# Petition for A Writ of Certiorari — Mooring v. Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_0442%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for A Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1971
- **Citation:** 400 U.S. 999

## Text

“£>

Supreme Court, US
FILED

SEP 28 6
© ROBERT SEAVER ¢

In THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM

1970

LA eS eS SSNS

wn. 760

FRANK MOORING, ET AL,
Petitioners

versus

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF
MEDICAL EXAMINERS :

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE LOUISIANA SUPREME COURT

Joel T. Chaigson
Box 73 =
Luling, Louisiana

& is G. DeSonier, .
3305 Metairie Road
Metairie, Louisiana

4

BA. LD £ xX

e 4
¢
* 4

0
petition ff. 2 cette“ 1
Opinions Beiow | 2
Juriediction 3
Questions Presented 3 9.
Statement of Facts f 43
Reasons for Granting the Writ 6, 167
Conclusion f a
Certificate | 9

”. [appendix A ae ao
Appendix 5 15. 12, 13, 16,
Appendix c | 17

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

1970

— RN

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS
versus
FRANK MOORING

——

MOTION TO DISPENSE WITH PRINTING or
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the Chief Justice of the United States and the
Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States

The appellants hereby move to dispense with the printing of
his Petition for Certiorari.

Appellants are persons of limited means, upon when the coote
of this litigation have already imposed an extensive burden.
Although appellants do not feel that they can appropriately
execute the affidavit required under the ip forms pauperis

10 v. 8. c. 4. sect. 1915, and therefore appellants are paying the
filing fee sequbeed for the docketing of this appeal, neverthe
their limited means make it desirable the further costs of
this litigation be minimized. Appel do not possess any

substantial savings, and their living expenses and other obliga-
tions are nearly equal to their income. Accordingly, leave is
requested to dispense with the printing of the Petition for Writ
of Certiorari which this motion accompanies.

Z Attorney for Appel Lente ;

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTCBER TERM 1970

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS
versus
FRANK MOORING

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE LOUISIANA
SUPREME COURT

“bh

To the Chief Justice of the United States and tie
Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States

Petitioners, Frank Mooring, and Mrs. James Coombes, et al,
pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgmesit of

the Louisiana Supreme Court senceoed in these proceedings on June
29, 1970. 5 . 2 5

| OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the 29th Judicial District Court, Parish
of St. Charles, State of Louisiana, appears at Appendix A, infra,
Pp. 9 and 10. The opinion of the Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit,
N appears at Appendix 3, int ra PP. il, 12. 13, 14, 15 and 16. The
judgment of the Louisiana Supreme Court affirmed the judgment of che
Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit, without, cpinion, anaes Cc,
infra, pp. 17. ~

sae

0

*

JURISDICTION

This petition for certiorari was filed less than ninety (90)
days from judgment of Louisiana Supreme Court on June 29, 1970.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section
1257(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the right of citizens.to choose a reasonable method
of treatment of their ills a civil, natural and constitutionally
protected right?

2. Is the right of citizens to choose chiropractic as a

reasonable choice for treatment of their ills a civil, natural and

constitutionally protected right?

3. Is the State of Louisiana, through its judicial and
legislative officers, under the guise of acting in the public in-
terest and health, violating the civil, natural and constitutional

rights of citizens desiring to use chiropractic services, by

(1) failing to legislate reasonable licensing regulations for

Chiropractors (2) interpreting and administering the Louisiana

Medical Practice Act in such a manner as to make it virtually
impossible for a chiropractor who is not also a medical doctor to
obtain a license ‘to practice his profession.
. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Constitution of the United States, Amendment XIV, Section 1

- +» "No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the 882 or immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to any person

3 its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
aw.

STATEMENT OF FACTS
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners instituted

an action for a temporary restraining order and preliminary in-
junction to enjoin and prohibit Frank Mooring from practicing
medicine (chiropractic) in any of its departments as defined by
L. R. S. 37:1261,

Defendant filed his answer, refusing to answer the alle-

gations of the plaintiff's petition on grounds that to answer may
tend to incriminate him and he envoked the Fifth Amendment of the
Constitution of the United States, Additionally, Mrs. James Coombes

and Eighty (80) other patients were allowed to intervene in the

case on behalf of br. Mooring. In their petition they averred
that because of the arbitrary failure of the Louisiana Legislature

tea permit the licensing and regulation of the art or profession of
chiropractic, that they and all individuals similarly situated

are being denied the right to exercise a reasonable choice in the

method of treatment of their ills; that this deprivation is viola-
tive of their civil and constitutional rights and in this respect

the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, which makes no provision to

er

exempt chiropractic, is unconstitutional. U. S Constitution,
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments. They averred that chiropractic
is a useful profession; that to deprive thew of the right to seek
and use the services of defendant and other chiropractors is to de-
| prive them of life and “liberty without due process of law; that to
enjoin defendant and other chiropractors under color of state law
| from practicing their profession in Louisiana will endanger the

| lives of intervenors and others desiring to be treated by chiro-

_ Practors for which plaintiff should be held liable for damages and
! attorneys fees. 42 U.S.C. A. 1983,

The lower court refused to hear testimony in this case
and tried the cese on affidavits only. In his judgment, the
district judge held that since respondent offered no evidence
controverting the allegations of mover's petition or affidavits
that he must find respondent to have violated the provisions of
the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, L. R. S. 37:1261, et seq.

The court further held that “intervenor's right to the
pursuit of life and liberty does not allow the substitution of
their wishes for the wisdom of the legislature when, acting in
the public interest and public health, it prescribes Standards to
be met by those engaged in the practice of medicine. Nor do these
wishes render unconstitutional such regulations", |

In accordance with his findings, the lower court enjoined
defendant from practicing medicine in the State of Louisiana until
he has complied with the provisions of the Louisiana Medical
Practice Act. L. R. S. 37:1261, et seq.

Frank Mooring and intervenors appealed to the Louisiana
Court of Appeal, 4th Circuit. On appeal it was argued that inter-
venors had presented a question not considered in previous chiro-
practic litigation, i.e., the right of interverors, as chiroprac-
tic patients, to excercise a reasonable choice in the method of
treatment of their ills. The court of appeal held this right to
be correlative to that of the chiropractor; and the court held
that intervenors right may constitutionally be limited by the
same regulations and restrictions which may be validly imposed
upon the chiropractor by a state in the interest of public health
| and welfare. The court cited Head v. New Mexico Board of Eam'rs
in Optometry, which it found to be somewhat analogous. 374 U.S.
424, 83 S.Ct. 1759, 10 L. Ed. 20 983 (1963). N
Frank Mooring and intervenors applied for writs to the
Louisiana Supreme Court and writs were denied on June 29, 1970,

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decisions below directly conflict with the 14th Amend-
ment, U.S. Constitution. THE CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS PRESENTED
IN THIS APPLICATION FOR WRITS HAVE NOT BEEN PREVIOUSLY CONSIDERED
BY A FEDERAL COURT IN ANY OF THE PREVIOUS CHIROPRACTIC LITIGATION.

While it appears that in Louisiana with respect to the
chiropractor himself, the issues have been resolved against him
the rights of chiropractic patients have never been considered and
ruled upon nor how their rights affect that of their chiropractic
doctor.

In this case intervenors are seeking protection of their
right to exercise a reasonable choice in the method of treatment
of their ills. Unquestionally, the "liberty" guaranteed by the
14th Amendment protects this precious right. Were it not so pro-
tected, the right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness would
have a shallow meaning indeed. This Honorable Court said in
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399 (1923), "While e (the)
Court has not attempted to define with exactness the liberty thus

guaranceed, the term has received much consideration and some of

the included things have been definitely stated. Without doubt,

it denotes not merely freedom from bodily restraint but also right

of the individual io contract, to engage in any of the common oc-

| cupations of life, to acquire useful knowledge, to marry, establish

a home and bring up children, to worship God according to the dic-

: tates of his own conscience, and generally to enjoy those privileges

long recognized at common law as essential to the orderly pursuit
of happiness by free men." | |

| The District Judge would not permit the intervenors, eighty

(80) patients of Dr. Frank Mooring, to testify to the usefulness

of chiropractic and to show that ghtvepeastis was a reasonable

| choice for treatment of their ills. The very fact, however,

that chiropractic is legalized in all of the other states of this

>

Union shows that it is a useful profession and that it is a reaso-
nable method for treatment of ills. A number of the intervenors

in this case had come to Louisiana from other States where there
were rational and reasonable licensing regulations for chiroprac-
tors. Because of this State's requirement that a chiropractor
must meet the requirements of a medical doctor in effect and quali-
fy under the provisions of the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, a
requirement that bears no reasonable relation to the practice of
chiropractic, citizens are denied their "freedom of choice" in

the method of their treatment. In this respect the Medical Prac-
tice Act is unconstitutional in that these citizens are denied

the equal protection of the laws and the privileges and immuni-
ties under the law afforded to citizens of other states. U.S. b
Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment. This discrimination is obvious
as Congress itself authorized chiropractic services under Medicaid,
Title XIX of the Social Security Act, yet intervenors cannot avail
themselves of this law in Louisiana.

Statistics from the United States Public Health Service
Indicate that in 1963 - 1965, 4,250,000 persons in the United
States or 2.3 per cent of the civilian non-instituional popula-
care

tion consulted a doctor of chiropractic and of the p |
age (45 - 64), 4.2 per cent of the population of the United

States received chiropractic services. Indications are that since
this time, many more persons are seeking chiropractic treatment.

It is obvious, therefore, that chiropractic is a useful

and accepted method of treatment for many citizens of this country
and that the State of Louisiana by failing to establish reasonable
sitar panes for chiropractors is doing more than is necessary to
protect the health of its citizens and hence in its Medical , |
Practice Act and the administration thereof has exceeded consti-
tutional bounds.

In actual fact, the State of Louisiana, by failing to re-

‘| gulate chiropractors is doing its citizens a disservice because of
the fact that end State Board of Medical Examiners does not dili-
gent ly administer the Act against chiropractors thereby allowing
those in the profession who are not — chiropractors to
| continue practicing upon the public. ;

CONCLUSION
Applicants respectfully pray that this Honorable Court issue

a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the Louisiana

Supreme Court and after due proceedings had that the Louisiana

i Medical Practice Act be declared unconstitutional’ insofar as it

| deprives the citizens of a reasonable choice of the method of

|. treatment of their illnesses and deprives them of equal protec*

tion of the laws and life and liberty without. due process of law.
‘ Respectfully Submitted,

Luling, Louisiana 70070
Attorney for Petitioners

s U.
3305 Metairie
Metairie, Louisiana

Of Counsel:

Joel r. Chaisson

Box 73, ey
Luling, Louisiana 70070
Louis DeSonier, Jr.

3305 Métairie Road
Metairie, Leuisiana

-
a .

CERTIFICATE
STATE OF LOUISIANA
PARISH OF JEFFERSON !

I, Louis 6. DeSonier, Jr., Counsel for petitioners and a
member of the United States Supreme Court, hereby affirm under
oath that a copy of the foregoing petition for writs of certiorari
has been served on the parties hereto by mail, in a properly ad-
dressed envelope, postage prepaid as follows, to wit: |

Honorable Melvin J. Keenan, Clerk |

Louisiana Court of Appeals, Fourth Circuit

New Orleans, Louisiana

Honorable Harold A. Moise, Jr.

Louisiana Supreme Court

New Orleans, Louisiana

James E. Blazek

847 National Bank of Commerce Building

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

Metairie, Louisiana, this 25th.day of September, 1970.

| Sworn to and subscribed
| before me this 25th day
| of September, 1970, at Metairie, Louisiana.

OP MEDICAL EXAMINERS *s,, | 29°, JUDICIAL DISTRICT count
\ I PARISH.OF ST. CHARLES
PRANK MOORING | I STATE OF Louzsrana
NOs 21383 ,

mate him. Respondent offered no evidence controverting the
ina »@llegations of never petition or of mover's affidavits,
Hence, this Court must find respondent to: have
violated the provisions of the Louisiana Nedical Practice act,

This Court 1s of the opinion that intervencr's
wians Se tho parenit of life and liberty dese net allow the 3
substitution of their wishes for the wisdom of the legislature

—

_ enjoining and prohibiting Prank Mooring from practicing

. _ Bedieine in the State of Louisiana until he hes complied
7 with the provisions of the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, |
. . 8. 3711261, et seq. et

Louisiana this lst Day of April, 1969, at Lr. n.

— — 2 , „
a CO |
APPENDIX B | |
|
LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF : do. 3834
MEDICAL EXAMINERS :
: COURT OF APPEAL
VERSUS : me
: FOURTH CIRCUIT
FRANK MOORING : . |
2 _ STATE OF LOUISIANA
3 |

APPEAL FROM THE TWENTY-NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
Fo THE PARISH OF ST. CHARLES, NO. 11,183,
HONORABLE C. WILLIAM BRADLEY, JUDGE

(Court composed of Judges Paul E. Chasez,
William V. Redmann and Leon J. LeSueur)

ADAMS AND REESE, James Z. Blazek, Attorneys for
Plaintiff-Appel lee

CHAISSON, ACCARDO & MOREL, Joel T. Chaisson, Attorneys
for Defendant and Intervenors-Appellants

Defendant, Chiropractor Frank Mooring, and

intervenors, some 80 of nis patients, appeal from a
preliminary injunction restraining Mooring from practicing |
mecicine until he has complied with the provisions of ‘the
Louisiana Medical Practice Act, LSA-R.S. 37:1261 et seq.

It appears uncontroverted that defendant is engaged
in the practice of chiropractic, defined by its proponents
as a system of adjusting or subluxating displaced vertebrae

of che spinal column by hand for the restoration of health,

Louisiana St. Bd. of Med. Exam'rs v. Cronk, 157 La. 318,

102 So. 415 (1924).

Plaintiff's petition was met with an answer“
ceclining to answer and citing U.S. Const. Amend. V's
privilege against self-incrimination. No attempt was |
made by defendant to rebut the allegations of the petition
and supporting affidavits filed by plaintiff in support of

its request for an injunction.

.

ex)

The petition of intervention aMeges chat inter-
venors are “patients of Dr. Frank Mooring who is eecisting
this effort by the 232 to enjoin him from practicing

chiropractic." fee!

Chiropractors are engaged in "the practice of nedicing”
within the ‘provisions of LSA-R.S. 37:1261; Louisiana St. Bd. of
Med. Exam'rs v. Beatty, 220 La. 1, 55 80. 20 761 (1951); !
Louisiana St. Bd. of Med. Exan'rs v. Fife, 162 La. 681,

111 So. 38, 54 A. Be R. 594 (1926), aff'd, 274 U. 8. 720, 47 S. Cr. 590,

71 L.Ed. 1324 (1927); Louis ia a St. Bd. of Med. ‘xan’ r .
Cronk, supra.

The United States Supreme Court has upheld the

| Louisisna Medical Practice Act against constitutional attacks

on two occasions; England v. Louisiana St. Bd. of Med. Exam'rs,

246 F.Supp. 993 (E.D. La. 1965), aff'd, 384 U.S. 885, 86 8. ot. 1924,
16 L.Ed.2d 998 (1966) ; Louisiana St. Ba. of Med. Exan'rs: v.

Fife, supra. |

Intervenors argue, iowever, that this appeal presents
& question not considered in previous litigation. This is
the right of intervenors, as chiropractic patients, to exercise
* reasonable choice in the method of treatment of their ills.

Tntervenors" right to exercise this choice is.
correlative te that of the chiropractor: 8

ra

a 0

*

* * * the State cannot deny to any individual
the right to exercise a reasonable choice in
the method of treatment of his iils, nor the
correlative right of practitioners to engage
in the practice of a useful profession."
England v. Louisiana St. Bd. of Med. Exam'rs,
259 F. 2d 626, 627 (5 Cir. 1958).

Being correlative to the chiropractor's right to
practice, intervenors' right may constitutionally be
limited by the same regulations and restrictions which may
be validly imposed upon the chiropractor by a state in the
interest of public health and welfare. See the somewhat
analogous Head v. New Mexico Bd. of Exam'rs in Optometry,
374 U.S. 424, 83 S. cr. 1759, 10 L. Ed. 2d 983 (1963).

Appellants also complain that the use of verified
pleadings oun affidavits at the hearing below deprived
then of a full hearing on the merits. We believe that the
trial judge's order in this respect is fully within the
discretion granted him by LSA-C.C.P. art. 3609 governing
preliminary injunction. Appellants may present additional
admissible evidence on the trial for permanent injunction;
see Pearce v. Johnson, 213 So.2d 117 (La. App. 3d Cir. 1968),
cert. denied 252 La. 960, 215 So.2d 129.

Counsel for defendant further complains that he

was not served with a copy of the court's order as required
by art. 3609:

% * * If the application [for a preliminary
injunction] is to be heard upon affidavits, |
the court shall.so order in writing, and a copy
of the order shall be served upon the defendant
at the time the notice of hearingis served."

}
‘

|
be

—

We consider the lack of a copy of the order
insignificant under the circumstances. The judge's
handwritten order to limit proof <o verified pleadings and 1
affidavits was signed in the presence of defendant's counsel
on the cate originally set for hearing, March 26, 1969, when
it was postponed until March 31 to allow appellants time to
apply for writs. A copy would have been superfluous but
could have been made had defendant desired.

‘ag
Art. 3609 ede copies of affidavits to be
delivered to the adverse party 24 hours before the hearing
(or such shorter time as the court might order), which was
not done. However, cefendant wes fully apprised by the
petition of the names of persons alleged to have been treated
by him and the dates of treatment and the kind of treatment,
which was the substance of the supporting affidavits.
Defendant does not suggest any dis advantage he suffered by
not having the allegations in affidavit form; he certainly
was in a position to have prepared counter-affidavits. Thus,
aithough we recognize the importance of the adverse party's
right to have copies of the aifidavits beforehand, in
substance defendant dic have several days earlier all the

information art. 3609 is designed to provide him.

The judgment appealed from is affirmed at defendant's
cost. 4

AFFIRMED.

— a

We consider the lack of a copy of the order
insignificant under the circumstances. The judge's
hancwritten order to limit proof <o verified pleadings and

aiiidavits was signed in the preseace of defendant's counsei
on the date originally set for hearing, March 26, 1969, when
it was postponed until March 31 to allow appellants cine to
apply ior writs. A copy would have been superfluous but

could have been made had defendant desired.

Art. 3609 requires copies of affidavits to be
delivered to the adverse party 24 hours before the hearing
(or such shorter time as the court might order), which was
not done. However, cefendant was fully apprised by the
petition of the names of persons alleged to have been treated
by him and the dates of treatment and the kind of treatment,
which was the Subs tance of the supporting affidavits.
Defendant does not suggest any disadvantage he suffered by
not having the allegations in affidavit form; he certainly
was in a position to have prepared 999% | Thus,
although we K che importance of the adverse party’ 3
right to have ds of the affidavits beforehand, in:
substance defendant did have several days * all the

information art. 3609 is designed to provide him.

The judgment appealed from is affirmed at defendant's

4
? i

cost. 0

AFFIRMED.

Supreme Court of Louisiana

_ NEW ORLEANS, 7on2 APPENDIX C

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF June 29, 1970
MEDICAL EXA 2

V.

FRANK MOORING No. 50,652

In re: Frank Mooring and Mrs. James Coombes, et al ,
for certiorari, or writ of review, to the Court of Appeal,
Fourth Circuit, Parish of St. Charles.

Writ Refused. ;

On the facts found by the Court of Appeal, the result is correct.
Emtec
4 JBF
/s/. WBH
4 s
/s/ MEB

A TRUE Copy

Clerk's Office

Supreme Court of Louisiana

New Orleans

June 29, 1970

*

/s/ S. Wallace Miller
Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385605_0442%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
