# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eagle Star Insurance Group v. Walker

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1060%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 878

## Text

RIE —— .

Zon <:cet MICHAEL RODAK, JR..,

JUL 19 1972

Supreme Court of the United States (
~

.... Term, 1972 i

n..€ 27110

£

EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, Garnishee, a
Petitioner, be

v. é

CARL N. WALKER, Administrator of the Estate of Norbert N. Walker, 4
deceased, ¢

and iH

THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corporation ;
THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U.S. A.) LTD., a corporation ;
and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corporation,
Respondents.

Term, 1972

No.

EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, Garnishee,
Petitioner,

v.
MARY C. FLAVIN, Administratrix of the Estate of Wilbert F. Gries,
deceased,
and
THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corporation ;
THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U.S. A.) LTD., a corporation;
and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE ,
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

GEORGE M. WEIS, ;
WEIS & WEIS,

920 Grant Building,

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

BATAVIA TIMES, APPELLATE COURT PRINTERS, Gy
EDWARD W. SHANNON, REPRESENTATIVE,
1701 PARKLINE DR., PITTSBURGH, PA. 15227
412-681-7463.

PAGE
Opinions Below ............. cece c cence eeececeeees 2
SEED SEI II TE PRS eR 2
Questions Presented ..............cccccceesessoces 2
ee Me WW GME nn ss cane Cacesecesadensacces 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 5
er baa wie Cinbwne aa bead adwdaebawwe aa 10
Oe le ND esis ivtnd vd caw Loser wove seavoekes 11
ED sb asa sets vied sinneaccths pbusaneunso see 13
Opinion of the Court Below ....................04.- 15
CITATIONS.

Antone v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., 1939, 335 Pa.

RRR § PRR Ren ee nin seen en 6
Brown v. City of Pittsburgh, 409 Pa. 357, 186 A. 2d 399

DE peewee ct oek sta VENT eas aac ee I batty 9
Builders Supply Co. v. MeCabe, 366 Pa. 322, 77 A. 2d

Se CE Neko OC amit ce swe kek usecaes se ans 10
Burbage v. Boiler Engineering & Supply Co., 433 Pa.

FF Fe Fe rr rn are 10
Cameron v. Burger, 336 Pa. 229, 7 A. 29d 293 .......... 6
(ireco v. Buecciconi Engineering, 407 F. 2d 87 (1963) 3

RRIF Fe rg yee ay Ra EON cea ae ea ae eae ena 10
Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Delta & Pine

Re Sg EE Si BOE Sb chee aawedvaccoesewdedcen% 8
llome Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397, 74 L. ed.

ee I a6 ck. bk Sead gn eh kan due nea die 6, 7,8
In Re: Boylan, 69 Fed. Supp. 105, affd. 157 F.2d 518... 6
Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571 (1953) ............ 8
EA 8 eee 9

Peterson v. Wiggins, 230 Pa. 631 ......... Ciruuenes 9

II.
" : ‘ PAGE
Seither v. Philadelphia Traction Co., 126 Pa. 397 .... 9
Smith v. Fenner, 99 Pa. 633, 161 A. 2d 150 (1960) .... 9
Smith v. Roydhouse, Arey & Co., 244 Pa. 474 ........
Thompson v. Fox, 326 Pa. 209, 92 A. 107 (1937) ...... 9

olson v. Hodge, 441 F. 2d 123 (1969) .............,

Tozer v. Charles A. Kraus Milling Co., 181 F.2d 242
CREE: sxisbinnccemccstnnenwenss. HRLUNROLY Mitte 5

Williams v. LeBar, 14 L. Pa. 149 ..................., )

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

seiieriaty chee Term, 1972

EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, Garnishee, a
Petitioner,
Vv.
CARL N. WALKER, Administrator of the Estate of Norbert N. Walker,
deceased,
and
THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corporation ;
THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U. S. A.) LTD., a corporation ;
and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corporation,
Respondents.

Ne Brn eatic Term, 1972

EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, Garnishee,
Petitioner,
v.

MARY C. FLAVIN, Administratrix of the Estate of Wilbert F. Gries,
deceased,

and

THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corporation ;
THF TILLEY LAMP CO. (U.S. A.) LTD., a corporation ;
and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
which affirmed the judgment of the District Court.

»

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, presently unre.
ported, appears in the index hereto. The opinion written
by the United States District Court for the Western Dis.
trict of Pennsylvania is presently unreported and appears
in the appendix hereto.

Jurisdiction

. The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
July 6, 1972.

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U. §, @
See. 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Did the luwer court abuse its discretion in refusing
to vacate a default judgment when the default was caused
by excusable neglect, a motion to vacate was promptly and
diligently filed, and meritorious legal defenses were set
forth in the motion to vacate?

2. Is it a denial of due process under the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution for a United
States District Court to refuse to give effect to the terms
of an insurance policy issued by the Eagle Star Insurance
Company, a United Kingdom corporation to the Tilley
Lamp Company, a United Kingdom corporation, when the
insurance policy was executed in the United Kingdom, paid
for in the United Kingdom and to be performed in the
United Kingdom?

3. Did the lower court abuse its discretion in rejecting
the legal defense of satisfaction and settlement?

geet

3

Statement of the Case

The Tilley Lamp Company, Ltd., a North Irish corpora-
tion, is a manufacturer of various products, among which
is a portable kerosene heater. Its office and plant are
located at Dunmurry, Pelfast, Ireland. In addition to
sales in the United Kingdom, Tilley exports these products
to the United States and elsewhere. In their Complaints,
the Administrators of the Estates of Norbert N. Walker
and Wilbert F. Gries allege that a heater was sold to
(ries by D. Lux Sales, Incorporated of Pittsburgh, Penn-
sylvania. The heater was manufactured and designed
by Tilley and according to the plaintiffs was defectively
designed and was unreasonably dangerous to the user or
consumer. The plaintiffs further allege in their Complaints
that on or about October 1, 1967 the plaintiffs’ decedents
died as a result of asphyxiation due to carbon monoxide
poisoning caused by the Tilley kerosene heater which was
in use in a camping trailer which the plaintiffs’ decedents
were occupying.

The plaintiffs then filed the present Civil actions against
Tilley Lamp Company, Tilley Lamp (U.S. A.), and A. W.
Thacker on September 18, 1968. The suits against Tilley
Lamp (U. 8. A.) and A. W. Thacker were subsequently
dismissed and the plaintiffs proceeded on a default against
Tilley Lamp Company, Ltd. alone. Jurisdiction of the
lower court was based on diversity of citizenship and the
allegations that the amounts in controversy were in excess
of $10,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs. Judgments
were entered June 30, 1969 against Tilley Lamy Company,
Ltd. in the sum of $25,099.00 in the Gries cases and
$112,362.43 in the Walker cases.

The plaintiffs also filed separate Civil actions against
D, Ix Sales, Tne., the retailer of the lamp in question

—

4

alleging a sale of a lamp which was defectively designed
and was unreasonably dangerous to the user or consumer.
Before the matter came on for trial, the plaintiffs settleq
both cases with the insurance carrier for D. Lux Sales,
Inc. When the settlement was made in March of 1971, the
plaintiffs released D. Lux Sales under agreements which
have been incorporated into this record (R. 154a)
(R. 253a).

The plaintiffs then commenced the garnishment action
against the Eagle Star Insurance Company and also the
Sun Insurance Company, both United Kingdom corpora.
tions, by serving interrogatories in attachment on the
Tnsurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania on April 22, 1971. Four days later, on April 26, 1971,
Eagle Star wrote to plaintiffs’ attorney from its office in
New York and advised him that they were unable to identify
the matter referred to in the Writ of Execution that had
heen served upon it (Exhibit “D” R. 248a). On April
29, 1971, plaintiffs’ attorney wrote to Eagle Star’s New
York office and referred them to answers to interrogatories
that had been filed in an unrelated case in the Middle Dis-
trict of Florida. On about May 13, 1971 the Eagle Star re-
ferred this matter to the present counsel of record. Due
to an oversight, an extension of time was not obtained
from the Court to answer the interrogatories. On May
27, 1971, the Sun Insurance Company was granted an ex-
tension in which to answer the interrogatories directed
to it. On April 30, 1971 the defendant, Tilley Lamp Com-
pany, Ltd., wrote from Northern Ireland to Eagle Star’s
agent in Shrewsbury, England advising that they had heen
notified by D. Lux of Pittsburgh that the lawsuit brought
against Tilley Lamp Company and D. Lux Sales was
settled out of court by the insurance carrier for D. Lux
Sales (Exhibit “G”" R. 250a). On or abhont May 6, 1971

5

Eagle Star in London received notice of the settlement
(Exhibit “F” R. 250a). On June 4, 1971, the plaintiffs de-
faulted the Eagle Star Insurance Company. On June 10,
1971, counsel for Eagle Star learned of the default and
on thet same date filed a motion to vacate the default
judgment. An amendment to that motion to vacate was
filed on June 15, 1971 and had attached thereto proposed
answers to the interrogatories in attachment. In its pro-
posed answers to interrogatories, Eagle Star admitted that
there was in existence an insurance contract between it
and Tilley Lamp Company that had been made in the
United Kingdom, issued in the United Kingdom and the
premium paid, in the United Kingdom, but denied that it
applied to this particular case for several valid reasons.
The matter came on for hearing before United States
District Judge Sorg and the garnishee’s motion to vacate
the default judgments was denied. Garnishee, Eagle Star
Insurance Group, appealed to the Third Cireuit Court of
Appeals which affirmed the judgment of the District Court
in a per curiam opinion.

Reasons for Granting the Writ

Eagle Star Insurance Company seeks to set aside this
default judgment under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
55 (ec) and Rule 60(b). In construing these Rules, the
Federal Courts are of the opinion that they are to liberally
interpreted so as to provide trial on the merits wherever
possible. Jolson v. Hodge, 441 F.2d 123 (1969); Tozer v.
Charles A. Nraus Milling Co., 181 F.2d 242 (1951). The
eases generally laid down three criteria: (1) excusable
neglect; (2) a prompt and diligent effort to remove the
default; and (3) the assertion in the motion to yvaeate of
meritorious defenses,

;
é
‘

1 PRD NOR ee RIAD

SESS IGE? CTY are Ruin PHY

Perey Sr

The lower court, in failing to apply the provisions of the
insurance policy in question, violated the mandate of Home
Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397, 74 L. ed. 926, 50 Sup,
Ct. 388.

Where one secures a judgment in a civil action for per.
sonal injuries and then garnishes the casualty insurance
company that insures the defendant, the rights of the
garnishor against the garnishee rise no higher than those
of the defendant in the personal injury action and the
garnishee’s liability is measured as though the defendant
itself had brought an action to recover on its policy. Antone
v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., 1939, 335 Pa. 134. See
also, Cameron v. Burger, 336 Pa. 229, 7 A. 2d 293, and In
Re: Boylan, 69 Fed. Supp. 105, affd. 157 F. 2d 518.

In the present cases, the plaintiffs are subject to all of
the defenses that the Eagle Star Insurance Company has
against the Tilley Lamp Company. One of those defenses
is that the policy of insurance did not cover the plaintiff's
claim since it was not brought in a United Kingdom Court.
Memorandum No. 2 in the insurance policy running from
Eagle Star to Tilley provides:

“It is hereby understood and agreed notwithstanding
anything herein contained to the contrary, that the
indemnity provided by this policy is extended to apply
to the sale overseas of products manufactured and/or
sold by the insured.

Provided always that :—

(b) All claims arising by reason of this extension shall
be dealt with within the jurisdiction of the United
Kingdom Courts only.”

The lower court fails to recognize the fact that the policy
of insurance in this case was a foreign contract of insurance
made in the United Kingdom between two citizens of the

a

7

United Kingdom. The policy was issued, delivered and
paid for in the United Kingdom. This is not the case of
a foreign insurance company entering into a contract with
a citizen of Pennsylvania or issuing a policy of insurance
to a citizen of Pennsylvania or accepting payment for a
policy by a citizen of Pennsylvania. The policy in ques-
tion, therefore, does not come under the provisions of the
Act of 1921, May 7, 1921, of the Commonwealth of Penn-
sylvania P. L. 682, Article ITI, Sec. 301, 40 P.S. See. 421,
“which deals with the requisites for foreign insurance com-
panies to do business in the State, and the Act of 1921, May
17, P. L. 789, Article I], Sec. 210, as amended, 40 P.S. See.
48, relating to service of process upon the Insurance Com-
missioner”, as is set forth,in the Opinion of the court below.
The lower court by applying the above mentioned statutory
law of the State of Pennsylvania to this foreign contract
has enlarged its terms and thus has violated the due process
clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The situation before this Court is very similar to that
contained in Home Insurance Co. v. Dick, supra. In that
case, a contract had been executed in Mexico insuring a
noat against fire loss and the risk had been reinsured by
New York corporations which were brought into the suit
by garnishment. The policy contained a clause requiring
suit to be instituted within one year after loss. This clause
was valid by the Mexican Commercial Code. Texas, which
was the forum and place of residence of an assignee of the
policy, nad a statute which prohibited stipulations fixing
time of suit at less than two years and declared: “And no
stipulation, contract, or agreement for any shorter limita-
tion in which to sue shall ever be valid in this state.” This
statute was applied by the Texas courts but the decision
was reserved by the Supreme Court of the United States

as violating the due process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment.

—

8

In the case of Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U. 8. 571 (1958),
the Supreme Court reversed the lower court by
the Jones Act in a conflicts of law situation. In that cage
a Danish seaman who was temporarily in New York joined
the crew of a Danish vessel. He signed a contract which
in essence provided that if he was injured he would be
bound by Danish law on the subject. While the ship was
in Havana, he was injured. He then sued the ship’s owner
in the Federal District Court in New York for damages
under the Jones Act. The defendant did business within
the State of New York. The lower court held the Jones
Act was applicable. The Supreme Court in reversing the
lower court stated at pp. 590, 591:

“We have held it a denial of due process of law when
a state of the Union attempts to draw into control of
its law otherwise foreign controversies, on slight eon-
nections, because it is a forum state. Hartford Accident
& Indemnity Co. v. Delta & Pine Land Co., 292 U. §.
143; Home Insurance Co. v. Dick, 281 U.S. 397. The
purpose of a conflict-of-laws doctrine is to assure that
a case will he treated in the same way under the appro-
priate law regardless of the fortuitous circumstances
which often determine the forum.”

The Court also refused to accept the terms of the insur-
ance policy therein that they excluded a design defect when
there was, in fact, a finding in the original action of design
defect.

The plaintiffs filed a wrongful death and survival action
against D. Lux Sales, Inc. as a result of the same accident
giving rise to the suits against Tilley Lamp Company, Ltd.
These suits were then settled and the plaintiffs entered into
an agreement with I). Lux Sales, Ine. and their insurer
providing that in consideration of the payment of the set-
tlement, Carl N. Walker “. . . agrees to release, remise,
quick claim, settle and forever discharge the said D. Lux

9

Sales, Inc. from any and all claims, actions and demands
arising by virtue of the decease of Norbert N. Walker on or
about October 1, 1967.”

The common law rule in Pennsylvania is that the release
of one tort-feasor is a release of all tort-feasors in all cases
even though a release reserved the right against another.
The rule applied whether the liability of the tort-feasors
was joint, several or successive. Thompson v. Foz, 326 Pa.
209, 92 A. 107 (1937); Smith v. Fenner, 99 Pa. 633, 161 A.
2d 150 (1960); see also, Brown v. City of Pittsburgh, 409
Pa. 357, 186 A. 2d 399 (1962).

The Court set forth the rule in Thompson v. Foz, supra,
at pages 212 and 213 as follows:

“For the same injury, however, an injured party can
have but one satisfaction and the receipt of such satis-
faction, either as payment of a judgment recovered or
consideration for a release executed by him, from a
person liable for such injury, necessarily works a
release of all others liable for the same no any | and

revents any further proceeding against them: Peter-
oss v. Wiggins, 230 Pa. 631; Smith v. Roydhouse, Arey
& Co., 244 Pa. 474; Mason v. Lavine, 302 Pa. 472. This
is true even though it was intended, or the release
expressly stipulated, that the other wrongdoers should
not thereby be released: Seither v. Philadelphia Trac-
tron Co., 125 Pa. 397; Williams v. LeBar, 14 L. Pa. 149.
Nor is it material whether the tort-feasors involved
committed a joint tort or concurrent or successive
torts, because the principle which underlies the rule is
that the injured person is given a legal remedy only to
obtain compensation for the damage done to him, and
when that compensation has been received from any of
the wrongdoers, his right to further remedy is at an
end.”

The only variation on this rule since the ruling in Thomp-
son v. lox, supra, is the passage of the Uniform Contribu-
tion Among Tort-Feasors Act in the State of Pennsylvania.

a

10

The Act provides an exception to the common law rule only
in the case of joint tort-feasors. In the present case, Tilley
Lamp is a manufacturer who would be held primarily liable
and D. Lux would be a dealer in a position of secondary
liability whether the plaintiff recovers on a theory of negli-
gence in manufacture and/or design or strict liability under
Section 402A of the Restatement of Torts 2d, Greco »,
Bucciconi Engineering, 407 F. 2d 87 (1969) 3 Cir.; Burbage
v. Boiler Engineering & Supply Co., 433 Pa. 319, 249 A. 24
563 (1969) ; Builders Supply Co. v. McCabe, 366 Pa. 322, 77
A. 2d 368 (1951).

In the present case, therefore, the plaintiff has received
satisfaction, released all tort-feasors and is, therefore,
barred from asserting any claim against Eagle Star Insur-
ance Company as garnishee since his claim against Tilley
Lamp Company is barred.

Conclusion
For these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that a writ

of certiorari should be issued to review the judgment of
the Court of Appeals that the default should not be opened.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE M. WEIS,

WEIS & WEIS,

920 Grant Building,

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219,

Attorney for Petitioner

—

11

Opinion of the Court
(Filed July 6, 1972.)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THe Tuirp Circuit

No. 71-1752
CARL N. WALKER, Administrator of the Estate of
NORBERT N. WALKER, Deceased,

v

THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corpora.
tion; THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U. S. A.) LTD., a
corporation; and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corpora.
tion.

AppEAL OF MaGLe Star INsuRANCE Group, GARNISHEE
No. 71-1753

MARY C. FLAVIN, Administratrix of the Estate of
WILBERT F. GRIES, Deceased,
a
v.
THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corpora
tion; THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U. S. A.) LTD., a

corporation; and A. W. THACKER, INC., a corpora-
tion.

APPEAL OF MaGLeE Star INsuRANCE Group, GARNISHEE

AppeaL From THE United States District Court
For THE WeEsTERN District or PENNSYLVANIA

Argued June 9, 1972.

Before: Hastie, Gibbons and M. Rosenn, Circuit
Judges.

12
Opinion of the Court.

Per Curiam:

This appeal challenges as an abuse of discretion the re.
fusal of the trial judge to vacate a default entered against
a garnishee as a result of its failure for 43 days to answer
Interrogatories in Attachment despite the requirement of
law that answer be filed within twenty days.

Rule 55(¢c), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, under
which appellant sought relief, authorizes a District Court
“(flor good cause shown . . . [to] set aside entry of a de.
fault”. Moreover, as the court below observed in this case,
trial of the merits of a claim is preferable to disposition
by default. However, on the present record we cannot say
that the District Court acted arbitrarily or unfairly in re-
fusing to vacate the default.

The judgment entered pursuant to default will be af.
firmed.

To the Clerk:
Please file the foregoing opinion.

13

Judgment

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THe Tuirp Crmcurr

No. 71-1752

CARL N. WALKER, Administrator of the Estate of
NORBERT N. WALKER, Deceased,

vs.
THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED a corpora-
tion, THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U. S. A.) LTD. a
corporation, and A. W. THACKER COMPANY, INC.,
a corporation,
EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, garnishee,
Appellant.

(D. C. Mise. No. 5077)
No. 71-1753

MARY C. FLAVIN, Administratrix of the Estate of
WILBERT F. GRIES, Deceased,

vs.

THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corpora-
tion, THE TILLEY LAMP CO. (U. S. A.) LTD., a
corporation and A. W. THACKER COMPANY, INC.
a corporation,

EAGLE STAR INSURANCE GROUP, garnishee,
; Appellant

(D. C. Mise. No. 5078)

On AppeEaLs From tHE Unirep District Court
or THE WESTERN District oF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: Hastie, Gibbons and Rosenn, Circuit Judges

SEY ots Olin eee te

14
Judgment

These causes came on to be heard on the records from
the United States District Court for the Western District
of Pennsylvania and were argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgments of the said Dis.
trict Court filed July 4, 1971, be, and the same are hereby
affirmed, with costs taxed against appellant.

ATTEST:

THOMAS P. QUINN,
Clerk

July 6, 1972.

15
Opinion of the Court Below

IN THE
DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

For THE WESTERN District or PENNSYLVANIA

CARL N. WALKER, Administrator of the Estate of
NORBERT N. WALKER, Deceased,
Plaintiff,

vs.

THE TILLEY LAMP COMPANY, LIMITED, a corpora-
tion; THE TILLEY LAMP Co. (U. 8. A.) LTD., a
corporation; and A. W. THACKER COMPANY, INC.,
a corporation, .

Defendants

Mise. No. 5077
(Civil No. 68-1084)

ORDER.

Anp Now, to-wit, this 8th day of July, 1971, this matter
having come before the court upon motion of garnishee,
Eagle Star Insurance Co., Ltd. (Eagle Star), to vacate a
default judgment entered for failure of Eagle Star to
answer Interrogatories in Attachment, and after considera- ;
tion of extensive arguments and briefs of counsel as well =
as a review of the record at Civil Action No. 68-1084, the
court finds the following:

16
‘Opimion of the Court Below.

Norbert N. Walker, plaintiff’s decedent herein, and Wij.
bert F. Gries, plaintiff’s decedent in a companion case at
Mise. No. 5078 (Civil Action No. 68-1085) died October 1,
1967, in McKean County, Pennsylvania, as a result of the
inhalation of toxic fumes from a defective kerosene heater
manufactured by defendant, The Tilley Lamp Company,
Ltd. (Tilley). At the time of this occurrence, Tilley was
covered by a liability insurance policy issued by garnishee,
Eagle Star, a company registered to do business in the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Plaintiff’s complaint against Tilley was filed September
18, 1968. Service of the complaint was made upon Tilley
on September 24, 1968. On October 4, 1968, Eagle Star
received notice. Eagle Star, however, failed to enter an
appearance, contact plaintiff’s counsel, or in any other
manner participate in this litigation. A default was en-
tered December 12, 1968 against Tillev for failure to file
an answer or plead. A non-jury trial on the aforesaid
claims was held January 6, 1969, before the undersigned
District Judge, and judgments were entered June 30, 1969,
and October 1, 1969.

_

Plaintiff’s counsel, unaware of Tilley’s insurance cover-
age, initiated an investigation to determine the existence
of possible assets of the defendant. Although Attachment
Execution was filed in this court naming the local distri-
butor of Tilley products as garnishee and Attachment
Execution proceedings were filed in the Court of Common
Pleas, Cuyahoga County, Ohio, naming local distributors
in the Cleveland area as garnishees no assets were found.
Tn the course of their investigation, plaintiff’s counsel dis-

_

17
Opinion of the Court Below.

eovered evidence of insurance and the probable iden-
tity of the insurance carrier by securing a copy of answers
to interrogatories filed by Tilley in an action filed in the
U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Florida.

On April 21, 1971, plaintiff’s counsel filed a praecipe for
writ of attachment execution naming Eagle Star as gar-
nishee and also filed interrogatories in attachment direct-
ed to the garnishee. The interrogatories were endorsed
with a notice to answer within twenty (20) days from the
date of service, according to the applicable Rule of court.
Service of the Writ of Execution and Interrogatories was
made upon the Insurance Commissioner of Pennsylvania,
agent for the garnishee, on April 22, 1971, and a copy was
received by certified mail by Eagle Star at its United
States Office, 75 Maiden Lane, New York, New York on
April 23, 1971. On April 26, 1971, Eagle Star wrote an
inquiry to plaintiff’s counsel concerning the matter. On
April 29, 1971, plaintiff’s counsel answered the inquiry,
setting forth inter alia Eagle Star’s policy number and the
dates of coverage. Eagle Star made no further attempt
to contact plaintiff’s counsel.

Although the twenty (20) day time limitation for an-
swering interrogatories in attachment expired May 13,
1971, plaintiff did not enter a default until June 4, 1971,
forty-three (43) days after service. On June 10, 1971,
garnishee filed its motion to vacate this judgment pursuant

to Rules 55 (¢) and 60 (hb) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

A motion to vacate a default judgment is an appeal to
the equitable powers of the court. The criteria to be con-

18
Opinion of the Court Below.

sidered by this court are: (1) Was the default caused by
excusable neglect on the part of the garnishee? (2) Did
counsel for defendant act promptly and diligently in filing
the motion upon learning of the entry of the default judg.
ment? and (3) Has garnishee set forth a potential meri-
torious defense to plaintiff’s action? Nicholson v. Allied
Chemical Corp., 200 F. Supp. 206 (KE. D. Pa. 1961).

The court recognizes the general principle that motions
to vacate default judgments must be liberally interpreted,
and matters involving large sums should ordinarily not
be determined on judgment by default if it can be reason-
ably avoided. However, in the instant case, this court finds
that Fagle Star has failed to justify the vacating of the
default judgment entered.

Of the three requisites above set forth to establish good
cause for the vacating of a default judgment Eagle Star
has met only the second. Counsel for the garnishee has,
in fact, acted with promptness and diligence in filing the
instant motion upon learning of the default.

The acts and omissions of FKagle Star, however, from the
very beginning of the case, have demonstrated a conscious
disregard for the process of this court. Since October 4,
1968, when Eagle Star received notice of this claim and
long prior to the entry of a default judgment against its
insured, the carrier had ample time to engage in whatever
discovery was indicated, contact plaintiff’s counsel, parti-
cipate in and/or control the defense to the principal action,
and otherwise protect its interests under the terms of its
poliey, but chose not to do so. The same evasive attitude
is reflected in Eagle Star’s failure, when joined as garni-

—

19
Opinion of the Court Below.

shee in the attachment execution proceedings, in the face
of actual notice, to refer this matter to counsel until a date
subsequent to May 13, 1971, the expiration date of the
time allotted to answer interrogatories in attachment.
Such unexplained disregard for legal process does not
constitute excusable neglect.

Furthermore, Eagle Star has failed to set forth a sub-
stantive defense on which it would be likely to prevail if
the default judgment were vacated. The two basic de-
fenses set forth by Eagle Star are: (1) Lack of notice, and
(2) Absence of coverage. This court is of the opinion
that under the circumstances Eagle Star had been afforded
reasonable notice. There is no indication in the record
that Tilley had any notice of the accident prior to service
of the complaint upon it, and Eagle Star received notice
of suit within ten (10) days of service of the complaint
upon its insured. Anent the absence-of-coverage issue,
Memorandum No. 2 of the insurance contract between
Eagle Star and Tilley reads as follows:

It 1s Heresy UnpErstoop anp AcreEp notwithstanding
anything herein contained to the contrary, that the
indemnity provided by this Policy is extended to apply
to the sale overseas of products manufactured and/or
sold by the Insured.

Provipep ALways T'Hat :—

(b) all claims arising by reason of this extension
shall be dealt within the jurisdiction of the United
Kingdom Courts only... .*

* Although the term “indemnity” is employed in this Memorandum,
upon a review of the terms and provisions of the policy, the court
interprets the same as a liability contract and not an indemnity con-
tract.

a

20
Opinion of the Court Below.

The court viewed Clause (b) under Memorandum No, 2
above set forth, upon which garnishee relies to exclude
coverage, as ambiguous, and, being part of an insurance
contract, a contract of adhesion, which must be interpreted
most strongly against the insurer, the clause does not
necessarily refer to claims instituted by anyone not an
immediate party to the insurance contract. The plaintiff
herein not being an immediate party to the contract is not
relegated to the courts of the United Kingdom under the
terms of the policy. On the other hand, although it is
recognized that, as a general rule, the rights of a judgment
creditor rise no higher than those of the insured against
the insurer garnishee, nevertheless, a procedural require-
ment in a contract of insurance that an injured resident of
the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania must present his claim
to a court of the United Kingdom is unreasonably restric-
tive and contrary to the Act of 1921, May 7, 1921, of the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, P.L. 682, Article II,
§ 301, 40 P.S. § 421, “which deals with the requisites for
foreign insurance companies to do business in the State,
and the Act of 1921, May 17, P. L. 789, Article IT, § 210, as
amended, 40 P.S. § 48, relating to service of process upon
the Insurance Commissioner.” Consolidated Sun Ray, Inc.
v. Steel Insurance Company, 190 F. Supp. 171 (E. D. Pa.
1961). Neither the coverage of the accident giving rise to
plaintiff's claim nor his right of garnishment is barred by
a contractual arrangement which is inconsistent with con-
trolling statutory law.

Now, therefore, the motion of Eagle Star Insurance
Company, Ltd., garnishee, to vacate judgment entered
against said garnishee on June 4, 1971, for failure to an-
swer interrogatories in attachment is hereby dismissed.

re

21
Opinion of the Court Below

It is further ordered that the Order of Court dated
June 14, 1971, restraining plaintiff from executing upon
the said judgment be and the same is hereby vacated.

HERBERT P. SORG, D. J
Dated: July 8, 1971.
ee: Jerry B. Landis, Esquire

2004 Lawyers Bldg., Pgh., Pa. 15219
Weis & Weis, Esquires
920 Grant Bldg., Pgh., Pa. 15219

Robert A. Cohen, Esquire
1008 Law & Finance Bldg., Pgh., Pa. 15219

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_1060%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
