# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Masiello v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0260%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 404 U.S. 1060

## Text

;

rh wren

oe. AYREON ORO YS wee Penn) PRI OT,

ee eid

MEMEO EE Ie CPN?

nov i2 1971
FE. ROS Unf ScAYER, CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Comt of the United States

Octoser TrRM, 1971
No. ..

a @W1- 656 :

Joun AnTHONY MASIELLO,
Joun A. Mastct1o, JR.,

Petitioners,

—V.—

Unrrep States oF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

SamvueEL DasH
Georgetown University
Law Center
600 New Jersey Ave., N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20001
Attorney for Petitioners

Opinions Below ....... ...

Jurisdiction ...

Constitutionai and Statutory Provisions Involved ........ 2
Questions Presented ...................-. 2
Statement of the Case ................... a ce
Reasons for Granting the Writ ........... on 12

I. Where the Government Conducted a Half-Year’s
Investigation of the Accused, Resulting in a De-
tailed 19 Count Indictment, Providing Specific
and Particular Information Concerning the Few
Checks Relevant to the Indictment Charges, the
Government’s Subsequent Warrantless General
Seizure of a Mass of Nearly 20,000 Cancelled
Business Checks From the Accused’s Business
Offices as an Incident to the Arrest of an Indicted
Defendant Found on the Premises Violated the
Accused’s Fourth Amendment Rights, Especially
When the Government Prearranged at the Time
of the Indictment to Not Obtain a Search War-
rant, But to Obtain Arrest Warrants, Instead,
and Make a Search and Seizure of the Accused’s
Business Records Incident to Any Arrest of an
Indicted Defendant They Might Be Able to Make
at the Business Premises a 13

If.

ITI.

CoNCLUSION

PAGE

a

Under Fourth Amendment Requirements, in a ~

Warrantless Search Incident to a Lawful Arrest,
Government Agents May Only Seize Evidence of
Crime and Not Likely Sources of Admissible
Evidence as Held by the Court of Appeals ........

he Court of Appeals Denied Petitioners Due
Process and the Effective Assistance of Counsel
When, After Ordering a Remand Hearing on the
Principal Appellate Issue of the Denial of Peti-
tioners’ Pre-Trial Motion to Suppress Evidence,
It Failed to Review the New and Relevant Evi-
dence Produced at the Remand Hearing and
When It Failed to Give Petitioners’ Counsel the
Opportunity to Expand the Record on Appeal
on the Basis of the Remand Evidentiary Hearing
and Present Additional Argument Relevant to
the New Record Before Making Its Decision
on the Merits of the Appeal ...

Appenpix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals Dated October 28, 1970 -..........

Appenpix B—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals Dated July 21, 1971

Appenpix C—Order of the United States Court of

Appeals

Appenpix D—Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

Involved. ............-..---

23

27

32

la

5a

8a

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Cases:
Agnello v. United States, 269 U.S. 20 (1925) —.000. 15
Barnard v. United States, 342 F.2d 309 (9 Cir. 1965) .. 29
Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 4i (1967) 20
Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886) ; 24
Caroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) 15
Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969) ........ 13, 15, 16, 18
Clarke v. Neil, 427 F.2d 1322 (6 Cir. 1970) 0... 26
Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196 (1947) 30
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, U.S. ——, 29 L. Ed.

2d 564, 91 S. Ct. 2022 (1971) 14, 15, 18
Douglas v. United States, 239 F.2d 52 (D.C. Cir. 1957) 29
Draper v. United States, 358 U.S. 307 (1959) _...... 16-17
Escobedo vy. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964) -....00.... 16
Frank v. Mangum, 237 U.S. 309 (1914) —...022 30
Frazier v. Cupp, Warden, 394 U.S. 731 (1968) -............. 26
Fuller v. United States, 407 F.2d 1199 (D.C. Cir. 1967) 26
Gouled v. United States, 255 U.S. 298 (1921) —2... 24, 25
Harris v. United States, 331 U.S. 145 (1947) —...2.. 16
Hemphill v. United States, 402 F.2d 187 (D.C. Cir.
a pr eromnen nn ixeeente? ‘ 29

Henderson v. United States, 425 F.2d 134 (5 Cir. 1970) 29
Hill v. California, U.S. ——, 28 L. Ed. 2d 484, 91
S. Ct. 1106 (1971) on 14, 16, 26

\
iv
PAGE
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) -....-..------------ 14
Kremen v. United States, 353 U.S. 346 (1957) -........--- 14
Marron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192 (1927) .........--- 15, 16
Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 IIE sanrsckcsiccsnii 16
McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948) ........ 14
McKnight v. United States, 183 F.2d 977 (D.C. Cir.
1950) ..n.eesescsccscesesceeesesseenessnsseceseneessnsesensnecseatesensnsnsenanatesectnes 21
Schmerber v. United States, 384 U.S. 757 (1966) ........ 17
Shorey v. Warden, 401 F.2d 474 (4 Cir. NI cctisckcsioia 26
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1968) -......-..------------- 26

Stone v. United States, 385 F.2d 713 (10 Cir. 1967) .... 26

United States v. Alloway, 397 F.2d 105 (6 Cir: 1968) .. 26
United States v. Bennett, 409 F.2d 885 (2 Cir. 1969) ..25, 26

United States v. Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452 (1931) -....... 22

United States v. MeKendrick, 409 F.2d 181 (2 Cir.
1969) ........- set igsedt pus enscraceeinaaneannnies 26
United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1949) ........ 17, 18
Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30 (1970) ........-----------------++ 17,18
Warden v. Hayd2n, 387 U.S. 294 (1967) ...........----. 14, 15, 20,
24, 25, 27

William. v. United States, —— U.S. ——, 28 L. Ed.
2d 388, 91 S. Ct. 1148 (1971) -.. ‘a 14

Constitutional Provisions:

United States Constitution

Fourth Amendment .... pecenenntaivins 2, 3, 12, 13, 14, 16,
20, 23, 24, 28, 30
Fifth Amendment ..... eee 2, 3, 12, 16, 31

Sixth Amendment spisabeeasauaal 2, 3, 12, 16, 30, 31

_v
PAGE

Statutes:
18 U.S.C. §201(b) ........... ae 2, 4
18 U.S.C. $371 Ss
18 U.S.C. $3231 2
28 U.S.C. §$1254(1) ...... 9

Rule:
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 11 ............ 30

|

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1971

A miedibesadaass

Joun Antony MAsIrEL1o,
Jouy A. Maste1o, Jr.,

Petitioners,

—V. -=

Usrrep States or America,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit affirming their criminal convictions.

OPINIONS BELOW

The first opiniun of the Court of Appeals remanding to
the United States District Court for the Southern District
of Nev, Yorx is reported at 434 F.2d 33. The second opin-
ion of the Court of Appeals affirming the judgment of the
District Court is reported at 445 F.2d 1324.

JURISDICTION

The first opinion of the Court of Appeals remanding
to the District Court was filed October 28, 1970, and is set
forth in Appendix A. The second opinion of the Court of
Appeals, affirming the judgment of the District Court, was
filed July 21, 1971. This opinion is set forth in Appendix B.
The Court of Appeals denied a petition for rehearing and
rehearing en bane on September 16, 1971; its orders are set
forth in Appendix C. The time for filing of this petition
was extended until November 15, 1971 by order of Justice
Marshall, entered October 13, 1971.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1). The jurisdiction of the District Court was based
on 18 U.S.C. $3231.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

(1) The Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments to the
United States Constitution.

(2) 18 U.S.C. §$§371 and 201(b).

These provisions are set forth in Appendix D to this
Petition.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a warrantless general seizure by federal
government agents of nearly 20,000 cancelled corporation
checks from an accused’s corporation offices on the basis
of a search incident to the lawful arrest of a corporation
employee found on the premises is violative of accused’s
Fourth Amendment rights when:

3

(a) prior to the search and seizure the government has
completed a half-year’s investigation of the accused and
obtained a detailed 19-count indictment against the accused
and others, including the arrested corporation employee,
providing the government with particular descriptions of
the five or six specifie checks constituting the principal
evidence supporting the charges in the indictment involv-
ing check payments, and when

(b) after the indictment is returned, despite their ability
to particularly describe the few checks supporting the
charges in the indictment, federal agents, acting under the
supervision of an assistant United States attorney, choose
not to apply for a search warrant, but obtain only arrest
warrants and go to accused’s business offices with a pre-
arranged plan to conduct a search as an incident to any
lawful arrest they might be able to make within the
premises?

2. Whether an accused’s Fourth Amendment rights are
violated when a mass of 20,000 cancelled corporation
checks, not identified on inspection by government agents
as evidence of crime, are seized without a search warrant
in aceused’s corporation offices by the agents a3 a likely
source of admissible evidence of crime, incident to a lawful
arrest of a corporation employee made on the premises?

3. Whether an accused’s Fifth and Sixth Amendment
rights are violated when a Court of Appeals after ordering
a remand evidentiary hearing on the government’s conduct
in a search and seizure of accused’s records, which pro-
duces an extensive new record of relevant credible evi-
dence, fails to review this new evidence and does not afford
defense an opportunity to expand the record on appeal,

4

based on the remand evidentiary hearing, and to present
additional argument, orally or by brief, before making its
decision on the appeal and filing its opinion affirming the
conviction based solely on a misleading and incomplete re-
port of the remand hearing judge?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, father and son, were each convicted of
one count of conspiracy to violate 18 U.S.C. §201(b)
which prohibits bribery of public officials. Petitioner John
Anthony Masiello was also convicted of six counts of
violating 18 U.S.C. §201(b) and Petitioner John A. Masi-
ello, Jr. was corvicted of three counts of violating 18 U.S.C.
§201(b). Petitioner John Anthony Masiello was sentenced
to terms of five years imprisonment on each count to run
concurrently and to pay a fine in the sum of $15,000.00.
Petitioner John A. Masiello, Jr. was sentenced to terms
of imprisonment of 3 years on each count to run concur-
rently and to pay a fine in the sum of $5,000.00. Petitioners
were tried jointly with the A.N.R. Leasing Corporation,
in which they were stockholders, severances having been
granted to Thomas A. McKeever, Isadore Kihl, Joseph A.
Maisto and Michael Albanese, listed as defendants in the
indictment. Another defendant named in the indictment,
Andrew Daly, withdrew his plea of not guilty, and entered
a plea of guilty to one count of conspiracy, and was sen-
tenced to two years probation and a fine in the sum of
$1,050.00.

Defendants Kihl, Daly, Maisto and Albanese were fed-
eral postal officials holding various supervisory positions
in the Motor Vehicle Operations Unit which concerned
itself with the movement of the mails by vehicle services

5

to various areas of the City of New York. (Tr. 28, 64, 71)?
The Petitioners and defendant McKeever through the
A.N.R. Corporation held contracts with the Motor Vehicle
Operations Unit for the leasing of trucks and trailers to
this unit. In essence the prosecution alleged a conspiracy
by these seven men and the corporation to give and re-
ceive bribes in the form of cash payments, free Floridag,
hotel vacations and other gifts for the purpose of assuring
that Petitioners’ corporation would receive special favors
and keep its leasing contracts with the post office.

The most significant documented evidence relating to
the conspiracy and bribery charges against Petitioners in-
volved the payment of Florida hotel bills for Kihl, Maisto
and Albanese by checks of the A.N.R. Corporation and
another related corporation at the instance of Petitioners
and a downpayment on an automobile for another postal
official of the Motor Vehicle Operations Unit, Michael
Dimasi,? by means of a check of the A.N.R. Corporation
signed by John A. Masiello, Jr These cancelled checks
(Gov. Exs. 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12; Tr. 173, 185) were intro-
duced in evidence against Petitioners over defense objec-

‘In this Statement of the Case references to the trial transcript

are cited as “Tr. __”. References to the first opinion of the

Court of Appeals are cited as“OA. ” and to the second opinion
of the Court of Appeals as “OR. ”. References to the remand
evidentiary hearing in the Distriet Court are cited as |

* Dimasi was not named in the indictment as a defendant and
the indictment included no reference to this payment.

* The government relied principally on the testimony of Michael
Daley and representatives from the Florida hotel and the auto-
mobile agency which sold Dimasi's ear. Daley was indicted as a
co-conspirator and had pled guilty, receiving a sentence of two
years probation. Thus, he was a corrupt source of evidence and
hichly suspect as a reliable witness. The other Witnesses could pro-
duce only circumstantial evidence. The checks, themselves, how-
ever, were the most damaging evidence against Petitioners since
they directly established the payments charged in the indictment.

6

tion on the ground that they were the subject of an illegal
search and seizure. (Tr. 174). They had been included
among 20,000 cancelled business checks seized en mass
without a warrant, on March 19, 1969, and carried away
by government agents from the offices of A.N.R. Corpo-
ration (Tr. 174; R.H. 34-36, 108). This seizure was made
es an incident to the lawful arrest of McKeever, an
employee of A.N.R. Corporation, who had entered the
business premises shortly before the government agents
conducted their raid (R.H. 200).

A pre-trial motion to suppress the seized evidence was
denied by District Judge Palmieri without a hearing on
July 1, 1969 (OA. 3a). On the basis of an affidavit pre-
sented by Petitioners describing the nature and scope of
the search and seizure to the Court of Appeals, on appeal
from the conviction, the Court of Appeals remanded the
ease to the District Court for an evidentiary hearing on
the motion to suppress and a report back to it, while it
continued to retain jurisdiction over the appeal. (OA. 4a)

On February 19 and 22, 1971 the remand hearing on
the motion to suppress was held by the District Court
trial judge producing a transcript of 245 typewritten
pages. After the hearing the District trial judge filed a
report opinion which in effect reaffirmed the denial of
Petitioners’ motion to suppress the evidence. United States
v. Masiello, et al., 330 F. Supp. 1269 (S.D.N.Y. 1971).
This report was filed, June 22, 1971, in the Court of Ap-
peals. The Court of Appeals affirmed Petitioners’ convic-
tions on July 21, 1971 on the basis of the report (OB. 5a-7a)
without affording defense counsel an opportunity to file
with it the expanded record created by the remand evi-
dentiary hearing and to present arguments, either orally

7

or by brief, against the position taken by the District Court
based on the expanded record.

The Court of Appeals acted unilaterally upon the receipt
of the report of the District Court, without having before
it the new factual record provided by the remand hearing
it, itself, had ordered.* Yet the facts uncovered by this re-
mand hearing are the very crux of this Petition.

On the basis solely of the testimony of the government
witnesses, who were credited by the District trial judge,°
the remand hearing revealed the following pertinent facts
which were substantially ignored in the report which the
District Court filed with the Court of Appeals.

The arrest of McKeever in the offices of the A.N.R. Leas-
ing Corporation, which was used by the government agents
as a basis -¢ seize without a warrant the 20,000 cancelled
checks, took place after a lengthy and careful government
investigation of Petitioners, McKeever, and a number of
federal postal officials, lasting at least six months, and after
the United States Attorney, as a result of this investigation,
had accumulated sufficient evidence, both testimonial and
documentary, to obtain on March 19, 1969, a 19-count de-
tailed indictment charging Petitioners and others with con-
spiracy and bribery.* (R.H. 7, 8, 17, 28).

* The docket entries in the Court of Appeals record only the filing
of the report of the District Court judge and not the transcript of
the remand hearing.

* This Petition relies only on the government’s testimony at the
remand hearing consistent with the District Court’s finding only
the government witnesses to be eredille and the reliance of the
Court of Appeals on the District Court's determination of the
credibility of witnesses. In the one exception where defense testi-
mony is referred to, this testimony only supplemented the govern-
ment testimony and is not in conflict with it.

® Petitioners were actually tried on another indictrent obtained
subsequent to the search of Petitioners’ business offices. Although

8

During the course of the six month investigation leading
up to the indictment, -sovernment agents had obtained com-
plete and particular knowledge of all the check payments
from Petitioners’ business operation made for the benefit
of specific...iy identified federal postal officials. These par-
ticular check payments were the subject of individual counts
in the indictment and constituted the only evidence of check
payments presented at the trial. These payments, which
constituted the most damaging evidence against Petitioners,
related to the Miami Beach, Florida hotel bills for three
postal officers, defendants Kihl, Maisto, and Albanese and
to the downpayment for an automobile for another postal
official, Michael Dimasi.

Concerning the hotel bills, government agents had ob-
tained, prior to the indictment, records of these transactions
from the Montmartre Hotel in Miami Beach, Florida, the
location of the vacation visits of the three postal officials.
The government’s principal witness at the remand hearing,
Postal Inspector O’Neil, specifically admitted this fact in
replying to the Assistant United States Attorney’s ques-
tions on direct examination:

“Q. And prior to March 19, 1969 [the date of the
first indictment], had you checked with the Mont-
martre Hotel in Florida with respect to any such
payments? A. Yes.

“Q. And had you obtained records from them relat-
ing to visits by people named Kihl, Maisto and Alba-
nese to the Montmartre Hotel, which had been paid
by A.N.R. or a related company? A. Yes.” (R.H. 17,
18) |

this indictment contained additional counts, it was not the product
of any new evidence obtained as a result of the search. The first
indictment was just as specific concerning the information pos-
sessed by the government prior to the search and seizure challenged
by Petitioners. (R.H. 67, 68)

9

As early as January, 1969, two months before the indici-
ment, government investigators had visited the Montmartre
Hote! in Florida and had inspected the exact hotel records
concerning the visits of Kihl, Maisto and Albanese and
the payments of their hotel bills. They had arranged for
the hotel to send xerox copies of these records to the postai
authorities in New York conducting the investigation.
Postal Inspector O’Neil supplied this information during
his cross examination as follows:

“Q. Somebody from your department had gone and
visited the Montmartre Hotel, right? A. Yes, sir.

“Q. And they came back with xerox copies of the
records of the Montmartre Hotel? A. No. I think
they mailed them back to me.

“Q. When were they in your possession prior to
March 19, 1969? A. Definitely prior to March 19, 1969.
I can’t give the exact date but several months prior
to that time.

I really think we had them in January of 1969
because there was a great commotion about inspectors
going to llorida in the winter time, so I am pretty
sure it was January 1969, that we got them back.”

(R.H. 62, 63)

These xeroxed copies of records, of which the originals
of some were admitted in evidence at the trial as govern-
ment exhibits 5, 6, and 7 (Tr. 138) contained detailed
information as to hotel visits by the postal official defen-
dants, including the dates of reservation, the check in and
check out dates and the dates the bills were paid out and
who paid them (Tr. 138-147). Indeed, the testimony of
Postal Inspector O’Neil at the remand hearing, established
that the government had even obtained a photostatic copy
of at least one of the specific corporation checks sent by

10

Petitioners to the Montmartre Hotel in payment of one of
the bills specified in the indictment. (R.H. 18).

With regard to Dimasi’s car, the government investiga-
tors had learned prior to the indictment that Dimasi had
put up a $1,000.00 downpayment on a new car and that
after the A.N.h. postal contract had been cancelled one of
the LTetitioners was overheard telling the other to “stop
payment on Dimasi’s car.” (R.H. 20).

Thus, when the indictment of March 19, 1969, was re-
turned by the grand jury, the only documentary evidence
in Petitioners’ posscssion that the government needed to
support the charges in the indictment were the few checks
referred to above. It is clear fiom the remand hearing that
the government agents had specific information as to the
date and payee of each check to the Florida hotel. From
the thoroughness of the investigation, there can be little
doubt that the agents also had such knowledge concerning
the Dimasi car payment. Having questioned Dimasi (R.H.
20), they must have known when the car was purchased
and from what automobile agency, and would have had
access to the records they needed to pinpoint the check.

This, then, is the posture of the government’s position
on the basis of its own testimony with regar/ to its knowl-
edge of the relevant documentary evidence in Petitioners’
possession on March 19, 1969 before they raided Peti-
tioners’ corporation offices on the basis of arrest warrants.
Moreover, government testimony at the remand hearing
reveals additional critical information relevant to the issues
raised by this Petition which is not found in the report of
the District trial judge and which therefore could not have
been considered by the Court of Appeals.

Postal Inspector O’Neil, who was in charge of the investi-
gation of Petitioners, testified that based on discussions

11

he had on the day the indictment was returned and possibly
two or three days before that day, with the assistant U.S.
Attorney who secured the indictment, it was planned that
postal agents would obtain arrest warrants and go to the
business offices of Petitioners for the purpose of searching
for the checks and other records related to the indictment,
and “whatever else might have been involved”, as an inci-
dent to any arrest they might be able to make on the busi-
ness premises. Postal Inspector O’Neil’s testimony, on
direct examination, concerning this prearrangement was
as follows:

“Q. Did you have any conversation with Assistant
United States Attorney Zirin before the arrest on the
subject uf whether or not, were anyone arrested at
A.N.R., any documents could be seized? A. Yes.

“@. And specifically what did you discuss with
Assistant United States Attorney Zirin on that sub-
ject? A. The discussion was concerned with the prob-
ability, or if somecue in the indictment was at 149th
Street, that we would look for and search for A.N.R.
records relative to automotive payments, or motor
vehicle payments, and ary checks which would indicate
payments for postal employees on trips or vacations,
or whatever else may have heen involved.

“Q. When had you had such discussions with. United
States Attorney Zirin? A. Some of it on the morning
that the indictment was returned, possibly two or three
days before that, at or about our last conference.”
(R.H. 21, 22) (emphasis supplied). ;

Indeed, Inspector MeFadden, who was under the super-
vision of Postal Inspector O’Neil, testified at the remand
hearing that on March 19, 1971, prior to the return of the
indictment, O’Neil had instructed him to drive his ear to
Petitioners’ corporation offices in advance of the other
agents and to wait there until the others arrived (R.H.

12

105). McFadden testified that he expected to engage in a
search of the business offices and seize records at the time
of any arrest and that he carried with him three large
empty cartons in his ear in case they would be needed (R.H.
115). According to the government testimony at the re-
mand hearing, these cartons were in fact needed and were
used to carry away large quantities of Petitioners’ busi-
ness records. With regard to the quantity of records seized,
the remand hearing revealed that the government agents
(who had arrived at the A.N.R. offices in three cars (R.H.
231)) called for a station wagon to carry away the papers
seized—the post office sent a truck. (R.H. 45, 46).

Postal Inspector O'Neil testified at the remand hearing
that he either did not discuss or could not recall discussing
with the assistant U.S. Attorney in charge of the grand
jury the question of obtaining a search warrant and that,
in fact, he did not seek to obtain one. (R.H. 70-73).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case raises novel, important and timely questions
concerning the Fourth Amendment requirement of prior
judicial authority for a search and seizure decided by the
Court of Appeals in a way in conflict with applicable de-
cisions of this Court; the compatability with the Fourth
Amendment of the Court of Appeals’ extending this Court’s
ruling permitting the warrantless seizure of “mere evi-
dence” of crime incident to a lawful arrest to include the
seizure of a “likely source of admissible evidence”; and
the incompatability with the Fifth and Sixth Amendments
of the Court of Appeal’s failure to review credible new and
crucial evidence produced at a remand hearing ordered by
the Court of Appeals on the issue of the denial without a

13

hearing of a pre-trial motion to suppress evidence and the
failure of the Court of Appeals to give defense the oppor-
tunity to present argument on the basis of this new record
before rendering its decision on the appeal over which it
had retained jurisdiction.

I,

of an Indicted Defendant They Might Be Able to Make
at the Business Premises.

This is a case of first impression before this Court in-
volving a warrantless search and seizure of a massive num-
ber of cancelled business checks as a likely source of ad-
missible wvidence of a federal crime under, the pretext of a
search incident to a lawfu! arrest, after the investigative
process had terminated and the Petitioners had been in-
dicted. That this case is governed by standards applicable
prior to the ruling in Chimel y. California, 395 U.S. 752
(1969) is not relevant. The questions presented by this

14

Petition are completely different from those resolved by
this Court in Williams v. United States, —— U.S. ——, 28
L. Ed. 2d 388, 91 S. Ct. 1148 (1971) and in Hill v. California,
— US. ——, 28 L. Ed. 2d 484, 91 S. Ct. 1106 (1971). The
basic question raised here is not the spacial scope of such a
search incident to lawful arrest, or the contents scope of
such a search under the ruling of this Court in Kremen v.
United States, 353 U.S. 346 (1957). Rather it is whether
under the factual circumstances of this case there could be
any search at all without a search warrant.

This court has repeatedly stated the rule mandated by
the history and language of the Fourth Amendment that a
search without prior judicial authority is unreasonable per
se unless it falls within certain carefully drawn exceptions
based on exigent circumstances. McDonald v. United
States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948); Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S.
294 (1967) ; Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967). Re-
cently, in Coolidge v. New Hampshire, US. ——, 29
L. Ed. 2d 564, 91 S. Ct. 2022 (1971), the Court again em-
phasized this principle, stating:

“Thus the most basic constitutional rule in this area is
that ‘searches conducted outside the judicial process,
without prior approval by judge or magistrate, are per
se unreasonable under the 4th Amendment—subject
only to a few specifically established and well delineated
exceptions.’ The exceptions are ‘jealously and carefully
drawn.’ and there must be ‘a showing by those who
seek exemption . . . that the exigencies of the situation
made the course imperative.’ ‘(T]he burden is on those
seeking the exemption to show the need for it.’ In times
of unrest, whether caused by crime or racial conflict
or fear of interna! subversion, this basic law and the
values it represents may appear unrealistic or ‘extrava-
gant’ to some. But the values were those of the authors

7 fg a aammuaaanc aaa eae naan meee

15

of our fundamental constitutional concepts. In times
not altogether unlike our own they won—by legal and
constitutional means in England, and by revolution on
this continent—a right of personal security against
arbitrary intrusions by official power. If times have
changed, reducing everyman’s scope to do as he pleases,
in an urban and industrial world, the changes have
made the values served by the 4th Amendment more,
not less, important.” (footnoted citation of authorities
omitted) 29 L. Ed. at 576, 91 S. Ct. at 2039.

As noted by this Court in Coolidge, the few exceptions to
the warrant requirement for a search recognized by this
Court have been based on exigent circumstances such as
(1) the probable cause search of a moving vehicle (Caroll
v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925)); (2) the probable
cause search in hot pursuit of a felon (Warden v. Hayden,
387 U.S. 294 (1967)); and (3) a search incident to a lawful
arrest, (Agnello v. U.S., 269 U.S. 20 (1925); Marron v.
U.S., 275 U.S. 192 (1927)).

The instant ease confronts only one of the recognized
exceptions to the search warrant requirement—the search
incident to a lawful arrest. It is submitted that this ex-
ception rests on exigent circumstances no less than the
others. This was pointed out by Mr. Justice White in his
dissenting opinion in Chimel.

“The only issue is whether a search warrant was re-
quired as a pre-condition to that search. It is agreed
that such a warrant would be required absent exigent
circumstances. I would hold that the fact of an arrest
supplies such an exigent circumstance, since the police
have lawfully gained entry to the premises to effect
the arrest and since delaying the search to secure a

warrant would involve the risk of not recovering the
fruits of the crime.” 395 U.S. at 781.

16

Indeed, in the cases in which this Court has upheld a search
and seizure incident to a lawful arrest, exigent cireum-
stances were always present’ and they involved pre-indict-
ment searches and seizures, while the investigative process
was still underway. See Marron v. United States, supra
(crime committed in presence of officers and seizure made
to prevent destruction of evidence); Harris v. United
States, 331 U.S. 145 (1947) (to prevent destruction of evi-
dence and government property) ; Draper v. United States,

* The two basic exigencies often pointed to by this Court in its
decisions upholding a search incident to a lawful arrest in cases
prior to (himel are the safety of the arresting officer and the po-
tential destruction of evidence. This Court in Chimel found that
these two exigencies could be met by restricting the warrantless
search to the area within the physica! control of the person ar-
rested. Nevertheless, in a case judged by pre-Chimel standards,
such as the instant case, there still must be present these same
exigencies, even though the spacial scope allowed the officers to
meet them is much broader. See Hill v. California, —— U.S. .
91 S. Ct. 1106, 28 L. Ed. 2d 484 (1971).

* Of course, it is not suggested that searches incident to a lawful
arrest may not be made after the completion of the investigative
process and the return of an indictment. The obvious exigency in
such a case would be the protection of the officer's safety, allowing
the search for a weapon. Plain view seizures of contraband or
evidence of crime should also not be affected by the stage in which
the case is in at the time of arrest. But it is submitted that a
warrantless search for mere evidence aficr an indictment has been
returned would require some special exigency justification. which
was clearly not present in the instant case. This Court has pro-
vided different standards when the case has left the investigative
and reached the pest indictment stage. Massiah v. United States,
377 U.S. 201 (1964). Mr. Justice Stewart, dissenting in Escobedo
v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964) stated that his position would have
been different if there had been an indictment because “under our
system of criminal justice the institution of indictment . . . marks
the point at which a criminal investization has ended and ad-
versary litigation proceedings have commenced.” Although thes:
eases dealt with Sixth and Fifth Amendment richts, their anplica-
tion to Fourth Amendment rights would appear valid under the
factual circumstances revealed at the remand evidentiary hearin -
in the instant case where the indictment did in fact wark the point
in which the criminal investigation ended.

17

358 U.S. 307 (1959) (to protect safety of officers and pre-
vent destruction of evidence) ; Schmerber v. United States,
384 U.S. 757 (1966) (to prevent the loss of ev idence) ;
United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1949) (to permit
officers flexibility in a fast moving investigation as to when
and how to “close the trap” in an on-going criminal activity
and to prevent destruction of evidence).

Petitioners contend that the instant case is separate and
distinct from all of the cases in which this Court has upheld
a search incident to a lawful arrest. Absent completely here
are any exigent circumstances. ‘lo the contrary arrest
warrants used by the government agents were employed
primarily as search instruments in a calculated effort to
take advantage of an exception to the warrant requirement
narrowly drawn by this Court to provide “some flexibility
[for] law officers engaged in daily battle with criminals.”
Rabinowitz, supra 339 U.S. at 65. In two ree: ut analogous
cases in a different context, this Court has insisted that
search warrant procedures be followed in situations where
the officers planned in advance to make a search for evi-
dence and had appeared or had ample time to appear before
a judge to obtain arrest warrants. In Vale vy. Louisiana,
399 U.S. 30 (1970), the arrest was made outside the prem-
ises which were subsequently searched. Holding that these
circumstances precluded a warrantless search of the prem-
ises, this Court in its opinion emphasized the officers’ pre-
arrangement to conduct a search as a basis for their finding
tiiat a search warrant was required. The Court stated:

“The officers were able to procure two arrest warrants
for the appellant’s arrest. They also had information
that he was residing at the address where they found
him. There is no reason, so far as anything before
us appears, to suppose that it was impractical for

18

them to obtain a search warrant as well.” 399 U.S.
at 35

In Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra, the police had
reason to believe that a specific automobile had been used
in the rape-murder of a 14-year old girl. After a careful
and extended investigation, the police decided to arrest
the owner of the automobile and to seize the automobile.
They obtained an arrest warrant for Coolidge and a search
warrant for the automobile. However this Court found
the search warrant illegal, because it had not been issued
by an independent judicial officer

Reviewing the seizure of the automobile as a warrantless
one, where no exigent circumstances existed, Mr. Justice
Stewart, for the majority of the Court restated the legal
principle so pertinent to the instant case:

“But where the discovery is anticipated, where the
police know in advance the location of the evidence
and intend to seize it . . . [t]he requirement of a
warrant to seize imposes no inconvenience whatever,
or at least none which is constitutionally cognizable
in a legal system that regards warrantless searches
as “per se unreasonable’ in the absence of ‘exigent
circumstances.’” 29 L. Ed. at 585, 91 S. Ct. at 2040

Thus, this is not a case of passing on whether law offi-
cers made the right decision in proceeding by an arrest
warrant rather than a search warrant to “close the trap”
in a quickly developing investigation of “a criminal com-
mitting a crime in their presence or who they have rea-
sonable cause to believe is committing a felony” as in
Rabinowitz. Nor is it an example of the exigent circum-
stances supplied by the fact of the arrest referred to by
Mr. Justice White in his dissenting opinion in Chimel,
supra.

—-2

19

The instant case, to the contrary, involved an investiga-
tion lasting a half year, resulting in a detailed 19 count
indictment (R.H. 7, 8, 17, 28), where the government agents
had acquired all of the particular knowledge they needed
to specifically identify in an affidavit for a search warrant,
the few checks relevant to support specific and detailed
charges in the indictment months before they raided Peti-
tioners’ business offices under the pretuxt of making an
arrest (R.H. 17, 18, 62, 63). Prior to that raid, the prin-
cipal government witness at the remand hearing admitted
he had the pre-planned intention to make an exploratory
search of Petitioners’ business premises without a search
warrant, and as an incident to any arrest they might be
able to make on the premises with arrest warrants issued
on the basis of the indictment. (R.H. 21, 22)

The government agents sought to explain their proceed-
ing by arrest warrants afte: the indictment had been re-
turned on the ground that one of the Petitioners had been
convicted some years ago of smuggling and that the other
was under indictment on a charge of assault. (R.H. 11,
12)° However, they surely had this information months
before the indictment when they had already accumulated
more than sufficient evidence from their investigation to
obtain arrest warrants for Petitioners. If they believed it
was necessary to arrest Petitioners for the purpose of
placing them under some constraints, they could have easily
done so at least two months prior to their raid of Peti-
tioners’ business offices, and at the same time could have
obtained a search warrant to seize the specific checks of
which they had detailed kno .,ledge.

*This explanation avoids the main question—it provides no
reason why the officers could not have also obtained a search war-
rant when they were before the judge obtaining arrest warrants.

20

It is submitted that the government agent’s explanation
for proceeding by arrest warrant after the indictment was
nothing more than a sham, and that what the government
planned to do, as the principal government witness so tes-
tified at the remand hearing, was to engage in a search
of Petitioners’ business premises upon receipt of the in-
dictment using an arrest warrant as the vehicle for such
a search, rather than comply with the Fourth Amendment
requirement of obtaining a search warrant. One need not
speculate as to the government’s strategy. Under the
charges of the indictment, and the information they had
from their investigation, they could particularly describe
only five or six checks which were the subject of the perti-
nent indictment charges. A search warrant for such checks
would, of course, be restricted and would be confined, as
it properly should, to the particular things to be seized
under the charges in the indictment. See Berger v. New
York, 388 U.S. 41 (1967).

However it is clear from the testimony of the govern-
ment witnesses at the remand hearing, that they preferred
to engage in an exploratory search of all of the cancelled
business checks possessed by Petitioners covering the four-
year period of the conspiracy charge for the purpose of
engaging in a fishing expedition to learn whether Peti-
tioners had been involved in any other criminal conduct
with postal officers. (R.H. 21, 22). This they were not
entitled to do. Cf. Warden v. Hayden, supra.

Further insight into the government’s strategy in its
raid of Petitioners’ business offices based solely on arrest
warrants is provided by Postal Inspector O’Neil’s instruc-
tion to Inspector McFadden to “go up to 149th Street
[Petitioners’ offices] and wait for them [the other agents]
to come”, given prior to the return of the indictment and

21

the securing of arrest warrants. (R.H. 105) O’Neil’s in-
struction to McFadden is unexplainable, unless McFadden
was to act as a “spotter” for any indicted defendant en-
tering the offices. That he may have served this purpose
is indicated by his informing O’Neil, when O’Neil arrived,
that he had “seen John Masiello, Sr. at the window of a
restaurant across the street from the Masiello offices”
(R.H. 23), and the testimony at the remand hearing
that the raiding party entered the offices shortly after
McKeever, the defendant actually arrested on the prem-
ises, had arrived in the office (R.H. 200).

A timed arrest of an accused for the purpose of appre-
hending him when he is in the premises the law enforce-
ment officers wish to search, when the acensed could have
readily been apprehended at a different time and place,
presents a constitutional bar to a search incident to such
an arrest. McKnight v. U.S., 183 F.2d 977 (CA DC 1950).
Speaking directly to the use of such a timed arrest as a
means of making a search of the premises incident to it,
Judge Edgerton stated in McKnight:

“We think this a plain violation of the prohibition in
the Fourth Amendment of the Constitution against un-
reasonable searches and seizures. The government ar-
gues that what it aptly calls a ‘police strategem’, wait-
ing until McKnight was in the locked house before
arresting him justified the police in breaking into the
house in order to arrest him and seize evidence. We
think this untenable.” 183 F.2d at 978

Postal Inspector O’Neil testified that when he arrived at
the .Petitioners’ offices ke did not know who was inside.
(R.H. 23) Had the Court of Appeals reviewed the testi-
mony produced at the remand hearing it may have decided
that the record did not support O’Neil’s statement, despite

22

its adherence, in gereral, to the rule that the credibility of
the witnesses is a matter for the hearing judge to determine.

The Court has clearly indicated that a search incident to
an arrest may not be broader than that which would be
permitted L; a search warrant based on the knowledge in
the possession of the government agents. United States v.
Lefkowitz, 285 U.S. 452 (1931). The resultant seizure by
the government agents of 20,000 checks when they could
only lawfully search for and seize five or six checks that
were relevant to the charges ecvered by the indictment
makes the intention of the raiding government agents abun-
dantly clear. The deception perpetrated by the government
agents is manifestly demonstrated by the testimony of
Postal Inspector O’Neil at the remand hearing where he
testified that he seized the 20,000 cheeks after he had begun
to look through some of them and decided “there were so
many checks that I just gave up.” (R.H. 58).

In light of the fact that the same gover:ment agent had
testified at the same hearing that months before the indiet-
ment he had obtained xerox copies of the exact Florida
hotel records relating to the hotel bill payments which were
the basis of the principal charges against Petitioners (R.H.
17, 18, 62), and that he had even obtained at least one photo-
static copy of one of the checks (R.H. 18), his statement
that he had to seize the entire 20,000 checks because of any
difficulty in finding what he was lookin« for is incredible on
its face. He need not have bothered with 20,000 checks—he
could have readily gone directly to the checks of the specific
dates in his possession, made out to the particular payee
hotel he krew about from his investigation. Indeed as to
one of the checks, he could have quickly found it by means
of its number, since he had a photostatie copy of the check
(R.H. 18).

23

It is especially significant that the District trial] judge,
who presided over the remand hearing aad heard the testi-_
mony velating to the government investigation and the in-
formation the government agents had, omitted any refer- .
ence to this evidence in his report to the Court of Appeals.
Worse, even, he reinforced the argument of the government
that it needed to seize all of the 20,000 checks by quoting
in his report opinion to the Court of Appeals Postal In-
spector O’Neil’s patently incredible excuse for not seizing
the specific checks of which he had particular knowledge.
(330 F. Supp. at 1271). This distortion of the evidence by
the District trial judge in his report becomes especially
cruciai to this Petition, again because the Court of Appeals
did not have the transcript of the evidentiary remand hear-
ing before it when it affirmed the convictions on the basis
of the District Court’s report.

Il.

Under Fourth Amendment Kequirements, in a War-
rantless Search Incident to a Lawful Arrest, Government
Agents May Only Seize Evidence of Crime and Not
Likely Sources of Admissible Evidence as Held by the
Court of Appeals.

Kven on the basis cf the government’s theory that the
government agents in the instant case could make a war-
rantless search of Petitioners’ business premises incident to
the lawful arrest of McKeever, under no valid application
of the rulings of this Court could they seize the rass of
20,000 checks. When inspected by the agents at the time
of seizure, this large quantity of cancelled business checks
contained in 12 cartons was not recognized or determined
by the agents to be evidence of any federal crime.

The Court of Appeals justified the seizure of these checks
and the other business records on the ground that they were
“likely sources of admissible evidence of crime.” (OB. Ga)
(emphasis suppiied). In so holding, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the Court below misapplied the rulings of this
Court relating to a warrantless seizure of “mere evidence”
incident to a lawful arrest. This Court has stressed that
all that can be seized in such a case is evidence of crime,
not “likely sources” of evidence. C/. Warden v. Hayden,
supra.

Indeed, prior to Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967),
it was the consistent position of this Court that the only
items that covld be validly seized under a search warrant,
or in the exceptional case of a warrantless search incident
to a lawful arrest, were those things which the government
had a paramount right to possess, such as contraband in-
struments of the crime, or stolen goods. Boyd v. United
Stotes, 116 U.S. 616 (1850); Gouled v. United States, 255
U.S. 298 (1921).

In Warden this Court abandoned the property concept
of search anc seizure supported by Gouled and emphasized
that the Fourth Amendment protects privacy rather than
property. Thus, the Court authorized the seizure of “mere
evidence” of crime provided the other requirements of the
Fourth Amendment are met.

But this Court in Wer.’en, in expanding the right of law
enforcement officers to seize “mere evidence” of crime, did
not permit the much broader search and seizure of likely
sources of admissible evidence of crime which was ex-
pressly approved by the Court of Appeals in affirming Peti-
tioners’ convictions. Indeed, in Warden, the permitted
seizure was only of the clothes which matched the descrip-

tion of those worn by the fleeing robber, not of a mass of

clothes which woul be a “likely source” of finding the
clothes worn by thé@ 2.

In rejecting the “instrumentality” concept, the Court in
Warden recognized that its new “mere evidence” rule pre-
sented the problems of a broader search involving greater
invasions of privacy thar were possible under the Gouled
rule. But since the Court’s ruling applied only to actual
evidence of crime the Court considered this not to be of
real concern, stating:

“The requirements of the 4th Amendment can secure

the same protection of privacy whether the search is
for ‘mere evidence’ or for fruits, instrumentalities or
contraband. There must of course be a nexus—auto-
matically provided in the case of fruits, instrumentali-
ties or contraband--between the item to be seized and
criminal behavior. Thus in the case of ‘mere evidence’
probable cause must be examined in terms of cause
to believe that the evidence sought will aid in a par-
ticular apprehension or conviction.” 387 U.S. at 306”

Subsequent to Warden in cases involving the seizure of
mere evidentiary items, as distinguished from contraband,
instrumentalities or the fruits of crime, this Court and
lower federal courts have only upheld the seizure of items
identifiable as evidence of crime. A number of these cases,
similar to Warden involved the warrantless seizure incident
to a lawful arrest of specific items or clothing which had
been described or identified prior to or at the time of the
seizure and which directly related to identifying the ac-
cused as being involved in the crime charged. See eg.

nett, 409 F 2d 885, 897 (CA. 2 1969), per J Friendly, at least
that the boundary of the “mere ” rule set forth
in Warder awaited “elaboration by the Court.

Frazier v. Cupp, Warden, 394 U.S. 731 (1968); Stone v.
United States, 385 F.2d 713 (CA. 10 1967); United States
v. Alloway, 397 F.2d 105 (CA. 6 1968); Shorey v. Warden,
401 F.2d 474 (CA. 4 1968); Fuller v. United States, 407
F.2d 1199 (CA. DC 1967); United States v. McKendrick,
409 F.2d 181 (CA. 2 1969); Clarke v. Neil, 427 F.2d 1322
(CA. 6 1970). It is noteworthy that in the recent case of
Hill v. California, supra, the seizure of “mere evidence”
approved by this Court involved 2 pages of a diary which
the officers recognized as evidence of the crime charged.
They did not seize the entire diary."

Of special significance is the language in a concurring
opinion in Stanley +. Georgia, 394 US. 557, 569 (1968).
The item seized was a role of film—analogous in the instant
case to the mass of 20,000 checks. Rejecting the validity of
the seizure of this film as evidence of crime, Justice Stewart
joined by Justices White and Brennen, stated:

“This is not a case where agents in the course of a

27

time of their seizure, could not be seized under the “mere
evidence” rule of Warden v. Hayden, supra. The effort of
the Court below to extend Warden to seizures of “likely
sources of admissible evidence” is not supported by any
ruling of this Court, but on the contrary directly conflicts
with this court’s stated purpose in Warden to restrict the
seizures to only reievant evidence of the crime charged.

and the Effective Assistance of Counsel When, After
Ordering a Remand Hearing on the Principal Appellate
Issue of the Denial of Petitioners’ Pre-Trial Motion to
Suppress Evidence, It Failed to Review the New and
Relevant Evidence Produced at the Remand Hearing and
When It Failed to Give Petitioners’ Counsel the Oppor-
tunity to Expand the Record on Appeal on the Basis of
the Remand Evidentiary Hearing and Present Addi-
tional Argument Relevant to the New Record Before
Making Its Decision on the Merits of the Appeal.

The principal issue raised by Petitioners on appeal was
the denial without a hearing of their pre-trial motion to
suppress, chailenging the warrantless seizure of a mass of
20,000 cancelled corporation checks and other business
records from their corporation offices. Unaware of the
factual background of this search and seizure because of
the denial of a hearing, Petitioners’ counsel restricted their
argument on appeal to the spacial and content scope of the
warrantless search of the offices and the massive seizure of
business records. On the basis of an affidavit submitted
by an employee of Petitioners concerning the scope of the
search and seizure, the Court of Appeals ordered a remand

28

evidentiary hearing on the search and seizure issue to be
conducted by the trial judge. The Court of Appeals re-
tained jurisdiction over the appeal and ordered the District
trial judge to report back to it after the hearizg. (OA.
4a).

On the basis of the testimony of the government wit-
nesses, which the trial judge found credible, new and
crucial evidence was produced raising the issues discussed
in Argument I of this Petition (p. 13). Of course, the
Court of Appeals had not had an opportunity prior to
the remand hearing to review these new facts and issues
any more than did Petitioners’ counsel.

Despite this new evidence, the trial judge found no vio-
lation of Fourth Amendment rights in the search and
seizure conducted by the government agents and wrote
a report opinion to the Court of Appeals which excluded
any reference to the extensive evidence produced at the
hearing which Petitioners consider essential to their Fourth
Amendment question on appeal. To the contrary, the trial
judge in his report opinion endorsed the reasons presented
by the government agents concerning why they proceeded
by arrest warrants alone, despite the patent sham of their
action (330 F. Supp. at 1270). The trial judge also re-
inforced the government’s chief witnesses’ explanation of
why he found it necessary to seize the mass of 20,000
checks by quoting this explanation with approval in his
opinion even though he had heard other testimony of this
same witness which made that explanation incredible on
its face (330 F. Supp. at 1271).

Thus the Court of Appeals was only made aware of the
Government's testimony concerning the scope of their
search and seizure through the report opinion and was

29

left in the dark concerning the new and critical facts rais-
ing issues which could not have been presented to it during
the appeal preceding the remand hearing. In reviewing
the report opinion of the trial judge, the Court of Appeals
‘is quite right in stating that the issue of credibility of
the witnesses is for the trial judge to determine. But the
Court of Appeals cannot avoid the responsibility of de-
ciding whether the credible evidence supported the findings
of the trial judge on the facts and the law. Cf. Douglas v.
United States, 239 F.2d 52 (CA D.C. 1957); Barnard
v. United States, 342 F.2d 309 (CA 9 1965); Hemphill v.
United States, 402 F.2d 187 (CA D.C. 1968); Henderson
v. United States, 425 F.2d 134 (CA 5 1970).

Because of the extent of the new evidence, producing
a transcript of 245 typewritten pages, Petitioners’ counsel
was fully confident they would have an opportunity to
file a supplemental appendix, additiona: briefs and present
oral argument to the Court of Appeals after it received
the remand report. Counsel stated to the Court of Ap-
peals in the Petition for a Rehearing and for a Hearing
en Banc that he had been informed by a clerk of the Court
of Appeals that “in view of the fact that additional evi-
dence had been adduced pursuant to the mandate of this
Court at an evidentiary hearing upon a motion to suppress
evidence, that a brief and record of such evidentiary hear-
ing could be submitted to this Court and that no decision
would be rendered until such an opportunity had been
afforded.” (Appellants’ Petition for Rehearing, p. 2)
Indeed, Petitioners’ counsel and an assistant United States
Attorney were in the midst of discussing the content of
the supplemental appendix, when the Court of Appeals
filed its opinion affirming the conviction on the basis of
the remand report alone.

30

Thus Petitioners have been denied their due process
rights to a full appellate review of their principal issue
on appeal and the effective assistance of counsel to pre-
sent the fundamental questions raised by the remand evi-
dentiary hearing concerning the violation of Petitioners’
Fourth Amendment rights.

It is untenable that a remand evidentiary hearing be-
lieved necessary by the Court of Appeals to resolve an
important appellate issue, which produces an extensive
new record, is of no relevance to the Court of Appeals in
making its final decision. Certainiy, where a Court of
Appeals has taken jurisdiction over an appeal involving
a substantial issue of law, and finds that it lacks a suffi-
cient evidentiary record to resolve that issue, requiring
it to remand the case for an evidentiary hearing, basic
concepts of due process and Sixth Amendment rights
should impose a duty on the Court of Appeals to have
the expanded record brought before it and to afford coun-
sel the opportunity to argue any new issues or facts which
were produced by the remand hearing. Cf. Frank v.
Mangum, 237 U.S. 309, 327 (1914); Cole v. Arkansas,
333 U.S. 196, 201 (1947).

There appears to be no federal decisional or statutory
law or rule of court providing any guidelines for the pro-
tection of these rights today. A random inquiry made of
a number of clerks of Courts of Appeals in different cir-
cuits indicates that in some cirenits Rule 11 of the Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure has been informally applied
for the purpose of having the remand hearing record
certified up to the Court of Appeals. It appears to be
the general practice that where substantial issues are in-
volved and the remand hearing produces an extensive
record of new evidence, as occurred in the instant case,

31

the Court of Appeals makes some provision for the ex-
pansion of the record on appeal based on the remand hear-
ing and affords counsel the opportunity to argue the new
facts and issues.

This should clearly be the rule generally consistent with
Fifth and Sixth Amendment rights. The present abseace
of any rules dealing with procedures following the order-
ing by a Court of Appeals of a remand evidentiary hear-
ing leaves the protection of an appellant’s right to effective
assistance of counsel up to the whim of an individual panel
of a Court of Appeals. It also results in a lack of uni-
formity throughout the circuits on a matter that should
be treated the same way by every circuit, regardless of
its size or particular needs and problems.

It is respectfully submitted that, in the instant case,
this Court should at least remand this case to the Court
of Appeals for the purpose of permitting a full appellate
review of the issues raised by Petitioners’ which are based
on the Government’s testimony adduced at the remand
hearing. Such a remand should include an expansion of
the record on appeal to include the relevant portions of
the transcript of the remand hearing and the opportunity
for counsel to present argument, either orally or by brief,
on the new facts and issues.

Since the Federal Rules provide no guidelines concern-
ing the procedures which should follow a remand eviden-
tiary hearing, this Court might consider for the purpose
of future cases, and the achievement of uniformity, the
reference of this matter to the Judicial Conference for
the development of appropriate rules to aid the Courts
of Appeals in each of the circuits.

SS Ne en Lt SE

"32

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

SaMveEL DasH
Georgetown University
Law Center
600 New Jersey Ave., N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20001
Attorney for Petitioners

n
a
_
-
a
z
ne
Be
Ba
<

la

APPENDIX A
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
Dated October 28, 1970
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Seconp Circuit

—
~

No. 97—September Term, 1970.
(Argued September 15, 1970 Decided October 28, 1970.)

Docket No 34769
7

_

Unitep States or AMERICA,
Appellee,
v.

JOHN ANTHONY MASIELLO, JoHN A. MasIELLo, JR.,
Defendant-A ppellants,

Tuomas A. McKesver, Istoore Kiuu, a/k/a Grorce Kraut,
Anprew Dany, JosepH A. Maisto, MicHarL ALBANESE
and A.N.R. Leastne Corporation,

Defendants.

a>.
a

Before:
FRIENDLY, SmitH and Hays,
Circuit Judges.

~ we.
—

Appeal from judgment and sentence following conviction
on trial to the jury in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, Morris Lasker, Judge,
on charges of conspiracy and bribery of public officials in
violation of 18 U.S.C. §§371 and 201(b). Remanded for
hearing on the reasonableness of a search and seizure.

i.
e

LLL ay

Invixc Awouix, New York, N.¥. (Abraham H.
Brodsky, New York, N.Y. of counsel), for
Defendant-A ppellants.

Eowanp M. Suaw, Assistant U.S. Attorney
(Whitney North Seymour, Jr. United
States Attorney for the Southern District
of New York and Robert G. Morvillo, Asx-
sistant U.S. Attorney, of counsel), for Ap-
pellee.

—>-

Per Curiam:

Defendant appellants, John Anthony Masiello and John
A. Masiello, Jr., father and son, are shareholders in A.N.R.
Leasing Corporation, an organization which leased trucks
and trailers to both private corporations and the Post
Office Department. They were convicted in the District
Court for the Southern District of New York before Morris
Lasker, Judge, and a jury, of conspiracy and bribery of
public officials, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§371 and 201(b).
We remand to the District Court for a hearing on the rea-
sonableness of the search and seizure involved in this case,
retaining jurisdiction of the appeal.

The Masiellos, one McKeever, also an officer of A.N.R.
Leasing Corporation, the corporation itself and a number
of postal officials were indicted on charges of conspiring to
defraud the United States, giving and accepting bribes and
giving and accepting gratuities. Although the Masie!los
were arrested away from the corporate headquarters, Me-
Keever was taken into enstody by federal officers pos-
sessing a warrant for his arrest while at the offices of
A.N._R. In » search and seizure incident to that arrest.

the officers seized a quantity of records, including canceled

Ba

checks introduced in evidence on the trial of appellants
a * A.N.R. Leasing Corporation to establish payments to
or for postal officials. A pre-trial motion to suppress was
denied by Ju‘ige Palmieri without a hearing. The checks
were introduced into evidence over appellants’ objection.
There exist considerable discrepancies in the affidavits of
the government officers and an A.N.R. official as to what
took place in the course of the search and seizure. Since
a hearing was denied in the District Court, all factual as-
sertions of the afidavit submitted on behalf of appellants
must be assumed to be correct for the purpose of this ap-
peal. It is apparently not disputed that A.N.R.’s office
consisted of more than one room and that files were
searched and records seized in one or more rooms other
than the one in which MeKeeyer was arrested. Although
this search would be clearly unlawful under the standards
established by the Supreme Court in Chimel v. California,
395 U.S. 352 (1969) the search took place before Chime!
and therefore the applicab:« fourth amendment standards
are those existing prior to that decision. United States v.
Bennett, 415 F.2d 1113 (2d Cir. 1969).

If the facts are as alleged by the affidavit in support
of appellants’ motion to suppress those standards have
been violated. It has been claimed that extensive portions
of the enormous amounts of material seized have no pos-
sible relevance to the case at hand. It was further alleged
that the federal officers conducted “a general rummage of
the suite and a wholesale seizure of the files and records
contained therein.” If these characterizations of the facts
are accurate the activities of the federal officers could
hardly be considered consistent with the requirements of
the fourth amendment. See Von Cleef v. New Jersey, 395
US. 814 (1969) (per curiam); Kremen v. United States,
353 U.S. 346 (1957) (per curiam).

ta

We therefore conclude that a hearing should be held and
findings be made below on the extent ani reasonableness
of the search and seizure and remand to request that Judge
Lasker conduct such a hearing and report. We meanwhile
retain jurisdiction of the appeal.

qe
Hays, Circwit Judge (concurring in the result) :

I concur in the result but I do not subseribe to the opinion
that “the search would be clearly unlawful under the stand-
ards established by the Supreme Court in Chimel v. Cali-
fornia...” See United states . Pino, F.2d (2d Cir.
1970) [Slip Op. No. 4141 Aug. 17, 1970]: United States v.
Lovaw, 427 F.2d 911 (2d Cir. 1970).

| etait neieanme came

5a

APPENDIX B
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
Dated July 21, 1971
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For true Seconp Ciecurr
—

No. 97—September Term, 1970.
(Submitted June 22, 1971 Decided July 21, 1971.)
Docket No. 34769
—
Usrrep Stares or AMERICA,

Appellee,

ee

Joux Awtuowy Masie.1o, Jonn A. Masie.ia, Je.,
Appellants.

—o—
Before:
Parnoiy, Chief Judge,
Serra and Hays, Circuit Judges.
ss
Appeal from judgment and sentence following conviction
on trial to the jury in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, Morris Lasker, Judge,
on charges of conspiracy and bribery of public officials, in
violation of 18 U.S.C. §§371 and 201(b). Affirmed.
+>—

Invewe Awotrx, New York, N. Y. (Abraham H.
Brodsky, New York, N. Y., of counsel), for

Appellants.

6a

Epwarp M. Suaw, Assistant U. S. Attorney
(Whitney North Seymour, Jr., United States
Attorney for the Southern District of New
York and Robert G. Morvillo, Assistant
U. S. Attorney, of counsel), for Appellee.

~

Per Curio:

Defendant appellants, John Anthony Masiello and John
A. Masiello, Jr., father and son, are shareholders in
A.N.R. Leasing Corporation, an organization which leased
trucks and trailers to both private corporations and the
Post Office Department. They were convicted in the Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of New York before
Morris Lasker, Judge, and a jury, of conspiracy and bribery
of public officials, in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§371 and 201(b).
They were acquitted on “gratuity” counts. We find no error

We remanded this case to the District Court with a re-
quest that Judge Lasker conduct a hearing on the reasona-
bleness of the search and report thereon. 434 F.2d 33. The
hearing was held and report made.

Judge Lasker made findings as to the extent of the search
and found the search reasonable under the standards pre-
vailing prior to Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969).
While the area searched involved several office rooms and a
large quantity of material was seized, it was confined to a
search for and seizure of likely sources of admissible evi-
dence of the crime, consisting of canceled checks and check
stubs, a cash receipts and disbursements book for the period
in question, truck and vehicle payment records and a pur-
chase order book. Judge Lasker credited the government
agents and the detailed inventory given and properly de-

a ae een ic

7a

clined to credit conflicting testimony that a great amount
of additional material was taken. Credibility was of course
a matter for the judge to determine, and his conclusion that
the search and seizure were reasonable on the facts found
was clearly correct.

We find no merit in the other issues raised on appeal.
There was sufficient evidence for the jury to infer a corrupt
intent to obtain special advantage from the payments to
officials in charge of the government end of the Masiello
contracts.

We have considered the “gratuity” count a lesser included
offense of the bribery count; there was therefore no incon-
sistency in the charges. United States v. Irvin, 354 F.2d
192, 196 (2d Cir. 1965) ; United States v. Polansky, 418 F.2d
444, 446 (2d Cir. 1969).

The charge that the corporation could not be found guilty
unless one of the Masiellos was guilty is properly inter-
preted as reference to the necessity of the corporation act-
ing through a natural person, here on the facts necessarily
one of the Masiellos. Even if there was a possible agent in
McKeever, no harm to the appellants is shown.

The judgment is affirmed.

8a

APPENDIX C
Order of the United States Court of Appeals

34769
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
Seconp Circurr

Unrrep States or America,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

JouN AntHoNy Masic.1o, et al,
Defendants,

Joun AnTHony Masietto and Joun A. MasiEL1e, Jr.,
Defendants-App_llants.

A petition for a rehearing or in the alternative a motion
to stay the issuance of the mandate having been filed herein
by counsel for the appellants,

Upon consideration thereof, it is

Ordered that said petition for rehearing be and it hereby
is denied. Mandate is stayed pending application for cer-
tiorari subject to the provisions of Rule 41 (b) Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure.

Hewry J. Frienpiy
J. Josepx Situ
Paut R. Hays
Circuit Judges

September 16, 1971

Se Ahn g: (ales 4 te seer

9a

APPENDIX D
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitu-
tion provides:

“The right of the people to be secure in their per-
sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable
searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation, end particularly de-
scribing the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.”

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides in pertinent part:

“nor shall any person . . . be deprived of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law.”

The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution
provides in pertinent part:

“in all criminal prosecutions the accused shall enjoy the
right . . . to be confronted with the witnesses against
him; ... and to have the assistance of counsel for his
defense.”

18 U.S.C. §201(b) provides in pertinent part:

“(b) Whoever, directly or indirectly gives, offers or
promises anything of value to any public official or
person who has been selected to be a public official, or
offers or promises any public official or any person
who has been selected to be a public official to give any-
thing of value to any other person or entity, with in-
tent—

10a

(1) to influence any official act; or

(2) to influence such public official or person who
has been selected to be a public official to commit or aid
in committing or collude in, or allow, any fraud, or
make opportunity for the commission of any fraud,
on the United States; or

(3) to induce such public official or such person who
has been selected to be a public official to do or omit
to do any act in violation of his lawful duty, or...
[S]jhall be fined not more than $20,000 or three times
the monetary equivalent of the thing in value, which-
ever is greater, or imprisoned for not more than fif-
teen years, or both, and may be disqualified from hold-
ing any office of honor, trust or profit under the United
States.”

18 U.S.C. §371 provides in pertinent part:

“If two or more persons conspire either to commit any
offense against the United States ... and one or more
of such persons do any act to effect the object of the
conspiracy, each shall be fined not more than $10,000
or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.”

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0260%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
