# Opposition Brief — Pendergraft v. Cook

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1095%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 886

## Text

Page

i hiccuncniaks ebedunduvdeosicite sven 1
Jurisdictional statement .......................... 1
i PE cohtnakihudusscneccatcecdcceess 2
Statutory provisions involved ..................... 3
GS ee 3
boone eeeshebadeeuenseccecsecescbcbsensss 6

I. Whether Section 1762, Mississippi Vode of 1942,
Annotated, recompiled, which excluded women
from jury service in the State of Mississippi, de-
nied the petitioner her constitutional rights as
guaranteed under the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution? .............. 6

Il. Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit committed error in giving prospective
application to White v. Cook, 251 F. Supp 401
DT. tht adtbdinennencagdlads waos anadeebe, ca 6

Ill. Whether petitioner was denied her constitu-

tional rights to be secure against unreasonable

searches and seizures as provided by the Fourth

Amendment to the United States Constitution? 11

I “Peete kbneihéabnentsecbeesenecctacces nas 14
Or GD owe cunceveveccsetecceccétccecs 14
Appendix A

Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals ..... A-l
Appendix B

Supplemental opinion ........................... A-9

Pry

Table of Cases Cited

Ballard v. United States, 329 U.S. 204 .............. 7
Os dn aw nuwsccescnceesceces 4
UE We I NE ER OD occ ccceccccccccccccces 8
Eaton v. Price, 360 U.S. 246 ..................2005- 8
Hoyt v. Florida, 368 U.S. 57 (1962) ................ 6, 10
Pendergraft v. Cook, 323 F. Supp. 967 (1971) ........ ll
Simeox v. Harris, 324 Fed. 2d 376 (1963) ........... 9
State v. Virginia Hall, 187 So.2d 861 (Miss.

Dt tnt hau inehitetbiadadabensconcend 6, 8, 9, 10
Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30, 26 L. Ed.2d 409, 90

tS cb ebibh isiintininibedentscencacuwe 12

White v. Cook, M. D. Ala, 1966, 251 F. Supp. 401 ...2, 4, 6

Miscellaneous Cited
Mississippi Code of 1942, Section 1762 .............. 3
ee i I EE oven cncuccncccdececese 8
ee ee MN ED ovo sn ccccccceccccccecece +
Title 28, U.S.C., Section 2254(1) ................... 1

United States Constitution:
ee

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1971

Number 71-1306

CATHERINE T. PENDERGRAFT |
Petitioner,
vs.

Superintendent of he Mere State © Penitentiary,
Respondent.

BRIEF
Satin @ Sein Seo Uhh ete Cue 0 Go
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cireui

OPINIONS BELOW —

The opinion sought to be reviewed i “ — v.
Cook, 5 Cir. 1971, 446 F. 2d 1222, reh. q:JeR- --- ag Ee
(No. 71-1598, November 12, 1971). See’® Appendix :

JURISDICTIONAL STATEYMENT

Respondent concedes that this Court ‘t has Jurisdiction
to review the decision by Writ of Cerftorari by virtue
of Section 2254 (1), Title 28, U. S. ©,

—_ a ae NL I ey as ee
? x
ll SE =
a

ae —_

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

Whether Section 1762, Mississippi Code of 1942, An-
notated, Recompiled, Which Excluded Women From Jury
Service in the State of Mississippi, Denied the Petitioner
Her Constitutional Rights as Guaranteed Under the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution?

I

Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Committed Error in Giving Prospective Application to
White v. Cook, 251 F. Supp. 401 (1966)?

Ii

Whether Petitioner Was Denied Her Constitutional
Rights to Be Secure Against Unreasonable Searches and
Seizures as Provided by the Fourth Amendment to the
United States Constitution?

_ —— =

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 1762, Mississippi Code of 1942, Annotated, Re-
compiled, ‘‘Who are competent jurors.”

Every male citizen not under the age of twenty-
one years, who is a qualified elector and able to read
and write, has not been convicted of an infamous
crime, or the unlawful sale of intoxicating liquors
within a period of five years and who is not a common
gambler or habitual drunkard, is a competent juror;
but no person who is or has been within twelve
months the overseer of a public road or road con-
tractor shall be competent to serve as a grand juror.
But the lack of any such qualifications on the part
of one or more jurors shall not vitiate an indictment
or verdict. However, be it further provided that
no talesman or tales juror shall be qualified who
has served as such tales juror or talesman in the
last preceding two years; and no juror shall serve
on any jury who has served as such for the last
preceding two years; and no juror shall serve who
has a case of his own pending in that court, provided
there are sufficient qualified jurors in the district
and for trial at that term.

’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner is a woman. She was convicted of murder in
the Circuit Court of the First Judicial District of Hinds
County, Mississippi. On appeal to the Mississippi Supreme
Court that conviction was reversed for several reasons.
She was retried, reconvicted and her conviction was af-
firmed by the Mississippi Supreme Court. 213 So. 2d 560.
She took a direct appeal to this Court. A Motion to Affirm
or Dismiss was filed by the State of Mississippi and on

a Ss PEER LET ETE I

— =

April 21, 1969, this Court granted the Motion to Dismiss
for want of jurisdiction, and also, treating the papers
whereon the appeal waz taken as a Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, denied certiorari. 374 U.S. 715, 22 L. Ed. 2d
671, 89 S. Ct. 1453; reh. den., 395 U. S. 941, 23 L. Ed. 2d
459, 89 S. Ct. 1993.

Throughout these entire proceedings in the State Courts
and before this Court, the unconstitutionality of the statu-
tory exclusion of women from jury service was persistently
urged by petitioner. After the dismissal of the appeal and
denial of certiorari, a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus
was filed in the United States District Court for the Jack-
son Division of the Southern District of Mississippi. Dis-
trict Judge Dan M. Russell, Jr. presided at all times that
this case has been in the District Court.

On December 30, 1969 Judge Russell followed White v.
Cook, M. D. Ala., 1966, 251 F. Supp. 401 (3-Judge), which
held as unconstitutional a like exclusionary statute of Ala-
bama and the dictum of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit in Bass v. State, 381 F. 2d 692.

Judge Russell allowed an interlocutory appeal to the
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cireuit on the jury issue
under Section 1292, Title 28, U. S. C. In view of the fact
that there was also a question before the United States
District with respect to the constitutionality of the search
and seizure, the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit de-
clined to decide the jury question and remanded the case
to the District Court.

After fully considering the admissibility of the ques-
tioned items of evidence on stipulation of counsel, on Feb-
ruary 22, 1971 the District Court ruled that the items of
evidence were obtained as a result of a reasonable search,
and were admissible in evidence, but reaffirmed its earlier

SS Ow SS a et ss 6S Oe AM.

—— a we

decision that petitioner was entitled to be indicted and
tried by juries from which women had not been excluded.
The State of Mississippi, feeling aggrieved by this judg-
ment, prosecuted an appeal to the Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Cireuit on the jury issue. On August 13, 1971 the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit dis-
missed the Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus and on
November 12, 1971° denied a Petition for Rehearing. A
copy of this Opinion is Appended, bound with this Brief,
and marked as Appendix ‘‘A’’,

Whether Section 1762, Mississippi Code of 1942, Anno-
tated, Recompiled, Which Excluded Women From Jury
Service in the State of Mississippi, Denied the Petitioner
Her Constitutional Rights as Guaranteed Under the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution?

I

Whether the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit Com-
mitted Error in Giving Prospective Application to White
v. Cook, 251 F. Supp 401 (1966)?

The above questions were first presented to the Supreme
Court of Mississippi in State v. Virginia Hall, 187 So.2d
861 (Miss. 1966). This was an appeal to the Mississippi
Supreme Court by the State of Mississippi from an Order
of the Circuit Court of Lee County, Mississippi, quashing
an indictment against Virginia Hall shortly after the de-
cision of the three-judge District Court in Alabama in
White v. Cook, supra. The Mississippi Supreme Court re-
versed the Circuit Court and reinstated the indictment.
The case was then taken to this Court by direct appeal
and the appeal was dismissed per curiam. The Chief Jus-
tice and Harlan and White, JJ, were of the opinion that
the appeal should be dismissed for want of jurisdiction.
Justice Douglas and Justice Fortas were of the opinion
that probable jurisdiction should be noted.

The Respondent places strong reliance on Hoyt v. Flor-
ida, 368 U.S. 57 (1962), wherein this Court said:

‘‘We need not, however, accept appellant’s invita- _
tion to canvass in this case the continuing validity of
this Court’s dictum in Strauder v. West Virginia, 100
U.S. 303, 310, 25 L. Ed. 664, 666, to the effect that a

_ — oat, ne

state may constitutionally ‘confine’ jury duty to
‘males’. This constitutional proposition has come un-
questioned for more than eighty years in the decisions
of this Court. See Fay v. New York, supra (332 U.S.
at 289, 290) and had been reflected until 1957 in con-
gressional policy respecting jury service in the federal
courts themselves.’’

The pros and cons of this proposition are further dis-
cussed in Ballard v. United States, 329 U. S. 204, both in
the majority and dissenting opinions. This case was de-
cided prior to the Act of Congress making women eligible
for jury duty in federal courts regardless of their ineligi-
bility in certain state courts. In the majority opinion Jus-
tice Douglas made one observation for which we can all
be thankful when he said,

‘‘The truth is that the two sexes are not fungible.’’

In an opinion in that case by Justice Frankfurter, joined
by Chief Justice Vinson and Justices Jackson and Burton,
it was said that:

‘‘Even now, this Court does not find that the exelu-
sion of women constitutes an inroad upon the vital
safeguards for a criminal trial so as to involve the
denial of due process.”’

While Justice Burton was speaking in dissent, it is sug-
gested that he made a correct statement when he said:

‘There is no constitutional, statutory or court rule
or policy requiring women to be placed on all federal
jury lists. Congress might have required such a course
and might have set up complete federal qualifications
for federal jurors, but it never has done so. Instead,
it has provided that state actions shall determine most
of the qualifications for federal jury service. As a re-
sult it would be reversible error for the federal courts

in i. on

to include women on federal juries in those states
which do not make women eligible for service as
jurors of the highest court of law in such states.’

However, subsequent to this pronouncement Congress
did make women eligible in federal courts regardless of
eligibility in a given state court.

Some still say the denial of certiorari or dismissal of
an appeal by this Court means nothing but this belief is
far from universal. Many courts in the proper type of
case feel strongly to the contrary, and it is respectfully
suggested that the case at bar, as well as the Virginia Hall
case, supra, fall in that category of cases where the dis-
missal of appeal and denial of certiorari is of considerable
import. In Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 543, this Court said:

‘‘Perhaps the profession could accept denial as
meaningless before the custom was introduced of not-
ing dissent from them. Lawyers and lower judges will
not readily believe that justices of this court are tak-
ing the trouble to signal a meaningless division of
opinion about a meaningless act.’’

As in the case at bar in the Virginia Hall case, supra,
in Brown v. Allen, supra, there were dissents from the
denial of certiorari.

As this Court knows, four justices must vote in the af-
firmative before the Court will grant certiorari. In Eaton
v. Price, 360 U. S. 246, in an opinion by Justice Brennan,
it was also revealed that the ‘‘rule of four’’ applies to
appeals as well as to petitions for certiorari.

By the provisions of 28 U. S. C., Section 1257(2), ap-
peals may be taken to this Court from the highest court
of a state when there is drawn in question the validity of
any state statute on the ground of its being repugnant
to the Constitution, Treaties or Laws of the United States,

a =
and the decision is in favor of its validity. In the case

at bar, and in the Hall case, supra, the only question be-
fore this Court was whether or not the Mississippi statute
confining jury service to males is repugnant to the Con-
stitution of the United States. There is no question but
that these appeals presented what, on their face, would
appear to be a substantial federal question. Where such a
question as the constitutionality of a state statute is
squarely presented to this Court, there must be some
mandating reason for the dismissal of the appeal and the
denial of certiorari. The explanation is believed found in
cases such as Simcox v. Harris, 324 Fed. 2d 376 ( 1963),
decided by the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.
Simcox was a federal prisoner being held in prison at
Aleatraz. He filed habeas corpus and the case was ulti-
mately decided adversely to him by the Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit. Certiorari was then denied by
this Court. He was transferred to a federal prison in
Missouri and went the same route on the same question
through the District Court in Missouri and the Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. As that Court said:

‘Application for certiorari was made to the Su-
preme Court from the decision of the Court of Ap-
peals of the Ninth Circuit, and the Supreme Court
thus was faced directly with the question, presented
to it on appellant’s existing imprisonment and in
the only manner that could come before the court
from the lower federal courts, whether the holding
of those courts, that the Kahn case had not been af-
fected by any of the Supreme Court’s subsequent de-
cisions but still remained the law, should be permitted
to stand. The Court’s denial of certiorari seems to
us in this situation, differently than such action on its
part generally, to have a mandating significance, (a)
because of the immediacy of the question in the par-
ticular proceeding, and (b) because of the nature of

the setting out in the order denying certiorari that
one of the justices was of the opinion ‘that certiorari
should be granted’. Simcox v. Maddigan, 370 U.S. 904,
82 S. Ct. 1593, 8 L.Ed. 24 830.’’ (Emphasis added.)

It is respectfully suggested that the case at bar is in
the identical situation and that a mandating significance
should be attached to the dismissal of appeal and denial
of certiorari.

There can be no question but that the constitutionality
of a state statute such as that with which we are here
involved presents a substantial federal question, but as
Chief Justice Warren remarked in an address before the
American Law Institute in 1954, quoting from Wiener,
the Supreme Court’s new rules, 68 Harvard Law Review
20:

“It is only accurate to a degree to say that our
jurisdiction in cases on appeal is obligatory as dis-
tinguished from discretionary on certiorari. .As re-
gards appeals from state courts our jurisdiction is
limited to those cases which present substantial fed-
eral questions. In the absence of what we consider
substantiality in the light of prior decisions, the ap-
peal will be dismissed without opportunity for oral
argument’’ (Emphasis added).

In the light of that statement by the then Chief Justice
it would appear obvious that when the case at bar and
the Virginia Hall case, supra, were presented on both ap-
peal and petition for certiorari, the Supreme Court did
not consider the question presented as a substantial one
in the light of its prior decisions particularly in Hoyt v.
Florida, supra, which reaffirmed what was said in Strau-
der v. West Virginia.

— Bis 3:
the consideration seemingly involved on its part from

i

— a

The Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit certainly
recognized the validity of this position taken by the re-
spondent when Judge Coleman, who delivered the ma-
jority opinion, stated:

‘‘This, then, brings us face to face with the unre-
viewed and unreversed decision of the Supreme Court
of Mississippi in State v. Hall, supra, and in Mrs.
Pendergraft’s direct appeal, that the decision in White
v. Cook, supra, was not binding on it. 187 So2d at
863, and that there existed a reasonable basis for the
legislative classification which excluded women from
jury duty in Mississippi State Courts.”’

The Respondent would respectfully contend that these
two questions have been decided with finality by the Mis-
sissippi Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit, and this Court.

il

Whether Petitioner Was Denied Her Constitutional
Rights to Be Secure Against Unreasonable Searches and
Seizures as Provided by the Fourth Amendment to the
United States Constitution?

In Pendergraft v. Cook, 323 F. Supp. 967 (1971), a copy
of this Opinion is Appended, bound with this Brief, and
marked Appendix ‘‘B’’, the District Court stated:

‘‘This Court agrees with the finding of the State
Supreme Court that probable cause existed for the
arrest of petitioner, but this of itself does not validate
the search. The cause for arrest must exist inde-
pendent of the search. Upon the officers’ observance
of the body in rigor mortis and upon their awareness
that petitioner had been at home alone with the de-
ceased throughout the afternoon and evening, they

ae a

had probable cause for arrest. In the obvious fact
that, when they arrived, efforts had been made to
clean the body, traces of blood being present on the
floor and nearby doorknobs, and because of the num-
bers of people in and out of the premises, their efforts
to gather and preserve evidence were permissible.
This Court agrees that the detectives would have
been derelict in their duty if they had not been alert
and observant in investigating a death which bore
every indication of having been violently inflicted.”

In Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U. S. 30, 26 L. Ed.2d 409, 90
S. Ct. 1969, this Court held:

‘The Louisiana Supreme Court thought the search
independently supportable because it involved nar-
cotics, which are easily removed, hidden, or destroyed.
It would be unreasonable, the Louisiana Court con-
cluded, ‘to require the officers under the facts of the
case to first secure a search warrant before searching
the premises, as time is of the essence inasmuch as
the officers never know whether there is anyone on the
premises to be searched who could very easily destroy
the evidence.’ 252 La. at 1070, 215 So.2d at 816. Such
a rationale could not apply to the present case, since
by their own account the arresting officers satisfied
themselves that no one else was in the house when
they first entered the premises. But entirely apart
from that point, our past decisions make clear that
only in ‘a few specifically established and well-deline-
ated’ situations, Katz v. United States, 389 U. §. 347,
397, 19 L. Ed.2d 576, 585, 88 S. Ct. 507, may a warrant-
less search of a dwelling withstand constitutional
scrutiny, even though the authorities have probable
cause to conduct it. The burden rests on the state to
show the existence of such an exceptional situation.

. .”? (Emphasis added)

_ —13—

The United States District Court obviously recognized
that the State had shown an exceptional situation when
the facts revealed that the petitioner had been at home
alone with the deceased throughout the afternoon and
evening, and that when they arrived they noticed that
efforts had been made to clean the body, and further find-
ing traces of blood on the floor and doorknobs and that a
number of people had been in and out of the premises.

Mr. Justice Black, with whom the Chief Justice joined
in the dissenting opinion, stated:

‘‘Moreover, the circumstances here were sufficiently
exceptional to justify a search, even if the search was
not strictly ‘incidental to an arrest.’ The Court
recognizes that searches to prevent the destruction or
removal of evidence have long been held reasonable
by this Court. Preston v. United States, supra; Mc-
Donald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451, 455, 93 L. Ed.
153, 158, 69 S. Ct. 191 (1948); Carroll v. United States,
267 U.S. 132, 69 L. Ed. 543, 45 S Ct. 280, 39 ALR
790 (1925). Whether the ‘exceptional circumstances’
justifying such a search exist or not is a question that
may be, as it is here, quite distinct from whether or
not the search was incident to a valid arrest. .. .”?

a a

CONCLUSION a

Respondent respectfully submits that the petition for
writ of certiorari should be denied and that the judgment
of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted

A. F. SUMMER
Attorney General

By: GUY N. ROGERS
Assistant Attorney General
P. O. Box 220
New Capitol Building
Jackson, Mississippi 39205
Attorneys for Respondent

Certificate

I, Guy N. Rogers, Assistant Attorney General for the
State of Mississippi, do hereby certify that I have this day
mailed, postage prepaid, a copy of the foregoing Brief in
Opposition to Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, to
Henorable W. E. Gore, Jr., Attorney at Law, 500 First
Federal Building, Jackson, Mississippi 39205.

This the .... day of June, A. D., 1972.

Guy N. Rogers
Assistant Attorney General

lll wii

APPENDIX A

In the
United States Court of Appeals
For the Fifth Circuit

No. 71-1598

MRS. CATHERINE T. PENDERGRAFT,
Petitioner-Appellee,
versus

TOM D. COOK, SUPERINTENDENT,
MISSISSIPPI STATE PENITENTIARY,
Respondent-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of biussissippi

(August 13, 1971)

Before Coleman, Simpson, and Roney,
Circuit Judges.

Coleman, Circuit Judge: This case is here, on habeas
corpus, for the second time. We had previously remanded
it, Pendergraft v. Cook, 5 Cir., 1970, 433 F.2d 969.

Upon remand, the District Court held that the search
and seizure involved in this case was not constitution-
ally invalid, Pendergraft v. Cook, 323 F.Supp. 967 (S.D.,

ine ee “

Miss., 1971). For the reasons set forth in the reported
opinion of the District Court, we affirm its judgment
on this issue.

The District Court reaffirmed its earlier decision
(not reached on the prior appeal) that the petitioner
was constitutionally entitled to be indicted and tried by
juries from which women had not been totally and statu-
torily excluded (See 433 F.2d 970). On this issue, we
reverse and direct that the petition be dismissed.

Mrs. Catherine T. Pendergraft, of Jackson, Mississippi,
was convicted in the state circuit court of the murder of
her husban¢. On issues no longer in existence, the Missis-
sippi Supreme Court reversed the first conviction and re-
manded the case for a new trial, Pendergraft v. State,
191 So.2d 830 (Miss., 1966).

The new trial resulted in a second conviction, which was
affirmed, Pendergraft v. State, 213 So.2d 560 (Miss., 1968).
A direct appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States
resulted in dismissal for want of jurisdiction and the
denial of certiorari, Pendergraft v. Mississippi, 394 U.S.
715, 89 S.Ct. 1453, 22 L.Ed.2d 671 (1968), rehearing denied,
395 U.S. 941. Mr. Justice Douglas recorded his opinion
that probable jurisdiction should be noted.

In both appeals from both convictions to the Supreme
Court of Mississippi Mrs. Pendergraft urgently sought
reversal because of the total exclusion of women from
the grand jury which indicted her and the petit juries
which had tried her, see 213 So.2d at 565. The Missis-
sippi Supreme Court specifically declined to reverse on
that ground, citing its decision in State v. Hall, 187 So.2d
861 (Miss., 1966).

In Hall, supra, the Court had held that the power to
prescribe qualifications for jurors in state courts is vested
in the legislature and that it had the power to make rea-

| — atin

sonable classifications, such as, for the causes stated,
validly included the exclusion of women.

Mr. Chief Justice Ethridge dissented on the ground
that the total exclusion of women from jury service is
an invalid classification, in violation of the due process
and equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, as well as of §14 of the Mississippi Constitution.
The Mississippi Chief Justice pointed out that in 1966
only two states in the Union had statutes completely and
absolutely excluding women from jury service, these being
South Carolina and Mississippi. The Chief Justice fur-
ther concluded, however, 187 So. 2d at 871, that a holding
in line with his views ‘‘should be prospective only in its
application’’.

In 1968, the Mississippi Legislature amended the jury
statutes to permit women to serve on grand and petit
juries, Chapter 335 Laws of Mississippi of 1968 (amend-
ing § 1762 of the Mississippi Code of 1942, Recompiled,
as amended).

When the Supreme Court of the United States denied
review, Mrs. Pendergraft filed her petition for the writ
of habeas corpus in United States District Court. In that
petition, she contended, as in the State and Federal Su-
preme Courts, that she had been twice tried and twice
convicted of the crime of murder by a jury composed en-
tirely of members of the male sex, that both the indict-
ment and the convictions were thus in denial of the equal
protection and due process of law, additionally contend-
ing, as stated in the outset, that her state court trial had
been rendered invalid by the admission of evidence ille-
gally seized in violation of federal constitutional rights.

The District Court twice relied upon the reasoning of
a Three-Judge District Court in the Middle District of
Alabama which had held unconstitutional a Similar ex-
clusionary statute of that state, White v. Crook, 251 F.

eat ti cs =

Supp. 401, 408 (1966). The Alabama Three-Judge Court,
however, was careful to point out that its decision should
be prospective in its application (viting cases) 251 F.
Supp. at 409.

This appeal, therefore, encounters these incontroverti-
ble facts: (1) Mrs. Pendergraft was indicted and tried
by juries from which women were totally excluded by
statute; (2) since 1968 Mississippi has not excluded
women from jury service, and (3) there can be no cur-
rently existing justiciable controversy as to the exclusion
formerly practiced, unless Mrs. Pendergraft, on collateral
attack, is entitled to retrospective application of a finding
of unconstitutionality.

This, then, brings us face to face with the unreviewed
and umreversed decision of the Supreme Court of Mis-
sissippi in State v. Hall, supra, and in Mrs. Pendergraft’s
direct appeal, that the decision in White v. Crook, supra,
was not binding on it, 187 So.2d at 863, and that there
existed a reasonable basis for the legislative classification
which excluded women from jury duty in Mississippi
state courts.

We also encounter the concession of Mr. Chief Jus-
tice Ethridge and of the Alabama Three-Judge Court
that any holding of unconstitutionality on this score
should be entitled to prospective application only.

Indeed, the Fifth Circuit, in assuming, without decid-
ing, the correctness of the decision in White v. Crook,
supra, was of the clear view that it should not be ac-
corded retrospective effect, Juelich v. United States, 5
Cir., 1968, 403 F.2d 523.

We, therefore, conclude that Mrs. Pendergraft was not
entitled to habeas corpus relief in the Court below and
that her petition should have been dismissed, Linkletter
v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 85 S.Ct. 1731, 14 L.Bd.2a 601

~~ eT

(1965); Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719, 86 S.Ct.
1772, 16 L.Ed. 2d 882 (1965).

The judgment of the District Court on direct appeal is
reversed. On cross appeal it is affirmed. The case is
remanded with directions that the petition for the writ of
habeas corpus be dismissed.

SIMPSON, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dic
senting in part:

I agree with the Court that the search and seizure
involved in this case did not deprive Mrs. Pendergraft
of her Fourth Amendment protection against unreason-
able searches and seizures. I therefore concur in affirm-
ance of the cross-appeal. With respect to the issue raised
on the direct appeal, I agree with the lower court that
under well defined principles of the jurisprudence existing
at the time of the petitioner-appellee-cross-appellant’s
indictment and trial, Mrs. Pendergraft must be reindicted
by a grand jury and retried by a petit jury from each
of which women have not been arbitrarily excluded, Ac-
cordingly, I would affirm upon the direct appeal taken
by the respondent Superintendent of the Mississippi State
Penitentiary.

The Court concedes that the Statutory exclusion of all
women from service on grand and petit juries solely
because of their sex is violative of the Equal Protection
and Due Process Clauses of the Fourteenth Amerinent
to the United States Constitution. Because the Court
takes the position that this doctrine was first enunciated
in White v. Crook, D.C.M.D. Ala., 1966, 251 F.Supp. 401,
it reasons that the grant of the writ of habeas corpus
in this case is equivalent to making the holding in White
retroactive, something which the three-judge district court
in White expressly declined to do. It also cites the Fifth
Circuit case of Juelici v. United States, 1968, 403 F.2d
523, in which it was held that the exclusion of women

— LAE DH TEN YBN TNE MLN ATRIA O RY RRL LE AEG I POULT EIEIO RI RN
IIe APRN Na eam ;

=! .
from appellant’s 1954 federal court trial did not invalidate
his conviction.

I am not persuaded that the decision in White v. Crook
marks the point in time at which the State of Mississippi
should have been put on notice that its statutory ex-
clusion of women from grand and petit juries violated
the Fourteenth Amendment. In Ballard v. United States,
1946, 329 U.S. 187, 67 S.Ct. 261, 91 L.Ed. 181, the Supreme
Court reversed mail fraud convictions because women had
been systematically excluded from service on federal
juries in the Southern District of California. The follow-
ing language from the Ballard opinion is worth repeating
here:

‘*We conclude that the purposeful and systematic
exclusion of women from the panel in this case was
a departure from the scheme of jury selection which
Congress adopted and that, as in the Thiel case, we
should exercise our power of supervision over the
administration of justice in the federal courts, Mc-
Nabb v. United States, supra, to correct an error
which permeated this proceeding.

‘*It is said, however, that an all male panel drawn
from the various groups within a community will
be a truly representative as if women were included.
The thought is that the factors which tend to in-
fluence the action of women are the same as those
which influence the action of men—personality, back-
ground, economic status—and not sex. Yet it is not
enough to say that women when sitting as jurors
neither act nor tend to act as a class. Men likewise
do not act as a class. But, if the shoe were on the
other foot, who would claim that a jury was truly
representative of the community if all men were
intentionally and systematically excluded from the
panel? The truth is that the two sexes are not

_—

es.

fungible; a community made up exclusively of one
is different from a community composed of both; the
subtle interplay of influence one on the other is
among the imponderables. To insulate the courtroom
from either may not in a given case make an iota
of difference. Yet a flavor, a distinct quality is lost
if either sex is excluded. The exclusion of one may
indeed make the jury less representative of the com-
munity than would be true if an economic or racial
group were excluded,’’ [footnotes omitted] 329 U.S.
at 193-4, 67 S.Ct. at 264,

Hoyt v. Florida, 1961, 368 U.S. 57, 82 S.Ct. 159, 7 L.Ed.
2d 118, arose out of the alleged murder of a man by
his wife. Florida law, at the time of Mrs. Hoyt’s jury
trial, permitted women to serve on juries only if they
voluntarily registered for such service. The United
States Supreme Court upheld the conviction for second
degree murder on the basis that the appellant had
failed to produce any substantial evidence to show an
arbitrary exclusion of women from jury service as a
result of the application of the Florida statute. In con-
cluding its opinion in Hoyt, however, the Court noted:

‘Finding no substantial evidence whatever in this
record that Florida has arbitrarily undertaken to ex-
clude women from jury service, a showing which it
was incumbent on appellant to make . . . we must
sustain the judgment of the Supreme Court of Flor-
ida.’’ 368 U.S. 69, 82 S.Ct. at 166-7, 7 L.Ed.2d at 126.

Hoyt, unlike Ballard (which was a direct federal ap-
peal), mounted an attack upen the Florida jury system
upon constitutional grounds. In the course of its opinion
in Hoyt, the Supreme Court noted that only three states
excluded women from jury service and Mississippi was
pointedly named as one of the three. From and after
1961, the decision date of Hoyt, prior to the killing in-

at
—_e SOOT LPR ELE ENTE LO IT RIT IT BET EOL OT oI

a “a

volved here and prior to the indictment and trial here
involved, the warning flags were flying, for Mississippi
to note and heed. What clearer signal had to be given
to that state that its statutory policy of barring women
from jury service was out of step with national policy
and required modernization? Yet Mississippi did not
amend its statute so as to permit women to serve on
its juries until 1968, after Mrs. Pendergraft had been tried
a second time for the murder of her husband before an
all-male jury, under an indictment returned by an all-male
grand jury in 1965. Both at the time of indictment and
both trials, Section 1762 of the Mississippi Code of 1942
expressly limited competent jurors to male citizens.

The facts of this case do not present a retroactivity
problem at all, when existing precedents are carefully
analyzed. Between 1961 and the time of Mrs. Pender-
graft’s indictment in 1965, and beyond all peradventure
before the second trial before an all-male jury in 1967,
resulting in the sentence permitted by the majority to
stand, Mississippi had ample opportunity to eliminate
the statutory exclusion of women from jury service.
Failure by that state to take timely and appropriate action
deprived Mrs. Pendergraft of her federal constitutional
rights to equal protection of the laws and to due process
of law, guaranteed to her by Amendment XIV to the
Constitution of the United States. These rights were in
existence and were known to be in existence for many
years before she was indicted and tried. It is extremely
unfortunate that the false issue of retroactivity vel non is
allowed to muddy the majority’s consideration of what is

really a simple question.

I respectfully dissent from the reversal of the main
appeal.

=

APPENDIX B

Mrs. Catherine T. PENDERGRAFT, Plaintiff,
v.

Tom D. COOK, Superintendent, Mississippi State
Penitentiary, Defendant.

Civ. A. No. 4499.

United States District Court, S. D. Mississippi,
Jackson Division.

Feb. 23, 1971.

Supplemental Opinion March 2, 1971.

Petition for habeas corpus by state prisoner. The United
States District Court for the Southern District of Mis-
sissippi, Dan M. Russell, Jr., J., issued the writ, but the
Court of Appeals remanded the case, 433 F.2d 969. On
remand, the District Court held that upon observance of
officers, who were called to residence of petitioner and
her husband, of body of husband in rigor mortis, and upon .
their awareness that petitioner had been at home alone
with deceased throughout the afternoon and evening, offi-
cers had ‘‘probable cause for arrest’’ of petitioner which
was independent of search conducted by the officers, so
that ensuing search was necessary for preservation of evi-
dence and was thus valid.

Order aceordingly.
1. Searches and Seizures Key 7(28)

There can be no consent to a search where party al-
legedly consenting was in a dazed condition due to alco-
hol, drugs or shock.

ome ee eEnoase - — —
PPA ANE OME SRT TT OR EEO

— A-10— Y
2. Arrest Key 63(4)

When constitutional validity of an arrest by state offi-
cials arises on an application for a writ of habeas corpus,
federal constitutional standards alone establish the test,
and it is function of federal court to determine whether
facts available to officers at moment of arrest would war-
rant a man of reasonable caution in the belief that an
offense has been committed.

3. Arrest Key 63(4)
A hunch does not constitute ‘‘ probable cause for arrest.’’

See publication Words and Phrases for other judi-
cial constructions and definitions.

4 Arrest Key 63(4)
Searches and Seizures Key 3.3(1)

Upon ebservance of officers, who were called to resi-
dence of petitioner and her husband, of body of husband
in rigor mortis, and upon their awareness that petitioner
had been at home alone with deceased throughout the
afternoon and evening, officers had ‘‘probable cause for
arrest’’ of petitioner which was independent of search
conducted by the officers, so that ensuing search was neces-
sary for preser- ation of evidence and was thus valid.

Weaver E. Gore, Jr., Jackson, Miss., for plaintiff.
A. F. Summer, Atty. Gen., Guy Rogers, Asst. Atty. Gen.,
Jackson, Miss., for defendant.
OPINION OF THE COURT
RUSSELL, District Judge.

This cause is before the Court for the second time, hav-
ing been remanded by the Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals

— A-11 —

in Cause No. 29229, October 29, 1970, 433 F.2d 969, with
directions for this Court to pass on the issue of whether
petitioner’s state court trial was invalid by reason of the
alleged admission of illegal evidence against her in viola-
tion of her constitutional rights.

By way of background, petitioner, Mrs. Catherine T.
Pendergraft of Jackson, Mississippi, was convicted in the
First Judicial District of Hinds County, Mississippi of
the murder of her husband, Ralph N. Pendergraft. Her
first conviction was reversed by the Mississippi Supreme
Court and the cause remanded for a new trial as reflected
in Pendergraft v. State, 191 So. 2d 830, rendered Novem-
ber 7, 1966. That court primarily found reversible error
in the trial court’s denial to petitioner of the right to con-
sult with counsel during a two hour recess. The state
appellate court also pointed out other errors, among them
that a judicial determination, in the absence of the jury,
should have been made as to whether probable cause ex-
isted for the arrest of Mrs. Pendergraft at the time a
search was made of the residence. In its opinion the Court
summarized that Jackson police officers, on the night of
August 26, 1965, in the course of their investigation of an
obviously violent death, without benefit of a search war-
rant, and, prior to petitioner’s formal arrest the next day
following an autopsy, picked up several articles, which
were subsequently exhibited in the trial against petitioner.
The Court, in relating the facts upon which it found that
the officers were lawfully upon the premises, said that the
officers conversed briefly with the accused’s physician and
then went to the family room where the nude body of
the deceased lay on the floor covered by a bedspread. Their
investigation revealed the body to be cold and stiff with
seventeen visible wounds thereon. No blood or blood
stains were beneath the body and the body itself appeared
to have been cleaned with the exception of blood found
under the fingernails and on the bottom of the feet. An

—_— OT ETI BE PEI ET PGES

— A-12 —

investigation of the premises disclosed traces of blood
on the floor of the kitchen and in the hallway. Blood
was found on the doorway to the bar adjoining the family
room, and a blood stained bottle and glass were found in
the bar. Further investigation led to the utility room
where the officers noticed the clothes dryer to be warm,
and upon opening it found articles of clothing, towels and
other items therein. A sponge and pillowslip were found
elsewhere in the home. The Court, in finding that the offi-
cers were lawfully upon the premises, held that they
could testify to that which came under their observation,
but that the greater question was whether they had the
right in the course of their investigation to open the bar
area and to open the dryer without a search warrant and
without arrest. The Court further held that the ques-
tien should have been resolved by a judicial determination
of whether there was probable cause for the arrest of pe-
titioner contemporaneous with such a search. The lack
of this determination was thus one of the grounds for
reversal.

Preceding the second trial and conviction, petitioner filed
a motion to suppress certain evidence, contending that
various articles were examined and taken by police offi-
cers from the Pendergraft residence on the night of Au-
gust 26, 1965, prior to her arrest the following day, and
other articles were seized and impounded on the follow-
ing day under an illegal search warrant, which warrant
had not been placed in evidence in the first trial, and that
both searches and seizures were illegal. After a full, evi-
dentiary hearing, the trial judge issued his written opin- |
ion on the motion finding that only certain of the articles
introduced in the first trial were impounded by police
officers on the night of August 26, 1965, and that the re-
maining articles were seized the next day following the
arrest and issuance of a search warrant. As to those
articles taken on the night of August 26, 1965, and ad-

— A-13—

dressing himself to the ruling of the Mississippi Supreme
Court with respect to probable cause, the trial judge, after
referring to the testimony of police officers and that of
petitioner relating to the initial investigation on the night
of August 26, 1965, found that the officers had probable
cause to believe that a felony had been committed and
reasonable grounds to believe that petitioner committed
the felony. He accordingly overruled that part of the
motion relating to the items seized on the night of August
26, 1965, and specified that the following items could be
used as evidence by the state: (1) a band aid from under-
neath the deceased’s body; (2) a bottle of scotch and glass
with blood stains; (3) two knives obtained in the kitchen;
(4) a pillowslip with blood thereon; (5) a yellow sponge
found on the floor; and (6) the bedspread covering the de-
ceased’s body. As to the search warrant, although it spe-
cifically itemized all other articles which were seized under
it, the trial judge found that the affidavit on which ihe
search warrant was issued was defective and therefore
the search warrant was -yveid. The judge accordingly sus-
tained the motion to suppress as to all evidence seized un-
der the illegal warrant. That evidence, including the items
found in the clothes dryer, was not offered at the second
trial and is, of course, not an issue here.

As to the second conviction, affirmed by the Mississippi
Supreme Court on July 8, 1968, its decision appearing in
213 So.2d 560, and which is under attack here, the Court
again related the facts pertaining to the death of Pender-
graft. The Court stated that on the afternoon of August
26, 1965, the deceased suffered seventeen stab wounds
while alone with his wife, petitioner here, in their home
in Jackson, Mississippi. About 7:30 p.m., petitioner tele-
phoned her former brother-in-law, Grady Tucker, asking
him and his wife to come to her home immediately as
something had happened to Ralph. Mrs. Tucker called
Dr. W. B. Tumlinson, petitioner’s physician, who arrived

— —_——e PORE ALES LI IERIE LS IOLA GE ELS LISTE ALES CE EEN ENT GE

— A-14—

at the Pendergraft home shortly after the Tuckers. Dr.
Tumlinson called the Hinds County Coroner, who in turn
called the Jackson Police Department. Two detectives
were dispatched to the home in response to this call. They
found the nude body, as they had previously testified,
covered by a pink bedspread, lying on the floor in the
family room. Dr. Tumlinson, the coroner and the detec-
tives examined the wounds which ‘‘ranged from six punc-
ture type wounds behind the right ear, downward to a
gaping wound in his right chest, one in his right abdomen,
four recent cuts just above his right knee, and numerous
other cuts in the palms of his hands, the webbing between
the fingers and on the outside of the fingers. All of these
appeared to be shallow cuts except the ones in his chest
and abdomen. His body had been completely cleaned, and
there was no evidence of blood except on the sole of his
right foot, on the bottom of the left big toe and around
the cuticles of his fingernails.’’ Continuing the Court said:
‘*The detectives found a bloodstain on the doorknob of a
louvered door opening from the family room to an en-
closed bar. On the counter of the bar they found a par-
tially filled bottle of scotch whiskey and a whiskey glass,
both of which had bloodstains on them. The kitchen ad-
joins the family room, and on one counter of the kitchen
the detectives found a butcher knife with bloodstains on
the stainless steel blade, and on another counter near the
sink they found a butcher knife that had been washed
and was still wet. They found a pillowslip with a blood-
stain on it on a bed in a small bedroom connected with
the breakfast room. When the body was turned over, a
bandaid was found underneath the body. All of these
items, together with the pink bedspread which partially
covered the body, were received as exhibits. All of these
items were recovered on the night of August 26, while
the detectives were investigating the killing and before
the appellant was formally arrested on August 27.’’

— A-15 —

The Court further found that when Grady Tucker ar-
rived, he turned the clothes dryer off at the request of the
petitioner and that, during the course of their investiga-
tion, the detectives discovered the dryer still warm with
the items of clothing and towels in it. These were pri-
marily the items picked up the next day under a search
warrant after petitioner had been formally arrested. The
Court affirmed the trial court’s refusal to allow the con-
tents of the dryer to be introduced in evidence, and
affirmed the trial court’s finding that the detectives had
probable cause to arrest petitioner with the consequent
proper admission of the articles picked up in their initial
investigation which occurred on the night of August 26,
adding this: ‘‘These detectives would have been derelict in
their duty if they had not been alert and observant in
investigating a death which bore every indication of hav-
ing been violently inflicted by the only other person pres-
ent, namely, Mrs. Catherine Pendergraft; they would have
been derelict in their duty if they had not followed up
every lead they ran across.”’

As to why petitioner was not then and there arrested
and booked, the appellate court stated that the doctors,
the detectives and other witnesses testified that petitioner
talked with a thick tongue and appeared to be under the
influence of alcohol or drugs; that she was in a precarious
mental, physical and emotional condition. There were nu-
merous phone calls between Dr. Tumlinson and the district
attorney, the coroner and the district attorney, and one
of the detectives and the district attorney. Her doctor
was unable to find a hospital room for her. After this
enumeration, the appellate court said:

“Tt follows quite logically that the only reason the ap-
pellant was not arrested that very night was because all
parties were concerned about her doubtful condition; there
certainly was probable cause to suspect her. The appel-

— —_—_ FRR EEL LEY DETTE SP MNT TAT SBE LETT YO ALI A BET

a
— A-16—

lant was alone with her husband in their home when he
was fatally wounded and when he was stabbed seventeen
times. She never denied that she had done the stabbing;
she said that he attacked her and she acted in self de-
fense.”’

The Court continued:

‘‘The items were found and taken from the immediate
vicinity of the body or from the rooms adjoining the family
room where the body itself was found. These articles were
properly admitted into evidence.’’

On July 15, 1969, petitioner filed her application for a
writ of habeas corpus in this Court setting forth that she
was first tried on December 8, 1965, and convicted; this
conviction was reversed and the cause remanded, 191 So.2d
830; she was tried and convicted again on January 9, 1967;
this conviction was affirmed on July 8, 1968, 213 So.2d
560;! on her appeal to the United States Supreme Court,
that court, on April 21, 1969, denied jurisdiction, if an ap-
peal, and, if a petition for certiorari, denied certiorari, 394
US. 715, 89 S.Ct. 1453, 22 L.Ed.2d 671. A petition for a
rehearing was denied by the U. S. Supreme Court on June
2, 1969, 395 U.S. 941, 89 S.Ct. 1993, 23 L.Ed.2d 459. She
filed a petition for leave to file a writ of error coram nobis
in the State Supreme Court, and on July 7, 1969, it was de-
nied. The respondent conceded that petitioner had ex-
hausted her state remedies, and that at every stage of her
litigation she had protested the exclusion of women from
both the grand and petit jurors which convicted her and
the introduction into evidence of the fruits of an alleged
illegal search, being the two grounds urged upon this
Court.

1 The Court notes her motion for a rehearing was denied on
July 8, 1968.

yet et
DR, BS

7

— A-17 —

By stipulation, the parties agreed that the official record
of her second state court trial, or any portion thereof could
be introduced into evidence, and further stipulated that
the evidence relied on by petitioner as the fruits of an
illegal search consisted of a whiskey bottle, glass and pil-
lowslip containing blood stains. Attached to the stipula-
tion but not referred to therein was a floor plan of the
: residence containing a legend of where, but not when, cer-
tain articles were seized.

The matter was submitted to this Court on the pleadings,
the stipulation, only that portion of the record pertaining
to the hearing on the motion to suppress, and briefs. In
the absence of a transcript of the record of the trial itself,
showing which articles were in fact offered in evidence,
and being of the opinion that petitioner’s contention that
she was deprived of a constitutional right in the total ex-
clusion of women from both the grand jury which indicted
her and the petit jury which tried her involved a con-
trolling question of law, this Court confined its opinion to
the jury issue only, finding in petitioner’s favor.

By its remand, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has
now directed this Court to pass on the second ground of
the petition, that is whether or not the evidence introduced
into petitioner’s second state trial was the result of an
illegal search.

Toward the issue, the parties have offered a supple-
mental stipulation that (1) a transcript of the entire rec-
ord of the trial in Cause No. 44,873 on the docket of the
Mississippi Supreme Court together with exhibits, or any
portion thereof, may be introduced; and (2) that all the
hereafter listed items were seized as evidence by members
| of the Jackson Police Department on the night of August

26, 1965, in petitioner’s home without a search warrant
and without her being arrested or advised that she was
suspected of killing her husband:

i DRIP ORR IOI ORGAO RA SEEN ELE IS

— A-18 — |
(a) One pillowslip with a blood spot therecn.
(b) One glass with bloodstain thereon.
(c) One scotch whiskey bottle.
(d) One butcher knife with bloodstain on its handle.
(e) One butcher knife with water spots on its blade.
(f) One sponge with blood spot thereon.
(g) One bedspread with blood spot thereon.

Petitioner has submitted to the Court for the first time
the entire transcript of her second trial and conviction in-
cluding a transcript of the pre-trial hearing on the motion
to suppress, all of which the Court has carefully considered
along with the pleadings, stipulations and exhibits thereto,
and briefs.

Supplementing the facts found by the Mississippi Su-
preme Court, this Court finds that the trial record reveals
that the wounds inflicted on the deceased occurred in the
early afternoon of August 26, 1965, at a time when the de-
ceased and petitioner were alone in the residence. Other
than petitioner’s saying that she took a pill and went to
sleep, the record is silent as to what happened from then
until petitioner, at about 7:30 p.m., telephoned the Tuckers
to come to the residence. One or the other of the Tuckers
called Dr. Tumlinson, petitioner’s physician, who arrived
at the home around 8 p. m., or after, shortly before Tucker,
his wife, and three other people with the Tuckers got there.
Dr. Tumlinson called the coroner who came to the resi-
dence and who then called the Jackson Police Department.
Detective Sergeants J. L. Black and S. M. Magee re-
sponded. They arrived at 9:20 p.m. Persons who remained
on the premises besides petitioner, were Dr. Tumlinson,
and the Tuckers. The police officers examined the body in
the presence of Dr. Tumlinson, who probed the wounds and

neris
EN ae Be ER NIE eg IR een

, — A-19—

offered the opinion that none was fatal. The coroner ar-
rived, and he, too, in the presence of Dr. Tumlinson exam-
ined the body. In detailing the search of the premises,
the responses of the officers at various times during the
trial, and particularly when read out of context, might
infer that various items were picked up before the officers’
attention focused on petitioner. However, in trying to de-
termine the exact sequence of events following the exami-
nation of the body, the district attorney directed this ques-
tion to Sergeant Black: ‘‘Then you had been in the house
about an hour, then, before you actually conferred with
Mrs. Pendergraft, according to your testimony?’’ His an-
swer was: ‘‘No, sir I wouldn’t think it was an hour before
we conferred to (sic) her. Only after the examination of
the body and it was determined by her and by Dr. Tumlin-
son that no one else was there, IT asked Mrs. Pendergraft
what had happened, or could she tell me what had hap-
pened.’’ Other than the band aid and spread covering the
body, immediately observable to the police, the investiga-
tion then revealed traces of blood on the floor of the family
room where the body lay and on the door knob on the
louvered door leading to the bar, only a few feet from de-
ceased’s head. On opening this door, the blood-smeared
bottle and glass were evident. Sergeant Black stated that
at one time, Mrs. Pendergraft was seated in a chair next
to the open doorway leading from the family room to the
kitchen, and that when he went over to talk to her he
noticed in clear view the bloodstained butcher knife on the
kitchen counter, and the knife with drops of water still
clinging to it hanging in a rack by the sink. One of the
Tuckers directed his attention to the dryer in the utility
room adjoining the kitchen, which was warm to his touch,
and to the bloodspotted pillowslip lying on a bed in a back
room designated on the plat as an office. During the course
of the evening, and while the inquest was taking place,
Black testified that petitioner wandered from room to

— Seine < emer Age HUE Ne RAMA : PHOS 2 ALN PR

~~

room, and at one point when she was in the master bed-
room he noticed a sponge on the floor of a room on his
way to see her. ;

Tn the opinion of this Court, the validity of the search
hangs on the determination of whether the search led to
the eventual arrest, or whether probable cause for arrest
existed before the search. Bailey v. United States, 128
U.S.App.D.C. 354, 389 F.2d 305.

As to why petitioner was not immediately arrested
prior to or incident to picking up those articles not under
the immediate observation of the police, the district at-
torney, as reflected in the transcript of the hearing on the
motion to suppress, attempted to show that due to peti-
tioner’s physical and mental condition and the lack of a
hospital room, petitioner’s arrest was humanely delayed
to the next day, yet she nonetheless was in protective cus-
tody. He attempted to do this by questioning petitioner’s
doctor, one of the detectives, and the coroner as to various
telephone conversations had between them and himself as
to what should be done with her that night. As these con-
versations took place outside the presence of petitioner,
they were ruled inadmissible, only the inference of his
attempt remaining. He then offered to testify himself, but
objections to his taking the stand were sustained.

{1] The district attorney also attempted to show that
petitioner consented to the search. Officer Black, under
direct examination, stated that petitioner was cooperative
with the police and made no objection to the search of the
residence and examination of various articles. Petitioner
denied the truth of this statement. Be that as it may, all
witnesses were agreed that petitioner was in a dazed con-
dition, from drugs, alcohol or shock. There can be no con-
sent to a search under these circumstances. United States
v. Moody, D.C., 311 F. Supp. 756. Similarly, it is doubtful
that her feelings could be properly analyzed to test

eae FL ee ROE CT ae eRe 22 8 RS ca Aas Ca a, ea eee } ear:

— A-21—

whether or not she was aware of being in custody, such
awareness being a factor to consider in determining
whether an arrest had been made. United States v. Cortez,
6 Cir., 425 F.2d 453; and United States v. Grandi, 2 Cir.,
424 F.2d 399. Nonetheless such a determination is un-
necessary for, as shown by its stipulation, the state ad-
mits no arrest was made. It remains, then, that the legal-
ity of the search must be tested in relation to probable
cause for arrest.

‘‘A search is not to be made legal by what it turns up.’’
United States v. Di Re, 332 U.S. 581, 68 S.Ct. 222, 92 L.
Fd. 210. Similarly an arrest is not valid if made without
probable cause. In the absence of an arrest, the issue here
is whether or not probable cause alone can validate a
warrantless search. It apparently can if the results of the
search do not determine probable cause.

[2, 3] Under Mississippi law, a police officer without a
warrant may arrest a person when he has reasonable
cause to believe that a felony has been committed and
reasonable cause to believe that such person committed it.
Lathers v. United States, 5 Cir., 396 F.2d 524, 525. There
is no question in this case but that Officers Black and
Magee had authority to arrest petitioner. This is deter-
mined by Section 2470 of the Mississippi Code of 1942.
However, when the constitutional validity of an arrest by
a state official arises on an application for a writ of habeas
corpus, federal constitutional standards alone establish
the test. Paige v. Potts, 5 Cir., 354 F.2d 212. It is the fune-
tion of the federal court to determine whether the facts
available to the officers at the moment of arrest would
‘‘warrant a man of reasonable caution in the belief’’ that
an offense had been committed. Carroll v. United States,
267 U.S. 132, 45 S.Ct. 280, 69 L.Ed. 543. A hunch does not
constitute probable cause. At the other extreme neither is
probability a certainty or a conclusion beyond a reason-
able doubt. Lathers v. United States, supra.

— A-22— a

[4] This Court agrees with the finding of the state
supreme court that probable cause existed for the arrest
of petitioner, but this of itself does not validate the search.
The cause for arrest must exist independent of the search.
Upon the officers’ observance of the body in rigor mortis
and upon their awareness that petitioner had been at
home alone with the deceased throughout the afternoon
and evening, they had probable cause for arrest. In the
obvious fact that, when they arrived, efforts had been
made to clean the body, traces of blood being present on
the floor and nearby door knobs, and because of the num-
bers of people in and out of the premises, their efforts to
gather and preserve evidence were permissible. This Court
agrees that the detectives would have been derelict in their
duty if they had not been alert and observant in investi-
gating a death which bore every indication of having
been violently inflicted.

If any search were valid, petitioner contends that this
search was too broad in its range, relying heavily on the
limited search permitted under the holding in Chimel v.
California, 395 U.S. 752, 89 S.Ct. 2034, 23 L.Ed.2d 685.
Although the Supreme Court in a later case, Vale v.
Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30, 90 S.Ct. 1969, 26 L.Ed.2d 409, re-
frained from expressing an opinion as to whether Chimel
should be applied retroactively, the Fifth Circuit Court
of Appeals has refused to give it retroactive effect. United
States v. Bankston, 5 Cir., 424 F.2d 714, and Lyon v.
United States, 5 Cir., 416 F.2d 91. The search involved
here occurred before the decision in Chimel, and under
United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56, 70 S.Ct. 430, 94
L.Ed. 653, would have been permissible. The Fourth
Amendment prohibition against warrantless searches is
well established. The ‘‘exceptional circumstances’’ which
may validate a search without a warrant were listed in
the Vale decision. This Court notes that all the cases cited
therein as well as those immediately above treat of

» — A-23 —

searches ‘‘incident to an arrest.’’ For them to be ap-
plicable to the present case means that ‘‘incident to an
arrest’’ must be equated with probable cause. An inform-
ative treatment of this point is found in United States
v. Gorman, 2 Cir., 355 F.2d 151, cited with approval in
Bailey v. United States, supra. In Gorman, at pages 159
and 160, the Court pondered the circumstances of a case
in which probable cause was found in support of a search
made prior to an arrest:

‘*TIf we were to hold that Roche did not consent, we
would be obliged to consider another basis for sup-
porting the search. The argument would be that when
a suspect is available for immediate arrest at the
place of the search, to which the police have lawfully
gained access, and reasonable cause for his arrest
exists, a search of personal effects without a warrant
is reasonable even though arrest is postponed. The
record furnishes the necessary premise. The combina-
tion of facts known to the agents—Gorman’s admis-
sion to having an accomplice. Gorman’s and Roche’s
common use of the Connor-Noel cover, Roche’s dis-
claimer of knowledge of a person in his company
answering Gorman’s description, and the telephone
calls from Gorman to Roche’s room in the Holiday
Inn—would together have constituted reasonable
cause for arresting Roche prior to the search of his
luggage; each fact augmented the probative force
of the others. Cf. United States v. Monica, 295 F.2d
400, 401-402 (2 Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 953,
82 S.Ct. 395, 7 L.Ed.2d 386 (1962).

“‘No Supreme Court decision speaks directly to the
point. Husty v. United States, 282 U.S. 694, 700, 51 S.Ct.
240, 75 L.Ed. 629 (1931), which would seem to sanction
such a search, may rest on special considerations applica-
ble to moving vehicles. Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S.

is say FAO NEOR: TUNE TS Sy EPR rembteNE

—A-2%4— —s

10, 15-17, 68 S.Ct. 367, 92 L.Ed. 436 (1948), and Henry v. _
United States, 361 U.S. 98, 80 S.Ct. 168, 4 L.Ed2d 134
(1959), which might appear at first blush to look the other
way, are fairly distinguishable—Johnson on the ground
that the arresting officer had no ‘valid basis in law’ for
his intrusion into the defendant’s room. 333 U.S. at 16-17,
68 S.Ct. 367, and Henry on the point that no reasonable
grounds existed for the arrest, conceded and held to have
occurred when the car was stopped. 361 U.S. at 103, 80
S.Ct. 168. Contrast Rios v. United States, 364 U.S. 253,
262, 80 S.Ct. 1431, 4 L.Ed.2d 1688 (1960). Indeed, Ker v.
State of California, 374 U.S. 23, 43, 83 S.Ct. 1623, 10 L.Ed.
2d 726 (1963) (opinion of Mr. Justice Clark,’ indicates
the question to be open. We have likewise found no con-
trolling decision in this circuit. Mr. Justice Traynor’s well-
known opinion in People v. Simon, 45 Cal.2d 645, 648, 290
P.2d 531, 533 (1955), would sustain the validity of such a
search, see also Willson v. Superior Court, 46 Cal.2d 291,
994 P.2d 36 (1956); and Moseo v. United States, 301 F.2d
180, 188 (9 Cir.), cert. denied [Hansen v. United States],
371 U.S. 842, 83 S. Ct. 72, 9 L.Ed.2d 78 (1962), is not to
the contrary in the circumstances here presented. Compare
United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48, 72 S.Ct. 93, 96 L.Ed.
59 (1951). Lee v. United States, 98 U.S.App.D.C. 97, 232
F.2d 354 (1956), may be distinguishable, like Johnson, on
the basis of unlawful entry by the police, and would not
bind us in any event. We do not understand just what
values would be served by a rule that would force the
police to impose a justifiable restraint on the person as a
condition to making a search which, if fruitless, might
cause them to decide against it; on the other hand, if the
search does lead them to make an arrest for which reason-
able cause previously existed, the search would seem ‘inci-
dent to arrest,’ United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56,
60, 70 S.Ct. 430, 94 L.Ed. 653 (1950), in any normal use
of language, and the dilemma of seeking ‘to justify the

sea meee

— — + om

arrest by the search and at the same time to justify the
search by the arrest,’ Johnson v. United States, supra, 333
US. at 16-17, 68 S.Ct. at 370, is obviously not presented.
Since, however, the alternative basis here considered has
not been argued by the Government, we rest our decision
on what we consider the sufficient ground of consent and
leave determination of this issue for another day.’’

In Bailey, Judge J. Skelly Wright, held: ‘‘Even if the
formal arrest was not made until after the search, the
search will be upheld so.long as there is probable cause
for an arrest before the search is begun.’’ The Gorman
ease was cited as authority. Later in his opinion, Judge
Wright quoted from McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S.
451, 459, 69 S. Ct. 191, 93 L.Ed. 153: ‘‘The ‘exigencies of
the situation made (the police) course (of action) im-
perative.’ 9

Under the reasoning of the Gorman decision and apply-
ing it and Bailey to the present case this Court finds that
independent of the search there was probable cause to ar-
rest petitioner and that the ensuing search was valid and
necessary for the preservation of evidence, an exigency or
special situation recognized in Vale.

Otherwise, the Court re-affirms its earlier decision that
petitioner is entitled to be indicted and tried by juries
from which women have not been excluded, particularly in
view of her alleged plea of self-defense.

An order may be submitted granting the writ of habeas
corpus, except that petitioner shall remain at her present
place of confinement without bail, until the appropriate
state officials determine within a reasonable time whether
or not to seek her re-indictment and another trial.

—A6— .

SUPPLEMENTAL OPINION

In its recent opinion of February 22, 1971, upholding the
validity of the search, on which no order has been entered,
this Court in effect found that the application for a writ
of habeas corpus should be denied on the issue remanded
to it in the decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals,
Pendergraft v. Cook, 433 F.2d 969. However, in clinging
to its former opinion, before the remand, that petitioner
was entitled to be indicted and tried by juries from which
women had not been excluded, this Court is faced with
the anomalous position of granting the writ on an issue the
Appellate Court refrained from ruling on. As its afore-
said opinion stands today, the Court finds that it has
placed a burden on the respondent to determine whether or
not to effect an appeal, whereas the burden should be on
petitioner who has raised the issues. Accordingly, the
Court finds that the granting of the writ of habeas corpus
should be stayed pending an appeal of the Court’s opinion
of February 22, 1971, as this day supplemented.

The Court will draw its own order.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1095%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
