# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hobbs v. Custom Finance Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0940%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 847

## Text

JUN 1 18

In The MICHACL RODSK, UR.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1971

NO.

aw

DeWITT T. HOBBS, JR.,
Petitioner,

oma v.

CUSTOM FINANCE COMPANY, etc.,

GUERDON INDUSTRIES, INC., etc., and

MAGNOLIA HOMES MANUFAC TURING CORPORATION, etc.,
Respondents,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

PETER K. BABALAS
ARTHUR C. ERMLICH
and
CHARLES R. CLOUD
210 Atlantic National Bank Bldg.
Norfolk, Virginia 23510
Counsel for P etitioner

Fi SALE I SI EAI IES OT TY

BP ae nach ako ee LE

—

INDEX
Page
oo ee ar 2
0 OTST TS Tee eee ee eee 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............... 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ....... 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE............... 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........

1. When it is alleged that a party with unclean
hands has taken advantage of its own wrongs and
has committed criminal acts, a Court should in-
quire into such alleged wrongdoings so as to pro-
tect its own integrity and the administration of
justice; and the sanctioning of such a refusal by
a lower Court is such a departure from the accept-
ed and usual course of judicial proceedings, as to
call for an exercise of this Court’s power of super-
vision. : 14

2. Whether one by reason of the circumstances of
the parties and/or by operation of law becomes a
surety is an important federal question which
has not been, but should be settled by this court. 20

a” ee 25
APPENDIX

District Court’s Minutes and Opinion.......... la

District Court’s Memorandum Opinion ......... 3a

District Court’s [First] Final Judgment........ 6a

District Court’s [Second] Final Judgment....... 12a

Court of Appeal’s Opinion ................ l4a

Court of Appeal’s Denial of Rehearing Petition. . . 17a

STATUTES, AUTHORITIES AND CASES

Code of Virginia (1950), § 8.3-119........ 3, 24
Code of Virginia (1950), § 8.3-606....... 3, 23, 24
Code of Virginia (1959), § 50-11......... 4,25
Broom’s Legal Maxims, Tenth Edition ....... 15
50 Am. Jur., Suretyship, § 11 ............. 20
37 ie EE REPRE CU TE ee eee 21
Citizens & Marine Bank, v. McMurran, 138 Va. 657,

ae ee SD 66k iwi aw ow 60 0 23
Dey, Receiver v. Martin, 78 Va. 1(1883)..... 23
Frank Adam Electric Co. v. Westinghouse Elec. &

Mfgr. Co., 146 F.2d 165, (8th Cir., 1945) .. 18
Godwin v. Gerling, 40 ALR2d 1250, 362 Mo. 19, 239

Bits CUED 5 We oe es ek ee 20
Hardinge Co. v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 164

F. Supp. 75, (D.C. Pa., 1958) ......... 18
Johnson v. Yellow Cab Transit Co., 321 U.S. 383, 64

S.Ct. 622, 88 L. Ed. 814 (1943) ........ 18
Olmstead v. United States, 297 U.S. 438, 72 L.Ed.

944, 48 S.Ct. 564 (1927) ..... Kceieak tomers 15, 18
Re Estate of Ives, 72 ALR 2d 278, 248 N.C. 176,

Se ce eT COEDS be 6 eves ee wees 15

7
In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1971

' Bs]

V.

DeWITT T. HOBBS, JR.,
Petitioner,

and

CUSTOM FINANCE COMPANY, etc.,

GUERDON INDUSTRIES, INC., etc., and

MAGNOLIA HOMES MANUFAC TURING CORPORATION ,etc.,
Respondents,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr. hereby submits his petition
and respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue
to review the judgment and opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered in this
proceeding on January 27, 1972.

OPINIONS BELOW

The per curiam opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, not yet reported,
appears in the Appendix hereto. Also included in such
Appendix are two memorandum opinions delivered by
the United States District Court for the Eastern District
of Virginia in connection with the judgments rendered
which Petitioner seefs to review; and which are ufte- ic

“a. | —

JURISDICTION

1. The judgment of the United States Court ‘of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit was entered January
27, 1972.

2. A timely petition for rehearing was denied by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
on March 3, 1972.

3. Petitioner believes that 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1)
confers on this court jurisdiction to review the judg-
ment in question by writ of certiorari.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When allegations are made raising ‘‘unclean
hands’’ issues, should a court inquire further into the
matter before granting judgment to the party who al-
legedly has ‘‘unclean hands’’ relating directly to, the
suit controversy?

2. Are the allegations and settlement matters in a
separate suit between joint venture partners sufficient
evidence of ‘‘unclean hands’’ to deny recovery in an
independent suit by one of the joint venture partners
against a third party arising out of the same subject
matter?

7
; , a
pone Fr ae eee et ee Pron SAD MURR HN ont

——

3. Do adverse actions of a noteholder even though
made in good faith operate to change the status of the
maker to one of a surety where the subject note is de-
pendent upon and arises out of a contract between the
parties?

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In this case the following statutes of the Code of
Virginia (1950), as amended are involved:

§ 8.3-119. Other writings affecting instrument.

(1) As between the obligor and his immediate
obligee or any transferee the terms of an instru-
ment may be modified or affected by any other
written agreement executed as a part of the same
transaction, except that a holder in due course is
not affected by any limitation of his rights arising
out of the separate written agreement if he had no
notice of the limitation when he took the instru-
ment.

(2) A separate agreement does not affect the
negotiability of an instrument. (1964, c. 219.)

§ 8.3 -606. Impairment of reccurse or of collateral.

(1) The holder discharges any party to the in-
strument to the extent that without such party’s con-
sent the holder

(a) without express reservation of rights re-
leases or agrees not to sue any person against
whom the party has to the knowledge of the holder
a right of recourse or agrees to suspend the right
to enforce against such person the instrument or
collateral or otherwise discharges such person,
except that failure or delay in effecting any re-

—_ P 3.

I

quired presentment, protest or notice of dishonor
with respect to any such person does not discharge
any party as to whom presentment, protest or notice
of dishonor is effective or unnecessary; or

(b) unjustifiably impairs any collateral for the
instrument given by or on behalf of the party or any
person against whom he has a right of recourse.

(2) By express reservation of rights against a
party with a right of recourse the holder preserves

(a) all his rights against such party as of the
time when the instrument was originally due; and

(b) the right of the party to pay the instrument
as of that time; and

(c) all rights of such party to recourse against
others. (Code 1950, § 6-473; 1964,c. 219.)

§ 50-11. Admissions and representations.

An admission or representation made by any
partner concerning partnership affairs within the
scope of his authority as conferred by this chapter
is evidence against the partnership. (1918, p. 544;
Michie Code 1942, § 4359(11).)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This suit originated by means of an interpleader
complaint filed under the provisions of Title 28, Section
1335, of the United States Code, as amended. Old Kent
Bank and Trust Company held approximately $26,018.77
in accounts which had been assigned to it by DeWitt
T. Hobbs, Jr. Conflicting claims to these accounts
had been made by DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr., Custom Finance
Company, Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corporation,
Guerdon Industries, Inc., and others. Old Kent Bank and

4.

ES TOR I PORCINE F

Trust Company filed its interpleader complaint in the
United States District Court for the Western District of
Michigan, Southern Division. The case was transferred
to the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Virginia, Norfolk Division. At the present
time Old Kent Bank and Tr"s+ Company has no interest
in the proceedings. The present controversy arises out
of cross-claims filed in the interpleader suit.

Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. is a bankrupt Virginia
corporation. In 1966 Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. was
engaged in the retail sale of trailers and mobile homes.
Sales were made from approximately seventeen different
lots located throughout the State of Virginia. These
lots were operated by the following wholly owned sub-
sidiaries of Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc.: Eastern Trailer
Sales of Richmond, Inc.; Magnolia Trailer Sales and
Finance, Inc.; National Trailer Sales and Finance, Inc.;
Ten-L Mobile Homes of Norfolk, Inc.; Tab’s Trailer
Sales, Inc.; Miracle Mobile Homes of Norfolk, Inc.;
Capitol Mobile Homes, Inc.; Frontier Mobile Homes,
Inc.; Oceana Mobile Homes, Inc.; and Western Trailer
Sales, Inc. Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. and its sub-
sidiaries are hereinafter called Retail Dealer,

As of 1966 Retail Dealer had been doing business
with Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corporation, Custom
Finance Company, Armour Mobile Homes Sales Cor-
poration of Virginia, and Magnolia Mobile Homes Sales
Corporation of Virginia. Magnolia is a Mississippi cor-
poration engaged in the manufacture of mobile homes
with various subsidiaries located throughout the United
States; which formerly included Armour Mobile Homes
Sales Corporation of Virginia and Magnolia Mobile
Homes Sales Corporation. These two subsidiaries
were dissolved by merger with Magnolia Mobile Homes
Manufacturing Corporation of Virginia which was a

5.

4) oe aaieceell

wholly owned subsidiary of Magnolia to whose interest
Magnolia succeeded. Magnolia’s principal office is
located in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Custom, with its
principal office in Vicksburg, Mississippi, was a
Mississippi corporation engaged in the financing
business. All of the stock of Custom was owned by
Magnolia, and upon the liquidation of Custom, all of
its assets and liabilities became the assets and lia-
bilities of Magnolia. Guerdon is a Delaware corporation,
with its principal office in Louisville, Kentucky.
Guerdon is doing business in various states of the
United States and is engaged in the manufacture of
mobile homes, pre-built homes and other related ac-
tivities. Magnolia merged with Guerdon, and all of the
stock of Magnolia is now owned by Guerdon. Custom,
Magnolia, and Guerdon are hereinafter referred to as
Respondent Manufacturer.

Midland-Guardian Company of Georgia was a wholly
owned subsidiary of Midland-Guarcian Company. Midland
and its subsidiaries are engaged in dealer and consumer
financing inthe Midwestern and the Southeastern United
States. Midland is unrelated to any of the parties in
this suit, except that Midland at one time was a joint
venture partner with Respondent Manufacturer. As of
1966 and before, Retail Dealer was doing business
with Midland. At that time Midland was financing the
inventory purchases of Retail Dealer from Respondent
Manufacturer. Retail Dealer would receive from Respon-
dent Manufacturer new trailers and mobile homes. At
such time as these units were physically received by
retail dealer, Midland, hereinafter called Finance
Company, would receive documents issued by Re-
spondent Manufacturer. The trade purpose of these
documents was to evidence title to the new trailers
and mobile homes. These documents are sometimes

es

called Certificates of Origin and/or Certificates of
Title. These documents would enable the Finance
Company to perfect senior liens upon the new trailers
and mobile homes. In this way the Finance Company
would be secured for funds loaned to Retail Dealer;
and, of course, such funds would enable Retail Dealer
to purchase new trailers and mobile homes from Re-
spondent Manufacturer.

When Retail Dealer would sell and remove a trailer
or mobile home from one of its lots, it was required to
notify the Finance Company and pay a proportionate
share of its debt to the Finance Company. This pay-
ment would represent the amount loaned to Retail
Dealer for the original purchase of the subject trailer
or mobile home from the Respondent Manufacturer. At
such time as it received payment, Finance Company
would deliver the document to the Retail Dealer. In
order for the Retail Dealer to transfer a clear title to
a retail purchaser, it was necessary that it obtain
such document from the Finance Company.

From time to time it was ‘he trade custom of
Financy Company to make a physical inspection of
Retail Dealer’s lots. The purpose was to determine
that all trailers and mobile homes which secured the
loan and were represented by such documents were
still physically in the possession of Retail Dealer. If
any trailer or mobile home was not found in the posses-
sion of Retail Dealer, them it was assumed that Retail
Dealer had sold the trailer without paying the Finance
Company’s debt. In such a situation, a party is said to
be ‘‘Out of trust’? as to such missing property for which
the lien remains unsatisfied and the debt unpaid.

In 1966, Retail Dealer, Finance Company, and
Respondent Manufacturer, along with DeWitt T. Hobbs,
Jr., hereinafter called Petitioner, entered into an ex-

tensive written agreement, dated May 12, 1966. (See
defendant’s Exhibit U and Exhibit D, record page 343).
At that time and for almost nine years before, Retail
Dealer was and had been Trailer Manufacturer’s largest
dealer. Retail Dealer had experienced financial dif-

ficulty;.and this was the setting for the May 12, 1966,
agreement.

Pursuant to the terms of the May 12, 1966, agree-
ment, three promissory notes were made by Retail
Dealer. One note was dated May 12, 1966, in the sum
of $200,000.00, payable to the order of Respondent
Manufacturer; one was dated May 12, 1966, in the sum
of $499,841.43, payable to the order of Respondent
Manufacturer; and one was dated May 26, 1966, in the
sum of $100,000.00, payable to the order of Retail
Manufacturer. Petitioner under the terms of the May
12, 1966, agreement, also signed the three notes. Two
checks were paid to Retail Dealer by Respondent Man-
ufacturer; one check, dated May 11, 1966, was in the
sum of $200,000.00, and another check, dated May 26,
1966, was in the sum of $100,000.00. The two notes in
the same amounts evidenced the debts forthese checks.
The third note for $499,841.43 represented a previous
debt of Retail Dealer to Respondent Manufacturer. These
payments and notes were according to the express terms
of the May 12, 1966 agreement. To secure these notes,
certain reserve accounts of Retail Dealer were assigned
to Respondent Manufacturer by instrument dated May
16, 1966. Neither the notes, assignment, nor the agree-

ment of May 12, 1966, expressly states the capacity
of Petitioner.

In 1966 Retail Dealer was perhaps one of the
largest retail sellers of trailers and mobile homes in
the United States. At that time it had approximately
200 employees, including Petitioner. Petitioner was

es

also a corporate officer, director and the sole stock-
holder of Retail Dealer. After the May 12, 1966, agree-
ment was reached, Retail Dealer continued to operate
its business as before.

During the first part of July, 1966, Finance Company
and Respondent Manufacturer complained that Retail
Dealer had breached the agreement of May 12, 1966, and
failed to make payments on the notes. Also, it was
claimed that Retail Dealer was ‘‘out of trust’’; i.e.,
trailers and mobile homes were missing from Retail
Dealer’s lots for which Finance Company had not
been paid, and for which the documents of title re-
mained in the possession of Finance Company.

Instead of pursuing the usual and customary legal
remedies, Respondent Manufacturer and Finance Com-
pany elected to enter into a joint venture agreement
evidenced by a letter, dated July 13, 1966. (See Re-
spondent Manufacturer’s Exhibit W; and Exhibit #E,
Record page 361), Pursuant to this joint venture agree-
ment, Finance Company and Respondent Manufacturer
exercised stock and proxy assignments of Retail Dealer
given to them under the agreement of May 12, 1966.
Over the objection of Petitioner, Finance Company and
Respondent Manufacturer continued the May 12, 1966,
agreement in full force and effect, except that Petition-
er was removed as a corporate officer, director and
employee. Further, Petitioner from that point on had
no voice or control in the affairs of Retail Dealer.
Petitioner was made to disassociate himself from the
affairs of Retail Dealer.

By means of their position of full control, Respon-
dent Manufacturer and Finance Company caused Retail
Dealer to continue on in business. This included caus-
ing Retail Dealer to borrow from them an additional

—_ : 9.

$300,000.00 secured by items included in the May 12,
1966, agreement and all other funds and assets of the
Retail Dealer. Thus, under the joint venture agreement
of July 13, 1966, and without Petitioner’s consent
additional funds were borrowed by Retail Dealer. Retail
Dealer, but not Petitioner, executed additional promis-
sory notes and security agreements. Petitioner never
consented to the changes and additions: made to the
May 12, 1966, agreement by the joint venture agreement
of July 13, 1966.

Within a few months thereafter, in 1966, while
under the control and supervision of Finance Company
and Respondent Manutacturer, the financial condition
of Retail Dealer deteriorated. Certain Federal taxes
were not paid and Internal Revenue agents closed the
business of Retail Dealer in October of 1966.

While Petitioner controlled and supervised Retail
Dealer, its business records and corporate minutes
were available and were sufficient to permit audited
reports of Retail Dealer’s business. After Respondent
Manufacturer and Finance Company took control and
supervision of Retail Dealer, the bulk of such records
disappeared. A bankruptcy petition was filed against
Retail Dealer in 1967, but before that, on November
21, 1966, Respondent Manufacturer filed suit against
Finance Company. 1 (See Volume II of the record,
pages 320 through 798.) This suit was between the two
joint venture partners and arose out of their relation-
ships with Retail Dealer and the agreements of May
12, 1966, and July 13, 1966. In the complaint of Trailer
Manufacturer against Finance Company the following
allegations, among others, were set forth:

1. See record, page 308, for order incorporating herein
the record of ended Civil Action No. 5873 for appeal pur-
purposes, etc.

10.

ILI GL oe OE EOE LS LOE LE ELFEN, SRE ENE

=~—~—V“""

1. Finance Company at all times pertinent to
the May 12, 1966, agreement, had its representa-
tives located on the premises of Retail Dealer
and such representatives approved checks drawn
by Retail Dealer which may not have been properly
applied in accordance with the terms of the May
12, 1966, agreement and the July 13, 1966, agree-
ment.

2. Finance Company wrongfully seized possession
and set aside for its own use all the corporate
records, books, accounts, furniture, fixtures and
equipment of Retail Dealer.

Finance Company answered the complaint by deny-
ing the essential allegations, and then went on to
allege:

1. Respondent Manufacturer had not performed

all of the terms required of it by the May 12, 1966,

agreement.

2. Respondent Manufacturer was issuing false or
fictitious invoices, and releasing certificates of
origin for trailers and mobile homes to the Retail
Dealer prior to the delivery of such trailers and
mobile homes to Retail Dealer.

Finance Company filed a counter-claim alleging:

1. Respondent Manufacturer falsely stated that
the debt of Trailer Dealer to it on May 12, 1966,
was $499,841.40. 2

2. Respondent Manufacturer received payments
from Retail Dealer after May 12, 1966, in breach
of the agreement of that date.

2. This is the debt represented by one of the notes upon
which judgment was granted herein against Petitioner in favor
of Respondent Manufacturer. See final judgment, Record
page 304.

Pager
Hat

11.

3. Respondent Manufacturer refused to reimburse
Finance Company for its loss suffered by reason
of 22 mobile homes being out of trust by Retail
Dealer after July 13, 1966. 3

4. Respondent Manufacturer permitted the Retail
Dealer to be out of trust and allowed Retail
Dealer to make payments for mobile homes pur-
chased in many instances as long as two or three
months after invoice date.

5. Respondent Manufacturer’s acts were contrib-

uting causes to the economic failure of Retail
Dealer.

Respondent Manufacturer then amended its Com-
plaint and stated that Finance Company knew that the
Agreements of May 12, 1966, and July 13, 1966 would
place both in a position of control with regard to the
Operation and supervision of the affairs of Retail
Dealer. Respondent Manufacturer admitted that as a
result, Financy Company and it actually controlled
and- supervised operations of Retail Dealer. Respond-
ent Manufacturer alleged that it relied upon Finance

Company to apply the sums advanced in accordance
with the two agreements.

Respondent Manufacturer and Finance Company
actively fought one another almost four years. Finally,
in the latter part of 1970 they compromised their suit,
By agreement, a final order was entered terminating the
case. Such termination was provided for in the release
agreement; and they also agreed to terminate the
bankruptcy proceedings of Retail Dealer. (See Respond-
ent Manufacturer’s - Guerdon Exhibit X-1). From an
inspection of the suit papers in the case between

3. As noted, infra,this was after Petitioner had been re-
moved as an officer, director and employee of Retail Dealer.

12.

ERA ? OS IE Ee ¥

—

Respondent Manufacturer and Finance Company, it can
be seen that there never was an accounting for Retail
Dealer’s operations while under their control.

Until the counter-claims were filed in the present
case, there was never a suit brought against Petitioner
by Respondent Manufacturer. And the claims finally
brought against Petitioner were brought in the form of
simple promissory note actions on the three notes
mentioned previously. One claim was based on the
note for $499,841.43 which evidenced an amount
allegedly due — this is the same debt that the joint
venture partner claimed to be falsely stated by the
Respondent Manufacturer. In the present controversy,
Respondent Manufacturer has implied that Petitioner
individually was responsible for Retail Dealer being
“‘out of trust’’. However, Respondent Manufacturer
offers no explanation for the 22 mobile homes ‘“‘out of
trust’? by Retail Dealer after Petitioner lost control,
and after Retail Dealer was under the control and super-
vision of Respondent Manufacturer and Finance Com-
Company.

Finance Company in its allegations does suggest
an explanation. When Respondent Manufacturer issued
false documents of title, this resulted in Finance Com-
pany floor planning fictitious property - property which
was never actually in the possession of Retail Dealer
and presumably property which did not exist. Obviously,
someone connected with Retail Dealer had to cooperate
with Respondent Manufacturer in order to obtain the
financing from Finance Company. The fact that the
‘fout of trust’? condition continued after Petitioner
left, points out that it was permitted by a person other
than Petitioner.

Petitioner was not aware of Respondent Manufac-

13.

turer’s illegal acts until after the trial in this case.
At the trial Petitioner was misled by the false testi-
mony of Mildred C. Johnson, a representative and
officer of Respondent Manufacturer. When asked about
the litigation between Respondent Manufacturer and
Finance Company, she denied that there was any
problem, denied that the inability to obtain an account-
ing was part of the reason for the suit, and denied any
problem with the May 12, 1966, agreement, This same
witness swore to the truth of the original complaint

filed by the Respondent Manufacturer against the
Finance Company.

In its suit against Finance Company, Respondent
Manufacturer said that the Finance Company had the
records of Retail Dealer and that payments were made
and received in violation of the May 12, 1966, agrce-
ment. Both joint venture partners claimed that records
had been secreted by one another contrary to the spirit
and terms of the May 12, 1966, agreement. In its claim
against Petitioner, Respondent Manufacturer relied on
its own records to prove the sums then due against
Petitioner on the promissory notes. Over Petitioner’s
objection, Respondent Manufacturer never offered the
audited records of Retail Dealer, and never explained
its inability to provide such. Judgments for the indicat-

ed balances were entered against Petitioner as a maker
of the notes.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

1. When it is alleged that a party with unclean
hands has taken advantage of its own wrongs
and has committed criminal acts, a Court should
inquire into such alleged wrongdoings so as to
protect its own integrity and the administration of
justice; and the sanctioning of such a refusal by

14.

LEI IOROLO GS SL OIE ETL LIE NE

a lower Court is such a departure fromthe accept-
ed and usualcourse of judicial proceedings, as to
call for an exercise ofthis Court’s power of super-
vision.

One usually thinks of the ‘‘clean hands maxim”
as being applicable in courts of equity. In the present
case the Courts below have consistently construed the
Respondent Manufacturer’s suit to be simple law ac-
tions for the breach of promissory notes. Perhaps the
Courts below felt that the ‘‘clean hands maxim’’ did
not apply in law actions. Of course, this is not cor-
rect. As stated by Justice Brandeis:

The maxim of unclean hands comes from courts
of equity. But the principle prevails also in
courts of law. Its common application is in civil
actions between private parties. Olmstead v.
United States, 297 U.S. 438, 483; 72 L.Ed. 944;
48 S.Ct. 564; and 66 ALR 376 (1927).

This statement is supported in Broom’s Legal Max-
ims, Tenth Edition, at page 191, stating ‘‘The maxim
that no man shall take advantage of his own wrongs
is fully recognized in courts of law and equity, and
admits of illustration from every branch of legal pro-
cedure. See also, Re Estate of Ives, 72 ALR 2d 278,
248 N.C. 176, 102 S.E. 2d 807 (1958).

Or, perhaps the lower Courts felt that Petitioner’s
complaint was not timely raised. The wrongful acts
were not brought to the Court’s attention until after
the trial and after one of the final judgments had been
entered. The ‘‘Motion of DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr. for
Relief from Final Judgment Pursuant to Rule 60 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure” first brought to the
attention of the Court the wrongful acts of the Respond-
ent Manufacturer. This motion raised the following
issues:

a5.

a. The Respondent Manufacturer had fraudulently
misrepresented to the Court its claims against
Petitioner.

b. The Record in the ended suit between Respond-
ent Manufacturer and its joint venture partner
contradicted testimony in the present case
given by Mildred C. Johnson, in behalf of the
Respondent Manufacturer.

c. The Record in the ended civil case between the
joint venture partners alleged numerous fraudulent
acts of the Respondent Manufacturer which af-
fected Petitioner and which would excuse Pe-

titioner from any liability. See Record, page 268
through 272.

Further, Petitioner’s counsel in arguing the motion
emphasized that the pleadings in the ended suit be-
tween Respondent Manufacturer and its joint venture
partner, Finance Company, alleged criminal acts on
the part of Respondent Manufacturer. See Record, Re-
porter’s Transcript, Volume VIII, page 13, lines 1 -- 10.

Inhis Petition for rehearing submitted to the Fourth
Circuit Court of Appeals, Petitioner raised the ‘‘clean
hands’”’ issue. In spite of this, neither the District
Court nor the Court of Appeals has directly commented
on the ‘“‘clean hands’’ issue. However, the District
Court in speaking of the ended suit between the joint

venture partner and Respondent Manufacturer did say:

The Court: That was between, as I recall it, the
Guerdon Industries, or then whatever the name
of the company was from down inMississippi and
the other company as to the agreement between

them. But that hasn’t anything to do with the
$498,000.

16.

PEA STRIP CNEL EYE PORTER Ts AMEE RRND ERC IED

Mr. Cloud: It certainly did.

The Court: I think I know more about the case
than you do, Mr. Cloud, under the circumstances.
But I will read the motion and the affidavit and
will let you hear from me in the next couple of
days. If there is anything done in it, it is going
to be a very brief delay for you to file whatever
discovery evidence you can file. And this is the
last go-around, if I do this. Do you understand
that? See Record, Reporter’s Transcript, Volume
VIII, pg. 13, lines 11 through 23.

In its Memorandum Opinion as to this Motion, the
District Court said: ‘‘A review of that motion adds
nothing relevant to the matters before this court and
is denied.’’ See Record, page 281. And later, the
District Court went on to state: ‘‘It represents some of
the free-wheeling general language that roars in a tea-
pot.’’ See Record, page 281. Yet, a mere perusal of the
record in the ended case would have indicated that the
suit concerned the very agreement upon which the
three promissory notes were based; and upon which
Respondent Manufacturer was suing Petitioner.

In spite of the District Court’s statement to the
contrary, the record of the case between the Respond-
ent Manufacturer and Finance Company does indicate
that the $498,000.00 was in issue. In its counter-
claim against Respondent Manufacturer, the joint
venture partner claimed:

Plaintiffs [Respondent Manufacturer] represented

that the entire indebtedness of Eastern Trailer

Sales, Inc., and its subsidiaries owed to plain-

tiffs on May 12, 1966, was $499,841.43. Said

representation was false. See Record, Paragraph
III, 2, page 461.

17.

Petitioner urges that the lower Courts should have
responded to the ‘‘clean hands’’ issue when raised.
Consider the following:

Whenever in the course of a proceeding the Court
is informed in any way that the plaintiff is with-
out clean hands. . . the Court should inquire into
the facts of its own accord, and if it finds the
charge to be true, relief should not be granted.
Frank Adam Electric Company v. Westinghouse
Electric and Manufacturing Company, 146 F. 2d
165, 167 (8th Circuit, 1945). Emphasis added.

This principle was recognized in Hardinge Co, v.
Jones and Laughlin Steel Corp., 164 F. Supp. 75, 77
(D.C. Pa., 1958) wherein the Court said:

In applying the ‘‘clean hands’’ maxim, the Court
is concerned primarily with protecting its own
integrity from improper action by a party .. . the
latter [Clean hands maxim] need not even be
pleaded.

Justice Frankfurter, in Johnson v. Yellow Cab
Transit Company, 321 U.S. 383, 403, 64 S.Ct. 622, 88
L.Ed. 814 (1943) quoting Justice Brandeis, states:

But the objection that the plaintiff comes with
unclean hands will be taken by the Court itself.
It will be taken despite the wish to the contrary
of all the parties to the litigation. The Court
protects itself. Olmstead v. United States, supra
at page 485.

The lower Court was encouraged and urged to in-
quire into the alleged wrongful, fraudulent and criminal
acts of the Respondent Manufacturer. Instead, the lower
Court let stand its previous judgment on two of the
notes and granted another judgment to the Respondent
Manufacturer on the third note. This third note was in

18.

WF Y PRESTR LIE DAEMON OS eo ORC RRR OH NIK AN 5 ’ t

the principal sum of $499,841.43 -- this was the same

note representing the same debt said to be falsely
Stated by a party in a position to know: Respondent
Manufacturer’s joint venture partner, Finance Company.

To an impartial vbserver this would seem to sug-
gest that power, prestige and money can limit the
administration of justice. Here two corporate giants
took control of Retail Dealer. While under their con-
trol, records which would explain their operation disa-
ppeared. In discussing any statements and records
which might have remained after the Respondent
Manufacturer operated and controlled the business, one
of its corporate officers stated: “No, sir. The last time
I was there you couldn’t find any books and records,
and everything was in a mess. All the deferred certif-

icates suddenly disappeared . . .”’ See Record, Report-
er’s Transcript, Vol. V, p. 242, line 24 to p. 243, line
3.

One blamed the other for the failure of the company.
One claimed the other committed fraudulent and criminal
acts. During this fight, neither made claims against
Petitioner. Instead, their money and power permitted
them to litigate in Court for years, and then, by their
own agreement, to terminate both the suit, as well as
the related bankruptcy case. The wrongful acts plus
the records which would show what took place were
thus buried. It became impossible for Petitioner to
fully present his defense. Instead of bringing in the
records of Bankrupt Retail Dealer, Respondent Manu-
facturer brought in its records to misrepresent what
happened. Petitioner was given the impossible burden
of producing records to prove otherwise -- records which
Respondent Manufacturer and its joint venture partner
had previously refused to provide; and which they con-
trolled. Surely fairness should deny the claim of

19,

Respondent Manufacturer. Petitioner adopts the fol-
lowing principle as being clearly applicable in this
case:

Under the ‘unclean hands’ doctrine, misconduct
which will bar an action in equity does not neces-
sarily need to be fraudulent; it is erough that the
party seeking relief has been guilty of inequit-
able conduct inthe very matter about which affirm-
ative relief is sought. Godwin v. Gerling, 40 ALR
2d 1250, 362, Mo. 19, 239 S.W. 2d 352 (1951).

Respondent Manufacturer should have been denied
a recovery.

2. Whether one by reason of the circumstances
of the parties and/or by operation of law becomes
a surety is an important federal question which
has not been, but should be settled by this court.

This issue is very much related to the ‘‘clean
hands’’ issue, supra, A surety relationship is where
the parties are not on an equal footing. Such a rela-
tionship may be present from the start by reason of the
express terms of the agreement, or it may arise later
by reason of a change in circumstances. 50 Am. Jur.,
Suretyship § 11 states:

The relation of suretyship, although it generally
is created by express contract of the parties and
withthe consent of the creditor, may nevertheless
arise by operation of law, for the law will some-
times place a person already bound upon some
other contract in the situation of surety by ex-
tending to him the privileges of this relationship.

In either instance the acts of the creditor affecting
the surety must be fair and equitable. If not, he will be
denied relief against the surety.

20.

Mead pecnk: tne a ee ee
PRISE ALS SO AT AS ST 6 ere ¥

Even though there are no contractual terms of sur-
etyship, where fairness demands, it will be supplied.
See 18 M.J., Suretyship, § 3 stating ‘‘Also, for the pur-
pose of working out equity and justice, parties may be
treated in a court of equity as standing in a relation
of suretyship.. .’’

If not before, Petitioner surely by operation of law
became a surety at some point after he was ousted by
Respondent Manufacturer and its joint venture partner.
After ousting Petitioner they proceeded to run and con-
trol the business until it failed. They made changes to
the original May 12, 1966 agreement and caused the
Retail Dealer to execute additional notes and security
instruments and thereby borrow additional money.
There is no dispute about this -- Respondent Manu-
facturer has stated:

(e) The Plaintiffs [Respondent Manufacturer] in
accordance with the terms and spirit of the Agree-
ments of May 12, 1966 and July 13, 1966, ailowed
the defendants inance Company] to control
and supervise the operations of Eastern Trailer
Sales, Inc.; allowed the defendants to maintain
agents and employees of the defendants at the
premises of Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. to the ex-
clusion of those of the plaintiffs; advanced the
sum of $429,791.96 to Eastern and the defend-
ants and allowed the defendants to control the
application of all sums advanced bw the plain-
tiffs and the defendants, and relied upon the de-
fendants applying sums advanced in accordance
with the Agreements of May 12, 1966 and July
13, 1966. See Record, page 519.

All was done without Petitioner’s consent, and over
his objection. More than once in the trial we find con-
flicting statements by Respondent Manufacturer denying
control by the joint venture partners:

21.

Q. Well, I use that not in the strict sense, but I
submit that you did direct the operation of
Eastern.

A. No, Sir. We did not direct the operations of
Eastern. We elected the same management when
Mr. Hobbs was there.

Q. Now you couldn’t have, Mrs. Johnson, because
he had gone.

A. With the exception of Mr. Hobbs.

See Record, Reporter’s Transcript Volume VI,
page 285, lines 13 -- 20.

The July 13, 1966 agreement amended the May 12,
1966 agreement; there is no dispute about this:

Q. My point is that the May 12 agreement, and
this is a question, wasn’t it put on the shelf and
the July 13th agreement became a brand-new thing
that the parties abided by?

A. No, Sir. If it was put on the shelf we couldn’t
have foreclosed on the rolling stock or done any-
thing with the incentives, or we couldn’t have
done anything with the reserves. No. That is not
spelled out in the July 13th agreement. We didn’t
put it on the shelf. It is an amendment to it.

See Record, Reporter’s Transcript Volume VI,
page 287, lines 11 -- 20.

Nor is there any dispute that Petitioner was not a
party to the July 13, 1966 agreement. After Petitioner
was required to resign,

A. We [Respondent Manufacturer] immediately
went to Eastern Trailer Sales to set up person-
nel of Eastern and give areas of responsibility
to employees of Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. that
were on the premises. Mr. Zersey and Mr. Phipps,

22.

Mr. Wheatly was there, and we designated areas
of responsibility, and they were familiar with
the business and had been long employees of
the business. We then reached an agreement
with Midland Guardian that we would advance up
to the sum of $300,000.

Q. Pause right there. I now show you a docu-
ment designated as Exhibit W in the pre-trial
order and a letter agreement dated July 13, 1966,
and ask you if you can identify that?

A. Yes. I drafted that account.

See Record, Reporter’s Transcript, Volume V,
page 91, line 24 -- page 92, line 12.

It has long been established in Virginia that a
change in a contract without the consent of a surety
operates to discharge the surety from liability. In
Dey, Receiver v. Martin, 78 Va. 1 (1883), the Court
said:

An endorser of a note is a surety for the maker;

and the doctrine is well established that any

change in the contract, however immaterial, and
even though it be for his advantage, discharges
the surety, if made without his consent.

See also Citizens & Marine Bank of N.N. v. McMurran,
138 Va. 657, 662, 123 S.E. 507 (1924). Yet, the lower
court seemed to take the position that the execution
of a negotiable instrument negated all defenses, in-
cluding those of a surety.

It was also suggested that § 8.3-606, Code of Vir-
ginia (1950), as amended (Uniform Commercial Code)
changed the holding in the Dey case, supra. See the
final paragraph to the Virginia Code Commission’s
Comment to § 8.3-606, Code of Virginia. This may be
true if the controversy is limited to negotiable instru-

23.

ments. No where is it suggested that this code section
changes the general law of contracts as far as surety-
ship is concerned. In this case the three notes were
governed by the agreement of May 12, 1966, Here,
§ 8.3-119 (1), Code of Virginia (1950), as amended
states:

As between obligor and his immediate obligee or
any transferee the terms of an instrument may be
modified or affected by any other written agree-
ment executed as a part of the same trans-
action...

Surely the court below should have considered the
notes as being interrelated and dependent upon the
May 12, 1966 agreement. Also, the court should have
interpreted the May 12, 1966 agreement in the light of
the surrounding facts and circumstances so as to de-
termine whether the terms of the notes by operation of
law were modified to the extent that Petitioner became
a surety rather than a maker.

Even if this was not the case, the acts of Respond-
ent Manufacturer would discharge Petitioner under
§ 8.3-606 of the Virginia Code, supra which in part
provides:

(1)(b) The holder discharges any party to the in-
strument to the extent that without such party’s
consent the holder . . . unjustifiably impairs any
collateral for the instrument given by or on be-
half of the party or any person against whom he
has a right of recourse.

At the very least the acts of Respondent Manufacturer
as holder impaired the collateral. Petitioner has no
chance of making a recovery against the now bankrupt
Retail Dealer.

_—7"—~"™

Respondent Manufacturer’s joint venture partner
blames the failure of Retail Dealer on Respondent
Manufacturer. See Record, page 465, paragraph VII, 6.
Hornbook law reminds us that statements of the partner
about the other within the scope of the partnership
constitute evidence against the partnership. The State
of Virginia follows this rule: ‘“‘An admission or repre-
resentation made by any partner concerning partner-
ship affairs within the scope of his authority as con-
ferred by this chapter is evidence against the partner-
ship.” § 50-11, Code of Virginia (1950), as amended.

Petitioner has set forth some of the wrongful acts
of which Respondent Manufacturer has been accused by
its joint venture partner, Finance Company. This very
partner has said that after the business failed the
Respondent Manufacturer failed to make an accounting
of the monies due the bankrupt retail dealer on account
of incentives and reserves. See Record, page 462,
paragraph IV, 3. The alleged wrongs of Respondent
Manufacturer are too numerous to relate; but only the
slightest perusal of the Record will establish that these
two joint venture partners claimed wrongful acts on one
anothers part in relation to the bankrupt retail dealer
and the May 12, 1966 agreement. This was clearly
evidence to support Petitioner’s contentions -- and it
impeaches the evidence of the Respondent Manufactur-
er in chief, as well as the testimony of its officer,
supra, Whether or not Petitioner was a surety, these
acts would operate to discharge him from liability on
the notes.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully submits that a writ of cer-
tiorari should issue to review the judgment and opinion

—_— 25.

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit.

CHARLES R. CLOUD

of counsel

210 Atlantic National Bank Bldg.
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
Norfolk Division
OLD KENT BANK AND TRUST CO
v.
DeWITT T. HOBBS, JR., et als

CIVIL ACTION
464-70-N

COURT MINUTES AND OPINION

This matter came on for a motion for summary judg-
ment presented by Mr. MacMillan in connection with a
$499 843. Open note signed by Mr. Hobbs and his corp-
oration, a copy of which is in the file and is dated
April 12, 1966.

It was represented to me that a hearing before Judge
Kellam in October that the trial on the $499,843. issue
was separated from the trial on a $300 000. obligation
(composed of two notes $200,000. plus $100,000.), in
order to give the defendant, Hobbs, an opportunity to
take discovery towards proving any defense that he
might have to a note which admittedly he executed.
As I understand those defenses, they are:

(1) That the agreement of May 12, 1966 makes this a
corporate responsibility and would relieve Hobbs per-
sonally. I have told Mr. Ball that I thought this was a
frivolous defense in view of the fact that Mr. Hobbs
has personally signed the note. In my finance ex-

la

perience, this is the reason individuals are required to
sign corporate notes so that there will be no question
that the responsibility is for the individual and not one
to be absorbed by the corporation.

(2) Mr. Ball suggests that the agreement of May 12
was in some manner breached by the parties who were
the lenders under that agreement and as such, Mr.
Hobbs has been discharged from his liability. I told
Mr. Ball that I heard all of the evidence that I thought
that was available on this subject dealing with the
termination of the agreements and the ouster of Hobbs
in July of 1966 and that unless there was additional
evidence from some source not yet produced, I was
convinced that there had been no violation of the
agreement and that this would not. be a valid de-
fense.

(3) Mr. Ball suggests that the creditors preferred
themselves in the disposition of assets that came in
their hands.

I have given Mr. Ball 30 days, until March 2, 1971,
to take such deposition and to present to me such
evidence as he feels would in any wise sustain any
one of these three defenses and I will review it at that
time.

I have been completely candid with him that unless
he produces something I have not yet heard,I intend
to enter summary judgment on the $499,843. note on
that date. If the evidence presented in form of dis-
covery is such as to warrant a further trial date, one
will be immediately set to the end that this case will
get off this docket this spring, one way or the other.

2a

EL NS GO REBT TENT CIO LOE NS EEE EN NE LAE EERILY BENT

COPIES OF THESE MINUTES WERE FORWARD-
ED TO COUNSEL PRESENT.

John A. MacKenzie

United States District Judge
Norfolk, Virginia

February 2, 1971

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk Division

OLD KENT BANK AND TRUST CO.

V.

DwWITT T. HOBBS, JR., et als

CIVIL ACTION
464-70-N

MEMORANDUM OPINION

On January 4 and 5, 1971, this court fully heard
testimony on the matter of defendants’ liability on two
notes, one dated May 12, 1966 in the amount of
$200,000.00, and the second dated May 30, 1966 in the

3a

amount of $100,000. The decision that there was lia-
bility and that the Old Kent Bank and Trust Company
reserve had been pledged as security for that liability,
was announced from the hench at the conclusion of the
evidence. The court might add that the evidence sup-
portive of that decision was not simply a preponder-
ance -- it was overwhelming -- and for the most part
not relevantly questioned.

The entry of a formal judgment order as to that
phase of the case was entered on February 2, 1971. No
cause to set the same aside under Rule 60 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure has been shown. It
will not be disturbed.

* * * *

There remained pending - by order - not an issue
to be heard on January 4, 1971, - the matter of Hobbs’
liability on a note signed by him personally (and also
by his many corporations), dated May 12, 1966, in the
amount of $499,841.43, being the balance due for
mobile units delivered but not then paid for. The cor-
rectness of the amount of the note was agreed to by
him in the text thereof.

On February 2, 1971, a motion for summary judg-
ment on that note came on to be heard. Mr. Ball, attorn-
ey for Hobbs, objected to the entry of the judgment,
suggesting that he wanted additional time to seek
discovery information.

This same ‘‘evidence to be discovered,” had earlier
been the reason, on December 2, 1970, for the separa-
tion of the $499,841.43 note from the issues to be
heard on January 4, 1971. Nothing was done to pursue
such discovery between December 2, 1970, to January
4, 1971, nor to February 2, 1971, nor to March 2, 1971.

——

On February 2, 1971, the court was of the mind to
then grant summary judgment on the $499,841.43 note,
but in an abundance of caution, gave the defendant
Hobbs until March 2, 1971, to take further discovery and
to present it.

On March 2, 1971, no further effort at discovery
has been made. Instead, defendant Hobbs has hired
new attorneys and files a ‘‘Motion of DeWitt T. Hobbs,
Jr. for Relief from Final Judgment Pursuant to Rule
60 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.”

A review of that motion adds nothing relevant to
the matters before this court and is DENIED.

The thirty days given Mr. Ball, Hobbs’ attorney,
to take and present any deposition was allowed only
with reference to the $499,841.43 note and had nothing
to do with the liability already announced on January
5, 1971 on the two notes of May 12, 1966 and May 30,
1966, totaling $300,000.00.

The case now rests solely on the matter of the
$499,841.43 note. That note is in evidence, signed by
Hobbs, acknowledging it to be a proper account for
mobile units for which payment was then due in May,
1966. Testimony from an accountant for Eastern
Trailer Sales, and others, already heard by the court,
fix that amount as correct. Hobbs, himself, gave a like
figure to the attorney for Midland-Guardian Co.

Twice, final disposition has been delayed pend-
ing Hobbs’ taking further evidence. None has been pro-
duced.

The language of the motion apparently addressed
to the judgment already rendered on the May 12 and
May 30, 1966 notes, but which can be construed as re-
lating also to the $499,841.43 note adds nothing. It

en

represents none of the free-wheeling general language
that roars in a teapot.

The motion for summary judgment will be granted
upon presentation by the attorney for Guerdon Indus-
tries, Inc. of a proper order referring to this brief
Memorandum Opinion.

United States District Judge
Norfolk, Virginia
March 5, 1971

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk, Division

OLD KENT BANK AND TRUST CO.

Vv.

DeWITT T. HOBBS, JR., et als

CIVIL ACTION
464-70-N

[First]
FINAL JUDGMENT

This day again came the parties on the Interpleader
Petition of Old Kent Bank & Trust Company of Grand

6a

DPUuRey NS ae a5 ee ee 2 As Te @ - :

aa

=~"

Rapids, Michigan, transferred to this District from the
United States District Court for the Western District
of Michigan, Southern Division, by Order of Transfer
dated June 12, 1970; on the Cross-Claim of Custom
Finance Company against DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr., and
his Answer thereto; on the Cross-Claim of DeWitt T.
Hobbs, Jr. against Guerdon Industries, Inc., Magnolia
Homes Manufacturing Corp. and Custom Finance Comp-
any, and their Answer thereto; on the Cross-Claim of
Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corp. against DeWitt
T. Hobbs, Jr. and his Answer thereto; on the pre-trial
admissions and stipulations; on the evidence and ex-
hibits presented at the ore tenus hearing on the merits
held on January 4th and Sth, 1971, all matters of fact
and law having been submitted to the Court for determ-
ination; on the memoranda of law and argument of
counsel; and on the Court’s Meincrandum Opinion of
Jenuary 5, 1971; and,

It appearing to the Court that William R. Moore,
Jr., Trustee in Bankruptcy for Eastern Trailer Sales,
Inc., Fred Martin, State Court Receiver for Eastern
Trailer Sales, Inc., and John M. Cloud, Attorney for
the Receiver, were all made parties to the Interpleader
Petition filed herein, and appeared and stated that
they had no interest in the matters in controversy in
this case, it is determined that the Estate of Eastern
Trailer Sales, Inc., bankrupt, has no interest in the
funds before the Court; and,

It further appearing that by agreement dated May
12, 1966, Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. and its subsidiar-
ies and DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr., individually, solemnly
covenanted and agreed to assign all bank reserve ac-
counts owned by Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. to Custom
Finance Company to secure certain promissory notes
aggregating $300,000.00 and dated May 12, 1966 and

ef 7 ae , 7a

to further secure a certain promissory note to Magnolia
Mobile Homes Sales Corp. and Armor Mobile Homes
Sales Corp. in the sum of $499,841.43 and dated May
12, 1966, the said reserve accounts to be applied first
to satisfy Custom Finance Company loans and then to
be applied to the loans of said Magnolia and Armor;
and,

It further appearing that by instrument dated May
16, 1966, Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. and its subsidiar-
ies did fully assign all of its interest in the various
reserve accounts in the Southern Bank of Norfolk,
Norfolk, Virginia, Bank of Chesapeake, Chesapeake,
Virginia, G.A.C. Finance Corporation, of Detroit,
Michigan, Old Kent Bank & Trust Company, Grand Rap-
ids, Michigan, Union Bank & Trust Company, Bethle-
hem, Pennsylvania, General Electric Credit Corp.,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, American Security &
Trust Company, Washington, D.C., Philadelphia Na-
tional Bank, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Commer-
cial Credit Corporation, Norfolk, Virginia, to Custom
Finance Company; and

It further appearing Eastern Trailer Sales, Inc. and
its subsidiaries, the owner of said reserves, agreed
on July 13, 1966, to further assign said reserves to
secure a series of promissory notes aggregating
$156,000.00 to Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corp.,
of Vicksburg, Mississippi; and,

It appearing to the Court, and the Court so finds
and determines, that DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr. has no inter-
est whatsoever in or to any of the aforesaid bank re-
serve accounts, either in his own name or in the name
of Eastern Trailer Sales, having assigned all of his
right, title and interest in or to the said bank reserve
accounts in the Southern Bank of Norfolk, Norfolk,

ie ee el ee

__ ——

Virginia, Bank of Chesapeake, Chesapeake, Virginia,
G.A.C. Finance Corporation, of Detroit, Michigan, Old
Kent Bank & Trust Company, Grand Rapids, Michigan,
Union Bank & Trust Company, Bethlehem, Pennsy]-
vania, General Electric Credit Corp., Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania, American Security & Trust Company,
Washington D.C., Philadelphia National Bank, Phil-
adelphia, Pennsylvania, and Commercial Credit Corp-
oration, Norfolk, Virginia, to Eastern Trailer Sales,
Inc. at the time of its incorporation of the sole propriet-
orship known as DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jt., individually
and trading as Eastern Trailer Sales, said sole pro-
prietorship having ceased doing business on January
1, 1963; and

It further appearing that Guerdon Industries, Inc.
and Magnolia Home&S Mfg. Corp. and Custom Finance
Company have applied by motion for a determination
under Rule 54(b), and it appearing that the Court by
its Memorandum Opinion of January 5, 1971 determined
all but one of the multiple claims involved in this pro-
ceeding, namely, Guerdon’s Cross-Bill against DeWitt
T. Hobbs, Jr. for judgment on a certain promissory
note in the sum of $499,841.43 which claim is continued
on the docket notwithstanding this final judgment
order, and that no just reason for delay in directing
final judgment as to the several claims already de-
cided has been shown, the Court doth ORDER pursuant
to Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
that this judgment order is a final judgment as to each
of the following determined matters:

NOW THEREFORE, the Court doth ORDER, AD-
JUDGE and DECREE that:

1. The sum of $27,686.96 held in the registry of
this Court and being the net proceeds of the bank re-

9a

eneememiaanoatiatias
serve accounts heretofore on deposit in the Old Kent r
Bank & Trust Company of Grand Rapids, Michigan, is
ORDERED and DECLARED to be the sole property of
Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Company of Vicksburg,
Mississippi, successor of Custom Finarice Company,
and the Clerk of this Court is hereby ORDERED and
DIRECTED to cause said fund to be paid over and
delivered to Magnolia Mobile Homes Manufacturing
Corporation, successor of Custom Finance Company;
and,

2. Magnolia Mobile Homes Manufacturing Corpora-
tion of Vicksburg, Mississippi, successor of Custom
Finance Company, is hereby AWARDED Final Judg-
ment on the promissory note payableto Custom Finance
Company dated May 12, 1966 in the original amount of
$200,000.00, against DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr., a joint
maker thereof, in the aggregate sum of $87,833.48, rep-
resenting a principal balance due of $47,716.82, plus
interest of $32,132.66 to December 31, 1970, plus
10% attorneys’ fees of $7,984.00, attorneys’ fees having
been reserved in said note, plus interest at 6% per
annum from January 1, 1971, until paid; provided;
however, there shall be credited against this judg-
ment award the sum of $28,457.98 from the fund of
$27,686.96 on deposit in this Court when said fund is
received by the said noteholder; and

3. Magnolia Mobile Homes Manufacturing Corpora-
tion, of Vicksburg, Mississippi, successor of Custom
Finance Company, is hereby AWARDED Final Judg-
ment on the promissory note payable to Custom Finance
Company dated May 30, 1966 in the original amount of
$100,000.00 against DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr., joint maker
on said note, in the aggregate sum of $43,912.20, re-
presenting the principal balance due on said note of
$23,912.20, plus accrued interest to December 31,

OS RT EF px

10a

| 1970 of $16,061.78, plus 10% attorneys’ fees of
$3,992.00, attorneys’ fees having been reserved in

) scid note, said judgment to bear interest at 6% per
annum from January 1, 1971 until paid; provided,
however, there shall be credited against said judg-
ment award the sum of $9,228.98 of the fund of
$27,686.96 on deposit in this Court when such fund
is received by said noteholder; and

4. The Cross-Claim of DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.,
against Guerdon Industries, Inc., Magnolia Homes
Manufacturing Corporation and Custom Finance Com-
pany is hereby ORDERED FOREVER DISMISSED with
prejudice; and,

5. Magnolia Mobile Homes Manufacturing Corpora-
tion is also awarded a Final Judgment against DeWitt
T. Hobbs for the costs of this proceeding, including,
but not limited to, the attorneys’ fees of Old Kent Bank
& Trust Company in filing of the Interpleader Petition
in the sum of $1,140.00 and its costs of $104.20, both
of which sums in the course of this proceeding were
deducted from the bank reserve account deposited in
this Court by Old Kent Bank & Trust Company; which
judgment shall bear interest at 6% per annum from the
date of this judgment.

District Judge
In Norfolk, Virginia
February 2, 1971

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE |
EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Norfolk, Division

OLD KENT BANK AND TRUST CO.
Vv.
DeWITT T. HOBBS, JR., et als

CIVIL ACTION
464-70-N

[Second]

FINAL JUDGMENT

This day came the parties on the Cross-Bill of
Guerdon Industries, Inc. and Magnolia Homes Manu-
facturing Corporation praying judgment against DeWitt
T. Hobbs, Jr. on a certain negotiable promissory note
dated May 12, 1966 in the sum of $499,841.43; on the
Answer to DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.; on the evidence
heard ore tenus in open court on January 4 and 5,
1971, and the exhibits filed therein; on the Motion for
Summary Judgment with exhibits attached filed by the
Cross-Plaintiffs; on the argument of counsel heard
on February 2 and March 2, 1971; on the Motion and
Affidavit of DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr. for Relief pursuant to
Rule 60 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; and on
the Memorandum Opinion of the Court dated March 5,
1971; and,

It appearing to the Court from the foregoing that
there is no genuine, material issue of law or fact to be
determined by the Court and that DeWitt, T. Hobbs, Jr.
is justly ind>bted to Magnolia Homes Manufacturing

__ ——

Corporation of Vicksburg, Mississippi, parent and
successor of Magnolia Mobile Homes Manufacturing
Corporation of Virginia and Armor Mobile Homes Sales
Corporation of Virginia, on a certain note dated May
12, 1966 in the principal sum of $499,841.43, plus
interest, costs and attorneys fees as provided in said
note;

Now, therefore, the Court doth ORDER, AD-
JUDGE and DECREE that Magnolia Homes Manu-
facturing Corporation of Vicksburg, Mississippi, be,
and it hereby is, awarded judgment against DeWitt
T. Hobbs, Jr. in the principal sum of $499,841.43, plus
interest of. six per cent (6%) per annum from May 12,
1966 to the date hereof in the sum of $145,203.95, plus
ten per cent (10%) attorneys fees and the costs of this
proceeding, which judgment shall bear interest at the
rate of six per cent (6%) per annum from the date hereof.

. l3a

=

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For The Fourth Circuit
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 71-1578

Old Kent Bank & Trust Company,
Original Interpleader Plaintiff,

versus

DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.,

Appellant,
and
Custom Finance Company, etc.,
Guerdon Industries, Inc., etc., and
Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corporation,
Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Virginia, at Norfolk.

MacKenzie, District Judge.

(Argued December 7, 197! Decided January 27, 1972.)

Before Boreman, Senior Circuit Judge,
and Winter and Craven, Circuit Judges.

14a

as JOLLET EEE BSS ae

-—

Charles R. Cloud (Peter K. Babalas, on brief) for
Appellant, and E. Leslie Cox and Robert R. MacMillan
(Breeden, Howard and MacMillan, on brief) for Appellees.

PER CURIAM:

In an interpleader action, the defendants filed cross-
claims against one another. DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.
sought a declaration that he was discharged from lia-
bility on two notes, in the aggregate amount of
$300,000.00, payable to Custom Finance Company be-
cause of payment in full, or, in the alternative, bacause
of Custom’s breach of agreement between him, Custom,
Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corporation, and
Guerdon Industries, Inc.; and he sought damages
from Custom, Magnolia and Guerdon. The agreement
had been entered into after Hobbs’ enterprise, Eastern
Trailer Sales, Incorporated, and its subsidiaries, were
recognized to be in severe financial difficulty and it
was made in an effort to save them. New loans of
$300,000.00 were made to Eastern and Hobbs, evidenc-
ed by the two notes and a third note evidencing exist-
ing indebtedness of $499,841.43 was also given. The
new loans and the existing indebtedness were secured
and the lenders made certain agreements as to how
they would deal with the collateral. Custom cross-
claimed against Hobbs for the unpaid balanc2:of those
notes and the third note. The district court entered
judgment against Hobbs for the unpaid balance of the
notes and dismissed Hobbs’ cross-claim for damages
for lack of proof. Hobbs has appealed.

The only two questions raised on appeal are
whether Hobbs was discharged from liability on the
notes because of Custom’s breach of the agreement
and whether Hobbs proved his entitlement to damages

Site a | =

for breach of the agreement.* As to the former, it is
Hobbs’ argument that he was a surety on the notes
and not a maker and as a surety, discharged by treat-
ment of the collateral not in accordance with the agree-
ment and without his consent; but we agree with the
district court that Hobbs was a maker. We need not
consider what defenses, if any, he might be able to
assert if he were a surety. We also agree with the
district court that Hobbs failed _ prove that the agree-
ment was breached and, hence, that he was entitléd to
damages. The proof to show unpaid balances on the
three notes in the amounts for which judgment was
entered was sufficient.

AFFIRMED.

*Motions to dismiss the appeal for failure to
comply with various Rules of Appellate Proce-
dure were filed. Although it is clear that the
rules were not complied with, we need not con-
sider these defaults in the view we take of the
appeal on its merits.

: ——' PERRI RE FES SS GRITS EO ey ise

—

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 71-1578

Old Kent Bank & Trust Company,
Original Interpleader Plaintiff,

versus

DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.,

Appellant,
and
Custom Finance Company, etc.,
Guerdon Industries, Inc., etc., and
Magnolia Homes Manufacturing Corporation,
Appellees,

ORDER

The petition for rehearing of DeWitt T. Hobbs, Jr.
having been read and considered, it is with the concur-
rence of Judge Boreman and Judge Craven, ORDERED,
that said petition be, and it is hereby, denied.

For the Court:

s/Harrison L. Winter
United States Circuit Judge
March 3, 1972

Samuel W. Phillips Clerk

OPER P a S PRea ISRN S S oe ee oe aed PRL PELE IER Re he mons ren ey,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0940%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
