# Opposition Brief — United States v. Urban Plumbing & Heating Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1547%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 398 U.S. 958

## Text

ae — — 21 i
No. 389

Office-Supreme Court, U.
FILED

AUG 2 51969

In the Supreme Court —
of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1969

United States of America, 5
Petitioner,
Vv.

Urban Plumbing & Heating Co.,

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

A WARDE H. ERWIN

3323 S. W. Harbor Drive
Portland, Oregon 97201

Attorney for Urban
Plumbing & Heating Co.

STEVENS-NESS LAW PUB. co., PORTLAND, ORE. 7-0

Page
Opinion Below 1
Jurisdiction - 1
— PIII, cents ̃ͤ]1ᷓ1lb1b1b—1—— —— 4

Reasons for Denying Writ 5

AUTHORITIES CITED
* Page
1 — By:
1 18
Products tion v. United
e th
Co. v. Jacksonville T.
27 K. Ry. Co., 148 U.S. 372 4
Arnold v. United States, 263 U.S. 427
Automatic Radio Mfg. Co. v. Hazeltine Re.
search, 176 F.2d 76/55 13, 22
Bennett v. Mahon, 180 F.2d 222 12, 15

Freund v. United States, 260 U.S. 60 20
Gill v. S. H. B. Corporation, 34 N. W. 2d 526 12, 17

Hartzville Mills v. United States, 271 U.S. 48
9, 10, 11, 12, 21

Hazelhurst Oil Mill and Fertilizer Co. United

Heike v. Unive Staten, 2i ae Re

Heike Lien ates, S17 U.S. 638 - — 4
v. Louis Dreyfus g

ee F.2d 753 21

wer Nex oo v. W. M. Smith Electric
350 S.W.2d

Marconi Wireless — Co. of America
v. United States, . 4
Portland Hotel Corp. v. Fideli Storage Co
134 F.2d 67 ad —— 14

8

142 A. 2d PAPE a. 5

Union Pacific R. Co. v. —— —
4 . 20

AUTHORITIES CITED (Cont.)

United States v. n t
ame cr,
V. race &
384 U.S. 424 681% 1 23,3

8. 289
United States v. ( Ine, 344 U.S. 149 23
United States v. Carlo ianchi & Co., 373 U.S.
Ln 11,28, 29, 34
United States v. — is: »
United States v. Utah Construction Co., 384
„ 28, 29, 31, 34
United Steel Workers of America v. ge
Wheel and Car Corp., 363 U.S. 598 10

Val-Rich v. Tol Electric Co. 196
So. 2d 8 12, 17
vines v. General Outdoor Advertising Co., 171
F. 2d 487 — 12. 15

— — , 289 F. 2d 389 12, 14
Woodcrest Construction v. United States,
408 F.2d 406 34
W. R. Grimshaw Co. v. Nevil C. Withrow Co.
248 F.2d 896 12, 15, 23, 32
W.R.B. Corp. v. United States, 183 Ct. Cl. 409. 18

Statutes

— am Te 81, 41 U.S.C.
18, 25, 26, 32, 34

Texts

79 American Law Reports 655 186, 24
5 Williston, Contracts (rev. ed. 1937) 13

P!
1 160 13, 16

No.

In the Supreme Court
of the Anited States
OcToser TERM, 1969

United States of America,
v.

Urban Plumbing & Heating Co.,
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

Petitioner,

The respondent Urban Plumbing & Heating files
its brief in opposition to the petition for Certiorari.

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the Court of Claims is reproduced
in the appendix to petitioner’s brief and will not be
reprinted.
JURISDICTION
The respondent disagrees with the statement of
petitioner that this Court has certiorari jurisdiction
[28 U.S.C. 1255(1)].

Section 28 U.S.C. 1255 (1) provides
that this court may review opinions of the Court of
Claims by certiorari.

Petitioner claims that the Court of Claims’ deci-
sion is final (Pet. Br.) although admitting it is inter.
locutory at the same time (Pet. Br. 1, n. 1).

The petitioner’s contention is that the remand by
the Court of Claims to the Armed Services Board of
Contract Appeals for a determination of the matter
of damages is to be disregarded for the purpose of
finality.

Respondent disagrees. The Court of Claims has
retained complete jurisdiction of the case, and the
Board has merely been directed to make a further
finding. The element of damages may well be a very
important matter to be ultimately disposed of, and
if certiorari should be ultimately granted in this case,
the damage element may well be a ground upon which
respondent may itself seek certiorari if the Armed
Services Board of Contract Appeals fails to make a
proper finding, or if the Court of Claims should fail
to enter a proper award.

In support of petitioner’s claim for certiorari ju-
risdiction, petitioner cites three cases:
United States v. Caltex, Inc., 344 U.S. 149.
United States v. Central Eureka Mining Co,
357 U.S. 155.
United States v. Acme Process Equipment Co.,
385 U.S. 138.

Each of those cases has been examined, and none
appears to have any relevance to the point for which
they are cited:

Caltex was a case where the army destroyed an
oil refinery in the Philippine Island to keep it from
falling into enemy hands. A direct action for compen-
sation was brought in the Court of Claims, and this
Court granted certiorari to consider the question of
whether compensation was due under the constitu-
tion as a “taking of property.”

Central Eureka was a case brought directly in
the Court of Claims under a special statutory au-
thority to review orders of the War Production Board
irrespective of lapse of time, laches, or a period of
limitation. The board had authorized closure of a

gold-mining operation without taking the property or
its equipment. This court granted certiorari because
the Court of Claims placed a construction upon the
statutory review authority to the effect that the
legislaion was intended as a mandate to allow com-
pensation. The Court of Claims’ decision appeared to
be final.

Acme Process was an original proceeding in the
Court of Claims for damages for cancellation of a gov-
ernment contract. The defense was that the cancella-
tion was motivated by a violation of the “antikick-
back” statute, and this court granted certiorari to re-
view a Court of Claims’ decision that the kickback
statute did not authorize cancellation for such a viola-
tion under the facts of that case. The Court of Claims’

4
decision was final. The application of the three cases

to the point for which they are cited is not appareni
from reading of the reported decisions.

The decisions following appear to support a con.
trary conclusion:
Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co. of America v.
United States, 320 U.S. 1.
American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville 7.
& K. Ry. Co., 148 U.S. 372.
United States v. Beatty, 232 U.S. 463.

Heike v. United States, 217 U.S. 423.
Arnold v. United States, 263 U.S. 427.

CORRECTED STATEMENT

The statement of the case while correct in many
details is incomplete or might be misleading.

The statement (Pet. Br. 3) that the completion
date was important “because the contract work in-
volved shutting down a portion of the base-heating
plant which could not be done during the Alaskan
winter” is misleading in that the contractor was not
made aware of the fact that a portion of the plant
could not be shut down during the winter; only the
government knew of that fact.

For the first time, at the hearing before the
Board did it first become known to the contractor
that the base engineer refused to permit a shutdown
of any portion of the plant. His decision, it was then
discovered, was based upon a desire to have standby
power and heat (Tr. 112) during the severe Alaskan
winter.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

oo

5

It is stated that the contract did provide that no
ume extension would be allowed for submission of
material and equipment which did not fulfill the re-
quirements (Pet. Br. 4). The statement is true, but
that matter was not an issue in this case because
while the respective manufacturers guaranteed that
their respective products would “fulfill the require-
ments” (a fact stipulated to by one of the airforce
attorneys immediately prior to the hearing after an
appraisal of the situation by the government’s own
independently selected-engineer (Ex. 49 Portland) )
equally as well or better than the named brand, the
Board, the Court of Claims, and the contracting offi-
cer himself, each found that the delay was related to
the failure to have someone available to approve or
reject the products submitted (Pet. Br. App. 30 and
63), and was not related to a “failure of fulfillment
of the requirements.”

It is stated (Pet. Br. 4) that the architect-engi-
neer advised orally that he would reject the coal
seales and combustion air coils, if appointed.

This was, of course, not essential to the deter-
mination requested by the petition, but it might be
misconstrued. The acual situation was that the gov-
ernment would not or did not make a determination
whether or not the procurement office (to whom all
submittals were made) would retain the function of
“approval or rejection” of products submitted or
would employ a third person (Tr. 450), and it was
38 days before they finally made that determination
(Ex. A, Portland, Tr. 474).

1

It is true that the contractor promptly cancelled
its orders with the proferred equipment manufactur.
ers upon learning of the intended rejection if the per.
son making the remark was appointed as approval
engineer (incidentally, the engineer denied making
any such (Tr. 477-9) remark). However, it is like.
wise apparent that the contractor could not place or.
ders with any manufacturer “named or otherwise”
until it had received the approval of the procurement
office, and the government procurement officer 80
testified (Tr. 195).

He stated:

“Normally, a contractor is taking a great risk
to place orders and start production on supplies
that have not been approved by the government
since they may be upset, and that is part of gov-
ernment’s claim.”

As to the ash handling equipment rejection (Pet.
Br. 5), the Board found that there was no reasonable
excuse for failure to disapprove of the ash handling
equipment until August 29 (Pet. Br. App. 63). No
appeal was taken from that finding nor objection to
it made by the government in the Court of Claims.

Reference to the 69 days (Pet. Br. 5) as being
generous to the contractor is not an accurate state-
ment of fact. As one example, it was admitted that
69 days arithmetical extension in a mid-Alaska winter
is not equal to 69 days in midsummer (production
schedule changes and many other factors were in-
volved).

7

The board itself held that the extension of 69 days
was inadequate and that cancellation would have been
unthinkable. The government took no appeal from
those findings nor ever made an objection thereto
(Pet. Br. App. 32, 33).

The petitioner’s statement (p. 7) states that the
board's determination was based upon the ground
that plaintiff’s claim was barred by the supplemental
agreement. The cited reference is a general reference
to the board’s opinion (Pet. Br. 7 and 45). The rea-
son for the general citation to the entire opinion
rather than to a particular part is that the board’s
opinion did not so state, although an inference of such
a determination may be made.

There are other discrepancies, but it is felt that
none is important enough to affect this court’s deter-
mination of the petition for certiorari.

A simple summary of the case is: (1) that there
was a short-term completion contract for modifica-
tion of a heating plant in Alaska; (2) that in con-
formity with the contract, the contractor offered
drawings for certain products for approval or dis-
approval; (3) the government did not, could not, or
would not, determine whether or not to appoint an in-
dependent approval engineer; (4) that after 38 days’
delay, it finally appointed such an engineer who ac-
cording to both the Armed Services Board of Contract
Appeals, and the Court of Claims unduly delayed in
disapproval of some of the items submitted; (5) the
contracting officer knew that an extension would be

8

necessary and learned privately that the base engi.
neer would not permit completion in sequence he.
cause of the onset of the Alaskan winter and the ne.
cessity to maintain standby equipment; (6) it was
privately determined within the government to force
acceptance of an extension by an offering of an in.
adequate extension or in the alternative to demand the
contractor perform over a total period of one year
(365 days) under threat of cancellation.

The court found that under the special facts of
this case, that this constituted duress and remanded
the case to the board for a determination of damages,

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Basically, the government’s argument is that the
Court of Claims has extended the legal concept of
duress and has thereby restricted the government's
power in contract negotiation matters where a nego-
tiator has asserted an unfounded contract right (Pet.
Br. 9), accompanied by a threat of cancellation.

Simplified, the government contends that the rule
should be that to avoid a charge of duress, all is re-
quired is that the contracting officer contends, “Well,
I thought I was right when I threatened the con-
tractor.”

To bring this within a recognizable ground of cer-
tiorari, the petitioner claims that the decision is in
conflict with Hartsville Mills v. United States, 271
U.S. 43.

RI Coen TI POOR COPY

The argument relating to the government’s bar-
gaining power is incorrect, and further, it is not a
ground for certiorari.

The Court of Claims’ opinion in Urban made a
complete and thorough analysis of the federal law of
duress, and petitioner itself states that Hartsville
Mills is probably not the law today (Pet. Br. 13).
That concession would be sufficient to deny the peti-
tion but Hartsville Mills is not authority for the prop-
osition for which it is stated.

The best analysis of that case can be made by ref-
erence to the later case of Hazelhurst Oil Mill and
Fertilizer Co. v. United States, 42 F.2d 331 (1930)
wherein it was stated (p. 338) as follows:

“It is urged on behalf of defendant that the

8 is precluded from any 8 by the
guage used in the opinion of the Supreme

Court in Hartsville Oil Mills v. United States, 271
U.S. 48, the plaintiff therein being a corporation
which was in the same position as this plaintiff
but the language of the Supreme Court on which
the defendant relies we think was intended to
apply only to the evidence in that case, which was
far from being complete with reference to plain-
tiff’s inquiry and the nature thereof.”

The court in Hazelhurst Oil then quotes directly
and far more extensively than does petitioner on page
13 of the brief from the Hartsville case pointing out
that the language was intended to refer only to the
failure to prove damages.

A reference to the citator and to Williston indi-

3

pare ot 2

10 1
Ne

cates that the Court of Claims has not failed to fol.
low Hartsville. In fact, dozens of claims were later
allowed by the Court of Claims without any objection
by the government.

Petitioner calls attention in the brief to the foot.
note in Anthony Grace; it is contrary to the conten.
tion of petitioner. (United States v. Anthony Grace
& Sons, Inc., 384 U.S. 424).

It states that:

“findings and conclusions of the Board of Con-
tract Appeals do not have the same finality on
review.”

The comparison was to the finality of a decision
of the labor arbitrator in United Steelworkers of
America v. Enterprise Wheel and Car Corp., 363 U.S,
593, as compared with finality of decisions of the
Board of Contract Appeals.

The decision in Anthony Grace related to a case
where the successful bidder on a governinent con-
tract proposal did not execute the final contract with-
in the time specified by the bid, and the contract was
terminated as provided in the offer. An appeal to
the Board of Contract Appeals was dismissed as be-
ing untimely on appeal; the Court of Claims assigned
the case to one of its commissioners as a fact finder
instead of remanding to the Board.

The court granted certiorari and held that the ad-
ministrative record must be made in the Board of
Contract Appeals and not in the Court of Claims.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

ll

As to the conchisiveness of the record, the court
merely held that the Court of Claims is restricted to
the RECORD made in the Board and can not take
original evidence. :

The court referred to its decision in United States
v. Carlo Bianchi & Co., 373 U.S. 709, and approved
(p. 428) two procedures when the board has not con-
sidered an incidental matter. One, where the record
was complete enough to grant judgment for the con-
tractor, it could do so; and two, where the court did
not believe the administrative record permitted it to
enter a judgment for the contractor, it could stay its
own proceedings and remand to the agency for fur-
ther action.

The latter course is exactly what the Court of
Claims has done in this case. It has retained juris-
diction, and it has directed the Board of Contract Ap-
peals to make an equitable determination of the mat-
ter under the terms of the contract.

Further, the court in Anthony Grace went so far
as to state that if the board demonstrated an unwill-
ingness or incapacity to act, a contractor may con-
clude that those procedures have become “unavail-
able,” and he may proceed directly in the Court of
Claims.

The following cases and texts in addition to Harts-
ville Mills previously discussed are cited by petitioner
relative to the question of duress.

a) United States v. Bethlehem Steel, 315 U.S. 289 as
to a threat to breach a contract.

12

b) Portland Hotel Corp. v. Fidelity Storage Corp,
184 F.2d 57.

e) 5 Williston, Contracts § 1606.

d) Footnote citations (p. 13) as follows:

Williamson v. Bendiæ Corp., 289 F.2d 389, 392.
3 (C. A. 7).

W. R. Grimshaw Co. v. Nevil C. Withrow Co.,
248 F. 2d 896, 903-905 (C. A. 8).

Bennett v. Mahon, 180 F. 2d 224, 231 (C. A. 8)
(certiorari denied).

Vines v. General Outdoor Advertising Co., 171
F. 2d 487 (C. A. 2).

Tri State Roofing Co. of Uniontown v. Simon,
142 A.2d 333.

Gill v. S.H.B. Corporation, 34 N.W.2d 526.

Val-Rich Corporation v. Tole Electric Co., 196
So. 2d 486.

It is contended (Pet. Br. 13) that a threat must
be made in bad faith to constitute duress and fur-
ther, that the other party was not in a position to
have obtained an adequate remedy by suing for dam-
ages if the threat were carried out, and the following
are cited:

King Construction Co. v. W.M. Smith Electric
Co., 350 S.W.2d 940.

Ross Systems v. Linden Dari-Delite, Inc., 178
A.2d 258.

It is contended (Pet. Br. 13) that where contract
amendments have been voided for duress, both bad
faith and lack of adequate legal remedy was clear,
and the following are cited:

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

18

Aircraft Associates v. United States, 357 F.2d
373.
W.R.B. Corp. v. United States, 188 Ct. Cl. 409,
468-9.
Shewan & Sons v. United States, 73 Ct. CL
49, 79-95.
Cf, Alloy Products Corporation v. United
als Lines’ n r Dreyfus C
e ines, v. ig Us *
372 F. 2d 753, 756, 758. sg
5 Williston, Contracts 4529-4533, § 1620.

5 Williston, Contracts 4501-4502, § 1606.
Automatic Radio Mfg. Co. v. Hazeltine Re-

search, 176 F.2d 799, 804-805.

and they are cited for the proposition that none of
the authorities suggests that a threat to cancel a con-
tract not subject to cancellation is duress per se.

Bethlehem Steel is an interesting case. It held:

“Here, it is suggested that feebleness is on
the side of the Federal Government of the United
States, overpowering strength on the side of a sin-
gle private corporation. Although there are many
eases in which an individual has claimed to be a
victim of duress in dealings with the government
e.g. Union Pacific R. Co. v. Public Service Comm.,
248 U.S. 87, this, so far as we know is the first
instance in which government has claimed to be
a victim of duress in dealings with an individual.”

The case pointed out no duress was present since
the government could have commandered the plant
cr compelled the corporation to produce at a price set

by the government.

14

The case has absolutely no factual or legal com-
parison to the Urban case.

Portland Hotel was a case where a landlord threat.
ened eviction unless a tenant consented to an in-
creased rental which was then consented to. Under a
claim that the increase was secured by duress, the
court held the threat was insufficient to constitute
duress.

The case does not appear applicable.

5 Williston, Contracts, has previously been cited,
and petitioner’s brief admits that modern law has
abandoned the older rules of duress.

The footnote citations for the proposition that a
threat must be made in bad faith and without an ade-
quate remedy are contrary to the petitioner’s cita-
tion to Williston but are commented upon as follows:

Williamson was a case where an individual
claimed the Bendix corporation refused to employ him
permanently under a contract for permanent em-
ployment. The company defended on the ground of a
release which the proposed employer claimed was se-
cured by duress, coercion and under undue influence.

The parties treated the entire claim as duress
which under Indiana Law was defined as a threat of
bodily restraint to compel execution of an agreement.

Plaintiff was a lawyer and clearly understood the
release, its import, and effect upon him.

The case would appear to be obviously inapplicable
to the present matter.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

15

Grimshaw was a case where a subcontractor
claimed that he was not required to finish stools and
sills as shown on the contractor’s plans.

The court held that where the facts which are al-
leged to constitute duress are not in dispute, the ques-
tion is one of law. The court held that the fact that
the contractor had advised the subcontractor that if
it did not perform, it would perform the contract it-
self or by others was not duress under the facts of
the case.

While there is some language to support the prop-
osition for which it is stated, the final conclusion is:

On consideration of the whole record, no facts
were present sufficient to support a finding of duress.

Bennett was a case where one party brought ac-
tion to compel specific performance of an agreement
for a partnership relating to the garbage collection
of Kansas City, Kansas. The court held the agree-
ment entered into was not entered into by duress; the
court holding that the mere refusal to carry out a con-
tract does not in and of itself constitute duress.

The case would not appear to be factually appli-
cable.

Vines was a case involving a claim for quantum
meruit services as a salesman of outdoor advertising.
The evidence showed that the company advised that
it would not enter into a new contract unless cer-
tain amounts claimed under a previous contract were
waived.

16

The court stated:

“The law of duress has been much extende4-
it is inconsistent with the modern theory of dur
ess to assert as an infallible rule that threatened
repudiation of contractual obligation can not

amount to duress (citing Williston, § 1620).”

The court did state that the mere threat to repudi-
ate a debt unless the obligee will enter into a contract
will not without more avoid it.

The case would appear to have no factual appli-
cation.

Tri State Roofing was a case involving a claim of
a “subcontractor” to recover under a roofing contract
opposed by claim for delay by the general contractor
which was met by a claim for a release from liability

for delay and a claim that the release was secured by
duress in that the subcontractor threatened not to
perform the contract unless the release was signed.

The court stated:

“To constitute duress or business compulsion,
there must be more than a mere threat which
might possibly result in injury at some future
time, such as a threat of injury to credit in the
indefinite future. It must be such a threat that
in conjunction with other circumstances and busi-
ness necessity, the party so coerced fears a loss
of business unless he does so enter into the con-
tract as demanded (Reference as to 79 ALR 655-
669).”

The case does not appear to be authority for the
proposition stated either factually or legally.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

17

Gill was a case where an owner refused to pay his
obligation to a contractor unless the contractor exe-
cuted a release of all claims.

The court stated that this alone would not consti-
tute duress but analyzed other cases in which that
fact coupled with the same financial distress and
other facts would constitute duress.

The case if applicable probably holds contrary to
the proposition for which it is cited.

Val-Rich was an equity suit for foreclosure of a
mechanic’s lien in which a defense of duress was al-
leged claiming that a mechanic caused delay and the
lien itself constituted duress.

The court held that this alone when there was a
full legal remedy would not constitute duress unless
something further were pleaded and the defense was
stricken.

The case is likewise not factually or legally appli-
cable.

King Construction was a case where an oral con-
tract for the purchase of a crane was held invalid
where the seller proposed to furnish a crane it knew
would not meet specification of purchaser’s contract
with the Atomic Energy Commission, and thereby
forced purchaser to get a crane for nearly double the
contract amount when purchaser could not secure the
erane from any other manufacturer, and no agree-
ment was made to rescind the oral contract.

The case is cited for the proposition that bad faith

was found. The case does not so state. The lower court
held there was no duress; the appellate court found
to the contrary. The lower court’s decision was bo
the effect that the purchaser executed the second con.
tract out of “fear of economic loss” only which did not
constitute duress. 5

The appellate court merely stated that the seller
took “undue advantage of the purchaser.”

The appellate court held that “fear of economic
loss” did constitute duress (p. 942).

Ross-Systems was a case involving a claim for
overcharges for a franchised ice cream mix.

The court said that duress exists when payments
are made under duress or “business compulsion”
where induced by the wrongful pressure of the payee,
and the payor has no immediate and adequate rem
in the courts to resist them.

The lower court had held that the franchisee
could have refused payment and defended himself in
court.

The appellate court held that adequacy of legal
remedy is not a narrow term and embodies the exig-
encies of the situation in which the victim finds him-
self. |

Aircraft Associates held that a decision of Armed
Services Board of Contract Appeals was a decision
upon a question of law and was not entitled to final-
ity under the Wunderlich Act.

The facts are that certain airplane parts on planes :

9 5
ag

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

19

gold by the government had been removed. The con-
tracting officer demanded a release of a claim for the
parts as a condition to payment of other obligations
and extension for payment of obligations to the gov-
ernment.

The ASBCA held there was no duress. The Court
of Claims disagreed, pointing out that the officer
knew of the removal of parts and that the extraction
of a promise based upon the fault of the promisee con-
stituted duress.

The case is admittedly authority for Urban’s po-
sition, and factually, is almost identical with the case
now petitioned; yet, petitioner attempts to cite it for
a contrary proposition.

Shewan was exactly contrary to the statement of
counsel as to the proposition for which it was cited.
The case involved the government holding payment
clearly due until the contractor would agree to a com-
plete release of unrelated matters.

The court held the government can not take ad-
vantage of its own default to exact a release of sub-
stantial claims. Further, that the court held that the
conduct of defendant exended beyond the breach of
contract remediable at law and constituted duress.

(It should be remembered that here in Urban

the contracting officer withheld payment from
Urban which was later ordered paid by Air Force

- Attorneys who could find no excuse for withhold-
ing it since the amount withheld was admittedly
due to the contractor. The contractor could not

— cisdacicecsSecbanl

20.
release his bond until the claim was paid, and
although the withholding was not connected with
the execution of the supplemental agreement, it
illustrates the propensities of the contracting
officer.)

The case of Freund v. United States, 260 U.S. 60,
67, 70 is cited. In Freund a threat to cancel a con.
tract was held by the Supreme Court to constitute
duress, and the Court of Claims was reversed with
a substantial award allowed.

The court also cited Union Pacific Railroad (Co. v.
Public Service Commissioner of Missouri, 248 U.S. 67,
79, where the court pointed out that the government
and the contractor are not on equal terms, and the
fact that it might indulge in vexatious litigation does
not prevent a claim for duress.

There is nothing “per se” about a holding that the
factual situation in Urban Plumbing constituted dur-
ess when the Supreme Court supports the opposite
view from that suggested as a reason for granting
certiorari.

Alloy Products (Alloy Products v. United States,
302 F.2d 528, 530) is cited as a case for compulsion,
and comparison is suggested.

No comparison seems possible. The Court of
Claims was asked to set aside a renegotiation agree-
ment entered into between the plaintiff and the gov-
ernment after studies by competent lawyers for both
parties.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

21

The court found that there was no evidence that
the plaintiff had been unlawfully constrained or com-
pelled by another to perform under circumstances
which prevented the exercise of a free will.

The case is not factually or legally comparable.

Hellenic Lines is cited under an admission (Pet.
Br. 14) that the modern tendency is to regard any
transaction as voidable which the party seeking to
avoid was not bound to enter into, and which was
coerced by fear of a wrongful act by the other party
to the transaction.

We agree that it is an excellent authority.

In the Hellenic case, the court made a complete
and exhaustive study of the law including the Harts-
ville Mill case.

The eourt pointed out (p. 757):

% it is obvious that there is no line of ab-
solute demarcation between fear that deprives a
person of free will and judgment and lesser de-
grees of fear .. moreover the nature and extent
of the pressure is inseparable from the subject.
The pressure must be improper and excessive in
going beyond what is reasonable under the cir-
cumstances in order to constitute either duress
or undue influence.”

The court further pointed out:

“A key element today is the state of mind of
the person threatened. This is not to say that the
existence of choice necessarily disposes the exist-
ence of duress.”

22

The court went on to quote Mr. Justice Holmes
that choosing the lesser of two evils is a “character.
istic of duress.”

Automatic Radio was a case involving a mere
threat to resort to civil litigation which the court
held was insufficient in and of itself to constitute
duress under the facts of that case referring to a
patent licensing agreement.

The case adds nothing to the petitioner’s claim
for certiorari.

Where the Court of Claims under an undisputed
factual situation has merely determined that the con-
tracting officer should have used, the contract clause
referring to unforeseeable delays instead of a threat

of cancellation unless his demands are met, the court
has acted fully within its powers. (United States v.
Utah Construction Co., 384 U.S. 394, (416-417).

The foregoing thirteen cases cited in footnote 14
of petitioner's brief (p. 13) are a very small fraction
of the state and federal cases in which the matter of
duress is discussed.

They were apparently selected because they are
opinions in which the various courts in some of the
cases referred to the BAD FAITH of the “duressor.”

The conclusion which petitioner desires to force
upon this court is that this court should adopt a rule
for all federal courts that if the “duressor” knows
that he is acting in bad faith in the threatening con-
tract termination, then this act may constitute dur-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

ees, but if he testifies that he thought he was correct
in threatening contract termination, it would not con-
situte duress.

It is obvious that this is not the function of cer-
tiorari, and of course, could never be the law. Duress
is universally held to depend on the factual situations
of each case and depends in some cases on such var-
iables as the personality of the individual “duressed.”

However, the Court of Claims in Urban did not
lay down a “per se” rule of duress as claimed. In
this case, the undisputed evidence was that the con-
tracting officer knew that the government had de-
layed the contractor, refused to consider factually a
reasonable time which that delay caused the contrac-
tor, and offered a time extension which was deter-
mined by the Board of Contract Appeals to be obvi-
ously inadequate knowing that even if the contractor
should accept it that the government itself could not
because he had been secretly notified by the base engi-
neer that he would not permit a shutdown of any
heating equipment during the Alaska winter in order
to make the changeover (Pet. Br. App. 32-83). In
order to force the contractor to accept the 245-day
extension, he threatened cancellation, a situation
which the Board of Contract Appeals found to be
unthinkable in the heart of the most severe winter
ever recorded in Alaska, a finding which was accepted
by the Court of Claims and not opposed by the gov-
ernment in the Court of Claims or elsewhere.

It was a matter of law. (W. R. Grimshaw v. Nevil
C. Withrow Co., 248 F.2d 896 (C.A. 8).

24

An examination of supplemental decisions to the
annotation in 79 A.L.R. 655 regarding “business com.
pulsion” discloses that there are 78 cases cited in ad-
dition to those cited in the annotation. Those 78 Cases
are from 24 jurisdictions. Petitioner cites only 18
cases relating to all types of duress from five juris.
dictions while two additional jurisdictions cited ad
mittedly were contrary to petitioner’s claim.

It might be interesting in passing to note that in
a dissenting opinion in United States v. Central Fu-
reka Mining Co., 357 U.S. 155, in 1958, Justice Harlan
stated in respect to the tenacity of the Court of
Claims:
“The Court of claims certainly not given to

the easy allowance of demands upon the public
treasury faced up to what the Constitution plain.
ly requires in this instance.”

When the petitioner claims (Pet. Br. 14) that the
Court of Claims had adopted a “per se” rule relating
to duress, it is grossly unfair and totally in error. A
reading of the Court of Claims’ opinion will totally
dispell any such contention.

Reading the petitioner’s claims objectively, it is
believed that petitioner wishes this court to put its
stamp of approval on the conduct of the contracting
officer in threatening termination for events for
which the government bore the sole responsibility.

A holding to the contrary is no jeopardy to the
government’s negotiating position as this case bears

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

25

witness. The contractor has sustained government-
audited out-of-pocket direct (no overhead, profit, etc.)
expenses of $80,000 due to it since 1962 (interest
alone at 6% is 42%). It has had the additional priv-
lege of paying for litigation cost and travel expense
from Fairbanks, Alaska, to Dayton, Ohio, to San
Francisco, California, to Portland, Oregon, to Wash-
ington, D. C., in addition to helping finance the gov-
ernment’s defense of this case in opposition.

In quoting statistics, one can not help but inquire
how many well-founded claims have been denied
merely on account of the citizen’s inability to finance
the steps in litigation through which the government
at taxpayer’s expense may take an opposing litigant.
The contract officer needs no further weapons in his
arsenal to deal with recalcitrant contractors.

The “government” (all of us) had the benefit of
the contractor’s work, labor, skill, and money, and it
surely should compensate it fairly, and the first
ground for certiorari would appear to be untenable.

The Wunderlich Act permits the Court of Claims
to find exactly as it did, and no ground for certiorari
would appear to exist unless the court wishes to gen-
erally exercise its discretion (Part V, Rule 19, Rules
of the Supreme Court).

The other ground stated in support of the peti-
tion (Pet. Br. 15) is that the Board rejected the find-
ing of the Board, and “in effect” entered its own find-
ings contrary to the mandate of the Wunderlich Act,
41 U.S.C. 321 which confines the Court of Claims’

review of facts to a determination of whether or not
there was “substantial evidence” to support a fact
found by a contract board.

Because of what would appear to be a mistaken
belief as to what the Board of Contract Appeals ae.
tually found, the petitioner arrives at a completely
erroneous conclusion.

Petitioner assumed that the Court of Claims re-
examined the factual matter of whether or not a con-
tractor in submitting for approval or rejection a prod-
uct which did not conform in exact particulars to 4
“named brand” contributed to the delay in perform-
ance of a contract by offering such a submittal (Pet,
Br. 17).

It was admitted, however, that the claimed re.
examination of factual matter was “in effect” accom-
plished by ignoring “substantial evidence.” (Pet. Br.
17).

That belief is mistaken because the submission of
a product for approval or rejection was exactly what
the contractor had a duty to do under the contract
even as to brand-name products called for by the speo-
ifications. The interpretation of contractual provi-
sions are legal matters on which a Board’s decision
is not final under the Wunderlich Act.

There was simply never an issue about that mat-
ter, and of course, the court ignored it.

Both the Board and the court found that the fail-
ure to appoint an approval engineer and an extended

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

27

period in rejection after such an appointment was
finally made were the causes of delay. There was no
dispute in evidence, and there was and is now no dis-
pute as to the determination of that fact.

The matter upon which counsel mistakenly relies
is whether or not the products submitted were or
were net in conformity to the “or equal” clauses of
the specification, a point which was completely un-
necessary to the Board or the court’s determination of
the case, and concerning which there was not any
issue.

The other matter to which petitioner refers was
not an issue either before the board or before the
court (Pet. Br. 19). That reference related to the
Board’s statement relating to the coal thaw shed
which was a portion of the contract completely un-
related to the matter of delay relating to “approval or
rejection” of drawings.

No evidence (except incidental) was ever directed
toward delay in the coal thaw shed. The government
had never at any time prior to the hearing made a
contention about any such delay or its relation to the
total performance of the contract. A prehearing or-
der was entered into between the parties defining
the issues. Delay in the completion of that portion of
the work was not in issue ever. The prehearing order
was printed as Exhibit A to plaintiff’s motion for
summary judgment in the Court of Claims (Tr. 28
and 31-2).

Neither the question of delay resulting from sub-

mittals was made an issue nor was any question of
delay in completing the coal thaw shed. The referencs
by the Board of Contract Appeals to the fact that it
could only find three days’ delay in the coal thay
shed work caused by the government was a mere
gratuity. No evidence was ever directed toward that
point since it wasn’t an issue.

As siated in the brief before the Court of
if it had been an issue, the evidence would have shown
that the work in the coal thaw shed was completed
at the time of the extension and that no one made
any reference at any time to any delay (Ct. Cl. Br
68-9).

Citations as to the second point (Court of Claims’
review of decisions of a board) admit that the Wun-
derlich Act was intended to liberalize the review of
decisions of such boards in the same manner as could
any other reviewing court (Tr. 16).

But, complains petitioner, the Court of Claims is
going beyond its authority.

In support of this contention, it cites United
States v. Carlo Bianchi & Co., 373 U.S. 709, United
States v. Utah Construction and Mining Co., 384 U.S.
394, and United States v. Anthony Grace & Sons,
Inc., 384 U.S. 424.

Bianchi and Anthony Grace have previously been
discussed, and are not applicable since nothing this
court has done in the Urban Plumbing decisions con-
flicts with those decisions. The Court of Claims has

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

not created a new record by its own commissioner as
was attempted on Anthony Grace, but on the contrary
has exactly conformed to the suggested dispositions
outlined in the Grace and Bianchi decisions.

The Court of Claims certified the administrative
record in this case (Urban Plumbing) to one of its
commissioners who found the record did not contain
any factual question to review, and returned it to the
Court of Claims for purely legal determination.

Utah Construction (1966) was a case in which
the contractor was to build a facility for the Atomic
Energy Commission. The contract provided that fact-
ual disputes should be determined by the contracting
officer subject to appeal to the head of the depart-
ment whose decision was to be final and conclusive.

After completion, the contractor filed claims for
additional compensation and time extensions pursu-
ant to the “changed conditions” clause of the con-
tract.

The Board of Contract Appeals:

1. Denied the request for time extension and
damages for the “pier drilling” claims on the
ground that the increased costs were incurred by
the subcontractor rather than the contractor and
that the delay was caused by a dispute over gov-
ernment-supplied concrete aggregate which was
a matter not before the board.

2. Denied compensation for but allowed addi-
tional time for the “shield window” claim.

80:

8. Ruled that the appeal from the contrae
tor’s rejection of the claim for additional com.
pensation for poor quality aggregate was un-
timely and remarked that if the claim was based
upon unliquidated damages for breach of war.
ranty or delay, it (the board) had no jurisdiction
to grant monetary relief.
Respondent filed a direct action in the Court of

Claims for breach of contract asserting government.
caused unreasonable delay.

The Court of Claims held that the “pier drilling”
and “shield window” claims were primarily for breach
of contract and ordered a trial de novo on the factual
issues in those claims.

It held that since the concrete aggregate claim

was for “breach of contract” rather than “arising un-
der” the contract, the factual issue should be resolved
in a judicial trial.

The Supreme Court granted certiorari and af.
firmed the court on the proposition that liability for
breach of contract claims do not lie within the juris-
diction of the Board of Contract Appeals and further
held that contractors do not need to process breach
of contract matters through the Board of Contract

Appeals before filing suit in the Court of Claims.

The court found that the claim of poor quality
aggregate was a claim for breach of contract and af-
firmed the Court of Claims.

As to the “pier drilling” and “shield window’

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

81

dsims, the court agreed that the board lacked au-
thority to consider “delay damages” for those claims.

‘However, the court held that the board did have
authority to consider time extensions under specific
contract provisions, and if those requests called for
“fact finding” such facts would be (if properly sup-
ported) conclusive on the parties, not only under the
contract provisions but also under the court action
for breach of contract and delay damages.

The court then discussed the doctrine of “collat-
eral estoppel” and the needless duplication of “evi-
dentiary hearings.” (p. 420 et seq.).

It is thus apparent that Utah Construction was
concerned with the distinction between breach of con-
tract cases not within the board’s jurisdiction and

factual matters under the contract which were within
the board’s jurisdiction.

The court pointed out that no matter what the
claim is labeled or what action the board may have
taken, the board had no jurisdiction of claims for
breach of contract even if it considered and passed
upon those claims.

In Urban Plumbing, the stipulated issue before
the Board of Contract Appeals was whether or not
a contract modification constituted an “accord and
satisfaction.”

The government claimed it did, and the contractor
cliamed that it did not. The contractor claimed that
it did not for several reasons: (1) No meeting of

82: =
minds; (2) no consideration; (8) lack of reality dt
assent (duress) etc.; the contractor also claimed that
the construction of the modification after its lan.
guage was changed was understood to permit a claim
for additional costs should such added costs materia}.
ize under the extension demanded by the government,”

Both the contract provisions and the Wunderlich
Act provided that the contracting officers’ decision,
that of a department head or other fact finder should
not be final on a question of law.

What constitutes an accord and satisfaction is a
legal question. The board’s opinion made no reference
to that legal question except to hold that there was no
duress because when the time set for performance of
the contract had expired (even though admittedly,
the fault of the government), the contractor was “in
default” and the contractor had a right to cancel the
contract, and when he threatened to cancel the con-
tract, he did what he had a legal right to do.

That finding is now (for the first time) admitted
to be in error (Pet. Br. 20, n. 17).

But says the petitioner even if in error, the court
must remand to the Board to redetermine that matter
after instructing the Board as to the proper law, and
the Court of Claims can not for itself determine
whether or not the action of the contracting officer
constituted duress.

Where the facts are not in dispute, the matter
always becomes a question of law (W. R. Grimshaw
Co. v. Nevil v. Withrow, supra.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

he undisputed facts are that the government de-
lay in appointing an approval engineer, and in rejec-
tion or approval of products submitted was the cause
of the need for a contract extension.

The contract modification itself so states.

The Court of Claims examined the evidence care-
fully. It stated that it believed that the board had so
found as a fact but that if it had not, it would so
find because there was no substantial evidence to the
contrary, and minds could not differ as to the evi-
dence (Pet. Br. App. 21).

How then can petitioner claim that the Court of
Claims ignored evidence when the opinion itself states
that the court carefully examined the evidence?

As repeatedly stated, the evidence was from peti-
tioner’s files and its own witnesses by which it is
bound; the contract modification says the reasons
upon which it was based.

It can only be concluded that the claim for cer-
tiorari comes from the conclusion of some government
counsel unfamiliar with the records of this case be-
cause the basic propositions are admitted both fact-
ually and legally or are based upon findings which
petitioner itself claims are conclusive.

Respondent has read the cases cited in page 22 of
petitioner’s brief. Many of those have been cited in
the briefs before the Court of Claims. It is apparent
that petitioner believes the Court of Claims in those
cases has reviewed and rejected administrative find-

ings.

84.

-- Respondent finds no basis for such a conclusion
from a reading of the decisions of those cases,

If petitioner knows of facts not apparent from
the various opinions on which the judgments were
based, respondent is not in a position to comment
thereon without access to the same information if any
exists.

A reading of the various opinions indicated to re.
spondent that in almost all if not all of the decisions,
the Court of Claims has been extremely careful tp
follow the Wunderlich Act, and the decisions of the
Supreme Court, in each case, explaining any varia.
tions which might be misleading: (

But whether that position is correct or incorrect,
the case of “Urban Plumbing” does not fall within
the factual matter of those cases (particularly 'Wood-
crest Construction Co. v. United States, 408 F.2d 406,
which petitioner seeks to associate with the pe-
tition for certiorari in this case). Nor does Urban
Plumbing fall within the prohibition of analogies of
the Utah Construction, Anthony Grace or Carlos Bi-
anchi decisions of this court.

The court here did not treat this cause as a breach
of contract case, but actually did exactly as petitioner
claims it should have done: It adopted a board find-
ing: (1) that there was admitted delay under the

‘Woodcrest was referred to a court of claims commis-
sioner for factual hearings and was decided by a divided
court. Urban was referred to a court of claims commissioner
who made no factual review and returned it to the court of
claims for determination of the legal matters. The Urban
case was decided by a unanimous court.

Aire THD HOLIinnN PHOR CORY

85

state of facts; (2) that there was a finding that the
delay was admitted by the fault of the government;
(3) that there was machinery under the “equitable
adjustment provisions under the contract to deter-
mine a just compensation; and (4) directed that the
hoard should proceed to make an equitable award to
the contractor under the contract.

For the reasons stated, the petition should be
denied.

WARDE H. ERWIN

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1547%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
