# Memorandum — Masiello v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0606%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Memorandum
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 406 U.S. 917

## Text

he . Supyom? a“ i 5
: preteen OURT a : ts - < a se |
NA ah ak eee RRR 18 872
ad Boe aed mOHECL RODLK mR, (CLERK
No. 71-1092

on the Supreme swe of the ited Sie |

_OcroBer Tee, 1971

Svar OFrice: Bijan ‘COMPANY, ET AL., PETITIONERS
" Vv. |

FEperaL TRADE Comission

_ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPRALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE FEDERAL TRADE O(MISSION
'». IN OPPOSITION.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,

Solicitor General,
Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530.
RONALD M. DIETRICH, ° i bE RZ: ©
General Counsel,
Federdl Trade Commission, :
Washington, D.c. ;

ie gn the Supreme Gourt af the United Siti mn

~ OCTOBER TERM, 1971

- No. 71-1092

Star Orrice Suppty Company, ET AL., PETITIONERS
= 3
Feperan ‘Trape Comission

ON PETITION FOR A Ww RIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

|

MEMORANDUM FOR THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION
IN ‘OPPOSITION -— ‘

1. The Federal ° Trade Chaciieiion found that peti-
tioners, Star Office Supply C ompany and its president,
Henry Pinkwater, had engaged in unfair, false. mis-
leading and deceptive practices in the sale of office
supplies in violation of Section 5 of the Federal Trade
Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. 45, and entéred a ten para- .
graph cease-and-desist order (Pet, App. A 2, A 110-A -
112). The court of appeals affirmed from Se Leneh
~ without opinion (Pet. 5).

The evidence showed that petitioners solicited orders
for office supplies by telephoning ‘ ‘prospective pur-.
‘chasers and misrepresenting the nature of their busi-

(1)
463-190—72

‘

Cae IN ew UG aE

eS

- ness and their affiliations. Petitioners’ jobber-salesmen’
would frequently claim that they had. been recom-
mended by another official of the prospect’s firm; that
‘they were attempting to liquidate a relative’s station-

ery firm, and knew nothing of the business; and that
they Were affiliated with organizations such as Radio
Free Europe. None of these assertions was true. See

-e.g., Pet. App. A 45-A 46, A 58-A 59, A ob-A 61,

A 66-A 67.

There was also consider ‘able vitienee that petition-

ers deliberately shipped more merchandise to pur-

chasers than had been ordered (see, ¢.g., Pet. App. A

50, A 51, A 53, A 56-A 57, A 66,-A 70-A 71, A 75,

‘A 88). Frequently, the price of goods would be billed

at a higher amount than the purchaser had been led to
expect (see e.g., App. A 55-A 56, A 83). Merchandise

sold this way was often returned, but frequently a por-

tion of the order would be inadvertently used, or re-

tained, and paid for by the customer (App. A 51, A

53, A 56, A 57, A 60, A 73).
The Commission’s order (App. A 110-A 112) di-

rected petitioners to cease and desist such misrepre-_

sentations; to furnish purchasers with pre-shipment
written notification as to the type, quantity and price
of the supplies to be shipped (para. 7); not to deviate
from the pre-shipment written notification unless upon
express authorization of the purchaser (para. 8); and
not te thwart cancellation of any orders obtained in
violation of the cease and desist-order (para. 9).

2. Petitioners do not question the Commission’s
finding that their sales practices were unfair and de-

.
ND SALTS LMR ERR OR EN 5 UR e te et oat AF ONAL ly ed PAREN NECTAR GRC bit NS wehbe MEDS! Mian 8 ag

1 Ay tance ae on LAN ENR RIS =
' 3

ceptive in violation of Section 5 of the k ederal Trade
Commission Act; they contend only that paragraph 7
- of the order, requiring pre-shipment notification, was
‘improper (Pet. 2).-As this Court has repeatedly held,
the Commission has broad authority to determine the
type of order ‘‘necessary to cope with the unfair prac- |
tices found.” Federal Trade Commission v. Colgate-.
Palmolive Co., 380 U.S. 374, 392; Federal Trade
(fommission v. Ruberoid Co., 343 +8. 470, 473. Unless
the remedy selected “has no reasonable relation to the
unlawful practices found to exist,’ the courts ‘will
not interfere.’ Jacob Sicgel Co..v. Federal Trad
Commission, 327 U.S. 608, 613.

The remedy chosen here is r asonably related to
petitioners’ practice of shipping larger qui: untities of
merchandise than were ordered. As the Commission
explained (Pet. App. A 8-A 9), pre-shipment notifi-
cation will give customers ‘the opportunity to inform
petitioners of any variations between what was or-
dered and what petitioners intend to ship, and thus
protect customers against excess shi} vient or increased
prices. Indeed petitioners’ continued argument. in
ak of “*[S]chlock’ pressure metliods of competitive
selling” as “part of the enterprise energies in these
fields of American business * * *** (Pet. 9, emphasis
‘in original) demonstrates the Commission’s wisdom
in requiring a prophylactic vimele rather than a
‘mere order to desist.

Contrary to petitioners’ assertion (Pet. 6), t
Confmission’ s remedy here is not unique. The Fa
mission has frequently required violators of Section 5

j
7)

4

to take affirmative steps before making a sale to en-
sure that their customers are aware of the seller's
_ obligations; such orders have uniformly been upheld
by the courts. See, ¢.g., All-State Industrics of North
Carolina, Inc. v. Federal Trade Commission, 423 F. 2d
423 (C.A.°4), certiorari denied, 400 U.S. 828; Port-
wood v. Federal Trade Commission, 418 F. 24 419
(C.A. 10); § & S Pharmaceutical Co. v. Federal
Trade Commission, 408 F. 2d 487 (C.A. 5).

3. Petitioners allege that paragraph 7 is aAfrastic
remedy which will destroy their. business “‘within a
very short time” (Pet. 8). Even assuming that pre-

if need be, those businesses “‘which persist in prac- - .—

ticing them.”’ Slough v. Federal Trade Commission,
396 F. 2d 870, 872 (C.A. 5).

However, if the conditign proves too onerous peti-

apply the Commission for relief. If that

relief is denied, “must remember that

those caught violating the Act must expect some fene-—

in.” Federal Trade Commission v. National Lead

Co., 352. U.S. 419, 431. |

' Petitioners have used a quite similar proredure
(Pet A 99-4 9).

ET
| 5 ;
For the foregoing reasons the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be denied. |
Respectfully submitted.
. Enwis N. Griswow, |
n Solicitor General. ~ ;
Rowaty M. Dreraicn,

General Counsel, ©
Federal Trade Commission.

Aprit 1972.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0606%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
