# Opposition Brief — Baker Mfg. Co. v. Whitewater Mfg. Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_0835%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 401 U.S. 956

## Text

; Page
Questions Presented ........ VIR! SO ere |
IE BE IE siccrmcersirversiciciteiaiaian 3

This Case Does Not Warrant Action by This Court 7
The Policy of the Patent Statute is not in Conflict

-with the Equitable Rule of Laches ...................+. 7
The Decision in this Case. does not Conflict with
other Decisions on Laches FON AP SIE NE 4

The Court of Appeals Correctly Presumed Damage
to Respondent from an Unreasonable Delay by

STINE -scsteshcatecbscesnisleseestepabcivesbestsnbegbasaeonesaianiguiieonsen’ 13
Conclusion Fe EA LIE MSs welt ESET A MUN ha SEO 4
AUTHORITIES Citep

, Statute
35 USC. 206 ........... EEA AON NL 2,7,8
Cases
0 : F
Costellg v. United States, 81: Sup. Cr. 534, 365 U.S,
BE I saci co cccnanarreeeereaniiaminannnus 10
Gillons et al. v. Shell Co, of California, 86 F, 24
600, 610 (CCA-9, 1936) ..........000... eR 8,11, 12,13
Gutierrez v. Waterman §,S, Co., 373 US, 206, 215
(1963) ccsccrsssssesersnsee PORE TAINS AE 9, 10

Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392, 66 8. Ct.
Bs ts es Fe III cciesecctseootine Ade vetiesessexiicn 1]

ae em OY as jae

pla AC Bik Cl ON Ros BM | AaB ay Le 2S GON Ia 9 eB gai i ering 5 BRE NE

adits
>

il
Page
Kelly v Boettcher, 85 Fed. $5, 62-3 (CCA-8, H
1898 ) ’ Pee 8,11, 12,13
Lansdale v. Smith, 106 U.S, 391, 1S. Ct. 350, 27

L.. Ed. 219 (1882) AES EPS ne es VI
Mosler & Co. v. Lurie, 209 Fed. 364, 370-71 (CCA-

2 19] 3) ; ; ) 12
Meyer Miy.Co. v. Miller Mig. Co., 24 F. 2d 505

(CCA-7 1928) | oe 12,13
Northern Pacitic v. Boyd. . 228 U.S. 482.0... 10
Prevost ve Gratz, 19 US. 481, 6 Wheat. 481, 5 L.

mec S02 CURRY a ee If

Rome Grader vo Adams Mig. Co., 135 F.2d 617. .
(CCA-7 1943) aon ECR ONSR rs | eae

Russell v. Todd, 309 U.S, 280, 60.8. Ct. 527, 84 L.
Ed. 784 (1940)

Simpson v. Newport News, 18 F. 2d 318 (D.C,
S.D.N.Y. 1920) sieasa ty acttadaree teen ate 13

Sullivan v. Portland & K. R. Co., 94 U.S. 806, 24

Ries Dh. SOP CUPID. os cccccsacctss cies I]
United Drug v. Ireland Candy Co., 51 F. 2d 226,
282 (CCA-8, 1931). Se neetagcanierareeea i 8, 11,12
United Drug v. Rectanus, 248 U.S. 90, 39°S8. Cr.
OB CURR oe ieee 12
Universal Coin Lock v. American Sanitary Lock,
16 F..08 701 C190) a... 12
Window Glass Mach. Co. v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass,
ewes 11,12

IS+ Fed. 648, 649-82°(CCA-3, 1922) ..

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1970

No. 1152

BAKER MANUFACTURING CO,,
a corporation,
Petitioner,
vs, |
WHITEWATER MANUFACTURING CO,
a corporation,

Respondent.

Ee

BRIEF OPPOSING PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|, Petitioner's first question is not presented by the.
record, The question assumes that the Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit-held that the defense of laches
does not require the elements (1) lack of diligence, (2)
prejudice to the party asserting defense. In fact the
Court of Appeals held that prejudice would be presumed
where the delay was unreasonable and unexcusable, The
presumption was not overcome. ‘Thus both elements were
present.

2

4 Petitioner's second question is not presented by the

eed “Phe Court of Appeals did not presume damage
Wi reapondent by the mere passage of time. Lt presumed
Haniige Hind wereaonable delay, and trom petitioner's
Hilite Qe neet ie burden of proof that such delay was
ereionble Tt nay alse have relied on District Court
Vbiite alee prejidioe to respondent,

Phe Wehbe by the District Court that it would not be
WijMet te teapiiite respondent to defend the action is not
Hitiatieled Phe judgment of the Court of Appeals
Pn tt Have been rendered without reversing: that eon-
» Vivatenn .

7

1 Petitioner's third question os niet presented by the
Heel Ae toted abowe the Court of Appeals did not
Whe tile prewueing in jury to the detendant by the
Hee Pramite of time Rather at followed a long estab

> Habel cule preauming injury to the defendant where the

Helay te vitteveonable, and held that the ANAloOgoUN stat
Hie oT Ti iHiene ie a measure of the unreaionableness.
The Darden of proot wae thus on the petitioner, rather
Wath oid reapendent as umproperly held by the District
bet Petitioner failed te meet that burden.

Veritioner atutes that 36 ULS.C. 286, which denies re-
PVOPY Foe patent infringement committed more than six
vedi prior te filing the complaint, is the on/y limitation
mw relief Phere te no indication in that seetion that it
te He oH) Hititation on patent actions. Petitioner's as-
rHiied prilicy Would leave no room for laches or any
ihe: eytitable doctrine, such as the glean hands doc-
Hite Which forbide relief to those who violate the anti-
Hat Hawa or commit similar acts, ete,

7

No qteetion ie properly presented by petitioner,

tas ae |

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In general the facts stated by petitioner are correct,
but the following vorrections and additional facts are
required,

Petitioner's reference to a District Court finding that
respondent had not in fact been damaged by -the delay
is incorrect. ‘The conclusion of the lower court related
to unfairness and not to damage (A-40). ‘The court did
not anywhere indicate that its denial of the defense of
Jaches was based on a finding that defendant suffered
no prejudice through the delay. ‘Fhe discussion appears
to indicate that the trial court felt that defendant was
unjustified in believing that plaintiff no longer pressed
its charge of infringement (A-40). ‘The Seventh Cir-
cuit correctly held that this placed an improper burden
on defendant and accordingly that the trial court's de-
cision was incorrect as a matter of law (Trial Court
Opinion A-40, Court of Appeals Opinion A-2, 3). Thus
the Court of Appeals did not overturn any factual find-
ing of the District Court, nor even find a fact which
the District Court had failed to find, but relied on a pre-
sumption. of damage which the District Court had failed

to apply.

Petitioner states that its letter of September 19, 1957
offered to “settle the controversy”. As pointed out by
the Court of Appeals the letter was an offer of cross-
license which did not repeat the charge of infringement
and which specifically acknowledged that respondent de-
nied infringement (A-10, Baker's Exhibit 11, Appendiy
pp. 355, 226).

Petitioner refers to a delay in bringing suit of seven
years and seven months. It fails to draw attention to the

1 Calas: ae oe

aR. WR: seep dane &

4

fuct that the total delay in a suit Was over nine

“years, as held by the Court of Appeals (A-2), and wis

held unreasonable,

At page 4 oot phonttl’s bret, the planutl indicates
that the rule of Law applied by the District Court Was
that "mere delay does not alone constitute laches and that
to uphold a defense of laches there must be both (1)
dn unreasonable delay by phanttl and (2) a showing that
defendant has been, or will be, damaged or prejudiced
by the delay.” “The District Court did) not specitioally
adopt that test, nor did at echirity which element was
found facking at it did apply it Te found speeitie facts
showing prepudice to respondent (A 86, 38) and put
the burden on respondent to explain the delay. Te ehus
appears that element (1) was found wanting. In any
vise the Courtot Appeals held that the decision of the
District Court was reversible error after stating: that it

would reverse only fora clear abuse of diseretion (A. 2,

% 12) Phe Cour lot Appeals cast upon petitioner the
burden of (1) excusing an unreasonable delay, and (2)
digproving the presumption of damage which flows from
thatdelay (A912). Phiinatt has not met either burden
Dut attempi to obnun a ruling of law which would free
ie from both burdens, ‘Tn fact plaintif® specitically indi
vafes in ity petition for certiorart that it does not chal:
lenge the ures denial of it} excuses for the delay (Peti.
honer’s Brief, p. +), |

Petitioner demands a showing of damage by respon-
dent. Respondent's answer is twofold,

Prejudive to respondent has been shown, The Court
of Appeals was correct in presuming damage where the
delay i unreasonable. Even if damage had not been pre-

sumed, proot of damage is ample (see pages 5 and 6),

5

Petitioner states that the Court of Appeals did not dis-
turb the District Court’s finding that the delay did not
work an injustice on respondent (A-40). The Court of
Appeals necessarily overruled that conclusion when it
reversed the District Court (A-12, 13). In any decision
as to an equitable defense, a conclusion as to where the
equities lie is crucial. Moreover, such a conclusion is
dmplicit in the holding that petitioner's delay of over
nine years is unreasonable (A-3, 9-12),

Petitioner further states that the Court of Appeals left
undisturbed the District Court finding that respondent
had not been damaged by the delay. Neither the District
Court (A-37 to A-40) nor the Court of Appeals (A-1 tu
A-13) found that defendant had not been prejudiced by
delay. “Phe CA-7 did hold that there is a presumption
of such damage. The District Court decision points out
particular items of prejudice to respondent (A-36, 38)
even though it did not rule in favor of respondent on the
defense of laches. |

One of the issues in the District Court was whether
Mr. Watry, one of the named inventors in the Patent in
suit, was in fact an inventor (A-35 to 37). Another is-
sue was whether plaintiff was guilty of unclean hands in
deliberately including Mr. Watry as an invéntor with
full knowledge of the fact that he was not sath an in-
ventor, and in knowingly taking an assignment of sub-
ject matter belonging to the State of Wisconsin. Re-
spondent asserted that any contribution made by Mr.
Watry to the alleged invention of the patent in suit was
made while he was an official of the State of Wisconsin
whos¢ duties included promoting standards of well sani-
He by promoting the use of structures which would
achieve the objectives of the patent in suit, and further

6

asserted that Mr. Watry's contribution to the structure
~ shown in the patent was made public more than one year
prior to the application for the patent in suit. Much of
~ the evidence was Mr, Watry’s own testimony, The Dis-
trict Court found (A-36) that Mr, Watry understanda-
bly had some difficulty remembering, Prejudice is also
shown by the District Court (A-38) quoting petitioner's
president showing the change in the (alleged) infringe-
ment situation during petitioner's long silence, Respond:
ent increased its infringing business and its employees
devoted thereto (Baker's Exhibit 38, App. 388, 227;
Whitewater Exhibit 15-16, App, 532-3, 229-30, Baker
Testimony App. 140), and admittedly had non-infring-
ing structurer it could have made instead (App. 190),
Were the respondent to be held liable for damages for
the last six years of the alleged infringement, the dam-
ages would be many times greater on defendant's pro-
duction duving those years than it would have, been dur-
ing the period just after plaintiff's charge of infringe-
ment in 1986 (Baker Exhibit. 38, Whitewater Exhibit
15-1@, supra,). |

The statement of the case by petitioner fails to indicate
that petitioner failed to press its negotiations for a period
of over a year prior to the letter of September 19, 1957
(A-8, 9), that it did not reassert its charge of infringe-
ment in 1957 but rather pecognized that defendant denied
infringement without reasserting its charge, The letter
of September 19, 1957 was an offer of a cross-license,
not a charge of infringement (A-9, 10), That letter was
followed by a deliberate additional delay of seven years
and seven months during which petitioner never reas-
serted its: charge of infringement despite the increas.
ing sales of respondent which were known to petitioner
(A-11). Petitioner made an anonymous market survey,

é

7:

preserving its appearing of inaction (A-38, App. 129-
32). These facts justified respondent's belief that_the
charge had been abandoned.

THIS CASE DOES NOT WARRANT ACTION —
BY THIS COURT

The asserted conflicts urged by Petitioner are not real.
They depend on differences in fact backgrounds of the
cases, on the relative equities between each set of parties, .
and on petitioner's insistence that the instant case be an-
alyzed ds one of “mere delay” despite’ the holding of
the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals that the rules ap-
plicable are those relating to “unreasonable delay”. Peti-
tioner has not requested a ruling on the point. Many of
petitioner’s cases allegedly demonstrating conflict with
the decision below are distinguishable, as they relate
to mere delay for periods shorter than the six years of
the analogous statute of limitations.

Respondent notes that in general such an issue, relating
solely to one fact situation, is not-taken up by this court
on writ of certiorari, Petitioner says that the many cases
on laches require a uniform rule, but mere numbers of
cases count little unless the facts are similar. Petitioner
does not so state,

THE POLICY OF THE PATENT STATUTE IS

NOT IN CONFLICT WITH THE EQUITABLE
' RULE OF LACHES

The asserted conflict with 35 U.S.C. 286 does not exist.

Laches and the other equitable defenses long aptedate

the predecessor to the statute (first enacted March 3,
1897, ¢, 391, 86, 29 Stat. 694) and continued unchanged

after its passage. doctrine of laches has always ex-
isted concurrently with statutes of limitation, modifying
their effect. Petitioner's rationale would leave no room
for equitable defenses at all, Had Congress so intended,
‘it has had ample time to say so between 1897 and the
present, It particularly had ample opportunity in. the
gefieral codification and revision comprising the Patent
Act of 1952, now 35 U.S, Code, Tt has not done so, ‘This
court and all others having equitable: powers remain
free to apply the doctrine of laches,

The question of compatibility between the equitable
defense of laches and statutes of limitation was discussed
in Gillons v, Shell, 86 F. 2d 600 at 610 (CCA-9, 1936),
The court specifically stated that the defense was avail-
able even where the delay was /ess ty the period of
limitations, The line of cases which shifts the burden
of proof to plaintiff where the delay is greater than the
period of limitation assumes that the defense is compat:
ible with a statute of limitations, See for instance Gillons
v. Shell, supra; Kelly v, Boettcher, 88 Fed, 55, at 62-3
(CCA-8, 1898) (just after passage of the statute in
1897); United Drug v, Ireland ‘Candy Co,, $1 F, 2d 226
at 232 (CCA-8, 1931) and cases cited therein,

The defense of laches was developed by chancellors
in equity, hearing cases directly related to cases at law,
In many cases the latter were subject to statutes of limita-
tions but not the former, Laches as a defense developed
to correct the inequity of rigid reliance on periods of
limitation, Petitioner has not shown any reason of pub-
lic importance why the law should be cut away from its
historic content, It suggests only that it should not have
the burden of explaining its delay, or of disproving
damage, in a case wherein it deliberately delayed longer

9

than the period of limitations, with full knowledge of
the facts, giving the appearance of abandoning its claim,
while defendant expanded its potential liability, its em-
ployment, and the kinds of alleged infringing devices,
and while witnesses forgot facts crucial to the defense. —

THE DECISION IN THIS CASE DOES NOT
CONFLICT WITH OTHER DECISIONS ON
LACHES

‘The decision in this case by the Court of Appeals does
‘not conflict with Gutierres vs. Waterman S.S. Corp., 373
Us. 206, 215 (1963). In that case the Supreme Court
said that the test of laches is prejudice to the other party.
In that case there was a finding that there was no preju-
dice, In this case there is no finding by the trial court
that defendant was not prejudiced. The trial court put
the onus for the delay, and the burden of proof, upon
defendant (A-37, 38, 40) and held that it was not unjyst
to defendant to have to defend this suit. These holdin

were reversed, The trial court did find that Mr. Watry, ~~

a crucial witness as to the unclean hands defenses, had
difficulty remembering the facts after so long (A,36).
It also found that plaintiff intentionally waited to start
suit until after the damages increased (A-38, center &
bottom). These fact findings were not reversed. —

The Court of Appeals found that after unreasonable
delay is proven by respondent, there is a presumptic on
that defendant was prejudiced (A-3). Having made such
a finding it.did not find it necessary to discuss the fact
evidence but it must have believed that the evidence was
at least consistent with the presumption of damage or
it would have held the presumption to have been over-
come,

10

The circumstances of this case are radically different
from those of Gutierrez v. Waterman since the damages
here are measured by a reasonable royalty for the sales
volume, which as shown by the evidence increased steadi-
ly during the period of the delay. In’Gutierres the dam-
ages were for injuries which did not change during the
delay. Moreover, the delay was much shorter than that
present in this case. Even if we grant plaintiff's premise
that both an unreasonable delay and actual damage are
necessary, those conditions have been met.

In Costello v, United States, 81 Sup. Ct. 534, 365 U.S.
279 (1961), the Court specifically found that although
the delay had dimmed the memory of some witnesses
that this had benefited the petitioner since it impeded the
government in meeting a heavy burden of -proof in a
de-naturalization proceeding.

Northern Pacific v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482, was a case
in which the party charged with laches was in fact dili-
gent in reducing his claim to judgment so that the later
suit could be brought.

Petitioner's argument seems to assume that the preju-
dice to defendant in this case is some unspecified legal
fiction having no relationship to the facts. Actually, it
is more in the nature of a determination of the burden
of proof, the Court of Appeals having held that after
defendant proved an unreasonable delay, thus meeting
its burden, the burden was on plaintiff to show that
the delay was excusable and that it had not prejudiced
the defendant. Here the plaintiff never put in any evi-
dence even tending to disprove defendant's evidence of
prejudice and in fact put in evidence of its own showing |
the prejudice (Baker Exhibit 38, App. 388, 227, Baker
testimony App. 128-132, 140). As the plaintiff would re-

: M
quire at the top of page 9 of its brief, the delay in this
case was such as to prejudice the defendant.

Each decision on laches is unique, depending on: the
relative equities between the parties.

In general, cases on laches fall into four categories:
1) the cases in whigh no significant delay is-fovad, 2)
those held to involve “mere delay”, 3) those held to in-
volve unreasonable delay, and 4) those in which there
are specific.acts leading to equitable estoppel. Only cate-
gory 3) requires discussion here.

Category 3) is illustrated by the following cases:
Gillons v. Shell, 86 F. 2d 600 (CCA-9, 1936)

Kelly v, Boettcher, 85 Fed. 55, 62-3 (CCA-8,
1898)

United Drug v. Ireland Candy, 51 F, 2d 226, 232
(CCA-8, 1931)

Window Glass Mach, Co. ». Pittsburgh Plate
Glass, 184 Fed. 645, 649-52 (CCA-3, 1922)

Holmberg v..Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392, 66 8.. Ct.
582, 90 L. Ed. 743 (1946)

Prevost v. Gratz, 19 U.S. 481, 6 Wheat. 481, § L.
Ed. 311 (1821) |

Russell v, Todd, 309 U.S. 280, 60 S. Ct. $27, 84
L. Ed. 754 (1940)

Sullivan o Portland & K. R. Co., 94 U, S., 806,
24 L. Ed. 324 (1876)

Lansdale v, Smith, 106 U.S. 391, 1S. Ct. 350, 27
L. Ed. 219 (1882)

Sek an

Umited Drag o. Revtanes, MB US. WTS OY
48 (V9EN) (descwsers peeing wt haters dam
ages but net an myenctgon )

Mosivs & Qo. ww. Verte, NW the. 364. STA La |
(CON 19S) Chars damages but aor rT
tron )

Universal Com tivt « dmerivan Sanitary Lock.
W4 Od PRE COCA DT, 1939)

Mews Mite. Co. ¢ Miller Mite. Sp. 4PM Ws
(CUA, 1928) Pe

Dhe Seveath Circuit Court ot Appeals heid that this
vase mvalves unrcasonable delay (A 3,9. 1). adopune
the tact findings ot the District Court (AS, UTS bat re
ecting its comclusrons therctrom (A-9) becawee the ber
den of proot was erroneously put on respondent to cy
/euse the delay (A910). Dhe Court ot Appeals proper
Iw held that the burden rs on petitioner, the patente}, to
prove that the delay is cxcusable. once wnreason de
lay is shown. and held that wh re the delay us unregson
able and bevond the analogous statute ot lirmaitatic }-
udice to detendant- respondent is presumed (A-3). Ge
loms ©. Shell, No F.2d 600 (COA-9, 19%) - Acily ¢.
Boettcher, 88 Fed. 88, 62-3 (CCAR. S981: Cneted’
Drug v. Ireland Candy, 31 Fo 2d 2%, 232 (CCAR
}O31),

Lachesewill ordinarily bar an accounting, even in the
case of mere delay, although an injunction will ordinari
lv be available in such cases.

Window Glass Mach. Co. ¢. Pittsburgh Plate
Glass, 284 Fed. 645 (CCA-3, 1922)

18

Meyer Mite. Go. o. Milter Mfg. Go, 24 F.2d
‘WS (OCA-7, 1928) . t

- Simpron oe. Newport News, 18 Fd 31k (DC.
S.D.N.Y., 1920) Ars

Rome Greder vo. 4dams Mig. Co, 135 FB) 24 617
(CCA.-7, 1948)
. =

if the Court of Appeals mcorreetly demed imjunctive
relief, damarcs should be barred on this grownd. The
net effect would be the same since the patent has expired
In effect the issues sought to be raised by petitioner, if
properly presented, are moot.

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY PRE.
SUMED DAMAGE TO RESPONDENT FROM AN
UNREASONABLE DELAY BY PETITIONER

The rule of Gillons ov. Shell, 85 Fo 24 GOO (CCA-9.
1936) appropriately shifts the burden of proof to peti-
tioner to show that respondent was wef damaged by peti.
tiener’s unreasonable delay. The delay was much longer
than the analogous statute of limitations, and gave. the
appearance that the claim bad been abandoned. Petitioner

apparently views Gellons v. Shell as an anomaly former.

ly limited to the Ninth Circuit but see Kelly v. Boettcher,
8S Fed. 55, 62-3 (CCA-8, 1898) and Umited Drag v.
Ireland Candy Co., §\ F. 2d 226, 232 (CCA-8, 1931),
and the numerous cases from other circuits requiring

plaintiffs to justify unusual delay, as cited by the Court |

of Appeals in this case.

=
$
|
2
:
#

I BR PRs os
.

14

It accords with conscience that when respondent has
proved an warcasonadle delay, the burden should shift
te petitioner to justify its lack of diligence. Moreover,
sume of the cases port out that the memories of witnesses
mevitably dim with time, and that failure to act appears
to a defendant tw show abandonment of the asserted _
claim, thus furnishing a basis for the presumption. Of
course petitioner was free to mect these burdens of proof,
if the facts warranted. [t admits it has aut done so (Peti.
toner’: Brief, p. 4) and that the delay is unexcused.

The Court of Appeals cited, correctly, many more
cases justifying its decision (A-3 through 8) |

The decision below did not reach the question of
actual proof of prejudice ty respondent from the delay,
but the trial court held memory of a crucial wit-
ness Was impaired with reference t a group of related
unclean hands defenses. “Also it isnot denied that peti-
toner could recover far more today in money damages
than it could have recovered in 1956 or 1957, and that
the delay was deliberate, with full knowledge of the
alleged infringement, with the intent of waiting until
the recoverable damages shoyld be greater (App. 129-
138, 140). Even petitioner's market survey was anony-
mous, preserving the appearzace that the claim was aban-

‘doned (App. 129). Respondent reserves the question of

actual damage if certiorari is granted.
q
CONCLUSION
The decision below was correct.
There is no overriding public interest in this case. The

.

application of the rule of laches to the case of an ex-

is
“e F
Pired patent is significant only to the parties. If the de-
cision below is reversed, all of the other issues would
return to the Court of Appeals despite expiration of the
The Petition for Certiorani should be denied.

Respectially. sebmined,

Aan B. WHenver
06 W. Wisconsin Avenue

Milwaukee, Wis. 53208
) Counsel for Respondent
4 January 28, 1971

<_

BAKER MANUFACTURING ©O.,

a corperation,
“s

=

WHITEWATER MANUFACTURING. c~o:,

Hh itty
Ht wilt

i
HOT

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_0835%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
