# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Grimes v. Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0717%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 406 U.S. 968

## Text

. wae 3097
si i) i7a Ta, ¥ wt a Fy 7

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1971

iNo< -

-

EDWARD GRIMES,

Petitioner,
We |
THE DEPARTMENT. OF ALCOHOLIC ~°
BEVERAGE CONTROL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND THE
-ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

APPEALS BOARD OF THE whine
OF atrenaichcaiatnt aah as

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT. OF CERTIORARI
TO THE ‘COURT OF APPEAL OF: THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

McCPHERSON BERRIEN E. MOORE,
KENNETH SCHOLTZ:

1515 Redondo Beach Blvd. ':

Gardena, Calif. 90247.

(213) 327-3815
770-1515

Attorneys for Plaintiff.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1971

' No.-

EDWARD GRIMES,
Petitioner,
WE oe :
THE DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE CONTROL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND THE
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

APPEALS BOARD OF THE STATE
OF CALIFORNIA,

‘Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI °
TO THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

McPHERSON BERRIEN E. MOORE, ©
KENNETH SCHOLTZ :

-1515 Redondo Beach Blvd..
Gardena, Calif. 90247 7
(213) 327-1515
. 770-1515

Attorneys for Plaintiff

s . » TOPICAL INDEX

Table of Authorities
OPINIONS BELOW |
JURISDICTION
QUESTIONS

STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

‘REASONS RELIED ON FOR —
ALLOWANCE FOR WRIT

I ‘SECTION 288a OF THE
CALIFORNIA PENAL CODE IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL AND MAY
NOT BE THE* BASIS’ FOR

REVOCATION OF AN ALCOHOLIC
"BEVERAGE LICENSE

ae I CONCLUSION -

navies A - DECISION OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVER-
AGE CONTROL

APPENDIX B - DECISION OF THE
7 ALCOHOLIC BEVER-

Ao

‘AGE CONTROL APPEALS: .

BOARD é

APPENDIX C -:-ORDER OF THE COURT

OF APPEALS .
APPENDIX D - SUPREME COURT OF

CALIFORNIA PETITION '

FOR WRIT OF REHEAR-
“ING DENIED

7 &

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page
American Motorcycle
Association v. Davids: |
158 Nw2d 2 (Mich. APP BSR}. .-: 12°

Buchanan v. Batchelor: ae
208.F Supp. 729° (DC Tex, (13970) 9, 10

Everhardt v. City of New Orléans. . maa
208 So.2d 423 (La.Appl. 1968) 13,14

“Griswold v. Connecticut (1965):
|, eel U.S. 379,..85 $.ct. 1678
14 L.Ed.2d 510, : aria

People v. Butterwick (1968) |
258 Cal.App.2d 586 ef
65: Cal.Rotr. 765 =o

People v. Giani (1956)
145 Cal.App.2d -539 .
206 P.xG 612. . ears. 2

uit v. Hensel.
233 Cal.App.2d 834
43 Cal.Rptr. 865 . ee

People v. Hurd (1970)
5 Cal.App.3d 865 2 ae
Bo Cai.Rptr. Fis . % EL

People v. Ragsdale (1960)

177 Cal.App.2d 676 .
2°CalsRptr. 640 10, 11

ee

People v. Velous. (1969) »
fi Cal.2d 934
$0. Cai.Rptr. 354
People v. Roberts - (1967)
256 Cal.App.2d 488
64 Cal-sRptr. 70.

Robinson v. California
370 U.S. -660

ae ie Buchanan gh ig
ot Bit tees eet
| Peaad Code 5274,
| ' §288a os 2-8, 10, 12,
§24200(a) .
Goeosnene mae |
| 611506 (a).

28 U.S.C. §1257(3)

pA Be

Is ie
SUPREME COURT OF THE...
UNITED, STATES
October Term, 1971

_EDWARD GRIMES,

. Petitioner,

‘ ‘Ve 7 = . yay 4
- THE DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE CONTROL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA AND THE :
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL’ °

APPEALS BOARD OF THE STATE -
..OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondents.

a —_—_——— _ ———

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT*OF APPEAL OF THE
a A STATE OF CALIFORNIA ‘

The Petitioner, EDWARD GRIMES, .
respectfully prays that a Writ of
Certiorari be issued to review the final
‘Sudgment of the Court of Appeal of the
State of California for the Second
Appellate District entered in the above
matter on January 6,-1972 ;

1 ._

OPINIONS BELOW

The written decision of the
"Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control .
revoking Petitioner's license set forth
in Apendix A. The opinion’of the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Appeals Board
affirming the suspension set forth in _
Appendix B. The order of the Court of
Appeal for the State of California,
Second Appellate District, denying the
Petition for Writ of Review as set forth
in Appendix C. The order of the Supreme
5 Court of the State of California denying
a hearing as set forth in Appendix D.

4

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this court is
2nvoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

May the California Department of
Alcoholic Beverage Control constitution-
ally premise revocation of a license upon
a violation of §288a of the California
Penal Code which makes illegal any act of .
oral copulation?

‘STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 288a of.the California Penal
Code which provides in relevant part as
follows: ; | -. ;
"Any person participating
in an act of copulating the
mouth of one person with the
‘sexual organ of another is
punishable by imprisonment in
a state prison for not exceed-
ing fifteen years, or by impris-
onment in the county jail not to
exceed one year; provided, .-how-
ever, whenever any person is
‘found guilty of the offense
specified herein, and it is
charged and admitted or found
to be true...that he has com-
pelled the other's participation
/ in such an act by force, violence,
duress, menace, or threat of
great bodily harm, he shall be |
punished by imprisonment in the
state prison for not, less than
three years..."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
~

_ Petitioner has been and now is the
holder of an on-sale beer license issued
by the California Department ‘of Alcoholic
Beverage Control (ABC) for-the premises
located. at 10809 South Vermont Avenue, —
Los Angeles, California. Said premises

are known as and dobusiness as The Circle.

On November 13, 1970 an accusation
was filed which alleged that Petitioner
had, on-or about October 8, 1970, suf- |
fered and permitted his licensed premises
to be used as a place wherein persons
engaged in conduct contrary to public
‘welfare or morals. Said accusations also
alleged that the conduct was in violation
of §288a of the California Penal
Code. The accusation was served upon
Petitioner on or about November 17,1970.

On December 24, 1970 Petitioner
duly filed a Notice of Defense and
Special Notice of Defense under §11506(a)

of the California Government Code.

On April 7, 1971 a hearing was held
on the accusation before Jerome Schwimmer,
a hearing officer of the California
office of Administrative Procedure duly

4.

appointed to hear the case. On April 9,
1971 the hearing officer rendered his

proposed decision to A.B.C. in which he

found that the matters set forth in the

accusation were true and that Petitioner |

_ had permitted ‘violations of §288a of the

Penal Code and §24200(a), of the Business ,
and Professions Code to occur on the
licensed premises. The proposed decision
recommended that Petitioner's license be |
revoked. On April 22, 1971 A.B.C. adopted

the proposed decision as its own.’

On May 18,:1971 Petitioner duly
filed a petition for. reconsideration with

“AcB.C. which was denied on May 24,. 1971.

. On May 28, 1971 Petitioner duly
filed a Notice of Appeal from the decision
of the A.B.C. to the Alcoholic Beverage
Control Appeals Board of the State of
California.

On December 3, 1971 the Appeals

Board issued its decision and opinion
affirming A.B.C.'s order revoking Peti-

tioner's license. . : t.

On December 31, 1971 Petitioner filed :
a Petition for Writ of Review with the

Je

Court of Appeal of the State of California
for the Second Appellate District. On
January 6, 1972 the Court of Appeal ‘issued
its order denying the - writ.

- On January 14, 1972 ic caloie filed
a Petition for Hearing to the Supreme
Court of the State of California. On
February 3, 1972 the Supreme Court issued
its order denying a-hearing in said case.

REASONS RELIED ON FOR
ALLOWANCE FOR WRIT

ee

SECTION 288a OF THE CALIFORNIA
PENAL CODE IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL
AND MAY NOT BE THE BASIS FOR ©
REVOCATION OF AN ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE LICENSE.

The findings of fact contained in.
the Department’ s decision was Supported |
.by substantial evidence. Those findings
ere as follows: Sy

"On or about October 8, 1970, ...

de- 2.6 « @ female entertainer,
Ruth Ann Richards, while
on a stage did lie in front |

6.

of a male patron, Ronald
Edgar Hill, and did permit.
said patron to copulate

his mouth with said a
entertainer's sexual organ.

2... . a female entertainer,

Linda Maxine Ward, while on
a stage did lie in front of
a male patron, Ronald Edgar

Hill} and did permit said
patron to copulate his :

mouth with said entertain-
er's sexual organ."

In its decision, the Department .
found that acts of oral copulation had
occurred at Petitioner's licensed prem-
ises between female entertainers and a
member of the audience. The decision
further found that said acts constituted)
violations of both §288a of the Penal’ .
Code and §24200(a) of the Business and
Professions Code. It is Petitioner's
contention that §288a of the Penal Code
is unconstitutional and that the Depart-_
ment's decision cannot stand since it is
based upon a finding of a violation
thereof. |

Section. 288a of the Penal Code

provides as foliows:

"Any person participating
“in an act of copulating the
mouth of one person with the
sexual organ of another is
punishable by imprisonment in
the state prison for not ex-
ceeding 15 years, or by
imprisonment in the county jail
‘not to exceed one year;
provided, however, whenever any..
person is found guilty of the
offense specified herein, and
it is charged and admitted or
found to’be true. . . that he
has compelled the other‘s >
participation in such an act by
force, violence, duress, menace,
' or threat of great bodily: harm,
he shall be punished by impris-
onment in the state prison for

not less than three years. . .'

Thus, 5" is clear from the face of
tthe statute that a violation of §288a can
be committed even though. there is-no

8.

threat or coercion and the persons are
acting voluntarily with respect to one
another. - Moreover, the statute denqunces
acts of oral copulation taking place in

. private as well as.win public. People v.
Butterwick, 258 Cal.App.2d 586, 65 Cal.
Rptr.' 765 (1968); People v..Hensel, 233
Cal.App.2d 834, 43 Cal.Rptr. 865. No.

particular intent is required to obtain

the conviction of persons engaging in
oral copulation. People v.-Giani, 145
Cal.App.2d 539, 302 P.2d 813 (1956).

_ ina recent’ case, a three- judge
District Court in the State of Texas
held unconstitutional the Texas sodomy
statute upon the ground that it did not
distinguish between public and private
acts or between acts of married and.

_ unmarried persons, and that it plainly
applied to private consensual acts of
married persons and homosexuals. The
court found that the Texas sodomy statute
was an unconstitutional invasion of
privacy under Griswold v. Connecticut,
381 U.S. 379, 85 S.Ct. 1678, IM
-L.Ed.2d 510 (1965) and that the statute —
was therefore void on its face.
Bucharan v. Batchelor, 308 F.Supp. 729
9.

(DC Tex. 1970); rev's on other grounds,
subnom. Wade.v..Buchanan, 91 S.Ct. 1221
(1971). The findings of the Texas three-

judge court in Buchanan v. Batchelor

apply equally to the California oral

copulation: statute, Penal Code §288a.. As
noted. above, §288a clearly applies to

: private consensual acts.

Although the California Appellate
Courts have rejected such’ arguments. to
date, none of the opinions involved have
addressed themselves to the problems in

any detail. The leading case at the

present time is People v. Ragsdale, 177
Cal.App.2d 676, 2 Cal.Rptr. 640 (1960).
Ragsdale was decided before Griswold.

It involved acts of oral copulation .
_ between prisoners in a state prison. In
upholding §288a against a claim that .the
‘statute violated due process as applied
to imprisoned persons, the court merely
stated: 7
", . .The making of unnatural
sexual relations a crime is
embedded in the history of —
the common law and finds its

sanction in the broader basis

10.

" of the ‘settled mores or

Western civilization'."

People v. Ragsdale, supra, 2

Cal.Rptr. at page 643.

owing the decisions in Griswold,

e-Suc. _2binson v. California, .370

a

U.8. 6/2, the attack was again raised in.
People v. Roberts, 256 Cal.App.2d 488,
“64 Cal.Rptr. 70 (1967). In Roberts, the

court again upheld the constitutionality

of §288a based on Ragsdale. The court

rejected the applicability of Griswold

and Robinson without argument. |

Finally, in People v. Hurd, 5 Cal.
App.3d 865, 85 Cal.Rptr. 718 (1970), the

court rejected a general attack on the

Constitutionality of the incest, sodomy
and oral copulation statutes in a case
in which the defendant was convicted of

such acts with his minor daughter. The

court relied on the Roberts and Ragsdale

decisions and did not analyze the issues.

In Griswold v. Connecticut, supra,
381 U.S. 479, 85 S.Ct. 1678, 14 L.Ed.2d°
510 (1965), the court overturned a
Statute which made it itlegal to use
iis

contraceptive devices upon the grounds
‘that such a statute invaded the sphere of
marital privacy. Griswold was followed
in People y. Velous, 71 Cal.2d 954, 80
Cal.Rptr.* 354° (1969), which held uncon-
stitutional former §274 of the Penal
Code, the abortion statute. The court's.
decision was based in the first instance

upon a holding that the exception per-
mitting an abortion to be performed ©
where necessary to preserve the- mother's
life was vague and uncertain. In so
holding, the court also held that a
narrow interpretation of the exception
‘sufficient to satisfy due process grounds
would invade the right of a pregnant
woman to determine whether or not she
wished to have children and identified
this as a privacy right. Similarly,
§288a of the Penal Code invades the
rights of all adults \in ‘California to
ascertain the form in which they will
have sexual relations.

A. second reason for the invalidity
of §288a of the Penal Code is that it
exceeds the police power of the state.

In American Motorcycle Association v.

12.

Davids, 158 NW2a-72 (Mich. App. 1968),
the Michigan court.held unconstitutional
a statute which required operators and
passengers of motorcycles to wear an
approved crash helmet. The court held
that the statute served no purpose other
than to protect the safety of those on —
motorcycles and that such a purpose was
“not within-the police power. The court
held that a valid statute was required
to have a substantial relationship with
the public health and safety and that

. the promotion: of. the private safety of
individuals would not justify such.
restrictions. A similar result was
reached by the Court of. Appeal in
Louisiana in Everhardt v. City of New
Orleans, 208 So.2d 423 (La. Appl. 1968).
In. stating the issue before it, the

court said, ;
ss “We think the most serious
issue. . . is whether the exer-
cise. of the police power vested
in a law making body extends to
forcing a citizen to ‘protect _
his own well-being, or whether
it is limited to regulation of

* Ade

individual conduct when that
conduct might effect the
well-being of other persons
in the community." Everhardt

Vv. City of New Orleans, supra,
208 So.2d at pages: 424-425.

In many potential applications,
§288a of the Penal Code does nothing more
_than make criminal the private moral |
choices of individuals, which choices
can have no possible bearing on the
rights, health, well-being or morals of
others. This being the case, the
_ Statute exceeds the boundaries of the
' police powers of the state and is uncon-
stitutional..

-Since the Department's decision is
based ‘in part upon a finding that a
violation of §288a4 occurred, the deci-
sion should be reversed and remanded
' to the Department for further consider-
ation.

14.

Il

CONCLUSION

‘Por the reasons stated herein the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari-should
be granted. ~

Respectfully submitted,

McPHERSON BERRIEN E. MOORE
KENNETH SCHOLTZ |

Attorneys for Petitioner

15.

”~

°.
i

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
‘ DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

IN THE MATTER OF THE
ACCUSATION
Against:

EDWARD GRIMES

The Circle

10809 S. Vermont Avenue.
Los Angeles

On-Sale Beer

Respondent

under the Alcoholic
Beverage Control

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
sie

150 Folios

File. 30714
Reg. 11725
Licenses: 40

Time -of Hearing:
4-7-71 9:00 a.m.

Place of Hearing:
314 W. First St.,
L.A.

Reporter:
Bea Taft
OLA 25450

Appearances:

' For Dept:

Doris Jaffe,
Assoc. Counsel

For Resp:

‘Kenneth Scholtz

Attorney.

1515 Redondo
Beach Blvd.
Gardena, Calif.
90247
(Respondent. not
present)

I hereby certify that the following

constitutes my proposed decision in the

above-entitled matter aS a result of the

hearing held be*>re me at the above time

and place, after due notice thereof having

.

A-l.

been given according to law, and I hereby
recommend its adoption as the decision of
the Department of Alcoholic Beverage
Control.

PROPOSED’ DECISION

3

FINDINGS OF FACT:

COUNT I.

. On October 8, 1970, respondent-licensee,
by and through his agents, employees and
Servants, Ruth Ann Richards and Linda

Maxine Ward, did suffer and permit the
above-designated licensed premises to be
used. as a place wherein persons engaged in =
conduct and activity which did, create
conditions then and there contrary to public
welfare and morals, in that:

l. On said date, a female entertainer,
Ruth Ann Richards, while ona
Stage did lie in front of a male
: _ ‘patron, Ronald Edgar Hill, and did
:, permit Said patron to. copulate his
mouth with said entertainer's. |

sexual organ.

2. On Said date, a female entertainer,
Linda Maxine Ward, while on a stage
A-2.

did lie in front of a. male patron,
Ronald Edgar Hill, and did permit |
Said patron to copulate his mouth

with said entertainer's sexual

organ.

FINDINGS RE SPECIAL DEFENSE:

Each and all of the objections
raised by respondent in his special notice
of defense have been considered by the |
Hearing Officer and are hereby each and all
overruled. , |

DETERMINATION OF ISSUES PRESENTED:

Respondent. did permit violations of
“Section 288a of the Penal Code and Section
24200(a) of the Business and Professions
Code to occur on the licensed premises.

Grounds for the suspension or
revocation of respondent's license exist
pursuant to Sections 24200(a) and (b) of the
Business and Professions Code and Article XX,
“Section 22 of the California. Constitution.

| PENALTY OR RECOMMENDATION: |

The license is revoked.

Dated at Los Angeles, California,
April 9, 1971..

‘APPENDIX B

Filed

Dec 3 1971

Alcoholic Beverage
Control Appeals Board

BEFORE THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL. -
- APPEALS BOARD OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the ) | AB-3681

Accusation against _ )File No. 30714; —

EDWARD GRIMES

dba The Circle oes Scuinhes

10809 S.Vermont Avenue’Time & Place of

Los Angeles ) Hearing: October 29,

)i971,at 10 a.m.”

Respondent & Licensee ) 314 West First Street
) Los Angeles, Calif.

under the Alcoholic )For Department:

Younger

Attorney General

Daniel Weston
Deputy Attorney
General

For Appellant:

Kenneth Scholtz,Esq.

This appeal concerns a decision of the
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Ordering the revocation of appellant's on-
sale beer license for premises located at
10809 South Vermont Avenue, Los Angeles.
The department determined that appellant .
permitted violations of section 288a, Penal

.

B-l.

. Code (perversion, oral copulation), and
section 24200(a), Business and Professions
Code, to occur on the licensed premises.

Appellant's appeal is based upon the
following:

“(a) The Department has proceeded
without, and in excess of, its juris-

diction;

’
¢

"(b) The decision is not Sinninaceee
by the findings;

~"(c) That errors of law were made
by the Hearing Officer, as reflected by
the transcript of the proceedings;

"(d) The findings are not supported
by substantial evidence in the light of
the whole record.”

; The department's decision contains the
following:

“FINDINGS OF FACT:
“COUNT I

“On October 8, 1970, respondent-
licensee, by and through his agents,
employees and servants Ruth Ann Richards
and Linda Maxine Ward, did suffer and

B-2.

permit the above-designated licensed

premisés to be used as a place wherein

persons engaged in conduct and activity

which did, create conditions then and

there contrary to public weifare and

morals, in that:

"1. On said date, a female

entertainer, Ruth Ann Richards,
while on a stage die ‘lie in
front of a male patron, Ronald
Edgar Hill, and did permit
said patron to copulate his

mouth with said entertainer's

"2.

sexual organ.

On said date, a female
entertainer, Linda Maxine
Ward, while on a stage did

lie in front of a male patron,
Ronald Edgar Hill, and did
permit said patron to copulate
his mouth with said entér-

- tainer's ‘sexual organ.

"FINDINGS RE SPECIAL DEFFNSE:

"Each and all of the objections

raised by respondent in his special

‘motice of defense have been considered

*

B=31

by the Hearing Officer and are hereby
each and all overruled.

_ “Grounds for the suspension or
revocation of respondent's license
exist pursuant to Sections 24200 (a)
and (5B) of the Business and Professions
Code and Article XX, Section 22 of the

California Constitution."

At. the department ‘hearing held on April
'7, 1971, Deputy Sheriff Richard Zimbel
testified as to the following conversetion ~~

he had with two males:

"A I was talking to two Negro

men I met on Imperial Boulevard near
Central. We had a conversation about
the goings-on in. the area, and one of
the men said, ‘If you guys want to
eat some pussy on stage, come with
us." And Deputy Ward, who was with
me, stated, 'Where is it at?' He
said, ‘Follow us, if you're not chicken
shit." So we followed them to the
Circle Bar." : ,

(R.T. 2222-27.)

The deputy testified that he entered appel-
lant's premises at approximately 11:25 p.m.
B-4.

“ _ “

with the two male Negroes and Deputies Ward
and Holland. He described the premises

and the interior lighting; that the five
males paid $3 each to enter the premises;
that the payment was made to a doorman who
was subsequently identified as Mr. Winkie,
the manager of the premises; and that the
ticket given to them at the time they paid
the $3 was good for one beer. Deputy
Zimbel testified that there were approxim-
- ately seven male patrons in the premises

at the’ time he entered; he testified as
follows with respect to his observations

of the two entertainers named in the depart-
ment's accusation:

"Q Would you relate your observa-
tions of Ruth Ann Richards?
.

“A When I first came into the
location, she was seated on a chair
that was against what appeared to be
a wall with the stage. The music
started to play, and she started to
dance. She was wearing a pair of
white boots and a belt around her
middle. That was all she was wearing.
She started to bump and gyrate her
hips. The music played for approximately

. B-5.

a minute, and a patron, later identified
as Edgar Hill, put a dollar down in
front of him on the bar. “Miss Richards
picked up the dollar, put her legs down
- on the serving bar and started to gyrate
in front of Mr. Hill.

“She opened her legs onli he put
his head forward towards her vaginal
lips. He stuck his tongue out and put
his face forward and put his tongue |
in her vaginal area. Then he leaned
forward and put his face inside her
vaginal area for the coinpletion of
the record, at which time when the
record was completed, she got up.
There was a roll of towels on the
stage and she took a towel and wiped

her vaginal area and sat down again.

"9 Did you see Mr. Hill insert

his tongue in her vagina?
"A Yes, I did.

"9 How long did you see him in

that position?
‘"A Approximately two minutes.

"9 Did you hear any comments

B-6.

from other persons in the premises
during CRGS. ULEVESY?.

"2B ‘There was a man. seated to.
his left who was laughing and slapping ©
the bar, and he got up -- Mr. Hill
was wearing a little short-billed _
cap, and he walked over and he turned -
the cap around on the back of Mr. _
Hill's head... ."_ ea

cae | |
“A Miss Richards got up and
said, ‘Baby, eat it again." Mr. Hill
threw another dollar down on the bar,
and Miss Richards assumed the same
_ position in front of Mr. Hill, at
which time he had oral copulation
with her again to the complete record.

—"Q > About how long was that?
"A Almost three minutes. |

"Q Did you see where he put his
tongue during the second --

"A Yes. He placed it in between:
her -- in her vaginal area and he

inserted it into her vagina.

B-7.

"9 Then what did he do with his —

face?

"RK His face came forward, and
I couldn't see the front portion of
it. It was buried in her vaginal area."

(R.T. 5:14-28; 6:1-12; 7:6-17.)

As to the second incident involving Linda

Maxine Ward, he testified:

"A After the record, the second,
had completed, Miss Richards wiped .
herself again and left the stage and

Miss Ward tame up.

\Y " ‘
Q. What was she wearing?

"A She was wearing a belt around
the middle and a pair of black boots.
"“Q What did she-do?

. f
"A She started to dance and gyrate

to a record, and she gyrated her hips,
pushed her pelvic area forward, turned
over on her back, and her anus area
was moving to and fro, and she gyrated
that to a point where it opened.
Mr. Hill placed a dollar down and she
assumed the same position in front of
him as Miss Richards did.-

B-8.

"Q What happened when she
assumed that position?

"A He placed his tongue in her
vagina! area, pushed his face forward,
and he orally copulated her.

: "Q How long did you see him
doing this?
"A For the jest of the portion —

of that record; that would probably
be a minute and a half."

(R.T. 924-22.)

A rough sketch o& the premises showing
the location of the parties involved was
introduced into evidence. (Department
exhibit 1.)

In argument to this board, appellant
states that the question presented is whether
the department may premise revocation of the
license upon a violation of section 288a of
the Penal Code. It is appellant's contention
that such may not be done as section 288a,
Penal Code, is unconstitutional and may not
be the basis for revocation of an alcoholic
beverage license. We find no merit in
appellant's argument.

B-9.

In our opinion, the department's findings
‘are supported by substantial evidence and
the findings support the department's deci--
sion. (Boreta Enterprises, Inc. v. Dept. -
of Alcoholic Bev. Control (1970), 2 Cal.3d
85.)

In view of the foregoing, the decision
of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage
Control in the present proceeding is hereby
affirmed.

HUGH M. BURNS, CHAIRMAN
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
APPEALS BOARD

We Concur:
Eugene V. .Lipp
Kay Valory

Sacramento, California
November 26, 1971

B-10 .

2

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
CERTIFICATE OF DECISION

File 30714

Reg. 11725 -
It is hereby certified that a Hearing
- Officer of the Office of Administrative Pro-
cedure having submitted the attached proposed
deciSion, and the Department of Alcoholic
Beverage Control, having reviewed the find-
ings of fact, determination of issues and
recommended penalty, adopted said proposed_
decision as its decision in the case therein
described on April 22, 1971.

A representative of the Department will
call on you on or after June 10, 1971 to -
pick up the license certificate,

>

Sacramento, California |
‘Dated: April 22, 1971 ~—

/s/ Dorothy Pierson

Hearing and) Legal Unit
-ABC-132 (1-67) ~ :
. |

“ Oe

a

90 & Me tie Hii comre

i
qreagete Ms ms MAL MOMLEE
* *\s OFAOL o ;
gine erie

0° OO EO ROTO OSE ee + + OF mee Orne nee ae tee eee = TP OP OT RO ree eee
6 “4 *¥V

; "080 LuNTEE TeaehCe

.

TWILL.

el Nl ct ct ate At te ab

—
Cc
. in
cc
ov“

s

z

-

oe + oe mom

onary so dileieeandeieane —--

“APPENDIX D

PGE ADI RN BGP tae OE ee oe ee

ee etree ee ————— <r re — ey eo o_o
;

a hishk'S OFFICE, SUPREME cou) |
4250 STATE BUILIwnsS

weer
asa 7 had this - fled en »*
fy |
. * -_ cry

~*~

» MOORE,

'

” GEARING DENIEL

BERRIEN

“4 ane No.329594
Grimes. .
|

.
* i ee . ee EP ery we — SOs er rer
-

vs. -
_o‘-s.0LL¢. Beverage inceah
Respeci/uciy,

G. E. BISHEL
_ Clirk /

ST eT ree F-

od

i
4
|
|

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0717%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
