# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Particular Cleaners, Inc. v. Commonwealth Edison Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1113%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 890

## Text

i- 14
No.

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1971

PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC. and FRANCES ENTWISTLE,

Petitioners,
vB.

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY A

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

GEORGE H. GERSTMAN WARREN P. LANDSMAN
NORMAN LETTVIN ROBERT L. LANDSMAN
135 South La Salle Street 77 West Washington Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603 Chicago, Illinois 60602

Counsel for Petitioners

May, 1972

UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RCI TRE SED SOOO Ni NCS RD

CTI "te eee

Question Presented ooo cece.

Constitutional Provision, Statutes and Ordinance In-

i RE SEE EE ET ee a ee a
Statement of the Case . snes atti
Reasons for Granting the Writ

I. The Present Case Raises a Serious Constitu-

tion Question 2.0...
Il. Respondent’s Action is State Action

II. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Deci-
sions of Other Courts of Appeals As To The
Proper Interpretation of ‘‘State Action’’ By a
Public Electric Utility 2000.

EE ARE STR ana CF Ca ae

ARIES ERE TE a CSR aa PO A

a

CASES CITED
PAGE

Gas Light Company of Columbia v. Georgia Power

Company, 440 F.2d 1135 (5 Cir., 1971) .................. 9
Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943) 8
Public Utilities Commission v. Pollak, 343 U.S. 451

IIIT |: sisisnsandcieinscgnonienbinninecneiseitasncatiiniinensvinasicaniisntesctiahibewonsnn 10
United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (1941) -.............. 8

Washington Gas Light Company v. Virginia Electric
and Power Company, 438 F.2d 248 (4 Cir., 1971) .... 8,9

CONSTITUTION

U. S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1 ..2, Al

STATUTES AND ORDINANCE

> Mis iS TE A I i ssnsonitnhsoncaansscaenensnnie 2, Al
Title SB UHC. 6 19008) on... 2, Al
ner eee +e oo. 2, Al

Illinois Commerce Commission. General Order No.
EARNER RB PA SUERE Reet area aaa mmre tee een ee 2, A2

—

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

| OcrosBer Term, 1971

-_—

No.

PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC. and FRANCES ENTWISTLE,

Petitioners,
Vs.

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Particular Cleaners, Inc. and Frances Ent-
wistle, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment entered on February 11, 1972 by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Gireuit
in its cause numbered 71-1349.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit is not yet reported, but is printed in the Appendix
to this Petition at p. A9. The opinion of the District
Court for the Northern District of Illinois is not reported,
but is printed in the Appendix to this Petition at p. Al4.

“ ras 7 * +t 5 MG 4 7.
aha ie la a tea Pa NE aii Sa Oe orl SR ok CS UR oe PEAT SRA “RETSS

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
February 11, 1972 (App. p. A13),* and this Petition for
a Writ of Certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

As to the Certiorari Policy: Should not the Supreme
Court resolve the existing conflict in principle between the
Fourth and Fifth Circuit Courts of Appeals on the one
hand, and the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals on the
other hand, as to what action of a public electric utility
constitutes ‘‘state action’’?

On the Merits: Illinois Commerce Commission General
Order 172 (App. p. A2) permits public utilities (elec-
tric, gas, telephone, water and heating services) to collect
an advance security deposit from prospective customers.
Is arbitrary discrimination in the collection of security
deposits, by a public utility under color of Illinois Com-
merce Commission General Order 172, ‘‘state action’’ so
as to subject the public utility to provisions of the Civil
Rights Act?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, STATUTES
AND ORDINANCE INVOLVED

This case involves Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution (App. p. Al);
Section 1983 of the Civil Rights Act (App. p. A1); Section
1343(3) of Title 28, United States Code (App. p. Al) ; and
Illinois Commerce Commission General Order 172 (App.
p. A2).

*“App. p. A ” refers to the cited page of the Appendix to
this Petition.

all 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The class-action Complaint (App. p. A17) was filed
in the District Court on November 12, 1970 and alleges
the following facts:

Under color of an fllinois Commerce Commission regu-
lation, thousands of purchasers of electric service from
Defendant Commonwealth Edison Company are not re-
quired to pay a security deposit in order to receive electric
service, while on the other hand, thousands of purchasers
of electric service from Commonwealth Edison are arbi-
trarily and discriminatorily required to pay a security
deposit based upon unequal standards and policies arbi-
trarily dictated by Commonwealth Edison (App. p. A19).
Plaintiffs Particular Cleaners and Frances Entwistle are
two purchasers that Commonwealth Edison arbitrarily and
under color of an Illinois Commerce Commission regula-
tion, required to pay a security deposit in order to main-
tain electric service (App. pp. A19-A20),

Commonwealth Edison has a total monopoly on electric
service in the City of Chicago where Plaintiff Entwistle
resides and in the Village of Oak Park, Illinois where
Plaintiff Particular Cleaners has its principal place of
business (App. p. A20). Plaintiff Eutwistle is a *-male
of British citizenship and Plaintiff Particular Cleaners
is a dry cleaning establishment. Unless Commonwealth
Edison provides and sells electric service to Particular
Cleaners and F'rances Entwistle, they will be deprived of
obtaining and/or maintaining electric service (App. p.

A20).

ee
PMA RUT SMD RINT ea BN NOAA

—

Count I of the Complaint charges that Commonwealth
Edison’s arbitrary discrimination in requiring advance
security deposits under color of an Illinois Commerce Com-
mission regulation is contrary to the Fourteenth Ameu-
ment to the Constitution of the United States (App. p.
A20). Jurisdiction of Count I of the Complaint was
founded on 28 U.S.C, $1343.

In the District Court, Commonwealth Edison moved
to dismiss the Complaint on several grounds, one of
which was that Commonwealth Edison’s action in re-
quiring security deposits was not under color of any
state ordinance or regulation (was not ‘‘state action”’),
and therefore Commonwealth Edison alleged that it was
not subject to the Civil Rights Act (in particular, 42
U.S.C. $1983). The District Court granted Commonwealth
Edison’s motion to dismiss, holding that Commonwealth
Edison’s action in requiring security deposits is not ‘‘state
action’’ sufficient to satisfy 42 U.S.C. §1983 and permit
maintenance of the lawsuit (App. p. A16). The Court
of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirmed the District
Court’s dismissal of Petitioners’ Complaint (App. p. A13).

4

—

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Present Case Raises A Serious Constitutional
Question.

Electricity is an absolute necessity of today’s life. With-
out electricity, Petitioner Particular Cleaners would be
unable to operate its dry cleaning establishment and Peti-
tioner Frances Entwistle would be unable, among other
things, to heat and light her home. Notwithstanding the
necessity of having electrical service, Commonwealth Edi-
son requires advance security deposits from some and not
others, using arbitrary and unreasonable discriminatory
standards. Typically those who are required to pay the
advance security deposit are those who have most difficulty
in paying it. The amount is variable, and as an example,
Particular Cleaners was required to pay $900.00 as an
advance security deposit.

Petitioners contend that every person has the equal right
to have electrical service, so long as the person pays for
it, But Commonwealth Edison arbitrarily denies that right
to some persons by requiring advance security deposits
from some, and not others. The security deposit require-
ments are not necessarily based on a person’s history with
paying Commonwealth Edison’s bills, but upon arbitrary
standards such as sex, residence location and race. Such
unreasonable discrimination, under color of a state ordi-
hance, is clearly violative of the Equal Protection Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution.

NE Ty LG AT VP TY SNORT Te NARI CE

6

Ii. Respondent’s Action Is State Action.

The Respondent, Commonwealth Edison Company, has
been granted a total monopoly in certain areas by the
State of Illinois. In effect, the State of Illinois decided
not to supply public electric service itself, but instead
permitted Commonwealth Edison to act as its agent. The
regulatory agency of Illinois, the Illinois Commerce Com-
mission, is empowered to regulate the policies of Common-
wealth Edison.

Although Commonwealth Edison is privately owned, its
security deposit requirements are pursuant to a state ordi-
nance, ICC General Order 172 (App. P. A2). The
intense contact of Commonwealth Edison and the State of
Illinois is evident from the facts that:

(1) Commonwealth Edison is subject to close regu-
lation by the Illinois Commerce Commission.

(2) The regulations of Commonwealth Edison filed
with the Illinois Commerce Commission are required to be
filed as a condition of Commonwealth Edison’s operation.

(3) Commonwealth Edison’s regulations must be ap-
proved by the Illinois Commerce Commission to be
effective.

(4) Commonwealth Edison is given a total monopoly
by the Illinois Commerce Commission.

(5) The Illinois Commerce Commission controls the
rates charged and the services offered by Commonwealth
Edison.

(6) The actions of Commonwealth Edison are subject
to review by the Illinois Commerce Commission.

=~"

7

In the Court of Appeals, Commonwealth Edison took the
position that it is a privately owned business carrying on
its own ‘‘normal business policies with regard to requiring
deposits and not state action.’’ However, it is improper
to consider Commonwealth Edison as a typical privately
owned business because of Commonwealth Edison’s intense
contact with the State of Illinois. Where the typical pri-
vately owned company is in open compe*tion with other
similar companies, Commonwealth Edison has a total mo-
nopoly imposed by state mandate, with its profit being
controlled by the state. A prospective purchaser of electri-
cal service cannot go elsewhere — he must purchase the
electrical service from Commonwealth Edison.

And the charging of advance security deposits in an
arbitrary manner to selected persons is not a normal,
internal business practice, such as giving employees
certain days off, ete. By arbitrarily selecting who
should pay a security deposit, and by arbitrarily selecting
the amount of the security deposit, Commonwealth Edison
can effectively prevent selected persons, through no fault
of such persons, from having electrical service.* Thus the
power to grant or not to grant electrical service, which is
given Commonwealth Edison by the State of Illinois, is
clearly a governmental function. This Court has stated
that ‘‘Misuse of power, possessed by virtue of state law
and made possible only because the wrongdoer is clothed
with the authority of state law, is action taken ‘under

* Clearly Particular Cleaners would be unable to commence busi-
ness without electrical service. Although it is undisputed that Edison
had no prior history of any collection problems with Particular
Cleaners and there were no debt judgments against Particular
Cleaners, Edison arbitrarily required Particular Cleaners to pay a
$900.00 security deposit in order to maintain its electrical service.
Such a requirement coupled with Particular Cleaners’ starting ex-
penses in business may have put it out of business.

Sa PIE NE OO LOE Te

~

color of’ state law.’’ United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299,
326; 85 L.Ed. 1368, 1383 (1941). This Court should resolve
the important question of whether Commonwealth Edison’s
action, in arbitrarily charging security deposits to some

and not others, is ‘‘state action’’ subjecting Commonwealth }
Edison to provisions of the Civil Rights Act.

III. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions Of
Other Courts Of Appeals As To The Proper Interpreta-
tion Of “State Action” By A Public Electric Utility.

It is abundantly clear that had the present case been in
the Fourth or Fifth Circuits, a contrary decision would
have been reached. In those Circuits, it is seen that the
action of a public utility under a state regulatory agency’s
regulation, is ‘‘state action.’’

In Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943), the Supreme
Court held that a marketing program instituted pursuant
to the California Agricultural Prorate Act was exempt
from the Sherman Act on the ground that the anti-com-
petitive actions involved there were the result of ‘‘state
action.’’ Thus the doctrine of Parker v. Brown is that the
antitrust laws are directed against individual action, not ;
‘«state action.’’ In other words, if a defendant can show
that his action is under color of state law (i.e., ‘state
action’), under Parker v. Brown he is immune from Fed-
eral antitrust laws.

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit and the
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit have considered
whether certain practices of public utilities involve ‘‘state
action’? thereby making such public utilities immune from
antitrust attack under the Parker v. Brown doctrine. These
eases are Washington Gas Light Company v. Virginia
Electric and Power Company, 438 F.2d 248 (4 Cir., 1971)

a

9

and Gas Light Company of Columbus v. Georgia Power
Company, 440 F.2d 1135 (5 Cir., 1971). In both of these
eases, the respective Courts of Appeal held that the com-
plained-of practices by the defendants were ‘‘state action’’
and therefore exempt from the purview of Federal anti-
trust legislation under Parker v. Brown.

In Washington Gas Light Company v. Virginia Electric
and Power Company, the Court of Appeals stated (438
F.2d at 251-252) :

“‘The Virginia State Corporation Commission is
without question a proper state agency to qualify
under Parker. Section 155 of the Virginia State Con-
stitution makes explicit provision for the SCC giving
it the power, among other things, to prescribe utility
rates and, subject to the authority of the state legis-
lature, to regulate other non-specified corporate utility
activities. Sections of the Virginia Code provide a
detailed system of regulatory powers and procedures
whereby administrative action may be taken and re-
viewed with respect to ‘rates, tolls, charges, schedules’
ete.

“‘There can be no doubt. and in fact Washington
Gas Light does not argue to the contrary, that the
SCC is a regulatory arm of the state, possessing both
the authority and powers necessary to qualify under
Parker. * * * We think VEPCO’s promotional practices
were at all times within the ambit of regulation and
under the control of SCC, and we hold these practices
exempt from the application of the laws of antitrust
under the Parker doctrine.”’

In Gas Light Company of Columbus v. Georgia Power
Company, the Court of Appeals stated:

**The question presented is whether the court below
erred in holding that these rate schedules were the
products of state action, i.e., products of the Georgia
Public Service Commission, and as such, excluded from

—"

the proscription of the federal antitrust laws under
the teaching of Parker v. Brown, supra. (440 F.2d at
1138).

10

‘Our view is that the Parker exclusion applies to
the rates and practices of public utilities enjoying
monopoly status under state policy when their rates
and practices are subjected to meaningful regulation
and supervision by the state to the end that they are
the result of considered judgment of the state regu-
latory authority; here the Georgia Public Service
Commission.’’ (440 F.2d at 1140).

It can be seen that in the Fourth and Fifth Circuits,
practices of public utilities under the auspices of state
regulatory commissions are considered ‘‘state action’’
thereby immunizing such public utilities from antitrust
liability. In sharp contrast, in the present case the Seventh
Circuit holds that an action by public utility Commonwealth
Edison, which action is clearly under color of a specific state
ordinance and under the auspices of the Illinois Commerce
Commission, is not ‘‘state action.’’

This Court should not permit an electric utility in the
Seventh Circuit to successfully claim ‘‘individual action”’
and become immune from the civil rights laws, while at the
same time electric utilities in the Fourth and Fifth Circuits
successfully claim ‘state action’’ and become immune from
the antitrust laws. This important conflict in construction
of ‘‘state action’? between the Fourth and Fifth Circuits on
the one hand, and the Seventh Cireuit on the other hand,
should be resolved by this Court.

.

11

CONCLUSION

Commonwealth Edison is granted monopoly status by the
State of Illinois and security deposits are arbitrarily re-
quired from certain classifications of persons and com-
panies under color of Illinois Commerce Commission Gen-
eral Order 172. In such collection of security deposits,
Commonwealth Edison has the effective power to grant
or not to grant electrical ‘service, is cloaked with the au-
thority of the State, and its practices constitute ‘‘state
action.’’

The decision by the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit, holding that Respondent’s action is not ‘‘state ac-
tion’, is contrary to the decisions that would have been
reached by the Courts of Appeals tor the Fourth and Fifth
Cireuits. For the reasons stated, a Writ of Certiorari
should issue to review the judgment and opinion of the
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Georce H. GrerstMan
Norman Lettvin

Warren P. LanpsMan

Rosert L. LanpsMan
Attorneys for Petitioners

LETTVIN AND GERSTMAN
135 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Telephone: 641-3320

May, 1972

Al

APPENDIX

Constitution

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment, Sec-
tion 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State wherein they re-
side. No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of
the United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due process
of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

28 U.S.C. § 1843(3):

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of
any civil action authorized by law to be commenced
by any person:

* * *

(3) To redress the deprivation, under color of any
State law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or
usage, of any right, privilege or immunity secured by
the Constitution of the United States or by any Act
of Congress providing for equal rights of citizens or of
all persons within the jurisdiction of the United States;

42 U.S.C. § 1983 (Civil Rights Act):

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordi-
nance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or
Territory, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any
citizen of the United States or other person within
the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Con-
stitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured
in an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress.

i a ec ale oo a ae Bel a ig

: ie. ,

A2

STATE OF ILLINOIS
ILLINOIS COMMERCE COMMISSION
GENERAL ORDER 172—Revised

1. SCOPE AND APPLICATION

These rules shall apply to the establishment and main-
tenance of credit by customers using cooling, electric, gas,
heating, telephone, sewer or water service rendered by any
public utility which is defined as such by Section 10 of ‘‘ An
Act concerning public utilities,’ as amended, the handling
of customers’ deposits, discontinuance of such service for
nonpayment of bills or failure to establish or maintain
credit, and matters relating thereto.

2. THE SAVING CLAUSE

The adoption of these rules shall in no way preclude the
Commission from altering or amending them, in whole or
in part, or from requiring or authorizing rules containing
other provisions whenever it shall be deemed to the public
interest so to do. The requirements specified herein shall
not relieve any Utility of any statutory requirement, shall
not supersede any rules heretofore filed by any Utility with
the Commission and presently in effect, and shall not pre-
clude the application of other rules which may be filed with
the Commission by any Utility and permitted by the Com-
mission to become effective.

3. DEFINITION OF DELINQUENCY

A customer who has not paid his bill for service within
the prompt payment period will be considered delinquent.
Where the Utility allows no discount for prompt payment,
the customer will be considered delinquent if he has not paid
his bill within the time specified for payment in the Utility’s
rates or rules as filed with the Commission. If the Utility

a

has no rates or rules on file setting forth the time after
which the customer will be considered delinquent, the cus-
tomer will be considered delinquent if he has not paid his
bill within ten (10) days after the bill is mailed or delivered
by other means.

4. ESTABLISHMENT OF CREDIT

(a) Present Customers. If any present customer has
been delinquent in the payment of any two consecutive bills,
or has been delinquent three or more times within the pre-
ceding twelve months, or if the Utility has reasonable
grounds to believe that the customer is a questionable credit
risk, such customer may be required to make a cash deposit
in order to establish his credit. Payment by the customer
of delinquent bills will not of itself relieve the customer
from the obligation of establishing his credit with respect to
the account involved or with respect to any other account
in connection with the same or any other class of service
which the Utility may be providing such customer.

A2

(b) Applicants for Service. Before service is rendered,
every applicant for initial or additional service in addition
to complying with all other applicable’ rules and regulations,
may be required to establish credit. The applicant shall be
notified promptly of such requirement to prevent any un-
due delay in the furnishing of service. Service may be
denied as long as the applicant owes the Utility for service
of the same class (residential or business) previously fur-
nished to him at the same or another location. Any ap-
plicant who has not established his credit, as provided
under Rule 5, may be required before service is established
to (1) pay the service connection charge, if any; and (2)
make an advance payment on his service account in an
amount equal to an estimated periodic bill. An advance
payment shall not relieve the applicant of his responsi-
bility subsequently to fully establish his credit.

bs PERO MALIA DD B SENTATION E PSY MONIES. SEIS BARN AS LR EES

—

5. MEANS BY WHICH CUSTOMER OR APPLICANT
MAY ESTABLISH CREDIT

Any customer or applicant may establish his credit by
compliance with either of the following conditions:

A4

(a) If he shall furnish information as to his credit and
the Utility, after prudent investigation, shall reasonably
believe that he is entitled to credit.

(b) If he makes a cash deposit in accordance with the
requirements in Rule 6.

6. AMOUNT OF CASH DEPOSIT

(a) The amount of the cash deposit which may be re-
quired of a customer or applicant for the purpose of estab-
lishing his credit, as provided under Rule 5, shall not ex-
ceed his estimated bill figured at the gross rate for the class
of service involved for a periodic billing period plus forty-
five (45) days. The determination of a customer’s (as dis-
tinguished from an applicant’s) estimated bill shall be
based upon his prior or current use of the class of service
involved.

(b) The amount of the cash deposit may be adjusted on
the basis set forth in Rule 6, Paragraph (a), at the option
of the customer or the Utility at any time when the char-
acter or degree of the customer’s use of the service has
materially changed, or when it develops that the character
or degree of such use will materially change.

7. CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH DEPOSITS ARE
TO BE APPLIED OR REFUNDED

The Utility shall promptly refund the deposit (with in-

terest as set forth under Rule 8) and may require the sur-
render to the Utility of the receipt or certificate of deposit
properly endorsed, or delivery of a cancellation receipt for
the deposit:

-_

A5

(a) When the customer establishes credit by other means,
or

(b) When the service is discontinued and the bills there-
for are paid in full, or

(c) When the service is discontinued and there are
charges due the Utility for service to the customer, the cash
deposit plus interest will be applied to the charges, and the
balance remaining of the deposit and interest, if any, re-
turned to the customer. When the deposit is applied to the
liquidation of unpaid bills, the Utility shall mail, or de-
liver, to the customer a stateiuent showing the amount of
the original deposit including accrued interest, if any; the
amount of the unpaid bills liquidated by the deposit; and
the balance remaining due to either the customer or the
utility,

In either case and in any event, if there is a balance due
the customer wher the service is discontinued it shall then
be immediately due and payable to the customer without
demand or notice from him.

8. INTEREST TO BE PAID ON DEPOSITS

Interest at the rate of not less than seven percent (7%)
compounded annually shall be paid by the utility on all
deposits held (including accrued simple interest) and ac-
quired by the utility on or after January 1, 1970 for the
purpose of the customer establishing credit, effective Jan-
uary 1, 1970 but in no case shall interest be allowed for a
period extending beyond the date of refund or the date
service is terminated, whichever date is earlier.

9. PAYMENT OF INTEREST ACCRUALS

Interest accruing on cash deposits shall be computed and
prompt settlement made:

eerrneemnnesmeecnenemcT9) aeRECORNERA AES RE at.

A6

(a) By paying the amount of interest accrued on the
demand of the customer but not oftener than once in any
twelve months’ period, or

(b) By adding the amount to the deposit upon the re-
turn or application of the customer’s deposit as set forth
in Rule 7.

10. ISSUANCE OF RECEIPT OR CERTIFICATE
OF DEPOSIT

Concurrently with the receipt of a cash deposit by a
Utility from a customer under the provisions of these rules,
the Utility shall issue and deliver, to said customer, a re-
ceipt or certificate of deposit showing thereon (1) the date
thereof, (2) the name of the customer, (3) the address of
the premises served or to be served, (4) the service to be
furnished, (5) the amount of the deposit, (6) the rate of
interest to be paid thereon from said date, and (7) stating
that (a) the amount of the deposit, plus said interest, will
be refunded to the customer when credit has been estab-
lished to the satisfaction of the Utility, or may be applied
by the Utility at any time to the liquidation of unpaid bills
of the customer; (b) the balance, if any, remaining after
liquidation of unpaid bills to the date that service to the
customer is discontinued will be so refunded ; (c) said inter-
est will cease and terminate upon said date of discontinu-
ance; (d) any amount remaining on deposit when service
is discontinued shall be immediately payable to the cus-
tomer without demand by or notice from him; and (e) the
Utility will dispose of the balance of any deposit remaining
after the period set forth in the Illinois Uniform Disposi-
tion of Unclaimed Property Act, which period commences
with the date of termination of service, in accordance with
the provisions of said Act.

A7

11. DISCONTINUANCE OF SERVICE

Service may be discontinued by the Utility for failure of
a customer to establish credit, or to adjust his cash deposit,
or for nonpayment of a delinquent bill owed to the Utility
for the same class (residential or business) of service fur-
nished to him at the same or another location, but only
after the mailing or delivery by other means of a written
notice by the Utility of its intention to discontinue service.
Service may be discontinued by the Utility at the end of
the period established under the Utility’s rules as filed with
the Commission, but where the Utility has no such rules on
file, service shall not be discontinued until at least five (5)
days after the mailing or delivery of such written notice of
intention to discontinue service.

12. SERVICE RECONNECTION CHARGE

Where service has been discontinued pursuant to the
terms of the notice provided for in Rule 11 erein, the
Utility shall charge and collect the reconnection charge, if
any, set out in any rules, regulations or terms afd condi-
tions of service which may be filed by the Utility with the
Commission and permitted by the Commission to become
effective.

13. RECORDS OF DEPOSITS

Each Utility collecting cash deposits from its customers
shall maintain a complete record of each and every deposit
showing (a) the name of the customer; (b) address of the
premises served; (c) date and amount of original deposit
and any additional deposits; (d) date and amount of any
refund or application to unpaid bills: (e) the amount of
interest paid or credited with the date of payment or

SRS SR OS eg eRe *

A8

credit; and (f) the balance of each deposit, the Commis-
sion will require to be shown in each Utility’s annual re-
port the total amount remaining in its customer deposit
account.

14. FINAL DISPOSITION OF A DEPOSIT

* The Utility shall have the right to close its records with
reference to any unrefunded deposit and to destroy the
records and other data relating to such deposit when such
deposit has been disposed of in accordance with the pro-
visions of the Illinois Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed
Property Act.

*Note: This provision supplements the requirements of Para-
graph 37 of General Order 186; Paragraph 37 of General
Order 187; and Paragraph 37 of General Order 189.

A9

in the
Runited States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit

SepremBer Term, 1971 — January Session, 1972

No. 71-1349

ParticuLak CLEANERs, Inc. and FRANcEs ENTWISTLE,
Plaintiff s-A ppellants,

Vs.

CommMoNWEALTH Epison Company,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Dlinois. — No. 70-C-2831

Wau J. Lyxcu, Judge.

February 11, 1972

Before Hastrnes, Senior Circuit Judge, Kuey, Circuit
Judge, and Kerner", Circuit Judge.

* Judge Kerner heard oral argument, but did not participate in
the adoption of this opinion.

—

Hastines, Senior Circuit Judge. Plaintiffs Particular
Cleaners, Inc, an Illinois corporation, and Frances
Entwistle, a citizen of the United Kingdom residing in
Oak Park, Illinois, filed a so-called ‘‘civil rights”’ action
against defendant Commonwealth Edison Company
(Edison), a private Illinois corporation engaged in the
commercial distribution of electricity. The gravamen of
the complaint relates to Edison’s practice of requiring
a security deposit from certain customers, who cannot
otherwise show credit, prior to the commencement of
electrical service.

In substance, Count I of the complaint alleges that the
method used by Edison for determining which prospec-
tive customers will be required to pay the deposit is
arbitrary, capricious and discriminatory, and is violative
of plaintiffs’ rights secured by the Equal Protection Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment of the Federal Constitution.
Plaintiffs seek to prosecute this cause as a class action
and apparently predicate their action under Title 42, U.S.
C.A. § 1983: and by reason thereof assert jurisdiction under
Title 28 U.S.C.A. § 1343(3)?

A10

1“§ 1983. Civil action for deprivation of rights. |
Every person who, under colcr of any statute, ordinance,
regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory, sub-
jects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United
States or other person within the jurisdiction thereof to
the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities
secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the
party injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other
proper proceeding for redress.”
2««¢ 1343. Civil rights and elective franchise
The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of any

an

Count II of the complaint is based on the claim that
Edison’s security deposit policies violate Section 38, Lil.
Rev. Stat., ch. 11134 (1969), which prohibits rate discrimi-
nation. The only jurisdiction of the federal district court
on this count was based on the theory of pendent juris-
diction.

The trial court dismissed both counts of the complaint
on Edison’s motion. Count I was dismissed on the ground
that Edison’s challenged security deposit requirement did
not coustitute state action sufficient to satisfy the juris-
dictional requirements of § 1983, supra. Since Count I was
dismissed, the trial court necessarily dismissed Count II,
there being no remaining pendent jurisdiction.

All

The primary question on this appeal is whether the
alleged discriminatory collection of security deposits by
Edison, authorized by General Order 172 — Revised
issued by the Illinois Commerce Commission, constitutes
conduct under color of state action that will subject it to
a civil rights action under § 1983, supra. Further, is the
disposition of this case controlled by Kadlec vy. Illinois Bell
Telephone Company, 7 Cir., 407 F.2d 624 ( 1969), cert.
denied, 396 U.S. 846, as the district court held?

General Order 172 — Revised provides, inter alia, for
the collection of limited security deposits from applicants

{footnote continued)
civil action authorized by law to be commenced by any
person :

**# @

(3) To redress the deprivation, under color of any State
law, statute, ordinances, regulation, custom or usage, of any
right, privilege or immunity secured by the Constitution of
the United States or by any Act of Congress providing for
equal rights of citizens or of all persons within the juris-

diction of the United States; ;
* # o*#

eg a AD SORT RN ORL DEL CBE IE PEI, TORE EGS BEE Pte IIE

Al2

or customers seeking to use ‘‘cooling, electric, gas, heating,
telephone, sewer or water service rendered by any public
utility.”” The complaint does not challenge the propriety
of the action of the Illinois Commerce Commission or the
order itself. It complains of ‘‘the standards and policies
arbitrarily dictated by numerous representatives of”
Edison. The order in no way directs or orders the collec-
tion of any security deposits. It merely serves to limit
the power of public utilities to require deposits. There
is no allegation that a public utility could not require
such a deposit without this regulation. The decision to
require security deposits to insure credit and its applica-
tion of this policy in any particular case is strictly a
private management decision to be made by Edison in its
own normal business operation. Edison is neither the
State of Illinois nor an agency thereof. We fail to see
how the execution of these policies by Edison in the context
of the case before us could constitute state action.

In Kadlec v. Illinois Bell Telephone Company, supra,
we held that a telephone company’s discontinuance of
plaintiffs’ ‘‘Call-Pak’’ service pursuant to its own regula-
tions filed with state authorities did not amount to conduct
taken under color of state law and would not support
an action based on § 1983. Plaintiffs seek to distinguish
_ Kadlec from their case by claiming that in Kadlec it was
the public utility’s own regulation that was involved while
here the regulation was issued by the Illinois Commerce
Commission. We find this unpersuasive. As above pointed
out, the state did not act on its own regulation. Edison
executed its own policies, limited only by the state regula-
tion.

In the case at bar, the statute in no sense benefited from,
encouraged, requested or cooperated in the decision to
collect security deposits from plaintiffs. See Kadlec, at
626.

A13

Kadlec was followed in Martin v. Pacific Northwest
Bell Telephone Company, 9 Cir., 441 F.2d 1116 (1971),
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 873 (October 12, 1971), where the
court said at 1118: ‘‘The fact that a private corporation,
such as Pacific Bell, enjoys an economic monopoly which
is protected and regulated by the state does not necessarily
bring its every act within the purview of Section 1983.
** * [citing Kadlec] * * *. In this case, plaintiff’s allega-
tions at most concern Pacific Bell’s public service func-
tions; they neither show nor tend to show an intrusion
by the State into matters of Pacific Bell’s internal manage-
ment.’’? See Powe v. Miles, 2 Cir., 407 F.2d 73, 81 ( 1968) ;
and Lucas v. Wisconsin Electric Power Company, D.C.E.D.
Wis., 322 F.Supp. 337, 340 (1970).

We have considered cases cited by plaintiffs seeking
to distinguish Kadlec and find them inapposite to our
present consideration. Further, the parties have argued
other issues on appeal which were argued to the district
court but not reached by it in its decision. We do not
find it necessary to reach them here.

As was simply stated in Kadlec, at 626-27: ‘*Here, the
nexus between the state and defendant’s conduct was not
sufficient to maintain an action under § 1983.’’ And we
perceive no substantial difference between the state action
asserted in Kadlec and that asserted here.

We affirm the district court’s dismissal of appellants’
complaint.
AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

ENS INCE IL A FN EAE EOI SIEGE LA CUT SF WS

—

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS
EASTERN DIVISION

Al4

PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., an Illinois corpora-
tion, and FRANCES ENTWISTLE
Plaintiffs
vs.

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY, an Illinois
corporation

Defendant

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION
(Filed March 16, 1971)

Defendant, Commonwealth Edison, filed a motion to dis-
miss this cause of action for want of jurisdiction. The com-
plaint asserts a cause of action predicated on 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983. Jurisdiction, if it exists, obtains pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1343. The gravamen of the complaint concerns the
defendant’s practice of requiring a security of deposit from
certain customers prior to the commencement of electrical
service. The plaintiff alleges that the method used for
determining which prospective customers will be required

- to pay this deposit is arbitrary, capricious and discrimi-
natory, and accordingly inimical to rights secured by the
Equal Protection Clause of the fourteenth amendment.

The crucial strain of all complaints sounding under this
“provision of this reconstructionist civil rights statutes is
action taken under color of state law, or more prosaically

Al5

state action. Further, such state action is a necessary requi-
site for obtaining this court’s jurisdiction. Here the com-
plaint is not asserted against an acknowledged state officer
or agency. Rather the defendant is a private corporation.
However, the plaintiffs assert that this private corporation
is so circumscribed and protected by the state that its action
is in fact state action sufficient to satisfy the jurisdictional
requirements of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and permit the mainte-
nance of this suit. “

At the outset it must be recognized that the mere regu-
lation of a business by a state is in itself insufficient to
satisfy the jurisdictional requisite of § 1983. Something
more than mere regulation is required.

In Kadlec v. Illinois Bell Telephone Co., 407 F.2d 624
(1969) a similar complaint was brought under § 1983. The
Court of Appeals of this circuit held that a motion to dis-
miss was properly granted. The court noted that the termi-
nation of a particular type of service that was the basis for
the complaint was precipitated by private economic reasons
and was pursuant to the company’s own regulations.

The court continued:

The only apparent state connection with the termina-
tion rests in the fact that defendant Company filed its
regulations with state authorities. The state in no
sense benefited from, encouraged, requested or co-
operated in this suspension of service.

The mere filing of these regulations with the state
neither clothed Illinois Bell with state authority nor
did it bring it under the aegis of the state. The § 1983
requirement of conduct taken under color of law ‘‘. . .
ean rarely be satisfied in the case of anyone other than

tL ORR LENS ROE RTPI SO TENE ese Meneea ap

REGIA EEE PEN BIS

a

a state official.’’ (cites omitted) Here the nexus be-
tween the state and defendant’s conduct is not sufi-
cient to maintain an action under § 1983. 407 F.2d 624,
626.

This court’s review of the complaint convinces us that
the requisite nexus does not exist in this matter. We
perceive no substantial difference between the state action
asserted in Kadlec (supra) and that asserted here. Accord-
ingly this court grants the defendant’s motion to dismiss
Count I of the Complaint. Further, since jurisdiction over
Count IL of the Complaint is predicated on a theory of
pendant jurisdiction that Count is also dismissed.

A16

Wiuuam J. Lynou
Judge, United States District Court

Dated: March 15, 1971

» a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE
NortrHern District or ILuNots
Eastern Division

A17

PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., an Illinois Corpora-
tion, and FRANCES EN TWISTLE,

Plaintiffs,
vs.

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPAN Y, an Illinois
Corporation,

Defendant.

Civil Action — No. 700-2831
Class Action Complaint Jury Trial Demanded

COMPLAINT
(Filed November 12, 1970)

COUNT I
JURISDICTION

1, This Count I is a civil rights action arising under the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States. Jurisdiction is founded on the existence of a Fed-
eral question and U.S.C., Title 28, Section 1343.

A18

PARTIES AND VENUE

2. Plaintiff, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., is a
corporation incorporated under the laws of the State of
Illinois having its principal place of business in this judicial
district. The Plaintiff, FRANCES ENTWISTLE, is an
individual residing in the State of Illinois. Defendant,
COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY, is a corpora-
tion incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois,
having its principal place of business in this judicial dis-
trict. Plaintiffs have purchased or offered to purchase
electric service sold by the Defendant named herein within
the period covered by this Complaint.

CLASS ACTION

3. Plaintiffs bring this action on behalf of themselves
and pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure in behalf and as representatives of the class of all
such purchasers or prospective purchasers in the State of
Illinois that have been required to pay a security deposit
to Defendant as a prerequisite to obtaining or maintaining
electric service. The class is so numerous that joinder of
all members is impracticable. Except as to the amount of
damages each member of the class has sustained, all other
questions of law and fact are common to the class. The
questions common to the class predominate over any ques-
tions affecting only individual members. This class action
is superior to other methods for the fair and efficient adjud-
ication of the controversy described herein. The named
Plaintiffs will fairly and adequately protect the interests
of the class. Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON
COMPANY has acted on grounds generally applicable to
the class thereby making appropriate final injunctive relief
with respect to the class as a whole.

A19

VIOLATIONS COMPLAINED OF

4, Thousands of prospective purchasers of electric serv-
ice from Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON COM-
PANY, are not required to pay a security deposit in order
to receive electric service. On the other hand, thousands
of prospective purchasers of electric service from Defen-
ant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON: COMPANY are arbi-
trarily and discriminatorily required to pay a security de-
posit based upon unequal and discriminatory standards
and policies arbitrarily dictated by numerous representa-
tives of Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON COM-
PANY.

9. Plaintiff, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., has
been and is currently a purchaser of electric service from
Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,
within the State of Illinois since as early as October 1, 1970.
Plaintiff is not indebted to Defendant, COMMON-
WEALTH EDISON COMPANY, with respect to any bills
or charges for electric service purchased from Defendant,
COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY.

6. Notwithstanding the fact that PARTICULAR
CLEANERS, INC. is not indebted to the Defendant, COM-
MONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY, said Defendant has,
under color of an Illinois Commerce Commission Regula-
tion, arbitrarily, capriciously and discriminatorily classified
Plaintiff, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., as a deposit
purchaser of electric service whereby a deposit of approxi-
mately three times one month’s basic service is required in
order to maintain electric service at the corporation’s place
of business in Oak Park, Illinois. Such acts of Defendant
place Plaintiff, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC., at an
economic disadvantage using an instrumentality of the
State, and seriously interfere with Plaintiff’s ability to
commence and carry on its business, thereby resulting in
denial to the corporation of equal protection of the laws,

ME TOLIOE S/ AATI ARENAS, BE IRN ONT APRIL ETRY

A20
contrary to the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States, and such discrimination is a violation
of Section 38, lll. Rev. Stat. 1969, ch. 1113.

7. Plaintiff, FRANCES ENTWISTLE, is a citizen of
the United Kingdom and is not indebted to the Defendant.
Notwithstanding the fact that the Plaintiff, FRANCES
ENTWISTLE, is not indebted to the Defendant, COM-
MONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY, said Defendant has,
under color of an Lilinois Commerce Commission Regula-
tion arbitrarily, capriciously and discriminatorily required
said Plaintiff to pay a security deposit as a prerequisite to
purchasing electric service at her residence in Chicago,
Illinois. Such acts of Defendant place Plaintiff, FRANCES
ENTWISTLE, at economic disadvantage using an instru-
mentality of the State, thereby resulticg in denial to her
of equal protection of the laws, contrary to the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States and
such discrimination is a violation of [Sec. 38, Ill. Rev. Stat.
1969, ch. 111%4].* |

8. Defendant has a total monopoly on electric service |
in the City of Chicago, Illinois, where Plaintiff, FRANCES
ENTWISTLE, resides and PARTICULAR CLEANERS,
INC. in the Village of Oak Park, Illinois, where the Plain- '
tiff, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, Inc., has its principal
place of business.

9. Unless Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON
COMPANY, provides and sells electric service to Plain-
tiffs, PARTICULAR CLEANERS, INC. and FRANCES
ENTWISTLE, said Plaintiffs will be deprived from ob-
taining and/or maintaining electric service.

® The bracketed portion was added by an Amendment filed
November 13, 1970.

-

10. Thousands of other purchasers or prospective pur-
chasers, not indebted to Defendant have, under color of an
Illinois Commerce Commission Regulation, arbitrarily,
eapriciously and discriminatorily been and will be required
to pay a security deposit to Defendant as a prerequisite to
purchasing electric service. Such acts place such other
persons at an economic disadvantage using an instrumen-
tality of the State, thereby resulting in the denial to persons
within the State of Illinois equal protection of the laws,
contrary to the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States, and such acts violate Section 38, Til.
Rev. Stat. 1969, ch 11124.

11. The specific amounts of damage have not yet been
determined since such determination will require discovery
and analysis of Defendant's books and records. When these
amounts have been determined, Plaintiffs will seek leave
of Court to amend this Complaint to include such amounts.

12. Plaintiffs herein have been compelled to employ
attorneys to prosecute this suit and the attorneys for the
Plaintiffs are entitled to reasonable attorneys’ fees out of
a fund which this court is asked to establish by the col-
lection of the fund of deposits in the above-entitled cause.
The attorneys for Plaintiffs should be awarded reasonable
attorneys’ fees and costs and expenses incurred in this

proceeding.

A21

PRAYER FOR RELIEF
WHEREFORE, as to this Count 1, Plaintiffs pray

A. That the Court adjudge and decree that Defendant
has violated the civil rights of Plaintiffs and the acts done
in furtherance thereof, were and are in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States and of Section 38, Ill.Rev.Stat. 1969, ch 1112.

i.

B. That the Court determine that this action may be
maintained as a class action under Rule 23 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure and that reasonable notice of this
action be given each member of the class represented by
Plaintiffs.

C. That the Court enjoin the Defendant from continuing
the unlawful practice as alleged in Count I of this Com-
plaint and order such other relief as may be necessary and
appropriate to dissipate the effect of Defendant’s unlawful
acts.

D. That the Court appoint a receiver to receive and
collect all deposits unlawfully required, charged and col-
lected by Defendant, COMMONWEALTH EDISON COM-
PANY, and to distribute said collected deposits to the
Plaintiffs of class named herein.

E. That the Court award to the attorneys for the Plain-
tiffs such reasonable and proper attorneys’ fees as the
Court deems appropriate.

F. Plaintiffs pray that the Court grant such other and
further relief as the Court shall deem just.

Warren P. Lanpsman
Warren P. Landsman
Rosert L. LanpsmMan
Robert L. Landsman

Warren P. Lanpsman and

Rosert L. LanpsmMan

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

77 W. Washington Street

Financial 6-0531

Of Counsel:

Lerrvin and GzersTman

135 South LaSalle Street

641-3320

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1113%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
