# Opposition Brief — Magafan v. United States Immigration & Naturalization Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1155%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 403 U.S. 931

## Text

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1970

No, 1658

JOHN MAGAFAN, PETITIONER
Vv. ¥
IMMIGRATION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE |

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
A1-A2) was entered without an opinion. The opin-
ion of the Board of Immigration Appeals (Pet. App.
A3-A7) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on February 3, 1971. A petition for rehearing was de-
nied on March 1, 1971. On April 30, 1971, the peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari was filed. The jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

12 —EESE—~E—7*!

2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Attorney General was authorized
by Congress to declare a nonimmigrant alien in
transit without visa ineligible for an adjustment of
status under Section 245 of the Immigration and
Nationality Act.

2. Whether the Special Inquiry Officer had the
power to alter petitioner’s classification nunc pro
tunc from transit without visa to nonimmigrant
visitor,

STATUTE AND REGULATION INVOLVED

Section 245(a) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act (8 U.S.C..1255(a)) provides that:

(a) The status of an alien, other than an
alien crewman, who was inspected and admit-
ted or paroled into the United States may be
adjusted by the Attorney General, in his dis-
cretion and under such regulations as he may
prescribe, to that of an alien lawfully admitted
for permanent residence if (1) the alien makes
an application for such adjustment, (2) the
alien is eligible to receive an immigrant visa
and is admissible to the United States for per-
manent residence, and (3) an immigrant visa
is immediately available to him at the time
his application is approved.

8 C.F.R. 214.2 provides in relevant part that:
The general requirements in § 214.1 are modi-

fied for the following nonimmigrant classes:
+ & & *

(c) Transits—(1) Without visas. An appli-
cant for admission under the transit without
visa privilege must establish that he is admis- |
sible under the immigration laws; that he has
confirmed and onward reservations to at least
the next country beyond the United States, and
that his departure from the United States will
be accomplished within ten calendar days after
his arrival * * *, * * * The privilege of transit
without a visa may be authorized only under the
conditions that the carrier, without the prior
consent of the service, will not refund the tick-
et which was presented to the Service as evi-
dence of the alien’s confirmed and onward res-
ervation, that the alien will not apply for ex-
tension of temporary stay or for adjustment of

' status under section 245 of the Act, and that at
all times he is not aboard an aircraft which is
in flight through the United States he shall be
in the custody directed by the district director.

STATEMENT

The essential facts are not in dispute. Petitioner,
a Greek national, entered this country on October
20, 1968, as a nonimmigrant alien without a visa
in immediate and continuous transit through the
United States. Although he had never worked on a
ship, he was allegedly en route from Greece to Mi-
ami, Florida, where he was to board a Greek vessel
as a seaman. He was to remain in this country for
one day, until October 21, 1968.

Upon his arrival in New York, petitioner claims
that he was met at the airport by his American
brothers and told that his mother, who was already

4

in this country, was very ill. His story is that he
thus went with his brothers to his mother’s side
rather than proceeding on to Miami, Florida (Pet.
4).

Some three months later, on January 20, 1969,
petitioner sought to obtain an adjustment of status
to permanent residence pursuant to Section 245 of
the Immigration and Nationality Act, 18 U.S.C.
1255. The District Director rejected the application
on the ground that, as a visitor in transit without
visa, petitioner was precluded by the terms of 8
C.F.R. 214.2(c) (1)? from applying for that form of
relief (Pet. App. A5).

On July 2, 1969, petitioner was ordered to show
cause why he should not be deported. A hearing was
held on September 10, 1969, during which he again
applied for an adjustment of status. The Special
Inquiry Officer (Pet. App. A7-A10) found him in-
eligible for such relief but granted him the option
of voluntary departure in lieu of deportation. Peti-
tioner then took an appeal to the Board of Immigra-
tion Appeals; on May 12, 1970, the Board, relying
on its earlier decision in Matter of Davis, 10 1& N
Dec. 441 (BIA 1964), held that petitioner was not
entitled to an adjustment of status (Pet. App. A3-
A7). The United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit affirmed per curiam

1 The regulation provides in pertinent part as follows: “The
privilege of transit without a visa may be authorized only
under the conditions * * * that the alien will not apply for
extension of temporary stay or for adjustment of status under
section 245 of the Act * * *.”

5

(Pet. App. Al-A2), and denied a petition for re-
hearing (Pet. App. A2-A8).

ARGUMENT

I. Petitioner concedes that he entered this coun-
try as an alien without a visa for “immediate and
continuous transit through the United States” under
Section 101(a) (15) (C) of the Immigration and Na-
tionality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1101(a)(15)(C), and that
he violated a condition of his entry by remaining
here beyond the one-day period allotted to him for
transit to Miami, Florida. He contends, however,
that the summary rejection of his Section 245 appli-
cation for adjustment of status was unjustified.
Specifically, he urges that the regulation barring his
application, 8 C.F.R. 214.2(c)(1), relates solely to
Section 214 of the Act (8 U.S.C. 1184), which au-
thorizes the Attorney General to prescribe condi-
tions to the admission of any alien, and thus does
not foreclose applications for adjustment to perma-
nent residence status under the separate statutory
provisions of Section 245. Such an interpretation
would, he argues further, be contrary to the intent of
Congress, which specifically excluded other classes of
aliens from eligibility for Section 245 relief, but did
not exclude aliens in transit without a visa.

a. The fact that aliens in transit are barred from
applying for adjustment of status by a regulation
promulgated under Section 214 of the statute does
not thereby make the regulation inapplicable to such
aliens seeking permanent residence under Section
245. Section 214(a) (8 U.S.C. 1184(a)) provides:

1 aM A Pe ED OIE: OEM, ~ abies Pr =f i

6

The admission to the United States of any alien
as nonimmigrant shall be for such time and un-
der such conditions as the Attorney General may

by regulations prescribe * * *.
The general rule, as expressed in Section 212(a)
(26) of the Act (8 U.S.C. 1182(a) (26)), is that
nonimmigrants are excludable unless they possess a
visa and passport. Pursuant to Section 212(d) (4)
(C) (8 U.S.C. 1182 (d)(4)(C)), however, Con-
gress has authorized the Attorney General and the
Secretary of State, acting jointly, to waive the visa
and passport requirements in the case of aliens ‘“‘in
immediate and continuous transit through the
United States.” In exercising this authority, the
Attorney General chose to admit such aliens on the
condition that they not be eligible to apply for ad-
justment of status under Section 245. As the Sec-
ond Circuit recently held in Fook Hong Mak v. Im-
migration and Naturalization Service, 435 F.2d
728, 731 (Pet. App. A16), that determination
“was reasonably related to the statutory scheme.”
Having once imposed the condition in 8 C.F.R.
214.2(c) (1), the Attorney General was not required
to repeat it in another part of the regulations before
it could take effect. See La Franca v. Immigration
and Naturalization Service, 433 F. 2d 992 (C.A, 2);
Tomasello v. Rogers, 306 F. Supp. 705 (S.D. N.Y.).
b. Nor is there any substance to petitioner’s con-
tention that this conclusion is contrary to the intent
of Congress. The answer to this argument was
given by the Second Circuit in Fook Hong Mak
(Pet. App. A17): “* * * it is fallacious to reason

7
ittorney Gen-

that because Congress prevented the Aavor of those
eral from exercising any discretion in f have abused
groups, which Congress had found tot to require
the privileges accorded them, it Meal]ge on a case-
him to exercise it in favor of everyone €convince him
by-case basis even if experience should 1 similar po-
of the existence of another group with emphasis in
tentialities or actualities of abuse”

Gntrary Sec-
original; footnotes omitted). To the 9 Attorne
tion 245 in specific terms delegates to tl y
General, in his discretion and under such regula-
tions as he may prescribe” (8 U.S.C. 1255), 898
plicit authority to treat additional clas**5 °f aliens
in the same manner that Congress h¢S- chosen_to
treat those groups within the statutory ¢xclusion,
if he determines that there are “som® Categories
* * * susceptible to handling on a less individualized
basis.” Fook Hong Mak v. Immigration and Nat-
uralization Service, supra (Pet. App. Al7). See
generally 8 C.F.R, 245.1(a) (alien who has been
allocated an immigrant visa number); 8 C.F.R.
245.1(b) (exchange alien); and see Gambino v. Im-
migration and Naturalization Service, 419 F. 24
1355 (C.A. 2), certiorari denied, 399 US, 941; Tua-
zon v. Immigration and Naturalization somyice 389
F. 2d 863 (CA. 7). And, as explained in rook Hong
Mak (Pet. App. A16), it was not unrez.onable for

2Section 245 specifically excludes two clas. z
from eligibility for adjustment of status unde®S °f aliens
sion—alien crewmen and aliens who are na‘ that provi-
country of the Western Hemisphere or any ac!V€S of any
named in Section 101(b) (5), 8 U.S.C. 1101 (b) aes island

SO OORT PEE ES BONE

the Attorney General to conclude that aliens in tran-
sit without visa constitute such a category. Thus, for
him to declare this group ineligible for Section 245
relief is a valid exercise of his authority.

2. Petitioner’s additional contention that the
Special Inquiry Officer and the Board of Immigra-
tion Appeals had authority to waive possession of a
visitor’s visa and to admit petitioner as a visitor
nunc pro tunc is without merit. Section 248 of the
Act (8 U.S.C, 1258), which governs changes of non-
immigrant classifications, expressly forbids chang-
ing the classification of “* * * an alien classified as a
nonimmigrant under paragraph 15(C) [“aliens in im-
mediate and continuous transit through the United
States”] * * * of section 1101(a) of this title.”

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully submitted
that the petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,
Solicitor General.

WILL WILSON,
Assistant Attorney General.

JUNE 1971. Attorneys.

3X &. S. GOVERNMENT PRinvine oFrice; 1971 426466 687

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_1155%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
