# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — National Ass'n of Theatre Owners v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1254%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 397 U.S. 922

## Text

78, PSSA URS a 7

Se ee ea PEE te eS

LIBRARY ater

SUPREME COURT, U. 5S.

ym Fn,

| Supreme Court of the Hated Staten

October Term, 1969 | ee

No. 932

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF THEATRE OWNERS and
JOINT COMMITTEE AGAINST TOLL TV,.
Petitioners,

: a

Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
and
ZENITH RADIO CORPORATION >
and
TECO, INC.,
Respondants.

~

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT |

MARCUS COHN

5 I
sty

OPINION BELOW. :
JURISDICTION . °.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED - .

THE CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT .
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

CONCLUSION

é
APPENDIX. ..
CITATIONS
Cases: ¥

~Banzhaff v. United States,
405 F.2d 1082, cert. denied, sub. nom.

_ °° Tobacco Institute v. Federal Communica-
tions Commission. 395 U.S. 973 .

Eastern R. R. Presidents Conference v.
Noerr Motor Freight, Inc.,
365 U.S.127 .

_ Federal Communications Commission v.
Sanders Bros. Radio Station,
309 U.S. 470 .

Greene v. McElroy,
360 U.S. 474 .

25

Al

<< ae

22

; 13,19

22

Eee eee

A TA

IRENE DAL Naira 4

(ii) °

Griffin v. Mlinois,
ro) BP 8 > SUR ds Sra

. Grosjean v. American Press Co.,

297 US. 233 .

Hannegan v. Esquire, '
327 U.S. 146 .

Harper v. Virginia Board of scsi
' 383 U.S. 663 . ;

Interstate Commerce Commission v.
United States ex rel. Los Angeles,
280 U.S. 52 ule

Joseph Burstyn, Inc. v. Wilson,
343 US.495 . .°

Kent v. Dulles,
357 US. 116 .

McIn tire v. William Penn Selatan Co.,
‘ 151 F.2d 597, cert. denied, 327 U.S. 779..

' Mills v. Alabama,

384 U.S. 214 . ;
National Broadcasting Co. v. United States,

Re ee 2

Near v. Minnesota,
283 U.S. 697 .

Pulitzer Publishing Co. v. Federal Com-

munications Commission, 94 F.2d 249.

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 395 U.S. 367

Superior Films, Inc. v. Department of
Education, 346 U.S. 587. .

Thomas v. Collins,
323 U.S. 516 .

3,12
20

. 13,19
21, 22, 24
20

20

PA 7 ¥
A (iii) 7
Page
United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., :

ee ee
Winters v. New York, |

SURI i ee os eae a ee Be a,

e
Proceedings,of the Federal Communications:

Matter of Subscription Television Service; -
FCC 55-165 © 1 eee we ee 4

Matter of Subscription Television Service,
First Report, 23 FCC 532, 16 Fike & ;
PU FP ee a ew Oe

Matter of Subscription Television Service,
Second Report, 16 Pike & Fischer, RR 1539. . . . . - 5

Matter of Subscription Television Service, -
‘ Third Report, 26 FCC 265, 16 Pike & Fischer,
RR 1540a .... . . Vie arom Meee es 8, a oe

Matter of Subscription Television ‘Service,
Fourth Report, {5 FCC 2d 466, 5,6, 7, 8,9
Soa tote. 6 ee ee ee Se AEBS

Report on Programming Policy, .
- 20 Pike & Fischer,RR1901 . ~ .@ .. ... . 19

United States Constitution and Statutes:
Radio Act of 1927... 6 ck ce os 3,14,

Communications Act of 1934, as amended, :
WE oe le ee

Sections :
BE ee Se as DET Oe eee eee
I ae Soe ages Oa ee oh gn alee ares 10
WN he Sot ne ge aoe Gea et ae ee ee 14
Seren Wires Oe neem eee ak tra

e ,
OAT TOE NSN RS AP ey _ 23S ile RUT PONS TR AE

a

(iv)

Page
Interstate Commerce Act,
REN MM ae ee ee a
Motor Carrier Act,
Sy eee Ee ae ee eee 15
Aviation Act, ; : f
shi a in SO RE SOR ERE ROM rs ea eee
_ Shipping Act, ,
21 Ae DED og ee eet nn ee
,
United States Constitution:
First Amendment. -. . 2 2. 7)... . . 9£20,21,22
Equal Protection Clause ee oa,
Miscellaneous: ; oe

Discrimination Against The Poor and the 14th
Amendment, 81 Harv.L.Rev.435. . 2... 1.95. 24

Barron, Access To The Press—A New First Amend-~*
ment Right, 80 Harv. L.Rev.1641. . 2. 2°... , 24

a

(ec

Supreme Court of the Huited States

October Term, ° —

_No.

“

- NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF THEATRE OWNERS and
JOINT COMMITTEE nial TOLL TV,

Petitioners,
ie, 2

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
- . UNITED SFATES OF AMERICA |

‘and
ZENITH RADIO CORPORATION
e and
TECO, INC.,

“ae _ Respondants. .

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.TO THE |:
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

v4

The_National Association “of Theatre Owners: and
Joint’ Committee Against Toll TV (“Petitioners”) pray
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals, for the District of

Dalle

>

*

’
\“

~ groups. aM

Columbia Circuit entered in this case on September 30,
1969.!

OPINION BELOW

‘The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix A)
has not yet been.reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
September 30, 1969. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 5 U.S.C. 1034 and 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether ,the Federal Communications —
Commission (‘‘Commission’’) possesses the statutory
authority to authorize a permanent nation-wide television
broadcast service which requires the direct payment of
fees by members of the public to broadcast licensees in
order to receive the pay broadcast service; and

2. Whether, assuming the requisite statutory author-
ity, the Commission’s recent action establishing a nation—
wide pay television. service, and promulgating rules to
regulate that service, improperly; arbitrarily and un-
constitutionally discriminates against lower income

-_

— I The National Association of Theatre Owners is a nation-wide

organizftion «consisting of owners of motion picture theatres
throughout the United States. The Joint Committee Against Pay

_ TV is a voluntary association organized for the purpose of oppos-

ing Federal Communications Commission authorization of pay
television. The Petitioners participated in the rule making proceed-
ing before the Federal Communications Commission, which culmi-
nated in the Commission’s authorization of a nation-wide pay
television ‘system, and were the petitioners who obtained review of
the Commission Order in the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit.

2

3 °e

THE CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

\The pertinént sections of the Constitution (Amend-
ments I and XIV) and the Communications Act of 1934,
as amended, 48°Stat. 1064, 50 Stat. 191, 66 Stat. 715,
47 U.S.C. 151,"et seg. (Sections 153(0), 301, 303, 326)
are set out in Appendix-B.

STATEMENT

This Petition seeks review of a decision by the
United States Court of Appeals for the District of
‘Columbia Circuit in a matter which the Court below
termed ‘a: question of national importance, id est,
whether the Federal Communications Commission
possesses the requisite power to authorize nationwide
over-the-air subscription television (commonly referred to
as pay ‘TV’) on a permanent basis” (Slip Opinion, p. 2,
footnote omitted). This issue vitally affects literally tens
of millions of viewers in their economic and social lives.
Because of the drastic change in the nature of American
broadcasting which pay television may well cause, the
issue here, presented is perhaps the most far-reaching and
important question of statutory ifiterpretation of the
Communications Act which has come before this Court
since its landmark 1943 decision in National Broadcast-
ing Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190 (1943).

American radio and television have traditionally
been free in that the listening and viewing audiences,
after purchasing their sets, pay. no direct charges to the
originating stations for receiving programs which those
stations broadcast. The distinction between American
broadcasting and that of-foreign countries, where such
charges often exist in the form of taxes or listening fees,
was specifically and repeatedly recognized in the early
congressional debates on the Radio Act of 1927 (see 67
Cong. Rec. 5490-1, 12335). It was in this framework
that government regulation of broadcasting began.

ti
‘
-

it

4

In 1955, the Commission, in response to petitions
by a number of pay television proponents, instituted a
Notice of Proposed Rule Making,” inviting Comments to
determine whether pay television would be in the public
interest, and requesting Comments on whether the Com-
mission had the statutory power to authorize such opera--
tions.? Thereafter, in a 1957 Notice of Further Proceed-
ings,4 the Commission announced that the Comments
did not provide an adequate basis for arriving at a final
decision, and that trial demonstrations would be neces-
sary before a final decision could be made. Subsequently,
the Commission issued its First Report on Pay Televi-
sion> which concluded that the Commmission had power
to authorize over-the-air pay television under the present ©
Act, and which listed the conditiOns under which appli-
cations for trial operations would be accepted.

The issuance of the First Report stirred critical «
congressional comment. The House Committee on Inter-
state and Foreign Commerce, after hearings, adopted a
resolution stating that the Commission should not act to
authorize pay television operations until the Communica-
tions Act was specifically amended to grant such power
to the Commission.® In response, the Commission issued

2 Matter of Subscription Television Service, F.C.C. 55-165,

released ee 1955, 20 F.R. 988. ™
+ 3 Pay television was described by the Commission as the trans-

mission of programming paid for by the public on a subscription
basis. ;
4 22 F.R. 3758 (1957).

5 Matter of Subscription Television Service, First Report, 23
FCC 532, 16 Pike and Fischer, RR 1509 (October 1957).

© The basis of congressional concern was that trial operations,
inevitably requiring large investments, would establish pay televi-
sion as a fait accompli before Congress could consider appropriate
legislation. See remarks of Congressman Oren Harris, Chairman of
the House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee, 105
Cong.Rec. 4812.

its Second Report’? which withheld the processing of
applications under the First Report until the expiration
of the 85th Congress, a policy which was voluntarily

‘continued by the Commission until the end of the 86th

Congress.

Upon the expiration of the 86th Congress, the Com-
mission issued its Third Report. The Third Report re-
adopted and reaffirmed virtually all the conditions for
trial operation set out in the First Report,? and. in-
dicated that when “sufficient and meaningful data”
became available, the Commission would hold public (3
hearings to decide whether pay television should ec
permanently authorized (Third Report, supra, at Par. 27;
First Report, supra at Par. 92). Only three applications
were ever filed for trial operations pursuant to the Third
Report, and of these only one ever went into operation,
Station WHCT, Hartford, Connecticut.!®

7 Matter of Subscription Television Service, Second Report, 16
Pike and Fischer, RR 1539 (February 1958).

8 Matter of Subscription Television Service, Third Report, 26
FCC 265, 16 Pike and Fischer, RR 1540a (March 1959).

? Operational limitations were set out to protect the public and
to limit the scope of the trial. See Third Report, Pars. 6, 19,
20-22, 26-27, 26 FCC at 266, 269-71,.16 Pike and Fischer, RR at
1540b, 1540e through g.

10 The application by Station KVUE for Channel 40, Sacra-
mento, California, was denied for failing to comply with the
conditions of the Third Report. A second applicant, Station
KTVR, Channel 2, Denver, Colorado, obtained authorization, but
did not engage in pay television operations and later relinquished
its authorization. See Fourth Report, Par. 4, 15 FCC 2d at 467.

The Hartford experiment began in the summer of 1962. At
its height, it involved no more than approximately 5,000 sub-
scribers, and during much of its lifetime the number of subscribers
was considerably less.

In 1965, pay television proponents filed a Petition
for Further Rule Making requesting the establishment of
a nation-wide permanent pay television system, which, in
-1967 culminated in the Commission’s Subscription Tele-
vision Committee (which consisted of 3 Commissioners),
submitting for Commission consideration a Proposed
Fourth Report which proposed the establishment of a
permanent pay television service. Oral argument on the
Fourth Report was held before the Commission en banc
in 1967. z=

As was the case with the First Report, the proposed
Fourth Report stirred critical congressional comment.
The Communications and Power Subcommittee of the
House Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee,
after hearings, recommended, and on November 16,
1967, the full Committee on Interstate and Foreign
Commerce adopted, a resolution stating the sense of
the full Committee that. the Commission should refrain
from taking any action on its Proposed Fourth Report
for one year, or until the Communications Act of 1934
was amended to authorize pay television.!4

On September 3, 1968, the Commission, by Chair-
man Hyde, sent a letter to the Chairman of the Com-
mittee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce indicating
that in view of the lengthy consideration which had
already been given the matter, the Commission did not

11 The reasons fod the Committee’s resolution were the Com-
mittee’s views that: (1) the systems, thus far tested, were “incon-
clusive” as to whether the public interest would be served, (2) the
systems had been unable to demonstrate the ability of pay televi-
sion to offer new, different, or “higher quality” viewing, (3) the
development of public television might adequately fill the need fo
additional cultural programming, and (4) it had not been estab-
lished to the satisfaction of the Committee that authority to
license pay television operation came within the power of the
Commission under the Communications Act. See Fourth Report,
Par. 15, 15 FCC 2d at 470.

believe it could delay resolution of the question. On
September 11, the Commerce Committee, in response,
adopted a resolution indicating the sense of the Com-
mittee to be that the Commission should further refrain
from acting until the end of the first session of the 91st
Congress, or until the completion of action upon legisla-
tion if by the end of the first session legislation pertain-
‘ing to the question was under consideration.! 2 .

Thereafter, on December 13, 1968, the Commission
issued its Fourth Report, which is the subject of. the
opinion of the Court of Appeals here sought to be
reviewed. In the Fourth Report the Commission reaf-
firmed its prior holding that it possessed the requisite
statutory power to permanently authorize pay TV,!3
stated its belief that pay TV would provide “a beneficial
supplement” to the program choices now available,!4
and established the regulatory framework for a perma-
nent nation-wide pay television system, indicating the

.

12 The September 11 resolution was passed by a vote of 16 to
13. A minority of the Committee sent a letter to the Cominission
indjcating their belief that the Commission should act on the
matter. Fourth Report, Par. 18, 15 FCC 2d at 471472.

13 Fourth Report, Par. 12, 15 FCC 2d at 468-69.

14 See Fourth Report, Pars. 27-69, particularly Pars. 59-69, 15 .
FCC 2d at 474-488. By “beneficial supplement” the Commission
meant only that pay television programming would not be “dupli-
cative” of free television, and that the Commission believed it was
desired and needed by at least a portion of the viewing public.
The term was not meant to connote lack of impact upon free
television, which the Commission treated as a separate question
(Fourth Report, footnote 20, 15 FCC 2d at 473).

requirements which must be met by applicants seeking
pay television authorizations.!5

While establishing a permanent pay television
system, the Commission, nevertheless, recognized that
Pay TV will not, in fact, present minority-type: program-
ming to any significant degree, and will, instead, aim: at
' the mass market to maximize profits (Fourth Report,
Par. 68, 15 FCC 2d at 487-88). The Commission em-
phasized its belief that ‘“‘the preservation af conventional
television service and the continued availability of good
program material to the free service ... [were] extreme-
ly important considerations” (Fourth Report, Par. 90, 15
FCC 2d at 495). The Commission also emphasized that it
“would not consider [it] to be in the public interest”
for certain types of program material now presented on
' the free service to be lost to the pay television operation
(Fourth Report, Par. 130, 15 FCC 2d at 508). In order
to- prevent this possibility, the Commission adopted

15 See Fourth Report, passim. Among the conditions governing
pay television were provisions concerning the technical perform-
ance of the systém, requirements that all systems broadcast at
least 28 hours ba week of free programming, that no pay televi-
sion station enter into a contract which would deprive it of
complete freedom over the programs to be broadcast, or the terms
of payment, that pay television decoders could only be leased, not
sold, and that service would have to be rendered to all persons
desiring it within the Grade A contour of the station unless a
‘ satisfactory signal is not available. (See Pars. 154-276, 339-348, 15
FCC 2d 515-54, 573-77). ;

9

certhin detailed restrictions on the type and content of
pay television material which-may be broadcast.!®

The Commission specifically refused to adopt any
rules govering the rates to be charged to the public, and
refused even to decide whether it had the power to do |
_ $0. It held that its power to authorize pay television
permanently was not “dependent” upon the power to
regulate rates (Fourth Report, Par. 259, 15 FCC 2d ai
547).

Although the Commission rejected the argument
that its programming restrictions violated the anti-
censorship provisions of the Communications Act (47
U.S.C. 326), and similarly rejected the argument that
such restrictions were a violation of the First Amend-
ment of the Constitution, nevertheless, the Commission

16 These restrictions included:

(i) - No motion picture (with a number of exceptions) can
appear on pay television if the picture is more than 2
years old;

(ii) Sports programs “regularly televised in the community
via free TV during the previous 2 years” cannot be
presented over pay television (Fourth Report, Pars.
289, 305, 15 FCC 2d at 558, 564).

(iii) Pay television stations are prohibited from presenting
any “series type program with inter-connected plot or
substantially the same cast of principal characters.”

(iv) The Commission recognized that movies and sports
would probably be the overwhelming program fare to
be presented on pay television. In order to insure that
at least some pay television programming would be
other than feature films and sports events, the Com-
mission provided that no more than 90% of the total
programming hours could be composed of programs
falling into these two categories.

These program restrictions are rather complex, and the Commis-
sion devoted numerous pages of its opinion to explicating them.
Fourth Report, Pars. 284-310, 15 FCC 2d at 556-565.

10

made it quite clear‘that it would not have approved the
establishment of a pay television system in the absence
of the authority to lay down such restrictions (see
Fourth Report, Pars. 130, 284, 311-313, 15 FCC at 507,
556, 565-66).

At Petitioners’ request, the Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit reviewed the Commission’s
determinations pursuant to the judicial review provisions
of Section 402(a) of the Communications Act (47 U.S.C.
402(a)). The Court affirmed, in all respects, the Fourth
Report. In brief, the Court held that the Commission
possessed the statutory power to authorize a permanent
pay television system, basing its holding on the grounds
that the statute did not explicitly forbid the authoriza-
tion of such a system, that the courts have traditionally
interpreted the Communications Act expansively in view
of the dynamic characteristics of the radio industry, and
that the courts have traditionally followed an agency’s
interpretation of its organic statute, rather than substi-
tute its own interpretation.!7 The Court rejected the
argument that congressional failure to include the power
to regulate the rates charged by pay television demon-
strated the Commission’s lack of power to authorize the
system,!8 and similarly rejected the argument that
authorizing a pay television system improperly and un-
constitutionally discriminated against low income groups
in. the United States!'? which the Commission itself re-
cognized would not be able to take advantage of the

3

17 Slip Opinion,'pp. 7-15.
187g at pp. 15-18.
19 1g. at pp. 19-24.

a 1

service, and at whose expense the service would be. estab-
lished. The instant Petition followed.?°.

REASONS FOR GRANTING ‘THE WRIT

1. As the Court below indicated, this case involves
an issue “of ‘national importance” (Slip Opinion, p. 2)
and ore “of first impression” (Slip Opinion, p. 11)
concerning what is clearly one of the most -important
questions of interpretation of the Communications Act
of 1934, as amended, that has ever been brought before
the courts. Whether the Federal Communications Com-
‘mission has- the statutory authority under the present
Act to create a nation-wide pay television system, is a
question the resolution of which vitally affects every
citizen. It affects the nature and the amount of informa-
tion, knowledge and entertainment which the population
of the entire country will receive.

In affirming the Commission’s authorizktion of a

_ permanent pay television system, the Court below recog-
nized the novelty of the issue,’and the fact that, primari-.
ly because of this novelty, the legislative history of the
Act shed little light on the scope of the Commission’s
power (see Slip Opinion,-pp. 13-15).2! The Court did
not base its holding upon this legislative history, but

y
» 20 Upon Pétitioners’ request, the Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit has stayed the issuance of its mandate
pending the filing of the instant Petition for certiorari. The Com-
. mission itself had previously announced that it would not grant
any application for pay television authorization until 60 days after
the opinion of the Court of Appeals in this matter. Petitioners
have requested that this policy be continued by the Commission
until thie conclusion of the litigation before this Court.

21 The Court also pointed to proceedings in the Congress which
have been pending for many years, and particularly to Congress’
inability to ‘agree on the scope of the Commission’s power in this
area (Slip Opinion, pp. 14-15, footnote 25).

4

rz -

upon (a) the la€k of a specific prohibition in the statute

forbidding the Commission to authorize pay television,
(b) the general judicial doctrine of. “expansively”’ inter-
preting the Communications Act in such a way as to

“enable the Commission to cope with new problems while

avoiding “the necessity, of repetitive legislation” (Slip
Opinion,.p. 9), and (c) by applying the traditional theory
of judicial deference to jan administrative agency’s inter-

bee gee
‘ pretation of its organic statute. Petitioners do not quarrel

with the general validity of these judicial axioms. ‘But
Petitioners respectfully submit that these legal general-
ities do not, and cannot suffice to settle the important

specific issues here raised. ‘

There is no question that the Communications Act
sets out a broad regulatory scheme which has enabled
the Commission to license diverse uses of the radio
spectrum, and indeed has enabled the Commission to
proceed in areas of developing technology in order to
protect the integrity and efficacy of the Commission’s
ability to exercise its statutory responsibilities.2? But it
is also true that the Commission’s powers are not all-—
encompassing. This Court pointed out in National Broad-
casting Co. v. United States, 319,U.S):190, 219 (1943)
that Congress did not give the Commission ‘ ‘unfettered
discretion to regulate all phases of the radio industry.”
Many matters regarding the manner in which broadcast
stations derive their revenues and programming were

22 ee, e.g., National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 US.
190 (1943). See also United States v. Southwestern Cable'Co., 392
U.S. 157 (1968): in which this Court held that the Commission
had power to regulate aspects of the newly ia a.
vision” industry because failure to regulate would render the
Commission less able to carry out the functions entrusted to it by
Congress, a result which could not have been intended by Congress
when it enacted the organic statute.

13

v

never considered as being within the Commission’ S regu-_
latory jurisdiction. 23 Other limitations upon the Com-
mission’s power appear despite the broad - regulatory:
scheme. Pulitzer Publishing Co. v. Federal Commuinica-
tions Commission, 68 App. D.C. 124, 126, 94 F.2d 249,
251 (1937) and Sanders Bros. Radio Station, supra,
strongly suggest that rate regulation vis-a-vis broadcast
licensees and the public was not encompassed by the
Commission’s regulatory scheme. Congress itself has in-
dicated (House Report No. 1559, 87th Cong. 2d Session)
that it was not Congress’ intention “that the Commission
should have authority to prescribe [manufacturing]
standards {of television equipment] on the basis of any ~
of its existing powers under the Communications Act”
(Pike and Fischer, Current Service, p. 10:485). These
limitations exist despite: the lack of any specific statutory
prohibition.

Petitioners respectfully urge that the Court below
applied an inappropriate legal standard by, in effect,
requiring that the Act specifically prohibit the creation’
of a pay television system before it would hold that ‘the
Commission did not. have such power. It may well be
that congressional failure to enact a specific prohibition’
would be dispositive of an issue concerning circumstances
of which Congress was well aware when it enacted legis-
lation. But it is unpersuasive to assert that Congress
would have enacted a specific prohibition against pay
television when, at the time of the enactment of the Act;
the ‘hallmark of the American broadcasting industry was
the absence of a direct charge to the viewer.

23 This Court stated in Federal Communications Commission v.
Sanders Bros. Radio Station, 309 U.S. 470,|475 (1940) that “the
Act does not essay ‘to regulate the business of the licensee. The
Commission is given no supervisory control of the programs, of
business management or of policy.”

14

The inauguration of .a permanent pay television
system is more than a mere variation in the broadcasting
‘art. It introduces the most fundamental change in broad-
casting that has occurred since the adoption of the
original Radio Act in 1927. It erects a system ,whéreby
“the use of a scarce and valuable public broadcasting
_ Frequency which, by Section 3(0) of the Act (47 U.S.C. |
153(0)), was intended for the “dissemination of radio
communications intended to be received by the public”
will now be available not to all the public, but only to
those who can afford to pay a fee for its use, thus,
effectively depriving many persons, particularly those in
the lower income groups of the United Spies of the use
of a broadcast frequency. It creates, in egsence,.a second
class citizenry with respect to access to broadcast fre-
quencies. Matters of such fundamental importance should
not be left to régulation by administrative agencies
through inference, assumptions and deductions. As this
Court noted in Interstate Commerce Commission y.
United States ex rel. Los Angeles, 280 U.S. 52, 69
(1929), “{a] proper statute would seem to require de-
tailed directions, and we should @xpect the intention -to
be manifested in plain terms and not to be left to be
- implied from varied ,regulatory provisions of uncertain
scope.” ‘ |

But the Commission’s lack of authority is indicated
not only by failure of the Act to explicitly allow the |
authorization of pay television. It is most effectively
demonstrated by the omission from the Act of authority
‘for rate regulation by the Commission of the prices to be
‘charged the public. Indeed, the proponents of pay televi-
sion have consistently and vigorously asserted that the
Act does not give the Commission the authority to
regulate rates. The Commission has compounded the
paradox by refusing to decide whether it has the power
to regulate’ pay television tates under the present Act.
And the Commission’s refusal to decide this issue has

15

now been upheld by the Court below, so that the Com-
mission may very well be launching a system over which

it has no effective regulatory power to protect the

public.

Although the Commission and the court below have
refused to decide the maiter, the question of whether
the present Act allows for rate regulation is critical to
the interpretation of the Commission’s authority under
thes Act to authorize pay television. The reason is simply
that, viewing congressional precedents in such matters, it
is inconceivable that Congress would have allowed
broadcast licensees to charge for the use of what are
conceded to be public facilities without either explicitly
authorizing such rate regulation or, at the very least,
establishing a regulatory scheme to oversee it. This is
demonstrated by the conceded fact that in the Com-
munications Act, and indeed in every other Act of which
petitioner is aware in which the public was to be charged
direct fees for the use of public or quasi-public facilities,
‘Congress specifically enacted detailed provisions govern-
ing Commission regulation of such charges.24 The
absence of such specific authorization in the Communica-
tions Act with respect to broadcast frequencies per-
suasively indicates that Congress did not intend that the
general public be directly charged for the use of its own
airways.

gt: ¢

The Court rejected Petitioners’ contentions on two
somewhat contradictory grounds. The Court first asserted
(Slip Opinion, pp. 16-17) that the difference in treat-
ment between broadcast licensees and “common carriers”

24 This was not only true in the Communications Act itself (see,
e.g., 47 U.S.C. Secs. 201-211), but also in the Interstate Com-
merce Act (49 U.S.C. Secs. 1-23), the Motor Carrier Act (49
U.S.C. Sec. 316), ttie Aviation Act (49 U.S.C. Sec. 1374), and the
Shipping Act (46 U.S.C. Sec. 817).

geet

reflected Congressional belief that broadcasting is not a
“natural monopoly,” and that the dangers of monopolies
would, be handled by the “‘competition among those
providing broadcasting services in a given area.” The
Court appeared to believe that the absence of rate regula-
tion was not related to any cost relationship to the
public vis-a-vis the licensee, but rather to the existence of
limited competition among licensed radio stations.

But there are two difficulties with this analysis.
First, the Court failed to recognize the significance of
the fact that under the Commission’s proposed licensing
scheme there will be a natural monopoly for the pay
television licensee in a given community. The Commis-
sion has created a regulatory framework whereby there
will be only one pay television station in each com-
munity, so that there will be in pay television precisely
the “‘natural monopoly” that the Court held not to exist
in the case of conventional broadcasting systems (Fourth
Report, Pars. 125, 165, 200, 15 F.C.C. 2d at 505, 518,
528).

Perhaps more important, the ‘Court’s analysis is logi-
cally deficieht because it is at least as likely (if not more
likely) that Congress drew a distinction between common
carriers, on the one hand, and broadcasting, on the
other, precisely because there was to be no direct charge
levied by the broadcast licensee upon the general public.
The question is whether Congress would have eschewed
rate regulation with respect to broadcast frequencies if it
intended that those frequencies could. only be reached by
that segment of the public willing to pay a fee. Petition-
ers believe the answer to be ‘clearly in the negative,
particularly since such a course would be singularly un-
precedented in Congressional annals. It is difficult to
believe that Congress would have allowed the imposition
of a direct fee system without at the same time giving
the Commission the power to regulate the heart of that
system, i.e., the direct fees to be charged to the public.

J

+

17

The Court itself appeared to be concerned with the
anomaly of Congress allowing a direct fee system to be
instituted without giving the Commission the proper
regulatory tools to prevent abuse. Thus, as its second
ground for affirmance the Court suggests, as did the
Commission, that the Commission possesses appropriate
regulatory tools “through the licening process.’’ (Slip
Opinion, p. 17). But this analysis, it is submitted, begs
the question. If, as pay TV’s proponents vigorously assert
(and the Commission has not denied the validity of the
assertion), the Commission is without power to regulate
the rates charged-directly, it is difficult to see how these
rates could be regulated indirectly through the licensing
function. If regulation of rates is not within the Commis-
sion’s province, how could the Commission condition its
licensing functions upon factors such as the reasonable-
ness of the rates charged? What the Commission cannot
do directly, cannot be done indirectly merely by the
assertion that it is neene done in the furtherance of its
“licensing” authority.” :

The question to be decided is not (as the Court

| below appears to believe) whether the Commission

should at this time institute rate regulation.2® The real
issue is what light the absence of the power to regulate
rates sheds upon Congressional intent with respect to
Commission authority to authorize a permanent pay tele-
vision system. Petitioners submit that the absence of

25 For example, Section 326 of the Communications Act (the
anti-censorship provisions) prohibits the Commission from requir-

ing a broadcast station to take a particular editorial stance. But it ©

is inconceivable that the Commission would, nonetheless, be
allowed (or indeed would even attempt) to condition the grant of
a license upon the taking of an editorial position by an individual
station.

26 it very well may be, as the Court suggested, that the question
of whether the Commission should now institute rate regulation
need not be settled, and may await future developments.

~~

Sf A

18

such power is indicative of Congressional intent not to
allow the Commission to authorize a permanent pay
television system. _

There is yet a third indicia of absence of authority:
the fact that interpreting the Act in the manner claimed
by the Commission results in_ introducing concepts which
are directly inconsistent with the specific anti-censorship

provisions of Section 326 of the Act,:(47 U.S.C. 326)

and .which would raise the most serious Constitutional

& questions. “The courts have traditionally been loath to
_ interpret statutes in such a manner.

Section 326 provides that the Commission
cannot ,enact, any regulation or condition ‘“‘which shall
interfere, with the right of free speech by means of radio
commu ication.” Yet the Commission has enacted pre-
»cisely such restrictions on ‘free speech by forbidding pay

television from presenting particular types and/or per-
centages of programming material.27 Thus, the: Commis-
_ sion has’ proposed to issue a broadcast license for a
ae broadcast service upon the specific condition that the
licensee not present certain types or exceed fixed per-
centages of program material, the proscription being in
terms of the form of the media, the program content,
and the program structure. And the Commission made it
absolutely clear that the imposition of these conditions
"was an essential element of its decision to authorize a
permanent pay television system. The Commission stated
fhat unless these conditions were established, it would -
not have authorized a permanent pay television
system.2® It must be emphasized that these restraints

27 Thus, the Commission has forbade the broadcast over pay
television systems of certain motion pictures, sports events, and
other specific tvpes of programming material. See Fourth Report,
Pars. 284-309, 15 F.C.C. 2d at 556-565.

28 See Fourth Report, Pars. 130, 284, 15 F.C.C. 2d 507, 556.

/

ve

\9

and restrictions f a licensee’s right to broadcast types
of programming are singular and unprecedented. The
Commission has never before attempted to impose such
restraints upon the types ‘of. programs which may be
pfesented by broadcast licensees; indeed, as recently as
1960, the Commission itself specifically rejected the
notion that it could condition a grant, denial or revoca-
tion of a license upon the eect egtee “own subjective

determination” as to programming.”

The Commissidn’s imposition of these restrictions is
not only contrary to its own prior interpretations. of its
powers over programming under the Act; it is contrary
to repeated judicial interpretations. In Federal Communi-
cations Commission v. Sanders Bros. Radio Station, 309
U.S. 470, 475 (1940), this Court stated:

“The Commission [was] given no supervisory
control over the programs . . . [to be presented
by broadcast facilities] .”

To the same effect, see McIntire v. William Penn
Broadcasting Co., 151 F.2d 597, 599 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 327 U.S. 779 (1945):

[It] is clear from history and the interpreta-
tion of the Federal Communications Act that
the choice of programs rests with the broad-
casting stations licensed by the F.C.C.

And see Pulitzer Publishing Co. v. Federal Communica-
tions Commission, 68° App. D.C. 124, 126, 94 F.2d 249,
251 (1937):

The licensee of a radio station chooses its own
advertisers and its own programs .

29 See 1960 Report on Programming Policy, 20 Pike & Fischer,
RR 1901, 1907, 1909.

20

The restraint is even more repugnant where, as here,
it is a prior restraint, a form of restraint particularly
repugnant to our institutions:

This Court recognized many years ago
that...a previous restraint is a form of in-
fdinkement upon freedom of expression to be
especially condemned. 30

In the satant case, the Court below upheld. the
Commission’s ‘restrictions, but did so on the basis of
contentions which, it is submitted, cannot withstand
critical analysis. The Court placed reliance on the fact
that the Commission, acting in good faith, adopted
restraints for the purpose of gaining more rather than
less programming, and “sought only to insure the con-
tinuing economic vitality of free television” (Slip
Opinion, p. 25). But the courts have long recognized that
a direct prior restraint upon the content of protected
speech cannot be sustained on the grounds that the
legislature or administrative agency acted “reasonably,”
or with the purest of intentions. This Court made clear
in Thomas yv. Collins, 323 U.S. 516, 530 (1945) and
Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 (1966) that the validity
of a free speech restriction cannot be tested by such
criteria as the sincerity of purpose of the enacting body,
or whether the enactment is reasonably calculated to
achieve an otherwise vdlid result. The Court of Appeals
itself recognized in a recent decision Banzhaff v. United
States, U.S. App. D.C. , 405 F. 2d 1082, 1096

- 30 Joseph Burstyn, Inc. v. Wilson, 343 U.S. 495, 503 (1952).
There can be no doubt that if such a direct, prior restraint as is
here present were placed on matter in newspapers or motion
picture films, the restraint would be struck down as unconstitu-
tional, even if specifically authorized by the appropriate legislative
body. Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233 (1986); Near
v. Minnesota, 283 U.S. 697 (1931); Superior Films, Inc. v. Depart-
ment of Education, 346 U.S. 587 (1954).

21

(1968) cert. denied, sub. nom. Tobacco Institute v.
Federal Communications Commission, 395 U.S. 973
1969), that restraints upon a licensee’s discretion cannot
be upheld “merely upon the ground that it may reason-
ably be thought to serve the public interest.”

In defending the Commission’s restriction, the Court
below appeared to draw a distinction between protection
accorded to general programming material, on the one
hand, and that accorded to “ideas” and “debate on-
public issues” on the other (Slip Opinion, pp. 25-26), the
latter, according to the Court, being more “central con-
cerns of the First Amendment” than the former. But this
analysis is one which creates distinctions flatly rejected |
by this Court in numerous cases, principally Winters -v.
New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948). In Winters the Court
made clear that there are no degrees of protection ac-
corded to various categories of speech depending upon
whether they fall within the realm of “entertainment” or
doctrinal polemic (333 U.S. at 510):

The line between the informing and the enter-
taining is too elusive for the protection of that
basic right (a free press). Everyone is familiar
with instances of propaganda through fiction.
What is one man’s amusement, teaches
another’s doctrine.

This Court recognized in Red Lion Broadcasting Co. -v.
Federal Communications Commission, 395 U.S. 367, 396
(1969) that “the Commission’s refusal to permit the
broadcaster to carry a particular program ... . . would
raise . . . . serious first amendment issues.”” The Commis-
sion has now enacted precisely such a refusal in its Pay

ee

TV restrictions and has presented the issue which was
not present in Red Lion.?!

But the principal error of the Court below lies not
so much in allowing the imposition of prior restraints,
but in failing to recognize that the Commission’s position
does, in fact raise a serious question of prior restraints.
The primary issue before the Court is the interpretation
of the Commission’s authority under the Communica-
tions Act. In order to sustain its interpretation, the
Commission has forced an interpretation of the Act in a
manner which appears not only prima facie inconsistent
with the explicit anti-censorship provisions of Section
326, but which raises grave First Amendment questions. |
As this Court held in Hannegan v. Esquire, 327 U.S. 146,
156 (1946), a statute will not be gratuitously interpreted
in such a manner as to clothe an agency with authority
which, if exercised, ‘would raise the gravest constitutional %
objections:

.

The provisions of the [governing statute]

would have to be far more explicit for us to

assume that Congress made such a radical

departure from our traditions ....
See also Greene v. McElroy, 360 ‘U.S. 474 (1959); be
Eastern R.R. Presidents Conference v. Noerr Motor
Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961); Kent v. Dulles, 357
US. 416, 13001958).

31 The instant case is unlike Red Lion in other respects. In Red
Lion the Court affirmed the Commission’s power to enforce the:
“fairness doctrine,’ whereby each licensee is required to fairly
present all sides of a particular issue. As the Court pointed out,
the fairness doctrine acts not to restrict speech, but to enlarge the
scope of material broadcast by licensees. In the instant case, the

Commission is not enlarging the scope of material which will be
- presented, but, instead, is deliberately fated it.

Yy

23

Finally, Petitioners believe that the establishment of
pay television represents an unconstitutional discrimina-
tion against low income groups. The evidence before the
Commission indicated that a pay television service is one
which benefits the upper and middle income brackets at
the expense of the lower income groups.>* The Commis-
sion also indicated that only a small fraction of potential
listeners will utilize the pay ‘television frequency, so that
the Commission has taken an over-the-air broadcast fre-
quency, capable of reaching hundreds of thousands of
persons, and has limited its use to a relatively few per-
sons in the upper income brackets.33

Petitioners urged below that free television has now
become such an essential service to the nation that it
cannot legitimately be granted to one economic class and
denied to another. Access to free television is of such
fundamental importance that its denial, based upon
economic circumstances, is a discrimination against the
poor of constitutional dimensions.

The Court below refused to accept this argument,
holding that “[s] uch a result would cléarly be a constitu-
tional innovation that we are unwilling to make... .”
(Slip Opinion, p.”22). In view of the novelty of the
question, it is perhaps understandable that the Court of
Appeals was reluctant to go forward in this area. But

32 4 breakdown of the Hartford trial subscribers demonstrated
that virtually no persons in the income level $0-3,999, an income
level which represents almost one-third of the families in the
United States, were able to subscribe to the test (see Fourth
Report, Pars. 86-87, 15 FCC 2d at 493).

pay television frequency was not only recognized by the Commis-
sion,.but was the basis of the Commission’s holding that institu-
tion of the service would not adversely affect the audiencé for free
service (See Fourth Report, Par. 125, 15 FCC 2d at 505).

33 The fact that only a small minority of persons would en the

/
/
y |

/

24

Petitioners believe that this Court should squarely face
the issue, and declare that access to free television is a
constitutionally protected right. This Court has recog- —
nized in other contexts that certain rights are so basic
and fundamental that their deprivation to the poor is
unconstitutional. In Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections,
383 U.S. 663, 668 (1966), the Court declared a state
poll tax unconstitutional because it necessarily excluded °
from voting those “‘unable to pay a fee.” In Griffin vy.
- Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956), the Court held constitution-
ally impermissible the refusal to give transcripts to in-
digents who. were unable to pay a fee. There is growing
recognition that because poverty often interferes with
the ability of the poor to exercise their legal rights, it
may be necessary to supply counsel in civil cases involv-
ing such matters as eviction proceedings, divorces and
child custody suits. etc. See Discrimination Against The
Poor and the 14th Amendment, 81 Harv. L. Rev. 435
(1967). Similarly, there is a recognition that, in order to
fulfill their citizenship responsibilities, or, indeed, to ef-
fectively achieve their rights, the poor must have access
to the mass media. See Barron, Access To The Press — A
New First Amendment -Right, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1641
(1967); see also Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. Federal .
Communications Commission 395 U.S. 367 (1969), in.
which the Court stressed the importance”of access. by the
public to radio and television frequencies. At the very
least, Petitioners urge that this Court recognize that ac-
_ cess to broadcast frequencies (both as participants and as ‘
viewers) cannot legally, or indeed constitutionally, be
based upon a pocket book test any more than can the
right to vote.

In sum, the Court below has upheld an interpreta-
tion of the Communications Act which would |
perhaps the most drastic change in the structure 01
American broadcasting since the passage of the original
Radio Act of 1927 in the face of the facts that:

1. The Commission’s organic statute does not
provide either explicitly or implicitly for.
such a change.
The Act does contain none of the normal
regulatory powers which would have been
included if Congress had intended to insti-
tute a diréct fee system for the use of the
public airway.
3. ‘The Commission’s interpretation creates the
gravest constitutional questions and flies direct-
. ly in the face of the specific anti-censorship
provisions of Section 326 of the Act.

4. The Commission’s interpretation of the Act
has been challenged by important segments of
the Congress as going far beyond the powers
which Congress originally intended tq grant.

5. The establishment of pay television rep-
resents a direct and unconstitutional discrim-
ination against low income groups. :

*

to

CONCLUSION ~*

All of the above considerations indicate that the
question here is, as the Court below correctly recognized,
‘““one of national importance.” Petitioners submit that it
should be passed.upon by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

MARCUS COHN
1920 L Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20036

MARTIN J. GAYNES
1920 L Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20036

Attorneys for Petitioners

December _, 1969

APPENDIX A ©

Mnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 22,623

NATIQNAL ASSOCIATION OF THEATRE OWNERS
and JOINT COMMITTEE AGAINST TOLL TV,

Petitioners,

a
V.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents,
ZENITH RADIO CORPORATION and TECO, INC..,

Intervenors.

Petition for Review of an Order of the
Federal Communications Commission

Decided September 30, 1969

Mr. Marcus Cohn, with whom Mr. Martin J. Gaynes
was on the brief, for petitioners.

Mr. Daniel R. Ohlbaum, Deputy General Counsel.
with whom Mr. Henry Geller, General Counsel, and Miss
Katrina Renouf, Counsel, Federal Communications Com- .
mission, were on the brief, for respondent Federal Com-
munications Commission. Mr. John H. Conlin, Associate ~
General Counsel, and Mrs. Lenore G. Ehrig, Counsel.

\

_

Federal Communications Commission, also entered ap-
pearances for respondent Federal Communications Com-
mission.

_ Mr. Howard E. Shapiro was on the brief, for re-
spondent United States of America.

Mr. Harold David Cohen, with whom Messrs. W.
Theodore Pierson and Vernon C. Kohlhaas were on the
brief, for intervenors. |

Before TAMM, LEVENTHAL and ROBB, Circuit Judges.

TAMM, Circuit Judge: Today we are faced with a
question of national importance, id est, whether the
Federal Communications Commission possesses the re-
quisite power to authorize nationwide over-the-air subs-
cription television! (commonly referred to as “pay TV”)
on a permanent basis. For the reasons hereinafter stated,
we hold that the Commission .can authorize such a
service under the authority conferred upon it by the
Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064, as
amended, 47 U.S.C. 8 301-397 (1964), and that the
Commission acted properly in prescribing rules for the
development of this new service.

1 Over-the-air subscription television differs from convertional
broadcasting in the nature of the signal that is transmitted; a
subscription station broadcasts a “scrambled” signal that can be
converted to intelligible form by special equipment which also
assesses charges for the subscription programs viewed. CATV
systems with direct cable links to subscribers’ television sets are
also technically capable of using similar devices to offer
subscription services. The Federal Communications Commission
investigated the possibility of authorizing subscription services on
CATV networks, and concluded that the most efficient means of
establishing pay television at present was through broadcasting
stations. See Fourth Report and Order on Subscription Television,
15 F.C.C, 2d 466, 579-87 (1968). [hereinafter Fourth Report].

A-3

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The history of the Commission’s involvement with
subscription television (hereinafter STV) is indeed
lengthy. Nearly two decades ago, on February 25, 1952,
the Zenith Radio Corporation filed a petition with the
Federal Communications Commission requesting author-
ity to institute a subscription television service. 2 On
February 10, 1955, the Commission issued a Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking, 20 Fed. Reg. 988, in which it
requested comments from interested parties on the ques-
tion of whethet the Commission had the statutory power
to authorize such operations. After voluminous responses
to this inquiry were filed, the Commission released a
Notice of Further Proceedings, 22 Fed. Reg. 3758
(1957), in which it announced that trial demonstrations
of STV would be necessary before a final decision could
be made. Shortly thereafter, on October 17, 1957, the
Commission issued its First Report on subscription televi-
sion, 23 F.C.C. 532, which concluded that the Commis-
sion could authorize pay television, but that trial opera-
tions should be conducted first. At this point Congress
began to take notice of the problem, and the House
Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce con-
ducted hearings on the subject. Upon conclusion of these
hearings, the Committee passed a resolution requesting
the Commission to defer authorization of any STV
operations. See 16 P&F RADIO REG. 1539-40 (1958).
The Commission then issued its Second Report? on pay
television which suspended the processing of all STV
applications until the expiration of the 85th Congress;
this delay was subsequently extended through the 86th
Congress.

.

2 20 Fed. Reg. 988 n.1 (1955).

3 16 P&F Radio Reg. 1539 (1958). oe

A-4

In 1959 the Commission issued its Third Report on
subscription television, 26 F.C.C. 265, 16 P&F RADIO
REG. 1540a, in which it reasserted the conditions for
trial operations set out in the First Report. In addition,
the Third Report stated that as soon as the trial
operations provided sufficient data, public hearings
would be held to determine whether STV should be
authorized on a permanent basis. Pursuant to the Third
Report, three applications were filed for trial STV
operations; only one such station ever commenced
operations, however.* This station, which was operated
by Zenith Radio Corporation and its licensee Teco,
Inc.,> intervenors in this action, began broadcasting over
UHF station WHCT in Hartford, Connecticut during
1962. This operation was initially licensed for three
years, but the license was subsequently extended for an
additional three years in 1965; in 1968 it was again
extended for three years, or -until such time as the
Commission authorized STV on a permanent basis. The
Commission’s authority to license the trial operation was |
approved. by this court in Connecticut Committee
Against Pay TV v, FCC, 112 U.S. App. D.C. 248, 301
F.2d 835, cert. denied, 371 U.S. 816 (1962).

In 1965 Zenith and Teco jointly filed a petition for
further rulemaking to establish permanent nationwide
STV on the basis of the data derived from their trial
operation in Hartford. The Commission then issued, .in
1966, a Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking and
Notice of Inquiry, 31 Fed. Reg. 5136, 7 P&F RADIO
REG. 2d 1501, which, in essence, requested further

>

4 One of the three applications ‘vas denied; of the two which
were granted, one station relinquished its license before
commencing operations. Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C..2d at 467.

> Zenith has patented “Phonevision,” a ‘system for over-the-air
subscription television, and has licensed Teco to enfranchise local
Phonevision operations. Brief for the Intervenors at 2 n. 1. .

A-5 .

comments on the feasibility of nationwide STV.
Subsequently, in 1967, the FCC’s Subscription ‘Television
Committee submitted to the Commission a Proposed
Fourth Report, 10 P&F RADIO REG. 2d 1617 (1967);
the FCC, en banc, invited comments and held oral
argument on the proposed report.

After the issuance of the Proposed Fourth Report,
which concluded that the Federal Communications
Commission did have statutory power to authorize
permanent nationwide STV, the Communications and
Power Subcommittee, of, the House Interstate and
Foreign Commerce Committee conducted hearings on the
subject of STV ‘sguring the week of October 9, 1967.
Upon. conclusion/of these! hearings the full Committee
recommended that the Commission refrain from taking
any action for one year or until the Communications Act
of 1934 was amended to authorize subscription
television. See 15 F.C.C.2d at 466, 470. On September
3, 1968, the Commission, through Chairman Hyde, sent
a letter to Chairman Staggers of the House Committee
on Interstate and Foreign Commerce indicating that the
Commission could not delay any further in resolving‘ the
important question of STV authorization.® The
Commerce Committee ‘responded on September 11,
1968, by adopting a resolution announcing that it was
“the sense of the Committee” that the Commission
should delay action on STV “until the end of the first
session of the 91st Congress” or until “‘completion of
action on legislation if by the end of said first session
legislation pertaining- to . . . [STV] is under
consideration.’ The resolution went on to state that “‘it
is the further sense of this committee that to avoid any
further delay . .. hearings . . should be scheduled by
the end of May 1969.” 15 F.C.C. 2d at 471.

6 Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C. 2d at 470-71.

A-6 *

| Finaily, on December 12, 1968, the Commission
< . | igsued its Fourth Report on subscription television,. 15
.C.C.2d 466, in which it reaffirmed its earlier
onclusion that it possessed the power to authorize a
D nationwide system of STV and established
| rules governing the operation of that system. The
/.\ National Association of Theatre Owners and the Joint
| ‘Committee Against Toll TV, participants in the
Commission proceedings, filed a petition for review in
this court pursuant to, section 402 of the
Communications Act, 47 U.S.C. 8402 (1964), alleging
statutory and constitutional errors in the Commission’s
determinations.

Il. THE FOURTH REPORT

The’ Commission’s Fourth Report and Order is a
lengthy (144 pages) and carefully reasoned document
which surveys the potential advantages and disadvantages
of subscription television in light of the Hartford
experiment and the contentions of various parties
interested in pay television. On the basis of its
seventeen-year inquiry’ into STV, the Commission
concluded that subscription television would provide a
‘“‘beneficial supplement” to conventional ‘“‘free”
broadcasts’ in the sense that STV broadcasting “is not
duplicative of the programming of free TV and that [it]

7 There is some question whether the term “free TV” is a
misnomer; in the Fourth Report, for example, the Commission
stated: “[F]ree TV is not really free. The advertising costs which
support free TV. are eventually passed on to the public, and a
profit is made by the licensee or others from the use of the
public’s channels.” 15 F.C.C. 2d at 548; but cf. id. at 548 n. 51;
Brief for Petitioners at 39: “[E]conomists have contended that
free television is indeed ‘free’ because, as more and more units of
a particular commodity are sold, the purchase price goes down and
the advertising costs are borne not by the panic, but by the:
results of mass production.”

as

A-7

is desired or needed by at least a portion of the viewing ~
public.” 15 F.C.C.2d at 473'n. 20; see also id. at 483-88.
In considering the critical question of whether STV
would have substantial adverse impact on free television,

the Commission placed primary emphasis on the
possibility that programs, audiences, and talent would be
diverted (“siphoned”) from free television to STV.
Because the Commission recognized that the public’s
“tremendous investment . . . in television receivers based
on the expe¢tation of free service ought to be protected
and the millions of viewers who rely on that service for
free entertainment should be permitted to do so,” it
imposed a number of restrictions on STV operations. In
brief, the Commission provided that STV stations could
be established only in communities located entirely
within the Grade A contours of five or more commercial
broadcast stations, and that only one STV» station could
be located in each such community; that each STV
station must broadcast at least twenty-eight hours per
week of free programming; and that STV stations must
observe detailed ‘restrictions on the kind and quantity of
subscription programs broadcast, in order to prevent
“siphoning.” See 15 F.C.C.2d at 494-95, 515-23, 595,
597, 598; see also pt. IVB, infra. _ Rules were also
established governing the technical specifications and °
modus operandi of STV stations; see 15 F.C.C.2d at
544-48, 595-98. .In promulgating these restrictions, the
Commission attempted to strike a balance between the -
danger of allowing STV operations to acquire enough
economic power to destroy free broadcasting, and the
risk of hedging the new service with so many restrictions
that it would “smother” before it ever got started. Thus,
’ the Commission rejected the suggestion, urged by
petitioners and others, that direct regulation of the rates
charged by STV stations was necessary in order to
prevent “gouging” of the public; instead, it concluded
that the available evidence rendered this possibility
remote, and that free market forces would be a sufficient

A-8

“check on the prices charged for STV services. (Jd. at
526, 548.)° We hold that the ‘Commission acted
reasonably and within the scope of its authority, both in
making its initial decision to authorize permanent
nationwide STV and in imposing specific regulations
governing subscription television.

iil. THE COMMISSION'S POWER TO AUTHORIZE
SUBSCRIPTION TELEVISION

' The petitioners advance three arguments, in support:
of their contention that the Commission exceeded the
proper bounds of its power in authorizing nationwide
subscription — television. First, they assert that the
unications Act contains no _ explicit grant

“can be infdrred from the januunce or history of the Act
(Brief for Petitioners at 17-21). Second, petitioners
contend that the Commission lacks authority to regulate
the rates charged for broadcast services; and that the
absence of such authority is persuasive evidence of
Congress’ intent to preclude establishment of
direct-charge broadcast, operations such as STV (Brief for
Petitioners at 21-24). Finally, petitioners claim that even
if the Commission did have the necessary authority to
establish pay television,:its failure to regulate rates or to
decide the question of whether it possessed rate-making
- power constituted an arbitrary and capricious exercise of
this authority (Brief for Petitioners at 35-43). We shall
consider each of these contentions separately.

A. The Language and History of the
Communications Act

Our inquiry into the scope of the Commission’s
authority begins with section 303 of the

A-9

Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1082, as
amended, 47 U.S.C. 8303 (1964), which sets forth the
Commission’s general powers and duties in regulating ©
' radio broadcasting. In pertinent part, this, section directs
the Commission, “as [the] public convenience, interest,
or necessity requires,” to:

(a) Classify radio stations;

(b) Prescribe the nature of the service to be
rendered by each class of_licensed stations. . .:

(e) Regulate the kind of apparatus to be used with
-respect to its external effects and the purity and

sharpness of the emissions from each station. . .;
St

(g) Study new. uses. for radio, provide for
_ experimental uses of frequencies, and generally
encourage the larger and more effective use of radio.
in the public interest. .

In addition, section 307 of the Act, 47 U.S.C.
§ 307(a) (1964), provides that “[t]he Commission, if
‘public convenience, interest, or necessity will be served
thereby, subject to the limitations of this chapter, shall
grant to any applicant therefor a station license... .”

We find it unnecessary to determine the precise
significance as precedent of our ruling in Connecticut
Committee Against Pay TV vy. FCC, 112 U.S.App.D.C.
248, 301 F.2d 835, cert. denied, 371 U.S. 816 (1962).
Connecticut Committee, which arose out of the same
series of proceedings as this litigation,® dealt with the
propriety of Commission authorization for a trial STV
operation, and our opinion placed considerable emphasis

8 See part I, supra.

A-10

upon the experimental nature of the undertaking.? Thus,
although Connecticut Committee can provide, assistance
in our present inquiry, we feel it appropriate to give
fresh consideration to the question of whether the
Federal Communications Commission has authority to
license STV for an idefinite period.

The basic structure. of title III of the
Communications Act, from which the foregoing sections
are quoted, is a broad grant of general licensing authority
to the Commission, subject to a number of specific
exceptions and limitations. (See, e.g., 47 U.S.C. 8 310,
312, 313(b) (1964).) This plan is consistent with the
dynamic and rapidly-changing nature of the statute’s
subject matter, radio broadcasting, and the courts have
consistently recognized that Congress intended to vest
expansive powers in the Commission in order to avoid
the necessity of repetitive legislation.!® The classic

9 In his opinion for the court, Judge (now Chief Justice) Burger
‘ pointed out that “Congress. specifically commanded the
Commission by Sec. 303(g) of the Communications Act, to ‘study
new uses for radio, provide for experimental uses of frequencies,
and generally encourage the larger and more effective use of radio
in the public interest.’ ” (Emphasis in original.) In addition, he
concluded that “[t] he distinguishing characteristic of the Federal
Communications Commission’s authorization of subscription
television in this case is the experimental or trial basis upon which
the system is to operate for the duration of its thrée years
authority.” 112 U.S. App. D.C. at 250, 301 F.2d at 837.

10 See General Telephone Company of California v. FCC, No.
22,106 (D.C. Cir. April 30, 1969) (slip op. at 15):

Over the years, the Commission has been required to meet new
problems . . . and as cases have reached the courts the scope
of the Act has been defined, as Congress contemplated
would be done, so as to avoid a continuing process of
statutory revision. To do otherwise in regulating a dynamic
public service function such as broadcasting would place an
intolerable regulatory burden on the Congress—one.which it
sought to escape by delegating administrative functions to
the Commission.

qe PIR PGE SMB PS cL SER ES ial

A-11

affirmation of the broad scope of the Commission’s
authority was enunciated nearly thirty years ago by the
Supreme Court in National Broadcasting Company _v.

United States: -
In the context of the chine problems to which

it was directed, the Act gave the Commission not
niggardly but expansive powets. It was given a
comprehensive mandate to “enkourage. the larger
and more effective use of radio in the public
interest”’.

While Congress did not give the
Commission unfettered discretion to regulate all
phases of the radio industry; it did not frustrate the
purposes for which the Communications Act of
1934 was brought into being by attempting an
itemized catalogue of the specific manifestations of
the general problems for the’ solution of which it
was establishing a regulatory agency. That would
have stereotyped the powers of the Commission to
‘specific details in regulating a field of enterprise the
dominant characteristic of which was the rapid pace
of its unfolding.!!

This continuing imperative need for an expansive’
interpretation of: the Commission’s jurisdiction was —
recently reaffirmed -by the, Supreme Court in United
_ States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S.°157, 167-78
(1968§, and has been observed repeatedly by this

11 319 US. 190, 219 (1943); see also FCC-v. Pottsville
Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S. 134, 137-38 (1940).

A-12

court.!?. Morevoer, the Commission has devoted long and
careful scrutiny to the question of whether it possesses
authoritygto license STV operations, and has reached the
conclusion that its jurisdiction under the Act is
sufficient.'3~in this situation, we are bound to observe
the ‘“vefierable ‘principle that the construction of:a
statute by those charged with its execution should be
followed unless there are compelling indications that it is
wrong.” Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S.
367, 381 (1969); see also General Telephone Company
of- California v. FCC, No. 22,106 (D.C. Cir. April 30;
1969) (slip. op. at 20).

Nothwithstanding this impressive body of authority,
the petitioners contend that STV is clearly beyond the
contemplation of the Communications Act. In essence,
they assert that “over-the-air pay television represents a
fundamental change in the nature of American
Broadcasting” (Brief for the Petitioners at 13) and that
therefore the power to license pay television cannot be
inferred from the Act. Direct charges for broadcasting
‘services are. not wholly unprecedented in this country,
however; testimony to this. fact may be found in
Functional Music, Inc. v. FCC,+107 U.S.App. D.C. 34,
.274 F.2d 543 (1958), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 813 (1959),
and Muzak Corp., 8 F.C.C. 581 (1941). Indeed, we
_feferred to these .cases ‘in Connecticut Committee as
_ instances.in which subscription sérvi¢es “have been found -
' perfectly. acceptabl¢é by both [the] Commission and the
courts.”” J12 U.S.App.D.C. at 250 n.2, 301 F.2d at 837
n.2. Since. the matter now before us is basically a

12 See, eg.) Paducah Newspapers, Inc. v. FCC, No. 22,007 (D. c.
Cir. June 1969); General Telephone Company of California v.
FCC, No. 22,106 (D.C. Cir. April 30, 1969); Buckeye: Cablevision,
Inc. v. FCC, 128 U.S. App. D.C. 262, 387 F. 2d 220 (1967).

13 See Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C, 2d at 469-73; First Report on
Subscription Television, 23 F.C.C. 532, 535-42 (1957).

A-13

question of first impression,'4 however, we. ‘have

examined the legislative history of the Communications
Act in order to evaluate petitioners’ claim. that

subscription television is “the most fundamental change - :

in broadcasting that has occurred since the adoption. of
the original Communications Act in 1927” (Brief for the -
Petitioners at 20). ‘

The present statute governing the Commission’s
authority over broadcasting services is derived in large
part from the Radio Act-of 1927, 44 Stat. 1162.'> Five
. years before the Radio Act was adopted, the problem of
how radio broadcasts would be financed was still very
much an open question. Proposals included endowment
of stations by public-spirited citizens, municipal or state
financing, donations from the listening public, and taxes
on -the sale of radio receivers; some variants of .tHese
schemes were attempted with limited success in the years
preceding’ the Radio Act’s passage. 16 The concept of
advertiser-financed programs. apparently was first

"14 Aside from Connecticut Committee, the Functional Music
case parallels the facts of the instant controversy more closely
than any other: case which we have been able to discover.. In
Functional Music, however, we did not deal with the specific .
question of the FCC’s authority to license direct-charge —
broadcasting services. The major issues in that case were whether
this court possessed jurisdiction to review the Commission’s action,
and’ whether the Commission had erred in determining that
functional broadcasting was point-to-point communication rather
than broadcasting under the Act.

1) For a brief description of the early federal statutes governing
broadcasting, see National Broadcasting Co. v. United ‘States, 319
U.S. 190, 210-14 (1943). --

16 See E. Barnouw, A Tower in Babel: A_ History of
Broadcasting in the United States 154-57 (1966) {hereinafter
Barnouw] ; G. Archer, History of Radio to 1926, at 252-54 (1938)
[hereinafter Archer] . :,

A-14

developed on a systematic basis'? by the American .
Telephone and Telegraph Company in 1922, as part of a
plan which the company called “toll broadcasting”:!®
initial public reaction to this system has been described
as “lukewarm, and in some cases indignant.”!9 Various
forms of advertising soon became a. commonplace
adjunct of radio programs,?° however, and in spite of
occasional public and official attacks on the practice?! it
had become a well-established—but hardly universal—?2
method of financing radio programs by 1927 when
congested air waves led Congress to establish detailed

federal regulation of broadcasting.

17 Apparently some sporadic efforts at radio advertising were
made in the early 1920’s when individual phonograph record ,
merchants who supplied complimentary phonograph records for
broadcasts began insisting on radio acknowledgment. See Archer
199. v:

18 See Barnouw 106-107; Archer 275-77. ;

19 Barnouw 106-07. Cf C. Siepmann, Radio, Television, and
Society 7 (1950) [hereinafter Siepmann]: “We are today so
accustomed to the dominant role of the advertiser in broadcasting
that we tend to forget that, initially, the idea of advertising on the
. air was. not -even- contemplated and met. with widespread :

‘ indignation when it was first tried.”

20 See generally Barnouw 131-34, 157-60.
2I" archer 285-86, 361, 363; Barnouw 177-78; Siepmann 10-11.

22 At the time the Radio Act was passed, “time-selling stations
were still a minotiry; the climax of:a struggle between commercial.
and noncommercial interests lay ahead.”’ Barnouw 200; see also id.
at 202-03; Siepmann 10 (“[I]n 1929 the National Association of
Broadcasters -adopted ‘Standards of Commercial Practice,’ which
specifically barred commercial announcements from the air
between the Bours of seven and eleven in the evening.”’).

¢
4

A-15

Given this rather chaotic background, it is not
_ surprising that the legislative history of the Radio Act
casts little light on the precise question presented by this
case. An early version of the Act, which was passed by
the Senate, gave the regulatory body power to “regulate
radio stations where a charge is made to listeners,”?? but
this provision was subsequently deleted in conference
without explanation.24 The problem of authority to
license direct-charge broadcasting was mentioned only
briefly on several occasions during the floor debates on
the Radio Act. The most extensive discussion of the
question was offered by Senator Dill, sponsor of the
Senate bill and Chairman of the Conference Committee:

Mr. WALSH of .Massachusetts. A
Representative from:New York has introduced in

* the House a bill to prevent a radio-braodcaster from
charging the public for listening in. it is claimed
that the possible result of this, legislation may be
the charging of a fee to listeners. . . . Is there any
provision in this bill that permits that to be done?

23 § Rep. No. 772, 69th Cong., Ist Sess. 3 (1926).

24 The portion of the Conference Report which deals with the
» relevant section of the bill states:

The jurisdiction conferred in this paragraph is substantially
the same as the jurisdiction conferred upon the- commission -
by section’ 1(c) of the Senate amendment. The important
change from the provision of the Senate amendment is that
while under the Senate’ bill this original jurisdiction was
vested permanently in the commission, the jurisdiction is by
this compromise . . . limited to one year in time.

H. Rep. No. 1886, 69th Cong., 2d Sess. 17 (1927); S. Doc. 200,
69th Cong., 2d Sess. 17 (1927).

A-16

Mr. DILL. ... . [T]he commission would have: ’
the power to permit or prohibit the use of such
apparatus if it so desired, but. . .in my judgment,
Congress.should not pass a law that would prevent a
broadcasting station from so equipping itself that
people could not listen to its programs unless’ they
had a certain kind of receiving set.

|

. . .[H]ere in the United States we have built
up a free system of broadcasting and reception, and
it has thrived. . . . I do not believe, with the
condition[s]- existing, that any broadcasting station
can hope to prosper if it attempts to set up a
method by which it would charge the listener in;
but I know of no reason why the Congress should
interfere with that kind of private business any
more than it should interfere with any other kind
of private business.

(68 CONG. REC. 2880-81 (1927).) The bill prohibiting
direct charges was never passed, and further references to
pay broadcasting during the debates were sparse and
inconclusive; in most of these discussions, the principal
concern seems to be the possibility that“large chain
broadcasting organizations would obtain monopoly
power, through patent licensing agreements or other
devices, and use pay broadcasting schemes to extract
monopoly profits from the public. See generally 68
CONG. REC. 2576-77, 2580, 3033-34, 4149 (1927). In
the years intervening between the passage of the Radio
Act of 1927 and the issuance of the Commission’s
Fourth Report on subscription television, Congress has;
On occasion, been confronted with the suggestion that
the present Act authorizes the Commission to license

A-17

direct-charge broadcasting services,2> but no legislation
restricting the broad mandate of the original Act has
been forthcoming.

Thus, we are unable to agree that the
Communications Act absolutely precludes the
Commission from approving a system of direct charges to
the’ public as a means of financing broadcasting services.
Rather, the Act seems designed to foster diversity in the
financial organization and modus operandi. of
broadcasting stations as well as in the content of
' programs, and we feel that the Commission did not
exceed its authority in concluding that subscription
television is entirely consistent with these goals.

B. Rate Regulation and Licensing Power

Petitioners seek to negate the broad sweep of the

Communications Act by asserting that the Commission ~

lacks the authority to regulate the rates charged by STV |
operators, and that the absence of such authority reflects
- Congress’ intent to prevent the Federal, Communications

*

. 25 See, e.g. Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C. 2d at 598-99; Second
Report on Subscription Television, 16 P&F Radio Reg. 1539
(1957); 98 Cong. Rec. 9032-33 (1952). The proceedings leading
up to the instant case reflect Congress’ inability to agree on
limitations of the Commission’s power in this area. On, September
12, 1968, the day ‘after the House Committee on Interstate and
Foreign Commerce passed its resolution urging the Commission to
defer action on STV (see part I, supra), nine members of the
Commerce Committee sent a letter to the Commission which
stated, in part, that the resolution “represents the thinking of the
barest majority of those present at the Commerce Committee
hearing” and “does not represent a mandate to the Commission.”
The letter concluded: “In our opinion, the failure of the FCC to
act promptly to decide the 13-year-old ‘rulemaking proceeding on
subscription television would be inconsistent with your
responsibilities imposed by the Administrative Procedure Act and
contrary to the public interest... . .” Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C. 2d
at 471-72.

ten,

A-18

\ Commission from authorizing direct-charge broadcasting.
The contention that the Commission lacks rate-making
authority for over-the-air STV is predicated on the
structure of the statute: the Communications Act
distinguishes between communications “common
carriers” and “broadcasting” operators,. providing the
Commission with explicit authority to establish tariffs
for the former but not for the latter. See 47 U.S.C. 8
201, 203 (1964). However, we need not reach the
difficult question of whether Commission power to
establish rates for broadcasting services is implicit in
some provisions of title III, since we are unable to agree
with petitioners’ interpretation of the role ~ which
rate-making authority plays in the Communications Act.

‘Federal control over telephone and_ telegraph
evolved earlier than did regulation of radio broadcasting,
and, in its early forms, it encompassed supervision of the
rates charged by companies providing service.2® Yet,
with this model of common carrier treatment for a
communications service available in 1927, Congress
elected to establish a less rigorous system of federal
control for broadcasting. The significance of this
differential treatment was noted by this court in Pulitzer
Publishing Co. v. FCC, 68 U.S. App. D.C. 124, 126, 94
F.2d 249, 251 (1937):

[WJe have never said that a radio broadcasting .
station is a public utility in the sense in which a
railroad is a public utility. Generally speaking, that
term comprehends any facility employed in
rendering quasi public service such as waterworks,
gas works, railroads, telephones, telegraphs, etc. The -
use and enjoyment of such facilities the public has
the legal right to demand; but its right to the use
and enjoyment of the facilities of a privately owned
radio station is of a much more limited character.

26’See 36 Stat. 539, 544-46 (1910). -

A-19

[T]he power of Congress has not yet been
extended to the point of fixing and regulating the

- rates to be charged by the licensee or the
establishment of rules requiring it to serve alike the
entire public in the use of its facilities.

See also FCC v. Sanders Brothers Radio Station, 309
U.S. 470, 474 (1940). In short, we think that it is fair to
infer that the differential treatment accorded to
communications common carriers and radio broadcasters ~
in the Communications Act reflects Congress” belief that
commercial broadcasting is not a natural monopoly ~
which creates the same kinds of risks that a telephone
system does. Rather, Congress apparently believed that
once the clear dangers of combinations in restraint of
trade were removed, competition among those providing
broadcasting services in a given area would best protect. ,
the public interest. It is also significant that in both the
Radio Act of 192777’ and the present version of the.
Communications Act,2® the principal method which
Congress provided for combatting anticompetitive
practices is regulation through the licensing process—a
_ method which the Commission deemed sufficient to pre-
vent any abuses of economic power by STV operators. See
Fourth Report, 15 F.C.C.2d at 548, 596-97.

%. #2

We approve the Commission’s conclusion that it was
not called upon to decide whether, or in what
circumstances, its licensing regulatory functions might
include surveillance or control over rates charged for
services. The need for such control would presumably be
rooted in developments in . the market which
demonstrated that STV had been granted a monopolistic
or~ ‘‘quasi-monopolistic”’ position, in which the
competition of -ordinary i or other services was not

27 See 44 Stat. 1162, 1168-69 (1927).
28 see 47 US.C. 8 313-14 (1964).

%¢

Sona ara aa aaa eR aw ay ee eee ep ce nan

effective to prevent abuse. On the basis of the rates
charged in the Hartford experiment, the FCC concluded
there was no likelihood of rate abuse. Appellants claim
that these rates were kept artificially low in order to
obtain a good climate for general approval of STV.
Perhaps so, but the Commission was entitled to take into
account the facts as they now exist, without ranging inta
such speculation. If and when the premises of its-
regulatory approach change, the Commission can and
should consider the issues involved. American Airlines;
Inc. vy; CAB, 123 U.S. App.. DX. 310; 359 F.2d 624,
633 (en banc), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 843 (1966). Its

- predictions as to the probable course of rates and

existence of meaningful competition are certainly not
unreasonable; and it is equally certain that the FCC was
nat required to stake out at this time the techniques and
methods it might desire to use in future circumstances
that ha¥e not yet and may ‘not ever take shape. “In a
‘statutory scheme in which Congress has given an agency
various bases of jurisdiction and various tools with which
to protect the public interest, the agency is entitled to
some leeway in choosing which jurisdictional base and
which regulatory tools will be most effective in
advancing the Congressional objective:’’. Philadelphia
Television Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 123 U.S. App. D.C.
298, 300,.359 F.2d 282, 284 (1966).

C. The Question of Arbitrariness
Petitioners advance a separate but related challenge .
to the Commission’s treatment of the rate regulation
question. Petitioners contend that, even if the
authorization of STV was within the scope of the
Commission’s power, its action in the Fourth Report was
arbitrary and capricious because the Commission failed

‘to set forth adequate reasons for its decisions to employ
regulatory measures less drastic than rate-making, and ie
it

avoid detailed inquiry into the question of whether ji
possesses the authority to establish rates.

A-21

In essence, petitioners’ argument rests on the
premise that STV operations will be monopolies similar
to the public utilities which have traditionally been
subject to rate regulation (Brief for Petitioners at 41). In
turn, this postulate apparently rests on the assumption
that the relevant product market is the television station,
and that a finding of any other product market would be
so unreasonable as to be capricious.? 9 The question of
market definition is hardly that simple. Within the °
confines of the Fourth Report, there are statements by
various parties suggesting a\number of other possible
product markets affecting \STV: all entertainment
available in a given area; all television programming
available in the area; all programs or performances of a
‘ given type, such as motion pictures or sporting events,
which could be seen in live performances and other
media; subcategories within program types, such as films
less than two years old or athletic events featuring home
town ‘teams; and unique individual programs. See
generally 15 F.C.C. 2d at 474-88, 494-509. Obviously,
entertainment is an industry in which antitrust concepts
such as product market and cross-elasticity of demand?
are exceptionally difficult to apply; the inquiry is further

29 Brief for Petitioners at 41 (emphasis in original):

The Commission urges that rate regulation is
unnecessary since: “We believe that the market place will
regulate charges that are paid .. . .” Yet, it can fairly be
asked: What market place? The Commission has limited pay
television to only one station in each city with five television
allocations. Under these conditions, it is simply fallacious to
argue that a “market place” exists, the operation of which
would protect the public. There is no “market place” when
there is a government-authorized monopoly.

30 See, e.g., United States v. Columbia Pictures Corporation, 189
F. Supp. 153, 183-92 (S.D. N.Y. 1960); Section of Antitrust Law
of the American Bar Association, Antitrust Developments
1955-1968 at 66-70 (1968). :

A-22

complicated by the fact that the copyright law operates
to create some permissible monopolies within the general
area.

In light of the extensive discussion devoted to these
topics in the Fourth Report and the considerations
enumerated in the preceding section, we are not prepared
to hold that the Commission was arbitrary and capricious
in determining that a substantial amount of economic
competition would exist between STV and the other
_forms of entertainment and enlightenment available in
the community.?! Courts should be very, reluctant, we
think, to declare that free market forces must be
supplanted by rate regulation when neither Congress nor
the agency administering the area has found that such—
regulation is essential.

IV. THE FIRST AMENDMENT
AND EQUAL PROTECTION ISSUES

‘Petitioners also challenge the propriety of the
Commission’s actions on the grounds ihat_ the
authorization of STV_ constitutes an _ invidious
discrimination against indigent persons who will be
unable to afford STV equipment or fees, and that the
program restrictions imposed upon STV _ operations
constitute an impermissible restraint on free speech

31 The Commission devoted considerable attention to the
likelihood that STV will compete not only with free television,
but also with motion picture theatres and other “box office”
attractions. See 15 F.C.C. 2d at 474-88, 497, 508-09.

A-23

violative of section 326 of the Communications Act??
and the first amendment to the Constitution. At the
outset, there is some doubt whether petitioners possess
‘the requisite standing to raise these issues. We note, for
example, that in the proceedings before the Commission
petitioner Joint Committee Against Toll TV proposed
-and urged adoption of program restrictions which were
quite similar to the ones which they now attack (J.A.
19-24), and that organizations vitally interested in free
speech supported approval of STV as a means of
promoting diversity of expression (see part IVB, infra).
Similarly, it is significant that the Commission concluded
from the Hartford experiment that in at least one
instance STV subscribers were able to observe a major
_ sporting event in their homes at a per capita cost which
was substantially less than the prices being charged for
viewing the same event on closed circuit television in
neighborhood theaters (15 F.C.C. 2d at 485). At the
same time, we are familiar with the line of authority
cited by petitioners which supports an expansive
interpretation of the standing requirement when

32 47 US.C. § 326 (1964):

Nothing in this chapter shall be understood or
construed to give the Commission the power of censorship:
over the radio communications or signals transmitted by any
radio station, and no regulation or condition shall be
promulgated or fixed by the Commission which shall
interfere with the right of free speech by means of- radio
communication.

A logical extension of petitioners’ constitutional arguments could
well render any form~of direct-charge broadcasting
unconstitutional. Thus, it could be argued that rules against
siphoning of programs, talent, and audiences are required in order |
to prevent STV from damaging. free television and imposing
impermissible hardship on poor people, but any rules against
siphoning would violate the first amendment, and thus the
Commission’ and Congress are without. power to approve
direct-charge broadcasting.

A-24

~~ oad -

‘challenges to the legality of administrative action’ are
‘ made;33 moreover, we think that petitioners’ long and
vociferous opposition to the establishment of STV, both ©
here and before the Commission, is evidentiary of
“concrete adverseness which sharpens the presentation
of issues upon which the court so largely depends for
illumination of difficult constitutional questions.” Baker
v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 204 (1962); see also Flast vy.
Cohen, 392 U:S. 83, 99 (1968). Finally, since we have
determined that petitioners’ constitutional claims must
’ fail on the merits, we shall assume without deciding that
they possess the requisite standing. >

A. Discrimination Against the Poor

_ Petitioners rely on several findings in the Fourth
Report to support their. contention that the
Commission’s authorization of nationwide STV _ will
result in unconstitutional discrimination against people in
low income groups. Specifically, they point to data from

the Hartford experiment which showed that less than
two percent of all subseribers had incomes in the range
of $0-$3,999 (15 F.C.C. 2d at 493), while nearly thirty
percent of the national population in 1964 had incomes
of less than $4,000; thus, they conclude that the

33 The leading ‘case is FCC v. Sanders Brothers Radio Station,
309 U.S. 470, 477 (1940), where the Supreme Court stated that
in enacting the standing provisions of the Communications Act, 47
U.S.C. § 402 (1964), Congress “‘may have been of the opinion that
one likely to be financially injured by the issue of a license would
be the only person having a sufficient interest to bring to the
attention of the appellate court errors of law in the action of the
Commission . . . .” The Court held that the. standing thus
conferred encompassed “any relevant question of law in respect of
-the order of the Commission.” See also Office of Communication
of the United Church of Christ v. FCC, No. 19,409 (D.C. Cir.,
June 20, 1969); National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc. v.
SEC, No. 20,164 (D.C. Cir., April 30, 1969) (slip op. at 24-36;
Chief Judge Bazelon concurring).

\ A-25
authorization of STV is “systematic discrimination”
against thirty percent of our citizens.>4 We need not
reach the question of whether the concepts. of equal —
protection applicable to the federal government by
implication fram the due -process clause of thie fifth’
amendment (cf. Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954))
are- any different from the concepts of equal protection
applicable to the states under the fourteenth amendment;
‘by any accepted standard of equal protection, we find
the petitioners’ claim insubstantial.

Since the Commission promulgated a number of -
rules designed to protect free television from economic
incufsions by STV—rules which we think are reasonable
and amply supported bythe record— ‘we must confine
our inquiry to the proposition that any .form of pay
broadcasting would, by itself; be discriminatory against
the indigent. We-must also assume that the ‘chargés
imposed by STV. operators will not be exorbitant, since
we have: affirmed ‘the Commission’s determination that
rate regulation is not ‘presently needed to prevent :
monopoly profits. Thus, unless. there _is some factor
which serves to distinguish broadcasting from other
endeavors which are subject to federal regulation, we are
being asked to render a decision which would go far |
toward establishing the rule that every service provided
by a regulated industry must be made available to all
citizens on the basis of their ability to pay. Such a result.
would clearly be a constitutional innovation that: we are
unwilling to make; and -we are not convinced that the

34 Asa matter of statistical technique, we have some doubts
about the reliability of figures obtained by comparing data taken
from the Hartford area to data taken’ from the whole nation; in
theory, it is possible that the Hartford area contains a substantially
smaller proportion of people in the low.income evels than does
‘the nation as a whole, and that as a result the two percent figure
is misleading. For present purposes, however, we’ shall ‘disregard
this potential discrepancy.

A-26

subject of television broadcasting has unique features
distinguishing it from comparable regulated industries.

- The equal protection cases cited by petitioners bear
scant resemblance on their facts to this controversy;
rather the cases involve poll taxes (Harper v. Virginia
Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663 (1966)) and the
administration of criminal justice (Griffin v._Illinois, 351
U.S. 12 (1956)). Petitioners attempt to relate these cases
and their progeny to subscription television by arguing
that “in order to fulfill their citizenship requirements, or,
indeed, to effectively achieve their tights, the poor must
have access to the mass media” (Brief for Petitioners at
46). We think that this doctrinal bridge is far too
insubstantial to bear the weight of petitioners’ argument,
and that their analysis fails to take account of the realities
which the Commission considered in authorizing STV.

The public’s access to the broadcast media has never

been wholly free; at minimum, it has ,been necessary to’

procure and maintain the necessary apparatus for
receiving broadcasts, and this burden necessarily weighs
, heaviest on those with least resources. Moreover, any
“deprivation” of access to the broadcast frequencies
which may result from the Commission’s approval of
STV will almost certainly be slight. At most, one out of
five stations serving a given community will be devoted
to STV under the rules promulgated by the Commission;
this station will be required to carry at least twenty-eight
hours of free programming per week: The Commission
also adopted detailed. programming restrictions which are
designed to prevent the more popular kinds of free

programs from migrating to subscription television. At

the same time, the Commission found that the
authorization of STV may create benefits for all citizens
which gould well offset any deprivation. Thus, in some
communities approval of STV operations could result in

the opening of a new station rather than the conversion .

of an existing free station; in this situation, there would

A-27

,

be a net gain in the amount of free broadcasts because
of the STV _ operators’ obligation to provide free
programs (15 F.C.C. 2d at 494). Similar considerations
will be present when an existing station that is in serious
financial difficulties manages to survive by converting to
subscription operations (/d.). Subscription television may
also make available to a larger viewing public
entertainment which would otherwise be unavailable for
reasons of distance, lack of seating space, the desire o
promoters to protect their gate receipts, or because thd
per capita cost of STV viewing is less than attendance af
a “live” event. Cf. 15 F.C.C. 2d at 484-85. Finally, there
is also the possibility that competition from STV will
spur the free broadcasting networks and stations to make
substantial improvements in ‘their services, resulting in an
overall gain in the quality of television programming (15
F.C.C. 2d at 505). In short, we believe that the
Commission gave full and fair consideration to the
potential impact of STV on poor people and free
television, and that its findings, conclusions, and rules on
these issues were reasonable.

B. The Program Restrictions and the First Amendment

Petitioners’ final contention is that the program
restrictions which the Commission established in order to
prevent STV from siphoning programs, talent, and
audiences from free broadcasting are repugnant to
section 326 of the. Communications Act and the first
amendment of the Constitution as a prior restraint on
free speech. In_ general, these program restrictions
provided that: (1) no advertising could be broadcast
during subscription operations, except for
announcements promoting STV programs; (2) feature
films could not be offered which had been generally
released more than two years prior to the broadcast date,
with several exceptions; (3) sports events which had been
_regularly broadcast live on free television in the two

pte =

abort | ENG Ay IRIE IARI PO is AEE EEE Gabe’ see oomecaemsr tc.

A-28

years preceding their subscription broadcast could not be ad
shown on STV; (4) no series program’ with
interconnected plots or substantially the same cast of

characters could be offered on a subscription basis; (5)

not more than ninety percent of. the total STV
broadcasting hours could consist of feature films and

. sports events combined. 15 F.C.C. 2d at 597-98.

At the outset, it is appropriate to note the extreme
difficulty and delicacy of the tasks which the first
amendment imposes on the Federal Communications
Commission. The Commission is charged’ with
administering a scarce communications resource, the
broadcast spectrum, in such a manner that the great
objectives incorporated into the first amendment are
realized and debate on public issues is “uninhibited,
robust, and wide-open.” New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 254, 270 (1964). Thus the Commission must
seek to assure that the listening and viewing public will
be exposed to a wide variety of “‘social, political,
esthetic, moral, and other ideas and experiences.” Red
Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 390
(1969). In seeking to provide the broadcasting media
with the diversity demanded by the first amendment,’
however, the Commission must avoid the perils of both
inaction and overzealousness—or abdication which would
allow: those possessing the most economic power to
dictate what may be heard, and of censorship which
would allow the government to control the ideas
communicated to the public. The need to make choices
of this kind requires the Commission to take some
cognizance of the kind and content of programs being
offered to the public.35 Further, the Commission must

35 See, e.g, Black Hills Video Corp. v. FCC, 399 F.2d 65 (8th Cir.
' 1968); Buckley-Jaeger Broadcasting Corp. of California v. FCC,
U.S. App. D.C.:__, 397 F.2d 651 (1968); Buckeye Cablevision, Inc.
v. FCC, 128 U.S. App. D.C. 262, 387 F.2d 220 (1967); Bay State
Beacon, Inc. v. FCC, 84 U.S. App. D.C. 216, 171 F.2d 826 (1948). (

bi ti RE COB TN PRONE S Ce SERENA RT TRE IE
= 3

A-29

be cautious in the manner in which it acts; regulations
which are vague and overbroad create a risk of chilling
free speech, while rules which are too finely drawn will
arouse judicial suspicion that they are designed to
suppress uncongenial ideas. Cf. Red Lion Broadcasting
Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 395-96 (1969). We are
convinced that the Commission acted within these limits
in promulgating its rules for subscription television.

4a

In Banzhaf v. FCC, U.S. App. D.C. : ;

405 F.2d 1082, 1101-1103 (1968), we established several
tests which can ‘aid in determining whether Commission

; rulings and orders are in conflict with the first
‘amendment. The first consideration mentioned in
Banzhaf is whether the rulings ban speech, and, as the
petitioners point out, the STV restrictions prevent
subscription licensees from broadcasting certain kinds of
programs. This characterization of the STV rules ignores
their context and purpose, however; it seems obvious
that -the Commissicn sought only to insure the
continuing economic vitality of free television and not to
affect the ideas which could be presented on either free
or subscription television. Thus, when the net effect of
the program restrictions is considered, it seems quite
likely that the public in STV areas will receive more
rather than less diversity of expression in its television
programming. It is significant that the American Civil
Liberties Unidn and the Americans for Democratic
Action urged. 'the Commission to approve STV as a
means of opening new avenues of speech, and suggested
regulations which were similar in some respects to those
ultimately adopted in the Fourth Report in order to
assure that existing economic forces were directed
toward achieving maximum diversity of expression. See
generally 15 F.C.C. 2d at 516, 526, 546-67, 554-55, 575.
Here, as in Banzhaf, the likely result of the Commission’s
/ action is to provide the public with additional

A-30

information and ideas rather than repressing existing
sources. See 405 F.2d at 1103. “

In addition, we note that the restrictions now being ~
challenged deal with categories_of speech which are, if
anything, farther from the central concerns of the first
amendment than those at issue when comparable rulings
have been upheld by the courts. In Red Lion, the —
Supreme, Court upheld against first amendment attack
the “fairness doctrine,” which restricted broadcasting
stations’ control over political statements—speech which
is certainly the core of the first amendment guaranty.
Similarly, our opinion in Banzhaf upheld restrictions
which required broadcasters to allocate time for
opponents of cigarette advertising, a matter which was
characterized as a public health issue. We think that.the
STV rules create far less risk of diminishing the debate
on vital public issues. Finally, the Commission found
that STV would be’a beneficial supplement to present
television offerings, provided that neither service could
acquire sufficient economic. power to drive the other
from the market-place. The program restrictions are
designed to preserve this balance and to insure against
programming duplication; thus it can be said here, as in
Banzhaf,, that “{e]ven if some valued speech is inhibited
-by the fuling, the First Amendment gain is greater than
the loss.” 405 F.2d at 1102.:

Since: our review of the petitioners’ contentions
reveals no error in the Commission’s determinations, the
Fourth Report and Order must ,be ,

2 ee Affirmed.

APPENDIX B
The Constitution

AMENDMENT [I]

Congress shall make ‘no law _ respecting an
establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise
thereof; or abridging the freedom.of speech, or of the
press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble,
and: to petition the Government for a redress of
. grievances. -

AMENDMENT XIV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State wherein
-they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor shall any State. deprive’
any person of. life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

“The Cananuniéétions Act of 1934

Section 3(0). ‘‘Broadcasting’’ .megns_ the.
dissemination of radio communications ‘intended to be
received by the public, directly or by the.intermediary of
relay stations.

Section 301. It is the purpose of this Act: among
other things, to maintain the centrol of the United
States over all the channels of interstate and foreign -
radio transmission; and to provide for the use of such .
channels, but not the ownership thereof, by persons for
limited periods of time, under licenses granted ‘by
Federal authority, and no such license shall be construed
to create any right, beyond :the terms, conditions, and

B-2

periods of the license. No persons shall use or operate
‘ any apparatus for the’ transmission of energy or
communications or signals by radio (a) from one place in °
any territory or possession of the United States or in the
District of Columbia to another place ‘in the same
territory, possession, or district; or (b) from any state,
territory, or possession’ of the United States, or from the

_ District of Columbia to any other state, territory, or

possession of the United States; or (c) from any place in
any state, territory, or possession of the United States,
or in the District of Columbia, to: any place in any
foreign country orto any vessel; or (d) within any state
- when the effects of such use extend byond the borders
of said state, or when interference is caused by such,use.
or operation with the transmission of such energy, com-
munications, or signals from within’ said state to»any
place heyond its borders, or from any place beyond its
borders to any place within said state, or with the
.transmission or reception of such energy, communica-
tions, or signals from and/or to places beyond the bor-
ders of said state; or (e) upon any vessel or aircraft of
the United States; or (f) upon any ‘other mobile stations
within the jurisdiction of the United States, except under
_and in accordance with: this Act and with a license in
that behalf granted under the provisions of this Act.* * *

Section 303. Except as otherwise provided in this
Act, the Commission from time to time, as public

convenience, interest, or necessity requires, shall —
: S

(a) Classify radio stations; :
: ;
(b) Prescribe the nature of the service to be
, rendered by each class of licensed stations and each
station within any class;

(c) Assign bands of frequencies to the various
classes of stations; and assign frequencies for each

B-3

ro

individual station and. determine the power which

each station shall use and the time — which it
may operate;

(d) Determine the location of classes of
stations or individual stations;

(e) Regulate the kind of apparatus to be used
with respect to its external effects and the purity.
and sharpness of the emissions, from each Statiqn

_and from the apparatus therein;

(f) Make such regulations not inconsistent with
law as it may deem _ necessary to” prevent
interference between stations and to carry out the.
provisions of this Act: Provided, however, .that
changes in the frequencies, authorized power; or in’
the times of operation of any station, shall not be
made without the consent of the station licensee ©
unless, after a public hearing, the Commission shall
determine that such changes will promute - public.
convenience or interest or will < sefve public
necessity, or the provisions of this Act will be mote
fully complied with: 3

-

(g) Study new uses for radio, provide .
experimental uses of frequencies, and generally

encourage the larger and more effective use of radio’

in the public interest;

(h) Have authority to establish areas or zones
to be served by any station; — *

(i) Have authority to make special regulations
applicable ‘to .radio stations “engaged in chain
broadcasting; |

(j) Have authority ‘to make general rules and
regulations requiring stations to keep such records
of programs, transmissions of energy,

- communications, or signals as_ it may deem

desirable; : 2
ok ok * * *

I AT ee. nee et ae * o

“ B-4
Section 326. Nothing in this Act shall be
understood or construed to give the Commission the
power of censorship over the radio communications or
signals’ transmitted by any radio Station, and no
regulation or condition shall be promulgated or fixed by
the Commission which shall interfere with the right of
free speech by means of radio communication.
‘
7
a
>
. ; <a '
< » sf
~~ :

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385604_1254%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
