# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wright v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1504%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 398 U.S. 939

## Text

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1969
No.

MARGARET WRIGHT,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

¢

2
oe’

&

i

S
—
&

4
fs
Pn,
pa

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE APPEL-
LATE DEPARTMENT OF THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA FOR
THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

See oe

Watts oo
Ree lug pase:

BRS e

WILLIAM B. MURRISH and
MARSHALL L. BARTH
625 Gateway West
1801 Avenue of the Stars
Los Angeles, Calif. 90067
CR7-1555 TR 9-1555

Raa, vee Sap ee eee eC ees
SER REAR EA SOBRE ee Pn baud WEIR

ae

Attorneys for Petitioner

—

TOPICAL INDEX

Page
Table of Authorities iv
OPINIONS BELOW 2
JURISDICTION 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED 4
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED 5
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 6
REASONS FOR GRANTING

THE WRIT 16

1 THE COURT BELOW IN HOLDING
PETITIONER CRIMINALLY PUN-
ISHABLE BY FORCE ONLY OF A
RETROACTIVE JUDICIAL EXPAN-
SION OF A STATUTE INAPPLIC-
ABLE BY ITS TERMS TO PETI-
TIONER'S CONDUCT, HAS
DISREGARDED THIS COURT'S
PLAIN MANDATE IN BOUIE v.
COLUMBIA, 378 U.S. 347, AND
HAS DENIED PETITIONER BOTH
PROCEDURAL AND SUBSTANTIVE
DUE PROCESS OF LAW, AND
FREEDOM OF PETITION, SPEECH
AND ASSEMBLY, ALL CONTRARY
TO THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS OF THE CONSTITU-
TION. 16

Page

(1) Procedural Due Process 19
(2) Substantive Due Process and

the Doctrine of "Void For

Vagueness'', and the Fundamen-

tal Requirement That Criminal

Laws Must Give "Fair Warning"

of What is Made Punishable. 20

(3) Absence of Legislative Standards
Under Vague (Or Judicially
Expandable) Statutes, and the
Substitution Thereby Aliowed of
Arbitrary Discretion and the Rule
of Men For the Constitutionally-
Required Rule of Law. 22

(4) The Above Principles Have
Particular Force in Areas
Touching Or Involving Free-
dom of Speech, Press, Petition,
Assembly Or Association. 24

(5) The Grievances and Subject
Matter of the Exercises of
Liberty Involved at Bar Parti-
cularly Require Vindication. 26

Il THE CLAIMED ADMONITION TO
THE ASSEMBLAGE NOT TO ENTER
THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING
WAS FATALLY AMBIGUOUS, AND
NO CONVICTION CAN BE GROUNDED
THEREON EVEN AS TO PETITIONER'S

ii

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

Ill

ACT OF ENTRY, CONSISTENT

WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF

DUE PROCESS AND OF LIBERTY

OF SPEECH, PETITION, ASSEM-

BLY AND ASSOCIATION UNDER

THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS. 29

DUE PROCESS AND THE FIRST
AMENDMENT SECURITIES WILL

NOT PERMIT THE CONVICTION
BELOW TO. STAND BECAUSE IT
RESTS, IN ONE COEQUAL ALTER-
NATIVE, UPON A FINDING ONLY
THAT PETITIONER "AT LEAST

. . . SHOULD HAVE HEARD" DR.
WALLACE'S COMMAND. 32

CONCLUSION 34

APPENDIX "A"

Memorandum Opinion and
Judgment

APPENDIX "B-1"

Text of California Penal Code
§602(j)

APPENDIX "B-2"

Text of California Penal Code
§602.7

iii

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Aptheker v. Secretary of State,

378 U.S. 500 (1964) 33
Ashton v. Kentucky,

384 U.S. 195 (1966) 30
Baggett v. Bullitt,

377 U.S. 360 (1964) 24
Barbier v. Connolly,

113 U.S. 27 (1885) 23
Barr v. Columbia,

378 U.S. 146 (1964) 18
Bouie v. Columbia,

378 U.S. 347 (1964) 4, 12

16-19, 21

Boyce Motor Lines v. United States,
342 U.S. 337 (1952) 23

Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust Co. v. Hill,
281 U.S. 673 (1930) 19

Brown v. Board of Education,
347 U.S. 483 (1954) 27

Citizens' Loan Association v. Topeka,
87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 655 (1875) 28

Cole v. Arkansas,
333 U.S. 196 (1941) 19, 20

iv

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

Cases

Connally v. General Construction Co.,
269 U.S. 385 (1926) 21,

Cox v. Louisiana,
379 U.S. 536 (1965)

Cramp v. Board of Public Instruction,
368 U.S. 278 (1961)

De Jonge v. Oregon,
299 U.S. 353 (1937) 20,

Edwards v. South Carolina,
372 U.S. 229 (1963)

Elfbrandt v. Russell,
384 U.S. 11 (1966)

Garner v. Louisiana,
368 U.S. 157 (1961) 20,

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania,
382 U.S. 399 (1966)

Gregory v. Chicago,
394 U.S. 111 (1969) 20,

Henry v. City Rock Hill,
376 U.S. 776 (1964) 30,

Johnson v. United States,
318 U.S. 189 (1943)

Page

23

31

24

25

30

33

30

23

31

31

21

Cases Page

Lambert v. California,

355 U.S. 225 (1957) 33
Lanzetta v. New Jersey,

306 U.S. 451 (1939) 20-21
Mitchell v. Charleston,

378 U.S. 551 (1964) 18
Morrisette v. United States,

342 U.S. 246 (1952) 33
Musser v. Utah,

333 U.S. 95 (1948) 22, 23
NAACP v. Button,

371 U.S. 415 (1963) 24
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254 (1964) 25
Noto v. United States,

367 U.S. 290 (1961) 33
In Re Oliver,

333 U.S. 257 (1947) 19
Pierce v. United States,

314 U.S. 306 (1941) 18
Powell v. Alabama,

287 U.S. 45 (1932) 19

vi

_ -

Cases Page
Raley v. Ohio,
360 U.S. 423 (1959) 21, 30, 31

Robinson v. California,
370 U.S. 660 (1962) 33

In Re Ruffalo,
398 U.S. 544 (1968) 18, 20

Scull v. Virginia,
359 U.S. 344 (1959) 21, 24, 31

Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham,
382 U.S. 87 (1965) 23, 24

Small Co. v. American Sugar Re fining
Co., 267 U.S. 233 (1924) 23

Smith v. California,
361 U.S. 147 (1959) 24, 33 -

Staub v. Baxley,
355 U.S. 313 (1958) 24

Stevens v. Marks,
383 U.S. 234 (1966) 31

Street v. New York,
394 U.S. 576 (1969) 31

Stromberg v. California,
283 U.S. 359 (1931) 25, 30

vii

Cases

Terminiello v. Chicago,
337 U.S. 1 (1949)

Thornhill v. Alabama,
310 U.S. 88 (1940)

Truax v. Corrigan,
257 U.S. 312 (1921)

United States v. Cardiff,
344 U.S. 174 (1952)

United States v. Cohen Grocery Co.,
255 U.S. 81 (1921) 23

United States v. Laub,
385 U.S. 475 (1967) 31

Watkins v. United States,
354 U.S. 178 (1957) 33

West Virginia v. Barnette,
319 U.S. 624 (1943) 27

Whitney v. California,
274 U.S. 357 (1927) 25

Wieman v. Updegraff,
344 U.S. 183 (1952) 33

Winters v. New York,
333 U.S. 507 (1948) 24

viii

a

Cases Page
Yick Wo v. Hopkins,
118 U.S. 356 (1886) 23, 25
Constitution

United States Constitution:

First Amendment 4, 12, 14, 16, 19,
24, 25, 29, 30, 32

Fourteenth Amendment 4, 14, 16, 29
Statutes

California Penal Code:

$602.7 2, 5, 6, 11-14, 16

$602(j) 5, 6, 11

28 U.S.C. $1257(3) 3

28 U.S.C. $2101(d) 3
Rules

Rules of the United States
Supreme Court:

Rule 22(1) 3

BLEEO THROUGH POOR COPY

—,

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1969

No.

MARGARET WRIGHT,

Petitioner,
vs.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE APPEL-
LATE DEPARTMENT OF THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA FOR
THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

Petitioner Margaret Wright prays that A
Writ of Certiorari issue to review the decision
and judgment of the Appellate Department of the
Superior Court of the State of California for the
County of Los Angeles, entered on January 9,
1970, affirming the judgment of the Municipal

1.

Court of the Los Angeles Judicial District,
entered May 12, 1969, which found petitioner
guilty under a trial without jury of violating
§602.7 of the California Penal Code. [C.T.

9] 1/ The Appellate Department of the Super-
ior Court of the State of California for the
County of Los Angeles denied petitioner's peti-
tion for a rehearing by it or for certification to
the California Court of Appeal, by an order
entered January 28, 1970. [C.T. 10]

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Municipal Court is not
reported; the Engrossed Statement on Appeal,
settled by said Municipal Court, appears in
full in the certified Record. [C.T. 12-18] The
opinion of the Appellate Department of the
Superior Court of the State of California for the
County of Los Angeles is not reported; a copy
thereof is attached hereto as Appendix "A".

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Department
of the Superior Court was entered January 9,
1970. [C.T. 54] The order of the Appellate

1/ | Meaning: Clerk's Transcript, page 9.

2.

oe. Kem TV LIBAIICh OUDAMAD CODY

—

Department of the Superior Court denying
titioner's petition for a rehearing or for

certification of the cause to the California

Court of Appeal, was entered January 28, 1970.

[C.T. 10]

By its refusal to certify, the judgment of
the Appellate Department became the judgment
of the highest California court entitled to hear
the case.

The constitutional issues here presented
were urged in the trial court [E.S. 5/27-7/ 3], 2!
were considered by it and were overruled [id.
5/16-7/3]; they were urged before the Appel-
late Department of the Superior Court by
petitioner in her brief filed therein [C.T. 19-
40, 41-49], and were considered by it and were
again overruled. [C.T. 54-59]

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3) and §2101(d), and
Rule 22(1) of the Rules of this Court.

2/ Meaning: Engrossed Statement on Appeal,
page 5, line 27 to page 7, line 3.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. DID THE COURT BELOW, IN HOLp-
ING PETITIONER CRIMINALLY PUNISHABLE
BY FORCE ONLY OF A RETROACTIVE
JUDICIAL EXPANSION OF A STATUTE In-
APPLICABLE BY ITS TERMS TO PETI-
TIONER'S CONDUCT, DiSREGARD THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT'S PLAIN
MANDATE IN BOUIE v. COLUMBIA, 378 U.5,
347, AND THEREBY DENY PETITIONER
BOTH PROCEDURAL AND SUBSTANTIVE
DUE PROCESS OF LAW, AND FREEDOM OF
PETITION, SPEECH AND ASSEMBLY, ALL
CONTRARY TO THE FIRST AND FOUR-
TEENTH AMENDMENTS OF THE CONSTITU-
TION?

Il. WAS THE CLAIMED ADMONITION
TO THE ASSEMBLAGE NOT TO ENTER THE
ADMINISTRATION BUILDING SO FATALLY
AMBIGUOUS THAT NO CONVICTION CAN
BE GROUNDED THEREON CONSISTENT
WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF DUE PRO-
CESS AND OF LIBERTY OF SPEECH, PETI-
TION, ASSEMBLY AND ASSOCIATION UNDER
THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH AMEND-
MENTS?

lll. WILL DUE PROCESS AND THE
FIRST AMENDMENT SECURITIES PERMIT
THE CONVICTION BELOW TO STAND INAS-
MUCH AS IT RESTS, IN ONE COEQUAL
ALTERNATIVE, UPON A FINDING ONLY
THAT PETITIONER "AT LEAST ... SHOULD
HAVE HEARD" DR. WALLACE'S COMMAND?

4.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

California Penal Code §602(j), provides in
material part that:

"Every person who wilfully commits
any trespass by either: * * * (j) Enter-
ing any lands . . . with the intention

of interfering with, obstructing, or
injuring any lawful business or occu-
pation carried on [thereon] [shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor]. :

The full text of said statute is attached hereto
as Appendix '"B-1".

California Penal Code $602.7, in material
part and as the same appeared at all times
herein material, provided: "In any case in
which a person who is not a student or officer
or employee of a state college or state univer-
sity, and who. . . enters [any] campus or
facility [of any such college or university]'' and
who "fails" "to leave such campus or facility"
upon being "direct[ed] . . . to leave such
campus or facility’ by a proper administrative
official reasonably believing that such person
is interfering with the peaceful conduct of the
activities of such campus or facility, or has
entered thereon for the purpose of committing
such an act [he shall be guilty of a misdemean-
or]. The full text of said statute is appended
hereto as Appendix "B-2".

——

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On January 13, 1969, petitioner Margaret
Wright, because of conduct occurring on the
campus of the San Fernando Valley State Co]-
lege on January 8, 1969, was charged with
violating the two California misdemeanor "tres.
pass" statutes identified above, Penal Code
§§ 602(j) and 602.7.

In essence §602(j), as excerpted above,
punishes "entering" any lands " with the inten-
tion of interfering with [or] obstructing" any
lawful business carried on there. Separately
and distinguishably, $602.7 punishes any
"failfure]'' by any nonemployee, nonstudent
"to leave" "any campus or other facility" of
any California state college or university upon
being reasonably ''direct[ed] . . . to leave" the
same by an authorized administrative official
reasonably believing the person's conduct to be
interfering with the peaceful activities thereof,
or reasonably believing the person has entered
such campus or facility for the purpose of so
interfering [Emphasis added].

Petitioner was tried without a jury. She
was acquitted under Count One of the "entering'
charge under §602(j), and was convicted under
Count Two of the "fail[ure] * * * to leave"
charge under §602. 7.

The facts, as found in detail and set forth
by the trial court in the ''Engrossed Statement
on Appeal, '' appearing in the certified Record

6.

re

Beocen THODHIICH POOR COPY

_

[c.T. 12-19] are briefly these:

On January 8, 1969, petitioner Margaret
Wright came to the campus of the San Fernando
Valley State College, a California State college
located within the Los Angeles Judicial District
of the State of California, at or about 1:00 P.M.
The college was open and, except for the events
described below, a normal school day was in
progress. Mrs. Wright was neither a student,
officer, nor employee of the college. She is
a black woman and a mother of school-age
children and she had come to the campus at the
invitation of the Valley State College chapter
of the Black Student Union (hereinafter referred
to as the ''BSU") to speak at a rally in an area
on the campus grounds that had been set aside
by the college as a ‘free speech" area.

Prior to her arrival (at 1:00 P.M.), the
rally had been in progress for some time and
various speakers had spoken regarding the
problems, grievances, and demands of black
students at the college.

Upon her arrival at the free speech area,
Mrs. Wright addressed the crowd, speaking on
the necessity and desirability of what she
referred to as ''black education". At this time
there were approximately 300 to 400 persons
attending the rally. On the podium with her
when she was speaking were various members
of the BSU and the Reverend James Hargett, an
individual active in black community affairs
generally and in black student affairs at the
college specifically.

After she completed her talk to the group,
Mrs. Wright and Reverend Hargett were
invited by various members of the BSU to
accompany them to the school's Administration
Building to discuss their grievances with Dr.
Delmar Oviatt, the then acting Dean of the
college. Mrs. Wright testified that when she
was so invited she did not know whether thoge
who had asked her to accompany them to the
Administration Building had an appointment to
see Dr. Oviatt. She personally had no appoint-
ment to see Dr. Oviatt.

Thereafter, and at approximately 1:30
P.M., Mrs. Wright and Reverend Hargett,
and various members of the BSU, proceeded
four or so abreast to the front of the Adminis-
tration Building and were followed by the
crowd of approximately 300 to 400 individuals,
Mrs. Wright was one of the persons in the
front row of this procession to the Administra-
tion Building.

The march from the ''free speech" area to
the Administration Building was peaceful; no
attempts were made to stop or deter the crowd
or petitioner from proceeding to the Adminis-
tration Building. No one requested that peti-
tioner or anyone else leave the campus. .

The crowd, including petitioner, arrived
at the West entrance of the Administration
Building at approximately 1:45 P.M. Upon its
arrival at the building, the crowd, which by
then had grown in size to over 500 persons,
formed a semi-circle around the West entrance

8.

_

area of the Administration Building, and for
approximately 15 minutes thereafter, various
individuals, including petitioner, spoke to the
assembled crowd by means of an amplification
system, more commonly known as a "bullhorn".
During this period, the crowd would intermit-
tently chant ''We want Oviatt. We want am-
nesty.'' In addition, there was a great deal of
general crowd noise in the area. There was
evidence that at the time the crowd gathered in
front of the Administration Building the building
was still in operation and except for the Cash-
ier's area, business was being conducted there-

in as usual.

Dr. Earl Wallace, the then acting Dean of
Students, and the officer of the college who had
been designated to maintain order on the cam-
pus, feared that the crowd would attempt to
enter the Administration Building and carry on
in such a manner therein as to disrupt the
business being carried on therein.

At approximately 2:00 P.M., after having
individually warned Reverend Hargett ''that
demonstrations would not be tolerated within
the Administration Building'', Dr. Wallace took
a position in front of the West entrance of the
Administration Building and, with the aid of
the bullhorn, advised the entire crowd that
"demonstrations would not be permitted inside :
the building, that those entering the building 3
would be subject to arrest and campus discip- e
line."' Dr. Wallace testified that over the
space of a few minutes he made the announce-
ment to the crowd several times in a loud voice.

9.

af

Several witnesses for the prosecution testi-
fied that they were in the crowd, one witness
claiming to be as near as five feet from petj-
tioner, and that they were able to hear and
understand Dr. Wallace's announcement.
Petitioner testified that she did not hear Dr.
Wallace's announcement, and several defenge
witnesses who had been in the crowd in front
of the building testified that they did not hear
any such announcement.

At about 2:20 P.M., Reverend Hargett
addressed the crowd, including petitioner, by
means of the aforesaid bullhorn, and advised
them that they were going to peacefully enter
the Administration Building.

Thereupon various members of the crowd
began to form in a line to enter the building.
A prosecution witness stated he saw Reverend
Hargett, first in line, come through the door,
followed almost immediately by petitioner, that
they entered "like marbles tumbling out of a
bag". Petitioner testified that she walked
peaceably into the building. No one advised
her not to enter as she was in the process of
walking into the building. No one advised her
to leave the Administration Building once she
had made entry. Once inside the building,
neither petitioner nor any of the other persons
who had entered with her engaged in any type
of demonstration. Rather, shortly after she
had entered the building and was merely stand-
ing in the corridor, she was placed under
arrest by members of the Los Angeles Police
Department who had been stationed within the

10.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

_ —

building. Based upon her entry into the build-
ing she was subsequently charged with violating
Penal Code §§ 602(j) and 602.7.

The trial court acquitted petitioner under
Count One of the charge under $602(j) of "enter-
ing" property "with the intention of interfering
with [or] obstructing" lawful activity thereon,
but convicted her in anomalous manner under
Count Two of the charge under $602.7 of "fail-
[ing]" "to leave" a "campus or... . facility"
of a State College upon being reasonably
"direct{ ed] to leave."

Opposing conviction under Count Two for
failure to leave as charged and prosecuted
under $602.7, petitioner urged to the trial
court the following three fundamental conten-
tions:

(1) That there was “absolutely
no evidence" [E. S. 6/1] that petitioner
was ever requested or directed to
leave the Administration Building
premises, as distinguished from being
admonished not to enter thereupon; and
that since petitioner was acquitted of the
direct charge under §602(j) of engaging
in a prohibited entry, and since $602.7
punishes only a failure to leave, there
was no fair evidence of any violation of
§602.7. To construe such statute
retroactively to encompass a claimedly
improper entry, despite the statute's
lack of reference thereto, would violate
petitioner's trial and due process rights

11.

for failure to give fair warning of what
conduct was made punishable and would
violate Bouie and would offend freedom
of speech, assembly and petition for
failure to limit §602.7 to "the strict ang
narrow construction and application"
required under the First Amendment.
[E. S. 5/29-7/3, passim. }

(2) That in any event the evidence
as to even a request or direction not to
enter the premises of the Administration
Building, as embodied in the warning of
Dr. Wallace as described heretofore,
was fatally ambiguous "in that it was not
clear whether mere entry into the building
or entry and demonstration would subject
an individual to arrest."' [E. S. 6/5-7.]

(3) That there was insufficient
evidence, finally, that petitioner heard
the admonition of Dr. Wallace in the
noise and confusion of the events.

[E. S. 4/11-14.]

The trial court overrode all of these points
as urged by petitioner. The court found "that
Mrs. Wright heard, or at least was in a posi-
tion to hear and should have heard Dr. Wallace's
admonition to the crowd regarding demonstra-
tions and entry into the Administration Build-
ing.'' [E. S. 5/18-21.] [Emphasis added] The
trial court ignored point (3). As to point (1),
after "[hJaving determined [the] factual issue"
"that Mrs. Wright heard, or at least was ina

12.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—"

position to hear and should have heard Dr.
Wallace's admonition", the trial court held

"ag a matter of law, that Mrs. Wright's entry
into the building after Dr. Wallace's admoni-
tion to the crowd was equivalent to her having
failed to leave a campus facility after having
been directed to leave, i.e. the conduct speci-
fically prohibited by Section 602.7 of the

Penal Code." [E. S. 5/21-26, emphasis added]

The trial court conceded that "there was
no evidence that defendant, once having entered
the Administration Building, was directed to
leave and thereupon failed and refused to do
so", but the court rejected petitioner's plea
that §602. 7 be narrowly construed and ruled
that §602.7 applied to petitioner's conduct
because "it was within the spirit of the statute”
"to prevent" an "entry" as well as a failure to
leave, where "disruption could be prevented by
barring [such] entry." [ E. S. 6/27-28, em-
phasis added. ]

The trial court thereupon adjudged peti-
tioner guilty under Count Two for violation of
§602. 7.

On appeal to the Appellate Department of
the Superior Court, petitioner as to point (1)
above urged that upon the Record there was no
evidence consistent with due process of law to
support conviction under §602.7 because there
was no evidence of a direction to leave, or of
a failure to leave, as distinguished from a
claimed prohibited entry. Petitioner urged
that to construe the Section retroactively to

13.

make punishable an entry as alternative to g
failure to leave would violate her rights to
both procedural and substantive due process
and to freedom of speech, assembly and peti-
tion, contrary to the First and Fourteenth
Amendments of the Federal Constitution,
because, inter alia, denying her "fair warning"
in advance “that her conduct would constitute
a violation” of criminal law, and because such
"unforeseeable and retroactive judicial expan-
sion" of the "narrow and precise statutory
language" of §602.7 would "directly" violate
this Court's decision "of Bouie v. City of
Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964)". [A. B. 10-
12 1/ , PointI B; 12/14-15; 13/10-11; 14/1-
5. }

Petitioner also urged to the Appellate
Department points (2) and (3) above which she
had urged before the trial court. [See A. B,
18/6-19/1, as concerns point (2); and 12/26-
29, as concerns point (3). ]

Respecting petitioner's key objection here-
tofore described that §602.7 could not reach
petitioner's conduct because limited in terms
to penalizing a failure to leave premises, after
a direction to leave, whereas the evidence at
best for the State dealt only with a claimedly
improper act of entry, after a request or direc-
tion not to enter, the Appellate Department

1/ Signifying Appellant's Brief ("Brief on
Appeal for Appellant'') to the Appellate Depart-
ment of the Superior Court, pages 10-12.

14,

—y a sO Ue ———- - —.- .— ~

_——

divided two to one in sustaining petitioner's
conviction under the Section. For the majority,
Presiding Judge James G. Whyte observed:

The offense here is failure to leave
after direction to do so. It may be
conceded that a prior instruction not to
enter is, in itself, not a direction to

leave. ... [However, ] [hJere Dr.
Wallace's statement that the persons
were not to enter was. . . accompan~

ied by a warning of arrest upon entry.
Surely there could be no more forceful
way of telling one to leave than to
advise him that his departure will be
accomplished by his arrest and the
consequent forcible removal of his
person."

In contrast, dissenting Judge A. Curtis
Smith, voted to reverse, observing, "The
statute clearly requires as one element of the
offense an authorized direction to leave and a
failure to comply. I cannot equate a warning
not to enter before entry with the statutory
requirement of a direction to leave, presum-
ably after entry."

In light of the Record and the Appellate
Department's words quoted above, it is plain
that such Court made the statute fit the conduct
at bar only by force of a retroactive judicial
"expansion" of the statutory terms. That a
reasonable person, situated as was petitioner
in advance of the events of January 8, 1969,

15.

could reasonably read the statute, $602.7, to
not cover any act merely of entry, whether
warned against or not, is demonstrated not
only by language and logic but by the avoweg
reading of the statute in such manner even
after the fact by dissenting Judge A. Curtis
Smith.

REASONS FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT

I

THE COURT BELOW IN HOLDING
PETITIONER CRIMINALLY PUN-
ISHABLE BY FORCE ONLY OF A
RETROACTIVE JUDICIAL EXPAN-
SION OF A STATUTE INAPPLIC-
ABLE BY ITS TERMS TO PETI-
TIONER'S CONDUCT, HAS
DISREGARDED THIS COURT'S
PLAIN MANDATE IN BOUIE v.
COLUMBIA, 378 U.S. 347, AND
HAS DENIED PETITIONER BOTH
PROCEDURAL AND SUBSTANTIVE
DUE PROCESS OF LAW, AND
FREESOM OF PETITION, SPEECH
AND ASSEMBLY, ALL CONTRARY
TO THE FIRST AND FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENTS OF THE CONSTITU-
TION.

As set forth in the Statement of the Case,

16.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

_—

the statute below by its terms makes punishable
only a failure to leave a state college campus
or facility after request to leave. It does not

in terms apply to a claimedly prohibited entry
following a request not to enter. Nonetheless
petitioner was convicted below for conduct
amounting at most to a claimedly prohibited
entry. The California courts below have sanc~-
tioned such conviction, and have justified it,
solely by force of an unforeseeable, retroactive
judicial "construction" or "expansion" of the
statute to reach petitioner's conduct despite

the absence of coverage by the statute's terms.

This exact action by a state court (in fac-
tual premises so closely parallel to those at
bar as to beggar any attempts at distinction)
was held unconstitutional and void by this
Court's decision in Bouie v. Columbia, 378 U.S.
347 (1964), because such action ‘violates the
first essential[s] of due process" and "operates
precisely like an ex post facto law". (Id., 351,
353. ) Bi

Bouie, in this Court's forceful and meas-
ured statement, involved a South Carolina
statute by terms "app!(ying] only to ‘entry upon
the lands of another. . . after notice [not to
enter]' " (id., 351-352, emphasis added),
which "narrow and precise" statutory terms
were 'unforeseeably and retroactively expanded
by judicial construction" (id., 352) to "also
prohibi[t] the different act of remaining on the
premises after being asked to leave. " Gd.,
356, emphasis added. ) Consequently, said this
Court the petitioners-defendants there were given

17.

"[no] fair warning at the time of their conduct
. . that the act for which they [were] con-
victed was rendered criminal by the statute.
* * * [P]Jetitioners were given not only no
‘fair warning', but no warning whatever that
their conduct [in refusing to leave] would
violate the statute [which prohibited only im-
proper entry]."" (Id., 355, emphasis added.)

The Bouie judgment applies in its very
terms to the case at bar. There is no basis
for distinction. Nonetheless the California
trial and appellate courts below disregarded
and failed to observe the controlling, plain
mandate of Bouie, and this without even explan-
ation or discussion. The intervention of this
Court, either by summary reversal, or by
hearing and order upon certiorari, is required
to vindicate the Federal supremacy of the Bouie
decision, and to insure uniformity of law and
rights within the premises of Bouie throughout
the country.

Bouie has never been qualified or questioned,
nor does it stand alone. It was followed in two
concurrent cases at the time of its rendition
{Barr v. Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 151 (1964);
Mitchell v. Charleston, 378 U.S. 551 (1964)]
and it has been cited and approved in this
Court's subsequent ruling in In Re Ruffalo,
398 U.S. 544, 551, f.n. 4 (1968). And the
decision in Bouie was itself grounded upon the
precedent of Pierce v. United States, 314 U.S.
306 (1941).

18.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—_

Moreover, the Constitutional doctrine of
Bouie condemning unforeseeable, retroactive
judicial expansion of criminal statutes, is
constructed from, and supported by, a whole
host of due process and First Amendment
Constitutional principles reaching back a half
century andmore. All of these Constitutional
fundamentals serve separately and in combina-
tion to require the holding in Bouie, and all
apply equally and identically as well to require
invalidation of the conviction at bar.

(1) Procedural Due Process

"t™nforeseeabl[e] and retroactiv[e] expan-

[sion] by judicial construction" (Bouie, supra,
at 352) of a criminal statute to reach conduct
not reasonably embraced within its terms,
deprives an accused of due process "in its prim-
ary sense’, being "procedural due process of
law" [Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust Co. v. Hill, 281
U.S. 673, 678 (1930) (emphasis added); Bouie,
supra, at 354)] which requires indispensibly
notice’ and "hearing" and a right to immunity
from condemnation save by ''a law which hears
before it condemns." [Powell v. Alabama, 287
U.S. 45, 68 (1932)]. This requires, of necessity
reasonable and meaningful advance notice of the
charges laid, before hearing, and certainly
before condemnation. [In Re Oliver, 333 U.S.
257, 273 (1947); Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S.
196, 201 (1947)}. Conviction without such notice
is "[c]onviction upon a charge not made", and

19.

—

such amounts in very statement to "sheer [ang
total] denial of due process." [De Jonge y.
Oregon, 299 U.S. 353, 362 (1937); Grego v.
Chicago, 394 U.S. 111, 112 (1969); Garner y.
Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157, 164 (1961)}. "The
charge must be known before the proceedings
commence [else] [t]hey become a trap" (In Re
Ruffalo, supra, at 551, emphasis added) and no
more fair as a means of punishment than for
the State to prosecute a man under statute A
and to punish him under statute B without ever
previously suggesting the latter as the basis
of an accusation. (Cole v. Arkansas, supra,
at 201-202.)

The conviction below, being founded on
after-the-fact judicial expansion of a criminal
statute to reach conduct not foreseeably includ-
able within its plain terms, offends thus the
"first premises" of procedural due process,
the rights to notice and to a hearing predicated
thereon.

(2) Substantive Due Process And
The Doctrine of 'Void For
Vagueness", And The Fundamen-
tal Requirement That Criminal
Laws Must Give "Fair Warning"
Of What Is Made Punishable.

For half a century this Court has resolutely
enforced as a "first essential" of substantive
due process [Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S.

20.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

451, 453 (1939)], mandated by "fundamental
fairness’ [Scull v. Virginia, 359 U.S. 344,
353 (1959); Johnson v. United States, 318 U.S.
189, 197 (1943)], the Constitutional doctrine of
"void for vagueness’, whereunder a state
criminal statute may not be enforced unless
upon its face it gives citizens "fair warning"
of the conduct to be punished. [United States
v. Cardiff, 344 U.S. 174, 176 (1952); Raley v.
Ohio, 360 U.S. 423, 438-439 (1959)]. A crim-
jnal law which is so ambiguous, vague or un-
clear as to fail to reasonably apprise ''those

. . subject to [its terms] what conduct on
their part will render them liable to its penal-
ties" is by that failure "void for vagueness".
[Connally v. General Construction Co., 269
U.S. 385, 391 (1926); Lanzetta v. New Jersey,
supra, at 453; Bouie v. Columbia, supra, at
351. ]

The vice of vague criminal statutes is, in
this Court's words, ''the treachery they con-
ceal'' in misleading citizens as to what is truly
intended to be punishable; if suffered to stand
such laws can become "as much of a trap for
the innocent as the ancient laws of Caligula."
(United States v. Cardiff, supra, at 176.) But
convictions had under criminal statutes retro-
actively "expanded" by judicial "construction"
to reach conduct not reasonably within their
terms, not merely parallel this ''treachery",
they compound it. In consequence such "judi-
cial expansion" convictions must fail under the
requirements of the void for vagueness" doc-
trine, unless that ancient doctrine itself is to
be set at naught. As this Court observed in
Bouie, supra, at 352:

21.

"When a statute on its face is
vague or overbroad, it at least gives
a potential defendant some notice, by
virtue of this very characteristic, that
a question may arise as to its coverage,
and that it may be held to cover his
contemplated conduct. When a statute
on its face is narrow and precise, how-
ever, it lulls the potential defendant
into a false sense of security, giving
him no reason even to suspect that
conduct clearly outside the scope of
the statute as written will be retro-
actively brought within it by an act of
judicial construction."

(3) Absence of Legislative Standards
Under Vague (Or Judicially
Expandable) Statutes, and the.
Substitution Thereby Allowed Of
Arbitrary Discretion and the Rule
Of Men For the Constitutionally-
Required Rule of Law.

The unconstitutionality of vague (or judi-
cially expanded) criminal statutes derives not
only from their "fail{ure] to give adequate
guidance to those who would be law-abiding"
[Musser v. Utah, 333 U.S. 95, 97 (1948)], but,
equally important, from their failure to provide
adequate, objective, controlling legislative
standards to govern prosecutors, police, courts,
and juries in administering and enforcing their

22.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—

terms, a failure which leaves such persons
"free to decide, without any legally fixed
standards, what is prohibited and what is not

in each particular case.'' [Giaccio v. Pennsyl-
yania, 382 U.S. 399, 402-403 (1966); United
States v. Cohen Grocery Co., 255 U. S. 81, 88-
92 (1921); Small Co. v. American Sugar Refin-
ing Co., 267 U.S. 233, 240 (1924); Connally v.
General Construction Co., supra, at 395;
Musser v. Utah, supra, at 97; Boyce Motor
Lines v. United States, 342 U.S. 337, 340
(1952)].

This not only violates the basic Constitu-
tional principle prohibiting improper and
arbitrary delegation of legislative powers, but
it substitutes for even-handed, ascertainable
law the ad hoc "law" of the administering and
enforcing representatives of the government,
which, in crucial terms, can often mean
"government by the moment-to-moment opin-
ions of a policeman on his beat."' [Shuttles-
worth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87, 90
(1965)]. Such is the antithesis of substantive
due process, which takes it as a beginning
premise that government in entirety under the
American Constitution is, and can only be, ''a
government of laws and not of men." [Yick Wo
v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 370 (1886); Truax

v. Corrigan, 257 U.S. 312, 332 (1921); Barbier
v. Connolly, 113 U.S. 27, 31 (1885)].

(4) The Above Principles Have
Particular Force in Areas
Touching Or Involving Free-
dom of Speech, Press, Petition,
Assembly Or Association.

Where exercises of First Amendment
liberties are involved or affected, the Constity-
tional principles prohibiting vague criminal
Jaws or accusations operate with special force.
[Scull v. Virginia, supra, at 353; Smith vy.
California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959); Cram v.
Board of Public Instruction, 368 U.S. 278, 297
(1961); Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S. 360, 385
(1964); NAACP vy. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963);
Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507, 517 (1948)],

Within such areas such laws, which by
definition and the inevitable consequence of
their vagueness admit of arbitrary, discretion-
ary and abusive enforcement, are condemned
upon their face, and in category, by "decisions
of this Court over the last 30 years"; this
because to tolerate within the area of "First
Amendment freedoms" criminal laws or regula-
tory procedures unconfined by "narrow, objec-
tive and definite standards" to scrupulously
govern their enforcement is to suffer the crea-
tion of a wholly improper, intolerable and
intimidating structure of governmental "censor-
ship [and] prior restraint [over] the exercise

. of free expression." [Shuttlesworth v.
City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147, 151 (1969);
Staub v. Baxley, 355 U.S. 313, 322 (1958)).

24.

Because of the "transcendent" interests of
society attending free operation of the liberties
of the people secured by the First Amendment---
liberties upon which the democratic life of the
nation depend [New York Times Co. v. ‘v. Sullivan
376 U.S. 254, 269-271 (1964); Stromberg v.
California, 283 U.S. 359, 369 (i63i); Deo De Jonge
v. Oregon, supra, at 365; Whitney v. Cali-
fornia, 274 U.S. 357, 375-378 (1927) (concur-
ring opinion of Brandeis, J.); Yick Wo v.
Hopkins, supra, at 369- 370)}--vague or ambig-
uous criminal or regulatory laws affecting such
liberties are intolerable per se. The "mere
existence of such [laws]" which "readily len{d]
[themselves] to harsh and discriminatory
enforcement by [petty] officials, against parti-
cular groups deemed to merit their displeasure”
erects a "continuous and pervasive restraint

on all freedom of discussion" and replaces
freedom of speech with "the pernicious [evil]

of censorship."' [Thornhill v. Alabama, 310
U.S. 88, 97-98 (1940) (emphasis added. )]

If vague penal or regulatory statutes with-
in the areas of the First Amendment are thus
categorically invalidated for failure to secure
citizens against arbitrary censorship and
abusive, discretionary and discriminatory
enforcement, all the more plainly must con-
victions in such areas be condemned where
supported only by after-the-fact judicial expan-
sions of criminal statutes not applicable at all
to a defendant's conduct in advance of such
retroactive construction”. If arbitrary,
discretionary punitive powers in the area of
free speech are intolerable when exercised

25.

and justified under vague laws, which at least
afford some modicum of contention that the
government's claim of authority has a valid
base, then comparable arbitrary, discret
punitive powers must be twice condemned where
asserted under statutes which upon their face
have no applicability in the circumstances con-
cerned and which give the enforcing authorities
no color of right. To sustain criminal punish-
ment in such stated premises, supported only
by after-the-fact judicial expansion of the
statute to reach conduct not reasonably within
its terms, extends the evils of censorship,
prior restraint and intimidatory suppression of
ideas to the ultimate.

(5) The Grievances and Subject
Matter Of the Exercises Of
Liberty Involved At Bar Parti-
cularly Require Vindication.

The purpose of the assembly by petitioner
and others at the time and place of the charge
laid against her below was to petition the govern-
ing administrative authorities of Valley State
College on behalf of black students and the Los
Angeles black community for a redress of
grievances arising from invidious, unconstitu-
tional discrimination based upon race with
respect to rights, status, facilities, opportuni-
ties and educational experiences available to
black people. That such grievances constitute
a lawful occasion for assertion of the liberties

26.

eicen THROUGH POOR COPY

V————

of petition, assembly, association and speech,
ig not, and could not be, disputed by the State.
That much at least is settled by Brown v.
Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954).

But the Constitution makes much more
self-evident as well. The State denials of
rights forming the subject matter of petitioner's
protest, and petition for redress, were them-
selves supremely illegal, and as unconstitu-
tional in truth and in law as they were and are
intolerable to passively endure. The right to
immunity from discrimination grounded on
race lies at the root of those personal dignities,
securities and liberties which this Court has
affirmed "depend on the outcome of no elec-
tions", and which by their "fundamental" nature
lie beyond the lawful reach of others, no matter
how assembled nor with what purpose or
majority. In this Court's words:

"The very purpose of a Bill of
Rights was to withdraw certain sub-
jects from the vicissitudes of political
controversy, to place them beyond the
reach of majorities and officials and
to establish them as legal principles
[entitled to summary vindication] by
the courts. One's right to life, liberty
and property. . . and other funda-
mental rights may not be submitted
to vote; they depend on the outcome
of no elections."

West Virginia v. Barnette, 319 U.S.
624, 638 (1943);

27.

Citizens' Loan Association y. Topeka,
87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 655, 662-663
(1875).

A citizen subjected involuntarily to the

' denials of liberty affected at bar may not
rightly be twice abused by the State by intimi-
datory criminal punishment, invoked and justi-
fied under a law not even applicable to her
conduct until "expanded" after-the-fact by judi-
cial "construction", simply for protesting
against, and petitioning for redress of, the
denials and mistreatments which she believed
had been accorded black persons generally ang
Valley State College students specifically, If
this Court cannot hear her voice, and vindicate

her right to cry out, then, indeed, is the loss
the nation's.

Ri cen THROUGH POOR COPY

—

II

THE CLAIMED ADMONITION TO
THE ASSEMBLAGE NOT TO ENTER
THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING
WAS FATALLY AMBIGUOUS, AND
NO CONVICTION CAN BE GROUNDED
THEREON EVEN AS TO PETITION-
ER'S ACT OF ENTRY, CONSISTENT
WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF DUE
PROCESS AND OF LIBERTY OF
SPEECH, PETITION, ASSEMBLY
AND ASSOCIATION UNDER THE FIRST
AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS.

The testimony of Dr. Earl Wallace, acting
Dean of Students, as found and quoted by the
trial court, was that with the aid of a bullhorn
he advised "the entire crowd" "several times
in a loud voice" "that 'demonstrations would
not be permitted inside the building, [and] that
those entering the building would be subject to
arrest and campus discipline.'" [E. S. 4/1-6.]

In both the trial court and Appellate Depart-
ment, petitioner objected that even as to the
subject of claimedly prohibited entry, such
ammouncement by Dr. Wallace was fatally
"ambiguous in that it was not clear whether
mere entry into the building or entry and
demonstration would subject an individual to
arrest."" [E. S. 6/5-7; A. B. 18/6-19/1.]

Petitioner urged "that a reasonable

29.

interpretation of this ambiguous warning is
that entry coupled with demonstration was the
conduct which Dr. Wallace sought to prevent"
and if "entry and subsequent demonstration"
was the conduct Dr. Wallace intended to pro-
hibit and prevent, then "appellant should not
have been arrested or convicted for there was
no demonstration." [A. B. 18/20-28.] I,
however, Dr. Wallace "intended that either
entry or demonstration would provide a [suffi-
cient] basis for arrest and conviction", "as the
trial court held [that he did]", then, urged
petitioner, ''the manner in which he indicated
this to the assembled crowd was so ambiguous
as to fail to give fair warning as required by
the Due Process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment." [Id., 18/28-19/1.] Such
ambiguity in a criminal command is violative
per se both of substantive and procedural due
process of law. [Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423,
438-439 (1959); United States v. Cardiff, 344
U.S. 174, 176 (1952); Garner v. Louisiana,
368 U.S. 157, 164 (1961); see also the cases
cited under Point I (1) and (2), supra. )]

Particularly is this the case where freedom
of speech, petition, assemblage or association
are involved and where one alternative under
the ambiguous State command would punish
innocent and protected First Amendment speech
or assemblage. [Stromberg v. California, 283
U.S. 359, 367-368 (1931); Terminiello v.
Chicago, 337 U.S. 1, 4-5 (1949); Ashton v.
Kentucky, 384 U.S. 195, 199-200 (1966);
Edwards v. South Carolina, 372 U.S. 229, 237-
238 (1963); Henry v. City Rock Hill, 376 U.S.

30.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—

7176, 778 (1964); Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S.
536, 551-552 (1965); Street v. New York, 394
U.S. 576 (1969); Gregory v. Chicago, 394 U.S.
111, 113 (1969)].

An ambiguous State command is even more
offensive to liberty of speech and to criminal
due process---both substantive and procedural
---than is a merely vague statute or command,
because ambiguity has the special jeopardy of
being latently entrapping, and of punishing
after the fact what a citizen may have reason-
ably understood had been expressly declared to
be permissible. [Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S.
536, 568-575 (1965); Raley v. Ohio, supra, at
438; Stevens v. Marks, 383 U.S. 234, 245
(1966); Scull v. Virginia, supra, at 353;

Street v. New York, supra; Gregory v. Chicago,
supra; United States v. Laub, 385 U.S. 475,

487 (1967)).

Ill

DUE PROCESS AND THE FIRST
AMENDMENT SECURITIES WILL
NOT PERMIT THE CONVICTION
BELOW TO STAND BECAUSE IT
RESTS, IN ONE COEQUAL ALTER-
NATIVE, UPON A FINDING ONLY
THAT PETITIONER "AT LEAST

. . . SHOULD HAVE HEARD" DR.

WALLACE'S COMMAND.

The trial court did not find that petitioner
heard" the admonition above described by
Dr. Wallace to the assembled crowd regarding
demonstrations and entry into the Administra-
tion Building. Upon this crucial element of
notice to petitioner of such prohibition or direc-
tion, the trial court found only "that Mrs.
Wright heard, or at least was in a position to
hear and should have heard Dr. Wallace's

[said] admonition." [E. S. 5/18-21.] (emphasis
added. )

This is a fatally defective finding. Under
it petitioner's conviction may rest merely
upon the non-penalizable circumstance that in
all of the premises attending the assemblage
of persons before the Administration Building
on January 8, 1969, she "should have heard"
Dr. Wallace's admonition. "Should have heard’
does not mean heard. And without hearing,
there could be on petitioner's part no knowledge
or scienter, and without this petitioner's

32.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

conduct could not be deemed punishable under

the statute. Section 602.7 requires a "direct-
[ion]. . . to leave" and a "fail{ure] [then] to

do so", and a direction must be heard to make
a failure to respond thereto a penalizable cir-
cumstance.

A defendant may be presumed "to know the
law'', but he may not be presumed to know the
contents of a spoken admonition, direction or
request, as involved at bar. If hearing were
not required, there would be no rational object
under the statute for requiring a "direction".
In the premises here, an absence of a require-
ment and finding of scienter as a condition for
conviction amounts to punishment without
punishable quality in word or act, and offends
due process [Robinson v. California, 370 U. Ss.
660, 666-667 (1962); Lambert v. California,
355 U.S. 225, 228-230 (1957); Aptheker v.
Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500, 509-514
(1964); Morrisette v. United States, 342 U.S.
246 (1952)], and violates specially and particu-
larly the protections and securities of the
First Amendment. [Smith v. California, 361
U.S. 147, 150-155 (1959); Elfbrandt v. Russell,
384 U.S. 11, 15-19 (1966); Noto v. United
States, 367 U.S. 290, 299-300 (1961); Wieman
v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 190-192 (1952);
Watkins v. United States, 354 U.S. 178, 208-
216 (1957)].

33.

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari to the Appellate Department of the
Superior Court of the State of California for the
County of Los Angeles should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
WILLIAM B. MURRISH and
MARSHALL L. BARTH

Attorneys for Petitioner

34.

APPENDIX "A"

Filed Jan 9 1970
William G. Sharp,
County Clerk

By R. Von Gogh, Deputy

APPELLATE DEPARTMENT OF THE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE

OF CALIFORNIA FOR THE COUNTY
OF LOS ANGELES

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ) Superior
CALIFORNIA, ) Court No.
) CR. A. 8618
Plaintiff and Respondent, )
) Trial Court
vs. )No. 641107
)
MARGARET WRIGHT, ) MEMORAN-
| )DUM OPINION
Defendant and Appellant. )AND JUDG-
) MENT

Appeal by defendant from judgment of the
Municipal Court of the Los Angeles Judicial
District, Wilbur G. Dettmar, Judge.
Judgment affirmed.
For Appellant - Selvin and Cohen

by Marshall L. Barth

A-1.

For Respondent - Roger Arnebergh, City
Attorney
Madeleine Flier, Deputy
City Attorney

-o0Oo-

Defendant was convicted of violating Pena)
Code $602.7 which makes it a misdemeanor
for "a person who is not a student or officer
or employee of a state college" who "is com-
mitting any act likely to interfere with the
peaceful conduct of the activities" of a facility
of such state college to fail to leave such
facility after being properly directed to do 80.

The constitutionality of Penal Code $602.7
has been established by People vs. Agnello
[1968] 259 Cal. App. 2d 785 [66 Cal. Rptr.
571]. The question here involved is, was
there sufficient evidence to support the trial
court's finding that defendant violated it. In
determining this question, we review the
evidence as a whole and are not limited by the
trial judge's declaration of his reasons for
believing it sufficient. (People vs. Selz [1955]
138 Cal. App. 2d 205, 210 [291 P. 2d 186);
People vs. Evans [1967] 249 Cal. App. 2d
254, 257 (57 Cal. Rptr. 276].

The facility here involved was not the
entire campus of San Fernando Valley State
College. No one ever requested defendant to
leave the campus or in any way sought to cur-
tail her activities so long as she remained in
the free speech" area. Rather, the facility

A-2.

—

involved in this case was the administration
building and the question is, was defendant
directed to leave that facility.

Preliminarily, three items should be
quickly noted. The defendant is not one of the
exempted persons and so falls within the pro-
hibitions of the statute. Both Dr. Wallace, as
the officer of the college who had been desig-
nated to maintain order on the campus, and
security officer Norris as an employee desig-
nated to maintain order by Dr. Oviatt, the
chief administrative officer of the college,
were proper persons to direct the defendant to
leave. Not only did it reasonably appear that
the acts of the crowd, of which plaintiff was
not only a part but an active leader, were
reasonably likely to interfere with the peace-
ful conduct of the activities of the facility but
they had already done so by causing the closing
of the cashier's office immediately adjacent to
the west entrance of the building (Settled State-
ment, p. 3, lines 7-8).

The offense here is failure to leave after
direction to do so. It may be conceded that a
prior instruction not to enter is, in itself, not
a direction to leave. The question here is,
was there evidence in this case to support the
trial court's finding of a substantial compliance
with the requirement of a direction to leave.

The section specifies no special ritual
which must be performed by the warning auth-
orities. All that is required is that the mes-
sage is clearly conveyed so that a reasonable

A-3.

person would definitely understand he was
being told to leave the facility. Here Dr.
Wallace's statement that the persons were not
to enter was repeated practically contempor-
aneously with the actual entrance and was
accompanied by a warning of arrest upon entry.
Surely there could be no more forceful Way of
telling one to leave than to advise him that his
department will be accomplished by his arrest
and the consequent forceable removal of his
person. But the evidence does not stop here.
The doors and vestibule are part of the build-
ing (the facility which defendant was to leave),
Dr. Hargett came through the door "followed
almost immediately by the defendant." It was
then that officer Norris, who was within arm's
length of defendant, held out his arms to block
those who were tumbling in "like marbles out
of a bag" and warned against the already accom-
plished entry. Although Norris did not see the
defendant as an individual and no one advised
her as an individual not to enter, the trial
court could, and apparently did, infer that she
both saw and heard Norris attempt to restrain
the crowd in general as they accomplished
their entry. The law does not require the
people to meet the burden of showing any direct
evidence an actual instruction to leave given
each individual arrested. Circumstantial
evidence of the individual's receipt of such
instruction is all that is necessary.

The judgment is affirmed.

a

Dated January 9, 1970

/s/ Whyte
Presiding Judge

/s/ Smith
Judge

In all deference to the views of my col-
leagues, I am forced to disagree with their
conclusion. With most of their opinion I am in
complete agreement. I agree that Section
602. 7 Penal Code is constitutional; that the
facility with which we are concerned is not the
entire campus but rather the administration
building; that the defendant is not of the class
exempted from the statute; that there is
evidence of a warning not to enter the building
and that defendant heard it; that there is
evidence that defendant was an active leader
of some five hundred persons in activities
which were designed to and had actually inter-
fered with the peaceful conduct of the legitimate
purposes of the school facility; and, finally, I
agree that no special ritual is imposed on the
school authority warning the accused to leave.

But I do believe that an essertial element
of the crime is a direction "to leave such cam-
pus or facility."

The defendant was charged in two counts.
In Count I, the charge was a violation of Penal
Code 602 sub(j) prohibiting entry on land for
the purpose of interfering with any lawful

A-5.

occupation thereon. The defendant was
acquitted of this charge. Thus, the tria) court
found that defendant did not enter on any land
for the purpose of interfering with any lawfy]
occupation thereon.

She was convicted of a violation of Penal
Code 602.7. There is ample evidence to sugs-
tain a finding of violating each element except
failing to leave the facility after being directed
to leave.

From the Settled Statement, I abstract the
following recital bearing on this question:

". . . Dr. Wallace took a position
in front of the West entrance of the
Administration Building and, with the
aid of the bullhorn, advised the entire
crowd that 'demonstrations would not
be permitted inside the building, that
those entering the building would be
subject to arrest and campus discip-
ES

"Various members of the crowd
began to form in a line to enter the
building. . . . He stated he saw Rev.
Hargett, first in line, come through
the door, followed almost immediately
by the defendant, that they entered
‘like marbles tumbling out of a bag'
(defendant testified to the contrary;
namely she walked peaceably into the
building) and that defendant was no
more than an arm's length from

A-6.

Norris when he saw Norris stretch
out his arms and heard him warn the
persons before him against coming
into the building; . . . saw the defend-
ant enter immediately thereafter, and

following her entry placed her under
arrest. ... Noone advised her not

to enter as she was in the process of

walking into the building. No one
advised her to leave the Administration

Building once she had made entry. 2
(Settled Statement, pp. 3-5.)

The statute clearly requires as one element
of the offense an authorized direction to leave
and a failure to comply. I cannot equate a
warning not to enter before entry with the
statutory requirement of a direction to leave,
presumably after entry. If this interpretation
results in increased difficulty in maintaining
order on school property, the remedy is with
the Legislature, not the courts.

I would reverse the judgment.

Dated January 9, 1970

/s/ Vasey
Judge

ee Sse, A as iak at 16

APPENDIX "B-1"

§602. Trespasses constituting misdemeanors;
enumeration

Every person who willfully commits any
trespass by either:

(j) Purpose to Injure.

(j) Entering any lands, whether unen-
closed or enclosed by fence, for the purpose
of injuring any property or property rights or
with the intention of interfering with, obstruct-
ing, or injuring any lawful business or occupa-
tion carried on by the owner of such land, his
agent or by the person in lawful possession; or

APPENDIX "B-2"

§602.7 Refusal to leave state college or uni-
versity property; misdemeanor

(a) In any case in which a person who is
not a student or officer or employee of a state
college or state university, and who is not
required by his employment to be on the cam-
pus or any other facility owned, operated or
controlled by the governing board of any such
state college or state university, enters such
campus or facility, and it reasonably appears
to the chief administrative officer of such
campus or facility or to an officer or employee
designated by him to maintain order on such
campus or facility that such person is commit-
ting any act likely to interfere with the peace-
ful conduct of the activities of such campus or
facility or has entered such campus or facility
for the purpose of committing any such act,
the chief administrative officer or officer or
employee designated by him to maintain order
on such campus or facility may direct such
person to leave such campus or facility, and
if such person fails to do so, he is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

(b) As used in this section:

(1) "State university'' means the Univer-
sity of California, and includes any affiliated
institution thereof and any campus or facility
owned, operated or controlled by the Regents
of the University of California.

B-2-1.

(2) "State college" means any California”
state college administered by the Trusteeg of
the California State Colleges.

(3) "Chief administrative officer" mear
the president of a state college or the officer
designated by the Regents of the University of
California or pursuant to authority granted by i
the Regents of the University of Californiato —
administer and be the officer in charge ofa
campus or other facility owned, operatedor
controlled by the Regents of the University of |
California. (Added Stats. 1965, c.475, p.1778,
§1, urgency, effective June 1, 1965.) 7

B-2-2.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1504%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
