# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Underwriters at Lloyds London v. Alcoa Steamship Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1341%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 404 U.S. 854

## Text

ae Se
- :

SS. | guy av ist

IN THE E. ROBERT SEAVER, CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE.UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, -1970

T1- J]

‘UNDERWRITERS . AT LLOYDS LONDON,

. ANDREW WEIR INSURANCE CO., LTD.,
FINE ART-& GENERAL INSURANCE CO., LTD.,
NATIONAL PROVINCIAL INSURANCE CO., LTD., hte

ORION INSURANCE COMPANY, LTD., a a,8
ENGLISH & AMERICAN INSURANCE CO., LTD., “M”, _
and ECONOMIC INSURANCE COMPANY, LTD,

_— a/e, :
| Petitioners
_ versus - arenes
‘ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC., ET AL.
——_ a

a:

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH. CIRCUIT,

LEON SARPY
JAMES G BURKE, JR.
PAUL A. NALTY |
Attorneys for Petitioners.

1500 National Bank of

_ Commerce Building - -
‘New Orleans, La. 70112

OF COUNSEL | Rie

_CHAFFE, McCALL, PHILLIPS, |

BURKE, TOLER & SARPY

~

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Opinion .Below ce eeee ry Neel ae Renee 5.
Jurisdiction is ea 2

- Questions Presented 2 a ae
Statutes Involved cece
ey 0 aa \ 3
Hasty Argument | “oe ee

I. The Disgretion of the District Court in Assessing: |

Against Primary Underwriters the Payment of /
Interest Should Not Have Been. Disturbed. by ra

the Court of Appeals ___ 7 74

ne The ‘Peet of Interest Should | be yom ¢
Only Against the Principal: Debtor, and not
‘Against One Who Was Exonerated from the

Payment of Principal - :, 11
III. Interest Not Separable eens (Principal ‘In The
_° Absence of Contract SSStunR ASE ., 14
Conclusion __ Ses ee eas 7 ae

Appendix A. |
The opinion of the Court of p | Brikeatencneaenns 19

Appendix B = |
Judgment of the Court of Appeals eee pecs 32

I

| _--—'RABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

“*~

Page
Appendix C

- Order of the Court of Appeals on Petition “~ cae
Rehearing : 34,

et

— D-

”

@<"

Amendment) ica 36

_ Appendix E . ire, zt oe ic |
Findings by ‘the Special ‘Mester, Richard BL

Montgomery, Jr. - _- ns 42

| Appendix F~

- Statutes Involved Saiscislaben | 50

LIST- OF AUTHORITIES.

Albert Dumois, The, 177 U.S. 240, 20 S.Ct. 595,
: 44 L.Ed. 751 (1900) . ~ 9

" Aleoa Steamship Co., Ine. vs Charles paisa & Co.,
Ine., et al.; 383 F.2d 46, and 393 US. 836, 21

L.Ed 2d 107 (1968) _— DE GT 3
Arizona Eastern R. Co. v. . Head 224 P. 1057, 1058,
i 26 Ariz. 259 _ RL Par Plat 13
re Asphalt Pav. Co. vs Webster - County, 421"
| N.W. 1072, 1073, 143 lowa, 255 -- keene foe 13
Brotherhood of ‘Railroad Petia vs Baltimore and
Ohio Railroad vempeay, 8 331 USS. 519, 91 L.Ed.
1646 (1947) seis):
| Charter Shipping Citas vs Bowring, 281 US:
oR, 74 L.Ed. 1008 (1930) : ms
ee Glass Works vs. Cub Fork Coal nana
287 U.S. 474, v7 L.Ed. 439 (1932). - a
Gakr vs Louisville Banking Co., 74 Ry. (au Bush)
_ 180, 189, 21 Am. Rep. 209 : _ 13

Hagan \ V. Commissioners? Cat of Limestone County, . —

49 So. 417, 421, 160° Ala. 544, 37 LRA,
N.S. 1027 __. | — 13

Hemmenway vs Fisher, 20 Howard 255, 15 L. Ed. 799. 12

Inhabitants of Town of Norridgewock v. ‘Inhabitants’
of Town. of Hebron, Me., 128 A.2d 215, | 13

WI

ate

LIST OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Kenny v. Si ‘Feliz Inv. Co., Cal, 9 P.2d 225, 228,

121 oe _ pide be et es IE ba a 13

Lekas & Drivas, Inc. vs Goulandris, 306 F.2d 426
(2nd Cir., 1962) _ Se we SES aie

MacRackan v. Bank of Columbus, 80 S.E. 184, 185,

164 N.C. 24, 49 L.R.A., N.S., 1043, Ann. Cas. -
1915D, 105 —-____ ea ae

"625 SE Pi OMe as phones ee L-

_ Manitoba, The, 122 U.S. 97, 30 L.Ed. 1095 (1886) _. 12 .

Mann, Succession of, 4 La.Ann. 28 (1849) > de *

Maryland :Casualty Co. of Baltimore, Md. vs Omaha
Electric Light & Power Co., 157-F.514 _____. 15, 16

Merrigan vs Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 43° F. asc
209 (1942) m aeons } | 14

R.F.C. vs Service Pipe Line Co., mre Okl. 206 F.2d

6, OOF he, icant MO
Scotland, The, i18 U.S. 507, 30 L.Ed. 153 (1885) -

Shidieatinwe The, 106 F.2d 896 (9th Cir. 1939) ___ oS 9

United incite vs lcs tieei Oil Co., 60 Sup. Ct.
811, 310 U.S. 150, 84 L.Ed. 1129 (1940) 2

Vv.

LIST OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

| | Page
Van Nievelt, Goudriaan Co.’s Stoom.M. vs ‘vias &
T. Man Corp., 421.F.2d 1183 (2nd Cir. 1970) __. 9
', Wagner Electric Corporation vs Ocean Ace: & Guar-
antee Corp., 36 F.2d 186 (1929) ___ newssnncntgnsae: ly SMM
Wright, The, 109 F.2d 699, 702, 2nd Cir.,” 1940 or 2
; | STATUTES a
28 USCA 1254 Yt ee
ANCA We
Siabeieie Civil Code of 1970, Article 1935 poe et 12 .

(—

watt GLP yar -

IN THE
‘SUPREME. COURT OF THE UNITED STATES |

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

NO.

UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYDS LONDON,

; ANDREW WEIR INSURANCE CO., LTD.,

M ‘FINE ART & GENERAL. INSURANCE CO., LTD.,

NATIONAL PROVINCIAL INSURANCE CO., LTD.,
_ ORION INSURANCE COMPANY, LTD.,

_. ENGLISH & AMERICAN INSURANCE CO., LTD., “M”,

and ECONOMIC. INSURANCE COMPANY, LTD.,

| | “M’”’ af,
. € | Petitioners
versus - 2 . :
- ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC., ET: AL.
Respondent
Vn

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT: OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT |

Now come Underwriters at Lloyds London, Andrew

Weir Insurance Co., Ltd., Fine Art & General Insurance
Co., Ltd., National Provincial Insurance Co., Ltd., Orion
‘ Insurance Company, Ltd., English & American Insurance
Go., Ltd., “M”, and Economic Insurance Company, Ltd.,

“M” a/c, Petitioners, hereinafter collectively referred to ;
. as Excess ‘Underwriters, and respectfully petition this

Honorable Court/ to issue a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

LA ag aa ali al as

2

the Fifth Circuit entered in this case on April 26, 1971
exonerating petitioners from liability on the principal of
the shipowner’s claim for damages but holding petitioners
for the payment of interest, and the order of the same
Court denying a rehearing entered on June 23, 1971. -

OPINION BELOW

The said opinion in question of the Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit is reported at ... . F.2d ,
Appendix A, and the order of that Court denying a re-
hearing was: rendered on June 23, 1971, Appendix C.
_ The trial court, United States District Court for the .
Eastern District of Louisiana, New Orleans Division, —
rendered its opinion at F.Supp. ____, Appendix C._

JURISDICTION

_ The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
April 26, 1971 Appendix B and a petition for rehearing
' was timely filed by these petitioners and the order denying

the rehearing was entered on June 23, 1971. en

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 US
Code 1254 (1 ‘i, é;

QUESTIONS PRESENTED —

1. .Whether the discretion of the district court in |
assessing the payment of interest against Primary Under-
writers who paid $300,000.00 principal, found to be
due by both District Court and the Court of Appeals,
should: be disturbed by the Court of Appeals which shifted
the liability. for the payment of interest from Primary
Underwriters to Excess Underwriters.

3

2. Whether the nature of ‘interest, being a premium -

for the use of money, should be due only by the principal
debtor who enjoyed the use of the money or by Excess
Underwriters. : ah |

3. Whether interest can be separable from principal

in the absence of contract,

STATUTES INVOLVED

28 U.S. Code 1961, and Louisiana Civil Code of 1970

Article 1935, Appendix E, imposing respectively, interest
_ at the rate allowed by state law, and the state law provi-
sion that interest is damages due for the.delay in per-

formance of ‘an obligation by primary underwriter to :

pay money.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ‘

This litigation has previously come before this Court’ -

on application for writ of certiorari filed by Alcoa
Steamship Company, which this Court denied, 393 US
836, 21 L.Ed. 2d 107 (1968) The shipowner Alcoa sued

the repairman for damages approximating $1,000,000. _

The ship repair contract contained a red letter clause
limiting liability to $300,000. So in this matter two de-
cisions of the Court of Appeals have now held that the
red letter clause limiting liability of a ship. repairer to.
$300,000 is valid, 383 F.2d 46, and ee "ae
exonorated Excess Underwriters from any liability ‘to
' pay any amount whatever toward interest. From the first:
determination ‘by the Court of. Appeals this Horoiable
Court denied certiorari and has accordingly refused

_ to review the correctness of the Fifth Circuit’s holding the
red letter clause valid:

a
“=
‘4
e.
e:,
2

i a

CRETE Ee Ee

OPEN

FE SE MLAS SII RIL

=
é
Pa
&
Pa
*
bs
&
»
5
=
ag
cS
&
%

4

‘In its second opinion the Court of Appeals declared
that although the primary underwriters of Charles Fer-
‘rand & Co., Ine., the ship repairer, elected to pay the '
principal‘sum of $300,000, that petitioners, being excess

underwriters, pay nothing in the form of principal. How- : ©

ever, the Court of Appeals has assessed the interest on

__ $300,000 against Excess Underwriters who .¢ .are e the peti-_ oh

tioners in this petition for certiorari.

‘This petition therefore concerns. only the question of
the imposition of interest against a litigant who has
been exonorated from paying any principal.

It is the position of petitioners that the judgment of
‘the Court of Appeals is erroneous in the three respects
_ above set forth and as-such contradicts the holdings of this
Court in its previous decisions which we shall cite.

ARGUMENT
I, THE DISCRETION OF THE DISTRICT COURT
IN ASSESSING AGAINST PRIMARY UNDER-
WRITERS. THE PAYMENT OF _ INTEREST
SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN DISTURBED BY
THE COURT OF APPEALS.
We have here presented the anamolous situation whére
Primary Underwriters are held liable for the payment of
the principal of $300,000, but the payment of interest
on this principal has been cast by the Court of Appeals
upon Excess Underwriters held by: all Courts to be. ex-
onerated of any principal whatever, and reversed the
District Court in that regard. Our research discloses no
reported decision wheré a similar holding has been made.

5

This is an admiralty proceeding and as such the im-
position of interest is within the sound discretion. of the
Mis.rict Court. Unless thé determination of the District
Court is arbitrary, discriminatory or illegal, the exercise
of such discretion _should-not be disturbed. There is no

____finding-by the Court of Appeals that the District Court
was arbitrary, discriminatory or illegal. -

The following United States Supreme Court cases
enumerate this principle and are as follows:

Charter Shipping Company vs Bowring, 281 U.S. 515,
74 L.Ed. 1008 . (1930), involved a libel in admiralty
brought by one British corporation against another to
recover a general average deposit. The respondent subse-
quently filed a suit in England which involved the same
subject matter/ The District Court dismissed the libel —

. stating that contribution for general average is to be
determined by the law of the port of discharge and that
“under all the circumstances” jurisdiction should be de-
clined. The Court’ of Appeals. reversed, holding that juris-
diction should have been retained. The Supreme Court,
on certiorari, stated that the retention of a suit in ad-

_ miralty between foreigners is within the discretion of
the District Court, and that the exercise of its discretion
may not be disturbed ‘unless abused. The Court went on to
enunciate the following principle: _ ;

“Even if we assume, as did the Court of Appeals -
below, that the bills of lading may have modified .
the liability in general average so as to put in
issue the case taken to make the vessel sea-
worthy before sailing, we cannot say that the -
District. Court inprovidently exercised its discre-
tion. It was forthe District Court. to consider

6

the facts appearing _and the inferences which .
might be drawn from them breach its own con-
clusion. ...”

Therefore, on this pertinent issue, the Supreme Court
of the United States reversed the Court of Appeals’ de-
cision and reinstated the decision based upon the ‘District .
Court’s discretion.

Fairmount;Glass Works vs Cub Fork. Coal Company,
287 U.S. 474, 77 L.Ed. 489 (1932), involved an action
for damages based upon an alleged. breach of contract.
Jurisdiction of the Federal Court was invoked on diversity
of citizenship. On two trials in the Federal District
Court. the jury returned a verdict in favor of the defend-
ant and requests. for new trials were denied by. the
district judge. The Court of Appeals reversed these judg-
ments and ordered new trials. On certiorari, the United
States Supreme Court reversed the Circuit Court’s rulings
and used the following pertinent language:

“The rule that this court will not. review the
action of a Federal trial court in granting or
denying a motion for a new trial for error of
fact has been settled by a long and unbroken
line of decisions; and has been frequently ap-
plied where the ground of the motion was that
the damages awarded by the jury were excessive
_ or were inadequate. The. rule precludes likewise
a review of such -action by a circuit court of
appeals. More frequently the reason given for
the denial of review is that the granting - or
refusing of a motion for a new trial is a matter
within the discretion of the trial court”

Furthermore, the court went on ‘to state:

“It is urged that the refusal to set aside the

——ee

verdict was an abuse of the trial court’s dis-
_ ewetion, and hence reviewable. The Court of -
Appeals has not. declaréd that the trial judge
abused his discretion. Clearly the mere refusal
to grant a new trial where nominal damages .
were awarded is not an abuse of discretion. This.
’ court has frequently refrained. from disturbing
the trial court’s approval of an award of dam. |
« ages which-seemed excessive ar inadequate, and
the circuit courts of appeals have generally fol-
lowed a similar policy. Whether refusal to Set |
aside a verdict for failure to award substantial
damages may ever be reviewed on the ground
that the trial judge abused his discretion. we
have no occasion to determine.” ,

United States vs Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 60 Sup.Ct.
811, 310 U.S. 150, 84 L.Ed. 1129 (1940), involved a
jury conviction under an indictment charging violations
of the Sherman anti-trust act. The Court of Appeals re-
versed and remanded for a new trial. On certiorari, the
United States:Supreme Court upheld the District Court’s -
exercise of discretion by using the following language:

“Hence, this case falls into the well established
wule that neither this court nor the tircuit court
of appeals will review the action of a fed- —
eral trial court in granting or denying a motion
for a new trial for error of fact, since such
action is a matter within the discretion of tf
trial court. Certain- exceptions have been noted,
such as instances where the trial‘ court has er-
roneously excluded from consideration matters
which were appropriate _to a decision on the
_ motion. But there are no such circumstances
' here. Certainly, denial of a motion for ‘a new
trial on the grounds that the verdict. was against
the weight of the evidence would not be sub-

8

ject to review. In substance no more than that
is involved here.”

In Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen vs Baltimore
and Ohio Railroad Company, 331 U.S. 519, 91 L.Ed. 1646
_ (1947), another case involving the principle of discre-

_ tion, the issue dealt with the .intervention rights of rep-
resentatives of railroad employees in a suit brought —
against the railroad. The plaintiffs coritended that they |

had an.unconditional right to intervene by virtue of the .
Interstate Commerce Act. The: District Court denied
the order and the plaintiffs appeajed. The Pena: States.
Supreme Court stated:

“Our jariadiction to consider an appeal from an

_ order denying intervention thus depends upon-
.the nature of the applicant’s right to intervene.

-If the right is absolute the order’ is appealable
-and-we may judge it on tis merits. But if the
‘matter is one within the discretion of the trial
court and if there is no abuse or discretion, the
order is not dh capes and we lack power to
review it.”

The court held that the plaintiffs did have a right to in-
tervene based upon the-statute and ‘thus, reversed the
_trial court’s ruling. Howeve:, the Supreme Court of the
United States did state that if the.matter in question is
one within the discretion of the trial court and there
is no abuse or discretion, even the Supreme Court wofild
lack power to review it.

The above decisions concerning the matters within the .
trial court’s discretion and the non-reviewability of the
exercise of this discretein also appear to be the rule in.
admiralty concerning the award of interest. The Scotland,
118 U.S. 507, 30 L.Ed. 153 (1885)..This rationale was

* oo, 3

adhered to by the Supreme Court in The AlbertDumois,
177 U.S. 240, 20 S.Ct. 595, 44 L.Ed. 751 (1900). This
collision. case involyed limitation of liability problems as ©
well as a question as- to the award.of interest. The
Federal Court for the Eastern ‘District of Louisiana
valued the cargo. at $11,000. However, the Fifth Circuit
reversed and put a $15,000 evaluation on the ship. In-
terest must also have been sought. for the increased value,
’ for when the case got to the Supreme Court, the Supreme
Court stated the following: | :
“There was no error in refusing to allow interest
upon her evaluation. The allowance of interest in
Admiralty cases is discretionary and not review- -
able in this court except in a very clear case.”

The next case in which the discretion of the court in
allowing interest. was at issue, was that of The Stjerne-
borg, 106 Fed.2d 896 (9th. Cir., 1939). From a decree in
favor of the appellee with interest, an appeal was taken.
The appellants argued. that in admiralty interest, may be.
properly disallowed or reduced cause of unusual delay
in the prosecution of an ans :

_ their contention, the Court’ stated that the allowance of
interest is dsicretionary. The Albert. Dumois, supra. .In
the absence of ‘anything in the record disclosing who may |

be blamed for the delay, we are not warranted in holding
that the tiral court abused its discretion.

Two other admiralty, cases from the Second Circuit
which also involved the issue of awarding interest are

- Lekas & Drivas, Inc. vs Goulandris, 306 F.2d 426 (2nd

Cir, 1962) and Van Nievelt, Goudriaan Co.’s Stoom.M. vs
_ Cargo & F. Man Corp., 421 F.2d 1183 (2nd Cir, 1970).
In the Lekas case the Court refused to disturb the District’ |

ajty cause. On rejecting hs

10

Court’s award of interest, adding, however, that the dis-
cretion of the District Court in allowing interest is re-°
viewable for abuse, citing The EW nget, 109 F.2d 699, 702,

' 2nd Cir., 1940. , :

In the Van Nievelt case, where pre-judgment interest
on a liquidated amount-was at issue, the Circuit Court
reversed the District Court’s. denial of interest and_ re-.
manded the case for an award of interest. In reaching
. the result, the Court stated that the- general rule of allow-
ing interest is much stronger where, as in the instant
_ ease, the damages are liquidated and are based upon
' a breach of contract. The Court also stated that while
the general rule is that an admiralty court has discertion
to award or deny prejudgment interest, this discretion
is not unlimited.

The Court of Appeals in the instant case therefore
had no power to disturb the District Court’s exercise of
discretion. This holding by the Court of.. ss cc was
arbitrary to say the least.

‘The District Court siidithad a Special Master who
returned his findings to- the Court to the effect that
interest should be paid by the Primary Underwriters, —

Appendix D, declaring that Primary Underwriters hav-

ing had the benefit of the principal over the years, should “

now. pay interest on that’ principal.’ The District ‘Court
affirmed that Special Master, Appendix .C. The Court of

Appeals then upset the finding of the Special Master and

the District Court without determining that the Special

- Master had abused his discretion or that his report was

arbitrary or discriminatory. Indeed the Court of Appeals

- gave as its reason for imposing interest on Excess Under-

11 ‘
writers its language on page 10 of its opinion :

“We think primary underwriters have the better
of .it sq we fixed ~ _— on excess under-
writers.”

We respectfully submit that it has always been the

: law that unless the District. Court -has abused its dis- —

cretion or: its holding has -been found arbitrary and —

_@

discriminatory, | its determination should remain undis-

turbed.-

Il. THE PAYMENT ‘OF INTEREST SHOULD BE’

_ ASSESSED ONLY AGAINST THE PRINCIPAL
DEBTOR, AND NOT AGAINST ONE WHO WAS
EXONERATED © FROM | THE PAYMENT. OF
PRINCIPAL. :

‘There is no question but that Primary Underwriters, .
who paid $300 ,008principal . on May 5, 1969 retained -

the full benefit of the use of. those funds since October
6, 1956. The determination by the Court of Appeals

obviously places a premium on the ability of Primary —

Underwriters to. hold out~6n the principal (which. they

ultimately paid voluntarily) for the longest possible period.

during which time they reaped the harvest of the revenue

from the investment, approaching in this situation the .

sum of $200,000.

Interest is allowed as damages against a debtor for
the nonpayment of money by him, and‘in this case the -
only underwriters determined’ to owe money are the’

Primary Underwriters. If Pri imary ‘Underwriters had
' paid the pincipal of $300,000 at the time Alcoa filed suit
_in 1957, there would be no interest due by anyone. The

12

voluntary payment by Primary Underwriters of $300,000
on Bowe 5, 1969 terminated ci a of interest.

There are ae decisions Me the Supreme Court of
, the United States which bear on the subject. In (1857
Hemmenway vs Fisher, 20 Howard 255, 15 L.Ed. 799,
probably the first instance of a declaration by the Su-
preme Court of the United States on the subject of in-
terest in admiralty cases, involved an appeal from the’
District of Massachusetts concerning a collision which .
occurred in Louisiana. There the, Supreme Court rec-

ognized that there was no rule fixing any certain rate |
of interest upon decrees in admiralty. | |

The second case which came before the Supreme Court
of the United States was The Scotland, supra, in which
the District Court. in an admiralty proceeding was rec- .
ognized as having-the. full authority to exercise jurisdic-
ticn on the subject of interest. And the’ following: year to
the same effect the Supreme Court. decided The Manitoba,
122 U.S. 97,30 L.Ed. 1095 (1886). Hence, the District
Court’s exercise of discretion has been well recognized
should not be disturbed here.

The State law of Louisiana controls on, the subject
of interest and is stated in Civil. Code Article 1935 which
reads ‘as follows:

“The damages due for delay in the perform-
ance of an obligation to pay ‘money are called
interest. The creditor is entitled to these dam-.
ages without proving any loss and whatever loss
he may have suffered he can recover no more.”*

| From this language Louisiana has established the rule

13

which i is als6 recognized i in ne states that interest is the
damage due by .a debtor for nonpayment of money.
Here the failure to pay the money prior to the time of
actual payment was on the Primary Underwriters.

Interest has been defined as a premium paid for the
use of money. usually reckoned as a percentage. “Interest”
is a premium paid for the use of money. Barker Asphalt
Pav. Co. v. Webster County, 121 N.W. 1072, 1073, 143

Iowa, 255. The word “interest” means: premium paid for.
use of money usually recognized as a percentage. Kenny

v. Los Feliz Inv. Co., Cal., 9 P.2d 225, 228, 121 Cal.App.
‘ 378. Webster defines “interest” as a premium paid for
the use of money, usually reckoned as a_ percentage,

Hagan v. Commissioners’ Court of Limstone County, 49
So.417, 421, 160 Ala. 544, 37 L.R.A.; N.S., 1027. “In-

terest” is a Seats allowed by law for the pee of money. |

MacRackan v Bank of Columbus, 80 S.E. 184, 185, 164
N.C. 24, 49 L.R.A., N.S., 1043, Ann. Cas. 1915D, 105;
Gaar v. Louisville Banking Co., 74 Ky. (11 Bush) 180,
189, 21 Am. Rep. 209. .

Rurther, interest ‘has been defined as compensation for
the use of money. Arizona Eastern R. Co. v. Head, 224
my 1057, 1058, 26 Ariz. 259; R.F.C. v. Service Pipe Line
, CA. Okl., 206 F.2d 814, 817. “Interest” is compen-
, cy for ae of forbearance of money, Mayflower Inv.

Co. v. C.ILR., C.At, 239 F.2d 624, 625. “Interest” is the
compensation fixed by agreement or allowed by law, for -

_the use or i genegises Caras Inhabitants of Town of
Norridgewock v. Inhabitants of Town of Hebron, Me.,

128 A. 2d 215,:217.

We penbentes submit that from all considerations, .

*. 14

legal as well as equitable, it was an error for the Court

‘of Appeals to impose the payment of interest upon Excess

Underwriters which never had any benefit from any

“use “of the rincipal sum of money of $300,000, which

principal was due only and paid only by Primary Un- —
derwriters. |

The holding of the Court of Appeals therefore violates
the due process clause of the Fifth Amendment and should

be reversed because it imposes liability on petitioners who

owed no principal and without any authority in law.

III. INTEREST NOT SEPARABLE FROM PRIN-
~ CIPAL IN THE. ABSENCE OF CONTRACT.

The authorities support the proposition that although
the principal can exist without interest, a claim for
interest cannot exist without the principal in the absence
of agreement to that effect in the same fashion that a

. foundation ¢an exist without the superstructure but the

superstructure cannot exist without the foundation.

In Merrigan v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 43 F.Supp.
209 (1942), in an action on a life insurance policy, the
Eastern District of Louisiana stated that interest is a
matter of law and under Article 1935 of the Louisiana
Civil ‘Code is damages for nonpayment of money. The
Court said:

“Interest is ever interest; because of its very
- nature it is a penalty, and referring to it as such, |

makes it none the less interest.”

The Court further observed:

“Interest can not be sued for distinctly from

15

the principal, for it is an accessory to the debt.”
citing sia se of Mann, 4 La. Ann. 8 oe

. In the partindaaly. pertinent decision bay the Eighth
Circuit ‘in Wagner Electric: Corporation v. Ocean Ace.
& Guarantee Corp., 36 F.2d 186 (1929), the insurance
company. issued an accident policy in the form of an ex- —
cess policy after $5,000, together with certain incidental
charges but was silent on interest. Appellant therefore
carried its own insurance up to $5,000 and the appellee
insurance company was to carry all thereafter up to the
next $5,000. The insurance company paid its $5,000 for

the excess but declined to pay the interest and tendered - .

$5,000 in full settlement which was refused. The Court
held that the insurance eompany was not liable for the
interest and declared:
? ,
“***Ordinarily, and in the absence of express
provision, an insurance company is not. liable for
_ Interest which has accrued pending appeal, for
‘the reason that: ‘Interest is a consideration paid
for the use of money, or for forbearance in de-
manding it when due; and so long as one retains
money and has its use he can make no charge
against another for interest thereon.’ Maryland .
Casualty Co. of Baltimore, Md., v. Omaha Elec-
tric Light .& Power Co. (C.C.A. 8) 157 F. 514,
515.”

The Special Master here declared, R.-: 223:

“The reason for making a determination that
the Marine Office of America should bear the
responsibility is that it, as primary insurer, had
the use of the money during the period of limita-
tion. There is some conflict of opinion as to
this question, but I am basing my decision on
Maryland Casualty Lae v. Omaha Electric

(16
Light ‘ca Power Co. CCA 8 (1907), 157 F. 514.

‘In this « ‘case the Court said:
““The argument of plaintiff's counsel that
the defendant, by exercising its right of ap-
peal, and by superseding thé execution of
the judgment pending that appeal, caused
the accumulation of interest in question, and
thereby created an additional charge against
the plaintiff for which it should be held
responsible as a loss to the plaintiff, is -
more specious than sound. The fallacy rests
in afailure to recognize the advantage

| Rtg a Te

which the appeal gave the. plaintiff.

The value of the use is equal to the accrued -
interest, that being only a consideration paid
-for the use of money or for forbearance is
a demanding it when due. Accordingly the as-
: | sured lost nothing by the delay occasioned
by the appeal or by paying the interest
which accumulated pending the appeal. The
assured .stood after paying the interest ex-
_ actly as it would have stood if it had paid:
the judgment of $5,000 on January 3, 1902,
when originally rendered. Nothing was lost.
by the appeal, as. the interest ultimately
paid was neutralzed by the use and enjoy-
ment of the money before that time.’ ”

Here, as in the Wagner Electric supra and Maryland
Casualty Co. of Baltimore; Md. v. Omaha Electric Light
& Power Co., 157 F. 514, a decision by the Eighth Circuit,
sé long-as one retains money ‘and has its use he can
make no charge against another for interest thereon.
The Fifth Circuit decision here’ therefore conflicts with °
the holding of the Eighth Circuit in Wagner Electric,
supra.

as |

OPT late

> |

“We respectfully submit that the foregoing ‘authorities

establish a rule of law which the Fifth Circuit’ Court |

has violated,- namely, that interest should be paid only
by the party. who rétains the principal and- enjoys

. the use of it, and not by. anyone who. has not enjoyed

the use of such money. Interest being a penalty it is
logically and legally improper to force an innocent party
to pay a penalty on the debt of another who has re-*

a: tained the use of the’ pr incipal for over a decade. ;

In charging interest againste Excess Underwriters, the

Fifth Circuit Court has; in effect, granted a decree

against excess underwriters which did not exist. before.
The Court of Appeals’ has departed from the original
concept: of interest which is the payment’ of damages ‘for
the use of money. | Since Excess Underwriters never had
the use of any of the funds, how then can they a
charged with interest, which is “dashiben for nonpaymen

of money? Excess Underwriters were never in all of °

proceeding . charged with one penny of principal. This

being so, it is very difficult-for one to understand how
they can be char ged with any. interest on the principal
due by Primary Underwriters.

The Court’ of Appeals las placed ‘nue Sauhiee on :
the term “aggregate liability” as used in the red letter

‘clause, Appendix A, p. 26. This term “aggregate liability”

obviously refers to all individual items of principal taken.
in the aggregate as of the date when the obligation to pay *
the _ principal accrued. Here the obligation to ‘pay the

principal accrued from the time the cause of.action arose

and the cause of action as finally determined by this

Court was restricted to $300,000, all principal paid by
Primary Underwriters.

3

”

rs — % va
SLOANE LINE RES, LIE MPL LY SILI AEN RST MN EN

EDP COLLET Ag GE i?

18
CONCLUSION |

We respectfully submit that each of the three points:
above-mentioned is strong reason for this Court to grant
this petition for certiorari. We certainly have a matter
of first impression, and which violates the cited decisions
of this Court and further denies ‘Excess Underwriters
of their constitutional right to due process of law under
the Fifth Amendment.

Respectfully submitted,

LEON SARPY
JAMES G. BURKE, JR. —
PAUL A. NALTY ~
Attorneys for Petitioners
- 1500 National Bank of Commerce
Building
New Orleans, La. 70112 -

OF COUNSEL . ae
CHAFFE, McCALL, PHILLIPS,
BURKE, TOLER & SARPY

CERTIFICATE |

I, PAUL’ A. NALTY, a member of the Bar of

_. this Court, do hereby certify that I have this day served

copy of the above and foregoing application to Benja-

min Y. Yancey and Edward S. Bagley, attorneys - for

,Aleoa, and upon George B. Matthews, attorney for

Primary Underwriters, by mailing a copy thereof, postage

.- prepaid, to them at their offices, at New Orleans, Loui-
_ Siana-on: this L164. day of July, 1971. .
(Sga.) PAUL A. KALTY

oes

i
* 19

APPENDIX A
’ The Opinion of the Court of Appeals
7 IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT vial APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 28944

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellee Cross Appellant,

@

versus

CHARLES FERRAN & CO., INC. AND GLENS FALLS
INSURANCE COMPANY, ET AL,

Defendants-Appellants Cross Appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Louisiana

=

(April 26, 1971) ’

Before BROWN, Chief Judge, GEWIN and
; THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges. © iccss
BROWN, Chief Judge: Now on its second voyage

ieee? | S20
here’ the case presents a rehash of the Louisiana. Di- |
rect Action’ and Red Letter Clause. problem, one con-
cerning interest on the limited liabilty figure, an intra-
-mural controversy between the

mary and excess underwriteys“as to interest, and a
tag end complaint by. Shipowner®..with respect to the
amount of interest ch has accumulated in one year
between the dat the casualty and the first judicial
demand. We affirm in part and reverse in part.

After remand following Op [iii] the parties never
got around. to proving. Shipowner’s total damages or
the reductien thereof under the doctrine of avoidable
consequences.’ About the time it seemed likely that’ the
Special Master and District Court would adhere to our
noating, in - iat p. a6, that the Red Letter ence

————

The prior opinions here and in the Distriet Court appear in this
ries 2 ji] Aleoa Steamship Company, Ine. v. Charles Ferran
& Con Inc.,*E.D. La., 1965,- 242 F.Supp. 962; [ii] Aleoa
Steamship Company, Ine. v. Charles Ferran-& Company, Ine., E.D. _
La. 1966, 251 F.Supp. 823, 1966 A.M.C. 1029, aff'd in {iii} Aleoa
Steamship Company, Ine. v. Charles Ferran & Company, Ine., 5 Cir.,
1967, 383 F.2e 46, 1967 A.M.C. 2578, cert. denicd, 393 836, S:Ct.
. L.Ed.2d > . For convenience these\prior. opinions
kang be roterred té Op as [ii] [iii], with page citatigns following
. Op [i] p. 962. % 2 4
2Ch: he ’s Ferran Company, Inc. i e wk
8Alcoa Steamship Company, Ine. 5
4The pettinent part of this clause is: F see
_“* * * we undertake to perform work on veeieta’ *\ \?
. only upon condition that we shall not be liable in respect
to any one vessei, directly er indirectly in contract Jor in|
_tort * * * to its owners, charterers or underwriters for any
injury to such vessel, .its cargo, equipment or movable
_ Stores, or for any consequences thereof, unless such injury
is caused by our negligence or the negligence of our
employees and in no event shall our aggregate liability to
all such parties in interest for damage. sustained by them, .
as a result of such injury, exceed, the sum of $300,000.00.
““In connection with the accident and/or indemnity and/or
insurance clauses, if any, contained in your specifications,
.- relating to liability for personal injuries, please note that
‘we ‘do not agree to same, in so far as they undertake to
impose any liability or any obligation to take out or main-"
tain insurance beyond the liabilities or the obligations . to
to insure imposed upon us by law.”
2

\

“Dr

/
/

21. ;

limitation of $300,000 extended to the underwriters m
der the Louisiana Direct Action’ Statute,* the Primary
Underwriter (Glens Falls) threw in the towel by. paying
the full $300,000 into the Registry. The Master entered
Aa the District * Court approved) an order limiting
liability of Shiprepairer and _ its Underwriters ~to
— 000, but he allowed interest, against puaprepasser

5 ‘ “No or ie or contract of liability insurance shall 7
issued or delivered in this state, unless it contains provi-
sions to the effect that the insolvency or bankruptcy of
the insured shall not release’ the insurer from the payment
of damages for injuries sustained ‘or loss occasioned dur-
ing the existence of the policy, and any judgment which
may rendered against the insured for which the insurer
is liable which shall -have become -executory, shall be
deemed prima facie evidence of the insolvency of the in-
-sured, and. an action may thereafter be maintained within . *
the terms and limits of the policy by the injured person, —
or his or her’ survivors mentioned in the Revised Civil
Code Article 2315, or heirs against the insurer. The. injured. 3

. person or his or her survivors or heirs hereinabove re-

ss ' “ferred to, at their option, shall have a right of direct action

against the insurer within the terms and ‘limits - of the
policy; and such action may be brought against the -insurer
alone, or against both the insured and insurer jointly and“in
solido, in the parish in which the accident or injury oc-
curred or in the parish in whith an action could be brougt
against either the insured or the insurer under the general
ruies of venue prescribed by Art. 42, Code of Civil Pro- ?

cedure. This right of direct action shall exist whether the f

policy of insurance sued upon was written or delivered in:

the State of Louisiana or not..and whether or not’ such

policy contains a provision forbidding such direct action,

provided the accident or injury occurred within the State’

of Louisiana. Nothing contained in ‘this Section shall be.

construed to affect the provisions of the policywor contract

if the same are not in violation of the laws of this State.

It is the intent of this.Section that any action brought

hereunder shall* be subject to all of the lawful conditions

of the policy or contract and the defenses which could be

urged by the insurer to a -direct action brought by the rate

insured, provided the terms afid conditions of such policy.

or contract are not in violation of the laws of this State.

-It is also the intent of this Section that all liability

policies within their terms and limits are exechted for the

benefit~of all insured persons, his or her survivors or.

‘. heirs, to whom the insured is liable; and. that it, is the
purpose :of all liability policies to give protection ° and
coverage to all insureds, whether they are named insured
or additional insureds. under the omnibus -clanse, for any a
legal liability said insured may have as or for:a tort-feasor
within the terms and limits of: said: policy. -

LRS-R.S. a3; 655 (Supp. sari

22

and its Primary Underwriter on that sum, from the
date of judicial demand (October 1957), rather than
the date of the loss (October 1956). Shipowner by its
appeal wants. to recover the full loss from the Under-.
writers under the Direct Action Statute, plus interest
for the additional year. The Primary Underwriter con-
tinues to join. hands ‘with its long time but now-some-
time-ally, the Excess Underwriters (Lloyds), as both
resist that awful prospect, but soon fall out as each
takes the generous view that the other, not it, Ameri-
can Fidelity & Casualty Company, Inc. v. ‘St. Paul-
Mercury Indemnity Company, 5 Cir., 1957, 248 F.2d |
509, should bear the loss of interest. |

_ Red Letter and Direct: Action

In Op [iii)/we affirmed the eaNier decisions of the —
District Court upholding the validity of the Red Letter
Clause (see note 4, supra) and extending th
_ limitation to the Underwriters under the Direct \A:
Statute. Ordinarily that would be an-end to it under
-the law of the case doctrine. Lincoln National Life In-
surance Company v. Roosth, 5 Cir., 1962, 306 F.2d 110
(en banc), cert. denied, 1963, 372 U.S. 912, 83 S.Ct. 726,~

.. 9 L.Ed.2d 720. But we agree that the matter deserves

another look-see in view of, the long awaited answer —
to the Jane Smith 4-1-4 riddle*® which came 15 years
‘ later in our celebrated Nebel Towing’ 2

. 6Maryland Casualty Co. v. ‘Cushing, 1954, 347 US. 409, 74 S.Ct. 608, 98

’ L.Ed. 806, 1954 A.M.C. 837.
7Olympic Towing Corp. v. Nebel Towing Co., Inc., 5 Cir., 1969, 419 F.2d
230, 1969 A.M.C. 1571, reh. en banc denied, 419 F.2d 238, cert. denied,
Nebel Towing Co., Inc. v. Olympic Towing Corp., 1970, 397 U.S. 989,
90 S.Ct. 1120, 25 L.Ed.2d 396, AML. _....... See Bue,
* Cushing Revealed — The Grisly Spectre is Precariously Defined As
To Size And Shape, — July 1970 Insurance Counsel Journal 401.

f

23

Whatever else might be saig’, by the protagonists a-.
bout Nebel’ Towing, or what.élse it may portend, neith-
er our holding therein that the statutory limitation of
shipowner’s liability isa defense. personal to the as-
sured shipowner nor the elucidation of it, transfers to
a contractual limitation contained in the agreement
which ‘is ‘the principal (if not whole) source of rights
and obligations. Pes . ‘ |

2

- The problem of course is ‘an amphibious one which
is the result of mixing the Louisiana: codal ‘provision
concerning debtors in solido* — as the Direct Action
Statute (note 5, supra) expressly characterizes the lia-
bility — into a maritime case. In the context of a Direct -
Action situation the cases, as did Nebel Towing, turn
on. whether the particular defense is “personal to some
of the other. codebtors,”® And until rejected in Nebel
Towing, none involved directly the affirmative provi-

“Art. 2098. Defenses available to debtors in solido
Art. 2098. A codebtor in solido,. being sued by the creditor
may plead all the exceptions resulting from the nature. of
'the obligation, and all such as ‘are personal to himself,. as
well as such as are common to all the codebtors. - =
He can not plead such exceptions as are merely personal
to some of the other codebtors.” : aa, .
L.S.A. — C.C. Art. 2098 (1952). : ee”: 8
See the following articles for a full explanation of the meaning
of. “debtor in soltido’: Comment, XXV Tulane Law Review 217; and
Comment XIV Louisiana Law Review 828.

®Defenses which have heretofore been considered “personal” under
, Louisiana law, thereby precluding their assertion and utilization by
-@ tortfeasor’s insurer, include: infancy, LSA-R.S. 9:571, see Rouley

v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., W.D. La.,. 1964, 235
S.Supp: 786; coverture, see Edwards v. Royal Indemnity Co., 1935,
182. La. 171, 161 So. 191 and Dumas. v. United -States Fidelity &
Guaranty Co., 1961, 241 La. 1096, 134 $0.2d 45; charitable immunity,

see Lusk v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., La.Ct.App., 1941, -

199 So. 666; and governmental immunity, Brooks v. Bass, Lia.Ct

App., 1938, 184 So. 222. As succinctly stated in’ Simmons vy. Clark. - -

' La.Ct. App., 1953, 64 So.2d 520;: “personal defenses are, such as

. infancy, interdiction, coverturd, lunacy, bankruptcy ‘and the like.” 64

‘So.2d at 523. In ITCO, E.D. La., 1965, 242 F.Supp. 950 was added .
‘those with a right to limit their liability. See also, Nebel Towing,

supra, and Alcoa v. Ferran, supra, at p. 1. :

24 .
rae

sion of Art. 2098 (note 8, supra) extending ‘to all co-

debtors the defenses “resulting from the nature of the
obligation.” |

Although we have found little in the way of Court:

decisions or the preferred legal literature of the Civil
Law’ to guide us through the sometime quaint codal
language, we’ are of the clear view that the Red Letter
Clause defense is not’ [i] personal to the Shiprepair-

er" and is (ii] one resulting from the nature of the

x

obligation. |
Obviously the defense is not “personal” to Shipre-
i so the pivotal question is: what is the nature

/

1OMost of the literature regarding defenses .“resulting from ea nature
of the obligation” in Article 2098 speak in terms of defenses which

derive from the non-existence of the obligation or’ from Various types °

of nullity. See 25 XXV, Fulane Law Review. (1951), comment,
Solidary Obligations .217, 224. ,We have examined the material
cited in notes. 69, 70 and 71, and. {jnd ‘nothing significant as
bearing on our problem. The literaturé recognizes that frequently
the “nature of the obligation” defense and defenses “as are Common
to all the codebtors” coalesce. But the “common” defense element
of Article 2098 is not helpful here since this-tecessarily begs the
question whether the’ Rea Letter eo ced defense available to all

stantiation in the literature in Court decisions. for Shipowner’s
argument that by the interplay of codal Articles 1764, 1841, 1903
(see Appellant's brief pages 5-6 and note 1). “the “nature of the

Shiprepairer and its ure fin 6 or have we fold -any- sub-"

“obligation” is an implied term of a contract since an expressed pro-

vision (the Red Letfer Clause) is an “accidental stipulation”.

~ ‘1iCiting the District Court on this point the Court in Nebel Towing said:

“|T |he nature of a ‘personal defense’ under Louisiana‘ law

is explained in [the] excellent opinion in * * * [Op [ii], p. 831]

* * * * After pointing out a number of defenses which
have been . held to be ‘personal’ under Louisiana ee
.[the court | stated:
‘Amongst these apparently varied eeaiiat defenses, ;
one common denominator is. discernible —,each -person ,
possessing a.“personal” defense obtained “that defense
- because the law granted it to.all members of his Class
as a matter of public policy. The personal defense
attaches to the status. Hence parents, children, hus-
bands, wives, .governmental -units, char itable . organiza-
tions, bankrupts, lunatics, Interdicts, vessel owners, and+
the like. possess a_ defense denitd their respective
insurers.’ ” See Op [ii] p, 831.

: .
. ‘

25

of the transaction. The nature of the transaction was,

of course, a ship repair contract -which expressed
rights and duties, but which — perhaps even more im-

portant — created: the ‘relationship out of which the —

_.law would impose implied duties, rights, and obliga-
tions. Typical would be~the implied obligation (in the

absence’ of contract terms) not to cause darhave by |

_ negligence; and for amphibious ' work, the presence of
the ubiquitous, awesome -WWLP.” And if the “trans-
| action” encompasses the litigation, it meets the test.

For the action asserted both negligence and breach of |

WWLP. | |

Given the validity of the Red Letter Clause ( Op {iii}
pp. 55, 56), its effectiveness. is preved by the result
here — a ceiling of $300,000 on damages stated to have

exceeded: $1,000,000.1° The clause was used for the ex-
press purpose of ‘limiting the underlying obligation in .

the event. of foreseeable occurrences, which would be

in the nature of a-tort or breach of the WWLP, in which, |

‘damages could run into the millions.
The District, Judge was correct. in‘stating it this way:

“Here the size of the obligation was part of’ the obliga-
tion.” (Op [ii] p. 831). | |

. : ee
The Red Letter Clause is valid. and extends to in-
surers under the Direct Action Statute.

12Warranty of Workmanlike Performance. See . Horace Delaneuville,
Jr. v. O. Ditlev Simonsen, Jr, 5 Cir, 1971, -,.... Fad _.

[No. 29233, January 25, 1971] at p. 2, n. 1, and, cases therein cited.

SNotwithstanding the limitation of $300,000 imposed. by the’Red Letter
" Clause there is no substantial doubt that the actual damages inflicted
on the ship amounted:to $1,000,000. See Op [i] pp. 966, 973. -

LAE LIS PO

ie ie le ial aa as” Se

24

sion. of Art. 2098 (note 8, supra) extending to all co-
debtors the defenses “resulting from the nature of the”
obligation.”

Although we have found little in‘ the way of Court
decisions or the preferred legal literature of the Civil
Law’ to guide us, through the sométime quaint codal
language, we are of the clear view that the Red Letter
Clause defense is not [i]. personal to the Shiprepair-
er" and is [ii] one suse from the nature of the
obligation. :

‘Obviously the defense is not “personal” to Shipre-
pairer, so the pivotal question is: what is the nature

l0Most of the literature regarding defenses Lae re en. the nature
of the obligation” in Article 2038 speak in terms of defenses which
derive from the non-existence of the obligation or from various types
of nuility. See 25 XXV, Tulane Law Review (1951), comment,
Solidary Obligations 217, 224. We have examined the material
cited tin notes 69, 70 and 71, and find nothing significant as
bearing on our problem. “The literature Tecognizes that frequently
the “nature of the obligation” defense and defenses “as are. cqgmmon
to all the codebtors” coalesce. But the “common” defense element
of Article 2098 is not. helpful here since .this necessarily -begs the
question whether the ‘Red Letter Clause is a defense available to all
-— Shiprepairer and its. Underwriters. Nor have we found any sub-
Stantiation in the literature or in Court decisions for Shipowner’s
argument that. by the interplay of ¢odal Articles 1764, 1841, 1903
(see Appellant's brief pages 5-6 and note 1), the “nature of the
obligation” is an implied term of a contract since an expressed pro-
_ Vision (the. Red Letter Clause) is an “accidental stipulation”.

11Citing “the District Court on this point the Court in Nebel Towing said:
“(T\|he nature of a ‘personal defense’ under Louisiana law
is explained in [the] excellent opinién in * * * [Op-[ii] p. 831]
* * * * After pointing out a number of defenses which
have been held to be ‘personal’ under Louisiana — * * * *
[the court | stated:
‘Amongst these apparently varied “personal” defenses,
one common denominator is discernible — each person.
possessing a “personal” defense obtained that defense
‘because the law granted it to all members of his class
as a matter of public policy. The personal defense
attaches to the status. Hence parents, children, hus-
bands, wives, governmental units, charitable organiza-_
tions, bankrupts, lunatics, Interdicts, vessel owners, and
the like possess a defense denied their respective
insurers.’ ”’ See Op [ii] p. 831. ,

25

of the transaction. The nature of the transaction was,
‘of course, a ship repair contract which expressed

rights and duties, but which: — perhaps even more im- |
portant — created the relationship out of which. the.
law would impose implied duties, rights, and obliga- -
tions. Typical would be the implied obligation (in the :
absemce of ‘contract terms) not to cause damage. by ~

negligence, and for amphibious work, the presence of
the ubiquitous, awesome WWLP.” And if the “trans-
action” encompasses the litigation, it meets the test.

For the action asserted both’ negligence and breach of
WWEP.

Given the validity of the Red Letter Clause (Op [iii]
" pp. 55, 56), its effectiveness is proved by the result
here — a gelling of $300,000 on damages stated to have

exceeded $1, 000,000." The clause was used for the ex-

press purpose of limiting the underlying obligation in
the event of foreseeable occurrences, which would - be
in the nature of a tort or breach of the WWLP, in which
damages eould run into the millions.

The District Judge was correct in stating it this way:

| “Here de size of ‘the obligation was part of the obliga-
tion.” (Op. [ii] p.. 831).

The Red Letter Clause is ‘valid and wichinaall to in-
surers under the Direct Action Statute.

12Warranty of Workmanlike Performance. Seé Horace Delaneuville,
Jr. v. O. Ditlev Simonsen, Jr., 5 €Cir., 1971, 22 ee 3
|No. 29233, January 25, 1971] at p. 2, n. 1, and cases therein cited.

13Notwithstanding the limitation of $300,000 imposed by the Red Letter
Clause there is no substantial doubt that the actual damages inflicted
on the ship amountéd to $1,000,000. See Op [i] pp. 966, 973.

AE. SERIALS PERT BUS: ’

26

Red Letters and Interest
The Master and District Court awarded interest to :
Shipowner on the $300,000. The question now is whether —
that is consistent with the term “aggregate liability”
as used in the. Red Letter Clause (see note 4, supra).

We readily answer in the affirmative. At the’ outset
’ the clause describes liabilities in..terms of those
to whom it might become liable as the vessel’s owners,
charterers, or underwriters. It is next stated therein
that the “aggregate liability to all such parties” shall.
be limited to $300,000. There are thus both claims —
inthe sense of distinctive types of losses, e.g., to hull,
to. stores, to cargo — and persons to whom it might:
be liable, which could readily make the ceiling inef-
fective unless it is certain that all are to be lumped
‘fogether so the ceiling would apply to them all. .

Equally important, this was, in effect, an implied
undertaking by Shiprepairer that, if it was, or became,
liable for any such damage, it would have to. pay up
to the limit of $300,000. As with any other obligation
— and in the Admiralty most torts — when: the one

cast fails to pay, then interest on the amount due, but
withheld, is allowed as a means of making the other
party whole. There is justification for that here since
it took from 1956 to 1969 to get even the limited recov-
ery. And lastly, this. being a contract claiming immuni-
ty it is to be strictly construed. Herd & Co. v. Krawill
Machinery Corp., 1959, 359 U.S. 297, — 79 S.Ct.
- 766, 3 L.Ed.2d 820, 1959 A.M.C. 879. |
—

Shiprepairer (and hence its Underwriters) are liable.
for interest on the $300,000.

27

Allies Part — Whose Move — Who Pays?

Comforted by the serene knowledge that the Red Let-

ter ceiling has been maintained, Primary and Excess :

Underwriters now part company, with. each turning
on the other for the payment of interest. From a com-
bination of factors we think Primary Underwriters

have the better of it so we fix the liability on Excess.
Underwriters.

‘

The case law in non-marine policies is generally con-
sistent in disallowing interest in excess of the dollar
policy limits unless the policy contains language which
provides for interest.‘ We do not agree with the Mast-
ter’s reliance on Maryldnd Casualty Co. v. Omaha
Electric Light & Power Company, 8 Cir., 1907, 157 F.2d.

514 and Tulare County Power Company v. Pacific: Sure-.

ty Company, 1919, ......-__- * oaromnes , 185 P. 399 for the
holding that Primary ‘Underwriters have a liability in
excess of the dollar limit.

But we do not make this as a choice of law for general
{or Louisiana) application. We do it in the context of
this situation in which the insurance was a carefully
dovetailed, integrated program in which each had sig-
nificant intérests at stake, often regardless of the ulti-

14Primary Underwriters stresses these cases which so hold: Pacific
Coast Casualty: Company v. General Bonding & Casualty Company,
9 Cir., 1917, 240 F. 36; Maryland Casualty Company vy. Omaha Elect-
ric Light & Power Company, 8 Cir., 1907, 157 F. 514; Tulare County
Power Company v. Pacific Surety Company, 1919, _ Cal.
185 P. 399; Davison v. Maryland Casualty Company, 1908, eee
Mass. ...... 83 N.E. 407; National & Providence Worsted . Mills v.
Frankfort Marine Accident, Ete. Company, 1907, Petey, Caan
66 A. 58; Munro v..Maryland Casualty Company, 1905, 96 N.Y.S. 705:
Brewster v. Empire State Surety Co. of New York, 1911, 130 N.Y.S.

439: Saratoga Trap Rock Co. v. Standard Accident Insurance Co.,
1911, 128 N.Y.S. 822.

fs

ek ee
; .

. P
ARAL ISIN PL TN EE ee

RPTERIES ERY

a

*
a
>
é
b
o

+

=.
mate outcome of a potential claim. Primary Under-
writer had the first $300,000 less a franchise (deducti-
ble) of $500. The excess. cover was expressly based:
“upon the named primary policy and subject to all its
terms and conditions. ‘It picked up liabilities in excess
of $300,500."*

Contrary to the argument Excess _ Underwriter
makes, which was. successfully: pressed on the Master,
this was in.no sense a situation where Primary Under-
writer had the “use of this money” for 13 years. Both
_ Underwriters were actively interested in ‘the, handling
of this casualty loss, as witnessed by the vigorous argu-
ments advanced orally and in briefs, both here and
below, by these close collaborators as proctors' for the
Shiprepairer, without the slightest suggestion that
there were differences. between them. More than ‘that,
as the 15 year struggle in Jane Smith demonstrates,
no one could have predicted with any ‘assurance, until
we ruled and the last bell from Washington tolled out
denial of certiorari, whether the-Red Letter Clause
would survive or what: would happen under the Louisi-
ana Direct Action Statute. The baseless nature of the
“money retained” theory is shown by contemplating |

_15The policy provided: . :
“3. The maximum liability of " [the .Primary Underwriter]
on account of any one disaster or casualty. shall not exceed:
$300,000 “{under Section 1A], $300,000 [under Section 1B].
4. *-* * [The] sum [of $500] shall be deducted from the
amount payable hereunder * * *.”-
16The policy recited:
“Subject to all terms and conditions as. per underlying
policy with the Marine Office of America * * * and only
to pay the excess of $300,500 each and every accidént, or
if the underlying Underwriters are obligated to pay a
larger sum under the terms of their coverage, as to. liabili-
ties chargeable to single accident, then to pay thé excess.
of such larger sums plus $500.”

29

‘what would have incrend had Primary Underwriter |
on its own and without consent of Excess Underwriters,
paid into the registry its full $300,000 before liability |
had been adjudicated, or before the’ validity of the Red
Letter Clause had been determined.

And £0 cap it all off, the insuring agreement (see
note .16, infra) spells out how amounts in excess of
policy limits are to be adjusted under the insurance .
program. It provides that “if the [Primary] Under- ..
writers are obligated to pay a larger sum under the
terms ° of their coverage, as to liabilities chargeable
to a single accident, then. [Excess Underwriters are]
to pay the excess of such ae sums plus _— ¥

Obviously what was in mind was what has occurred
here — a Court holding that despite the fixed ceiling
of $300,000 the law requires payment of interest there-
on. Indeed, affirming the Master’s holding would auto-
matically. trigger this obligation, so the result is the
same whether done on~that basis or our approach’
which fixes it directly on HNxcess Underwriters.

Consequently the decree is reversed to put liability
for interest’ on Excess Underwriters.”

When Does Interest Conimence?

Shipowner’ s attack on the lower Court’s holding that —
interest would commence from the date of judicial de-
mand (October 1957) rather than from the date of cas-
ualty (October 1956) may be —. of quickly.

iT There is no merit to Excess Underwriter’s contention that Shipowner,
in the fermal “Certificate of Satisfaction” of judgment, released or
waived its claim to the interest. ‘

t

30 |

Although allowance of interest is ordinarily within
the discretion of the Trial Court, it is equally true that
for property damage “interest from: the date of loss _
has Frag been allowed, of course, in admiralty for prop-
erty loss”. National Airlines, Inc. v. Stiles, 5 Cir., 1959,
268 F.2d 400, _..-.. A.M.C. __.. This is the general rule -
prevailing in admirality. Seé; Petition of The City of
_ New York, 2 Cir., 1964, 332 F.2d 1006. The Court therein
stated: ,

“Tt ia. long been held proper for aidmival-
ty courts fully to restore the injured party to
his condition at the time of injury by: allowing -
and fixing prejudgment: interest from: the date
of the loss in ——— involving property —
damage. / ee HID:

Here saither the Master nor District Judge gave any
reason why: this rule should not be followed. We might, «
of course, send. this back for reconsideration, but since
cases should at least -fade away, if-not die,’* from our
view we think the equities predominate in Shipowner’ g.
favor, ‘especially as. a permissible, slight amelioration
of the Red Letter immunity, Herd & Co. v. Krawill
Machinery Corp., supra, and we should so state with-
out more delay. Oil Screw Noah’s Ark v. Bentley &
Felton Corporation, 5 Cir., 1963, 322 F.2d 3, at - hy 1964
_A.M.C. 59, at 68.

a- ; : % ;

In summary | we give full application to Nebel. Towing:
which remains undiminished in its binding force. but
hold. that. the defénse of the Red Letter Clause is not

i isBros, , Incorporated v. W.E. Grace “Manufacturing Company, 5 Cir.,
1963, 320 F.2d 594.

31

personal to the Shiprepairer as it is one resulting from
the nature of the obligation and consequently is avail-
able to the Underwriters. And specifically we -affirm
- (i) extending the Red Letter\Clause to the Underwrit-
ers, and (ii) the allowance of ‘interest, but we reverse
by holding (iii) that Excess, not. Primary, Underwrit-

ers are to pay interest and (iv) interest is to commence me

on the date of the loss. We remand for. computation.

AFFIRMED IN PART
REVERSED IN PART
aa, ; and REMANDED. |

82
APPENDIX B
Judgment of = Court. of Appeal
UNITED: STATES COURT OF APPEALS.
FOR ae FIFTH CIRCUIT
October Term, -1970
No. 28944

D. C. Docket No. Adm..3390 “B”
rac ‘ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC., ;
eee Cross Appellant,

a“

, Versus”

de CHARLES FERRAN & co., INC AND GLENS FALLS
INSURANCE COMPANY, ET .AL.,

: Defendants-Appellants Cross ‘Ngpellses.

Appeal from the United ‘States District Court for. the i
Eastern District of. Louisiana —
ware Before BROWN, Chief Judge, GEWIN and
. THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges.
JUDGMENT |
This cause came on to be heard on the transcript. of
the record from the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Louisiana, and was argued by .
rT

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, ‘It is now here

is Issued As Mandate:

-
~~

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment -
of the said. District ‘Court in this cause be, the same is
hereby, affirmed in part and reversed in part;. and that
_ this cause be, and the same is hereby remanded to the said
District Court in eee with Ge opinion . of this
Court. | ) Pen
+ It is further ordered that the costs of appeal be taxed
equally against (1) Charles Ferran and Company, Inc..
and the’Glens Falls Insurance Company and (2) excess
=o of Charles. Ferran aioe. ed

SS

April 26, ‘1971

- 4

NG,
= poe _APPENDIX Cc
Order of the Court of Appeals « on Petition for Rehearing”

IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT ‘OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Z

b No. 28944 nee

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC.,
-Plaintiff-Appellee Cross Appellant,

versus

CHARLES FERRAN & CO., INC. AND GLENS FALLS
INSURANCE COMPANY, ET AL, |
.- Defendants-Appellants Cross Appellees.

Appeals from the United States: District Court for the .
Eastern —s ‘of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND PETITION
FOR REHEARING EN BANC |

(Opinion Apr. 26, 1971, 5 Cir., 1971, _. F.2d'___).

(June 23, 1971)

~

‘Before BROWN, Chief Judge, GEWIN and
THORNBERRY, Circuit Judges.

~~» ag

NS th A AST lA Bier SG RED ERY
; ‘

35.

PER CURIAM: The Petition po Rehearing on be-
half of Alcoa Steamship Co., Inc. is-DENIED and no
member of this panel nor Judge in regular active serv-
ice on the Court having“ requested that the Court be
polled on..rehearing en banc, (Rule 35 Federal Rules

. Of Appellate. Procedure; Local Fifth Circuit Rule 12)
the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is. DENIED. The ©

Motion to Modify the Mandate on. behalf of Alcoa

Steamship Co., Inc. to’ increase the allowable interest ©

from 5% to 7% is DENIED.

_ It is further ordered that the Petition for Rehearing
on behalf of Charles Ferran & Co. and its Excéss Un-
' derwriters be, and hereby is, DENIED.

.
?
ZO, PLS I OES 3
. .

Se Seles

36
APPENDIX D | :

~ Judgment of the District Court (Original) .
ADMIRALTY

NO. 3390 .
' SECTION “B”

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC.
versus 2

‘CHARLES FERRAN AND COMPANY, INC., et al.

.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
‘EASTERN DISTRICT. OF LOUISIANA -
NEW ORLEANS DIVISION

2
JUDGMENT

This action came'on for hearing before the Court on.
the report of the Special Master, Richard B. Montgom-
ery, Jr., for the determination of the amount due to
the plaintiff, Aleoa Steamship Company, Inc., from the
defendants, Charles Ferran and Company, Inc., The
Fidelity and Casualty Company of New York, et al, as _
interest on the. damages sustained by plaintiff, limited to

:

.

ae

$300,000.00 as a result, of the fire on its vessel, the Jf
ALCOA CORSAIR, on October 6, 1956. As noted by the
Special Master, the damages in the principal sum of
$300,000.00 as limited by the “Red Letter” clause under
which the repairs to-the vessel were performed were
paid to the plaintiff by Charles Ferran and Company,
Inc. and the Fidelity and Casualty ‘Company of New.
York on May 6, 1969, reserving to the plaintiff its
right to interest and costs. The issures having been
duly heard and a decision having been duly rendered and
all objections to the — having ‘been considered by
the Court: ) : :

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the report
‘of Richard B. Montgomery, Jr., Special Master, be, and -
the same is hereby accepted and ‘confirmed by the Court
and adopted as its findings and reasons. herein; and;

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED

' that the plaintiff, Alcoa Steamship Co., Inc., recover .of
the defendants, Charles Ferran .and Company, Inc. and
the - Fidelity and Casualty Company of New York, its
interest at the rate of five (5%) per cent per annum on
its damages, limited as aforesaid to $300,000.00 from

the date of judicial demand, October 3, 1957, to May 6,

1969, a period of eleven (11) years, seven (7) mionths

and three (3) days, the sum of $173,873.27, with interest
thereon at the rate of five (5%) per cent per annum

from the date of this a a pursuant to 28 USCA

1961, and its costs. ante

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that a ruling of the
determination of the fee of the Special Master, if neces-
sary, is hereby RESERVED. |

38
Dated -at. New Orleans, Louisiaria this 24 day of
November, 1969. : |

-

° ee (Signed) - . Frederick J. R. Riskie :
UNITED. STATES cial JUDGE

a - .

Benjamin W. Yancey, Esq." :
Edward 8S. Bagley, Esq.

George: A. Frilot, I, Esq.
George B. Matthews, Esq.

Paul A. Nalty, Esq.

Leon Sarpy, Esq.

— B. + Montgomery, J r., Ean,

. 39
‘APPENDIX D

Judgment of the District Court (Amended)

ADMIRALTY _
NO. 3390
SECTION “B”

ALCOA STEAMSHIP. COMPANY, INC.

versus

< CHARLES FERRAN AND COMPANY, INC., et al.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT ©
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
NEW ORLEANS DIVISION ©

+ See: .

a J UDGMENT

‘It appearing to* the Court that in the ‘ihenant of »
November 24, 1969, the Fidelity and Casualty Company ©
of New York was erroneously named, and the proper
party to. be cast in judgment is Glens Falls Insurance
Company ;

IT IS THE ORDER YF THE COURT that the judg-
ment entered in the above cause on November 24,’ 1969,

* A

~ 40

“be, and the same is hereby, AMENDED to read as

follows:

“This action came on for hearing before the Court
on the report of the Special, Master, Richard B. Mont-
gomery, Jr., for the determination of the amount due to

the plaintiff, Aleoa Steamship Company, Inc., from the »

defendants, Charles Ferran and Company, Inc., Glens
Falls Insurance Company, et al, as interest on the dam-

ages sustained by plaintiff, limited to $300,000.00, as_a.

result of the fire on its vessel, the SS ALCOA CORSAIR,
on October 6, 1956. As noted by the Special Master,
the damages in the principal sum of - $300,000.00 as

limited by the “Red Letter” clause under which the

repaire to the vessel. were performed were paid to the

plaintiff by Charles Ferran and Company, Inc. and.
Glens Falls Insurance Company on May 6, 1969, reserv- -

. ing to the palintiff its right to interest and .costs. The

issyes having been duly heard and a decision having been —
duly rendered and all objections to. the report. having -

been considered by the Court:

“IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the report *

of Richard B. Montgomery, Jr., Special Master, be, and
the same is hereby, ACCEPTED and CONFIRMED by
the Court and ADOPTED as its findings and: reasons
herein; and —

-“IT IS ORDERED, ‘ADJUDGED AND DECREED
that the plaintiff, Alcoa Steamship Company, Inc., re-

cover of the defendants, Charles Ferran and Company, -

Inc., and Glens Falls Insurance Company, its interest
at the rate of five (5%) per cent per annum on its

‘damages, limited as aforesaid to $800,000.00 from the ..

¢

“a

4]

date of judicial demand, October 3, 1957, to May 6,
1969, a period of eleven (11) years, seven (7) months, -

and three (3) days, the sum of $173,873.27, with interest
thereon at the rate of. five (5%) per cent. per annum

from the date of. this judgment, ne: to 28 USCA

1961, and its costs.

“IT Is FURTHER ORDERED ‘that a ‘valle on the

determination: of the fee of the Special Master, if neces-
sary, is hereby, RESERVED.”

(Signed) Frederick J. R. Heebe

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

New Orleans, Louisiana
December 1, 1969

RE LENO TG

FEE I AE EY

AMET RT ISB PR BOM IDRC PRS IR AB, KGPEDI RIN HAYTER IE ATR IN

42 _
: APPENDIX E

‘Findings by the Special Master,
Richard B. Montgomery, a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
NEW ORLEANS DIVISION»
IN ADMIRALTY NO. 3390

SECTION ‘“B”
“ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY® INC.
versus

CHARLES FERRAN & COMPANY, INC, ET AL

SPECIAL MASTER'S REPORT

; ‘The report of Richard B. Montgomery, Jr., Special |

Master in the above captioned and numbered matter, to

whom this cause stands referred for the purpose of
determining whether or not Alcoa Steamship.Co., Inc.
was entitled to recover interest and if it is entitled to
recover interest the amount thereof and the period for
which it should be allowed. The matter was further re-
' ferred for the purpose of determining whether ‘or not
the interest should .be paid by the Marine Office of
America, the primary insurer, or whether it should be
, paid by Lloyds. — |

‘The original record has been considered: by the master.
A hearing was had before me to allow each side to

&

43

present its ‘case and to offer any additional ‘evidence,
letters or documents, which were pertinent. A preliminary

_ finding was made which was submitted to the attorneys

for the parties and another hearing was had with addi-
tional —

cn NE Remote
_— :
a

‘Baséd upon ihe hearings; my findings are as follows:

-The Court. in its judgment found that the niin
af Was entitled to. interest. and the judgment is: now:
final. | .

2. The Red Letter Clause contained in the contract
between Alcoa Steamship Co., Inc. and Charles Ferran —
«& Company, Inc. does not exclude Alcoa Steamship Co.,
‘Ine.’s right to be awarded interest on -_ oo of
$300, 000. 00.

3. ‘The primary insurer, Marine Office of America,
should bear - the ee for the payment of the

%

. interest. . | a Wy ;

4. The facts do not support any defense | of release
from liability for interest.

6. The’ question of hey is decided in favor of Alcoa
Steamship Company, Inc. as there is no evidence that
any delay in the final determination of the case can be

laid at-the door of Alcoa scprnasers Company, -

6. The determination as to ‘lnbeet is discretionary,
and the master. believes that this isa case where interest
.Should: be allowed.

MASTER'S REASONS FOR — FINDINGS

It is my opinion, after reading the opinion of Judge

Ellis and the pleadings leading up to the order of Judge :

Rubin, that ‘the court did decide the question of whether
or not interest was due to the Alcoa Steamship Com-
pany, Inc. However, when the language of the judgment
signed by Judge Ellis on March 3, 1966 is considered, it
would seem ‘that he — this question. The language
is. as follows:

3

“ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED
that the libelant herein, Alcoa Steamship Com-
pany, Inc.,. recover of and from Charles Ferran
& Co., Inc., Glens Falls Indemnity Company, ©

- Underwriters at Lloyd’s London, Andrew Weir
Insurance Co., Ltd., Fine Art & General Insur-
ance Co., Ltd., National Provincial Insurance
Co., Ltd., Orion Insurance Company, Ltd., Eng-
lish & American Insurance Co., Ltd., “M’”’, and
Economic Insurance ‘Company, Ltd. “M”’ a/c,
respondents,: ‘jointly and ‘severally, the” ‘dam- ©
ages sustained by Alcoa Steamship Company,
Ine. in consequence of the matters referred
to in the libel, limited to the sum of $300,000.00
pursuant to the limitation of liability provided
by the “red letter” clause of the contract between
the parties as referred to in the Court’s opinion,
with interest’ and costs ;’’

This states that Alcoa Steamship Company, Ine. dial.
‘recover the damages with interest and costs. He limits.
the recovery of damages to the sum of $300,000.00, but —
does not include interest in the limitation. The judgment —
would have read “damages, interest and costs limited to. .

the sum of $300,000.00” if he had so intended.

‘I also have decided that’ the. “red letter” clause does

4

' 45

a

cn tt Ot exclude the right to interest; that, as a matter’ ‘of
"fact, if one accepts the decision cited by Lemle & Kelleher,
one comes to the conclusion that if this is considered
similar to a limitation of liability proceeding, one should
_ find then that interest is applicable. In re -Harris, et als,

57 F. 243. See also the language in the GEORGE W.
ROBY, 111 F.R., at page 622:

“Where the stipulators defend’ the suit it is -
not unusual to charge them with interest from
the date of the filing of bond upon the ground
‘that they are responsible for the delays instant
to the defense made. THE MAGGIE, 33 F. 595;
JUANITA,. 95 U.S. 612; MAGGIE +. SMITH,
123 US. 356, 8 S. Ct. 139.” ra

»Also, it is the general rule of law in regard to in-
terest where limitations of the policy are pleaded. See
Section 1591; Am.Jusp., Vol. 29-A: It is also my opinion
that the sgme rule of law applies to the limitation of
the policy under the general theory that interest is pay-
_ able as damages for loss of use of the money.

The reason for making a determination that the Marine

Office of America should bear the responsibility is that ._

it, as primary insurer, had the.use of the’money during
the period of limitation. There is some tonflict of opinion _
as to this question, but .I am basing my decision on
Maryland Casualty Company v. Omaha Flectric Light
and Power Co., CCA 8 (1907), 157 F. 514. In this
case the Court said: rb eg ee

“The argument of plaintiff's counsel that the
defendant, by exercising its right of appeal. and
by superseding the execution of the judgment
pending that appeal, causéd.the accumulation of
interest in question, and thereby cfeated an

46

additional charge against the plaintiff. for which
it should be held responsible as a loss to the

plaintiff, is more specious than sound. The -

fallacy rests in a failure to recognize the ad-

vantage which ‘the appeal gave the plaintiff.

* * * The value of the use is equal to the ac-

‘crued interest, that being only a consideration
‘paid for the use of mogey or for forbearance in
demanding it when duet Accordingly the assured
lost nothing by the delay occasioned by the ap-
peal or by. paying the-interest which accumulated
pending the appeal. The assured stood after pay-

ing the interest exactly as it would have stood

if it had paid the judgment of $5,000 on January
3, 1902, when originally rendered. Nothing was
lost by the appeal, as the interest ultimately paid
was neutralized by the use enjoyment of the
money before that time.

“Numerous authorities have been called to our
-attention as sustaining the different contentions
of the parties. Defendant relies on Munro v.
Maryland Casualty Co., 48 Misc. Rep. 705, 96
N.Y. Supp. 705, Henderson v. Maryland Cas-
ualty Co., 29 Pa. Super. Ct. 398, Frye v. Bath,
Gas & Electric Co., 97 Me. 341, 54 Atl. 395, 59
L.R.A, 444, 94 Am. St. Rep. 500, Travelers’

~~~Ins_ Co. v. Moses, 63 N.J. Eq. 260, 49 Atl.

720,~92 Am. St. Rep. 663, and: other cases.
Plaintiff Felies on Rumford Falls Paper Co. v.

Fidelity & Casualty Co., 92 M.E. 574, 43 Atl.

503, Allen v. Aetna Life Ins.-Co., 76 C.C.A. 265,
. 145 Fed. 881, 7 L.R.A. (N.S.) 958, Cudahy
' Packing Co. v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co.
(C.C.) 182 Fed. 623, Southern .Ry. News. Co. v.
Fidelity &. Casualty Co.,°83 S.W, 620, 26 Ky.
Law Rep. 1217, Travelers Ins. Co. v. Henderson

Cotton Mills, 85 S.W. 1090, 27 Ky. Law Rep. -

653, and other’ cases dealing with She general

47

subject of indemnity, of more or less pertinency_ .
to the case in hand. The Rumford Paper Com-
pany and Allen cases, supra, deal chiefly with
the contention whether the indemnitor, by avail-
ing itself .of the right to defend the employees’
action, subjected itself to liability for any
amount which might be recovered in the action
beyond. the limit fixed in the policy. That con-
tention was held untenable, and very little, if -
any, consideration was given to’any other ques-
tion of law. In the Cudahy Packing Company
case the main contention was whether the in-
demnitor in an action similar to the present was
entitled to a deduction from the limit of: its
liability of amounts expended in making a de-
fense to the employees’ action. It was held that it
was entitled to. no such deduction. Very little
countenance, if any, was given in that case to ©
the present contention of the plaintiff.

*

“All. the cases have been carefully ‘ considered,
and the conclusions reached are believed to be
in harmony with the best reason and authority.” .

This is _also the. ruling in the case of Tulane County
Power Co. v. Pacific Surety Co., 185 P. 399.

Although the attorneys for the primary insurer cite
the above: cases. as being favorable to their position that
the. excess insurer should pay: the interest, I am unable
to agree with their conténtion as to what the case holds.
_ In this case the plaintiff would have had -to pay the
judgment and did not do so by ‘reason of the appeal
which was taken. the court held that since the plaintiff,
the. insured, had the use of the money during that period

- that as between the insured and the insurer the insured

could not recover interest from the insured because ‘it
had had the use of the money. In other words, this case

- 48

would be authority that Charles Ferran & Company, Inc. °
could not recover interest from its insuter. However, the .
_ question here is is the interest due to a third party

payable by the primary -or the excess’ insurer. The
answer is covered by the language on page 405 of the

opinion in the case of Tulane County Power .Co, vs.

Pacific Surety Co., supra. The court there cites the very
language that has been cited previously from Maryland

_ Casualty Co. v. Omaha, supra, as supporting the master’s |

contention that interest should be paid by the primary
insurer.

Further, a reading of the exhibits, the letters and other

documents submitted failed to prove that there was any -

undue delay in the trail of this case caused by the libel-

lants or for which libellants can in‘ any way be held
responsible.

The defense of release cannot be upheld for the reason
that there is no evidence in the record that any release
was given when the payment of the $300,000.00 was made

by the Marine Office of America. It is my opinion tlfat —

this ‘was a payment made solely for the purpose of cutting
off future interest’and the documents accompanying the
; payment were an admission that the amount was owed
rather than was a settlement of a disputed claim. _

The question of interest is discretionary in matters

which are not based upon the law of the state but the:
recent cases, _namely, Louisiana and Arkansas Railroad |

v. Export Drum Co., 359 F: 2d 311; Gardner v. National
Bulk Carriers, 221 F. Supp. 243, affirmed 333 F. 2d 676,
places the burden squarely upon the master to make a
decision using: his best discretion. |

LY. eR

re

eth ete orb

Pre re eens ee

___was-a dimunition of damages:-The interest should run

Ag

‘See also Crawn Industries v.-Boyerton, 300 F. .2d 809;.
-Samicorp v. Rivadeluna, 277 F. Supp. 948; Collier v.
Granger, 258 F. Supp. 717. This is a case in which the
amount of damages which the libellant could recover was

more or less ascertainable by calculation. The real ques-
tion at issue in this case was not whether or not damages.

. were owed but whether or not the “red letter” clause
limited the amount of damages and whether or not there

from October 3, 1957, and the rate of interest pues be
five: (5%) percent. : |

Respectfully submitted,

(Signed) RICHARD B. MONTGOMERY, JR.
RICHARD B. MONTGOMERY, JR,
806 National Bank of Commerce
- Bldg.
New Orleans, Louisiana TOM.

" SRECIAL MASTER

50
‘APPENDIX F
Statutes Involved
28 US.C.A. 1961 3

§ 1961. Interest | ;

Interest shall be allowed on any money judg-
ment in a civil case recovered in a district court.
_ Execution therefor may be levied by the

marshal, in any case where, by the law of the
State in which such court is held, execution may
be levied for interest on judgments recovered in
_ the courts of the State. Such interest shall be
~ ealculated from the date of the entry of the
judgment, at the rate allowed. by State’ law.
June 25, 1948, c. 646, 02 Stat. 957.

- Louisiana Civil Code. of 1970, Article 1935
Art. 1935. Interest as damages for noh-payment of
money —

' Art. 1935. The damages due for delay in the
-performance of an obligation to pay money are
called interest: The creditor is entitled to these
"damages without proving any loss, and whatever
loss he may have suffered he can recovér no more.

Bans FT Bae Wee eee

| SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES :
_ OCTOBER TERM, 1971

eae eS ee
Nw : ?
7 ie 91
NER 4 '

-OepeRwiernes: AT tuovbe: LONDON,
ANDREW “WEIR INSURANCE CO., LTD.,:
roe ART & GENERAL INS CE CO., LTD,,
‘NATIONAL PROVINCIAL INSURANCE CO.,-LTD,

| ORION INSURANCE COMPANY, LTD:

ENGLISH & AMERICAN. INSURANCE CO., LTD.,

i “Ml”, and ECONOMIC INSURANCE COMPANY,
wos LTD., Sends 4 etn,

x d 3 “3 & “ee ae versus

- “ALCOA STEAMSHIP. COMPANY, -INC., ET _* in oe

.

= : > aed

OPPOSITION OF CHARLES. FERRAN & CO.,
INC. and GLENS FALLS INSURANCE COMPANY

__ 30 THE PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI a i

_™

2 de : ‘eign aco ek : :

a |

:
:
.
Petitioners _
“a . o>
7, x . 9 OG
va +

%

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1341%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
