortion
might be performed—a legal abortion—upon the advice of
a veterinarian, faith healer and then the actual abortion
being done by a chiropractor. Petitioner submits that if
this is true, then the statute as it now is is unconstitu-
tionally vague.

Petitioner believes that the law—and this includes all
the written statutes—should allude to the benefit of each
and every citizen. Petitioner believes that when the stat-
utes are written in such a fashion that it is impossible to
determine their meaning, so that the general public is
uninformed as to the law, they are unconstitutionally
vague, and should be struck down.

The statute fails to state what is meant by the phrase
“‘duly licensed’’. It is not clear under whose supervision
and under what standards one becomes **duly licensed’’
to perform an abortion.

The statute does not establish in what jurisdiction one
must be licensed. Doctors from other jurisdictions, due
to the statute’s vagueness, would be unable to determine
their standing.

The statute is not clear as to wha’ **practicing’’ physi-
cian means. Petitioner feels that practicing could mean

nifiiivs

any one making a business of healing, such as an intern,
a resident. Practicing may very well exclude research
doctors, retired doctors, and pathologists, since they do
not work with people.

Petitioner cannot ascertain what a ‘‘duly licensed”
physician is.

The statute fails to define what ‘‘when necessary for
the preservation of the mother’s life’’ means. Petitioner
submits that the only way possible to tell ‘whether an
abortion was necessary is to wait and see if the mother
dies; then, in such case, it would have been permissible
for the doctor to have performed an abortion. Petitioner
submits that no criteria exists, to determine the proba-
bility of death.

The next portion of the statute to be considered is part
(b), which reads ‘‘when pregnancy was caused by rape.”’
The statute fails to make a distinction between statutory
and forcible rape. Section 2358 of the Miss. Code of 1942
entitled ‘‘Rape—Carnal Knowledge of the Female Under
Twelve Years of Age, Or, Being Over Twelve, Against
Her Will,”’ reads as follows:

Every person who shall be convicted of rape, either by
carnally and unlawfully knowing a female child under
the age of 12 years, or by forcibly ravaging any fe-
male of the age of 12 years and upward, who shall
have been convicted of having carnal knowledge of
any female above the age of 12 years without her
consent, by administering to her any substance or
liquid which shall produce such a stupor or such im-
becility of mind or weakness of body as to prevent
a sexual resistance, shall suffer death, unless the jury
shall fix the imprisonment in the penitentiary for
life, as it may do in case of murder. In all cases
where the female is under the age of 12 years old,

—_—

it shall not be necessary to prove penetration of the
female’s private parts where it is shown the private
parts of the female have been lacerated or torn in an
attempt to have carnal knowledge of her.

Section 2359, entitled ‘‘Rape—Age of Consent—18
Years’’:

Any male person who shall have carnal knowledge of
an unmarried female person of previously chaste
character younger than himself, and over 12 and under
18 years of age, upon conviction, shall be punished,
either by a fine not exceeding $500.00, or by im-
prisonment in the County Jail not longer than six
months, or by both such fine and imprisonment, or by
imprisonment in the penetentiary not exceeding five
years; and such punishment, within such limitations,
shall be fixed by the Jury trying each case, or by the
Court upon the entry of the plea of ‘“guilty’’.

This means, then, that a young girl below the age of 18
(age of consent) is entitled to an abortion when she be-
comes pregnant. Petitioner feels that such a law could
be abused.

The statute fails to make clear whether the victim’s
statement ‘‘that she has been raped’’ is sufficient to jus-
tify an abortion, or whether a conviction would be neces-
sary. The statute fails to state the procedure, or to
whom, a rape must be reported, to justify an abortion.

Petitioner further submits that the statute is uncon-
stitutionally vague, and that a strict interpretation of this
statute would prevent many of the time-honored and well-
based medical practices now used in our hospitals; for
instance, induced labor. The statute reads:

Any person wilfully and knowingly causing, by means
of an instrument, medicine, drug, or other means
whatever, any woman pregnant with child to abort or

=

miscarry, attempt to procure, or produce an abortion
or miscarriage, shall be guilty .. .

Petitioner submits, then, that if labor is induced, and
if done without the prior advice, in writing, of two
reputable, licensed physicians, as set out in the statute,
and if the baby dies, then the doctor is an abortionist.
If the mother should die, he is a murderer. A doctor
should not have to take this chance.

Question Three: Does Mississippi's Abortion Law Con-
stitute an Arbitrary Invasion of the Right of a
Woman to Determine When to Bear Offspring, and
Does It Violate the Fundamental Right of a Woman
to Personal and Marital Privacy?

The Supreme Court has treated privacy as an essential
right, Boyd v. United States, 116 U. S. 616, 630 (1886).
As early as 1891, the court stated:

“No right is held more sacred, or is more carefully
guarded, by the common law, than the right of every
individual to the possession and control of his own
person, free from all restraint or interference of others
unless by clear and unquestionable authority of law.
As well said by Judge Cooley, ‘The right to one’s
person may be said to be a right of complete im-
munity: to be let alone.’ Union Pacific Ry. v. Bots-
ford, 141 U. S. 250, 251 (1891) (Emphasis added).”
See also, Mr. Justice Brandeis, dissenting in Olmstead v.
United States, 277 U.S. 438, at 478 (1928), (overruled by
Kats v. United States, 389 U. S. 347 (1967)).

Recent years have witnessed an increasing sphere of
personal activity protected from government interference.
There is no longer any doubt that privacy in the sphere
of marriage, family and sex constitutes a fundamental
right. Time and again the Supreme Court has acted to
preserve the freedom, integrity and privacy of the family.

ow 15 —

There is a constitutionally protected right to marry. Lov-
ing v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967). There is a constitu-
tionally protected right to direct the instruction of one’s
children. Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923); Pierce
v. Society of Sisters, 368 U.S. 510 (1925); Farrington v.
Tokushige, 273 U.S. 284 (1927). There is a constitutionally
protected right to control of the procreative function free
from unreasonable restriction from the state. Skinner v.
Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942).

In Griswold v. Connecticut, 388 U.S. 479 (1965), the
Court, in holding the Connecticut birth control laws un-
constitutional stated that the right to privacy, penumbral
to the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth and Ninth Amendments,
preserves from State interference the right to choose when
to procreate and when not to procreate. This right of
privacy is “no less important than any other right care-
fully and particularly reserved to the people” (at 785).
Most recently, in the case of Belous v. California, the
California Supreme Court stated:

“The fundamental right of the woman to choose
whether to bear children follows from the Supreme
Court’s and this Court’s repeated acknowledgment of
a ‘right to privacy’ or ‘liberty’ in matters related to
marriage, family, and sex.... That such a right is
not enumerated in... the U.S. . . . Constitution is no
impediment in the existence of the right.” 80 Cal.
Reporter 354 (1969).

A comparison of the anti-contraception law involved in
Griswold with the Mississippi Abortion Law, leads to the
conclusions that:

(1) Both statutes invade the intimate realm of marital
and personal privacy;

(2) Both statutes interfere with a couple’s freedom to
control the number and spacing of offspring;

= oe

(3) Both statutes prevent the physician from practic-
ing medicine and giving his best advice to his patients;
(4) Both statutes are in conflict with the solution to

one of the world’s most critical problems today, the
population explosion.

(5) Both statutes are largely unenforceable, neverthe-
less prosecution hangs like a cloud over the medical pro-
fession;

(6) Both statutes discriminate against the poor and un-
educated;

(7) Both statutes involve the imposition of a religious
principle on the entire society.

The essence of the personal freedom impaired by anti-
abortion and anti-contraception statutes is the right to
control the incidence of one’s children. It is not the
means of control, but the power to control which is signi-
ficant to the woman. The mere fact of fertilization should
not ipso facto and co instante abolish or limit the right
of the woman to decide whether to have a child. Under
the Constitution abortion may and should be considered
no more nor less than a back-up or last resort method of
birth control, at least in the first trimester.

The Mississippi Abortion Law attempts to abolish the
individual’s rights at the instant when an ovum is ferti-
lized. Up to that moment the couple has complete free-
dom of choice as to when, whether and how often they
shall produce children. But once fertilization occurs, their
choice ends and they may not—under criminal penalties—
choose not to have a child. Here then is a case of the
Government’s attempt to invade, even abolish—the consti-
tutional right to control the use of one’s own procreative
powers. A more egregious invasion of personal liberty
cannot be imagined.

— 17 —

The case of Griswold, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), involved the
Connecticut birth control law. Appellants, a Planned Par-
enthood League’s executive director and medical director
were convicted of giving information, instruction and
medical advice to married persons as to means of prevent-
ing conception. The Appellants gave information, instruc-
tion and medical advice to married persons as to the means
of preventing conception. They examined the wife and
prescribed the best contraceptive device or material for
her use. Fees were usually charged, although some
couples were serviced free. The statute assailed read as
follows:

‘‘Any person who uses any drug, medicinal article or
instrument for the purpose of preventing conception
shall be fined not less than fifty dollars,’’ ete.

Another section provided:

‘‘Any person who assists, abets, counsels, causes, hires
or commands another to commit any offense may be
prosecuted and punished as if he were the principal
offender. ’’

The appellants were found guilty as accessories and
appealed. The Supreme Court responded and ruled the
statute unconstitutional, and declared at p. 1680:

‘This law, however, operates directly on an intimi-
tate relation of husband and wife and their physici-
an’s roll in one aspect of that relation.’’

The court in Griswold recognizes a peripheral right
guaranteed by the Bill of Rights, namely, that it concerns
the relationship lying within the zone of privacy created
by several fundamental constitutional guarantees. The
court further expounded that involved here was a right
of privacy affecting the basic tenets of marriage, and by
the State of Connecticut for bidding the use of contra-
ceptives there was an invasion of that right of privacy

which could not be countenanced constitutionally. Gris.
wold, as it relates to the instant case, has parallel con-
notations because the prohibition against an abortion, at
least in the early stage of one’s pregnancy when the em-
bryo or the fetus is mere protoplasm and a non-entity, is

no more offensive than planned parenthood, or the con-
sed of poceneation ty ho tagution of cuntenseptive pill
or the use of contraceptive devices. What is basically
involved in this concentrated fact category is the right of
the woman at least in the early stages of her pregnancy
to choose whether or not to bear offspring. This is a fun-
damental right that she possesses since her own body is
involved; since she should have the right to determine
whether or not to have a child at said stage; whether her
health, her mental wellbeing would be affected by having
a child; whether her financial situation warrants her bear-
ing a child; whether or not she should be subjected to the
emotional trauma of bearing and raising a child whose
conception was unwanted or at least is not appreciated.
The command by virtue of the Mississippi Abortion Law
that she must bear this child to fruition constitutes com-
pulsory pregnancy, and makes the woman a slave to her
own body, and a mere vessel for propagation. We con-
clude, therefore, that a woman in the early stages of her
pregnancy has as much right to abort as she has to pre-
vent conception by planned means of whatever kind she
chooses to employ.

This rationale dictated in part the result in the case of
People v. Belous, 458 P. 2d 194, 80 Cal. Rptr. 354 (1969),
wherein that court related:

‘“The fundamental right of the woman to choose
whether to bear children follows from the Supreme
Court’s and this court’s repeated acknowledgment of
a ‘right of privacy’ or ‘liberty’ in matters related to
marriage, family and sex.”’

= =

In Belous the fact situation involved a young unmar-
ried woman who first saw her family doctor who gave her
pills to abort which did not succeed. She then saw the

appointment with the doctor. The defendant then chan-
nelled her to another doctor, and stated that said doctor’s
price would be Five Hundred Dollars. The abortion was
performed by the second doctor. The second doctor impli-
cated the defendant as having sent him the case. The de-
fendant was charged with conspiracy under the California
abortion law. The California statute provided that any-
one who supplied or administered to any woman drugs or
substance, or used any instrument with intent to procure
the miscarriage of such woman, unless the same was nec-
essary to preserve her life, was punishable, etc.

In Belous the medical specialist involved in that case
contended that the statute was vague and indefinite and
not criminally enforceable because it was violative of the
due process clause of the Federal Constitution, and fur-
ther claimed that the vagueness and indefiniteness when
equated with the fundamental right of a woman to choose
whether or not to bear children, invalidated and per-
vaded the entire statute.

population, and 29.1 per one hundred thousand births,
and the court concluded that the critical issue is not

whether such right exists, but does the state have a com-
pelling interest in the regulation of a subject within the
police powers of a state, and also whether legislation im-
pinging on constitutionally protected areas is narrowly
drawn and not of unlimited and indiscriminate sweep.

The court in Belous recognized also that constitutional
concepts are not static, and that the statute which might
have been constitutional in one era might be constitution-
ally tainted in another period in the light of modern
medica] surgical practice. The court in Belous further con-
eluded that the state has no compelling interest in the
protection of the embyro and fetus.

However, basically the court did conclude in Belous,
which constitutes a landmark decision, that the funda-
mental right of a woman to life and to choose whether or
not to bear children cannot be subordinated to an at-
tempt to decipher the loose and vague language which
controlled that California enactment particularly the
legend, ‘‘necessary to preserve life.’’

The petitioner respectfully requests that the decision of
the Mississippi Supreme Court be reversed and, there
being no constitutionally admissible evidence to support
the conviction, that she be discharged.

Respectfully submitted

W. S. MOORE

514 Barnett Building
Jackson, Mississippi 39201

ROLAND C. LEWIS
218 South President Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39201
Counsel for Petitioner

A is

Eze.
Y»

sve

Rhee OR RE

-
ww

ERIM TE WNT

P ee)
Re wate Ap f,
tikes ek OL i

¥ =
$s
-.
4%
=
+
et
he
>
8
3
iss
os
ee
oe 4
=
4.)
=
Se

. Cle ee te P tas,
Soa da heatecas oy MaESa ey eee

ent al Ak
eal

—*

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

Monday, January 24, 1972, Court Sitting ::::::::
Lea Spears.

46 657

State.

This cause having been submitted at a former day of
this Term on the record herein from the Circuit Court
of Warren County and this Court having sufficiently ex-
amined and considered the same and being of the opinion
that there is no error therein doth order and adjudge
that the judgment of said Circuit Court rendered in this
cause on the 2ist day of July, 1971—a conviction of
ABORTION and a sentence to serve a term of FIVE
YEARS in the State Penitentiary—be and the same is
hereby affirmed. It is further ordered and adjudged that
the State of Mississippi do have and recover of and from
the appellant and J. W. Mullins and Mrs. V. R. Deaton,
sureties on the appeal bond herein, all of the costs of
this appeal to-be taxed for which let proper process issue.

MINUTE BOOK ‘‘BP’’, PAGE 494.

Monday, February 28, 1972, Court Sitting ::::::::

Lea Spears.
46 657 vs.

State.

This cause this day came on to be heard on the petition
for a rehearing filed herein and this Court having sufii-
ciently examined and considered the same and being of
the opinion that the same should be denied doth order
and adjudge that said petition be and the same is hereby
denied.

MINUTE BOOK “‘BP’’, PAGE 517.

—_Y

APPENDIX C

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI
Monday, March 6, 1972, Court Sitting ::::::::

Lea Spears.
46 657 vs.
State of Mississippi.

ORDERED Lea Spears is granted bail pending the
filing of a petition for a Writ of Certiorari in the Supreme
Court of the United States and a ruling on said petition
by said Court provided she files the petition for a writ
of certiorari within ninety days of January 24, 1972,
bond in the sum of $30,000.00 already having been posted
with the Clerk of this Court under date of January 27,
1972,

MINUTE BOOK “BP”, PAGE 597.

APPENDIX D

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

NO. 45,961

LEA SPEARS,
V.
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

PATTERSON, JUSTICE:
Mississippi Constitution, Article 3, Bill of Rights, sec-
tion 26 (1890) provides in part as follows:
In all criminal prosecutions the accused shall have
a right to be heard by himself or counsel, or both, to
demand the nature and cause of the accusation, to be
confronted by the witnesses against him, to have com-
pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor,
and, in all prosecutions by indictments or information,
a speedy and public trial by an impartial jury of the
county where the offense was committed. .. . (Em-
phasis added.)

The appellant was tried and convicted of the crime of
abortion in the Circuit Court of Warren County. One of
the essentials of the crime is pregnancy.

During the course of the trial two doctors introduced
as witnesses for the State were permitted to testify that
the State’s prosecuting witness was pregnant. One of
the doctors stated that his opinion of pregnancy was based
solely upon the laboratory report of his technician; that
he had not examined the State witness. The other doctor
also testified from a laboratory report made by a labora-
tory technician though he had on one occasion, in an emer-

7

COPY BOUND CLOSE IN CENTER

*

so

gency situation subsequent to the alleged abortion, per-
sonally examined the State witness.

The laboratory technicians were not offered as wit-
nesses. The doctors’ testimony, though sworn, was merely
a reiteration of that which had been related to them by
unsworn witnesses. This was hearsay evidence [Dennis
v. Prisock, 221 So.2d 706 (Miss. 1969); Hill v. Stewart,
209 So.2d 809 (Miss. 1968); City of Laurel v. Upton, 253
Miss. 380, 175 So.2d 621 (1965); and Wild v. Bass, 252
Miss. 615, 173 So.2d 647 (1965)] which denied the defend-
ant the basic and fundamentai right to be confronted
by the witnesses against her as well as the right of cross-
examination. This was error of major proportion, requir-
iu the case to be reversed and prompting the statement
that it is more the duty of the State’s prosecutor to safe-
guard the constitutional rights of a defendant than to seek
conviction without them.

We find no merit in the other assignments of error.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

. ETHRIDGE, C.J., AND RODGERS, JONES,
BRADY, INZER AND SMITH, JJ., CONCUR.
ROBERTSON, J., AND GILLESPIE, P. J.,
DISSENT.

ROBERTSON, JUSTICE, DISSENTING:

I respectfully dissent. If admitting the testimony of
Dr. William P. Featherston, an acknowledged expert and
specialist in the field of pathology, and also a co-owner
of the Bratley-Featherston Medical Laboratory, was error,
then in my opinion it was harmless error.

The State’s prosecution witness was a nineteen-year
old young lady. It was she who became pregnant and it
was she on whom the abortion was performed. She was the
accuser. The defendant was confronted with her accuser

eaiiniass

and the accuser was subjected to a es and rather
cruel cross-examination.

The accuser testified in detail as to how she knew she
was pregnant. There was no doubt in her mind that she
was pregnant, and there was no doubt in the mind of the
defendant who performed the abortion and was paid
$150.00 cash for performing it.

The testimony of Dr. William P. Featherston and Dr.
Calvin Hull was pure surplusage. Pregnancy had already
been proved by the testimony of the victim herself. The
State’s evidence, exclusive of the doctors’ testimony, met
the burden on the question of pregnancy. The defense of
the appellant was that she did not know, had not seen,
and had nothing whatsoever to do with the prosecuting
witness, The defense was not based in any way on whether
or not the prosecuting witness was pregnant.

I would call attention to the fact that Dr. Featherston
had at the trial his official office file specifically labeled
with the name of the prosecution witness alone. He re-
ferred to it in his testimony and never did appellant ask
to see the file and its contents. Dr. Featherston testified
that the pregnancy test was made in his office, by a trusted
employee, under his supervision and control.

Ordinarily, Bratley-Featherston Medical Laboratory
never sees the patients. Specimens and samples are for-
warded to them from all over the state by the patient’s
own doctor, and the written report is sent to that doctor.
It just so happened in this case that the patient went
directly to the Medical Laboratory.

With reference to official business records this Court
as far back as 1908 in the case of Grenada Cotton Gom-

press Company v. William Atkinson, 94 Miss. 93, 47 So.
644 (1908), had this to say:

Pe Faas C|h 41a Ft eee tk eS SSeS

— a

‘We give our approval to the admirable statement
of the modern rule contained in Wigmore on Evi-
dence, § 1530. It is there said: ‘The conclusion is,
then, that where an entry is made by one person in
the regular course of business, recording an oral or
written report, made to him by one or more other
persons in the regular course of business, of a trans-
action lying in the personal knowledge of the latter,
there is no objection to receiving that entry under
the present exception, provided the practical incon-
venience of producing on the stand the numerous per-
sons thus concerned would in the particular case out-
weigh the probable utility of doing so. Why should
not this conclusion be accepted by the courts? Such
entries are dealt with in that way in the most im-
portant undertakings of mercantile and industrial life.
The are the ultimate basis of calculation, investment,
and general confidence in every business enterprise;
nor does the practical impossibility of obtaining con-
Stantly and permanently the verification of every
employee affect the trust that is given to such books.
It would seem that expedients which the entire com-
mercial world recognize as safe should be sanctioned,
and not discredited, by courts of justice. When it is
a mere question of whether provisional confidence can
be placed in a certain class of statements, there can-
not profitably and sensibly be one rule for the busi-
ness world and another for the courtroom. The mer-
chant and the manufacturer must not be turned away
remediless because methods in which the entire com-
munity places a just confidence are a little difficult
to reconcile with technical judicial scruples on the
part of the same persons who, as attorneys, have al-
ready employed and relied upon the same methods.
In short, courts must here cease to be pedantic and
endeavor to be practical.’’’ 94 Miss. at 100-101, 47
So. at 646.

_

In holding that hospital records were properly admitted
into evidence in the case of City of Bay St. Louis v. Huey
P. Johnston, 222 So. 2d 841 (Miss., 1969), we quoted with
approval from 6 Wigmore, Evidence (3rd ed. 1940),
§ 1707, p. 36, the following:

*‘The medical records of patients at a hospital,
organized on the usual modern plan, deserve to be
placed under the present principle. They should be
admissible, either on identification of the original
by the keeper, or an offer of a certified or sworn
copy. There is a Necessity (ante, § 1421); the call-
ing of all the individual attendant physicians and
nurses who have cooperated to make the record even
of a single patient would be a serious interference
with convenience of hospital management. There is
a Circumstantial Guarantee of Trustworthiness (ante
§ 1422); for the records are made and relied upon in
affairs of life and death. Moreover, amidst the day-
to-day details of scores of hospital cases, the
physicians and nurses can ordinarily recall from ac-
tual memory few or none of the specific data entered;
they themselves rely upon the record of their own
action; hence to call them to the stand would ordi-
narily add little or nothing to the information fur-
nished by the record alone . . .’’ 222 So.2d at 844.

We very plainly state in Rule 11, Rules of the Supreme
Court of Mississippi:

“No judgment shall be reversed on the ground of
misdirection to the jury, or the improper admission or
exclusion of evidence, or for error as to the matter of
pleading or procedure, unless it shall affirmatively ap-
pear, from the whole record, that such judgment has
resulted in a miscarriage of justice.’’ (Emphasis
added.)

—A9—

Inferentially this Rule is stating that trial judges have
wide latitude in the admission or exclusion of evidence,
and this is as it should be. They are there on the ground,
and can observe the jury in the box and the witness on
the stand.

Rather than it affirmatively appearing from the whole
record that the judgment has resulted in a miscarriage of
justice, it very clearly appears from the whole record in
this case that the decision of the jury and the trial judge
was just and correct and about the only decision that a
jury of reasonable people could reach.

I would have affirmed the judgment of the jury and
the trial court under our harmless error rule.

GILLESPIE, P. J., JOINS IN THIS DISSENT.

tion and a sentence to 10 years in the State Penitentiary—
be and the same is hereby reversed and remanded It is
further ordered and adjudged that the County of Warren
do pay the costs of this appeal to be taxed.

MINUTE BOOK “BP”, PAGE 214

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1556%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
