# Opposition Brief — Bethlehem Mines Corp. v. United Mine Workers of America

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0905%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 844

## Text

HN FASAS
ered:

hE LEP em a fet et A Sh oa. t 4
SCA tt ;

~ / wary ee Lae 2 dt J

‘ pacthurha ester ticier crore Hs ah Beye
Sb, Heh So eRe toy ting gid Fe v Be 2 Ae Ha a epic
4 hed Wide wk it . fas 4 x Beek Set Oe

vie

INDEX

Page

BCounterstatement of the Facts ....... 1

I. An Award of Attorney's Fees
is Consistent with this Court's...
Decision in The Boys Markets,
Inc. v. Retail Clerks Union
Local 770,398 U.S. 235 (1970),
the Congressional Policy Under-
lying the Federal Labor Sta-
tutes and the "Accommodation
DOCGREME” concccctdscsevveccsose §

II. Fees Were Properly Awarded
Following the Summary Re-
versal of the Injunction
Orders by the Court of
BEES fecavcastecscvssacvcecs 13

III.» Respondents were Entitled to
Recover Fees Against Peti-
tioners Under Section 7 of
the Norris-LaGuardia Act Re-
gardless of the Limitations
in and Amount of the Bond
DE Set ewsreatedbacwecacase Be

I cid a ace Buea eae emake ae

oat «

* TABLE OF CASES AND AUTHORITIES

CASES:
Atomic Oil Co. v. Bardahl Oil Co.,
i i 7° 1100 (CLA. 10,

gait Eaten abigty pea ara

— Sa Inc. 4 Retail Clerks,
- . * 70 re fe fe fee ee ee eh ee

Brotherhood of RR. Trainmen v.
Chicsgo River & I.R. Co., 353
Cinderella Theatre Co. v. Si
riters al Union, 6 F fee.

-D. ch., PererrerTT

~= 4 J. & E. Ry. v. Brotherhood
° RB. Trainmen, 502 F.2d 540
oe , eee ee eee eee eee eee

Gartner v. Soloner, 384 F.2d 348

. 3, ee |

Heiser v. Woodruff, 128 F.2d 178
A. 10,

Houston & No. Tex Motor Fr. Lines

ov F. Supp ex., j

eee ee ee eee ere ere ee

International Ladies Garment Workers

ee ca pepbeliy Garment Co.,
i 24a 2 C.A. 5) cert.

denied, 352 U.S. 852 (19555) .....

Kahan v. Rosenstiel, 424 F.2d 161
TC.A. 3 1970), cert, denied
Te Gi, GOP acioctrecenncerstéccs

il

a.

- 333 =

Lawrence Vv. St. Louis-S.F. Ry. ’

2758 U.S. 225 (1929) eee eee eee eens

‘I wadison Shipping Corp. v. National
Maritime Scr Soh F. Supp. 22
TE.D. Pa., 1962) “eee ee ee eee “**ee

Janssen v. Shown, 53 F.2d 608

. o DO» “ee ee eee “eee ee ee eee

Meeker v. Stuart, 289 F.2d 902
. oD.Cee 1961) eee ee eee re ee .

Milk Wagon Drivers’ Union v. Lake
Valley Co., 311 U.S. 91 (1940) ...

Mills v. Electric Auto-Lite Co.,
U.S. a ne fe fe fe eee e erm emhUcrmCUc eo hme

Mitchell v. Riegel Textile, Inc.,
259 F.2d 954 (C.A.b-C., 1958) ....

Newman v. Ca Park Enterprises,
590 U.S. re

Public Service Commn. v. Brashear
reign Lines, 312 u.s. 631

,} Russell v. Farley, 105 U.S. 433

J ) ere fe fe feereeeeeee © eft ff fe ef © ref fe © ©
'] Rutland Ry. Corp. v. Brotherhood
of Locomotive Eng., 307 F.2d 21
. * -—*9 7 .
Sinclair eet ie Co. v. Atkinson,

- iv -

aa v. Ticonic Nat'l Bank,
Be 161 1939) “eee eee eee enee

United Motors Service v. Tropic-
Aire, 57 F.2d 479 (cA. Se 1932).

United States v. — 312
te ie Se BE GEEED coecocccece

~ Ry. Co. v. System
deration, 300 U.S. 515 (1937)..

STATUTES:

Clayton Act, 28 U.S.C. 382 (1940)..

Coal Mine Health and Safety Act
of 1969, 30 U.S.C. 801, et seq. .

Labor-Management Relations Act,
Section 301 (29 U.S.C. 185) .....

Norris-LaGuardia Act:
Section 1, 29 U.S.C. 101

Section 4, 29 U.S.C. 104
Section 7, 29 U.S.C. 107

Section 8, 29 U.S.C. 108 ........
Section 9, 29 U.S.C. 109 ........
Section 10, 29 U.S.C. 110
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.

Se ee ee

-~ YF «=
Page
MISCELLANEOUS:
F. Frankfurter & N. Greene,
The Labor Injunction (19350) ...... 6,16,26,
30-31
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 65 . 7,18,19,
24,25,
26,27

H.R. Rept. No. 669, Rept. of House
Comm. on Judiciary on H.R. 53515
(March 2, 1932) ......ceeeeeeeneee 30

H.R. Rept. No. 793, House Conf. Rept.
to Accompany H.R. 5315 (March 14,
S9FTE) ccccccccecee besawnnte eter o* 30

7 Moore's Federal Practice (2d ed.). 23,25-26,
28

Note, Accommodation of the Norris—
LaGuardia Act to Other Federal

TT

Statutes, 72 Harv. L. Rev. 35%

“ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeneeneeeeeeeee 9

Note, The New Federal Law of Labor
Injunctions, 79 Yale L.J. 1593,
i i Vcc eeceheneenecces 48,36
Remarks of Senator Norris, 75 Cong.
Rec. 4508 (Feb. 23, 1952) ........ 16,31

Remarks of Senator Taft, 195 Cong.
Rec. 6603 (SO™ Cong., ist Sess.,
June ya 1947 ) “eeeeeeveeeeeeeenvreeee g

S. Rept. No. 163 of Comm. on
Judiciary on S. 935 (72d Cong.,
ist Sess., Feb. 4, 1932) .......-. 30

c+
a 7 Eat BPO = oS

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1971

No. 71-1490

BETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION
and
REPUBLIC STEEL CORPORATION,

Petitioners,
Ve
UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, et al.,

Respondents,

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Petitioners' Statement omits full

description of the first round of proceed-
ings which gave rise to respondents! mo-
tion for attorneys fees. On Sunday night,
June 21, 1970, the coal miners employed

by petitioners refused to enter their

mines because of petitioners' failure to

|
i)
!

provide safe working conditions undergrou
and the failure of the United States Bure
of Mines to require petitioners to confor
to the health and safety standards estab-
lished in the 1969 Federal Coal Mine Heal
and Safety Act, 350 U.S.C. 801, et seq.
Within hours, the nation's major ste
producers, owners of "captive" coal mines
filed suits under Section 501 of the Labo
Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 185,
the United States District Court for the
Western District of Pennsylvania to enjoi
the walkouts. Hearings on the cases con-

menced on June 23, 1970, at which time un

eee Te ee

signed counsel urged alternatively that t
; Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C. 101, et s
:

deprived the court of jurisdiction and tl
3

defendants were prepared to prove, pursu-
ant to 29 U.S.C. 143, the existence of
"abnormally dangerous" working conditions
in the coal mines in question,

; Refusing to hear the miners' eviden
: the district court at the beginning of tl
second day of hearings announced that it
would enjoin the walkout. When regular
United Mine Workers counsel retired to
chambers with company counsel to work ou

the terms of the orders, undersigned

LE ee IP OE EOE ELLIS ET 8 RETO,

prs

Ly

_

~ 3 =

counsel was retained as counsel by various
UMWA local unions. Not surprisingly, when
court reconvened, the orders which union
and company had agreed to did not enjoin
the districts or international, but did en-
join the locals, their officers and members
and required the miners to return to work
regardless of dangerous conditions then
prevailing. On behalf of the locals and
certain individuals, undersigned counsel
noticed appeals within hours and promptly
moved in the Court of Appeals for summary
reversal.

Two days later, the Court of Appeals
heard emergency argument, and on June 30,
less than a week after the injunctions
were entered, the Court of Appeals unani-
mously granted summary reversal and re-
manded the cases to the district court.

(A copy of that decision is appended
hereto as Respondents' Appendix. The
Court of Appeals decision is highly rele-
vant for it reveals the context within
which the request for fees was made, that
the motion was occasioned by an egregious
abuse of federal equity powers in a labor

dispute -- the very sort of abuse that

a

the Norris-LaGuardia Act was designed to pr
vent and redress.)

Shortly after remand, undersigned coun
sel filed their motion for fees pursuant tc
Section 7 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29
U.S.C. 107. The same district judge whose
decision had been summarily reversed there-
after ruled that his original injunction
orders had not been erroneously or improvi-
dently entered and that the motions : for
fees were premature.

On February 3 and 28, 1972, the Unite
States Court of Appeals unanimously reverse
.the district court holding, that all counsel
were entitled to fees. 2/ 3/
sions are reported at 456 F.2d 483 and 456
F.2d 1233.

Those deci-

1/ A month after counsel herein filed a
motion for fees, regular UMWA counsel, the
same counsel who had worked out the terms
of the orders and failed to promptly seek
summary reversal, filed identical motions
for fees.

i 2/ Judge Kalodner dissented in part ar-
; guing that, defendants could recover fees
3 in excess of the injunction bonds only by
2 commencing an ancillary action.

+ Petitioners herein, along with the
other steel producers involved in the
original appeals, United States Steel
[Footnote continued on following page.7

|
WW
!

I. AN AWARD OF ATTORNEY'S FEES IS
CONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT'S
DECISION IN THE BOYS MARKETS,
INC, V. RETAIL CLERKS UNION,
LOCAL 770, 398 U.S. 235 (1970),
THE CONGRESSIONAL POLICY UNDER-
LYING THE FEDERAL LABOR STATUTES
AND THE "ACCOMMODATION DOCTRINE"

-

Boys Markets holds that in certain

carefully limited circumstances the prin-
cipal anti-injunction section of the
Norris-LaGuardia Act -- Section 4 (29
U.S.C. 104) -- should be relaxed so that

a union's contractual no-strike obligation
may be specifically enforced. Despite the
explicit limiting language of this Court
that its holding was "a narrow one" which
did not "underscore the vitality of the
Norris-LaGuardia Act", petitioners never-
theless initially contend that as a direct

result of Boys Markets, every other pro-

vision of the Act, particularly those in-

volving procedural safeguards, should

3/ {Footnote continued from preceding page.7
Corporation and Jones & Laughlin Steel Corpo-
ration, have filed a Petition for Writ of
Certiorari involving the February 3, 1972
opinion entered by the Third Circuit (No.
71-1409).

et ye

likewise be considered of no effect when-
ever an employer launches a lawsuit under

S 301 of LMRA, 29 U.S.C. 185. Not sur-
prisingly, there is nothing in the way of
authority or policy to support such a wooder
and heavy-handed proposition,

Apart from Section 4's ban on injunc-
tions, the bulk of the Norris-—LaGuardia: Act
is designed to correct the many procedural
abuses that infected administration of the
labor injunction in the federal courts dur-
ing the first third of me ane This

tently recognized that procedural abuse was

Court : and commentators have consis-
the chief evil to be remedied, and that in
the eyes of the Act's draftsmen, "Emphasis
upon procedural safeguards in the use of
the injunction must therefore rank first."
F, Frankfurter and N. Greene, The Labor
Injunction 202.(1930). Accordingly, 8 7
of the Act creates a protective procedural

scheme -- including curbs on ex parte in-
junctions, specific findings required from

the court, and provision for full and

A/ See, e.g., Milk Wagon Drivers' Union
v. Lake Valley Co., 311 U.S. 91, 102 (1940)
and Boys Markets, 398 U.S. at 250.

5/ See, e.g., Note, The New Federal Law
of Labor Injunctions, 79 Yale L.J. 1593,
1594 (1970).

St bit aed iat Vv" wot ee a ee ee oe

—

complete hearing after notice -- to control
any application for injunctive relief in a
labor dispute, Section 7 also provides
that the damage caused by wrongful issuance
of an injunctive order, including attorney's
fees and other costs of a successful defense,
shall be borne by the moving party.

The present case is an apt illustra-
tion of the continuing need for scrupulous
adherence to the procedural safeguards of
§ 7. Here the district court in a trun-
cated hearing accomplished nearly every
procedural error available, and ordered
coal miners to return to work in unsafe
mines, only to be reversed -- and chasti sed
severely ---by a unanimous Court of Appeals
in less than’ a week.

The procedural safeguards of 8 7 and

other provisions of the Act U are in no

6/ The protedures of Federal Rule 65 are
less strict in many particulars. See 25-27,
infra, e

7/ ~£E.g., § 8, 29 U.S.C. 108 (clean hands
requirement); 3 9, 29 U.S.C. 109 (limiting
the scope of labor injunctions); § 10, 29
U.S.C. 110 (expedited appeal).

‘“ — eee
Si rit 8 ee Sak >»

ey oes

way undercut by'the holding or rationale of

Boys Markets. There the Court decided a

narrow question: whether Norris-LaGuardia's
flat ban on labor injunctions should yield
to the pro-arbitration policy of the subse-
quently enacted LMRA, when suit is brought
to enforce a union's no-strike promise, and
when the strike is over an arbitrable griev-

ance. Boys Markets answers in the affirma-

tive, but the opinion takes great pains to
limit any conflict with the neticiwe of
Norris-LaGuardia. 8/ Only "the anti-
injunction section" of Norris-LaGuardia --
or "§ 4" -- is affected by the decision,
596 U.S. at 250, 251.

"Our holding in the present
case is a narrow one. We do
not undermine the vitality of
the Norris-LaGuardia Act * *
Nor does it follow from what
we have said that injunctive
relief is appropriate as a mat-
ter of course in every case of
a strike over an arbitrable
grievance." Id., at 253-254.

8/ Five times the Court repeats that

the judicial duty is to "accommodate",
"reconcile", and "harmonize" Norris-
LaGuardia and § 301 of LMRA. 398 U.S.
at 241, 299,. 250, 252.

BLATANT NA La ETTORE ti LL AMELIA LMT LOY LIL LT MPI IT
‘

Boys Markets does not gratuitously "repeal"

the other sections of Norris-LaGuardia, any
we than Congress did when providing for
enforcement of collective bargaining agree-
ments in the federal courts. 2 But that
is precisely what petitioners urge.

Boys Markets takes its place in a long

line of cases 10/ that strive to achieve

accommodation between particular provisions

of Norris-LaGuardia and "ostensibly incon-
sistent provisions" of later labor legis-

lation. 398 U.S. at 250. Obviously there
is no occasion for invoking the Accommoda-
tion Doctrine -- nothing to "harmonize" or

"reconcile", id. at 241, 251, and no reason

9/ See Sinclair Refining Co. v. Atkinson,
370 U.S. 195, 223 (1962)(dissenting opin-
ion adopted by the Court in Boys Markets):
"Congress, clearly, had no intention of
abandoning wholesale the Norris-LaGuardia
policies in contract suits ..." See

also Remaxgks of Senator Taft, 93 Cong.

Rec. 6603 (80 Cong., ist Sess., June 5,
1947).

10/ See generally Note, Accommodation of
the Norris-LaGuardia Act to other Federal
Statutes, 72 Harv. L. Rev. 354 (1958).

- ae

-— ie

for Norris-LaGuardia to give way -- absent
an insistent clash of provisions or poli-
cies. In the case of 8 301 of LMRA, nei-
ther letter nor spirit collides with the
attorney's fee provision or the other pro-
cedural safeguards of Norris-LaGuardia's

8 7. The Boys Markets opinion itself as-

sumes that the procedural provisions retain
"vitalityn No court has held otherwise,
and recent commentary has properly judged
that after Boys Market there is greater

1i’ The Court's opinion expressly invokes
Norris-—LaGuardia's "clean hands" require-
ment, § 8, 29 U.S.C. 108, to show that the
Act itself favors arbitration. In stating
the findings that must be made before an
injunction may issue in an employer's con-
tract suit, the Court follows § 7 of Norris-
LaGuardia. See 398 U.S. at 254. The Court
of Appeals noted that the finding required
by 8 7(e) (public officers unable to pro-
tect employer properly) would not be ap-
propriate in the usual contract enforce-
ment case, and to that limited extent § 7
must be "accommodated to the policy under-
lying § 301" and relaxed accordingly. See
Petitioners' Appendix E, at 48-49.

RTGS RATIOS SIS RT ee ea

|

need for the procedural protections of

In a strictly analogous situation,
the lower courts have continued to enforce
Norris-LaGuardia's procedural safeguards --
including the attorney's fee provision 13/
-- in employer suits brought under the Rail-
way Labor Act even though this Court has
held that accommodation of the two enact-
ments necessitates relaxation of Norris-
LaGuardia's anti-injunction section. 15/

An arid notion of "uniformity" is all

that petitioners offer to justify judicial

12/ See Note, The New Federal Law of Labor
Injunctions, 79 Yale L.J. 1593, 1602 (1970)
("The Court should . . . resolve procedural

questions in favor of the union... .").

13 See, Elgin, J. & E. Ry. v. Brotherhood
of RR. Trainmen, 3502 F.2d ci:0 [C.ms Fe

1962) (§ 7 attorney's fee provision ap-
plied in Railway Labor~Act suit). See

also Rutland Ry. Corp. v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Eng., 507 F.2d 21 (C.A. 2,

1962) (8 8 "clean hands" provision applied).

14 Brotherhood of RR. Trainmen v. Chicago
iver & I.R. Co., 353 U.S. 30 (1957). In
subsequent cases, however, the courts have
followed the Norris-LaGuardia procedural
safeguards ... ." Note, The New Federal
Law of Labor Injunctions, 79 Yale L.J.

1593, 1606, n. 61 (1970).

a

- 12 -

repeal of the attorney's fee provision, 42/
It is true that some states have attorney's
fee provisions in their "little Norris-
LaGuardia" enactments, and that others do
not. But no principle of federal law re-
quires federal equity practice to conform
to those state procedures that are least
protective of employees' rights. Congress
has an obviously legitimate interest in
legislating to guard against and to redress
abuse of federal injunctive powers. Cer-
tainly in the case of attorney's fees, the
difference between federal and state prac-
tice could not possibly result in the phe-
nomenon that troubled the Boys Markets

Court, “a wholesale dislocation in the al-
location of judicial business between the
state and federal courts." 398 U.S. at 247,
The situation at hand is squarely covered
by the sensible language of Boys Markets:

15/ The notion that employer suits are
unduly "chilled" by the provision is dis-
cussed by the Court of Appeals, Petitioners’
Appendix E, at 49-50, and properly dis-
carded.

BOLT LEN RINE NENTS A ET SRNR EIEN HEGEL PDT TAME TOE, SOAS ARO E EL CRP NA BRETT LF y ae

—

» 3 =

"/-u_/niformity - . . could hardly
require, as a practical matter,
that labor law be administered
identically in all courts, for un-
doubtedly a certain diversity
exists among state and federal
systems in matters of procedur: t
and remedial detail ... ." id.,
at 246,

II. FEES WERE PROPERLY AWARDED
FOLLOWING THE SUMMARY RE-
VERSAL OF THE INJUNCTION
ORDERS BY THE COURT OF

APPEALS

Petitioners ask the Court to decide
whether, in the circumstances of this case,
there was a "final decision" in the injunc-
tive proceedings below, rendering the mo-
tion for attorney's fees timely. Two
separate panels of the Court of Appeals
unanimously agreed that the injunctive
phase of this lawsuit 16 has long since
been terminated "for all practical pur-
poses." See Petitioners' Appendix E, at
43 and 45. The issue turns wholly on the

16/ The pendency of respondents' counter-
claims below in no way affetts the final-
ity of the injunctive side of the proceed-
ing. That is the holding of Madison Ship-
ping Corp. v. National Maritime Union,

204 F. Supp. 22, 23 (E.D. Pa., 1962), a
case mistakenly cited by petitioners.

=
ae : —

—

17

—

particular facts of the instant case,
and falls far short of the level of signifi-
cance that would warrant review by this
Court.

There is no conflict between the cases

cited by petitioners and the Court of Ap-
peals' holding below. The principle of
petitioners' cases is that a defendant's
motion to recover damages caused by wrong-
ful preliminary restraint might be deferred
when a lawsuit is moving on for trial of

the plaintiff's request for a permanent

17/ After the erroneous preliminary injunc-
tions were vacated by the Court of Appeals o
June 30, 1970, the employers renewed their
request for preliminary relief and the mat-
ter came on for de novo hearing on July 9.
By that time, however, there was no case to
be heard -- the stoppages complained of had
ceased, and none were anticipated. The
parties so stipulated and the cause was
continued indefinitely. In the ensuing
period of almost two years petitioners
have never sought to bring the action back
to life. Should they ever do so, they

j would have to contend with § 7 of Norris-
LaGuardia, 29 U.S.C. 109, which says that
every labor injunction "shall include only
a prohibition of such specific act or

acts as may be expressly complained of in
the bill of complaint... ." See
Virginian Ry. Co. v. System Federation,
300 U.S. 515 (1937).

LEAP RENIN, IRS INME RES AT = 2, BYP OR RE or

=7"

injunction, 49/ But the injunctive proceed-
ings in the present case came to final rest
almost two years ago, and there never will
be a trial on permanent injunctive relier,22/
In Norris-LaGuardia cases, moreover,
there are special reasons not to postpone
a defendant's motion for fees pending de-
cision of the employer's request for perma-
nent injunctive relief, in the event such
relief is in fact pursued. 20/ The very
reason for special safeguards to control
the labor injunction lies in the fact that

wrongful preliminary restraint usually

i8/ Lawrence v. St. Louis-S.F. Ry., 278
U.S. 228, 233 (1929), speaks only of "dis-
cretion" to defer tie motion. In Janssen
v. Shown, 53 F.2d 608 (C.A. 9, 1931), the
preliminary restraint was never adjudged
erroneous, but was simply withdrawn after
a time by consent of the parties. And in
Meeker v, Stuart, 289 F.2d 902 (C.A.D.C.,
1961), also not involving a labor dispute,
the Court of Appeals' five-sentence af-
firmance contains not a word on the issue
under discussion.

19/ Respondents needn't argue that the
case is "moot" -- indeed, respondents' own
counterclaims are pending below -- but only
that the injunctive side of the case has
yveen "finally determined.” Petitioners'
mootness cases are beside the point.

20/ Petitioners cite but one case involv-
ing a labor dispute -- and that one mis-
cited. See note 16, supra.

a.

spells doom for the union's cause, even if

- 16 -

later corrected, and thus the preliminary
proceedings "make the issue of final relief
a practical nullity." F. Frankfurter and
N. Greene, The Labor Injunction 200 (1930), =

As the Act's sponsor said during floor debate

in the Senate,

" . . . defendants in these cases
are financially unable to defend
themselves in court. Most of

the injunction proceedings never
go beyond a restraining order or
at best beyond a temporary in-
junction." Remarks of Senator
Norris, 75 Cong. Rec. 4508

(Feb. 23, 1932).

In short, the clear intent of Congress is

; that 8 7 damages for wrongful preliminary

restraint be recoverable at the earliest
point compatible with orderly judicial de-
cisionmaking. And see Mills v. Electric
Auto-Lite Co., 396 U.S. 375 (1970) (ap-

proving “interim award" of attorney's fees

j before final judgment); Kahan v. Rosenstiel,
: 424 F.2d 161 (C.A. 3, 1970), cert. denied,
sub nom., Glen Alden Corp. v. Kahan, 398
U.S. 950.

eT eae

21/ See*also Note, The New Federal Law of
Labor Injunctions, 79 Yale L.J. 1593, 1594
(1970) ("in practice the temporary restrain-
ing order usually defeated the union's
cause"),

a a a i A RT a ae

Ris 17 ~

SJ

III. RESPONDENTS WERE ENTITLED TO RE-
COVER FEES AGAINST PETITIONERS
UNDER SECTION 7 OF THE NORRIS-
LAGUARDIA ACT REGARDLESS OF THE
LIMITATIONS IN AND AMOUNT OF THE

BOND POSTED

Petitioners' final arguments amount to
a paradoxical contention: even though § 7
of Norris-LaGuardia grants attorney's fees
to a successful defendant and even if § 7
is fully applicable here, nonetheless there
can be no recovery of attorney's fees in
this case. The petition offers two reasons
for this result -- that the injunction
bonds prepared and filed by petitioners (a)
did not happen to mention attorney's fees
and (b) together the bonds posted total an
amount less than the reasonable fees stipu-
lated and awarded below.22/

The purported conflict between Courts
of Appeals on the two points just noted is,
in fact, spurious. Only one of the circuit
court decisions invoked by petitioners --
International Ladies Garment Workers U. v.
Donnelly Garment Co., 147 F.2d 246 (C.A. 8),

22/ Fees and expenses of about $11,350 were
stipulated as reasonable by the parties.
Petitioners' four injunction bonds total
$4,000.

- 18 =

cert. denied, 325 U.S. 852 (1945) -- in-
volved a labor dispute. The others, not
within the ambit of Norris-LaGuardia, 22/
do not clash with the holding of the Court

of Appeals below, and despite some sweep-
ing language, Donnelly may readily be
distinguished. The Donnelly court held
that the injunction bonds in that case had
been posted with specific reference to the
Clayton Act, and could not be construed to
cover attorney's fees since that Act
excludes fees as an element of injunction
damages. Id, at 253. Significantly, the
very bond provision which led the Donnelly
court to its conclusion, the bond provi-
sion in the Clayton Act, 28 U.S.C. 382
(1940), was repealed in 1948 because sub-
section (c) of Rule 65 of the Federal
Rules contained nearly identical language.
Furthermore, the subsequent broad amend-
ments to subsection (e: of Rule 65 in 1948
insured that injunctions issued in labor
disputes pursuant to Rule 65 were required
to conform with the requirements of the

237 United Motors Service v. Tropic-Aire,
57 F.2d 479 (C.A. 8, 1932), focus Of major
reliance by petitioners, is a patent in-
fringement case decided some three weeks
before Norris-LaGuardia was enacted.

LENE OP RF EE RE I ae EN AE NN EH ARM BINT «

|

b

Norris-LaGuardia Act, Thus, Donnelly is
distinguishable because it pre-dated the
repeal of the Clayton Act bond provision
and the adoption of the broad amendments
to subsection (e) ef Rule 65, both of
which greatly clarified the confusing
and conflicting state of the law which
existed when Donnelly was decided,

The Donnelly court also denied re-
covery in excess of the bonds because
the claimants were estopped by their
failure ever to protest the amount of
the many bonds posted, though the liti-
gation there lasted eight years, yielded
a bill of some $103,000 in defense fees
and costs, included a trip to the Supreme
Court because of defendants' own pointless
attempt to empanel a three-judge court,

and produced four separate restraining

orders with separate bonds before defen-

dants pressed their claim for fees. Id,
at 248-50, 253. Here, by contrast, the
bonds were not posted pursuant t° a

statute that excluded fees from

a

"oe

24 ' ,
recovery, 24/ and there is no basis for

finding respondents estopped to challenge

the amount of the bonds. 25/

24 The bonds are conditioned to pay
costs and damages," and as the court
below noted, "There is nothing in the
record specifying on what authority the
bonds were required...." Petitioners'
Appendix E at 51-52. Respondents were
not given an opportunity to examine the
bonds prior to their filing. Id. at 42.

25/ After the preliminary injunctions
were issued on June 24, 1970, respondents
immediately sought review in the Court of

q Appeals: emergency argument was held on

' June 26, and the orders vacated on June 30,

: Thereafter, respondents promptly filed

q their motions for fees. Delaying the

é appeal, in order to protest the amount of
: the injunction bonds in the trial court,
would have been unconscionable in light
of the unsafe conditions in the mines
where the men had been ordered to resume
work. In any event respondents took
every reasonable step to mitigate their
damages and cannot be said to have slept
on their rights.

ee Ml talons Se ee ee

—_

~~

More broadly, it is significant that
Donnelly's many dicta have not been fol-
lowed by any other Court of Appeals in any
Norris-LaGuardia case, nor reaffirmed by
the Eighth Circuit, in the 27 years since
the case was decided. The decision has,
for every practical purpose, been strictly
limited to the peculiar factual situation
involved, The opinion's restrictive pro-
nouncements concerning award of attorney's
fees may be traced, as the principal
opinion of the court below makes clear, to
outmoded notions of the limited powers of

a federal equity court, and are all the
more discredited in light of this Court's
recent reaffirmation of the federal equity's
nonstatutory powers to award fees. See
Mills v. Electric Auto-Lite Co., 396 U.S.
375, 393 (1970).

(a) Petitioners advance the conten-

tion that an injunction bond conditioned
to pay "costs and damages" cannot be read
to cover attorney's fees. This proposi-
tion runs counter to common sense when,
as here, such fees are made a recoverable
element of damages by statute, And

indeed, as the court below took pains to

i

De bang 6 EL tt tetanic Oil th

|
fo
~)

t

show, such a position is not supported by
petitioners' own authority.

What we have is authority to the
effect that attorney's fees are not normally
recoverable by a wrongfully enjoined defen-
dant, a rule of federal common law that
concededly operates vnless changed by
statute. Petitioners' cases merely state
this rule; they do not say that the words
"costs and damages" “ae fail to

embrace attorney's fees. Such deci-

sions are beside the point in a case in-

27/ for the

volving a labor injunction,

26/ Aside from Donnelly, discussed supra
at text, petitioners' major case is Heiser
v. Woodruff, 128 F.2d 178 (C.A. 10, T9423),
involving a bankruptcy proceeding. In
Heiser the court denied attorney's fees to
the wrongfully restrained party, even
though the injunction bond in that case
expressly specified that attorney's fees
were covered. Plainly Heiser did not turn
on "construction" of the terms of the bond,
but involved application of a federal rule
of damages that has no place in a case
controlled by the Norris-LaGuardia Act.

27/ Any number of cases not involving
labor disputes follow Heiser, and peti-
tioners cite a few. Apart from Norris-
LaGuardia or some other statute, Heiser
of course states the law.

SOTA ES. 4 PIP OREO ag Soe eel oS eS Ce a ee

77

hole point of 8 7 of Norris-LaGuardia was
0 change the federal common law and render
ittorney's fees recoverable in every case
nvolving wrongful restraint in a labor
lispute,

The sensible ruling of the court below
s that an injunction bond for "costs and
lamages," in a case involving a labor dis-
ute, “should be construed to include all
he elements of damage which are recover-
ible under 8 7" of Norris-LaGuvardia. This
s an application of black-letter law:

",../T/7he general federal rule is that
attorney's fees are not recoverable
under Zin june tion? bonds. A federal
statute may, of course, provide that
in situations covered by it the bond
is_to include attorney's fees; and
attorney's fees would then be recover-
able...." (Emphasis supplied. )

Moore's Federal Practice, para. 65.10,

p. 1658-59 (2d ed.). See also Donnelly,
upra, at 253 ("the language of the
tatute is written into the bond, though
mitted by inadvertence or intention");
lgin, J. & E. Ry. v. Brotherhood of R.R.
rainmen, 302 F.2d 540 (C.A. 7, 1962)

Norris-LaGuardia case); Local Union No.

68, Painters v. Barker Painting Co.,
4 F.2d 879 (C.A.D.C., 1928).

Be:

» «

Petitioners say they meant to post
their bonds "pursuant to" Federal Rule 65,
and that their subjective intent rules out
any possibility of construing the bonds in
line with the applicable federal statute,
Obviously the "intent" of employers seeking
labor injunctions cannot determine the
matter. 28/ No such litigant will seek to
extend his liability nor will he admit that
the Norris-LaGuardia Act has any bearing on
his cause. Likewise, the Act's mandatory
language concerning attorney's fees carinot
depend on the trial judge's happening to
announce that the bond is "pursuant to"
the Act. The whole purpose of the Act is
to control abuse of the labor injunction
by the federal judiciary, and it makes no
sense to say "that the court which issues
an injunction should have the power to
foreclose recovery on the injunction bond."
Atomic Oil Co. v. Bardahl Oil Co.,

28/ What effect such "intent" may have on
a surety's liability, as distinct from
that of a principal, is not at issue here.

~— . @& ee 6 «tlleeehCCO be od

Kb

R
R
N
b
p

I
{
LI
|

< 9
19 F.2d 1097, 1100 (C.A. 10, 1969), 22/

ud see 7 Moore's Federal Practice, para.

5.09, p. 1655 (failure to require proper
curity is “legal error and...ground for
ypellate reversal").

in any event, a bond posted "pursuant
" Federal Rule 65 presumably is affected
‘part (e) of that Rul e20/
-) was added to ellay any fears that the

: "Subdivision

7 Under petitioners’ approach, the more

‘roneous an injunction, the more it is

oof against injunction damages. A judge

o erroneously thinks that Norris-LaGuardia

es not bar a labor injunction in the case
hand, is obviously likely to compound

e error by concluding that the Act also

S no bearing on the injunction bond's
verage.

/ "These rules do not modify any statute
of the United States relating to
temporary restraining orders and pre-
liminary injunctions in actions
affecting employer and employee...."

65(e), Fed. R. Civ. Proc. Originally
le 65(e) specifically mentioned the
rris-LaGuardia Act; the 1948 amendment
oadened the Rule's language to its
esent scope.

Rule might modify the law relating to
labor injunctions." Id., para. 65.02,
p. l6ll. 31/

(b) Petitioners contend that the
total face amount of their injunction bonds
sets the upper limit of any recovery under
8 7 of Norris-LaGuardia. They point to
cases holding that injunction damages in
excess of the injunction bond are not
normally recoverable. Once again the
point may readily be conceded: in the

ordinary, nonstatutory case, federal

equity does not award damages beyond the
; bond. This judge-made limitation on

injunction damages has generally been

317 Rule 65(c), relating to injunction
security, was taken "bodily" from the
Clayton Act. 7 Moore's Federal Practice,
para. 65.02, p. 1610. It is well known
that Norris-LaGuardia was drafted with
the shortcomings of the Clayton Act in
mind. See F. Frankfurter and N. Greene,
supra, at 184-85. In particular,

Tage Oe ee?

",,..the Norris-LaGuardia Act requires
a bond that is more extensive in
coverage than the Clayton Act, upon
which 65(c) is based. Among other
things the bond covers ‘a reasonable
attorney's fee.'"

idles eal ncats i rhe SN REM cS RRS Ca

7 Moore's Federal Practice, at 1658 n. 1.

&
A aR a ia eae <P TE AL SERENE EAT ITE Se a

—7—

followed in cases where the only source of

injunction security is Federal Rule 65(c) 22/
There are, however, many well recog-

nized exceptions to the general limitation.

Prior to the development of modern equity

practice, it was sometimes thought that

federal equity lacked power to award

injunction damages apart from an injunc-

tion bond, owing to traditional limitations

on the chancellor's power to award any sort

of damages. See Russell v. Farley,

105 U.S. 433, 437 (1881). Today such

doubts are no longer entertainable.

Federal equity courts can and do exercise

the power to award injunction damages

quite apart from the jurisdictional

fiction of a bond coerced by the court.

"Under long settled equity practice,
courts of chancery have discretionary
power to assess damages sustained by
parties who have been injured because
of an injunctive restraint ultimately
determined to have been improperly
granted."

32/ That the bonds in the present case
may have been posted "pursuant to" Rule
65, as petitioners allege, would in no

way limit the effect of Norris-LaGuardia's
§ 7.

Public Service Commn. v. Brashear Freight
Lines, 312 U.S. 621 (1941). Thus, in
Brashear Freight this Court approved the

award of injunction damages in excess of
the injunction bonds posted. See also
Mitchell v. Riegel Textile, Inc., 259 F.2d
954 (C.A.D.C., 1958). And this Court has
recently reaffirmed that the power to award

attorney's fees is not dependent on bond or
statute but is inherent in a court of
equity. Mills v. Electric Auto-Lite Co.,
396 U.S. 375, 393 (1970). See also
Sprague v. Ticonic Nat'l Bank, 307 U.S.
161, 166 (1939); 7 Moore's Federal Prac-
tice, para. 54.77, at 1352-53.

As the court below explained in de-

tail, the Donnelly dicta concerning limits
on injunction damages may be traced to a
narrow and mistaken view of a federal
court's equitable powers. And every other
Court of Appeals decision cited by peti-
tioners simply follows the applicable rule
for ordinary, nonstatutory uses.

In cases involving labor injunctions,
however, § 7 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act

displaces the ordinary rule of injunction

iainattna EN ba 6 aDAER Mec Une is inet Kabat!

damages, and authorizes full recovery of
reasonable attorney's fees though in

as ELL IO LL AL SN EOE ELL EE LE IL

7"

» 2 -

excess of the bond approved by the issu-
ing court. as This result -- the only
reasonable interpretation of the language
of § 7 -- is also fully in keeping with the
legislative history and the broad remedial

purpose of the Act. See Houston & No. Tex

Motor Fr. Lines, Inc. v. Local No. 745,
Teamsters, 27 F. Supp. 262, 264 (N.D. Tex.,
1939); Cinderella Theatre Co. v. Sign
Writers' Local Union, 6 F. Supp. 830, 831
(E.D. Mich. 1934).

/ contemplates that the em-

Section

ployer 34/

seeking a Jabor injunction must
"undertake" to reimburse all costs and

damages suffered by a wrongfully enjoined
party, and must also post "security in an

amount to be fixed by the court." 35/ As

33/ The Court of Appeals was unanimous
in holding to this effect. The narrow
point that troubled Judge Kalodner is not
raised in the petition.

34/ The surety's liability is another mat-
ter, not at issue here.

35 The court below noted that the em-
ployer's 8 7 "undertaking" is a strict
condition precedent to issuance at any
labor injunction and is implied by law
whenever injunctive relief has been
granted,

~ We

framed by the Senate, the employer's lia-
bility under 8 7 was entirely open-ended
-- the provision required "an undertaking
with adequate security sufficient to recon-
pense those enjoined for any loss, expense,
or damage... ." S. Rept. No. 163 of
Comm. on Judiciary, on S. 935 at p. 6 (72d
Cong., ist Sess., Feb. 4, 1932). The Con-
ference adopted the present language, so
that the provision as enacted "expressly

gives the court the power to fix the amount

of the security in the undertaking filed by
the complainant." H.R. Rept. No. 793, House
Confer. Rept. to accompany H.R. 5315, it

p. 7 (March 14, 1932)(emphasis added).

The amount of security fixed by the court

dali) ak aoe 8 Sh a

plainly does not determine the amount of
the primary obligation, and the "undertak-
a ing" continues to run to the full extent

of recoverable damage. See also H.R. Rept.

ee

No. 669, Rept. of House Comm. on Judiciary
on H.R. 5315, at p. 9 (March 2, 1932).

Section 7 reflects congressional dis-

St La SSS eh dae

satisfaction with the injunction bond pro-

ees

vision of the Clayton Act, which limited
injunction damages to the bond and did not

make room for attorney's fees. F.

Frankfurter and N. Greene, supra, at

EERE SE ERIE NE LI TREN EPL UPS SIND IRIE

_——

184-85. It also reflects awareness that
the ordinary injunction bond would in all
likelihood not adequately compensate a
wrongfully enjoined party in a labor dis-
pute. Id. at 200-201. Section 7 must be
read in light of this background and the
remedial objective of lessening the impact
of unequal resources in judicial contests
between employer and employee,

"Laboring men are not finan-
cially able to pay the expenses
which are necessary to make
proper defenses. They are con-
fronted with corporations having
unlimited means .. ., and in
such cases, if they have to try
their case before a judge who
is unsympathetic, it is neces-
sary for their cases to be ap-
pealed. The harsh way in which
the men are treated and the
severity of these terrible in-
junctions break them down, even
before trial ...."

Remarks of Senator Norris, 75 Cong. Rec.
4508 (Feb. 23, 1932).

Petitioners' construction of the Act
would, as the court below noted, leave the
new statutory liability for full injunc-
tion damages wholly dependent on "the un-
bridled discretion of these same district

court judges against whom the whole statute

——

was directed." Such a construction would
fly in the face of this Court's admonition
that the Norris-LaGuardia Act "must not be
read in a spirit of mutilating narrowness,"
United States v. Hutcheson, 312 U.S. 219,
235 (1941)(Frankfurter, J.). It would like-

wise be out of harmony with many recent de-

cisions of this Court and the Courts of Ap-
peals broadly construing other attorney's
fees provisions in order to effectuate re-
medial congressional policy. See, e.g.,
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, 390 U.S.
400 (1968); Lee v. Southern Home Sites
Corp., “t44 F.2d 143, 144-148 (C.A. 5,
1971); Gartner v. Soloner, 384 F.2d 348,
355 (C.A. 3, 1967).

CONCLUSION
For all the foregoing reasons, the

petition for writ of certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit should be denied,
Respectfully submitted,

Joseph A, Yablonski
Clarice R. Feldman
1812 N Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

Kenneth J. Yablonski
505 Washington Trust Bldg.
Washington, Penna. 15301

Attorneys for Respondents,
Local Union 1197, UMWA,
Edward Monborne, Charles
Krawitz and Mike Trbovich

—"

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 19,038-19,041

UNITED STATES STEEL CORPORATION
Vs

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, et al.

JONES & LAUGHLIN STEEL CORPORATION
Ve

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, et al.

BETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION
Ve

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, et al.

REPUBLIC STEEL CORPORATION
Ve

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, et al.

PRESENT: Winter, Aldisert and Gibbons,
Circuit Judges.

——~ oe

u
MEMORANDUM SUR ORDER "

The plaintiffs, steel producers and
owners of coal mines, applied for a pre-
liminary injunction to restrain what they
described in their verified complaints as
illegal work stoppages. Following a hear-
ing, at which a minimum of sworn testimony

own F£ OO

was adduced, the court directed the appel- !
lants “to return to their employment,
process all grievances and complaints as :
to safety consistent with the provisions
of the collective bargaining agreements,
and to cease and not picket or cause to
be picketed the coal mines where they are
employed, or any other coal mine of any
other company in which labor dispute
exists as a result of safety complaints."
We reverse and remand the cause be-
cause we find that the parties were ef-
fectively denied the opportunity to develop
their respective positions by erroneous
rulings of the court. Because we sum-

oot ® Ole!

marily reverse and remand we deem it ap-

propriate to set forth our reasoning.

aaa Re S
_ =r . —_ =

| ——————

»~ £3 @

The district court repeatedly
urged counsel to "cut corners", to avoid
"technicalities", and, while verbalizing
a willingness to permit all to be heard,
nevertheless, by persistent comment and
rulings, prevented it.

The rulings of the district court in
controlling the introduction of testimony
were governed by its view of the applicable
law which it announced in open court at an
early stage of the proceedings:

THE COURT: I will enunciate a new
rule. Let the Supreme
Court see if they want
to reconsider and fol-
low my rule. That's
how simple it is.

I think under these
circumstances -- this
is my rule -- that
where a person has a
collective bargaining
agreement and the men
picket c. do not go to
work and they do not

i/ A written opinion of the district
court was filed. It is a refinement of
an oral opinion delivered in open court,
which the trial judge stated was prepared
by him at the conclusion of the first day
of the hearing.

- A4 - i. ,

tell their employer what
their complaint is, it is
the duty of the court to
enforce that contract and
to direct them to go back
to work.

That is my ruling.

You can take that through
the United States Court

of Appeals and the Supreme
Court of the United States,
They might say no, that

is not the rule.

We cannot accept this simplistic
distillation of the intricacies of labor
law, a field fraught with "technicalities"
imposed by statute, court precedent, the
substantive law of contracts, and the "new
common law -- the common law of a particu-
lar industry or of a particular plant." 2/

This approach ignores the vital
necessity in all requests for labor in-
junctions to accommodate the anti-
injunction provisions of the Norris-
LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C.A. § 104 and Sec-
tion 30i(a) of the Labor-Management Re-
lations Act, 29 U.S.C.A. § 185, which
permits suits for violations of labor

2/7 United Steelworkers of America v.

Warrior and Gulf Navigation Co., 363
U.S. 574, 579 (1960).

TSS RT TRI

« & <

agreements. Because the collective bargain-
ing agreements here did not contain a "no-
strike" provision, as was the case in The
Boys Markets, Inc. v. Retail Clerk's Union,
Local 770, 38 U.S,L.W. 4462 (1970), it was

necessary for the district court to examine

the applicability of the "settlement of
disputes" doctrine enunciated in Teamsters
Local v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95
(1962). The district court found that the

work stoppages were "strikes" emanating

from grievances over safety conditions
clearly arbitrable under the agreement and
concluded that these findings alone were
sufficient to justify the issuance of an
injunction.

Although the court placed great re-
liance throughout the proceedings on our
recent decision in Local 616, Interna-

tional Union of Electric, Radio and
Machine Workers, AFL-CIO v. Byrd Plastics,
Inc., No. 19,463 (June 19, 1970), we fail
to see its relevancy to the case at bar.

What the district court failed to recog-
nize, both in its opinion and in the
enunciation of its "new rule", is the

admonition in Boys Market that injunc-

tive relief is not appropriate "as a

—_

=
——

warn

AMR GAR ah sth i bi A AS ie one a

OUTER ETE NE LSE AP si cinta eo ae , i

matter of course in every case of a strike
over an arbitrable grievance." The Court
there suggested certain principles for the
guidance of district courts in determining
whether to grant injunctive relief:

A District Court entertaining
an action under §301 may not
grant injunctive relief against
concerted activity unless and
until it decides that the case
is one in which an injunction
would be appropriate despite
the Norris-LaGuardia Act.

When a strike is sought to be
enjoined because it is over a
grievance which both parties

are contractually bound to arbi-
trate, the District Court may is-
sue no injunctive order until

it first holds that the con- )
tract does have that effect;

and the employer should be
ordered to arbitrate, as a

condition of his obtaining an |
injunction against the strike.
Beyond this, the District Court
must, of course, consider whe-
ther issuance of an injunction
would be warranted under ordi-
nary principles of equity --
whether breaches are occurring
and will continue, or have been
threatened and will be commit-
ted; whether they have caused
or will cause irreparable in- ]
jury to the employer; and
whether the employer will suf-
fer more from the denial of an }
injunction than will the union
from its issuance.

s_"

o DD =

Thus, although the plaintiffs should be af-
forded the opportunity of presenting their
case for a breach of the collective bargain-
ing agreement, they should not be relieved
of proving the present necessity for injunc-
tive relief to rectify that breach.

The foregoing, of course, assumes the
existence of a bona fide labor dispute be-
tween employees and employers. But an
examination of the record does not justify

such an assumption. First, the appellants

raise the fundamental question whether the
work stoppage was a labor dispute at all,
but rather a mass protest against the fed-
eral government for its failure to enforce
provisions of the Federal Coal Mine Health
and Safety Act of 1969, Public Law 91-173,
9ist Congress, S 2917, December 30, 1969.
At the hearing, counsel for the appellants
stated: "I don't think it is so mucha |
dispute between a union and employer, so
much as it is a dispute between coal
‘Niners and the United States Government."
Moreover, once being alerted to
this issue, the district court failed to
find whether the matter properly came
within the purview of the machinery re-

lating to "Settlement of Local and District

- AO =

Disputes" or whether, as the agreement pro-
vided, it was “national in character in
which event the parties shall settle such
disputes by free collective bargaining as
heretofore practiced in the industry."

In additicn, a serious question was
presented whether there was a work stop-
page over a bona fide grievance authorized
by any level of union authority -- inter-
national, district, or local. Ai the hear-
ing, the district court received the unsworn
statement from the president of District 5
describing the work stoppage as unauthorized
and as "a political move and an attempt to
embarrass the organization and the coal in-
dustry."

Finally, the district court directed
that the grievance be submitted to arbi-
tration on the basis of "safety complaints"
without making a specific finding as to the
presence or absence of a dangerous condi-
tion. If a dangerous condition were found
to exist, two additional considerations
would be appropriate: (1) whether this was
a proper subject of arbitration under the
contract, and if so, how; and (2) whether
such amounted to “abnormally dangerous

conditions". The latter consideration is

GOLF FE OF BROGAN ICBO

critical to an evaluation and possible appli-
cation of Section 502 of LMRA, 29 U.S.C.A.

$ 143:

[N_/or shall the quitting of
labor by an employee or employ-
ees in good faith because of
abnormally dangerous conditions
for work at the place of employ-
ment of such employee or employees
be deemed a strike under this
chapter.

See Philadelphia Marine Trade Associations
v. N.L.R.B., 330 F.2d 492 (3 Cir. 1964).
We do not intend this discussion to

serve as an outline of all the problems en-
compassed by the proceedings below. We
have set forth these observations solely

to indicate those issues which are discern-
able from an examination of the truncated
record, briefs, and oral argument. While
recognizing that the district court has
wide discretion in the reception of evi-
dence at a preliminary hearing and that

"/ t_/he award of an interlocutory in-
junction by courts of equity has never

been regarded strictly as a matter of
right," Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S.
414, 440 (1944); Scripps-Howard Radio v.
FCC, 316 U.S. 4, 10 (1942), we neverthe-

less believe that it is fundamental that

a

- A1O -

parties to proceedings such as these be
given the opportunity to be heard, properly,

We therefore summarily reverse and
remand these cases to the district court
without prejudice to a request for a hear-
ing de novo on the application for a pre-
liminary injunction. We emphasize that we
have not reached the issue of the merits
of the request for a preliminary injunc-
tion. Our decision is based solely on our
conclusion that the trial court's applica-
tion of erroneous concepts of procedural
and substantive law denied the parties an
adequate opportunity of presenting appro-
priate evidence and argument.

ee eal a neg en a de aa ieee Oe een ete ee eee ee

- Ail -

ORDER

After consideration of appellants'
motion and oral argument thereon, for the
reasons set forth in the foregoing memoran-
dum, IT IS ORDERED,

That the orders of the district
court dated June 25, 1970, be and the
same are hereby reversed and the cause re-
manded to the district court for proceed-
ings not inconsistent with the views set
forth in the memorandum,

Each side to bear its own costs.

BY THE COURT,

/S/ Ruggero Aldisert
Circuit Judge

Dated: June 30, 1970

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0905%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
