# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Louisville & Nashville Railroad v. Rodes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1134%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 893

## Text

$1-1680 Sion: teint

aa JUN 23 1g72

SUPREME GOURT OF THE UNITED)SHAZES ou. cue

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

No. 71

In the Matter of TENNESSEE CENTRAL RAILWAY COMPANY, Debtor.
LOUISVILLE AND NASHVILLE RAILROAD COMPANY, ILLINOIS
CENTRAL RAILROAD COMPANY, SOUTHERN RAILWAY

COMPANY, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
A. BATTLE RODES, Trustee of Tennessee Central Railway
Company, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

K. HARLAN DODSON
HOOKER, KEEBLE, DODSON & HARRIS
900 Nashville Trust Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37201

WILLIAM F. BUNN
135 East Eleventh Place
Chicago, Illinois 60605

DUNCAN B. PHILLIPS
P. O. Box 1808
Washington, D.C. 20013

CHARLES A. HORSKY
888 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Louisville and Nashville
Railroad Company, Illinois Ceniral
Railroad Company, Southern Rail-
way Company, and Eleven Other
Petitioners
Of Counsel

PHILIP M. LANIER
P. O. Box 1198
Louisville, Kentucky 40201

DAVID M. KEEBLE
900 Nashville Trust Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37201

St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 411-15 N. Eighth St. 63101 314-281-4477

INDEX
Page
EE Coe Shh avn neeh cenedenswstuws taelwsia a 1
ea ecg seu w Nan wie aden oo ee Ss 60% 2
SE ES a PT 2
ee i idvh sek wakteeeneesieabees ane 3
Statement of the case ............ eee tT ante 4
Reasons for granting the writ ..............0.eee0e- 8
Appendix:
A. The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the
etic ced ah mene pee komen 6 Keene A-1
B. Dissenting Opinion of Judge Paul Weick ...... A-16
C. The Opinion of the District Court ............. A-21
D. The Judgment of the District Court ........... 47
E. The Order denying the Petition for Rehearing .. 53
F. The relevant sections of 77 of the National Bank-
ruptey Act (11 U.S.C., §205) .................. 54
G. B.S., $3466 (31 U.S.C. 191) .............cccceee 56
Es ce vnbepeieWdbdstsebesedwee es 57
I. The relevant sections of Reorganization Plan No.
1 of 1957, 22 F.R., §4633, 71 Stat. 647 .......... 58
J. Relevant section of §77 (1933), 47 Stat. 1474 ... 60
Cases Cited
Mellon v. Michigan Trust Co., 271 U.S. 236 .......... 15
Southern Railway v. Flournoy, 301 F. 2d 847 (4th
i hvka ci ebinds ke Rides one eed s0elende sss se 5
United States v. Emery, 314 U.S. 423 ............... 13
United States v. Guaranty Trust Co., 280 U.S. 478 ... 15
United States v. Key, 397 U.S. 322 .............. 11, 13, 14

ae MSE OAT PRY ARES NV RAR eA RRC RTD ag range

Statutes Cited
es oe 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14
ER i eg a a 2, 3, 8,9, 10
PENN oo ye in ae 2
OR BR ita enero rae 2,3, 7,9
REET een Acer Eee 12

Pub. L. 89-554, §8(a) (Schedule of Laws Repealed),
Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 378 (Recodification of Titles) 2

Reorganization Plan No. 1, 1957, June 30, 1957, 22
es Gy CE MU ov cdenccscescenewscsvccces 2, 3,8

ae

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

No. 71

In the Matter of TENNESSEE CENTRAL RAILWAY COMPANY, Debtor.
LOUISVILLE AND NASHVILLE RAILROAD COMPANY, ILLINOIS
CENTRAL RAILROAD COMPANY, SOUTHERN RAILWAY
COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

A. BATTLE RODES, Trustee of Tennessee Central Railway
Company, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

OPINIONS BELCW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals and the opinion of
Judge Paul C. Weick dissenting from the denial of re-
hearing are not yet officially reported, but are set out in
the Appendix to this petition at pages A-1-A-20.1 The
opinion of the District Court is set out in the Appendix at
page A-21, and is reported at 316 F.Supp. 1103. The judg-
ment of the District Court is set out in the Appendix at
page A-47.

1 The opinion of Judges Edwards ard Peck, two members of
the original panel assigned to this case, was filed February 2,
1972. The third member of said original panel, Judge Henry
L. Brooks, died while the case was under consideration, on
December 30, 1971. On the petitions to rehear, Judge Paul C.
Weick was appointed to fill out the panel,

aa .
a NIGP Ha AE RY RMR we Ae Sr ng a

ae hag AIH AGES S a eS

~

JURISDICTION

The opinion and order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit was entered on February
2, 1972 (Appendix, pp. A-1-A-15); a timely petition for re-
hearing, was denied on April 4, 1972 (Appendix, p. A-53).
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the repeal, in the Reorganization Act of 1966?
(nine years after the abolition of the RFC,’ and nine years
after the transfer of RFC notes to the Secretary of the
Treasury), of 15 U.S.C., § 603, which expressly denied gov-
ernmental priority under 4 3466 to RFC loans of the type
herein involved, suddenly endow such RFC notes with a
priority status nonexistent over the years.

2. In any event, is § 3466 (31 U.S.C. $191) applicable
to railroad reorganization proceedings under 477 of the
Bankruptcy Act?

3. A third question was pretermitied by the majority
opinion of the Court of Appeals ;*

Are claims of connecting carriers for interline charges,
accruing within six months before institution of reorgan-
ization proceedings under § 77, accorded priority in such
proceedings, ahead of mortgagee claims, irrespective of
whether or not there was diversion of current income?

2 Pub. L. 89-554, § 8(a) (Schedule of Laws repealed), Sept. 6,
1966, 80 Stat. 378; (Recodification of Title 5).

8 Reorganization Plan No. 1, 1957, June 30, 1957, 22 F.R.
4633, 71 Stat. 647.

4 The District Court held in petitioners’ favor on this ques-
tion and Judge Weick, in his dissenting opinion, concurred.

men tet FSG BLS

=

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant sections of § 77 of the National Bankruptcy
Act (11 U.S.C. § 205), (App. A-54); § 3466 (31 U.S.C.
§191), (App. A-56); 15 U.S.C. § 603, (App. A-57); the rele-
vant sections of Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1957, effec-
tive June 30, 1957, 22 F.R. 4633, 71 Stat. 647, (App. A-58,
59); relevant portion of original § 77 (1933), 47 Stat. 1474,
(App. A-60); are set forth in the appendix as indicated.

ae NOGA ALINE MNS IRENE RRP RESTS HONS IONS

4
us

= 7

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 14, 1967 the Tennessee Central Railway
Company filed a petition for reorganization under
§77 of the Bankruptcy Act, thus invoking the juris-
diction of the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Tennessee, Nashville Division. On
September 22, 1969 the Trustee of the Debtor petitioned
the District Court to determine, inter alia, the order of
priority of various claimants. After a hearing, the court
concluded that Petitioners herein, claiming recovery for
interline balances® accruing within six months before the
filing of the petition for reorganization, had priority over
a claim asserted by the United States arising out of a loan
to the Debtor by the Reconstruction Finance Corporation
(RFC). The circumstances, in more detail, are not in dis-
pute, and may be summarized as follows:*

On April 1, 1937, the RFC loaned the Tennessee Central
Railway Company $5 million, the loan being secured by
$5.5 million face amount of First Mortgage bonds of the
railroad company. In 1953 the Tennessee Central, in-
duced by promises from the Tennessee Valley Authority
(TVA) of substantial coal purchases from certain coal
fields in Putnam County, Tennessee, with the aid of fur-
ther loans from the RFC totaling $2,148,900, bought sub-
stantial additional rolling stock and constructed an ex-
pensive line of track in Putnam County. A few months
after these expenditures the TVA discontinued its coal
purchases.

5 Two of petitioners, with relatively small claims, are car
rental companies.

6 At the hearing before the trial court, at the Court’s sug-
gestion and by agreement, in lieu of presenting witnesses, af-
fidavits of witnesses were filed by claimants and by the Gov-
ernment, said affidavits to be treated as testimony (Joint App.,
hereinafter referred to as J.A., pp. 20-21),

, 2 a
gi ITS Gy) SA

7"
—

In January 1967 the Government agreed to extend the
due date of its loans to December 31, 1967. At the time
this extension agreement was reached, the Government
was bound to have had full knowledge of the very pre-
ca..ous financial condition of the Tennessee Central. For
the year 1966, the Tennessee Central had an operating
deficit of approximately $1.2 million, and it experienced
equally alarming deficits for the years preceding 1966.

In July and August of 1967, an official of the Tennessee
Central contacted the Illinois Central, the Southern Rail-
way, and the Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company’
for the purpose of inducing those railroads not to draw
a draft on the Tennessee Central for interline balances
due said railroads and not to put the Tennessee Central
on a prepaid basis. At that time the Tennessee Central
had hopes of some financial rearrangement that would
permit continued operations without the necessity of re-
organization or liquidation in bankruptcy. At these talks
there was recognition of the priority rights of the rail-
roads’ claims for interline charges accruing within six
months prior to filing a bankruptcy or reorganization
petition, pursuant to the so-called ‘‘Six Months Rule’’
(J.A. pp. 254/262). Representatives of some of the con-
necting carriers testified that such carriers did not put
the Tennessee Central on a ‘‘prepaid’’ or ‘‘cash’’ basis
until it became known that Tennessee Central was going
to file in bankruptcy, because of their reliance on the
principle announced in the case of Southern Railway v.
Flournoy, 301 F. 2d 847 (4th Cir. 1962), and other similar
decisions holding that claims of carriers in a reorganiza-
tion proceedings are entitled to priority with respect to
interline freight items and similar charges accruing dur-
ing the six months preceding the filing of a petition for
reorganization of a railroad (J.A. pp. 254/262).

7 The claims of these railroads were the largest interline bal-
ance claims and constitute the bulk of such claims in these pro-
ceedings

Dita: sccarvcrseenvenenresmecremmmmamence mes

—_

All hope of refinancing fell through, and by late fall
of 1967 bankruptcy was inevitable. The petition under
§ 77 and an order approving the petition were both en-
tered December 14, 1967. The reorganization has resulted
in the sale of the Debtor’s rail lines to three connecting
carriers with no substantial interruption of rail services
(See 304 F. Supp. 289 (M.D. Tenn. 1969), with a total
realization of approximately $3 million (J.A. pp. 4 and
17)).

As of March 24, 1972, the Government’s claim on the
RFC notes was $5,200,449.23 (J.A. p. 384)—far in excess
of assets in the hands of the Trustee. If the priority
asserted by the United States is sustained, Petitioners will
receive nothing on interline balance claims totaling ap-
proximately $900,000.§

The District Court (William E. Miller, Circuit Judge,
sitting by designation), held that Petitioners and certain
other claimants were entitled to priority under the ‘‘Six
Months Rule’’, stating:

‘‘Operating on a ‘pre-paid’ basis requires a greater
degree of liquidity than financing on the ‘collect’
basis.

e e o s o eo s

“*It is clear that the Tennessee Central would have
been placed in serious financial difficulties if all ship-
ments which it handled were placed on a ‘pre-paid’
basis by other carriers’’ (App. A-28).

8 The character and importance of interline balances are
particularly demonstrated in the Tennessee Central proceedings.
For example, the T.C., being a very short line railroad, picked
up many shipments to Chicago and beyond which it carried
only a few miles and interchanged such shipments to the L&N
or the Illinois Central. The T.C. collected the full freight tariff,
even though it earned only a small fraction thereof, the balance
being owed the connecting carrier.

—_ wo

‘‘The equities in this case favor the priority of the
carriers. Their extension of credit preserved the
corpus of the mortgaged railroad by maintaining it
as a ‘going concern’ and at the same time enabling
the area formerly served by the Tennessee Central to

- enjoy continued rail service, thereby carrying out
the expressed purposes of the railroad reorganization
section of the National Bankruptcy Act’’ (App. A-35).

The Trial Judge also held that 4 3466 (31 U.S.C. § 191)
was inapplicable to a railroad reorganization proceedings
under § 77 of the Bankruptcy Act.

On appeal the decision was reversed. The Court of Ap-
peals did not reach the issue as to the Six Months rule
priority asserted by Petitioners, holding rather that §
3466 was applicable and that a decision on any other
priorities was therefore unnecessary. A timely petition
for rehearing was denied.

PLT IAEA TTI | AEE SORES ARES TTS,

~~

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The claims by Petitioners herein were denied by the
court below by assigning a greater priority to the claim
asserted by the United States under R.S. 3466. In so do-
ing, the court has decided an issue of general importance
in &@ way which is clearly contrary to the intention of
Congress in two respects: (1) it permits a priority under
§ 3466 to debts arising from loans made by the Recon-
struction Finance Corporation, which were expressly de-
nied such priority by the Congress; and (2) it applies
§ 3466 in a §77 reorganization, again contrary to Con-
gressional intent. We deal with the two points in that
order.

I

It is not in dispute that in Section 603 of Title 15,
U.S.C., the Congress provided that ‘‘Debts due the (Re
construction Finance) Corporation, whether heretofore or
hereafter arising, shall not be entitled to the priority
available to the United States pursuant to 4 191 of Title
31 (B.S. 3466)’ with exceptions not here relevant. The
United States argues, however, that since the Reconstruc-
tion Finance Corporation was abolished by Reorganization
Plan 1 of 1957 (22 F.R. 4633, 71 Stat. 647), and the RFC
loan transferred to the Secretary of the Treasury, and
since in the recodification of Title 5 of the United States
Code in 1966, § 603 was repealed, the loan is now one to
which § 3466 applies. Such was the view of the court
below.

The argument is subject to at least two fatal flaws.
First, the Reorganization Plan itself provided (Section
2(d)) that the Secretary of the Treasury as transferee
from the RFC was vested only with the same “powers,
authority, rights and immunities now vested in or avail-

~ =

able to the corporation ...’’. In 1957, when the transfer
occurred, it is undeniable that the loan to Temnessee Cen-
tral carried no § 3466 priority; that was explicit in § 603.
The subsequent repeal of § 603 is immaterial; the Secre-
tary of the Treasury received only whatever rights were
“now vested”’ in the RFC itself. To allow the loan a §
3466 priority now is obviously to contravene the conditions
of the transfer.

Second, it is abundantly clear that Congress did not
intend, by the recodification of Title 5, in which 4603 was
repealed, to change pre-existing priorities of RFC loans.
In the report of the House Judiciary Committee on the
bill (H.R. Rep. No. 901, 89th Cong., 1st Sess.), the in-
tention not to make substantive changes in the law is
made express (p. 1):

‘*The purpose of this bill is to restate in compre-
hensive form, without substantive change, the statutes
in effect before July 1, 1965, that relate to Govern-
ment employees, the organization and powers of Fed-
eral agencies generally, and administrative procedure,
and to enact Title 5 of the United States Code’’
(Italics supplied.)

And again (p. 3):

‘* Substantive changes not intended.—Like other re-
cent codifications undertaken as a part of the program
of the Committee . . . to enact into law all 50 titles
of the United States Code, there are no substantive
changes made by this bill enacting Title 5 into law.”’
(Italics supplied.)

The table of ‘‘Laws Omitted and Repealed’’ (Table II
to the Committee report, pp. 251-519), contains the fol-
lowing note with respect to § 603 (p. 390): ““Obsolete. Pro-
vided for powers of Reconstruction Finance Corporation,
including appointment and pay of employees.’’

= }f —

The Senate Committee report is to the same effect. §.
Rep. No. 1380, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., p. 534.

In the light of this history, it is plainly at odds with
Congressional intent to assert, as the United States must
do, that the repeal of 4603 works a drastic change in the
priorities attaching in this proceeding to the RFC loan.
No change in substantive law was intended, and none
was made because the Secretary of the Treasury received
from the RFC no more in the way of priority rights than
RFC had itself possessed. As the code revisors re-
ported, § 603 was obsolete, because it was no longer neces-
sary to define the nature of the RFC loans.

We submit that it is unreasonable to conclude that
Congress, by such action nine years after the abolition of
the RFC, intended to suddenly endow the United States
with a debt priority, with respect to the remaining uncol-
lected RFC notes, that the United States had not enjoyed
over the intervening years. To hold that Congress, by
abolishing the RFC, when its activities were reduced to
liquidating functions, and transferring those functions to
the Secretary of the Treasury, intended, in effect, to retro-
actively endow such loans with priority, is to clothe
Congress with an undeserved motive of duplicity.

Of course, it is not disputed that 15 U.S.C., § 603 was
removed from the statute books in the omnibus Reorganiza-
tion Act of 1966, nine years after abolition of the RFC and
the transfer of its functions to the Secretary of the
Treasury. The removal or repeal of that section is not
the issue. The important and determinative issue is: What
is the legal effect, under the circumstances, of such be-
lated removal of that section from the statute books? That
issue was not discussed at all in the majority opinion of
the Court of Appeals. The only discussion of that issue
was in Judge Weick’s dissenting opinion, which, in part,
reads:

—_—

ow fj

“Tt was not until nine years later that Congress
enacted the Omnibus Reorganization Act repealing
hundreds of obsolete statutes, only part of which re-
lated to the RFC. We are asked to infer therefrom
that Congress intended to restore priority of the
United States, thereby displacing the lien of existing
mortgage indebtedness of RFC, to the prejudice of
priority creditors. It is not believed that Congress in-
tended to do any such thing’’. (Appendix, p. A-17)

The issue is, of course, of importance beyond this case.
Here, the error of the court below awards the entire Ten-
nessee Central estate to the United States; petitioners’
claims for $900,000° are wiped out.

Further, moreover, the decision on this question sets an
important precedent as to governmental rights, inasmuch
as it will determine the Government’s rights with respect
to other non-defense RFC notes in the hands of the
Secretary of the Treasury and raises serious questions as
to the equity of attracting participation of private capital
by surrendering a statutory priority and subsequently,
many years later, reclaiming such priority to the prejudice
of non-governmental creditors.

Ii

The court below also erred, we believe, in holding that—
apart from the special situation of RFC loans—{ 3466 was
applicable in §77 proceedings. The issue is one of first
impression, and one of obvious importance in the ad-
ministration of 477. The District Court found § 3466 in-
applicable; the court below reversed, but with a vigorous
dissent by Judge Weick.

The court below felt compelled to its conclusion by the
decision of this Court in United States v. Key, 397 US.

® In addition other claims totalling approximately $300,000,
including tax claims of certain counties and municipalities, are
denied by the decision of the court below.

ee ————

a

_—

322, which held that 4 3466 applied with respect to a tax
claim by the United States in a Chapter X proceeding.
With due deference, there is a world of difference between
that case and the present one.

The purpose of 477 is to maintain in operation, so far
as possible, the existing rail transportation system. Such,
too, was the purpose of the RFC loans which were made to
many railroads during the difficult years following the en-
actment of $77. While Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act
also sought to preserve going commercial enterprises
which had fallen on bad times, it does not reflect the public
interest in the maintenance of an essential national facility
which is basic to § 77. This purpose is pro tanto frustrated
if the railroads’ ability to obtain credit from private
sources is impaired.

The Government has made or guaranteed large loans to
the railroad industry. The Treasury Department holds
loans against railroads, guaranteed by the Interstate Com-
merce Commission, which are in default (49 U.S.C. 1233),
in the amount of $73,987,000.1° The priority status of
such loans is vital to the railroad industry for at least
two reasons: (1) If such Government loans have priority
ahead of claims for interline balances under the “Six
Months Rule”,:connecting carriers may be compelled, for
their own protection, to place a debtor rail carrier which
is a beneficiary of such a Government loan, and which is
experiencing a cash shortage, on a “prepaid” status. In
some circumstances, as recognized by the Trial Court, this
could ‘place the debtor road “in serious financial diffi-
culties.” (2) As stated above, such Governmental priority
will seriously impair the railroad’s ability to obtain credit
from private sources.

10 Annual report of the Secretary of Treasury for fiscal year
ending June 30, 1971, Statistical Appendix, p. 316.

=

We do not dispute the broad sweep of the language of
§ 3466, nor the teachings of United States v. Emery, 314
US. 423, that it is to be construed liberally and applied
except where a later status is plainly inconsistent with it.
Notwithstanding, we believe that it is not intended to apply
in §77 cases. In $77 (11 U.S.C. § 205(b}) Congress has
provided:

“For all purposes of this section unsecured claims,
which would have been entitled to priority if a re-
ceiver in equity of the property of the debtor had been
appointed by a Federal court on the day of the ap-
proval of the petition, shall be entitled to such priority
and the holders of such claims shall be treated as a
separate class or classes of creditors.” (Emphasis
supplied).

The District Court’s holding that § 3466 was inappli-
cable to § 77 proceedings was based on the above quoted
provision. Chapter X has no similar provision. And un-
der this section, which is the only section of § 77 dealing
with priorities, the limitation is clear—priority is awarded
only to unsecured claims which would have had priority
in an equity receivership. The claim of the United States
in this case is a secured claim, and to give such a claim
priority over the unsecured claims of petitioners, which
would have had priority in an equity receivership, is di-
rectly in conflict with the language of 4 77(b).

As Judge Weick pointed out in his dissenting opinion,
the majority opinion of the Court of Appeals ‘‘is based
entirely on dicta in United States v. Key, 397 US. p.
322.’’ However, such reliance of the lower court was
erroneous because the dictum in the Key case indicating
that 4 3466 is applicable to § 77 proceedings relates to
the original 1933 version of the Railroad Reorganization
Act referred to by this court as the precursor of Chapter
X. Section 77 was drastically amended and rewritten in
1935 (49 Stat. 911; 11 U.S.C, 205).

ca RTS TSS Peer eE eR ey

ee eee

The Supreme Court in the Key case quoted § 77(e),
as follows:

‘**If the United States of America is directly a
creditor or stockholder, the Secretary of the Treasury
is hereby authorized to accept or reject a plan in
respect of the interests or claims of the United
States.’ 47 Stat. 14787’.

That provision was in the earlier version of § 77, but
that provision is not in the rewritten § 77 (1935).

The Trial Court’s holding that § 3466 was inconsistent
with and inapplicable to the present revised § 77, relied
upon and quoted 11 U.S.C. 205(b), quoted hereinabove,
which is not contained in the original (1933) version of
§ 7741

It is submitted, therefore, that the comments in the
Key case, relating to the 1933 Railroad Reorganization
Act and not the existing 1935 Act, does not constitute
dictum of the Supreme Court applicable to the case
sub judice. Judge Weick in his dissenting opinion said:
‘‘There is nothing in the court’s opinion (opinion in the
Key case) to indicate that it considered amended § 77”
(Brackets added).

It is respectfully submitted that the majority opinion
of the Court below erroneously construed the dictum in
the Key case as applicable to the existing (1935) version
of § 77, and that without a clarification by this Court of
the meaning of its dictum, the opinion of the court below
may lead other lower courts to compound that error and
make erroneous rulings as to the applicability of 4 3466
to § 77 proceedings—a most important question to the
railroad industry.

11 The somewhat analogous provision of the 1933 version of
§77 omitted the word “unsecured.” 47 Stat. 1474, Section (c),
App. p. 60.

—

—

Moreover, as the dissenting judge below pointed out,
the RFC Act itself evidenced an intention by Congress
that 4 3466 was not to apply. That Act created other and
specific means by which to secure repayment of loans—
by obtaining a lien, as was done here. The situation is
closely analogous to that presented to the Court by the
claim for § 3466 priority made by the United States for
advances to railroads during and shortly after Federal
control. The Court concluded that Congress had not in-
tended 4 3466 to apply, since it had provided other means
of securing the Government’s advances. United States
v. Guaranty Trust Co., 280 U.S. 478. And see, to the same
effect, Mellon v. Michigan Trust Co., 271 U.S. 236.

Judge Weick in his dissenting opinion stated:

‘‘In my opinion, to grant the United States priority
would conflict witi: two decisions of the Supreme
Court which held that claims of the Government for
money loaned to railroads during federal control,
were not entitled to priority. United States v. Guar-
anty Trust Co., 280 U.S. 478 (1930), and Mellon v.
Michigan Trust Co., 271 U.S. 236 (1926).”’

Ii

As stated hereinabove, the court below pretermitted
the question as to the rights of connecting carriers to a
priority for interline balances under the so-called ‘‘Six
Months Rule’’. The District Court and Judge Weick in
his dissenting opinion, having reached that question,
found very strong equities justifying and requiring such
priority. The challenge to this long existent priority prin-
ciple by a litigant with the standing and status of the
United States Government has caused deep concern in the
railroad industry.

It is presumed that if certiorari is granted and the
lower court reversed, that this third question will be
remanded to the Court of Appeals, but, if this Court

a So IRTP RGR EI ee

=

should elect to pass on this question that it will so indi-
cate and Petitioners will be afforded the opportunity to
fully brief such issue in its brief on the merits.

CONCLUSION

The petition for certiorari should be granted. If either
of the questions presented is resolved in favor of Peti-
tioners, it will be appropriate to remand the proceeding
to the court below to review the priority accorded Peti-
tioners by the District Court, since a review of the chal-
lenge to that priority became unnecessary when the de-
cision below in effect eliminated all claimants except the
United States.

om 1T om

Respectfully submitted

K. HARLAN DODSON
HOOKER, KEEBLE, DODSON &
HARRIS
900 Nashville Trust Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37201

WILLIAM F. BUNN
135 East Eleventh Place
Chicago, Illinois 60605
|

DUNCAN B. PHILLIPS
P. O. Box 1808
Washington, D. ©. 20013

CHARLES A. HORSKY
188 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Louisville and Nash-
ville Railroad Company, Illinois
Central Railroad Company,
Southern Railway Company, and
Eleven Other Petitioners

Of Counsel:
PHILIP M. LANIER
P. O. Box 1198
Louisville, Kentucky 40201
DAVID M. KEEBLE
900 Nashville Trust Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37201

a

APPENDIX A

No. 71-1228

United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit

In the Matter of: .
Tennessee Central Railway Com-
: Debtor,
a Appeal from the
United States of America, United States Dis-
Plaintiff-A ppellant, | trict Court for the
v. Middle District of

Tennessee.
A. Battle Rodes, Trustee of Ten-

nessee Central Railway Com-
pany, Defendant-Appellee. |

Decided and Filed February 2, 1972

Before: Edwards, Peck and Brooks,* Circuit Judges.

Edwards, Circuit Judge. This is an appeal from a judg-
ment entered in the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Tennessee. The issue is whether the
federal government has priority in a section 77 railroad
reorganization proceeding (11 U.S.C. 4205 (1970)) for
debts due it over the equitable priority accorded to ‘‘six
months claimants.’’

The government claim is based upon a federal statute,
31 U.S.C. § 191 (1970) (B.S. § 3466), adopted in 1797 giv-
ing it priority as to debts due it in any bankruptcy pro-
ceeding. The contesting claimants assert equitable pri-

* Honorable Henry L. Brooks died on December 30, 1971,

=

ority because they furnished essentials to the bankrupt
for the last six months of its operation before its in-
solvency.

In a well reasoned opinion the District Judge held that
the Congressional purposes set forth in section 77 of the
Railroad Reorganization Acts were better served by giv-
ing precedence to the equitable priority of the six months
claimants. However, in United States v. Key, 397 US.
322 (1969) (a case not argued to the District Court), the
United States Supreme Court, acting unanimously, em-
phatically affirmed the federal priority accorded by § 3466
in a Chapter X case also concerning a corporate reor-
ganization, but one not involving a railroad. Although
the Supreme Court plainly did not have our exact issue
before it, there is a close analogy between the Key case
and this one. In addition, the Key opinion discussed sec-
tion 77 and commented, ‘‘ Nothing in § 77 casts any doubt
on the continued priority of the United States under
§ 3466.’ United States v. Key, supra, at 330.

The dictum just quoted, plus the strong analogy be-
tween the Key case and this case and the language of
§ 3466 itself all serve to convince us that we must reverse.

The Tennessee Central Railway Company was placed in
reorganization under section 77 of the National Bank-
ruptey Act on December 14, 1967, after several years of
operational losses. The Tennessee Central Railway Com-
pany has now ceased operations after selling all but a
very small portion of its lines to three connecting rail-
roads in 1968.

Appellees’ claims in this case are for interline charges
provided by three connecting railroads, taxes due to local
governments, and some diesel oil, wood and similar types
of supplies for TCR provided by various private corpora-
tions—all related to the six month period before the re-
organization proceedings. They totaled approximately $3
million.

-_-

—T =

The United States Government claims arise from two
Reconstruction Finance Corporation loans (never repaid)
upon which the United States was owed approximately
$5.5 million as of the time of reorganization. The prin-
cipal claim of the United States Government was secured
by liens upon the entire TCR bond issue which came due
April 1, 1967. If given full effect, the United States
claims would serve to wipe out any balance left in the
hands of the Trustee after sale of TCR’s assets to three
of the railroads which previously connected with it.

The District Court, before whom the Trustee had filed a
petition to determine classes of creditors and the priori-
ties to be assigned to each, held that 4 3466 was inapplica-
ble to a section 77 proceeding and that the interline car-
riers, suppliers and local taxing authorities were entitled
to priority over the claims of the United States.

The rationale which led to the District Court’s result
and that urged upon us by appellees may be summarized
thus:

1) There is a great public interest involved in the con-
tinuing operation of railroads—more so than in continued
operation of other private corporations.

2) Congress recognized this interest in the enactment of
section 77.

3) In addition, in a paragraph of section 77 (77(b)),
Congress referred to and sought to preserve aspects of
the equitable receivership which created the six months
ereditor priority rule.

We approach decision of this case with the fact in mind
that bankruptcy proceedings are among the topics specif-

ically couamitted to Congressional power by the Constitu-
tion of the United States. Article 1 § 8 of the Constitution

says in part:

—— PELE ID ESR ATES NTN ne pre pee Rint sea

_
ao A.4.

“‘The Congress shall have power . . .

. @ e

**To establish . . . uniform Laws on the subject of
Bankruptcies throughout the United States; .. .”

As we have noted, the fundamental statute which we
must construe in this case is B.S. § 3466 (31 U.S.C. § 191
(1970)) adopted in 1797. It provides:

‘“‘Whenever any person indebted to the United
States is insolvent, or whenever the estate of any de-
ceased debtor, in the hands of the executors or ad-
ministrators, is insufficient to pay all the debts due
from the deceased, the debts due to the United States
shall be first satisfied; and the priority established
shall extend as well to cases in which a debtor, not
having sufficient property to pay all his debts, makes
a voluntary assignment thereof, or in which the estate
and effects of an absconding, concealed, or absent
debtor are attached by process of law, as to cases in
which an act of bankruptcy is committed. RS.
§ 3466.’’

There can be no doubt that TCR, for purposes of this
statute, is ‘‘a person indebted to the United States [who]
is insolvent.’’ Equally plainly the $5.5 million which TCR
owed the United States is a ‘‘debt’’ within the meaning
of this statute.

By its plain language 4 3466 applies to this case. And
the language ‘‘the debts due to the United States shall be
first satisfied’ is unambiguous and mandatory.

Appellees, however, rely, as did the District Court, upon
section 77, passed in 1933, and more particularly on sec-
tion 77(b):

‘“‘For all purposes of this section unsecured claims,
which would have been entitled to priority if a re-
ceiver in equity of the property of the debtor had

—

ee

been appointed by a Federal court on the day of the
approval of the petition, shall be entitled to such
priority and the holders of such claims shall be treated
as a separate class or classes of creditors.’’ 11 U.S.C.
§ 205(b) (1970).

The difficulty with appellees’ argument is that section
77(b) contains no language arguably referring to or su-
perseding the effect of § 3466. The situation here is much
like that dealt with in United States v. Emory, 314 USS.
423 (1941), where the Supreme Court set down the rules
for interpreting § 3466:

‘*The applicability of § 3466 to this case is clear. The
section applies in terms to cases ‘[1] in which a debtor,
not having sufficient property to pay all his debts,
makes a voluntary assignment thereof, or [2] in which
the estate and effects of an absconding, concealed, or
absent debtor are attached by process of law, . . .[or]
[3] in which an act of bankruptcy is committed.’ This
case falls within the third category. It is agreed that
the St. James Distillery was insolvent ‘on or before
August 1936’ and that in response to a creditors’ pe-
tition a receiver was appointed to liquidate the corpo-
rate assets. The appointment of a receiver under such
circumstances is among the most common examples of
an ‘act of bankruptcy.’ Cf. ¢3(a) (4) of the Bank-
ruptey Act, U.S. C., Title 11, § 21(a) (4).

~ Just such proceedings as this, therefore, are gov-
~ erned by the plain command of § 3466 that ‘debts due
to the United States shall be first satisfied.’ The pur-
pose of this section is ‘to secure adequate public rev-
enues to sustain the public burden’ (United States v.
State Bank of North Carolina, 6 Pet. 29, 35), and it
is to be construed liberally in order to effectuate that
purpose (Bramwell v. U. S. Fidelity & Guaranty Co.,
269 U. S. 483, 487). Im view of this language, pur-

LURES RRR LER ERATE IN DRONE ING

—

pose, and rule of construction, the priority asserted
here by the United States appears to be securely es-
tablished.’’ United States v. Emory, supra at 426.

See also Small Business Administration v. McClellan, 364
U.S. 446 (1960). Both of these cases hold that only ‘‘the
plainest inconsistency’? would warrant an implied excep-
tion to § 3466.

The United States Supreme Court in its latest inter-
pretation of the application of § 3466 to a Chapter X
proceeding started with the Emory case:

“Thus, on the face of the statute, no inconsistency
arises from applying both § 3466 and 4 199 to Chapter
X proceedings, much les; the ‘plain inconsistency’
required if respondent is to prevail under the test of
United States v. Emory, supra. That in itself strongly
suggests that $3466 should apply here, and our ex-
amination of the background and legislative history
of $199 and of Chapter X generally does not reveal
a contrary intent on the part of Congress.

‘‘Before the reorganization legislation of the 1930’s,
the principal method of reorganizing corporations that
were unable to meet their debts was the equity re-
ceivership. This judge-made device was designed to
preserve the debtor business as a going concern by
cancelling claims against it, in return for which can-
cellation the claimants received debt or equity inter-
ests in a new corporation, which then acquired the
assets of the old corporation in a judicial sale. See
T. Finletter, The Law of Bankruptcy Reorganization
1-17 (1939). By 1926, it was established that § 3466
applied to give the United States an absolute priority
for payment of debts due it from insolvent corpora-
tions in equity receivership. Price v. United States,
269 U. S., at 502-503, and see Blair, The Priority of

_ —

the United States in Equity Receiverships, 39 Harv.
L. Rev. 1 (1925).

‘In 1933, Congress enacted 477 of the Bankruptcy
Act, 47 Stat. 1474, providing a statutory procedure
for the reorganization of railroads. Section 77, as
well as later corporate reorganization statutes dis-
eussed below, was designed to follow the general
format of the equity receivership. As one of the
early commentators on the federal statutes has noted,
‘{t]he principles of the equity receivership underlie
nearly every substantive provision of the [reorganiza-
tion acts].’ Finletter, supra, at 3. These statutes
were not, of course, mere codifications of the law
governing equity receiverships. They were designed
in part to correct abuses and inefficiencies that had
existed under the prior regime. Duparquet Co. v.
Evans, 297 U. S. 216, 218-219 (1936). However, the
problems of the equity receivership that led to the
legislative intervention did not include the Govern-
ment’s priority under § 3466, a relatively uncontro-
versial aspect of the receivership procedure.

‘‘Nothing in §77 casts any doubt on the continued
priority of the United States under § 3466. Indeed,
the only provision in the new statute affecting the
claims of the United States was § 77(e), which pro-
vided in pertinent part:

‘* «Tf the United States of America is directly
a creditor or stockholder, the Secretary of the
Treasury is hereby authorized to accept or re-
ject a plan in respect of the interests or claims of
the United States.’ 47 Stat. 1478.

The purpose of this provision was to overcome the
effect of two prior rulings of the Attorney General
that the Secretary of the Treasury lacked authority
to compromise claims of indebtedness owed to the

— PR I SLO MLE IE I LEELA YIM MEET ET OS SITAR Ct ea EEL SEAS aR

—*

=.

Government by the railroads, 33 Op. Atty. Gen. 423
(1923), 34 Op. Atty. Gen. 108 (1924).°

“8 See Senate Committee on the Judiciary, Criticisms and
Suggestions Relating to H. R. 14359 and S. 5551, Amending
the Bankruptcy Act 19-20, 72d Cong., 2d Sess. (Comm. Print.
1933).

‘*In 1934, Congress enacted § 77B of the Bankruptcy
Act, 48 Stat. 911, which provided a reorganization
scheme for corporations generally, closely modeled on
the railroad reorganization scheme of 477; §77B(e)
(1) granted the Secretary of the Treasury power to
compromise federal claims, in language almost identi-
cal with that of §77(e). 48 Stat. 918. There is no
language in the statute, and nothing in its history,
to suggest any intention to alter the established prior-
ity of the United States under § 3466.

‘In 1935, the Secretary of the Treasury called the
attention of Congress to the fact that the courts were
construing §77B(e)(1) to include the United States
among the general creditors in reorganization pro-
ceedings, so that plans disapproved by the Secretary
for failure to satisfy a federal claim could nevertheless
be confirmed if the necessary majority of general

+ ey creditors approved. S. Rep. No. 953, 74th Cong., 1st
Sess. (1935). The Secretary proposed an amendment,
which, after some weakening in the House, see S. Rep.
No. 1386, 74th Cong., 1st Sess. (1935), was adopted.

“® The Secretary had proposed that he be given a veto
over plans that failed to provide for ‘payment’ of any fed-
eral claim. See S. Rep. No. 953, supra. The House imposed
the ‘payment’ requirement only upon tax and customs claims,
possibly intending to leave the Government in the position of
a general creditor with respect to other claims, ‘see S. Rep.
No. 1386, supra, and this was the form in which the amend-
ment was adopted. Section 199 preserves this apparent dis-
tinction between tax and other claims, see text at n. 4, supra.
However the courts, relying on the strong presumption
against implied exceptions to § 3466, have not treated the
Government as a general creditor in its nontax claims, but

———!

so

rather have held that it has priority under § 3466. United
States v. Anderson, 334 F.2d 111 (C.A. 5th Cir. 1964); In re
Cherry Valley Homes, Inc., 255 F. 2d 706 (C.A. 3d Cir.
1958) ; Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Flynn, 175 F. 2d 761
(C. A. 2d Cir. 1949).

“If as appears from the present case, § 3466, if applicable,
may, in some instances, give the Government greater protec-
tion than § 199, it would be anomalous to deny that protec-
tion to Government tax claims while granting it to nontax
claims, since Congress clearly intended that tax claims should
have greater protection.

49 Stat. 966 (1935). In its relevant provisions, the
amendment was identical with present § 199, and the
1938 revisions which culminated in the replacement
of §77B by present Chapter X did not affect it.

‘Thus § 199 is derived from an enactment designed
to grant the Government the power to compromise its
claims against debtors, and an amendment designed
to ensure priority for federal claims over the claims
of general creditors. Nothing in this background
lends any support to respondent’s claim that the
draftsmen of Chapter X meant to provide an exception
to the operation of § 3466 for reorganization proceed-
ings under the new statute. Indeed the established
practice of applying § 3466 to equity receiverships,
the acknowledged predecessor of the Chapter X pro-
ceeding, combined with the failure to indicate in any
way an intent to alter that practice in the new stat-
utes, supports the conclusion that Congress affirma-
tively meant § 3466 to apply to statutory reorganiza-
tion.°

“10 The leading authorities agree that § 3466 applies to
Chapter X proceedings. Finletter, supra, at 388-393; 6A
Collier on Bankruptcy 269 n. 11 (14th ed. 1969).

‘‘As we noted at the outset, § 3466 must apply

according to its terms except where expressly super-
seded, or where excluded by a later enactment
‘plainly inconsistent’ with it. Here the statute literally
applies, and no plain inconsistency with the scheme of

ee CRITE NEE PELE LILLE ISIN EEO TRIED ISS

— A-10—

Chapter X appears. The terms of § 3466 are clearly
not satisfied by the reorganization plan here in ques-
|

tion, which provides payment in part to general
creditors and other nonpreferred claimants" before

“11 This case does not raise the question, never decided by
this Court, whether § 3466 grants the Government priority
over the prior specific liens of secured creditors. See United
States v. Gilbert Associates, 345 U. S. 361, 365-366 (1953)”
United States v. Emory, supra at 329-33. (Emphasis added.)
(Footnotes in quotation. )
satisfaction of the federal tax claim. Therefore the
judgment upholding the plan must be reversed, and
the case remanded to the Court of Appeals for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.”’’

The interpretative instructions of the Supreme Court
underlined above, as well as the dictum referring squarely
to section 77 proceedings, seem clearly to require the
application of § 3466 to the instant case.

The most difficult problems of statutory interpretation
pertaining to this issue, however, concern specific statu-
tory language establishing or dealing with priorities which

“may be argued to conflict with 4 3466. There is language
in some cases which says that § 3466 ‘‘does not apply
in bankruptcy’’ cases. United States v. First National
Bank & Trust of Fargo, 386 F.2d 646, 648 (8th Cir. 1968) ;
Adams v. O’Malley, 182 F.2d 925 (8th Cir. 1950); In Re
Taylor Craft Aviation Corp., 168 F.2d 808, 810 (6th Cir.
1948). Such language must be limited to the facts of the
issues decided in the cases. It is clear, for example, that
section 64(a) of the Bankruptcy Act does apply in con-
ventional bankruptcies and is clearly inconsistent withthe
absolute priority of § 3466. This, of course, might lead
to the conclusion that § 3466 was not applicable to con-
ventional bankruptcies (as stated by the courts above)
except for its possible incorporation as a fifth priority
under § 64(a) (5).

ww

When the Supreme Court in Davis v. Pringle, 268 U.S.
315 (1925), held that the United States was not ‘‘a per-
son’? within the meaning of 4 3466 and that hence 4 3466
was not incorporated into the fifth priority accorded by
§64(a)(5), Congress promptly amended §64(a)(5) to
make explicit its intention that § 3466 should apply. See
the Chandler Act, June 23; 1938, 52 Stat. 874, amending
64(a)(5) of the Bankruptcy Act.

—

It appears clear, however, that 4 64(a) does not apply
to the chapters of the National Bankruptcy Act which do
not deal with conventional bankruptcies, absent specific
reference thereto. See 11 U.S.C. § 502 (1970), which gen-
erally applies the provisions of Chapters I to VII in
Chapter X proceedings and then specifically excludes
§64(a) (11 U.S.C. §104 (1970)) and 11 U.S.C. § 1059
(1970) which specifically applies § 64(a) to Chapter XIII
proceedings. We conclude that Congress is thoroughly
familiar with § 64(a) (as well as § 3466) and if it had in-
tended it to apply to Chapter VIII dealing with railroad
reorganizations, it would have said so.

Another somewhat difficult argument may be made con-
cerning the following language included in Chapter VIII,
11 U.S.C. § 205(e) (1970):

‘‘Provided further, That if, in any reorganization
proceeding under this section, the United States is a
creditor on claims for taxes or customs duties
(whether or not the United States has any other in-
terest in, or claim against, the debtor, as creditor or
stockholder), no plan which does not provide for the
payment thereof shall be confirmed by the judge ex-
cept upon the acceptance, certified to the court, of a
lesser amount by the President of the United States
or the officer or agency designated by him pursuant
to the provisions of the preceding paragraph hereof :”’

Be iititeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ee net tee

ADEE COR RIG Ohm Hk SE NMI

a
—_—s

This provision, however, does no more than provide a very
stringent method for compromise of federal tax or cus-
toms claims and as we see the matter, cannot appropri-
ately be viewed as ‘‘plainly inconsistent’’ with the basic
priority established by § 3466. We note legislative his-
tory language which can be argued to the contrary of this
conclusion. Senate Rept. No. 1985, 74th Cong. 2d Sess.
(1936) ; H.R. Rep. No. 2926, 74th Cong. 2d Sess. 6 (1936),
In this regard, however, we find the actual language em-
ployed in the statute utterly inadequate to express any
exclusion of § 3466. Further, in United States v. Key,
397 U.S. 322 (1969), dealing with a similar argument
concerning similar language incorporated in Chapter X
§ 199, the Supreme Court said:

‘In approaching a claim of an implied exception to
§ 3466, we start with the principle, noted above, that
the statute must be given a liberal construction con-
sonant with the public policy underlying it. Applying
that principle to an earlier claim that a statutory
scheme implicitly excluded § 3466, this Court held
that ‘[o]nly the plainest inconsistency would warrant
our finding an implied exception to the operation of
so clear a command as that of § 3466.’ United States
v. Emory, 314 U. S. 423, 433 (1941).

‘*Here the Court of Appeals discerned an intent not
to apply § 3466 to Chapter X proceedings from § 199
of the Bankruptcy Act, which forbids the approval
of any reorganization plan which does not provide
for the ‘payment’ of taxes or customs due to the
United States, unless the Secretary of the Treasury
accepts ‘a lesser amount.’’’ United States v. Key,
supra at 324-25. (Footnote omitted.)

After reciting other claimed bases for excluding appli-
cation of § 3466 to Chapter X proceedings, the Court con-
cluded :

| — A-13 —

‘*In our view these provisions are not logically in-
consistent with the terms of § 3466, nor would they be
rendered redundant if the older statute applied, nor
does their language or legislative history reveal a
purpose incongruous with its application.’’ United
States v. Key, supra at 326.

Again as to this issue, we feel that United States v.
Key, supra, controls decision of our present case. If
there be, as appellees argue, overriding policy and equita-
ble considerations which cry for a different result, those
contentions must be made before Congress for specific
statutory amendments. See Plumb, The Federal Priority
in Insolvency: Proposals for Reform, 70 Micu. L. Rev. 1
(Nov. 1971) page 3.

As to appellee’s Koppers Company, Inc., and the various
city and county claimants for taxes, we note that these
claims are founded primarily upon liens authorized by
state statutes. It is, however, clear to us that federal and
not state law controls both in determining priority and in
determining whether the lien relied upon is ‘‘choate’’ or
‘‘inchoate.’’ None of the liens relied upon in this record
were the subject of proceedings” designed to divest the
debtor of either title or possession of its property prior to
bankruptcy. See United States v. Gilbert Associates, Inc.,
345 U.S. 361 (1953); Gordon v. Campbell, 329 U.S. 362
(1946).

In Gilbert the Supreme Court said:

‘‘In claims of this type, ‘specificity’ requires that
the lien be attached to certain property by reducing
it to possession, on the theory that the United States
has no claim against property no longer in the pos-
session of the debtor. Thelusson v. Smith, 2 Wheat.
396. Until such possession, it remains a general lien.
There is no ground for the contention here that the
Town had perfected its lien by reducing the property

ERE TEE NE LIL A LEDGE LIEN IN FETE NAN ENON GE Tat ea TNE aN

AS NSS

Se ntsc

—£-M<

a

to possession. The record reveals no such action.
The mere attachment of the Town’s lien before the
recording of the federal lien does not, contrary to
the holding of the Supreme Court of New Hampshire,
give the Town priority over the United States. The
taxpayer had not been divested by the Town of either
title or possession. The Town, therefore, had only a
general unperfected lien. United States v. Waddill
Co., supra; Illinois v. Campbell, 329 U.S. 362, 370.
Where the lien of the Town and that of the Federal
Government are both general, and the taxpayer is in-
solvent, § 3466 clearly awards priority to the United
States. United States v. Texas, 314 U. S. 480, 488.”
United States v. Gilbert, supra at 366.

The liens of appellees herein are not ‘‘specific and per-
fected liens.’’ United States v. Waddill, Holland & Flinn,
Inc., 323 U.S. 353 (1945). They are general liens under
federal law and 43466 ‘‘clearly awards priority to the
United States.’’ United States v. Gilbert, supra at 366.
See also Illinois ex rel. Gordun v. Campbell, 329 U.S. 362
(1946) ; United States v. Texas, 314 U.S. 480 (1941).

Since we believe that 4 3466 and the recent interpreta-
tion of it in United States v. Key, supra, control this case,
we have no occasion to analyze the government’s other
contentions to the effect that its claims are entitled to
priority because there was no diversion of income such as
to occasion application of the six months rule and that
its claims were both secured claims and first in time.

We also note but reject appellees’ assertion that we
should find a controlling distinction between this case and
the Key case in the fact that these debts to the United
States are secured obliga‘ions arising from Reconstruc-
tion Finance Corporation loans, whereas the debts in Key
were for federal taxes.

T —_Y =
Federal claims which are secured by mortgage or lien

are nonetheless ‘‘debts’’ within the meaning of § 3466
and hence entitled to priority thereunder. Small Business
Administration v. McClellan, 364 U.S. 446 (1960); W. T.
Jones & Co. v. Foodco Realty, Inc., 318 F.2d 881 (4th Cir.

1963).

Further, although the application of 4 3466 was orig-
inally excluded by the statute creating the Reconstruction
Finance Corporation (15 U.S.C., § 603 (1970)), the R.F.C.
was abolished in 1957 and its loans were transferred to
the Secretary of the Treasury. The exclusion clause itself
was repealed in 1966 by recodification of Title 5. Pub.L. 89-
554, § 8(a), Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 648, 654, 655.

The judgment of the District Court is vacated and this
ease is remanded for further proceedings in accordance
with this opinion.

— A-16—

Dissenting Opinion of Judge Paul C. Weick
Entered April 4, 1972

Weick, Circuit Judge, Dissenting. This case is im-
portant to over $1,200,000 of creditors in railroad reor-
ganization proceedings under Section 77 of the Bankruptcy
Act, creditors whose priority claims were subordinated to
the claim of the United States by the Court’s opinion
which reversed a judgment of the District Court' to the
contrary. The case involves construction of the priority
provisions of the Act, of the Reconstruction Finance Cor-
poration Act as amended,? the applicability of R.S. § 3466,
and the effect of the abolishment of R.F.C. and tiie repeal
of statutes creating it.

Without question, the priority claims of the creditors
were superior to the loan of R.F.C. which was secured by
pledge of an issue of First Mortgage 4% Bonds. The
United States claimed, however, and the Court held, that
because of the abolishment of R.F.C. and repeal of the
statutes many years after the loan was made, the Govern-
ment need not look to the lien of its mortgage bonds, but
could claim priority under R.S. § 3466, which the Recon-
struction Finance Corporation Act, as amended, (and prior
to its repeal) provided was inapplicable.

The Court’s opinion is based entirely on dicta in United
States v. Key, 397 U.S. 322 (1970); but Key involved a
different type of proceeding, namely, a corporate reor-
ganization under Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act, rather
than a railroad reorganization proceeding under Section
77, such as was involved in the present case. Counsel even
question the validity of the dicta, pointing out that the

1 316 F.Supp. 1103 (M.D. Tenn. 1970).
215 USC. § 603. -

—A-17—

court on page 330 quoted Section 77(e), as it existed prior
to the Act’s amendment in 1935, when the statute was re-
written entirely and drastically changed.

There is nothing in the Court’s opinion to indicate that
it considered amended section 77.

Furthermore, Key involved a tax claim of the United
States. Our case, unlike Key, involved a loan made by
R.F.C. to the railroad, which loan was secured by a pledge
of $6,216,000 of First Mortgage 4% Bonds. At the time
the railroad went into reorganization it owed the Govern-
ment on the loan $4,571,000 in principal, and $461,731.13
in interest.

The statute creating R.F.C. granted it power to sue
and to be sued, and expressly provided:

‘‘Debts due the Corporation, whether heretofore or
hereafter arising shall not be entitled to priority
available to the United States pursuant to section 191
of Title 31 (R.S. 3466)...”

In Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Menihan, 312 US.
81 (1941), the Court refused to treat RFC as the United
States, holding that costs could be assessed against it the
same as against any other litigant.

RFC, however, was abolished in 1957 pursuant to provi-
sions of the 1949 Reorganization Act (Ch. 226, p. 209) and
Reorganization Plan No. 1 of 1957 (22 F.R. 4633, 71 Stat.
647), and its assets were transferred to the Secretary of
the Treasury. See also 15 U.S.C.A. 601 and 603 notes.

It was not until nine years later that Congress enacted
the Omnibus Reorganization Act repealing hundreds of
obsolete statutes, only part of which related to the RFC.
We are asked to infer therefrom that Congress intended
to restore priority of the United States, thereby displac-
ing the lien of existing mortgage indebtedness of RFC, to

——

— A-18—

the prejudice of priority creditors. It is not believed that
Congress intended to do any such thing.

In my opinion, to grant the United States priority would
conflict with two decisions of the Supreme Court which
held that claims of the Government for money loaned to
railroads during federal control, were not entitled to
priority. United States v. Guaranty Trust Co., 280 U.S.
478 (1930), and Mellon v. Michigan Trust Co., 271 U.S.
236 (1926).

The purpose of the RFC loans to railroads was to keep
the railroads in operation, to rehabilitate them, and to
preserve the existing transportation system. It was a
public purpose. This was also the purpose of the Railroad
Reorganization Act (Section 77). The statute creating
RFC provided specific means to insure repayment of loans
other than the priority provision of § 3466. These means
were strictly followed in the present case by a pledge of
First Mortgage 4% Bonds to secure the loan.

While there was no express provision in the federal
control statutes excluding indebtedness to the Govern-
ment from the operation of 43466, the Court held in
United States v. Guaranty Trust Co., supra (280 U.S. 478),
that Congress intended such exclusion. The Court said:

“Moreover, Congress evidenced unmistakably its
purpose to rely, for obtaining payment of the Govern-
ment’s advances, upon means other than the priority
provided for by 4 3466. Under all of the sections, the
giving of adequate security was either required or
left to the discretion of the President. Under § 210
no advance could be made, unless the Interstate Com-
merce Commission was satisfied that the earning
power of the carrier and the security given furnished
reasonable assurance that the loan would be repaid
and all obligations in connection therewith would be
performed. The interest rate required is much greater

— A-19 —

than that which ordinarily accompanies even a busi-
ness loan carrying such assurance of repayment as
would have resulted from an application of the
priority rule. Thus, both the general purposes of
Title II and its specific provisions make it clear that
Congress intended to exclude the indebtedness so aris-
ing from the scope of § 3466 of the Revised Statutes,
just as under the Federal Control Act it had excluded
therefrom claims incident to current operation of the
railroads. Mellon v. Michigan Trust Co., 271 U.S. 236,
240.” (Id. at 485-486).

It is clear that railroads cannot operate without credit.
The credit is necessary to obtain labor, materials and
interline accommodations with other railroads; without
such credit operations would cease.

If further appears from the record that RFC, as well
as the Secretary of the Treasury, permitted the railroad
to operate when they both knew that in so doing the rail-
road was incurring debts and losing substantial sums of
money. By the continuous operation the mortgage security
of the Government was preserved, and the trustee in the
reorganization proceeding was enabled to sell the railroad
as a going concern and without interruption of service to
the public. The Government here was entitled to treat-
ment no different than that accorded to any other secured
creditor.

Equitable principles which are applied in creating
priority liens of creditors under Section 205 for credit
furnished within a period of six months prior to the re-
organization proceeding, should be adhered to. Southern
Ry. v. Carnegie Steel Co., 176 U.S. 257 (1900); Burnham
v. Bowen, 111 U.S. 776 (1884) ; Miltenberger v. Logansport
Ry., 106 U.S. 286, 311 (1881) ; Southern Ry. v. Flourney,
301 F.2d 847 (4th Cir. 1962).

_1.20— =

Reliance upon cases such as United States v. Emory,
314 U.S. 423 (1941) and Small Business Adm’nv. Mc-
Clellan, 364 U.S. 446 (1960), involving commercial loans to
private individuals, is misplaced. There was no statute
involved in these cases which excluded the operation of
§ 3466, or facts from which an intent on the part of Con-
gress to exclude operation of § 3466 could possibly be in-
ferred.

Nor was there involved in these cases a comprehensive
scheme of Congress, as is evidenced by the Railroad Re
organization Act, to keep railroads in operation and to
provide means for their rehabilitation which could be
frustrated if the railroad’s ability to obtain credit from
private sources is impaired.

Substantial questions are presented in the appeal, and
I respect the views of my colleagues. I would grant the
rehearing and determine priorities excluding the opera-
tion of 4 3466.

-_-_

— A-21—

APPENDIX C

In the District Court of the United States
For the Middle District of Tennessee
Nashville Division

In the Matter of: In Proceedings for
. the Reorganization
ag Central Railway aad of a Rai
+
Debtor. No. BK 67-2263
OPINION

(Entered August 19, 1970)

On September 22, 1969, the Trustee of the Tennessee Cen-
tral Railway Company, Debtor, petitioned this Court for
a hearing on the division of stockholders and creditors
into classes according to the nature of their claims, and
a determination of the order of priority of such claims.
A hearing on these issues was held on November 10, 1969.

The history of this action which is concerned with the
reorganization and then the liquidation of the assets of
the Tennessee Central Railway Company, will be found
in this Court’s opinion in In re Tennessee Central Rail-
way Company, 304 F.Supp. 789 (M.D. Tenn., 1969).

There are four categories of creditors claiming all or a
portion of the distributable assets of the Tennessee Cen-
tral:

1. The United States Government, holder of the Ten-
nessee Central’s first mortgage bonds, secured by
an indenture of mortgage.

2. Various railroads and other related companies
claiming recovery for interline balances accruing
within the period of six months before filing of the
reorganization petition.

<=

3. Municipalities and counties, claiming recovery for
back taxes for periods prior to the filing of the re-
organization petition.

4. Suppliers of cross-ties and diesel fuel to the Ten-
nessee Central during the six months before the
filing of the reorganization petition.

The present assets of the Tennessee Central, both in cash
and in property not yet sold, total approximately $3,000,-
000. The claim of the government totals over $5,500,000.
The claims of the carriers, and others claiming priority
under the six-months creditors rule, total approximately
$1,200,000. The various tax claims total over $80,000, and
there are other suppliers’ claims of more than $100,000.

Obviously, if the United States is given first priority
in the recovery, its claim will consume all assets, and
there will be no need to determine additional priorities.

Case law on the issues here presented is far from set-
tled. While there are a few Supreme Court cases which
touch upon relevant points, most of the published opinions
are at the district court level. On some issues, conflicts
exist among the circuits.

These reorganization proceedings are governed by the
provisions of Section 77 of the National Bankruptcy Act,
11 U.S.C. $205. It may be helpful at this point to quote
from a general analysis of Section 77 contained in 5 Col-
lier on Bankruptcy (14th Ed.), 77.02:

Stated briefly, §77 has for its main purpose ‘‘the re-
habilitation of the debtor by a readjustment of its fi-
nancial structure in the interest of the debtor and
its creditors and security holders, under a fair and
equitable plan of reorganization which shall so modify
or alter the rights of both secured and unsecured credi-
tors that the fixed charges shall be brought within the
probable future earnings available for the payment

_— my

thereof.’’ During the process of reorganization, the
section contemplates the continued corporate existence
of the debtor under the control and supervision of the
court. Although §77 does not depart from the gen-
eral theory of the Bankruptcy Act that one of the
main purposes is to permit the creditors to share in
the debtor’s assets, yet it should be borne in mind
that the section reflects a public policy that the oper-
ation of railroads as sound, economic units should be
achieved for the benefit of the public, regardless of
the interests of creditors and stockholders. It has
been vividly stated that under §77 ‘‘the reorganized
road shall be a living, not a dying, railroad enterprise’’
[Footnotes omitted].

Although no formal plan of reorganization has been filed
during the proceedings, substantial compliance with the
purposes of the act has been obtained. Virtually all of the
Tennessee Central’s line is now being operated by three

. other railroads, to whom portions of the bankrupt road
were sold. Service has been maintained virtually to all
areas previously served by the Tennessee Central. Since
some of the claimants here have participated in the main-
tenance of service, the Court must take into consideration
all factors which have contributed to this continuation of
service.

The United States asserts a priority for its mortgage
bonds under 31 U.S.C. § 191, a provision giving the United
States a first priority in the assets “[w]henever any person
indebted to the United States is insolvent ....” This is
a general provision which has been in effect, substantially
unchanged, since 1797. It has been held that this provi-
sion is inapplicable in conventional bankruptcy proceed-
ings. Adams v. O’Malley, 182 F.2d 925 (8th Cir. 1950);
see In re Taylorcraft Aviation Corp., 168 F.2d 808 (6th
Cir. 1948) (dictum); United States v. First National Bank

EO RELIED ot CRGEU RS

sialon a. .

& Trust Co., 386 F.2d 646 (8th Cir. 1967) (dictum). The
United States contends, however, that its priority under
31 U.S.C. § 191 is to be afforded first position among the
claimants by virtue of Section 77b of the National Bank-
ruptecy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 205(b). Specifically, the last para-
graph of section 205(b) provides in part:
For all purposes of this section unsecured claims,
which would have been entitled to priority if a re- |
ceiver in equity of the property of the debtor had
been appointed by a Federal court on the day of the
approval of the petition, shall be entitled to such
priority and the holders of such claims shall be
treated as a separate class or classes of creditors.

As noted above, the general priority of the United States
in the assets of its insolvent debtors does not apply in
bankruptcy cases, and the same priority may not be in-
tegrated into the Bankruptcy Act to create priorities for
the Government that are not placed there by Congress.
See Davis v. Pringle, 268 U.S. 315 (1925) (claim under
31 U.S.C. § 191 not due priority in bankruptcy by integra-
tion with section 64 of the Act). Furthermore, section
205(b), supra, does not apply to secured claims. The
government states in its Memorandum that:

The debts due the United States by the Debtor insofar
as they are based upon the notes now in excess of
$5,500,000 were secured by a pledge of all the Debtor’s
first mortgage bonds. The mortgage bonds in turn
were secured by a mortgage upon all of the Debtor’s
property both real and personal. [Memorandum at 9,
10]
It would appear that the claim of the United States is a
secured claim and thus expressly excluded from section
205(b), which grants priority to certain unsecured claims
only. The United States contends, nevertheless, that the
restriction of 11 U.S.C. §205(b) to “Unsecured claims”

—s

does not bar its secured claim from the same priority.
With this conclusion the Court is unable to agree.

It is further contended on this point that proceedings
under the railroad reorganization sections of the National
Bankruptcy Act are a substitute for reorganization under
an equity receivership. See 5 Collier, Bankruptcy {77.02
(14th ed.) Thus, it is argued that the instant proceed-
ing is akin to reorganization under an equity receivership
and that the proper conditions thus arise for recognizing
a claim under 11 U.S.C. § 205(b) as the Government as
argued. Whether the United States under this theory
would be entitled to a priority for an unsecured claim in
this proceeding by virtue of section 205(b) need not be
decided. For, as pointed out, section 205(b) is inapplicable
to secured claims like that of the United States.

The assertion of a first priority in the United States
under 31 U.S.C. §191 is further attacked by the carriers
presenting claims upon the authority of 15 U.S.C. § 603,
which declares that debts due to the Reconstruction
Finance Corporation (RFC) should not be afforded any
statutory priority otherwise available to the United States.
The carriers urge that this provision prohibits the United
States from asserting the debts owed by the Debtor to the
RFC as a basis for priority under 31 U.S.C. §191. The
statute relied on by the carriers was repealed by Congress
in 1966. [Pub. L. 89-554, §8(a), Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat.
648, 654-55.] The purpose behind the original statute is
plain. Loans such as the one made to the Debtor by the
RFC were intended to keep firms in desperate financial
condition in business. These were to be considered regular
commercial loans, and were to be treated accordingly in
insolvency proceedings. It seems clear that if the Tennes-
see Central proceedings had occurred prior to the repeal
of 15 U.S.C. § 603 in 1966 there could be no question that
the United States would have no priority by virtue of

— A-26 — ;

debts owed to the RFC. Inasmuch as 31 U.S.C. $191 is
inapplicable to bankruptcy proceedings, however, the re-
sult is still the same, and the Court can only speculate as
to why the Congress would repeal the statute and enable
the United States to have a debt priority in other cases
that it had not enjoyed for thirty years.

The United States next contends that if its claim under
31 U.S.C. $191 is denied, it is still entitled to be paid
ahead of all other claimants by virtue of the mortgage lien
which it has upon the property of the Tennessee Central.
In opposition, the carriers answer that their claim is an
equitable one, cognizable under the so-called ‘‘six-months
creditors’’ rule, and should therefore come ahead of any
claims which the United States might advance.

The six-months rule is a creature of equity. It was de-
veloped in railroad equity receiverships in the late 19th
Century, and was designed to guarantee the payment of
funds to certain creditors to whom the railroad in receiver-
ship had become indebted during the six months prior to
the inception of the receivership. As the United States
notes in its trial brief, ‘‘many inconsistencies exist among
the lower courts’ decisions in dealing with the rule.’’

There is no cut-and-dried ‘‘six-months rule.’’ The Su
preme Court has stated:

It is apparent from an examination of the above cases
[dealing with the six-months rule] that the decision
in each one depended on its special facts. This court
has uniformly refrained from laying down any rule

_ as absolutely controlling in every case. . . . Southern
R. v. Carnegie Steel Co., 176 U.S. 257, at 284-285
(1900).

One oft-quoted formulation of grounds for application of
the rule appears in Guaranty Trust Company of New York
v. Albia Coal Company, 36 F.2d 34, at 35 (8th Cir. 1929):

— A-27 —

(1) That the consideration for the claim was a cur-
rent expense of ordinary operation of the railroad,
necessarily incurred to keep it a going concern.

(2) That the claim represents a debt contracted with
the expectation or intention of the parties that it was
to be paid out of the current earnings of the rail-
road. i

(3) That the claim shall have accrued within six
months prior to the appointment of the receiver.

In considering application of the six-months rule, it must
be noted that the special facts of the Tennessee Central
case make it unique, and not altogether analogous to other
railroad reorganization proceedings. For some time prior
to the filing of the reorganization petition the Tennessee
Central had been in serious financial difficulties. The rail-
road showed operating losses in 1964, 1965, 1966, and 1967.
Shortly before the railroad entered reorganization, it ap-
peared to officers and directors of the Tennessee Central
that it would be possible to obtain outside financial help
to put the road on a sound footing once again, and enable
it to pay off its quite considerable debt to the United
States.

Of particular interest is the help the Debtor received
in handling its interline freight balances. The interline
freight balances for which the carriers assert priority un-
der the six-months rule are not a portion of the Debtor’s
income which is owed the carriers for services rendered,
but are rather funds which the Debtor collected for other
carriers shipping over its lines, and are held by the debtor
only as a type of collection agent for the carriers.

According to affidavits submitted by the various car-
riers, officials of the Tennessee Central contacted the car-
riers and asked that the railroad’s interline accounts not
be placed on a ‘‘pre-paid’’ basis until the road filed its

lies RPL GRE LEE CONE GE ESET IELTS COIL AS LTE

_

petition in reorganization. Operating on a ‘‘pre-paid”
basis requires a greater degree of liquidity than financ-
ing on the ‘‘collect’’ basis. When freight is shipped over
two or more railroads on a ‘‘pre-paid’’ basis, the shipper
is required to pay at the point of origin all charges due
any railroad which will handle the shipment. The usual
method of handling rail freight, payment on the ‘‘collect”’
basis, allows the carrier at the point of destination to col-
lect all charges. On the following month the railroads de-
termine the net amount due from one road to another,
and payment is made.

Robert H. Smith, treasurer of the Southern Railway
Company, states in his affidavit:

Money that is collected for another road is not treated
as freight revenue (income) by the collecting road
On the other hand, it is not segregated and placed in
a separate account, but is mingled with and used as
working capital of the collecting road. ... Any change
in the usual practice by the railroad is likely to dis-
rupt normal business relationships and cause serious
inconvenience and expense to shippers and consignees.

It is clear that the Tennessee Central would have been
placed in serious financial difficulties if all shipments
which it handled were placed on a ‘‘pre-paid’’ basis by
other carriers.

If the Tennessee Central had been forced to shut down
its operations completely, it is a fair inference from this
record that it would not have been possible for the trustee
in reorganization to effectuate the sale of almost all of
the road’s line to the other three carriers which now oper-
ate it except possibly at a much reduced sales price. Once
shippers had been forced to use means of transportation
other than the railroad, they would have been reluctant to
return to the railroad) As this Court has stated previ-
ously, the primary purpose of the Railroad Reorganization

—

Act is to keep existing railroad lines in operation when-
ever possible. See In re Tennessee Central Railway Com-
pany, Debtor, supra.

Two cases decided within the last ten years are ad-
vanced by the parties hereto as instructive on the issues
presented here in deciding priorities among the various
claimants. These are Southern Railway Company v.
Flournoy, 301 F.2d 847 (4th Cir. 1962) and In re New
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad Company, 405 F.2d
50 (2d Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U. S. 999. The United
States cites the New Haven case in support of its priority,
while the carriers place great reliance on the Flournoy
opinion, and attempt to distinguish it from New Haven.
The two cases are generally concerned with the competing
priorities, in railroad reorganization proceedings, of six-
months creditors and secured claimants, such as mort-
gagees and bond holders.

a

In the New Haven case, several unsecured creditors filed
claims for services, parts and supplies, and sought a pri-
ority in payment under the six-months rule. The Court
stated :

Whether the six months creditors receive priority de-
pends, however, on whether there existed a ‘‘current
debt fund’’ or ‘‘current expense fund’? from which
payment could have been made but was used instead
for the benefit of the bondholders. The reasoning be-
hind the requirement of the current expense fund is
that the six months claims deserve priority only to
the extent that the claimants relied in extending credit
on the availability of current income and not, along
with others, on the railroad’s general credit standing.
In re New York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad
Company, supra, at 52.

The reasoning is that six-months creditors should be al-
lowed a priority only to the extent that there existed a

— s-30— =

fund available for their payment which was diverted to
the benefit of other creditors.

This rule was stated earlier by the District Court in
the New Haven case in terms of providing a remedy to
the six-months claimants when funds were improperly
paid out on the mortgage debt before payment was made
to current creditors whose extension of credit made con-
tinued operation of the road a possibility and thus bene-
fited the mortgagees. The Court stated:

Revenues accruing from operations should be paid
first to the operations creditors whose materials and
services made those revenues possible; and only after
all such operational claims have been paid, should the
balance be available for the benefit of the mortgagees.
If any operating revenues do improperly get into the
hands of the mortgagees, equity requires that those
revenues be restored to the operations creditors by
the mortgagees yielding them a priority. In re New
York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad Co., 278 F.
Supp. 592, 597-98 (D. Conn. 1967).

In the Flournoy case the Court ordered that a priority
be given to the payment of interline balances, saying:
Interline charges are, of course, contained in current
revenues ... Such transportation is art and part [sic]
of our national railroad system. Indeed, it is com-
pelled by statute. 49 U.S.C.A. $1, et seq.
With the District Court we agree that interline ac-
. counts are an equitable lien on the railroad properties
and outrank the mortgages. Southern Railway Com-
pany v. Flournoy, supra, at 854.
The Fourth Circuit justified the payment of the interline
traffic balances on the theory that if such accounts had
not been paid, the other lines would have demanded pay-

- —_—v

ment, by placing the line on a “‘pre-paid’’ basis, thereby
threatening the railroad’s financial condition.

Neither the New Haven nor the Flournoy opinion seems
to include a consideration of the true nature of these in-
terline balances. The money collected by the Tennessee
Central could not reasonably be considered a portion of
its ‘operating revenues.’’ The funds were not payment
for any service rendered, or any goods sold, but monies
rightfully due the carriers seeking priority. It is payment
from shippers for haulage over the lines of these rail-
roads which extended credit to the Tennessee Central.

There is no argument, however, that the Tennessee Cen-
tral held these funds in trust for the other carriers. In In
re the Central Railroad Company of New Jersey, 273 F.
Supp. 282 (D. N.J. 1967), aff’d per curiam, 392 F.2d 589
(3rd Cir. 1968), the Court stated, regarding the nature of
interline freight balances:

That they [the interline freight balances] are not
trust funds is clear. The relationship among the sev-
erai carriers engaged in an interline freight move-
ment is that of debtor and creditor. The AAR [Amer-
ican Association of Railroads] rules create no other
relationship . . . While the interline freight balances
are not trust funds, they may be entitled to prefer-
ential treatment under the so-called six-months rule,
provided there is a compliance with the requirements
thereof. See Southern Railway Company v. Flournoy,
301 F.2d 847 (4th Cir. 1962). [Some citations omit-
ted.] In re The Central Railway Company, 273 F.
Supp. at 288-89.

Thus, although the funds are not held in trust, the car-
riers can be said to have an equitable right to a priority
in their recovery, if all other requisite requirements are
met.

— A-32 —

There is confusion among the parties seeking priority
over the United States as to whether the six-months rule,
or another rule, ‘‘the necessity of payment’’ rule, should
be used to obtain the asserted priority. The Government
resists assertion of either rule in behalf of other claim-
ants. The rules differ only slightly in character. The
necessity of payment rule was first enunciated in Milten-
berger v. Logansport Railway Company, 106 U.S. 286
(1882), and is founded upon the theory that the payment
of certain claims by the receiver or trustee may be neces-
sary to the continued operation of the railroad, not, as in
the six-months rule, that the payment is supported by
equities in that they enabled continued operation, though
perhaps not absolutely necessary. Mr. Justice Holmes
stated in Gregg v. Metropolitan Trust Company, 197 US.
183, 187 (1905): ‘‘The ground of such allowance as was
made [in Miltenberger] was not merely that the supplies
were necessary for the preservation of the road, but that
payment was necessary for the business of the road—a
very different proposition.’’

In opposing application of the six-months rule, the
United States contends that, under the rule, there must
have been some diversion of funds from the operating
revenues to the benefit of the mortgagees before the mort-
gaged corpus of the railroad can be charged with debts
due the six-months creditors. This proposition was first
set out in Fosdick v. Schall, 99 U.S. 235 (1878), and was
recently restated in In re New York, New Haven and
Hartford Ry. Co., supra. The Supreme Court noted in
Southern Ry. Co. v. Carnegie Steel Co., 176 U.S. 257, 285
(1900): ‘‘[W]hen current earnings are used for the bene-
fit of mortgage creditors before current expenses are paid,
the mortgage security is chargeable in equity with the
restoration of any funds thus improperly diverted from
their primary use.’’? Many courts, however, have taken
the view that it is not necessary to show any diversion of

a= A.33

income, especially where it can be amply demonstrated
that the railroad has derived some benefit from the serv-
ices rendered by the creditors claiming an equitable pri-
ority. In Southern Ry. Co. v. Flournoy, supra, the Court
stated:

[W]e think income diversion to mortgage is not the
sine qua non of corpus invasion where there are found
—as special circumstances—all elements constituting
the pre-eminent equity . . . Throughout them [cases
discussing priorities and income diversion], however,
runs the acknowledgment that, in special circum-
stances .. ., the general creditor partakes of liened
capital assets ahead of the mortgagee. Id., at 851.

Two Sixth Circuit cases, both more than sixty years old,
touch upon the subject of priorities in railroad bankruptcy
proceedings. Gregg v. Mercantile Trust Co., 109 F. 220
(6th Cir. 1901); and Gregg v. Metropolitan Trust Co., 124
F. 721 (6th Cir. 1903), aff’d 197 U.S. 183 (1905). Neither
case is concerned with what priority should be afforded
to the payment of interline traffic balances, but the Court
stated in the Mercantile Trust case, supra, at 229:

It is plain that the payment of car-trust obligations
by the railroad company enhanced the interest of the
mortgagees in such equipment. To the extent that
such prior obligations were paid off, the mortgagees
were benefited. Debts incurred for the purpose of
making additions to the permanent equipment and
motive power of a mortgaged railroad are not current
operating expenses for supplies or materials, and are
not preferential debts. If such debts would not be
preferential debts if unpaid, their payment out of a
fund primarily applicable to such debts is a diversion
which the bondholders must make good if they were
thereby benefited. [Citations omitted].

—_—: =

Thus, the Circuit Court was of the opinion, even then, that
any expenditure which benefited the mortgagees was ipso
facto a diversion, and payment thereof out of the mort-
gaged corpus is proper.

In the Metropolitan Trust case the Court of Appeals
had established a claim for ties sold to a railroad in re-
ceivership as a six-months claim, but held that the claim
could not be paid from the fund held by the receiver. The
Supreme Court affirmed, but, after finding that there had
been no diversion of income to the benefit of mortgagees,
stated the issue as ‘‘whether in such a case a claim for
necessary supplies furnished within six months before the
receiver was appointed, should be charged on the corpus
of the fund.’’ 197 U.S. at 186. Finding ‘‘no special cir-
cumstances’”’ or ‘‘equity’’ favoring the suppliers, the Court
refused to charge the fund for the claims of suppliers
ahead of the mortgagees. 197 U.S. at 186, 190. The Court
thus seems to indicate that where there are special cir-
cumstances or equities favoring six-months claims, even
in the absence of a diversion of income to the benefit of
secured creditors, such claims might be allowed a priority
in the assets.

The United States contends that the lack of any income
for a lengthy period prior to the filing of the Tennessee
Central’s reorganization petition should have put the car-
riers on notice that there was no ‘‘current operating fund”
from which these interline traffic balances could be paid.
The carriers allege that their extension of credit, by han-
dling the Debtor’s interline balances on a ‘‘collect”’
basis,—unique to the operation of railroads—enabled the
Tennessee Central to continue in operation through diff-
cult financial straits, preserving the railroad as a ‘‘going
concern’’ and facilitating the continuation of rail service

to the vast majority of the area previously served by the
Tennessee Central.

—

— A-35 —

The equities in this case favor the priority of the car-
riers. Their extension of credit preserved the corpus of
the mortgaged railroad by maintaining it as a ‘‘going
concern,’’ and at the same time enabling the area formerly
served by the Tennessee Central to enjoy continued rail
service, thereby carrying out the expressed purposes of
the railroad reorganization section of the National Bank-
ruptey Act.

Therefore, the Court concludes that the carriers claim-
ing priority under the six-months rule for interline freight
balances should be given a priority over the United States,
holder of the Debtor’s bonds, and a mortgage on its
property. Application of the six-months rule in this mat-
ter follows the criteria set forth in the Flournoy case,
supra, and others. The maintenance of service through the
carriers’ extension of service was of benefit to the mort-
gagee, and hence their balances should be paid just as if
some physical diversion of monies from current revenues
had been of benefit to the mortgagee.

The United States is entitled to no statutory priority in
this railroad reorganization action. Its claim is secured
by the corpus of the mortgage, and it stands in this case
as would any other bondholder or mortgagee. As the
Court stated in In re Chicago Express, Inc., 222 F.Supp.
566 (S.D. N.Y. 1963); aff’d 332 F.2d 276 (2d Cir.) cert.
denied 379 U.S. 879 (1964): ‘‘Where Congress intended
that special priorities be granted, ‘it has carefully enu-
merated them and any omissions must be construed as ex-
press exclusions .. .’’’. [Citations omitted.] 222 F.Supp.
at 571.

Another group of claimants seeking priority under the
six-months rule includes three firms which leased freight
cars to the Tennessee Central. The statement by these
firms that the Tennessee Central operated with only six
or seven freight cars of its own, leasing the remainder, is

=

unchallenged by the United States. According to the brief
of one of the leasing companies, the Tennessee Central was
almost unique in this respect, in that it operated almost
totally with leased cars.

In its brief the United States says simply, ‘‘Finally
items such as car rentals are not allowable,’’ citing Thomas
v. Western Car Co., 149 U.S. 95 (1893), and In re Chi-
cago and N.W. R. Co., 110 F.2d 425 (7th Cir. 1940).

Louis O. Sloss, secretary-treasurer of the Chicago
Freight Car Leasing Company, one of the leasing claim-
ants, states in his affidavit that the firm allowed the
Tennessee Central to continue the use of the cars for a six-
month period prior to the filing of the petition in reor-
ganization in reliance on the six-months priority rule.
Sloss also stated that if Chicago Freight Car Leasing had
recalled all the cars upon the cessation of payment, in
July, 1967, the Tennessee Central would have been un-
able to operate.

In the Thomas case, supra, the Court disallowed the
granting of priority to the car rental firm there involved,
saying: ;

[T]he principal officers of the car company were in
control of the railroad company and its operations,
and must be treated as having full notice of the fi-
nancial condition of the railroad company, and as
having leased the cars to it in reliance upon its gen-
eral credit, rather than in expectation of displacing
the priority of mortgage liens. Thomas v. Western
- Car Co., supra, at 112.

The Court also stated:

The case of a corporation for the manufacture and
sale of cars, dealing with a railroad company, whose
road is subject to a mortgage securing outstanding
bonds, is very different from . . . those who furnish,

_——

— A-37 —

from day to day, supplies necessary to the mainte-
nance of the railroad.

In the present case it appears, in the contract be-
tween the car company and the railroad company,
that the former reserved the express right to terminate
the contract and demand possession of the cars forth-
with upon any failure by the railroad company to
promptly pay the interest or the principal of any of
its bonds or other liabilities. 149 U.S. at 112.

The Thomas case was, of course, decided long before the
enactment of the railroad reorganization section of the
National Bankruptcy Act, the purpose of that act being
to keep existing railroads in operation. If, as the Court
suggests in Thomas, the freight car leasing companies in
this case had withdrawn their cars at the first sign of
financial difficulties, the Tennessee Central would have
been forced to suspend operations immediately.

In the Chicago case, there is no showing that the Pull-
man cars there in issue were necessary to the operation
of the road. Also the controversy involved not the payment
of actual rental for the cars, but the lighting and mileage
charges on them. Moreover, the cases seem to draw a dis-
tinction between ‘‘car rentals’’ and ‘‘materials and sup-
plies.”’ See In re Chicago & N.W. R. Co., supra, at 431.
In the case of the Tennessee Central, operating almost
wholly with leased cars, the leasing of these cars should
be treated as analogous to buying ‘‘materials and sup-
plies.’’

In any case, the central point is whether the goods
or services supplied by the creditor seeking priority under
the six-months rule were necessary for the continuation
of service on the debtor railroad. Without any doubt,
the Tennessee Central could not have operated at all
without the freight cars which it leased from the Chicago

a SNL ap SMALLEY YONI AA AINE

hea iS is SRY

— A-38 —

Freight Car Leasing Company, Trailer Train Company,
and American Refrigeration Transit. Therefore, these
companies are entitled to the same priority under the
six-months rule as the carriers seeking recovery of inter-
line freight balances.

Several municipalities and counties along the line of
the Tennessee Central have filed claims for taxes, and
the interest and penalties thereon, for the years 1966 and
1967, The Court has already determined that the United
States is entitled to no priority under 31 U.S.C. §191,
and that the United States stands in the position of any
bondholder and mortgagee in a similar case. It must now
be determined whether these governmental] units are en-
titled to recovery of the taxes against the corpus of the
mortgage, whether these taxing units will be allowed to
recover interest and/or penalties, and what priority
should be given to such recovery, if granted.

Tennessee law provides:

The assessed taxes on all real estate, personalty,
railroad, telegraph, and telephone, and other public
service companies, and all damages and costs accruing
thereon, shall be and remain a first lien upon such
property, from the tenth of January of each and
every year, for the taxes of that year. Tenn. Code
Ann. §67-1801. -

Tennessee law is applicable on this point, and therefore,
taxes should be accorded first priority in recovery, ahead
of the six months creditors, if it is determined that under
the provisions of the National Bankruptcy Act, this Court
has jurisdiction to approve the claim.

The Supreme Court said in Gardner v. New Jersey,
329 U.S. 565 (1947):

We think, contrary to the position of New Jersey,
that the reorganization court has jurisdiction over

—_

— A-39 —

the proof and allowance of tax claims and that the
exercise of that power was not a suit against the
state. . . . We find not the slightest suggestion that
Congress left out the large class of tax claims which
recurringly appears in reorganizations and often as-
sumes, as here, large proportions, 329 U.S. at 572-73.

The National Bankruptcy Act contains a provision disal-

lowing claims of states or other taxing units for penalty

claims:
Debts owing to the United States or any State or
subdivision thereof as a penalty or forfeiture shall
not be allowed, except for the amount of the pecuni-
ary loss sustained by the act, transaction, or pro-
ceeding out of which the penalty or forfeiture arose,
with reasonable and actual costs occasioned, thereby
and such interest as may have accrued thereon ac-
cording to law. National Bankruptcy Act $57j, 11
U.S.C. §93(j).

A portion of the railroad reorganization section of the

bankruptcy act seems to apply section 57(j) to railroad
cases:

In proceedings under this section and consistent with
the provisions thereof, the jurisdiction and powers
of the court, the duties of the debtor and the rights
and liabilities of creditors, and of all persons with
respect to the debtor and its property, shall be the
same as if a voluntary petition for adjudication had
been filed and a decree of adjudication had been en-
tered on the day when the debtor’s petition was filed.

In a case involving the lengthy reorganization of the
New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad, the Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit held that the tax lia-
bilities of a railroad which were incurred prior to the
consummation of the reorganization plan would be paid
as a cost of administration. See In re New York, New

a EER ADAIR LS TSN ARON?

+ ae apie wroetiha

ee

Haven & Hartford R. Co., 147 F.2d 40, 52-53 (2d Cir.
1945). Another case holding that §57(j) of the Bank-
ruptey Act applies to railroad reorganization proceedings
is In re Denver & R. G. W. R. Co., 27 F.Supp. 983 (D.
Colo, 1939).

There is no question that the taxes owed the municipal-
ities and counties filing timely claims in this matter should
be paid by the Trustee. As for interest, the Supreme
Court held recently in Nicholas v. United States, 384 U.S.
678 (1966), that interest should not be allowed in an
ordinary bankruptcy proceeding in order to effectuate
‘‘the broad equitable principle that creditors should not
be disadvantaged vis-a-vis one another by legal delays at-
tributable solely to the time-consuming delays inherent in
the administration of the bankruptcy laws.’’ Id., at 683.
The Court further held that the Trustee in bankruptcy
would be liable for the penalties incurred through the
non-payment of taxes when such penalties were imposed
‘“solely because of the trustee’s failure to file timely re-
turns for the taxes incurred. . . .’’ Id., at 695.

In the instant case, no penalties have been incurred
through any failure of the Trustee to file timely returns.
All taxes which have fallen due subsequent to the filing
of the petition in reorganization on December 14, 1967,
have been paid. The penalties are for delinquent taxes
which accrued prior to this date.

Tennessee law grants these taxing units a ‘‘first lien’
on the property of the Tennessee Central. It is stated in
5 Collier on Bankruptcy (14th ed.) 77.21 that: ‘‘When-
ever tax claims are accorded a priority, even under 31
U.S.C. § 191, they will not supersede valid liens, or the
priorities accorded administrative and operating costs or
claims under the six months rule.’’ Therefore, the munici-
palities and counties should not be granted a priority over
the six months claimants unless they possess a valid lien

_

for their tax claims. The Court is of the opinion that the
applicable Tennessee statute grants such a lien to these
taxing units. Earlier, in Collier, id., it is noted: ‘‘ With
respect to state taxes, many state statutes grant a priority
for claims thereon, and this priority will be recognized by
the court.’’ The statutory priority granted by § 67-801,
T.C.A., governs in this case. Therefore, these counties and
municipalities will be granted first priority in this re-
covery, ahead of both the six-months claimants, and the
United States, as mortgagee and bondholder. No payment
will be allowed as to the penalities which have been at-
tached to these delinquent taxes, since the penalties have
been in no way connected with any delay on the part of
the Trustee. Interest on these taxes will be allowed only
to the extent that it accrued prior to December 14, 1967.
To allow the payment of any interest which accrued sub-
sequent to this date would be unfair to the other creditors.

The Koppers Company has filed a claim in this action,
claiming priority both under the six-months rule, and
under Tenn. Code Ann. § 65-1021, which provides:

No railroad company shall have power to give or
create any mortgage or other kind of lien on its rail-
way property in this state, which shall be valid and
binding against judgments and decrees, and execu-
tions therefrom, for timbers furnished and work and
labor done on, or for damages done to persons and
property in the operation of its railroad in this state.
T.C.A. § 65-1021.

Koppers sought recovery for approximately $120,000.00
worth of cross-ties furnished to the Tennessee Central.

— A-41—

Whether or not Koppers would be entitled to recover
under the six-months rule, it seems clear that it is due a
priority by virtue of the applicable Tennessee lien stat-
ute. There is no need for the Court to reach the question
of recovery under the six-months rule, since Koppers will

a ae , . CLIO Ne ene D SNPS Se Te eee ee ee SE ry

—_

be allowed second priority in recovery against the corpus,
following the taxing units, and preceding the six-months
creditors.

While it is true that Koppers did not at any time per-
fect its statutory lien against the property of the Ten-
nessee Central, the company states that the perfection of
the lien was not carried out because of the injunction of
this Court, holding all matters regarding the railroad’s
financial status in abeyance pending disposition of the
reorganization proceeding. It is not necessary for Koppers
to have formally perfected its lien against the Debtor.
The intent of the Tennessee statute is clear, and Koppers
and its claim fall within the ambit of the law.

The final claim which the Court must consider is that
of the Humble Oil & Refining Company. Humble supplied
the Tennessee Central with substantial amounts of diesel
fuel during the six months preceding the filing of the re-
organization petition, and asserts a priority under the six-
months rule. Humble contends in its brief that this fuel
was ‘‘material necessary for the continued operation of
the railroad.’’

It is not clear that the extension of credit from Hum-
ble was indispensable for the Tennessee Central to con-
tinue in operation during the six months prior to reorgan-
ization. For it is possible that some other fuel supplier
might have extended this credit if Humble had refused to
do so. Nevertheless Humble’s claim meets all of the cri-
teria for application of the six-months rule as formulated
in Guaranty Trust Co. v. Albia Coal Co., supra. Some fuel
was certainly necessary to the continued operation of the
road, and Humble was willing to supply it. The position
of Humble is analogous to that of the freight car leasing
companies. If the Debtor had been deprived of either
freight cars, or a supply of diesel fuel at the first sign of
financial difficulties, it would have been shut down almost
immediately.

—.

— A-43 —

The Court is of the opinion that Humble was, in this
case, extending credit against current earnings within the
contemplation of the six-months rule. Therefore, Humble
is entitled to recover along with the other six months
claimants.

This case represents a lengthy and unique exercise in
railroad reorganization. As was discussed in this Court’s
opinion at 304 F.Supp. 789 (M.D. Tenn. 1969), the reorgan-
ization of the Tennessee Central was accomplished not
through a restructuring of the existing corporate shell, but
through the sale of virtually all of the Debtor’s operating
lines to other carriers, who have to this day continued
service to all but a minute portion of the Tennessee Cen-
tral’s former area of service.

The Court’s exercise of jurisdiction in this matter is
basically a matter of equity. The six-months rule is itself
a creature of equity. The Court must look to the equities
of the individual situation in order to arrive at a decision.
The primary consideration in the application of the six-
months rule, in light of the declared purpose of the re-
organization act to keep railroads in operation, is whether
the creditor claiming a priority under the rule was a vital
factor in the continued operation of the road.

In light of the expressed desire of Congress that rail-
roads be kept in operation whenever possible, it must be
assumed by the Court that it is more valuable to have the
vast majority of the Tennessee Central trackage presently
operated by other carriers, than to have the service dis-
continued altogether. The creditors who have kept the
railroad in operation have thus benefitted the mortgagee
and bondholder, the United States, by preserving the
service formerly provided by the Tennessee Central, thus
enabling the trustee to sell the road as a going concern

>... ST ay ee GE - we

oa. ee Oe

— A444 —

and to realize a greater return that would have been the
case if he had been forced to sell the physical properties
of the road after it had closed down.

A form of judgment will be submitted to accomplish
these results.

/s/ WILLIAM E. MILLER
Cireuit Judge Sitting as
District Judge by Designation

_ ee

_~w

In the District Court of the United States
for the Middle District of Tennessee

Nashville Divisi
Matter of:
oe In Preseedings for the Re-
Tennessee Central Railway organization of a Railroad
Company, No. BK 67-2263
Debtor.

Supplement to Opinion of August 19, 1970
Entered August 27, 1970

While this case was under advisement, the United States
Supreme Court decided the case of United States v. Key,
397 U.S. 322 (1970). This case was not cited in any of the
briefs before the Court, but was called to the attention of
the Court by the attorney for the Trustee in the instant
proceedings. Because the Court did not discuss the Key
case in its opinion of August 19, 1970, this Supplement
thereto is entered in the interest of completeness.

In United States v. Key, supra, the Supreme Court held
that Stat. 4 3466, 31 U.S.C.A. 4191, a provision giving a
first priority to debts owed to the United States by an in-
solvent debtor, is applicable to tax claims of the Govern-
ment in corporate reorganization proceedings under Chap-
ter X of the National Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C.
§§ 501-676. In discussing the history of the reorganiza-
tion provisions of the Act, Mr. Justice Marshall stated,
in part:

Section 77 [relating to railroad reorganizations] .. .
was designed to follow the general format of the
equity receivership. . . . However, the problems of the
equity receivership that led to the legislative inter-
vention did not include the Government’s priority

oe

under § 3466, a relatively uncontroversial aspect of
the receivership procedure.

Nothing in 477 casts any doubt on the continued
priority of the United States under § 3466. 397 US.
at 330.

The opinion goes on to reason that the corporate reor-
ganization provisions, later enacted by Congress and
modeled closely after the railroad reorganization provi-
sions, contain no provision indicating that Stat. § 3466
should not apply in Chapter X reorganizations.

It is the Court’s opinion that the language in the Key
ease relating to the applicability of Stat. § 3466 to rail-
road reorganization proceedings is clearly dictum because
the issue before the Supreme Court in Key was the ap
plicability of Stat. § 3466 to Chapter X proceedings, and
the reference to its applicability to railroad reorganiza-
tions was merely incidental to the decision on that one
issue. Therefore, the Key case does not constitute preced-
ent for allowing the Government’s claim for a first
priority in the assets of the Tennessee Central in the in-
stant proceeding.

WM. E. MILLER
Cireuit Judge Sitting as District
Judge by Designation

— A-47 —

APPENDIX D

Received for Entry,

11:00 A.M.

October 9, 1970

Brandon Lewis, Clerk
By: Guy W. Cooper, D.C.

In the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Tennessee
Nashville Division
) In Proceedings for
In the Matter of on nk latin
Tennessee Central Railway Com- ¢ of a Railroad.

pay, Sevier. No. BK 67-2263

JUDGMENT
No. 94

Dividing Creditors and Stockholders Into Classes Accord-
ing to the Nature of Their Claims, Setting Up Classi-
fications of Creditors and Stockholders, Determining
the Order of Priority of Claims and Directing Report
by Trustee.

A. Battle Rodes, Trustee of Tennessee Central Railway
Company, the above named Debtor, having petitioned the
Court for a hearing on the division of creditors and stock-
holders into classes according to the nature of their
claims and interests and for a determination of the order
of priority of such claims, and a hearing on these issues
having been held on November 10, 1969, after notice to
all parties in interest, at which hearing United States of
America, various railway companies claiming priorities,
other creditors claiming priorities, and several counties
and municipalities were represented by counsel, affidavits

Od ga

Sa

were presented, arguments of counsel were heard and
briefs were filed within the time allowed by the Court for
the filing of briefs, and all parties were given opportunity
to present evidence, to be heard, to file briefs, and no coun-
sel having appeared on behalf of general creditors or on
behalf of stockholders, and the Court having filed its
memorandum opinion, including its findings of fact, con-
clusions of law and order for judgment on August 19,
1970, with supplemental memorandum opinion on August
27, 1970; now, therefore, pursuant to said order for judg-
ment;

It Is Hereby Ordered and Adjudged that:

1. The classification of creditors and stockholders, the
division of creditors and stockholders of the Debtor into
classes according to the nature of their respective claims
and stock interests, and the order of priority of such
claims and interests be, and they hereby are, fixed as
follows:

(i) Expenses and costs of administration and operation
of Tennessee Central Railway Company commencing De-
cember 14, 1967, and costs and expenses incurred in this
cause under orders of the Court;

(ii) Claims for personal injuries to employees of Ten-
nessee Central Railway Company, and claims of personal
representatives of deceased employees of Tennessee Cen-
tral Railway Company, arising under state or federal laws
and accruing prior to December 14, 1967:

(iii) Claims of counties and municipalities of the State
of Tennessee for taxes assessed and unpaid on December
14, 1967, without penalty, but with interest thereon to the
extent that interest had accrued prior to December 14,
1967 ;

(iv) Claims for timbers furnished and work and labor
done on, or for damages done to persons and property

— 7

(other than injuries to employees) in the operation of
Tennessee Central Railway Company in the State of
Tennessee prior to December 14, fer, as provided under
Section 65-1021, Tennessee Code Annotated;

(v) Claims against Tennessee Central Railway Com-
pany for interline freight balances in favor of other rail-
way companies arising within six months prior to Decem-
ber 14, 1967, claims against Tennessee Central Railway
Company for amounts owing for car rentals or leasing of
cars to Tennessee Central Railway Company accruing
within six months prior to December 14, 1967, and claims
for fuel supplied to Tennessee Central Railway Company
for operation of the motive equipment of that company
accruing within six months prior to December 14, 1967;

(vi) Claims of United States of America for indebted-
nesses due United States of America by Tennessee Cen-
tral Railway Company represented by notes held by
Treasury Department of United States of America, the
payment of which is secured by the pledge of the First
Mortgage Series A Bonds of Tennessee Central Railway
Company ; z

(vii) General claims against Tennessee Central Railway
Company, including claims of general creditors and claims
or interests (exclusive of stockholder interests) of what-
ever character, other than those hereinabove enumerated;

(viii) Claims of interest of preferred stockholders of
Tennessee Central Railway Company;

(ix) Claims of interest of common stockholders of
Tennessee Central Railway Company.

2. A. Battle Rodes, Trustee, shall proceed with the
classification of the specific claims filed and not objected
to in the order of priority as hereinabove established,
and shall report to the Court all outstanding and unsatis-
fied claims and the amounts of such claims as shown upon
the claims register and in the order of priority as herein-
above stated.

ee ‘ Be bah cic bai ne eee oe

—

=e

3. Upon the filing of such report by the Trustee, the
Court by appropriate order will direct the distribution
of copies thereof to the several parties in interest, will
provide for the filing of objections to such report, and

- will enter an appropriate order referring to Honorable
Fred Elledge, Jr., Special Master, any objections to the
amounts and priority classifications as set out in the
Trustee’s report, for the taking of evidence thereon and
reporting the Special Master’s findings and recommenda-
tions to the Court. The report of the Trustee as provided
for in this order shall remain open for amendment as to
classifications, amounts and priorities of claims until the
findings and recommendations of the Special Master on
the items referred to him have been reported to, and
acted upon by the Court.

4. The Special Master shall proceed with the hearing
of objections heretofore filed to claims and now pending
before him, and shall report to the Court his findings
and recommendations thereon.

5. The Trustee on or before October 17th, 1970, shall
cause a copy of this order and a copy of the following
notice to be mailed to each of the mortgage trustees,
creditors whose claims have not been withdrawn or set-
tled and stockholders of the Debtor at their last known
addresses as the same appear upon the books and records
of the Debtor, or as may be known to the Trustee:

— A-51 —

Notice of Judgment Dividing Creditors and Stockholders
Into Classes According to the Nature of Their Claims,
Setting Up Classifications of Creditors and Stock-
holders, Determining the Order of Priority of Claims
and Directing Report by Trustee

In the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Tennessee

Nashville Division

In the Matter of In Proceedings for
, the Reorganization
Tennessee Central Railway Com- to Mailed.

pany,
Debtor. No. BK 67-2263

To All Mortgage Trustees, Creditors, Stockholders and
Parties in Interest:

Please take notice that on October 9, 1970, Honorable
William E. Miller, Judge, U. S. Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit, acting as District Judge, entered the at-
tached judgment in this case dividing creditors and stock-
holders into classes according to the nature of their
claims, setting up classifications of creditors and stock-
holders, determining the order of priority of claims, and
directing a report by the Trustee.

Please take further notice that this judgment will be-
come final as to the classifications and order of priorities
of claims and interests of stockholders within the time
provided by law in such cases following the date of the
entry of the judgment.

Please take further notice that the matter of individual
claims, the amounts thereof, and the classification by
priority into which an individual claim falls will be re-
ported by the Trustee subject to objections by interested
parties after the report has been filed.

— A-52—

Please take further notice that a copy of the report
of the Trustee will be mailed to mortgage trustees, credi-
tors and stockholders and other parties in interest when
the report is filed.

Dated at Nashville, Tennessee, this October 16, 1970,

A. Battle Rodes
Trustee of Tennessee Central Railway Company

This 7th day of October, 1970.
/s/, WILLIAM FE, MILLER
Judge

/s/ CARMACK COCHRAN
Attorney for A. Battle Rodes, Trustee |

—s =

APPENDIX E

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

In the Matter of: +

Tennessee Central Railway Company,
Debtor,

United States of America,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

L No. 71-1228,
vs.

A. Battle Rodes, Trustee of Tennes-
see Central Railway Company,
Defendant-Appellee. :

ORDER
(Filed April 4, 1971)

Before: Weick, Edwards and Peck, Circuit Judges.

Petitions for rehearing and a suggestion for rehearing
in bane having been filed by defendants-appellees in the
above-styled case, and no judge of this court having moved
for rehearing in benc and the petition for rehearing hav-
ing been assigned to the panel which heard the case, with
Judge Paul C. Weick designated to serve in place of
Judge Henry L. Brooks, deceased, said petitions are
hereby denied, for the reasons set forth in the opinion of
the court.

Entered by order of the Court.

JAMES A. HIGGINS
Clerk

ERENT RIL BOE PHU TGR ERE RE ROH t LR a

Fi

So

APPENDIX F

RELEVANT SECTIONS OF §77 OF THE
NATIONAL BANKRUPTCY ACT

(11 U.S.C. § 205; 49 Stat. 911)
Section 77(b) (11 U.S.C. 205(b))

The term ‘‘claims’’ includes debts, whether liquidated
or unliquidated, securities (other than stock and option
warrants to subscribe to stock), liens, or other interests
of whatever character. For all purposes of this section
unsecured claims, which would have been entitled to pri-
ority if a receiver in equity of the property of the debtor
had been appointed by a Federal court on the day of the
approval of the petition, shall be entitled to such priority
and the holders of such claims shall be treated as a sep-
arate class or classes of creditors.

Section 77(e) (11 U.S.C. 205(e))

(e): Provided further, That if, in any reorganization
proceeding under this section, the United States is a cred-
itor on claims for taxes or customs duties (whether or
not the United States has any other interest in, or claim
against, the debtor, as creditor or stockholder), no plan
which does not provide for the payment thereof shall be
confirmed by the judge except upon the acceptance, cer-
tified to the court, of a lesser amount by the President of
the United States or the officer or agency designated by
him pursuant to the provisions of the preceding paragraph
hereof: Provided further, That if the President of the

Pests

— A-55 —

United States or such officer or agency shall fail to accept
or reject such lesser amount for more than ninety days
after receipt of written notice so to do from the court,
accompanied by a certified copy of the plan, the consent
of the United States insofar as its claims for taxes or cus-
toms duties are concerned shall be conclusively presumed.

iin

ACT MARCH 3, 1797, CH. 20, §5, 1 STAT. 515
ACT MARCH 2, 1799, CH. 22, § 65, 1 STAT. 676
RS. § 3466 (31 U.S.C. § 191)

§191. Priority established

Whenever any person indebted to the United States is
insolvent, or whenever the estate of any deceased debtor,
in the hands of the executors or administrators, is insuff-
cient to pay all the debts due from the deceased, the debts
due to the United States shall be first satisfied; and the
priority established shall extend as well to cases in which
a debtor, not having sufficient property to pay all his
debts, makes a voluntary assignment thereof, or in which
the estate and effects of an absconding, concealed, or ab-
sent debtor are attached by process of law, as to cases in
which an act of bankruptcy is committed. B.S. § 3466.

— A-57 —

APPENDIX H

RELEVANT PORTION OF 15 U.S.C. 603
Reconstruction Finance Corp.

$603. Period of succession; employment of personnel; pri-
ority of debts due Corporation; death or injury
benefits of employees

Debts due the Corporation, whether heretofore or here-
after arising, shall not be entitled to the priority avail-
able to the United States pursuant to section 191 of Title
31 except that the Corporation shall be entitled to such
priority with respect to debts arising from any trans-
action pursuant to any of the following Acts or provisions
in effect at any time: Sections 5d(1) and 5d(2) of the
Reconstruction Finance Corporation Act added by section
5 of the Act entitled ‘‘An Act to authorize the purchase
by the Reconstruction Finance Corporation of stock of
Federal home-loan banks; to amend the Reconstruction
Finance Corporation Act, as amended, and for oth

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1134%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
