# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Texas Gulf Sulphur Co. v. Mitchell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0083%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 404 U.S. 1004

## Text

ue eal FILED |

“AN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuiten States °" |

October Term, 1971 F, ROBERT SEAVER, CLERK

Docket No. G1 = 42 1

eee ewe wnee

Lam EMELTE TERE SRL IRITN BFS

AAT TE A,

Texas Gur SuLpHuR Company and Cuar.ss F. Foearrty,

Petitioners,
against

Reseees AEP SS

Water A, MitcHELL, '
Respondent.

Texas Gutr SuLpHuUR Company and CuHarzes F’. Focarry,
Petitioners,
against

GEoRGE GorDON REYNOLDs,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Ortson S. Marpen
Attorney for Petitioners
14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
732-1040
Catvin A. BEHLE F
Keitu E. Taytor
Parsons, BEHLE & Latimer, Esqs.

P. B. Konrap KNAKE

THomas McGanNnEYy

JEFFREY A. BaRisT

W. New Tuomas III
Waite & Case, Esgs.

Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
| ENE A AT EER LO AON “haneyee ey
RE ere eer es wl oe oA ee 2
SRI ell nt ate SURE MAR Oe Rly NSCOR Cis a 2
Siatutes and Rule Involved .....0000000.o...ccceeeccceceee 4
I: tr on et Ao ee 5

A. Introductory Statement 2200000. 9)

B. The Proceedings Below ............... ..... ave ete 7

RG aaa SS See, Pe SS eae §

D. The Decisions Below ........00...00...c000000. 11
Reasons for Allowance of the Writ ..................... 14
Argument

I—The Court of Appeals, in awarding damages
against petitioners for good faith issuance of
a press release, found to be defective for fail-
ure to conform to standards first enunciated
in this litigation, has contravened all prior
precedent and legislative history and has
rendered a decision in conflict with the basic
structure and purpose of the securities laws 16

A. The press release was not issued ‘‘in
connection with’’ the purchase or sale of
securities simply because it was issued
by a company whose stock is publicly
traded . ; 16

II

PAGE

B. The unrestricted liability for damages
imposed by the court below is in contiict
with the legislative history and policy of
the securities laws .............. 1s

C. The standards enunciated by the Tenth
Circuit, which ignore aliceether the good
faith judgment of Texas Gulf’s manage-
ment, place an impossible burden of com-
pliance on corporations and will inhibit
disclosure of business information 20

II—The Tenth Circuit compounded the effect of
its erroneous decision on the scope of Rule
10b-5 by permitting recovery by persons who
sold after the issuance of a second release
announcing a major ore discovery and by
fashioning a rule of damages which requires
innocent shareholders to pay large sums to
those who have not been damaged _. 33

I1I—The Tenth Circuit decision, in adopting a
fraud statute of limitations in an action
where there was no finding of fraud, conflicts
with a well-reasoned decision of the Eighth
ARR ARC SS rf B0 hece eseeee R | 26

IV—tThe decisions of the District and Circuit
Courts, asserting jurisdiction over petitioner
Fogarty, contravene constitutional princi-
ples enunciated by this Court. 2s

Conclusion a 29

I greeter crsrarqvan cece , la

II!

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Cases:
Cannon v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Co., 47 F.R.D. 60

PRR I rs en pe 6
City Nat'l Bank v. Vanderboom, 422 F.2d 221 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 399 U.S. 905 (1970) .......... Sle 24
Fischman v. Raytheon Mfg. Co. 188 F.2d 783 (2d

ik Saco en Sera IEA ADCS. la A OME a ne Aa 18n
Gilbert v. Nixon, 429 F.2d 848 (10th Cir. 1970) 18
Great American Indemnity Co. v. First Nat’l Bank,

100 F.2d 763 (10th Cir. 1938) ooo occcoccceceee 23
Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958) ....... eas 28
SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Company, 401 F.2d 833

Re Re, ee passim
Schram v. Burt, 111 F.2d 557 (6th Cir. | ee 24
Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S. 232 (1904) ..00.000.0...... 24
Shemtoh v, Shearson, Hammill & Co., Ine., No. 71-1504

(2d Cir., August 31, 1971) ooooooooocococcccccccccccecceeccecece. 18n
Smith v. Bolles, 132 U.S. 125 (1889) oo...ccccccccccccccoccesesseeee 25
Vanderboom v. Sexton, 422 F.2d 1233 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 400 U.S. 852 (1970) ooo cccccccccccecccccsssseecees 27
Vulcan Metals Co. v. Simmons Mfg. Co., 248 Fed. 853

(2d Cir.), cert, denied, 247 U.S. 507 2 kaa 24

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules:

First Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States BE a heed SS MCE Der EA aot Vent lbebieet nna Ws 3, 15, 22
Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. §§77a, et seq.):

Section 11(e) LIS TE Dr tt SLY hot ir Sido eo Hd 19

Section 12(2) seer veee Die ekeateseecis > otcecoers ee

Section 13 eae tas cs saysicapinecs. ~ 2

I oe he I whe gobs as cmcste: tae

Na its shies 2 ail aS OSENR. dost then Sabai ed po iin

IV

PAGE

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 478,
et seq.):

rer a dt Ae cle tra sidavseree rerioen vecitece 16, 17
8 RB Nera el pen DO Na LE oA 15
II aoc, ges srt elicessonenercrgrestsieneesccnein passim
ER AIG SSUIS laa apps fe aber come parr re ins rte 16
ont ir ens ar ee, Pen late Mine 16
cscs vaaivet facvsceorremma a diemeeo 17
Section 16(a) 000000000... Seles iy ent op ema ae Sat 16
Sit ara te Ae BRT RANG Cs Ar vane) HAR ERERL ARE 16
EN rat ot tut Dente RE aati aad alm abot Bs ha 4,7
SE eis tiiat anda tr paves ete rt Fi pe Dias Wee eh de 16
Utah Code, Section 61-1-22 00000 en. 27n

SEC Rules and Regulations:

Item 8A(b) of Scheduie 1 to Form 1-A, 1 CCH Fed.
i a Saree eatysvistelaceuasietrierionee 21
Rule 10b-5 (17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5) passim

Other Authorities:

Freeman, 22 Bus. Law. 922 (1967) 20 29n
Hearings on H.R. 7852 and H.R. 8720 be fore The
House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Com-

merce, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. (1984) 00.000. 16-17
H.R. Rep. No. 85, 73d Cong., 1st Sess. (1933) .............. 18
Loss, 22 Bus. Law. 921 (1967) 0.0.0.0... cee 29
Loss, Securities Recuuation (1961) .................. 18, 19, 25, 27
RESTATEMENT (SEconD) oF AGENCY (1957) 0000. 23
Securities Act Release No. 3844 (October 8, 1957) ...... 20

Securities Exchange Act Release No. 3230 (May 1,
ee er eee Ie 5s ae edvstave ee caviepapurereass ator 29n

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1971

Docket No. ...........
——
Texas Gute Sutpuur Company and Cuarues F. Focarty,
Petitioners,
against
Water A. MitcHet,
Respondent.

Texas Gutr Sutruur Company and Cuaruss F. Focarty,
Petitioners,

ayainst

Grorce Gorpon REyNoxps,
Respondent.

——_—_—_—enll- ee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable Warren E. Burger, Chief Justice, and
the Honorable Associate Justices of the Supreme
Court of the United States:

Your petitioners, Texas Gulf Sulphur Company and
Charles F. Fogarty, respectfully pray that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States

2

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Cireuit entered in this
proceeding on April 26,1971. The decision below is based
largely on language in the Second Cireuit opinion in Securi-
ties and Exchange Commission v. Teras Gulf Sulphur Com-
pani, in which petitions seeking review in this Court have
been filed by these petitioners and others (Nos. 327, 328,
346, 347).

Opinions Below

The opinion of the United States District Court for
the District of Utah (Ritter, J.) is reported at 309 F. Supp.
548 and at page la.* The opinion of Cireuit Judge Hill
for the Tenth Cireuit Court of Appeals, not yet officially
reported, appears at page 40a.

Jurisdiction

The judgments of the Court of Appeals were entered on
April 26, 1971. A timely petition for rehearing by respond-
ents was denied on September 10, 1971, and this petition
for certiorari was filed within ninety days of the latter
date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
$1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Whether a corporate press release warning against
false and extravagant rumors concerning operations of the
company was issued ‘‘in connection with the purchase or
sale of any security’’ (thereby coming within the ambit of
Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and

* References in this form are to the Appendix annexed hereto.

3

Rule 10b-5 thereunder) when neither the company nor those
who prepared the release were buying or selling its securi-

ties and did not intend, expect or receive any advantage
from the release?

2. Whether, without proof of intent to deceive, a com-
pany and its officers should be held liable under the statute
and rule in damages for a press release which expressed
the good faith opinion of responsible corporate manage-
ment with respect to preliminary evaluation of a mineral
prospect and which promised a detailed statement ‘‘as soon
as reasonable and logical conclusions can be made’’?

3. Whether, on the facts at bar, a private cause of ac-
tion should be implied from a rule promulgated by an
administrative agency, when such an implication is con-
trary to the legislative scheme and when to do so will
discourage the disclosure of information to the public and

thus thwart one of the principal goals of the securities
laws?

4. Whether, when neither fraud nor reckless conduct
was shown, the First Amendment rights of petitioners to

comment on a matter of public interest were abridged by
the decision below?

0. Whether, when the company issued a second press
release which was relayed to every brokerage house in the
country and which provided detailed information regarding
an ore discovery, persons who sold the company’s stock
after the second release had been received by their brokers
should be permitted to recover hypothetical additional

YP ENE AI, eT Sepa ty (a

IR MRAR SEH Ov Con,

4

profits from the company based upon their own testimony
that their sales were prompted by a prior release which had
not provided detailed information but which had promised
the second release?

6. What measure of damages should be awarded a
seller claiming lost speculative profits where the stock is
traded on a national exchange and numerous factors have
been responsible for a large increase in market price?

7. Whether, if a showing of fraud is not required for
the imposition of liability in damages under Rule 10b-5, the
statute of limitations to be applied should, nevertheless, be
based on state fraud provisions rather than state blue-sky
or other statutes which contain similar substantive lan-
guage? ‘

8. Whether, under the provisions of Section 27 of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, there is jurisdiction in
the District of Utah over the person of a corporate official
who is not found, is not an inhabitant, and transacts no busi-
ness in the district, and whose sole act was, as part of his
duties with a corporation, to draft a press release in New
York, reports of which were subsequently disseminated by
the news media throughout the United States including
Utah.

Statutes and Rule Involved

48 Stat. 891, 902; 15 U.S.C. §§78j(b), 78aa are set forth
at pages 75a-76a of Appendix B to this Petition.

17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5 is set forth at page 76a of Ap-
pendix B to this Petition.

5

Statement of the Case

A. Introductory Statement

These actions arose out of the issuance of a press
release on April 12, 1964 by Texas Gulf Sulphur Company
(‘Texas Gulf’’) commenting on published rumors concern-
ing its mineral exploration activities near Timmins, On-
tario, Canada. While the monetary amounts involved in
these actions are not large, the legal principles and im-
pact of this case are of great Significance. The decisions
below, for the first time, apply to a private damage action
the legal conclusions reached by the Second Circuit in SEC
v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Company, 401 F.2d 833 (2d Cir.
1968) (the ‘SEC action’). They mark the culmination
of a process whereby private causes of action, not granted
by Congress when it created certain private causes of ac-
tion under the Securities Exchange Act, have been judi-
cially implied for violation of a rule promulgated by an
administrative agency.

While the SEC action did not itself involve private
claims for damages, J udge Friendly, in a concurring opin-
ion, identified the damage question as one *‘transcending
in public importance all others in this important case’’.
He stated persuasively, from reason and ‘he legislative
history, that ‘‘the April 12 press release would be the
worst possible case for the award of damages’’ because
of its punitive effect on the company’s innocent sharehold-
ers and its inhibitory effect on dissemination of infor-
mation ‘‘to security holders and the public generally with
respect to important business and financial developments”’
(401 F.2d at 866, 868, 867). Judge Friendly went on to point
out that the Rule, at least as later construed by the Tenth

6

Circuit herein, might well be beyoud the authority vested
in the SEC by §10(b) and be so inconsistent with the statu-
tory structure as to be impermissible (401 F.2d at 868).

Moreover, while the present actions involve only two
plaintiffs, a class action is pending in the Southern District
of New York based on similar allegations on behalf of all
sellers of Texas Gulf Stock after issuance of the April 12
release and before publication of a second release announc-
ing a major discovery. See Cannon v. Texas Gulf Sulphur
Ce., 47 F.R.D. 60 (S.D.N.Y. 1969). As the Court of Appeals
below noted, if damages were to be awarded in that ac-
tion on the basis of the principles adopted below, the recov-
ery would amount to millions of dollars (66a-67a). Yet in
neither the SEC action nor this action was any evidence ad-
duced of any intentional wrongdoing in connection with the
press release or of any economic benefit to the corporation,
its stockholders or its employees from its issuance. As
Judge Friendly stated, to award damages in this context
is ‘‘frightening’’, not only for Texas Gulf, but for all
publicly held corporations. 401 F.2d at 866.

The questions presented by this petition and the com-
panion petitions in the SEC action raise important and
far-reaching questions under the secur'ties laws concerning
disclosure of information relating to corporate activities,
questions upon which this Court has not yet passed. The
decisions below run counter to a basic purpose of those laws,
and should now be reviewed by this Court. Judge Friendly
believed it incumbent upon the Second Circuit to give
guidance to the district courts upon these problems (401
F.2d at 866), but that court failed to do so. It is now
imperative that such guidance be supplied by this Court.

B. The Proceedings Below

Respondents Reynolds and Mitchell instituted actions
in the Utah District Court against petitioners on July 12,
1966, and April 17, 1967, respectively. They sought to
recover damages upon sales of stock allegedly induced by
violations of Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act
of 1934, 15 U.S.C. §78j(b) (the ‘‘1934 Act’’) and Rule
10b-5, 17 C.F.R. §240.10b-5, promulgated thereunder. Juris-
diction of the District Court was invoked under Section
27 of the 1934 Act, 15 U.S.C. §78aa.

The press release of April 12, 1964, of which respond-
ents complain, was followed four days later on the morning
of April 16 by a second release announcing a major mineral
discovery. Respondent Reynolds sold TGS stock on April
16, and respondent Mitchell on April 17 and April 23, all
sales taking place after the second release had been received
by their brokers and after a sharp rise in the price of Texas
Gulf stock. Both respondents claimed, however, that their _
sales were caused by and made in reliance upon the earlier
(April 12) press release and that their shares were sold to
petitioner Fogarty.

The actions were consolidated (with two other actions
not involved in this petition) and tried before the court
without a jury. Judgments were awarded to respondents,
and on appeal the judgment in favor of Reynolds was
affirmed in all respects except as to the issue of damages;
the judgment in favor of Mitchell was affirmed in all re-
spects except as to damages and as to his sale of 20 shares
of stock. The Court of Appeals ordered that the cases be
remanded with directions to enter judgment in higher

S$

amounts, for Reynolds in the amount of $12,687.50, and
to Mitchell for $7,600.00, both to receive interest on those
amounts from the dates of their sales in April of 1964.

C. The Facts

The evidence was uncontradicted that the April 12 press
release was issued because of the front page appearance
in the New York newspapers on Saturday, April 11, 1964,
of false statements concerning Texas Gulf’s drilling ac-
tivities, and rumors that Texas Gulf and an alleged
partner had made ‘‘the biggest ore strike since gold was
discovered more than 60 years ago in Canada,’’ a ‘‘sen-
sational copper strike’? and similar superlatives. After
consultation among President Stephens, Executive Vice
President Fogarty and the company’s public relations con-
sultant, it was concluded that TGS should promptly put
out a press release in response to the rumors. A draft of
the release was prepared on Saturday and Sunday -by Dr.
Fogarty, after telephone conversations and meetings with
Richard D. Mollison, the Texas Gulf vice president in
direct charge of the project who had been on the prop-
erty the previous day, April 10. Mollison supplied the
available information and with that, Fogarty prepared
the first draft of the release. It was put in final form
by Texas Gulf’s public relations consultant and, after Dr.
Fogarty had conferred with President Stephens and a
Texas Gulf attorney, President Stephens authorized its
issuance (43a-44a).

The Court of Appeals recognized that at the time the
press release was drafted ‘‘[t]he president, a vice president
and Fogarty all agreed that they could not responsibly
conclude that a commercial ore body existed and that no

9

calculations as to the size or grade of ore could be made
without further drilling” (44a). This conclusion was
concurred in by the eminent mining experts ealled by de-
fendants at trial. In these circumstances, Texas Gulf chose
to issue a statement which did not set forth detailed drill-
ing information, but rather rebutted the falsehoods and
warned of the exaggerations. It not only stated that the
work done to date had ‘‘not been sufficient to reach definite
conclusions and any statement as to size and grade of
ore would be premature and possibly misleading,’ but also
promised that when Texas Gulf had ‘progressed to the
point where reasonable and logical conclusions ean be made,
TGS will issue a definite statement to its stockholders and
to the publie in order to clarify the Timmins project”’
(44a-45a, n.d).

The April 12 release was reported on in several news-
papers, including the Wall Street Journal, on Monday
morning, April 13, and by the Dow-Jones news service. On
that day, TGS stock closed at $3072, 75 cents above its clos-
ing price the previous trading day, April 10.

On Sunday, April 12, contemporaneously with the is-
suance of the release, Texas Gulf sent the officials in charge
of its exploration team back to Timmins from New York.
A fourth drilling rig was put into operation—until April
8 only one had been able to operate because of a shortage
of water—and the drilling progress was accelerating. By
the afternoon of Wednesday, April 15, four more holes had
been completed to add to the three which had been completed
by April 10, and twice as much footage had been drilled as

”

bho hn ‘e

a i a hh als

MEAUZAAENSS, ter en pA RSI I PY RONEN SS SO, IN

10

on the 10th. Moreover, the holes covered 2 much larger
area, giving meaningful results on April 15 over a space
four times as large as had been drilled on April 10. Thus,
on April 16, TGS was able to issue the definite statement
promised by the April 12 release; this release commenced
with the statement that TGS ‘‘has made a major discovery
of zine, copper and silver in the Timmins area of Ontario,
Canada.’’

The second release was carried over the private wire
of Reynolds’ broker, Merrill Lynch, and received in Salt
Lake City at 8:29 A.M., M.S.T., on April 16. The Dow-
Jones news service also carried the story to the brokerage
houses in Utah at 8:55 A.M., M.S.T., and the April 16 press
release received wide coverage in newspapers throughout
the country (46a).

Respondent Reynolds, a Salt Lake City resident, testi-
fied that after he had read reports of the April 12 release
on Monday, April 13, and discussed them with his broker,
he decided not to sell but instead to ‘‘hold the stock, see
what happened.’’ He gave his order to sell only after his
Merrill Lynch representative had called him on the morning
of April 16, after the reports of the April 16 release had
been conveyed to Merrill Lynch in Salt Lake City, and after
he had been informed by his broker that ‘‘there’s a rumor
that Texas Gulf has made a big strike.’’ Reynolds’ stock
was sold for $335 per share at 9:31 A.M., M.S.T., an hour
after the Merrill Lynch wire had been received in Salt
Lake City (20a-21a).

Respondent Mitchell, a Los Angeles resident, who made
a habit of coming into his broker’s office ‘‘almost dailr”’

11

and reading the ‘‘Dow-Jones broad tape,’’ nevertheless
testified that he first learned of the April 12 release on
April 16 at 9:30 A.M., P.S.T. at his broker’s office. This
was 1}, hours after news of the April 16 release had there
been received, posted, and generally made available to the
customers. Mitchell saw the hectic trading and rise in
Frice in TGS stock that morning, returned to his office and
reviewed his TGS file, and then went to the offices of an-
other broker and placed an unsolicited order for the sale
of 400 shares of TGS stock. This was no ordinary sale
order: rather it was an order for a short sale against the
box at $40.00 per share, although at the time this order
was entered, the stock was trading at $3414 to $3434. The
stock was sold on the next day, April 17, for $40, $10 above
the price before the April 12 release wa~ issued. Subse-
quently, Mitchell placed another order for a short sale
against the box at a price of $45.00 per share, and the
shares were actually sold on April 23 for $4614. He never-
theless asserted that his sales orders, placed substantially
above the market, were made in reliance upon and induced
by the earlier April 12 release (23a-24a).

D. The Decisions Below |

These action= were tried April 29 through May 2, 1968.
More than sixteen months later, on September 11, 1969, and
after the intervening decision of the Second Circuit in the
SEC action, Judge Ritter announced his decision in favor
of respondents. An opinion was filed on October 17, 1969,
and a revised opinion, along with amended findings of fact
and conclusions of law, was filed on January 9, 1970.

12

In his revised opinion, Judge Ritter heid that both
Texas Gulf and Dr. Fogarty had violated §10(b) and Rule
10b-5 in issuing the press release. However, he rejected
respondents’ charges that the release was the product of a
conspiracy to depress the price of the stock for the benefit
of petitioners, that it was issued for the purpose of en-
abling certain persons, including petitioners, to purchase
shares of TGS stock cheaply, and that Dr. Fogarty had
purchased respondents’ stock. Judge Ritter said, however,
that the press release was ‘‘inaccurate, misleading and
deceptive with respect to material matters disclosed by the
company’s drilling near Timmins,’’ and added in his opin-
ion (although not in the findings) that ‘‘the court thinks
desigriedly so’’ (21a, 252). No evidentiary support nor
any basis for the last statement was cited, and none exists
in the record.

The District Court further held that despite the fact
that the sales had taken place after dissemination of the
second press release of April 16, 1964, respondents had re-
lied on the first release in making their sales. Damages
were awarded based on a measure of the difference between
their sales prices and the average of the highest daily vrices
of Texas Gulf stock for a month (twenty trading days)
after the April 16 announcement.

On appeal the Court of Appeals affirmed, relying heav-
ily, as had the District Court, on the opinion of the Second
Circuit in the SEC action. The Court of Appeals found
that the general language of Rule 10b-5 prohibited the
‘‘wait and see’’ release of April 12, 7.e., that when Texas
Gulf and Fogarty ‘‘undertook to deny and clarify rumor
and fact, they were bound to accurately depict the situ-
ation as they then knew it’’ (53a). Moreover, although the

13

court recognized that the principal officers of Texas Gulf in
charge of the exploration ‘‘could not responsibly conclude
that a commercial ore body existed and no * * * ealcula-
tion as to size or grade of ore could be made without further
drilling,’’ nevertheless it held that a statement to that effect
was not legally sufficient and that Texas Gulf was required
to set forth ‘‘the then known dimensions and drilling data of
their discovery’’ (44a, 53a). The Tenth Circuit further held
that the press release was issued ‘‘in connection with’’ the
purchase and sale of securities, although there had been
no showing that either the corporation or any insiders were
in the market for stock and no showing that the press
release was designed to affect the market price of Texas
Gulf stock for the benefit of the corporation or any insiders.

The Tenth Circuit apparently found no basis for the
District Court’s unsupported speculation that the press re-
lease was ‘‘intentionally deceptive * * * and knowingly defi-
cient.’ However, undeterred by this lack of evidentiary
support, the Tenth Circuit simply switched the burden of
proof on this issue to defendants, and held that ‘‘[e]on-
fronted with the abundance of evidence in the record,’’* it
could not be concluded that Texas Gulf had ‘‘sustained its
burden of proving that it did not know of the misrepre-
sentation’’ (61a).

As to respondents’ supposed ‘‘reliance,’’ the Tenth Cir-
cuit stated that ‘‘the evidence is not so deficient as to make
the finding of the trial court clearly erroneous that the prin-
cipal reliance was on the April 12 statement’”’ (62a). How-
ever, the court felt that the issuance of the April 16 release

* What this “abundance of evidence” consisted of was never ex-
plicitly stated and the record will be searched in vain for any evidence
of bad faith or intentional deception.

14

should bar recovery for sales made ‘‘at some point in time
after [its] publication’’ (63a). Despite the ‘‘abundance of
publicity given the April 16 statement’’ and the massive
trading immediately after its dissemination, the court felt
that only claims made on sales after April 20 (including one
involving 20 shares by respondent Mitchell on April 23)
should be barred from recovery.

With respect to damages, the Court of Appeals, ad-
mittedly fashioning a new rule, held that respondents
should be permitted to recover the difference between the
prices for which their shares were sold and the highest
value between April 20 (i.e., the date when, the court
speculated, ‘‘the diligent and reasonable investor was in-
formed of the most recent Texas Gulf statement’’) and
a date ending the period within which, after being in-
formed, the reasonable investor is to be permitted ‘‘to
decide whether or not he would reinvest and take advan-
tage of a spiraling market’’ (67a). This measure of dam-
ages led to an increase of approximately 50% in the
awards to Reynolds and Mitchell over the amounts ordered
by the District Court, which were based on the average high
prices for the stock over a period of one month.

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

1. The Tenth Circuit has decided questions of fed-
eral substantive law under the securities laws which are of
great importance and wide application to all corporations
whose stock is publicly traded, to their shareholders, and to
the public generally, and which should be settled by this |
Court. In particular, the Tenth Circuit, in an unprec-
edented decision, has held that a corporation, which

15

chooses to issue a press release in good faith and without
ulterior purpose in response to false and exaggerated pub-
lished rumors, can be held liable in damages to sellers of
stock who claim to have been discouraged thereby. This
holding makes the corporation’s present shareholders in-
surers for the hypothetical profits of former shareholders.
The decision, if permitted to stand, will inhibit disclosure
of information about corporate activities where no state-
ment is leg:.ily required and thus frustrate, not further, one
of the principal goals of the securities laws.

2. The decision below is inconsistent with the express
provisions of the 1933 and 1934 Acts establishing private
causes of action since it permits recovery of damages in
the absence of an affirmative showing of fraud and of peti-
tioners’ involvement in securities transactions.

3. The decision below is in conflict with rulings of the
Second Circuit that damages may not be awarded in private
actions under Rule 10b-5 without proof of scienter. The
decision also violates petitioners’ rights under the First
Amendment.

4. In conflict with a decision of the Eighth Circuit
Court of Appeals, the Tenth Circuit has held, despite its
holding that plaintiffs need not demonstrate fraud to re-
cover, that the ‘‘most nearly analogous”’ statute of limita-
tions is the state fraud statute, rather than the state “‘blue-

sky’’ provision which contains language similar to Rule
10b-5.

d. The Court of Appeals has, in conflict with decisions
of this Court, sustained jurisdiction over the individual
petitioner despite the lack of evidence that he had any pur-
poseful connection with the state in which the district lies.

16

ARGUMENT
I

The Court of Appeals, in awarding damages against
petitioners for good faith issuance of a press release,
found to be defective for failure to conform to stand-
ards first enunciated in this litigation, has contravened
all prior precedent and legislative history and has ren-
dered a decision in conflict with the basic structure and
purpose of the securities laws.

A. The press release was not issued “in connection
with” the purchase or sale of securities simply
because it was issued by a company whose stock
is publicly traded.

Section 10(b) of the 1934 Act was designed by Congress
to enable the Securities and Exchange Commission to deal
with manipulative or deceptive devices integrally related
to transactions in securities, not to serve as the basis for
regulating corporate comment which is unrelated to securi-
ties transactions. Certain aspects of corporate disclosure
were dealt with specifically in the 1934 Act in Sections 12,
14, 16(a), 18 and 32, and disclosure by registration state-
ment and prospectus was the subject of the 1933 Act. Sec-
tion 10(b), on the other hand, was meant to be a supplement
to the specific prohibitions against manipulation by traders
and other market professionals contained in Sections 9 and
10(a) of the 1934 Act as the legislative history clearly dem-
onstrates. One of the principal draftsmen of the 1934 Act
testified :

‘‘Subsection [b] says, ‘Thou shalt not devise any other
cunning devices’ * * * Of course subsection [b] is a

Ga ese Ei en

17

catch-all clause to prevent manipulative devices. I do
not think there is any objection to that kind of a clause.
The Commission should have the authority to deal with
new manipulative devices.’’ Testimony of Thomas G.
Corcoran, Hearings on H.R. 7852 and H -R. 8720 before
the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Com-
merce, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 115 (1934).

The manipulative devices outlawed by Section 9 all
involve fra::dulent activities integrally related to securi-
ties transactions: matched orders, pools, wash sales and
the like. In enacting §10(b), as well as the other antifraud
provisions of the securities laws—Sections 12(2) and 17(a)
of the 1933 Act and Section 15(c)(1) of the 1934 Act—
Congress’ concern was to enable the SEC to deal with
purposeful schemes by purchasers or sellers to defraud
the public by means of manipulative and deceptive devices.
No such activity was involved here.

The case law, prior to the SEC action, was in accord
with this legislative purpose. Satisfaction of the ‘‘in con-
nection with’’ requirement, it was repeatedly held, required
a showing by plaintiff that defendant had either (1) en-
gaged in fraud as a party to a securities transaction, or
(2) engaged in fraud to induce plaintiff to purchase or sell
securities. See 401 F.2d at 886 (Moore, J., dissenting).

The present case follows the decision of the Second Cir-
cuit in abandoning these requirements. However, in a
concurring opinion in that ease, Judge Friendly stated
that ‘‘the April 12 press release would be the worst pos-
sible case for the award of damages’’ and that the conse-
quences of imposing civil liability on a corporation in these
circumstances were ‘‘frightening’’ (401 F.2d at 868, 866).

18

Judge Friendly’s ‘‘worst possible case’’ has now come to
pass.

B. The unrestricted liability for damages imposed by
the court below is in conflict with the legislative
history and policy of the securities laws.

Those sections of both the 1933 and 1934 Acts cre-
ating private causes of action were carefully drawn to
accomplish two purposes: ‘‘the protection of the public
[and] * * * the least possible interference to honest busi-
ness.’’ H.R. Rep. No. 85, 73d Cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1933).
Thus, where private damage suits were specifically au-
thorized under the securities laws, Congress carefully pro-
vided appropriate restrictions upon the right of action—
privity, short statutes of limitation, scienter, causation
and undertakings for costs (e.g., 3 Loss, Securities Rxc-
ULATION 1763, 1778, et seq.)—so that honest businesmen,
acting in good faith, would not be subject to threats of
harassing lawsuits and enormous judgments.

- The Tenth Circuit, however, in following cases under
Section 12(2) of the 1933 Act (e.g., Gilbert v. Nixon, 429
F.2d 348 (10th Cir. 1970)) and concluding that the burden
of proof on the scienter issue should be placed on defend-
ants,* has disregarded Congressional limitations and has
upset the balance between protecting the public, on the
one hand, and responsible businessmen, on the other.
Section 12(2)—which gives to a purchaser of securities
a right to sue the seller—has several explicit restric-
tions built into the statute which are not present in Rule

* Such a result had never before been reached and is diametrically
opposed to the prevailing rule in the Second Circuit. Fischman v.
Raytheon Mfg. Co., 188 F.2d 783 (2d Cir. 1951) ; Shemtob v. Shear-
son, Hammill & Co., Inc., No. 71-1504 (2d Cir., August 31, 1971).

19

10b-5, such as the requirement that the defendant be the
seller of securities and thus the person who profited from
misstatements; a short statute of limitations, Section 13
of the 1933 Act, and provision for security for costs, Sec-
tion 11(e). The privity requirement of Section 12(2) is
particularly significant because the decision below holds
Texas Gulf liable to sellers of its securities, even though
Texas Gulf did not buy or sell securities and was not en-
riched in any degree.

In comparing civil liability under the 1933 and 1934
Acts, Professor Loss has remarked:

‘““* * * the express civil liabilities under this Act (the
1934 Act) are much less rigorous than those under the
1933 Act—reflecting a watering down of the original
draft in the light of the expressed fears that corpo-
rate managements would ‘strike’ against listing their
securities on exchanges and putting their heads intu
the lion’s mouth. * * *’? 3 Loss, Securrries Recua-
TION 1746-1747 (1961).

The legislative scheme thus does not contemplate the
imposition by implication of standards of responsibility
under Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 which are far more
strict than those imposed under the express provisions of
the 1933 Act. In commenting on anomalous results similar
to that reached by the court below, Loss states that this
Court may be persuaded ‘‘to throw its collective hands up
and the [implied private liability] doctrine out.’’ 3 Loss,
Securities Recunation 1790 (1961). No such action,
however, is required to reverse the decision below; to
restore some reason te the law, this Court need only hold
that ‘‘fraud’’ means at least knowledgeable wrongdoing and
that the requirement that the act complained of be ‘‘in con-

20

nection with the purchase or sale of securities’’ means at
least that the wrongdoing must be integrally related to a
securities transaction. These common-sense propositions
are what the statute and rule say, and they constituted the
law prior to this and the SEC action.

In addition to the specific legislative history, the gen-
eral policy behind the securities laws requires reversal of
the result reached by the Tenth Circuit. Prior to initia-
tion of its suit against Texas Gulf, the SEC referred to
the ‘‘commendable and growing recognition on the part of
industry and the investment community of the importance
of informing security holders and the public generally with
respect to important business and financial developments.’’
Securities Act Release No. 3844 (October 8, 1957). Such
disclosure can hardly be promoted by a rule of law that
voluntary, good faith, corporate statements not connected
with securities transactions and issued only to warn the
public against false and extravagant rumors will expose
a company to damage suits from all claiming to have been
misled thereby.

C. The standards enunciated by the Tenth Circuit, which
ignore altogether the good faith judgment of Texas
Gulf’s management, place an impossible burden of
compliance on corporations and will inhibit dis-
closure of business information.

Not only did the Tenth Circuit create a liability which
did not exist before, but it formulated standards for press
releases which are not intimated in the statute or rule.
And, in giving these standards ex post facto application,
it held that failure to comply with those newly devised

21

standards constituted ‘‘fraud.’’ But Texas Gulf made no
false statements, nor did it purport to set forth any state-
ment at all as to what had been found by the drilling at
Timmins. The release merely warned against accepting
rumor as fact and promised a further statement ‘‘when
reasonable and logical conclusions can be made.’’? The
good faith determination of Texas Gulf efficials that such
conclusions could not then be made was supported at trial
by the testimony of four eminent mining experts.

However, the Tenth Circuit held that the release was
insufficient and misleading as a matter of law; that Rule
iUb-5 required Texas Gulf to set forth the drilling data it
then had; i.e., ‘‘to unveil the then known dimensions and
drilling data of their discovery’’ (53a). Yet at the time
Texas Gulf spoke, and indeed to this day, no rule or regu-
lation of the SEC has ever required or even suggested that
disclosure of preliminary Grilling data should be made in
documents filed with that agency. To the contrary, the
whole thrust of enforcement under the securities laws has
been to discourage disclosure of preliminary data. See,
e.g., Item 8A(b) of Schedule I to Form 1-A relating to
Regulation A offerings under the Securities Act of 1933,
1 CCH Fed. See. L. Rep. 17327 (77a).

The Tenth Circuit recognized that the honest opinion
of the management of Texas Gulf, consisting of several
mining engineers and geologists, was that at the time
the release was issued, the available drilling data was
not yet sufficient to reach responsible conclusions (44a) ;
in those circumstances, it can hardly be ‘‘fraud’’ for man-
agement to conclude that the disclosure of such prelimi-

22

nary and inconclusive data was neither necessary nor desir-
able. The interpretation and application of Rule 10b-5 in
this case goes beyond the authority granted by {10(b) of
the 1934 Act.

The scrutiny of the press release by the Tenth Circuit
was more appropriate to review of a registration state-
ment or prospectus than a press release. Not only are
the former documents prepared with painstaking care over
long periods of time to conform with precise rules, regula-
tions and schedules promulgated by the SEC, but they are
also documents designed to elicit funds for the benefit of
the issuer. Here the press release was drafted under great
pressure on a weekend to respond to extravagant rumors
in a situation where no guidelines existed; furthermore it
was not designed to obtain any economic benefit for the
corporation or its officers.

Moreover, Texas Gulf’s right to comment upon matters
of public interest to its shareholders is protected by the
First Amendment. As discussed in the companion petition
in the SEC action (No. 327, at pp. 27-30), imposition of
liability upon Texas Gulf in these cireumstunces violates
basic constitutional rights.

In sum, the effect of the present decision is that Texas
Gulf, acting in good faith and without any ulterior pur-
pose, has been judged in hindsight under newly-created,
court-made ruies which go beyond'the statute and indeed
contradict legal precedents and administrative practice un-
der the securities laws, and having been so judged, is now
required to account, perhaps to thousands of persons, for
paper profits to which those persons have been encouraged
to feel entitled.

II

The Tenth Circuit compounded the effect of its
erroneous decision on the scope of Rule 10b-5 by per-
mitting recovery by persons who sold after the issuance
of a second release announcing a major ore discovery
and by fashioning a rule of damages which requires in-
nocent shareholders to pay large sums to those who
have not been damaged.

Not only did the Tenth Circuit determine that Texas
Gulf could be liable to all sellers of its stock because of
its April 12 release, but it also concluded that such liability
should extend to persons who sold after the promulgation
and receipt in brokerage houses and elsewhere throughout
the country of a second release announcing a major ore
discovery. This result places an enormous burden on
publicly-held companies which have thousands of shares
traded on the exchanges every day, and ignores both the
realities of the situation and case law.

The realities of the situation aze clear. The informa-
tion conveyed by the second release was in the hands
of respondents’ agents, their stock brokers, before respond-
ents sold; in order to place their sell orders, respondents
would have had to call their brokers and presumably would
have learned of the second release. Whether they actually
learned of that second release or not, notice of the April
16 release delivered to the brokers must be imputed to
their customers. Great American Indemnity Co. v. First
Nat'l Bank, 100 F.2d 763 (10th Cir. 1938); RestaTeMEenT
(Seconp) or Acency, §272 (1957). If the agent fails to in-
form the principa: in such circumstances, the principal is
charged with the knowledge of his agent, the principal hav-

24

ing selected him and confided to him the business at hand.
See Schram v. Burt, 111 F.2d 557, 563-64 (6th Cir. 1940).

Kegardless of the question of imputation of the brokers’
knowledge to the respondents, Texas Gulf cannot be held
responsible for damages after the issuance of the April 16
press release. The issuance of a further statement by the
same means by which the first statement was issued puts an
end to any possible liability resulting from that first state-
ment. Vulcan Metals Co. v. Simmons Mfg. Uo., 248 Fed.
853 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 247 U.S. 507 (1918). Similarly,
in Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S. 232 (1904), this Court
held:

‘‘When the means of knowledge are open and at hand
or furnished to the purchaser or his agent and no ef-
fort is made to prevent the party from using them,
and especially where the purchaser undertakes exami-
nation for himself, he will not be heard to say that he
has been deceived to his injury by the -nisrepresenta-
tions of the vendor.’’ /d. at 241-242.
In City Nat’l Bank v. Vanderboom, 422 F. 2d 221, 231 (8th
Cir.), cert. denied, 399 U.S. 905 (1970), the Court of Ap-
peals quoted this language in denying recovery to a seller
of stock in a §10(b) action.

The Tenth Circuit’s refusal to apply these well-estab-
lished principles has drastic consequences fur a company
whose stock is publicly traded. Despite its best efforts to
clarify and explain, Texas Gulf can, under the Tenth Cir-
cuit’s reasoning, be held liable to thousands of selling
shareholders who will claim not to have gotten the word,
despite its availability in every brokerage office.

Not only did the Court of Appeals permit respondents
to recover on the basis of their sales made after dissemi-

25

nation of the second release, but it awarded damages to
them based on the high price of the stock two weeks there-
after. In a rapidly rising market, this can mean the im-
position of staggering liability on a publicly-held company,
in reality, upon its shareholders. The rule has no support
in precedent or reason. i

Under the federal out-of-pocket rule, which has been
held to govern the award of damages in the federal courts
since Smith v. Bolles, 132 U.S. 125 ( 1889), damages are to
be based on the difference between the sale price and the
real or actual value at the time of sale. 3 Loss, Securities
Recvuation 1629 (1961). At the time of respondents’ sales,
the information in the April 16 release had been disclosed,
and the sharp upward movement of the stock and the heavy
trading confirmed that the information had affected the
price of the stock. Indeed, before respondent Mitchell sold
his stock on April 17, his brokers had stated in an invest-
ment letter that the price of the stock reflected the exist-
ence of 25,000,000 tons of ore disclosed in the April 16 re-
lease.

In any event, there can be no warrant for giving selling
stockholders the benefits of increases taking place up to
two weeks thereafter.* By that time, other factors, includ-
ing Texas Gulf’s annual meeting and further announce-
ments by Texas Gulf as to the dimensions of the ore body,
had intervened, and the price of the stock had increased.
The Tenth Circuit justified its harsh rule of damages on the
ground that ‘‘the wrongdoer is not heard to complain. ’’

* The trial court based its damage award on the average of the
high price over a period of one month. TGS stock sold at lower
prices for the balance of the month after the date selected by the
Court of Appeals. The Court may wish to take judicial notice of
the fact that the stock is selling at a much lower price today (after
accounting for a three-for-one split).

26

This rule has its origin and applicability to instances in
which the ‘‘wrongdoer”’ profits from the wrong at the ex-
pense of the iujured party. But the ‘‘wrongdoer’’ who is
required to pay is the innocent Texas Gulf shareholder
who did not think that the release was ground for selling,
but was rather reason either to hold or to buy. Texas
Gulf did not profit by issuing the press release. These
respondents did not lose money upon their investments, and
indeed received more for the stock than the: paid for it.
The ‘‘damages’’ awarded were additional speculative prof-
its they might have made if thcy had held on to their stock
and sold at some later optimum time. As Judge Friendly
predicted, the rule of law enunciated by the Tenth Circuit
will simply mean ‘‘large judgments, payable in the last
analysis by innocent investors, for the benefit of specula-
tors and their lawyers. * * *’’ 401 F.2d at 867. With such
a possibility looming, a publicly held company is not likely
to make a statement which is not legally required, but
might well prefer to let the false rumors do their work.

The Tenth Circuit decision, in adopting a fraud
statute of limitations in an action where there was no
finding of fraud, conflicts with a well-reasoned decision

of the Eighth Circuit.

Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 do not contain any stat-
ute cf limustions. The right of action under that statute
and rule has been implied by the judiciary, and the express
statutes of limitation contained in the 1934 Act have not
been applied. The federal courts have instead looked to
the state limitations period for guidance. Several courts
have in the past used the fraud provisions of the forum

POOR PPT Se ay MOTTE EE IE er

arr

CEP RL LI Pere

27

state as the proper guide in framing a limitations period.
Here the District Court held that the Utah three-year
fraud statute applied, and the Court of Appeals affirmed.

However, as demonstrated above, the liability of peti-
tioners herein was not predicated upon a finding of frand,
of which there was no evidence in the record; in these
circumstances, the claim has become much more like a
Blue Sky action than a fraud action. As Professor
Loss has stated in his treatise, under the ‘‘most nearly
analogous test’’, the statute of limitations period should
be that found in the state Blue Sky laws. 6 Loss, Secunrt-
TIES Rectation 3902 (1969). That was the result reached
by the Eighth Circuit in Vanderboom v. Sexton, 422 F.2d
1233 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 852 (i970). The
court there said that the Arkansas Blue Sky provision
bore ‘‘the closest resemblance to the federal statute in-
volved’’ and that it was ‘‘the most reasonable and logical
type of statute to apply to which might be termed an ‘im-
plied federal blue sky’ type of statutory action.’ 422 F.
2d at 1237-38. If the Utah Blue Sky provision were
adopted,* providing for a two year statute of limitations,
both respondent Reynolds and respondent Mitchell would
be time-barred.

* The substantive provisions of Section 61-1-22(1)(b) of the
Utah Code closely parallel Rule 10b-5(2) :

“(1) Any person who * * *

“(b) offers or sells a security by means of any untrue state-
ment of a material fact or any omission to state a ma-
terial fact necessary in order to make the statements
made, in the light of the circumstances under which
they are made, not misleading * * *,”

Section 61-1-22(5) provides in relevant part that “[nJo person may
sue under this section more than two years after the contract of sale.”

98 ‘.

IV

The decisions of the District and Circuit Courts, as-
serting jurisdiction over petitioner Fogarty, contravene
constitutional principles enunciated by this Court.

The courts below have asserted personal jurisdiction
over petitioner Fogarty, although there was no evidence
that he had any contacts with the state in this matter. The
constitutional principle set forth in Hanson v. Denckla, 357
U.S. 235, 253 (1958), makes it ‘‘essential in each case that
there be some act by which the defendant purposefully
avails itself of the privilege of conducting activities within
the forum state, thus invoking the benefits and protections
of its laws.”’

Here, the evidence demenstrated that Dr. Fogarty
drafted the press release in his home in Rye, New York,
as part of his duties with the corporation. TGS dissem-
inated the release in New York, and reports of it were
transmitted from there by the news media, including Dow-
Jones, throughout the nation. TGS conducted potash min-
ing activities in Utah and was properly ‘‘found’’ there.
However, Dr. Fogarty as an individual was not ‘‘found”’
there and his activities, as above described, do not consti-
tute ‘‘purposefully avail[ing] [him]self of the privilege
of conducting activities within [Utah].’’ Thus the District
Court’s assertion of jurisdiction over him violated the
constitutional principles set forth in Hanson, supra.

ue SORES Gaetan at atone

RENO BEART OBOE

OS RET OP i S:

_

Conclusion

Rule 10b-5, as interpreted by the courts, has been al-
lowed to supplant and upset the legislative scheme enacted
by the Congress to balance the investors’ need for protec-
tion and information with the legitimate requirements of
responsible and honest business. The incongruity of an
otherwise directed administrative rule supplanting Con-
gressional direction is the product of a process by which
the courts have, in ease after case, extended Rule 10b-5 just
one step further. Professor Loss has warned that ‘‘we
can’t go on indefinitely piling interpretation on interpre-
tation on interpretation.’? 22 Bus. Law. 921 (1967). The
final result, represented by the Tenth Circuit’s opinion
heicin, is a structure built on the quicksand of faultily ap-
plied precedent, judicial legislation and misconstruction of
the securities laws.

Only this Court can restore a sound foundation based
on the provisions of the Rule in the context of the securi-
ties legislation enacted by Congress. Rule 10b-5 was pro-
mulgated by the SEC to aid its function of preventing
fraud by purchasers of securities.* The proper construc-

TY,

_ * In its release announcing the adoption of Rule 10b-5, the Com-
mission stated:

“The Securities and Exchange Commission today announced
the adoption of a rule prohibiting fraud Ly any person in con-
nection with the purchase of securities. The previously existing
rules against fraud in the purchase of securities applied only to
brokers and dealers. The new rule closes a loopnole in the
protections against fraud administered by the Commission by
prohibiting individuals or companies from buying securities if
they engage in fraud in their purchase.” Securities Exchange
Act Release No. 3230 (May 21, 1942). (Emphasis added. )

See also Freeman, 22 Bus. Lawyer 922 (1967).

30

tion of the Rule would preclude respondents here, and
others with similar claims, from recovering from peti-
tioners and the Texas Gulf shareholders, damages based
on the good faith attempt by the company to clarify the
status of its rapidly developing exploration at Timmins.

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Orison S. MarpEN
Attorney for Petitioners
14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
732-1040
Catvin A. BEHLE
Kertn EK. Tayior
Parsons, Bente & Latimer, Esqs.

P. B. Konrap KNAKE

THomas McGanneEy

JEFFREY A. BaRist

W. New Tuomas III
Wuirte & Cass, Esqs.

Of Counsel
September 23, 197]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385606_0083%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
