# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Warwick v. Segan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1280%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 397 U.S. 935

## Text

LIBRARY Soe
SUPREME COURT, U. Ss a: “FTE: B5*
GAN 27 970
inti sea
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES -
(112 4

BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK,
Petitioner fer Certiorari,
vs,

BARRY S, S&GAN,
he Respondent in Certiorari,

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

. “

WYMAN C, LOWE | *
701 Carnegie Building
“Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Attorney for Petitioner

ee

| ed

INDEX |
Page

CONTENTS OF PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

(a) Reference to numbers of

(b)

the pages whereon appear
copies of the two Orders
sought to be reviewed, no

opinions having been deliv-

ered as to either. l-a

Statement of the grounds on

- which the jurisdiction

(c)
Ce)

(f£)

(h)
(i)

of this Court is invoked l-a
Questions presented for

review 2
Statement of the case | 3
Basis for federal juris- 23

diction in the court of
the first instance

Argument : 23

Reference to numbers of

the pages whereon appear
copies of the two Orders
sought to be reviewed, no
opinions having been °
delivered as to either 34

Supplement to "Statement of i
the Case", copies of documents -
next after page 22 - small

Roman numeral page numbers *”

= -
A \ z .
oe
2s ° ~ ° 2
e
. .
® ' :
; 7 E « ae
. LS .
- 7 2 “:
‘ . ,
‘ ver
. 5 B
+8 a :
. 6 fy ; F
se .
: ‘ :
6 ‘ ‘ - °
: «
~ . A Fy z : : sh
F ‘ Z : z
.
5 z :
. ° . Z
= -
: = .
: s
q ; °
° « ©
P ; : ; x
; is RE
° es . :
+
. y
: .
te x ‘ :
4
& 2
Sg ’
‘ ‘ ; 4
F ° ; we
. .
i i he
eC. °* - vf 5;
Py s Sarna
’ ot Men,
F ’ A tm
e .
! ¢
7 By. :
.
:
‘ e ‘ :
'
¢ s :
:
at
= ‘
P * Fp
‘ ‘ e .
* te ; :
- = 7 |
a ¢
— Te ae STO aa eR Re 5 ES Pe : ? =
mF Sa a Peers. oe Po % 2 q

Seon Pe aera

IN TH SUPREME COURT OF THE

a ©: UNITED STATES
yee BaPPry PTLEMAN WARWICK,

Petitioner for Certiorsri,
VS, + | |
MARRY S, S#GAN,
Respondent in Certiorari, |

¢ ‘
2 ; s

-PwlT’TON FOR CERTIORART.

WYMAN Cy LOWS 3
701 Carnerie Building
Atlanta, Georzia 30303

Attorney for Petitioner

st

ee CEL CLE GAA

vauere

RI hie Ret Og PO ETS MOEA bri TNR ee faz
7 ‘ . : 4

-

i, TABLE OF CASES! CITED
“ Page.
American Insurance Co. v. bts ee
Scheufler, 129 F 2d nc 24
Bingham v. Morrisy 3L Ed 281 See

Cromelin v. Markwalter, U. s,

Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit .

181 F. 2d 949. ‘ 30
Fiske Vv. Wallace, 115 F. @d 1003,
eertiorari denied 62 S. Ct. 123, 2
“cases, 314 U.S. 663, 86 L. “€d.531
rehearing denied 62 "Ss. Ct. 174,

two cases, 314 U.S. /10, 86 L,
Ed.566, rehearing denied 62 8, Ct. :
910, two cases, 315 U. Ss. 829, 86
L. Ed. 1224 26

Forman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178
181, 83 S. Ct. 227, 230, 9L.
Ed. 2d 222, 225. '

HickLiny ¥. Bavards, aaa FP.
2d 921. 29

Tnternetfonal Broth. ee:
Teamsters ¢. etc., ot America
Ve Ue So 93. 272. F.2d Il. ik te

Kelly V. Penndpivanian R. Ce

228 F. 2d /2/, certtorari denjted
FO Sy Gt. 72. S52 U.3, 9254, 100

L. Ed. 1455. wee 29-

Leishman v. A-sociated Whole-.

sale Electric Co., 63 °, Ges»

$43, 318 U.S. 203, 87 L. Ed. 714,
rehearing denied 63 S. Ct. 758,

318 U. S. 800, 87. Ed. 1163. 30

s

w/

0

oe

iii

Pacific Coast Marine Firemen;

etc., Assoc. V. Coastwide Line,

171 F. 2d 284,

Phillips v.° Employers’ Mut.
Liability Ins. Co. of "Wee
239 F. 2d /9

Richardson v. Green, 130 U. S.
104, 32 L. Ed. 3/2

Salmon v. City of Stuart,Fla.
194 F. 2d 1004

Wilson v. Southern Ry. Co.
147 F. 2d 165

Yates v. Behrend, 280 F.,
2d 64, 108 U. S. App. D. C.
56

26

25, 2-A

24

28

29

29

/~

ra

-
>

vw

o

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK,

Petitioner for Certiorari

vs.
BARRY S. SEGAN
Respondent in Certiorari

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI FOR
REVIEW OF EACH OF TWO ORDERS, FINAL

IN NATURE, OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

COMES NOW BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK, by
and.through her attorney, Wyman C. Lowe ,
who is a.Member of the Bar of this Court
and respectfully petitions the Court for
writ of certiorari for review of each of
two Orddrs, final in nature, rendered
/ and entered in the appeal, "BETTY
\ PITTMAN WARWICK, Appellant--Plaintiff vs.
BARRY S. SEGAN, Appellee--Defendant" in
the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit. The main Order,
entered on October 1, 1969, denied the
motion of the Appellant for a 4-day ex-
tension of time from September 8, 1969,
for filing her Brief, as it were a mo-
tion for extension for said purpose "to
and including September 15, 1969,"
which was a Monday, and granted a motion
of the Appellee to dismiss the appeal
for failure of the Appellant to file her
Brief timely on September 8, 1969. The

other Order, entered on November 11, 1969,

A bbs em tot

.
?
. 4 .
> ’
; ;
:
: :
J ,
)
4
:
/
£ i

SAY «Bs
ag E \
2 \, es v
(c) STATEMENT oF THE CASE

‘In this petition for certioreri,
Betty Pittman Warwick, who was the
Plaintiff in the case in the United
States District Court, Middle District
of Florida, Tampa Diviston, and was the
appellant in an appeal tio the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit from judgment of that District
Court for the Defendant, Barry S, Segan,
and against the Plaintiff, seeks re-
view of a two-paragraph Order of that
Court of Appeals, filed October 1, 1969,
and also another two-paragraph Order of
_ that Court of Appeals, filed November 11;
eee which are Document Number 13 and
in the Certified Transcript of the f
Redord,

In the first paragraph of the first
said Order, filed October 1, 1969, that
Court of Appeals denied @ motion of the
appellant, Mrs, Warwick, as if it were
a motion for an extension "for filing of
his brief, in the above cause, to and
including September 15, 1969", but the
only motion appellant ever filed for
time extension for filing her Brief was
one for a 4-day extension from September
8, 1969, a Monday, "to and including
September 12, 1969", The second para-
graph of that Order, filed October 1,
1969, granted the motion of the appellee,
in effect, to dismiss the appeal for
failure of the appellant for file her
brief by September 8, 1969, Motion of |
the appellant, filed October 16, 1969,
copy of which having been served on
Defendant's counsel on October 15, 1969,
for reconsideration as to the two-para-

olbe

graph Order, filed October 1, 1969, and
for reinstatement of the appeal was
denied in the last said Order, filed
November 11, 1969,

- The last said Order, in effect, af-
firmed the first Order, thereby caused
the first Order to’ become a final deter-
mination of the avpeal; and the last said
Order itself was, in effect, a final de-
termination as to the appeal; but each
of said two Orders was rendered before
there had been consideration of the ap-
peal on its merits,

For purpose of ease and convenience
of reference by the Justices of the
Court, there is included hereinafter,
next following the last page of this
"Statement of the Case", as "Supplement
to the Statement of the Case", a copy
of the "Filings-broceedings" of the
Court of Appeals in this appeal and most
of the other documents or papers to
which reference is made in this petition
for certiorari, including the Order
filed October 1, 1969, and the Order
filed November 11, 1969, as to which re-
view is sought, ‘he pages within each
document in the ''ranscript of the Record,
certified by the Clerk of the Court of
Appeals, and filed with this petition
with the Clerk of the Supreme Court, are
numbered consecutively, but there is not’
consecutive numbering of pages of the en-
tire Transcript of the Record, ‘The pages
within each document included in "The
Supplement to the Statement of the Case"
are riumbered consecutively, and the pages
of the entire "Supplement to the State-
ment of the Case" are also numbered con-

: \ 4 we! . e .
2 : ;
. ° Sa
i
‘
i x ° Ff D °
- . ' =
. My «
.
« - ‘ . . 3 3
° : : 5
' .
al > ’ ‘
te t * cs . 7
. . ‘ :
. é - , .
s : c ate E : 3 ’
‘s > . ; . - 2
‘ : : ‘ Py ‘
5 ' * Ft
- .
Fi b ‘
- “ ‘ ¢ ;
~ | , ,
- e .
© .
. ; oe
» . “
° ’ > "
he .
© 2! ‘ . :
‘ > .
-
‘ 3 . :
. * -
ej x! -
aie bs . B
3 a : . e
> j ° . - ”~
* an
P e . . .
- . . ja . -
. ‘ - °
.
. .
so} * . - —
. . p.
‘ . * 3.7, f .
& «
. + ;
“s ’ Pad
ee . oe . -
» *
» .
‘ t
- ae
acts _— °
’ > ’
. ¥ 4 bd : . ‘
‘ . L
' by - *
+ ~ %
4 ‘ ‘
¢ e ,
. J :
; . i - be 7 ' ,
. ‘ ’
. . .
%
.
¥ .
. .
* Ma °
te .
: * t ‘
.
£ 2 =
o “ .
“te * .
*
. * ¥
. ; i
_ Roe
. re
. A .
. .
‘ a ‘
’ - . .
t . «
. . a0 .
. > e .
»
7 2 a
ad ad . .*
> . .
.
é 7 .
. ‘ ; be .

-8-

by her when she was struck on Piedmont
Avenue in Atlanta, Georgia while she was
walking from one side of Piedmont Avenue
towards the opposite side, by an automo-
bile then owned and operated by Barry S,
Seman; that at the time she was so in-
jJured Barry S, Segan was a resident of
Atlanta, Georgia, but within about two
weeks moved from Atlanta and became a "
res*dent of Tampa, Florida; that jury —
trial of the case for more than three

da, was held in Tampa, Florida; that
‘judement entered following the trial was
for the Defendant and against the Plain-
tiff; that, after filing of timely motion
by the Plaintiff for new trial and denial
of the motion, without a hearing, timely
notice of appeal by the Plaintiff from
the judgement to said Court of Appeals and
bond for appeal costs were filed,

The Appellee,:-in his motion, moved the
Court of Appeals for an Order for alleged
failure of the Appellant to timely prose-
cute the appeal, The grounds set forth in
the motion show, in effect, it is based
on the fact Appellant had not filed her
Brief on or before September 8, 1969, the
time to which a Six-day extension from
September 2, 1969, had been sranted( Supp.,p.xi ).

In his said motion, the Appellee re-
faxes te an “Order of the Court dated Sep-
tenber 9? 1°69", sranting the Plaintiff
additional ime to file her Brief, An
entry on the "Filings-Proceedings", copy
of which in the certified record, reads
"9/2/69 Fle, ext, 9/8/69-Appellant's
"r, & Reproduced Appendix-(GG) NFF"(Supp,p.i).
Initials "(GG)" are those of Mr, Gilbert
anucheau, the Chief Denuty Clerk, who

‘i igs,

«Qe

himself granted and signed the Order
allowing the extension from September xy
1969, to and including September 8, 1969,
for filing both the Brief and Appendix,
However, Appellant did not use any of
the time in the six-day extension granted
for filing the Appendix, and timely filed
the lengthy offset printed 4-volume Ap-
pendix on September 2, 1959, as shown in
certified copy of the '"Filings-Proceedings",
which wil] hereinafter be referred to as ©
"Docket Sntries" (Supp. ,p.i).

The Appellent!'states in paragraph. 5
of her: motion.for 4-day extension to and
including; Septefber 12%, 1969 for filing
her Bri¢f, copy of which motion nd Amend- ~
ment thereto beinr on pages iv-x of Suppl,,
that the Order of ...0 onie. wep vy vaierk
sranting the extension to. and including
September 8, 1969, had a stamped notice
thereon that »o further extension should
be requested However, the notice did
not indicate that, in event of emergent
need, arisin, from necessitous circume
stances, no further extension would be
sranted,

Appellant stated in paragraph 5 of
her motion for the 4-day extension for
filing her brief that the undersigned
attorney for the Appellant telephoned the
Clerk's Office on September 5, 1969,
which was three days before expiration
of the extended time, talked with Mr,
Richard Windhorst, Senior Clerk, after
requesting to talk with the Chief Deputy
Clerk and being informed he wes not avail-e
able; that the undersigned attorney then
made request over the telephone to the
Senior Clerk for a 3-day extension for

~-10=

filing the Brief; that the Senior Clerk
then said the extension would be sranted
if the undersigned would mail letter re-
quest for it and send copy of the letter.
to opposing counsel, which the undersigned
did, The motion of the Appellee to dis-~
miss the appeal contains statements 81so
that counsel for the Plaintiff made oral
request on September 5, 1969, for an
additional extension and followed that
with a letter of September 6, 1969,
Showing frrounds for seeking the extension,
but contends that the grounds set forth.
in the undersigned's letter of September
6th were insufficient,

Paragraph 6 of the motion of the Ap=
pellant for 4-day extension-to and in-
Cluding September 12, 1969, reads:

"6, In that letter, addressed

to the Chief Deputy Clerk anda
Chief Clerk, which was received

in the Clerk's Office on Sep-
tember 8, 1969, the undersigned
requested 3 or 4 day extension
from September 8, 1969, and stated
the 4 day extension was urgently
needed, On this morning, Septem-.
ber 9, 1969, the undersigned re-
ceived telephone call from Mr,
Wimdhorst, in which he stated a
telegram and telephone call had
been received from Opposing coun-
sel in opposition to further ex-
tension for filing Appellent's
Prief,’ Mr, Windhorst requested
that motion be sent for the ex-
tension of 4 days requested and
indiceted, insofar, as the Clerk's

s

wits

Office was concerned, it would
be favored," (Supp. ,p.vii )

| The copy of the Docket Entries in the :
certified record contains the following
entries: . :

"1/10/69 Fle, Motion of Apnellant

for &xt,. of time for Filing brief",
"9/15/69 Appellant's Amendment of f
Her Motion for a 4eday extension" ,(Supp,p.i

The number ‘of the month shown in said
entry "1/10/69" obviously is a typographicel
error and was intended to be "9/10/69",

the last date entry above it being

"9/2/69,

In “Appellant's Amendment of Her
Motion for a 4-day Time Extension". for
filing her brief, copy of which in the

certified record, she struck paragraph

7 of her said motion, substituted there- _
for and in lieu thereof the following:

"7, The undersigned is mainly
‘responsible for arranring the
continued urrently needed stay
of his 86-year old father, a
Widower, as a patient ina medi-
cal-care nursing home, located
about 125 miles from.Atlanta, Ga,,
where the undersigned has his
office and about. 15 miles from
where his father had been living,
and for insuring that his father
has special medical csre when
needed over anc ebove that pro-
vided by said home, It was neces-
sary for the undersigned to assume
financial responsibility for keeping

-

; 312—

"his father in that nursing home
for most of the time he has been
@ patient there, -In order to
carry out his responsibility for

_ insuring needed medical care and
causing his father's bills at”
that home to be paid, part of
which paid by the undersigned,

, lt has been necessary for the
undersigned to make very frequent
trips to the nursing home and to
Svend considerable time on the
trips on matter nearby in which
his father has a financial in-
terest,

During vart of last year, the
undersigned was a Conrressional
candidate and for several months
thereafter was a contestant in
election fontests as to’the out-
come of that race, One of those
contests is not yet determined,
Durine thet period of time, in
which he lost much time from his
law practice,-.there became an ace
cumulation of matters of an emer-
ment nature in his practice, It
became necessary for-’him to obtain
leave of absence from a Court in
Atlanta part of this year because
of said situation, ~ In reéent weeks,
he has been under a heavy load of
work in his practice, barely having
time to get enough rest, such that
. he has not been able to take time
to get very urgently needed dental’
care and work, the lack of which is
adversely affecting his general
health,". :

-13-

"In order to get completed Appel-
lant's Brief in this appeal in
time to have it mailed, Air Mail,
on Sevtember 12, 1969, last day
of the time extension he had re-
quested by motion, necessary for
him to work on the Brief in his
office all night on nicht of
September 11, 1969, "(Sunn, pvp,
ix-x),

?

fhe father of the undersigned attorney
died on November 5, 1969, et the Nursine
Home to which reference is made in the
said Amendment to the motion,

It is requested that reference be
made to an entry in the Docket Sheet, en-
titled "Filines-Proceedings", which is
vase i in the "Supplement.to the State-
ments of the Case” hereinafter and is page
2 of the certified Transcript of the re-
cord, the entry heing "9/12/69 Fle, Motion
of Appellee to Dismiss",

It is requested that reference be made
also to the two Exhibits thet are atteched
in the certified record and in the "Sup-
plement to the Statement of the Case"
hereinafter beneath and to the motion of
appellant for reconsideration as to the
Order filed October 1, 1969 and for re-
instatement of the appeal, said Exhibits
being pares xxxi and xxxii of said "Sup-
plement", which follows next herein the
last page of this "Statement of the Case”,

With respect to.said two exhibits,
paragraph 10’of the motion for recone
. Sideration as to the Order filed October

«jin

1, 1969, and for reinstatement of the
appeal reads as follows, that motion
being Document 14 in the certified record
and beginning on page xx of the "Supple-
ment to the Statement of the Case";

"The original of notations and
Post Mark made and initialed

by Mir, James F, Wright, Post
Office Clerk, who received the

two boxes (one containing 12
copies of Appellant's Brief and
the other containing 13 copies

of it) at a window of the Federal 2
Annex, the main Post Office in
Atlanta, Georrid, between 11:30

and 12:00 P.M, on September 12,
1969, and a signed Statement by
Mr, Wright obtained from him,

the oririnal thereof, as to that
mailing are ettached to the ori-
final of this motion, and photo-
copies of the said initialed no-
tations and Signed statement of
Mr, Wright are attached to each
copy of the motion, and made parts
hereof," :

In the statement obtained from said
Mr, Wright three days after said mailing
thet is one of said two exhibits, the
Post Office Window Clerk, Mr, James F,
Wright, says:

"Qn the- 9/12/69, Mr, Lowe* mailed
two packagzes Air Mail to New Or-
leans, La,

"They were mailed between. 11: 30
, PeM. & 12:00 P.M, ofr that date
“and addressed to;

ay

ar

a

~

Py

Chief Deputy Clerk

U, S, Court of Appeals
5 Circuit ..

400 Royal Street

New Orleans, La,"

The notations on the said Exhibit
bearing the initials "J, F, W, Clk,",
which are the initials he signed, and
bearing the Post Mark."Sep 12, 1969",
with his.signed initials in the Post
Merk also, together show that $5,73 was
paid for postage for one of the packages
and %6,23 was paid for postage for the
other package on September 12, 1969,

In this connection, an applicable
part of Rule 25 (a) of the Federal Rules
of Appellate Procedure is quoted next:

"##%Filing may be accomplished
by mail addressed to the clerk,
but filing shall not be timely
unless the papers are received
by the clerk. within the time
fixed for filing, except that
briefs and appendices shall be
deemed filed on the day of
mailing if the most expeditious
form of delivery by mail, ex-
cepting special delivery, is
utilized,” (Emphasis added)

It is thus clear that it was necessary
for the 25 offset printed copies of .
Appellant's Brief to be deemed filed
on September 12, 1969, such mailing Air
‘ail of them being “the most expeditious
form of delivery by.,mail, excenting
Special delivery", | ia

athe

” rurthernore. it is also clear that
the 25 offset printed copies of Appel-
lant's brief were not deemed either by
the Clerk or by the three-judge panel as
filed on September 12, 1969, although
the post marks on the packages and the
"Air Mail" stampings on them Showed they
had been mailed Air Mseil on September 12,
1969, An entry in the "Filings-Proceed-
ings", which is page i in the said "Su-
pplement to the Stetement of the Case"
hereinafter and page 2 of the certified
lrenscript of the Record, reads; "O425460,
Higy-Appedtiantts-Beief ()),"

It is evident that the filing was ori-
sinally indicated on the Docket Sheet
by some Deputy Clerk, other than Mr,
Ganucheau, the Chief Deputy Clerk, or
Mr, Windhorst, the Senior Clerk, since
the initial "(MM)" was not the initial
for the last name -of either, It is
Shown in the motion of the Appellant for
the 4-day time extension, her motion for
reconsideration and reinstatement, and
her reply to the motion to dismiss, all
being in the certified Record and in the
“Supplement to the Statement of the Case"
hereinafter that the only Deputy Clerk
with whom the undersigned talked in his
telephone calls made to the Clerk's Of-
fice were Mr, Ganucheau or Mr, Windhorst,

It is obvious that the Deputy Clerk
who made the original entry as to the
time of filing Of Appellant's Brief as
"9/15/69", “which entry being later
marked over and no entry being shown on
the Docket Sheet as to such filing being
on September 12, 1969, disregarded the

ae al

%

«1%=

post marks of "Sep 12 69", the stampings
of "Air Mail" on the two packages of the
briefs before the wrappings were removed,
and the herein before quoted applicable
part of Rule 25 (a), A, R, A, P.

In conjunction with the foregoing
statements, there is Quoted next para-
graph 8 of Appellant's motion fcr re-
consideration as to the two- paragraph
Order filed October 1, 1969 and for re-
instatement of the appeal, which motion
and amendment thereto being on pages xx
through xxxv of the S@id Supplement here-
inefter: . \

\
si «a Deputy Clerk of this
Court informed appellant's
attorney ina telephone ton-
versation in afternoon of\
October-10, 1969 that boxes

to be déstwyed at about the time
briefs received in the Clerk's
Offices, the two cardboard boxes, ome

were mailed, Air Mail, by the
undersigned at a Window of the |
main Atlanta Post Office afew .
minutes before Midnight of Sept-
ember 12, 1969, ana each post-
marked "S&P 12 1969", A letter
of transmittal was enclosed in |
the cardboard box containing the
copies of the appendix, that was

?

—————E

-18—

received in the Clerk's office
on September 2, 1969 timely,
the box having been sent by Air
mxpress, However, no letter of
transmittal was enclosed in either
of the two cardboard boxes, one
conteining 12 copies of Appellant's
brief, and the other containing |
13 copies of that Brief, in this
appeal, both mailed at same time,
Air Mail, postage prepaid, in the
Atlanta Post Office. by the under-
Signed before midnight of Septen-
ber 12, 1969, and received in the
Clerk's Office on September 15,
1969, @ Mondey; and not any: Letter
as to.transmittal of the copies of
that Srief was ever sent, separately,
_to the Clerk's Office, The under-
- Signed had stated over telephone
on September 11, 1969 to the
Chief Deniuty»Clerk that he would
mail, Air Mail, on September 12,
1969. the copies of Appellant's
Brief for filing,

In said quoted paragraph 8, the under-
Signed attorney for the Appellant states
no letter of transmittal was enclosed in
either of ‘the two cardboard boxes con-
_ taining a total of 25 copies of Appellant's
Brief mailed, Air Mail, by him at a window
of the main Atlanta Post Office a few
Minutes before midnight of September Le.
1969, However, it is Stated in the last
Sentence is said quoted paragraph 8 that;

"The undersigned had stated over
telephone on September 11, 1969
to the Chief Deputy Clerk that

Y
/

wit

he would mail, Air Mail, on
September 12, 1969 the copies
of Appellant's Brief for filing,"

- Since September 12 was a Friday and the
Office of the Clerk of that Court of Appeals
is closed on Saturdays, it is evident that
the two said boxes could not be received
in that Clerk's office until the following
Monday, September 15, In this connection,
reference is made to page ii-a of the
Supplement hereto whereon appears a
photographic copy oft a letter of the
Chief Deputy Clerk, dated January 23,
1970, to the undersigned attorney with
respect to Appellant's Brief in the case,
The original of that letter is attached
on top of the first page of the certified
Transcript of the Record, but it is not
one of the documents in that Transcript
to which the certificate of the Clerk
relates, |

It definitely appears, therefore, that
the three-Judge panel, which in their
Order filed October 1, 1969, denied Ap-
pellant’s motion for 4-day extension "to
and including September 12, 1969" for
filing the Brief, as stated in the Order
as if it were a motion for extension "to
and including September 15, 1969" and
eranted Appellee's motion to dismiss the
appeal on grounds the Brief had not been
filed by September 8, 1969, were unaware
that the date of filing of the Brief,
under Rule 25 (a), F, R, A, P,, would
have been September 12, instead of Sept-
ember 15, 1969, The only entry in the
"Filings-Proceedings" (Supp., p.i),
Which are in Document 5:at front of the

=20e

Transcript of the Record, with respect
to the Brief is "9415/60-¥ig,y-Anvetlanstea
Brief-{4}", This shows that soe Deputy
Clerk, having initial "M", upon receipt
_, of the two boxes of the Briefs. in Clerk's

Office.on Monday, September 15, made said
docket entry and probably, after becoming
aware of the filing of Appellee's motion
to dismiss the appeal, marked over said
docket entry, As stated in the hereir.
before quoted paragraph 8 of the motion
for reconsideration, the undersigned
attorney hed rotified Mr, Ganuchesau,
Chief Deputy Clerk, ina telephone con-
versation on September 11, 1969, that he
would mail the’copies of the Brief, Air
Mail, on September 12, 1969, The said
initial "M" is not an initial on any
name of Mr, Ganucheau, ;

No reply of the Appellee tothe mot-
ion of the Appellant for said 4-day time
extension was ever made, although the
motion to dismiss the appeal was filed
on same date, September 12, 1969, as the
date Appellant's 4rief was lawfully due
to be deemed filed, Citations of de-.

cisions will be riven in the "Ar ment"
hereinafter that show in effect. a
motion to dismiss an apvea or failure
“Of an appellant to file timely a brier
should not be eranted if the motion is
not filed before the Brief is filed,

Moreover, the Appellee did not file
@ reply to Appellant's motion for recon-
Sideration as to the Order of October 1,
1969 and reinstatement of the appeal,
which motion was entertained by the
Said three-Judge panel and denied by

oeccR ees “a
Rcrmbeceuics on

“™
uety

-21-

Order filed November 11, 1969, until 12
days: after the motion had been served or
11 days after it had been filed, He was
later in filing his said reply to the
motion, under applicable 27 (a) and (b),
F., Rk, A, P,, than Appellant was as to the
time her Brief was due to be deemed filed,

under applicable Rule 25 (a), Federal
Fules of Appellate. Procedure. Part ofsaid
Rule 27 (a), and al] of (b) F. Rk, A. a.
are quoted’ next:

"(a)#### Any party. may file a
response in opposition toa
motion other than one'for a
procedurel order (for which
see subdivision (b)) within ~
7 days after service of the
motion, but motions authori-
zed by Rules 8, 9, 18 and 41,
may be acted upon after reason-
able notice, and the court
may shorten or extend the
time for responding to any
motion,"

"(b) Determination of Motions
for Procedural Orders, Not-

» withstanding the provisions
of the preceding paragraph
as to motions senerajly, o
motions for procedural or-
ders, including any motion
under Rule 26 (b) may be. '
acted upon at any time, with-
out awaiting a response there-
to, -Any party adversely af-
fected by such action may re-
quest reconsideration, vaca-
tion or modification of such

ed

action,”

The second page of the "Filings-Pro-
ceedings" (Supp,,p.ii) shows motion of
Appellant for reconsideration was filed
"10/16/69" and Appellee's reply thereto
was not filed until "10/27/69", ‘The
Certificate of Service at end of Ap- -
pellant’s motion for reconsideration
shows service of & copy by mailing on
October 15, 1969 (Supp., p. xxx), Ap-
pellee was, therefore, five days late,
under Rule 27 (a) and‘(b), F, eS Ree ae
in filing his reply to said motion,

»
«
an,
‘
«
a
¢

i

. o

SUPPLEMENT TO THE "STATEMENT OF THE CASB:
COPIES OF DOCUMENTS IN THE CERTIFIED TRAN-
. SCRIPT OF THE RECORD ~

=-

27903

—

Date r. Filings-Proceedings
7/22/69 |} Fle, Appellant's Motion for
com exteysion.of Time to File
Appendix and Brief, GRANTED- _
30 days from court ruling on . .
, motion to strike & dismiss, ;
8/1/69 .- Fle. Order DeéNYING motions of
appellee to strike; further
DENYING appellee motion to’
dismiss appeal (WPG ILG DWD), at

aoahoe Pig, Supo, Record, — settee
3/25/69 Fle, Second Supplemental Re-
__. cord _on Appeal,
-97/2/69 Flg, ext, to 9/8/69 -.Appel-
‘ lant's Br, & Revroduced Ap-
pendix - (GG) NF&

— 9/2/69 ~ Flp. Appendix (m) (Vols, 1.
: - thru IV), (only 4 copies of |
+ VWol,-IV), aa a

1/10/69 : Fle, Motion of Appellant for
9/10/69 ; #xt, of Time for filing brief,
fe: : Flg, Gxt, to 9/12/69 = Ap-

. pellant's Br, - (REW)
9712/69 . Fig, Motion of appellee to

-; @Qismiss, x
9/15/69 * Fle. Appellant's Reply to

' Motion of the Appel tee ee

___ Dismiss Appeal ( copies), :
9/15769 ; Fils, Appellant's Amendment. of

Her Motion for a 4-day exten

} - gion...
SEE ar Coa sa=es ~Appeiiansla—neier—om
10/1/69

el

_— ae =

oo

10727769

11/3/69

Seid: o_o i ee

=
=
=
\o
ice: coe

dismiss appeal; further. DENYING
/ appellant's motion for rein-
| “statement of appeal(HT LRM GHC),

6;

Vv

oO

ii-a

1 | United States Court of Appeals :
i FIFTH CIRCUIT

WADSWORTH OFFICE OF THE CLERK ; ROOM 408-490 WOYAL ST.
oar NEW ORLEAN. LA. 70130

January 23, 1970

ie, Wyman C, Lowe

Attorney at Law :

761 Carnegie Bidg.

Atlanta, Ga. 30303 . ores

uear Mr. Lowe:

NG, 27303 - Warwick v. Segan-

Conslying with your roquest by letter cated January
1S, this letter » ti certify that your orief ih the
above CaSe@ was recesived and filed in tinis office
moiday, Septembs. 15, eso: that under our practice
h wrappings, enve Lanes 1e8, packarmes, etc. are
estroyeu immediately wie. received and there is no
cord of the postmark date of trausmittal of the
ief available in cur file, nor does ovr file con-
in a@ covering letter of transmission of the brief.

=

Very truly ours,

EDWARD W, WADSWORTH, Clerk

G. F, Canuchead
Chief Deputy Clerk

GG :adg

ce~Mr. H, Shelton Philins

Z

sesceeccs C8 Ric sc eceeccecs *

111i

U,S, Court of Appeals
FIL
bd ——
P F
?
°
= 4
‘
.
e
¥ *
Fk Fi
‘
¢
,
°
s ° . -
° >
-
é .
i .
« t
’
: e
*
.
es
P .
‘
. f° *
® £ nm
e =. ;
’
* ’ ? *
e .
: P
ee 1
¢ s * ad
'
4 - . :
~ :
i
=e «
’
e

Vv

2.

Appellant's counsel on June 13, 1969, be-

fore the record was filed, and copy of

mation to dismiss "Appellant's Amended *
Designation of the Parts of the Record ai
Which She Intends to Include in the |
Appendix, striking said former Designation
and substituting therefor and in lieu
thereof a new Designation, copy of said |
Amended Designation having been served by
mailing to Appellee's counsel on June 27,
1969, “Within the next few days,. ppellee's
counsel served by mailing a copy of a
‘motion -to strike "Appellant's Amended
Statement of the Issues Which She Intends
to Present for Review", of which copy had
been served by mailing on June,27, 1969

to Appellee's counsel; and also served by
mailing on July 5, 1969 copy of a motion
to strike some of the said pleadings of the
Appellant or dismiss the appeal,.

ae 5

3. Appellant's undersigned attorney was
left in a state of uncertainty from the date
of receiving copies of said first motions,
served on July 2, 1969, whetherto proceed
with preparation and printing of the Appendix
* and Appellant's Brief’ or not until he re-
ceived on August 2, 1969 a Memo from the
Clerk, dated August 1, 1969, with accompanying
copy of Order of a three Judge panel showing
that the motions to strike and the motion to
dismiss the appeal were denied, He had pre-
viously received a Memo, dated July 24, 1969,
from the Clerk's Office Showing that on that
date "An extension’ of time to and including
30 days from Court ruling on motion to strike
and dismiss" has been granted "for filing re-
produced copies of the record---for filing
appellant’s brief," Subsequently, the under-
Signed wrote inquiry to the Chief Deputy Clerk
Whether "filing reproduced copies of the 4

vi
3

record" meent, in effect, filing 10 copies
of the Appendix, as designated by the Appel-
lant, and received reply that it did, Thus,
the time for filing the Appendix and Appel-
lant's Brief was extended to and including
August 31, 1969, as August 31 was a Sunday _
and September 1, was Labor Day, the time was,
in ao extended to and including September
2,- i909, : )

4," On that date, September 2, 1969, 10-re- -
“produced copies of the Appendix for the Briefs
and four reproductions of all the exhibits, as
part of the Appendix, were received in the
Clerk's Office, On August 29, 1969, the under-
Signed telephoned the ‘Chief Deputy Clerk and re-
quested extension to and including September 8,
1969, for both filing the Appendix and Appellant's
Brief, stating frounds therefor, The Chief Deputy
Clerk stated to him then that, if he would write
letter to the Chief Deputy Clerk requesting ‘such
extension and mail copy of it to opposing counsel,
the extension would be granted, The undersigned
wrote such letter and so mailed a copy, stating :
grounds for the requested extension, Subsequently,
he received copy of Order Signed.by the Chief De-
puty Clerk granting thé extension to and including
September 8, 1969, | wae tes

5. On September 5, 1969, the undersigned
attorney telephoned the Clerk's Office and re-
quested to talk with the Chief Deputy Clerk,

Upon being informed’ that he was not available,

the undersigned ‘talked with Mr, Richard Windhorst,
Senior Clerk, Request was made to him for a three
day extension for filing Appellant's Brief, and Mr,
Windhorst was then informed that the Order of the
Chief Deputy Clerk granting said extension to and .
including September.-38, 1969 had on it a stamped no-
tation to effect that no further extension. should b
requested, Mr, Windhorst stated the exténsion

6

Ss

¥

4,

would be eranted if the undersigned mailed
letter request for it and sent copy of the
letter to opposing counsel, which the under-
Signed did, | .

6, In that letter, addressed to the
Chief Deputy Clerk and Chief Clerk, which
wes received in the Clerk's Office on
September 8, 1969, the undersigned requested

3 or 4 day extension from September 8, 1969,
and stated the 4 day extension was urgently
needed, On this morning, September 9, 1969,
the undersiened received telephone call from
Mr, Windhorst, in which he Stated a telegram
énd telephone call had been received from
opposing counsel in Opposition to further ex=
tension for filing Appellant's Brief. Mr,
Windhorst requested that motion be sent for
the extension of 4 days requested and indi-
cated, insofar, as the Clerk's Office was con-
cerned, it would be favored,

fo “ae undersigned continues to have necessity
of making frequent trips to his father, who is
6 years of are and a-patient in a medical
care nursing home, located :about 125 miles
from Atlanta, and to have to “look after" his
father, The pressure of accumulated matters ©
in the practice of the undersigned, matter of
energent nature, is very great, He practices
alone, His work load is so Sreat that he is
unable to get urgently needed dental care,- the
lack of which is affecting his health, =a
Ee .
WHEREFORE, Appellant moves that an extension’
to and including September 12, 1969, be granted
for filing Appellant's Brief,

WYMAN C, LOWE
ATTORN#Y FOR APPELLANT

«-

villi

-e

701 Carnegie Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30 303

CHRTIFICATS OF SSRVICH

' I hereby certify that I have on this
date, Sept, 9, 1969, served @ copy of the
foregoing motion upon Appellee's counsel,
by mailing in the U, S, Mails, postage pre-
paid, a copy addressed to Ramseur, Bradhan,
Lyle, Skipper and Cramer, 699 First Avenue,
North, St, Petersburg, Floride,

/S/ Wyman C, Lowe
WYMAN C, LOWE

« ~ é
“ity “
« + Jee .
v che - 2 allie
=* 34
%

3 ON uN
WYMAN C, LOWE

Attorney At Law )
Suite 701, Carnegie Building
133 Carnegie Way, N, W,
Atlenta, Georgia 30303
September 6, 1969

/
Mr, Gilbert F, Ganucheau,
Chief Deputy Clerk, and :
Mr, Windhorst, Senior Clerk,
United States Court of Appeals
Fifth Circuit | ,
400 Royal Street-Room 408
New Orleans, Louisiana

RE: WARWICK Vs. SEGAN-gNo, 27903
Dear Mr, Windhorst and Mr, Ganucheau:

The time limitation for filing the
required number of copies of Appellant's
Brief and the Appendix for the Briefs in
the above Styled appeal, as extended by
an Order by Mr, Ganucheau, Chief Deputy
Clerk, will be to and including Septem-
ber 8, 1969, The time limitation by
which both were due to be filed before
any extension of time was gsranted was
until and including September 2, 1969,
which was the next day after Labor Day,
& Monday, Ten copies of the Appendix
and four sets or volumes of reproductions
of the Exhibits included in the Appendix

+ Sey ry rece
,

vili-b

not available, I requested a three-day
extension beyond “September 8, 1969, for:
filing the required 25 copies of Appel-
lant's Brief, Mr, Windhorst Stated that
extension would be sranted upon my making

the letter to Apvellee's counsel,

The Appendix for the Brief consists

sreat task, I, as Appellant's attorney,
have been devoting much of my time to it,
but urgently need and request a 3 or 4
day extension beyond September 8, 1969,
for complying with the &applicable Rules
@S to filing of the Brief,

Sreat, so great [ can not take time. to
Set some urgently needed dental work
done,

_ Under these conditions, I'1] greatly
&ppreciate an extension until and in- '
Cluding September 12, 1969, which I

‘ . vilii-c

need for filing Appellant's Brief under
applicable Rules, or at least until and
_ including September ll, 1969, for that
purpose, ~ , |

I have mailed, postage prepaid, in
the U, S, Mails a copy of this letter
properly addressed to counsel of record
for thé Appellee, Ramseur, Bradham, Lyle,
Skipper & Cramer, 699 First Avenue North,
St, Petersburg, Florida,

Kindly mail Air Mail to me copy of
the Order as to this request, Enclosed
are Air Mail stamps,

Sincerely yours,

Wyman C, Lowe

WCLiwb

1x .
| _U.S, COURT OF APPZALS
PILED
SEP 15 1969

EDWARD W, WADSWORTH
CLERK

APPELLANT'S AMENDMENT OF HER MOTION
FOR A 4-DAY TIME EXTENSION

BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK, Avpellant in the
above styled apneal, amends as follows her
previously filed and served motion for a

-day extension from September 8, 1969,
for filing ‘ppellant's Brief;

By striking paragraph 7 therein, sub-—
Stituting therefor and in lieu thereof

Na

the*followine:

"7, The undersigned is mainly 4espon-
Sible for arranging the continued urgently
needed stay of his 86-year old father, a
Widower, as a patient ina medical-care
nursing home, located about 125 miles from
Atlanta, Georriam where the undersigned has
his office and about 15 miles from where
his father had been living, and for insuring
that his father has special medical care
when needed.over and above that provided by
Said home, It was necessary for the under-
Slgned, to assume financial responsibility
for keeping his father in that nursing,
home for most of the time he has been a
patient there, In order to carry out his
responsibility for insuring needed medical
care and causing his father's bills at that
home to be paid, part of which paid by the
undersigned, it has been necessary for the

Document No, 12

a

undersigned to make ‘very freauent trinvs

to the nursine home and to snend considerable
time on the trins on a matter nearby in which
| his father has a financial interest, |

During the part of last year, the under-
Signed was a Conrressional candidate and
for several months thereafter was a contestant
in election contests as to the outcome of that
race, One of those contests is not yet deter-
mined, During that period of time, in which
he lost much time from his law practice, there
became an accumulation of matters of an emergent
nature of his practice, It became necessary
for him to obtain leave of absence from a :
Court in Atlanta part of this year because
of said situation, in recent weeks, he hes
been under a heavy load of work in his practice,
barely having, time to ret enourh rest, such.
that he has not been able to take time to get
very urzently needed dental care and work, the
lack of which is adversely affecting his reneral
health, ,

In order to ret completed Apnellant's —
brief in this anpeal in time to have it
méiled, Air jail, on September 12, 1969,
last day of the time extension he had re-
quested by motion necessary for him to
work on the @rief in his office and on night
of September 11, 1969,"

WYMAN C. LOVE
Attorney for Appellent
Corivinal si-sned)
701 Carnezie Buildinz
Atlenta, Seortia
SERTIFICAT®S OF SERVISE
I hereby certify that I have on this date fuinished
counsel for said Appellee with a copy hereof by me i.iing,
posteze prepaid, a copy in the U. S. Mails, addressed to
Remseur, Bradham, Lyle, Skipper end Cramer, 699 First
Avenue North, St. Petersburg, Fle. J

WYMAN ©. LOWE (Orisinal sizned)

og eT rere

U, S, COURT OF APPEALS
FILED
SEP 12 1969 ae

EDWARD W, WADSWORTH
CL2RK

MOTION TO DISMISS

The defendant appellee, BARRY §S, SEGAN,
by- and throurh his undersigned attorneys,
hereby moves this Court for an Order dis-
missing this appeal for ailure totimely
prosecute his anneal in Ves saatuce with
the Federal Rules of Appellate Frocedure,

As mrounds for seeking this Order,
defendant refers to Order jof this Court
dated September 2, 1969 allowing plain-
tiff an additional time to\file her brief,
the Order further stated that no further
extension of time should be, requested, On
Sevtember 5, 1949, counsel for vlaintiff
made oral request for an additional ex-
tension, and followed this with a letter of
September 6, 1969, formulatine her grounds
for seeking the added extension, Plaintiff's
grounds for extension as therein set forth
are Simply insufficient to continue allowing
time extensions, when such extensions are
clearly not within the "Fifth Circuit Policy”
Notice from Chief Judge John R, Brown, which
accompanied the Spetember 2, 1969 Order of
Court,

WHEREFORE, Defendant prays for an Order
dismissing the above Styled anneal with
pre judice,

/S/_James R, Lyle

of Ramseur, Bradham, Lyle, . 2
Skipper & Cramer

699 First Avenue North ,

St, Petersburr, Florida 33701
Attorneys for Defendant Appellee,

Document No, 10

as Af

xii

U.S, COURT OF APPEALS
FILED
SEP 15 1969"
EDWARD W, WADSWORTH
CAPTION OMITTED CLERK

APPELLANT'S REPLY 0 MOTION oF.
THE APPELLEE TO DISMISS APPEAL

we

BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK, Appellant in-«
the above styled appeal, responds as
follows to the motion of the Appellee,
BARRY S, SEGAN, to dismiss the appeal
for alleged failure to prosecute timely
the appeal in, accordance with the Federal
Rules of Appellate Procedure, copy of the
motion having been served by mailing on
September 9, 1969: -
~/ LF 4
.. 1. (On August 1, 19692) an Onder of a
three-Judge panel of.-thif Court was
filed in this appeal, ithe Order denied
the motions of the Appellee to strike
and métion of the-Appellee to dismiss
the appeal, The Appellee's counsel of
record had served five or six motions by
mailing to the undersigned attorney for
the Appellant between July 1, 1969 and
July 7, 1969, One of said motions ser-
ved by mailing on July 2, 1969, was a motion
to dismiss the anpeal and another said
motionrwas one served by mailing on
July 5 or 6, 1969, alternatively, to
dismiss the appeal, or strike certain
papers filed for\the Appellant, The
remainder of said motions were to strike
certain papens filed for the Appellant, -
Every one of the motions to strike, .the
motions to dismiss, and the motion to
dismiss or to strike were served by the
Appellee by mailing prior to the serving
by mailing of the Appvellee's motion to
dismiss the appeal to which response is
made herein, Thev wére predicated, each
one, upon the erroneous assumption that
the record on appeal had been filed prior

Document No. 11

to June 17, 1969, However, a Memo that -
the undersigned had received from the Clerk's
Office on or about June 18, 1969, dated

June 17, 1969, indicated that the record

on appeal was filed that day, One of the
motions to strike was to strike "Appellant's
Amended Desirnation of .the Parts of the
Record Which She Intends to Include in the
Appendix", served by mailins on June 27.
1969, in which Appellant struck her De-

' Slgnation that had been served prematrely

on June 13, 1969, Substituted therefore and
in lieu thereof her "Designation of the :
Parts of the Record Which She Intends to |
Include in the Appendix", Another of the
Said motions to strike was one to strike
"Appellant's Amended Statement of the

view", served by mailing on June 27, 1969,
in which Appellant struck her previously
served Statement, substituted therefore and
in lieu thereof her "Statement of the
Issues Which She Intends to Present for

' Review", ; ‘

a, Thiz attorney had received prior
to receiving a copy of said Order, filed
August l, 1969, denying the motions to
Strike and the motion to dismiss, a Memo

from the Clerk's Office indicating that
days from date of Order on “motion to

Strike & dismiss" would be granted "for
filing reproduced copies of the record"

Xiv

3.

Signated for the Appellant, and received
reply to the effect that it did, Said’
30-day extension from August 1, 1969, was
to and including Aveust 31, 1969, Since
August 31, 1969 was a Sunday and September
1, 1969, Labor Day, a legal holiday, said .
extension was: effective to and. including
September 2, 1969,

3, On that date, September 2, 1969,
10 copies of the Appendix, as designated for
the Appellant and reproduced by offset
printing, together with 4 reproductions of
each of the about 30 designated Exhibits, as
part of the Appendix, were timely received
in the Clerk's Office
‘eo

ead

xxxiv
| &s

time to get very urgently needed

dental care and work, the lack of
which is adversely affecting his

general health,’

"In connection with the said part of
Appellant's grounds in her motion for
the 4-day extension and in support of
her motion for reconsideration as to
the Order filed October 1, 1969, and
for reinstatement of the appeal, a Signed
statememt of a dentist with resveét to
Appellant's attorney, Wyman C, Lowe, is
attached hereto and made part hereof,
original being attached to this 2 vege
original,

/S/ Wyman C, Lowe

wes WYMAN C, LOWE
Attorney for Appellant

701 Carnegie Building
Atlante, Georgia 30303

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICES

I hereby certify that I have on this date,
October 30, 1969, served a copy of the
foregoing amendment and exhibit atteched
beneath upon counsel of record for said
Appellee by mailing in the U, S, Meils,
postage prepaid, a copy, addressed to
Ramseur, Bradham, Lyle, Skipper and
Cramer, 699 First Avenue North, St,
Petersburg, Florida,

/S/ Wyman C, Lowe
WYMAN C, LOWE
Attorney

“te

€ Shoe Sees Seine A aia a tee ee ene ae cai

xXXV

PETER A, JENSEN, ., D. D. S.
2706 Clairmont Rad, N, &,
Atlanta 6, Georgie

ME 6-6066
October 30, 1969
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

Mr, Wyman C, Lowe was in mv office at
4:00 P,M,, July 28, 1969, He had a badly
broken down right molar which was an
abutment to a four unit bridge, I re-
commended extraction of these teeth and
other teeth in the lower arch, He had a
great deal of infection around these teeth
which-held the fixed bridgework in Sri

Mr, Lowe was back in my office Oct,
30, 1969 at 4:00 P.M, At this time I
examined him again and found that the
bridge on the righ’ side had broken out
and he had lost a front tooth due to a
periodontal condit on,

His general dental condition has ad-
versely affected his health, at his age
of 64 years,

He was presented this afternoon with
a treatment vlan which he said he in-
tends to follow throurh with,

‘ S/ Peter A, Jensen, Jr,
PETER A, JENSEN, JR., D.D.S, ;

» ————

ere $4 f
jy eg eek
yg Ng upt OF \PPEALs
PTs
ey,
NOV 11 1969

.? EDWARD W., WADSWORTH
| | CLERK

IN THE UNITED STATES cCouURT OF APPEALS
: FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No, 27903

“BETTY PITTMAN WARWICK,

Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
BARRY S, SEGAN, $
Defendant~/ ppellee,

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Before, THORNBERRY, MORGAN ana CARSWELL,
. Circuit Judges,

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that appellant's motion
for reconsideration of this Court's order
denying appellant's motion for a four day
extension of time for the filing of her
brief and granting appellee's motion to
dismiss the appeal is hereby DENIED,

motion for reinstatement of this appeal
is hereby DENIED,

' Document No, 18 g

QQ

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that appellant's

eC

NUS
«23s

(g) BASIS FOR FEDERAL/JURISDICTION
IN THe COURT OF THE FIRST INSTANC#,

The basis for federal jurisdiction in
this case in the court of the first in-
stance, the United States District Court,
Middle District of Florida, Tampa Divi-
Sion, in which the complaint was filed
and the case tried before a jury, was
complete diversity of citizenship of the
plaintiff and defendant and the fact the
amount in controversy was $100,000,00;
more than $10,000.00, exclusive of court

costs,
(h) ARGUMENT

A motion of the Appellee, Harry S,
Segan, for dismissal of the appeal on
grounds of failure of Appellant to file
her brief by September 8, 1969, was not
filed prior to Sevtember 12, 1969, and
was filed on that dete, which was the
date Appellant was entitled, under ap-
plicable provisions in Rule 25 (a),
Federal Rules of Appellate Frocedure,
for her Brief to be deemed filed, That
fppellant, Betty Pittman Warwick, was
entitled to the filing of her 2rief as
of September 12, 1969, has been esta-
blished hereinbefore in the "Statement
of the Case", including the "Supplement"
thereto, which contains copies of various
relevant documents certified in the Trans-
erint of the Record,

Since the motion for such dismissal
on said grournc was not made before the
date of filin: hat Rule 25 (a), PLR:
A, P,, makes it mandatory for Appellant's
Brief to be de aed filed, the motion to

~ 2h

dismiss the appeal should not have been
granted, according to the following de-
cisions: |

any attempt was made to take advantage
Of itkkx 1

Bingham y, Morris, 3L Ed 28]

Where the record on appeal was duly
received and filed wit the Clerk

appearance had not, through inadver-
tence, been complied with; and
afterwards, on a compliance with such
rules, the case was docketed and ap -
pearance entered a subsequent mo-
tion to dismiss for not docketing

the case in time will not be granted.

Richardson v. Green, 130 US 104,
32 L ed 872. |

saa a

_-25=

Appellant filed timely on September
2, 1969, the very lengthy Appendix, con-
Sisting of three offset printed volumes,
having total of about 750 pages, and a
volume containing reproductions of very
many exhibits, The date she was entitled
by said Rule 25 (a), F. R, A. P., for her
Brief to be deemed filed was only 4 days
after it was due to be filed, Such file
ing was at most a non-jurisdictional de-
fect in the prosecution of the appeal
and not sufficient to warrant dismissal,
according to the following decisions, the
first which was a 1956 decision by the
U.S, Court of Appeals, 5th Circuit:

Late filing of record and brief

on appeal wes at most a non-jur-
isdictional defect in the prose-
cution of the appeal and was not
sufficient to warrant dismissal,
Phillips v, Employers' Mut. Lia-
bility Ins, Co, of Wis,, i a a
2d 79

Appeal in an important case would °
not be dismissed because of fail-
ure of appellant's attorney to
file. brief on their behalf within
time required, International
Broth, of Teamsters, etc,, of
America Vv, U, S.. 272.F. 20 11

Where final judgment wes enter-

ed for plaintiff -on March 30, 1940,
and at 2:05 P.M, on April 9, -de-
fendants filed notice of appeal,
together with cost bond on aDv=
peal, and defendants' transcript
of evidence and proceedings: at

{

*
.
a ‘
e .
°.
on »
: ~ F
\ ,
ry
.
*
o
.
.
. .
.
.
. : --
.
\
’
.» .
oe 2
-~
’ ° 3 re
. .
4
.
>
~
.
“—

/

~26=

trial was filed in Court of’
Appeals on July 1, and their
statement of points on was
filed on July 2, appeal would
‘not be dismissed for feilure
to comply with rules concern-
ing time and place for filing
Statement of points relied on,
Since there was no failure by
defendants to take steps to
Secure the review of the jJudr-
ment within Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure which affected
validity of appeal, Fiske v,
Wallace, 115 F, éd 1003, certe-
lorari denied 62 S, Ct, 123,
two cases, 314 U,s, 663, 86 L,
“d, 531, rehearing denied 62
S. Ct, 174, two cases, 314 U,S,
710, 86 L, fd, 566, rehearing
denied 62 S, ct, 910, two cases,
315 U.S, 829, 86 L, td, 1224,

An appeal from an interlocutory order
would not be dismissed On the appellee's
motion because appellant docketed the re-
cord one day after the time permitted’ by
@ valid extension since the deley was de
minimis,

Pacific Coast Na@arine Firemen etc, Assoc
Vv, Coastwide Line, 171 F, 2d 254,

In this connection, the following ad-
ditional citation is miven:

"ett and decisions on the merits
Should not be avoided on basis
of ‘mere technicalities’,

Forman v, Davis, 371. U.S, 178,

~2R-

181, 83 S, Ct, 227, 230, OL.
Bd, 2d 222, 236. é

Appeals should be decided if at
@ll possible on the merits,

Morrison v, Texaco Co, 289 F,
2d 382,

' Appellee's reply in opposition to the
motion for reconsideration and rein-
Statement was filed five days later than
Rule 27 (a), Federal Rule of Appellate
Procedure, authorizes the filing of a ~-
response in opposition to a motion. By
way of comparison, ft is stated that the
date Appellant's Brief deemed filed
under provision in Rule 25 cad, 7, t.

A. P., was four days after the date it
was due to be filed. ©

The certificate of service at end of
Appellant's motion for reconsideration
and reinstatement shows copy thereof
w served upon Appellee's counsel on
Octdber 15, 1969 (Supp., Pp. xxx), and an
entry in "Filings-Proceedings" (Supp. p.
ii) shows the motion was filed October
16, 1969. An entry on the same page of
"Filings-Proceedings" shows the Appel-
lee's reply to that motion was-not filed
until October 27, 1969, 12 days after
the date of serving of a copy of the
motion. The last sentence in Rule 27
(a2, 3; 8. A. P., reads:

“Any party may file a response
in opposition to a motion other
than one for a Procedural order
(for which see subdivision (b)
- within 7 days after service of

eh nett tre Sting enema Pe ER <

-28-

“the motion, but motions authorized by
Rules 8, 9, 18 and 41 may be acted
upon after reasonable(notice, and the -
court may shorten or extend the time
for responding to any motion."

With respect to the statutory time of
90 days from date of entry of a judgment
or order of a final nature in an United
States Court of Appeals for filing in
the Supreme Court of the United States a
petition for certiorari for review, it
is stated thst the main Order a to.
which petitioner seeks review whe filed
On October 1, 1969, and that there has been
tolling of time from October 1, 11969,
to and including’ November» 11, 1969, the
date of filing of: the Order“denying
Appellant's motion for reconsideration
and reinstatement. In support of this
contention, the following citations of
decisions are given:

Consideration and determination by
judge of petition to vacate order
of dismissal and reinstate action
operated to extend time for appeal
from order sought to be vecated
and therefore where appeal from
such order was filed March 15

end order denying petition to va-
cate was entered on February 26,
appeal from order sought to be
vacated was timely, though filed -
more than 150 days after such
order had been entered.

Salmon v. City of Stuart, Fla., 194 F, .
2d 1004,
The running of time for taking an
appeal from a judgment in a civil

-~29-

action is terminated by. the mak-
ing of a timely motion for new trial
‘and does not commence to run again

_ until the motion has been denied.

Kelly v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 228 F.2d
2/, certiorari denied 76 S. Ct. 782,
Jol U..8,. 925, 100 L. bd. 1455.

Where district court entertained
defendant's motion for rehearing

of her motion: to set aside judgment
and for a new trial, original

order refusing to set aside judg-
ment did not become appealable
until motion for hearing was over-
ruled. ; ,

.
Hicklin v. Edwards, 222 F.2d es

Where judgment was rendered on
April 27 and motion for new trial
was Overruled June 10, notice of
appeal was taken from judgment
entered on June 10 was sufficient’
to perfect an appeal from judgment
of April 27, since that was the
only appealable judgment entered
in the cause. at

Wilson v. Southern Ry. Co., 147 F.2d 165.

Motion for reconsideration of

order dismissing complaint terminated
running of time in which to appeal
from the order, but the time
within which to appeal from the

order commenced to run from denial

of the motion.

Yates v. Behrend, 280 F.2d 64, 108 U. §.
App. D. C. 56. t

~ I<

Generally, where a tolling petition
is seasonably made and entertained,
the time for appeal does not begin
to run until after disposition of
the motion. | ' -:

Leishman v. Associated Wholesale Electric
Co., 63 S. Ct. 543, 318 UL S. 203, 87 L.
Ed. 714, rehearing denied 63 S. Ct. 758,
318 U. S. 800, 87. ED. 1163, ° ar:

"If the petitions are to be treated
as petitions for rehearing as the
petitions were in Bowman v. Loprena,
wae es 5, 202. GL 8; Ce, fue eo bs
ED.177, where after a motion for
rehearing had been considered and
denied, the petitioner appealed
from the judgment which he was
seeking to review, we think it
plain that the consideration and
determination of the petitions on
the merits by the judge operated

to extend the time for appeal from
those judgments." ;

Cromelin v. Markwalter, U. 3. Court of
Appeals, Fifth Circuit, 181 F.2d 949,

Part of amended paragraph 7 of
Appellant's motion for said 4-day time
extension for filing her Brief is ;
quoted next, said paragraph appearing
as Document 12 on pages ix and x of | x
said Supplement, that is at the end of ;
her "Statement of the Case" herein:

"7. The undersigned is mainly
responsible for arranging the

continued urgently needed stay
of his 86-year old father, a

widower, as a patient in a medical-
care nursing home, located about

¥

. and about 15 miles from where his

.-31-

'"l25 miles from Atlanta, Georgia
where the undersigned has his office

father had beén living, and for
insuring that his father has
‘special medical -care when needed over
and above that provided by said

home. It ‘was necessary for the
undersigned to assume financial
responsibility for keeping his
father in that nursing home for

- Most of the time he has been a

patient there. In order to carry
out his responsibility for insuring
needed medical care and causing
his father's bills at that home to
be paid, part of which paid by the
undersigned, it has been necessary
for the undersigned to make very
frequent trips to the nursing home
and to spend considerable time on
the trips on a matter nearby in
which his father has a financial
interest.

"During part of last year, the
undersigned was a congressional
candidate and for several months vem
thereatter was contestant in elec- |
tion contests as to the outcome of
that race. One of those contests
is not yet determined. During that
period of time, in which he lost
much time from his law practice,
there became an accumulation of
matters of an emergent nature in
his practice. It became necessary
for him to obtain leave of absence |
from a Court in Atlanta part of y
this year because of said situation.

In recent weeks, he has been under |
a heavy load of work in his prac- |
tice, barely having time to get |

ee ee ie li

~32<

urgently needed dental Care and
work, the lack of which is
adversely affecting his general
health,"

The undersigned ettorney's father died

in said nursing home on November 5, 1969,
which was in the next month after the

needed dental cere, the lack of which
was adversely affecting his health, the
following sentence is quoted from a
Bemor andum regarding the undersigned
made by Dr. Jensen, a dentist, photo- ©

"His general dental condition has
adversely affected his health, at
his age of 64 years,"

The grounds for the 4-day extension
requested in the motion, as amended,
show necessitous circumstances that
warranted granting of the very short
extension.

The body of the letter, dated January
23, 1970, to the undersigned from the
Chief Deputy Clerk of the Court of

—~— oe ee

s

Appeals reads:
3

"Complying with your request by
letter dated January 15, this
letter will certify thet your
brief in the above case was
received and filed in this office
on Monday, September 15, 1969;
thet under our practice al] wrappings,
envelopes, boxes, packages, etc.
are destroyed immediately when
received and there is no record
of the postmark date of transmittal
of the brief available in our file,
nor does our file contain a covering |
letter of transmission of the brief,

Paragraphs 8, 9, and 10 of Appellant's
motion for reconsideration and reinstate-
‘ment, the photographic copies of the two
exhibits thereto (Supp. xxvii-xxix,,

copy of which is on page ii-a of said.
Supplement, conclusively show when Rule
22 46)7) Pi Be P., is considered in
conjunction with them, that Appellant's
Brief should have been deemed filed on
September 12, 1969, but that the said
three-Judge panel Probably did not
‘receive notice from the Clerk's office
that the two ‘boxes containing the copies
of the Brief bore Atlanta’ postmarks of
September 12, 1969, and stampings of

"Air Mail" and*considered the filing date
to have been September 15, 1969 instead.

Moreover, it is respectfully stated
that the fact the panel rendered an

‘
‘
e
.
.
i
*
‘
.
:
‘
t .
*
.
.
-
‘
.
, .
e

‘

——— aR LTS STI psec Sm hatte Sa a mma

= pi 0S PRG EROS ai a ~ a soca wether reeiemhaatianee _= —

-34-

September 15, 1969". for filing her brief,
when the only motion of the Appellant

for time’ extension for filing her Brief
on file was the one in which she moved.
for time extension for that purpose "to |
and including September 12, 1969" raises

has read the motion or had it before
them at time of making that ruling.

(i) No opinion was delivered upon the '
rendering of each of said two Orders
sought to be reviewed. A copy of the
said Order that was entered on October 1,
1969, and a copy of the said other Order
that was entered on November 11, 1969,.
appear -on pages lxiii and the last page,
respectively, of the "Supplement to the
Statement of the Case,"' which follows
next after the "Statement of the Case,"
the pages of that "Supplement" being
numbered with small Roman numerals to
distinguish them from the rest of the
petition.

THEREFORE, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for writ of

of the Court of Appeals should be granted,

701 Garnegie Building
Atlanta, Georgia 303 3

Attorney for Petitioner

wi vies negli peentnarbeneatagarme oe

ee

CERTIFICATE OR PROOF OF SERVICE

. I hereby certify that I, a Member of
the Bar of this Court, ‘on this date,

- January 26, 1970, served a copy of the

foregoing and within petition for certio-
rari upon said Respondent in Certiorari
Barry S. Segan, by depositing in the

U. S. Mails, one copy of it in envelope
sufficient postage being attached to carry
the envelope to its destination, address-
ed to Ramseur, Bradham, Lyle, Skipper,
and Cramer, 699 First Avenue North,

St. Petersburg, said law firm having

been counsel of record for Barry S.

Segan in this case in the lower courts.

areata rnc
Attorney

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1280%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
