# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kahn v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1614%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 404 U.S. 991

## Text

ae ee

a SNARY get

~ me Court, U.S. \
SUPREME COURT, ULE | — ge

In The

Supreme Court of the Ur

Octobcr Term, 1971

sath
Nn. WL -3934
HAROLD S. KAHN, |
Petitioner,
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

IRVING ANOLIK
Attomey for Petitioner
225 Broadway
New York, New York 10007
732 - 3050

LUTZ APPELLATE PRINTERS, INC.
(4746) Law end Financial Printing

South River, N. J. New York, N.Y. Philadelphia, Pa.
(201) 257 - 6850 (212) 565-6377 he (21S) 563-5587

—— —_————— ».

INDEX
Page

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari see ee 1
CONNOR BONOW «csc ks eeeseveses a
Jurisdiction + e e i * 7 J = o 7 o * * e — a 2

Questions Presented seevseeveseeeee 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisiuns In-
volved o oo . e t e + oe o e a e e e a - > e 3

Statement of the Case .....ccccecece 8
Argument:

I, The petitioner having been con-
victed in the United States District
Court had an unqualified right to
appeal to the United States Court of
Appeals. The Court of Appeals, upon
application of the Government, pre-
cluded an appeal because petitioner
had pleaded guilty after having made
certain legal motions of constitutional
Cimension, Petitioner never ex-
pressly waived his right to appeal. ... 6

Conclusion ee ee a ee ae Se ee

Order Dismissing Appeal Terr ee ee

tt

Indez

Page
Table of Citations

CASES CITED:

Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 oo) ee

Bergin v. MacDougall, 432 F.2d 935 (2
Cir. 1970) o . e e = e ” e e * e e * « s A 8

Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443, 451-2,
491-2 e- ©¢ © @ @ 4 € ££ 6 @*@ DB GOD 46S DR SD *& 11

Burns v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 252 ....... “ae
Cochran v. Kansas, 316 U.S. 255 ....... 9
Coppedge v. United States, 369 U.S. 438... 9
Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 .. 8, 9, 12
Dowd v. United Scates, 340 U.S. 206 .... 9
Gardner v. California, 393 U.S. 367 ..... 9
Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S.12 ...... 9,13
Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464... 7,12

Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, 338
U.S. 912, 917-20 coeoep ere ee © © ee © © 11

McCarthy v. United States, 394 U.S. 459
(1969) ee ee ee ee (npc antecrans

Nowakowski v. Maroney, 386 U.S. 542 .... 10

ttt
Indez

Richardson v. McMann, 397 U.S. 759
(1969) i a ee ee ee) 8, 11

Sunal v. Large, 332 U.S. 174, 181 ..... 11

Taylor v. United States, (D.C. Cir.) 238
F.2d 259 e e s e e e e e e e e * e . e e oe 7

United States v. Carver, 260 U.S. 482,
490 e t @ e a * e e e = 2 e e & o os s e e 11

United States v. Doyle, 348 F.2d 715 (2 3
Cir.), cert. denied 382 U.S. 843(1965). .7,11,.12

Williams v. Oklahoma City, 395 U.S. 458... 9
RULES AND STATUTES.-CITED:
“ed, R. Crim, Proc.:

41(e) e e e e e e @ e e e e e e ° e e e es 6, 11

48(b) e e ee eee?eee e e ee eeee 6, 11
28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254(1) ee e e e * o ee ee ® 2

18 U.S.C. 201(b) e ve i e 2 es o wn c a 2 s _ : 1
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION CITED:
First Amendment (eee © 6% 4 48 «4 eee

Fifth Amendment (se 68 Oe hee ee ew ee
Sixth Amendment Teer enr ee Tee eae

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

October Term, 1971
—<—>—

_ No.

HAROLD S. KAHN,
Petitioner,
v8.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner, HAROLD S. KAHN, respectfully
prays that this Court issue a writ of certiorari
to review the order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit which dismissed
the appeal pending before that Court without an
opportunity for oral argument and without an
been taken from a judgment of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of New
York convicting Petitioner of the crimes of con-
spiracy to defraud an agency of the United States,
namely the Internal Revenue Service (Count 1 of
the indictment); and a violation of 18 U.S.C. 201
(b) (Count 7 of the indictment) upon his plea of

guilty following the denial of certain motions which
sought a dismissal of the charges upon questions
of law.

The United States Court of Appeals rendered
no opinion. Its short decision and order is re-
produced in the appendix to this petition.

Jurisdiction

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
Title 28 United States Code, Section 1254(1). The
Court of Appeals Second Circuit granted the
Government’s motion to dismiss the appeal with-
our affording petitioner an opportunity to submit
briefs or to argue the appeal on the merits,
apparently on the grounds that no appeal lies from
a judgment of conviction predicated upon a plea of
guilty since such an appeal, according to the
Government, would have been frivolous. The
order dismissing the appeal is dated August 18,
1971. (See Appendix.)

Questicas Presented

1. Whether every defendant convicted of a
crime in a federal court is entitled as a matter
of right o appeal his judgment of conviction to the
appropriate United States Court of Appeals and to
be heard thereon?

2. Was petitioner denied due process of law and
the equal protection of the law when the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit,
upon application of the Government, granted a

motion dismissing the appeal because the peti-
tioner had interposed a plea of guilty in the
District Court?

3. Does the interposition of a plea of guilty
following the denial of legal motions seeking to
dismiss an indictment render appellate review
unavailable to a defendant in a federal criminal
case?

4. May the United States Court of Appeals
preclude appellate review without reviewing the
record of the District Court merely because the
Government has taken the position that the appeal
would be frivolous since a plea of guilty was
entered following a series of unsuccessful legal
motions seeking to dismiss the indictment?

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Invelved

The First, Fifth and Sixth Amendments of the
United States Constitution are involved herein.
Section 9 of Article I of the United States Consti-
tution is alsc involved.

Statement ef the Case

The petitioner herein was a career employee
of the Internal Revenue Service, having served
with distinction for close to twenty years, and
held the title of Appellate Conferee, Petitioner is
also an attorney at law as well as the father of a
family and has never previously been in conflict
with the law.

The indictment herein was one of a series ob-
tained in large measure through the efforts of an

“agent provocateur” and there was a serious issue
of entrapment. In addition, there had been a sub-
stantial issue as to denial of a speedy trial and
also questions involving electronic surveillance
and unlawful search and seizure which were
raised in pretrial motions by the petitioner in the
District Court.

The trial judge denied these motions, all of
which were addressed to legal and constitutional
questions. There were virtually no fact questions
presented which would have to be decided by a

jury.

Once these motions were denied a trial on
questions of fact would have been an exercise in
futility. °

Therefore, immediately following the denial of
these motions, the defendant (petitioner herein)
interposed a plea of guilty through his attorney to
certain counts of the indictment.

A timely notice of appeal was filed. The Dis-.
trict Court and the Circuit Court denied bail
pending appeal because the petitioner had pleaded
guilty and, consequently, the Government argued
that any appeal would be frivolous. The position
taken by the petitioner however was that the
motions were reviewable on an appeal despite the
plea of guilty since the plea of guilty was designed
primarily to avoid expense and time which would
be involved in going through a trial of fact ques-
tions when actually the issues which are involved
herein are questions of constitutional and statutory
law only.

The decision of the United States Court of

Appeals dismissing the appeal is as follows:

“Upon the motion made hereby by counsel
for the appellee by notice of motion dated
July 26, 1971 to dismiss the appeal and upon
the answering statements in opposition to
dismissal of the appeal, dated July 28, 1971,
it hereby is ordered that the appeal is dis-
missed. See, e.g., Richardson v. McMann,
397 U.S. 759 (1969); Bergin v. MacDougall,
432 F.2d 935 (2d Cir. 1970); United States
v. Doyle, 348 F.2d 715 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 382 U.S. 843 (1965),”

It is the position of the petitioner herein that
he has a right to perfect an appeal irrespective
of whether or not such an appeal would be frivo-
lous. (We contend the appeal is not frivolous).
The equal protection of the laws and due proc-
ess guarantee. each defendant in a federal

criminal case an absolute right to appeal to the —

United States Court of Appeals in the appropriate
circuit. If the Court of Appeals may dismiss
such appeals without argument on the merits and
without reviewing the record of the case, then
there is a clear denial of equal protection of the
laws.

Argument
1.

THE PETITIONER HAVING BEENCONVICTED
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT HAD
AN UNQUALIFIED RIGHT TO APPEAL TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS. THE
COURT OF APPEALS, UPON APPLICATION OF
THE GOVERNMENT, PRECLUDED AN APPEAL
BECAUSE PETITIONER HAD PLEADED GUILTY
AFTER HAVING MADE CERTAIN’ LEGAL
MOTIONS OF CONSTITUTIONAL DIMENSION.
PETITIONER NEVER EXPRESSLY WAIVED HIS
RIGHT TO APPEAL.

The defendant-petitioner herein, HAROLD S.
KAHN, a career employee with the Internal Revenue
Service who held the title of Appellate Conferee
at the time of his indictment, was convicted upon
his plea of guilty, of conspiracy, with one Robert
Wiene and others, to defraud the United States
by failing to report income of a substantial amount;
and of giving a sum of money to an official of the
Internal Revenue Service.

An appeal as of right pursuant to Rules 3 and 4
of the Rules of Appellate Procedure was timely
filed.

There is no doubt but that motions were made
on behalf of the petitioner pursuant to Rules 41(e)
and 48(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-
cedure. Pursuant to these motions the petitioner
sought to dismiss the indictment because it had
been inordinately delayed without just cause for
a substantial! period of time. In addition, suppres-

sion of evidence, including electronic surveillance,
was sought because certain material had been
ebtained in apparent violation of the Fourth,
Fifth and Sixth Amendments. The District Court
denied the motions. Since there were virtually
no issues of fact that were involved, the defendant-
petitioner pled guilty to Counts 1, 4 and 7 of the
indictment and was sentenced to a fine plus 15
months imprisonment.

There was no express or implied waiver of
rights articulated by the petitioner or his trial
counsel, This Court has stated that there is a
resumption against waiver of constitutional ri hts
(JOHNSON v. ZERBST, 304 U.S. 458, 464; TAYLOR
v. UNITED STATES, [D.C. Cir.) 238 F.2d 259).

The United States Attorney for the Southern
District however, took the position that a plea of
guilty in essence‘precluded appellate review since
there was a presumption of waiver of any motions
which were made prior to the plea of guilty. In
the case of UNITED STATES v. DOYLE, 348 F.2d
715 (2 Cir.), cert. denied 382 U.S. 843 (1965), the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit indicated that motions made prior to a
plea of guilty could be raised on appeal if the
defendant pleading guilty specifically reserved his
rights to do so. It is ironic however, that in the
DOYLE case, the Court of Appeals apparently
permitted counsel for the defendant to submit
briefs and to argue the appeal. The judgment of
conviction in the DOYLE case was affirmed so it
would appear that the appeal was heard on the
merits, otherwise the decision would have to
have been that the appeal was “dismissed.”

In its brief decision dismissing the appeal
herein the Court of Appeals also cites RICHARD-
SON v. McMANN, 397 U.S. 759 (1969) and BERGIN
v. MacDOUGALL, 432 F.2d 935 (2 Cir. 1970),
which are both habeas corpus cases where the
appellants there sought to have federal courts
review by collateral attack matters which could
have been raised directly in the state courts.
Nothing in either the RICHARDSON or BERGIN
cases indicates that an appeal “as of right” may
be dismissed because a plea of guilty has been
interposed.

As a matter of fact, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the presumption should be that a de-
fendant in a criminal case has not waived any
rights rather than that he has. Thisis particularly
so in a case such as the one at bar where the
plea of guilty was interposed almost immediately
following the denial of the motions to dismiss the
indictment and to suppress evidence. In the case
of both motions incidentally, the District Court
refused to hold any hearings,

The further fact that the defendant-petitioner
filed a timely notice of appeal would indicate
that he was attempting to review the motions
since there would be no other reason to file a
notice of appeal. This procedure strongly would
indicate that no waiver of any rights was intended.

If the petitioner herein were an indigent, it
would appear that the Circuit Court would not
have considered dismissing the appea! (see DOUG-
LAS v. CALIFORNIA, 372 U.S. 353; and ANDERS
v. CALIFORNIA, 386 U.S. 738 [1967]). The right

to appeal however is given to all people who are
convicted in a District Court and not just to
indigents or to wealthy persons. (Petitioner
herein, incidentally, has advised his counsel that
he is in a precarious financial position.)

The courts have held that where the right to
appeal is given at all, it must be allowed to
everyone and may not be arbitrarily denied. (See
COCHRAN v. KANSAS, 316 U.S. 255; DOWD v.
UNITED STATES, 340 U.S. 206; GRIFFIN v.
ILLINOIS, 351 U.S. 12; BURNS v. OHIO, 360 U.S.
252; GARDNER v. CALIFORNIA, 393 U.S. 367;
and WILLIAMS v. OKLAHOMA CITY, 395 U.S.
458.)

In DOUGLAS vy. CALIFORNIA, supra, this Court
held that where persons appeal as of right, they
must be accorded substantially equal treatment.
As a matter of fact, in DOUGLAS, this Court in-
dicated that the requirement of a preliminary
determination of merit of an appeal is improper
as a prerequisite for having an appeal.

The petitioner takes the position that since an
appeal as of right lies from a judgment of con-
viction in a District Court, a Circuit Court may
affirm the judgment with little or no delay but it
cannot preclude appellant from presenting a brief
and permitting his counsel to be heard on the
merits in oral argument, especially where such
rights are uniformly granted to all appellants.
(DOUGLAS v. CALIFORNIA, supra, 372 U.S. at
357, 358.)

In COPPEDGE v. UNITED STATES, 369 U.S,
438, this Court declared that where it isa practice

10

to defer rulings on motions to dismiss until the
court. has had the benefit of hearing argument and
considering briefs and an adequate record, it
would be improper to accord an appellant differ-
ent treatment for no apparent reason. In
COPPEDGE, this Court aptly stated (id. at 449):

“When society acts to deprive one of its
members of his life, liberty or property,
it takes its most awesome steps. Nogeneral
respect for, nor adherence to, the law as a
whole can well be expected without judicial
recognition of the paramount need for prompt,
eminently fair and sober criminal law proce-
dures. The methods we employ in the en-
forcement of our criminal law have aptly
been called the measures by which the
quality of our civilization may be judged.”

In NOWAKOWSKI v. MARONEY, 386 U.S. 542,
this Court also declared its general determination
that the right to appeal may not be selectively
rescinded.

A. The ruling of the Circuit Court in essence
means that a defendant convicted in the District
Court upon a plea of guilty automatically
forfeits his right to appeal.

The ruling of the Circuit Court necessarily
means that the merits of an appeal will not be
heard where it appears that the defendant in the
District Court pleaded guilty, It is obvious how-
ever that this Court has entertained cases involving
pleas of guilty, so the ruling of the court below is
clearly contrary to established procedure {see
McCARTHY v. UNITED STATES, 394 U.S. 459

11

[1969] and RICHARDSON v. McMANN, 397 U.S.
759).

The petitioner herein went through the trouble
of making motions in the District Court which in-
volved constitutional issues under the Fourth,
Fifth and Sixth Amendments as well as Rules 41(e)
and 48(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Proce-
dure. The Court below, however, precluded
appellate review on the grounds that a plea of
guilty was entered following the denial of those
motions. It is thus apparent that the merits of
petitioner’s contentions were not reviewed in the
Court of Appeals. He in essence was denied
appellate review because when he opposed the
dismissal of the appeal, he frankly admitted that
the appeal itself would necessarily have to consider
the timely motions which were made and denied
by the District Court. Those motions however,
involved matters of great substance and a dismissal
of an appeal deprived KAHN of the equal protec-
tions of the law.

This Court denied certiorari in UNITED STATES
v. DOYLE, supra (382 U.S. 843). It is elementary
however that the denial of a writ of certiorari
“imports no expression of opinion upon the merits
of the case as the bar has been told many times”
(UNITED STATES v. CARVER, 260 U.S, 482, 490;
BROWN v. ALLEN, 344 U.S. 443, 451-2, 491-2;
SUNAL v. LARGE, 332 U.S. 174, 181. See also
MARYLAND v. BALTIMORE RADIO SHOW, 338
U.S, 912, 917-20).

It is thus apparent that this Court has never
declared that a defendant who pleads guilty in a
District Court is precluded from appealing,

12

This Court should grant certiorari in this case
and, incidentally, should also admit the petitioner
to bail at once since the issue herein transcends
this particular case. The vice noted in DOUGLAS
v. CALIFORNIA, supra, that an appellant must
show the merits of his case before he can appeal,
is apt to become the uniform procedure unless
this Court straightens the question out, once and
and for all.

The issue is not whether the District Court was
wrong or right in denying the motions without a
hearing. The issue is whether or not pevitioner
had a right to have the determination of the District
Court reviewed. The procedure of going through
a trial would have enabled KAHN to enjoy full
review of the motions as well as the trial. Since
however, it would have been an exercise in futility
to go through the expense and time of a trial
when virtually no factual issues were involved, it
is submitted that the Court of Appeals should at
least have reviewed the legal questions which
were timely raised.

There should be no automatic waiver presumed
as the Court of Appeals has assumed, since such
a presumption contravenes this Court’s pronounce-
ments in such cases as JOHNSON v. ZERBST,
supra. In addition, the requirements in UNITED
STATES v. DOYLE, supra, expressed by the Cir-
cuit Court, that a defendant must expressly reserve
his right to appeal where he pleads guilty is con-
trary to due process and contrary to law.

If an appeal may be heard from a plea of
guilty by “reserving one’s rights” (DOYLE v.
UNITED STATES, supra), then it is totally unfair

13

and illogical to deny this right to review merely
because counsel did not articulate the reservation
of rights.

The petitioner herein, a lawyer as well as a
career employee of the Internal Revenue Service
for almost a generation, has been denied due pro-
cess of law and the equal protection of the laws.
His fundamental right to appeal was in effect
denied despite the fact that he complied with all
the procedural prerequisites.

In the landmark case of GRIFFIN v. ILLINOIS,
351 U.S. 12, the opinion of Justice Black speaking
for four of the Justices, aptly explained:

“* * * In criminal trials a State can no more
discriminate on account of poverty than on
account of religion, race, or color. Plainly
the ability to pay costs in advance bears no
rational relationship to a defendant’s guiltor
innocence and could not be used as an ex-
cuse to deprive a defendant of a fair trial.
*** It is true that a State is not required
by the federal constitution to provide appel-
late courts or a right to appellate review at
all. * * * But that is not to say that a State

. that does grant appellate review can do so
in a way that discriminates against some —
convicted defendants on account of their
poverty, * * *

“All of the States now provide some
method of appeal from criminal convictions,
recognizing the importance of appellate re-
view to a correct adjudication of guilty or
innocence. Statistics show that a substantial

14

proportion of criminal convictions are re-
versed by state appellate courts. Thus to
deny adequate review to the poor means
that many of them may lose their life,
liberty or preperty because of unjust con-
victions which appellate courts would set
aside.”

In view of the foregoing, we respectfully submit
that the petition for certiorari should be granted,
the petitioner should be admitted to bail, and the
order of the United States Court of Appeals dis-
missing the appeal should be reversed with in-
structions to permit an appeal on the merits,
including the motions which were made and denied
by the District Court just prior to the plea of

guilt.
Cerclusion

The petition for certiorari shoulda be granted
and the matter remanded to the Circuit Court
with instructions to hear the appeal on the merits,
including any motions which were made prior to
the plea of guilty. The petitioner should also be
admitted to bail pending the determination of this
case.

Respectfully submitted,

s/ Irving Anolik
Attomey for Petitioner

nt Sia ae ek ne ee _

45

Order Dismissing Appeai

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
Second Circuit

At a Stated Term of tue United States Court of
Appeals in and for the Second Circuit, held at the
United States Court House, in the City of New
York, on the 18th day of August, one thousand
nine hundred seventy-one,

United States of America, i
Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.
Harold Kahn,
Defendant-Appellant.
SS e@ eee tebheaeweceauna x

Upon the motion made herein by counsel for
the appellee by notice of motion dated July 26, 1971
to dismiss the appeal and upon the answering
statements in opposition to dismissal of the appea:,
dated July 28, 1971, it hereby is ordered that the
appeal is dismissed. See, e.g., Richardson vy,
McMann, 397 U.S. 759 (1969); Bergin v. MacDougall,
432 F.2d 935 (2d Cir. 1970); United States vy.

16

Doyle, 348 F.2d 715 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382
U.S. 843 (1965).

s/ Wilfred Feinberg
Wilfred Feinberg

s/ William H. Mulligan
William H. Mulligan

s/ William H. Timbers
William H. Timbers
Circuit Judges

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1614%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
