# Appendices — California v. McGrew

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1450%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendices
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 398 U.S. 909

## Text

a nn
wet we F
ä 5

¥

SPF ery:

LS é
bas ,
et ae,
a was
* at te 8 —
7 —
* . 2 Zs * —
4 4 wy ah -
* 1 4 > 4
yy A *
17 4
i Ss v
“an 3 ae — 2
* 5 *
** -
* >
- * * 5 *
ö Ss
‘ .
reg
rt
* — 4 7
a 2 7 * ** a
aa « 4 2 — 2
. N pd
~~, 7 8

on — ;

-Al-

APPENDIX "A"

Opinion of the Supreme Court
of the State of California.

In the Supreme Court of the State of California,
in Bank.

The People, Plaintiff and Respondent, v. Kenneth
T. McGrew, Defendant and Respondent, Crim. 13413

Filed: December 17, 1969

The People appeal from an order of the San Diego
Superior Court dismissing felony charges against de-
fendant Kenneth T. McGrew.

McGrew was charged by indictment with trans-
porting marijuana (Health & Saf. Code, § 11531) and
with possession of marijuana for sale (Health & Saf.
Code, § 11530.5). After pleading not guilty to both
charges and waiving jury trial, McGrew moved the
trial court to suppress all evidence of the charged of-
fenses (under Pen. Code, § 1538.5) and to dismiss the
indictment (under Pen. Code, § 1385). Both motions
were granted. The People have appealed.

McGrew brought a new, securely locked foot-
locker to the United Airlines freight service at the San
Diego airport in the afternoon of June 25, 1967, to be
shipped to San Francisco. The freight agent, one
Dowling, observed that McGrew was wearing walking
shorts and a T-shirt and had "quite long" hair. Dowl-
ing's supervisor had told him "to be on the alert for
footlockers and suspicious people, and so on, that they

~A2-

had been shipping marijuana, ... to check out any
suspected contraband, to "See what is in there, and if
it is marijuana ... call the police. Dowling was sus-
picious, because of McGrew's "general appearance,"
and because the locker, which McGrew declared con-
tained books and clothes, had an "exceptional weight“
of 112 pounds, although Dowling admitted that the
weight was consistent with a shipment of two-thirds
clothes and one-third books.

After McGrew paid for the shipment and left,
Dowling called his supervisor, who told him to open up
the footlocker to see what it contained. Using a nail
and hammer to knock out the hinge pins, Dowling
opened up the locker "a couple of inches, just "enough
to see what was in there. He observed several bricks
or small packages, wrapped in brown paper or news-
paper. He could not see the contents of the packages
and he did not open any of them. He closed the lid of
the footlocker and after calling his supervisor again,
called the police.

San Diego Police Officer Burgess came, and
Dowling “told him what had happened, and he said he
would like to see [the locker]." Dowling "took him
back and opened it up and showed him" the footlocker.
The officer removed and inspected one of the packages.
A federal narcotics agent then arrived, removed and
examined the packages, and decided that the packages
contained marijuana. 1/ The officers inquired about

1 The federal narcotics agent testified, Burgess
did not. Dowling's testimony concerning the actions of
Burgess is not challenged.

-A3-

fill, to weigh down the emptied footlocker, and Dowling
furnished ballast. Using the ballast and one brick of
marijuana, the officers repacked the locker for ship-
ment to San Francisco.

Dowling notified other airlines about McGrew
and the shipment. About eight p.m. McGrew brought
a blue footlocker, which he said contained books and
dishes, to the Western Airlines freight service, where
it was received by the freight clerk, one Case, who
wrote up the airbill, and accepted the footlocker from
McGrew. A fellow employee named Sweeney called
United Airlines to tell them about the footlocker. The
federal narcotics officer involved in the United Airlines
transaction and two other officers went to the Western
Airlines freight office. The footlocker was closed and
locked. The federal narcotics agent "detected an odor
of marijuana" by compressing the top of the footlocker
and asked Sweeney and Case to open it, although they
were under no obligation to do so." Sweeney and Case
opened the footlocker, on the suggestion of one of the
officers, by knocking "the hinge pins out of the rear,"
using a hammer and nail. Sweeney opened up the lid,
and the federal agent removed and opened the packages,
which were wrapped in brown paper. The footlocker was
then repacked in the same manner as the one checked
with United Airlines.

About 11 p.m., McGrew returned to the Western
Airlines counter, purchased a ticket for San Francisco,
and checked a suitcase. Case notified officers and
told them that he had last seen McGrew walking through
the terminal in the direction of the restaurant. The
officers, Case and Dowling, went to the restaurant and
found McGrew sitting at the end of the counter. Both
Case and Dowling identified him, and the officers placed

~A4-

him under arrest. An officer found a Western Airlines
baggage claim ticket in searching the person of McGrew.
The officer returned to the Western Airlines luggage
counter with the baggage claim ticket and secured the
suitcase. He opened it and found marijuana.

The United Airlines employee, Dowling, testified
that at the airlines training school he had been instructed
that "we had the right to inspect shipments;" that an
agent could open "anything that arouses your suspicions;"
that the concern of the airlines was for “aircraft safety,
for improperly declared goods going at a cheaper rate,
and for overvalued goods, such as a TV set claimed to
be good but in fact with "the picture tube. kicked
in." He could not recall being instructed to check to
see whether contraband was being shipped.

He testified in connection with the McGrew search
that he was not concerned about aircraft safety or rate
structures; that when he opened up the locker he was
looking for one thing, to determine whether marijuana
was contained in the locker. He did not, however,
smell marijuana before opening the locker.

He further testified that in searching the foot-
locker he was following his orders to assist the police;
that he suggested and furnished ballast to the police
in response to their inquiry about fill, to weigh down
the emptied footlocker and that in so doing he was
following his orders to assist the police; that before
the McGrew incident, he had opened two other foot-
lockers, in the presence of the police, having obtained
the combination to the locks from the police; that he
found contraband in the two lockers, and that he knew
of two other footlockers having been opened by fellow
employees, in which contraband was not found.

-A5-

The People stipulated that the officers did not
have a search warrant for either search.

The trial court found that the United Airlines
employee, in opening the footlocker, acted solely for
police purposes and in response to police suggestion,
and in reopening the footlocker in the presence of the

suppressed.

We find it unnecessary to determine whether
Dowling, the United Airlines employee, must be con-
sidered an agent of the police in opening the footlockers
because, even assuming that he was not, the subsequent
searches by law enforcement officers or at their ex-
press and specific direction (cf. Stapleton v. Superior
Court, 70 A. C. 101, 104), were unlawful and the evi-
dence must be suppressed.

People v. Marshall, 69 Cal. 2d 51, 57, makes
clear that with certain exceptions, probable cause to
believe that "a search will reveal contraband . . does
not justify a search without a warrant." Where there
is probable Cause, a warrant still must be obtained,
absent an emergency, for a search not incident to a
valid arrest even though a warrant would not be needed

-A6-

for a search incident to an arrest. (e.g., People v.
Harris, 62 Cal. 2d 681, 682-683.)

The exceptions to the requirement of a search
warrant, aside from searches incident to an arrest,
are where there is a danger of ‘imminent destruction,
removal, or concealment of the property intended to be
seized' or where the evidence is in plain sight, which
"is, in fact, no search for evidence." (People v.
Marshall, supra, 69 Cal. 2d 51, 56-57, 61.)

Our decision in Marshall is not limited to dwelling
houses. The Fourth Amendment protection of "effects"
includes securely closed footlockers shipped through
common carriers. Neither the language of the Fourth
Amendment, nor of any of the cases interpreting the
protection of that amendment, suggest that warrants
apply to houses“ but not to effects. The exceptions
to the requirement of a warrant are bases on circum-
stances and not on categories of items. The require-

ment of a warrant, unless otherwise excused, applies
to whatever is protected by the Fourth Amendment.
(See 2 v. United States (1967) 389 U.S. 347, 356-
367.

2, People v. Teal, 70 A. C. 532, is not to the con-
trary. Teal merely authorizes the search of an“ auto-
mobile or other object, without a warrant, based on
reasonable belief that such object is itself evidence,
but only when the seizure preceding the search is inci-

dent to a lawful arrest. (70A.C. atp. 546; italics
omitted. )

-AT7-

None of the exceptions apply to the United or
Western Airlines searches of the footlockers. When
the footlocker checked with United Airlines was
searched by the police, McGrew "was neither present
nor arrested until several hours after the search.
(People v. Marshall, Supra, 69 Cal. 2d 51, 61.) His
whereabouts were similarly unknown when the footlocker
checked with Western Airlines was searched. Nor was
there any likelihood that the lockers would be removed
or the contraband destroyed; both footlockers were
safely in the custody of the airlines. Both footlockers
had been shipped on a “space available" basis, so that
the airlines were not even under a contractual obligation
to ship the footlockers before a warrant could be ob-
tained. .

The evidence was not in plain sight, since both
lockers were closed when the police arrived, and the
marijuana was wrapped in packages. It is inherently
impossible for the contents of a Closed opaque container
to be in plain view regardless of the size of the con-
tainer of the material it is made of. A search of the
container is necessary to disclose its contents. A
search demands a search warrant. "' (People v. Marshall,
Supra, 69 Cal. 2d at p. 59; see also People v. Hawkins,
273 A. C. A. 565, 569-570.) The People's reliance on
People v. Roberts, 47 Cal. 2d 374, People v. Ouellette,
271 A. C. A. 55, and People v. Anderson, 266 Cal. App.
2d 125, is misplaced. In those cases, the object was
in plain sight; in Roberts a radio believed stolen, in
Quellette a corncob pipe and dark debris which was in a
waxed paper bag, and in Anderson part of a marijuana
cigarette.

The People contend that by shipping the footlocker
with a common carrier under a contract, " the receipt

-A8-

for the goods shipped which refers to but does not con-
tain an inspection clause, 3/ McGrew waived any Fourth
Amendment protection that would otherwise attach to a
closed and secure footlocker, and impliedly consented
to the search by the airlines employee and by the police.

The People argue in effect that any waiver of
Fourth Amendment protection, for whatever limited
purposes, results in a waiver for all purposes. This
contention was rejected in Corngold v. United States,
Supra, 367 F. 2d 1, 7, also involving a search of baggage
shipped through an airlines freight service.

Corngold relied on Stoner v. California (1964)
376 U.S. 483, 489, which rejected the contention that
implied consent of access for any purpose results in
consent for all purposes: "It is true... that when a
person engages a hotel room he undoubtedly gives
‘implied or express permission’ to 'such persons as
maids, janitors or repairmen' to enter his room ‘in
performance of their duties. [Citation.] But the

3/ The inspection clause on which the People rely is
contained in C.A.B. regulations and states only:

"INSPECTION OF SHIPMENTS All shipments are
subject to inspection by the carrier, but the carrier
shall not be obligated to perform such inspection.
(Rules and Regulations, Issued November 8, 1967,

C. A. B. No. 96, rule No. 24.) The basis for imputing
knowledge of this rule is the rapid airbill (a receipt)
which states in part on the back (in gray type): "2. It
is mutually agreed that the shipment described herein
is accepted... subject to governing classifications
and tariffs ...."

-A9-

conduct of the night clerk and the police in the present
case was of an entirely different order."

In Corngold v. United States, Supra, 367 F. 2d 1,
the court ruled that "Appellant did not abandon his
package; and mere surrender of custody to a carrier
did not forfeit appellant's right to privacy. (Citations. }
„ Appellant's package, securely wrapped and tied,
was delivered to the airline solely for transportation
from Los Angeles to New York, and the inspection
clause in TWA's tariff authorized examination only by
the carrier itself." (367 F.2d at pp. 7-8.)

Stoner and Corngold recognize that the scope of

consent to an invasion of privacy depends upon the cir-
cumstances. Other cases involving implied limited
consent to an invasion of privacy make clear the signifi-
cance of the circumstances. Thus, in United States v.
Blok (D. C. Cir. 1951) 188 F. 2d 1019, 1021, the police
searched the desk of an employee; the court, in holding
the search unlawful, stated: No doubt a search of

[the desk] without her consent would have been reason-
able if made by some people in some circumstances.
Her official superiors might reasonably have searched
the desk for official property needed for official use.
(See also, Cunningham v. Heinze (9th Cir. 1965) 352
F.2d1, 5, cert. denied, 383 U.S. 968, following
Stoner. Compare searches properly within the implied
consent to search in People v. Plane, 274 A.C. A. 1, 4
llandlord entered tenant's apartment to shut off lights
and oven]; In re Donaldson, 269 A.C. A. 593, 594,
[search of student's locker by school vice principal];
People v. Rightnour, 243 Cal. App. 2d 663, 666 [maid
entered guest's room to clean up]; People v. Gonzales,
182 Cal. App. 2d 276, 277-278 [search of knife-wounded
victim by hospital personnel to determine identity]. )

-Al0-

That privacy is not an absolute concept, but de-
pends upon the circumstances, was made clear by
People v. Edwards, 71 A.C. 1141, 1149, where contra-
band in a trash receptacle was held protected against
searches by the police, although, by placing the contra-
band in a trash receptacle, the defendants would have
waived any claim to privacy as to the trash collector.
The issue it was pointed out was the reasonable expect-
ancy that property will be preserved from the intrusive
scrutiny of others.

The same standard of reasonable expectancy used
to determine zones of privacy determines the extent of
implied consent to invade an individual's privacy. The
hotel guest may reasonably expect a maid to enter his
room to clean up, but absent unusual circumstances he
should not be held to expect that a hotel clerk will lead
the police in a search of his room. Similarly, in the
instant case, McGrew might have expected that an air-
lines employee would inspect baggage where a danger
or inconsistency was observed, but he could not reason-

ably be expected to anticipate police searches for con-
traband. He may not be held to have consented to
searches by police officers totally unrelated to the in-
terests of the airlines in the hope that contraband may
be discovered. (Cf. Parrish v. Civil Service Commis-
sion, 66 Cal. 2d 260, 274.)

It is also urged that the police search was none-
theless lawful, because the police reasonably and in good
faith believed that the airlines employee could authorize
a search of McGrew's luggage. The contention is with-
out merit.

The rule governing searches based on consent by
a third party was stated in People v. Hill, 69 Cal. 2d

-All-

550, 554, certiorari granted 90 S.Ct. 112: A] search
is not unreasonable if made with the consent of a third
party whom the police reasonably and in good faith be-
lieve has authority to consent to their search...."
The operative word in the rule is "reasonably; "thus,
there must be some objective evidence of joint control
or access to the places or items to be searched which
would indicate that the person authorizing the search
has the authority to do so. (E.g., People v. Hill, supra,
69 Cal. 2d 550, 554-555, and cases collected [visitor
consenting to search of apartment]; People v. Gorg,

45 Cal. 2d 776, 783 lowner; search of boarder 's room];
People v. Linke, 265 Cal. App. 2d 297, 315 [cotenant];
People v. Garner, 234 Cal. App. 2d 212, 230 (wife; hus-
band's property]. )

The good faith mistake rule does not, however,
apply where the third party makes clear that the prop-
erty beiongs to another. (E.g., People v. Cruz, supra,
61 Cal. 2d 861, 866 [guest in apartment could not con-
sent to search of boxes and luggage belonging to others];
People v. Egan, Supra, 250 Cal. App. 2d 433, 436
[parents could not consent to search of bag where made
clear that bag not parents']; Holzhey v. United States
(5th Cir. 1955) 223 F.2d 823, 824 [relatives could not
consent to search of locked cabinet]; compare, Sartain
v. United States (9th Cir. 1962) 303 F. 2d 859, 862-863,
cert. denied, 371 U.S. 894 [friend could consent to
search of suitcase where defendant left suitcase with
key attached]. )

Moreover, the good faith rule does not apply where
the relationship of the third party and the defendant
makes clear that the defendant has not authorized the
third party to act as his agent. Thus, in Stoner v. Cali-
fornia, Supra, 376 U.S. 483, 488, the Supreme Court,

-Al2-

in holding that a room clerk could not consent to the
search of a guest's room, and rejecting the "claim that
the search was reasonable because the police, relying
upon the night clerk's expressions of consent, had a
reasonable basis for the belief that the clerk had author-
ity to consent to the search," stated: ITlhere is
nothing in the record to indicate that the police had any
basis whatsoever to believ> that the night clerk had been
authorized by the petitioner to permit the police to
search the petitioner's room" (id., at p. 489).

The language and the rule of Stoner apply equally
to the instant case: The police knew that someone had
attempted to ship a footlocker which the airlines em-
ployee believed contained marijuana. They had no
reason to believe that the shipper had authorized the
employee to turn the trunk over to the police. Nor
could the police rely on the right of the airlines to in-
spect goods shipped. As pointed out above, the consent
to inspection by the airlines was limited to consent for

_ inspection for the airlines' own purposes.

We conclude that the trial court properly sup-
pressed the evidence obtained by the police searches of
the footlockers.

It is also urged that, apart from the evidence
furnished by the police searches, the officers had prob-
able cause to arrest McGrew when he was found in the
restaurant and that the search of his suitcase obtained
from a Western Airlines clerk was a valid search inci-
dent to that arrest. However, apart from the matters
learned from the police searches, the only information
the police had at the time of the arrest was that McGrew
had checked a footlocker at both United and Western
Airlines, that the one checked at United, when opened

-Al3-

by the airiine employee, was observed to contain sever-
al bricks or small packages wrapped in brown paper or
newspaper, and that McGrew had checked a suitcase
and purchased a ticket for San Francisco. The weight
of the footlocker left with United was consistent with a
shipment of two-thirds clothes and one-third books, the
items McGrew had declared to be in the footlocker, and
there is nothing to indicate that the package observed by
the United employee were not entirely consistent with
wrapped books. The fact that McGrew had checked
pieces of luggage at three different times with two air-
lines is not incriminating, and we are satisfied that the
information obtained by the officers apart from their
unlawful search did not furnish probable cause to arrest
McGrew for possession of marijuana and that arrest
was unlawful. The search of the suitcase may not be
sustained as incident to a valid arrest, and the evidence
secured by that search was properly suppressed. This
conclusion makes it unnecessary to consider whether

the search of the suitcase occurred at the place of the
arrest and vas contemporaneous therewith. (Cf. People
v. Cruz, supra, 61 Cal. 2d 861, 865.)

Since the evidence secured by the police searches
must be suppressed, there is not sufficient evidence to
hold defendant for trial.

The order appealed from is affirmed.

PETERS, J.
WE CONCUR:

TRAYNOR, C. J.
TOBRINER, J.
SULLIVAN, J.

-Al4-

DISSENTING OPINION BY MOSK, J.

I dissent.

Section 11531 of the Health and Safety Code makes
it a felony for any person to transport marijuana. The
section applies not only to one who arranges shipment,
as the defendant here, but it would also apply to any air-
line employee who knowingly transports marijuana.
Thus ifan airline employee reasonably believes a ship-
ment contains a substance the transportation of which is
illegal, he has the right and perhaps a duty to inspect
the package or container. The purpose of such inspec-
tion is not to act as an agent of the police, but to insu-
late himself from any criminal culpability.

When the defendant arranged for the shipment of
his footlocker he signed a "rapid airbill“ which stated
as one of the "conditions of contract" that it was accepted
subject to governing classifications in effect on that date
and filed in accordance with law. One of the Civil Aero-
nautics Board rules provides that The carrier has the
right, but not the obligation, to inspect shipments. nl/

1 Izmis is not demonstrably certain from the evidence
offered on this subject by the prosecuting attorney. A
copy of C.A.B. regulation No. 96 (Exh. 10) and a copy
of United Airlines Tariff rules (Exh. 11) were received
in evidence. The former became effective on August 1,
1967, and the latter on December 8, 1967. The offense
charged in this case took place prior to both dates:

June 25, 1967. However, Dowling testified Exhibit 19
was similar to pages used by him in his daily work, and
(Continued on following page)

~Al5-

In People v. Edwards (1969) 71 A.C. 1141, this
court indicated that in determining admissibility of evi-
dence the significant criterion is the defendant's
"reasonable expectation of privacy" in maintaining ac-
tual or constructive Possession of the objects at issue.
While undoubtedly this defendant hoped to avoid detec-
tion in shipping contraband, I find it difficult to conclude
that he had a reasonable expectation of privacy when he
shipped a footlocker by an interstate carrier which had
a right of inspection given to it by the administrative
agency regulating the airline and its operations. This
detendant declared to one carrier he was shipping
"clothing and books" and to the other he represented he
was shipping books and dishes. The rates charged
for shipment were based on those representations,
which were knowingly false. If, for any reason, an air-
line employee doubted the shipments contained the ob-
jects ‘indicated, he had an unquestioned right to open the
containers for inspection. This right of the airline is
not diluted by the fact that contraband was discovered--
which could not be shipped at any rate--rather than some
legal perishable commodity, which could be shipped at

a rate different from that prescribed for clothing, books

(Continued from preceding page)

the prosecutor represented to the court "that is the
actual regulation that was in effect at the time we are
interested in. Defense counsel objected on numerous
grounds to the admission of Exhibit 10, but he did not
challenge the prosecutor's representation. The court
must have accepted the prosecutor's statement as

being factual for the exhibit was received in evidence;
had it related only to dates subsequent to June 25, 1967,
it would have been irrelevant.

and dishes.

To deny the airline through its employees a right
of inspection when they doubt, for any reason, that a
package contains the objects represented by the shipper
to be therein, results in compelling the airline, an
innocent third party, to blind itself to reality and thus
to assist the defendant in his illicit commercial enter-
prise of transporting marijuana. This is the unfortu-
nate result of the majority opinion.

The majority lean heavily on Corngold v. United
States (9th Cir. 1966) 367 F. 2d 1. In Corngold the
transportation agent was initially contacted by govern-
ment agents who directed him to a specific package and
asked him to open it. Our case is factually closer akin
to a more recent Ninth Circuit decision which carefully
circumscribed the Corngold rule: Gold v. United States
(1967) 378 F. 2d 588, in which at pages 590-591, the |
court held Corngold inapplicable to a situation in which
_the transportation personnel, with "suspicions aroused
.. - had no way to determine whether the contents were
fit for carriage and properly classified except by open-
ing them. This the carrier had the right to do under its
tariffs. Indeed, the instant case is stronger than Gold,
for here there was no prior direct contact between law
enforcement officers and the airline employee. Dowling
opened the footlocker at the direction of his company
supervisor, not upon police suggestion.

It was not a law enforcement agency but Dowling
who notified other airlines about the defendant and his
shipment. Pursuant to that warning Western Airlines
employees Case and Sweeney observed the defendant's
footlocker and called United to report. Fortuitously
the police had then arrived at United and they proceeded

~Al17-

from there to the Western offices. They noted the foot-
locker pointed out to them by the Western employees
and could readily detect from it "an odor of marijuana."
This justified the subsequent search and seizure. (See

my dissent in People v. Marshall (1968) 69 Cal. 2d 51,
62. )

As this court recently held in People v. Superior
Court (1969) 70 A.C. 129, 135: "The conduct of a per-
son not acting under the authority of a state is not pro-
scribed by the Fourth or Fourteenth Amendments of the
federal Consitution. There are no state standards for
‘search and seizure' by a private citizen who is not
acting as an agent of the state or other governmental
unit. Therefore, acquisition of property by a private
citizen from another person cannot be deemed reason-
able or unreasonable (People v. Randazzo (1963) 220
Cal. App. 2d 768, 775-776 [citation] cert. den. 377 U. S.
1000 [citations], and a motion to suppress evidence so
obtained cannot be made on the gound that its acquisition
constitutes an unreasonable search and seizure under
section 1538.5."

Since the airline employees had a legal right to
inspect the footlockers, I can see no impediment to
their advising the police of the presence of contraband
and to the police taking possession of and making evi-
dentiary use of the contraband displayed to them. In-
deed, that was the precise situation in People v. Super-
ior Court (1969) supra, 70 A. C. 129, in which a private
detective gave a copy of a tape recording to law enforce-
ment officers. We properly declined to Suppress the
evidence prior to trial. To the same effect is Wolf Low
v. United States (9th Cir. 1968) 391 F. 2d 61, 63, in
which the court found proper the "conduct of the airline
in turning over to the Government the fruits of its

-Al8-

search of the defendant's suitcases, and the conduct of
the Government in making use of the information and
evidence obtained by the airline's search..."

As the majority concede, People v. Hill (1968)
69 Cal. 2d 550, 554, holds that a search is not un-
reasonable if made with the consent of a third party
whom the police reasonably and in good faith believe
has authority to consent to their search...." The
police belief was entirely reasonable and in good faith
here, since it was founded upon the right legally con-
ferred upon the airlines to inspect shipments in their
possession, the inspections actually made pursuant to
that right, the discovery of contraband legally ineligible
for shipment, the reporting of these events to the police
and the disclosure to the police of the actual contraband.

I would hold the searches were valid, the suppres-
sion of evidence erroneous, and the defendant should be
required to stand trial in order to ascertain his inno-
_cense or guilt.

MOSK, J.
WE CONCUR:

McCOMB, J.
BURKE, J.

-Bl-
APPENDIX B.
Opinion of the Court of Appeal
of the State of California

In the Court of Appeal of the State of California,
Fourth Appellate District, Division One.

The People, Plaintiff and Appellant, vs. Kenneth
T. McGrew, Defendant and Respondent, 4 Crim. No.
3278.

Filed February 17, 1969

APPEAL from an order of the Superior Court of
San Diego County. Byron F. Lindsley, Judge. Re-
versed.

For Appellant: James Don Keller, District
Attorney; Richard Bein, Deputy District Attorney.

For Respondent: George H. Chula.

The People appeal from a Penal Code, section
1385 order dismissing their action against Kenneth T.
McGrew based upon the granting of McGrew's motion
to suppress evidence (Pen. Code, §1238(7)).

McGrew was indicted for one count of transport-
ing marijuana (Health & Saf. Code, §11531) and one
count of possessing marijuana for sale (Health & Saf.
Code, §11530. 5). McGrew moved under Penal Code,
Section 1538.5 to Suppress certain evidence which the
People concede was indispensible to a conviction. The
trial court granted McGrew's motion on the ground the

-B2-

evidence was the product of illegal searches and sei-
zures. The dismissal followed because the People con-
ceded they had no case without the suppressed evidence.

Neither party gives this court any assistance with
a narrative summary of the facts. The district attor-
ney devotes over 20 pages of his brief paraphrasing the
testimony of each witness in the order the testimony
was produced at trial. This results in a disjointed,
redundant, non-chronological, overextended and unsat-
isfactory presentation of the facts. McGrew adopts the
People's presentation, stating it is adequate and he
does not want to burden this court with a lengthy factual
repetition.

About 4:00 p.m. Sunday, June 25, 1967, McGrew
took a loaded 112 pound new black footlocker to the
United Air Lines freight office at San Diego's Lindbergh
Field for shipment to San Francisco. McGrew signed
an airway bill as Kent McGraw", stating the footlocker
contained books and clothes. He consigned it to himself
in San Francisco where he said he was destined on a
midnight flight. McGrew said he would be back; he had
more to ship which he could not put in his car at the
same time as the black footlocker.

Charles J. Dowling, Jr., the United freight agent
who waited on McGrew, suspected the footlocker con-
tained marijuana. United Air Lines had had earlier
experience with people shipping contraband. The air-
lines investigative unit had passed the word for freight
handlers to be on the alert for new footlockers weighing
80 to 120 pounds, as marijuana had been shipped in such
containers. In addition McGrew had appeared nervous,
had long hair and looked like a hippie.

-B3-

Dowling did not know the origin of the warning to
be alert for heavy new footlockers. He had heard
"“scuttlebutt" it may have come from Honolulu Police
who had traced marijuana to a new footlocker air-
shipped through United.

Dowling called his supervisor, told him his sus-
picions. The supervisor gave him permission to open
the footlocker. Dowling knocked the pins out of the
hinges on the locked footlocker, opened the top and saw
several bricks (packages wrapped in brown paper) of
what he thought was marijuana. A month earlier Dowl-
ing had been present when a similar footlocker was
opened. He saw inside marijuana bricks wrapped in
plastic. The brown paper wrapped packages appeared
to contain the same substance as the marijuana he had
seen earlier.

Dowling again called his supervisor and told him
what he had found. The supervisor instructed him to
call the police. About 5:00 p. m. a Mr. Burgess from
the San Diego Police Department responded to Dowling's
call. Dowling took him to the footlocker and showed
him the contents. Other officers arrived, including
State Narcotics Agent McLaughlin. The officers re-
moved all but one marijuana brick and replaced them
with ballast bags.

Dowling alerted the Western Airlines freight
office and passenger ticket personnel to watch for
McGrew and to call United if he were seen. Agent
McLaughlin also contacted several airlines, furnishing
McGrew's description.

About 8:00 p.m. McGrew took a different footlock-
er to the Western Airlines freight office for shipment to

-B4-

San Francisco. McGrew again identified himself as
"Kent McGrew", consigned the footlocker to himself in
San Francisco, said the locker contained books and
dishes and said he would be taking a midnight flight to
San Francisco.

Richard Sweeney, a Western Airlines freight
agent, called United Air Lines because of Dowling's
warning. Within minutes narcotics agents including
Agent McLaughlin arrived at Western. McLaughlin
compressed the top of the footlocker and detected an
odor of marijuana coming from it. He asked Sweeney
and Joseph Case, the airfreight agent who had waited
on McGrew, to open the footlocker. Sweeney removed
the hinge pins, opened the footlocker, revealing brown
paper wrapped Kilo marijuana bricks inside. All but
one brick were removed and eplaced with a sandbag
and newspapers.

About 11:00 p.m. Case toi Agent McLaughlin
McGrew had just checked a blue suitcase at the Western
Airlines ticket counter and purchased a ticket for San
Francisco. Both Case and Dowling pointed McGrew out
to Mc Laughlin in the airline terminal restaurant.

McLaughiin sat next to McGrew, showed his
identification, said he was a State Narcotics Bureau
agent, and asked McGrew's name. McGrew replied,
"Kenneth McGrew." The agent gave McGrew a Miranda
warning; McGrew said he understood it; McGrew ad-
mitted he had shipped a trunk that afternoon from the
United Air Lines freight terminal. McLaughlin arrested
him.

McLaughlin impounded McGrew's suitcase,
searched it and found 18 more Kilo marijuana bricks.

-B5-

At no time did the government agents act under author-
ity of a search or arrest warrant.

The trial court suppressed: evidence of the two
marijuana ladened footlockers and the marijuana filled
blue suitcase; United and Western airway bills and a
baggage claim check for the blue suitcase all of which
McLaughlin found on McGrew's person; and McGrew's
statements.

The trial court found Dowling acted as a police
agent in opening the black footlocker at United Air
Lines. The court reasoned agency resulted because
the police had asked the airlines to assist in tocating
marijuana air shipments, and the footlocker opening
was the direct and indirect result of police suggestion
and instigation.

There was no evidence the police requested or
ordered Dowling to open the footlocker. Dowling stated:
"I opened it up on my own with no instructions from
anyone except the permission of the Supervisor to do it.
Whether the suggestion airlines be on the alert for such
footlockers originated from the police is immaterial.
(The court's finding it did apparently rests on Dowling's
testimony of "scuttlebutt"’. ) The police do not neces-
sarily make agents of citizens they warn concerning
crimes. One who sees a wanted poster in a post office
does not become an FBI agent should he later recognize
the wanted suspect, interrogate him and hear incrimi-
nating admissions. A parent who heeds a police warn-
ing to be on the lookout for marijuana and dangerous
drugs with children does not become a police agent
when alertly emptying a teenage son's pockets to ready
his clothing for the laundry.

While the Fourth Amendment's prohibition against
unreasonable searches and seizures applies to the states
and renders inadmissible in state courts evidence ob-
tained in violation of that amendment, it does not apply
to non-governmental searches by private individuals
(People v. Superior Court, 70 A.C. 129, 135). More-
over, a motion to suppress evidence under Penal Code,
section 1538.5 is directed solely to searches and sei-
zures conducted by government agents (People v. Super-
ior Court, supra, 70 A.C. 129, 134). Here Dowling did
not act in a joint enterprise with, or as an agent of a
governmental law enforcement agency. The govern-
ment's participation, if any, fell short of coloring Dowl-
ing's conduct with the taint of governmental authority.
(See Stepleton v. Superior Court, 70 A.C. 101, 103-106.)
The trial court's finding Dowling acted as a police agent
when he first opened the black footlocker is not sup-
ported by substantial evidence. We need not dictate
whether Dowling had probable cause to search or wheth-
er the airline's tariff, which allows inspection of ship-
ments, justified the search, because the Fourt Amend-
ment does not make Dowling's discovered evidence
inadmissible.

When Dowling, based upon his previous experience,
recognized marijuana in the footlocker, his report to the
police gave them probable cause to believe the footlocker
contained contraband. Where the police have probable
cause to believe an automobile contains marijuana they
may make a warrantless search of it not incident to
arrest. (Dyke v. Taylor Implement Mfg. Co., 391
U.S. 216 [88 8. Ct. 1472]; Carroll v. United States,
267 U.S. 132, 149 [458. Ct. 280, 283-284];

People v. Madero, 264A.C.A. 126, 129.) The

rule has its basis in the mobility of motor vehicles. In
Carrol v. United States, supra, the rule was formu-
lated, in part, upon an analogy to goods in the course of
transportation, which Congress has historically treated

-B7-

differently with regard to search authorization than it
has goods in a fixed dwelling or other building. (Carroll
v. United States, supra, 267 U.S. 132 at pp. 150-153
[45 8. Ct. at pp. 284-285]. )

Here McGrew had placed the two footlockers and
the suitcase in the course of transportation. One of two
things was bound to happen unless the police seized
them. Either they would be shipped out of the jurisdic-
tion to San Francisco or the owner might return and re-
move the shipments from transit.

It is our opinion the rule allowing a warrantless
search of motor vehicles, not incident to an arrest,
where the police have probable cause to believe contra-
baud is present, applies with equal reason to goods in
the course of transportation. Support for this view is
found in Hernandez v. United States, 353 F. 2d 624.

Having probable cause to search the footlocker at
United Air Lines the police had equal cause to search
the footlocker at Western Airlines. It was shipped by
& person matching the description of the United shipper,
who gave the same name and told the same travel plans.

When Dowling and Case identified McGrew in the
restaurant as the shipper, the police had probable cause
to arrest and search him. The search of the blue suit-
case was justified both as incident to McGrew's lawful
arrest and because the police had reason to believe it
contained marijuana.

The trial court found there was sufficient time
for the police to have secured search warrants for both
the footlocker at United Air Lines and the footlocker at
Western Airlines. We need not determine whether the

finding is supported where the shipments were made on
a Sunday evening, each would have been shipped within
three hours and McGrew could have withdrawn the ship-
ments from the course of transportation. The finding
is irrelevant. In Cooper v. State of California, 386
U.S. 58, 62 87 S.Ct. 788, 791], the correct rule is
stated: |

"It is no answer to say that the police
could have obtained a search warrant,
for [t]he relevant test is not whether
it is reasonable to procure a search
warrant, but whether the search was
reasonable.

The order of dismissal is reversed and the order
suppressing evidence vacated.

GERALD BROWN, P. J.

WE CONCUR:

COUGHLIN, J.
WHELAN, J.

-Cl- and -D1-

APPENDIX "Cc"

FOURTH AMENDMENT
Seizures, Searches and Warrants

[SECTION 1.] The right of the people to be se-
cure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not
be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place to be searched, and
the persons or things to be seized.

APPENDIX p

Civil Aeronautics Board of Regulation No. 96,
Rule No. 24: "INSPECTION OF SHIPMENTS All ship-
SEMA SHIPMENTS
ments are subject to inspection by the carrier, but the

carrier shall not be obligated to perform such inspec-
tion.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1450%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
